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BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION 
OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 

 
In the matter of the proposed amendment )  NOTICE OF PROPOSED 
of ARM 2.59.307 regarding dollar )  AMENDMENT 
amounts to which consumer loan )   
rates are to be applied )  NO PUBLIC HEARING 
 )  CONTEMPLATED 
 
 TO: All Concerned Persons 
 
 1.  On March 27, 2006, the Division of Banking and Financial Institutions 
proposes to amend the above-stated rule. 
 
 2.  The Department of Administration, Division of Banking and Financial 
Institutions, will make reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities who 
need an alternative accessible format of this notice.  If you require an 
accommodation, contact the Division of Banking and Financial Institutions no later 
than 5:00 p.m. on March 22, 2005, to advise us of the nature of the accommodation 
that you need.  Please contact Christopher Romano, Division of Banking and 
Financial Institutions, P.O. Box 200546, Helena, Montana 59620-0546; telephone 
(406) 841-2928; TDD (406) 444-1421; facsimile (406) 841-2930; e-mail to 
cromano@mt.gov. 
 

3.  The rule as proposed to be amended provides as follows, stricken matter 
interlined, new matter underlined: 

 
2.59.307  DOLLAR AMOUNTS TO WHICH CONSUMER LOAN RATES ARE 

TO BE APPLIED  (1)  The dollar amounts in the following statutory sections are 
changed to the new designated amounts as follows: 

 
 Changed 
Authority Stated Amount Designated Amount
32-5-201(4), MCA $1,000 $2,000  $2,200
32-5-306(7), MCA $   300 $   600  $   660
 
AUTH:  32-5-104, MCA 
IMP:   32-5-104, 32-5-201, 32-5-301, 32-5-302, 32-5-306, MCA 
 
4.  REASON: Section 32-5-104, MCA provides that certain dollar amounts 

contained within the Montana Consumer Loan Act will be subject to change based 
on changes which occur in the Consumer Price Index for Urban Wage Earners and 
Clerical Workers.  Changes have occurred in this Consumer Price Index which 
therefore require adjustments to the dollar amounts contained in ARM 2.59.307. 

 
5.  Concerned persons may present their data, views or arguments 

concerning the proposed action in writing to Mark Prichard, Legal Counsel, Division 
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of Banking and Financial Institutions, P.O. Box 200546, Helena, Montana 59620-
0546; faxed to the office at (406) 841-2930; e-mailed to mprichard@mt.gov, and 
must be received no later than March 24, 2006. 

 
6.  If the Division receives requests for a public hearing on the proposed 

amendment from either 10% or 25, whichever is less, of those who are directly 
affected by the proposed amendment, from the appropriate administrative rule 
review committee of the legislature, from a governmental agency or subdivision or 
from an association having no less than 25 members who will be directly affected, a 
hearing will be held at a later date. Notice of the hearing will be published in the 
Montana Administrative Register. Ten percent of those persons directly affected has 
been determined to be 33 based on the number of consumer loan licensees issued 
as of publication of this notice. 

 
7.  An electronic copy of this Notice of Proposed Amendment is available 

through the Department’s site on the World Wide Web at http://www.banking.mt.gov, 
under "Administrative Rule Notices." The department strives to make the electronic 
copy of this Notice of Proposed Amendment conform to the official version of the 
Notice as printed in the Montana Administrative Register, but advises all concerned 
persons that in the event of a discrepancy between the official printed text of the 
Notice and the electronic version of the Notice, only the official printed text will be 
considered. In addition, although the Department strives to keep its website 
accessible at all times, concerned persons should be aware that the website may be 
unavailable during some periods, due to system maintenance or technical problems, 
and that a person’s technical difficulties in accessing or posting to the e-mail address 
do not excuse late submission or comments. 

 
8.  The Division of Banking and Financial Institutions maintains a list of 

interested persons who wish to receive notices of rulemaking actions proposed by 
this division.  Persons who wish to have their name added to the mailing list shall 
make a written request which includes the name and mailing address of the person 
to receive notices and specifies that the person wishes to receive notices regarding 
division rulemaking actions.  Such written requests may be mailed or delivered to 
Christopher Romano, Division of Banking and Financial Institutions, 301 S. Park, 
Ste. 316, P.O. Box 200546, Helena, Montana 59620-0546; faxed to the office at 
(406) 841-2930; e-mailed to cromano@mt.gov, or may be made by completing a 
request form at any rules hearing held by the Division of Banking and Financial 
Institutions. 

 
9.  The bill sponsor notice requirements of 2-4-302, MCA, do not apply. 

 
 
BY: /s/ Janet R. Kelly  BY: /s/ Dal Smilie  
 Janet R. Kelly, Director Dal Smilie, Rule Reviewer 
 Department of Administration Department of Administration 
 
Certified to the Secretary of State February 13, 2006. 
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BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION 
OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 

 
In the matter of the proposed )  NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING 
amendment of ARM 2.59.1501 pertaining )  ON PROPOSED AMENDMENT 
to definitions and ARM 2.59.1502 )  AND ADOPTION 
pertaining to application procedure ) 
required to engage in deposit lending, ) 
and the proposed adoption of NEW  ) 
RULE I pertaining to reports, NEW ) 
RULE II pertaining to schedule of charges, ) 
NEW RULE III pertaining to employees' ) 
character and fitness, NEW RULE IV ) 
pertaining to electronic deductions, and ) 
NEW RULE V pertaining to income ) 
verification ) 
  

TO: All Concerned Persons 
 
 1.  On March 22, 2006, at 10:00 a.m., a public hearing will be held in Room 
342 of the Park Avenue Building, 301 S. Park, Helena, Montana, to consider the 
proposed amendment and adoption of the above-stated rules. 
 
 2.  The Department of Administration, Division of Banking and Financial 
Institutions, will make reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities who 
need an alternative accessible format of this notice.  If you require an 
accommodation, contact the Division of Banking and Financial Institutions no later 
than 5:00 p.m. on March 17, 2006, to advise us of the nature of the accommodation 
that you need.  Please contact Christopher Romano, Division of Banking and 
Financial Institutions, P.O. Box 200546, Helena, Montana 59620-0546; telephone 
(406) 841-2928; TDD (406) 444-1421; facsimile (406) 841-2930; e-mail to 
cromano@mt.gov. 
 

3.  The rules as proposed to be amended provide as follows, stricken matter 
interlined, new matter underlined: 

 
 2.59.1501  DEFINITIONS  For the purposes of this subchapter, the following 
definitions apply: 
 (1) and (2) remain the same. 
 (3)  "Fraud or financial dishonesty or civil judgments involving fraudulent or 
dishonest financial dealings" means embezzlement, money laundering, identity theft, 
theft, and other financial related crimes and judgments. 
 (4)  "Monthly net income" means gross salary minus taxes and voluntary 
deductions.  This term includes income from public assistance, child support, 
alimony, unemployment insurance payments, and workers' compensation. 
 
 AUTH:  31-1-702, MCA 
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IMP:  31-1-705, 31-1-722, MCA 
 

 2.59.1502  APPLICATION PROCEDURE REQUIRED TO ENGAGE IN 
DEPOSIT LENDING  (1) through (3) remain the same. 

(4)  Except for those entities listed in (5), all persons or lenders must obtain a 
license under this rule in order to issue deferred deposit loans.  Persons or lenders 
that are licensed under the Consumer Loan Act, 32-5-101, MCA, and the Title Loan 
Act, 31-1-801, MCA, are not exempt from the licensing requirements of 31-1-701, 
MCA. 
 (5)  The following are exempt from the licensing requirements: 
 (a)  federal and state chartered banks; 
 (b)  federal and state chartered savings and loans; 
 (c)  federal and state credit unions; 
 (d)  trust companies; and 
 (e)  investment companies. 

  
AUTH:  31-1-702, MCA 
IMP:  31-1-705, 31-1-722, MCA 
 

REASON:  The Montana Legislature enacted House Bill 526 in 1999, which created 
the Montana Deferred Deposit Loan Act.  This Act has been codified in Title 32, 
chapter 1, part 7, MCA.  Section 31-1-702, MCA allows the Department to adopt 
rules to implement the provisions of the Act.  ARM 2.59.1501 is being amended to 
provide definitions for specific terms used throughout the proposed rules.  ARM 
2.59.1502 is being amended to clarify which regulated entities are exempt from the 
licensing provisions of the Montana Deferred Deposit Loan Act.  The Division does 
not anticipate any financial impact from the proposed rules.  There are currently 106 
deferred deposit loan licensees. 

 
4.  The proposed new rules provide as follows: 
 

 NEW RULE I  REPORTS  (1)  The following must be reported to the 
department: 
 (a)  any instances of theft or missing funds within ten days of each 
occurrence; 
 (b)  any change in managers within ten days of each occurrence; and 
 (c)  all officer questionnaires must be answered within ten days of the end of 
any examination. 
 
 AUTH:  31-1-702, MCA 

IMP:  31-1-702, MCA 
 

 NEW RULE II  SCHEDULE OF CHARGES  (1)  Every licensee under the 
Montana Deferred Deposit Loan Act shall file with the commissioner in duplicate, at 
the time of filing application for such license or license renewal, a full and accurate 
schedule of all charges, fees, and costs as follows: 
 (a)  interest rate; 
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 (b)  nonsufficient fund fees; and 
 (c)  examples of typical loan amounts including principal, interest, and fees.
 (2)  Licensees shall display such schedule prominently in each licensed place 
of business where loans are made or negotiated so as to be easily readable by 
borrowers and prospective borrowers. 
 
 AUTH:  31-1-702, MCA 
 IMP:  31-1-721, MCA 

 
 NEW RULE III  EMPLOYEES' CHARACTER AND FITNESS  (1)  Licensees 
are responsible for conducting appropriate background checks on all applicants for 
employment.  At a minimum, each licensee shall: 
 (a)  require completion of employee criminal background questionnaire; 
 (b)  verify and document employment and personal references; and 
 (c)  within ten days of start of employment, request a Montana criminal 
records check from the Department of Justice. 
 (2)  If the background check demonstrates any criminal convictions involving 
fraud or financial dishonesty or civil judgments involving fraudulent or dishonest 
financial dealings, the licensee cannot employ such person, or if already employed, 
must terminate employment. 
 (3)  Verification of compliance with this rule shall occur during annual exams.  
Licensees are required to keep accurate employment records on each employee to 
ensure that the department is able to verify compliance. 
 
 AUTH:  31-1-702, MCA 
 IMP:  31-1-705, MCA 
 
 NEW RULE IV  ELECTRONIC DEDUCTIONS  (1)  An electronic deduction 
for nonsufficient funds may be authorized by the borrower only on the original loan 
agreement. 
 (2)  An electronic deduction for nonsufficient funds shall be separate and 
apart from an electronic deduction for the amount of the loan, interest, or any fees.
 (3)  An electronic deduction for nonsufficient funds authorized by the borrower 
under (1) may not be presented to the borrower's financial institution until the 
licensee has presented the check for payment at least twice. 
 
 AUTH:  31-1-702, MCA 

IMP:  31-1-703, MCA 
 

 NEW RULE V  INCOME VERIFICATION  (1)  Licensees shall verify a 
borrower's income prior to issuing any deferred deposit loan. 
 (2)  Verification of income shall be in a form of most recent pay stubs for 
employment, or other official documents for public assistance, child support, 
alimony, unemployment insurance, and workers' compensation. 
 

AUTH:  31-1-702, MCA 
IMP:  31-1-722, MCA 
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REASON:  The Montana Legislature enacted House Bill 526 in 1999, which created 
the Montana Deferred Deposit Loan Act.  This Act has been codified in Title 32, 
chapter 1, part 7, MCA.  Section 31-1-702, MCA allows the Department to adopt 
rules to implement the provisions of the Act.  New Rules I and II are needed to clarify 
the specific reports and disclosures that deferred deposit loan licensees will be 
required to provide.  New Rule III is needed to implement recent legislative 
enactment. New Rule IV is needed to clarify the procedures for utilizing electronic 
fund transfers for checks that are returned for nonsufficient funds.  New Rule V is 
needed to clarify what is necessary in order to verify a borrower's income prior to 
issuing a deferred deposit loan.  The Division does not anticipate any financial 
impact from the proposed rules.  There are currently 106 deferred deposit loan 
licensees. 
 

5.  Concerned persons may present their data, views or arguments, either 
orally or in writing, at the hearing.  Written data, views or arguments may also be 
submitted to Mark Prichard, Legal Counsel, Division of Banking and Financial 
Institutions, P.O. Box 200546, Helena, Montana 59620-0546; faxed to the office at 
(406) 841-2930; e-mailed to mprichard@mt.gov, and must be received no later than 
March 27, 2006. 

 
6.  Mark Prichard, Legal Counsel, Division of Banking and Financial 

Institutions, has been designated to preside over and conduct the hearing. 
 

7.  An electronic copy of this Notice of Proposed Amendment and Adoption is 
available through the Department’s site on the World Wide Web at 
http://www.banking.mt.gov, under "Administrative Rule Notices." The Department 
strives to make the electronic copy of this Notice of Proposed Amendment and 
Adoption conform to the official version of the Notice as printed in the Montana 
Administrative Register, but advises all concerned persons that in the event of a 
discrepancy between the official printed text of the Notice and the electronic version 
of the Notice, only the official printed text will be considered. In addition, although the 
Department strives to keep its website accessible at all times, concerned persons 
should be aware that the website may be unavailable during some periods, due to 
system maintenance or technical problems, and that a person’s technical difficulties 
in accessing or posting to the e-mail address do not excuse late submission or 
comments. 

 
8.  The Division of Banking and Financial Institutions maintains a list of 

interested persons who wish to receive notices of rulemaking actions proposed by 
this division.  Persons who wish to have their name added to the mailing list shall 
make a written request which includes the name and mailing address of the person 
to receive notices and specifies that the person wishes to receive notices regarding 
division rulemaking actions.  Such written requests may be mailed or delivered to 
Christopher Romano, Division of Banking and Financial Institutions, 301 S. Park, 
Ste. 316, P.O. Box 200546, Helena, Montana 59620-0546; faxed to the office at 
(406) 841-2930; e-mailed to cromano@mt.gov, or may be made by completing a 
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request form at any rules hearing held by the Division of Banking and Financial 
Institutions. 

 
9.  The bill sponsor notice requirements of 2-4-302, MCA, apply and have 

been fulfilled. 
 
 
BY: /s/ Janet R. Kelly  BY: /s/ Dal Smilie  
 Janet R. Kelly, Director Dal Smilie, Rule Reviewer 
 Department of Administration Department of Administration 
 
Certified to the Secretary of State February 13, 2006. 
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BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE 
OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 

 
In the matter of the proposed 
amendment of ARM 4.6.202 relating to 
potato assessment fees 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED 
AMENDMENT 

 
NO PUBLIC HEARING 

CONTEMPLATED 

TO:   All Concerned Persons 
 
 1.  On March 25, 2006, the Montana Department of Agriculture proposes to 
amend the above-stated rule relating to potato assessment fees. 
 
 2.  The Department of Agriculture will make reasonable accommodations for 
persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this rulemaking process and need 
an alternative accessible format of this notice.  If you require an accommodation, 
contact the Department of Agriculture no later than 5:00 p.m. on March 9, 2006, to 
advise us of the nature of the accommodation that you need.  Please contact Joel A. 
Clairmont at the Montana Department of Agriculture, 303 North Roberts, P.O. Box 
200201, Helena, MT, 59620-0201; Phone: (406) 444-3144; Fax: (406) 444-5409; or 
E-mail: agr@mt.gov. 
 

3.  The rule as proposed to be amended provides as follows, stricken matter 
interlined, new matter underlined: 

 
4.6.202  ANNUAL POTATO COMMODITY ASSESSMENT-COLLECTION 
(1)  remains the same.  
(2)  The assessment shall be $.03  $.02 per hundredweight on all potatoes 

grown and marketed commercially in Montana by those growers producing and 
marketing more than 50,000 pounds annually. 

(3)  remains the same. 
 
 AUTH:  80-11-504, MCA 

IMP:  80-11-515, MCA 
 

REASON:  The Montana Department of Agriculture, upon a recommendation 
from the Montana Potato Advisory Committee, thinks there will be sufficient funding 
provided by a two-cent ($.02) assessment to fund the Potato Research and Market 
Development Program.  It is estimated that this reduction in assessment will impact 
60-75 potato producers in Montana and will reduce the amount of funds collected by 
approximately $25,000 per year for research and market development. 
 

4.  Concerned persons may submit their data, views or arguments concerning 
the proposed action in writing to Joel A. Clairmont at the Montana Department 
Agriculture, 303 North Roberts, P.O. Box 200201, Helena, MT, 59620-0201; Fax: 
(406) 444-5409; or E-mail: agr@mt.gov.  Any comments must be received no later 
than March 23, 2006.   
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 5.  If persons who are directly affected by the proposed action wish to express 
their data, views, or arguments orally or in writing at a public hearing, they must 
make written request for a hearing and submit this request along with any written 
comments they have to Joel A. Clairmont at the Montana Department of Agriculture, 
303 North Roberts, P.O. Box 200201, Helena, MT 59620-0201; Fax: (406) 444-
5409; or E-mail: agr@mt.gov.  A written request for hearing must be received no 
later than March 23, 2006. 
 
 6.  If the Department receives requests for a public hearing on the proposed 
action from either 10% or 25, whichever is less, of the persons who are directly 
affected by the proposed action; from the appropriate administrative rule review 
committee of the legislature; from a governmental subdivision or agency; or from an 
association having not less than 25 members who will be directly affected, a hearing 
will be held at a later date.  Notice of the hearing will be published in the Montana 
Administrative Register.  Ten percent of those persons directly affected has been 
determined to be seven based on 65-75 potato producers. 
 
 7.  The Department of Agriculture maintains a list of interested persons who 
wish to receive notices of rulemaking actions proposed by this agency.  Persons 
who wish to have their name added to the list shall make a written request which 
includes the name and mailing address of the person and specifies for which 
program the person wishes to receive notices.  Such written request may be mailed 
or delivered to Montana Department of Agriculture, 303 North Roberts, P.O. Box 
200201, Helena, MT, 59620-0201; Fax: (406) 444-5409; or E-mail: agr@mt.gov or 
may be made by completing a request form at any rules hearing held by the 
Department of Agriculture. 
 

8.  An electronic copy of this Notice of Proposed Amendment is available 
through the Department's website at www.agr.mt.gov, under the Administrative 
Rules section.  The Department strives to make the electronic copy of the Notice 
conform to the official version of the Notice, as printed in the Montana Administrative 
Register, but advises all concerned persons that in the event of a discrepancy 
between the official printed text of the Notice and the electronic version of the 
Notice, only the official printed text will be considered.  In addition, although the 
Department strives to keep its website accessible at all times, concerned persons 
should be aware that the website may be unavailable during some periods, due to 
system maintenance or technical problems. 
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 9.  The bill sponsor notice requirements of 2-4-302, MCA, apply and have 
been fulfilled. 
 

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE 
 
   /s/ Nancy K. Peterson  ___  

Nancy K. Peterson, Director 
 
 
      /s/ Timothy J. Meloy   
 Timothy J. Meloy, Attorney 

Rule Reviewer 
 
Certified to the Secretary of State, February 13, 2006. 
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BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY, 
BOARD OF ALTERNATIVE HEALTH CARE, BOARD OF ARCHITECTS, BOARD 
OF ATHLETICS, BOARD OF BARBERS AND COSMETOLOGISTS, BOARD OF 

CHIROPRACTORS, BOARD OF CLINICAL LABORATORY SCIENCE 
PRACTITIONERS, BOARD OF DENTISTRY, STATE ELECTRICAL BOARD, 
BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICE, BOARD OF HEARING AID DISPENSERS, 

BOARD OF MEDICAL EXAMINERS, BOARD OF NURSING, BOARD OF NURSING 
HOME ADMINISTRATORS, BOARD OF OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY PRACTICE, 
BOARD OF OPTOMETRY, BOARD OF OUTFITTERS, BOARD OF PHARMACY, 

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY EXAMINERS, BOARD OF PLUMBERS, BOARD 
OF PRIVATE SECURITY PATROL OFFICERS AND INVESTIGATORS, BOARD OF 

PROFESSIONAL ENGINEERS AND PROFESSIONAL LAND SURVEYORS, 
BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGISTS, BOARD OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTANTS, BOARD OF 

RADIOLOGIC TECHNOLOGISTS, BOARD OF REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS, 
BOARD OF REALTY REGULATION, BOARD OF RESPIRATORY CARE 

PRACTITIONERS, BOARD OF SANITARIANS, BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 
EXAMINERS AND PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS, BOARD OF SPEECH-

LANGUAGE PATHOLOGISTS AND AUDIOLOGISTS, BOARD OF VETERINARY 
MEDICINE, BOILER OPERATING ENGINEERS PROGRAM, CONSTRUCTION 
BLASTERS PROGRAM, CRANE AND HOISTING OPERATING ENGINEERS 

PROGRAM, FIRE PREVENTION AND FIREWORKS WHOLESALERS PROGRAM, 
AND LICENSED ADDICTION COUNSELORS PROGRAM 

OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the proposed transfer and  )  NOTICE OF PUBLIC 
amendment of ARM 8.2.208, adoption of NEW  )  HEARING ON PROPOSED 
RULES I through XIV, amendment of ARM 8.11.101, )  TRANSFER AND 
8.11.114, 8.11.115, 8.11.118, 8.32.306, 8.32.402, )  AMENDMENT, ADOPTION, 
8.32.410, 8.32.411, 8.32.425, 8.32.426, 8.32.1501,  )  AMENDMENT, AND 
8.32.1509, 8.32.1510, 24.111.401, 24.111.2101, )  REPEAL 
24.111.2102, 24.111.2103, 24.111.2301, 24.114.401, ) 
24.114.406, 24.114.2101, 24.117.402, 24.117.406, ) 
24.121.401, 24.121.603, 24.121.609, 24.121.2101, ) 
24.122.401, 24.122.515, 24.126.401, 24.126.2101, ) 
24.129.401, 24.129.602, 24.129.610, 24.131.405, ) 
24.131.501, 24.135.402, 24.135.2101, 24.138.301, ) 
24.138.402, 24.138.517, 24.138.518, 24.138.530, ) 
24.141.405, 24.141.2101, 24.141.2102, 24.144.404, ) 
24.144.502, 24.144.2102, 24.147.401, 24.147.505, ) 
24.147.1313, 24.150.301, 24.150.401, 24.150.505, ) 
24.150.2101, 24.150.2201, 24.156.601, 24.156.615, ) 
24.156.617, 24.156.805, 24.156.808, 24.156.1002, ) 
24.156.1004, 24.156.1302, 24.156.1305,  ) 
24.156.1402, 24.156.1411, 24.156.1605,  ) 
24.156.2717, 24.156.2719, 24.156.2731,  ) 
24.162.420, 24.162.2101, 24.165.401, 24.165.407, ) 
24.168.401, 24.168.2101, 24.171.401, 24.171.2101, ) 
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24.174.401, 24.174.1402, 24.174.2103, 24.174.2107, ) 
24.177.401, 24.177.410, 24.177.504, 24.177.2101, ) 
24.180.401, 24.180.410, 24.180.607, 24.180.707, ) 
24.180.2101, 24.182.401, 24.182.511, 24.182.513, ) 
24.183.404, 24.183.2101, 24.183.2103, 24.189.401, ) 
24.189.407, 24.189.2107, 24.201.410, 24.201.2101, ) 
24.204.401, 24.204.404, 24.204.2102, 24.207.401, ) 
24.207.517, 24.207.2101, 24.210.401, 24.210.635, ) 
24.210.661, 24.210.667, 24.210.801, 24.210.825, ) 
24.210.835, 24.210.836, 24.210.1020, 24.213.401, ) 
24.213.403, 24.213.412, 24.213.2121, 24.216.402, ) 
24.216.2101, 24.219.401, 24.219.405, 24.219.615, ) 
24.222.401, 24.222.2102, 24.225.401, 24.225.510, ) 
24.225.511, 24.225.515, 24.225.550, 24.225.709, ) 
24.225.750, and 24.225.925, and REPEAL of  ) 
24.121.609, 24.156.602, 24.183.2104, and   ) 
24.225.515  ) 
 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
 1.  On March 20, 2006, at 10:00 a.m., a public hearing will be held in room 
489, Park Avenue Building, 301 South Park, Helena, Montana to consider the 
proposed transfer and amendment, adoption, amendment, and repeal of the above-
stated rules.  ARM 8.2.208 which pertains to renewal dates and requirements is 
proposed to be transferred and amended.  The proposed new rules pertain to 
purpose, definitions, fees, licensing, renewal notification, and renewed, lapsed, 
expired or terminated licenses.  The proposed amendments generally pertain to 
fees, renewals, continuing education, licensing requirements, unprofessional 
conduct, duplicate or lost licenses, definitions, examinations, prescriptive authority, 
trainees, inactive status, out-of-state applicants, temporary licenses or practice 
permits, reinstatement, expired or lapsed license, requirements, lists, abatement of 
fee rules, and training programs.  The rules proposed to be repealed pertain to 
lapsed licenses, nonrefundable fees, expired certificate - renewal of grace period, 
and forfeiture of license and restoration. 
 
 2.  The Department of Labor and Industry (Department) will make reasonable 
accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this public 
hearing or need an alternative accessible format of this notice.  If you require an 
accommodation, contact the Business Standards Division (Division) no later than 
5:00 p.m. on March 13, 2006, to advise us of the nature of the accommodation that 
you need.  Please contact Kathy Lubke, Business Standards Division, 301 South 
Park, P.O. Box 200513, Helena, Montana 59620-0513; telephone (406) 841-2349; 
Montana Relay 1-800-253-4091; TDD (406) 444-2978; facsimile (406) 841-2305; e-
mail klubke@mt.gov. 
 
 3.  GENERAL STATEMENT OF REASONABLE NECESSITY:  Montana's 
59th Legislature enacted House Bill (HB) 182 (Chapter 467, L. 2005) that became 
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effective July 1, 2005.  This legislation generally revised and consolidated 
professional and occupational licensing laws; provided distinction between 
Department and Board or Program duties regarding licensure, examination, and 
fees; required standardization of forms; set uniform standards for license renewal, 
including renewal periods; removed specific Board or Program references if duties 
are assigned to the Department or provided generally to all Boards; and repealed 
certain Board-specific or Program-specific references to licensure, examinations, 
and fees. 
 
This rulemaking notice serves to implement the major changes created by this 
legislation.  The Department has determined that in order to implement these major 
provisions of HB 182, it is most efficient, cost effective and timely, and will ensure 
consistency among rules to adopt one notice with changes impacting all Boards and 
Programs. 
 
Amendments in this notice serve to reduce duplication throughout the rules by 
putting information that is applicable to all Boards and Programs into Division rules 
instead of listing them within the rules of each individual Board or Program.  The 
basic functions of all Division licensing entities are the same, therefore the general 
rules of these entities should be similar.  Having rules applicable to the Division 
provides standardization and consistency among licensing entities.  Logically, with 
standardization and consistency as a goal, the impacted rules should all be dealt 
with at the same time. 
 
The Department has determined that it is reasonable and necessary to transfer and 
amend ARM 8.2.208 as the first piece of implementing HB 182.  Chapter 483, L. 
2001, transferred Professional and Occupational Licensing from the Department of 
Commerce (Title 8) to the Department of Labor and Industry (Title 24).  Transferring 
ARM 8.2.208 into Title 24 will aid users in locating the current renewal dates for all 
Division licensing Boards and Programs.  The rule is being amended to change the 
format from a paragraph style into a more user friendly table format.  This format 
allows for ease in locating the license type, renewal frequency and renewal date.  
This transfer and amendment is being completed at this time along with changing 
other renewal date references in individual Board and Program rules, to ensure that 
all Board and Program license renewal dates are set by department rule as specified 
in 37-1-141, MCA.  Amending individual rules to eliminate specific renewal dates or 
the reference to the duration of the license will eliminate the need to amend various 
rules if the renewal date or frequency should change.  Removing these references 
from numerous rules eliminates the possibility of having conflicting dates and 
timeframes between rules.  Also, this consolidated rule creates standardization and 
consistency among Division licensing entities. 
 
Board and Program fee rules are being amended at this time to remove various fees 
from individual Board and Program rules.  The Department has determined there are 
numerous common services provided by most Boards and Programs.  The fees vary 
greatly, and part of the directive of HB 182 is to standardize fees for administrative 
services such as license verification, duplicate licenses, late penalty renewals, and 
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licensee lists.  These administrative type services are being removed from individual 
Board and Program rules and consolidated into a Division rule (NEW RULE III) 
applicable to all Boards and Programs.  By having standardized fees applicable for 
the same services, the fee discrepancy between various Boards and Programs is 
eliminated.  With the creation of the Division licensee database, the cost of providing 
duplicate licenses, license verification, and licensee lists is no longer variable 
between licensing entities.  The costs associated with providing these services are 
now the same among licensing entities.  All licensees will be charged the same 
amount for the same service.  Amending all Board and Program fee rules through 
the same notice treats all licensees equitably by charging the same fees for all 
licensees at the same time.  A reference to the standardized fee rule is included in 
each Board or Program fee rule to make rule users aware that there are other fees 
that may be charged for services provided by the Division. 
 
Other common amendments deal with terminology changes.  HB 182 has defined 
three terms in conjunction with license renewal.  Expired, lapsed, and terminated 
licenses are now defined in statute.  These terms have been used within the existing 
rules.  However, the context may not be consistent with the new statutory definition.  
It is reasonable and necessary to amend the rules to use terms consistently between 
the statutes and rules, to avoid potential areas of confusion, and to provide clarity. 
 
Generally, it is also reasonable and necessary to amend authority and implementing 
citations to reflect changes implementing HB 182 that impact rulemaking authority 
and the sections being implemented by statute changes.  The most common 
changes to the authority and implementing citations are to remove references to 
statutes that have been repealed, to add 37-1-134 and 37-1-141, MCA, to fee rule 
authority and implementing cites as needed, and to add 37-1-141, MCA, to renewal 
rules as necessary. 
 
Repealed MCA cites are being removed as rules are amended to reflect the laws 
that are in effect at the time of the amendment. 
 
Section 37-1-134, MCA, provides for establishing standardized fees, therefore it is 
included as an authorizing and implementing statute in the fee rules.  Section 37-1-
141, MCA, provides for assessing a late penalty fee, therefore this statute has been 
added as an implementing cite.  Also it is reasonable and necessary to amend fee 
rules to indicate the Division is removing the hyphen in "non-refundable".  This 
change is being made to make the word consistent throughout the Division's rules, 
and to follow the MCA and standard usage of the word nonrefundable. 
 
In each renewal rule, reference is made to a common renewal date rule (ARM 
8.2.208) and two proposed new Division rules (NEW RULES V and VI).  Section 37-
1-141, MCA, was amended to require that the renewal date for a license be set by 
Department rule and states the requirements for license renewal.  Instead of 
repeating this standard language in each renewal rule, references to Division rules 
have been included.  This coincides with the intent of the legislation to create 
uniform standards for license renewals, and revising notification periods.  It is 
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therefore appropriate to include 37-1-141, MCA, as authority and implementing 
citations. 
 
Also, language suggesting that renewal forms would be sent to licensees is to be 
deleted, and a generic reference that renewal notices would be sent as specified in 
NEW RULE V was inserted.  This wording change is proposed to indicate that 
renewal forms may not always be sent, but licensees will be notified of the deadline 
to renew their license.  With the increased use of the Department's online renewal 
service, it may no longer be necessary to send renewal forms.  Renewal forms may 
be downloaded from the online renewal service if it is necessary to complete a paper 
copy of the renewal form instead of using the online renewal service.  The renewal 
notice would also state that renewal forms are available upon request. 
 
Rule catchphrases are being amended as appropriate in order to standardize the 
catchphrase.  References to the renewal frequency are being eliminated in order to 
prevent the need for future amendment to specific rules if the renewal frequency is 
modified.  The standard renewal date rule, ARM 8.2.208, would be the only rule that 
would need to be amended to indicate the renewal date or frequency change.  By 
eliminating this duplication within numerous rules, it eliminates the possibility of 
conflicting information between rules, decreases the need for numerous rule 
amendments thereby creating less regulation and more efficiency. 
 
 4.  The rule proposed to be amended and transferred provides as follows, 
deleted matter interlined, new matter underlined: 
 
 8.2.208  (24.101.413)  RENEWAL DATES AND REQUIREMENTS 
 (1)  Specific procedures and grace periods for renewal are set forth by 
department or board rule, or statute applicable to a particular profession, or 37-1-
141, MCA.  Such procedures shall take account of, and be based upon, the renewal 
dates set forth in this rule.  An existing license expires ends on the renewal date set 
forth specified for each profession and occupation listed and must be renewed on or 
before this date. 
 (2)  If a timely and sufficient application is submitted on or prior to such date, 
the applicant's continued practice is governed under 2-4-631, MCA.  In order for an 
application to be timely and sufficient it must be:, 
 (a)  it must be completed with truthful information; 
 (b)  accompanied by other required information or documentation as 
applicable; 
 (c)  accompanied by the appropriate fee; and 
 (d)  submitted so that it bears a U.S. Postal Service post mark prior to or on 
the renewal date for the applicable profession; or 
 (e)  submitted by using the online renewal service available on the 
department's website.  Although the department strives to keep its website 
accessible at all times, licensees should be aware that the website may be 
unavailable during some periods, due to system maintenance or technical problems, 
and that a person's technical difficulties in accessing the online renewal service do 
not excuse late renewals; 



 
 
 

 
4-2/23/06 MAR Notice No. 24-101-202 

-388-

 (i)  online renewal transactions must be fully completed prior to midnight 
Mountain time on the renewal date. 
 (3)  If the requirements of this rule are not met, a late penalty fee as specified 
in [NEW RULE III] will be required in order to renew. 
 (4)  The provisions of [NEW RULES V and VI] are applicable to all license 
renewals. 
 (2) (5)  The following are renewal dates for the professions and occupations 
listed: 
 (a)  January 1 is the renewal date for licenses and other authorities granted 
by the boards of nursing home administrators and  psychologists; 
 (b)  February 1 is the renewal date for licenses and other authorities granted 
by the boards of radiological technologists and speech-language pathologists and 
audiologists; 
 (c)  March 1 is the renewal date for licenses and other authorities granted by 
the board of dentistry; 
 (d)  March 31 is the renewal date for licenses and other authorities granted by 
the boards of barbers, medical examiners and real estate appraisers; 
 (e)  April 1 is the renewal date for licenses and other authorities granted by 
the board of physical therapy examiners, and is the renewal date for guides and 
professional guides (regulated by the board of outfitters); 
 (f)  April 30 is the renewal date for licenses and other authorities granted by 
the board of alternative health care; 
 (g)  May 1 is the renewal date for licenses and other authorities granted by 
the boards of respiratory care practitioners and clinical laboratory science 
practitioners; 
 (h)  June 15 is the renewal date for licenses and other authorities granted by 
the board of occupational therapy practice; 
 (i)  June 30 is the renewal date for licenses and other authorities granted by 
the boards of hearing aid dispensers, landscape architects, professional engineers 
and land surveyors (every even-numbered year), pharmacists and sanitarians; 
 (j)  July 1 is the renewal date for licenses and other authorities granted by the 
boards of architects, funeral service, and is the renewal date for salons and booth 
rentals (regulated by the board of cosmetologists); 
 (k)  July 2 is the renewal date for licenses and other authorities granted by the 
board of optometry; 
 (l)  July 15 is the renewal date for licenses and other authorities granted by 
the state electrical board (every third year with the first renewal coming due on July 
15, 1997); 
 (m)  September 1 is the renewal date for licenses and other authorities 
granted by the boards of plumbers and chiropractors; 
 (n)  October 31 is the renewal date for physician assistants-certified, 
nutritionists, acupuncturists and podiatrists (regulated by the board of medical 
examiners); 
 (o)  November 1 is the renewal date for licenses and other authorities granted 
by the board of veterinary medicine; 
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 (p)  November 30 is the renewal date for pharmacy technicians, wholesale 
drug distributors, mail order pharmacies, certified pharmacies and dangerous drug 
act (regulated by the board of pharmacy); 
 (q)  December 1 is the renewal date for licenses and other authorities granted 
by the board of private security patrol officers and investigators; 
 (r)  December 31 is the renewal date for licenses and other authorities 
granted by the boards of nursing, public accountants, realty regulation, social work 
examiners and professional counselors, and is the renewal date for outfitters 
(regulated by the board of outfitters), property managers (regulated by the board of 
realty regulation), and cosmetology, manicuring, electrology and esthetic schools 
and cosmetologists, manicurists, electrologists, estheticians and instructors 
(regulated by the board of cosmetologists). 
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 (6)  The following are nonrenewable licenses: 
 (a)  temporary licenses issued by a licensing entity unless that licensing 
entity's rules provide otherwise; 
 (b)  fireworks wholesalers; 
 (c)  real estate appraiser mentors; 
 (d)  pharmacy technicians in training; 
 (e)  active temporary speech pathologists and audiologists; 
 (f)  land surveyor intern, engineer intern, emeritus status license issued by the 
Board of Professional Engineers and Professional Land Surveyors; 
 (g)  all licenses issued by the Board of Athletics end on June 30 of each year 
and the licensee must reapply; 
 (h)  guide and professional guide licenses issued by the Board of Outfitters 
end on December 31 of each year and the licensee must reapply; and 
 (i)  electrical contractor licenses issued by the State Electrical Board end on 
July 15 biennially and the licensee must reapply. 
 (7)  The specific date by which each individual licensee is required to renew 
by can be obtained by contacting the licensing entity's office or by using the licensee 
lookup system available on the department's website. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-101, 37-1-141, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-101, 37-1-141, MCA 
 
REASON:  It is reasonable and necessary to amend this rule to identify the current 
renewal dates for professions and occupations licensed by the Division.  It is also 
necessary to identify the duration of the license and the frequency of when a license 
needs to be renewed.  This amendment and transfer will make information more 
readily accessible to licensees, Department staff and the public.  The amendments 
also clarify what constitutes timely submission of renewal information.  This provides 
clear direction to the licensee and describes the consequences for not renewing in a 
timely manner. 
 
Also, it is reasonable to include (6) as a quick reference for those individuals who 
hold some sort of "license" which is unable to be renewed.  This easily identifies 
those "license" holders that are mentioned within individual Board's or Program's 
rules who are accountable to the Board or Program, but whose license cannot be 
renewed.  Section (7) is included to reassure licensees that there is help available if 
a licensee is unsure of the date to renew a specific license.  See general statement 
of reasonable necessity for more detail. 
 
 5.  The Division rules proposed to be adopted provide as follows: 
 
 NEW RULE I  PURPOSE  (1)  The purpose of this subchapter is to 
standardize similar functions and processes within the division and administratively 
attached boards, including, but not limited to: 
 (a)  setting standardized fees; 
 (b)  standardizing forms; 
 (c)  eliminating the need for a licensing board to issue routine licenses; and 
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 (d)  setting uniform standards for license renewal. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-101, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-101, 37-1-104, MCA 
 
REASON:  It is reasonable and necessary to promulgate this rule to provide users 
with a general overview of the subchapter contents.  These rules are proposed in 
order to implement the changes enacted by HB 182. 
 
 NEW RULE II  DEFINITIONS  As used in conjunction with Title 37, MCA, the 
following definitions apply: 
 (1)  "Active status" means the license holder is afforded the rights and 
privileges to practice under the license while complying with the requirements as set 
by the licensing entity. 
 (2)  "Administrative fees" means a fee charged for products or services 
provided by the division. 
 (3)  "Department" means the Department of Labor and Industry. 
 (4)  "Disciplinary action" means the procedure by which unprofessional 
conduct is addressed by the licensing entity pursuant to the contested case hearing 
provisions of the Montana Administrative Procedure Act (MAPA). 
 (5)  "Division" means the Business Standards Division of the Department of 
Labor and Industry. 
 (6)  "Expired license" means a license for which the renewal requirements 
have not been met within 45 days to two years after the license renewal date.  An 
expired license may be reactivated anytime within these two years. 
 (7)  "Inactive status" means an option provided by some licensing entities in 
which a licensee may retain a license but the licensee does not intend to practice, 
nor will the licensee engage in licensed activities at any time during the duration of 
the inactive status license.  The licensee may wish to reactivate the inactive status 
license in the future.  An inactive license must be renewed as prescribed by the 
licensing entity. 
 (8)  "Lapsed license" means a license that has not been renewed by the 
license renewal date.  A lapsed license may be reactivated at anytime within 45 days 
following the license renewal date. 
 (9)  "Late penalty fee" means the fee that is required to be paid by a licensee 
upon renewal of a license if the licensee failed to renew the license by the renewal 
date. 
 (10)  "New original license" means a license issued to an individual whose 
previous original license terminated and was not reinstated.  In order to receive a 
new original license, all current requirements for obtaining an original license must 
be met including, but not limited to, submitting required application materials, 
successfully passing the required examinations as applicable, and paying the 
appropriate fees.  The new original license number will remain the same as the 
original license number. 
 (11)  "Nonroutine application" means an application submitted to the division 
in which the application is defined as nonroutine either by the specific licensing 
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entity's rules or by these rules.  In conflicts between the specific licensing entity's 
rules and these rules, the specific licensing entity's rules govern. 
 (a)  A nonroutine application means that the applicant has one or more of the 
following: 
 (i)  has pending or completed disciplinary action in this state, or pending or 
completed disciplinary action in another state, territory, or jurisdiction; 
 (ii)  is restricted by the terms and conditions of a final order in a disciplinary 
matter; 
 (iii)  is required to submit materials that require professional evaluation by 
another licensee or licensing entity; or 
 (iv)  is foreign-educated, except for those foreign-educated applicants 
applying for licensure from the following: 
 (A)  Board of Medical Examiners; 
 (B)  Board of Professional Engineers and Professional Land Surveyors; or 
 (C)  Board of Realty Regulation. 
 (12)  "Probationary license" means a license, that due to discipline taken 
against the licensee, signifies the license holder is afforded the rights and privileges 
to practice under the license while complying with the terms and conditions of a final 
order as issued by the licensing entity. 
 (13)  "Reactivated license" means a lapsed or expired license that is renewed 
between the renewal date and two years following the renewal date.  In order to 
reactivate a license, all renewal requirements must be met. 
 (14)  "Reactivation of license" means activating a lapsed or expired license. 
 (15)  "Renewal date" means the date by which an existing license must be 
renewed as listed in ARM 8.2.208.  Renewal information must be submitted on or 
before the renewal date in order for a license to be renewed without the assessment 
of the late penalty fee. 
 (16)  "Routine application" means an application submitted to the division in 
which the application is defined as routine either by the specific licensing entity's 
rules or by these rules.  In conflicts between the specific licensing entity's rules and 
these rules, the specific licensing entity's rules govern. 
 (a)  A routine application means that the applicant does not have one or more 
of the following: 
 (i)  pending or completed disciplinary action in this state, or pending or 
completed disciplinary action in another state, territory, or jurisdiction; 
 (ii)  is not restricted by the terms and conditions of a final order in a 
disciplinary matter; 
 (iii)  is not required to submit materials that require professional evaluation by 
another licensee or licensing entity; or 
 (iv)  is not foreign-educated, except for those foreign-educated applicants 
applying for licensure from the following: 
 (A)  Board of Medical Examiners; 
 (B)  Board of Professional Engineers and Professional Land Surveyors; or 
 (C)  Board of Realty Regulation. 
 (17)  "Standardized fee" means an administrative fee for a common product 
or service that is charged to division customers. 
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 (18)  "Suspended license" means a license, that due to discipline taken 
against the licensee, signifies the license holder is no longer afforded the rights and 
privileges to practice under the license for a period of time specified by the final 
order issued by the licensing entity. 
 (19)  "Terminated license" means a license that has not been renewed or 
reactivated within two years of the renewal deadline.  A terminated license may not 
be reactivated. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-101, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-130, 37-1-131, 37-1-141, MCA 
 
REASON:  It is reasonable and necessary to promulgate this rule to indicate the 
context of words that are used throughout Division rules.  The definition rule serves 
to clarify the meaning of frequently used words and provides consistent application 
throughout the rules. 
 
Section 2-4-305(2), MCA, states "rules may not unnecessarily repeat statutory 
language.  Whenever it is necessary to refer to statutory language in order to convey 
the meaning of a rule interpreting the language, the reference must clearly indicate 
the portion of the language that is statutory and the portion that is an amplification of 
the language."  The terms "expire", "lapsed" and "terminated" have been defined in 
37-1-130, MCA, as amended by HB 182, but are included in this notice for clarity.  
Usage of these terms throughout existing Board and Program rules may not be used 
in the same context as the new definitions.  In order to ensure that the new meaning 
is conveyed to the licensees, it is necessary to include the substance of these 
statutory definitions in the rule. 
 
 NEW RULE III  FEES  (1)  Standardized fees, in addition to those fees 
charged by a specific licensing entity are as follows: 
 (a)  duplicate license $  5 
 (b)  licensee lists or rosters 50 
 (c)  photocopies per page (in excess of 20 pages) .25 
 (d)  certified copies per page (in excess  
of ten pages) .50 
 (e)  license history 20 
 (f)  duplicate wall certificate 20 
 (g)  returned check fee, including but not limited to, checks issued 
with nonsufficient funds, stop payment requests, or missing signatures 30 
 (h)  license verification 20 
 (i)  the license verification fee is waived for any licensing entity with a signed 
reciprocal agreement with another licensing entity and the licensing entities have 
agreed that no fees are to be charged; 
 (i)  status change fee from inactive to active during the licensure period is the 
difference between the cost of an inactive license and an active license renewal fee; 
 (j)  renewal fee for a suspended license is 50% of the renewal fee; and 
 (k)  renewal fee for a probationary license is the same as the renewal fee. 
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 (2)  The late penalty fee for each renewal period a license has not been 
renewed shall be 100% of the renewal fee.  The penalty fee is in addition to the 
renewal fee and must be paid for each renewal period that the license has not been 
renewed.  If the license has not been renewed on or before the date set by ARM 
8.2.208, the late penalty fee must be paid. 
 (a)  In the event a renewal fee has been abated, the late penalty fee still 
applies.  The late penalty fee that must be paid is 100% of the renewal fee that 
would have been charged had the renewal fee not been abated. 
 (3)  When converting an inactive status license to an active status license, the 
difference between the inactive status fee and the active status fee must be paid for 
the remainder of the current renewal period. 
 (4)  When a military reservist renews a professional or occupational license 
after being discharged from active duty, the renewal fee will be the current renewal 
fee.  No past fees accrued while the reservist was on active duty will be charged. 
 (5)  All fees are nonrefundable. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-101, MCA 
 IMP:     27-1-717, 37-1-130, 37-1-134, 37-1-138, MCA 
 
REASON:  It is reasonable and necessary to create a fee rule designating standard 
fees for those services provided by most licensing entities of the Division.  Specific 
fiscal impact statements are included in the reasonable necessity statement for 
individual Board or Program fee rules.  See general reasons for more detail. 
 
 NEW RULE IV  LICENSING  (1)  The department will issue all licenses to 
those routine applicants who meet the licensing requirements and pay the required 
fees. 
 (2)  The department will issue all licenses as directed by the governing board 
to those nonroutine applicants who meet the licensing requirements and pay the 
required fees.  A nonroutine applicant may be asked to appear before the board 
prior to the final board decision regarding the granting of a nonroutine license. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-101, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-101, 37-1-130, MCA 
 
REASON:  It is reasonable and necessary to promulgate this rule to identify that the 
Department will review and process all routine applications.  It is no longer 
necessary for individual Boards to approve all license applications.  This streamlines 
the application process, decreases the amount of time Boards spend reviewing and 
approving applications that do not vary from the standard application requirements.  
This time savings will benefit both Board members and the public by allowing the 
Board to focus on more significant issues. 
 
Also, it is reasonable and necessary to identify that the Department will issue 
licenses to all nonroutine applicants as directed by the governing Board.  This rule 
clarifies that the decision to issue a license to a nonroutine applicant is left to the 
discretion of the licensing Board regulating that specific profession or occupation. 
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 NEW RULE V  RENEWAL NOTIFICATION  (1)  The department shall send 
renewal notices to all licensees.  Renewal notices shall be sent to the last known 
address in the division's records.  It is the responsibility of the licensee to keep the 
division timely informed of the licensee's current mailing address.  Failure to receive 
notice for renewal in no way releases the licensee from the obligation to renew in a 
timely manner, and shall not constitute a defense to practicing without a license. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-101, 37-1-141, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-101, 37-1-130, 37-1-141, MCA 
 
REASON:  It is reasonable and necessary to adopt this rule to standardize the 
notification process for licensees.  The process for sending renewal notices varied 
between licensing entities.  This rule will provide equity by giving all licensees 
advance notice that their license needs to be renewed.  See general reasons for 
more detail. 
 
 NEW RULE VI  RENEWED, LAPSED, EXPIRED, OR TERMINATED 
LICENSES  (1)  All licenses must be renewed on or before the renewal date as 
listed in, and in accordance with ARM 8.2.208.  Late renewals must be accompanied 
by the fees as specified in [NEW RULE III] and any other information required as if 
the renewal were submitted prior to the renewal date. 
 (a)  A suspended license must be renewed in accordance with ARM 8.2.208 
or the license will proceed to expire or terminate. 
 (2)  If the license has not been renewed, the license shall be considered a 
lapsed, expired, or terminated license. 
 (a)  A lapsed license may be reactivated within 45 days of the renewal date 
by submitting the required, completed renewal information and paying the required 
fees. 
 (b)  Licenses not renewed within 45 days from the renewal date automatically 
expire.  An expired license may be reactivated within two years of the renewal date 
by submitting the required, completed renewal information and paying the required 
fees. 
 (c)  Licenses not renewed within two years from the renewal date 
automatically terminate.  A terminated license may not be reactivated.  A new 
original license must be obtained by completing the current requirements for a new 
application, including successfully passing the licensing examination if applicable. 
 (3)  A licensee whose license has lapsed or expired, may not apply for a new 
license.  A licensee must renew the license if it has lapsed or expired.  All renewal 
requirements must be met and fees paid in order for a lapsed or expired license to 
be renewed.  A new original license will be issued to a licensee whose license has 
terminated, provided all licensing requirements are met. 
 (4)  A licensee who practices while a license is lapsed is not considered to be 
practicing without a license. 
 (5)  A licensee who practices after a license has expired is considered to be 
practicing without a license and is subject to discipline provided by statute or rule. 
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 (6)  A former licensee who practices after a license is terminated is 
considered to be practicing without a license and is subject to cease and desist or a 
district court restraining order. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-101, 37-1-141, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-101, 37-1-130, 37-1-141, MCA 
 
REASON:  It is reasonable and necessary to adopt this rule to clarify the three 
variations in license status if a license is not renewed by the renewal date.  This 
provides clear direction to the licensee and describes the consequences for not 
renewing in a timely manner.  See general reasons for more detail. 
 
 6.  Each Board or Program that is promulgating rules implementing changes 
from HB 182 follow.  Board rules appear first, by Boards being listed in alphabetical 
order, followed by Program rules, with Programs being listed in alphabetical order.  
New, amended, and repealed rules are intermingled in this section instead of being 
lumped together by action type.  This format is being used to keep all rule changes 
pertaining to a specific Board or Program together to aid licensees, the public, Board 
members and Department staff.  The rules proposed to be amended provide as 
follows, stricken matter interlined, new matter underlined: 
 
 BOARD OF ALTERNATIVE HEALTH CARE 
 
 24.111.401  FEES  (1) through (2)(m) remain the same. 
 (n)  administrative/copying requests 20 
 (3)  Additional standardized fees are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-26-201, 37-27-105, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-26-201, 37-27-205, 37-27-210, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  Based on fiscal year 
2005, it is estimated that the creation of standardized fees will have the following 
impact: 
 (1)  three licensees will request license verification for a $60 increase in 
revenue; 
 (2)  five licensees will request duplicate licenses for a $25 increase in 
revenue; 
 (3)  two requests for licensee lists or rosters will be received for a $60 
increase in revenue; and 
 (4)  three licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a $1,237.50 increase in 
revenue. 
 
 24.111.2101  RENEWALS  (1) (2)  The renewal date for All naturopathic 
physician licenses, naturopathic specialty certificates, direct-entry midwife 
apprentice licenses, and direct-entry midwife licenses will expire each year, on is the 
date set by ARM 8.2.208, unless otherwise provided by statute. 
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 (a)  If a direct-entry midwife apprentice has held the initial apprentice license 
for less than one year on the first renewal date following such licensure, then the 
apprentice is not required to renew the initial apprentice license until the following 
renewal date. 
 (1)  A renewal notice will be sent as specified in [NEW RULE V].  by the board 
to each license/certificate holder to the last address in the board's files.  Failure to 
receive such notice shall not relieve the license/certificate holder of his/her obligation 
to pay renewal fees in such a manner that they are received by the department on or 
before the renewal date.  All licensees must submit the proper renewal fee, proper 
documentation of completion of appropriate continuing education hours as required 
by statute or rule and any other forms or documents required by the board. 
 (2)  A renewed license shall be valid for one year following the expiration date 
of the previously held license/certificate. 
 (3)  The fee for any Any licensee who fails to renew or submit a renewal fee 
prior to on or before the expiration renewal date shall be increased by 50% of his 
renewal fee must pay the late penalty fee as specified in [NEW RULE III].  Renewals 
may not be processed until all fees are paid. 
 (4)  Any person failing to renew a license within six months of the expiration 
date will be considered to have forfeited the license.  The licensee shall reapply to 
the board in order to be relicensed to practice naturopathic medicine or direct-entry 
midwifery in this state The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-141, 37-26-201, 37-27-105, 37-27-205, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-141, 37-26-201, 37-27-105, 37-27-205, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  It is also reasonable 
and necessary to amend (2) by adding new subsection (a) because 37-27-205(2), 
MCA, states that a direct-entry midwife apprentice license can be renewed a 
maximum of four times.  This statute precludes apprentices from engaging in the 
practice of midwifery indefinitely without taking the NARM exam and becoming fully 
licensed as a direct-entry midwife.  An apprentice license can be issued at any time 
to a qualified applicant.  There have been instances of people receiving their initial 
direct-entry midwife apprentice license in, for example, January and having to renew 
on April 1st of the same year, thereby using up one of the four renewals allowed by 
37-27-205(2), MCA.  That circumstance is problematic because of the extensive 
experience which must be obtained by apprentices pursuant to ARM 24.111.602 in 
order to qualify for licensure as a direct-entry midwife.  Apprentices are having 
trouble fulfilling those experience requirements within the time allowed for them to be 
licensed as apprentices under 37-27-205(2), MCA.  The problem is exacerbated 
when the first renewal occurs less than one year after initial apprentice licensure.  
Two apprentices recently requested that the board rectify the problem.  The addition 
of (2)(a) is being made at this time in order to consolidate these changes with the 
changes implementing HB 182.  By consolidating these changes, the number of 
times the same rule is amended over a short period of time is decreased, prevents 
running simultaneous amendments to the same rule, decreases the cost of 
promulgating rules by reducing the number of rulemaking notices required, and 
eliminates the misconception that licensees were over regulated. 
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The proposed amendment would also make the rule clearer, delete existing (2) that 
is redundant, and supplement the authority and implementation citations. 
 
 24.111.2102  NATUROPATHIC PHYSICIAN CONTINUING EDUCATION 
REQUIREMENTS  (1) through (2)(b) remain the same. 
 (i)  One continuing education credit shall be granted for each hour of 
participation in the continuing education activity excluding breaks and meals.  A 
licensed naturopath must earn at least 15 continuing education credits within the 12 
months prior to renewal on April 30 the date set by ARM 8.2.208 of each year.  (Five 
must be in naturopathic pharmacy, five additional in obstetrics if licensee has 
childbirth specialty certificate.)  A maximum of two credits by cassette or videotape 
per renewal period is will be allowed.  A certificate of completion or an outline of 
course content must be submitted by the licensee for each cassette or videotape for 
the maximum two continuing education credits to be granted allowed.  The total 
number of continuing education credits obtained via the Internet and/or 
correspondence courses will be limited to three credits per renewal period. 
 (ii) remains the same. 
 (iii)  All licensed naturopaths must either submit attestation to the board, on 
the appropriate year's license renewal form, that they have obtained the required 
number of continuing education credits or submit a plan to complete CE credits.  The 
board will review the renewal forms prior to October 30 within six months of the 
renewal date of that same year, and notify the licensee regarding his/her 
noncompliance.  Prior to the next consecutive year's license renewal deadline date, 
those licensees who have not complied with continuing education requirements will 
not be granted license renewal.  Those not receiving notice from the board regarding 
their continuing education should may assume satisfactory compliance.  Notices will 
be considered properly mailed when addressed to the last known address on file in 
the board office.  No continuing education programs used to complete delinquent 
continuing education plan requirements for licensure may be used to meet the 
continuing education requirements for the next continuing education reporting 
period. 
 (iv) through (vii) remain the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-141, 37-1-319, 37-26-201, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-141, 37-1-306, MCA 
 
REASON:  It is reasonable and necessary to amend this rule in order to remove the 
specific renewal date as explained in the general reasonable necessity statement.  
With that change being made, it is no longer appropriate to list a specific date by 
which the Board will review renewal forms.  The rule is being amended to delete the 
specific date reference, but still allows the board the same time length to review the 
forms.  This change is not a change in substance, only in wording and will not impact 
either the Board or the licensees. 
 
 24.111.2103  MIDWIVES CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS 
 (1) through (2)(b) remain the same. 
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 (i)  One continuing education credit shall be granted for each hour of 
participation in the continuing education activity excluding breaks and meals.  A 
licensed direct-entry midwife must earn at least 14 continuing education credits 
within the 12 months prior to the renewal on April 30 date set by ARM 8.2.208 of 
each year.  A maximum of two credits by cassette or videotape per renewal period is 
will be allowed.  A certificate of completion or an outline of course content must be 
submitted by the licensee for each cassette or videotape of the maximum two 
continuing education credits to be granted allowed.  The total number of continuing 
education credits obtained via the Internet and/or correspondence courses will be 
limited to three credits per renewal period. 
 (ii) remains the same. 
 (iii)  All licensed direct-entry midwives must either submit attestation to the 
board, on the appropriate year's license renewal form, that they have obtained the 
required number of continuing education credits or submit a plan to complete CE 
credits.  The board will review the renewal forms prior to October 30 within six 
months of the renewal date of that same year, and notify the licensee regarding 
his/her noncompliance.  Prior to the next consecutive year's license renewal 
deadline date, those licensees who have not complied with continuing education 
requirements will not be granted license renewal.  Those not receiving notice from 
the board regarding their continuing education should may assume satisfactory 
compliance.  Notices will be considered properly mailed when addressed to the last 
known address on file in the board office.  No continuing education programs used 
to complete delinquent continuing education plan requirements for licensure may be 
used to meet the continuing education requirements for the next continuing 
education reporting period. 
 (iv) through (vi) remain the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-141, 37-1-319, 37-27-105, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-141, 37-1-306, MCA 
 
REASON:  See reason for ARM 24.111.2102. 
 
 24.111.2301  UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT  (1) through (6) remain the 
same. 
 (7)  Practicing naturopathy or midwifery while the license is suspended, 
revoked, or expired not currently renewed; 
 (8) through (13) remain the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-319, 37-26-201, 37-27-105, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 37-1-316, 37-1-319, 37-26-201, 37-27-105, MCA 
 
REASON:  It is reasonable and necessary to amend this rule to make the rule 
consistent with the intent of 37-1-141, MCA.  A lapsed license is not currently 
renewed, but a licensee who practices with a lapsed license is not considered to be 
practicing without a license.  Therefore, this should not be considered as 
unprofessional conduct making the amendment necessary. 
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     BOARD OF ALTERNATIVE HEALTH CARE 
     MICHAEL BERGKAMP, N.D., CHAIRPERSON 
 
/s/ VIVIAN V. HAMMILL  /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Vivian V. Hammill   Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Rule Reviewer   DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 

BOARD OF ARCHITECTS 
 
 24.114.401  FEE SCHEDULE 
 (1) remains the same. 
 (2)  Biennial renewal (if paid by July 31st) 110 
 (3)  Late biennial renewal (if paid after July 31st) 170 
 (4) (3)  Original license fee, if licensed in an even year 80 
 (5) (4)  Original license fee, if licensed in an odd year 40 
 (6)  Documents, duplicate license, rosters 27 
 (7)  License verification fee 10 
 (8) (6)  All fees are non-refundable. 
 (5)  Additional standardized fees are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-65-204, 37-65-307, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-65-201, 37-65-304, 37-65-306, 37-65-307, 
 MCA 
 
REASON:  It is reasonably necessary to amend (2) and (3) to remove a specific date 
reference.  In the event the renewal date changes, this rule will not need to be 
amended to reflect that change.  By eliminating the need for additional rulemaking, 
the Board of Architects can save money and better serve the licensees.  Also, there 
is no current law to require a one-month grace period.  See general statement of 
reasonable necessity for more detail. 
 
Based on fiscal year 2005, it is estimated that the creation of standardized fees will 
have the following impact: 
 (1)  five licensees will request license verification for an $80 increase in 
revenue; 
 (2)  seven licensees will request duplicate licenses for a $35 increase in 
revenue; 
 (3)  20 pages of photocopies will be requested for a $5 increase in revenue; 
 (4)  ten pages of certified photocopies will be requested for a $5 increase in 
revenue; 
 (5)  eight licensees will request duplicate wall certificates for a $160 increase 
in revenue; and 
 (6)  40 licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a $6,651.20 increase in 
revenue. 
 
 24.114.406  SOLICITATION OF BUSINESS BY ARCHITECTS FROM 
OTHER STATES  (1)  A nonresident architect who holds a current, unexpired, 
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unrestricted license to practice architecture issued by the state in which the 
architect's principal offices are located and who holds a current NCARB certificate, 
may, upon furnishing the board with verification of licensure from the other state 
licensing authority, and verification of NCARB certification, offer architectural 
services in this state, but may accept no commission or otherwise engage in the 
practice of architecture within this state until licensed by the board. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-319, 37-65-204, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 37-1-305, MCA 
 
REASON:  This rule is to be amended to remove a connotation of the word "expire" 
which was defined in HB 182 amendments.  By removing this word from the rule, it 
eliminates the potential for misinterpretation.  Under the new definition, an expired 
license is one that is not reactivated 45 days to two years after the renewal date.  
Therefore, an unexpired license is a license that has been reactivated 45 days to 
two years after the renewal date.  The timeframe prior to the 45th day is not 
addressed the way the rule currently reads.  The amendment would clarify that the 
nonresident architect must hold a current, unrestricted license in order to offer 
architectural services in Montana. 
 
 24.114.2101  RENEWALS  (1)  Biennial renewals shall be issued by the 
board, upon receipt of biennial renewal fee.  Notice of biennial renewal Renewal 
notices shall be mailed to each licensed architect in advance of the renewal date will 
be sent as specified in [NEW RULE V].  The notice shall be returned with the 
renewal fee or late renewal fee to the board office. 
 (2)  The renewal date fee shall be due on is the date set forth in by ARM 
8.2.208.  However, a one-month grace period thereafter is provided by statute.  A 
late renewal fee will be imposed upon any license which has not been renewed by 
July 31.  Both a renewal fee and late renewal fee will be imposed for each year a 
license is lapsed. 
 (3)  A license that has lapsed for three successive years automatically 
terminates and may not be reinstated, and a new license must be obtained, and 
appropriate fees must be paid The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-141, 37-65-204, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-141, 37-65-306, MCA 
 
REASON:  It is reasonably necessary to change this rule to clarify the renewal 
notification process that will be completed by all Division Boards and Programs.  
Also, there is no current law to require a one-month grace period so that reference is 
being eliminated.  A reference to the standard late penalty fee rule is being added to 
aid the user in determining the appropriate fees required if submitting after the 
renewal date.  Section (3) is being amended because current language conflicts with 
amendments made in HB 182 and the requirements will be found in NEW RULE VI.  
See general statement of reasonable necessity for more detail. 
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     BOARD OF ARCHITECTS 
     TOM WOOD, PRESIDENT 
 
/s/ VIVIAN V. HAMMILL  /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Vivian V. Hammill   Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Rule Reviewer   DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 BOARD OF ATHLETICS 
 
 24.117.402  FEES  (1) through (10) remain the same. 
 (11)  Additional standardized fees are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 
 AUTH:  23-3-405, 37-1-134, MCA 
 IMP:     23-3-405, 23-3-501, 37-1-134, 37-1-141, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  Based on fiscal year 
2005, it is estimated that the creation of standardized fees will have no fiscal impact.  
The Board of Athletics does not renew licenses therefore there will be no late 
penalty fees or status change fees.  During the last fiscal year, the Board did not 
receive any requests for duplicate licenses, license verifications, license histories, 
licensee lists or rosters, or copy requests.  It is anticipated this trend will continue. 
 
 24.117.406  GENERAL LICENSING REQUIREMENTS  (1)  remains the 
same. 
 (2)  All licenses shall expire on June 30 of each year end on the date set by 
ARM 8.2.208 and are nonrenewable. 
 (3) through (15) remain the same. 
 
 AUTH:  23-3-405, 37-1-141, MCA 
 IMP:     23-3-404, 23-3-405, 23-3-501, 23-3-502, 37-1-141, MCA 
 
REASON:  It is reasonable and necessary to amend this rule in order to remove the 
specific renewal date as explained in the general reasonable necessity statement. 
 
This rule is also to be amended to remove the word "expire" which was defined in 
HB 182 amendments.  By removing this word from the rule, it eliminates the 
potential for misinterpretation.  Under the new definition, an expired license is one 
that is not reactivated 45 days to two years after the renewal date.  Athletics licenses 
are nonrenewable, therefore the provisions to renew an expired license are not 
applicable to these licensees. 
 
     BOARD OF ATHLETICS 
     KEVIN MCCARL, CHAIRPERSON 
 
/s/ VIVIAN V. HAMMILL  /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Vivian V. Hammill   Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Rule Reviewer   DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
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 BOARD OF BARBERS AND COSMETOLOGISTS 
 
 24.121.401  FEES AND RENEWALS  (1) through (9) remain the same. 
 (10)  Late renewal penalty 75 
 (11) remains the same but is renumbered (10). 
 (12)  Duplicate license 15 
 (13) remains the same but is renumbered (11). 
 (14)  Document 20 
 (12)  Additional standardized fees are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 (15)  remains the same but is renumbered (13). 
 (14)  Renewal notices will be sent as specified in [NEW RULE V]. 
 (16) (15)  All individual licenses must be renewed on or before the renewal 
date a biennial basis and expire on December 31 of the renewal year set by ARM 
8.2.208. 
 (a)  If the completed renewal application is postmarked after December 31, or 
after the first business day of the new year if December 31 is a Sunday, the licensee 
shall pay a late renewal fee in addition to the license renewal fee. 
 (17) (16)  All school licenses must be renewed on or before the renewal date 
an annual basis and expire on December 31 of each year set by ARM 8.2.208. 
 (a)  If the completed school renewal application is postmarked after 
December 31, or after the first business day of the new year if December 31 is a 
Sunday, the licensee shall pay a late renewal fee in addition to the license renewal 
fee. 
 (18) (17)  All salon, shop, and booth rental licenses must be renewed on or 
before the renewal date an annual basis and expire on July 1 of each year set by 
ARM 8.2.208. 
 (a)  If the completed salon, shop or booth renewal application is postmarked 
after July 1, or after the first business day of the renewal year if July 1 is a Sunday, 
the licensee shall pay a late renewal fee in addition to the license renewal fee. 
 (18)  The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 (19) and (20) remain the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-31-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-31-302, 37-31-304, 37-31-305, 37-31-311, 37-
 31-312, 37-31-321, 37-31-322, 37-31-323, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  Based on fiscal year 
2005, it is estimated that the creation of standardized fees will have the following 
impact: 
 (1)  120 licensees will request license verifications for no change in revenue; 
 (2)  50 licensees will request duplicate licenses for a $500 decrease in 
revenue; 
 (3)  35 requests for licensee lists or rosters will be received for a $1,050 
increase in revenue; 
 (4)  three licensees will request status change for no change in revenue; 
 (5)  13 licensees will request suspended license renewal for a $292.50 
decrease in revenue; 
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 (6)  nine licensees will request probationary license renewal for a $202.50 
decrease in revenue; 
 (7)  300 personal license licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a $9,000 
increase in revenue; and 
 (8)  100 salon or shop license licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a 
$5,000 increase in revenue. 
 
 24.121.603  OUT-OF-STATE APPLICANTS  (1) through (7) remain the same. 
 (8)  Out-of-state applicants whose licensure has lapsed and who are not 
currently licensed in another state shall: 
 (a) through (9) remain the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-31-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 37-1-304, 37-31-303, 37-31-304, 37-31-305, 37-31-308, 
 MCA 
 
REASON:  It is reasonable and necessary to amend this rule to eliminate the 
reference to lapsed licensure.  The definition of lapsed licensure in the other state 
may not be the same as in Montana.  It is prudent to remove this reference in order 
to prevent misinterpretation and confusion. 
 
 24.121.609  LAPSED LICENSE found at ARM page 24-9103 is proposed to 
be repealed. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-31-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 37-31-322, MCA 
 
REASON:  It is reasonable and necessary to repeal this rule.  The provisions of 
ARM 24.121.609 are similar to those in proposed NEW RULE VI, which is 
referenced in ARM 24.121.401.  Having similar information could lead to conflict and 
confusion.  Therefore in keeping with the concept of standardized rules, this 
information more appropriately belongs in the Division rule instead of in the Board of 
Barbers and Cosmetologists rules. 
 
 24.121.2101  CONTINUING EDUCATION - INSTRUCTORS/INACTIVE 
INSTRUCTORS  (1) through (7) remain the same. 
 (8)  To activate an inactive instructor license, licensees shall submit evidence 
of completion of 15 hours of approved continuing education obtained within the 12-
month period prior to activating the license.  Licensees shall also be required to 
complete an additional 30 hours of continuing education before the December 31 
renewal date set by ARM 8.2.208. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-141, 37-1-319, 37-31-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 37-1-306, MCA 
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REASON:  It is reasonable and necessary to amend this rule in order to remove the 
specific renewal date as explained in the general reasonable necessity statement.  
See general statement of reasonable necessity for more detail. 
 
     BOARD OF BARBERS AND COSMETOLOGISTS 
     WENDELL PETERSEN, CHAIRPERSON 
 
/s/ VIVIAN V. HAMMILL  /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Vivian V. Hammill   Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Rule Reviewer   DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 

BOARD OF CHIROPRACTORS 
 
 24.126.401  FEE SCHEDULE  (1) through (3) remain the same. 
 (4)  Late renewal fee 50 
 (5) through (11) remain the same but are renumbered (4) through (10). 
 (11)  Additional standardized fees are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 (12)  All fees are non-refundable. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-12-201, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-12-201, 37-12-302, 37-12-304, 37-12-307, 
 MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  Based on fiscal year 
2005, it is estimated that the creation of standardized fees will have the following 
impact: 
 (1)  ten licensees will request license verification for a $200 increase in 
revenue; 
 (2)  five licensees will request duplicate licenses for a $25 increase in 
revenue; 
 (3)  ten requests for licensee lists or rosters will be received for a $160 
increase in revenue; 
 (4)  one licensee will request a duplicate wall certificate for a $20 increase in 
revenue; 
 (5)  eight licensees will request status change for a $50 decrease in revenue; 
 (6)  one licensee will request probationary license renewal for a $50 increase 
in revenue; 
 (7)  ten active chiropractor licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a $1,000 
increase in revenue; and 
 (8)  ten inactive chiropractor licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a $900 
decrease in revenue. 
 
 24.126.2101  RENEWALS - CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS  
 (1)  The board shall send a renewal Renewal notices will be sent as specified 
in [NEW RULE V]. application form to the licensee's address on file in the board 
office prior to the renewal deadline.  Failure of the licensee to receive a renewal 
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application form in no way releases the licensee from the obligation to renew his or 
her license in a timely manner. 
 (2)  The renewal date for a chiropractic license is set by ARM 8.2.208. 
 (2) and (3) remain the same but are renumbered (3) and (4). 
 (4) (5)  Licensees may renew their licenses for a period of one year after the 
expiration date of the license by paying a late fee and by submitting documentation 
of the appropriate continuing education requirements.  A license that is not renewed 
within one two years of the most recent renewal date automatically terminates.  The 
terminated license may not be reinstated reactivated, and a new original license 
must be obtained by passing the special purposes examination for chiropractic 
(SPEC) administered by the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners and paying 
the appropriate fees in accordance with [NEW RULE III]. 
 (6)  The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 (5) through (8) remain the same but are renumbered (7) through (10). 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-1-319, 37-12-201, 37-12-307, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-1-306, 37-1-319, 37-12-307, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
     BOARD OF CHIROPRACTORS 
     DANIEL PRIDEAUX, D.C., PRESIDENT 
 
/s/ VIVIAN V. HAMMILL  /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Vivian V. Hammill   Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Rule Reviewer   DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 BOARD OF CLINICAL LABORATORY SCIENCE PRACTITIONERS 
 
 24.129.401  FEES  (1) through (2)(d) remain the same. 
 (e)  late renewal fee (in addition to renewal fee) 50 
 (f) remains the same but is renumbered (e). 
 (g)  duplicate license fee 25 
 (h)  remains the same but is renumbered (f). 
 (g)  Additional standardized fees are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-34-201, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-34-201, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  Based on fiscal year 
2005, it is estimated that the creation of standardized fees will have the following 
impact: 
 (1)  one licensee will request license verification for a $20 increase in 
revenue; 
 (2)  one request for licensee lists or rosters will be received for a $50 increase 
in revenue; 
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 (3)  two licensees will request duplicate wall certificates for a $40 increase in 
revenue; 
 (4)  four licensees will request status change for a $60 decrease in revenue; 
 (5)  11 active clinical laboratory scientist licensees will pay the late penalty fee 
for a $110 increase in revenue; 
 (6)  ten active clinical laboratory technician licensees will pay the late penalty 
fee for a $100 increase in revenue; 
 (7)  one inactive clinical laboratory scientist licensee will pay the late penalty 
fee for a $50 increase in revenue; 
 (8)  one inactive clinical laboratory technician licensee will pay the late penalty 
fee for a $50 increase in revenue; and 
 (9)  one inactive clinical laboratory specialist licensee will pay the late penalty 
fee for a $50 increase in revenue. 
 
 24.129.602  RENEWALS  (1)  Renewal notices will be sent as specified in 
[NEW RULE V]. 
 (2)  Licenses must be renewed on or before the date set by ARM 8.2.208. 
 (1) (3)  If a license fee is received by the department after the renewal date 
set by ARM 8.2.208, the licensee shall pay a the late renewal penalty fee in 
accordance with [NEW RULE III].  Any person failing to renew a license within 45 
days of the expiration date will be considered to have forfeited his or her license.  
Thereafter, the individual shall be treated as a new applicant for licensure, and shall 
be required to comply with all statutes and rules relating to new applicants for a 
license. 
 (2)  Licenses will be renewed on an annual basis beginning with the May 1, 
2000 renewal. 
 (4)  The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-141, 37-34-201, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 37-34-201, 37-34-305, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
 24.129.610  INACTIVE STATUS  (1) and (1)(a) remain the same. 
 (b)  paying the required fee in accordance with 37-34-201 37-1-134, MCA, 
and ARM 24.129.401. 
 (2) remains the same. 
 (3)  With annual renewal, and payment of the required fee in accordance with 
ARM 24.129.401, a licensee may remain on inactive status.  Failure to renew an 
inactive status license will result in forfeiture of the license pursuant to ARM 
24.129.602. 
 (4) remains the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-134, 37-1-319, 37-34-201, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-1-319, 37-34-201, MCA 
 



 
 
 

 
4-2/23/06 MAR Notice No. 24-101-202 

-416-

REASON:  HB 182 was amended and the reference to setting fees commensurate 
with costs was removed from 37-34-201, MCA.  This rule is being amended to make 
the rule agree with statute.  Section (3) is being amended to remove an internal 
reference to a rule that is also being amended.  The proposed amendment will 
delete information regarding forfeiture; therefore it is no longer necessary to have 
this internal reference. 
 
     BOARD OF CLINICAL LABORATORY SCIENCE 
     PRACTITIONERS 
     KAREN MCNUTT, CHAIRPERSON 
 
/s/ VIVIAN V. HAMMILL  /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Vivian V. Hammill   Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Rule Reviewer   DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 BOARD OF DENTISTRY 
 
 24.138.301  DEFINITIONS  For the purposes of this chapter, the following 
definitions apply: 
 (1) through (7) remain the same. 
 (8)  "Retired or nonpracticing dentist or dental hygienist" is a person who has 
surrendered or allowed not renewed the individual's license to expire for non-
disciplinary reasons and has ceased to practice the individual's profession for 
remuneration. 
 (9) remains the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-4-205, 37-4-340, 37-29-201, MCA 
 IMP:     37-4-101, 37-4-205, 37-4-340, 37-4-408, 37-29-201, MCA 
 
REASON:  It is reasonable and necessary to amend this rule to make the rule 
consistent with the intent of 37-1-141, MCA.  See general statement of reasonable 
necessity for more detail. 
 
 24.138.402  FEE SCHEDULE  (1) through (13) remain the same. 
 (14)  Late renewal penalty 100 
 (15)  Duplicate wall certificate (computer printed) 10 
 (16)  Duplicate wall certificate (hand lettered) 30 
 (17)  Lists 30 
 (18)  remains the same but is renumbered (14). 
 (19)  Copies (per page, over 50 pages) 0.20 
 (20) through (22) remain the same but are renumbered (15) through (17). 
 (18)  Additional standardized fees are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-134, 37-4-205, 37-4-340, 37-4-405, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-4-301, 37-4-303, 37-4-307, 37-4-340, 37-4-
 402, 37-4-403, 37-4-405, 37-4-406, 37-29-304, MCA 
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REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  Based on fiscal year 
2005, it is estimated that the creation of standardized fees will have the following 
impact: 
 (1)  eight licensees will request duplicate licenses for a $40 decrease in 
revenue; 
 (2)  19 requests for licensee lists or rosters will be received for a $380 
increase in revenue; 
 (3)  no photocopies requests in excess of 20 pages will be received for a 
$3.80 decrease in revenue; 
 (4)  two licensees will request duplicate wall certificates for a $20 decrease in 
revenue; 
 (5)  17 dentist licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a $799 decrease in 
revenue; 
 (6)  11 dental hygienist licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a $1,430 
decrease in revenue; and 
 (7)  one denturist licensee will pay the late penalty fee for no change in 
revenue. 
 
 24.138.517  DENTURIST LICENSE REINSTATEMENT  (1)  Upon application 
and payment of the appropriate fee, the board may reinstate a license previously 
forfeited for non-payment of fee if the applicant does each of the following: 
 (a) through (f) remain the same. 
 (g)  pays renewal fees for each year they were unpaid, plus a the late penalty 
fee for each year as specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-141, 37-29-201, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, MCA 
 
REASON:  It is reasonable and necessary to amend (1) to eliminate the cause of 
forfeiting the license.  A license is not forfeited per se for failure to pay the required 
fees.  In order for a license to be forfeited, the licensee must fail to submit the 
required information and pay the required fees within two years of the license 
renewal date.  Also, the provision in 37-4-307, MCA, which allowed for a license to 
be forfeited for nonpayment of the renewal fee has been removed.  In order to clarify 
the rule, this language is proposed to be deleted. 
 
Also, see general statement of reasonable necessity for the rationale for amending 
(1)(g). 
 
 24.138.518  RENEWALS  (1)  Renewal notices will be sent as specified in 
[NEW RULE V]. 
 (2)  Each year licensees Licensees shall: 
 (a)  renew their licenses by the elected date stated in ARM 8.2.203 8.2.208; 
 (b)  submit an annual renewal form and fee, and a the late penalty fee as 
specified in [NEW RULE III], if applicable; 
 (c) and (d) remain the same. 
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 (2) (3)  In case of default by a dentist in payment of the annual renewal fee, 
the dentist will be subject to 37-4-307, MCA The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 (3)  In case of default by a dental hygienist in payment of the annual renewal 
fee, the dental hygienist will be subject to 37-4-406, MCA. 
 (4)  In case of default in payment of the annual renewal fee by a licensee 
denturist: 
 (a)  The denturist must forfeit the license.  The board shall give the denturist 
30 days notice of the proposed forfeiture action.  The notice must be sent by certified 
letter addressed to the last-known address of the denturist and must contain a 
statement of the time and place at which the forfeiture will be concluded. 
 (b)  If the denturist pays the renewal fee, plus a delinquent fee as set forth in 
ARM 24.138.402, prior to the time set for forfeiture, the denturist license may not be 
forfeited. 
 (c)  A denturist license forfeited for nonpayment of the renewal fee may be 
reinstated within five years of forfeiture if all requirements set forth in ARM 
24.138.517 have been satisfied. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-141, 37-4-205, 37-29-201, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 37-4-307, 37-4-406, 37-29-306, MCA 
 
REASON:  It is reasonable and necessary to amend this rule because the provision 
in 37-4-307, MCA that allowed for a license to be forfeited for nonpayment of the 
renewal fee has been removed.  Also, see general statement of reasonable 
necessity for more detail. 
 
 24.138.530  LICENSURE OF RETIRED OR NONPRACTICING DENTIST OR 
DENTAL HYGIENIST FOR VOLUNTEER SERVICE  (1) through (4) remain the 
same. 
 (5)  Volunteer licenses must be renewed annually by the date set by ARM 
8.2.208. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-141, 37-4-204, 37-4-340, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 37-4-340, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
     BOARD OF DENTISTRY 
     PAUL SIMS, D.D.S., PRESIDENT 
 
/s/ VIVIAN V. HAMMILL  /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Vivian V. Hammill   Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Rule Reviewer   DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 STATE ELECTRICAL BOARD 
 
 24.141.405  FEE SCHEDULE  (1) through (5) remain the same. 
 (6)  Late renewal fee 50 
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 (7) remains the same but is renumbered (6) 
 (8)  License list 20 
 (9) (7) Fees are non-refundable. 
 (8)  Additional standardized fees are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-68-201, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-1-304, 37-1-305, 37-68-304, 37-68-307, 37-
 68-310, 37-68-311, 37-68-312, 37-68-313, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  Based on fiscal year 
2005, it is estimated that the creation of standardized fees will have the following 
impact: 
 (1)  30 licensees will request duplicate licenses for a $150 increase in 
revenue; 
 (2)  six requests for licensee lists or rosters will be received for a $220 
increase in revenue; 
 (3)  400 pages of photocopies will be requested for a $100 decrease in 
revenue; 
 (4)  four licensees will request license histories for an $80 increase in 
revenue; and 
 (5)  150 licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a $21,000 increase in 
revenue.  This increase in revenue is for a two-year renewal cycle, therefore no late 
penalty fees were received in fiscal year 2005. 
 
 24.141.2101  RENEWALS  (1)  Renewal notices will be sent as specified in 
[NEW RULE V]. 
 (2)  Renewal dates The renewal date is shall be set forth in by ARM 8.2.208.  
Renewal is the responsibility of the licensee and although the board may send out 
reminder notices to the last known address of the licensee, the lack of receipt of 
such notice does not relieve the licensee of the responsibility of renewal. 
 (3)  The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-141, 37-68-201, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 37-68-310, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
 24.141.2102  CONTINUING EDUCATION  (1)  Each master, journeyman, 
and residential electrician license shall not be renewed unless the continuing 
education requirements imposed by this rule have been met, prior to a July 15th the 
renewal date set by ARM 8.2.208.  Any licensee who fails to fulfill the continuing 
education requirements, imposed by this rule, by the August 15th following a July 
15th renewal date, within 31 days following the renewal date, shall cause the license 
to lapse not be renewed.  It is unlawful for a person whose license has lapsed not 
been renewed to perform electrical work in this state.  For reinstatement after August 
15th and before July 15th of the next year, before the end of the current renewal 
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period, the applicant shall have completed the continuing education requirements, 
certified that fact to the board and met all other renewal requirements. 
 (2) remains the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-319, 37-68-201, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-306, 37-68-201, MCA 
 
REASON:  It is reasonable and necessary to amend (1) in order to remove the 
specific renewal date as explained in the general reasonable necessity statement.  
Amendments are also proposed to eliminate specific date references, but include 
language to designate the same timeframes and continue with the same intent for 
meeting the continuing education requirements.  
 
     STATE ELECTRICAL BOARD 
     TONY MARTEL, PRESIDENT 
 
/s/ VIVIAN V. HAMMILL  /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Vivian V. Hammill   Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Rule Reviewer   DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICE 
 
 24.147.401  FEE SCHEDULE  (1) through (7)(h) remain the same. 
 (i)  Late renewal penalty - mortician, crematory 
operator and technician (paid in addition to renewal fee) 150 
 (j)  Late renewal penalty - mortuary and 
crematory license (paid in addition to renewal fee) 150 
 (8) through (18) remain the same. 
 (19)  Additional standardized fees are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-134, 37-19-202, 37-19-703, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-19-301, 37-19-303, 37-19-304, 37-19-306, 37-
 19-401, 37-19-402, 37-19-403, 37-19-702, 37-19-703, 37-19-808, 37-19-814, 
 37-19-815, 37-19-816, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  Based on fiscal year 
2005, it is estimated that the creation of standardized fees will have the following 
impact: 
 (1)  five licensees will request license verification for a $100 increase in 
revenue; 
 (2)  five licensees will request duplicate licenses for a $25 increase in 
revenue; 
 (3)  five requests for licensee lists or rosters will be received for a $150 
increase in revenue; 
 (4)  one mortician licensee will request status change for a $50 increase in 
revenue; 



 
 
 

 
MAR Notice No. 24-101-202 4-2/23/06 

-421-

 (5)  five active mortician licensees will pay the late penalty fee for an $800 
decrease in revenue; 
 (6)  two inactive mortician licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a $200 
increase in revenue; 
 (7)  five active crematory operator licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a 
$500 increase in revenue; 
 (8)  one inactive crematory operator licensee will pay the late penalty fee for a 
$50 increase in revenue; 
 (9)  three active crematory technician licensees will pay the late penalty fee 
for a $300 increase in revenue; 
 (10)  three mortuary licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a $900 increase 
in revenue; 
 (11)  one branch facility licensee will pay the late penalty fee for a $50 
increase in revenue; and 
 (12)  one crematory licensee will pay the late penalty fee for a $300 increase 
in revenue. 
 
 24.147.505  RENEWALS OF LICENSE  (1) (2)  All licenses, whether 
individual or establishment, with the exception of cemeteries, expire end annually 
and may be renewed pursuant to the provisions of this rule.  If a license is not 
renewed, practice by a licensee, whether individual or an establishment, after the 
The renewal date is set forth in by ARM 8.2.208 will constitute unlicensed practice 
and will subject the licensee to disciplinary action as provided by statute and rule. 
 (2) (1)  Prior to the renewal date, the board office will mail a renewal form to 
the licensee's preferred mailing address on file with the board.  Failure to receive 
such renewal form shall not relieve the licensee of the licensee's obligation to renew 
and pay renewal fees in a timely manner. Renewal notices will be sent as specified 
in [NEW RULE V]. 
 (3) remains the same. 
 (4)  Completed renewals forms submitted to the board after the date specified 
in ARM 8.2.208 shall be considered late and subject to a late penalty fee as 
specified in [NEW RULE III] in addition to the renewal fee.  In the event of a late 
renewal, the licensee may be subject to disciplinary action by the board for 
unlicensed practice. 
 (5)  remains the same. 
 (6)  The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-141, 37-19-202, 37-19-301, 37-19-306, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 37-19-301, 37-19-306, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  It is also reasonable 
and necessary to amend this rule to clarify that a late renewal does not necessarily 
constitute unlicensed practice.  A licensee may not have renewed by the renewal 
date, but as long as the license is renewed within 45 days of the renewal date, the 
licensee is practicing with a lapsed license, which is not considered to be practicing 
without a license under 37-1-141, MCA. 
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 24.147.1313  TRANSFER OF CEMETERY OWNERSHIP  (1) and (2) remain 
the same. 
 (3)  When there is a change of ownership pursuant to this rule, the existing 
certificate of authority shall lapse become void and a new certificate of authority shall 
be obtained from the Board of Funeral Service.  No person shall purchase a 
cemetery, including purchase at a sale for delinquent taxes, or purchase more than 
50% of the equitable ownership of a cemetery authority without having obtained a 
certificate of authority from the Board of Funeral Service prior to the purchase of the 
cemetery, or such an ownership interest in the cemetery authority. 
 (4) and (5) remain the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-19-807, MCA 
 IMP:     37-19-815, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  Also, it is reasonable 
and necessary to amend this rule to clarify the terminology.  When the word "lapse" 
was inserted into the rule, the "three tier" licensing concept of lapse, expire, and 
terminate was not being used.  Therefore, it is necessary to explain at what point the 
existing certificate of authority no longer remains valid. 
 
     BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICE 
     R. J. BROWN, CHAIRPERSON 
 
/s/ VIVIAN V. HAMMILL  /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Vivian V. Hammill   Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Rule Reviewer   DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 BOARD OF HEARING AID DISPENSERS 
 
 24.150.301  DEFINITIONS  (1) through (6) remain the same. 
 (7)  "Substantially equivalent," for the purposes of 37-1-304, MCA, means the 
applicant has successfully completed a written and practical examination 
administered by or authorized by a state other than Montana.  The examination shall 
measure basic knowledge of the fitting and dispensing of hearing aids and comply 
with the requirements set forth in 37-16-403 and 37-16-404, MCA.  In addition, the 
applicant shall have successfully completed a training period of direct supervision for 
no less than 90 days.  To satisfy the substantial equivalency requirement, the board 
shall accept formal training, in its discretion, in lieu of the traineeship. 
 
 AUTH:  37-16-202, 37-16-303, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-304, 37-16-301, 37-16-303, 37-16-304, 37-16-414, 
 MCA 
 
REASON:  It is reasonable and necessary to amend this rule because HB 182 
repealed 37-16-403 and 37-16-404, MCA.  Therefore, the reference to these 
statutes is no longer appropriate to be included in the rule. 
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24.150.401  FEES  (1) through (1)(h) remain the same. 
 (i)  Penalty for late renewal paid  
in addition to renewal fee (active or inactive) 175 
 (j)  Lists of licensees 20 
 (2)  Additional standardized fees are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 (2) remains the same but is renumbered (3). 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-16-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-16-202, 37-16-402, 37-16-404, 37-16-405, 37-
 16-407, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  Based on fiscal year 
2005, it is estimated that the creation of standardized fees will have the following 
impact: 
 (1)  one licensee will request a duplicate license for a $5 increase in revenue; 
 (2)  one request for licensee lists or rosters will be received for a $50 increase 
in revenue; 
 (3)  five licensees will request status change for an $875 increase in revenue; 
and 
 (4)  four licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a $400 increase in revenue. 
 
 24.150.505  INACTIVE STATUS  (1) remains the same. 
 (2)  Inactive licensees shall not be required to meet the continuing education 
requirements under 37-16-407, MCA. 
 (3) and (4) remain the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-319, 37-16-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-306, 37-16-407, MCA 
 
REASON:  It is reasonable and necessary to amend this rule because HB 182 
repealed 37-16-407, MCA.  Therefore, the reference to this statute is no longer 
appropriate to be included in the rule. 
 
 24.150.2101  RENEWALS  (1)  The board shall send renewal application 
forms to the licensee's address on file in the board office Renewal notices will be 
sent as specified in [NEW RULE V] prior to the renewal deadline date set by ARM 
8.2.208.  Failure to receive a renewal application form in no way releases the 
licensee from the obligation to renew in a timely manner, and shall not constitute a 
defense for practicing without a license. 
 (2) remains the same. 
 (3)  Licensees may renew their licenses within three years after the expiration 
date of the license by paying one renewal fee, one additional late fee and 
submission of documentation of continuing education that would have been required 
had the license remained active The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 (4)  A license that is not renewed within three years of the most recent 
renewal date automatically terminates.  The terminated license may not be 
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reinstated, and a new original license must be obtained by passing the licensing 
examination. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-141, 37-1-319, 37-16-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-141, 37-1-306, 37-16-407, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
 24.150.2201  CONTINUING EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS  (1)  The 
licensee must submit an affidavit, subscribed and sworn, stating that the licensee 
completed at least ten clock hours of continuing education.  Such evidence must be 
presented by June 30th of each year the date set in ARM 8.2.208. 
 (2) through (8) remain the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-319, 37-16-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-306, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
     BOARD OF HEARING AID DISPENSERS 
     BECKIE HOFFMAN, SECRETARY 
 
/s/ VIVIAN V. HAMMILL  /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Vivian V. Hammill   Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Rule Reviewer   DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 BOARD OF MEDICAL EXAMINERS 
 
 GENERAL REASONABLE NECESSITY STATEMENT FOR THE BOARD OF 
MEDICAL EXAMINERS: 
 
In addition to the general reasonable necessity statement for the Division rule 
changes given at the beginning of this document, the following general reasonable 
necessity statement applies to the rule changes proposed for the Board of Medical 
Examiners rules. 
 
The Board of Medical Examiners previously approved renewing licenses biennially 
instead of annually.  In order to better serve the public and be more efficient, the 
renewal frequency change is being included in this notice.  By consolidating these 
changes with the changes implementing HB 182, the number of times the same 
rules are amended over a short period of time is decreased, prevents running 
simultaneous amendments to the same rules, decreases the cost of promulgating 
rules by reducing the number of rulemaking notices required, and eliminates the 
misconception that license fee amounts changed several times within a short time 
period, or that licensees were over regulated. 
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The total amount of the renewal fee is not changing; there will be no fiscal impact by 
moving from annual renewal to biennial renewal.  It was arbitrarily decided that even 
numbered licenses would renew for a one-year period while odd numbered licenses 
would renew for a two-year period during the transition from annual renewals to 
biennial renewals.  The new renewal structure is proposed to begin with the 2007 
renewal cycle.  Therefore, these licensees will have adequate time to prepare for the 
fee submittal change.  The holders of odd numbered licensees will not renew their 
license during the 2008 renewal cycle. 
 
The option of promulgating a separate rule notice addressing the renewal frequency 
and corresponding change to the fee rule was considered, but deemed to be 
inefficient, costly, and burdensome to the licensees.  Therefore, the renewal 
frequency changes are being proposed at this time. 
 
 24.156.601  FEE SCHEDULE  (1) through (1)(c) remain the same. 
 (d)  Renewal fee (active)  
 (i)  even numbered licenses renewing for one year 200 
 (ii)  odd numbered licenses renewing for two years 400 
 (e)  Renewal fee (inactive)  
 (i)  even numbered licenses renewing for one year 100 
 (ii)  odd numbered licenses renewing for two years 200 
 (f)  Renewal fee (inactive-retired)  
 (i)  even numbered licenses renewing for one year 32.50 
 (ii)  odd numbered licenses renewing for two years 65 
 (g)  Penalty fee 150 
 (h)  Verification fee 20 
 (2)  Additional standardized fees to be charged are specified in [NEW RULE 
III]. 
 (3)  All fees are nonrefundable. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-1-319, 37-3-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-3-203, 37-3-304, 37-3-308, 37-3-309, 37-3-
 311, 37-3-313, MCA 
 
REASON:  See both general statements of reasonable necessity.  Based on fiscal 
year 2005, it is estimated that the creation of standardized fees will have the 
following impact: 
 (1)  50 licensees will request duplicate licenses for a $250 increase in 
revenue; 
 (2)  127 requests for licensee lists or rosters will be received for a $3,175 
increase in revenue; 
 (3)  ten licensees will request status change for a $1,000 increase in revenue; 
 (4)  two physician, osteopath, or podiatrist licensees will request suspended 
license renewal for a $200 decrease in revenue; 
 (5)  one EMT, nutritionist, or physician assistant licensee will request 
suspended license renewal for a $15 decrease in revenue; 
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 (6)  122 physician or podiatrist licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a 
$6,250 increase in revenue; 
 (7)  ten physician assistant licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a $500 
decrease in revenue; 
 (8)  24 EMT F licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a $480 increase in 
revenue; 
 (9)  96 EMT B licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a $2,880 increase in 
revenue; 
 (10)  13 EMT P licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a $780 increase in 
revenue; 
 (11)  five EMT I licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a $225 increase in 
revenue; and 
 (12)  three acupuncturist or nutritionist licensees will pay the late penalty fee 
for a $300 decrease in revenue. 
 
 24.156.602  NONREFUNDABLE FEES found at ARM page 24-15041 is 
proposed to be repealed. 
 
 AUTH:  37-3-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-3-314, MCA 
 
REASON:  This rule is to be repealed in order to standardize policies and 
procedures within the Department as directed by HB 182.  It is standard practice for 
the fee rules of the Department to identity that fees are nonrefundable.  It would 
have been necessary to amend ARM 24.156.602 to reflect the migration to a 
biennial basis instead of an annual basis.  By repealing the rule instead of amending 
it, the fee rule will now be consistent with other Division rules. 
 
 24.156.615  ANNUAL REGISTRATION RENEWALS AND FEES 
 (1)  Annual registration Renewal notices are to will be sent by the department 
on or before February 1 of each year as specified in [NEW RULE V]. 
 (2)  Beginning with the 2007 renewal cycle, one-half of the licensees will 
renew for a period of one year. 
 (a)  Licensees with an even numbered license will renew for a one-year 
period. 
 (b)  Licensees with an odd numbered license will renew for a two-year period. 
 (c)  Following the completion of this phase-in to biennial renewal, all licensees 
will renew for a period of two years. 
 (2) (3)  A physician actively engaged in the practice of medicine on with a 
permanent license shall pay an annual license fee.  If the physician does not pay the 
annual license fee and return the required renewal form and required information 
before April 1 the date set by ARM 8.2.208, the physician must pay the delinquency 
late penalty fee listed specified in ARM 24.156.601 [NEW RULE III], in order to 
renew the physician's license. 
 (3) (4)  A physician with a permanent license not actively engaged in the 
practice of medicine in this state or absent from this state for a period of one or more 
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years may renew as an inactive licensee for and pay the annual inactive fee listed in 
ARM 24.156.601. 
 (4) (5)  A physician with a permanent license not actively engaged in the 
practice of medicine and who has retired from practice may renew his license as an 
inactive-retired licensee for an annual and pay the fee listed in ARM 24.156.601.  A 
retired license may not be reactivated.  The individual must reapply for a new 
original license. 
 (6)  The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-3-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-3-313, MCA 
 
REASON:  See both general statements of reasonable necessity. 
 
 24.156.617  ACTIVE AND INACTIVE LICENSE  (1) through (2) remain the 
same. 
 (a)  As used in this rule, "renewal period" means: 
 (i)  for even numbered licenses, the time one-year period from April 1 the 
renewal date as listed in ARM 8.2.208 of a given year through March 31 of the 
following year. the day immediately prior to the renewal date of the following year; 
 (ii)  for odd numbered licenses, the two-year period from the renewal date as 
listed in ARM 8.2.208 of a given year through the day immediately prior to the 
renewal date of the two-year cycle. 
 (b) remains the same. 
 (c)  Beginning with the 2007 renewal cycle, one-half of the licensees will 
renew for a period of one year.  An active license must be renewed annually, as 
provided in 37-3-313, MCA. as follows: 
 (i)  licensees with an even numbered license will renew for a one-year period; 
and 
 (ii)  licensees with an odd numbered license will renew for a two-year period. 
 (3) remains the same. 
 (a)  Beginning with the 2007 renewal cycle, one-half of the licensees will 
renew for a period of one year.  An inactive license must be renewed annually by a 
the renewal date set by the department; in ARM 8.2.208 as follows: 
 (i)  licensees with an even numbered license will renew for a one-year period; 
and 
 (ii)  licensees with an odd numbered license will renew for a two-year period. 
 (b)  To renew a license on inactive status, a physician must pay a fee 
prescribed by the board, and return a completed the renewal form to the board office 
prior to April 1; the date set by ARM 8.2.208. 
 (c)  If both the renewal fee and completed renewal form are not returned to 
the board office prior to April 1, the physician must pay a penalty fee prescribed by 
the board in order to renew the license. 
 (4) remains the same. 
 (a)  Beginning with the 2007 renewal cycle, one-half of the licensees will 
renew for a period of one year.  An inactive-retired license must be renewed 
annually by a the renewal date set by the department; in ARM 8.2.208 as follows: 
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 (i)  licensees with an even numbered license will renew for a one-year period; 
and 
 (ii)  licensees with an odd numbered license will renew for a two-year period. 
 (b)  To renew a license on inactive-retired status, a physician must pay a fee 
prescribed by the board, and return a completed renewal form to the board office 
prior to April 1. 
 (c) (b)  If both the renewal fee and completed renewal form are not returned 
to the board office prior to April 1 the date specified in ARM 8.2.208, the physician 
must pay a the late penalty fee prescribed by the board specified in [NEW RULE III] 
in order to renew the license. 
 (5)  If a physician holding an inactive or inactive-retired license fails to pay the 
prescribed renewal fee or fails to return the completed annual renewal form by April 
1, the physician's license may be revoked by the board on 30 days' notice of the 
date, time and place the board will consider the revocation. 
 (a)  A registered or certified letter sent to the last-known address of the 
physician, as the address appears on the records of the department, constitutes 
sufficient notice of intention to revoke the inactive or inactive-retired license. 
 (b)  If the physician pays the renewal fee and any required penalty fee and 
provides the completed annual renewal form before the date and time fixed for 
consideration of revocation, the license may not be revoked for nonpayment or 
failure to return the completed annual renewal form. 
 (6)  The department may collect a renewal fee and any required penalty fee 
by an action at law. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-141, 37-1-319, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 37-1-319, MCA 
 
REASON:  See both general statements of reasonable necessity. 
 
 24.156.805  FEES  (1) remains the same. 
 (a)  The applicant shall submit an application fee of $300 in the form of a 
check or money order payable to the board. 
 (b)  The licensee shall submit a renewal fee of $150 biennially (on or before 
the expiration of two years from the date the certificate is issued date set by ARM 
8.2.208) in the form of a check or money order payable to the board, together with a 
completed renewal form approved by the board. 
 (2)  Additional standardized fees are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 (2) remains the same but is renumbered (3). 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-3-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-3-344, 37-3-345, 37-3-346, 37-3-347, MCA 
 
REASON:  See both general statements of reasonable necessity.  Fiscal impact 
information follows ARM 24.156.601. 
 
 24.156.808  CERTIFICATE RENEWALS APPLICATION  (1)  Renewal 
notices will be sent as specified in [NEW RULE V].  Every two years the licensee 
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shall complete and return an application for renewal on a form approved by the 
board, together with payment of the application renewal fee.  The application for 
renewal and renewal fee are due on or before March 30, of the renewal year. 
 (2)  The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-141, 37-3-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 37-3-346, MCA 
 
REASON:  See both general statements of reasonable necessity. 
 
 24.156.1002  FEES  (1) (a) The annual renewal fee for a podiatrist, whether 
actively engaged or not, in the practice of podiatry in the state of Montana shall be: 
 (i)  even numbered licenses renewing for one year $200. 
 (ii)  odd numbered licenses renewing for two years 400 
 (2) (1)  The following fees will be charged: 
 (a) (b)  Endorsement or reciprocity $325 
 (b)  Penalty fee 150 
 (c)  Verification of licensure 20 
 (2)  Additional standardized fees are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-6-106, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-3-203, 37-6-302, 37-6-303, MCA 
 
REASON:  See both general statements of reasonable necessity.  Fiscal impact 
information follows ARM 24.156.601. 
 
 24.156.1004  ANNUAL RENEWALS  (1)  Renewal notices will be sent as 
specified in [NEW RULE V]. 
 (2)  The annual renewal date for a podiatry license is October 31 the date set 
by ARM 8.2.208. 
 (3)  Beginning with the 2007 renewal cycle, one-half of the licensees will 
renew for a period of one year. 
 (a)  Licensees with an even numbered license will renew for a one-year 
period. 
 (b)  Licensees with an odd numbered license will renew for a two-year period. 
 (c)  Following the completion of this phase-in to biennial renewal, all licensees 
will renew for a period of two years. 
 (4)  The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-141, 37-6-106, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 37-6-304, MCA 
 
REASON:  See both general statements of reasonable necessity. 
 
 24.156.1302  FEES  (1) and (1)(a) remain the same. 
 (b)  Renewal fee 
 (i)  even numbered licenses renewing for one year $ 50 
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 (ii)  odd numbered licenses renewing for two years 100 
 (c)  Late fee 150 
 (d)  Verification of licensure 20 
 (2)  Additional standardized fees are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-25-201, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-3-203, 37-25-201, 37-25-302, 37-25-307, 
 MCA 
 
REASON:  See both general statements of reasonable necessity.  Fiscal impact 
information follows ARM 24.156.601. 
 
 24.156.1305  LICENSE RENEWALS  (1)  Forms of application for renewal of 
licenses will be mailed to all licensees by the board 30 days prior to expiration of 
existing licenses Renewal notices will be sent as specified in [NEW RULE V]. 
 (2) (4)  Completed applications for renewal, together with renewal fees and 
proof of current registration by the commission must be received no later than 
October 31 the date set by ARM 8.2.208. 
 (3)  Beginning with the 2007 renewal cycle, one-half of the licensees will 
renew for a period of one year. 
 (a)  Licensees with an even numbered license will renew for a one-year 
period. 
 (b)  Licensees with an odd numbered license will renew for a two-year period. 
 (c)  Following the completion of this phase-in to biennial renewal, all licensees 
will renew for a period of two years. 
 (3)  License fees will be treated as delinquent and subject to a late charge or 
fee on all renewal applications postmarked after October 31. 
 (4) (5)  Failure to renew by October 31 will be treated as a violation of a rule 
of the board and grounds for disciplinary action under 37-25-308(4), MCA.  The 
provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 (5) (2)  The annual renewal date for a nutritionist license is October 31 the 
date set by ARM 8.2.208. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-141, 37-25-201, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 37-25-307, MCA 
 
REASON:  See both general statements of reasonable necessity. 
 
 24.156.1402  FEES  (1) remains the same. 
 (2)  The annual renewal fee to practice acupuncture will be: 
 (a)  even numbered licenses renewing for one year $ 50. 
 (b)  odd numbered licenses renewing for two years 100 
An additional $150 will be charged for late renewal. 
 (3)  The board will charge a fee of $20 for written verification of licensure. 
 (3)  Additional standardized fees are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 



 
 
 

 
MAR Notice No. 24-101-202 4-2/23/06 

-431-

 AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-13-201, 37-13-301, 37-13-302, 37-13-304, 
 37-13-305, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-3-203, 37-13-302, 37-13-304, 37-13-305, 37-
 13-306, MCA 
 
REASON:  See both general statements of reasonable necessity.  Fiscal impact 
information follows ARM 24.156.601. 
 
 24.156.1411  ANNUAL RENEWALS DATE  (1)  Renewal notices will be sent 
as specified in [NEW RULE V]. 
 (2)  The annual renewal date for an acupuncture license is October 31 the 
date set by ARM 8.2.208. 
 (3)  Beginning with the 2007 renewal cycle, one-half of the licensees will 
renew for a period of one year. 
 (a)  Licensees with an even numbered license will renew for a one-year 
period. 
 (b)  Licensees with an odd numbered license will renew for a two-year period. 
 (c)  Following the completion of this phase-in to biennial renewal, all licensees 
will renew for a period of two years. 
 (4)  The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-141, 37-13-201, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 37-13-306, MCA 
 
REASON:  See both general statements of reasonable necessity. 
 
 NEW RULE VII  RENEWALS  (1)  Renewal notices will be sent as specified in 
[NEW RULE V]. 
 (2)  The renewal date for a physician assistant license is the date set by ARM 
8.2.208. 
 (3)  Beginning with the 2007 renewal cycle, one-half of the licensees will 
renew for a period of one year. 
 (a)  Licensees with an even numbered license will renew for a one-year 
period. 
 (b)  Licensees with an odd numbered license will renew for a two-year period. 
 (c)  Following the completion of this phase-in to biennial renewal, all licensees 
will renew for a period of two years. 
 (4)  The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-141, 37-20-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 37-20-302, MCA 
 
REASON:  It is reasonable and necessary to adopt this new rule as a means of 
keeping with the intent of HB 182 and standardizing certain aspects of license 
renewal including setting uniform standards for license renewals, including renewal 
periods, and notification periods.  Several licensing entities do not have specific 
rules that address renewals, or have existing rules where it is appropriate to include 
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language that addresses licensee notification regarding upcoming renewal dates, or 
clarification of new statutory definitions regarding license renewal.  Therefore, this 
new rule is proposed in order to incorporate the three components that have been 
included within the text of numerous other rules to fulfill the changes brought about 
by HB 182.  It is appropriate to propose the new rule at this time in order to maintain 
consistency regarding renewal requirements among all entities licensed by the 
Division.  See also both general statements of reasonable necessity. 
 
 24.156.1605  FEES  (1) remains the same. 
 (2)  The fee for annual renewal of a license is as follows: 
 (a)  even numbered licenses renewing for one year $100. 
 (b)  odd numbered licenses renewing for two years 200 
If said renewal is late, there is an additional $150 fee. 
 (3) through (5) remain the same. 
 (6)  The fee for verification of licensure is $20. Additional standardized fees 
are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 (7)  All fees provided for in this rule are non-refundable. 
 (8)  The date for annual license renewal and payment of fees therefore is set 
by the department. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-20-201, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-20-203, 37-20-302, MCA 
 
REASON:  See both general statements of reasonable necessity.  Fiscal impact 
information follows ARM 24.156.601. 
 
 24.156.2717  EMT LICENSE RENEWAL  (1)  Renewal notices will be sent as 
specified in [NEW RULE V]. 
 (2)  EMT licenses are issued on a biennial renewal cycle.  EMT licenses 
expire on March 31 must be renewed on or before the date set by ARM 8.2.208 of 
the last year of the two-year cycle. 
 (2) (3)  Except as provided in (3) (4), in order to renew an EMT license, the 
licensee must: 
 (a) through (c) remain the same. 
 (3) through (5) remain the same but are renumbered (4) through (6). 
 (6)  For the EMT license renewal cycle following July 1, 2005, if the 
completed renewal application is postmarked after March 31 of the renewal year, the 
licensee will be assessed a late renewal fee in addition to the license renewal fee set 
in ARM 24.156.2731. 
 (7)  The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 (7)  Waivers of the late fee are at the discretion of the board. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-141, 50-6-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-141, 37-1-306, 50-6-203, MCA 
 
REASON:  See both general statements of reasonable necessity. 
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 24.156.2719  LAPSED EXPIRED LICENSE  (1)  An lapsed expired EMT 
license may be renewed upon completion of an lapsed expired license renewal 
application.  To renew an lapsed expired license the applicant shall: 
 (a)  complete an lapsed expired license renewal application and submit it to 
the board; 
 (b)  pay the license fee plus late renewal penalty fee as specified in [NEW 
RULE III] for each year the license has lapsed expired up to three two years; 
 (c) and (d) remain the same. 
 (2)  Pursuant to 37-1-141, MCA, a professional or occupational license that 
has not been renewed within three years of the most recent renewal date 
automatically terminates.  The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 (3)  A lapsed license that has terminated may not be reinstated.  A person 
whose license has lapsed shall re-apply for licensure and complete a new 
application pursuant to ARM 24.156.2713. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-141, 37-3-203, 50-6-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 50-6-203, MCA 
 
REASON:  See both general statements of reasonable necessity. 
 
 24.156.2731  FEES  (1) through (1)(i) remain the same. 
 (j)  verification of licensure fee  20.00 
 (k) and (l) remain the same but are renumbered (j) and (k). 
 (2) (3)  All fees provided for in this rule are non-refundable and are not 
prorated for portions of the licensing period. 
 (2)  Additional standardized fees are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-1-141, 50-6-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 50-6-203, MCA 
 
REASON:  See both general statements of reasonable necessity.  Fiscal impact 
information follows ARM 24.156.601. 
 
     BOARD OF MEDICAL EXAMINERS 
     DR. MICHAEL LAPAN, D.P.M., PRESIDENT 
 
/s/ VIVIAN V. HAMMILL  /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Vivian V. Hammill   Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Rule Reviewer   DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 BOARD OF NURSING 
 
 8.32.306  APPLICATION FOR RECOGNITION  (1) through (2)(f) remain the 
same. 
 (g)  payment of non-refundable statutory fee. 
 (3) remains the same. 
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 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-8-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-8-202, 37-8-409, 37-8-431, MCA 
 
REASON:  The reference to a statutory fee is being deleted because this infers that 
the fee will be found in statute and this is not the case.  Board fees are set by rule 
and even though rules have the force and effect of law, the reference to "statutory" 
fee is misleading.  Removing the word clarifies the intent of the rule.  See general 
statement of reasonable necessity for more detail regarding hyphenation change. 
 
 8.32.402  LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION  (1)  remains the same. 
 (2)  The executive director is authorized to negotiate the contract with the 
national council of state boards of nursing, inc. for licensing examination services. 
 (3) through (13) remain the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-8-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-8-406, 37-8-416, MCA 
 
REASON:  It is reasonable to delete the reference to a specific entity that provides 
licensing examination services.  Listing the contractor serves no purpose and would 
require the rule be amended if the contract is awarded to some other testing service 
or if the entity name changes.  The entire section was not deleted because the 
department feels the section is necessary to clarify that the executive director is 
authorized to represent the board in negotiating the licensing examination contract. 
 
 8.32.410  DUPLICATE OR LOST LICENSES  (1) and (2) remain the same. 
 (3)  Upon written request, and payment of the proper fee as specified in [NEW 
RULE III], the board may provide a duplicate renewal certificate. 
 
 AUTH:  37-8-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-8-202, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
 8.32.411  RENEWALS  (1)  In November of each even-numbered year, the 
board of nursing shall mail an application for renewal of license to all currently 
licensed registered nurses and licensed practical nurses Renewal notices will be 
sent as specified in [NEW RULE V].  The licensee must fill out the renewal 
application and return it to the board BEFORE January 1 of the next year, by the 
date set by ARM 8.2.208, together with the renewal fee.  Upon receiving the renewal 
application and fee, the board shall issue a certificate of renewal for the current year 
beginning January 1 of the odd-numbered year, and expiring December 31 of the 
even-numbered year. two-year period following the renewal date set by ARM 
8.2.208.  If the renewal application is postmarked subsequent to December 31 of 
after the renewal year deadline, it is subject to a the late penalty fee of two times the 
renewal fee specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 (2)  A license shall be renewed by January 1 of the odd-numbered years.  
Any person practicing nursing during the time a license has elapsed shall be 
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considered an illegal practitioner and may be subject to the penalties provided for 
violators under the provisions of this chapter.  The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] 
apply. 
 (3)  In November of even-numbered years, the board shall mail an application 
for renewal of license to Renewal notices will be sent to all currently licensed 
advanced practice registered nurses (APRNs) as specified in [NEW RULE V].  The 
licensee shall complete the application and return it, the proof of continuing 
education required by ARM 8.32.411, and the renewal fee to the board before 
January 1 the date set by ARM 8.2.208.  Upon receiving the completed renewal 
application and fee, the board shall issue a certificate of renewal for the current two-
year period beginning January 1 and expiring December 31 following the date set by 
ARM 8.2.208.  If the renewal application is postmarked subsequent to December 31 
after the renewal deadline, it is subject to a the late penalty fee of two times the 
renewal fee specified in [NEW RULE III].  Any person practicing during the time a 
license has lapsed shall be considered an illegal practitioner and may be subject to 
the penalties provided for violators under the provisions of this chapter.  The 
provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 (a) through (4) remain the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-141, 37-8-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-8-202, 37-8-431, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
 8.32.425  FEES  (1) through (6) remain the same. 
 (7)  The fee for late renewal of a license is double the regular renewal fee. 
 (8) and (9) remain the same but are renumbered (7) and (8). 
 (10)  The verification fee is $25. 
 (11)  The fee for a duplicate renewal certificate is $20. 
 (12) and (13) remain the same but are renumbered (9) and (10). 
 (14)  The fee for checks issued with non-sufficient funds as notified by the 
department's management services, is $50. 
 (15) through (20) remain the same but are renumbered (11) through (16). 
 (17)  Additional standardized fees are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-1-319, 37-8-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-8-202, 37-8-431, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  Based on fiscal year 
2005, it is estimated that the creation of standardized fees will have the following 
impact: 
 (1)  85 licensees will request license verification for a $425 decrease in 
revenue; 
 (2)  ten licensees will pay the status change fee for a $300 decrease in 
revenue; and 
 (3)  seven licensees with a suspended license will pay the renewal fee for a 
$210 decrease in revenue. 
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 8.32.426  GENERAL REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE AS MEDICATION 
AIDE  (1) through (3) remain the same. 
 (4)  Licenses shall be issued for one-year periods, and shall expire on the 
date set by ARM 8.2.208 March 31 of each year. 
 (5)  In February of each year, the board office will mail all currently licensed 
medication aides a renewal application Renewal notices will be sent as specified in 
[NEW RULE V] which must be completed and returned to the board before April 1 
the date set by ARM 8.2.208, together with the renewal fee. 
 (6)  Any person practicing as a medication aide without a license or during the 
time the license is lapsed shall be considered an unlicensed practitioner and may be 
subject to the penalties provided by law for practicing without a license. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-8-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-141, 37-8-101, 37-8-202, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
 8.32.1501  PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY FOR ELIGIBLE APRNS 
 (1) through (3) remain the same. 
 (4)  The Board of Pharmacy will be notified in a timely manner when the 
status of an APRN's prescriptive authority changes of an APRN is terminated, 
suspended or reinstated. 
 
 AUTH:  37-8-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-8-202, MCA 
 
REASON:  It is reasonable and necessary to amend this rule to eliminate 
terminology that could be confusing and unclear to licensees and the public.  HB 182 
defines terminated licenses as licenses that have not been renewed or reactivated 
within two years of lapsing.  An APRN's prescriptive authority is tied to the APRN 
license, therefore using "terminated" in this rule could be confusing.  An APRN can 
maintain APRN licensure without having prescriptive authority, but they must also 
renew prescriptive authority in order to maintain it. 
 
 8.32.1509  TERMINATION SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION OF 
PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY  (1)  The Board of Nursing may impose discipline up 
to and including termination suspension or revocation of an advanced practice 
registered nurse's prescriptive authority when one or more of the following criteria 
apply: 
 (a) through (e) remain the same. 
 (2)  An advanced practice registered nurse whose prescriptive authority has 
terminated ended will not is not authorized to prescribe until the advanced practice 
registered nurse has received written notice is received from the board of nursing 
that his or her the prescriptive authority has been reinstated by the board. 
 
 AUTH:  37-8-202, MCA 
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 IMP:     37-8-202, MCA 
 
REASON:  It is reasonable and necessary to amend this rule to eliminate 
terminology that could be confusing and unclear to licensees and the public.  HB 182 
defines terminated licenses as licenses that have not been renewed or reactivated 
within two years of lapsing.  An APRN's prescriptive authority is tied to the APRN 
license, therefore using "terminated" in this rule could be confusing.  An APRN can 
maintain APRN licensure without having prescriptive authority, but they must also 
renew prescriptive authority in order to maintain it. 
 
After an APRN's license expires, the APRN has no prescriptive authority until the 
license and prescriptive authority are reinstated by the board.  Changing the words 
that describe the action of the Board would provide clarity.  The word change in (2) 
would also clarify that the ending of an APRN's prescriptive authority is in effect until 
reactivation notification by the Board has been received. 
 
 8.32.1510  RENEWAL OF PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY  (1)  The term of an 
APRN's prescriptive authority will expire ends on December 31 of even numbered 
years the date set by ARM 8.2.208. 
 (2) remains the same. 
 (a)  a completed renewal application and a non-refundable fee; 
 (b) through (3) remain the same. 
 (4)  If an APRN fails to renew prescriptive authority prior to the expiration 
renewal date of that authority, the APRN's prescriptive authority will expire end.  The 
APRN may not prescribe until renewal is completed and the APRN has received 
written notice that the prescriptive authority has been reinstated. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-141, 37-8-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-8-202, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  It is also reasonable 
and necessary to amend this rule to eliminate terminology that could be confusing 
and unclear to licensees and the public.  HB 182 defines terminated licenses as 
licenses that have not been renewed or reactivated within two years of lapsing.  An 
APRN's prescriptive authority is tied to the APRN license, therefore using 
"terminated" in this rule could be confusing.  An APRN can maintain APRN licensure 
without having prescriptive authority. 
 
After an APRN's license expires, the APRN has no prescriptive authority until the 
license and prescriptive authority are reinstated by the Board.  Changing the word 
that describes the action of the Board would provide clarity.  The word changes in 
(4) would also clarify that the ending of an APRN's prescriptive authority is in effect 
until reactivation notification by the Board has been received. 
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     BOARD OF NURSING 
     KAREN POLLLINGTON, R.N., CHAIRPERSON 
 
/s/ VIVIAN V. HAMMILL  /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Vivian V. Hammill   Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Rule Reviewer   DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 BOARD OF NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS 
 
 24.162.420  FEE SCHEDULE  (1) through (1)(f) remain the same. 
 (g)  duplicate license 10 
 (h)  lists of licensees 10 
 (i)  verification of licensure 10 
 (j)  late renewal (if paid after December 31)  100 
 (2)  Additional standardized fees are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 (2) (3)  All fees are non-refundable. 
 (3) remains the same but is renumbered (4). 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-134, 37-9-304, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-9-304, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  Based on fiscal year 
2005, it is estimated that the creation of standardized fees will have the following 
impact: 
 (1)  ten licensees will request license verifications for a $100 increase in 
revenue; 
 (2)  one licensee will request a duplicate license for a $5 increase in revenue; 
 (3)  four requests for licensee lists or rosters will be received for a $160 
increase in revenue; 
 (4)  one licensee will request status change for a $60 increase in revenue; 
and 
 (5)  five licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a $125 increase in revenue. 
 
 24.162.2101  RENEWALS  (1)  Renewal notices will be sent as specified in 
[NEW RULE V]. 
 (2)  An application for renewal of license for any year shall be filed on or 
before January 1 of that year the date set by ARM 8.2.208 and must be 
accompanied by the required fee, which shall not be refunded. 
 (2) (3)  The renewal fee for any year is due and payable on or before January 
1 the date set by ARM 8.2.208 of that year.  Renewal fees paid by mail shall be 
considered as paid when due if the envelope bears a postmark of or earlier. 
 (4)  The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-141, 37-9-201, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 37-9-304, 37-9-305, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
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     BOARD OF NURSING HOME 
     ADMINISTRATORS 
     DEBORAH WILSON, CHAIRPERSON 
 
/s/ VIVIAN V. HAMMILL  /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Vivian V. Hammill   Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Rule Reviewer   DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
  BOARD OF OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY PRACTICE 
 
 24.165.401  FEES  (1) through (1)(c) remain the same. 

(d)  Late license renewal 40 
 (e) and (f) remain the same but are renumbered (d) and (e). 
 (g)  Duplicate license fee 10 
 (h)  License verification fee 30 
 (2)  Additional standardized fees are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 (2) (3)  All fees are non-refundable. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-134, 37-24-201, 37-24-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-24-310, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  Based on fiscal year 
2005, it is estimated that the creation of standardized fees will have the following 
impact: 
 (1)  39 licensees will request license verifications for a $390 decrease in 
revenue; 
 (2)  one licensee will request a duplicate license for a $5 increase in revenue; 
 (3)  26 requests for licensee lists or rosters will be received for a $780 
increase in revenue; 
 (4)  one licensee will request a duplicate wall certificate for a $20 increase in 
revenue; 
 (5)  five licensees will request a status change for a $50 increase in revenue; 
and 
 (6)  six licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a $240 increase in revenue. 
 
 24.165.407  EXAMINATIONS  (1)  For the purposes of 37-24-304(2), MCA, 
the The board adopts as its examination the examinations in existence on May 30, 
1986, offered through the National Board of Certification in Occupational Therapy 
(NBCOT). 
 (2) through (5) remain the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-24-201, 37-24-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-24-304, MCA 
 
REASON:  It is reasonable and necessary to amend this rule to delete the reference 
to 37-24-304, MCA that was repealed by HB 182. 



 
 
 

 
4-2/23/06 MAR Notice No. 24-101-202 

-440-

 
 NEW RULE VIII  RENEWALS  (1)  The renewal date for an occupational 
therapist or occupational therapist assistant license is the date set by ARM 8.2.208. 
 (2)  Renewal notices will be sent as specified in [NEW RULE V]. 
 (3)  The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 
 AUTH:  37-24-201, 37-24-202, 37-1-141, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 37-24-102, 37-24-301, 37-24-306, MCA 
 
REASON:  It is reasonable and necessary to adopt this new rule as a means of 
keeping with the intent of HB 182 and standardizing certain aspects of license 
renewal including setting uniform standards for license renewals, including renewal 
periods, and notification periods.  Several licensing entities do not have specific 
rules that address renewals, or have existing rules where it is appropriate to include 
language that addresses licensee notification regarding upcoming renewal dates, or 
clarification of new statutory definitions regarding license renewal.  Therefore, this 
new rule is proposed in order to incorporate the three components that have been 
included within the text of numerous other rules to fulfill the changes brought about 
by HB 182.  It is appropriate to propose the new rule at this time in order to maintain 
consistency regarding renewal requirements among all entities licensed by the 
Division. 
 
    BOARD OF OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY PRACTICE 
    DEB AMMONDSON, O.T., CHAIRPERSON 
 
/s/ VIVIAN V. HAMMILL  /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Vivian V. Hammill   Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Rule Reviewer   DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 
 
 24.168.401  FEE SCHEDULE  (1) and (2) remain the same. 
 (3)  Penalty for late renewal 150 
 (4) remains the same but is renumbered (3). 
 (5)  Copies per page .25 
 (6) remains the same but is renumbered (4). 
 (7)  List of licensees 20 
 (5)  Additional standardized fees are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-134, 37-10-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-1-304, 37-10-302, 37-10-307, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  Based on fiscal year 
2005, it is estimated that the creation of standardized fees will have the following 
impact: 
 (1)  15 licensees will request license verifications for a $300 increase in 
revenue; 
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 (2)  four licensees will request duplicate licenses for a $20 increase in 
revenue; 
 (3)  three requests for licensee lists or rosters will be received for a $90 
increase in revenue; 
 (4)  one licensee will request a duplicate wall certificate for a $20 increase in 
revenue; and 
 (5)  four licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a $650 increase in revenue. 
 
 24.168.2101  REQUIREMENTS  (1) remains the same. 
 (a)  A copy of this act rule shall be sent to each licensee by the board prior to 
the license renewal date set by ARM 8.2.208 each year. 
 (b) through (5) remain the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-141, 37-1-319, 37-10-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 37-1-306, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  It is also necessary to 
clarify the language in (1)(a) to specify exactly what is to be sent to the licensee. 
 
 NEW RULE IX  RENEWALS  (1)  Renewal notices will be sent as specified in 
[NEW RULE V]. 
 (2)  The renewal date for an optometrist license is the date set by ARM 
8.2.208. 
 (3)  The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-141, 37-10-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, MCA 
 
REASON:  It is reasonable and necessary to adopt this new rule as a means of 
keeping with the intent of HB 182 and standardizing certain aspects of license 
renewal including setting uniform standards for license renewals, including renewal 
periods, and notification periods.  Several licensing entities do not have specific 
rules that address renewals, or have existing rules where it is appropriate to include 
language that addresses licensee notification regarding upcoming renewal dates, or 
clarification of new statutory definitions regarding license renewal.  Therefore, this 
new rule is proposed in order to incorporate the three components that have been 
included within the text of numerous other rules to fulfill the changes brought about 
by HB 182.  It is appropriate to propose the new rule at this time in order to maintain 
consistency regarding renewal requirements among all entities licensed by the 
Division.  See also general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
     BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 
     LARRY OBIE, O.D., PRESIDENT 
 
/s/ VIVIAN V. HAMMILL  /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Vivian V. Hammill   Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Rule Reviewer   DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 



 
 
 

 
4-2/23/06 MAR Notice No. 24-101-202 

-442-

 
 BOARD OF OUTFITTERS 
 
 24.171.401  FEES  (1) through (1)(c)(i) remain the same. 
 (ii)   late renewal penalty 
   applications postmarked Jan. 1 - Jan. 31 100 
   applications postmarked after Feb. 1 300 
 (iii)  remains the same but is renumbered (ii). 
 (d) through (m) remain the same. 
 (n)  Additional standardized fees are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-134, 37-47-201, 37-47-306, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-47-304, 37-47-306, 37-47-307, 37-47-308, 37-
 47-310, 37-47-316, 37-47-317, 37-47-318, MCA 
 
REASON:  Based on fiscal year 2005, it is estimated that the creation of 
standardized fees will have the following impact: 
 (1)  ten licensees will request license verifications for a $200 increase in 
revenue; 
 (2)  50 licensees will request duplicate licenses for a $250 increase in 
revenue; 
 (3)  four requests for photocopies will be received for a $7.60 increase in 
revenue; 
 (4)  two requests for certified photocopies will be received for an $88.70 
increase in revenue; 
 (5)  25 licensees will request license histories for a $500 increase in revenue; 
 (6)  ten licensees will request status change for no change in revenue; 
 (7)  three licensees will request suspended license renewal for no change in 
revenue; 
 (8)  15 licensees will request probationary license renewal for a $300 increase 
in revenue; and 
 (9)  30 licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a $1,100 increase in 
revenue. 
 
 24.171.2101  OUTFITTER RENEWALS  (1)  The provisions of [NEW RULES 
V and VI] apply. 
 (1) through (1)(e) remain the same but are renumbered (2) through (2)(e). 
 (2) (3)  If an An outfitter does not must submit a completed renewal 
application with the required fee in accordance with (1) (2) on or before December 
31 the date set by ARM 8.2.208 of each license year the outfitter shall immediately 
cease practice until a renewal application is submitted and approved by the board. 
 (3)  Upon submission of a completed application for late renewal, payment of 
a renewal fee in accordance with (1) and late fee, an outfitter may renew his or her 
license until April 1 of the new license year.  An outfitter license for which a renewal 
application has not been filed on or before April 1 of the new license year may not be 
renewed.  The individual previously holding such license shall thereafter be treated 
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as a new applicant for purposes of establishing the qualifications for licensure and 
payment of licensing fees. 
 (4) remains the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-104, 37-1-141, 37-47-201, 37-47-302, 37-47-304, 37-47-306, 37-
 47-307, MCA 
 
REASON:  It is reasonable and necessary to amend the catchphrase of this rule in 
order to standardize the catchphrases for all renewal rules throughout the Division 
rules.  This change is in keeping with the intent of HB 182.  It is further amended to 
avoid conflict with 37-1-141, MCA. 
 
The deletion of (3) is reasonable and necessary because this section conflicts with 
37-1-141, MCA, which as amended, allows a lapsed or expired license to be 
renewed within two years after the license renewal date. 
 
     BOARD OF OUTFITTERS 
     MEL MONTGOMERY, CHAIRPERSON 
 
/s/ VIVIAN V. HAMMILL  /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Vivian V. Hammill   Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Rule Reviewer   DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 BOARD OF PHARMACY 
 
 24.174.401  FEE SCHEDULE  (1) through (3) remain the same. 
 (4)   Pharmacist late renewal 110 
 (5) and (6) remain the same but are renumbered (4) and (5). 
 (7)   Certified pharmacy late renewal fee 200 
 (8) through (18) remain the same but are renumbered (6) through (16). 
 (19)  Wholesale drug distributor late renewal fee 150 
 (20) and (21) remain the same but are renumbered (17) and (18). 
 (22)  Copies of documents 15 
 (23)  remains the same but is renumbered (19). 
 (20)  Additional standardized fees are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-7-201, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-7-201, 37-7-302, 37-7-303, 37-7-321, 37-7-
 703, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  Based on fiscal year 
2005, it is estimated that the creation of standardized fees will have the following 
impact: 
 (1)  ten licensees will request duplicate licenses for a $50 increase in 
revenue; 



 
 
 

 
4-2/23/06 MAR Notice No. 24-101-202 

-444-

 (2)  three requests for licensee lists or rosters will be received for a $150 
increase in revenue; 
 (3)  12 requests for certified copies will be received for a $60 increase in 
revenue; and 
 (4)  two licensees with a suspended license will pay the renewal fee for a $55 
increase in revenue. 
 
 24.174.1402  APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION OR RENEWALS 
 (1) remains the same. 
 (2)  Forms for renewal Renewal notices will be mailed to each registered 
person or entity sent as specified in [NEW RULE V]. 60 days before the expiration 
date of the registration at the last known address.  The applicant is required to notify 
the board of current changes of address within 10 days. 
 (3) remains the same but is renumbered (4). 
 (3)  The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 
 AUTH:  50-32-103, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 50-32-301, MCA 
 
REASON:  It is reasonable and necessary to amend this rule to standardize renewal 
language throughout the Division renewal rules.  The reference to change of 
address notice requirements is being deleted because there is no "penalty" for 
noncompliance.  However, it is in the best interest of the licensee to maintain a 
current address with the Division.  See general statement of reasonable necessity 
for more detail. 
 
 24.174.2103  REGISTERED PHARMACIST - RENEWALS NOTICE AND 
APPLICATION  (1)  The board will mail an appropriate annual renewal Renewal 
notices to all licensed Montana pharmacists 60 days will be sent as specified in 
[NEW RULE V] prior to the renewal date set forth in by ARM 8.2.208.  Failure to 
receive such notice shall not relieve the licensee of the licensee's obligation to file 
the renewal and pay the renewal fees in such a manner that they are received by the 
board on or before the renewal date or a late fee will be assessed. 
 (a) through (3) remain the same. 
 (4)  The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-319, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 37-1-306, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
 24.174.2107  REGISTERED PHARMACIST CONTINUING EDUCATION - 
NON-COMPLIANCE  (1)  Failure to meet the annual license renewal requirements 
set forth in ARM 8.2.208 will be cause for the license to lapse.  Reinstatement may 
be considered as provided in 37-7-303, MCA, as amended.  For reinstatement after 
June 30 and before July 1 of the next year, the applicant shall have completed the 
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continuing education requirements and certify that fact to the board as stated in 
ARM 24.174.2103. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-319, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 37-1-306, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  The reference to 37-7-
303 is proposed to be removed because this section was repealed by HB 182, 
therefore the reference is obsolete. 
 
     BOARD OF PHARMACY 
     WILLIAM BURTON, R. Ph., CHAIRPERSON 
 
/s/ VIVIAN V. HAMMILL  /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Vivian V. Hammill   Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Rule Reviewer   DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY EXAMINERS 
 
 24.177.401  FEES  (1) through (1)(c) remain the same. 
 (d)  Late renewal (if paid after April 1) 50 
 (e) through (g) remain the same but are renumbered (d) through (f). 
 (h)  Duplicate license 5 
 (i)  Lists 5 
 (j)  Verification for licensure 10 
 (2)  Additional standardized fees are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 (2) (3)  All fees are non-refundable. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-11-201, MCA 

IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-1-304, 37-1-305, 37-11-201, 37-11-304, 
37-11-307, MCA 

 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  Based on fiscal year 
2005, it is estimated that the creation of standardized fees will have the following 
impact: 
 (1)  50 licensees will request license verifications for a $1,000 increase in 
revenue; 
 (2)  five licensees will request duplicate licenses for a $25 increase in 
revenue; 
 (3)  25 requests for licensee lists or rosters will be received for a $1,110 
increase in revenue; 
 (4)  35 physical therapy licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a $350 
increase in revenue; and 
 (5)  five physical therapy assistant licensees will pay the late penalty fee for 
no change in revenue. 
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 24.177.410  LIST OF LICENSED PHYSICAL THERAPISTS  (1)  Upon written 
request and payment of the applicable fee as listed in [NEW RULE III] $5, the board 
office shall mail to an interested person a list of licensed physical therapists.  The list 
is furnished by the board for public information purposes only.  It is not intended for 
use by private parties as a mailing list and no permission has been obtained from 
the individual licensees for such purposes.  The use of material supplied by a state 
agency as a mailing list to private parties without the permission of those on the list 
is prohibited by 2-6-109, MCA. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-11-201, MCA 
 IMP:     37-11-201, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
 24.177.504  TEMPORARY LICENSES  (1)  Applicants for licensure who are 
holders of a license in another state may be issued a temporary license to practice 
pending licensure by the board.  An interview with at least one board member may 
be required.  Said temporary license will expire terminate when the board makes its 
final determination on licensure. 
 (2) and (3) remain the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-319, 37-11-201, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-305, 37-11-309, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
 24.177.2101  RENEWALS OF LICENSE  (1)  As provided by 37-11-308, 
MCA, all All licenses must be renewed on or before the renewal date set by ARM 
8.2.208. 
 (2)  Renewal notices Notices will be sent as specified in [NEW RULE V] to the 
last address which the licensee has made available to the board.  It shall be the 
licensee's responsibility to notify the board immediately upon change of address.  
Failure to receive a renewal notice shall not constitute grounds for failure to make 
timely renewal. 
 (3)  The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 (3) (4)  A person may not practice as a physical therapist or a physical 
therapist assistant in this state when their license has lapsed expired for failure to 
timely renew. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-11-201, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 37-11-308, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
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     BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY EXAMINERS 
     BRUCE LAMB, P.T., CHAIRPERSON 
 
/s/ VIVIAN V. HAMMILL  /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Vivian V. Hammill   Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Rule Reviewer   DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 BOARD OF PLUMBERS 
 
 24.180.401  FEE SCHEDULE 
 (1)  Application fee (nonrefundable) $ 30 
  non-refundable 
 (2) through (6) remain the same. 
 (7)  Replacement of certificates 15 
 (8)  Late fee 
 (a)  Journeyman 150 
 (b)  Master 250 
 (9) through (12) remain the same but are renumbered (7) through (10). 
 (13)  Copies of documents 20 
 (11)  Additional standardized fees are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-69-202, 37-69-401, MCA 
 IMP:      37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-1-304, 37-1-305, 37-69-202, 37-69-307, 37-
 69-401, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  Based on fiscal year 
2005, it is estimated that the creation of standardized fees will have the following 
impact: 
 (1)  one duplicate license will be issued for a $10 decrease in revenue; 
 (2)  14 journeyman plumbers will pay the late penalty fee for a $1,050 
decrease in revenue; and 
 (3)  11 journeymen plumbers will pay the late penalty fee for a $1,375 
decrease in revenue. 
 
 24.180.410  DUPLICATE AND LOST LICENSES  (1)  Duplicate licenses shall 
be provided by the board to persons requesting the same in writing, upon payment 
of the replacement fee as specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 
 AUTH:  37-69-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-69-307, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
 24.180.607  TEMPORARY PRACTICE PERMITS  (1) remains the same. 
 (2)  A temporary permit shall expire run out on the last day of the month of the 
next scheduled examination or upon receipt of the results, whichever occurs first.  If 
the applicant fails or does not write the next scheduled examination, a temporary 
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permit may be renewed at the discretion of the board, on a case-by-case basis upon 
receipt of a letter requesting renewal of a temporary practice permit and stating their 
intention to take the next scheduled examination.  The letter must be accompanied 
by the examination fee.  If the applicant does not take the next scheduled 
examination, the temporary practice permit will expire run out and the examination 
fee will be forfeited. 
 (3) remains the same. 
 (4)  If the applicant does not appear for, cancels, or fails the next scheduled 
examination, the second temporary permit expires runs out on the date the board 
office learns of that occurrence. 
 (5) remains the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-319, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-305, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
 24.180.707  ANNUAL RENEWAL OF ENDORSEMENT  (1)  All medical gas 
endorsements shall expire must be renewed annually on or before the date set by 
ARM 8.2.208.  Each endorsement holder must submit a renewal form, proof of a 
current certification, and the required renewal fee.  Failure to submit the annual 
renewal fee and to renew the endorsement within 30 days following the expiration 
date shall require the applicant to reapply for endorsement as required by board 
rule. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-141, 37-69-202, 37-69-401, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 37-69-401, MCA 
 
REASON:  It is reasonable and necessary to amend this rule to delete the reference 
to the frequency of endorsement renewal.  By deleting this reference within the 
Board's rule, it avoids the potential for having conflicts between ARM 8.2.208, the 
rule that sets renewal dates and individual Board rules.  This section is also being 
amended to remove the language that conflicts with 37-1-141, MCA, and NEW 
RULE VI. 
 
 24.180.2101  RENEWALS  (1)  Renewal notices will be sent as specified in 
[NEW RULE V].  may be mailed prior to the expiration of the license by the 
department, at the discretion of the board, to the address on file.  It shall be the 
responsibility of the licensee to keep his current address on file with the board. 
 (2)  All master and journeyman licenses shall expire on must be renewed on 
or before the date set in ARM 8.2.208.  It is unlawful for a person who refuses or 
fails to pay the renewal fee to practice plumbing work in this state.  A lapsed license 
may be reinstated within one year of the default without examination on payment of 
the arrears, and compliance with board requirements.  A lapsed license not renewed 
within one year following its expiration date terminates automatically.  The 
terminated license may not be reinstated, and a new original license must be 
obtained by submitting a new application, meeting the current requirements, passing 
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the examination, and paying the appropriate fee. 
 (3)  The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-101, 37-1-141, 37-69-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 37-69-307, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
     BOARD OF PLUMBERS 
     TIM REGAN, PRESIDING OFFICER 
 
/s/ VIVIAN V. HAMMILL  /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Vivian V. Hammill   Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Rule Reviewer   DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 PRIVATE SECURITY PATROL OFFICERS AND INVESTIGATORS 
 
 24.182.401  FEE SCHEDULE  (1) through (1)(c) remain the same. 
 (d)  Certified firearms instructor (biannual) 100 
 (e) through (2)(c) remain the same. 
 (d)  Certified firearms instructor (biannual) 100 
 (e) remains the same. 
 (f)  Late renewal 50 
 (3) remains the same. 
 (a)  Duplicate license or photo Photo ID card  
(original lost or destroyed) 10 
 (b) through (d) remain the same. 
 (e)  License history/license verification 15 
 (f) and (g) remain the same but are renumbered (e) and (f). 
 (h)  Copies, per page .35 
 (i)  Certified copies, per page .50 
 (j)  remains the same but is renumbered (g). 
 (4)  Additional standardized fees are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 (4) remains the same but is renumbered (5). 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-60-202, MCA 
 IMP:     25-1-1104, 37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-60-304, 37-60-312, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  It is also reasonable 
and necessary to amend this rule to remove the reference to biannual fees for 
certified firearms instructors.  The rule inadvertently uses biannual (twice per year), 
when the intent is to collect the fee on an annual basis. 
 
Based on fiscal year 2005, it is estimated that the creation of standardized fees will 
have the following impact: 
 (1)  five contract security company licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a 
$250 increase in revenue; 
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 (2)  40 security guard licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a $300 
increase in revenue; 
 (3)  ten alarm installer licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a $200 
increase in revenue; 
 (4)  ten private investigator licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a $500 
increase in revenue; 
 (5)  five resident manager licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a $225 
increase in revenue; 
 (6)  two qualifying agent licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a $50 
increase in revenue; 
 (7)  three certified firearms instructor licensees will pay the late penalty fee for 
a $300 increase in revenue; and 
 (8)  100 licensees will request license verifications or license histories for a 
$500 increase in revenue. 
 

24.182.511  PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR TRAINEE  (1) through (3) remain the 
same. 

(4)  Trainee licenses expire annually must be renewed as set forth in ARM 
8.2.208. 
 (5) remains the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-60-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-60-202, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 

24.182.513  LICENSE RENEWALS  (1)  The board shall send each licensee, 
by mail to the licensee’s last known address, an application for renewal, indicating 
the renewal fee, prior to expiration of license Renewal notices will be sent as 
specified in [NEW RULE V]. 

(2)  The renewal date is set by ARM 8.2.208. 
(3)  At renewal, the board may require applicants to submit one recent 

photograph showing full face, head, and shoulders of the applicant, with the 
application for renewal to be used for the current identification card. 

(3) (4)  Expired licenses may be renewed within 90 days of the renewal date, 
as shown in ARM 8.2.208, upon payment of the renewal fee and late fee.  If more 
than 90 days have passed since expiration, to obtain a new license the applicant 
must: The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 

(a)  submit a new application; 
(b)  take and pass the appropriate examination; and 

 (c)  pay the required fees. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-141, 37-60-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 37-60-312, MCA 
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REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  It is also reasonable 
and necessary to delete (3) because it conflicts with 37-1-141, MCA, as amended by 
HB 182. 
 
     BOARD OF PRIVATE SECURITY PATROL 
     OFFICERS AND INVESTIGATORS 
     LINDA SANEM, CHAIRPERSON 
 
/s/ VIVIAN V. HAMMILL  /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Vivian V. Hammill   Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Rule Reviewer   DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 BOARD OF PROFESSIONAL ENGINEERS 
 AND PROFESSIONAL LAND SURVEYORS 
 
 24.183.404  FEE SCHEDULE  (1) through (3)(f)(iv) remain the same. 
 (g)  Late renewal fees post marked after June 30 of even number years.  The 
late renewal fee is in addition to the biennial renewal fees stated above. 
 (i)  Professional engineer 45 
 (ii)  Professional land surveyor 45 
 (iii)  Dual license as a professional engineer and land surveyor 55 
 (iv)  Certificate of Authority  12.50 
 (h) through (h)(iv) remain the same but are renumbered (g) through (g)(iv). 
 (v)  Certificate of Authority issued in conjunction with late renewal 12.50 
 (4)  Additional standardized fees are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-67-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-1-319, 37-67-303, 37-67-312, 37-67-313, 37-
 67-315, 37-67-320, 37-67-321, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  Based on fiscal year 
2005, it is estimated that the creation of standardized fees will have the following 
impact: 
 (1)  416 licensees will request license verifications for an $8,320 increase in 
revenue; 
 (2)  45 licensees will request duplicate licenses for a $225 increase in 
revenue; 
 (3)  six requests for licensee lists or rosters will be received for a $300 
increase in revenue; 
 (4)  15 licensees will request duplicate wall certificates for a $300 increase in 
revenue; 
 (5)  25 licensees will request status change for no change in revenue; 
 (6)  one licensee will request suspended license renewal for no change in 
revenue; 
 (7)  one licensee will request probationary license renewal for no change in 
revenue; and 
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 (8)  230 licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a $33,475 increase in 
revenue. 
 
 24.183.2101  EXPIRATION OF LICENSE - RENEWALS  (1)  Licenses expire 
must be renewed every second year on or before the date established in set by 
ARM 8.2.208 and shall be renewed as outlined in 37-67-315, MCA, upon receipt of 
the renewal fee set by the board. 
 (2)  The department will renewal Renewal notices will be sent as specified in 
[NEW RULE V]. notify every licensee by mailing a letter to the address in the roster 
or to a corrected address 30 to 60 days prior to the date of expiration of the license.  
The letter renewal notice will specify the fees for renewal for a two-year period.  The 
letter and will include a form for a statement by the licensee that the licensee has 
maintained the licensee’s professional competency during the preceding biennium.  
This statement must be signed and returned to the board before the license will be 
renewed. 
 (3)  The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 
 AUTH:  37-67-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 37-67-315, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
 24.183.2103  LATE RENEWALS  (1)  Any renewal postmarked after the 
renewal date specified in ARM 8.2.208 is considered late and subject to a the late 
renewal penalty fee as specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 (2)  The late renewal fee is 50% of the normal renewal fee as shown in ARM 
24.183.405. 
 (3)  Failure to receive a renewal notice from the board shall not relieve the 
licensee of the licensee’s obligation to pay renewal fees in such a manner that they 
are postmarked on or before the renewal date. 
 (2)  The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-67-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 37-67-315, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
 24.183.2104  EXPIRED CERTIFICATE - RENEWAL GRACE PERIOD found 
at ARM page 24-21290 is proposed to be repealed. 
 
 AUTH:  37-67-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-67-315, MCA 
 
REASON:  It is reasonable and necessary to repeal ARM 24.183.2104 because it 
will conflict with 37-1-141, MCA, and NEW RULE VI as proposed.  Also, the 
Department has determined once an individual is licensed, that individual should 
renew the license as opposed to being considered a new applicant.  This decision 
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was made in order to more accurately provide a complete history of a licensee.  If 
licensees were allowed to apply as a new applicant instead of renewing and paying 
a late penalty fee because this was cheaper for the licensee, the public would not 
know that the person had been previously licensed.  This could also potentially allow 
for previous disciplinary action against a licensee to go unnoticed. 
 
     BOARD OF PROFESSIONAL ENGINEERS AND 
     PROFESSIONAL LAND SURVEYORS 
     DENIS APPLEBURY, CHAIRPERSON 
 
/s/ VIVIAN V. HAMMILL  /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Vivian V. Hammill   Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Rule Reviewer   DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGISTS 
 
 24.189.401  FEE SCHEDULE  (1) through (1)(d) remain the same. 
 (e)  Late renewal fee 100 
 (2)  Additional standardized fees are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-17-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-17-302, 37-17-303, 37-17-306, 37-17-307, 
 MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  Based on fiscal year 
2005, it is estimated that the creation of standardized fees will have the following 
impact: 
 (1)  15 licensees will request license verifications for a $300 increase in 
revenue; 
 (2)  five licensees will request duplicate licenses for a $25 increase in 
revenue; 
 (3)  17 requests for licensee lists or rosters will be received for a $510 
increase in revenue; 
 (4)  no requests for photocopies in excess of 20 pages will be received for a 
$18.30 decrease in revenue; 
 (5)  one licensee will request a duplicate wall certificate for a $20 increase in 
revenue; 
 (6)  one licensee will request suspended license renewal for a $125 increase 
in revenue; and 
 (7)  17 licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a $2,550 increase in 
revenue. 
 
 24.189.407  RENEWALS  (1)  At least one month (December 1) before the 
renewal date (January 1 of the following year), a renewal Renewal notices will be 
sent as specified in [NEW RULE V].  by the department to each certificate holder to 
the last address in the board's file.  Failure to receive such notice shall not relieve 
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the certificate holder of his obligation to pay renewal fees in such a manner that they 
are received by the department on or before the renewal date. 
 (2)  A renewed license shall be valid for one year following must be renewed 
on or before the expiration renewal date set by ARM 8.2.208 of the previously held 
license. 
 (3)  The board reserves the right to allow renewal of a license after the time 
when renewal would normally have been required if the circumstances justify such 
action. 
 (3)  The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-141, 37-17-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 37-17-306, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
 24.189.2107  CONTINUING EDUCATION IMPLEMENTATION  (1) and (2) 
remain the same. 
 (a)  Commencing on or before December 31, 1992, licensees with even-
numbered licenses shall submit 20 hours of continuing education credit on their 
license renewals.  Thereafter, licensees Licensees with even-numbered licenses 
shall submit 40 hours of continuing education credit on or before December 31 the 
renewal date set by ARM 8.2.208 of each even-numbered calendar year.  Licensees 
in this category will not report continuing education on the odd-numbered years but 
must renew their licenses each year. 
 (b)  Commencing on or before December 31, 1993, licensees Licensees with 
odd-numbered licenses shall submit 40 hours of continuing education credit on or 
before December 31 the renewal date set by ARM 8.2.208 of each odd-numbered 
calendar year.  Licensees in this category will not report continuing education on the 
even-numbered years but must renew their licenses each year. 
 (c) through (f) remain the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-319, 37-17-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-141, 37-1-306, 37-17-202, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  It is also reasonable 
and necessary to amend the rule to remove obsolete information.  By removing this 
unnecessary information, it provides clarity to the rule. 
 
     BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGISTS 
     JAY PALMATIER, Ph. D., CHAIRPERSON 
 
/s/ VIVIAN V. HAMMILL  /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Vivian V. Hammill   Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Rule Reviewer   DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
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 BOARD OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTANTS 
 
 24.201.410  FEE SCHEDULE  (1) through (1)(f) remain the same. 

(g)  Late fees for renewals postmarked after the deadline date: 
(i)  Permit to practice 50 
(ii)  Non-permit holder 25 
(h) (g)  Late fee for failure to comply with CPE 

requirements in accordance with ARM 24.201.2106 100 
(i) (h) Late fee for failure to submit CPE 

reporting form by July 31 within one month following the 
end of the CPE reporting of each year  25 
 (j) through (l) remain the same but are renumbered (i) through (k). 
 (2)  Additional standardized fees are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 (2) remains the same but is renumbered (3). 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-50-203, 37-50-204, 37-50-323, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-50-204, 37-50-308, 37-50-314, 37-50-317, 37-
 50-323, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  Based on fiscal year 
2005, it is estimated that the creation of standardized fees will have the following 
impact: 
 (1)  100 licensees will request license verification for a $2,000 increase in 
revenue; 
 (2)  15 licensees will request duplicate licenses for a $75 increase in revenue; 
 (3)  four requests for licensee lists or rosters will be received for a $44 
decrease in revenue; 
 (4)  40 pages of photocopies will be requested for a $10 increase in revenue; 
 (5)  three licensees will request duplicate wall certificates for a $15 increase in 
revenue; 
 (6)  one licensee will request probationary license renewal for no change in 
revenue; and 
 (7)  85 licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a $5,500 increase in 
revenue. 
 
 24.201.2101  EXPIRATION - RENEWALS  (1)  Renewal notices will be sent 
as specified in [NEW RULE V]. 

(2)  Pursuant to 37-50-314 and 37-50-317, MCA, all All certified public 
accountants and licensed public accountants certificates, licenses, and permits to 
practice expire on must be renewed on or before the date set by department rule in 
ARM 8.2.208. 
 (2)  remains the same but is renumbered (3). 
 (4)  The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-50-201, 37-50-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 37-50-203, 37-50-314, 37-50-317, MCA 
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REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
     BOARD OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTANTS 
     GARY KASPER, L.P.A., CHAIRPERSON 
 
/s/ VIVIAN V. HAMMILL  /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Vivian V. Hammill   Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Rule Reviewer   DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 BOARD OF RADIOLOGIC TECHNOLOGISTS 
 
 NEW RULE X  RENEWALS  (1)  Renewal notices will be sent as specified in 
[NEW RULE V]. 
 (2)  The renewal date for a radiologic technologist license is the date set by 
ARM 8.2.208. 
 (3)  The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-141, 37-14-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, MCA 
 
REASON:  It is reasonable and necessary to adopt this new rule as a means of 
keeping with the intent of HB 182 and standardizing certain aspects of license 
renewal including setting uniform standards for license renewals, including renewal 
periods, and notification periods.  Several licensing entities do not have specific 
rules that address renewals, or have existing rules where it is appropriate to include 
language that addresses licensee notification regarding upcoming renewal dates, or 
clarification of new statutory definitions regarding license renewal.  Therefore, this 
new rule is proposed in order to incorporate the three components that have been 
included within the text of numerous other rules to fulfill the changes brought about 
by HB 182.  It is appropriate to propose the new rule at this time in order to maintain 
consistency regarding renewal requirements among all entities licensed by the 
Division.  See also general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
 24.204.401  FEE SCHEDULE  (1) through (1)(c) remain the same. 
 (d)  Late renewal fee (in addition to renewal fee) 50 
 (e)  Duplicate or lost licenses or certificates 5 
 (f)  Verification/certification of licensure to another state 5 
 (d)  Additional standardized fees are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-14-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-14-305, 37-14-309, 37-14-310, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  Based on fiscal year 
2005, it is estimated that the creation of standardized fees will have the following 
impact: 
 (1)  eight licensees will request license verifications for a $160 increase in 
revenue; 
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 (2)  five licensees will request duplicate licenses for a $25 increase in 
revenue; 
 (3)  four requests for licensee lists or rosters will be received for a $120 
increase in revenue; 
 (4)  one licensee will request a duplicate wall certificate for a $20 increase in 
revenue; and 
 (5)  20 licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a $1,000 increase in 
revenue. 
 
 24.204.404  PERMIT FEES  (1) through (4) remain the same. 
 (5)  Late renewal fee (in addition to renewal fee) 50 
 (6) and (7) remain the same but are renumbered (5) and (6). 
 (7)  Additional standardized fees are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 (8)  Document 20 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-14-202, 37-14-306, 37-14-310, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-14-306, 37-14-309, 37-14-310, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  Fiscal impact statement 
appears with ARM 24.204.401. 
 
 24.204.2102  WAIVER OF CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT 
 (1)  In the event of hardship such as a disabling illness or other personal 
emergency which substantially interferes with a permit holder’s ability to meet the 
minimum requirement of six contact hours prior to the deadline, the board may 
approve a waiver of the continuing education requirement.  There must be a written 
request submitted to the board by the renewal date set by ARM 8.2.208.  Such 
request for approval for a waiver shall be in writing and shall set forth the reasons 
why the licensee was unable to earn the minimum number of credit units required 
prior to the deadline. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-319, 37-14-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-306, 37-1-319, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
     BOARD OF RADIOLOGIC TECHNOLOGISTS 
     JOHN ROSENBAUM, R.T., CHAIRPERSON 
 
/s/ VIVIAN V. HAMMILL  /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Vivian V. Hammill   Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Rule Reviewer   DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
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 BOARD OF REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS 
 
 NEW RULE XI  RENEWALS  (1)  Renewal notices will be sent as specified in 
[NEW RULE V]. 
 (2)  The renewal date for real estate appraiser licensure is the date set by 
ARM 8.2.208. 
 (3)  The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-141, 37-54-105, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, MCA 
 
REASON:  It is reasonable and necessary to adopt this new rule as a means of 
keeping with the intent of HB 182 and standardizing certain aspects of license 
renewal including setting uniform standards for license renewals, including renewal 
periods, and notification periods.  Several licensing entities do not have specific 
rules that address renewals, or have existing rules where it is appropriate to include 
language that addresses licensee notification regarding upcoming renewal dates, or 
clarification of new statutory definitions regarding license renewal.  Therefore, this 
new rule is proposed in order to incorporate the three components that have been 
included within the text of numerous other rules to fulfill the changes brought about 
by HB 182.  It is appropriate to propose the new rule at this time in order to maintain 
consistency regarding renewal requirements among all entities licensed by the 
Division.  See also general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
 24.207.401  FEES  (1) through (1)(g) remain the same. 
 (h)  administrative/copying fee 40 
 (i)  late renewal fee 150 
 (j) through (n) remain the same but are renumbered (h) through (l). 
 (m)  Additional standardized fees are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 (2) remains the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-134, 37-54-105, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-54-105, 37-54-112, 37-54-201, 37-
 54-202, 37-54-210, 37-54-211, 37-54-212, 37-54-302, 37-54-310, 37-54-403, 
 MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  Based on fiscal year 
2005, it is estimated that the creation of standardized fees will have the following 
impact: 
 (1)  nine requests for licensee lists or rosters will be received for a $90 
increase in revenue; 
 (2)  36 licensees will request status change for no change in revenue; and 
 (3)  ten licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a $1,500 increase in 
revenue. 
 
 24.207.517  TRAINEE REQUIREMENTS  (1) through (4) remain the same. 
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 (5)  A trainee license must be renewed by March 31 the date set by ARM 
8.2.208 of each expiration year following the trainee's original year of licensure.  A 
trainee license may be renewed a total of four times, but may be extended by the 
board for cause. 
 (6) through (11) remain the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-141, 37-54-105, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-141, 37-54-105, 37-54-201, 37-54-202, 37-54-303, 37-
 54-403, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
 24.207.2101  CONTINUING EDUCATION  (1) through (4) remain the same. 
 (5)  An education reporting form executed under the penalty of perjury of the 
laws of Montana attesting to the successful completion of the continuing education 
requirement must be submitted to the board by March 31 the date set by ARM 
8.2.208 of the licensee's educational reporting cycle. 
 (6)  An incomplete education reporting form will not be accepted and will be 
returned to the licensee.  Any form returned to the licensee must be properly 
completed and resubmitted before the March 31 deadline date set by ARM 8.2.208. 
 (7) through (9) remain the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-306, 37-1-319, 37-54-105, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-141, 37-1-306, 37-54-105, 37-54-210, 37-54-303, 37-
 54-310, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
     BOARD OF REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS 
     TIM MOORE, CHAIRPERSON 
 
/s/ VIVIAN V. HAMMILL  /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Vivian V. Hammill   Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Rule Reviewer   DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 BOARD OF REALTY REGULATION 
 
 24.210.401  FEE SCHEDULE  (1) through (10) remain the same. 

(11)  For each duplicate license, where the 
original is lost or destroyed 15 
 (12) through (15) remain the same but are renumbered (11)  
through (14). 
 (16)  Late renewal fee 200 
 (17) and (18) remain the same but are renumbered (15) and (16). 
 (19)  Lists - 1-700 names 20 
  701 and over, per name 0.03 
  all licensees 125 
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 (20)  Labels - 1-700 names 20 
  701 and over, per name 0.03 
  all licensees 125 
 (21)  Copies, per page 0.25 
 (22)  Certified copies, per page 0.50 
 (23) remains the same but is renumbered (17). 
 (24)  License history/license verification 15 
 (25) and (26) remain the same but are renumbered (18) and (19). 
 (20)  Additional standardized fees are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-134, 37-51-203, 37-51-204, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-51-202, 37-51-204, 37-51-207, 37-51-303, 37-
 51-310, 37-51-311, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  Based on fiscal year 
2005, it is estimated that the creation of standardized fees will have the following 
impact: 
 (1)  50 licensees will request duplicate licenses for a $250 increase in 
revenue; 
 (2)  50 requests for licensee lists or rosters will be received for a $3,750 
decrease in revenue; 
 (3)  35 pages of photocopies will be requested for a $8.75 increase in 
revenue; 
 (4)  50 licensees will request license histories for a $250 decrease in revenue; 
 (5)  15 licensees will request duplicate wall certificates for a $75 increase in 
revenue; 
 (6)  650 licensees will request status change for no change in revenue; and 
 (7)  200 licensees will pay the late penalty fee for no change in revenue. 
 
 24.210.635  RENEWALS  (1)  Beginning with the renewal of December 31, 
2001, one-half of the licensees will renew for a period of two years with an expiration 
date of December 31, 2003.  Following this initial renewal period, each Each 
licensee will renew for a period of two years by December 31 on or before the date 
set by ARM 8.2.208 of their expiration year. 
 (2)  Renewal forms notices will be mailed to all real estate licensees at their 
last address of record sent as specified in [NEW RULE V].  Active salesperson 
licensee renewals will be sent to the broker of record.  Inactive licensee renewals will 
be sent to their home address.  Failure to receive a renewal form does not eliminate 
the renewal requirement.  Each licensee is required to renew. 
 (3) remains the same. 
 (4)  Incomplete renewal forms will not be accepted and will be returned to the 
licensee.  Any form returned to the licensee must be properly completed and 
resubmitted before the December 31 deadline date as set by ARM 8.2.208, or the 
late renewal penalty fees as specified in [NEW RULE III] will be required. 
 (5)  The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 
 AUTH:  37-51-203, MCA 
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 IMP:     37-1-141, 37-51-310, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
 24.210.661  NEW LICENSEE MANDATORY CONTINUING EDUCATION -- 
SALESPERSONS  (1) remains the same. 
 (2)  New sales licensees will receive an interim license that will expire 
December 31 end on the date set by ARM 8.2.208 of the year of the initial license 
date. 
 (3) through (5) remain the same. 
 (6)  All licensees are required to submit the renewal form and renewal fee by 
December 31 the date set by ARM 8.2.208 of their license renewal year. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-306, 37-1-319, 37-51-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-306, 37-1-319, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
 24.210.667  CONTINUING REAL ESTATE EDUCATION  (1) through (11) 
remain the same. 
 (12)  An education reporting form attesting to the successful completion of the 
continuing education requirement must be submitted to the board by December 31 
the date set by ARM 8.2.208 of each year.  Filing of an education reporting form 
after December 31 the renewal date set by ARM 8.2.208, but on or before February 
15 45 days following the renewal date will result in a late filing penalty fee.  No 
affidavit will be accepted after February 15 45 days following the renewal date set by 
ARM 8.2.208. 
 (13)  An incomplete education reporting form will not be accepted and will be 
returned to the licensee.  Any form returned to the licensee must be properly 
completed and resubmitted before the December 31 date set by ARM 8.2.208, or 
late filing penalty fees as specified in [NEW RULE III] will be required. 
 (14) through (17) remain the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-306, 37-51-203, 37-51-204, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-306, 37-1-319, 37-51-202, 37-51-203, 37-51-204, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
 24.210.801  FEE SCHEDULE  (1) through (6) remain the same. 
 (7)  For each duplicate license where the original was lost  
or destroyed 15 
 (8)  For each duplicate pocket card where the 
original was lost or destroyed 15 
 (9) through (12) remain the same but are renumbered (7) through (10). 
 (13)  Late renewal fee 200 
 (14) and (15) remain the same but are renumbered (11) and (12). 
 (16)  List of licensees 20 
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 (17)  remains the same but is renumbered (13). 
 (18)  License history/license verification 15 
 (14)  Additional standardized fees are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-51-202, 37-51-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-51-207, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  Fiscal impact statement 
follows ARM 24.210.401. 
 
 24.210.825  PROPERTY MANAGEMENT LICENSE RENEWALS AND LATE 
RENEWALS  (1)  Renewal forms notices will be mailed to all licensed property 
managers at their last address of record.  Failure to receive a renewal form does not 
eliminate the renewal requirement sent as specified in [NEW RULE V].  Each 
licensee is required to renew. 
 (2) remains the same. 
 (a)  payment of the current renewal fee as prescribed by the board within 45 
days of the renewal date by February 15; 
 (b)  payment of the late penalty fee as prescribed by the board specified by 
[NEW RULE III]; and 
 (c) remains the same. 
 (3)  Any licensee not renewed by February 15 is automatically canceled and 
may not be reinstated. 
 (4) remains the same but is renumbered (3). 
 (5) (4) Incomplete renewal forms will not be accepted and will be returned to 
the licensee.  Any form returned to the licensee must be properly completed and 
resubmitted before the renewal deadline date set forth in ARM 8.2.208, or the late 
renewal penalty fees will be required. 
 (5)  The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-141, 37-51-202, 37-51-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-101, 37-1-141, 37-51-604, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
 24.210.835  CONTINUING PROPERTY MANAGEMENT EDUCATION 
 (1) through (6) remain the same. 
 (7)  An education reporting form attesting to the successful completion of the 
continuing education requirement must be submitted to the board by December 31 
the date set by ARM 8.2.208 of each year.  Filing of an education reporting form 
after the renewal date set by ARM 8.2.208 December 31, but on or before February 
15 of the next year 45 days following the renewal date, will result in a late filing 
penalty fee. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-319, 37-51-202, 37-51-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-306, 37-1-141, 37-1-319, MCA 
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REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
 24.210.836  CONTINUING PROPERTY MANAGEMENT EDUCATION 
REPORTING REQUIREMENTS  (1)  An education reporting form attesting to the 
successful completion of the continuing education requirement must be submitted to 
the board by December 31 the date set by ARM 8.2.208 of each year.  Filing of an 
education reporting form after December 31 the renewal date set by ARM 8.2.208, 
but on or before February 15 45 days following the renewal date, will result in a late 
filing penalty fee.  No education reporting form will be accepted after February 15 45 
days following the renewal date set by ARM 8.2.208. 
 (2)  An incomplete education reporting form of education will not be accepted 
and will be returned to the licensee.  Any form returned to the licensee must be 
properly completed and resubmitted before the December 31 deadline as set by 
ARM 8.2.208, or the late filing penalty fees as specified in [NEW RULE III] will be 
required. 
 (3) through (5) remain the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-319, 37-51-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-101, 37-1-131, 37-1-306, 37-1-319, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
 24.210.1020  TIMESHARE LICENSE RENEWALS REQUIREMENTS 
 (1) (2)  Licenses and certificates of completion for timeshare brokers and 
salespersons shall be renewed annually in the month of December, postmarked no 
later than December 31 of the year preceding that for which the renewal is 
requested, by the date set by ARM 8.2.208.  Include include payment of the required 
fee, and, except as contained in ARM 24.210.1003 renewal shall include a 
typewritten, or printed, and sworn update to the personal disclosure statement. 
 (2) (1)  The license held by a licensee who fails to submit a complete renewal 
request prior to the date set forth above shall lapse on January 1 of the new license 
year.  The lapsed license may be reinstated by payment of the renewal fee and the 
late renewal fee at any time within 45 days from the renewal deadline.  The late 
renewal fee shall be $50.  Renewal notices will be sent as specified in [NEW RULE 
V]. 
 (3)  The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-53-104, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-141, 37-53-104, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
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     BOARD OF REALTY REGULATION 
     TERRY HILGENDORF, CHAIRPERSON 
 
/s/ VIVIAN V. HAMMILL  /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Vivian V. Hammill   Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Rule Reviewer   DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 

BOARD OF RESPIRATORY CARE PRACTITIONERS 
 
 24.213.401  FEE SCHEDULE  (1) through (1)(d) remain the same. 
 (e)  Late renewal fee 40 
 (f) (e)  Inactive license fee 30 
 (f)  Additional standardized fees are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-28-104, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-28-104, 37-28-202, 37-28-203, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  Based on fiscal year 
2005, it is estimated that the creation of standardized fees will have the following 
impact: 
 (1)  12 licensees will request license verifications for a $240 increase in 
revenue; 
 (2)  12 licensees will request duplicate licenses for a $60 increase in revenue; 
 (3)  four requests for licensee lists or rosters will be received for a $120 
increase in revenue; 
 (4)  two licensees will request duplicate wall certificates for a $40 increase in 
revenue; 
 (5)  five licensees will request status change for a $350 increase in revenue; 
and 
 (6)  five licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a $300 increase in revenue. 
 
 24.213.403  ABATEMENT OF RENEWAL FEES  (1) through (2)(b) remain 
the same. 
 (c)  The fact that a renewal fee is abated for any given renewal cycle does not 
excuse the licensee or registrant from otherwise fulfilling renewal requirements, 
including submission of a renewal application and any continuing education 
documentation.  The board department, to the extent it provides by rule, may impose 
a late penalty fee on untimely submissions of renewal applications or other required 
documentation. 
 (3) and (4) remain the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-101, 37-1-131, 37-1-134, MCA 
 IMP:     17-2-302, 17-2-303, 37-1-101, 37-1-131, 37-1-134, 37-1-141, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
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 24.213.412  PROCEDURES FOR RENEWALS  (1)  The board shall mail the 
renewal Renewal notices will be sent as specified in [NEW RULE V]. approximately 
six to eight weeks in advance of the renewal date to the licensee's address on file 
with the board.  Failure to receive the renewal notice does not relieve the licensee 
from the obligation to renew in a timely manner. 
 (2)  Licenses expire must be renewed every even numbered year on or 
before the renewal date set forth in by ARM 8.2.208. 
 (3)  Licensees may renew their licenses for a period of three years from the 
expiration date of the license by submitting a renewal form, one renewal fee and one 
late fee and documentation of the continuing education that would have been 
required had the license been renewed in a timely manner.  A license that is not 
renewed within three years of the most recent renewal date automatically 
terminates.  The terminated license may not be reinstated, and a new original 
license must be obtained by passing the certifying examination and paying the 
appropriate fees. 
 (3)  The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-141, 37-28-104, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 37-28-203, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
 24.213.2121  WAIVER OF CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT 
 (1)  In the event of hardship such as a disabling illness or other personal 
emergency which substantially interferes with a licensee's ability to meet the 
minimum requirement of 12 credit units prior to the deadline, the board may approve 
a waiver of the continuing education requirement.  There must be a written request 
submitted to the board by the renewal date set by ARM 8.2.208.  Such request for 
approval for a waiver shall be in writing and shall set forth the reasons why the 
licensee was unable to earn the minimum number of credit units required prior to the 
deadline. 
 
 AUTH:  37-28-104, MCA 
 IMP:     37-28-104, 37-28-203, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
     BOARD OF RESPIRATORY CARE  
     PRACTITIONERS 
     EILEEN CANEY, CHAIRPERSON 
 
/s/ VIVIAN V. HAMMILL  /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Vivian V. Hammill   Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Rule Reviewer   DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
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BOARD OF SANITARIANS 
 
 24.216.402  FEE SCHEDULE  (1) through (4) remain the same. 
 (5)  Late renewal (in addition to renewal fee) 50 
 (6)  remains the same but is renumbered (5). 
 (6)  Additional standardized fees are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 (7)  remains the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-40-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-40-302, 37-40-304, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  Based on fiscal year 
2005, it is estimated that the creation of standardized fees will have the following 
impact: 
 (1)  11 licensees will pay the late penalty fee for no change in revenue. 
 
 24.216.2101  RENEWALS  (1)  Renewal application forms notices will be sent 
as specified in [NEW RULE V]. to the licensee’s address on file in the board office 
approximately six to eight weeks prior to the renewal deadline.  Failure to receive a 
renewal application form in no way releases the licensee from the obligation to 
renew prior to the end of the licensing year. 
 (2)  Licenses must be renewed on or before the date set by ARM 8.2.208. 
 (3)  The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 (2)  Licensees shall have 90  days after the expiration date of their licenses to 
submit a renewal application with the accompanying renewal and late fees and 
proper documentation of continuing education requirements. 
 (3)  Ninety days after the expiration date, the license lapses.  To reinstate a 
lapsed license, an applicant must submit a new application and retake and 
successfully pass the licensing examination. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-141, 37-40-203, 37-40-304, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 37-40-304, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
     BOARD OF SANITARIANS 
     TED KYLANDER, CHAIRPERSON 
 
/s/ VIVIAN V. HAMMILL  /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Vivian V. Hammill   Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Rule Reviewer   DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK EXAMINERS AND PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS 

 
 NEW RULE XII  RENEWALS  (1)  Renewal notices will be sent as specified in 
[NEW RULE V]. 
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 (2)  Social worker licenses must be renewed on or before the date set by 
ARM 8.2.208. 
 (3)  The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-141, 37-22-201, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, MCA 
 
REASON:  It is reasonable and necessary to adopt this new rule as a means of 
keeping with the intent of HB 182 and standardizing certain aspects of license 
renewal including setting uniform standards for license renewals, including renewal 
periods, and notification periods.  Several licensing entities do not have specific 
rules that address renewals, or have existing rules where it is appropriate to include 
language that addresses licensee notification regarding upcoming renewal dates, or 
clarification of new statutory definitions regarding license renewal.  Therefore, this 
new rule is proposed in order to incorporate the three components that have been 
included within the text of numerous other rules to fulfill the changes brought about 
by HB 182.  It is appropriate to propose the new rule at this time in order to maintain 
consistency regarding renewal requirements among all entities licensed by the 
Division.  See also general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 

24.219.401  FEE SCHEDULE FOR SOCIAL WORKERS  (1) through (4) 
remain the same. 
 (5)  Additional standardized fees are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-22-201, 37-22-302, 37-22-304, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-22-301, 37-22-302, 37-22-303, 37-22-304, 
 MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 

24.219.405  FEE SCHEDULE FOR PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS 
(1) through (4) remain the same. 

 (5)  Additional standardized fees are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-23-103, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-23-206, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
Based on fiscal year 2005 for the Board of Social Work Examiners and Professional 
Counselors, it is estimated that the creation of standardized fees will have the 
following impact: 
 (1)  25 licensees will request license verifications for a $500 increase in 
revenue; 
 (2)  ten licensees will request duplicate licenses for a $50 increase in 
revenue; 
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 (3)  25 requests for licensee lists or rosters will be received for a $690 
increase in revenue; 
 (4)  five licensees will request duplicate wall certificates for a $100 increase in 
revenue; 
 (5)  ten licensees will request status change for a $1,000 increase in revenue; 
 (6)  one licensee will request suspended license renewal for a $50 increase in 
revenue; and 
 (7)  25 licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a $2,500 increase in 
revenue. 
 
 24.219.615  ANNUAL LICENSE RENEWALS  (1) (2)  Professional counselor 
licenses expire must be renewed on or before December 31 the date set by ARM 
8.2.208 of each year.  Current licenses expire December 31, 1987.  Fees for initial 
licenses issued other than the uniform renewal date will be prorated. 
 (1)  Renewal notices will be sent as specified in [NEW RULE V]. 
 (3)  The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-23-103, 37-23-205, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 37-23-205, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
     BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK EXAMINERS AND 
     PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS 
     SHERRY MEADOR, CHAIRPERSON 
 
/s/ VIVIAN V. HAMMILL  /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Vivian V. Hammill   Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Rule Reviewer   DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 

BOARD OF SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGISTS AND AUDIOLOGISTS 
 
 NEW RULE XIII  RENEWALS  (1)  Renewal notices will be sent as specified 
in [NEW RULE V]. 
 (2)  Speech pathologist and audiologist licenses must be renewed on or 
before the date set by ARM 8.2.208. 
 (3)  The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-141, 37-15-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, MCA 
 
REASON:  It is reasonable and necessary to adopt this new rule as a means of 
keeping with the intent of HB 182 and standardizing certain aspects of license 
renewal including setting uniform standards for license renewals, including renewal 
periods, and notification periods.  Several licensing entities do not have specific 
rules that address renewals, or have existing rules where it is appropriate to include 
language that addresses licensee notification regarding upcoming renewal dates, or 



 
 
 

 
MAR Notice No. 24-101-202 4-2/23/06 

-469-

clarification of new statutory definitions regarding license renewal.  Therefore, this 
new rule is proposed in order to incorporate the three components that have been 
included within the text of numerous other rules to fulfill the changes brought about 
by HB 182.  It is appropriate to propose the new rule at this time in order to maintain 
consistency regarding renewal requirements among all entities licensed by the 
Division.  See also general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
 24.222.401  FEES  (1) through (2)(c) remain the same. 
 (i)  Late renewal fees are an additional 10% due each month that the payment 
of the renewal fee is delayed after the February 1 expiration date.  The maximum fee 
for delayed renewal may not exceed twice the normal renewal fee. 
 (d) through (f) remain the same. 
 (g)  Replacement or duplication of a license 10 
 (3)  Additional standardized fees are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 (3) remains the same but is renumbered (4). 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-15-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-15-307, 37-15-308, 37-15-313, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  Based on fiscal year 
2005, it is estimated that the creation of standardized fees will have the following 
impact: 
 (1)  four licensees will request license verifications for a $80 increase in 
revenue; 
 (2)  five licensees will request duplicate licenses for a $25 increase in 
revenue; 
 (3)  six requests for licensee lists or rosters will be received for a $180 
increase in revenue; 
 (4)  one licensee will request a duplicate wall certificate for a $20 increase in 
revenue; 
 (5)  five licensees will request status change for a $250 increase in revenue; 
and 
 (6)  five licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a $500 increase in revenue. 
 
 24.222.2102  CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS  (1)  Each 
licensee shall affirm completion of the required continuing education hours before 
February 1 the date set by ARM 8.2.208 of each odd-numbered year, on the renewal 
form.  The board will randomly audit 10% of the renewed licensee's continuing 
education hours submitted each odd-numbered year.  Certificates of completion for 
continuing education credits reported must be submitted upon request of the board. 
 (2) through (7) remain the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-319, 37-15-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-306, 37-15-102, 37-15-309, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
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     BOARD OF SPEECH-LANGUAGE 
     PATHOLOGISTS AND AUDIOLOGISTS 
     MARILYN THADDEN, S.L.P., CHAIRPERSON 
 
/s/ VIVIAN V. HAMMILL  /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Vivian V. Hammill   Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Rule Reviewer   DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 
 
 24.225.401  FEE SCHEDULE  (1) through (2)(b) remain the same. 
 (c)  Late renewal fee 50 
 (3) through (3)(b) remain the same. 
 (c)  Technician late renewal 50 
 (d) and (e) remain the same but are renumbered (c) and (d). 
 (f)  Agency late renewal 50 
 (g) remains the same but is renumbered (e). 
 (4)  Additional standardized fees are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-18-202, 37-18-603, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-1-304, 37-1-305, 37-18-302, 37-18-307, 37-
 18-603, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  Based on fiscal year 
2005, it is estimated that the creation of standardized fees will have the following 
impact: 
 (1)  40 licensees will request license verifications for an $800 increase in 
revenue; 
 (2)  five licensees will request duplicate licenses for a $25 increase in 
revenue; 
 (3)  one request for licensee lists or rosters will be received for a $30 increase 
in revenue; 
 (4)  61 veterinarian licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a $915 increase 
in revenue; 
 (5)  two euthanasia technician licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a 
$140 increase in revenue; 
 (6)  one embryo transfer technician licensee will pay the late penalty fee for a 
$65 increase in revenue; and 
 (7)  one euthanasia agency licensee will pay the late penalty fee for a $125 
increase in revenue. 
 
 24.225.510  ANNUAL RENEWALS OF CERTIFICATE OF REGISTRATION  
 (1)  Notice for annual renewal of certificate of registration shall be mailed 
annually to each licensed veterinarian at his/her last known address at least 30 days 
prior to the November 1st deadline.  Notices will be considered properly mailed 
when addressed to the last known address on file in the board office Renewal 
notices will be sent as specified in [NEW RULE V]. 
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 (2)  The proper annual renewal of certificate of registration fee and completed 
renewal form are due by November 1st the date set by ARM 8.2.208 of each year. 
 (3)  The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-141, 37-18-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 37-18-307, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
 24.225.511  CONTINUING EDUCATION  (1)  Each veterinarian licensed shall 
be required to obtain every two years a minimum of 20 credit hours of continuing 
education approved by the board.  The credit hours must be obtained within the 24 
months prior to renewal on November 1 the date set by ARM 8.2.208 of the even-
numbered years.  Licensees licensed less than two full calendar years but more than 
one full calendar year on their first continuing education reporting date shall be 
required to submit ten hours of continuing education. 
 (a) remains the same. 
 (b)  A veterinarian may be granted a grace period of three months after the 
November 1st deadline set by ARM 8.2.208 in which to fulfill the continuing 
education requirements.  This grace period shall be granted only upon written 
request to the board, payment of the restoration late penalty fee and upon board 
approval.  A license to practice veterinary medicine valid for the duration of the grace 
period will be issued to those persons granted grace by the board. 
 (c) through (6) remain the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-319, 37-18-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 37-1-306, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  In order to be 
consistent, the rule is further amended to delete language that was previously used 
in statute and replace with new terminology that is being used throughout the 
Division's rules when referencing the late penalty fee. 
 
 24.225.515  FORFEITURE OF LICENSE AND RESTORATION found at ARM 
page 24-26583 is proposed to be repealed. 
 
 AUTH:  37-18-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-18-307, MCA 
 
REASON:  This rule is proposed to be repealed because the implementing statute, 
37-18-307, MCA, which allowed for license forfeiture and one year restoration was 
repealed by HB 182 and the rule now conflicts with 37-1-141, MCA as enacted by 
HB 182. 
 
 24.225.550  UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT  (1)  For the purposes of 
implementing the provisions of 37-1-319, MCA, the board defines "unprofessional 
conduct" as follows: 
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 (1) through (9) remain the same but are renumbered (a) through (i). 
 (10) (j) Practicing veterinary medicine while after the practitioner's license is 
not currently renewed has expired. 
 (11) through (13) remain the same but are renumbered (k) through (m). 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-319, 37-18-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-141, 37-1-316, 37-1-319, 37-18-311, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
 24.225.709  ANNUAL RENEWALS AND CONTINUING EDUCATION  (1)  A 
person certified as an embryo transfer technician under these rules must renew his 
the certificate annually before November 1 the date set by ARM 8.2.208. 
 (2) through (4) remain the same. 
 (5)  A certificate holder may be granted a grace period of three months after 
the November 1 renewal deadline date set by ARM 8.2.208 in which to fulfill 
continuing education requirements.  This grace period will be granted only upon 
written request to the board, payment of the renewal fee, and board approval.  A 
certificate valid for the duration of the grace period will be issued only to a person 
granted grace by the board. 
 (6)  Failure of a person to renew his or her certificate, apply for a grace period 
or to obtain hardship relief within 90 days of the November 1 deadline constitutes a 
forfeiture of the certificate.  A defaulting certificate holder under this provision must 
apply and qualify for a new certificate, including passing the applicable examinations 
if he or she wishes to renew his or her certificate and practice. 
 (7) through (10) remain the same but are renumbered (6) through (9). 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-319, 37-18-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-138, 37-1-141, 37-1-306, 37-18-104, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
 24.225.750  UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT  (1) through (2)(h) remain the 
same. 
 (i)  performing embryo transfer while the embryo transfer technician's 
certificate is not currently renewed has expired. 
 (j) and (k) remain the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-319, 37-18-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 37-1-316, 37-18-104, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
 24.225.925  ANNUAL RENEWALS OF CERTIFICATE FOR TECHNICIANS 
AND CERTIFIED AGENCIES  (1)  CETs must re-certify on a form or by a method 
approved by the board on or before May 30 the date set by ARM 8.2.208 of every 
year, beginning in 2005.  The certification renewal application must include: 
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 (a) through (c) remain the same. 
 (2)  CEAs must renew certification on a form or by a method approved by the 
board on or before May 30 the date set by ARM 8.2.208 of every year, beginning in 
2005.  The renewal application must include: 
 (a) through (d) remain the same. 
 (3)  A renewal Renewal notices will be sent by the board to each certificate 
holder at the current certified agency address in the board's files at least 30 days 
prior to the renewal deadline.  Failure to receive such notice must not relieve the 
certificate holder of the certificate holder's obligation to pay certification renewal fees 
in such a manner that they are received by the department on or before the 
certification renewal date as specified in [NEW RULE V]. 
 (4)  A CET's or CEA's renewal certificate shall be valid for one year following 
the expiration renewal date of the previously held certificate. 
 (5)  The fee for any certificate holder who fails to re-certify or submit the 
proper fee prior to the expiration renewal date must be increased by an amount 
determined by the board and specified in the fee schedule pay the late penalty fee 
specified in [NEW RULE III].  Certification renewal forms may not be processed until 
all required documentation is received in the board office and all fees are paid. 
 (6)  The board will randomly audit 10 renewals for CEAs and 10 renewals for 
CETs each year. 
 (7)  Any certificate holder failing to renew a certificate within 90 days of the 
expiration date will be considered to have forfeited the certificate.  If 90 days have 
passed, the CET or CEA must reapply to the board for an initial certificate to function 
as a CET or CEA and pay the required fee. 
 (6)  The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-18-202, 37-18-603, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 37-18-603, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  It is also reasonable 
and necessary to remove (6) because this section conflicts with 37-1-131(7)(d), 
MCA, as amended by HB 182.  Currently, there are only nine certified euthanasia 
technicians and six certified euthanasia agencies licensed.  The rule implies that all 
certified euthanasia agencies renewing and all certified euthanasia technicians 
renewing could be audited as one of the ten licensees randomly selected as stated 
in (6). 
 
     BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 
     JACK NEWMAN, D.V.M., PRESIDENT 
 
/s/ VIVIAN V. HAMMILL  /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Vivian V. Hammill   Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Rule Reviewer   DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 



 
 
 

 
4-2/23/06 MAR Notice No. 24-101-202 

-474-

 BOILER OPERATING ENGINEERS PROGRAM 
 
 24.122.401  FEE SCHEDULE FOR BOILER OPERATING ENGINEERS 
 (1) and (2) remain the same. 
 (3)  Replacement of lost license 15 
 (3)  Additional standardized fees are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 (4) and (5) remain the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-134, 50-74-101, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 50-74-309, 50-74-313, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  Based on fiscal year 
2005, it is estimated that the creation of standardized fees will have the following 
impact: 
 (1)  three duplicate licenses will be issued for a $30 decrease in revenue; 
 (2)  five first class boiler engineer licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a 
$50 decrease in revenue; 
 (3)  five second class boiler engineer licensees will pay the late penalty fee for 
a $50 decrease in revenue; 
 (4)  six third class boiler engineer licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a 
$60 increase in revenue; 
 (5)  20 low pressure boiler engineer licensees will pay the late penalty fee for 
a $600 increase in revenue; and 
 (6)  one traction boiler engineer licensee will pay the late penalty fee for a $40 
increase in revenue. 
 
 24.122.515  RENEWALS OF LICENSE  (1) (2)  The Renewal renewal of 
licenses is on an annual basis date is set by ARM 8.2.208.  Licensees shall submit 
the appropriate fee established in ARM 24.122.401 when applying to renew a 
license. 
 (2) (1)  Renewal notices will be mailed sent as specified in [NEW RULE V]. by 
the department prior to the expiration of the boiler operating engineer's license to the 
licensee's address on file.  It is the responsibility of the licensee to keep a current 
address on file with the department.  Lack of receipt of such renewal notice by the 
licensee does not relieve the licensee of the responsibility to renew the license. 
 (3)  The consequences for failure to renew a boiler operating engineer's 
license are established in 50-74-313, MCA.  The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] 
apply. 
 (4) remains the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-141, 50-74-101, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 50-74-313, MCA 
 
REASON:  HB 182 repealed 50-74-313, MCA, therefore the reference to this statute 
is being deleted and the reference to NEW RULE VI is being added.  This change 
substitutes the reference to when a new license is required which is one of the 
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consequences listed in 50-74-313, MCA.  See general statement of reasonable 
necessity for more detail. 
 
 CONSTRUCTION BLASTERS PROGRAM 
 
 24.131.405  TRAINING PROGRAMS  (1)  Training programs in construction 
blasting must be recognized by the explosives and construction industry and 
approved by the bureau.  The training program must offer comprehensive instruction 
in safe use of explosives, methods and purposes of their use, and safety procedures 
for storage.  These training programs shall be at least 24 hours to obtain a Class 1, 
Class 2, or Class 3 license, and eight hours to obtain a Class 4 license, or be 
approved by the bureau based on content and quality of the course. 
 (2)  The following construction blasting training courses are approved by the 
bureau: 
 (a)  northwest laborers employers training program; 
 (b)  AGC training program for state of Montana; 
 (c)  kinepak blasting seminar; 
 (d)  dupont blasting seminar; 
 (e)  society of explosive engineers; 
 (f)  Karl Burgher explosive classes; 
 (g)  United States forest service explosive training classes; 
 (h)  BS consulting explosive training classes (William and Amanda Hale, 
trainers). 
 (2)  The Construction Blasters Program maintains a list of approved training 
courses which can be obtained by contacting the Construction Blasters Program at 
301 South Park, P.O. Box 200513, Helena, MT 59620-0513, or e-mail 
dlibsdbla@mt.gov. 
 (3) remains the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-72-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-72-302, MCA 
 
REASON:  It is reasonable and necessary to amend ARM 24.131.405 to remove the 
approved training courses from rule.  This is a working list, can have constant 
changes, and is administrative in nature.  The rule would need to be modified each 
time a course is approved or removed from the list.  Construction blasters are better 
served by not having the approved courses in an administrative rule.  Once a course 
has been approved, the blaster is able to take the course without having to wait for 
the list to be amended through the rulemaking process.  This is advantageous to the 
blaster and the public by making the blasters more familiar with new training material 
in a more timely manner. 
 
 24.131.501  CONSTRUCTION BLASTER LICENSE REQUIREMENTS 
 (1) remains the same. 
 (2)  The following construction blasters' licenses are issued under 37-72-303, 
MCA: 
 (a) through (d) remain the same. 
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 (3)  The following fees must be paid to the bureau and are nonrefundable: 
 (a)  application fee $35 
 (b)  examination fee 25 
 (c)  license fee 40 
 (d)  annual renewal fee 40 
 (e)  reexamination fee 35 
 (f)  duplicate license fee 15 
 (4) (3) The bureau shall issue a construction blaster's license to each 
applicant who: 
 (a)  submits a completed application form supplied by the bureau; with 
applicable fees; 
 (b) through (d) remain the same. 
 (e)  achieves a grade of 80% or higher on an examination administered by the 
bureau based upon the adopted standards and regulations regarding the use of 
explosives.  A copy of such standards and regulations shall be available at a 
reasonable fee from the bureau. 
 (5) (4)  Construction blasters' licenses are not transferable, expire at the end 
of each year and must be renewed by request of the applicant and the fee paid on or 
60 days before January 1 of each year on or before the date set by ARM 8.2.208.  
The provisions of [NEW RULES V and VI] apply. 
 (6) (5)  A license, certificate, or permit issued by another state or an agency of 
the United States will be recognized and an appropriate construction blaster's 
license issued if the bureau determines that the requirements are equivalent to those 
in 37-72-302 and 37-72-303, MCA. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-141, 37-72-201, 37-72-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-141, 37-72-301, 37-72-302, 37-72-303, 37-72-304, 37-
 72-305, 37-72-306, MCA 
 
REASON:  The MCA reference in (2) is being deleted because 37-72-303, MCA, 
was repealed by HB 182.  Section (3) is being amended to remove the fee schedule 
from the license requirements and a new rule dealing exclusively with fees is being 
proposed.  The fee schedule is not a license requirement, and removing it from this 
rule will make the fee schedule easier to locate.  The fee amounts are not changed 
with this amendment.  A reference to standardized fees charged by the department 
has been added to implement changes made by HB 182. 
 
 NEW RULE XIV  FEES  (1)  The following fees must be paid to the bureau 
and are nonrefundable: 
 (a)  application fee $35 
 (b)  examination fee 25 
 (c)  license fee 40 
 (d)  annual renewal fee 40 
 (e)  reexamination fee 35 
 (2)  Additional standardized fees are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-72-202, MCA 
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 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, MCA 
 
REASON:  It is reasonable and necessary to propose this new rule to make the fees 
applicable to construction blasters easier to locate.  It was previously located in the 
license requirements rule.  By moving the fees to a rule exclusive to fees, it aids both 
construction blasters and program staff.  Also having an individual rule complies with 
the rule-writing concept that a rule should contain only a single idea.  The creation of 
the new rule is being done at this time since other changes to the rule were 
necessitated by the passage of HB 182. 
 
Based on fiscal year 2005, it is estimated that the creation of standardized fees will 
have the following impact: 
 (1)  15 licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a $172 increase in revenue. 
 

CRANE AND HOISTING OPERATING ENGINEERS PROGRAM 
 
 24.135.402  FEE SCHEDULE  (1)  Initial application, including examination: 
 (a)  First Class $100 
 (b)  Second Class 100 
 (c)  Third Class 60 
 (d)  NCCO reciprocity 80 
 (2)  Annual renewal of license (1st & 2nd First and Second Class) 80 
 (3)  Annual renewal of license (3rd Third Class) 50 
 (4)  Late renewal fee for each missed renewal cycle: 
 (a)  First Class 80 
 (b)  Second Class 80 
 (c)  Third Class 50 
 (5)  Duplicate/Lost License 15 
 (4)  Additional standardized fees are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 (6) (5)  An applicant who fails the examination shall pay 50% of the licensure 
fee in order to retake the examination. 
 (7) (6)  All fees are nonrefundable. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-134, 50-76-112, MCA 
 IMP:     50-76-104, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  Based on fiscal year 
2005, it is estimated that the creation of standardized fees will have the following 
impact: 
 (1)  one duplicate license will be issued for a $10 decrease in revenue; 
 (2)  15 First Class licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a $1,200 increase 
in revenue; 
 (3)  five Second Class licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a $400 
increase in revenue; and 
 (4)  two Third Class licensees will pay the late penalty fee for a $100 increase 
in revenue. 
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 24.135.2101  RENEWALS  (1)  The license must be renewed in accordance 
with ARM 8.2.208 within 12 months of obtaining the previous license. 
 (a)  A license not renewed within 12 months will be lapsed for a period of 45 
days.  A licensee may legally work on a lapsed license for a period of 45 days.  A 
lapsed license may be renewed within the 45 days by submitting the renewal form 
and applicable late fees. 
 (b)  A lapsed license not renewed within 45 days will expire.  A licensee is not 
considered to be working legally if the licensee's license has expired.  An expired 
license may be renewed within two years by submitting the renewal form and 
applicable late fee. 
 (c)  A license automatically terminates if it has not been renewed within two 
years.  The terminated license may not be reinstated, and a new original license 
must be obtained by: 
 (i)  submitting a new application; 
 (ii)  meeting the current requirements; 
 (iii)  passing the examination; and 
 (iv)  paying the appropriate fees. 
 (2)  Renewal notices will be sent as specified in [NEW RULE V]. 
 (3)  The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 (2) (4)  A biennial physical examination shall be required after the license is 
granted.  The biennial physical examination report, or proof of passing an applicable 
physical examination, shall be presented to the department every second renewal 
date after the original licensure date, and may not be dated more than 180 days 
prior to the renewal date of the license. 
 
 AUTH:  50-76-112, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 50-76-103, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 

FIRE PREVENTION AND FIREWORKS WHOLESALERS PROGRAM 
 
 24.144.404  DUPLICATE LICENSE OR ENDORSEMENT  (1)  The 
department may upon request replace any previously issued license or endorsement 
that has been lost or destroyed.  The request must include a written statement from 
the holder attesting to the loss or destruction of the license or endorsement.  The 
request must also be accompanied by a fee of $15 the fee as set in [NEW RULE III]. 
 
 AUTH:  50-3-102, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 50-3-102, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  Based on fiscal year 
2005, it is estimated that the creation of standardized fees for the issuance of a 
duplicate license or endorsement will have no impact on the amount of revenue 
generated.  In fiscal year 2005, no duplicate license requests were received. 
 
 24.144.502  EXAMINATION FOR ENDORSEMENT  (1) remains the same. 
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 (2)  The department shall issue an endorsement for pre-engineered fire alarm 
systems, or special fire agent suppression systems to an individual who submits 
proof of manufacturer training on the specific brand and model of such pre-
engineered system for which the applicant seeks endorsement.  An endorsement 
granted under this rule shall be valid only for the brand and model number specified 
on the endorsement.  Those extinguisher system endorsements issued under this 
rule prior to February, 1998, will remain valid until or unless the endorsement lapses 
is not renewed by the renewal date or is revoked. 
 
 AUTH:  50-3-102, 50-39-107, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 50-39-101, MCA 
 
REASON:  It is reasonable and necessary to amend this rule to clarify the 
terminology.  When the word "lapses" was inserted into the rule, the "three tier" 
licensing concept of lapse, expire, and terminate was not being used.  Therefore, it 
is necessary to explain at what point the endorsement no longer remains valid. 
 
 24.144.2102  RENEWALS OF LICENSE OR ENDORSEMENT  (1)  Each 
entity or person who receives a license or endorsement from the department in 
accordance with these rules shall submit an application for renewal annually. 
 (2) remains the same. 
 (3)  All fire protection equipment licenses and endorsements shall expire on 
May 31 of each year must be renewed on or before the date set by ARM 8.2.208.  A 
renewal notice will be sent as specified in [NEW RULE V]. by the department to 
each license and endorsement holder to the last address in the department's files no 
later than April 15 of each year.  Failure to receive such notice shall not relieve the 
license or endorsement holder of the obligation to pay renewal fees and file an 
application for renewal in such a manner that it is postmarked or hand-delivered to 
the department on or before May 31. 

(4) and (5) remain the same. 
 (6)  The provisions of [NEW RULE VI] apply. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-141, 50-39-107, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 50-39-102, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
 LICENSED ADDICTION COUNSELORS PROGRAM 
 
 8.11.101  FEES  (1) through (1)(b) remain the same. 
 (c)  Late renewal 185 
 (d) remains the same but is renumbered (c). 
 (e)  Document or license replacement 30 
 (2)  Additional standardized fees are specified in [NEW RULE III]. 
 (2) remains the same but is renumbered (3). 

 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-134, 37-35-103, MCA 
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 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-35-103, 37-35-202, 37-35-203, 
 MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity.  Based on fiscal year 
2005, it is estimated that the creation of standardized fees will have the following 
impact: 
 (1)  five licensees will request license verification for a $100 increase in 
revenue; 
 (2)  five licensees will request duplicate licenses for a $25 increase in 
revenue;  
 (3)  ten requests for licensee lists or rosters will be received for a $200 
increase in revenue; and 
 (4)  six licensees will pay the late penalty fee for no change in revenue. 
 
 8.11.114  COUNSELORS CERTIFIED IN OTHER STATES  (1) through (1)(b) 
remain the same. 
 (c)  holds a current, unexpired state certificate, in good standing, from another 
state; and 
 (d) through (4) remain the same. 
 (a)  holds a current, unexpired certificate, in good standing, from a nationally 
recognized addiction organization; 
 (b) through (6) remain the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-35-103, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-35-103, 37-35-203, MCA 
 
REASON:  This rule is to be amended to remove a connotation of the word "expire" 
which was defined in HB 182 amendments.  By removing this word from the rule, it 
eliminates the potential for misinterpretation.  It is implied that if a certificate is 
current, it is unexpired.  It does not appear that the context of the rule is changed by 
the deletion. 
 
 8.11.115  RENEWALS  (1)  Approximately two months before the renewal 
date, a renewal Renewal notices will be sent by the department as specified in 
[NEW RULE V]. to each certificate holder to the last address in the program’s files.  
Failure to receive such notice shall not relieve the certificate holder of the holder's 
obligation to pay renewal Renewal fees in such a manner that they are must be 
received by the department on or before the renewal date as set by ARM 8.2.208. 
 (2)  A renewed certificate shall be valid for two years the time period length 
listed under the renewal frequency in ARM 8.2.208 following the expiration renewal 
date of the previously held certificate. 
 (3)  A default in the payment of a renewal fee after the date it is due increases 
the renewal fee as prescribed by the department in [NEW RULE III].  A certificate 
holder, that has not received his/her the certificate from the department due to failure 
of the certificate holder to meet continuing education requirements or to pay the 
renewal fee, will be notified in writing by the department.  The certificate holder shall 
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have 12 months from the renewal date to obtain continuing education acceptable to 
the department. 
 (4)  It is unlawful for a person who refuses or fails to pay the renewal fee to 
practice as a certified chemical dependency in this state.  The provisions of [NEW 
RULE VI] apply. 
 (5)  A non-renewed certificate is lapsed.  A lapsed certificate that is not 
renewed within one year of the most recent renewal date automatically terminates.  
The terminated certificate may not be reinstated, and a new original certificate must 
be obtained by passing a qualifying examination and paying the appropriate fees. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-141, 37-35-103, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 37-35-203, MCA 
 
REASON:  See general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
 8.11.118  CONTINUING EDUCATION PROCEDURES AND 
DOCUMENTATION  (1)  Certificates must be renewed by June 30th of each two-
year renewal period according to the department audit process. 
 (2)  The department shall provide the renewal application form and 
instructions for the audit process to all counselors at least three months in advance 
of the renewal date. 
 (3) (1)  Certificate holders shall affirm their understanding of and compliance 
with the continuing education requirements and the audit process of renewal with the 
signing of the renewal form. 
 (4) through (8) remain the same but are renumbered (2) through (6). 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-319, 37-35-103, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-306, 37-35-203, MCA 
 
REASON:  The department has determined it is reasonable and necessary to 
amend this rule to delete (1) and (2).  The renewal requirements are being amended 
out because they are unnecessary and are duplicative of requirements in ARM 
8.11.115.  Also, removing the renewal requirements will make the rule more closely 
conform to ARM 1.2.215 in keeping rules to contain a single idea.  Removal of these 
sections eliminates the potential for conflicts between rules. 
 

7.  Concerned persons may present their data, views or arguments either 
orally or in writing at the hearing.  Written data, views or arguments may also be 
submitted to Kathy Lubke, 301 South Park Avenue, P.O. Box 200513, Helena, 
Montana 59620-0513, by facsimile to (406) 841-2305, or by e-mail to 
DLIBSDHouseBill182@mt.gov, and must be received no later than 5:00 p.m., March 
28, 2006. 
 
 8.  An electronic copy of this Notice of Public Hearing is available through the 
Department's and Board's site on the World Wide Web at 
http://www.mt.gov/dli/bsd/license/rules.asp.  The Department strives to make the 
electronic copy of this Notice conform to the official version of the Notice, as printed 
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in the Montana Administrative Register, but advises all concerned persons that in 
the event of a discrepancy between the official printed text of the Notice and the 
electronic version of the Notice, only the official printed text will be considered.  In 
addition, although the Department strives to keep its website accessible at all times, 
concerned persons should be aware that the website may be unavailable during 
some periods, due to system maintenance or technical problems, and that a 
person's technical difficulties in accessing or posting to the e-mail address do not 
excuse late submission of comments. 
 
 9.  The Division, and each Board and Program maintain a list of interested 
persons who wish to receive notices of rulemaking actions proposed by the Division, 
Board or Program.  Persons who wish to have their name added to the list shall 
make a written request which includes the name and mailing address of the person 
to receive notices and specifies that the person wishes to receive notices regarding 
Division, and/or which Board or Program administrative rulemaking proceedings or 
other administrative proceedings.  Such written request may be mailed or delivered 
to Kathy Lubke, 301 South Park Avenue, P.O. Box 200513, Helena, Montana 
59620-0513, faxed to the office at (406) 841-2305, e-mailed to klubke@mt.gov, or 
may be made by completing a request form at any rules hearing held by the agency. 
 
 10.  The bill sponsor notice requirements of 2-4-302, MCA, apply and have 
been fulfilled. 
 
 11.  Kathy Lubke, Administrative Rules Specialist, has been designated to 
preside over and conduct this hearing. 
 
 
/s/ VIVIAN V. HAMMILL /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Vivian V. Hammill Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Rule Reviewer DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 
 Certified to the Secretary of State February 13, 2006 
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BEFORE THE BOARD OF MEDICAL EXAMINERS 
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

STATE OF MONTANA 
 

In the matter of the proposed amendment  )  NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING ON 
of ARM 24.156.1601, 24.156.1604, )  PROPOSED AMENDMENT, 
24.156.1625, the proposed adoption of )  ADOPTION AND REPEAL 
NEW  RULES I-VII, and the proposed  ) 
repeal of ARM 24.156.1603, 24.156.1605, ) 
24.156.1606, 24.156.1607, 24.156.1608, ) 
24.156.1609, 24.156.1610, 24.156.1611, ) 
24.156.1612, 24.156.1613, 24.156.1614, ) 
and 24.156.1615, pertaining to physician ) 
assistant licensure ) 
 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
 1.  On March 23, 2006, at 1:00 p.m., a public hearing will be held in room 489 
of the Park Avenue Building, 301 South Park Avenue, Helena, Montana to consider 
the proposed amendment, adoption and repeal of the above-stated rules. 
 
 2.  The Department of Labor and Industry (Department) will make reasonable 
accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this public 
hearing or need an alternative accessible format of this notice.  If you require an 
accommodation, contact the Board of Medical Examiners (Board) no later than 5:00 
p.m., on March 17, 2006, to advise us of the nature of the accommodation that you 
need.  Please contact Evie Martin, Board of Medical Examiners, 301 South Park 
Avenue, P.O. Box 200513, Helena, Montana 59620-0513; telephone (406) 841-
2364; Montana Relay 1-800-253-4091; TDD (406) 444-2978; facsimile (406) 841-
2305; e-mail dlibsdmed@mt.gov. 
 
 3.  GENERAL STATEMENT OF REASONABLE NECESSITY:  The 2005 
Montana Legislature enacted Chapter 519, Laws of 2005 (House Bill 737), an act 
generally revising the licensure and regulation of physician assistants.  The bill was 
signed by the Governor on April 28, 2005, and became effective October 1, 2005. 

The Board determined it is reasonably necessary to amend and repeal certain 
existing rules and to adopt New Rules I-VII to timely implement the 2005 legislation.  
The amended and new rules will function as guidelines for the licensure, conduct 
and supervision of physician assistants.  It is necessary to repeal certain rules to 
avoid repetition and to update and further simplify the rules. 

The rule changes are reasonable and necessary in keeping with the 2005 
Montana Legislature’s intent to simplify and streamline the licensure application 
processes for all licensees within the Department and to update Montana's 
administrative rules regarding physician supervision of physician assistants to reflect 
national trends in the field.  Where additional specific bases for a proposed action 
exist, the Board will identify those reasons immediately following that rule.  Authority 
and implementation cites are amended throughout to accurately reflect all statutes 
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implemented through the rules, to provide the complete sources of the Board's 
rulemaking authority and to delete references to repealed statutes. 
 
 4.  The rules proposed to be amended provide as follows, stricken matter 
interlined, new matter underlined: 
 

24.156.1601  DEFINITIONS  As used in this subchapter the following 
definitions apply: 

(1)  "Applicant" means a person seeking to practice as a physician assistant-
certified. 

(2)  "Department" means the Montana department of labor and industry 
provided for in 2-15-1701, MCA. 

(3)  "License" means that authorization granted by the board of medical 
examiners to a physician assistant-certified to practice in the state of Montana. 

(4)  "Licensee" means a physician assistant licensed to practice in the state of 
Montana. 

(5)  "Remote site" means a site other than the supervising physician's 
customary place(s) of practice. 

(6)  "Supervising physician" means a person licensed under Title 37, chapter 
3, MCA, who is authorized by the board to supervise the practice of a physician 
assistant-certified. 

(1)  "Direct supervision" means the supervisor is within technologically 
unassisted audible and visible reach of the person being supervised. 

(3)  "Nonroutine application" means an initial physician assistant license 
application and/or supervision agreement where the supervising physician has never 
supervised a Montana licensed physician assistant and/or the physician assistant 
has never practiced in the state of Montana.  A nonroutine application shall require a 
teleconference interview with a current board member.

(4)  "Onsite supervision" means the supervisor must be in the facility and 
quickly available to the person being supervised. 

(5)  "Routine application" means a supervision agreement where the 
supervising physician and the physician assistant both have had approved Montana 
supervision agreements or utilization plans in the past.  These applications shall be 
processed and approved by board staff. 

(7) (2)  "Supervision"  "General supervision" means accepting responsibility 
for, and overseeing the medical services of, a physician assistant-certified assistant 
by telephone, radio, or in person as frequently as the board shall determine is 
necessary considering the location, nature of practice, and experience of the 
physician assistant-certified assistant. and the supervising physician.  Unless 
otherwise specified by the board, the constant physical presence of the supervising 
physician is not required.

(8)  "Utilization plan" means that document which describes the duties, 
responsibilities and scope of practice of the physician assistant-certified as 
delegated by the supervising physician and approved by the board.   
 

AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-20-201, 37-20-202, 37-20-203, MCA 
IMP:     37-1-101, 37-20-202, 37-20-203, MCA 



 
 
 

 
MAR Notice No. 24-156-63 4-2/23/06 

-485-

 
24.156.1604  TRAINING OF STUDENT PHYSICIAN ASSISTANTS
(1) remains the same. 
(2)  A physician assistant student must train under the supervision of a 

physician who is licensed or a physician assistant-certified assistant who is licensed 
in Montana. 

(3) remains the same. 
(a)  be currently enrolled in a physician assistant training program accredited 

by the Accreditation Review Commission on Education for the Physician Assistant or 
if accreditation was granted before 2001, accredited by the American medical 
association Medical Association's committee Committee on allied health education 
and accreditation Allied Health Education and Accreditation, or its successor the 
Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs; and 

(b) remains the same. 
 

AUTH:  37-20-202, MCA 
IMP:     37-20-202, 37-20-402, MCA 

 
24.156.1625  UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT  (1)  In addition to those forms 

of unprofessional conduct defined in 37-1-316, MCA, the following is unprofessional 
conduct for a licensee or license applicant under Title 37, chapter 20, MCA: 

(1) (a)  Conviction conviction, including conviction following a plea of nolo 
contendere, of an offense involving moral turpitude, whether misdemeanor or felony, 
and whether or not an appeal is pending; 

(2)  Fraud, misrepresentation, deception or concealment of a material fact in 
applying for or securing a license, license renewal, utilization plan or in taking an 
examination required for licensure; as used herein, "material" means any false or 
misleading statement or information; 

(3) (b)  Conduct conduct likely to deceive, defraud or harm the public, 
including but not limited to practicing while subject to a physical or mental condition 
which renders the licensee unable to safely engage in the practice of medicine; 

(4) (c)  Making making a false or misleading statement regarding the 
licensee's skill or the effectiveness or value of the medicine, treatment, or remedy 
prescribed by the licensee or at the licensee's direction in the treatment of a disease 
or other condition of the body or mind; 

(5) (d)  Resorting resorting to fraud, misrepresentation, or deception in the 
examination or treatment of a person, or in billing, giving or receiving a fee related to 
professional services, or reporting to a person, company, institution or organization, 
including fraud, misrepresentation, or deception with regard to a claim for benefits 
under Title 39, chapter 71 or 72, MCA; 

(6)  Use of a false, fraudulent or deceptive statement, whether written or 
verbal, in connection with the physician assistant-certified's practice of medicine; 

(7)  Having been subject to disciplinary action of another state or jurisdiction 
against a license or other authorization to practice medicine, based upon acts or 
conduct by the licensee similar to acts or conduct that would constitute grounds for 
disciplinary action under Title 37, chapter 20, MCA, or these rules; a certified copy of 



 
 
 

 
4-2/23/06 MAR Notice No. 24-156-63 

-486-

the record of the action taken by the other state or jurisdiction is evidence of 
unprofessional conduct; 

(8) (e)  Willful disobedience violation of any section in Title 37, chapter 20, 
MCA, and/or any rule adopted by the board to implement Title 37, chapters 1 or 20, 
MCA, any order of the board regarding enforcement of discipline of a licensee, or 
any term, condition or limitation imposed on the licensee in a utilization plan; 

(9) (f)  Habitual habitual intemperance or excessive use of an addictive drug, 
alcohol, or any other substance to the extent that the use impairs the user physically 
or mentally; this provision does not apply to a licensee who is maintaining an 
approved therapeutic regimen as described in 37-3-203, MCA; 

(10) (g)  Failing failing to furnish to the board or its investigators or 
representatives information legally requested by the board; 

(11) (h)  Failing to cooperate with a lawful investigation conducted by the 
board; 

(12) (i)  Failing failing to report to the board any adverse judgment, settlement 
or award arising from a medical liability claim or other unprofessional conduct; 

(13) (j)  Obtaining obtaining a fee or other compensation, either directly or 
indirectly, by the misrepresentation that a manifestly incurable disease, injury, or 
condition of a person can be cured; 

(14)  Abusive billing practices; 
(15) (k)  Commission commission of an act of sexual abuse, misconduct, or 

exploitation related to the licensee's practice of medicine; 
(16) (l)  Administering administering, dispensing, prescribing, or ordering a 

controlled substance, as defined by the federal food and drug administration Food 
and Drug Administration or successors, otherwise other than in the course of 
legitimate or reputable professional practice; 

(17) (m)  Conviction conviction or violation of a federal or state law regulating 
the possession, distribution, or use of a controlled substance, as defined by the 
federal food and drug administration Food and Drug Administration or successors, 
whether or not an appeal is pending; 

(18) (n)  Testifying testifying in a legal proceeding on a contingency basis; 
(19) (o)  Conspiring conspiring to misrepresent or willfully misrepresenting 

medical conditions improperly to increase or decrease a settlement, award, verdict, 
or judgment; 

(20) (p)  Except except  as provided in this subsection, practicing medicine as 
the partner, agent, or employee of, or in joint venture with, a person who does not 
hold a license to practice medicine within this state; however, this does not prohibit: 

(a) through (c)(ii) remain the same but are renumbered (i) through (iii)(B). 
(iii) (C)  neither the physician nor the physician assistant-certified assistant 

may be required to refer any patient to a particular provider or supplier or take any 
other action that the physician or physician assistant-certified assistant determines 
not to be in the patient's best interest; 

(21) (q)  Failing failing to transfer pertinent and necessary medical records to 
another licensed health care provider, the patient or the patient's representative 
when requested to do so by the patient or the patient's legally designated 
representative, in accordance with Title 50, chapter 16, MCA; 
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(22) (r)  Promoting promoting the sale of services, goods, appliances or drugs 
in such a manner as to exploit the patient for the financial gain of the licensee or a 
third party; 

(23) (s)  Willfully willfully harassing, abusing, or intimidating a patient, either 
physically or verbally; 

(24) (t)  Failing failing to maintain a record for each patient which accurately 
reflects the evaluation, diagnosis, and treatment of the patient; 

(25) (u)  Failing failing to exercise appropriate supervision over persons who 
provide health care under the supervision of the licensee; 

(26)  Failing to maintain certification by the national commission on 
certification of physician assistants (NCCPA); 

(27)  Any other act, whether specifically enumerated or not, that in fact 
constitutes unprofessional conduct.
 (v)  acting in such a manner as to present a danger to public health or safety, 
or to any patient including, but not limited to, incompetence, negligence, or 
malpractice; 

(w)  having voluntarily relinquished or surrendered a professional or 
occupational license, certificate, or registration in this state, or in another state or 
jurisdiction;

(x)  having withdrawn an application for licensure, certification, or registration 
while under investigation or prior to a determination of the completed application in 
this state, or in another state or jurisdiction; 

(y)  failing to furnish to the board or its designee information requested by the 
board;

(z)  filing a complaint with, or providing information to, the board which the 
licensee knows, or ought to know, is false or misleading.  This provision does not 
apply to any filing of a complaint or providing information to the board when done in 
good faith under 37-1-308, MCA; 

(aa)  commission of any act of sexual abuse, misconduct or exploitation by 
the licensee whether or not related to the practice; 

(ab)  falsifying and altering patient records, intentionally documenting patient 
records inaccurately, failing to appropriately and timely document patient records; 

(ac)  diversion of a medication for any purpose or a violation of state or 
federal laws governing the administration of medications;

(ad)  failing to comply with any agreement with the board, required by the 
board ,or with the endorsed professional assistance program contracted by the 
board, the licensee has entered into;  

(ae)  failing to submit to the board a completed supervision agreement prior to 
commencing physician assistant practice in the state of Montana; 

(af)  failing to maintain and/or provide copies on request, pursuant 37-1-301, 
MCA,  of the physician assistant's current duties and delegation agreement; and 

(ag)  any other act, whether specifically enumerated or not, that in fact 
constitutes unprofessional conduct. 
 

AUTH:  37-1-319, 37-20-202, MCA 
IMP:     37-1-319, 37-3-202, 37-20-201, 37-20-402, 37-20-403, MCA 
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5.  The proposed new rules provide as follows: 
 

NEW RULE I  APPLICATION FOR PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT LICENSE 
(1)  An applicant for a physician assistant license shall submit an application 

on a form prescribed by the department.  The application must be complete and 
accompanied by the appropriate fees and the following information and/or 
documentation: 

(a)  applicant’s current original unopened National Practitioner Data Bank 
(NPDB) self-query report; 

(b)  applicant’s professional education and work experience since completing 
physician assistant training; and 

(c)  two written character references. 
 (2)  Applicants licensed in another state or jurisdiction shall cause all states 
and jurisdictions in which the applicant holds or has ever held a license to submit a 
current verification of licensure directly to the board on behalf of the applicant. 
 (3)  Applicants whose applications are received, processed, and determined 
to be incomplete will be sent a letter from the board office specifying the 
deficiencies, which may include but not be limited to appropriate fees, verifications, 
character references, and any other supplemental information the board or its 
designee deems appropriate.  The incomplete application will be held for a period of 
one year at which time the application will be treated as an expired application and 
all fees will be forfeited.  The applicant may correct any deficiencies, submit missing 
or additional information, and complete any requirements necessary to complete the 
application within one year from the date the initial application is received in the 
board office. 

(4)  The applicant may voluntarily withdraw the application prior to the one-
year deadline set forth in (3) by submitting a request to withdrawal in writing to the 
board office.  All application fees submitted will be forfeited. 
 (5)  After withdrawal of an application, the applicant will be required to submit 
a new application, including supporting documentation and appropriate fees to begin 
the licensing and verification process again. 
 (6)  Completed applications shall be reviewed by the board or its designee, 
which may request such additional information or clarification of information provided 
in the application as deemed reasonably necessary. 
 

AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-20-202, MCA 
IMP:     37-20-202, 37-20-203, 37-20-302, 37-20-402, MCA 

 
NEW RULE II  PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT FEES  (1)  The following fees must 

be paid in connection with physician assistant licensure: 
 (a)  license application fee $325 
 (b)  90-day temporary license fee 100 
 (c)  active renewal fee (2006) 100 
 (d)  active biennial renewal (2007) 200 
 (e)  inactive renewal fee (2006) 50 
 (f)  inactive biennial renewal fee (2007) 100 
 (g)  supervision agreement fee 25 
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 (2)  Licensees desiring to activate an inactive physician assistant license must 
contact the board and pay an activation fee of $100 and affirm that they have a 
current NCCPA certification. 
 (3)  All fees provided for in this rule are nonrefundable and are not prorated 
for portions of the licensing period.  
 

AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-20-202, MCA 
IMP:     37-1-134, MCA 

 
REASON:  The Board has determined it is reasonably necessary to adopt New Rule 
II instituting the proposed fee changes in order to comply with the provisions of 37-1-
134, MCA, and ensure that the Board's fees associated with physician assistants 
remain commensurate with program costs.  The Board is not increasing fees at this 
time, but is reducing fees in several instances.  In addition, licensure fees for 
physician assistants are being adjusted as the Board moves toward biennial renewal 
periods.  The Board is also amending fees to coincide with current Board processes 
regarding supervision plans and temporary licenses.  Further, it is necessary to 
address terminology changes and both the inactive and active licensure of physician 
assistants pursuant to House Bill 737 of the 2005 Montana legislature.  The 
proposed fee changes will result in an initial increase in revenue of $13,120.00 
between fiscal years 2006 and 2007, due to the adjustment to biennial renewals.  By 
fiscal year 2008, revenue from physician assistant licensure is estimated to be 
$45,020.00, compared to $45,700.00 in fiscal year 2006.  The Board estimates the 
fee changes will result in an aggregate increase in revenue of $12,440.00 over the 
next two fiscal years. Approximately 230 persons will be affected by the proposed 
fee changes. 
 

NEW RULE III  PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT LICENSE RENEWAL
(1)  Physician assistant licenses are issued on a biennial renewal cycle 

beginning January 1, 2007.  For the renewal cycle in 2007, licensees whose licenses 
end in an odd number will renew for two years and pay the full renewal fee.  
Licensees whose licenses end in an even number will renew for one year and pay 
half of the renewal fee. 
 (2)  Except as provided in (3), to renew an active physician assistant license, 
the licensee shall: 
 (a)  submit a completed license renewal application through electronic means 
or on a form prescribed and supplied by the department; 
 (b)  affirm that the physician assistant possesses a current National 
Commission on the Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA) certification; 
 (c)  self report any pending complaints or imposed disciplinary action or 
sanctions taken by another jurisdiction; 
 (d)  provide current information regarding name and address changes; and 
 (e)  submit payment of the renewal fee set in [NEW RULE II]. 
 (3)  Inactive licensees shall comply with (2)(a), (c), (d), and (e) of this rule to 
renew an inactive license. 
 (4)  Incomplete renewal applications will be returned to the licensee and will 
not be considered received by the board. 
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 (5)  The board shall conduct a random audit of NCCPA certification following 
each renewal period. 
 

AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-20-202, MCA 
IMP:     37-1-141, 37-20-202, 37-20-203, 37-20-302, 37-20-402, MCA 

 
 NEW RULE IV  OBLIGATION TO REPORT TO BOARD  (1)  A physician 
assistant shall report to the board within three months from the date of a final 
judgment, order, or agency action, all information related to malpractice, misconduct, 
criminal, or disciplinary action in which the physician assistant or the physician 
assistant's supervisor, based on the physician assistant's conduct, is a named party. 
 (2)  A physician assistant shall, within ten days of receipt of a complaint from 
the board, provide the board with the name of the supervising physician who is 
responsible under the supervision agreement to which the complaint is related. 

(3)  A physician assistant with suspected or known impairment shall self-
report to the board.  In lieu of reporting to the board, the physician assistant may 
self-report to the board-endorsed professional assistance program. 

(4)  A physician assistant is obligated to report suspected or known 
impairment of other health care providers to the appropriate licensing board, agency, 
or in lieu of the board or agency, may report to the endorsed professional assistance 
program. 
 

AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-319, 37-20-202, MCA 
IMP:     37-1-131, 37-3-401, 37-3-405, MCA 

 
NEW RULE V  SUPERVISION OF PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT 
(1)  A supervising physician may provide the following types of supervision to 

a physician assistant: 
 (a)  direct supervision; 
 (b)  onsite supervision; or 
 (c)  general supervision. 
 (2)  The supervising physician shall meet face to face with each physician 
assistant supervised a minimum of once a month for the purposes of discussion, 
education, and training, to include but not be limited to practice issues, patient care, 
and chart reviews in accordance with [NEW RULE VI]. 
 (3)  A supervising physician may supervise more than one physician assistant 
if the supervising physician: 
 (a)  agrees to supervise more than one physician assistant by signing and 
filing multiple supervision agreements with the board; 
 (b)  provides appropriate and real time means of communication or back up 
supervision for the physician assistants; 
 (c)  determines the appropriate level supervision (direct, onsite, or general), 
based on the physician assistant’s education, training, and experience; and 
 (d)  assumes professional and legal responsibility for all physician assistants 
under the supervising physician’s supervision regardless of the varying types of 
supervision. 
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AUTH:  37-20-202, MCA 
IMP:     37-20-101, 37-20-301, 37-20-403, MCA 

 
NEW RULE VI  CHART REVIEW  (1)  The supervising physician shall review 

a minimum of 10% of the physician assistant charts on at least a monthly basis. 
 (2)  Chart review for a physician assistant having less than one year of full 
time practice experience from the date of initial licensure must be 100% for the first 
three months of practice, and then may be reduced to not less than 25% for the next 
three months, on a monthly basis, for each supervision agreement. 
 (3)  The supervising physician shall countersign and date all written entries 
that have been chart reviewed and shall document any amendments, modifications, 
or guidance provided. 
 (4)  Chart review for a physician assistant who has been issued a 
probationary license must be 100% on a monthly basis, unless the board terminates 
the probationary period. 
 

AUTH:  37-20-202, MCA 
IMP:     37-20-101, 37-20-301, MCA 

 
NEW RULE VII  PATIENT RIGHTS  (1)  For the purposes of implementing 

this chapter, if the patient is being medically cared for or treated by a physician 
assistant: 
 (a)  The patient may request to be treated or seen by the supervising 
physician in lieu of the physician assistant, if the supervising physician is available. 
 (b)  If the supervising physician is not available, the patient must be given an 
explanation for the unavailability of the supervising physician and the patient’s 
request and explanation must be documented in the patient’s chart at the time of the 
request.  The patient must also be given the opportunity to be treated by the 
supervising physician when the supervising physician is available. 
 (c)  The physician assistant shall report to the supervising physician the 
patient's request to be seen or treated by the supervising physician. 
 

AUTH:  37-20-202, MCA 
IMP:     37-20-101, 37-20-301, MCA 

 
6.  The rules proposed to be repealed are as follows: 

 
 24.156.1603  QUALIFICATIONS OF PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT-CERTIFIED 
found at ARM page 24-15352. 
 

AUTH:  37-20-201, MCA 
IMP:     37-20-101, 37-20-402, MCA 

 
 24.156.1605  FEES found at ARM page 24-15353. 
 

AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-20-201, MCA 
IMP:     37-1-134, 37-20-203, 37-20-302, MCA 
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24.156.1606  APPLICATION found at ARM page 24-15354. 

 
AUTH:  37-20-201, MCA 
IMP:     37-20-101, 37-20-203, 37-20-301, 37-20-402, MCA 

 
24.156.1607  TEMPORARY APPROVAL found at ARM page 24-15355. 

 
AUTH:  37-20-201, MCA 
IMP:     37-20-203, 37-20-301, MCA 

 
24.156.1608  SCOPE OF PRACTICE found at ARM page 24-15356. 

 
AUTH:  37-20-202, MCA 
IMP:     37-20-301, MCA 

 
24.156.1609  PRESCRIBING/DISPENSING AUTHORITY found at ARM page 

24-15356. 
 

AUTH:  37-20-201, MCA 
IMP:     37-20-404, MCA 

 
24.156.1610  UTILIZATION PLAN found at ARM page 23-15356. 

 
AUTH:  37-20-201, MCA 
IMP:     37-20-301, MCA 

 
24.156.1611  UTILIZATION PLAN - TERMINATION AND TRANSFER found 

at ARM page 24-15357. 
 

AUTH:  37-20-201, MCA 
IMP:     37-20-202, MCA 

 
24.156.1612  PROHIBITIONS found at ARM page 24-15357. 

 
AUTH:  37-20-201, MCA 
IMP:     37-20-202, MCA 

 
24.156.1613  PROTOCOL found at ARM page 24-15358. 

 
AUTH:  37-20-201, MCA 
IMP:     37-20-202, 37-20-403, MCA 

 
24.156.1614  SUPERVISION OF MORE THAN ONE PHYSICIAN 

ASSISTANT-CERTIFIED found at ARM page 24-15358. 
 

AUTH:  37-20-201, 37-20-202, MCA 
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IMP:     37-20-202, MCA 
 
24.156.1615  INFORMED CONSENT found at ARM page 24-15358. 

 
AUTH:  37-20-201, MCA 
IMP:     37-20-202, 37-20-203, MCA 

 
7.  Concerned persons may present their data, views or arguments either 

orally or in writing at the hearing.  Written data, views or arguments may also be 
submitted to the Board of Medical Examiners, 301 South Park Avenue, P.O. Box 
200513, Helena, Montana 59620-0513, by facsimile to (406) 841-2305, or by e-mail 
to dlibsdmed@mt.gov, and must be received no later than 5:00 p.m., March 31, 
2006. 
 
 8.  An electronic copy of this Notice of Public Hearing is available through the 
Department and Board’s site on the World Wide Web at www.medicalboard.mt.gov.  
The Department strives to make the electronic copy of this Notice conform to the 
official version of the Notice, as printed in the Montana Administrative Register, but 
advises all concerned persons that in the event of a discrepancy between the official 
printed text of the Notice and the electronic version of the Notice, only the official 
printed text will be considered.  In addition, although the Department strives to keep 
its website accessible at all times, concerned persons should be aware that the 
website may be unavailable during some periods, due to system maintenance or 
technical problems, and that technical difficulties in accessing or posting to the e-
mail address do not excuse late submission of comments. 
 

9.  The Board of Medical Examiners maintains a list of interested persons 
who wish to receive notices of rulemaking actions proposed by this Board.  Persons 
who wish to have their name added to the list shall make a written request which 
includes the name and mailing address of the person to receive notices and 
specifies that the person wishes to receive notices regarding all Board of Medical 
Examiners administrative rulemaking proceedings or other administrative 
proceedings.  Such written request may be mailed or delivered to the Board of 
Medical Examiners, 301 South Park Avenue, P.O. Box 200513, Helena, Montana 
59620-0513, faxed to the office at (406) 841-2305, e-mailed to dlibsdmed@mt.gov, 
or made by completing a request form at any rules hearing held by the agency. 
 
 10.  The bill sponsor notice requirements of 2-4-302, MCA, apply and have 
been fulfilled. 
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 11.  Anne O'Leary, attorney, has been designated to preside over and 
conduct this hearing. 
 
 

BOARD OF MEDICAL EXAMINERS 
MICHAEL D. LAPAN, DPM, PRESIDENT

 
/s/ DARCEE L. MOE /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Darcee L. Moe   Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Alternate Rule Reviewer DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 
 Certified to the Secretary of State February 13, 2006 
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BEFORE THE BOARD OF OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY PRACTICE 
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the proposed amendment )  NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING 
of ARM 24.165.401 fees, and the proposed )  ON PROPOSED AMENDMENT AND 
adoption of NEW RULE I fee abatement )  ADOPTION 
 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 

1.  On March 16, 2006, at 9:00 a.m., a public hearing will be held in room 439, 
Park Avenue Building, 301 South Park, Helena, Montana to consider the proposed 
amendment and adoption of the above-stated rules. 
 
 2.  The Department of Labor and Industry will make reasonable 
accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this public 
hearing or need an alternative accessible format of this notice.  If you require an 
accommodation, contact the Board of Occupational Therapy Practice no later than 
5:00 p.m. on March 10, 2006, to advise us of the nature of the accommodation that 
you need.  Please contact Helena Lee, Board of Occupational Therapy Practice, 301 
South Park, P.O. Box 200513, Helena, Montana 59620-0513; telephone (406) 841-
2385; Montana Relay 1-800-253-4091; TDD (406) 444-2978; facsimile (406) 841-
2305; e-mail dlibsdotp@mt.gov. 
 
 3.  The rule proposed to be amended provides as follows, stricken matter 
interlined, new matter underlined: 
 

24.165.401  FEES  (1)  Fees adopted by the board under 37-24-310, MCA, 
are as follows: 

(a)  Applications for licensure $ 80 
(i)  registered occupational therapist $110
(ii)  certified occupational therapist assistant 110 
(b)  Initial license issuance 80
(i)  registered occupational therapist 80 
(ii)  certified occupational therapist assistant 80 
(c)  License renewal 80
(i)  registered occupational therapist 110 
(ii)  certified occupational therapist assistant 110 
(d) remains the same. 
(e)  Temporary practice permit 60 120 
(f)  Inactive fee renewal 30 50 
(g) and (h) remain the same. 

 (i)  Modality applications
 (i)  superficial 20 
 (ii)  sound and electrical (deep) 35
 (iii)  iontophoresis 20 
 (2) remains the same. 
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 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-134, 37-24-201, 37-24-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-24-310, MCA 
 
REASON:  The Board of Occupational Therapy Practice has determined that there is 
reasonable necessity to amend ARM 24.165.401 in order to set the Board's fees at a 
level commensurate with program costs, as required by 37-1-134, MCA.  The Board 
estimates that approximately 314 persons will be affected by the increased renewal 
fee, 26 persons will be affected by the inactive fee and 26 new applicants will be 
affected by the proposed application and temporary license fee changes. 
 
In 2003, the Legislature specified qualification requirements for use of sound 
electrical physical agent modalities, the use of occupational therapy techniques 
involving topical medications, application and administration of topical medications 
and protocols.  The Board has implemented rules that outline the required 
documentation for authorization to use superficial and sound and electrical (deep) 
physical agent modalities.  Three professional members of the Board review each 
superficial modality application, sound and electrical modality application and 
iontophoriesis modality application.  The Board believes that the proposed fees for 
the three modality applications are commensurate with costs.  Twenty-six applicants 
for the superficial modality will be affected by the $20.00 proposed fee.  Five 
applicants for the sound and electrical (deep) modality will be affected by the $35.00 
proposed fee.  Five applicants for the iontophoresis modality will be affected by the 
$20.00 proposed fee. 
 
The Board estimates that approximately 366 persons will be affected annually by the 
proposed fee increases.  The total estimated annual increase in revenue is 
approximately $12,435.  With the proposed fee increase, the Board's projected 
annual revenue is $44,825.  The Board's appropriation for fiscal year 2006 is 
$49,213.  The Board has agreed to reduce their budget $10,000 by eliminating the 
CE Caravan in FY 2007.  FY 2007 budget will be $40,418.  The Board believes that 
the proposed fee structure, along with the abatement of renewal fees proposed in 
NEW RULE I below, will address the Board's maintaining fees set at a level 
commensurate with costs. 
 
The Board has also determined there is reasonable necessity to clarify that 
application, new license issuance, and annual renewal fees are charged to both 
occupational therapists (OTRs) and to certified occupational therapy assistants 
(COTAs).  Historically, both categories have been charged the same fees, and thus 
the fees provided for in the rule are not new.  However, in order to provide greater 
clarity and accountability, the Board believes that it is appropriate to separately 
identify the two license classifications in its fee rule. 
 
There is also reasonable necessity to amend the AUTH and IMP citations to the rule, 
while the rule is otherwise being amended, in order to correctly reflect the Board's 
rulemaking authority and the statutes being implemented by the rule. 
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 4.  The proposed New Rule provides as follows: 
 

NEW RULE I  ABATEMENT OF RENEWAL FEES  (1)  The Board of 
Occupational Therapy Practice adopts and incorporates by reference the fee 
abatement rule of the Department of Labor and Industry found at ARM 24.101.301. 
 

AUTH:  37-1-131, MCA 
IMP:     17-2-302, 17-2-303, 37-1-134, MCA 

 
REASON:  The Board has determined there is reasonable necessity to adopt and 
incorporate by reference ARM 24.101.301 to allow the Board to authorize the 
Department to perform renewal licensure fee abatements as appropriate and when 
needed, without further vote or action by the Board.  The Department recently 
adopted ARM 24.101.301 to implement a means for the prompt elimination of 
excess cash accumulations in the licensing programs operated by the Department. 
 
Adoption and incorporation of ARM 24.101.301 will allow the Department to promptly 
eliminate excess cash balances of the Board that result from unexpectedly high 
licensing levels or other non-typical events.  Abatement in such instances will allow 
the licensees who have paid fees into the Board's program to receive the temporary 
relief provided by abatement.  Adoption of this abatement rule does not relieve the 
Board from its duty to use proper rulemaking procedures to adjust the Board's fee 
structure in the event of recurrent instances of cash balances in excess of the 
statutorily allowed amount. 
 

5.  Concerned persons may present their data, views or arguments either 
orally or in writing at the hearing.  Written data, views or arguments may also be 
submitted to the Board of Occupational Therapy Practice, 301 South Park Avenue, 
P.O. Box 200513, Helena, Montana 59620-0513, by facsimile to (406) 841-2305, or 
by e-mail to dlibsdotp@mt.gov, and must be received no later than 5:00 p.m., March 
24, 2006. 
 
 6.  An electronic copy of this Notice of Public Hearing is available through the 
Department and Board’s site on the World Wide Web at http://www.otp.mt.gov.  The 
Department strives to make the electronic copy of this Notice of Public Hearing 
conform to the official version of the Notice, as printed in the Montana Administrative 
Register, but advises all concerned persons that in the event of a discrepancy 
between the official printed text of the Notice and the electronic version of the 
Notice, only the official printed text will be considered.  In addition, although the 
Department strives to keep its website accessible at all times, concerned persons 
should be aware that the website may be unavailable during some periods, due to 
system maintenance or technical problems, and that a person’s technical difficulties 
in accessing or posting to the e-mail address do not excuse late submission of 
comments. 
 

7.  The Board of Occupational Therapy Practice maintains a list of interested 
persons who wish to receive notices of rulemaking actions proposed by this Board.  
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Persons who wish to have their name added to the list shall make a written request 
which includes the name and mailing address of the person to receive notices and 
specifies that the person wishes to receive notices regarding all Board of 
Occupational Therapy Practice administrative rulemaking proceedings or other 
administrative proceedings.  Such written request may be mailed or delivered to the 
Board of Occupational Therapy Practice, 301 South Park Avenue, P.O. Box 200513, 
Helena, Montana 59620-0513, faxed to the office at (406) 841-2305, e-mailed to 
dlibsdotp@mt.gov, or may be made by completing a request form at any rules 
hearing held by the agency. 
 
 8.  The bill sponsor notice requirements of 2-4-302, MCA, do not apply. 
 
 9.  Lon Mitchell, attorney, has been designated to preside over and conduct 
this hearing. 
 
 

BOARD OF OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY 
PRACTICE 
ELSPETH RICHARDS, CHAIRPERSON

 
 
/s/ MARK CADWALLADER /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Mark Cadwallader Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Alternate Rule Reviewer DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 
 Certified to the Secretary of State February 13, 2006 
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BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES 
AND CONSERVATION OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 

 
In the matter of the proposed 
amendment of 36.11.304, equipment 
operation in the SMZ, ARM 36.11.305, 
retention of trees and clearcutting in the 
SMZ, ARM 36.11.310, site-specific 
alternative practices, ARM 36.11.312, 
definitions, and the adoption of New 
Rule I regarding penalties for violation of 
the streamside management zone law 

 ) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

 NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING 
ON PROPOSED AMENDMENT 
AND ADOPTION 
 

 
To: All Concerned Persons 
 
 1.  On March 27, 2006, the Department of Natural Resources and Conservation 
will hold a public hearing at 7:00 p.m. at the Department of Fish, Wildlife and Parks, 
Region 2 Headquarters, 3201 Spurgin Road, Missoula, Montana, to consider the 
proposed amendment and adoption of the above-stated rules.  
 
 2.  The Department of Natural Resources and Conservation will make 
reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this 
public hearing or need an alternative accessible format of this notice.  If you require an 
accommodation, contact the department no later than 5:00 p.m. on March 21, 2006, to 
advise us of the nature of the accommodation that you need.  Please contact Dan 
Rogers, Forest Stewardship Specialist, Department of Natural Resources and 
Conservation, 2705 Spurgin Road, Missoula, MT 59804-3199; telephone (406) 542-
4326; fax (406) 542-4203; or e-mail to DanRogers@mt.gov. 
 
 3.  The rules as proposed to be amended provide as follows, stricken matter 
interlined, new matter underlined: 
 
 36.11.304  EQUIPMENT OPERATION IN THE SMZ  (1)  Operation of 
wheeled or tracked equipment in the SMZ except on established roads is prohibited 
except as provided in this rule. 
 (2)  In order to permit timber harvest on wetlands under conditions that 
protect the integrity of the SMZ, an operator may, as an alternative practice without 
site-specific approval, operate wheeled or tracked equipment from the outside edge 
of an SMZ to within 50 feet of the ordinary high water mark wherever: 
 (a)  the SMZ extends beyond 50 feet from the ordinary high water mark to 
include adjacent wetlands; 
 (b)  there exist winter conditions with adequate snow or frozen ground; and 
 (c)  operation of the wheeled or tracked equipment: 
 (i)  does not cause rutting or displacement of the soil; 
 (ii)  protects and retains shrubs and submerchantable trees to the fullest 
extent possible; 
 (iii)  does not remove stumps; and 
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 (iv)  otherwise conserves the integrity of the SMZ. 
 (3)  In order to minimize road construction and skid trails necessary for timber 
harvest on lands adjacent to the SMZ, an operator may, as an alternative practice 
without site-specific approval, cross the SMZ and the stream or other body of water 
with wheeled or tracked equipment on a class 3 stream segment or other body of 
water at locations spaced approximately 200 feet apart or more provided that: 
 (a)  crossings are located in areas where the stream or other body of water is 
dry and the banks and bottoms are stable; 
 (b)  excavation is minimized; 
 (c)  the capacity of the stream channel or other body of water is maintained; 
and 
 (d)  the distance traveled through the SMZ is minimized. 
 (4)  In order to minimize road construction necessary for timber harvest on 
lands adjacent to the SMZ, an operator may, as an alternative practice without 
site-specific approval, operate wheeled or tracked equipment inside the SMZ off of 
established roads on the side of the road away from the stream wherever: 
 (a)  an established road exists inside the SMZ or construction of a road inside 
the SMZ is authorized under ARM 36.11.306; 
 (b)  the toe of the road fill nearest the stream is at least 25 feet from the 
ordinary high water mark; and 
 (c)  operations are conducted in such a manner that: 
 (i)  wheeled or tracked equipment stays out of wetlands except under winter 
conditions as provided in (2) above; 
 (ii)  all skidding of logs takes place on designated skid trails located 
approximately 200 feet apart or more; 
 (iii)  all skid trails in such areas are reclaimed by installing erosion control 
measures and reestablishing vegetative cover; 
 (iv)  drainage features are established or reestablished on all roads used 
under this section; and 
 (v)  logs are not decked on the side of the road toward the stream; and . 
 (vi)  no landing are constructed in the SMZ. 
 (5)  An operator may, as an alternative practice, without site-specific approval, 
operate equipment on an existing road located in the SMZ, to allow the extraction of 
logs or trees from within the SMZ. Under these conditions an operator may: 
 (a)  store individual logs or small groups of logs on the side of a road toward 
the stream provided: 
 (i)  no portion of any stored log encroaches on an area within 15 feet of the 
ordinary high-water mark; 
 (ii)  all such areas are reclaimed by installing erosion control measures and  
the reestablishment of vegetative cover; and 
 (iii)  there are no adverse impacts to the functions of the SMZ or to water 
quality. 
 (5) (6)  When logs are being winched or cable yarded across a class 1 or 2 
stream segment by equipment located outside the SMZ, the logs must be fully 
suspended over the stream or stream bank unless approved by the department 
pursuant to a site-specific alternative practice and unless otherwise authorized 
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pursuant to the Natural Streambed and Land Preservation Act of 1975, 75-7-101 et 
seq., MCA. 
 (7) Landings shall not be constructed in the SMZ unless the department has 
approved a site-specific alternative practice pursuant to ARM 36.11.310. 
 (6) (8) The department may also approve operation of wheeled or tracked 
equipment in the SMZ as a site-specific alternative practice only under conditions 
that: 
 (a) conserve the integrity of the SMZ; 
 (b) do not cause rutting of the soil; and 
 (c) protect the residual stand of shrubs and trees. 
 
 AUTH:  77-5-303, 77-5-307, MCA 
 IMP:  77-5-303, MCA 
 
REASONABLE NECESSITY:  The Department of Natural Resources and 
Conservation proposes to amend this rule to clarify when equipment may be 
operated within the streamside management zone.  
 
 36.11.305  RETENTION OF TREES IN THE SMZ – CLEARCUTTING  
 (1)  The forest practice of clearcutting is prohibited in the SMZ unless 
approved by the department under a site-specific alternative practice. 
 (2)  Further, in In order to provide large woody debris, stream shading, water 
filtering effects, and to protect stream channels and banks, merchantable and 
submerchantable trees must be retained in the first 50 feet of the SMZ beyond the 
ordinary high water mark and in the entire SMZ where the SMZ is extended for 
wetlands under ARM 36.11.302(2)(a), on each side of streams, and along lakes and 
other bodies of water as follows: 
 (a)  On each side of class 1 stream segments and lakes retain 50% of the 
trees greater than or equal to 8 inches dbh, or ten trees greater than or equal to 8 
inches dbh in each 100 lineal feet of the SMZ, whichever is greater. 
 (i)  If less than ten trees greater than or equal to 8 inches dbh are present in 
any 100 lineal-foot segment of the SMZ, then a minimum of ten trees of the largest 
diameter available must be retained in that segment. ;  
 (ii)  Trees retained must be representative of the species and size of trees in 
the pre-harvest stand. ; and 
 (iii)  Shrubs and submerchantable trees must be protected and retained in the 
entire SMZ to the fullest extent possible when conducting forest practices in the 
SMZ. 
 (b)  On each side of class 2 stream segments retain 50% of the trees greater 
than or equal to 8 inches dbh, or five trees greater than or equal to 8 inches dbh in 
each 100 lineal feet of the SMZ, whichever is greater. 
 (i)  If less than five trees greater than or equal to 8 inches dbh are present in 
any 100 lineal-foot segment of the SMZ, then a minimum of five trees of the largest 
diameter available must be retained in that segment. ; 
 (ii)  Trees retained must be representative of the species and size of trees in 
the pre-harvest stand. ; and 
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 (iii)  Shrubs and submerchantable trees must be protected and retained in the 
entire SMZ to the fullest extent possible when conducting forest practices in the 
SMZ. 
 (c)  On each side of class 3 stream segments and other bodies of water, 
shrubs and submerchantable trees must be protected and retained in the entire SMZ 
to the fullest extent possible when conducting forest practices in the SMZ. 
 (3)  Hardwood trees and snags meeting diameter standards of (2) above may 
be counted toward retention tree requirements in the same approximate proportion 
as their occurrence in the stand prior to commencement of forest practices. 
 (4)  Trees retained pursuant to this rule must be distributed within the SMZ as 
guided by the following criteria: 
 (a)  favor bank-edge trees; 
 (b)  favor trees leaning toward the stream and those that cannot be felled 
without falling into the stream; 
 (c)  where the SMZ is greater than 50 feet wide and harvesting will result in 
the minimum stocking of trees required to be retained under (2)(a) and (b), 
concentrate retained trees within 50 feet of the stream. ; 
 (d)  all trees that have fallen through natural processes, across or in a class 1 
or 2 stream, must be retained, unless removal of such trees is conducted pursuant 
to ARM 36.11.304(5), is approved as a site-specific alternative practice, and is 
conducted consistently with other applicable federal and state laws and regulations. 
 (5)  Trees retained pursuant to this rule may be salvaged only under the 
following conditions: 
 (a)  Trees to be harvested meet the definition of salvage found at ARM 
26.6.601(2)(p) 36.11.312; and 
 (b)  The minimum tree retention requirements of section (2) are met by 
standing live trees, or by dead or fallen trees where sufficient standing live trees are 
not available; and . 
 (c)  All trees that have fallen across or in the stream must be retained, unless 
salvage of such trees is approved as a site-specific alternative practice subject to 
other federal and state laws and regulations. 
 (6)  All practices which deviate from the tree-distribution criteria provided in 
(2) and (4) above require approval as site-specific alternative practices. 
 
 AUTH:  77-5-303, 77-5-307, MCA 
 IMP:  77-5-303, MCA 
 
REASONABLE NECESSITY:  The Department of Natural Resources and 
Conservation proposes to amend this rule to clarify the tree retention standard within 
the streamside management zone.  
 
 36.11.310  SITE-SPECIFIC ALTERNATIVE PRACTICES  (1)  The owner or 
operator shall comply with the management standards stated in 77-5-303(1), MCA, 
and this subchapter, unless approval has been obtained from the department for 
alternative practices designed for site-specific conditions encountered during a 
timber sale prior to conducting such practices. 
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 (2)  The department may approve a proposed alternative practice only if such 
practice would be otherwise lawful and the department determines with reasonable 
certainty that the proposed alternative practice would conserve the integrity of the 
streamside management zone and would not significantly diminish the function of 
the zone as stated in 77-5-301, MCA: 
 (a)  to act as an effective sediment filter to maintain water quality; 
 (b)  to provide shade to regulate stream temperature; 
 (c)  to support diverse and productive aquatic and terrestrial riparian habitats; 
 (d)  to protect stream channel and banks; 
 (e)  to provide large, woody debris that is eventually recruited into a stream to 
maintain riffles, pools, and other elements of channel structure; and 
 (f)  to promote floodplain stability. 
 (3)  In order to obtain department approval of alternative practices, the owner 
or operator shall submit to the department an application describing the proposed 
practices and location. Applications must provide all data specified by the 
department and must be submitted on forms provided or approved by the 
department. 
 (4)  Within ten working days of receipt of the application for approval of 
alternative practices the department shall determine if the application is approved, 
approved with modification, disapproved, incomplete, requires additional information 
or environmental analysis, or requires a field review. The department shall notify the 
owner and the applicant of its decision in writing. 
 (5)  If the department determines a field review is necessary, the field review 
must be made at a mutually agreeable time. The owner or his designee must be 
present at the field review. 
 (6)  Within ten working days after all necessary field review is complete, the 
department shall determine whether the application is approved, approved with 
modification, disapproved, incomplete, or requires additional information or 
environmental analysis. The department shall notify the owner and the applicant of 
its decision in writing. 
 (7)  The department may notify the applicant in writing that it declines to 
conduct further environmental analysis of an application if it determines that the 
proposed alternative practices are complex, or affect an environmentally sensitive 
area, or involve a high degree of uncertainty that the proposed alternative practices 
will have a significant impact on the quality of the human environment. The notice 
must briefly describe the department's reasons for declining to conduct further 
analysis. In this case, the applicant may conduct further environmental analysis and 
submit documentation to the department. The department shall independently 
review any further environmental analysis and documentation of the proposed 
alternative practices provided by the applicant and may adopt such documentation if 
it is adequate under the Montana Environmental Policy Act (75-1-101 et seq., MCA) 
and rules adopted thereunder (ARM 26.2.628 – 26.2.663 36.2.521 through 
36.2.611). If so adopted, the department may utilize such environmental 
documentation in further consideration of the application for alternative practices. 
 (8)  In the event the department determines that an application for alternative 
practices may be of significant interest to the public, the time provided in this rule for 
considering such application may be extended in order to allow time for the public to 
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be notified and participate in the department's decision pursuant to 2-3-101 et seq., 
MCA, and ARM 26.2.701 –26.2.707 36.2.701 and 36.2.702 . 
 (9)  Persons applying for approval of alternative practices shall agree in 
writing that approved alternative practices, including any additional conditions 
imposed by the department, shall have the same force and authority as the 
standards contained in 77-5-303, MCA, and shall be enforceable by the department 
under 77-5-305, MCA, to the same extent as such standards. Persons responsible 
for conducting alternative practices shall comply with all conditions of such practices. 
In determining whether to approve applications for alternative practices, the 
department may consider past violations of such standards or of the requirements of 
previously approved alternative practices by the applicant. 
 (10)  Authorization to conduct alternative practices is valid for 2 two years 
from the date of approval or for such period as may be specified by the department. 
 
 AUTH:  77-5-303, 77-5-307, MCA 
 IMP:  77-5-303, MCA 
 
REASONABLE NECESSITY:  The proposed amendment is to correct incorrect 
administrative rule cross-references and to further clarify when site-specific 
alternative practices may be approved. 
 
 36.11.312  DEFINITIONS  Wherever used in this subchapter, unless a 
different meaning clearly appears from the context: 
 (1)  "Alternative practices" means forest practices conducted in the SMZ that 
are different from the practices required by the standards provided in 77-5-303, 
MCA, and are approved by the department either by adoption of this subchapter or 
on a site-specific basis upon application of the operator. 
 (2)  "Broadcast burning" means spreading fire through a continuous fuel 
cover. The fuels consist of slash resulting from forest practices, surface litter, and 
duff. Fuels are left in place, fairly uniform, and ignited under certain conditions with 
the intent to meet planned management objectives in the desired area. 
 (3)  "Class 1 stream segment" means a portion of stream that supports fish; 
or a portion of stream that normally has surface flow during 6 six months of the year 
or more; and that contributes surface flow to another stream, lake, or other body of 
water. 
 (4)  "Class 2 stream segment" means a portion of stream that is not a class 1 
or class 3 stream segment. Two common examples of class 2 stream segments are: 
 (a)  A portion of stream which does not support fish; normally has surface flow 
during less than 6 six months of the year; and contributes surface flow to another 
stream, lake, or other body of water; or 
 (b)  A portion of stream that does not support fish; normally has surface flow 
during 6 six months of the year or more; and does not contribute surface flow to 
another stream, lake, or other body of water. 
 (5)  "Class 3 stream segment" means a portion of a stream that does not 
support fish; normally has surface flow during less than 6 six months of the year; and 
rarely contributes surface flow to another stream, lake, or other body of water. 
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 (6)  "Clearcutting" means removal of all or virtually all the trees, large and 
small, in a stand in one cutting operation. Virtually all woody vegetation is removed 
from the site preparatory to establishment of new trees. 
 (7)  "Construction" means cutting and filling of earthen material that results in 
a travel-way for wheeled vehicles. 
 (8)  “Department” means the Department of Natural Resources and 
Conservation provided for in 2-15-3301, MCA. 
 (8) (9)  "Diameter at breast height" (abbreviated "dbh") means the diameter of 
a tree measured 4 1/2 feet from the ground level. Ground level is the highest point of 
the ground touching the stem. 
 (9) (10)  "Eastern zone" means the counties of Big Horn, Blaine, Carter, 
Chouteau, Custer, Daniels, Dawson, Fallon, Fergus, Garfield, Golden Valley, Hill, 
Liberty, McCone, Musselshell, Petroleum, Phillips, Powder River, Prairie, Richland, 
Roosevelt, Rosebud, Sheridan, Toole, Treasure, Valley, Wibaux, and Yellowstone. 
 (10) (11)  "Established road" means an existing access or haul route for 
highway vehicles that is passable under one or more of the following circumstances: 
 (a)  without any work; 
 (b)  with clearing of windfall or small woody vegetation; 
 (c)  with surface blading; 
 (d)  with replacement of stream crossing structures and drainage structures 
that were removed to restrict access; or 
 (e)  with removal of constructed access barriers. 
 (11) (12)  "Hazardous or toxic material" means substances which by their 
nature are dangerous to handle or dispose of, or are a potential environmental 
contaminant, and includes petroleum products, pesticides, herbicides, chemicals, 
and biological wastes. 
 (12) (13)  "Lake" means a body of water where the surface water is retained 
by either natural or artificial means, where the natural flow of water is substantially 
impeded, and which supports fish. 
 (14)  “Landing” means a cleared area in the forest to which trees or logs are 
yarded or skidded for processing or loading onto trucks for transport.  
 (15)  “Major”, as used in the damage table in [NEW RULE I], means that the 
action disturbs the integrity of the SMZ and significantly diminishes two or more of 
the SMZ functions listed in 77-5-301(1)(a) through (f), MCA.   
 (16)  “Minor”, as used in the damage table in [NEW RULE I], means that the 
action disturbs the integrity of the SMZ but does not significantly diminish more than 
one of the SMZ functions listed in 77-5-301(1)(a) through (f), MCA.  
 (17)  “Operator” means a person responsible for conducting forest practices.  
An operator may be the owner or a person who, through contractual agreement with 
the owner, is obligated to or entitled to conduct forest practices or carry out a timber 
sale. 
 (13) (18)  "Ordinary high water mark" means the stage regularly reached by a 
body of water at the peak of fluctuation in its water level. The ordinary high water 
mark is generally observable as a clear, natural line impressed on the bank. It may 
be indicated by such characteristics as terracing, changes in soil characteristics, 
destruction of vegetation, presence or absence of litter or debris, or other similar 
characteristics. 
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 (14) (19)  "Other body of water" means ponds and reservoirs greater than 
1/10th acre that do not support fish; and irrigation and drainage systems discharging 
directly into a stream, lake, pond, reservoir, or other surface water. Water bodies 
used solely for treating, transporting, or impounding pollutants shall not be 
considered surface water. 
 (20)  “Owner” means an individual, firm, partnership, corporation, or 
association of any nature that holds an ownership interest in forest land or timber. 
 (21)  “Prolonged”, as used in the damage table in [NEW RULE I], means that 
the impacts to the functions of the SMZ or water quality will last longer than one 
growing season (generally more than one to two years). 
 (15) (22)  "Road" means a travel-way suitable for highway vehicles. 
 (16) (23)  "Salvage" means harvesting trees that have been killed or damaged 
or are in imminent danger of being killed or damaged by injurious agents other than 
competition between trees. 
 (17) (24)  "Sidecasting" means the act of moving excess earthen material 
over the side of a road during road maintenance operations. 
 (18) (25)  "Slash" means the woody debris that is dropped to the forest floor 
during forest practices. Timber slash consists of stems, branches, and twigs left 
behind after forest practices. 
 (19) (26)  "Slope distance" means the length of a line between two points on 
the land surface. 
 (20) (27)  "Stream", as defined at 77-5-302(7), MCA, means "a natural 
watercourse of perceptible extent that has a generally sandy or rocky bottom or 
definite banks and that confines and conducts continuously or intermittently flowing 
water." 
 (21) (28)  "Streamside management zone" or "zone" (abbreviated "SMZ"), as 
defined at 77-5-302(S)(8), MCA, means "the stream, lake, or other body of water 
and an adjacent area of varying width where management practices that might affect 
wildlife habitat or water quality, fish, or other aquatic resources need to be modified. 
The streamside management zone encompasses a strip at least 50 feet wide on 
each side of a stream, lake, or other body of water, measured from the ordinary 
high-water mark, and extends beyond the high-water mark to include wetlands and 
areas that provide additional protection in zones with steep slopes or erosive soils." 
 (29)  “Temporary”, as used in the damage table in [NEW RULE I], means that 
the impacts to the functions of the SMZ or water quality will be negligible following 
one full growing season (generally less than one to two years).  
 (22) (30)  "Timber sale", as defined at 77-5-302(9), MCA, means "a series of 
forest practices designed to access, harvest, or regenerate trees on a defined land 
area for commercial purposes." 
 (23) (31)  "Wetlands" means those areas that are inundated or saturated by 
surface or groundwater at a frequency and duration sufficient to support a 
prevalence of vegetation typically adapted for life in saturated soil conditions. 
Wetlands include marshes, swamps, bogs, and similar areas. 
 
 AUTH:  77-5-303, 77-5-307, MCA 
 IMP:  77-5-302, 77-5-303, 77-5-305, MCA 
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REASONABLE NECESSITY:  The proposed amendment is meant to add definitions 
to assist in the administration of the Streamside Management Zone and to add 
definitions related to the Penalty Formula established in New Rule I. 
 
 4.  The rule proposed to be adopted provides as follows: 
 
 NEW RULE I  PENALTIES  (1)  Each violation of Title 77, chapter 5, part 3, 
MCA, rules adopted thereunder, or of an order issued pursuant to 77-5-305, MCA, is 
subject to a separate civil penalty not to exceed $1,000, with each day of the 
violation constituting a separate violation. 
 (2)  If the department determines that a violation does not warrant a civil 
penalty, as calculated in (5), it may seek voluntary compliance and site rehabilitation 
through warning, conference, or other appropriate means. 
 (3)  For purposes of assessing penalties, the department shall divide SMZs 
into 100 lineal-foot segments.  Each violation of a forest-practices standard set forth 
in 77-5-303(1), MCA, that occurs in a separate 100 lineal-foot SMZ segment shall 
constitute a separate violation and shall be subject to a separate civil penalty.   
 (4)  The penalty matrix set forth in this rule establishes the initial penalty value 
for each violation. The significance of the violation, whether significant harm resulted 
to health, environment, water quality and quantity, aquatic and terrestrial riparian 
habitats, stream channels and banks, may decrease or increase a penalty within the 
limits listed below. The department shall have the option to select the most 
appropriate penalty and penalty value for each and every violation of the SMZ law, 
77-5-301 through 77-5-307, MCA. 
 (5)  SMZ violations that warrant a civil penalty and site rehabilitation shall be 
documented on a repair-order form prescribed by the department.  For each 
separate violation, the department shall specify in the repair order the nature of the 
violation and the damage or unsatisfactory condition resulting from the violation, 
shall specify the appropriate repair action, and shall, in order to implement the 
management standards provided in 77-5-303, MCA, and to provide specific direction 
necessary for owners and operators to understand and comply with the 
management standards, specify the amount of civil penalty per violation, according 
to the following formula: 
 
 Penalty Formula =  [($100 x Repair) + ($100 x Damage)] x # days of violation, 
 
where the repair and damage variables are determined as follows: 
 (a)  Repair – Determined by whether the repair actions are completed by the 
deadline specified in the department’s repair order, with one of the following values 
inserted into the Penalty Formula as the repair variable: 
 
 0 - Responsible party exceeds required repair actions. 
 2 - Responsible party meets required repair actions. 
 4 - Responsible party fails to complete repair actions. 
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 (b)  Damage – Determined by the extent of watershed damage, duration of 
impact, and stream class involved, as shown in the following damage table, with one 
of the following values inserted into the Penalty Formula: 
 

Degree and Duration of Watershed 
Damage 

Class 3 
Stream 

Class 2 
Stream 

Class 1 
Stream 

Minor and Temporary 1 2 3 

Minor and Prolonged 2 3 4 

Major and Temporary 2 3 4 

Major and Prolonged 4 5 6 

 
 AUTH:  77-5-303, 77-5-307, MCA 
 IMP:  77-5-303, 77-5-305, MCA 
 
REASONABLE NECESSITY:  The proposed adoption of New Rule I is necessary to 
provide a consistent and fair manner for the Department of Natural Resources and 
Conservation to impose civil penalties with respect to violations of the Streamside 
Management Zone Law, in order for the Department of Natural Resources and 
Conservation to further comply with its obligation to implement the management 
standards set forth in 77-5-303, MCA and to provide specific direction necessary for 
owners and operators to understand and comply with the management standards 
set forth at 77-5-303, MCA. 
 
 5.  Concerned persons may submit their data, views or arguments, either orally 
or in writing, at the hearing.  Written data, views or arguments may also be submitted 
to Dan Rogers, Forest Stewardship Specialist, Department of Natural Resources and 
Conservation, 2705 Spurgin Road, Missoula, MT 59804-3199; telephone (406) 542-
4326; fax (406) 542-4203; or e-mailed to DanRogers@mt.gov, and must be received 
no later than 5:00 p.m. on March 23, 2006. 
 
 6.  Rob Ethridge, Forestry Assistance Bureau Chief, Department of Natural 
Resources and Conservation, 2705 Spurgin Road, Missoula, MT 59804 has been 
designated to preside over and conduct the hearing. 
 
 7.  An electronic copy of this Notice of Public Hearing on Proposed Amendment 
and Adoption is available through the Department’s site on the World Wide Web at 
http://www.dnrc.mt.gov.  The Department strives to make the electronic copy of this 
Notice of Public Hearing on Proposed Amendment and Adoption conform to the official 
version of the Notice, as printed in the Montana Administrative Register, but advises all 
concerned persons that in the event of a discrepancy between the official printed text 
of the Notice and the electronic version of the Notice, only the official printed text will be 
considered. 
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 8.  The agency maintains a list of interested persons who wish to receive 
notices of rulemaking actions proposed by this agency.  Persons who wish to have 
their name added to the list shall make a written request which includes the name and 
mailing address of the person to receive notices and specifies that the person wishes 
to receive notices regarding conservation districts and resource development, forestry, 
oil and gas conservation, trust land management, water resources or a combination 
thereof.  Such written request may be mailed or delivered to Legal Unit, Department of 
Natural Resources and Conservation, P.O. Box 201601, 1625 11th Avenue, Helena, 
MT 59620-1601, faxed to the office at (406) 444-2684, or may be made by completing 
a request form at any rules hearing held by the agency.  
 
 9.  The bill sponsor notice requirements of 2-4-302, MCA, apply and have been 
fulfilled. 
 
DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND CONSERVATION 
 
 
/s/  Mary Sexton  
MARY SEXTON 
Director, Natural Resources and Conservation 
 
 
/s/  Tommy H. Butler 
Tommy H. Butler 
Rule Reviewer 
 
 
Certified to the Secretary of State February 13, 2006. 
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 BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC 
 HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES OF THE 
 STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of ARM
37.36.604 and 37.36.610 pertaining to 
the Montana Telecommunications 
Access Program (MTAP) 

  ) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

 NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING 
ON PROPOSED AMENDMENT

     
TO:  All Interested Persons 

 
1.  On March 15, 2006, at 10:00 a.m., a public hearing will be held in the 

auditorium of the Department of Public Health and Human Services Building, 111 N. 
Sanders, Helena, Montana to consider the proposed amendment of the above-
stated rules. 
 

The Department of Public Health and Human Services will make reasonable 
accommodations for persons with disabilities who need an alternative accessible 
format of this notice or provide reasonable accommodations at the public hearing 
site.  If you need to request an accommodation, contact the department no later than 
5:00 p.m. on March 3, 2006, to advise us of the nature of the accommodation that 
you need.  Please contact Dawn Sliva, Office of Legal Affairs, Department of Public 
Health and Human Services, P.O. Box 4210, Helena, MT 59604-4210; telephone 
(406)444-5622; FAX (406)444-1970; Email dphhslegal@mt.gov. 
 

2.  The rules as proposed to be amended provide as follows.  Matter to be 
added is underlined.  Matter to be deleted is interlined. 

 
 37.36.604  FINANCIAL ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA  (1)  Individuals whose 
annual family income during the 12 months immediately preceding the month of 
application is less than 250% of the 2004 2006 poverty guidelines published by the 
U.S. dDepartment of hHealth and hHuman sServices (HHS) are eligible for a loan of 
specialized telecommunications equipment based on income.  250% of the HHS 
2004 2006 annual poverty guidelines for families of various sizes are shown in (2). 
 (2)  250% of the annual poverty guidelines is as follows:  
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FAMILY SIZE 

250% OF ANNUAL POVERTY 
GUIDELINE 

One $23,275 $24,500
Two  31,225   33,000

Three  39,175   41,500
Four  47,125   50,000
Five  55,075   58,500
Six  63,025   67,000

Seven  70,975   75,000
Eight  78,925   84,000

Each Additional Person, Add    7,950    8,500
 (3)  There is no asset test to be eligible for a loan of specialized 
telecommunications equipment. 
 

AUTH:  53-19-307, MCA 
IMP:     53-19-305, 53-19-307, MCA 
 

 37.36.610  DETERMINATION OF APPROPRIATE TELECOMMUNICATION 
DEVICE  (1)  The program shall consult with the applicant to determine the 
appropriate telecommunication device or devices.  However, the program shall make 
the final determination, taking into consideration the needs and wishes of the 
applicant and available funding. 
 

AUTH:  53-19-307, MCA 
  IMP:   53-19-305, 53-19-307, MCA 
 

3.  The Montana Telecommunications Access Program (MTAP) provides 
specialized telecommunications equipment to low-income persons who need such 
equipment to communicate effectively on the telephone.  MTAP is administered by 
the Committee on Telecommunications Access Services for Persons with Disabilities 
(the Committee).  Persons whose gross family income is less than 250% of the 
poverty guidelines established by the U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services (HHS) are eligible for MTAP services.  
 
ARM 37.36.604 currently provides that persons whose gross family income is less 
than 250% of HHS’ 2004 poverty guidelines are eligible for MTAP services.  HHS 
updates the poverty guidelines each year to take into account increases in the cost 
of living.  It is therefore necessary to amend ARM 37.36.604 to provide that the 2006 
poverty guidelines, which are higher than the 2004 guidelines, will be used to 
determine eligibility for MTAP.  If the Committee did not use the most current poverty 
guidelines, some persons might be ineligible for MTAP due to inflationary increases 
in their household income that do not reflect an increase in actual buying power. 
 
ARM 37.36.604 contains a table showing the level of income equal to 250% of the 
federal poverty guidelines for households of various sizes.  The table is currently 
based on the 2004 poverty guidelines.  It is therefore necessary to amend the rule to 
insert the new income amounts based on the 2006 poverty guidelines. 
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ARM 37.36.610 provides that MTAP will consult with the applicant for MTAP 
services to determine the appropriate telecommunications device for the applicant.  
The current language of the rule implies that a person eligible for services can 
receive only one telecommunications device.  It was never the intention of the 
committee to limit an eligible person to one device if the person needs or can benefit 
from more than one device, nor does 53-19-307, MCA, governing the provision of 
MTAP services, impose any limit on the number of devices an eligible person may 
receive.  The amendment of ARM 37.36.610 is therefore necessary to specify that 
MTAP will consult with the applicant to determine the appropriate 
telecommunications device or devices, in order to make the rule consistent with the 
statutory provision allowing an eligible person to have more than one device if that is 
appropriate. 
 

4.  Interested persons may submit their data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing at the hearing.  Written data, views or arguments may also be submitted 
to Dawn Sliva, Office of Legal Affairs, Department of Public Health and Human 
Services, P.O. Box 4210, Helena, MT 59604-4210, no later than 5:00 p.m. on March 
23, 2006.  Data, views or arguments may also be submitted by facsimile (406)444-
1970 or by electronic mail via the Internet to dphhslegal@mt.gov.  The Department 
also maintains lists of persons interested in receiving notice of administrative rule 
changes.  These lists are compiled according to subjects or programs of interest.  
For placement on the mailing list, please write the person at the address above. 
 

5.  The Office of Legal Affairs, Department of Public Health and Human 
Services has been designated to preside over and conduct the hearing. 
 
 
 
   /s/ Dawn Sliva              /s/ John Chappuis for    
Rule Reviewer     Director, Public Health and 

Human Services 
 
 
 
  /s/  Linda Kirkland                      _ 
Chairman of the Montana 
Telecommunications Access Committee 
 
 
 
Certified to the Secretary of State February 13, 2006. 
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BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC 
HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES OF THE 

STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the adoption of Rule I 
and amendment of ARM 37.89.103, 
and 37.89.106 pertaining to Mental 
Health Access Plan Prescription Drug 
Benefits for Persons Eligible for 
Medicare 

 ) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

 NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING 
ON PROPOSED ADOPTION 
AND AMENDMENT 

     
TO: All Interested Persons 

 
1.  On March 15, 2006, at 1:30 p.m., a public hearing will be held in the 

auditorium of the Department of Public Health and Human Services Building, 111 N. 
Sanders, Helena, Montana to consider the proposed adoption and amendment of 
the above-stated rules. 
 

The Department of Public Health and Human Services will make reasonable 
accommodations for persons with disabilities who need an alternative accessible 
format of this notice or provide reasonable accommodations at the public hearing 
site.  If you need to request an accommodation, contact the department no later than 
5:00 p.m. on March 3, 2006, to advise us of the nature of the accommodation that 
you need.  Please contact Dawn Sliva, Office of Legal Affairs, Department of Public 
Health and Human Services, P.O. Box 4210, Helena, MT 59604-4210; telephone 
(406)444-5622; FAX (406)444-1970; Email dphhslegal@mt.gov. 
 
 2.  The rule as proposed to be adopted provides as follows: 
 
 RULE I  MENTAL HEALTH SERVICES PLAN, OUTPATIENT DRUGS FOR 
BENEFICIARIES ELIGIBLE FOR MEDICARE  (1)  Notwithstanding any other 
provision of this subchapter, a plan beneficiary who is also eligible for Medicare is 
subject to the limitations and benefits provided for in this rule. 

(2)  Reimbursement for outpatient drugs provided to plan beneficiaries who 
are also eligible for Medicare are limited to medically necessary barbiturates and 
benzodiazepines prescribed for the treatment of mental illness. 
 (3)  Reimbursement will not be made for drugs for which payment as 
prescribed and dispensed or administered to an individual is available for that 
individual under Medicare Part A, Part B, or Part D even though the individual is 
eligible for coverage under Medicare but has declined to enroll in Part A, Part B, or 
Part D. 
 (4)  Additional assistance will be provided plan beneficiaries who are also 
eligible for Medicare as follows: 
 (a)  beneficiaries eligible for full subsidy extra help through the Social Security 
Administration will receive no additional assistance through the plan; 
 (b)  beneficiaries eligible for partial subsidy extra help through the Social 
Security Administration will receive plan assistance with annual deductibles and 
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coinsurance, for drugs prescribed for the treatment of mental illness up to a 
combined maximum of $425.00 per month; or 
 (c)  beneficiaries not eligible for subsidy extra help through the Social Security 
Administration will receive plan assistance with annual deductibles, coinsurance, and 
cost-sharing within the coverage gap, for drugs prescribed for the treatment of 
mental illness up to a combined maximum of $425.00 per month.  
 (5)  Reimbursement will be made only for services for which third party 
payment is not available. 
 
 AUTH:  53-2-201, MCA 
 IMP:     53-21-701, MCA 
 

3.  The rules as proposed to be amended provide as follows.  Matter to be 
added is underlined.  Matter to be deleted is interlined. 
 
 37.89.103  MENTAL HEALTH SERVICES PLAN, DEFINITIONS  As used in 
this subchapter, unless expressly provided otherwise, the following definitions apply: 
 (1) through (8) remain the same. 
 (9)  “Medicare Part D” means the prescription drug benefit available to 
Medicare beneficiaries through a Medicare prescription drug plan or a Medicare 
Advantage Plan.
 (9) through (13) remain the same but are renumbered (10) through (14). 
 (14) (15)  "Serious emotional disturbance (SED)" means with respect to a 
youth between the ages of six and 17 years that the youth meets the following 
requirements of (14)(15)(a) and either (14)(15)(b), or (14)(15)(c): 
 (a) through (a)(xx) remain the same. 
 (b)  As a result of the youth's diagnosis determined in (14)(15)(a) and for a 
period of at least six months, or for a predictable period over six months, the youth 
consistently and persistently demonstrates behavioral abnormality in two or more 
spheres, to a significant degree, well outside normative developmental expectations, 
that cannot be attributed to intellectual, sensory, or health factors: 
 (i) through (c)(ii) remain the same. 
 (iii)  the juvenile correctional system, due to the diagnosis determined in 
(14)(15)(a), as evidenced by a youth court consent adjustment or consent decree or 
youth court adjudication; or 
 (iv)  through (d)(vi) remain the same. 
 (15) (16)  "Severe disabling mental illness" means with respect to a person 
who is 18 or more years of age that the person meets the requirements of 
(15)(16)(a), (b), or (c).  The person must also meet the requirements of (15)(16)(d).  
The person: 
 (a) through (d)(v) remain the same. 
 (16) through (17) remain the same but are renumbered (17) through (18). 
 (18) (19)  The department hereby adopts and incorporates by reference the 
ICD-9-CM diagnosis codes with meanings found in the St. Anthony's ICD-9-CM 
Code Book (1998) effective October 1, 1998 through September 30, 1999, published 
by St. Anthony Publishing.  The department also hereby adopts and incorporates by 
reference the DSM-IV diagnosis codes with meanings found in the Diagnostic and 
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Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fourth Edition (1994), published by the 
American Psychiatric Association of Washington, DC.  These systems of coding 
provide the codes and meanings of the diagnostic terms commonly used by treating 
professionals and are incorporated herein in order to provide common references for 
purposes of the provision of services through the mental health services plan.  
Copies of applicable portions of the ICD-9-CM and the DSM-IV may be obtained 
from the Department of Public Health and Human Services, Addictive and Mental 
Disorders Division, 555 Fuller, P.O. Box 202905, Helena, MT  59620-2905. 
 

AUTH:  41-3-1103, 52-1-103, 53-2-201, 53-6-113, 53-6-131, 53-6-701, 53-21-
703, MCA 

IMP:     41-3-1103, 52-1-103, 53-1-601, 53-1-602, 53-2-201, 53-6-101, 53-6-
113, 53-6-116, 53-6-117, 53-6-131, 53-6-701, 53-6-705, 53-21-139, 53-21-202, 53-
21-701, MCA 
 
 37.89.106  MENTAL HEALTH SERVICES PLAN, MEMBER ELIGIBILITY  
 (1)  An individual is eligible for covered services under the plan if: 
 (a) through (c) remain the same. 
 (d)  the individual is an adolescent who has met the eligibility requirements of 
the plan as a youth with serious emotional disturbance, but who will not meet the 
eligibility requirements of the plan as an adult with severe and disabling mental 
illness.  The individual may continue to be eligible as an adolescent for the purpose 
of transition to independent living until the age of 21, provided the individual 
continues to meet income requirements; and
 (e)  the total number of children and the total number of adults who can be 
eligible for MHSP at any time is within the limits set by the department as provided in 
(6) of this rule.; and
 (f)  the individual is eligible for Medicare, is enrolled in a Medicare prescription 
drug plan or Medicare Advantage Plan, and has applied for subsidy extra help from 
the Social Security Administration and, if necessary, premium assistance from Big 
Sky Rx. 
 (2) through (6)(d)(ii) remain the same. 
 

AUTH:  41-3-1103, 52-2-603, 53-2-201, 53-6-113, 53-6-131, 53-6-701, 53-6-
706, 53-21-703, MCA;  

IMP:    41-3-1103, 52-2-603, 53-1-601, 53-1-602, 53-2-201, 53-6-101, 53-6-
113, 53-6-116, 53-6-117, 53-6-131, 53-6-701, 53-6-705, 53-6-706, 53-21-139, 53-
21-202, 53-21-702, MCA 
 

4.  The Department of Public Health and Human Services (the Department) is 
proposing the amendment of ARM 37.89.103, "Mental Health Services Plan, 
Definitions," 37.89.106, "Mental Health Services Plan, Member Eligibility," and the 
adoption of a new rule, “Mental Health Service Plan, Outpatient Drugs for 
Beneficiaries Eligible for Medicare”.  The purpose of the proposed rule amendments 
is to eliminate prescription drug coverage, except for selected drugs, for 
beneficiaries of the Mental Health Services Plan (MHSP) who are also eligible for 
Medicare.  The proposed changes would be effective May 5, 2006, although MHSP 
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beneficiaries who are also enrolled in a Medicare prescription drug plan should have 
begun receiving most prescription drugs, including drugs needed for treatment of 
mental illness, through their Medicare prescription drug plans beginning January 1, 
2006, or the first of the month following their enrollment in a Medicare prescription 
drug plan. 
 
The proposed rule amendments are necessary to coordinate MHSP prescription 
drug benefits with federal changes in section 101 of Title I of the Medicare 
Prescription Drug Improvement and Modernization Act of 2003 (MMA), Public Law 
108-173, and to avoid unnecessary duplication of pharmacy benefits. 
 
MMA creates new Medicare prescription drug benefits for people who are eligible for 
Medicare.  MMA is a federal initiative with significant implications for Medicare 
beneficiaries and the states. 
 
The Department’s rules currently provide that MHSP pays the cost of covered 
prescription drugs that are medically necessary for treatment of mental illness for 
enrolled people who also have Medicare.  This benefit was adopted before a 
prescription drug benefit was available to Medicare beneficiaries.  Effective January 
1, 2006, Medicare beneficiaries have had access to prescription drug coverage from 
Medicare-approved prescription drug plans or Medicare Advantage Plans.  They 
may also qualify for subsidy extra help from the Social Security Administration and 
premium assistance from Big Sky Rx, the state of Montana's pharmacy access 
program for Medicare beneficiaries. 
 
The Department proposes that people enrolled in MHSP who are also eligible for 
Medicare must also enroll in a Medicare prescription drug plan.  This proposal would 
assure that available state funds will be used to provide benefits to the greatest 
number of people in the most cost-effective manner. 
 
Since MHSP prescription drug benefits are provided for in the Department’s rules, 
ARM 37.89.114, amendment of the rules is necessary to modify MHSP drug benefits 
for the individuals who could be covered under Medicare.  This proposal is 
reasonable because the affected individuals would still have pharmacy benefits 
under a Medicare prescription drug or Medicare advantage plan.  Out-of-pocket drug 
expenses for those individuals would not increase under this proposal because 
subsidies would be available through the Social Security Administration, Big Sky Rx, 
and MHSP. 

 
Approximately 900 MHSP beneficiaries are eligible to receive their prescription drugs 
through a Medicare prescription drug or Medicare Advantage Plan.  If the 
Department’s proposal is adopted, MHSP will realize savings to its pharmacy budget 
and the MHSP will cease payment of most prescription drugs for beneficiaries with 
Medicare.  These savings may in turn be used to provide a pharmacy benefit to 
larger numbers of mentally ill Montanans or to increase the monthly limit of MHSP's 
pharmacy benefit. 
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The specific provisions proposed by the Department are described below: 
 
Rule I
 
The Department proposes the adoption of a new rule containing the terms and 
conditions of prescription drug coverage for MHSP beneficiaries who are also 
eligible for Medicare.  All the new substantive provisions governing those benefits 
would be located in the same rule, making them easy to find. 
 
The Department proposes to continue covering medically necessary barbiturate and 
benzodiazepines prescribed for the treatment of mental illness.  Coverage for those 
drugs is not available through Medicare.  Since this proposal is not intended to 
change the overall cost of prescription drugs to MHSP beneficiaries, it is necessary 
to include a specific provision including them. 
 
The Department is proposing a new provision that makes it clear reimbursement will 
not be available through MHSP for prescription drugs that are available through 
Medicare.  The Department's reasoning is discussed above.  Other options 
considered by the Department are discussed below. 
 
The Department proposes that MHSP provide additional assistance to MHSP 
beneficiaries up to a combined maximum of $425 per month.  Prescription drug 
assistance would be available under this proposal whether the MHSP beneficiary 
was eligible for partial or no subsidies through the Social Security Administration.  
MHSP beneficiaries eligible for full social security subsidies would not be eligible to 
receive MHSP subsidies. 
 
The Department is also proposing a new provision that makes it clear 
reimbursement will not be available through MHSP for prescription drugs for which 
third party payment, such as private health insurance, is available. 
 
37.89.103
 
The Department proposes the addition of a definition in this rule describing Medicare 
Part D.  Under this definition, Medicare Part D would include a Medicare Advantage 
Plan. 
 
37.89.106
 
The Department is proposing a new provision in this rule.  A person who is eligible 
for Medicare would have to be enrolled in a Medicare prescription drug plan or 
Medicare Advantage Plan and would be required to apply for subsidy extra help and, 
if necessary, Big Sky Rx in order to be eligible for MHSP.  The Department is 
proposing a specific provision that makes it clear reimbursement will not be available 
through MHSP for prescription drugs that are available through Medicare. 
 
Other options considered 
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The Department considered maintaining the MHSP rules as they stand.  This option 
was rejected as too costly and an inefficient use of available state funds. 
 
The Department also considered requiring Medicare beneficiaries to enroll in a 
Medicare-approved prescription drug plan while MHSP would have continued to pay 
for prescription drugs that might not be covered by the beneficiaries' prescription 
drug plans.  This option was rejected because the Medicare prescription drug benefit 
is comprehensive and has many built-in beneficiary protections with oversight by the 
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS).  The Department believes CMS 
will assure that Medicare beneficiaries have access to all medically necessary 
prescription drugs and access to quick and efficient exceptions and appeals 
processes. 
 
The Department is concerned about a successful transition for Medicare 
beneficiaries from receiving prescription drugs through MHSP to their Medicare-
approved prescription drug plans.  Consequently, it proposes overlapping safety-net 
prescription drug benefits to ensure coverage of all MHSP beneficiaries with 
Medicare until they have had ample opportunity to enroll in a Medicare prescription 
drug plan.  The Department will work closely with Medicare, community partners, 
and the prescription drug plans to ensure a smooth and successful transition takes 
place. 
 
Groups affected
 
The proposed amendments to these rules would affect approximately 420 MHSP 
pharmacy providers, five mental health centers and about 900 Medicare enrolled MHSP 
beneficiaries. 
 
Fiscal effect
 
The proposed amendments could save the MHSP up to $750,000 over the prescription 
drug benefit costs projected for the 2006-2007 biennium if the MHSP rules remain as 
they stand.  Since the affected MHSP beneficiaries' prescription drug costs would still 
have coverage from Medicare-approved prescription drug plans or Medicare Advantage 
Plans, the Department does not expect the cost of prescription drugs to change for 
MHSP beneficiaries as a result of this proposal. 
 
 5.  These rule changes will be applied effective May 5, 2006. 
 

6.  Interested persons may submit their data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing at the hearing.  Written data, views or arguments may also be submitted 
to Dawn Sliva, Office of Legal Affairs, Department of Public Health and Human 
Services, P.O. Box 4210, Helena, MT 59604-4210, no later than 5:00 p.m. on March 
23, 2006.  Data, views or arguments may also be submitted by facsimile (406)444-
1970 or by electronic mail via the Internet to dphhslegal@mt.gov.  The Department 
also maintains lists of persons interested in receiving notice of administrative rule 
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changes.  These lists are compiled according to subjects or programs of interest.  
For placement on the mailing list, please write the person at the address above. 
 

7.  The Office of Legal Affairs, Department of Public Health and Human 
Services has been designated to preside over and conduct the hearing. 
 
 
 
   /s/ Dawn Sliva        /s/ Russ Cater for   
Rule Reviewer     Director, Public Health and 

Human Services 
 
Certified to the Secretary of State February 13, 2006. 
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BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC 
HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES OF THE 

STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of ARM
37.108.507 pertaining to Components 
of Quality Assessment Activities 

  ) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

 NOTICE OF PROPOSED 
AMENDMENT 
 
NO PUBLIC HEARING 
CONTEMPLATED 

     
TO: All Interested Persons 

 
 1.  On March 25, 2006, the Department of Public Health and Human Services 
proposes to amend the above-stated rule. 
 
 The Department of Public Health and Human Services will make reasonable 
accommodations for persons with disabilities who need an alternative accessible 
format of this notice.  If you need to request an accommodation, contact the 
department no later than 5:00 p.m. on March 3, 2006, to advise us of the nature of 
the accommodation that you need.  Please contact Dawn Sliva, Office of Legal 
Affairs, Department of Public Health and Human Services, P.O. Box 4210, Helena, 
MT 59604-4210; telephone (406)444-5622; FAX (406)444-1970; Email 
dphhslegal@mt.gov. 
 

2.  The rule as proposed to be amended provides as follows.  Matter to be 
added is underlined.  Matter to be deleted is interlined. 
 
 37.108.507  COMPONENTS OF QUALITY ASSESSMENT ACTIVITIES
 (1)  Annually, the health carrier shall evaluate its quality assessment activities 
by using the following HEDIS year 2005 2006 measures: 
 (a) through (3) remain the same. 
 (4)  The department adopts and incorporates by reference the HEDIS year 
2005 2006 measures for the categories listed in (1)(a) through (e).  The HEDIS year 
2005 2006 measures are developed by the national committee for quality assurance 
and provide a standardized mechanism for measuring and comparing the quality of 
services offered by managed care health plans.  Copies of HEDIS 2005 2006 
measures are available from the National Committee for Quality Assurance, 2000 L 
Street NW, Suite 500, Washington, DC 20036 or on the internet at www.ncqa.org. 
 

AUTH:  33-36-105, MCA 
IMP:     33-36-105, 33-36-302, MCA 

 
3.  The Managed Care Plan Network Adequacy and Quality Assurance Act 

(Title 33, Chapter 36, MCA) established standards for health carriers offering 
managed care plans and for the implementation of quality assurance standards in 
administrative rules.  ARM 37.105.501 et seq. were adopted in 2001 to establish 
mechanisms for the Department to evaluate quality assurance activities of health 
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carriers providing managed care plans in Montana.  
 
ARM 37.108.507 requires health carriers to report their quality assessment activities 
to the Department using health plan employer data and information set (HEDIS) 
measures.  These are nationally-utilized measures that are updated annually.  Since 
the HEDIS standards change somewhat every year, the rule must also be updated 
annually to reflect the current year's measures and ensure that national comparisons 
are possible, since the other states will also be using the same updated measures.  
The changes from the 2005 measures to the proposed 2006 measures are quoted 
below: 
 

Updated Random Number Table for Measures Using the Hybrid Method 
 

Childhood Immunization Status 
 

• Summary of Changes 
 

Delete:  Changed the timing requirements for IPV. 
 

• DtaP/DT 
 

Replace the first sentence with:  An initial DtaP vaccination followed by 
at least three DtaP, DT or individual diphtheria and tetanus shots on or 
before the child’s second birthday. 

 
• Table CIS-1/2 

 
In the Hybrid cells, replace “Each of the 8 rates” with “Each of the 9 
rates.” 

 
 Breast Cancer Screening 
 

• Table BSC-A 
 

 Add CPT code 76083. 
 
 Comprehensive Diabetes Care 
 

• Administrative Specification:  Numerators--Poor HbA1c control 
 

Replace the first paragraph with:  Using automated laboratory data, 
identify the most recent HbA1c test during the measurement year.  The 
member is numerator compliant if the most recent automated HbA1c 
level is >9.0% or is missing a result or if an HbA1c test was not done 
during the measurement year.  The member is not numerator 
compliant if the automated result for the most recent HbA1c test during 
the measurement year is #9.0%.   
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• Table CDC-G 

 
Add CPT code 36819 to the Evidence of diagnosis of or treatment for 
nephropathy category. 

 
• Hybrid Specification:  Numerators-–Poor HbA1c control 

 
Replace the first paragraph with:  The most recent HbA1c level 
(performed during the measurement year) is >9.0% or is missing or 
was not done during the measurement year, as identified by 
automated laboratory data or medical record review.  The member is 
not numerator compliant if the result for the most recent HbA1c test 
during the measurement year is #9.0%. 

 
• Hybrid Specification:  LDL-C Level-–Medical record 

 
In the Friedewald equation, replace [lipoprotein] with [lipoprotein(a)].” 

 
The option of not updating the HEDIS measure was considered and rejected 
because these are national quality measures which allow comparison among health 
plans.  If the measures are not kept current, this function is lost. 
 
 4.  These rule changes will be applied retroactively to January 1, 2006.  The 
rule changes are being applied retroactively because the HEDIS measures and the 
health carriers measure on a January through December calendar year.  In addition, 
the 2006 HEDIS measures are already being used by the health carriers impacted 
by these amendments.  As a result, there is no negative impact by these changes 
being applied retroactively to this date. 
 
 5.  Interested persons may submit their data, views or arguments concerning 
the proposed action in writing to Dawn Sliva, Office of Legal Affairs, Department of 
Public Health and Human Services, P.O. Box 4210, Helena, MT 59604-4210, no 
later than 5:00 p.m. on March 23, 2006.  Data, views or arguments may also be 
submitted by facsimile (406)444-1970 or by electronic mail via the Internet to 
dphhslegal@mt.gov.  The Department also maintains lists of persons interested in 
receiving notice of administrative rule changes.  These lists are compiled according 
to subjects or programs of interest.  For placement on the mailing list, please write 
the person at the address above. 
 
 6.  If a person who is directly affected by the proposed  action wishes to 
express data, views, and arguments orally or in writing at a public hearing, that 
person must make a written request for a public hearing and submit such request, 
along with any written comments to Gwen Knight, Office of Legal Affairs, 
Department of Public Health and Human Services, P.O. Box 202951, Helena, MT 
59620-2951, by facsimile (406)444-1970 or by electronic mail via the Internet to 
dphhslegal@mt.gov no later than 5:00 p.m. on March 23, 2006. 
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 7.  If the Department of Public Health and Human Services receives requests 
for a public hearing on the proposed action from either 10% or 25, whichever is less, 
of those who are directly affected by the proposed action, from the Administrative 
Rule Review Committee of the legislature, from a governmental agency or 
subdivision, or from an association having no less than 25 members who are directly 
affected, a hearing will be held at a later date and a notice of the hearing will be 
published in the Montana Administrative Register.  Ten percent of those directly 
affected has been determined to be one based on the two health carriers affected by 
rules covering components of quality assessment activities. 
 
 
 
   /s/ Dawn Sliva        /s/ Russ Cater for   
Rule Reviewer     Director, Public Health and 

Human Services 
 
Certified to the Secretary of State February 13, 2006. 
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BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC 
HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES OF THE 

STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the adoption of new 
Rules I through XLI, the amendment of 
37.37.316 and 37.37.318 and the 
repeal of ARM 37.97.1001, 37.97.1002, 
37.97.1006, 37.97.1011, 37.97.1013, 
37.97.1014, 37.97.1016, 37.97.1018, 
and 37.97.1019 pertaining to youth 
foster homes 

 ) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

 NOTICE OF EXTENSION OF 
COMMENT PERIOD ON 
PROPOSED ADOPTION, 
AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL 

 
 TO:  All Interested Persons 
 
 1.  On December 8, 2005, the Department of Public Health and Human 
Services published MAR Notice No. 37-360 pertaining to the public hearing on the 
proposed adoption, amendment, and repeal of the above-stated rules relating to 
youth foster homes, at page 2379 of the 2005 Montana Administrative Register, 
issue number 23.  The Department is extending the comment period for the 
proposed adoption, amendment, and repeal of these rules. 
 
 The Department of Public Health and Human Services will make reasonable 
accommodations for persons with disabilities who need an alternative accessible 
format of this notice.  If you need to request an accommodation, contact the 
department no later than 5:00 p.m. on March 1, 2006, to advise us of the nature of 
the accommodation that you need.  Please contact Dawn Sliva, Office of Legal 
Affairs, Department of Public Health and Human Services, P.O. Box 4210, Helena, 
MT 59604-4210; telephone (406)444-5622; FAX (406)444-1970; Email 
dphhslegal@mt.gov. 
 

2.  The hearing on the proposed adoption, amendment, and repeal was held 
on January 5, 2006, at 1:30 p.m. in the auditorium of the Department of Public 
Health and Human Services Building, 111 N. Sanders, Helena, Montana to consider 
the proposed adoption, amendment, and repeal of the above-stated rules.  At the 
hearing the Department announced a revision to the text of Rule V, deleting text that 
indicated an exception for kinship homes that it did not intend, and announced an 
extension of the comment period to February 3, 2006, to allow time for additional 
comment.  The Department is now formally extending the comment period to March 
9, 2006 to allow additional time to comment on the changes proposed in MAR Notice 
No. 37-360 and the revision of the text of Rule V. 
  

3.  The rule as proposed to be amended from the original proposal provides 
as follows.  Matter to be added is underlined.  Matter to be deleted is interlined. 
 
 RULE V  YOUTH FOSTER HOMES:  LICENSURE AND RENEWAL
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 (1)  The department shall issue a youth foster home, kinship foster home, or 
therapeutic foster home license to any license applicant that the department 
determines meets all licensing requirements established by these rules.  The license 
will expire one year from the date it is issued unless it is extended up to an additional 
60 days pursuant to (3). 
 (2)  For placement made on or after [effective date of rule], the number of 
children for whom a kinship foster home is licensed will be based in part on the 
number of children already residing in the home.  There shall be a maximum of 
seven children residing in a kinship foster home at any one time unless an exception 
is made by the regional administrator to accommodate placement of a sibling group. 
 (3)  The department shall renew the license annually on the expiration date of 
the previous year's license if:  
 (a)  the foster parents apply for renewal of the foster home license on a form 
provided by the department at least 30 days prior to the expiration date of the 
current license; and 
 (b)  following completion of a relicensing study, the department determines 
that the foster home continues to meet all licensing requirements established by 
these rules. 
 (4)  If the foster parent submits a completed application packet for renewal of 
a license at least 30 days prior to the expiration of the license, but the department is 
unable to complete the relicensing study but makes a determination that the home is 
in compliance with the licensing requirements before the expiration date of the 
previous year's license, the previous year's license will continue in effect for no more 
than 60 days while the department completes the relicensing study. 
 
 AUTH:  52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621, 52-2-622, MCA 
 IMP:     52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621, 52-2-622, MCA 
 
 4.  The rationale for limiting the number of children in any foster home was 
stated in the original notice.  Due to a typographical error the word “kinship” was 
inadvertently included in Rule V in error.  This is a rule the Department is proposing 
to have apply to all foster homes.  
 
 5.  Interested persons may submit their data, views or arguments to Gwen 
Knight, Office of Legal Affairs, Department of Public Health and Human Services, 
P.O. Box 202951, Helena, MT  59620-2951, no later than 5:00 p.m. on March 9, 
2006.  Data, views or arguments may also be submitted by facsimile (406)444-1970 
or by electronic mail via the Internet to dphhslegal@mt.gov. The Department also 
maintains lists of persons interested in receiving notice of administrative rule 
changes.  These lists are compiled according to subjects or programs of interest.  
For placement on the mailing list, please write the person at the address above. 
 
   /s/ Dawn Sliva        /s/ Russ Cater for   
Rule Reviewer     Director, Public Health and 
       Human Services 
 
Certified to the Secretary of State February 13, 2006. 
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 BEFORE THE STATE LOTTERY COMMISSION 
 DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION 
 OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of 
ARM 2.63.201, 2.63.203, 2.63.204, 
2.63.401 through 2.63.407, 2.63.601 
through 2.63.604, 2.63.606 through 
2.63.609, 2.63.611 through 2.63.613, 
2.63.801, 2.63.1001 and 2.63.1002, 
2.63.1004, 2.63.1006, 2.63.1007, 
2.63.1201 and 2.63.1202 and the 
repeal of ARM 2.63.202 and 2.63.408, 
concerning the State Lottery's 
procedures, and rules pertaining to 
retailers, licensing, scratch tickets and 
prizes 

)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)

NOTICE OF AMENDMENT AND 
REPEAL  
 
 

  
TO:  All Concerned Persons 

 
 1.  On January 12, 2006, the State Lottery Commission published MAR 
Notice No. 2-2-361 regarding the proposed amendment and repeal of the above-
stated rules concerning the State Lottery's procedures, and rules pertaining to 
retailers, licensing, scratch tickets and prizes at page 1 of the 2006 Montana 
Administrative Register, Issue No. 1.  
 
 2.  The Commission has amended the following rules exactly as proposed: 
ARM 2.63.201, 2.63.203, 2.63.204, 2.63.401 through 2.63.405, 2.63.407, 2.63.601 
through 2.63.604, 2.63.606, 2.63.608, 2.63.609, 2.63.611 through 2.63.613, 
2.63.801, 2.63.1001 and 2.63.1002, 2.63.1004, 2.63.1006, 2.63.1007, 2.63.1201 
and 2.63.1202. 
 
 3.  The Commission has amended the following rules as proposed, but with 
the following changes, stricken matter interlined, new matter underlined: 
 

2.63.406  RETAILER BONDING  (1)  The director will may require a surety 
bond from the owner or corporation making the application to the lottery to become a 
of scratch ticket or terminal issue retailers if a determination is made based on credit 
history of the owner or corporation making application to the lottery.  A determination 
for this bonding requirement is made based on the applicant's credit risk score 
exceeding a maximum allowable score of 30. 

 
AUTH:  23-7-202 and 23-7-301, MCA 
IMP:  23-7-301, MCA 
 
2.63.607  BUSINESS CHANGES  (1) through (1)(c) remain as proposed. 
(d)  business interruptions for reasons beyond the owner's control;  
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(e) through (g) remain as proposed, but are renumbered (d) through (f).  
 
AUTH:  23-7-202, MCA 
IMP:  23-7-301, MCA 
 
4.  The Commission has repealed ARM 2.63.202 and 2.63.408 as proposed.  
 
5.  The Commission has thoroughly considered all comments received.  The 

comments received and the Commission's responses follow: 
 

 Comment 1:  As proposed to be amended, ARM 2.63.406 will provide that 
"The director will require a bond of scratch ticket or terminal issue retailers if a 
determination is made based on credit history of the owner or corporation making 
application to the lottery."  What determination will be made should be made clear. 

 
Response 1:  The Commission concurs and has amended the rule as shown. 
 

 Comment 2:  In ARM 2.63.607, a new (1)(d) will be added requiring a 
licensee to notify the director of "business interruptions for reasons beyond the 
owner's control". This is extremely broad and includes any interruption for any length 
of time (no matter how short the time may be) that is beyond the owner's control.  

 
Response 2:  Because our new operating system uses Very Small Aperture 

Terminals (VSATs) for satellite communications, which let us know within 1/10 of a 
second if a terminal goes down, subsection (1)(d) has been deleted and the 
remaining subsections renumbered. 

 
 

 By: /s/ Robert Crippen   
 ROBERT CRIPPEN, CHAIR 
 MONTANA LOTTERY COMMISSION 
 
 /s/ Dal Smilie    
 DAL SMILIE, Rule Reviewer 
 
 
 Certified to the Secretary of State February 13, 2006.  
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  BEFORE THE BOARD OF ENVIRONMENTAL REVIEW 
 AND THE DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
 OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of ARM 
17.30.502, 17.30.516, 17.30.602, 
17.30.607, 17.30.608, 17.30.610, 
17.30.615, 17.30.619 through 17.30.629,
17.30.635, 17.30.641, 17.30.645, 
17.30.650 through 17.30.658, 17.30.702,
17.30.705, 17.30.706, 17.30.708, 
17.30.715, 17.30.716, 17.30.1001, 
17.30.1006, 17.30.1007, 17.36.331, 
17.36.335, 17.36.336, 17.36.345, 
17.55.102, 17.55.111, and 17.56.507 
pertaining to Department Circular WQB-
7 and the adoption of new rules I and II 
pertaining to outstanding resource 
waters 

 ) 

 ) 

) 
) 
) 

) 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF AMENDMENT AND 
ADOPTION 

 
(WATER QUALITY) 
(SUBDIVISIONS) 

(CECRA) 
(UNDERGROUND STORAGE 

TANKS) 

 
 TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
 1.  On October 27, 2005, the Board of Environmental Review and the 
Department of Environmental Quality published MAR Notice No. 17-232 regarding a 
notice of public hearing on the proposed amendment and adoption of the above-
stated rules at page 1957, 2005 Montana Administrative Register, issue number 20. 
 
 2.  The Board and Department have amended ARM 17.30.502, 17.30.602, 
17.30.607, 17.30.608, 17.30.610, 17.30.615, 17.30.619, 17.30.620, 17.30.623, 
17.30.624, 17.30.625, 17.30.626, 17.30.627, 17.30.628, 17.30.629, 17.30.635, 
17.30.641, 17.30.645, 17.30.650, 17.30.651, 17.30.652, 17.30.653, 17.30.654, 
17.30.655, 17.30.656, 17.30.657, 17.30.658, 17.30.702, 17.30.705, 17.30.706, 
17.30.708, 17.30.715, 17.30.716, 17.30.1001, 17.30.1006, 17.30.1007, 17.36.331, 
17.36.335, 17.36.336, 17.36.345, 17.55.102, 17.55.111, and 17.56.507 and adopted 
New Rules I (17.30.617) and II (17.30.638) exactly as proposed and have amended 
ARM 17.30.516, 17.30.621 and 17.30.622 as proposed, but with the following 
changes, new material underlined, stricken material interlined: 
 
 17.30.516  STANDARD MIXING ZONES FOR SURFACE WATER   
 (1) through (3)(d) remain as proposed. 
 (4)  The length of a standard mixing zone for flowing surface water, other than 
a nearly instantaneous mixing zone, must not extend downstream more than the 
one-half mixing width distance or extend downstream more than 10 times the stream 
width, whichever is more restrictive.  For purposes of making this determination, the 
stream width as well as the discharge limitations are considered at the 7Q10 low 
flow.  The recommended calculation to be used to determine the one-half mixing 
width distance for downstream from a stream bank discharge is described below. 
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 (a)  A1/2 = [0.4(W/2)2V]/2πL, where: 
 (i)  A1/2 = one-half area mixing width distance; 
 (ii) through (6) remain as proposed. 
 
 17.30.621  A-CLOSED CLASSIFICATION STANDARDS  (1) and (2) remain 
as proposed. 
 (3)  No person may violate the following specific water quality standards for 
waters classified A-Closed: 
 (a)  The geometric mean number of Escherichia coli bacteria may not exceed 
32 colony forming units per 100 milliliters and 10% of the samples may not exceed 
64 colony forming units per 100 milliliters during any 30-day period. 
 (b) through (i) remain as proposed. 
 
 17.30.622  A-1 CLASSIFICATION STANDARDS  (1) and (2) remain as 
proposed. 
 (3)  No person may violate the following specific water quality standards for 
waters classified A-1: 
 (a)  The geometric mean number of Escherichia coli bacteria may not exceed 
32 colony forming units per 100 milliliters and 10% of the samples may not exceed 
64 colony forming units per 100 milliliters during any 30-day period if resulting from 
domestic sewage. 
 (b) through (k) remain as proposed. 
 
 3.  The following comments were received and appear with the Board's and 
Department's responses: 
 
 COMMENT NO. 1:  The United States Environmental Protection Agency 
(EPA) strongly supports the change to E. coli as the bacterial indicator for 
recreational use.  EPA suggests, however, that for waters classified as A-Closed 
and A-1, the standard should specify an averaging period for determining 
compliance similar to the averaging period provided in the other classifications. 
 RESPONSE:  The Board agrees that the clarification is needed and has 
amended the A-closed and A-1 classification as shown above for determining 
compliance with the E. coli standard. 
 
 COMMENT NO. 2:  EPA strongly supports the proposed revisions to the 
numeric criteria in DEQ-7. 
 RESPONSE:  The Board acknowledges the comment. 
 
 COMMENT NO. 3:  EPA suggests modifying the ammonia standards in DEQ-
7 to include specific methods or dates for determining when early life stages (ELS) 
of fish occur.  The ELS should be specific in order to clarify when the ELS chronic 
standards will apply. 
 RESPONSE:  Determining when ELS occur for purposes of applying the 
ammonia standards in Montana Pollutant Discharge Elimination System permits is 
done on a site-specific basis.  Although the Department may access a table on a 
web site to determine the possible presence of ELS, actual conditions may favor a 
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different result.  Therefore, the Board does not believe incorporation of a table or 
adopting specific dates to determine ELS is warranted.  More importantly, since the 
Board has not proposed amending DEQ-7 to specify when ELS occurs, the 
suggested modification is outside the scope of this rulemaking. 
 
 COMMENT NO. 4:  EPA suggests changing the aluminum aquatic life 
standard from dissolved to total recoverable analysis method. 
 RESPONSE:  Aluminum is an extremely abundant element in minerals that 
make up suspended sediment from colloidal through sand or larger particle sizes.  
The total recoverable analysis method extracts an undeterminable amount of the 
non bio-available aluminum from the suspended sediment resulting in an 
overestimation of the bio-available fraction.  The Board believes the dissolved 
aquatic life standard for aluminum is protective and is a better estimate of the bio-
available fractions in the water including the rare occasions when dissolved and 
filterable bio-available aluminum particulates are present.  Also, since the Board has 
not proposed changing the aluminum standard to a total recoverable method of 
analysis, the suggested modification is beyond the scope of this rulemaking. 
 
 COMMENT NO. 5:  EPA suggests that, for hardness-dependent metals, the 
minimum hardness value of 25 mg/L as CaCO3 be eliminated. 
 RESPONSE:  The Board believes that the existing low hardness limit of 25 
mg/L as CaCO3 is protective of aquatic life uses and there is no need to eliminate 
the hardness limit as a means of deriving more stringent standards for metals.  
However, the Board also believes that a future technical review of this issue may be 
a worthwhile effort for the Department.  Finally, since the Board has not proposed 
eliminating the low hardness limit, the suggested change is beyond the scope of this 
rulemaking. 
 
 COMMENT NO. 6:  EPA has determined that its earlier informal comment to 
the Department (suggesting that the mixing zone formula was wrong) was incorrect. 
EPA now comments that the equation in the current rule is indeed the correct one 
and should not be modified.  EPA further suggests that the equation, as currently 
written, measures area when it should measure distance downstream from the 
discharge.  In order to ensure that distance is measured, EPA suggests modifying 
ARM 17.30.516(4) to read:  ". . . The recommended calculation to be used to 
determine the one-half mixing width distance downstream from a stream bank 
discharge is described below. 
 (a)  A1/2 = [0.4(W/2) 2V]/L, where: 
 (i)  A1/2 = one-half area mixing width distance;". 
 RESPONSE:  The Board agrees with the comment and has amended the rule 
as shown above. 
 
 COMMENT NO. 7:  The Western Environmental Trade Association (WETA) 
submitted comments stating that the Board's proposed revisions to DEQ-7 express 
the numeric surface water quality standards as total recoverable and, therefore, are 
inconsistent with EPA's position that the states should use the dissolved method for 
determining compliance with ambient surface water quality standards for metals. 
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 RESPONSE:  As an initial matter, EPA's position on using a dissolved 
method of analysis for determining compliance with water quality standards applies 
only to numeric standards for metals.  Since the Board is not proposing to change 
any of the numeric standards for metals, WETA's comment indicating that the Board 
is adopting standards in a manner that is inconsistent with EPA is incorrect.  Rather 
than changing the numeric standards for metals, the Board is simply modifying the 
manner in which the hardness value is displayed in DEQ-7 for hardness dependent 
metals.  The proposed modification for displaying the hardness value does not in 
any way change the numeric standards themselves.  Since the Board has not 
proposed changing the manner in which compliance with the numeric standards for 
metals is measured (i.e., from total recoverable to dissolved), WETA's suggestion to 
change to dissolved is outside the scope of this rulemaking. 
 
 COMMENT NO. 8:  WETA suggests that the Board's proposal to adopt the 
amended rules revising the DEQ-7 water quality standards potentially violates 
Montana state law prohibiting the promulgation of state standards more stringent 
than corresponding federal regulations, guidelines or criteria, if the Board provides 
no sufficient scientific and technical evidence to support adoption of the more 
stringent state standards. 
 RESPONSE:  Since the Board is not proposing to change any numeric 
standards for metals, the Board is not adopting standards that are more stringent 
than EPA's.  Therefore, no findings are necessary under state law.  See Response 
to Comment No. 7. 
 
Reviewed by:    BOARD OF ENVIRONMENTAL REVIEW 
 
 
 
/s/ James M. Madden      By:  /s/ Joseph W. Russell    
JAMES M. MADDEN   JOSEPH W. RUSSELL, M.P.H. 
Rule Reviewer    Chairman 
 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 
      QUALITY 
 
 
 
        BY:  /s/ Richard H. Opper    
      RICHARD H. OPPER, Director 
 
 
 Certified to the Secretary of State, February 13, 2006. 
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 BEFORE THE BOARD OF ENVIRONMENTAL REVIEW 
 OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of ARM 
17.30.1303, 17.30.1304, 17.30.1310, 
17.30.1322, 17.30.1330, 17.30.1341 and
17.30.1343 pertaining to concentrated 
animal feeding operations (CAFOs) and 
adoption of Department Circular DEQ-9 
(Montana Technical Standards for 
CAFOs) 

 ) 

) 
) 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF AMENDMENT 
 
 

(WATER QUALITY) 

 
 TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
 1.  On December 16, 2004, the Board of Environmental Review published 
MAR Notice No. 17-222 regarding a notice of public hearing on the proposed 
amendment of the above-stated rules at page 2962, 2004 Montana Administrative 
Register, issue number 24.  A public hearing was conducted on January 14, 2005, 
and numerous comments were received.  On June 16, 2005, at page 864, 2005 
Montana Administrative Register, issue number 11, under MAR Notice No. 17-227, 
the Board published an amended notice to provide a six month extension of time for 
taking final action.  On October 27, 2005, at page 1995, 2005 Montana 
Administrative Register, issue number 20, under MAR Notice No. 17-233, the Board 
published an amended notice of public hearing proposing to adopt the rules as 
originally proposed, except for certain provisions vacated by a federal court decision. 
 The second public hearing was conducted on November 25, 2005. 
 
 2.  The Board did not adopt the proposed amendments to ARM 17.30.1304, 
17.30.1310 or 17.30.1341.  The Board has amended ARM 17.30.1303, 17.30.1322, 
17.30.1330, and 17.30.1343 exactly as proposed in MAR Notice No. 17-233, and 
has adopted Department Circular DEQ-9 with minor changes in response to 
comments. 
 
 3.  The following comments were received and appear with the Board's 
responses: 
 
 COMMENT NO. 1:  The Board received both written and oral comments 
concerning the development of Department Circular DEQ-9.  Several agricultural 
consulting engineers complimented the Board for consolidating various 
environmental rules and providing design criteria.  Commentors stated that Circular 
DEQ-9 provides guidance to consulting engineers and producers who elect to design 
their own systems. 
 RESPONSE:  Comment noted. 
 
 COMMENT NO. 2:  Numerous commentors stated that permit fees for 
concentrated animal feeding operations (CAFOs) are too high.  Several of these 
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commentors contend that the high permit fees discourage unpermitted CAFOs from 
coming forward and obtaining permit coverage. 
 RESPONSE:  These comments were submitted in January of 2005.  In the 
spring of 2005 the Montana Legislature lowered CAFO permit fees.  75-5-803, MCA. 
The statutory fee reduction should help address the commentors’ concern about the 
deterrent effect of high permit fees. 
 
 COMMENT NO. 3:  Several commentors stated that the 30-day public 
comment period should be excluded from the CAFO permitting process. 
 RESPONSE:  In the spring of 2005 the Legislature required most CAFO 
discharge permits to be issued using Water Quality Act general permit procedures.  
See 75-5-802, MCA.  Under general permit procedures, the level of public review 
depends on the seriousness and complexity of the environmental issues and the 
level of public interest.  For an action with limited environmental impact and little 
public interest, no public comment is required.  However, an opportunity for public 
comment is required if there is the potential for significant environmental impacts, or 
if there is significant public interest in the Department’s action.  A public comment 
period is also required in cases where an individual CAFO permit is needed because 
a general permit authorization would not be sufficiently protective of water quality. 
 It should be noted that the Department may not deny a permit or a permit 
authorization based solely on unfavorable public comments.  In order to affect the 
decision whether to issue a permit or an authorization, comments must pertain to 
whether the CAFO will comply with applicable water quality requirements in statute 
and rule. 
 
 COMMENT NO. 4:  Several commentors stated that the proposed rules go 
beyond the authority of the Montana Water Quality Act by requiring all CAFOs to 
apply, regardless of their discharge status. 
 RESPONSE:  These rules do not require all CAFOs to apply for permits 
regardless of their discharge status.  The federal CAFO rules, as originally 
promulgated in 2003, did contain such "duty to apply" provisions.  Under those 
provisions, every facility defined as a CAFO was required to obtain a discharge 
permit.  Large facilities were defined as CAFOs based solely on the number and 
types of animals, without regard to the presence of an actual discharge.  However, in 
February of 2005, a federal court vacated the "duty to apply" provisions in the 2003 
federal CAFO rules.  Waterkeeper Alliance, Inc., et al. v. USEPA, 399 F.3d 486 (2d 
Cir. 2005).  In this rulemaking, the Board is incorporating the federal CAFO rules by 
reference, but the provisions in the federal rules that were vacated by the court will 
not be included.  See MAR Notice No. 17-233. 
 
 COMMENT NO. 5:  Several commentors stated that these regulations are too 
burdensome.  The commentors pointed out that other sources of pollution, such as 
commercial fertilizer used by farmers, are not regulated to the same extent as the 
land application of generated waste from CAFOs. 
 RESPONSE:  When EPA revised the effluent limitations guidelines for CAFOs 
in 2003, the agency conducted an economic analysis to determine what types of 
treatment technologies or best management practices would be economically 
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achievable by CAFOs.  These proposed regulations have been determined to be 
cost-effective ways to reduce pollution from CAFOs.  The federal Clean Water Act 
expressly requires discharges from CAFOs to be subject to permitting requirements, 
even though other agricultural operations are excluded. 
 
 COMMENT NO. 6:  Several commentors stated that the Board does not have 
the authority to regulate the land application of waste from CAFOs.  These 
commentors contend that the land application of manure and process-generated 
waste is a non-point source of pollution, and therefore, outside of the scope of the 
MPDES permitting program. 
 RESPONSE:  The revised federal CAFO regulations, which are being 
incorporated by the Board in this rulemaking, define "discharge from a CAFO" to 
include discharges that result from the application of wastes to land areas under the 
CAFO’s control.  40 CFR 122.23(e).  A federal court has upheld EPA’s authority, 
under the federal Clean Water Act, to regulate land application of wastes from 
CAFOs.  Waterkeeper Alliance, Inc., et al. v. USEPA, 399 F.3d 486, 511 (2d Cir. 
2005).  The Board’s statutory authority to adopt CAFO rules is found in 75-5-201, 
75-5-304 and 75-5-401, MCA.  In addition, 75-5-802(1), MCA, specifically directs the 
Board to incorporate by reference the federal CAFO regulations. 
 
 COMMENT NO. 7:  Several commentors stated that the proposed rule 
package is more stringent than the federal regulations. 
 RESPONSE:  Because the rules simply incorporate the federal CAFO 
requirements, the rules are not more stringent than the federal rules.  No special 
stringency findings under 75-5-203 and 75-5-309, MCA, are required for the Board 
to adopt the state standards in Circular DEQ-9 because there are no comparable 
federal standards.  That was the reason that EPA directed states to adopt standards 
like Circular DEQ-9.  See 40 CFR 123.36. 
 
 COMMENT NO. 8:  Several producers stated that the requirement that 
CAFOs prevent direct contact of confined animals with waters will prohibit livestock 
from accessing streams in Montana.  Some commentors stated that this requirement 
was the first step to requiring fencing of all streams. 
 RESPONSE:  The rules require that CAFOs implement best management 
practices to prevent direct contact of confined animals with waters.  40 CFR 
122.42(e)(1)(iv).  This requirement applies only to CAFO confinement areas.  It does 
not prohibit range cattle from accessing streams, nor does it eliminate the use of 
properly designed water gaps. 
 
 COMMENT NO. 9:  Several producers objected to the use of certified nutrient 
management planners to develop a nutrient management plan.  Additionally, a few 
commentors inquired as to the qualifications of a certified nutrient management 
planner. 
 RESPONSE:  The rules do not require the use of certified nutrient 
management planners to develop a nutrient management plan (NMP).  Instead, the 
rules require that CAFOs report whether or not a certified nutrient management 
planner developed the facility’s NMP.  40 CFR 122.42(e)(4)(vii).  When EPA revised 
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the CAFO regulations, it originally proposed that all NMPs be developed by certified 
planners.  After public comment, EPA decided that there was not enough information 
at this time to determine whether or not certified nutrient management planners were 
readily available to all CAFOs.  Consequently, the revised rules require only that 
CAFOs report whether they used a certified planner.  EPA will use this information 
for any future revisions to the CAFO rules. 
 The proposed Department Circular DEQ-9 provides information on how to 
find a certified planner in Montana.  Certified planners include comprehensive 
nutrient management planners certified through the Natural Resource Conservation 
Service and crop advisors certified through the American Society of Agronomy. 
 
 COMMENT NO. 10:  Several producers stated that the proposed 
recordkeeping requirements are too burdensome.  Additionally, several commentors 
stated that the number of animals confined and the amount of waste generated is 
not relevant and cannot be accurately reported. 
 RESPONSE:  The record keeping requirements are necessary to 
demonstrate the best management practices are being implemented at the CAFO.  
EPA determined that the best management practices, including routine inspections 
and the development and implementation of a nutrient management plan, were cost 
effective ways for CAFOs to reduce pollution. 
 Because the regulatory definition of a CAFO is based on the number of 
animals confined for 45 days or more in a 12-month period of time, the information 
about animal numbers is relevant.  Information about the amount of waste generated 
is relevant to the goal of implementing management practices that are designed to 
properly manage the waste. 
 The Board realizes that it is sometimes difficult to summarize the annual 
waste produced at an operation, especially for open lot facilities where wastewater 
generation is dependent on rainfall.  In order to aid producers, Circular DEQ-9 
includes some guidance for calculating waste production.  This information is 
provided for guidance only and is not a required method for calculating waste.  To 
help avoid confusion about how this guidance is to be used, the Circular has been 
modified to contain procedures for adjusting the calculated daily manure production 
to reflect natural physical reductions due to evaporation, etc., at open lots.  It is 
important to note that, although producers cannot predict the amount of rainfall they 
will receive, average rainfall statistics can be used to get a rough estimate of the 
amount of process wastewater generated at their operations. 
 
 COMMENT NO. 11:  One producer stated that the specified containment 
requirements are too stringent. 
 RESPONSE:  CAFOs are required to contain all process-generated 
wastewater plus the runoff and direct precipitation from a 25-year, 24-hour storm 
event.  This requirement has been in place since the 1970s, and remains the same 
in the current rules, except for large swine, poultry, and veal calf operations 
designed and built after April 14, 2003.  These latter operations are required, under 
the revised rules, to build waste control facilities to contain all process-generated 
wastewater plus the runoff and direct precipitation from a 100-year, 24-hour storm 
event.  40 CFR 412.46.  EPA determined that large swine, poultry, and veal CAFOs 
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could feasibly meet this requirement because these animals are predominately 
maintained in confinement housing, without open confinement areas that generate 
large volumes of contaminated storm water runoff. 
 
 COMMENT NO. 12:  Several commentors stated that the definitions of animal 
feeding operations (AFOs) and CAFOs are arbitrary.  Additionally, one commentor 
stated that two or more AFOs under common ownership should only be considered 
as one if they both discharge to a common runoff control system. 
 RESPONSE:  The regulatory definitions of AFOs and CAFOs are unchanged 
from the March 18, 1976, federal rule, so the comments about the animal numbers 
used in the definitions are outside the scope of this rulemaking.  The new rules do 
remove the animal unit as an indicator and replace it with specific animal types.  
These changes are reasonably designed to address the potential for adverse effects 
on water quality from CAFOs. 
 The existing CAFO rules specify that two or more AFOs under common 
ownership are considered one if they adjoin each other or use a common disposal 
area.  No change to this provision has occurred in the revised rules, so this comment 
is outside the scope of this rulemaking. 
 
 COMMENT NO. 13:  Several producers questioned the authority of the Board 
to require proper mortality management.  Additionally, the producers inquired why 
the Department’s current CAFO permit application asks for information regarding 
programs to control odors, dust, flies, and rodents. 
 RESPONSE:  The revised federal regulations specify that CAFOs must 
properly dispose of animal mortalities, and prohibit disposal of mortalities in any 
liquid waste control structure.  40 CFR 122.42(e)(1)(ii); 40 CFR 412.37(a)(4).  The 
EPA determined that proper disposal of animal mortalities could be economically 
achieved by the CAFO industry and that this practice would further reduce the 
likelihood of pollutants being discharged into waters.  Department Circular DEQ-9 
references some additional requirements for animal mortality disposal.  These 
requirements are already part of the state’s solid waste rules and are summarized in 
the Circular so that producers are aware of additional requirements applicable to 
mortality disposal. 
 The Board’s statutory authority for these rules is found in 75-5-201, 75-5-304 
and 75-5-401, MCA.  In addition, 75-5-802(1), MCA, specifically directs the Board to 
incorporate by reference the federal CAFO regulations. 
 The Department’s application form requests information about programs for 
the control of odors, dust, flies, and rodents.  The reason for this is to allow the 
Department to evaluate any water quality related concerns related to management 
of those problems.  Programs used to control rodents and flies may involve the 
application of pesticides, resulting in pesticide-contaminated runoff discharging into 
the waste control structure.  A dust control program may involve a spray system that 
may require additional containment, depending on the volume of water used for 
suppression. 
 
 COMMENT NO. 14:  Several commentors questioned the authority of the 
Board to require that animal waste management systems be designed by qualified 
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individuals and/or licensed professional engineers.  Additionally, one commentor 
questioned the Board’s statutory authority to establish certain design criteria for 
animal waste management systems.  Specifically, this commentor questioned the 
requirement to follow certain setback distances and application rates. 
 RESPONSE:  The rules require CAFO facilities to be designed, constructed, 
operated and maintained to contain all manure, litter, and process wastewater 
including the runoff and direct precipitation from a 25-year, 24-hour storm event (or 
100-year, 24-hour storm event for large swine, poultry, or veal calf operations built 
after April 14, 2003).  See, e.g., 40 CFR 412.31.  Given the degree of technical 
knowledge necessary to design a waste control system, the Department originally 
proposed, in Circular DEQ-9, that plans and specifications should be submitted by a 
licensed professional engineer.  However, after meeting with stakeholders in 
October of 2004, the Department changed this language to say that plans and 
specifications must be submitted by an individual qualified to design an animal waste 
management system.  Circular DEQ-9, Section 1, page 5.  This change was made 
so that other design professionals, such as extension specialists, and pre-
engineered designs, like those offered through MidWest Plan Service, could be 
used.  This change was appropriate given the deadlines by which producers must 
comply with these rules, uncertainty about the number of available licensed 
professional engineers, and the number of other qualified design professionals 
and/or plans currently available to producers.  Because proper design of CAFO 
waste control systems is important to protect water quality, the Board's authority to 
adopt MPDES rules includes authority to adopt design standards for waste control 
systems and to require that such systems be designed by qualified persons. 
 The design criteria that are the subject of this comment are for the purpose of 
preventing pollution of state waters.  The Board has authority to adopt such criteria 
under the Water Quality Act.  It should be noted that the design criteria are not 
mandatory because a deviation procedure exists.  In order to provide guidance for 
producers and design professionals as to what constitutes a properly designed 
system, Circular DEQ-9 contains a list of design criteria.  These criteria are based on 
established industry standards that must be addressed during the design period of 
each facility.  The Circular includes a provision allowing the Department to approve 
deviations from the listed criteria for situations where site-specific factors warrant a 
different approach. 
 The application rate that was questioned by the commentor comes directly 
from the Natural Resources Conservation Service design criteria for wastewater 
treatment strips.  Under the proposed rules, producers are allowed and encouraged 
to request a deviation from the design criteria to reflect site-specific factors such as 
soil type, etc. 
 The setback distance that is questioned states that sewage lagoons 
constructed after October 1, 1993, may not be located within 500 feet of existing 
water wells.  This requirement is not new, and reflects existing provisions in the 
Montana Water Quality Act at 75-5-605, MCA.  The pollution potential from animal 
waste and contaminated storm water runoff that has been concentrated into one 
area is high.  The term "sewage" includes animal wastes.  75-5-103(26), MCA.  In 
order to help protect ground water quality from the contaminants present in this type 
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of waste, the Circular refers to the statutory setback between sewage lagoons and 
existing water wells. 
 
 COMMENT NO. 15:  Several commentors asked that the Department do all 
that it can to return to the use of a general permit for CAFOs. 
 RESPONSE:  Pursuant to legislation passed in 2005, most CAFO discharge 
permits will now be issued under Water Quality Act general permit procedures.  See 
75-5-802, MCA. 
 
 COMMENT NO. 16:  Several commentors stated that the deadlines for the 
design and construction of animal waste management systems are not realistic. 
 RESPONSE:  The rules do not contain deadlines for the design and 
construction of animal waste management systems.  The deadlines in the rules 
require only that producers submit an application to the Department for the CAFO 
within a certain timeframe. 
 
 COMMENT NO. 17:  The Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) 
submitted comments relating to Circular DEQ-9.  The comments noted 
inconsistencies with the basis for land application rates and suggestions for limiting 
the use of the Montana Fertilizer Guidelines.  In addition, one producer commented 
that phosphorus based application may be too limiting for his operation. 
 RESPONSE:  Changes have been made to the tables listed in proposed 
Circular DEQ-9 regarding the basis for land application rates.  However, Table 21 of 
the Montana Fertilizer Guidelines will continue to be included in the proposed 
Circular.  The Guidelines provide Montana-specific nutrient removal rates, nutrient 
requirements, and crop replacement/removal values for the harvested portion.  The 
Guidelines were developed by Montana State University using multiple fields and 
crops over multiple years.  When site-specific information is available or is known 
through actual field experience, the producer is required to maintain this information 
as part of the recordkeeping requirements to ensure that nutrients are applied at 
agronomic rates. 
 
 COMMENT NO. 18:  A few comments were received regarding the proposed 
best management practices.  One producer inquired as to how strictly these best 
management practices must be followed.  Another commentor objected to the best 
management practice listed in proposed Circular DEQ-9 that states that animals 
must be prohibited from entering into waste containment structures or their dikes, 
unless expressly stated in a facility’s Operation and Maintenance Plan and approved 
by the Department.  The NRCS also suggested that the best management practices 
regarding the application of waste to frozen or snow-covered ground be modified to 
require identification of those application areas in the approved plan. 
 RESPONSE:  Under the revised federal regulations, it is mandatory that 
CAFOs develop and implement best management practices to comply with the 
applicable effluent limitation guidelines.  40 CFR 122.42(e)(1).  Circular DEQ-9 
summarizes all of the best management practices that are set out in the federal 
regulations.  Circular DEQ-9, Section 4.  The Circular uses the terms "must" and 
"should" to distinguish between mandatory and recommended measures. 
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 The rules require that all waste control facilities be properly operated and 
maintained.  40 CFR 122.42(e)(1)(i).  During routine inspections and complaint 
investigations, the Department has documented numerous occasions where 
producers have destroyed their waste control structures by allowing animals access. 
The Circular clarifies that proper maintenance of a waste control structure would not 
ordinarily include the confining of animals in the lagoon or containment structure.  
Trampling of the dikes and berms would affect the containment structure’s waste 
holding capabilities. 
 Circular DEQ-9 requires the producer to notify the Department prior to 
applying liquid manure or process wastewater to frozen ground.  Circular DEQ-9, 
Section 4, page 18.  This will allow the Department to review a proposed application 
site based on current conditions at the site at the time of application. 
 
 COMMENT NO. 19:  The NRCS submitted comments asking that certain 
items in proposed Circular DEQ-9 be defined or clarified. 
 RESPONSE:  Minor changes have been made to the Circular for clarity.  
Changes have been made to correct typographical errors and to incorporate wording 
for clarification.  In addition, the terms "shall," "must," "may not," and "required" have 
been bolded to more clearly indicate enforceable provisions of the Circular.  Terms 
such as "should," "may," and "recommended" are merely suggestions and are 
provided to assist producers in locating information. 
 
 COMMENT NO. 20:  One commentor wanted to make sure that the Board 
rules did not go beyond the federal CAFO rules. 
 RESPONSE:  See Response to Comment No. 7. 
 
Reviewed by:    BOARD OF ENVIRONMENTAL REVIEW 
 
 
 
/s/ James M. Madden      By:  /s/ Joseph W. Russell    
JAMES M. MADDEN   JOSEPH W. RUSSELL, M.P.H. 
Rule Reviewer    Chairman 
 
 Certified to the Secretary of State, February 13, 2006. 
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 BEFORE THE BOARD OF ENVIRONMENTAL REVIEW 
 AND THE DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
 OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of ARM 
17.36.345, 17.38.101, 17.38.106, 
17.38.208, and 17.38.229 pertaining to 
adoption by reference, plans for public 
water supply or wastewater system, 
fees, treatment requirements, and 
disinfection 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF AMENDMENT 
 

(PUBLIC WATER) 
(SEWAGE SYSTEM 
REQUIREMENTS) 
(SUBDIVISIONS) 

 
 TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
 1.  On October 27, 2005, the Board of Environmental Review and the 
Department of Environmental Quality published MAR Notice No. 17-234 regarding a 
notice of public hearing on the proposed amendment of the above-stated rules at 
page 2002, 2005 Montana Administrative Register, issue number 20. 
 
 2.  The Department has amended ARM 17.36.345 exactly as proposed, and 
has adopted Circulars DEQ-1 and DEQ-3 with changes in response to comments as 
set out in paragraph 3.  The Board has amended ARM 17.38.101, 17.38.106, and 
17.38.208 exactly as proposed.  The Board has adopted Circulars DEQ-1 and DEQ-
3 with changes in response to comments as set out in paragraph 3, and has 
amended ARM 17.38.229 as proposed, but with the following changes, new material 
underlined, stricken material interlined: 
 
 17.38.229  DISINFECTION  (1)  Full time disinfection with chlorine, chlorine 
dioxide, chloramines, or a disinfectant that maintains a residual is mandatory where 
the source of water is from lakes, reservoirs, or streams, or ground water sources 
under the direct influence of surface water, or where the water may be exposed to a 
potential source of contamination including, but not limited to: 
 (a)  losses of positive pressure within the system that could result in backflow 
or infiltration conditions; or 
 (b)  unprotected or poorly protected ground water sources; or 
 (c) remains as proposed, but is renumbered (b). 
 (2)  Full time disinfection of the water supply is mandatory whenever the 
water may be exposed to a potential source of contamination through: 
 (a)  treatment processes, as determined by the department; or 
 (b)  unprotected or poorly protected ground water sources. 
 (3)  Full time disinfection of the water in a ground water supply system is 
mandatory whenever the record of bacteriological tests of the system does not 
indicate a safe water under the criteria listed in ARM 17.38.207 and 17.38.215.  Full 
time disinfection with chlorine, chlorine dioxide, chloramines, or a disinfectant that 
maintains a residual may be required where the history and nature of the 
contaminant indicate a residual is required to ensure safe water. 
 (4) remains as proposed. 
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 (5)  The residual disinfectant concentration measured as free chlorine, total 
chlorine, combined chlorine, chlorine dioxide, or other department approved 
disinfectant(s), in the distribution system of a ground water supply system required 
by the department to use continuous disinfection with chlorine, chlorine dioxide, 
chloramines, or a disinfectant that maintains a residual must not be less than 0.2mg/l 
using the DPD method or 0.1mg/l using the amperometric titration method.  A 
heterotrophic bacteria concentration in water in the distribution system less than or 
equal to 500 per milliliter, measured as heterotrophic plate count (HPC), is an 
acceptable substitute for disinfectant residual for purposes of determining 
compliance with this rule. 
 
 3.  The following comments were received and appear with the Board's and 
Department's responses: 
 
 COMMENT NO. 1:  In ARM 17.38.229(1)(a), clarify when disinfection with 
chlorine will be required.  Every ground, elevated, or pumped storage system has 
pressure losses in the distribution system. 
 RESPONSE:  The intention is to require disinfection with chlorine when loss 
of pressure within the distribution system could result in backflow or infiltration 
conditions that could expose the system to sources of contamination.  The rule has 
been amended as shown above in response to this comment. 
 
 COMMENT NO. 2:  The proposed rule language in ARM 17.38.229 limits the 
use of alternative disinfectants other than chlorine. 
 RESPONSE:  The Board recognizes that other disinfectants may be 
appropriate in certain situations.  ARM 17.38.229(1)(b) has been removed and 
placed in 17.38.229(2) to allow other disinfection methods for ground water systems 
that are unprotected, poorly protected, or may be exposed to a potential source of 
contamination. 
 The language in ARM 17.38.229(1), (3), and (5), that refers to the use of 
chlorine, has been expanded to include chlorine dioxide, chloramines, or a 
disinfectant that maintains a residual.  The term “chlorine” was intended to include 
any form of chlorine, such as chlorine dioxide or chloramines.  However, the 
additional language will clarify what type of disinfectant is acceptable. 
 The requirement for chlorine, chlorine dioxide, chloramines, or a disinfectant 
that maintains a residual for surface water and ground water under the direct 
influence of surface water is contained in ARM 17.38.229(1).  The Surface Water 
Treatment Rule (SWTR) as promulgated by the Environmental Protection Agency 
(EPA) has been adopted by reference in its entirety by the Board.  The SWTR 
requires all regulated systems (surface water and ground water under the direct 
influence of surface water) to maintain a minimum disinfectant residual at the entry 
to the distribution system of 0.2 mg/L measured as free chlorine, total chlorine, 
combined chlorine, or chlorine dioxide, and that the disinfectant residual be 
detectable within the distribution system.  Therefore, the rules must require systems 
regulated under the SWTR to use a disinfectant that maintains a residual, such as 
chlorine, chlorine dioxide, or chloramines.  However, disinfectants other than 
chlorine can and have been used by systems to achieve primary inactivation of 
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pathogens.  Please refer to Comment No. 3 and the Response to that comment for 
information on disinfectants that are allowed for primary inactivation of pathogens. 
 The language that requires ground water systems to maintain a disinfectant 
residual where protection of the distribution system is necessary is contained in 
ARM 17.38.229(3).  Other disinfectants such as ozone or UV decay rapidly and 
cannot provide the residual necessary to protect the distribution system. 
 
 COMMENT NO. 3:  There are several other disinfection methods, including 
EPA-approved filtration, ozonation, and UV systems that can remove or destroy 
microbial species as effectively if not more effectively than chlorine depending on the 
type of microbe. 
 RESPONSE:  The Board has previously adopted by reference all currently 
promulgated EPA drinking water rules that apply to systems using either surface 
water or ground water under the direct influence of surface water as follows: 
 
Surface Water Treatment Rule (SWTR) (40 CFR Sections 141.70 through 141.75) 
 
Interim Enhanced Surface Water Treatment Rule (40 CFR Sections 141.170 through 
141.175) 
 
Long Term 1 Enhanced Surface Water Treatment Rule (40 CFR Sections 141.500 
through 141.571) 
 
 These rules require that a system achieve removal and/or inactivation of 
Cryptosporidium, Giardia, and viruses through a combination of treatment 
(consisting of coagulation, flocculation, sedimentation, and filtration) and/or 
disinfection.  The Board and Department recognize that chlorine is ineffective 
against Cryptosporidium and require surface water systems to install treatment 
processes (coagulation and filtration) to physically remove Cryptosporidium or 
implement a watershed control plan and monitoring to comply with the criteria to 
avoid filtration as stipulated in 40 CFR Section 141.71.  The SWTR lists a number of 
disinfectants (chlorine, chlorine dioxide, and ozone) that can be used to achieve 
primary inactivation of pathogens and the rules allow the use of these disinfectants. 
 
 COMMENT NO. 4:  There is substantial research regarding the potential 
negative health impact of chronic exposure to chlorinated disinfection byproducts. 
 RESPONSE:  The Board and Department recognize that chlorine combines 
with organic matter to form disinfection byproducts.  The Board has adopted by 
reference the Disinfectants and Disinfection Byproducts Rule (Stage 1) as 
promulgated by EPA.  The rules currently require any system (surface water and 
ground water) that uses a chemical disinfectant to monitor for all regulated 
disinfection byproducts, including total trihalomethanes and haloacetic acids.  
Surface water systems that practice filtration typically achieve substantial organic 
removal to limit the formation of disinfection byproducts.  Therefore, chlorine used 
for disinfection purposes after filtration has not created any issues with Stage 1 
compliance.  However, there are some systems that are developing alternative 
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treatment strategies, including the use of disinfectants other than chlorine, to 
address high disinfection byproduct concentrations. 
 
 COMMENT NO. 5:  Circular DEQ-1, Standard 2.18.  Will the revised wording, 
mandating compliance with all other applicable safety codes and regulations, require 
Department staff to review plans for compliance with other codes and will approval 
constitute compliance with those codes? 
 RESPONSE:  Department staff will not review plans for compliance with other 
applicable codes.  The revisions require only that the applicable codes be referenced 
in the specifications or engineering report narrative.  Department review and 
approval is limited to the Department’s authority under Title 75 of the Montana Code 
Annotated. 
 
 COMMENT NO. 6:  Circular DEQ-1, Standard 6.0.  The revised wording may 
be interpreted by the Department to require that valves, meters, and controls be 
placed above ground. 
 RESPONSE:  This standard does not apply to valves, meters, or controls, but 
only to pumping stations as covered in Chapter 6.  In addition, the term “should” 
indicates desirable procedures or methods, not mandatory requirements (see 
Circular DEQ-1, Forward).  The requirements for distribution system appurtenances 
such as valves and meters are covered in Standard 8.6, which states “Whenever 
possible, chambers, pits or manholes containing valves, blow-offs, meters or other 
such appurtenances to the distribution system must not be located in areas subject 
to flooding or in areas of high ground water.”  As long as the valve or meter location 
is not subject to flooding or high ground water, it may be buried underground. 
 
 COMMENT NO. 7:  Circular DEQ-1, Section 7.0.1.  Where small systems are 
required to provide fire flow, the increase in water storage capacity may result in 
stagnation and poor water quality.  The Department may want to establish a 
maximum number of days for turnover in a storage tank.  Some flexibility should be 
given to small systems to balance stagnant water issues with fire protection 
capacity. 
 RESPONSE:  The Board and Department do not concur with this 
recommendation since the risk of negative pressures under fire flow conditions could 
result in a serious health hazard.  If less storage is appropriate for a specific 
situation, a deviation can be granted. 
 
 COMMENT NO. 8:  Circular DEQ-1, Standard 7.0.1 seems to require a 
minimum of maximum day demand or average day demand.  Which is correct? 
 RESPONSE:  The Board and Department concur that the wording of this 
standard may be confusing and have made changes to the Circular. 
 
 COMMENT NO. 9:  In Circular DEQ-1, Standard 7.0.8, changing the word 
“manholes” to “manways” may clarify the meaning. 
 RESPONSE:  The Board and Department concur with this comment and have 
made changes to the Circular. 
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 COMMENT NO. 10:  In Circulars DEQ-1 and DEQ-3, revised wording 
regarding fire flow determinations needs clarification. 
 RESPONSE:  The Board and Department concur that these Standards may 
require clarification and has made changes to the Circulars. 
 
 COMMENT NO. 11:  Circular DEQ-1, Section 8.2.2.  If a professional 
engineer properly designs the system, why do we have to set a minimum on main 
size?  There are scenarios where a 2” main would meet the system requirements. 
 RESPONSE:  The Board and Department concur that setting a minimum size 
may be unnecessarily restrictive and have changed this Standard from a 
requirement to a recommendation.  There is adequate justification for leaving the 
recommended 3” size as small pipes have small hydraulic radii and this increases 
water quality deterioration through contact with the pipe wall, increases friction 
through interior incrustations and associated decreases in hydraulic capacity, and 
increases the relative effect of joint leakage.  The recommended size also gives 
some margin of safety for disparate predictions of peak instantaneous demand.  The 
Board and Department have made changes to the Circular. 
 
 COMMENT NO. 12:  Circular DEQ-1, Standard 8.15.  This new Standard 
requires Department approval of temporary water distribution during construction.  
Temporary water usually falls under the purview of the project contractor, rather than 
the design engineer.  A delay of 60 days for review of the contractor’s plan would 
have major financial and schedule impacts.  It would be ideal for the Department to 
establish temporary standards so that contractors and engineers know what the 
standards are and the design engineers can enforce them. 
 RESPONSE:  The Board and Department concur that objective standards 
that can be included in the contract specifications are appropriate.  If these 
requirements are included in the contract specifications, the project contractor will 
not be required to submit an additional plan for approval.  The Board and 
Department have made language changes to the Circular. 
 
 COMMENT NO. 13:  Certified Checklists.  Two engineers from the same firm 
should be able to stamp Main Extension Certified Checklists where the public water 
system does not have a City Engineer on staff or on retainer. 
 RESPONSE:  The intent of the certified checklist procedure was to allow for a 
shortened review process when the project was reviewed by an independent 
engineer acting on behalf of the public water supply rather than a project developer. 
 However, current language allows review by an engineer from the same firm as 
long as the review engineer is acting on behalf of the PWS rather than the 
developer, and the PWS submits a letter of concurrence. 
 
 COMMENT NO. 14:  One additional comment was received on December 24, 
2005, one month after the public comment period closed. 
 RESPONSE:  The additional comment was duplicative of Comment No. 4.  
The Board and Department response to this comment is contained in Response to 
Comment No. 4. 
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Reviewed by:    BOARD OF ENVIRONMENTAL REVIEW 
 
 
 
/s/ James M. Madden      By:  /s/ Joseph W. Russell    
JAMES M. MADDEN   JOSEPH W. RUSSELL, M.P.H. 
Rule Reviewer    Chairman 
 
 
 
         BY:  /s/ Richard H. Opper    
       RICHARD H. OPPER, Director 
 
 
 Certified to the Secretary of State, February, 2006. 
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BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
STATE OF MONTANA 

 
In the matter of the    )  NOTICE OF AMENDMENT 
amendment of ARM 24.29.4301,  ) 
24.29.4303, 24.29.4314,    ) 
24.29.4321, 24.29.4332, and  ) 
24.29.4335, all related to   ) 
the workers' compensation   ) 
reporting database    ) 
 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
 1.  On August 25, 2005, the Department of Labor and Industry published 
MAR Notice No. 24-29-198 regarding the public hearing on the proposed 
amendment of the above-stated rules relating to the workers' compensation 
reporting database at page 1570 of the 2005 Montana Administrative Register, Issue 
no. 16. 
 
 2.  On September 14, 2005, the Department of Labor and Industry held a 
public hearing in Helena regarding the above-stated rules at which oral comments 
were received.  Additional written comments were received prior to the closing date 
of September 23, 2005. 
 
 3.  The Department has thoroughly considered the comments and testimony 
received.  The following is a summary of the comments received and the 
Department's responses to those comments: 
 
Comment 1:  A comment requested an explanation of the purpose of the reporting 
requirements for claimants' attorneys. 
 
Response 1:  As provided by 39-71-225, MCA, the purpose of the workers' 
compensation reporting database system is to provide management information to 
the legislative and executive branches.  To that end, the department has adopted 
the International Association of Industrial Accident Boards and Commissions 
(IAIABC) reporting standards.  These standards detail reporting requirements for 
insurers.  However, the standards do not detail reporting requirements for attorneys. 
The department needs to gather data in order to compare the amount of legal fees 
paid by insurers versus the amount of legal fees paid by claimants on workers' 
compensation claims, as part of the collection of the costs of legal involvement as 
required by 39-71-225(2)(a)(iii), MCA.  Hence, the department initially promulgated 
ARM 24.29.4332 in 1995 regarding claimants' attorney reporting.  Over time, the 
department discovered that the reports from claimants' attorneys do not allow for 
meaningful comparison because the reports do not cover the same time period as 
reports from insurers.  In addition, more reporting was required than was useful.  
The rule amendments adopted in this notice are intended to make claimant attorney 
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and insurer reporting more uniform and at the same time reduce reporting 
requirements, in order to provide more useful data. 
 
To that end, as indicated below, the department has changed the claimant attorney 
reporting rule to require an initial report upon the first payment of legal fees rather 
than upon the first payment of costs by a claimant. Therefore, the first report is not 
required until the first payment of a fee.  Because the majority of fee payments occur 
upon settlement, only one report in total is required from claimants' attorneys in that 
situation.  The department estimates about 75% of reporting on attorney fees paid 
by claimants will occur on a one-time basis. 
 
Further, certain legal fee payments confuse the straightforward purpose of 
comparing fees paid by claimants to fees paid by insurers.  For example, in the case 
of liens, although an insurer makes the payment of the fee, the actual fee comes out 
of the claimant's benefits and must therefore be categorized as paid by the claimant. 
Under Montana's application of IAIABC standards, insurers report these payments 
as claimants' benefit payments.  Therefore, the department requires claimants' 
attorneys to report these fees, the same as all other fees and costs paid by or on 
behalf of a claimant, in order to come up with proper comparison data. 
 
Comment 2:  Numerous comments were received from claimants’ attorneys stating 
the proposed amendment to ARM 24.29.4332(2) was unreasonably burdensome 
because it required the initial legal fee report within 14 days of receipt of the first 
payment of legal costs for each claim. Under such a requirement, the attorneys 
commented they would be required to file reports on every claim right at the 
beginning since the first cost charged to claimants is the cost of getting a copy of the 
file from the insurer. 
 
Response 2:  The department agrees that such a requirement is unduly burdensome 
and accordingly has amended ARM 24.29.4332(2).  As amended, the initial legal fee 
report will be required when the attorney actually receives the first fee payment from 
the claimant on or behalf of the claimant.  Therefore, no reporting of costs is required 
when the attorney receives the first cost payment, but costs are then reported when 
fees are reported. 
 
Comment 3:  Numerous comments were received from claimants’ attorneys and 
from the Montana Trial Lawyers Association stating the proposed amendments to 
ARM 24.29.4332 would cause an undue burden upon them because they believed 
the rule would increase the number of reports that are required.  They also 
commented such an undue burden would in turn be an increased burden on 
claimants because the existing regulation of workers' compensation claims already 
reduces the number of attorneys willing to represent such claimants. 
 
Response 3:  In light of the amendment discussed in Response 2, the department 
believes the proposed rule decreases the reporting requirements because the first 
report due, the initial report, is only submitted when the attorney actually receives a 
payment of fees.  As mentioned, many times the first and only payment of fees is at 
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settlement.  The proposed rule therefore requires only one report in cases where the 
first and only fee payment received is at settlement.  As a result, the department 
does not believe the new reporting requirements will cause an undue burden on 
claimants' attorneys.  In the cases where the attorney receives biweekly payments of 
legal fees, then the initial legal report is due within 14 days of the first fee payment 
and a subsequent legal fee report is due within 14 days of each six-month 
anniversary of the injury or occupational disease until no further fees are expected. 
 
Comment 4:  Numerous comments were received from claimants’ attorneys 
questioning why six-month intervals were important because the attorneys believed 
the calendaring process for six-month intervals would be burdensome.  A comment 
was also received that it was burdensome to have the reports due within 14 days of 
the triggering event because attorney billing is usually done on a 30-day basis. 
 
Response 4:  As discussed in the “General Statement of Reasonable Necessity” in 
the proposal notice, the department determined its business processes and rule 
related to attorney reporting of fees and costs should be consistent with insurer 
reporting in order to get more meaningful results from the data reported.  Insurers 
are required to report their legal fees and cost payments at six-month intervals on 
the subsequent reports they submit to the department as required by ARM 
24.29.4321(3), so this notice amends the rule to place claimant attorney reporting on 
a six-month interval as well. 
 
The department does not believe the six-month interval will require burdensome 
calendaring for the small percentage of claims that are not dealt with in one report 
upon settlement because the department sends a reminder to attorneys just prior to 
the six-month anniversary for each subsequent report that is due.  Therefore, 
claimants’ attorneys do not need to calendar reports. 
 
Regarding the 14-day window, the previous version of ARM 24.29.4332(4) required 
claimants’ attorneys to submit the reports within 10 days of the triggering event.  The 
14 days is consistent with insurer’s reporting requirements and is longer than the 
previous rule. The department intends to use the due date to trigger reminder 
notices and follow-up with attorneys who may have missed submission of reports.  
No other consequences are planned.  Therefore, the department concludes the 14-
day time frame is not unduly burdensome. 
 
Comment 5:  Numerous comments were received from claimants’ attorneys stating 
the complexity of apportioning legal fees and costs to separate claims when the 
attorney represents the claimant on multiple claims. 
 
Response 5:  The department agrees this could result in unnecessary problems and 
has amended ARM 24.29.4332(2) accordingly. 
 
Comment 6:  A couple of comments were received that questioned why ARM 
24.29.4332(1)(b) specifically referenced the Lockhart case and stated it was not 
clear or necessary. 
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Response 6:  The department agrees with the comment and agrees it is not 
necessary to specifically refer to the Lockhart case.  The department has amended 
ARM 24.29.4332(1)(b) accordingly.  The department also amended ARM 
24.29.4332(6)(a) to clarify that the report must include the, “total amount of legal 
fees paid to date by the claimant or on behalf of a claimant.” 
 
Comment 7:  A couple of comments stated the rules weren’t clear as to who reports 
the claimant legal fees and costs paid by the insurer.  The commenter stated the 
payment reports might be duplicated if the rule isn’t clear. 
 
Response 7:  The department agrees that the rules need to be clarified to indicate 
that the insurer reports the insurer's legal fees and costs paid by the insurer, while 
the claimants' attorneys report the legal fees and costs paid by or on behalf of the 
claimant.  Regarding claimant's legal fees and costs that are paid by the insurer to 
claimants' attorneys as part of a settlement, under IAIABC standards, insurers 
currently report these payments as claimants' benefits payments rather than 
payments of legal fees and costs.  Therefore, the department requires claimants' 
attorneys to report their fees and costs payments in order to accurately show what is 
paid as legal fees and costs.  The department is then able to use IAIABC reporting 
codes for insurers to properly compare the data.  The department has amended 
ARM 24.29.4335(1) to clarify that insurers report on a per-claim basis, the amount of 
the insurer’s legal fees and costs.  Insurer reporting of benefits remains as it has 
always been reported under ARM 24.29.4321. 
 
Comment 8:  A comment was received that recommended replacing the term 
“trading partner” with “reporting agent”, amending all references of “legal fees” to 
“attorney fees”, and deleting references to “consultant fees”.  The commenter noted 
that 39-71-225, MCA, and associated statutes use the phrase attorney fees rather 
than legal fees.  The commenter also suggested amending the insurer reporting 
requirements by itemizing the legal cost items in order to make the insurer rule read 
the same as the claimant attorney rule. 
 
Response 8:  The department participates in the IAIABC’s efforts to nationally 
standardize the reporting requirements so the department chooses to use the 
IAIABC terms and definitions wherever possible.  The terms “trading partner” and 
“legal fees” are defined in the IAIABC Data Dictionary so the department will not 
change these terms. 
 
ARM 24.29.4339 was not noticed or part of the hearing process for these rules 
changes, and therefore, the department cannot address the rule's use of the phrase 
"consultant fees" in this notice of amendment.  The department will take into 
consideration the comment recommending deletion of “consultant fees” at the next 
update to these rules. 
 
The department does not believe the insurer rule needs to read the same as the 
attorney rule at this time because insurer reporting is much more extensive and is 
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detailed by the IAIABC reporting requirements.  ARM 24.29.4321 addresses general 
insurer reporting and does not contain specifics due the IAIABC standards.  ARM 
24.29.4335 regarding insurer reporting of legal fees is simply intended to clarify that 
this reporting is required in addition to the reporting in ARM 24.29.4321.  However, 
the insurer reporting under ARM 24.29.4335 is also under IAIABC standards. 
 
Comment 9:  The Montana Self-Insurers Association commented that the complete 
set of rules should be included in the proposed rules notice so that readers could 
better understand the meaning and consequences of the proposed changes. 
 
Response 9:  While the department agrees including the complete rules in a rules 
notice aids readers in understanding the proposed changes, such an approach 
would substantially increase the cost of rules notices due to the per page charges for 
publication by the Secretary of State and for additional copying and mailing expense. 
 The department prefers to hold down costs and will provide complete copies of 
rules to any interested party that makes a specific request so that the party can read 
the notice within its complete context.  The department also makes its current rules 
accessible on the internet for this and other purposes. 
 
Comment 10:  Two comments pointed out that by including the phrase "but are not 
limited to" to preface the list of costs required to be reported by claimants' attorneys, 
ARM 24.29.4332 could cause disagreements about reporting requirements for costs. 
 
Response 10:  The department acknowledges the potential for disagreement but 
believes the potential is small.  In the past, claimants' attorneys have reported costs 
and the department has not had any problems with the reports.  The list is included 
in the rule as a guideline to reporting all costs. 
 
Comment 11:  One comment asked whether claimants' attorneys will have to report 
the information in a specific electronic format. 
 
Response 11:  Currently, the department will accept reports from claimants' 
attorneys via email, fax, or mail.  The department does not require electronic 
reporting at this time. 
 
Comment 12:  One comment wondered whether any report would have to be filed if 
there is nothing new to report in six months. 
 
Response 12:  If it is not a first and final report due to one payment at settlement, 
reports have to be filed every six months even if no information has changed.  In this 
circumstance, the department suggests refiling the last report by simply copying it 
and updating the date. 
 
Comment 13:  One comment thought that claimants' attorneys should not have to 
report on six-month intervals because under ARM 24.29.4335, insurers only report 
on a per claim basis. 
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Response 13:  Insurers are also required to report in six-month intervals.  The "per-
claim" language in ARM 24.29.4335 is required every six months by virtue of the 
reference to ARM 24.29.4321. 
 
Comment 14:  Keith Messmer, Chief of the Workers' Compensation Regulations 
Bureau, commented that the Uninsured Employers Fund (UEF) should be excluded 
from the “subsequent report” reporting requirement in ARM 24.29.4321(3).  He 
stated the UEF does not have a benefit payment database that can provide the 
information in an electronic format and that the expense of reporting the data 
manually would outweigh the benefit since UEF has only a small number of claims 
per year.  He explained that the UEF also might not make payments at the same 
times and in the same amounts as insurers since payments are dependent on 
funding.  He also pointed out that 39-71-225, MCA, does not require the UEF to 
report data because the UEF does not meet the definition of an insurer or of any of 
the other required reporting parties.  Finally, he noted that the UEF provides year-
end statistical data to the department for inclusion in the department’s Workers’ 
Compensation Annual Report. 
 
Response 14:  The department agrees that the UEF should not submit subsequent 
reports because the UEF is not required to by statute and because the potential data 
submitted by the UEF is not necessarily comparable or useful for database 
purposes.  The department has amended ARM 24.29.4321(3), as indicated below, 
to exclude UEF from the requirement of submitting subsequent reports. 
 
 4.  After consideration of the comments, the department has amended ARM 
24.29.4301, 24.29.4303, and 24.29.4314 exactly as proposed. 
 
 5.  After consideration of the comments, the department has amended ARM 
24.29.4321, 24.29.4332, and 24.29.4335 as proposed, but with the following 
changes, stricken matter interlined, new matter underlined: 
 
 24.29.4321  INSURER REPORTING REQUIREMENTS--INJURIES AND 
OCCUPATIONAL DISEASES  (1)  All insurers and the UEF are required to submit a 
first report of injury and or occupational disease to the department within 30 days of 
the report to the insurer of the accident or of an occupational disease. 
 (2)  remains as proposed. 
 (3)  All insurers and the UEF are required to submit to the department a 
workers’ compensation subsequent report for every indemnity claim within 14 days 
of the occurrence of any one of the following triggering events: 
 (a)  through (6)  remain as proposed. 
 
AUTH:  39-71-203, MCA 
IMP:  39-71-225, 39-71-307, MCA 
 
 24.29.4332  CLAIMANT LEGAL FEES AND COSTS REPORTING 
REQUIREMENTS  (1)  All attorneys that represent claimants shall report, on a per-
claim basis, the amount of legal fees and costs received for each claim where: 
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 (a)  the attorney has an approved fee agreement; and 
 (b)  the attorney actually receives a fee from the claimant or on behalf of a 
claimant.  For purposes of this rule, a fee received on behalf of a claimant as a result 
of a Lockhart lien is a fee withheld by the insurer from a payment to the medical 
provider and issued to the attorney pursuant to Lockhart v. New Hampshire Ins. Co., 
1999 MT 205, 295 Mont. 465, 984 P.2d 744.
 (2)  An initial legal fee report must be reported to the department within 14 
days of the date the attorney actually receives the first fee or cost payment for each 
claim.  If an attorney represents a claimant on multiple claims, the fees and costs for 
all claims need only be reported on one of the claims.
 (3)  through (5)  remain as proposed. 
 (6)  A claimant attorney must report to the department, in the form prescribed 
by the department, the following information: 
 (a)  the total amount of attorney legal fees paid to date by the claimant or on 
behalf of a claimant; and 
 (b)  through (b)(vi)  remain as proposed. 
 
AUTH:  39-71-203, MCA 
IMP:  39-71-225, MCA 
 
 24.29.4335  INSURER LEGAL FEES REPORTING REQUIREMENTS
 (1)  All insurers shall report, on a per-claim basis, the amount of the insurer’s 
legal fees and costs, claimant’s legal fees, and including fees paid to expert 
witnesses, that have been paid to date by the insurer, associated with each 
indemnity claim.  That information must be reported on the subsequent report 
required by ARM 24.29.4321. 
 (2)  remains as proposed. 
 
AUTH:  39-71-203, MCA 
IMP:  39-71-225, MCA 
 
 
/s/ MARK CADWALLADER  /s/ KEITH KELLY
Mark Cadwallader,    Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Alternative Rule Reviewer   DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
Certified to the Secretary of State February 13th, 2006 
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 BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the adoption of NEW )  NOTICE OF ADOPTION 
RULES I through XVIII pertaining to ) 
the elevator services occupational ) 
licensing program ) 
 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
 1.  On November 23, 2005, the Department published MAR Notice No. 24-
142-1 regarding the public hearing on the proposed adoption of the above-stated 
rules relating to the elevator services occupational licensing program, at page 2293 
of the 2005 Montana Administrative Register, issue no. 22. 
 
 2.  On December 15, 2005, at 9:00 a.m., a public hearing was held in Helena, 
Montana, and several members of the public spoke at the public hearing.  In 
addition, written comments were received prior to the closing of the comment period. 
 
 3.  The Department has thoroughly considered all of the comments made.  A 
summary of the comments received and the Department's responses are as follows: 
 
Comment 1:  A comment was received that during the passage of Senate Bill (SB) 
412 the term elevator was purposely not associated with the limited mechanic 
license.  This limited mechanic license was for residential work only and it is 
understood that any commercial elevator installation such as for churches, 
businesses, or public buildings must be performed by a company that holds an 
elevator contractors license.  All references in the new elevator program rules to a 
"limited elevator mechanic's license" should be changed to reflect that they are 
"limited mechanics licenses."  Another commenter stated that the term "license 
limited residential mechanic" is an option to clarify this as well. 
 
Response 1:  The Department agrees with the commenter and has deleted the term 
elevator in the rules as suggested.  Placing "elevator" after "limited" was an 
oversight in the rules and has been removed from all sections of the new rules.  The 
current law, 37-73-203(5), MCA, specifically states that a limited mechanic license 
authorizes a licensee to work only on platform lifts, stairway chairlifts, and 
dumbwaiters that are installed in private residences.  This law does not grant the 
Department the authority to allow a limited mechanic to work on nonresidential 
installations.  The law does not define or use the term residential mechanic so 
therefore residential mechanic is not used to describe those that work only on 
residential elevators. 
 
Comment 2:  Three commenters stated that the fees for a temporary permit should 
be reduced from $50 to $25.  One stating that $25 was more reasonable and the 
other stating that it would be similar to the State of Washington if reduced. 
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Response 2:  Fees must be commensurate with costs as required by 37-1-134, 
MCA.  The fees were set based on the Department's best estimates for licensure 
costs in Montana.  The fees will be monitored and changed accordingly (either up or 
down) as required in the future, in keeping with the statutory requirement. 
 
Comment 3:  Three commenters stated since the law was signed into effect on April 
19, 2005, this date should be used for prior experience instead of October 1, 2005. 
 
Response 3:  The effective date of the legislation is the date used.  Although Senate 
Bill 412 was signed by the Governor in April 2005, the effective date was not until 
October 1, 2005, as indicated in the bill itself.  Therefore, the Department concludes 
that the prior experience must have been obtained by October 1, 2005, pursuant to 
37-73-203, MCA. 
 
Comment 4:  A comment was received that the state should require elevator 
installers who previously worked on elevators to have three years experience to 
qualify for grandfathering.  Consideration by the state should be made focusing on 
the amount of elevator work the person has completed.  In the State of Washington, 
1,800 hours is considered one year of experience. 
 
Response 4:  The Department will review and consider for licensure all applicants 
that can demonstrate they have attained at least three years of experience.  Based 
on a typical nine-month construction season in Montana, 1,500 hours per year will 
be required.  The 1,500 hours per year provision has been added to the 
qualifications for elevator mechanics in New Rule VII. 
 
Comment 5:  Three commenters stated that work done under a temporary permit 
should be allowed to be checked on an appropriate basis rather than on a daily 
basis.  These comments are based on the following:  If an elevator contractor had an 
elevator mechanic available to check the work daily there would be no need for a 
temporary permit.  Secondly, based on the size of Montana it could create a 
hardship on the company to supply a mechanic to travel for daily checks on 
installation.  Third, upon completion of a job the state sends an elevator inspector to 
inspect the installation.  Finally, if a mechanic goes on vacation they would be 
checked when the mechanic returned. 
 
Response 5:  New Rule XII regarding the temporary permit has been amended to 
remove the checking of work on a daily basis.  However, the elevator contractor is 
still responsible for ensuring that work performed by an individual working under a 
temporary permit is checked to ensure public safety.  The elevator inspector is not 
the responsible party to ensure that each aspect of the installation is done correctly. 
 
Comment 6:  Many individuals stated concerns about being limited to residential 
installations only.  They stated that similar conveyances are also installed in 
churches or as handicap access to buildings.  Current contractors expressed worry 
about being put out of business by the new laws and rules. 
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Response 6:  The Department is obligated to implement the laws enacted by the 
Montana legislature, which in 2005 made the public policy decision to require 
licensure in the elevator and lift industry.  The current law, 37-73-203(5), MCA, 
specifically states that a limited mechanic license authorizes a licensee to work only 
on platform lifts, stairway chairlifts, and dumbwaiters that are installed in private 
residences.  This law does not grant the Department the authority to allow a limited 
mechanic to work on nonresidential installations.  Commercial (e.g., nonresidential) 
installations will require an elevator contractor's license and licensed elevator 
mechanics for the installation.  Those with experience of at least three years prior to 
October 1, 2005, will be grandfathered in as appropriate. 
 
Comment 7:  A commenter stated that the law does not appear to address the area 
of handicap and limited use/limited application ("LU/LA") type conveyances.  The 
commenter posed the question whether the commercial elevator contractors would 
be prepared to perform this type of work.  A church typically does not want to add an 
elevator for full public conveyance but simply to meet handicap accessibility 
requirements.  This is true for small businesses as well.  Past impressions on this 
subject have led the commenter to believe that the commercial contractors are not 
interested in this type of work. 
 
Response 7:  Types of nonresidential installations that a limited mechanic may 
install cannot be addressed in these rules; such changes would require legislative 
action.  Current statute allows limited mechanics to work on only residential 
installations. 
 
Comment 8:  A comment was made regarding New Rule V(4) in that it does not 
appear to include the limited elevator contractor.  It appears to only include licensed 
elevator contractors.  Subsections (5), (6), (7), (8) seemed to include both limited 
and elevator contractors. 
 
Response 8:  Section (4) was designed to apply to limited elevator contractors as 
well as elevator contractors.  Neither limited elevator contractors nor elevator 
contractors can allow any person who does not meet the requirements listed in 
(4)(a) through (c) to perform installation or repair work.  The rule has been amended 
accordingly. 
 
Comment 9:  Three individuals expressed concern over using only licensed 
individuals for installations.  The common term used was "helper" and the need to be 
able to use unlicensed individuals to help move large components of an installation.  
A related concern was an increased expense of an installation will be passed on to 
Montana residents if all individuals must be licensed. 
 
Response 9:  An addition has been made to the definition rule (New Rule II) to 
include "helper" which means an individual who is assisting with the installation of 
conveyance components by a licensed elevator mechanic or limited mechanic. 
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Comment 10:  The process of obtaining a limited mechanic’s license is not described 
in rule although New Rule X does describe the elevator mechanics license 
application process.  Does the grandfather clause apply to a limited mechanic and 
the limited elevator contractor? 
 
Response 10:  The Department has changed the catchphrase of New Rule X to 
include limited mechanics because the application process would be similar to an 
elevator mechanic.  The only difference is the type of experience required to obtain a 
license, which is specified in New Rule VIII.  New Rule VIII was corrected to include 
limited mechanics licensure qualifications.  Time requirements for qualifications as a 
limited mechanics license were changed to one year because three years was 
placed in the rule inadvertently.  Statutes do not permit grandfathering of licensure 
for limited mechanics. 
 
Comment 11:  A commenter stated that there was no specific mention of factory, 
manufacturer's schools, trade schools or colleges that supply continuing education 
courses.  In addition, the commenter also stated industry related supplied reading 
material, online Internet classes, or phone conference classes should be acceptable 
toward meeting the continuing education requirements, but there is no mention of 
them qualifying. 
 
Response 11:  Courses are not restricted to mandatory attendance at a specific 
location.  Sponsors will be able to submit online, correspondence, or any other 
method of course delivery for Department approval.  All course sponsors will be able 
to register their courses, regardless of the method of instruction, with the 
Department, providing they meet the requirements set out in New Rule XV. 
 
Comment 12:  A commenter stated that some of the requirements for the continuing 
education sponsoring organizations seem impractical.  One requirement is the 
retention of records for ten years.  The licensees should be responsible for keeping 
their own records.  Secondly, why does the Department feel that all course sponsors 
in the country will get their courses approved in Montana?  The Department should 
make it as easy as possible to maintain and further an individual's education and 
knowledge.  The eight-hour continuing education requirement every two years 
makes it imperative that the licensee has good educational avenues available to 
maintain this requirement. 
 
Response 12:  The Department has reduced the requirement for record retention to 
three years.  The Department views it as the responsibility of the licensee to present 
proof of attendance if audited; therefore if a licensee wants to attend a qualifying 
course, the licensee must first make sure the course is approved by the Department.  
A list of approved courses and sponsors will be made available for the licensees to 
reference.  The Department does not prohibit a licensee from presenting a course 
being offered for approval, but the licensee or sponsor must pay the continuing 
education course curriculum approval fee as specified in the fee schedule and the 
course must be approved. 
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Comment 13:  A commenter believes that the rules are not specific as to the type of 
license that they are applicable to such as mechanics or contractors. 
 
Response 13:  The Department has made changes to the proposed rules to identify 
which level or type of license is being addressed.  As far as contractors are 
concerned, anyone may own an elevator contracting business.  Elevator contractors 
must meet business requirements such as obtaining liability insurance, providing 
proof of workers' compensation and unemployment insurance; or an independent 
contractor's exemption.  Elevator contractors must also employ appropriate licensed 
staff as indicated in New Rule XI Elevator Contractor Applications. 
 
Comment 14:  The fee schedule indicates a fee for approval of a continuing 
education course.  A commenter asked if the approval fee applies each time a 
licensee comes to the Department for approval, or if the fee is for an annual or two-
year period. 
 
Response 14:  This fee is a one-time fee for the period of the course approval, and 
would be paid by the course sponsor.  Courses will be reviewed and approved or 
denied as received.  All approved courses will be valid until May 1 of each renewal 
year.  If a new course is approved on May 2, 2006, it will be valid until May 1, 2008. 
 
Comment 15:  Two commenters stated that contractors that have been installing 
residential and commercial elevators for over three years should be grandfathered in 
with an unrestricted license.  One of the commenters emphasized that all employees 
who have installed, maintained, and repaired elevators for over three years should 
be grandfathered in as elevator mechanics.  The commenter argued that because 
Montana is not a heavily populated state, there is not enough business in 
conveyance devices to have full-time employees who perform conveyance system 
installations.  Commercial elevators are half of the commenter's business, and 
without a grandfathering clause, the commenter would be driven out of business by 
larger companies who may charge the public higher prices. 
 
Response 15:  Employees of elevator contractors who have performed elevator 
installations for at least three years may qualify for licensure without an exam.  The 
experience requirement may be applied toward their license application if an 
applicant provides evidence of performing at least three years of elevator installation 
work.  Applicants will be responsible for providing evidence of the type of elevator 
work performed and duration of this type of experience. 
 
The length of experience does not limit a business from obtaining a contractors 
license.  Any business that employs a licensed elevator mechanic may apply for 
licensure as an elevator contractor, and anyone who employs a limited mechanic 
may apply for licensure as a limited elevator contractor. 
 
Comment 16:  Two commenters questioned the ability to hire a person to work on 
conveyances in a "full-time basis" as described in the proposed rule.  It is difficult 
with the amount of work to keep someone on a full-time basis to do elevator work. 
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Response 16:  In the context of licensing, "full-time" means the responsible licensed 
employee is available to perform, administer, and supervise an elevator installation.  
This does not prohibit the licensee from doing other types of work for the contractor. 
 
Comment 17:  Since the state is requiring continuing education, two commenters 
believe that the state has the responsibility to make available educational 
opportunities by in-state classes, online training, or correspondence courses.  The 
classes should be offered in a one or two-day class to keep down travel costs and 
they should be offered in eastern and western parts of the state.  In addition, it would 
be expensive to get course credits from manufacturers because they are all out-of-
state. 
 
Response 17:  When the Legislature passed this new law, they included the 
requirement for continuing education.  The Department is committed to 
implementing the new requirements and will monitor the continuing education 
requirements.  Continuing education requirements may be addressed in the future if 
it is found unworkable.  The continuing education rules do not exclude online training 
or correspondence courses.  Course sponsors have the flexibility to offer courses 
through whatever methods are feasible to both them and their students. 
 
Comment 18:  A commenter stated that residential mechanics are required to be 
licensed under New Rule II(12). 
 
Response 18:  The commenter is correct but the term “residential mechanic” is not 
used in the new law and thus not in the proposed rules as a result.  Residential 
mechanics, as the commenter suggests, would be the same as a limited mechanic. 
 
Comment 19:  A commenter argued the new rules state that limited elevator 
mechanics would be limited to residential work only.  The commenter's company has 
been working for ten years on commercial buildings such as schools, churches, and 
businesses installing vertical platform lifts and LU/LA elevators.  Becoming licensed 
as a limited elevator contractor is not acceptable to the commenter. 
 
Response 19:  First, residential elevators, by law, may only be installed in residential 
settings.  Residential elevators may not be installed in churches, schools, or 
businesses, regardless of the limited use the elevator may have. Second, because 
of the grandfathering process that is allowed under 37-73-203, MCA, all elevator 
mechanics that have at least three years experience prior to October 1, 2005, will be 
considered for licensure as an elevator mechanic.  Section 37-73-203, MCA, 
requires that the applicant have experience with commercial conveyances of over 
three years, otherwise the applicant may only qualify for a limited mechanic’s 
license.  The Department notes that it does not have the authority to issue a license 
unless the applicant meets the qualifications provided by law. 
 
Comment 20:  A commenter stated with respect to residential elevators, because 
there is no inspection requirement and in order to ensure installations are completed 
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per building code, elevator mechanics should be full-time mechanics for public or 
private elevators.  The commenter suggested that "full-time" should be defined as 
70% elevator work and 30% other applications.  The commenter stated such a rule 
would improve safety for residential applications. 
 
Response 20:  Inspection requirements are set by the Department's Building Codes 
Bureau and are not included in these licensing rules.  The Department believes that 
monitoring the percentage and types of work performed by each licensee would be 
difficult to accomplish and enforce.  In addition, the Department does not have the 
legal authority to impose additional restrictions upon licensees (such as specifying 
the ratio of one form of work to another form of work) that is not provided in statute. 
 
Comment 21:  A commenter stated that apprentice registration does not appear to 
be available for vertical platform lifts and LU/LA elevators.  The commenter would 
like to be able to provide training and schooling while working a trainee on the job. 
 
Response 21:  To ensure the quality of the education and to protect the public 
safety, an apprentice must be enrolled in an apprenticeship program recognized by 
the Department.  To establish an apprenticeship program, contractors are 
encouraged to contact the Department's Apprenticeship and Training Program at 
(406) 444-3556. 
 
Comment 22:  Under New Rule VIII, a commenter stated that two years of 
experience under a licensed elevator mechanic should be considered.  This would 
mean two years of full-time elevator mechanic training in the area of LU/LA elevators 
and vertical platform lifts, both in commercial building and residential applications. 
 
Response 22:  Current law as adopted by the Legislature requires three years of 
experience before October 1, 2005, in order to be "grandfathered" into a license.  
Any deviation would require a statutory change.  The Department does not have the 
authority to change the three year experience requirement in administrative rule. 
 
Comment 23:  A commenter noted that the term "residential elevator" as described 
in the rules conflicts with section 5.3 of the ASME A17.1 Safety Code for Elevators.  
The commenter stated that rules regarding residential elevators should be the same 
as the elevator code adopted by the Building Codes Bureau. 
 
Response 23:  New Rule II describing a residential elevator has been amended to 
reflect the language suggested by the Building Codes Bureau. 
  
Comment 24:  A commenter stated that requiring a form and the tracking of 
unlicensed individuals who perform operational testing and maintenance is 
impractical given the limited number of Department staffers who are available for 
field inspections and monitoring related to the elevator occupations licensing 
program. 
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Response 24:  The Department has removed the requirement for submission of a 
form before operational testing and maintenance occurs.  The Department did not 
intend to monitor general daily activities of unlicensed individuals performing general 
testing and maintenance. 
 
Comment 25:  A commenter suggested that the rules needed to also list certified 
cities, counties and towns as the local authority having permit issuing jurisdiction. 
 
Response 25:  New Rule V has been amended to read that elevator contractors 
must meet permitting requirements. 
 
Comment 26:  A commenter expressed the belief that the list of entities approved for 
certification of elevator inspectors is not correct, and that the American Safety 
Institute does not certify elevator inspectors.  The commenter also stated that the 
Department should accept certification by the National Association of Elevator 
Safety Authorities, or other suitably qualified educators on elevator inspection 
practices and standards. 
 
Response 26:  The language of New Rule IX has been amended to address the 
comment. 
 
Comment 27:  A commenter stated that the Department should consider allowing 
elevator inspectors to become certified within six months of being hired. 
 
Response 27:  Although the Department has provided for a six month transition 
period for existing elevator inspectors, the Department believes that it does not have 
the discretion under law to authorize a non-credentialed, and therefore non-licensed, 
elevator inspector to perform elevator inspections if that person was hired on or after 
October 1, 2005.  Employer hiring practices will need to address when and how an 
elevator inspector is hired and trained if the employer hires a person who is not 
qualified to immediately obtain a Montana elevator inspector license. 
 
Comment 28:  During the compiling of the comments and drafting responses, the 
Department noted that section (9) in New Rule VI, Fee Schedule, was a duplicate of 
(4), the renewal fee. 
 
Response 28:  New Rule VI(9) has been deleted. 
 
 4.  After consideration of the comments, the Department has adopted New 
Rule XVI (24.142.2103), New Rule XVII (24.142.2101), and New Rule XVIII 
(24.142.2401) exactly as proposed. 
 
 5.  After consideration of the comments, the Department has adopted New 
Rule I (24.142.401), New Rule II (24.142.301), New Rule III (24.142.302), New Rule 
IV (24.142.405), New Rule V (24.142.404), New Rule VI (24.142.402), New Rule VII 
(24.142.501), New Rule VIII (24.142.502), New Rule IX (24.142.506), New Rule X 
(24.142.503), New Rule XI (24.142.507), New Rule XII (24.142.504), New Rule XIII 
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(24.142.509), New Rule XIV (24.142.510), and New Rule XV (24.142.2102), with the 
following changes, stricken matter interlined, new matter underlined: 
 
 NEW RULE I  (24.142.401)  GENERAL  (1) remains as proposed. 
 (2)  Any person wishing to perform conveyance work that is regulated by the 
department must be a licensed elevator mechanic or limited mechanic employed by 
a licensed elevator contractor. 
 (3) remains as proposed. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-101, 37-73-102, 50-60-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-73-102, 37-73-201, 37-73-203, 37-73-208, 37-73-212, 37-73-
 216, MCA 
 
 NEW RULE II  (24.142.301)  DEFINITIONS  (1) and (2) remain as proposed. 
 (3)  "ASI" means the American Safety Institute. 
 (4) remains as proposed but is renumbered (3). 
 (5) (4)  "Apprentice" means an individual who is working with and receiving 
training from an elevator mechanic or limited mechanic licensed under this chapter 
and who is registered by an appropriate governmental unit. 
 (6) through (9) remain as proposed but are renumbered (5) through (8). 
 (9)  "Helper" means an individual who is assisting with the installation of 
conveyance components by a licensed elevator mechanic or limited mechanic. 
 (10) and (11) remain as proposed. 
 (12)  "Limited elevator mechanic" means any person who is engaged in the 
installation, alteration, servicing, replacing, or maintaining of residential elevators, or 
other conveyances platform lifts, stairway chairlifts, and dumbwaiters in private 
residences only. 
 (13) and (14) remain as proposed. 
 (15)  "NAESA" means the National Association of Elevator Safety Authorities. 
 (15) through (16) remain as proposed but are renumbered (16) through (17). 
 (17) (18)  "Residential elevator" means a powered or passenger conveyance 
which is installed in a private residence or multiple unit dwelling as a means of 
access to private residences, where the access to or control of the elevator 
conveyance is restricted from public access to the residents of the residence or 
multiple unit dwelling. 
 (18) remains as proposed but is renumbered (19). 
 (20)  "Responsible limited mechanic" means a designated individual 
employed by a licensed limited elevator contractor who is hired on a fulltime basis to 
ensure that all work performed by the mechanic's employer is code compliant. 
 (19) remains as proposed but is renumbered (21). 
 
 AUTH:  37-73-102, 50-60-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-73-102, 37-73-201, 37-73-202, 37-73-203, 37-73-204, 37-73-
 208, 37-73-212, 37-73-216, MCA 
 
 NEW RULE III  (24.142.302)  EXCEPTIONS  (1) through (1)(e) remain as 
proposed. 
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 (2)  Elevator mechanic licenses are not required for operational testing and 
maintenance work that is performed on conveyances when the appropriate lockout 
and tagout procedures have been performed by the person doing that work.  The 
department must be notified of and must approve the scope of work on a form 
provided by the department prior to it being performed. 
 (a) through (4) remain as proposed. 
 (5)  A licensed elevator contractor may use a helper to assist a licensed 
elevator mechanic or limited mechanic during an installation.  Assistance does not 
include performing any function that requires knowledge, skills, or abilities of an 
elevator mechanic or limited mechanic. 
 
 AUTH:  37-73-102, 50-60-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-104, 37-73-102, 37-73-201, 37-73-203, 37-73-208, 37-73-
 212, MCA 
 
 NEW RULE IV  (24.142.405)  APPRENTICE REGISTRATION 
 (1)  Elevator mechanic or limited mechanic licenses are not required for 
individuals who provide evidence of apprenticeship registration from: 
 (a) through (c) remain as proposed. 
 (2)  An apprentice shall work under the direction, control, and supervision of a 
licensed elevator mechanic or limited mechanic at all times while the apprentice is 
performing or learning to perform elevator mechanic or limited mechanic duties and 
functions. 
 (3) remains as proposed. 
 
 AUTH:  37-73-102, 50-60-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-73-202, MCA 
 
 NEW RULE V  (24.142.404)  LICENSEE RESPONSIBILITIES 
 (1)  Licensed elevator mechanics, limited elevator mechanics, elevator 
contractors, limited elevator contractors, or elevator inspectors shall have their 
licenses available on job sites at all times when employed in these capacities.  
Elevator mechanic or limited mechanic apprentices shall have their registration card, 
issued by the department, on their persons at all times when so employed.  A 
licensed elevator mechanic, limited elevator mechanic, elevator contractor, limited 
elevator contractor, elevator inspector, or elevator mechanic apprentice, or limited 
mechanic apprentice who does not have the required proof of licensure or 
apprenticeship registration while working in one of those capacities is subject to the 
issuance of a licensing citation in accordance with 37-73-225, MCA. 
 (2)  A licensed limited elevator mechanic shall: 
 (a) through (3) remain as proposed. 
 (4)  A licensed elevator contractor or limited elevator contractor shall not allow 
any person to perform elevator or other conveyance installation or repair work 
unless the person is: 
 (a) through (c) remain as proposed. 
 (5)  Elevator contractors are responsible for obtaining any permit required by 
the state of Montana or a certified local building code enforcement authority relating 
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to elevator equipment and are responsible for ensuring that work performed 
complies with the permitting requirements of the state of Montana. 
 (6)  Elevator contractors, limited elevator contractors, elevator mechanics, or 
limited elevator mechanics may not allow their license to be used by other 
individuals, firms, corporations, or businesses for the purpose of obtaining elevator 
permits or for performing elevator conveyance work. 
 (7) remains as proposed. 
 (8)  An elevator contractor, limited elevator contractor, elevator mechanic, or 
limited elevator mechanic may not perform work beyond the scope of the individual's 
license. 
 (9) and (10) remain as proposed. 
 
 AUTH:  37-73-102, 50-60-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-406, 37-1-410, 37-73-102, 37-73-201, 37-73-203, 37-73-208, 
 37-73-212, 37-73-220, MCA 
 
 NEW RULE VI  (24.142.402)  FEE SCHEDULE  (1) through (8) remain as 
proposed. 
 (9)  License renewal 150 
 (10) and (11) remain as proposed but are renumbered (9) and (10). 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-101, 37-73-102, MCA 
 IMP:     17-2-302, 17-2-303, 37-1-101, 37-1-134, 37-73-102, 37-73-201, 37-
 73-204, 37-73-208, 37-73-212, 37-73-216, 37-73-221, MCA 
 
 NEW RULE VII  (24.142.501)  DOCUMENTATION OF SUITABLE TRAINING 
AND EXPERIENCE  (1) through (3) remain as proposed. 
 (4)  1500 hours of work constitutes a year's worth of work experience. 
 
 AUTH: 37-73-102, MCA 
 IMP:    37-1-104, 37-73-102, 37-73-201, 37-73-203, 37-73-208, 37-73-212, 
 MCA 
 
 NEW RULE VIII  (24.142.502)  ELEVATOR MECHANIC AND LIMITED 
MECHANIC LICENSURE QUALIFICATIONS  (1) and (1)(a) remain as proposed. 
 (b)  performed three years verifiable conveyance work. which: 
 (i)  is at least 70% construction or maintenance based; and 
 (ii)  does not rely upon residential experience to comprise more than 30% of 
the total three year requirement. 
 (2)  An applicant for a limited elevator mechanic's license shall furnish 
evidence satisfactory to the department that the applicant has: 
 (a) remains as proposed. 
 (b)  three one years of verifiable work experience in performing residential 
conveyance work. 
 
 AUTH:  37-73-102, 50-60-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-104, 37-73-102, 37-73-201, 37-73-204, 50-60-203, MCA 
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 NEW RULE IX  (24.142.506)  ELEVATOR INSPECTOR QUALIFICATIONS -- 
TRANSITION PERIOD  (1) and (1)(a) remain as proposed. 
 (b)  ASA NAESA; or 
 (c)  ASME; or 
 (d)  another elevator inspector certification from a provider entity, as approved 
by the department on a case-by-case basis. 

(2) remains as proposed. 
 
 AUTH:  37-73-102, 50-60-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-73-102, 37-73-201, 37-73-208, MCA 
 
 NEW RULE X  (24.142.503)  ELEVATOR MECHANIC AND LIMITED 
MECHANIC APPLICATIONS  (1) and (2) remain as proposed. 
 (3)  Applicants Elevator mechanic applicants who can, under oath, provide 
verifiable proof of employment as an elevator mechanic for at least three years prior 
to October 1, 2005, and who also possess the requisite experience for licensure may 
be licensed without examination upon payment of the application fee. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-105, 37-73-102, 50-60-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-105, 37-73-102, 37-73-201, 37-73-203, 37-73-204, 37-73-
 221, MCA 
 
 NEW RULE XI  (24.142.507)  ELEVATOR CONTRACTOR APPLICATIONS  
 (1) through (2)(a) remain as proposed.  
 (b)  employs a licensed limited elevator mechanic, named on a form provided 
by the department, as the elevator mechanic responsible for code compliance on all 
work performed under that contractor license. 
 (3) and (4) remain as proposed. 
 (5)  An owner of a limited elevator contracting business not licensed as a 
limited elevator mechanic shall employ a limited elevator mechanic to perform all 
work done under that contractor's license.  No holder of a limited elevator 
mechanic's license can be named as the responsible elevator limited mechanic for 
more than one elevator contractor at any given time. 
 (6)  A responsible elevator mechanic or responsible limited mechanic who 
leaves the employment of a licensed elevator contractor, for whatever reason, must 
provide written notification to the department of that fact within ten working days.  
The licensed elevator contractor must notify the department within ten working days, 
on a provided form, of the change of responsible elevator mechanic or responsible 
limited mechanic. 
 (a)  Failure to name another responsible elevator mechanic or responsible 
limited mechanic, as applicable, within ten working days is cause for disciplinary 
action, including suspension or revocation of the elevator contractor's license. 
 (7)  A licensed elevator mechanic or limited elevator mechanic may be 
relieved from further responsibility under any application or permit if the elevator 
mechanic or limited elevator mechanic has left or been discharged from the 
employment of an elevator contractor or owner, provided the elevator mechanic or 
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limited elevator mechanic sends a notice in writing to that effect within ten working 
days of the last day of employment to the department or the state or local building 
code enforcement entity, whichever is applicable. 
 
 AUTH:  37-73-102, 50-60-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-104, 37-73-102, 37-73-201, 37-73-212, 50-60-203, 50-60-
 716, MCA 
 
 NEW RULE XII  (24.142.504)  TEMPORARY PRACTICE PERMIT 
 (1) through (2)(b) remain as proposed. 
 (c)  in the case of an apprentice seeking a temporary practice permit, 
documentation from a state apprenticeship and training bureau or program that the 
apprentice has completed no less than 70% of the apprentice's required term and is 
completely current with related instruction.  An apprentice's work done under a 
temporary practice permit must be physically examined on a daily basis by a 
licensed elevator mechanic for correctness. 
 (3) and (4) remain as proposed. 
 (5)  In the event the department determines that a shortage of licensed 
elevator mechanics or limited mechanics exists to the extent that, if left uncorrected, 
it could have a materially adverse impact on public health, safety, and well-being, 
the department may issue a temporary practice permit for an elevator mechanic or 
limited elevator mechanic. 

(a)  A licensed elevator contractor may submit written notification to the 
department that a shortage of licensed elevator mechanics or limited mechanics 
exists.  The elevator contractor must be in good standing with the department and 
have no active complaints against the licenses of the contractor or the contractor's 
employees before the contractor is eligible to declare a shortage of elevator 
mechanics or limited mechanics for the contractor's business.  Sufficient proof of a 
bona fide shortage of licensed elevator mechanics or limited mechanics must 
accompany the written notification and must include: 
 (i) through (iii) remain as proposed. 
 (6)  Upon consideration and subsequent finding by the department that a 
contractor's claimed shortage of elevator mechanics or limited mechanics is bona 
fide to the extent that, if left uncorrected, an adverse material impact on public 
health, safety, and well-being will result, the department will issue temporary practice 
permits as it deems prudent and appropriate to temporarily remedy the elevator 
mechanic shortage. 
 (7) remains as proposed. 
 (a)  Subsequent temporary practice permits will be issued only if continued 
monitoring by the department indicates a bona fide elevator mechanic or limited 
mechanic shortage continues to exist. 
 (8) remains as proposed. 
 
 AUTH:  37-73-102, 50-60-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-73-102, 37-73-201, 37-73-216, 50-60-203, MCA 
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 NEW RULE XIII  (24.142.509)  EXAMINATIONS  (1) through (3) remain as 
proposed. 
 (4)  An applicant who has failed the elevator mechanic examination two or 
more times is not prohibited from taking the limited elevator mechanic's licensing 
examination.  Applicants must submit a request in writing to the department 
requesting the lower level examination at any subsequent time. 
 
 AUTH:  37-73-102, 50-60-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-73-102, 37-73-201, 37-73-204, MCA 
 
 NEW RULE XIV  (24.142.510)  LICENSURE BY RECIPROCITY OR 
ENDORSEMENT  (1)  The department may, on a case-by-case basis, enter into 
reciprocity agreements with other states or jurisdictions whose requirements are 
substantially equivalent to or greater than the standards of this state as a basis to 
issue elevator mechanic or limited elevator mechanic licenses. 
 (2) and (3) remain as proposed. 
 
 AUTH:  37-73-102, 50-60-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-73-102, 37-73-201, 37-73-203, 37-73-204, MCA 
 
 NEW RULE XV  (24.142.2102) CONTINUING EDUCATION SPONSORS 
AND COURSES  (1) through (2)(a) remain as proposed. 
 (b)  A sponsor must keep uniform records, for a period of 10 three years, of 
attendance of licensees and these records must be available for inspection by the 
department at its request.  Those records must include: 
 (i) through (6) remain as proposed. 
 
 AUTH:  37-73-102, MCA 
 IMP:     37-73-102, 37-73-220, MCA 
 
 DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 
/s/ MARK CADWALLADER /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Mark Cadwallader Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Alternate Rule Reviewer DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 
 Certified to the Secretary of State February 13, 2006 
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BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment )  NOTICE OF AMENDMENT, 
of ARM 24.301.138, 24.301.146 )  ADOPTION AND REPEAL 
24.301.161, 24.301.172, 24.301.209, ) 
24.301.301, 24.301.401, 24.301.421, ) 
24.301.431, 24.301.441, 24.301.451, ) 
24.301.461, 24.301.481, 24.301.501, ) 
24.301.558, 24.301.711, 24.301.718, and ) 
24.301.801, the adoption of NEW RULES ) 
I through IX, and the repeal of ) 
ARM 24.301.471, 24.301.601, 24.301.612,) 
24.301.613, 24.301.614, 24.301.615, ) 
24.301.621, and 24.301.622 ) 
pertaining to building codes ) 
 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
 1.  On October 27, 2005 the Department of Labor and Industry published 
MAR Notice No. 24-301-191 regarding the public hearing on the proposed 
amendment, adoption, and repeal of the above-stated rules relating to building 
codes, at page 2021 of the 2005 Montana Administrative Register, issue no. 20. 
 
 2.  On November 18, 2005, the Department held a public hearing on the 
proposed amendment, adoption, and repeal of the above-stated rules in Helena.  
Several comments were received by the November 28, 2005, deadline. 
 
 3.  The Department has thoroughly considered the comments and testimony 
received.  A summary of the comments received and the Department's responses 
are as follows: 
 
 COMMENT 1:  One commenter sent in written comment regarding ARM 
24.301.146(19), which addresses snow load requirements for buildings in Montana.  
The commenter stated that he is concerned that the amendments to the rule will 
allow snow loads as low as 20 psf which he feels are not adequate for certain areas 
of Montana that at times see up to 12' of snow fall at one time. 
 
 RESPONSE 1:  The proposed amendment to the rule does not rescind the 30 
psf minimum design roof snow load, it simply allows for possible modification under 
strict circumstances.  The amendment to allow the use of coefficients, other than 
those in the building code, for modifying ground snow loads is proposed to allow 
engineering and design practices, possibly not formatted in the building code, to be 
applied to building design.  It is important to note that both amendments require 
justification by a Montana licensed design professional.  For these reasons the 
Department is amending this rule as proposed. 
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 COMMENT 2:  One commenter stated that in the reason for ARM 24.301.161 
there is a reference to R-12 insulation, which does not exist.  This reference should 
have been listed as R-11 insulation. 
 

RESPONSE 2:  The Department agrees and regrets the error, which does not 
affect the language of the rule or its applicability. 
 

COMMENT 3:  The Department received one oral comment regarding ARM 
24.301.172, which addresses the International Mechanical Code.  The commenter 
would like to see the Department adopt the 2006 edition of the Uniform Mechanical 
Code as it is published by the same entity as the Uniform Plumbing Code already 
adopted by the Department.  This would mean both codebooks would come from the 
same publisher rather than two separate publishers as it is now. 
 

RESPONSE 3:  The Department has not proposed adoption of a new code 
edition at this time; therefore the Department cannot take action with respect to this 
comment.  The Department will keep the comment in mind, and take it into 
consideration in the future when considering adoption of the new code editions. 
 

COMMENT 4:  One oral comment was received regarding ARM 
24.301.301(1)(h)(i), which allows the installation of waterless urinals.  The 
commenter feels that some clarification is needed in regards to the language found 
in the last sentence of the rule which states that a properly sized drain, vent and 
water supply line, shall be installed in the event the owner decides or is ordered to 
replace the non-water supplied urinal with a water supplied urinal.  The commenter 
would like the Department to specify who would have the authority to order the 
owner to remove the urinal. 
 

RESPONSE 4:  The amendments to this rule do not grant any specific 
person, agency or entity the authority to order the removal of a waterless urinal.  In 
addition, the Department does not have any authority over existing buildings and 
therefore could not require a waterless urinal to be removed.  A representative from 
the Department of Public Health and Human Services explained that county health 
inspectors may issue a violation if a owner fails to properly maintain a waterless 
urinal.  The Department is not aware of any other city, county or state agencies that 
have any authority over improperly maintained waterless urinals. 
 

COMMENT 5:  Several comments, both oral and written, were received by 
the Department in support of the amendments to ARM 24.301.301(1)(h)(i), which 
allows the installation of waterless urinals.  These commenters stated that waterless 
urinals save water and the commenters' research and experience has shown 
waterless urinals to be as sanitary and safe as the conventional flush type urinals.  
One commenter went on to state that waterless urinals have a lower bacterial count 
than flush type urinals when maintained properly and studies show that the 
waterless urinal is safe for the piping involved and are safer for drain fields than the 
deodorant blocks typically used in a flush type urinal. 
 



 
 
 

 
4-2/23/06 Montana Administrative Register 

-569-

 RESPONSE 5:  The Department acknowledges the commenters' view on 
waterless urinals. 
 
 COMMENT 6:  With respect to ARM 24.301.301(1)(h)(i) one commenter 
stated that he supports the amendment allowing waterless urinals however he does 
not feel that the drain, vent, and water line should be required when installing the 
urinal. 
 
 RESPONSE 6:  The Department included the requirement a properly sized 
drain, vent and water supply line be installed for a waterless urinal in the event that 
an owner decides to remove the urinal or is ordered to remove it.  If an owner were 
to decide or be ordered to remove a waterless urinal and the plumbing for a flush 
type urinal were not in place, it would be very costly to the owner to install the piping 
necessary to install a flush type urinal.  Due to the varying opinions on this subject 
the Department believes it is prudent to require that the plumbing be in place in the 
event the waterless urinal is removed. 
 
 COMMENT 7:  The Department received several negative comments 
regarding the amendments to ARM 24.301.301(1)(h)(i) relating to the installation of 
waterless urinals.  The commenters stated that although the waterless urinal saves 
water the urinals only work well when maintained properly.  Waterless urinals must 
be washed down on a regular basis and the trap insert, which is filled with a bio-
degradable material, must be re-filled, and there is no way to enforce maintenance.  
The commenters state that there is already a problem in maintaining a flush type 
urinal and are doubtful that maintenance will be any better on a waterless urinal.  
The commenters stated that when not maintained properly the waterless urinal 
becomes an unsanitary health issue and that other states have proven failures on 
waterless urinal installations.  
 
 RESPONSE 7:  The Department of Environmental Quality, which supports 
this amendment, made a presentation to the Department's Building Codes Council to 
consider allowing waterless urinals to be installed anywhere in Montana without 
limitations.  The council then recommended the Department adopt the proposed rule 
that would allow waterless urinals to be installed if a properly sized drain, vent, and 
water line is installed to allow the owner to install a flush urinal without incurring too 
much expense.  The Department of Public Health and Human Services was 
contacted regarding the health issue and responded that it was not opposed to 
waterless urinals.  Given that there was not significant opposition to waterless 
urinals, the Department is adopting the rule as proposed. 
  
 COMMENT 8:  One commenter stated that waterless urinals are not allowed 
by the Uniform Plumbing Code currently adopted in the State of Montana and also 
noted that the International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials' 
technical committee has reviewed this issue many times and every time voted to 
prohibit their use.  For these reasons the commenter is not in favor of allowing the 
use of waterless urinals. 
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 RESPONSE 8:  The Department has reviewed the proposed code 
amendments to the Uniform Plumbing Codes and is aware the technical committee 
voted to prohibit the use of waterless urinals.  For the reasons given in comment 7 
the Department is adopting the rule as proposed. 
 
 COMMENT 9:  One commenter expressed concern regarding the fluid found 
in the canister of a waterless urinal and whether or not the fluid is toxic.  This 
commenter also questioned whether a waterless urinal increases the users risk of 
contracting a disease spread through bodily fluids such as hepatitis. 
 
 RESPONSE 9:  According to information provided by the Department of 
Environmental Quality (DEQ) the fluid found in the waterless urinal canister is 
chloroxylene, which is generally used as a disinfectant.  It is stable and safe to use 
though it has been found to cause dermatitis when overused, as with any cleaning 
agent.  The DEQ went on to state that the fluid is benign from a health standpoint 
and doesn't appear to have any environmental concerns associated with it.  The 
DEQ also stated that research and experience has shown waterless urinals to be as 
sanitary and safe as the conventional flush type urinals and that waterless urinals 
have a lower bacterial count than flush type urinals when maintained properly. 
 

COMMENT 10:  Several commenters stated that the addition of the word 
"licensed" in ARM 24.301.431(7) would ensure that any electrical work covered 
under the National Electrical Code, performed in association with a permit issued by 
the Department, would be done by licensed electricians. 

 
RESPONSE 10:  Although Montana adopts the National Electrical Code 

(NEC) generally; it also amends or deletes many NEC provisions by using the state's 
administrative rules process.  Given the fact that Montana's application and adoption 
of the NEC is therefore in many respects different from the way the NEC is applied 
or enforced in other states, the Department concludes that allowing only licensed 
Montana electricians to install electrical equipment in this state is the best way to 
ensure that those installations comply with all relevant Montana statutes and 
administrative rules, including but not limited to the NEC.  In short, the Department 
agrees with this comment, primarily because it believes that since Montana laws and 
regulations relating to electrical installations specifically address public health, 
safety, and well-being concerns and situations unique to Montana, the best way to 
ensure that these mandates are understood and complied with is to require Montana 
licensure of those performing electrical work in this state.  For these reasons the 
Department  has amended this rule as proposed. 

 
 COMMENT 11:  Several commenters stated that the addition of the work 
"licensed" in ARM 24.301.431(7) covers work that may be addressed in the National 
Electrical Code but would not be considered electrical work such as digging ditches, 
pouring concrete, wiring thermostats, and wiring data/telephone equipment.  These 
items are included in the National Electrical Code but do not require a license.  The 
commenters went on to state that Montana Code Annotated specifies that the State 
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Electrical Board, not the Building Codes Bureau, has the authority to determine 
when an electrical license is required. 
 
 RESPONSE 11:  The Department believes that any work covered by the 
National Electrical Code (NEC) is, by definition, electrical work.  Consequently, as 
explained in Response 10, the Department believes it appropriate to require 
licensure of those who perform electrical installations in this state.  More specifically, 
these commenters are incorrect in stating that digging ditches or pouring concrete 
are considered electrical work.  In fact, the NEC only covers wiring methods that 
involve underground electrical installations or those which are covered by or buried 
beneath concrete.  The Department believes that only licensed electricians are 
competent to understand and comply with regulatory requirements for these types of 
wiring methods.  The Department is unconcerned about the lack of licensure of 
those who may dig ditches or pour concrete.  Additionally, since Montana does not 
presently enforce provisions of the NEC relating to low voltage wiring methods such 
as installation of data/telephone wiring or low voltage thermostatic control wiring, the 
Department concludes the commenters' concerns in this regard are unfounded.  
Finally, to respond to the commenters' concern regarding the Department's authority 
to require licensure for work done under the electrical permits it issues, section 50-
60-601, MCA, which is entitled "Electrical Installations" and which is enforced by the 
Building Codes Bureau, states in pertinent part that:  "The purpose of this part is ... 
to establish a procedure for determining where and by whom electrical installations 
are to be made ..." (emphasis added.)  For these reasons, the Department has 
amended this rule as proposed. 
 

COMMENT 12:  One commenter stated that the addition of the word 
"licensed" in ARM 24.301.431(7) would significantly hinder the process by which 
most electricians start their career.  The commenter stated that many electricians 
start by working as a laborer or running low voltage wiring for six months and then 
they are eligible to apply for apprenticeship.  If the word "licensed" is allowed to be 
added to this rule, workers would not be able to get the experience needed to apply 
for apprenticeship, which would limit the number of workers who can enter the trade. 
 
 RESPONSE 12:  The Department disagrees with the underlying premise of 
the commenter, that a potential apprentice must have six months of experience 
before being eligible to apply for and become indentured as an apprentice.  Pursuant 
to the Department-approved apprenticeship standards, prior experience is not 
required to apply for an electrical apprenticeship.  The Department concludes that 
the proposed amendment will not limit the number of workers who can enter the 
trade.  However, in order to clarify the application of the rule, the Department has 
amended the rule to expressly provide that work performed pursuant to a permit 
must be performed by a licensed electrician or a registered electrical apprentice. 
 
 COMMENT 13:  Commenters stated that ARM 24.301.441(3) should be 
amended to require all inspectors to include code references in the correction notice.  
The commenters stated that many companies use those corrections as a training 
tool and incorporate them into company newsletters, notices and meetings.  The 



 
 
 

 
Montana Administrative Register 4-2/23/06 

-572-

commenters stated that state inspectors already do this but they are not sure that all 
city inspectors include the reference in their correction notices. 
 
 RESPONSE 13:  These commenters are correct in noting that state electrical 
inspectors include code references in the correction notices they issue.  Although 
this practice is in place as a matter of policy at the state inspector level, there is no 
statute or administrative rule presently in effect which requires that city, county, or 
town inspectors also provide code references as part of their respective code 
enforcement programs.  However, the Department believes these commenters make 
an excellent suggestion and, therefore, the Department will consider including it as 
part of a future rule proposal, which addresses city, county, or town code 
enforcement programs.  For these reasons, the Department has amended this rule 
as proposed. 
 
 COMMENT 14:  Commenters stated that the orange (conditionally approved) 
tags allowed in ARM 24.301.451(2) are being applied to installations that have 
violated the rough-in inspection requirement and may cause confusion on whether or 
not a rough-in inspection was done.  The commenters also stated that the orange 
tag may be confused with a red tag and are concerned that a conditional approval 
may cause problems with the power supplier when the installation is ready to be 
energized.  The commenters also expressed concern that electrical work that has 
not been inspected is being covered up and that when dealing with a life safety issue 
such as this that there should be no such thing as conditionally approved. 
 
 RESPONSE 14:  The use of the orange tag is intended to influence 
contractors and homeowners to call for and to provide proper notice for rough-in 
inspections as required by ARM 24.301.441.  The orange tag is easily 
distinguishable from the red tag in both appearance and verbiage. The orange tag 
has the words “conditionally approved” which will help to distinguish it from the red 
tag, which says “rejected”.  There should be no confusion as to whether or not a 
rough-in inspection has been performed as the orange tag is only applied to those 
installations that have not received rough-in inspections.  The Department has not 
had any complaints citing confusion relative to orange tags from any power supplier 
nor did any power supplier comment on the proposed rule.  Historically the 
Department has used discretion relative to requiring installations to be uncovered or 
exposed if a rough-in inspection was not performed.  If code violations are detected, 
dismantlement may be required. 
 
 COMMENT 15:  Commenters stated that they are concerned that the change 
to ARM 24.301.718(1)(a) and (b) may require large petroleum facilities and other 
similar facilities to shut down on an annual basis, and not just during regularly 
scheduled maintenance shut downs.  The commenters would like the rule clarified to 
specify that processing systems such as pulp, paper, chemical and petroleum 
manufacturing facilities only need to shut down for an internal inspection during the 
facility's regularly scheduled maintenance shut down. 
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 RESPONSE 15:  The Department understands the impact that shutting down 
boilers may have on a building/business owner and will continue to utilize 50-74-
209(1)(c), MCA, which provides “Upon written application, longer inspection intervals 
may be authorized by the department.”  Processing facilities within Montana are 
currently using this law without any disruption of production in their facilities.  The 
amendments to this rule do not change the meaning or application of 50-74-
209(1)(c), MCA, and therefore processing facilities can utilize this option, if they wish 
to extend the inspection interval for boilers that have been properly maintained and 
do not have outstanding violations or material deficiencies.  The Department is 
evaluating methods to educate boiler owners/operators on internal inspection 
requirements and options available to them. 
 
 4.  The Department has amended ARM 24.301.138, 24.301.146, 24.301.161, 
24.301.172, 24.301.209, 24.301.301, 24.301.401, 24.301.421, 24.301.441, 
24.301.451, 24.301.461, 24.301.481, 24.301.501, 24.301.558, 24.301.711, 
24.301.718 and 24.301.801 exactly as proposed.  
 
 5.  The Department has amended ARM 24.301.431 with the following 
changes, stricken matter interlined, new matter underlined: 
 
 24.301.431  ELECTRICAL PERMIT  (1) through (6) remain as proposed. 
 (7)  The permittee shall be responsible for all work performed under the 
electrical permit, and shall ensure that all work meets the requirements of the 
National Electrical Code, as amended by the version of ARM 24.301.411 in effect at 
the time the permit was issued.  No permittee shall allow any other person to do, or 
cause to be done, any work under an electrical permit issued to the permittee, 
except the permittee or his licensed the permittee's employees who are licensed as 
an electrician or registered as an electrical apprentice. 
 (8) through (11) remain as proposed. 
 

AUTH:  50-60-203, 50-60-603, 50-60-607, MCA 
IMP:      50-60-201, 50-60-203, 50-60-603, 50-60-604, 50-60-605, MCA 

 
 6.  The Department has adopted NEW RULE I (24.301.602), NEW RULE II 
(24.301.606), NEW RULE III (24.301.607), NEW RULE IV (24.301.608), NEW RULE 
V (24.301.609), NEW RULE VI (24.301.610), NEW RULE VII (24.301.611), NEW 
RULE VIII (24.301.623) and NEW RULE IX (24.301.472) exactly as proposed. 
 
 7.  The Department has repealed ARM 24.301.471, 24.301.601, 24.301.612, 
24.301.613, 24.301.614, 24.301.615, 24.301.621, and 24.301.622 exactly as 
proposed. 
 
/s/ MARK CADWALLADER /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Mark Cadwallader Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Alternate Rule Reviewer DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 

Certified to the Secretary of State February 13, 2006. 
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BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC 
HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES OF THE 

STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of ARM 
37.62.2101, 37.62.2103, 37.62.2105, 
37.62.2107, 37.62.2111, 37.62.2113, 
37.62.2117, 37.62.2119 and 
37.62.2121 and the repeal of ARM 
37.62.2115 pertaining to the 
Modification of Child Support Orders 

 ) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

 NOTICE OF AMENDMENT 
AND REPEAL 

 
 TO: All Interested Persons 
 
 1.  On December 8, 2005, the Department of Public Health and Human 
Services published MAR Notice No. 37-361 pertaining to the public hearing on the 
proposed amendment of the above-stated rules relating to the modification of child 
support orders, at page 2414 of the 2005 Montana Administrative Register, issue 
number 23. 
 
 2.  The Department has amended ARM 37.62.2101, 37.62.2103, 37.62.2105, 
37.62.2107, 37.62.2111, 37.62.2113, 37.62.2117, 37.62.2119 and 37.62.2121 and 
repealed ARM 37.62.2115 as proposed. 
 
 3.  No comments or testimony were received. 
 
 
 
 
   /s/ Dawn Sliva                                 /s/ Joan Miles    
Rule Reviewer     Director, Public Health and 
       Human Services 
 
Certified to the Secretary of State February 13, 2006. 
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BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC 
HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES OF THE 

STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the adoption of Rules I 
through V pertaining to Medicare Part D
Low Income Subsidies 

 ) 
) 
) 

 NOTICE OF ADOPTION 

 
 TO:  All Interested Persons 
 
 1.  On December 8, 2005, the Department of Public Health and Human 
Services published MAR Notice No. 37-362 pertaining to the public hearing on the 
proposed adoption of the above-stated rules relating to Medicare Part D Low Income 
Subsidies, at page 2423 of the 2005 Montana Administrative Register, issue number 
23. 
 
 2.  The Department has adopted new rules I (37.81.9004), II (37.81.9005), III 
(37.81.9006), IV (37.81.9009), and V (37.81.9010) as proposed. 
 
 3.  No comments or testimony were received. 
 
 
 
 
  /s/ Dawn Sliva                         /s/ John Chappuis for   
Rule Reviewer     Director, Public Health and 
       Human Services 
 
Certified to the Secretary of State February 13, 2006. 
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 NOTICE OF FUNCTION OF ADMINISTRATIVE RULE REVIEW COMMITTEE 

 Interim Committees and the Environmental Quality Council 

Administrative rule review is a function of interim committees and the 

Environmental Quality Council (EQC).  These interim committees and the EQC have 

administrative rule review, program evaluation, and monitoring functions for the 

following executive branch agencies and the entities attached to agencies for 

administrative purposes. 

Economic Affairs Interim Committee: 

 Department of Agriculture; 

 Department of Commerce; 

 Department of Labor and Industry; 

 Department of Livestock; 

 Office of the State Auditor and Insurance Commissioner; and 

 Office of Economic Development. 

Education and Local Government Interim Committee: 

 State Board of Education; 

 Board of Public Education; 

 Board of Regents of Higher Education; and 

 Office of Public Instruction. 

Children, Families, Health, and Human Services Interim Committee: 

 Department of Public Health and Human Services. 

 Law and Justice Interim Committee: 

 Department of Corrections; and 

 Department of Justice. 
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 Energy and Telecommunications Interim Committee: 

 Department of Public Service Regulation. 

 

 Revenue and Transportation Interim Committee: 

 Department of Revenue; and  

 Department of Transportation. 

 State Administration and Veterans' Affairs Interim Committee: 

 Department of Administration; 

 Department of Military Affairs; and 

 Office of the Secretary of State. 

 Environmental Quality Council: 

 Department of Environmental Quality; 

 Department of Fish, Wildlife, and Parks; and 

 Department of Natural Resources and Conservation. 

These interim committees and the EQC have the authority to make 

recommendations to an agency regarding the adoption, amendment, or repeal of a 

rule or to request that the agency prepare a statement of the estimated economic 

impact of a proposal.  They also may poll the members of the Legislature to 

determine if a proposed rule is consistent with the intent of the Legislature or, during 

a legislative session, introduce a bill repealing a rule, or directing an agency to adopt 

or amend a rule, or a Joint Resolution recommending that an agency adopt, amend, 

or repeal a rule. 

The interim committees and the EQC welcome comments and invite 

members of the public to appear before them or to send written statements in order 

to bring to their attention any difficulties with the existing or proposed rules.  The 

mailing address is PO Box 201706, Helena, MT 59620-1706. 
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 HOW TO USE THE ADMINISTRATIVE RULES OF MONTANA 
 AND THE MONTANA ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER 
 
 
Definitions: Administrative Rules of Montana (ARM) is a looseleaf 

compilation by department of all rules of state departments and 
attached boards presently in effect, except rules adopted up to 
three months previously. 

 
Montana Administrative Register (MAR or Register) is a soft 
back, bound publication, issued twice-monthly, containing 
notices of rules proposed by agencies, notices of rules adopted 
by agencies, and interpretations of statutes and rules by the 
attorney general (Attorney General's Opinions) and agencies 
(Declaratory Rulings) issued since publication of the preceding 
register. 

 
 
Use of the Administrative Rules of Montana (ARM): 
 
Known 1. Consult ARM topical index. 
Subject  Update the rule by checking the accumulative table and 

the table of contents in the last Montana Administrative 
Register issued. 

 
Statute 2. Go to cross reference table at end of each Number and 
  title which lists MCA section numbers and Department 
  corresponding ARM rule numbers. 
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 ACCUMULATIVE TABLE 
 
The Administrative Rules of Montana (ARM) is a compilation of existing permanent 
rules of those executive agencies that have been designated by the Montana 
Administrative Procedure Act for inclusion in the ARM.  The ARM is updated through 
September 30, 2005. This table includes those rules adopted during the period 
September 1, 2005 through December 31, 2005 and any proposed rule action that 
was pending during the past six-month period.  (A notice of adoption must be 
published within six months of the published notice of the proposed rule.)  This table 
does not, however, include the contents of this issue of the Montana Administrative 
Register (MAR or Register). 
 
To be current on proposed and adopted rulemaking, it is necessary to check the 
ARM updated through September 30, 2005, this table, and the table of contents of 
this issue of the MAR. 
 
This table indicates the department name, title number, rule numbers in ascending 
order, catchphrase or the subject matter of the rule, and the page number at which 
the action is published in the 2004 and 2005 Montana Administrative Registers. 
 
To aid the user, the Accumulative Table includes rulemaking actions of such entities 
as boards and commissions listed separately under their appropriate title number. 
 
GENERAL PROVISIONS, Title 1 
 
1.2.102 and other rules - Administrative Rules of Montana - Montana 

Administrative Register - Rule Formatting - Incorporation by Reference 
- Fees, p. 2211, 2699 

1.2.419 and other rule - Scheduled Dates for the 2006 Montana Administrative 
Register - Submission Dates for Replacement Pages, p. 1903, 2334 

 
ADMINISTRATION, Department of, Title 2 
 
I-X Definitions - Licensing and Application Requirements - Ownership 

Change - Examination of Title Lenders - Duration of Loans - 
Extensions - Reports - Schedule of Charges - Employees' Character 
and Fitness - Procedural Rules for Hearing and Discovery Proposed 
for Adoption under the Montana Title Loan Act, p. 1125, 1334, 1839 

2.5.201 and other rules - State Procurement of Supplies and Services - 
Disposition and Disposal of Surplus Property, p. 1316, 1709, 1906, 
2446, 79 

2.21.410 and other rules - Military Leave, p. 767, 1506 
2.21.501 and other rules - Jury Duty - Witness Leave, p. 1633 
2.59.801 and other rules - Foreign Capital Depositories, p. 2130, 205 
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(Public Employees' Retirement Board) 
I-III Implementation of Detention Officer Transfer to Sheriffs' Retirement 

System, p. 1329, 1670 
I-III Implementation of Detention Officer Transfer to Sheriffs' Retirement 

System, p. 725, 1021 
I-VII When Salary Deferrals under a Cafeteria Plan Should be Treated as 

Compensation, p. 1626, 2241 
2.43.1002 Investment Policy Statement for the Defined Contribution Retirement 

Plan, p. 1461, 1907 
2.43.1801 and other rule - Plan Document and Investment Policy Statement for 

the 457 Deferred Compensation Plan, p. 1458, 1908 
 
(State Compensation Insurance Fund) 
2.55.320 Classifications of Employments, p. 1944, 2649 
 
(State Lottery Commission) 
2.63.201 and other rules - State Lottery's Procedures - Retailers, Licensing, 

Scratch Tickets and Prizes, p. 1 
 
AGRICULTURE, Department of, Title 4 
 
I-III Cherry Research and Marketing Development Program, p. 771, 1279 
4.13.1001A and other rule - State Grain Lab Fee Schedule, p. 775, 1280 
 
(Montana Agriculture Development Council) 
4.16.303 and other rules - Agricultural Marketing Development Program, 

p. 1532, 1909 
 
STATE AUDITOR, Title 6 
 
I-XV Small Business Health Insurance Purchasing Pool - Premium 

Assistance and Premium Incentive Payments - Tax Credits, p. 1464, 
1771 

6.6.504 and other rules - Medicare Supplements, p. 1131, 1537, 1672, 1910 
6.6.3504 Contents of Annual Audited Financial Report, p. 273 
6.6.6811 and other rules - Captive Insurance Companies, p. 861, 2448, 321 
6.6.8301 Updating References to the NCCI Basic Manual for New 

Classifications for Various Industries, p. 1947 
6.6.8501 and other rules - Viatical Settlement Agreements, p. 1636, 2650 
 
COMMERCE, Department of, Title 8 
 
I Administration of the 2006-2007 Federal Community Development 

Block Grant (CDBG) Program, p. 2133 
I Submission and Review of Applications to the Treasure State 

Endowment Program (TSEP), p. 1539, 2052 
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I-XVI Award of Grants and Loans under the Big Sky Economic Development 
Program, p. 1711, 2449 

8.94.3801 and other rule - Administration of Grants Awarded by the 2005 
Legislature - Treasure State Endowment Program (TSEP), p. 1954, 
2656 

 
(Grant Review Committee) 
14.4.101 and other rules - Award of Training Grants by the Grant Review 

Committee, p. 1471, 1915 
 
EDUCATION, Title 10 
 
(Superintendent of Public Instruction) 
10.6.101 and other rules - School Controversies, p. 2136, 2658 
10.16.3010 Special Education, p. 1641, 2056 
 
(Board of Public Education) 
10.55.603 and other rule - Assessment, p. 113 
10.55.701 and other rules - Accreditation Standards, p. 2488 
10.55.909 and other rule - Student Discipline Records - Student Records, p. 194, 

575, 1390 
 
(Montana State Library) 
10.102.1151 and other rules - Public Library Standards, p. 2491 
 
FISH, WILDLIFE, AND PARKS, Department of, Title 12 
 
(Fish, Wildlife, and Parks Commission) 
I Annual Lottery of Hunting Licenses, p. 2503 
I No Wake Zone on Georgetown Lake, p. 1644, 2331 
I Notice of Adoption of a Temporary Emergency Rule - Closing the 

Clark Fork River from the Petty Creek Fishing Access Site to the 
Tarkio Fishing Access Site, p. 1586, 1916 

I-X Aerial Herding Permits, p. 991, 1775 
12.5.201 Removing the Peregrine Falcon from the State Endangered Species 

List, p. 1841, 2329 
12.9.211 Abandonment of Teton-Spring Creek Bird Preserve, p. 1646, 2330 
12.11.202 and other rules - Beaverhead and Big Hole Rivers, p. 144, 737, 917, 

1391, 1507 
12.11.501 List of Water Bodies (Index Rule), p. 2285 
 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY, Department of, Title 17 
 
I-XVIII Methamphetamine Cleanup Program - Decontamination of Inhabitable 

Property Contaminated by Clandestine Manufacture of 
Methamphetamine, p. 142 
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17.50.201 and other rule - Motor Vehicle Recycling and Disposal- Motor Vehicle 
Wrecking Facility License, p. 2506 

17.56.101 and other rules - Underground Storage Tanks, p. 115 
17.74.343 and other rules - Asbestos Control - Asbestos Control Program, p. 125 
 
(Board of Environmental Review) 
I Solid Waste - State Solid Waste Management and Resource 

Recovery Plan, p. 2016 
17.8.504 and other rules - Air Quality - Establishing a Registration System for 

Certain Facilities That Presently Require an Air Quality Permit, p. 2513 
17.8.504 and other rules - Air Quality Permit Application, Operation and Open 

Burning Fees, p. 997, 2058 
17.8.743 Air Quality - Montana Air Quality Permits - When Required - Oil and 

Gas Well Facilities, p. 1479, 2660 
17.8.759 Air Quality - Review of Permit Applications, p. 1476, 2663 
17.24.116 Application Requirements for Operating Permit, p. 1649, 2544, 154 
17.30.670 and other rules - Water Quality - Nondegradation Requirements for 

Electrical Conductivity (EC) and Sodium Adsorption Ratio (SAR) - 
Definitions for Technology-based Effluent Limitations - Minimum 
Technology-based Controls - Treatment Requirements for the Coal 
Bed Methane Industry, p. 1844, 2288 

17.30.1303 and other rules - Water Quality - Concentrated Animal Feeding 
Operations (CAFOs) - Adoption of Department Circular DEQ 9 
(Montana Technical Standards for CAFOs), p. 2962, 864, 1995 

 
(Board of Environmental Review and the Department of Environmental Quality) 
17.24.132 and other rules - Air Quality - Asbestos - Hazardous Waste - Junk 

Vehicles - Major Facility Siting - Metal Mine Reclamation - Opencut 
Mining - Public Water Supply - Septic Pumpers - Solid Waste - Strip 
And Underground Mine Reclamation - Subdivisions - Underground 
Storage Tanks - Water Quality - Revising Enforcement Procedures 
Under the Montana Strip and Underground Mine Reclamation Act, 
Metal Mine Reclamation Laws, and Opencut Mining Act - Providing 
Uniform Factors for Determining Penalties, p. 2523 

17.30.502 and other rules - Water Quality - Subdivisions - CECRA - Underground 
Storage Tanks - Department Circular WQB-7 - Outstanding Resource 
Waters, p. 1957 

17.36.345 and other rules - Public Water and Sewage System Requirements and 
Subdivisions - Adoption by Reference, Plans for Public Water Supply 
or Wastewater System - Fees - Treatment Requirements - 
Disinfection, p. 2002 

 
TRANSPORTATION, Department of, Title 18 
 
I-XIII Aeronautical Grant and Loan Program - Pavement Preservation Grant 

Program, p. 2151, 81 
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18.6.202 and other rules - Transportation Commission - Outdoor Advertising, 
p. 276 

18.8.101 and other rules - Motor Carrier Services Regulations for Over 
Dimensional and Overweight Vehicles and Loads, p. 2142, 206 

18.8.1101 Movement of Houses, Buildings, Extremely Heavy Machinery, and 
Other Large and Unusual Objects, p. 1002, 1589 

18.9.401 and other rule - Eligibility for Gasohol Motor Fuel Tax Reduction - Tax 
Reduction on Certain Oxygenated Gasoline Passed by the 59th 
Legislature in SB 293, Ch. 452, p. 1719 

18.9.704 Definitions for Motor Fuels, p. 14 
23.5.101 and other rules - Transfer from the Department of Justice - Motor 

Carrier Safety Assistance Program, p. 2059 
 
CORRECTIONS, Department of, Title 20 
 
I-VIII Establishment of a Residential Methamphetamine Treatment Center, 

p. 1337, 1917, 2060 
20.9.601 and other rules - Licensure of Youth Detention Facilities, p. 1722, 

2665 
20.27.101 and other rule - Siting and Construction Standards, p. 778, 1393 
 
JUSTICE, Department of, Title 23 
 
I Creating a Separate Endorsement and Qualification for Commercial 

Drivers Who Operate School Buses, p. 780, 1394 
I-V Credit Counseling Services, p. 2373, 207 
I-V Administration of the Address Confidentiality Program, p. 1731, 2332, 

2453 
I-V Credit Counseling Services, p. 1485, 2452 
I-VI Operation of the Identity Theft Passport Program, p. 1541, 2061 
I-VI Administration of the Forensic Rape Examination Payment Program, 

p. 1545, 2063 
I-VII Regulation of Retail Establishment Selling Ephedrine or 

Pseudoephedrine, p. 1343, 1488, 1782 
2.61.101 and other rules - Consumer Protection Office - Transfer from the 

Department of Administration, p. 322 
23.16.102 and other rules - Effective Date for Forms Relating to Gambling 

Operator Licenses, Sports Tab Game Seller Licenses, Distributor's 
Licenses, Route Operator's Licenses, Manufacturer's Licenses, and 
Manufacturer of Illegal Gambling Devices Licenses, p. 1860, 2333 

23.16.103 and other rules - Effective Date for Forms Relating to Investigation of 
Applicants, Disclosure from Noninstitutional Lender, Dealer Licenses, 
and Gambling Operator Licenses, p. 2018, 2454 

23.16.202 and other rules - Credit Play Prohibited - Video Gambling Machine 
Permits - Requirements for Letters of Withdrawal - Video Gambling 
Machine Testing Fees, p. 1735, 2248 
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23.16.209 and other rules - Bonus Games - Definitions - Display of Antique Slot 
Machines - Elimination of the Video Gambling Machine Permit Fee 
Surcharge - General Specifications and Software Specifications for 
Video Gambling Machines - Addition of Testing to Purposes for Which 
Illegal Video Gambling Devices May Be Imported or Exported by a 
Video Gambling Machine Manufacturer - Allowable Winning Patterns 
for Bingo - Permit Surcharge Which was Eliminated, p. 784, 1281, 
1509 

 
LABOR AND INDUSTRY, Department of, Title 24 
 
Boards under the Business Standards Division are listed in alphabetical order 
following the department rules. 
 
I-XVIII Elevator Services Occupational Licensing Program, p. 2293 
24.11.101 and other rules - Unemployment Insurance Laws, p. 284 
24.17.127 Prevailing Wage Rates for Public Works Projects - Nonconstruction 

Services - Heavy and Highway Construction Services, p. 2290 
24.17.127 Prevailing Wage Rates for Public Works Projects - Building 

Construction Services - Heavy and Highway Construction Services, 
p. 1347, 2064 

24.26.508 and other rule - Board of Personnel Appeals - Consolidation of Wage 
and Classification Appeals, p. 296 

24.29.1409 Travel Expense Reimbursement for Workers' Compensation Medical 
Services, p. 1350, 210 

24.29.1409 Travel Expense Reimbursement for Workers' Compensation Medical 
Services, p. 520, 1395 

24.29.4301 and other rules - Workers' Compensation Reporting Database, 
p. 1570 

24.30.102 Occupational Safety Matters in Public Sector Employment, p. 1355 
24.35.111 and other rules - Independent Contractor Exemption Certificates, 

p. 874, 1511 
24.122.401 and other rule - Boiler and Boiler Operator Program - Boiler Operating 

Engineers Licenses, p. 300 
24.144.411 and other rule - Renewal of License or Endorsement, p. 2312, 224 
24.301.138 and other rules - Building Codes, p. 2021 
 
(Board of Architects) 
24.114.403 and other rule - Business Entity Practice - Fee Abatement, p. 889, 

2077 
 
(Board of Athletics) 
24.117.301 and other rules - Definitions - General Provisions - Contest 

Regulations - Boxing Regulations - Ring Regulations - Boxing Officials 
- Club Boxing - Promoter - Bout Approval - Referee - Fee Abatement - 
Suspension and Revocation - Mixed Martial Arts, p. 157 
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(Crane and Hoisting Operating Engineers Program) 
24.135.501 and other rules - Hoisting Operators License Requirements - Crane 

Hoisting Operators License Requirements - Mine Hoisting Operators 
License Requirements - Fee Schedule - Renewals - National 
Commission Certification - Failed Examinations - Applications - 
Citations and Fines, p. 1871, 219 

 
(Board of Dentistry) 
24.138.301 and other rules - Definitions - Initial Licensure of Dentists by 

Examination - Initial Licensure of Dental Hygienists by Examination - 
Dentist Licensure by Credentials - Dental Hygienist Licensure by 
Credentials - Denturist Examination - Denturist Application 
Requirements - Definition of Continuing Education - Requirements and 
Restrictions - Requirements for Continuing Education in Anesthesia, 
p. 796, 1396 

 
(State Electrical Board) 
24.141.401 and other rules - Board Meetings - Apprentice Registration - Fee 

Schedule - Temporary Practice Permits - Examinations, p. 1219, 2458 
24.141.403 Licensee Responsibilities, p. 317, 1397 
24.141.405 and other rules - Fee Schedule - Continuing Education - Licensee 

Responsibilities - Fee Abatement, p. 17 
 
(Board of Medical Examiners) 
I & II Medical Assistants - Fee Abatement, p. 1882, 2676 
 
(Board of Nursing) 
8.32.402 and other rules - Licensure by Examination - Reexamination-

Registered Nurse - Reexamination-Practical Nurse - Conduct of 
Nurses, p. 516, 1686 

8.32.403 and other rules - Reexamination - Registered Nurse - Reexamination - 
Practical Nurse - Licensure by Endorsement - Temporary Practice 
Permit - Abatement of Fees - Foreign Educated Applicants - Licensure 
for Foreign Nurses, p. 866, 1687 

8.32.427 General Requirements for Medication Aide Training Programs and 
Instructors, p. 1652, 2251 

8.32.1701 and other rules - Delegation, p. 30, 1022, 1291 
 
(Board of Nursing Home Administrators) 
24.162.420 Fee Schedule, p. 1490, 2252 
 
(Board of Outfitters) 
8.39.501 and other rules - Outfitter Licensing and Operations - Transfer from 

the Department of Commerce, p. 1549, 324 
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(Board of Pharmacy) 
24.174.301 and other rules -  Definitions - General Provisions - Licensing - 

Internship Regulations - Pharmacy Technicians - Certified Pharmacies 
- Mail Service Pharmacies - Institutional Pharmacies - Wholesale Drug 
Distributors Licensing - Dangerous Drugs - Renewals and Continuing 
Education - Screening Panel - Inactive License - Telepharmacy 
Operations - Remote Telepharmacy Dispensing Machine Sites - 
Central Filling by Hub Pharmacies - Ambulatory Surgical Facilities - 
Fee Abatement, p. 23 

 
(Board of Physical Therapy Examiners) 
24.177.401 Fees, p. 2376, 225 
 
(Board of Plumbers) 
24.180.607 and other rule - Temporary Practice Permits - Continuing Education 

Requirements, p. 893, 2460 
 
(Board of Private Alternative Adolescent Residential or Outdoor Programs) 
I-VI Private Alternative Adolescent Residential or Outdoor Programs, 

p. 1886, 2677 
 
(Board of Private Security Patrol Officers and Investigators) 
8.50.423 and other rules - Private Security Patrol Officers and Investigators - 

Fee Schedule - Firearms Training Course Curriculum and Standards, 
p. 605, 1926 

 
(Board of Professional Engineers and Professional Land Surveyors) 
24.183.404 and other rules - Fee Schedule - License Seal - Classification of 

Experience for Engineering Applicants - Continuing Education - 
Safety, Health, and Welfare of the Public - Classification of Experience 
- Branch Offices - Fee Abatement, p. 303 

24.183.1001 Form of Corner Records, p. 530, 1783 
 
(Board of Psychologists) 
24.189.601 and other rule - Application Procedures - Licensees from Other States 

or Canadian Jurisdictions, p. 729, 1294 
24.189.2107 and other rule - Continuing Education Implementation - Fee 

Abatement, p. 1739, 2464 
 
(Board of Public Accountants) 
8.54.101 and other rules - Transfer from the Department of Commerce, p. 2668 
8.54.410 and other rules - Fees - Amount of Required Experience - Continuing 

Education Matters - Special Practice Permits for Nonresident Certified 
Public Accountants, p. 1864, 2671, 83 
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(Board of Radiologic Technologists) 
24.204.401 and other rules - Fee Schedule - Permit Fees - Abatement of Renewal 

Fees - Radiologic Technologists Applications - Replacement Licenses 
and Permits - Permits-Practice Limitations - Permit Examinations - 
Radiologist Assistants - Scope of Practice - Supervision - Adoption of 
a Code of Ethics, p. 1226, 2465, 84 

 
(Board of Real Estate Appraisers) 
24.207.401 and other rules - Fees - Licensing - Continuing Education - Renewals, 

p. 52 
24.207.517 and other rule - Trainee and Mentor Requirements, p. 622, 1400 
 
(Board of Realty Regulation) 
8.58.101 and other rules - Transfer from the Department of Commerce, p. 2455 
24.210.667 and other rule - Continuing Real Estate Education - New Licensee 

Mandatory Continuing Education for Salespersons, p. 2546 
 
(Board of Sanitarians) 
24.216.402 Fee Schedule, p. 61 
 
(Board of Veterinary Medicine) 
24.225.301 and other rule - Definitions - Out-of-State Licensure Endorsement - 

Occasional Case Exemption - Fee Abatement, p. 64 
 
LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR, Office of the, Title 30 
 
30.2.201 and other rules - Centennial Grants - Centennial Sanctioning, p. 1358, 

226 
 
LIVESTOCK, Department of, Title 32 
 
32.2.403 Diagnostic Lab Fees, p. 1493, 1785 
32.18.202 and other rule - Sheep Permits, p. 1007, 1517 
 
(Board of Milk Control) 
32.23.301 Fees Charged by the Department on the Volume on All Classes of 

Milk, p. 1743, 2254 
32.24.501 and other rules - Quota, Utilization and Marketing of Montana Pooled 

Raw Milk, p. 2161, 2680 
32.24.513 Computation of Price for Quota Milk and Excess Milk, p. 2551, 330 
 
(Board of Horse Racing) 
32.28.501 and other rule - Horse Racing, p. 194 
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MILITARY AFFAIRS, Department of, Title 34 
 
I-VI Reimbursement for Life Insurance Premiums Paid by Montana 

Reserve Component Service Members Serving Outside Montana in a 
Contingency Operation, p. 1362, 1691 

 
NATURAL RESOURCES AND CONSERVATION, Department of, Title 36 
 
I Specifying Deadline for Water Rights Adjudication Fee Appeals under 

Adjudication Fee, p. 197 
36.12.101 Municipal Use of Water, p. 2316, 199 
36.19.106 Reclamation and Development Grants Program, p. 1746, 2468 
 
(State Board of Land Commissioners and the Department of Natural Resources and 
Conservation) 
36.25.210 Increase Royalty Rates for Oil and Gas Leases on State School Trust 

Lands from Current Rates to 16.67%, p. 1654, 2255 
 
(Board of Oil and Gas Conservation) 
36.22.1242 Privilege and License Tax Rates for Oil and Gas, p. 538, 1045 
 
PUBLIC HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES, Department of, Title 37 
 
I-V Medicare Part D Low Income Subsidies, p. 2423 
I-IV Montana Clean Indoor Air Act, p. 1665, 2079 
I-XV Pharmacy Access Prescription Drug Benefit Program (Big Sky Rx), 

p. 2558, 336 
37.30.102 and other rules - Vocational Rehabilitation Program, p. 1577, 2257 
37.37.316 and other rules - Youth Foster Homes, p. 2379 
37.40.302 and other rules - Nursing Facility Reimbursement, p. 630, 1046 
37.40.311 Medicaid Payments to Nursing Facilities, p. 411, 969, 1401 
37.62.2101 and other rules - Modification of Child Support Orders, p. 2414 
37.70.305 and other rules - Low Income Energy Assistance Program (LIEAP), 

p. 1657, 2078 
37.70.311 and other rules - Low Income Energy Assistance Program (LIEAP), 

p. 1366, 1786 
37.75.101 and other rules - Child and Adult Care Food Program (CACFP), 

p. 2168, 331 
37.78.102 and other rule - Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) - 

Medical Assistance - Purpose and Incorporation of Policy Manuals, 
p. 898, 1591 

37.80.101 and other rules - Child Care Subsidy - Legally Unregistered Provider - 
Child Care Provider Merit Pay - Star Quality Tiered Reimbursement 
Programs, p. 217, 1057 

37.85.406 and other rules - Medicaid Hospital and Ambulatory Surgical Center 
Reimbursement, p. 68 
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37.86.1004 and other rule - Medicaid Dental Reimbursement and Coverage, p. 733, 
1073 

37.86.1105 Medicaid Outpatient Drugs - Pharmacy Reimbursement for Medicare 
Part D Dual Eligibles, p. 2319, 227 

37.86.2207 and other rules - Comprehensive School and Community Treatment 
Program (CSCT), p. 1374, 1787, 2260 

37.86.3607 and other rules - Case Management Services for Persons with 
Developmental Disabilities, Reimbursement, p. 1010 

37.86.4401 and other rules - Reimbursement of Rural Health Clinics and Federally 
Qualified Health Centers, p. 60, 975, 1402 

37.95.102 and other rules - Licensure of Day Care Facilities, p. 2572, 201 
37.104.101 and other rules - Emergency Medical Services, p. 1238, 2681, 229 
37.106.704 Minimum Standards for a Critical Access Hospital, p. 804, 1295, 2258 
37.106.1946 and other rules - Outpatient Crisis Response Facilities, p. 2428 
37.108.219 and other rule - Managed Care Quality Assurance, p. 807, 1296 
37.111.825 School Health Supervision and Maintenance, p. 2555 
37.114.701 and other rules - School Immunization Requirements, p. 541, 1074 
 
PUBLIC SERVICE REGULATION, Department of, Title 38 
 
I-VII Energy Utility Service Standards, p. 416, 1404 
38.5.2202 and other rule - Pipeline Safety, p. 2323, 231 
38.5.4111 InterLATA and IntraLATA PIC Change Charges, p. 2440, 232 
 
REVENUE, Department of, Title 42 
 
I Manufactured Homes and Real Property Taxes, p. 2326, 88 
I & II Gains Calculations - Voluntary Disclosure, p. 314 
I-VI Issuance of Administrative Summons by the Department, p. 2635, 312 
42.2.304 Montana Source Income - Economic Impact Statement, p. 2443, 340 
42.2.304 and other rules - General Department Rules - Penalty and Interest 

Rules, p. 2198, 85 
42.4.201 and other rules - Alternative and Wind Energy Credits, p. 2641, 357 
42.15.112 and other rules - Personal Income Taxes, p. 2213, 3147, 1592 
42.18.109 and other rules - Montana Reappraisal Plans for 2003 and 2009, 

p. 1891, 2469 
42.20.106 and other rules - Property Taxes, p. 1016, 1594 
42.21.113 and other rules - Personal, Industrial, and Centrally Assessed Property 

Taxes, p.  1748, 2262 
42.25.1801 and other rules - Oil, Gas, and Coal Natural Resources, p. 1896, 2470 
 
SECRETARY OF STATE, Title 44 
 
1.2.102 and other rules - Administrative Rules of Montana - Montana 

Administrative Register - Rule Formatting - Incorporation by Reference 
- Fees, p. 2211, 2699 



 
 
 

 
4-2/23/06 Montana Administrative Register 

-590-

1.2.419 and other rule - Scheduled Dates for the 2006 Montana Administrative 
Register - Submission Dates for Replacement Pages, p. 1903, 2334 

44.5.114 and other rule - Corporations - Profit and Nonprofit Fees - Limited 
Liability Company Fees, p. 2238, 2705 

 
(Commissioner of Political Practices) 
44.10.331 Limitations on Receipts from Political Committees to Legislative 

Candidates, p. 1583, 2094 



 

 
 
 
 
 BOARD APPOINTEES AND VACANCIES 
 
 
Section 2-15-108, MCA, passed by the 1991 Legislature, directed that all appointing 
authorities of all appointive boards, commissions, committees and councils of state 
government take positive action to attain gender balance and proportional 
representation of minority residents to the greatest extent possible. 
 
One directive of 2-15-108, MCA, is that the Secretary of State publish monthly in the 
Montana Administrative Register a list of appointees and upcoming or current 
vacancies on those boards and councils. 
 
In this issue, appointments effective in January 2006 appear.  Vacancies scheduled 
to appear from March 1, 2006, through May 31, 2006, are listed, as are current 
vacancies due to resignations or other reasons.  Individuals interested in serving on 
a board should refer to the bill that created the board for details about the number of 
members to be appointed and necessary qualifications. 
 
Each month, the previous month's appointees are printed, and current and upcoming 
vacancies for the next three months are published. 
 
 
 
 
 IMPORTANT 
 

Membership on boards and commissions changes constantly.  The 
following lists are current as of February 1, 2006. 

 
For the most up-to-date information of the status of membership, or for 
more detailed information on the qualifications and requirements to 
serve on a board, contact the appointing authority. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



BOARD AND COUNCIL APPOINTEES FROM JANUARY 2006 
 

Appointee Appointed by Succeeds Appointment/End Date 
 
Aging Advisory Council (Public Health and Human Services) 
Rep. Beverly Barnhart Governor Neath 1/26/2006 
Bozeman   7/18/2008 
Qualifications (if required):  Public Representative 
 
Rep. Antoinette R. Hagener Governor Nikolaisen 1/26/2006 
Havre   7/18/2008 
Qualifications (if required):  Public Representative 
 
Mr. Vern Klingman Governor Saindon 1/26/2006 
Billings   7/18/2008 
Qualifications (if required):  Public Representative 
 
Mr. Linwood Tall Bull Governor Rehbein 1/26/2006 
Lame Deer   7/18/2008 
Qualifications (if required):  Public Representative 
 
Board of Barbers and Cosmetolgists (Labor and Industry) 
Ms. Maggie Burton-Blize Governor Richie 1/31/2006 
Missoula   10/1/2007 
Qualifications (if required):  barber 
 
Board of Hearing Aid Dispensers (Labor and Industry) 
Ms. Lee Frantz Oines Governor Kalarchik 1/27/2006 
Missoula   7/1/2008 
Qualifications (if required):  Dispenser with a Master's Degree and National Certification 
 
 



BOARD AND COUNCIL APPOINTEES FROM JANUARY 2006 
 

Appointee Appointed by Succeeds Appointment/End Date 
 
Board of Hearing Aid Dispensers (Labor and Industry) cont. 
Mr. Herbert Winsor Governor Delano 1/27/2006 
Helena   7/1/2008 
Qualifications (if required):  Public Representative with Hearing Aid 
 
Board of Pardons and Parole (Corrections) 
Mr. Darryl Dupuis Governor reappointed 1/9/2006 
Polson   1/1/2010 
Qualifications (if required):  education or experience in criminology, education, psychiatry, psychology, law & sociology 
 
Ms. Margaret Hall-Bowman Governor reappointed 1/9/2006 
Pablo   1/1/2010 
Qualifications (if required):  education or experience in criminology, education, psychiatry, psychology, law & sociology 
 
Board of Regents (Higher Education) 
Ms. Heather O'Loughlin Governor French 1/3/2006 
Missoula   6/30/2007 
Qualifications (if required):  full-time student at a unit of higher education under jurisdiction of the Board of Regents 
 
Corrections Advisory Council (Corrections) 
Ms. Mikie Baker-Hajek Governor Edwards 1/27/2006 
Great Falls   9/8/2007 
Qualifications (if required):  victims' advocate 
 
 
 
 
 



BOARD AND COUNCIL APPOINTEES FROM JANUARY 2006 
 

Appointee Appointed by Succeeds Appointment/End Date 
 
Country of Origin Labeling Advisory Council (Labor and Industry) 
Rep. Bob Bergren Governor not listed 1/26/2006 
Havre   12/31/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  Legislative Representative 
 
Director Keith Kelly Governor not listed 1/26/2006 
Helena   12/31/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  Department of Labor and Industry Commissioner 
 
Mr. John Lehfeldt Governor not listed 1/26/2006 
Lavina   12/31/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  Livestock Industry Representative 
 
Mr. John Munsell Governor not listed 1/26/2006 
Miles City   12/31/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  Consumer 
 
Ms. Linda Nielsen Governor not listed 1/26/2006 
Nashua   12/31/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  Board of Livestock Representative 
 
Ms. Margaret Novak Governor not listed 1/26/2006 
Chester   12/31/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  Retail Food Industry Representative 
 
Director Nancy K. Peterson Governor not listed 1/26/2006 
Helena   12/31/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  Department of Agriculture Director 



BOARD AND COUNCIL APPOINTEES FROM JANUARY 2006 
 

Appointee Appointed by Succeeds Appointment/End Date 
 
Country of Origin Labeling Advisory Council (Labor and Industry) cont. 
Director Anthony J. Preite Governor not listed 1/26/2006 
Helena   12/31/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  Department of Commerce Director 
 
Mr. Dan Teigen Governor not listed 1/26/2006 
Teigen   12/31/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  Livestock Industry Representative 
 
District Court Judge District 18 Department 3 (Justice) 
Judge John Brown Governor not listed 1/2/2006 
Bozeman   1/1/2007 
Qualifications (if required):  none specified 
 
Historical Records Advisory Board (Historical Society) 
Ms. Jodie Foley Governor Kruckenberg 1/10/2006 
Helena   9/7/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  State Archivist 
 
Montana Grass Conservation Commission (Natural Resources and Conservation) 
Mr. Leo Solf Governor Unruh 1/31/2006 
Winnett   1/1/2009 
Qualifications (if required):  grazing district director 
 
Mr. Alvin Windy Boy, Sr. Governor Brence 1/31/2006 
Box Elder   1/1/2009 
Qualifications (if required):  Public Representative 
 



BOARD AND COUNCIL APPOINTEES FROM JANUARY 2006 
 

Appointee Appointed by Succeeds Appointment/End Date 
 
Montana Historical Society Board of Trustees (Historical Society) 
Mr. Jim Court Governor Henrich 1/11/2006 
Billings   7/1/2009 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Mr. Kent Kleinkopf Governor Murphy 1/11/2006 
Missoula   7/1/2007 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Ms. Katherine Lee Governor Browning 1/11/2006 
Glendive   7/1/2007 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Montana's Advisory Council on Civil Rights Honoring Martin Luther King, Jr. (Office of Community Service) 
Sen. Dorothy Eck Governor not listed 1/13/2006 
Bozeman   1/13/2008 
Qualifications (if required):  Public Representative 
 
Ms. June Hermanson Governor not listed 1/13/2006 
Billings   1/13/2008 
Qualifications (if required):  Public Representative 
 
Ms. Jessie James-Hawley Governor not listed 1/13/2006 
Harlem   1/13/2008 
Qualifications (if required):  Public Representative 
 
 
 



BOARD AND COUNCIL APPOINTEES FROM JANUARY 2006 
 

Appointee Appointed by Succeeds Appointment/End Date 
 
Montana's Advisory Council on Civil Rights Honoring Martin Luther King, Jr. (Office of Community Service) cont. 
Rep. Christine Kaufmann Governor not listed 1/13/2006 
Helena   1/13/2008 
Qualifications (if required):  Public Representative 
 
Ms. Marilyn Kramer Governor not listed 1/13/2006 
Billings   1/13/2008 
Qualifications (if required):  Public Representative 
 
Mr. Murray Pierce Governor not listed 1/13/2006 
Turah   1/13/2008 
Qualifications (if required):  Public Representative 
 
Ms. Katie Stevens Governor not listed 1/13/2006 
Great Falls   1/13/2008 
Qualifications (if required):  Public Representative 
 
Private Security Patrol Officers and Investigators (Labor and Industry) 
Ms. Holly Dershem-Bruce Governor Miller 1/6/2006 
Glendive   8/1/2008 
Qualifications (if required):  Public Representative 
 
Dr. Raymond Murray Governor reappointed 1/6/2006 
Missoula   8/1/2008 
Qualifications (if required):  Post Representative 
 
 
 



BOARD AND COUNCIL APPOINTEES FROM JANUARY 2006 
 

Appointee Appointed by Succeeds Appointment/End Date 
 
Traumatic Brain Injury Advisory Council (Labor and Industry) 
Mr. Lucas Foust Governor Gibbs 1/1/2006 
Bozeman   1/1/2009 
Qualifications (if required):  representative of Injury Control or Prevention Programs 
 
Ms. Marilyn Patrick Governor not listed 1/1/2006 
Butte   1/1/2009 
Qualifications (if required):  Family Member of Survivor 
 
Upper Clark Fork River Basin Remediation and Restoration Advisory Council (Justice) 
Mr. Paul Babb Governor reappointed 1/23/2006 
Butte   1/19/2008 
Qualifications (if required):  resident of Upper Clark Fork River Basin 
 
Ms. Linda Bouck Governor reappointed 1/23/2006 
Anaconda   1/19/2008 
Qualifications (if required):  resident of Upper Clark Fork River Basin 
 
Mr. Larry Curran Governor reappointed 1/23/2006 
Butte   1/19/2008 
Qualifications (if required):  resident of Upper Clark Fork River Basin 
 
Mr. Dennis Daneke Governor reappointed 1/23/2006 
Missoula   1/19/2008 
Qualifications (if required):  resident of Upper Clark Fork River Basin 
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Appointee Appointed by Succeeds Appointment/End Date 
 
Upper Clark Fork River Basin Remediation and Restoration Advisory Council (Justice) cont. 
Mr. James Dinsmore Governor reappointed 1/23/2006 
Hall   1/19/2008 
Qualifications (if required):  resident of Upper Clark Fork River Basin 
 
Ms. Barbara Evans Governor Mahlum 1/23/2006 
Missoula   1/19/2008 
Qualifications (if required):  resident of Upper Clark Fork River Basin 
 
Ms. Kathy Hadley Governor Waber 1/23/2006 
Deer Lodge   1/19/2008 
Qualifications (if required):  resident of Upper Clark Fork River Basin 
 
Director Jeff Hagener Governor not listed 1/23/2006 
Helena   1/19/2008 
Qualifications (if required):  Director of the Department of Fish, Wildlife, and Parks 
 
Mr. John Hollenback Governor reappointed 1/23/2006 
Gold Creek   1/19/2008 
Qualifications (if required):  resident of Upper Clark Fork River Basin 
 
Ms. Sally Johnson Governor reappointed 1/23/2006 
Missoula   1/19/2008 
Qualifications (if required):  resident of Upper Clark Fork River Basin 
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Appointee Appointed by Succeeds Appointment/End Date 
 
Upper Clark Fork River Basin Remediation and Restoration Advisory Council (Justice) cont. 
Mr. Milo Manning Governor Flynn 1/23/2006 
Anaconda   1/19/2008 
Qualifications (if required):  resident of Upper Clark Fork River Basin 
 
Director Richard Opper Governor not listed 1/23/2006 
Helena   1/19/2008 
Qualifications (if required):  Director of the Department of Environmental Quality 
 
Director Mary Sexton Governor not listed 1/23/2006 
Helena   1/19/2008 
Qualifications (if required):  Director of the Department of Natural Resources and Conservation 
 
Ms. Robbie Taylor Governor Harrington 1/23/2006 
Butte   1/19/2008 
Qualifications (if required):  resident of Upper Clark Fork River Basin 
 
Mr. James Yeoman Governor Vuckovich 1/23/2006 
Anaconda   1/19/2008 
Qualifications (if required):  resident of Upper Clark Fork River Basin 
 
Workforce Investment Board (Labor and Industry) 
Ms. Georgia Gibbs-Atkinson Governor Ball 1/6/2006 
Poplar   0/0/0 
Qualifications (if required):  private sector representative 
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Workforce Investment Board (Labor and Industry) cont. 
Mr. Thomas McKenna Governor Taylor 1/25/2006 
Lewistown   0/0/0 
Qualifications (if required):  private sector representative 
 



VACANCIES ON BOARDS AND COUNCILS -- MARCH 1, 2006 through MAY 31, 2006 
 

Board/current position holder Appointed by Term end 
 
Board of Architects  (Labor and Industry) 
Mr. Tobias Stapleton, Billings Governor 3/27/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  licensed architect 
 
Board of Athletics  (Labor and Industry) 
Mr. Don Vegge, Billings Governor 4/25/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Board of Dentistry  (Commerce) 
Ms. Jean Hagan, Big Fork Governor 3/29/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member who is a senior citizen 
 
Dr. James Johnson, Billings Governor 3/29/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  dentist 
 
Board of Hail Insurance  (Agriculture) 
Mr. Larry Barbie, Inverness Governor 4/18/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Board of Nursing Home Administrators  (Commerce) 
Ms. Greta Chaffin, Dillon Governor 5/28/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Board of Nursing Home Administrators  (Labor and Industry) 
Mr. Tom Miller, Helena Governor 5/28/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
 



VACANCIES ON BOARDS AND COUNCILS -- MARCH 1, 2006 through MAY 31, 2006 
 

Board/current position holder Appointed by Term end 
 
Board of Plumbers  (Labor and Industry) 
Mr. Terry Tatchell, Helena Governor 5/4/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  journeyman plumber 
 
Mr. Timothy E. Regan, Miles City Governor 5/4/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  master plumber 
 
Board of Real Estate Appraisers  (Labor and Industry) 
Mr. David Heine, Kalispell Governor 5/1/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  real estate appraiser 
 
Ms. Janeth Martin, Helena Governor 5/1/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Board of Realty Regulation  (Labor and Industry) 
Mr. Terry W. Hilgendorf, Great Falls Governor 5/9/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member and a Republican 
 
Commission on Practice of the Supreme Court  (Supreme Court) 
Mr. Gary Davis, Helena elected 3/28/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  none specified 
 
Mr. Bruce A. Fredrickson, Kalispell elected 3/28/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  none specified 
 
Governor's Council on Organ and Tissue Donor Awareness  (Public Health and Human Services) 
Mr. Tim Reardon, Helena Governor 4/14/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  organ donor recipient 



VACANCIES ON BOARDS AND COUNCILS -- MARCH 1, 2006 through MAY 31, 2006 
 

Board/current position holder Appointed by Term end 
 
Governor's Council on Organ and Tissue Donor Awareness  (Public Health and Human Services) cont. 
Governor Judy Martz, Helena Governor 4/14/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  representative of donor families and state government 
 
Mr. Theodore C. Marchion, Anaconda Governor 4/14/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  representative of donor recipients 
 
Mr. Paul Buck, Missoula Governor 4/14/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  ex-officio member 
 
Ms. Jan Hendrix, Kalispell Governor 4/14/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  ex-officio member 
 
Ms. Sandi Stroot, Superior Governor 4/14/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  ex-officio member 
 
Mr. John Pipe, Wolf Point Governor 4/14/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  organ donor recipient and a Native American 
 
Mr. Dean Roberts, Helena Governor 4/14/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  representative of the Department of Justice 
 
Rev. Kenneth Mottram, Bozeman Governor 4/14/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  representative of clergy 
 
Ms. Jennifer Keck, Conrad Governor 4/14/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  representative of donor recipients 
 



VACANCIES ON BOARDS AND COUNCILS -- MARCH 1, 2006 through MAY 31, 2006 
 

Board/current position holder Appointed by Term end 
 
Governor's Council on Organ and Tissue Donor Awareness  (Public Health and Human Services) cont. 
Ms. Rosemary Wolter, Billings Governor 4/14/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  family donor and businessperson 
 
Ms. Maggie Bullock, Helena Governor 4/14/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  representative of the Department of Public Health and Human Services 
 
Ms. Maggie Allen, Missoula Governor 4/14/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  representative of donor families 
 
Mr. Jim DeTienne, Helena Governor 4/14/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  representative of the Department of Public Health and Human Services 
 
Great Falls College of Tech-MSU  (Education) 
Dr. Clay Gehring, Great Falls Governor 4/15/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Helena College of Tech-UM  (Education) 
Mr. Rick Hays, Helena Governor 4/15/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Library Commission  (Education) 
Mr. Ron Moody, Lewistown Governor 3/22/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  resident of Montana 
 
MSU-Billings Executive Board  (Education) 
Ms. Michelle Hood, Billings Governor 4/15/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 



VACANCIES ON BOARDS AND COUNCILS -- MARCH 1, 2006 through MAY 31, 2006 
 

Board/current position holder Appointed by Term end 
 
MSU-Northern Executive Board  (Education) 
Ms. Judy Greenwood, Havre Governor 4/15/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Montana Abstinence Education Advisory Council  (Public Health and Human Services) 
Dr. Tom Rasmussen, Helena Governor 3/10/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Ms. Jessie Stinger, Polson Governor 3/10/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Mr. Gary Swant, Deer Lodge Governor 3/10/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Mr. Bryce Skjervem, Helena Governor 3/10/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Mr. Jim Good, Bozeman Governor 3/10/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Ms. Joleen Spang, Lame Deer Governor 3/10/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Rep. Jeff Laszloffy, Laurel Governor 3/10/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Ms. Judy LaPan, Sidney Governor 3/10/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
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Board/current position holder Appointed by Term end 
 
Montana Abstinence Education Advisory Council  (Public Health and Human Services) cont. 
Mr. Matt Antonich, Kremlin Governor 3/10/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Mr. Collins Lawlor, Helena Governor 3/10/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  non-voting youth representative 
 
Sen. Sherm Anderson, Deer Lodge Governor 3/10/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Ms. DeAnn Visser, Billings Governor 3/10/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Dr. Ken Graham, Butte Governor 3/10/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Mr. Joe Moerkerke, Conrad Governor 3/10/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Mr. Brent Gyuricza, Missoula Governor 3/10/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Ms. Carrie Price, Great Falls Governor 3/10/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Mr. Chris Jones, Missoula Governor 3/10/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
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Board/current position holder Appointed by Term end 
 
Montana Abstinence Education Advisory Council  (Public Health and Human Services) cont. 
Mr. Lance Lanning, Billings Governor 3/10/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Ms. Terry Reeser, Helena Governor 3/10/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  non-voting youth representative 
 
Mr. David Ames, Helena Governor 3/10/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  non-voting youth representative 
 
Montana Cherry Advisory Committee  (Agriculture) 
Mr. Jan Tusick, Ronan Director 5/3/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  none specified 
 
Montana Council on Homelessness  (Public Health and Human Services) 
Mr. Terry Teichrow, Helena Governor 4/29/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Director Mark A. Simonich, Helena Governor 4/29/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Mr. Ed Amberg, Warm Springs Governor 4/29/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Mr. Mike Ferriter, Helena Governor 4/29/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
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Montana Council on Homelessness  (Public Health and Human Services) cont. 
Mr. Hank Hudson, Helena Governor 4/29/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Ms. Sherry Scheel Matteucci, Missoula Governor 4/29/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Mr. Gordon Belcourt, Billings Governor 4/29/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Mr. Joe Foster, Helena Governor 4/29/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Mr. Roland Mena, Helena Governor 4/29/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Mr. Bob Anderson, Helena Governor 4/29/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Mr. Donald P. Ketchum, Denver Governor 4/29/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Ms. Lori Hartford, Billings Governor 4/29/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Mr. Joe Bichof, Missoula Governor 4/29/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
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Montana Council on Homelessness  (Public Health and Human Services) cont. 
Mr. Eric Sells, Missoula Governor 4/29/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Mr. Gordon Higgins, Helena Governor 4/29/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Mr. Bob Buzzas, Bozeman Governor 4/29/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Montana Heritage Preservation and Development Commission  (Montana Historical Society) 
Mr. F.W. Bill Howell, West Yellowstone Governor 5/23/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  manager of a tourist facility 
 
Ms. Mary Oliver, Ennis Governor 5/23/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  businessperson 
 
Montana State University Executive Board  (Education) 
Ms. Sue Leigland, Bozeman Governor 4/15/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Public Employees Retirement Board  (Administration) 
Rep. Betty Lou Kasten, Brockway Governor 4/1/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
State 9-1-1 Advisory Council  (Administration) 
Mr. Jim Anderson, Helena Director 3/1/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  Department of Military Affairs Disaster and Emergency Services Division 
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State 9-1-1 Advisory Council  (Administration) cont. 
Mr. Geoff Feiss, Helena Director 3/1/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  Montana Telephone Association 
 
Mr. Richard Brumley, Lewistown Director 3/1/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  Montana Emergency Medical Services Association 
 
Mr. Chuck Winn, Bozeman Director 3/1/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  Montana State Fire Chiefs Association 
 
Mr. Joe Calnan, Montana City Director 3/1/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  Montana State Volunteer Fire Fighters Association 
 
Ms. Wilma Puich, Butte Director 3/1/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  Association of Disaster and Emergency Services Coordinators 
 
Mr. Larry Sheldon, Helena Director 3/1/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  Qwest Communications 
 
Sheriff Cheryl Liedle, Helena Director 3/1/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  Montana Sheriff's and Peace Officers Association 
 
Mr. Doug Kaercher, Havre Director 3/1/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  Montana Association of Counties 
 
Mr. Fred Leistiko, Kalispell Director 3/1/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  Montana League of Cities and Towns 
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State 9-1-1 Advisory Council  (Administration) cont. 
Mr. Kevin Myhre, Lewistown Director 3/1/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  Montana Association of Chiefs of Police 
 
Mr. Bill Rusche, Wolf Point Director 3/1/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  Association of Public Safety Communications Officials 
 
Mr. Thom Danenhower, Helena Director 3/1/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  Department of Public Health and Human Services 
 
Mr. Dave Rosencrans, Helena Director 3/1/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  Public Safety Answering Point Representative 
 
Ms. Lisa Kelly, Kalispell Director 3/1/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  Century Tel 
 
Ms. Bonnie Lorang, Helena Director 3/1/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  Montana Independent Telecommunications Systems 
 
Ms. Margaret Morgan, Helena Director 3/1/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  Western Wireless 
 
Ms. Aimee Grmolijez, Helena Director 3/1/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  Verizon Wireless 
 
Mr. Craig Bender, Great Falls Director 3/1/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  3 Rivers Wireless 
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State Library Commission  (State Library) 
Mr. Donald Allen, Billings Governor 5/22/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
University of Montana Executive Board  (Education) 
Mr. Leonard Landa, Missoula Governor 4/15/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Western Montana College of the University of Montana  (Education) 
Ms. Evelyn Ann Lohman, Dillon Governor 4/15/2006 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 


