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BEFORE THE BOARD OF SANITARIANS 
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

 STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of 
ARM 24.216.402 fee schedule, 
24.216.501 applications, 24.216.502 
minimum licensure standards, 
24.216.503 examination, 24.216.2102 
continuing education, amendment 
and transfer of 24.216.2103 
sanitarian-in-training, and the 
adoption of NEW RULE I inactive 
status licensure 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING ON 
PROPOSED AMENDMENT, 
AMENDMENT AND TRANSFER,  
AND ADOPTION 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
 1.  On April 14, 2011, at 10:00 a.m., a public hearing will be held in room B-
07, 301 South Park Avenue, Helena, Montana, to consider the proposed 
amendment, amendment and transfer, and adoption of the above-stated rules. 
 
 2.  The Department of Labor and Industry (department) will make reasonable 
accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this public 
hearing or need an alternative accessible format of this notice.  If you require an 
accommodation, contact the Board of Sanitarians (board) no later than 5:00 p.m., on 
April 8, 2011, to advise us of the nature of the accommodation that you need.  
Please contact Susan Wevley, Board of Sanitarians, 301 South Park Avenue, P.O. 
Box 200513, Helena, Montana 59620-0513; telephone (406) 841-2348; Montana 
Relay 1 (800) 253-4091; TDD (406) 444-2978; facsimile (406) 841-2309; e-mail 
dlibsdsan@mt.gov. 
 
 3.  The rules proposed to be amended provide as follows, stricken matter 
interlined, new matter underlined: 
 
 24.216.402  FEE SCHEDULE 
 (1) through (4) remain the same. 
 (5)  Inactive renewal 90 
 (5) remains the same, but is renumbered (6). 
 (7)  Sanitarian-in-training (NEHA registered) application fee 100 
 (6) through (9) remain the same, but are renumbered (8) through (11). 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-40-203, MCA  
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-40-301, 37-40-302, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board is proposing New Rule I to establish inactive licensure status 
for sanitarians.  It is reasonably necessary to set a reduced fee for inactive license 
renewal, as board staff will not monitor any continuing education requirements for 
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them.  The board estimates that 20 licensees will be affected by the new fee, and 
the board's annual revenue will be reduced by $1,800. 
 The board is adding (7) to set a reduced sanitarian-in-training application fee 
for National Environmental Health Association (NEHA) registered applicants.  
Following amendment of ARM 24.216.502, the board concluded a lesser fee is 
appropriate since NEHA-registered applicants will only provide proof of a general 
microbiology class, while other applicants must submit a supervision plan.  The 
board estimates that approximately two individuals will be affected by this new fee, 
with a reduction in overall annual revenue of $200. 
 
 24.216.501  APPLICATIONS  (1)  An application for original license, renewal, 
examination, or reinstatement must be made on a form provided by the board and 
completed and signed by the applicant, with the signature acknowledged before a 
notary public. 
 (2) remains the same. 
 (3)  The board shall require the applicant to submit a recent, passport-type 
photograph of the applicant. 
 (4) (3)  The board shall review fully-completed complete applications for 
compliance with board law and rules.  The board may request additional information 
or clarification of information provided in the application as it deems reasonably 
necessary.  Incomplete applications may be returned to the applicant with a 
statement regarding incomplete portions. 
 (5) (4)  The applicant shall correct any deficiencies and resubmit the 
application as requested.  Failure to resubmit the application correct any deficiencies 
within 60 days shall be treated as a voluntary withdrawal of the application.  After 
voluntary withdrawal, an applicant will be required to submit an entirely new 
application to begin the process again. 
 (6)  The board shall notify the applicant in writing of the results of the 
evaluation of the application and schedule the applicant to sit for the examination 
within 30 days of the approval date. 
 (7) (5)  All requests for reasonable accommodations under the Americans 
with Disabilities Act of 1990, as 42 USC section 12101, et seq., with regard to a 
board-administered licensing examination, must be made on forms provided by the 
board and submitted with the application prior to any application deadline set by the 
board. 
 
 AUTH:  37-40-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-40-301, 37-40-302, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board determined it is reasonably necessary to amend (1) and no 
longer require notary acknowledgment of an applicant's signature, as the applicant's 
identity is verified through other methods.  The board is also eliminating the 
unnecessary requirement for a passport photograph in (3) to reduce nonelectronic 
storage costs and because identity is already verified.  The board concluded that 
having duplicate applications is unnecessarily redundant and increases storage 
costs, and is amending (5) so applicants will not have to resubmit a full application 
when correcting deficiencies.  To align board processes with those of other 
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department boards, the board is deleting (6).  This amendment will facilitate 
electronic notification and acknowledges that some circumstances prevent exam 
scheduling within 30 days. 
 
 24.216.502  MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR LICENSURE SANITARIANS AND 
SANITARIANS-IN-TRAINING  (1)  The board may accept graduation from an 
accredited college or university with a bachelor's degree, and including a minimum 
of 45 quarter or 30 semester hours in the physical and biological sciences, including 
courses in chemistry, microbiology, and biology, and at least one general 
microbiology course as an equivalent qualification of a bachelor's degree in 
environmental health as required by 37-40-302, MCA.  "General microbiology 
course" means an accredited course that focuses on the basic concepts of 
microbiology and the activities of bacteria, viruses, and other microorganisms, and 
their impact on humans.  Courses that focus primarily on cellular biochemistry, 
cellular genetics, and intracellular functions are not general microbiology courses for 
the purpose of this rule. 
 (2)  A holder of current National Environmental Health Association (NEHA) 
registration is qualified to be registered as a sanitarian in the state of Montana. 
 (2)  A person meeting the minimum standards for licensure, with the 
exception of approved microbiology credits, may be approved as a sanitarian-in-
training, but must satisfactorily complete the microbiology course during the one-
year sanitarian-in-training permit period provided for in 37-40-101(6), MCA. 
 (3)  A holder of a current National Environmental Health Association (NEHA) 
registration, who also has not completed a general microbiology course, is qualified 
to be a sanitarian-in-training.  A holder of a current NEHA registration, who has 
taken the required general microbiology course, is qualified to be registered as a 
sanitarian in the state of Montana. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-40-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-40-302, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board determined it is reasonably necessary to amend (1) to further 
specify the microbiology course required for equivalency to a bachelor's degree in 
environmental health under 37-40-302, MCA.  Although microbiology is currently 
required for equivalency, the board is clarifying the course content now to address 
applicant confusion and ensure adequate education for alternate degree applicants. 
 The board is adding new (2) to allow applicants without the required general 
microbiology course to complete a course during the sanitarians-in-training permit 
period, and clarify licensure requirements for NEHA-registered applicants in new (3).  
Noting that most applicants are missing the general microbiology course, the board 
concluded that sanitarians-in-training may complete the microbiology course when 
they are supervised by registered sanitarians during their permit period.  Having 
concluded that microbiology is required for environmental health degree 
equivalency, and noting that NEHA registration no longer requires a general 
microbiology class, the board is specifying in (3) that NEHA certificate holders must 
also complete a general microbiology course.  Further, NEHA certificate holders 
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without the microbiology course qualify as sanitarians-in-training and may complete 
the course during the supervised permit period. 
 
 24.216.503  EXAMINATION  (1)  Upon approval of the application set forth in 
ARM 24.216.501 or and 24.216.2103 24.216.506, the applicant shall submit an 
examination fee and make an appointment with the board office to sit for the written 
examination within 30 days of the application approval, or once the applicant 
receives an admissions letter from the board office, the applicant shall submit the 
examination fee and schedule a time to sit for the written examination with the 
vendor testing service within 30 days of the application approval.  Examination 
candidates must present photo identification prior to being admitted to the 
examination. 
 (2) through (4) remain the same. 
 (5)  If, after one year of receipt of an application, an applicant has not passed 
the examination, a new application and application fee will be required to sit for the 
examination. 
 (6) remains the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-40-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-40-302, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board is amending (1) to reflect the current procedure in which some 
examination candidates elect to take the examination from an approved vendor, 
rather than directly from the board.  The board is also updating this rule to reflect a 
transferred rule elsewhere in this notice. 
 
 24.216.2102  CONTINUING EDUCATION  (1)  Continuing education is that 
education obtained after registration of a sanitarian, which is in addition to the 
educational requirements set by statute for licensure.  Continuing education must be 
related to the practice of the profession of a sanitarian. 
 (2)  A licensee must affirm on the licensee's license renewal form that the 
licensee has obtained a minimum of 15 clock hours (50 to 60 minutes per hour) or 
1.5 continuing education units with the licensee's renewal form each odd-numbered 
year. 
 (3) and (4) remain the same. 
 (5)  Credit for any continuing education courses, workshops, seminars, 
educational conferences, and other programs is subject to approval by the board. 
 (6) remains the same. 
 (a)  Workshops, seminars, and educational conferences sponsored by the 
National Environmental Health Association, the Montana Environmental Health 
Association, the Montana Department of Environmental Quality, and the Montana 
Department of Public Health and Human Services; and 
 (b) remains the same. 
 (7)  Continuing education may be obtained by correspondence course work 
through the National Environmental Health Association, Centers for Disease Control, 
Food and Drug Administration, and other organizations, subject to approval by the 
board. 
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 (8)  Any continuing education which has been obtained in another state that 
meets the continuing education requirements of that state may be approved for 
credit by the board. 
 (9)  The board may approve a waiver of the continuing education requirement 
of a registered sanitarian who has retired from active practice of the profession and 
submits a written request to the board before the renewal date. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-319, 37-40-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-306, 37-40-203, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board is amending (6) to reflect the board's decision that Montana 
Department of Environmental Quality workshops, seminars, and conferences are 
important to public safety, and therefore do not need special board approval.  This 
amendment will also simplify the continuing education (CE) approval process.  The 
board is deleting the provision for board waiver of CE for retired sanitarians in (9), as 
there is no retired license status.  Authority and implementation cites are being 
amended to accurately reflect all statutes implemented through the rule and provide 
the complete sources of the board's rulemaking authority. 
 
 4.  The rule as proposed to be amended and transferred provides as follows, 
stricken matter interlined, new matter underlined: 
 
 24.216.2103 (24.216.506)  SANITARIAN-IN-TRAINING  (1)  On a form 
prescribed by the board, an applicant shall apply for and the board may issue a 
sanitarian-in-training exemption permit to an applicant who meets the minimum 
educational requirements for a registered sanitarian under 37-40-301 and 37-40-
302, MCA, and ARM 24.216.502.  A person who has not completed an approved 
general microbiology course, but who otherwise meets the minimum standards for 
licensure, may be approved as a sanitarian-in-training. 
 (2) through (2)(a)(iii) remain the same. 
 (b)  A sanitarian-in-training who satisfies the requirements of ARM 
24.216.502(3): 
 (i)  shall inform the board regarding his or her participation in a general 
microbiology course; and 
 (ii)  is not required to complete a separate plan of supervision if the sanitarian-
in-training submits the information required in (2)(b)(i). 
 (3)  "Supervision," for purposes of this rule, means the availability of a 
licensed sanitarian for purposes of immediate communication and consultation on a 
weekly and as-needed basis as identified in the approved plan of supervision. 
 (4)  A sanitarian-in-training exemption permit is valid for a period of one year.  
While practicing under a valid sanitarian-in-training exemption, the sanitarian-in-
training is eligible to sit for the examination.  A sanitarian-in-training who meets all 
the minimum standards for licensure is eligible to take the examination.  There is no 
limit to the number of times a sanitarian-in-training may take the examination during 
the one-year exemption period. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-319, 37-40-203, MCA 
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 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-305, 37-40-101, 37-40-203, 37-40-301, 37-40-302, 
MCA 
 
REASON:  The board is amending this rule to align with amendments to ARM 
24.216.502 and address sanitarian-in-training licensure for applicants with current 
NEHA registration, but without a general microbiology course.  These applicants will 
be required to provide proof of participation in a general microbiology course, but will 
not need a plan of supervision.  The board is amending (4) to clarify that sanitarians-
in-training must meet all minimum licensure standards to be eligible to take the exam 
to answer questions and diminish confusion among applicants. 
 The board is replacing "exemption" with "permit" throughout the rule to align 
with statutory terminology.  The board is transferring the rule to properly place the 
rule in subchapter five with the other licensing rules.  Authority and implementation 
cites are being amended to accurately reflect all statutes implemented through the 
rule and provide the complete sources of the board's rulemaking authority. 
 
 5.  The proposed new rule provides as follows: 
 
 NEW RULE I  INACTIVE STATUS AND CONVERSION FROM INACTIVE TO 
ACTIVE STATUS  (1)  A licensee may place the license on inactive status by either 
indicating on the renewal form or by informing the board office, in writing, that an 
inactive status license is desired.  It is the sole responsibility of the inactive licensee 
to keep the board informed as to any change of address during the period of time 
the license remains on inactive status.  Inactive licensees must pay the renewal fee 
annually to maintain license status. 
 (2)  A licensee may not practice as a sanitarian in the state of Montana while 
the license is on inactive status. 
 (3)  To convert an inactive status license to active status, an applicant shall 
complete an application and must: 
 (a)  signify to the board, in writing, that upon issuance of the active license, 
the applicant intends to be an active practitioner in the state of Montana; and 
 (b)  present satisfactory evidence that the applicant has attended 15 hours of 
continuing education within the last two years prior to reactivation, which comply with 
the continuing education rules of the board. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-319, 37-40-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-319, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board determined it is reasonably necessary to establish an inactive 
licensure status for licensees not actively working as sanitarians or those working 
outside Montana.  The board notes that a number of licensees would like to retain 
licensure, but are currently considering retirement or not actively working in the 
state.  To convert back to active status, licensees must notify the board in writing 
and prove 15 hours of continuing education within the last two years, which the 
board concluded will ensure adequate public protection. 
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 6.  Concerned persons may present their data, views, or arguments either 
orally or in writing at the hearing.  Written data, views, or arguments may also be 
submitted to the Board of Sanitarians, 301 South Park Avenue, P.O. Box 200513, 
Helena, Montana 59620-0513, by facsimile to (406) 841-2309, or by e-mail to 
dlibsdsan@mt.gov, and must be received no later than 5:00 p.m., April 22, 2011. 
 
 7.  An electronic copy of this Notice of Public Hearing is available through the 
department and board's site on the World Wide Web at www.sanitarian.mt.gov.  The 
department strives to make the electronic copy of this notice conform to the official 
version of the notice, as printed in the Montana Administrative Register, but advises 
all concerned persons that in the event of a discrepancy between the official printed 
text of the notice and the electronic version of the notice, only the official printed text 
will be considered.  In addition, although the department strives to keep its web site 
accessible at all times, concerned persons should be aware that the web site may 
be unavailable during some periods, due to system maintenance or technical 
problems, and that technical difficulties in accessing or posting to the e-mail address 
do not excuse late submission of comments. 
 
 8.  The board maintains a list of interested persons who wish to receive 
notices of rulemaking actions proposed by this board.  Persons who wish to have 
their name added to the list shall make a written request that includes the name, e-
mail, and mailing address of the person to receive notices and specifies the person 
wishes to receive notices regarding all board administrative rulemaking proceedings 
or other administrative proceedings.  The request must indicate whether e-mail or 
standard mail is preferred.  Such written request may be sent or delivered to the 
Board of Sanitarians, 301 South Park Avenue, P.O. Box 200513, Helena, Montana 
59620-0513; faxed to the office at (406) 841-2309; e-mailed to dlibsdsan@mt.gov; or 
made by completing a request form at any rules hearing held by the agency. 
 
 9.  The bill sponsor contact requirements of 2-4-302, MCA, do not apply. 
 
 10.  Don Harris, attorney, has been designated to preside over and conduct 
this hearing. 
 
 
 BOARD OF SANITARIANS 
 JIM ZABROCKI, RS, CHAIRPERSON 
 
 
/s/ DARCEE L. MOE /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Darcee L. Moe Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Alternate Rule Reviewer DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 
 Certified to the Secretary of State March 14, 2011 
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BEFORE THE BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

 STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of 
ARM 24.225.401 fees, 24.225.503 
examination application 
requirements, 24.225.504 
examination for licensure, 24.225.907 
board-approved training program 
criteria, 24.225.910 certified 
euthanasia technician test criteria, 
and 24.225.921 certified euthanasia 
agency inspection criteria 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING ON 
PROPOSED AMENDMENT 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
 1.  On April 18, 2011, at 10:30 a.m., a public hearing will be held in room B-
07, 301 South Park Avenue, Helena, Montana, to consider the proposed 
amendment of the above-stated rules. 
 
 2.  The Department of Labor and Industry (department) will make reasonable 
accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this public 
hearing or need an alternative accessible format of this notice.  If you require an 
accommodation, contact the Board of Veterinary Medicine (board) no later than 5:00 
p.m., on April 15, 2011, to advise us of the nature of the accommodation that you 
need.  Please contact Cheryl Brandt, Board of Veterinary Medicine, 301 South Park 
Avenue, P.O. Box 200513, Helena, Montana 59620-0513; telephone (406) 841-
2394; Montana Relay 1 (800) 253-4091; TDD (406) 444-2978; facsimile (406) 841-
2305; e-mail dlibsdvet@mt.gov. 
 
 3.  The rules proposed to be amended provide as follows, stricken matter 
interlined, new matter underlined: 
 
 24.225.401  FEE SCHEDULE 
 (1) remains the same. 
 (a)  Renewal of license $ 65 110 
 (b) and (c) remain the same. 
 (d)  Temporary permit 50 75 
 (2) remains the same. 
 (a)  Application for examination 450 100 
 (b)  Examination 450 
 (b) (c)  Renewal of certification 65 110 
 (3) and (3)(a) remain the same. 
 (b)  Technician renewal 70 110 
 (c) remains the same. 
 (d)  Agency renewal 125 195 
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 (e) through (5) remain the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-18-202, 37-18-603, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-1-304, 37-1-305, 37-18-302, 37-18-603, MCA 
 
REASON:  Section 37-1-134, MCA, requires all professional and occupational 
licensing boards to set and maintain fees commensurate with associated costs.  The 
board is amending this rule by raising certain fees to meet the expected costs of a 
new division computer database, the scanning and electronic storage of all licensing 
files, and an overall increase in board staff workload.  In providing administrative 
services to the board, the Department of Labor and Industry (department) has 
determined that unless the licensure fees are increased as proposed, the board will 
have a negative cash balance and shortage of operating funds in FY 2012.  The 
board estimates that the proposed fee changes will affect approximately 1086 
licensees and examinees and result in a $48,995 increase in annual board revenue. 
 The board is amending (2)(a) to separate the examination application fee for 
embryo transfer technicians from the cost of the examination itself.  When a 
candidate fails and retakes the exam, the cost of the examination remains static.  
The board concluded that the cost to process applications should not be combined 
with the examination fee, because the application remains open while the candidate 
pays for and retakes the examination.  Currently, the board is not compensated for 
these application processing costs. 
 
 24.225.503  EXAMINATION APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS 
 (1)  Applicants for licensure by examination in the state of Montana shall 
submit a completed application with the proper fee and supporting documents to the 
board office.  Applicants for the North American Veterinary Licensing Examination 
(NAVLE) wishing to sit as a Montana candidate shall submit the Montana state 
licensure application to the board no later than August 1 for the fall NAVLE 
administration or January 3 for the spring NAVLE administration.  Montana NAVLE 
candidates shall submit the NAVLE application and fee directly to the National Board 
of Veterinary Medical Examiners. 
 (2)  Supporting documents for the Montana state licensure application must 
include: 
 (a) and (i) remain the same. 
 (b)  North American Veterinary Licensing Examination (NAVLE) score 
received directly from the official score reporting agency.  NAVLE candidates shall 
submit the NAVLE application and fee directly to the National Board of Veterinary 
Medical Examiners (NBVME); 
 (b) and (c) remain the same, but are renumbered (c) and (d). 
 (d) (e)  the candidate's work history of all employment concurrent as well as 
and consecutive employment, starting at the date of application and working back to 
graduation; and 
 (e) and (2) remain the same, but are renumbered (f) and (3). 
 (a)  pass the NAVLE at or above the designated passing standard established 
by the national examination entity as approved by the board within 62 months of the 
application date; and 
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 (b) remains the same. 
 (3) (4)  Foreign veterinary school graduates from a school not accredited by 
the AVMA Council on Education shall either have completed the requirements of the 
American Veterinary Medical Association's Education Commission for Foreign 
Veterinary Graduates (ECFVG), as evidenced by a copy of the ECFVG certificate, or 
must have completed the requirements of the Program for the Assessment of 
Veterinary Education Equivalence (PAVE), as evidenced by a copy of the PAVE 
certificate, before an application will be accepted. 
 (a)  For specific information on the requirements of the ECFVG, contact the 
American Veterinary Medical Association, ECFVG, 1931 North Meacham Road, 
Suite 100, Schaumburg, IL  60173.  For specific information on the requirements of 
the PAVE, contact the American Association of Veterinary State Boards at 4106 
Central 380 West 22nd Street, Suite 101, Kansas City, MO 64111  64108. 
 (4) remains the same but is renumbered (5). 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-18-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-18-302, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board determined it is reasonably necessary to amend (1) and 
remove the early submission requirement of Montana applications to the board.  The 
National Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners recently started preapproving 
NAVLE applications and the board is amending this rule to align with their timelines 
and simplify the overall exam application process. 
  The board is amending (2) to clarify that the NAVLE scores must be received 
directly from the official score-reporting agency to ensure that scores are not 
tampered with in any manner.  The board no longer receives any examination 
applications for candidates sitting for the national examination.  It is reasonably 
necessary to amend this rule to instruct candidates on the proper process for 
applying for and paying for the NAVLE. 
 The board is amending (3)(a) to clarify that acceptable examination scores 
must be obtained within 62 months of the application date.  This will help ensure that 
candidates maintain adequate veterinary skills and knowledge in the period between 
applying and passing the examination.  Candidates who do not take or who take and 
do not pass the examination within the 62-month period may not be suitable for 
veterinary licensing.  The board is also amending (4)(a) to provide the current 
address for the American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB). 
 
 24.225.504  EXAMINATION FOR LICENSURE  (1) through (1)(b) remain the 
same. 
 (2)  A candidate may not sit for the NAVLE more than five times and may not 
sit for the examination at a date that is later than five years after a candidate's initial 
attempt, unless approved by the board.  Each of the final two attempts must be at 
least one year from the previous attempt.  Any previous attempts by a candidate to 
pass the NAVLE, prior to the fall 2007 administration of the examination, will not 
count towards the five-attempt limit. 
 (3) remains the same. 
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 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-18-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-18-302, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board determined it is reasonably necessary to amend this rule to 
allow the board to grant exceptions for candidates seeking to sit for the NAVLE a 
sixth time or outside the five-year time limit.  The board has been previously unable 
to consider requests from candidates who did not pass the examination once, and 
then pursued another graduate degree complementary to veterinary medicine.  
Other requests have come from candidates who experienced personal hardships 
such as illness or family events.  The board concluded that it is reasonable for the 
board to have some discretion to grant limited exceptions in certain situations. 
 
 24.225.907  BOARD-APPROVED TRAINING PROGRAM CRITERIA  (1) 
through (1)(b)(ii) remain the same. 
 (iii)  pharmacology of approved euthanasia and restraint drugs; 
 (iv) through (1)(c)(iv) remain the same. 
 (v)  number of hours; and 
 (vi) remains the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-18-202, 37-18-603, MCA 
 IMP:     37-18-603, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board is amending this rule to clarify that instruction in the 
pharmacology of restraint drugs is required for approved euthanasia training 
programs.  The board recognizes that euthanasia would be inhumane without the 
proper use of restraint drugs, and is amending this rule to help ensure their legal and 
proper use, following appropriate training and examination. 
 
 24.225.910  CERTIFIED EUTHANASIA TECHNICIAN TEST CRITERIA 
 (1) through (1)(c) remain the same. 
 (d)  pharmacology of sodium pentobarbital, xylazine, and acepromazine; 
 (e)  proper dosage and injection techniques of approved euthanasia and 
restraint drugs; 
 (f) through (2) remain the same. 
 (3)  A passing score on the practical test will be determined by the successful 
completion of hands-on demonstrations, which indicate that the applicant has been 
properly trained in procedures, which enable the applicant safely and effectively to 
restrain and perform humane euthanasia with restraint drugs and sodium 
pentobarbital.  The practical examination will be graded on a pass/fail basis.  The 
practical test shall be administered by the board-approved course provider. 
 (4) remains the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-18-202, 37-18-603, MCA 
 IMP:     37-18-603, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board is amending this rule to require that two drugs commonly used 
in euthanasia, xylazine and acepromazine, are included in all course tests for 
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training euthanasia technicians.  The board is adding restraint drugs to the required 
test criteria, because the board recognizes that euthanasia would be inhumane 
without the proper use of restraint drugs, and is amending this rule to help ensure 
their legal and proper use, following appropriate training and examination. 
 
 24.225.921  CERTIFIED EUTHANASIA AGENCY INSPECTION CRITERIA - 
NOTIFICATION OF DEFICIENCIES AND CORRECTIONS  (1) through (2)(a) 
remain the same. 
 (b)  verification of the correct security, storage, disposal, and labeling of 
euthanasia and restraint drugs; 
 (c)  verification of correct drug record-keeping; 
 (d) and (e) remain the same. 
 (3)  If the inspector determines that a deficiency substantially affects the 
public health, safety, or welfare, or jeopardizes animals under the control of the 
CEA, the inspector must immediately inform law enforcement and the board, which 
may summarily suspend the CEA's certificate pursuant to 2-4-631, MCA, and 
applicable Montana law.  If a less serious deficiency is found after inspection, it must 
be communicated to the agency and the board in writing.  The CEA must correct any 
such deficiency within 30 days from the date of the inspection.  If a second 
inspection is required, a second inspection fee must be paid by the agency.  Failure 
to sufficiently correct a noted deficiency will be addressed as a disciplinary matter by 
the screening panel of the board, and the board may notify the DEA. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-18-202, 37-18-603, MCA 
 IMP:     37-18-603, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board is adding restraint drugs to the list of inspection criteria, 
because the board recognizes that euthanasia would be inhumane without the 
proper use of restraint drugs, and is amending this rule to help ensure their legal and 
proper use, following appropriate training and examination. 
 
 4.  Concerned persons may present their data, views, or arguments either 
orally or in writing at the hearing.  Written data, views, or arguments may also be 
submitted to the Board of Veterinary Medicine, 301 South Park Avenue, P.O. Box 
200513, Helena, Montana 59620-0513, by facsimile to (406) 841-2305, or by e-mail 
to dlibsdvet@mt.gov, and must be received no later than 5:00 p.m., April 26, 2011. 
 
 5.  An electronic copy of this Notice of Public Hearing is available through the 
department and board's site on the World Wide Web at www.vet.mt.gov.  The 
department strives to make the electronic copy of this notice conform to the official 
version of the notice, as printed in the Montana Administrative Register, but advises 
all concerned persons that in the event of a discrepancy between the official printed 
text of the notice and the electronic version of the notice, only the official printed text 
will be considered.  In addition, although the department strives to keep its web site 
accessible at all times, concerned persons should be aware that the web site may 
be unavailable during some periods, due to system maintenance or technical 
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problems, and that technical difficulties in accessing or posting to the e-mail address 
do not excuse late submission of comments. 
 
 6.  The board maintains a list of interested persons who wish to receive 
notices of rulemaking actions proposed by this board.  Persons who wish to have 
their name added to the list shall make a written request that includes the name, e-
mail, and mailing address of the person to receive notices and specifies the person 
wishes to receive notices regarding all board administrative rulemaking proceedings 
or other administrative proceedings.  The request must indicate whether e-mail or 
standard mail is preferred.  Such written request may be sent or delivered to the 
Board of Veterinary Medicine, 301 South Park Avenue, P.O. Box 200513, Helena, 
Montana 59620-0513; faxed to the office at (406) 841-2305; e-mailed to 
dlibsdvet@mt.gov; or made by completing a request form at any rules hearing held 
by the agency. 
 
 7.  The bill sponsor contact requirements of 2-4-302, MCA, do not apply. 
 
 8.  Anne O'Leary, attorney, has been designated to preside over and conduct 
this hearing. 
 
 
 BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 
 ROBERT SAGER, DVM, PRESIDENT 
 
 
/s/ DARCEE L. MOE /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Darcee L. Moe Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Alternate Rule Reviewer DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 
 Certified to the Secretary of State March 14, 2011 
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 BEFORE THE PETROLEUM TANK RELEASE COMPENSATION BOARD 
 OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of ARM 
17.58.201, 17.58.301, 17.58.311, 
17.58.313, 17.58.323, 17.58.325, 
17.58.326, 17.58.331, 17.58.332, 
17.58.333, 17.58.334, 17.58.335, 
17.58.336, 17.58.337, 17.58.340, 
17.58.341, 17.58.342, and 17.58.343; 
the adoption of New Rule I; and the 
repeal of ARM 17.58.312 and 17.58.339 
pertaining to procedural and substantive 
rules regarding petroleum tank release 
compensation 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF AMENDMENT, 
ADOPTION, AND REPEAL 

 
(PETROLEUM TANK RELEASE 

COMPENSATION BOARD) 

 
 TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
 1.  On January 13, 2011, the Petroleum Tank Release Compensation Board 
published MAR Notice No. 17-313 regarding a notice of public hearing on the 
proposed amendment, adoption, and repeal of the above-stated rules at page 1, 
2011 Montana Administrative Register, issue number 1. 
 
 2.  The board has amended ARM 17.58.201, 17.58.313, 17.58.323, 
17.58.325, 17.58.326, 17.58.331, 17.58.332, 17.58.333, 17.58.334, 17.58.335, 
17.58.336, 17.58.337, 17.58.340, 17.58.341, 17.58.342, and 17.58.343; adopted 
New Rule I (17.58.344); and repealed ARM 17.58.312 and 17.58.339 exactly as 
proposed.  The board has amended ARM 17.58.301 and 17.58.311 as proposed, 
but with the following changes: 
 
 17.58.301  GUIDELINES FOR PUBLIC PARTICIPATION  (1) remains as 
proposed. 
 (2)  The board shall provide access to the interested parties e-mail list link on 
the board web site for persons who wish to know about the board's proposed rules 
and rulemaking proceedings.  Any person may add their name and e-mail address 
to this list through the board's interested parties e-mail list link on the board web 
site. 
 (3) and (4) remain as proposed. 
 
 17.58.311  DEFINITIONS  Unless the context clearly indicates otherwise, the 
following definitions, in addition to those in 75-11-302, MCA, apply throughout this 
chapter: 
 (1) through (24)(b) remain as proposed. 
 (25)  "Release discovery date" means the earliest of: 
 (a)  the date of discovery by an owner or an operator of any of the conditions 
set forth in ARM 17.5856.502(1), provided that a release is confirmed in any manner 
provided in ARM 17.5856.504 or 17.5856.506 after the condition is discovered; 
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 (b)  the date that the owner or operator had actual knowledge of a release; or 
 (c)  the date that the release is confirmed in any manner provided in ARM 
17.5856.504. 
 (26) through (31) remain as proposed. 
 
 3.  The following comments were received and appear with the board's 
responses: 
 
 COMMENT NO. 1:  The guidelines for public participation in ARM 
17.58.301(2) seem a little wordy and confusing.  There isn't a list that shows all 
interested parties.  Perhaps this wording might be more clear:  "The board shall 
provide access to the link to subscribe to the interested parties e-mail list on the 
board website." 
 RESPONSE:  The board acknowledges that the proposed amendments to 
ARM 17.58.301(2) could have been more clear and has amended the rule as shown 
above. 
 
 COMMENT NO. 2:  One comment was received stating that ARM 17.58.311, 
Definitions, references Title 17, chapter 58, subchapter 5 series rules.  It does not 
appear that Title 17, chapter 58 has a 500 series subchapter.  The rule should be 
revised to correct the ARM references. 
 RESPONSE:  The board agrees with this comment and has amended the 
rule as shown above to correct the internal references.  When the board initially 
drafted the amendments the references were to ARM Title 17, chapter 58; those 
references should have been to ARM Title 17, chapter 56. 
 
Reviewed by:    PETROLEUM TANK RELEASE 
      COMPENSATION BOARD 
 
 
 
/s/ James M. Madden     By:  /s/ Roger Noble     
JAMES M. MADDEN   ROGER NOBLE 
Rule Reviewer    Chairman 
 
 Certified to the Secretary of State March 14, 2011. 
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 BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
 OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of ARM 
17.50.213 pertaining to reimbursement 
payments for abandoned vehicle removal 

) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF AMENDMENT 
 

(MOTOR VEHICLE RECYCLING 
AND DISPOSAL) 

 
 TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
 1.  On January 27, 2011, the Department of Environmental Quality published 
MAR Notice No. 17-316 regarding a notice of proposed amendment of the above-
stated rule at page 91, 2011 Montana Administrative Register, issue number 2. 
 
 2.  The department has amended the rule exactly as proposed. 
 
 3.  No public comments or testimony were received. 
 
Reviewed by:    DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 
      QUALITY 
 
 
 
/s/ David Rusoff       By:  /s/ Richard H. Opper    
DAVID RUSOFF    RICHARD H. OPPER, DIRECTOR 
Rule Reviewer 
 
 Certified to the Secretary of State, March 14, 2011. 
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 BEFORE THE BOARD OF CHIROPRACTORS 
 DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of 
ARM 24.126.510 endorsement, 
24.126.701 inactive status and 
conversion, 24.126.904 minimum 
requirements for impairment 
evaluators, and the adoption of NEW 
RULE I prepaid treatment plans 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF AMENDMENT AND 
ADOPTION 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
 1.  On October 14, 2010, the Board of Chiropractors (board) published MAR 
notice no. 24-126-31 regarding the public hearing on the proposed amendment and 
adoption of the above-stated rules, at page 2284 of the 2010 Montana 
Administrative Register, issue no. 19. 
 
 2.  On November 5, 2010, a public hearing was held on the proposed 
amendment and adoption of the above-stated rules in Helena.  Several comments 
were received by the November 12, 2010, deadline. 
 
 3.  The board has thoroughly considered the comments received.  A summary 
of the comments received and the board's responses are as follows: 
 
All comments reference proposed NEW RULE I on prepaid treatment plans. 
 
COMMENT 1:  Three commenters stated that the escrow account requirement will 
put unnecessary financial and time burdens on ethical chiropractors, and may harm 
more than protect the public because requiring such an account would increase the 
administrative expenses of moving and tracking funds on a daily basis.  The 
additional expenses would have to be passed on to clients, thus increasing health 
care costs.  The commenters opined that this requirement may result in 
chiropractors not offering prepaid plans and people not being able to get needed 
chiropractic care. 
 
RESPONSE 1:  Noting that the intent of New Rule I is to protect the public, the 
board concluded that the public's protection in requiring funds in an escrow account 
outweighs the potential that chiropractors may not be able to afford to offer prepaid 
plans.  The board also notes that a chiropractor who offers prepaid treatment plans 
should know that it might require some additional costs. 
 
COMMENT 2:  Two commenters stated the premise of increasing complaints about 
prepaid plans is not reflected in the number of complaints on record.  One 
commenter recalled very few claims of this type over 14 years, and stated that all 
such complaints were dismissed by the board. 
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RESPONSE 2:  The board notes that complaints before the screening panel are not 
available to the public and there is no way for the commenters to know how many of 
the complaints that come before the board are related to prepaid treatment plans. 
 
COMMENT 3:  Five commenters stated that the new rule would not prevent future 
complaints, since unethical chiropractors could still steal patient money without 
providing services, because the chiropractor controls the escrow accounts.  The 
commenters stated the issue is a chiropractor's ethics, not the system of payment, 
and suggested the rule will punish the many ethical chiropractors offering prepaid 
treatment plans, because of an unethical few.  The commenters suggested the 
board continue handling complaints regarding prepaid plans on an individual basis. 
 
RESPONSE 3:  The board notes that the chair of the New Mexico Board of 
Chiropractors reported that the number of payment-for-services complaints before 
the NM board has decreased with a similar escrow account requirement in place. 
 
COMMENT 4:  Three commenters stated that the rule ignores studies that long-term 
maintenance care or wellness care drastically reduces people's expenditures on 
visits to medical providers, which prepaid treatment plans support.  The commenters 
urged the board to look at the reason for offering such plans, which is to allow 
people to invest in their health care in an affordable way.  The commenters believe 
that these plans are a tremendous benefit to the public. 
 
RESPONSE 4:  The board agrees that offering prepaid treatment plans may be 
beneficial to the public, but disputes the existence of studies in peer-reviewed 
literature that conclude long-term maintenance care or wellness care drastically 
reduces expenditures on visits to medical providers. 
 
COMMENT 5:  Three commenters asserted that patients discontinue care for many 
reasons and may be unable to complete even prepaid treatments.  The commenters 
stated that most chiropractors will refund the patient's money in such situations. 
 
RESPONSE 5:  The board recognizes that many chiropractors will handle financial 
transactions from prepaid treatment plans ethically, but notes that requiring an 
escrow account increases patient protection because money will not be paid to the 
chiropractor until services are rendered. 
 
COMMENT 6:  Five commenters stated that if the escrow account requirement is 
necessary to protect the public, then the requirement should apply to all healthcare 
professionals who utilize prepayment plans.  Since no such escrow requirement 
exists for dentists, acupuncturists, physical therapists, obstetricians, or orthodontists, 
the commenters suggested the board put the requirement in statute to apply to all 
healthcare professionals who utilize prepaid treatment plans.  The commenters 
stated it is inappropriate for chiropractors to be held to a different standard than 
other professionals. 
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RESPONSE 6:  The board has no authority to require any healthcare practitioners to 
maintain escrow accounts except Montana licensed chiropractors.  Because some 
chiropractors in Montana are offering prepaid treatment plans, the board has 
concluded that escrow accounts are necessary to protect the public. 
 
COMMENT 7:  One commenter questioned how the board will regulate the new 
rule's requirements. 
 
RESPONSE 7:  The board will consider complaints of licensees violating the new 
rule on an individual basis and in the same manner as other allegations of 
unprofessional conduct. 
 
COMMENT 8:  One commenter stated that (2) lacks clarity and is confusing as to 
what "all treatment appropriate" means and includes. 
 
RESPONSE 8:  The board agrees and is deleting (2) in its entirety. 
 
COMMENT 9:  One commenter asserted that the board lacks the authority to 
regulate fees the board charges, or the manner to collect or use those fees (whether 
prepaid or not), and stated this is a matter for the Montana Attorney General. 
 
RESPONSE 9:  The board determined that the board does have the required 
authority pursuant to 37-1-131(1)(a), 37-1-319(4), and 37-12-201(4), MCA. 
 
COMMENT 10:  Two commenters suggested that the board should require preferred 
providers for private insurance and participating Medicare providers to have escrow 
accounts for patients who utilize those types of insurance, in case a refund is 
deemed to be appropriate. 
 
RESPONSE 10:  The board notes that prepaid treatment plans and insurance 
refunds are two completely different things, and the board is only concerned with up-
front patient expenditures.  Insurance refunds are for patients that have paid for 
services already rendered, so an escrow account would not be warranted. 
 
COMMENT 11

 

:  Three commenters asserted that the documentation requirements 
in (1)(b) are already sufficiently addressed in the board's unprofessional conduct rule 
at ARM 24.126.2301(1)(r).  The commenters stated that the rule is discriminatory 
because it applies different documentation standards to chiropractors utilizing 
prepaid treatment plans than those who do not.  The commenters further opined that 
if these requirements are necessary, they should apply to all chiropractors, whether 
or not they offer prepaid treatment plans. 

RESPONSE 11:  The board agrees that the documentation requirements should not 
be different for chiropractors offering prepaid treatment plans, and is amending New 
Rule I accordingly.  The board decided that it is not necessary to specify every 
required provision in a chiropractor's contract with patients, and is further amending 
the rule accordingly. 



 
 
 

 
Montana Administrative Register 6-3/24/11 

-383- 

 
COMMENT 12:  A commenter asserted that the public is sufficiently protected under 
ARM 24.126.2301(1)(s), which provides it is unprofessional conduct for chiropractors 
to enter into a contract that obligates a patient to pay for future services, unless the 
contract provides for a full patient refund for services not received within a 
reasonable amount of time. 
 
RESPONSE 12:  The board notes there is a deficiency in ARM 24.126.2301(1)(s), 
since it does not require chiropractors to safeguard client money by keeping it in an 
account separate from the chiropractor's money until services are rendered. 
 
COMMENT 13:  Five commenters opposed the new rule because it will hold 
chiropractors who utilize prepaid plans to a higher standard of care than other 
chiropractors.  One commenter suggested that the new rule should apply to all 
chiropractors and recommended the board delete (2) in its entirety. 
 
RESPONSE 13:  The board agrees that the requirements in (2) and (3) should apply 
to all chiropractors, and is deleting the sections from New Rule I at this time. 
 
 4.  The board has amended ARM 24.126.510, 24.126.701, and 24.126.904 
exactly as proposed. 
 
 5.  The board has adopted NEW RULE I (24.126.412) with the following 
changes, stricken matter interlined, new matter underlined: 
 
 NEW RULE I  PREPAID TREATMENT PLANS  (1) through (1)(a)(ii) remain 
as proposed. 
 (b)  Maintain in the patient's file the following: 
 (i)  A proposed treatment plan, including enumeration of all aspects of 
evaluation, management, and treatment planned to therapeutically benefit the 
patient relative to the condition determined to be present and necessitating 
treatment. 
 (ii)  A a contract for prepayment of services outlining beginning and ending 
dates and a proposed breakdown of the proposed treatment frequency, types of 
modalities, and procedures included in the contracted treatment, methods of 
evaluating the patient's progress or serial outcome assessment plan, method of 
recording or assessing patient satisfaction, and any necessary procedures for 
refunding payments provided for any care not received within a reasonable amount 
of time. 
 (iii)  A consent for treatment document specifying the condition for which the 
treatment plan is formulated, prognosis and alternate treatment options. 
 (2)  The chiropractor is responsible for providing all treatment appropriate and 
necessary to address and manage the condition, including unforeseen 
exacerbations or aggravations within the chiropractor's licensure that may occur 
during the course of time for which the contract is active.  This does not include 
alternative services procured by the patient or treatment by providers other than the 
treating chiropractor or those under the chiropractor's direct supervision. 
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 (3)  If nutritional products or other hard goods including braces, supports, or 
patient aids are to be used during the proposed treatment plan, the contract must 
state whether these items are included in the gross treatment costs or if they 
constitute a separate and distinct service and fee. 
 
 BOARD OF CHIROPRACTORS 
 JOHN SANDO, DC, PRESIDENT 
 
/s/ DARCEE L. MOE /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Darcee L. Moe Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Alternate Rule Reviewer DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 
 Certified to the Secretary of State March 14, 2011 
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 BEFORE THE BOARD OF PROFESSIONAL ENGINEERS 
AND PROFESSIONAL LAND SURVEYORS 

 DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the adoption of NEW 
RULES I through IV pertaining to 
professional land surveyor scope of 
practice activities 

) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF ADOPTION 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
 1.  On October 14, 2010, the Board of Professional Engineers and 
Professional Land Surveyors (board) published MAR notice no. 24-183-36 regarding 
the public hearing on the proposed adoption of the above-stated rules, at page 2288 
of the 2010 Montana Administrative Register, issue no. 19. 
 
 2.  On November 9, 2010, a public hearing was held on the proposed 
adoption of the above-stated rules in Helena.  Several comments were received by 
the November 17, 2010, deadline. 
 
 3.  The board has thoroughly considered the comments received.  A summary 
of the comments received and the board's responses are as follows: 
 
COMMENT 1:  One commenter stated that the proposed rules do not accurately 
reflect the final intent of the advisory group and objected to the use of "consensus" in 
the general statement of reasonable necessity. 
 
RESPONSE 1:  The board notes that the advisory group included land surveyors, 
state and local government agencies involved in land surveying issues, geographic 
information systems developers, and global positioning system users, who provided 
input and produced the draft document that formed the basis of the new rules. 
 
COMMENT 2:  One commenter suggested that the use of the word "land" before 
"surveyor" in New Rule I (2) is erroneous, because national geodetic surveyors are 
geodetic surveyors, not land surveyors. 
 
RESPONSE 2:  The board concluded that geodetic surveyors are included in the 
subset of "land surveyors," and is adopting New Rule I exactly as proposed. 
 
COMMENT 3:  One commenter suggested the word "preformed" in New Rule II 
(4)(a)(ii) should be changed to "performed." 
 
RESPONSE 3:  The board agrees with the comment and is amending the rule 
accordingly. 
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COMMENT 4:  One commenter suggested that the language describing when a map 
need not be prepared under the responsible charge of a professional land surveyor 
in (1)(h)(iii) of New Rule III should also be included in (1)(h)(i).  The commenter 
suggested repeating the provision to align with Geomatics Advisory Committee 
guidelines. 
 
RESPONSE 4:  The board determined that including the same language after each 
example is redundant and unnecessary and notes that since the language is 
included within subsection (h), it refers to all examples presented in (h). 
 
COMMENT 5:  One commenter questioned why the board included (1)(k) of New 
Rule IV in the proposed rules. 
 
RESPONSE 5:  The board notes that the text now in (1)(k) was included in an earlier 
version of the rules.  The subsection was renumbered to (11) in accordance with 
administrative rules formatting standards. 
 
 4.  The board has adopted NEW RULE I (24.183.1108), NEW RULE III 
(24.183.1110), and NEW RULE IV (24.183.1111) exactly as proposed. 
 
 5.  The board has adopted NEW RULE II (24.183.1109) with the following 
changes, stricken matter interlined, new matter underlined: 
 
 NEW RULE II  GEOMATICS DEFINITIONS  (1) through (4)(a)(i) remain as 
proposed. 
 (ii)  Geodetic control provides a common, consistent, and accurate reference 
system for establishing coordinates from which supplemental surveying, 
engineering, and mapping work is preformed performed and to which any 
geographic data may be tied. 
 (iii) through (7) remain as proposed. 
 
 

 BOARD OF PROFESSIONAL ENGINEERS 
AND PROFESSIONAL LAND SURVEYORS 

 DAVID ELIAS, ES, PRESIDING OFFICER 
 
 
/s/ DARCEE L. MOE /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Darcee L. Moe Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Alternate Rule Reviewer DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 
 Certified to the Secretary of State March 14, 2011 
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 BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC 
 HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES OF THE 
 STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the adoption of New 
Rules I through XLII, the amendment 
of ARM 37.97.101, 37.97.102, 
37.97.105, 37.97.106, 37.97.110, 
37.97.115, 37.97.128, 37.97.130, 
37.97.132, 37.97.206, 37.97.207, 
37.97.216, 37.97.230, and the repeal 
of ARM 37.97.118, 37.97.201, 
37.97.202, 37.97.213, 37.97.220, 
37.97.225, 37.97.226, 37.97.233, 
37.97.238, 37.97.239, 37.97.250, 
37.97.253, 37.97.254, 37.97.257, 
37.97.258, 37.97.259, 37.97.270, 
37.97.501, 37.97.502, 37.97.506, 
37.97.508, 37.97.519, 37.97.521, 
37.97. 522, 37.97.524, 37.97.526, 
37.97.528, 37.97.801, 37.97.805, 
37.97.809, 37.97.810, 37.97.811, 
37.97.815, 37.97.816, 37.97.817, 
37.97.820, 37.97.821, 37.97.822, 
37.97.825, 37.97.830, 37.97.831, 
37.97.832, 37.97.833, 37.97.836, 
37.97.837, 37.97.838, 37.97.842, and 
37.97.843 pertaining to youth care 
facility (YCF) licensure 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF ADOPTION, 
AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
1.  On September 23, 2010, the Department of Public Health and Human 

Services published MAR Notice No. 37-519 pertaining to the public hearing on the 
proposed adoption, amendment, and repeal of the above-stated rules at page 2108 
of the 2010 Montana Administrative Register, Issue Number 18.  On February 10, 
2011, the Department of Public Health and Human Services published an Amended 
Notice of Public Hearing on Proposed Adoption, Amendment, and Repeal at page 
138 of the 2011 Montana Administrative Register, Issue Number 3.  The purpose of 
the amended notice was to address comments from Legislative Services on the 
department's statement of reasonable necessity.  All rules remained as proposed. 

 
2.  The department has adopted New Rule II (37.97.136), III (37.97.140), IV 

(37.97.141), VI (37.97.159), XII (37.97.153), XIII (37.97.154), XV (37.97.160), XVI 
(37.97.156), XVII (37.97.161), XVIII (37.97.162), XIX (37.97.163), XX (37.97.164), 
XXI (37.97.165), XXII (37.97.170), XXV (37.97.126), XXVI (37.97.127), XXIX 
(37.97.177), XXX (37.97.179), XXXI (37.97.184), XXXII (37.97.185), XXXIV 
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(37.97.187), XXXV (37.97.188), XXXVI (37.97.182), XXXVII (37.97.178), and 
XXXVIII (37.97.190) as proposed. 

 
3.  The department has amended ARM 37.97.101, 37.97.105, 37.97.106, 

37.97.110, 37.97.115, 37.97.128, 37.97.130, 37.97.206, 37.97.207, 37.97.216, and 
37.97.230 and repealed ARM 37.97.118, 37.97.201, 37.97.202, 37.97.213, 
37.97.220, 37.97.225, 37.97.226, 37.97.233, 37.97.238, 37.97.239, 37.97.250, 
37.97.253, 37.97.254, 37.97.257, 37.97.258, 37.97.259, 37.97.270, 37.97.501, 
37.97.502, 37.97.506, 37.97.508, 37.97.519, 37.97.521, 37.97.522, 37.97.524, 
37.97.526, 37.97.528, 37.97.801, 37.97.805, 37.97.809, 37.97.810, 37.97.811, 
37.97.815, 37.97.816, 37.97.817, 37.97.820, 37.97.821, 37.97.822, 37.97.825, 
37.97.830, 37.97.831, 37.97.832, 37.97.833, 37.97.836, 37.97.837, 37.97.838, 
37.97.842, and 37.97.843, as proposed. 

 
4.  The department is repealing the following rules in response to comment 

#11. 
 
37.37.101  THERAPEUTIC YOUTH GROUP HOMES, DEFINITIONS is found 

on page 37-8069 of the Administrative Rules of Montana. 
 
AUTH:  41-3-1103, 41-3-1142, 52-2-111, 52-2-622, MCA 
IMP:    41-3-1102, 41-3-1142, 52-2-111, 52-2-622, MCA 
 
 37.37.105  THERAPEUTIC YOUTH GROUP HOME, APPLICABILITY AND 
PARTICIPATION is found on page 37-8073 of the Administrative Rules of Montana. 
 
AUTH:  41-3-1103, 52-1-103, 52-2-111, MCA 
IMP:    41-3-1103, 41-3-1122, 41-3-1105, 52-1-103, MCA 
 
 37.37.108  THERAPEUTIC YOUTH GROUP HOMES, STAFFING OF 
MODERATE LEVEL HOMES is found on page 37-8077 of the Administrative Rules 
of Montana. 
 
AUTH:  41-3-1103, 41-3-1142, 52-2-111, 52-2-602, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, 53-4-212, 
MCA 
IMP:    41-3-1103, 41-3-1142, 52-2-111, 52-2-602, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, 53-2-201, 
MCA 
 
 37.37.111  THERAPEUTIC YOUTH GROUP HOMES, STAFFING OF 
CAMPUS BASED LEVEL HOMES is found on page 37-8081 of the Administrative 
Rules of Montana. 
 
AUTH:  41-3-1103, 41-3-1142, 52-2-111, 52-2-602, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, 53-4-212, 
MCA 
IMP:    41-3-1103, 41-3-1142, 52-2-111, 52-2-602, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, 53-2-201, 
MCA 
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 37.37.115  THERAPEUTIC YOUTH GROUP HOMES, STAFFING OF 
INTENSIVE LEVEL HOMES is found on page 37-8085 of the Administrative Rules 
of Montana. 
 
AUTH:  41-3-1103, 41-3-1142, 52-2-111, 52-2-602, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, 53-4-212, 
MCA 
IMP:  41-3-1103, 41-3-1142, 52-2-111, 52-2-602, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, 53-2-201, 
MCA 
 
 37.37.120  THERAPEUTIC YOUTH GROUP HOMES, MEDICAL 
NECESSITY, ADDITIONAL TRAINING REQUIREMENTS is found on page 37-8089 
of the Administrative Rules of Montana. 
 
AUTH:  41-3-1103, 41-3-1142, 52-2-111, MCA 
IMP:  41-3-1103, 41-3-1142, 52-2-111, MCA 
 
 37.37.130  THERAPEUTIC YOUTH GROUP HOMES, MEDICAL 
NECESSITY, WELL-CHILD SCREENING, AND CHEMOTHERAPY is found on 
page 37-8093 of the Administrative Rules of Montana. 
 
AUTH:  41-3-1103, 41-3-1142, 52-2-111, MCA 
IMP:   41-3-1103, 41-3-1142, 52-2-111, MCA 
 
 37.37.136  THERAPEUTIC YOUTH GROUP HOMES, MEDICAL 
NECESSITY, ADDITIONAL CASE RECORDS is found on page 37-8097 of the 
Administrative Rules of Montana. 
 
AUTH:  41-3-1103, 41-3-1142, 52-2-111, MCA 
IMP:  41-3-1103, 41-3-1142, 52-2-111, MCA 

 
5.  The department has adopted the following rules as proposed with the 

following changes from the original proposal.  Matter to be added is underlined.  
Matter to be deleted is interlined. 
 

NEW RULE I (37.97.135)  YOUTH CARE FACILITY (YCF):  QUALITY 
ASSESSMENT  (1) through (1)(a) remain as proposed. 

(b)  maintaining records on the occurrence, duration, and frequency of 
physical escorts and physical restraints used; and 

(c) through (2) remain as proposed.  
 

AUTH:  52-2-111, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, MCA  
IMP: 52-2-113, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, MCA 
 

NEW RULE V (37.97.142)  YOUTH CARE FACILITY (YCF):  STAFF 
TRAINING  (1) through (4) remain as proposed. 

(5)  All direct care staff shall complete the following certification training within 
90 days six months of hire: 
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(a)  the use of de-escalation training and methods of managing youth as 
described in the provider's policies and [NEW RULE XXIV (37.97.172)];  

(b)  first aid and CPR certification; and 
(c)  maintain and update these trainings and certifications as required. 
(6)  Direct care staff may not work alone without completing the training 

requirements of (5). 
(7) and (8) remain as proposed. 
 

AUTH:  52-2-111, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, MCA  
IMP:    52-2-113, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, MCA 
 

NEW RULE VII (37.97.145)  YOUTH CARE FACILITY (YCF):  ADMISSIONS  
(1) through (3) remain as proposed. 
(4)  An initial assessment of the youth's emotional, medical, developmental, 

social, and behavioral status must be conducted within eight 24 hours of the youth's 
admission. 

(5) remains as proposed. 
(6)  The YCF's policies and procedures must provide for and encourage a 

preplacement process with the child and family and may allow exceptions for 
emergency placements, and geographical distances, and youth placed under 
runaway grant funding.  The referring parties should be encouraged to assist with 
these arrangements. 

(7) and (8) remain as proposed. 
 

AUTH:  52-2-111, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, MCA  
IMP:     52-2-113, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, MCA 
 

NEW RULE VIII (37.97.146)  YOUTH CARE FACILITY (YCF):  PLACEMENT 
AGREEMENTS  (1) remains as proposed. 

(2)  The placement agreement must contains the terms of the youth's 
placement, the responsibilities of the YCF, the placing agency's responsibilities, and 
when appropriate, the parent's or guardian's responsibilities.  

(3) and (4) remain as proposed. 
 (5)  An exception to the placement agreement requirement may be granted 
until custody for youth placed under runaway grant funding has been determined. 
 
AUTH: 52-2-111, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, MCA  
IMP: 52-2-113, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, MCA  
 

NEW RULE IX (37.97.147)  YOUTH CARE FACILITY (YCF):  YOUTH 
ORIENTATION  (1)  A YCF shall have written orientation policies and procedures for 
admission to the YCF.  A For youth over the age of five, the youth's orientation shall 
include but is not limited to: 

(a)  a procedure for ensuring that each youth receives a personal orientation 
to the YCF as soon as appropriate, but not later than 12 24 hours after admission; 

(b) through (2) remain as proposed.  
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AUTH:  52-2-111, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, MCA  
IMP:  52-2-113, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, MCA  
 

NEW RULE X (37.97.148)  YOUTH CARE FACILITY (YCF):  CASE PLAN   
(1) through (2)(g) remain as proposed. 
(3)  The initial case plan must:  
(a)  be developed within seven business days after admission; and 
(b)  be updated at least every 90 days three months from the day of 

development. 
(4) through (6) remain as proposed. 

 
AUTH:  52-2-111, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, MCA 
IMP:  52-2-113, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, MCA 
 

NEW RULE XI (37.97.152)  YOUTH CARE FACILITY (YCF):  PHYSICAL 
CARE  (1) remains as proposed. 

(2)  Medical, dental, psychiatric, psychological care, and counseling services 
must be obtained will be arranged for youth as needed.  

(3)  If a youth has not received a complete physical examination within six 
months a year prior to placement, within 30 days after admission to the facility the 
YCF shall arrange for the youth to have a complete physical examination within 30 
days after admission to the facility and annually thereafter. 

(4) through (6) remain as proposed. 
 

AUTH:  52-2-111, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, MCA  
IMP:   52-2-113, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, MCA  
 

NEW RULE XIV (37.97.155)  YOUTH CARE FACILITY (YCF):  NUTRITION 
 (1) through (5) remain as proposed. 

(6)  Hands must be washed with warm water and soap before the handling of 
food.  Hand sanitizer gels may be used in lieu of washing hands with soap and 
water.  

 
AUTH:  52-2-111, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, MCA  
IMP:   52-2-113, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, MCA  
 

NEW RULE XXIII (37.97.171)  YOUTH CARE FACILITY (YCF):  BEHAVIOR 
MANAGEMENT POLICIES  (1)  A YCF shall have and follow written behavior 
management policies and procedures which include a description of the model, 
program, or techniques to be used with youth.  The YCF shall have policies 
addressing discipline, therapeutic de-escalation in crisis situations, nonviolent crisis 
intervention and physical restraint, and time-out.  Behavior management must be 
based on an individual assessment of each youth's needs, stage of development, 
and behavior.  It must be designed with the goal of teaching youth to manage their 
own behavior, and be based on the concept of providing effective treatment by the 
least restrictive means.  

(2) through (8) remain as proposed. 
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AUTH:  52-2-111, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, MCA  
IMP:   52-2-113, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, MCA 
 

NEW RULE XXIV (37.97.172)  YOUTH CARE FACILITY (YCF):  USE OF 
NONVIOLENT CRISIS INTERVENTION AND PHYSICAL RESTRAINT 
STRATEGIES  (1)  The YCF shall have written policies and procedures governing 
the appropriate use of nonviolent crisis intervention and physical restraint strategies, 
including but not limited to the use of de-escalation techniques and physical restraint 
methods if used by provider.  

(2)  The nonviolent crisis intervention and physical restraint strategies policies 
and procedures must comply with the following:  

(a) through (c) remain as proposed.  
(d)  Physical restraint may be used only by employees who are documented 

to be specifically trained in nonviolent crisis intervention and physical restraint 
techniques.  

(e)  YCF policies and procedures must prohibit the application of a nonviolent 
physical restraint if a youth has a documented physical condition that would 
contradict its use, unless a health care professional has previously and specifically 
authorized its use in writing.  Documentation must be maintained in the youth's 
record.  

(f) through (g) remain as proposed.  
(3)  All TGHs must provide physical restraint training and comply with this 

rule. 
 

AUTH:  52-2-111, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, MCA  
IMP:    52-2-113, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, MCA  
 

NEW RULE XXVII (37.97.175)  YOUTH CARE FACILITY (YCF):  
SEARCHES  (1) through (5) remain as proposed.  

(6)  The YCF shall have adopted policies and procedures prior to use of 
urinalysis testing for the purpose of determining drug and alcohol use which 
address, at minimum, procedures for obtaining samples for urinalysis testing, 
procedures for processing urinalysis testing, and consequence to the youth when a 
urinalysis is positive.  

(a) through (7)(d) remain as proposed. 
 

AUTH: 52-2-111, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, MCA  
IMP:   52-2-113, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, MCA  
 

NEW RULE XXVIII (37.97.176)  YOUTH CARE FACILITY (YCF):  
CONTRABAND  (1) and (2) remain as proposed. 

(3)  All contraband that is not illegal must be returned to the youth's parent or 
guardian, or destroyed in accordance with the YCF's contraband policy.  When 
contraband is disposed of, at least two staff members must be present and the 
disposal must be witnessed by at least two staff members and be documented in the 
youth's case record.  
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(4) remains as proposed. 
 

AUTH:  52-2-111, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, MCA  
IMP:   52-2-113, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, MCA 
 

NEW RULE XXXIII (37.97.186)  YOUTH CARE FACILITY (YCF):  PHYSICAL 
ENVIRONMENT  (1) through (8) remain as proposed. 

(9)  Facilities licensed prior to September 23, 2010, that did not meet the 
requirements of (8) are allowed to maintain the existing bathroom access through 
resident room, kitchen, or dining areas.  However, if future remodeling or additions 
are to be made to these structures, the remodeling or additions must comply with 
current standards.  

 
AUTH:  52-2-111, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, MCA  
IMP:   52-2-113, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, MCA 
 

NEW RULE XXXIX (37.97.903)  THERAPEUTIC GROUP HOMES (TGH): 
STAFFING  (1)  In addition to the requirements specified in [NEW RULE XXXIX V 
(37.97.142)], TGH providers must meet staffing requirements specified in this rule to 
provide a therapeutic environment and treatment interventions identified in the 
youth's individual treatment plan.  

(2)  A TGH with four or fewer youth shall have a ratio of youth to direct care 
staff of no more than 2:1 each day for a present for 15 hours each day between 7:00 
a.m. and 7:30 a.m., 15-hour period beginning at, or between 7:00 a.m. and 7:30 
a.m., or beginning at some other reasonable morning half hour which is 
approximately 15 hours prior to the bedtime of the youth.  

(3)  A TGH with five or more youth shall have a minimum of two direct care 
staff present for 15 hours each day between 7:00 a.m. and 7:30 a.m., or beginning 
at some other reasonable morning half hour which is approximately 15 hours prior to 
the bedtime of the youth.  

(4)  Exceptions to youth to direct care staff ratio:  
(a)  During regular school hours when youth are not normally present, at least 

one on-call staff must be available only if there are no other staff in the facility.  Staff 
must report to work at the TGH within 30 minutes of notification that they are 
needed.  

(b) through (5) remain as proposed.  
(6)  Each program manager shall be responsible for no more than two TGH 

16 youth.  The program manager may not be counted in the direct care staffing to 
youth ratio except as provided in (4)(b). 

(7) through (10) remain as proposed. 
 

AUTH:  52-2-111, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, MCA  
IMP:   52-2-113, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, MCA 
 

NEW RULE XL (37.97.905)  THERAPEUTIC GROUP HOMES (TGH): 
CLINICAL ASSESSMENT  (1)  A clinical assessment must be completed on a youth 
admitted to a TGH within ten business days (Monday through Friday), of admission 
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unless a current clinical assessment that has been completed within the last 72 12 
months is submitted with the youth's referral packet. 

 
AUTH:  52-2-111, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, MCA 
IMP:    52-2-113, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, MCA 
 

NEW RULE XLI (37.97.906)  THERAPEUTIC GROUP HOMES (TGH): 
THERAPY THERAPEUTIC SERVICE REQUIREMENTS  (1)  The therapeutic 
services provided by the lead clinical staff and the program manager are "therapy" 
and "therapeutic intervention" services.  The purpose of both therapeutic services is 
to: 

(a)  reduce the impairment of the youth's mental disability and to improve the 
youth's functional level; 

(b)  alleviate the emotional disturbances; 
(c)  reverse or change maladaptive patterns of behavior; and 
(d)  encourage personal growth and development. 
(2)  Each youth must receive from the lead clinical staff 150 75 minutes of 

therapy and 75 minutes of therapeutic intervention services per week (Sunday 
through Saturday). Therapy includes of individual, and group, and or family therapy 
as clinically indicated based on the specific treatment needs of the youth.  Therapy 
requirements include the following:  

(a)  Individual therapy must be provided at least 50 minutes out of the 
required 150 75 minutes per week.  Individual therapy may be provided in two 25- 
minute sessions per week as clinically appropriate.  The lead clinical staff shall 
document specific reasons why a 50-minute therapy session cannot be provided.  

(b) remains as proposed. 
(3)  In the event the lead clinical staff and/or program manager is unavailable 

due to vacation, illness, or if the youth is on a home visit, or similar circumstance, 
therapeutic services can be suspended for no more than 780 minutes per calendar 
year per youth.  The amount of minutes will be prorated for youth placed in the 
facility for less than one year. 

(2)(4)  Therapy sessions and therapeutic interventions must address the 
youth's treatment goals and objectives in the treatment plan, and each session must 
be documented in the case record by the lead clinical staff.  Documentation must 
include the signature of the person who provided the therapy and the date, start and 
end times of each session. 

(5)  Each youth shall receive from the program manager or lead clinical staff 
75 minutes of therapeutic interventions per week.  Therapeutic interventions are as 
clinically indicated based on the specific needs of the youth. 

(3)(6)  Internal staff meetings to address the needs of each youth must be 
conducted weekly and must include the program manager, lead clinical staff, and 
direct care staff.  Staff meeting time spent addressing the needs of youth may not be 
included as therapy or therapeutic intervention time. 

 
AUTH:  52-2-111, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, MCA  
IMP:   52-2-113, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, MCA 
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NEW RULE XLII (37.97.907)  THERAPEUTIC GROUP HOMES (TGH): 
TREATMENT PLAN  (1) through (3) remain as proposed. 

(4)  A copy of the treatment plan must be provided to the youth's placing 
agency and custodial parent or guardian within seven ten days of the plan's 
development or update. 

 
AUTH:  52-2-111, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, MCA  
IMP:    52-2-113, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, MCA 
 

6.  The department has amended the following rules as proposed, but with 
the following changes from the original proposal, new matter underlined, deleted 
matter interlined: 
 

37.97.102  YOUTH CARE FACILITY (YCF):  DEFINITIONS  The following 
definitions apply to all YCF licensing rules:  

(1) through (3) remain as proposed.  
(4)  "Clinical assessment" means an psychological assessment with DSM - IV 

diagnosis and a social history completed by the lead clinical staff or an in-training 
mental health professional supervised by the lead clinical staff. Clinical assessments 
include the following information:  

(a)  diagnosis supported by a rationale, and with specific behaviors and risk 
factors identified; 

(b) through (e) remain as proposed. 
(f)  psychiatric history (interventions, responses to treatment, medications); 

and 
(g)  social and educational history; and.  
(h)  risk factors. 
(5) through (9) remain as proposed. 
(10)  "Lead clinical staff (LCS)" means an employee of the therapeutic group 

home (TGH) provider.  The LCS is responsible for the supervision and overall 
provision of treatment services to youth in the TGH.  Effective July 1, 2012, the The 
LCS must be a licensed clinical psychologist, licensed master level social worker 
(MSW), or licensed clinical professional counselor (LCPC).  The LCS can be an in-
training mental health professional.  

(11) through (21) remain as proposed. 
(24) remains as proposed but is renumbered (22). 
(23)  "Therapeutic intervention" means interventions provided by the program 

manager under the supervision of the LCS to provide youth with activities and 
opportunities to improve social, emotional, and/or behavioral skill development and 
reduce symptoms of the youth's serious emotional disturbance.  Interventions 
include implementing behavior modification techniques and offering psycho-
educational groups and activities.  Interventions may be provided to the youth 
individually, in a group setting, or with the youth and family. 

(22) remains as proposed but is renumbered (24). 
(23)(25)  "Therapeutic services" means the provision of psychotherapy and 

related services as defined in [New Rule I published at MAR Notice No. 37-518] by 
the lead clinical staff acting within the scope of the professional's license or provided 
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by an in-training practitioner in a therapeutic group home. the provision of therapy 
and therapeutic interventions to reduce the impairment of the youth's mental 
disability and to improve the youth's functional level, to alleviate the emotional 
disturbances, to reverse or change maladaptive patterns of behavior, and to 
encourage personal growth and development. 

(26)  "Therapy" means the provision of psychotherapy and rehabilitative 
services provided by the LCS acting within the scope of the professional's license or 
same services provided by an in-training mental health professional under the 
supervision of the LCS in the TGH.  These services include a combination of 
supportive interactions, cognitive therapy, interactive psychotherapy, and behavior 
modification techniques which are used to induce therapeutic change for youth in 
TGH.  Interactive psychotherapy means using play equipment, physical devices, 
language interpreter, or other mechanisms of nonverbal communication. 

(25) through (31) remain as proposed but are renumbered (27) through (33). 
 

AUTH: 41-3-1103, 41-3-1142, 52-2-111, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, 53-4-111, MCA  
IMP: 41-3-1102, 41-3-1142, 52-2-113, 52-2-602, 52-2-622, 53-2-201, 53-4-113, 
MCA 

 
37.97.132  YOUTH CARE FACILITY (YCF):  GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 

FOR ALL ADMINISTRATORS, STAFF, INTERNS, AND VOLUNTEERS 
(1)  through (6) remain as proposed. 
(7)  YCF volunteers and interns shall:  
(a) remains as proposed. 
(b)  be under the direct and constant supervision of YCF staff; 
(c) through (e) remain as proposed. 
 

AUTH:  41-3-1103, 41-3-1142, 53-4-111, 52-2-111, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, MCA  
IMP:  41-3-1103, 41-3-1142, 53-4-111, 52-2-111, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, MCA 

 
7.  The department has thoroughly considered the comments and testimony 

received.  A summary of the comments received and the department's responses 
are as follows: 
 
Comment #1:  Commenter thinks that the proposed new rules go a long way 
towards improving the standards of care and ensuring the provision of quality 
services to the children and families the commenter serves and thanks the 
department for bringing the consolidated rules to fruition. 
 
Response #1:  The department acknowledges the comment. 
 
Comment #2:  Commenter compliments the department for developing a solid, 
comprehensive, fairly representative and simplified set of rules that cover the 
breadth of issues in our state's residential and mental health services for children 
and families.  
 
Response #2:  The department acknowledges the comment. 
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Comment #3:  Commenter appreciates the joint effort that went into the development 
of the rules. 
 
Response #3:  The department acknowledges the comment. 
 
Comment #4:  Commenter thanks the department for clarifying that there are now no 
licensing provisions for youth care facilities in Montana, so seclusion is not an issue 
in these rules.  Hopefully, should the time come that we need to consider licensure 
for YCFs, we will be able to rule out the use of seclusion in such facilities. 
 
Response #4:  The comment is somewhat confusing as the rules proposed are 
licensing provisions for YCFs in Montana and all YCFs must be licensed.  The 
proposed new rules are modifications to current rules for licensed YCFs.  The 
proposed new rules prohibit seclusion in any licensed youth care facility in Montana 
as the only license type that allowed seclusion in current rule has been repealed. 
 
Comment #5:  Several commenters indicated the proposed new rules include many 
new or increased requirements that will impose more costs to providers at a time 
when provider reimbursement rates have been frozen and there is a possibility that 
rates will be rolled back to 2009 funding levels.  Commenters believe that these new 
proposed requirements constitute "unfunded mandates" without an adequate 
method to reimburse providers for these increased costs. 
 
Response #5:  The department agrees that the rules require significant changes and 
may result in a minimal increase in cost to providers.  However, the department has 
worked to keep this increase to a minimum by decreasing requirements in many 
areas so that providers may transfer those savings to the other requirements that 
may increase the cost.  The SFY 2008 therapeutic group home (TGH) cost report 
indicates TGH providers are reimbursed adequately compared to the average cost 
of providing the TGH services.  In the rules, the department has made various trade-
offs realizing that some requirements have expanded while other requirements have 
decreased.  For example, the lead clinical staff (LCS) duties for TGH were 
significantly increased while program manager duties were significantly decreased.  
Current rule requires the LCS to be an employee or under contract with the TGH and 
must be a clinical psychologist, master level social worker (MSW), licensed 
professional counselor (LPC), or have a master's degree in a human services field 
with a minimum of one year of clinical experience.  The proposed new rules require 
the LCS to be an employee of the TGH and be a licensed clinical psychologist, 
licensed master level social worker (MSW), or licensed clinical professional 
counselor (LCPC).  The LCS can be an in-training mental health professional.  
Current rule requires a campus-based TGH to have a LCS who is responsible for no 
more than eight children.  The current rule for intensive level group homes requires a 
LCS who is responsible for no more than 12 children.  The proposed new rule does 
not have a limit for the number of youth served by LCS and is left up to the TGH and 
the LCS to determine how many youth they can adequately serve.  TGH providers 
may not see an increase in FTEs for the LCS position.  The cost increase will come 
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from the licensing requirement for the LCS.  The cost increase in the LCS 
requirements may be offset by the decrease in the program manager (PM) 
requirements.  Current rule requires a campus-based group home to have a PM who 
is responsible for not more than four children.  An intensive level TGH licensed to 
serve four to six children is required to have one full-time PM, and an intensive level 
TGH licensed for seven or eight children must have a 1.5 full-time PM.  The 
proposed new rule requires one PM who is responsible for up to 16 youth.  These 
changes should provide some cost savings in order to implement the new LCS 
requirements.  In addition, campus-based TGHs should see significant cost savings 
with the elimination of the social worker, clinical director, director of operations, and 
registered nurse requirements.  Using an example given within these comments, the 
potential cost savings to providers are listed below. 
 
 Four 4-Bed Group Homes Two 8-Bed Group Homes 
 Current 

Rule 
Proposed 
Rule 

Cost 
Savings 

Current 
Rule 

Proposed 
Rule 

Cost 
Savings

Campus Based       
LCS 2 LCS No Limit None 2 LCS No Limit None 
Program Manager 
(PM) 

4 PM 
FTEs 

1 PM 
FTE 

3 FTEs 4 PM 1 PM 3 FTEs 

Social Worker .5 FTE None .5 FTE .5 FTE None .5 FTE 
Clinical Director .5 FTE None .5 FTE .5 FTE None .5 FTE 
Director of 
Operations 

.5 FTE None .5 FTE .5 FTE None .5 FTE 

Registered Nurse .4 FTE None .4 FTE .4 FTE None .4 FTE 
       

Intensive Level       
LCS 1.33 LCS No Limit None 1.33 

LCS 
No Limit None 

Program Manager 2.6 PM 
FTEs 

1 PM 
FTE 

1.6 FTE 3 PMs 1 PM 2 FTEs 

 
Campus level group homes will see a potential cost saving of a minimum of 4.9 
FTEs while intensive level group homes will see a potential cost savings of a 
minimum of 1.6 FTEs.  The cost savings in FTEs for TGHs will cover the cost to 
implement the LCS licensing requirements and proposed changes within the rule.  In 
addition, 8-bed intensive level TGHs will also see a cost savings in the night time 
staffing ratio.  Current rule requires 1.5 night time FTE for intensive level group 
homes licensed for eight beds.  The proposed new rule requires one night time FTE 
for potential cost savings of .5 FTE per night. 
 
In addition to a decrease in FTEs the proposed new rules also decrease the amount 
of therapeutic sessions required each week by the LCS or PM in intensive level 
therapeutic group homes.  Current rule requires three group treatment sessions, two 
individual treatment sessions, two treatment team meetings and family therapy when 
needed or medically necessary for each child.  An average therapy session is 
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approximately 50 minutes allowing an additional 10 minutes of the hour for the 
therapist to complete notes.  Treatment team meetings are on average 15 minutes 
per child.  This is a combined total of 5.5 hours of required therapeutic sessions with 
the LCS or PM.  The proposed new rule requires 150 minutes of "therapeutic 
service" per week.  "Therapeutic services" have been redefined to include "therapy" 
and "therapeutic interventions" provided by the LCS or PM.  A minimum of 75 
minutes of "therapy" must be provided by the LCS.  The PM may provide up to 75 
minutes of "therapeutic intervention" to complete the 150 minute weekly 
requirement.  This is a combined total of three hours of required sessions per youth.  
The decrease in required sessions will allow the LCS to serve more youth and 
increase the benefit to the youth by receiving therapy from a licensed and trained 
individual. 
 
For facilities licensed as youth shelter cares, requirements are currently 16 hours of 
orientation training, and an additional 14 hours of training within the first year of hire.  
The proposed new rule requires 24 hours of orientation training and has eliminated 
the additional 14 hours of training within the first year of hire.  This is a decrease of 
six hours of training required within the first year of employment for new staff.  This 
decrease should offset the cost of additional CPR and first aid training. 
 
Youth Group Home (YGH) training costs will increase.  ARM 37.97.524 requires four 
hours of orientation training for new staff in YGHs which is completely inadequate.  
Sufficient orientation training cannot be adequate without receiving policy and 
procedure overview, mandatory reporting requirements for abuse and neglect, fire 
safety emergency evacuation routes, suicide prevention, emergency medical care 
procedures, report writing, youth rights, and confidentiality.  It would be impossible to 
sufficiently address these topics in four hours of training.  YGH youth to staff ratio is 
8:1; therefore, it is essential that new staff receive adequate training in the above 
areas prior to being eligible for working alone with youth to ensure the safety and 
well-being of the youth in care. 
 
Many YGHs may not see an increase in training costs as they are currently dually 
licensed as a youth shelter care facility.  Staff working in these facilities must meet 
current training requirements for both YGH and youth shelter care (YSC) facilities.  
As stated above, YSC staff training hours within the first training for YSCs will be 
decreased, therefore the dually licensed facilities may not have an increase in costs 
for providing training.  The state's base reimbursement rate for YGHs and YSCs is 
equal.  YGHs have seen a larger profit than YSCs due to the lack of adequate 
training requirements. 
 
Child care agencies and maternity homes may see an increase in cost due to 
training requirements.  Current rule requires 15 hours of annual training for staff 
working in a child care agency.  An additional nine hours of orientation training and 
five hours of annual training is required.  Training requirements have been updated 
to include on the job supervision, first aid and CPR.  Montana has one licensed child 
care agency that serves SED children under a TGH license.  Children in the 
maternity home not being properly cared for by the parent must also be included in 
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the staffing ratio.  This may increase cost to providers as this has not been a 
requirement in the past.  However, if the parents are not properly caring for the child, 
the staff must intervene.  Caring for small children is a difficult task and will consume 
a great deal of the direct care staff time.  It is difficult to determine the cost 
associated with this rule because the department does not know how often this may 
occur. 
 
The benefits of updating training requirements outweigh the reasons for leaving the 
current rules as they are.  The changes benefit the youth substantially and the cost 
is minimal.  The rules have not been updated for numerous years and the minimum 
standards have been changed to incorporate basic health and safety updates and 
best practice standards of care.  See also Response #5 and 65. 
 
Comment #6:  Several comments were received about the assumptions regarding 
cost and provider affordability that served as the basis of the cost study.  At the time 
the cost study was conducted, the average occupancy was 88 percent.  Commenter 
indicates the issue of basing reimbursement rates on the assumption of an 88 
percent occupancy rate is unreasonable.  Commenters state that the study was 
never presented formally to providers for discussion, adjustment, and agreement 
until it was included in the MAR notice.  They claim the study shows savings when 
the department sees it as being applicable, but never mentions when increased 
costs are equally clear.  A commenter said that expenses are directly related to 
revenue and most therapeutic group home providers solely serve Medicaid clients 
(thereby not having any higher paying/insured clients) and fewer than half raise 
significant donations to subsidize fees.   
 
Providers therefore can only have spent amounts slightly lower than the Medicaid 
rates, meaning the expenses will run slightly under rates, and they will not have 
extra revenue to increase wages or make improvements.  Commenters believe the 
cost study should be based on an 80 percent occupancy rate.  Today many 
providers have empty beds and few think 88 percent occupancy is a level of use that 
can be maintained at this time.  One commenter agrees that rates as of 2008 were 
adequate at the start of planning for these new rules.  It was suggested the 
department may wish to obtain current occupancy rates prior to making these 
changes. 
 
Commenters disagree that the proposed new rules do not cause more expenses for 
providers.  At the start of the rules redesign, the department "promised" it would not 
add rules that would increase costs to the provider without an increase in rates, the 
department did not uphold this strategy.  There are a number of new rules that, while 
they would define better quality services, require increased spending without 
increased payments to cover these improvements.  This is unfair to providers. 
Commenter doesn't agree that the provider should have to pay for what the 
department desires. 
 
Response #6:  The department completed a cost report of TGHs for state fiscal year 
(SFY) 2008.  Expenses were divided into four categories:  (1) room and board; (2) 
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nonlicensed observation and support; (3) licensed therapies; and (4) education.  
One of the 14 TGH providers did not complete the cost report.  Three TGH providers 
who completed the cost report did not report expenses in the "licensed therapies" 
category, therefore the expenses were not included in calculating the average cost 
of TGH "licensed therapies".  The "licensed therapies" category included expenses 
for both licensed and nonlicensed clinicians.  Medicaid reimbursement is not 
available for categories (1) or (4).  Based on the TGH cost report, the average cost 
per day for all TGH providers for category (3) was $23.25 per day.  The average cost 
for TGH providers for category (2) was $148.47 per day.  The total of these two 
categories is $171.72 per day.  At the SFY 2011 TGH reimbursement rate of 
$183.98, the department is reimbursing TGH providers 7 percent more than the 
average cost of providing the Medicaid portion of TGH services.  If the TGH 
reimbursement rate for SFY 2012 is rolled back to the SFY 2009 reimbursement rate 
of $180.37, the TGH reimbursement rate is 5 percent more than the average cost of 
providing the Medicaid portion of TGH services. 
 
The department does not believe the SFY 2008 TGH cost report was flawed.  The 
financial information and average occupancy levels used in the report were based 
on actual data submitted by the TGH providers, and not occupancy rates used in the 
past.  The average occupancy rate was 88 percent.  The department did not agree 
to use an 80 percent occupancy rate.  TGH providers received a draft cost report to 
review and the department gave providers a chance to respond to anything they 
disagreed with in the cost report.  TGH providers did not disagree with the utilization 
data they submitted on the cost report, which was used to calculate the average 
occupancy rate. 
 
The department considered what additional requirements should be provided in a 
TGH reimbursed by Medicaid and which ones could include an additional expense. 
The department believes therapy services provided by appropriately trained and 
credentialed individuals should be required in group homes reimbursed by Medicaid.  
Changes in TGH licensing requirements have been made in an attempt to offset 
additional costs.  The department would like to point out that only 13.5 percent of the 
Medicaid portion of the cost report expenses reflects "licensed therapies".  The 
department believes the TGH Medicaid daily rate should include more licensed 
therapeutic services to treat SED youth. 
 
The department does not think it is reasonable to use current occupancy levels with 
SFY 2008 expenses and will explore the possibility of completing another TGH cost 
report in the next biennium to capture current costs.  See also Response #5 and 7. 
 
Comment #7:  Since these new rules include children's emergency crisis shelter 
level of care there are many new requirements of this level of care.  The rate of 
reimbursement for this level of care pays for 50-60 percent of the cost to provide 
care to kids with the requirements currently.  It is estimated that this will potentially 
decrease to 40-50 percent with the implementation of these rules.  This decrease in 
addition to this level of care not having the ability to receive the Direct Care Wage 
Increase for workers will be an enormous revenue cut.  It will impact this level of 



 
 
 

 
6-3/24/11 Montana Administrative Register 

-402-

care to the point that many providers will no longer be able to continue to provide it.  
Commenter asks that the implementation of these additional costly rules be delayed 
until rates can be increased to help providers be able to meet the intent of the 
changes.  Commenter agrees that these changes are good for children and families, 
but providers simply can't afford to meet them without a rate increase. 
 
Response #7:  Commenter requests the implementation of these rules be delayed 
until rates can increase to help providers be able to meet the intent of the changes.  
See Response #12.  The department agrees that the proposed new rules are good 
for kids and families which has driven the desire to update the existing rules to 
benefit the population served.  It is difficult to justify not implementing a change 
when clearly the benefit to youth is substantial and the cost minimal.  These are 
difficult financial times and the department does relate to the provider's plight.  The 
department would prefer to increase the reimbursement rate to all providers; 
however, it is not feasible and a rate increase is not necessary to comply with these 
rule changes.  The changes proposed will benefit providers by strengthening their 
programs and possibly help with decreasing staff turnover.  A quality program 
attracts quality employees.  See also Response #5. 
 
Comment #8:  Four-bed homes specially designed to meet the needs of low-
functioning, sometimes autistic youth will no longer be able to operate.  What is the 
department's plan for serving children with an IQ below 70 if intensive-level group 
homes are no longer a viable option? 
 
Response #8:  Intensive level group homes can continue to serve SED youth that 
will benefit from this service.  Autistic children and children with an IQ below 70 may 
not benefit from this level of care.  Should the youth not benefit from this service, the 
group home may be better off applying for a license for a Community Home for 
Persons with Developmental Disabilities.  These children can and many currently 
are served by the Developmental Services Division.  Youth currently being served at 
the TGH level are required to benefit from therapeutic services.  Therapeutic 
services for TGHs are not new and are in current rules for all TGH providers 
including licensed 4-bed group homes.  The certificate of need process for youth 
admitted to developmental disability homes that is the same for all intensive level 
group homes regardless of the number of licensed beds.  The department will 
continue placing youth in TGHs that will benefit from the services. 
 
Comment #9:  MAR Notice No. 37-518, which is not the notice for these rules, 
includes a new service, ENA (Extraordinary Needs Aid) Services.  There are 
problems with reimbursement for this service.  
 
Response #9:  The comment is in reference to rules proposed in MAR Notice 37-
518.  The comment has been redirected for response in conjunction with that notice. 
 
Comment #10:  Commenter stated that to preserve services for the most difficult to 
serve youth in a 4-bed model, the requirements should be kept under the existing 
rules with existing staffing ratios and existing reimbursement rate.  The new and 
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lesser ratios and requirements promulgated by these rules could be adopted as a 
"moderate" level of care, and reimbursement rates could be adjusted commensurate 
with the significantly reduced costs. 
 
Response #10:  Current rule does not limit intensive level group homes to four 
residents.  Montana has licensed several 6- to 8-bed intensive level homes currently 
serving SED youth.  Group homes licensed to serve only four youth are not required 
to take more intensive SED youth.  The certificate of need process is the same for all 
TGHs licensed at the intensive level.  The level of care required for the youth being 
served exceed certificate of need requirements for moderate level group homes.  
This has essentially required providers to abandon the moderate level of licensing 
and begin offering intensive level services in all group homes.  The department 
currently does not have any licensed moderate level TGHs.  The commenter is 
stating the new rules as written would cost less to implement than current rule which 
would increase the revenue to providers.  The department does not believe the cost 
would significantly increase or decrease for providers.  The department believes the 
current level system for licensure as a TGH is outdated.  If commenter is correct and 
the cost to implement the new rules will decease for providers offering care for more 
than four youth, it is safe to assume the 4-bed programs would be able to continue 
delivering services to youth as they currently practice without seeing a significant 
increase in cost.  See also Response # 61. 
 
Comment #11:  It would appear that the department created New Rules I 
(37.97.135) through XLII (37.97.907) and amended many of those rules in Chapter 
97 pertaining to youth care facility licensure without repealing or amending a parallel 
set of rules (ARM 37.37.101 et seq.) governing the same type of facility (Therapeutic 
Youth Group Homes).  Many of the rules contained in Chapter 37 are in conflict with 
the proposed new rules and amended rules in this MAR Notice (e.g., definitions, 
staffing, training requirements).  Adoption of these new and amended rules without 
repealing those applicable rules in Chapter 37 will leave providers in the untenable 
position of meeting the requirements of one set of rules only to be out of compliance 
with another set of rules governing the same requirements.  This is a fatal 
procedural defect and new rules cannot be adopted as proposed. 
 
Response #11:  The department inadvertently neglected to list ARM Title 37, 
Chapter 37, subchapter 1 rules as proposed to be repealed in paragraph 5, but 
included the intent to repeal these rules in paragraph 6 of the proposal notice.  ARM 
37.37.101, 37.37.105, 37.37.108, 37.37.111, 37.37.115, 37.37.120, 37.37.130, and 
37.37.136 will be repealed so that these rules will not conflict with the proposed 
rules. 
 
Comment #12:  Several commenters ask that the department carefully look at the 
timeframe to implement these rule changes.  Many of the proposed changes are 
quite substantial for most providers.  The rules are comprehensive and require mass 
changes from staffing to policy development.  Providers would welcome a 
transitional period in which the providers can work on becoming compliant with new 
regulations.  A commenter asks that providers be given four to six months to 
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completely come into compliance and that providers be required to submit a plan as 
to what providers need to do, with timelines, to come into compliance. 
 
Response #12:  The department agrees and will allow until July 1, 2011, for 
providers to come into compliance with the rules.  However, the department will 
amend ARM 37.97.102(10) to allow providers until July 1, 2012, to meet the LCS 
requirement of being a licensed clinical psychologist, MSW or LPCP.  This time 
extension is being given to allow adequate time for providers to plan for, recruit, and 
hire licensed professionals for the LCS positions.  Requiring providers to submit a 
plan as to what providers need to do, with timelines, to come into compliance is not 
necessary.  The department would rather have providers focus on becoming 
compliant rather than develop and submit an action plan. 
 
Rule I (37.97.135) 
 
Comment #13:  Commenter agrees that a quality assessment system is important 
for an organization to learn and provide better quality services to clients.  However, 
implementing this type of process takes staff time and funds to do it in a way that is 
meaningful.  Many providers are small operations with very little support staff to 
make such assessments.  Without additional funding to the rate, it is hard to imagine 
these providers and larger ones doing quality assessment within the reimbursement 
rate provided.  The impact will not be improving the quality of care, but merely 
spending staff time to make sure the process is done and not learning from its 
outcomes. 
 
Response #13:  A quality assessment program is essential for providers to learn and 
provide a better service to youth.  The proposed new rule for quality assessment is 
minimal and may involve a slight increase to cost; however, the benefit would be 
substantial to the youth being served.  Many providers currently implement a quality 
assessment program because they realize it is necessary to make improvements.  A 
quality assessment program is also a requirement of accreditation programs that 
large organizations currently hold.  The department has omitted the requirement to 
maintain quality assurance records of physical escorts to further reduce the staff 
time required for quality assurance.  See also Response #12 and #5. 
 
Comment #14:  Commenter indicates the department, in development and 
discussion around the drafting of these proposed rules, emphasized the importance 
and the primary goal of implementing evidence-based practices and research-based 
treatment.  There is no mention of providers having the capability to show outcomes 
for its clients.  Nor is there any requirement or goal for implementing evidence-based 
practices or research-based treatment.  The state has data available through their 
current systems and it could be responsible for gathering other information which 
could be used in the decision-making processes.  Providers can, and should be, 
required to collect and use clinical outcome data to show the effectiveness of 
services provided.  It appears that the goal of requiring providers to demonstrate the 
use of evidence-based practices has been abandoned.  The rules could be 
amended to include this important and often-stated goal.  Has the department 
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determined this to be of low priority and abandoned its commitment toward 
evidence-based practices and research-based treatment? 
 
Response #14:  The department assumes this comment is directed at rules 
proposed for TGH, MAR Notice 37-518, but no specific rules were identified.  In 
addressing the comment to TGH, the department did not indicate that the rules were 
to be written for the purpose of implementing evidence-based and research-based 
treatment.  For these rules, the department has only modified current YCF rules and 
has not changed the therapeutic interventions or treatment services delivered to 
youth.  The department's primary goal was to enhance and improve the current TGH 
rules which serve seriously emotionally disturbed youth.  The LCS may implement 
any evidenced-based practice which focuses on the mental and behavioral 
difficulties of the youth.  The treatment team may develop goals and objectives for 
the youth that can be implemented in the therapeutic milieu to correspond with the 
LCS's treatment. 
 
Current rule does not have quality assurance requirements for providers.  New Rule 
I (37.97.135) attempts to capture the provider's concerns regarding outcomes for 
clients served.  The new quality assurance requirements are minimal requirements 
to assist providers in developing a measurement system that will provide the basis 
for improving a provider's policies, procedures, and services provided to youth in 
care.  Requiring only minimal requirements will keep the cost of implementing this 
new rule to a minimum for providers.  The department did not want to be too 
prescriptive in the quality assessment program.  Providers may include clinical data 
in the quality assurance process.  Requiring providers to collect and use clinical 
outcome data to show the effectiveness of service provided would be expensive and 
time consuming for them.  The concept has merit but will not be required at this time. 
 
Rule II (37.97.136) 
 
Comment #15:  Several commenters indicate New Rule II(3) (37.97.136) is a new 
requirement and would increase administrative costs in addressing abuse and 
neglect already handled by Child and Family Services.  What commenter 
understands is that review by the Board of Visitors is very thorough and, while 
valuable, it would take staff time that is not currently available and would increase 
administrative demands and staffing. 
 
Response #15:  This is not a new reporting requirement, but one that has been 
required by 41-3-201 and 53-21-107, MCA.  It was included in rule to reiterate it.  
The reporting process remains the same.  Any increased administrative demands 
and staffing should have been realized already. 
 
Rule III (37.97.140) 
 
Comment #16:  Several comments were received regarding New Rule III(2) 
(37.97.140).  One commenter indicates the provider is a rural community and knows 
many of the people hired.  Commenter does criminal background checks for 
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Montana but feels it could be very costly to contact other states.  Commenters 
indicate the providers already work on a tight budget and are asked to produce more 
for less revenue and the requirement is quite difficult to complete with some other 
states.  Many questions are answered on the DPHHS-CF S/LIC-018 form for 
Release of Information, and Personal Statement of Health, DPHHS-QAD/CRL-005. 
 
Response #16:  In order to adequately screen prospective employees that have 
lived outside of Montana in the past five years, the providers must complete an out-
of-state background check.  Requiring providers to run only a Montana background 
check on these individuals is completely inadequate and would not provide an 
accurate screening of potential employees.  Should a prospective employee commit 
a horrendous crime in another state within the past five years, including crimes 
involving children, the provider would not have access to that information when 
conducting only a Montana background check.  Nothing in current rule would prohibit 
this individual from being hired and working with our most vulnerable youth.  
Individuals committing such crimes may very well come to Montana and apply for 
such positions working with children due to the fact Montana does not currently 
require fingerprint background checks or out-of-state background checks.  The 
provider could elect to either complete a fingerprint background check or complete 
individual checks in each state a prospective employee may have resided in the past 
five years.  The provider may assume the cost or pass on the additional cost to the 
applicant.  It is important to recognize that most youth care facility staff are Montana 
residents; therefore, this rule will not apply.  The slight increase in cost the providers 
may assume is scant compared to the enormous risk factors involved without 
requiring out-of-state background checks.  The forms referenced provide basic 
information that needs to be verified through the required background checks. 
 
Comment #17:  A comment was received agreeing with the intent of New Rule III(5) 
(37.97.140) but commenter is not sure that any provider has the ability to know or 
find out if "The administrator, staff member, volunteer, or intern who is charged with 
a crime involving children, physical or sexual violence against any person, or any 
felony drug related offense and awaiting trial may not provide care or be present in 
the facility pending the outcome of the criminal proceeding".  Commenter does not 
know of any background check that provider does that will list any crime the person 
is charged with.  Our constitution has taught us that all people are innocent until 
proven guilty.  Commenter wants the department to review the requirement and 
determine that it is something a provider can do.  We must make certain we can 
actually complete the tasks at hand. 
 
Response #17:  The department believes if an individual is charged with a crime and 
is awaiting trial, there is a safety risk.  The department has the responsibility of 
ensuring the safety and welfare of youth in care.  The intent of the rule is to provide 
some safeguards and develop a best practice.  Through the use of the Criminal 
Justice Information Network (CJIN) in conducting background checks, it is possible 
to determine if an arrest has been made and the suspect is awaiting trial or if there 
has been a disposition of the case.  In other instances, the person charged may self 
report to the provider, law enforcement may contact the provider, or the suspect may 
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be identified by the media.  The department acknowledges it is possible that not 
every one of these instances described in (5) will be known to the provider, but 
believes the requirement does provide some degree of protection to those in the 
facility. 
 
Rule IV (37.97.141) 
 
Comment #18:  The commenter listed problems about the methodology of 
calculating the rate of ENA services, which would apparently be setting the hourly 
salary at $9.50 per hour. 
 
Response #18:  The comment is in reference to rules proposed in MAR Notice 37-
518.  The comment has been redirected for response in conjunction with that notice. 
 
Comment #19:  Commenter would like clarification about what is expected in a "night 
shift safety protocol" in New Rule IV(4) (37.97.141).  Commenter also indicates it 
may be helpful to add this in the definition section. 
 
Response #19:  New Rule IV(4) (37.97.141) requires YCF to have a nighttime safety 
protocol in place as only one staff person is working the night shift.  This topic was 
talked about extensively in the three meetings with providers as listed in the rule 
notice.  It was agreed to allow the providers to implement a nighttime safety protocol 
that would best suit their program.  The rule avoids prescribing an approach to 
providers and allows them the ability to make policy based on the needs of the 
program, level of care required for youth being served, and staff availability.  The 
safety protocol should be designed to inform staff working alone at night what 
procedures should be followed in the event of an emergency or other unusual 
circumstance.  The department believes it is unnecessary to include in the definition 
rule because this could limit the provider's flexibility in determining the protocols that 
work best for the provider's program to ensure the safety of youth and staff. 
 
Rule V (37.97.142) 
 
Comment #20:  Several comments were received regarding New Rule V (37.97.142) 
indicating that current rules require four hours of staff orientation for youth group 
homes, 15 hours of orientation in therapeutic youth group homes, and 16 hours of 
staff orientation for youth shelter care facilities.  The proposed rule raises this 
requirement to 24 hours of "orientation training" which is a significant increase with 
an associated significant increase in cost to providers and current rates do not 
support this increase.  One commenter suggested that the training requirement be 
16 hours since this youth shelter care requirement is currently the highest standard. 
 
Response #20:  Please see response #5.   
 
Comment #21:  Hours required for on-the-job training should be deleted from the list 
of requirements for orientation training in New Rule V(3)(j) (37.97.142).  Commenter 
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would suggest that, since the hours of orientation training are paid hours of 
employment for staff, this would suffice as the "on-the-job training". 
 
Response #21:  The department believes that orientation and on-the-job training are 
not the same even though they are complimentary.  Orientation is necessary for all 
who have youth contact to ensure the safety of youth and those working with the 
youths.  See also Response #5, 22, and 23. 
 
Comment #22:  Commenter indicates that New Rule V(3)(j) (37.97.142) is not clear 
and wants to know if the provider must account for time for new staff to shadow 
parts of shifts. 
 
Response #22:  The orientation training must include on-the-job shadowing which 
would allow the staff to work a shift with properly trained staff in order for them to 
oversee the operation of the facility.  Without providing this training the facility would 
be lacking sufficient training for the staff.  It would be irresponsible to allow an 
untrained staff person to be counted in the staff/youth ratio when untrained staff 
have not experienced any time in the facility working with the youth.  Providers can 
account for time new staff spend shadowing partial shifts.  Providers have the ability 
to determine the method and times shadowing requirements will be met.  See also 
Response #5, 21, and 23. 
 
Comment #23:  Several commenters indicate New Rule V(4) (37.97.142) is a 
lengthy order to have complete before a person can count in the youth-to-awake 
staff ratio.  Commenters can see on-the-job training and shadowing hours but 
believes there needs to be a timeline to accommodate all of the training required.  
Commenter questions if this person could be considered a part of the ratio.  The new 
staff would be shadowing/learning from another staff.  This is often helpful to the 
learning process for a new staff and would be helpful to providers if they can use 
them in this capacity as well as enhance the new staff's learning experience.  
Commenter indicates it will also cost more to providers to implement. 
 
Response #23:  Orientation is necessary for the safety and protection of those in the 
YCF.  The intent of the rule is not to have an untrained individual working for the 
sake of filling a position, but to have an individual who has at least some basic 
knowledge of the facility's operations and the youth prior to being included in the 
youth-to-awake staff ratio for the safety of the youth and staff.  Providers have the 
ability to determine the method and times shadowing requirements will be met.  
Requiring 24 hours of training prior to staff being counted in the ratio is not 
unreasonable.  The staff may not be counted in the staff ratio prior to these 
orientation hours being completed as staff needs to be responsible for overseeing 
the care of the youth and not overseeing the training of the new staff.  It is not in the 
best interest of the youth or the staff to simply place a person on the floor simply to 
meet the ratios.  Requiring 24 hours of training will provide the staff the basic 
information regarding the operation of the program.  See also Response #5, 21, and 
22. 
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Comment #24:  Commenter suggests clarification in New Rule V (37.97.142) that 
nonviolent restraint interventions may only be performed by staff who are currently 
trained and certified in the actual implementation of whatever program the facility 
has elected to use (which includes, as set forth below), the considerations listed in 
the Children's Health Act at 42 U.S.C. §592(b)(1)(B).  See Response #53. 
 
Response #24:  The department believes that the changes in New Rule V 
(37.97.142) clarify that only those staff members that are currently trained and 
certified in the actual implementation of nonviolent restraint interventions may 
perform such duties.  New Rule XXIV (37.97.172) prohibits staff from performing 
such duties unless properly trained in crisis intervention strategies.  Not all facilities 
are required to use physical restraint.  All facilities must have written policies and 
procedures governing the method of crisis intervention they use and must follow 
appropriate training requirements for the level of intervention used.  See also 
Response #53. 
 
Comment #25:  Several commenters indicate New Rule V(5) (37.97.142) requires 
certification of de-escalation and first aid/CPR training and methods within 90 days 
because commenter does not think that the classes are available frequently enough 
throughout the state, and smaller classes would be needed frequently which will 
result in increased costs.  Commenter would ask that providers be given six months 
after hire to get new employee certification completed. 
 
Response #25:  The department agrees to increase the allowed time for de-
escalation training and CPR and first aid certifications.  The changes reflect 
suggestions from several commenters.  These trainings will be required to be 
completed within the first six months of hire rather than 90 days of hire.  See also 
Response #26, 27, and 31. 
 
Comment #26:  A comment was received regarding New Rule V(5) (37.97.142).  
Commenter requested that the word "certification" be defined.  It is not clear what is 
meant by certification, if that is something that can only be done by a professional or 
if it is something the organization can provide.  Commenter currently provides 
training for direct care staff to become certified in CPR and first aid through Red 
Cross, the local hospital etc.  Commenter is not able to certify all employees in de-
escalation due to the cost of that type of training.  Commenter is able to provide de-
escalation training by staff or outside assistants that are knowledgeable in this area. 
 
Response #26:  The department agrees with provider's comments that 90 days is 
not an adequate amount of time to complete the requirements of (5) and will 
increase the time to complete the training to six months.  The department also 
agrees that certification training may not be the right terminology for those who do 
not train staff in physical methods for managing youths in group homes and shelter 
cares.  However, physical restraint training must be certified in group homes that use 
it.  Certification can be defined as holding appropriate documentation and being 
qualified to perform a specified function or practice a specified skill.  The CPR and 
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first aid courses commenter currently uses are certified courses and are acceptable.  
See also Response #25, 27, and 31. 
 
Comment #27:  Commenter does de-escalation training but there is not a 
certification for this.  Commenter thinks certification is the wrong word here and 
thinks training is correct. 
 
Response #27:  The use of physical restraint requires certified training while the use 
of nonphysical restraint (de-escalation) does not require it.  Common de-escalation 
training that is provided in-house does not need to be as in depth or comprehensive 
as physical restraint training.  TGHs are the only YCF required to provide physical 
restraint training.  The rule will be amended to clarify the intent.  For clarification 
purposes this rule is amended to reference New Rule XXIV (37.97.172) which 
addresses the use of crisis intervention strategies.  See also Response #28. 
 
Comment #28:  Commenter recommends deleting the word "certification" and 
replacing with "documented" in New Rule V(5)(a) (37.97.142) because commenter 
currently conducts MANDT training annually throughout commenter's homes.  
Commenter would advocate that abbreviated training, conducted and documented 
by a certified trainer, demonstrating that recently hired staff has acquired a "basic" 
understanding of the provider's preferred de-escalation policies, and will suffice until 
a provider conducts the annual training or hires sufficient employees to warrant a 
separate two - three day class.  Otherwise, the department has created a costly and 
burdensome requirement for providers.  No provider would accept the potential 
liability of employing individuals without adequate training.  If the department retains 
the word "certification", commenter recommends that an abbreviated training 
documented by a certified instructor would satisfy the requirement. 
 
Response #28:  The department agrees that certification training may not be the 
right terminology for those who do not train staff in physical methods for managing 
youths in group homes and shelter cares.  However, physical restraint training must 
be certified in group homes that use it and all TGHs. 
 
The department disagrees with the suggestion of providing "basic" training in 
programs that utilize physical restraint and only require annual training.  Physical 
restraint requires intensive training to properly apply.  Proper training must be 
implemented to avoid injuries for youth and staff.  See also Response #26, 27, and 
31. 
 
Comment #29:  Commenter would like the term "certification" clarified.  This is a 
broad statement and could mean anything.  If the rule requires providers to have an 
outside entity train and certify staff in de-escalation techniques, it will be 
extraordinarily expensive.  The cost to send a staff to become certified in one of 
these de-escalation programs cost $500-$800 per person just for the training fee.  If 
a staff becomes a "certified trainer" it costs $1,300 in training fees and additional 
costs for lodging and meals for almost five days.  This certified staff may train others, 
but it still costs about $50/staff for materials and certification from the company and 
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that doesn't include the amount of cost for the staff trainer's time.  It is hard to 
imagine providers can afford to do this and the rate providers are reimbursed doesn't 
come close to covering the costs to do this. 
 
Response #29:  The department agrees that certification is the wrong wording for 
de-escalation training as some providers do not utilize physical restraints as part of 
their program.  All TGHs are required to have physical restraint training.  All 
certification programs have a physical restraint component that would be required to 
complete prior to staff receiving certification.  Provider policies must specify the de-
escalation training provided to the staff and used by the program.  Changes to rule 
will require staff to be trained in the provider's de-escalation techniques. 
 
The rule does not require an outside entity to train or certify staff in de-escalation 
techniques.  Provider may use training methods that are currently in place to 
maintain compliance with current rule because de-escalation training is required 
except for youth group homes.  Providers other than TGHs will see no increase in 
cost to implement this rule.  See also Response #26, 27, 28, and 31. 
 
Comment #30:  Commenter understands that certification governs both CPR and 
first aid competency in New Rule V(5)(b) and (c) (37.97.142). 
 
Response #30:  The department has added the term certification when mentioning 
CPR.   
 
Comment #31:  Current rules do not require CPR and first aid training in youth group 
homes or therapeutic youth group homes, so this is a new requirement with 
additional costs to the provider.  Training "in the use of physical and nonphysical 
methods of controlling children and adolescents to assure protection and safety of 
the client and staff" is currently required by rule but does not specify a timeframe 
within which it must be completed and does not prohibit a staff person working alone 
until completion of the training.  The proposed "orientation training" requirements 
already include training in behavioral management techniques and emergency 
medical procedures.  It seems particularly burdensome to expect this exorbitant 
amount of training to occur in such a short time frame and to prohibit direct care 
workers from working alone until it has been completed.  An overnight awake staff 
could not work alone (despite the proposed staffing requirement of only one 
overnight awake staff) until all orientation requirements and the requirements in (5) 
had been met.  A provider, therefore, would be required to pay two overnight awake 
staff until these requirements had been fulfilled, thus doubling their staffing cost.  
Commenter would recommend that the time period in (5) be changed to six months 
and that New Rule V(6) (37.97.142) be deleted entirely.   
 
Response #31:  The department believes that the proposed rule in having training 
completed prior to staff working alone will increase the safety measures for both 
youth and staff.  Emergencies arise at any time day or night in YCFs.  At least one 
fully trained staff person must be available on site to deal with the situation.  Night 
time staff deal with a variety of behaviors and issues from the youth.  Youth often 
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experience an increase in negative behavior at night.  Staff must be able to deal with 
a crisis at any time and therefore must be provided with adequate training before 
serving alone.  For this reason, (6) will not be deleted.  See also Response #5, 26, 
27, and 33. 
 
Comment #32:  Commenter agrees that New Rule V(6) (37.97.142) constitutes a 
best practice, although it is hard to imagine that all providers (especially smaller 
group homes and shelters) are going to be able to afford to operate in such a 
manner.  Again, the rate needs to follow and support the requirement. 
 
Response #32:  The department agrees changes in proposed rule are a best 
practice and are necessary to provide for the safety and welfare of the youth and 
staff.  See also Response #5 and 20. 
 
Comment #33:  Commenter indicates that New Rule V(6) (37.97.142) requires that 
staff must be certified in de-escalation and first aid/CPR prior to working alone, but 
many night shifts are filled by relief staff and are often the shifts that new staff start 
working.  The rule would make it much more difficult to fill night shifts.  It is 
impossible to get the certification in the time frame that is proposed.  Commenter 
would ask the department to allow providers to develop an interim training procedure 
for first aid, CPR and de-escalation to keep clients and staff safe but not require 
certification until the sixth month of employment.  Also, commenter is not sure what 
is meant by the term "certification" and whether we are talking about a recognized 
certificate or certification by the provider that the training has been done.  Perhaps 
the best solution is for the department to partner with providers to contract with a 
Montana university to develop an on-line tutorial to address CPR, first aid and de-
escalation so it can be easily done and tested prior to being on any shift.  This 
solution would take time and money. 
 
Response #33:  The department agrees that certification is the wrong wording for 
de-escalation training as many providers do not complete training in de-escalation to 
the point that staff would be certified.  Per provider's policies, youth group homes 
may not allow physical restraints as part of their program.  Provider policies must 
specify the de-escalation training provided to the staff and used by the program.  
Changes to rule will require staff to be trained in the provider's de-escalation 
techniques.  First aid and CPR training will remain the same.  Staff working the night 
shift are required to complete the same training requirements as any other staff.  
Often youth are very disruptive at night and many behaviors surface during this time.  
Night shift staff are not immune to seeing disruptive behaviors in youth and medical 
emergencies can occur at any time.  Again the timeline for training and certifications 
has been increased to six months as suggested.  See also Responses #26, 27, and 
31. 
 
Although the department appreciates the commenter's suggestion of partnering with 
a Montana university to develop an on-line tutorial to address these training issues 
the suggestion is beyond the scope of these rules. 
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Rule VI (37.97.159) 
 
Comment #34:  In regard to New Rule VI (37.97.159), commenter suggests 
clarification that youth civil rights in facilities are not limited to the provisions of these 
rules.  Rights to refuse treatment and to limit, under certain circumstances, access to 
health information in respect of mental health, pregnancy, sexually transmitted 
diseases and substance abuse, and the rights of emancipated minors, set forth at 
§41-1-401 et seq., MCA., should be referenced and considered in these rules to the 
extent they apply.  The commenter also suggests that the constitutional rights of 
youth to privacy, dignity and autonomy, as well as association, and privacy in 
correspondence, probably cannot be arbitrarily waived by parents or guardians 
without consideration of the youth's due process rights under Article II, Section 14 of 
the Montana Constitution or the Fourteenth Amendment.  This includes 
"correspondence searches" defined in ARM 37.97.102(5) and permitted by New 
Rule XXVII(1) (37.97.175), urinalyses permitted by New Rule XXVII(6) (37.97.175) 
and breathalyzer testing by New Rule XXVII(7) (37.97.175).  The rule seems to 
suggest that some of these searches may be permitted by the consent of a parent or 
guardian, which the commenter submits is not universally the case. 
 
The commenter also suggests that a youth in a facility has a right to access legal 
counsel and to communicate privately with such counsel, and also has a right to 
access advocacy services, specifically including the protection and advocacy system 
(Disability Rights Montana), the Board of Visitors and the Mental Health 
Ombudsman, and these rights should be enumerated in New Rule VI (37.97.159). 
 
Response #34:  Section 41-1-401, MCA, defines an "emancipated minor".  An 
emancipated minor has been granted the right to consent to medical treatment 
pursuant to an order of limited emancipation granted by a court pursuant to 41-1-
503, MCA. 
 
The youth rights requirement has addressed commenter's concerns regarding the 
youth's right to privacy, dignity and autonomy in New Rule VI(1)(e) (37.97.159), 
when it is not contrary to the treatment and safety of the youth.  Youth placed in 
YCFs are dealing with a wide range of emotional difficulties that may require 
interventions that restrict the youth's privacy in order to maintain the safety of the 
youth and others in the YCFs. 
 
The parent or legal guardian of youth has the right to consent to all medical 
treatment of the youth.  This includes the right to consent to urinalysis and 
breathalyzer testing to determine the use of drugs or alcohol.  The provisions of 41-
1-401, MCA, do not restrict the right of a parent or guardian of a youth that has not 
been emancipated.  The youth being served in YCFs are dealing with a wide range 
of issues which may include drug and alcohol use.  The rule as outlined requires the 
YCF to establish sound policy and procedures that address the facility's ability to 
perform such testing and requires the facility to obtain the appropriate permission.  
Searches may not be conducted unless there is reasonable cause to believe the 
search is warranted. 
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Rule VII (37.97.145) 
 
Comment #35:  Regarding New Rule VII(4) (37.97.145), commenter indicated 
requiring that an "initial assessment of the youth's emotional, medical, 
developmental, social and behavioral status be conducted within eight hours of the 
youth's admission" is unreasonable.  A youth may be admitted to a YCF at all hours 
of the day (or night as the case may be in a shelter care program), which makes it 
very difficult, within the structure and staffing of the milieu at that time, to conduct 
such an assessment without compromising the supervision of the other clients.  
Also, this is an additional requirement of staff time and documentation that is not 
funded via payment for increased staff time.  Commenter recommends that (4) be 
deleted. 
 
Response #35:  The department will not delete (4), but will increase the time allowed 
to conduct the initial assessment to 24 hours.  The initial assessment is a brief 
assessment of the child's overall status upon arrival and is not a clinical assessment 
and may be completed by a simple checklist. 
 
Comment #36:  Several commenters would like clarification on whether pre-
placement in New Rule VII(5) and (6) (37.97.145) applies to children's crisis shelters.  
If it does apply, this could be difficult to meet the rule for this type of YCF.  
Commenters indicate that (6) and (7) should be waived for runaway and homeless 
youth.  Children are placed often in the middle of the night and there isn't any time 
for a "pre-placement" process.  Information is gathered after the child is placed in 
care.  Additionally, (6) recognizes involving the child's family in the pre-placement 
process.  This is not feasible in a shelter as the children have often been removed 
from their families and contact may be supervised by an outside contractor or the 
Department of Children's and Family Services, in which the shelter has not control.  
Commenter would suggest that this rule provide that (5) and (6) do not apply to 
children's crisis shelter, and allow these YCFs to collect information such as social 
history, resources, and developmental needs of youth post placement within 48 
hours of placement. 
 
New Rule VII(7) (37.97.145) requires placements only if accepted by parents or 
agencies authorized by law to place.  Commenter, and some other licensed 
providers, have federal runaway and homeless funding that allows youth to be 
sheltered within a reasonable period of time to contact parents or other authority so 
commenter does not want that funding eliminated under this rule.  The funding 
allows youth in crisis to be safely sheltered in a licensed, quality setting.  Commenter 
asks the department to accommodate such placements. 
 
Response #36:  The preplacement process does not apply in emergency situations 
that place children in shelter cares or other YCFs.  The department acknowledges 
there will be times when the facility's preplacement procedures with the child and 
family will not be feasible.  New Rule VII(6) (37.97.145) already allows for exceptions 
for emergency placements and geographical distances.  The rule will be amended to 
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allow for exceptions for youth placed under the federal runaway and homeless grant.  
The policies and procedures for these facilities would indicate how this type of 
exception is to be handled.  The department agrees eight hours is not enough time 
to complete the initial assessment as outlined in (4).  The department has amended 
the rule to increase the time allowed to complete the initial assessment to 24 hours. 
 
Comment #37:  New Rule VII(8) (37.97.145) seems unclear when it says a provider 
cannot limit contact with youth's approved family members.  It is not clear who 
approves family members, and the phrase "cannot limit contact" seems limitless in 
chances for interruption of a child in care if every family member has no limitation on 
contact – does that really mean any time? 
 
Response #37:  Family members will be approved by the legal guardian of the 
youth.  The admission policy cannot limit contact with the youth's approved family 
members as part of their admissions process.  Some programs have restricted 
contact with all family members for a period of time after admission.  This practice 
will now be prohibited.  The primary goal for all children should be to return to their 
parents unless reunification would be harmful to the youth.  In those cases where 
contact with family members is not appropriate, the legal guardian must inform the 
facility.  This rule is limited to the admissions policy and does not prohibit facilities to 
limit contact with family members when it is not appropriate or clinically indicated. 
 
Rule VIII (37.97.146) 
 
Comment #38:  In New Rule VIII(3) (37.97.146), commenter has concerns regarding 
"No youth from out-of-state shall be accepted into the YCF.…" where a youth comes 
in and is brought by police in the middle of the night, the provider cannot ascertain 
which state the child resides in until the next day.  Commenter is also concerned 
about losing federal runaway and homeless grant.  These are emergency situations. 
 
Response #38:  New Rule VIII(3) (37.97.146) is not intended to prohibit emergency 
short-term placement of youth.  The purpose is to prevent facilities from providing 
treatment to out-of-state youth who have not been approved by the interstate 
compact administrator.  See also Response #37. 
 
Comment #39:  In regard to New Rule VIII(3) (37.97.146), commenter indicates the 
process for out-of-state placements is extremely cumbersome and often takes 
months to complete, which isn't responsive to children and families in crisis and in 
need of placement.  This is especially true of children who are being placed privately 
in a YCF who are in legal custody of their parents and the placement isn't paid by 
any public/Medicaid funds.  Commenter would suggest that this requirement be 
waived for privately funded placement where the child placed is also in care of legal 
guardians and there is not state legal guardianship involvement or any public funds 
involved. 
 
Response #39:  The Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children, regulation 
#4, section 2(C), specifically states that "Any placement of a minor for treatment of 
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that minor's chronic mental or behavioral condition into a facility having treatment 
programs for acute and chronic conditions must be made pursuant to the Interstate 
Compact on the Placement of Children.  The Interstate Compact on the Placement 
of Children becomes applicable once the minor is placed for treatment of a chronic 
condition regardless of whether that child was originally placed by the family in the 
facility for treatment of an acute condition".  The department has incorporated the 
interstate compact regulations under Montana Law and ARM 37.50.901(1)(d):  This 
requirement cannot be waived.  See also Response #38 and 40. 
 
Comment #40:  Commenter indicates this rule disallows any placement from out-of-
state without approval of the interstate compact administrator.  This impinges on 
placements of runaways or other out-of-state youth picked up locally and placed at 
the shelter.  Commenter would like that to be an exception.  Commenter also 
wonders if a legal placement from an out-of-state family who is neither involved in 
the public funding system nor involved with public placing agencies needs to be 
processed through the interstate compact administrator as commenter believes it 
relates to an agency-to-agency agreement.  Please clarify this second point and 
again allow the shelter placements in a crisis or emergency. 
 
Commenter runs a runaway and homeless youth program, funded by Tumbleweed 
(Mountain Plains) grants.  When accepting youth that are runaways or homeless 
commenter often will not have an agency placing the youth therefore will not have 
any adult available to enter into a written placement agreement.  If this rule is not 
able to make exception for these youth, commenter will no longer be able to take 
homeless youth or runaways off the street and would in turn lose that grant funding 
for commenter's program.   
 
Response #40:  The department has granted an exception for youth being placed 
under runaway and homeless grants participants.  All facilities must comply with 
interstate compact regulations regardless of origin of placement be it family or 
agency as stated in Title 41, chapter 4, part 1, MCA.  See also Response #36, 38, 
and 39. 
 
Rule IX (37.97.147) 
 
Comment #41:  Commenter indicates it makes sense to do a youth orientation as 
outlined for children who are five years of age and older.  A modified version of an 
orientation needs to be done for younger children.  It will be very difficult to do any 
form of orientation for infants aged 0-18 months.  Commenter hopes the rule allows 
for this developmental range and exceptions.  If it doesn't then commenter would like 
the requirement to be for youth five years and older, and an additional requirement 
that children under five years of age receive an orientation appropriate to their age 
and developmental stages that is documented by the staff. 
 
Response #41:  The department agrees to limit orientation to youth over the age of 
five and changes will be made to New Rule IX (37.97.147). 
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Comment #42:  Two comments were received regarding the timeframe in New Rule 
IX(1)(a) (37.97.147).  Commenter recommends that this be changed from 12 to 24 
hours.  There are times when it will be very difficult to orient a new youth to the 
program especially in emergency situations and admissions during the middle of the 
night. 
 
Response #42:  The department agrees that 12 hours may not be enough time to 
complete a full orientation of the youth.  The department will amend the rule to 
increase the time for completing orientation to the facility to 24 hours after admission 
as commenter suggests. 
 
Rule X (37.97.148) 
 
Comment #43:  Commenter indicates New Rule X(3)(a) (37.97.148) requires an 
initial case plan be developed "within seven days after admission" and suggests that 
it be changed to seven business days and read "within seven business days after 
admission."  This will allow for weekends and holidays. 
 
Response #43:  The department agrees and will modify the proposed new rule. 
 
Comment #44:  Commenter suggests that the 90 day requirement to update case 
plans New Rule X(3)(b) (37.97.148) be changed to "be at least every three months 
or quarterly from the day of development".  Doing so provides for uniformity of a 
staffing calendar because of varying lengths of months.  It allows for the intent of this 
regulation to be met, but gives providers some room to create a staffing calendar 
that is achievable and has regularity to it.  When it reads "90 days", it has always 
been difficult to implement without falling a day or two off the 90 days due to the 
calendar.  Having three months allows for the intent of the rule to be met. 
 
Response #44:  The department agrees and has modified the rule to read "updated 
at least every three months". 
 
Rule XI (37.97.152) 
 
Comment #45:  Several comments were received regarding New Rule XI(2) 
(37.97.152).  Several commenters are concerned about the way (2) was written and 
several suggestions have been made for clarification.  Several commenters are 
concerned about the facility/provider being financially responsible for medical, 
dental, psychiatric, psychological care, and counseling services.  Several 
commenters state a YCF is responsible for the provision of certain services within 
the parameters defined by ARM and contract requirements.   
 
One commenter indicates the YCF has no control over the availability of external 
providers for the services listed in this rule, it cannot require an external provider to 
accept a patient for care, and it does not have the legal authority to consent to 
medical care in lieu of the parent/guardian's right.  Additionally, MAR Notice No. 37-
518, the proposed amendment to ARM 37.87.901(3) referencing the Medicaid 
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Mental Health Plan and Mental Health Services Plan for Youth Services Excluded 
from Simultaneous Reimbursement (Service Matrix) specifically excludes counseling 
services (outpatient therapy) from being paid for at the same time as therapeutic 
youth group home services.  Since this proposed rule states that the YCF must 
obtain these services, is it expected that the YCF would pay for these services if an 
external provider does not accept Medicaid or if there is no third party 
reimbursement for the particular service.  Commenter would recommend that the 
language in this rule be changed to "A YCF shall refer a youth for medical, dental, 
psychiatric, psychological care and counseling services as needed and as approved 
by the youth's parent, legal guardian or placing agency". 
 
Response #45:  ARM 37.97.506 and 37.97.831 state "Medical, dental, psychiatric, 
psychological care and counseling services must be obtained for the youth as 
needed".  This is the language that was proposed in New Rule XI(2) (37.97.152).  
The requirements have not changed and the department is unsure as to why this 
caused confusion among those commenting on this rule.  The rule also does not 
require YCF to pay.  Payment for these services should be discussed and agreed 
upon in the placement agreement that is required prior to accepting a youth.  
Placement agreements are outlined in New Rule VIII (37.97.146).  The department 
will remove the word "obtain" and substitute "will be arranged" to clarify the intent of 
New Rule XI(2) (37.97.152). 
 
Commenter is correct that MAR Notice 37-518 did state that specifically excludes 
counseling services (outpatient therapy) from being paid for at the same time as 
therapeutic youth group home services.  MAR Notice No. 37- 518 only applies to 
TGHs, not to all YCFs.  See Notice 37-518 [also published in this issue of the 
Register-second notice to be adopted at the same time as this notice]. 
 
Comment #46:  Commenter indicates New Rule XI(3) (37.97.152) should also be 
within a year, not six months.  The placing agency should be required to provide 
proof of the last physical, dental and eye examination within seven days of 
placement. 
 
Response #46:  Oftentimes the information is not available for the placing agency.  
Licensing cannot require a placing agency to provide that information, however the 
department can require a provider to obtain it.  The department did not include 
specific timeframes for obtaining this information as it may be burdensome to the 
provider, case worker, and medical providers to meet. 
 
Comment #47:  In New Rule XI(3) (37.97.152), commenter requests that "six" be 
replaced with "12" and "30" be replaced with "90" because this would be consistent 
with dental and eye exams.  It seems an annual physical is an acceptable medical 
standard.  Of course provider would schedule a youth for a physical sooner if a 
compelling reason existed.  To do otherwise, a provider would be remiss and 
negligent. 
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Response #47:  The department will amend the rule to indicate that if a youth has 
not received a complete physical examination within a year prior to placement, within 
30 days from admission to the facility, the YCF shall arrange for the youth to have a 
complete physical and have it annually thereafter.  This language will make this 
provision consistent with the dental and eye exam language.  The department will 
not replace "30" with "90" for physical exams because three months is too long for 
the youth to continue with the assessment process without review of the youth's 
physical condition and any medications that may have been previously prescribed.  
The rule is clarified to indicate that the YCF has 30 days from admission to schedule 
the appointment.  Waiting 90 days prior to appointment scheduling may be 
detrimental to the youth. 
 
Comment #48:  In regard to New Rule XI(5) (37.97.152), commenter indicates that 
many therapeutic youth group homes have a nurse on site that can give the child an 
eye screen on a regular basis (like a school nurse would in public school) and make 
a referral to have a community provider give the child an eye exam if the child 
screen is a failure with anything greater than 20/30 vision.  Please clarify if a 
Registered Nurse can give the child an eye screen in place of the eye exam within 
90 days of admission.  If the child fails this screen they will be seen by a provider for 
an eye exam; if they pass, the child will receive an eye exam within a year of 
placement.  If this rule does not allow it, commenter suggests that the rule specify 
that a screen by an RN would qualify for the initial 90-day exam. 
 
Response #48:  Current rule requires TGHs licensed at a campus level to have a .20 
full time nurse available.  However, this requirement has been removed in order to 
increase requirements in other areas without significantly increasing cost.   
 
Routine eye exams can detect vision problems, eye disease and general health 
problems before an individual is aware a problem exists.  Vision screenings are 
limited eye tests that help identify people who are at risk for vision problems.  
Depending on who is performing the test and where the test is given, vision 
screenings may include tests for blur, muscle coordination and/or common eye 
diseases.  A vision screening can indicate that an individual needs to get the eyes 
checked, but it does not serve as a substitute for a comprehensive eye exam.  A 
comprehensive eye examination is performed by an eye doctor and includes careful 
testing of all aspects of the individual's vision.  
 
A nurse can continue to complete the Snellar Chart exam and refer the youth to an 
eye doctor when problems may exist, however it cannot substitute for a 
comprehensive eye exam provided by a qualified eye doctor.   
 
Rule XIV (37.97.155) 
 
Comment #49:  Several comments were received regarding New Rule XIV(6) 
(37.97.155) indicating that according to Health Department rules and the World 
Health Organization hand sanitizers are not allowed to be used in lieu of washing 
hands with soap and water. 
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Response #49:  The department acknowledges the commenter is correct and hand 
sanitizers are not to be used during food service or preparation.  The rule will be 
amended to delete the use of hand sanitizers in lieu of hand washing before 
handling food. 
 
Rule XX (37.97.164) 
 
Comment #50:  Commenter indicates New Rule XX(1) (37.97.164) requires a YCF 
to provide access to an educational program, and since funding is not provided to 
group home for educational programming, it seems to remain the responsibility of 
the public schools and/or the individual or agency that has custody for the child to 
provide access.  It is the role of the provider to assist in these matters and again 
support such educational programs. 
 
Response #50:  The rule requires the YCF to provide access to an education 
program, not to provide the education program for the youth.  The YCF must comply 
with school attendance laws and enroll the youth in the public school system or other 
appropriate educational program as appropriate to the needs of each youth.  
Additional funding is not required to comply with this rule.  This new rule is not a new 
requirement until it exists in the current rules. 
 
Rule XXII (37.97.170) 
 
Comment #51:  In regard to New Rule XXII (37.97.170), the commenter is 
concerned over the definition of "time-out" at ARM 37.97.102(25) as the "restriction" 
of a youth to a designated area.  If the youth's separation from a favored activity is 
compelled, or if he or she is prevented from leaving the time-out area, the procedure 
is not a time-out but seclusion.  The commenter suggests the definition be re-written 
to use a different word than "restriction", such as "voluntary separation of a youth for 
a period of time to a designated area". 
 
Response #51:  The use of time-out is defined in part as a restriction of a youth for a 
period of time to a designated area from which the resident is not physically 
prevented from leaving.  As the youth are not prevented from leaving the area a 
time-out is not considered seclusion.  The use of time-out may not be voluntary by 
the youth under every circumstance and therefore the commenter's recommended 
wording would not be appropriate.  Although seclusion is prohibited in all licensed 
YCFs, the definition remains in ARM 37.97.102 to avoid confusion between time-out 
and seclusion. 
 
Rule XXIV (37.97.172) 
 
Comment #52:  Commenter recommends that the term "nonviolent" be deleted from 
the catchphrase, (1), (2), (2)(d), and (2)(e).  This phrase "nonviolent crisis 
intervention and nonviolent physical restraint", is not a standard term used in the 
literature or in the industry as a whole.  An example of how this term can confuse the 
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issue is found in (2)(e) which prohibits "the application of a nonviolent physical 
restraint if a youth has a documented physical condition...".  One could argue that 
this language, then, would allow the application of a violent physical restraint.  
Delete the word nonviolent and simply use crisis intervention and physical restraint. 
 
Response #52:  The department has completed research on the commenter's 
concerns and agrees the use of the term "nonviolent" regarding crisis intervention is 
not a standard term used in literature or in the industry as a whole.  The rule will be 
amended as suggested. 
 
Comment #53:  A commenter urges that the standards from the Children's Health 
Act be incorporated verbatim into New Rule XXIV (37.97.172).  For example, the 
rule could be amended by adding a new subparagraph (effectively the language of 
42 U.S.C. §592(b)(1)(B)) that states: 

(2)(h): Policies and procedures must consider the needs and behaviors 
of the population served, relationship building, alternatives to restraint 
and seclusion, de-escalation methods, avoiding power struggles, 
thresholds for restraints and seclusion, the physiological and 
psychological impact of restraint and seclusion, monitoring physical 
signs of distress and obtaining medical assistance, legal issues, 
position asphyxia, escape and evasion techniques, time limits, the 
process for obtaining approval for continued restraints, procedures to 
address problematic restraints, documentation, processing with 
children, and follow-up with staff, and investigation of injuries and 
complaints. 

The commenter also urges that the rules prohibit prone restraints or any floor 
restraint technique in which staff immobilize a youth with staff body weight on any 
part of the youth's body.  The commenter also urges that the prohibition and 
definition of chemical restraint be expanded to include the use of P.R.N. sedatives or 
psychotropics with sedative effects to control behavior. 
 
Response #53:  42 U.S.C. §592(b)(1)(B) are federal requirements that outline the 
restraint rules for Children's Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facilities (PRTF).  
Montana has three such licensed facilities which are required to follow the federal 
guidelines as cited.  Restraints in PRTFs differ greatly from what is allowed in an 
YCF.  For example a restraint in an YCF must not exceed 15 consecutive minutes 
as opposed to restraints in a PRTF which can be utilized up to 24 hours.  Chemical 
and mechanical restraints may also be utilized in a PRTF and are prohibited in an 
YCF.  The new rules proposed for restraint in YCFs has attempted to incorporate as 
many of the federal requirements as possible without making the requirements too 
cumbersome for providers.  A facility's policy and procedures must address crisis 
prevention with verbal and nonverbal de-escalation as the preferred method.  The 
use of physical restraint may only be used to safely control a youth until the youth 
can regain control of the youth's own behavior when the youth has failed to respond 
to de-escalations techniques and it is necessary to prevent harm to the youth and 
others.  The rule also requires the policy to address debriefing the restraint included 
with the staff that conducted the restraint and the youth. 
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The federal requirements for restraints conducted in health care facilities such as the 
PRTFs are lengthy and extremely time consuming.  These requirements are more 
appropriate for the PRTF level of care which implement lengthy physical restraints 
and chemical and mechanical restraints which are prohibited in YCFs.  Physical 
restraint is the only restraint that is allowed and only allowed for a short period of 
time.  If the youth requires a more intensive level of restraint or seclusion the youth 
must move to a higher level of care such as a PRTF. 
 
The new rules require any facility that uses physical restraint to train staff in 
implementing appropriate restraint techniques.  Facilities use the certification 
courses that they choose.  Some certification courses are discontinuing the teaching 
of floor restraints as part of their training due to the high number of deaths that have 
occurred as a result of floor restraints.  However, they are continuing to address how 
to respond to situations in which staff may find themselves in a situation when they 
and the youth are on the floor and a need to protect them is required.  These 
programs continue to evaluate and evolve based on the most current and accurate 
information available.  Requiring certification in these training programs assures the 
staff are learning the most current methods of restraint. 
 
The definition of chemical restraint means the use of a drug or medication that is 
used to control a youth's behavior or restrict the youth's freedom of movement.  The 
use of drugs or medication that is not a standard treatment for the youth is 
prohibited.  The department cannot prohibit the use of P.R.N. medication or 
psychotropic medication if prescribed by a physician acting within the scope of 
his/her license.  New Rule XII(6) (37.97.153) prohibits the use of psychotropic or 
other prescription or over-the counter medication be given for disciplinary purposes, 
for the convenience of the staff, or as a substitute for other appropriate treatment 
services. 
 
Comment #54:  Commenter indicates that in the event providers and/or the 
department have not developed a process to assure the proper training and 
certification of facility staff in the skills described in New Rule XXIV (37.97.172), the 
Interim Procedures Relating to Training and Certification set forth in the Children's 
Health Act should apply.  The commenter has taken the liberty of including those 
procedures in this document: 

"(2) INTERIM PROCEDURES RELATING TO TRAINING AND 
CERTIFICATION.— 
(A) IN GENERAL.—Until such time as the State develops a process to assure 
the proper training and certification of facility personnel in the skills and 
competencies referred in paragraph (1)(B), the facility involved shall develop and 
implement an interim procedure that meets the requirements of subparagraph 
(B). 
(B) REQUIREMENTS.—A procedure developed under subparagraph (A) shall— 
(i) ensure that a supervisory or senior staff person with training in restraint and 
seclusion who is competent to conduct a face-to-face assessment (as defined in 
regulations promulgated by the Secretary), will assess the mental and physical 
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well-being of the child or youth being restrained or secluded and assure that the 
restraint or seclusion is being done in a safe manner; 
(ii) ensure that the assessment required under clause (i) take place as soon as 
practicable, but in no case later than 1 hour after the initiation of the restraint or 
seclusion; and  
(iii) ensure that the supervisory or senior staff person continues to monitor the 
situation for the duration of the restraint and seclusion."  

 
Response #54:  Although de-escalation training and physical restraint training are 
located in New Rule XXIV (37.97.172) the requirement is not new for YCFs that 
currently are licensed as a TGH or by facilities that implement physical restraint as 
part of their program.  The interim procedures suggested above are not necessary 
as the facilities already have staff trained and certified in physical restraint.  See also 
Response #53. 
 
Rule XXVII (37.97.175) 
 
Comment #55:  Commenter suggests that (2) appears to limit searches to situations 
in which there is a court order allowing the search and probable cause to conduct it.  
However, (3) – (7) appear to broaden the condition permitting search to include the 
consent of parents, guardians and/or "placing worker."  It is questionable whether a 
blanket, third party waiver of fundamental constitutional rights is valid.  This 
commenter also expressed the same concerns in Comment #34.  
 
Response #55:  The parent or legal guardian of youth has the right to consent to all 
medical treatment of the youth.  This includes the right to consent to urinalysis and 
breathalyzer testing to determine the use of drugs or alcohol.  The provisions of Title 
41, chapter 1, part 4, MCA, do not restrict the right of a parent or guardian of a youth 
that has not been emancipated.  The youth being served in YCFs are dealing with a 
wide range of issues which may include drug and alcohol use.  The rule as outlined 
requires the YCF to establish sound policy and procedures that address the facility's 
ability to perform such testing and requires the facility to obtain the appropriate 
permission.  Searches may not be conducted unless there is reasonable cause to 
believe the search is warranted. 
 
Comment #56:  Commenter indicates that New Rule XXVII(6) (37.97.175) is difficult 
to apply when dealing with young children in care.  It would be helpful to add to (6) 
the following that is underlined:  "The YCF shall have adopted policies and 
procedures prior to the use of urinalysis testing for the purpose of determining drug 
and alcohol use which addresses, at a minimum, procedures..."  This clarification 
would be helpful to delineate that the purpose of the urinalysis and required 
procedures are for determining if the youth is using drugs and/or alcohol.  This 
clarification is needed to separate when urinalysis is ordered by a primary physician 
for medical reasons to determine infections. 
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Response #56:  The rule was never intended to apply to cases such as suggested 
by the commenter.  The department agrees and will make changes suggested to 
clarify the rule is for the purpose of determining drug and alcohol use. 
 
Rule XXVIII (37.97.176) 
 
Comment #57:  It appears that the New Rule XXVIII (37.97.176) contemplates that 
there are two forms of contraband – prohibited and illegal.  The commenter suggests 
that the two topics should be separated.  Possession of illegal property (drugs – 
including alcohol and tobacco products by a minor – weapons and child 
pornography) is a violation of criminal law and methods of search, seizure and 
destruction are provided for in the criminal codes. 
 
Possession of "prohibited" contraband is an entirely different issue.  The commenter 
recommends that, rather than use the term "prohibited", the rule establish the criteria 
by which facilities would restrict the rights of youth to possession of otherwise legal 
objects inappropriate or dangerous to residents in a youth facility. 
 
Response #57:  Commenter is correct in stating there are two forms of contraband, 
prohibited and illegal.  New Rule XXXVIII (37.97.190) allows the YCF to define 
prohibited contraband in policy.  This will allow facilities to define contraband and 
determine what types of items can be used by youth and allowed in the facility.  In a 
youth care facility it is unreasonable to believe the youth can be allowed to have any 
item that is considered legal in their possession.  Such an example would be a 
hunting knife.  Allowing possession of such an item may place the youth, other 
residents, and staff at risk of harm.  Allowing the facility to define contraband and 
determine what items the youth may keep in their possession reduces the risk of 
having items that may be harmful to youth and staff in the YCF.  The facility must 
contact law enforcement when appropriate when illegal contraband is discovered as 
commenter is suggesting. 
 
Comment #58:  New Rule XXVIII(3) (37.97.176) requires the provider to have two 
staff to witness when provider disposes of such contraband and that is unclear 
whether it requires a staff person and two witnesses or just two staff.  Please clarify 
and commenter hopes the answer will be that the two staff required on a shift can 
dispose of contraband. 
 
Response #58:  The department agrees that the wording in this rule may be 
confusing and has changed it to read "When contraband is disposed of, at least two 
staff members must be present and the disposal must be documented in the youth's 
case record". 
 
Rule XXXIII (37.97.186) 
 
Comment #59:  A comment was received regarding New Rule XXXIII(8) (37.97.186).  
The provider has one private room, and the bathroom for that resident is off of the 
dining room.  It has been this way since 1974.  Commenter thinks this should be 
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waived for existing facilities.  Comment also indicates provider has a male and 
female dorm, each with its own connected bathroom. 
 
Response #59:  The department understands this provider's concerns and is willing 
to amend the rule to grandfather existing licensed facilities who do not currently 
comply to be exempt from this provision.  Any new renovation, remodeling, or 
additions to structure must comply with the requirements.  The rule will be amended 
to allow a grandfathering provision. 
 
Rule XXXVIII (37.97.190) 
 
Comment #60:  A comment was received regarding New Rule XXXVIII(2) 
(37.97.190) and the rationale for the rule.  Commenter indicates that this rule states 
that the responsibility for paying for medical and dental care usually lies with the 
parent, guardian, custodian and/or referring party.  If it is going to become a rule that 
sometimes the YCF will be responsible for those costs, it becomes an additional, 
unreimbursed cost to the provider.  There could potentially be times that a youth 
could incur medical bills that would threaten to bankrupt a YCF.  It should not be the 
responsibility of the YCF to pay for medical bills at any time. 
 
Response #60:  See Response #45 and 61. 
 
Comment #61:  Commenter states that in New Rule XXXVIII(2) (37.97.190) 
"Financial responsibility for medical and dental treatment must be established prior 
to placement and must usually lie with the parent, guardian, custodian, and/or 
referring party of the child."  In the comments toward the end this is further clarified 
by stating, "It is necessary to require the YCF to have financial responsibility for 
medical and dental treatment in order to ensure that the youth receive required 
treatment.  All YCFs are required to provide ongoing medical and dental treatment to 
the youth, and the facility's lack of resources should not hinder in obtaining such 
services."  Financial responsibility for this should lie with the guardian or placing 
agency when Medicaid or insurance does not pay.  Responsibility should not be the 
providers.  Please clarify this statement such that providers won't be required to pay 
for these services. 
 
Response #61:  The department agrees that statement in the rationale is not clear 
on the intent of the rule.  The rule requires that the YCF establish who is financially 
responsible for medical care of the youth prior to placement.  The rule states 
financial responsibility must usually lie with the parent, guardian, custodian, and/or 
referring party of the child.  The rule reads correctly.  The provider generally is not 
responsible for this payment and will be required to have this established prior to 
placement.  The rule states it "usually lies with the parent, guardian, custodian, 
and/or referring party of the child" due to rare circumstances that might arise when 
the provider agrees to be responsible for these payments.  See also Response #45. 
 
Rule XXXIX (37.97.903) 
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Comment #62:  The department's policy clearly identifies the preference for the use 
of six and 8-bed facilities for the delivery of therapeutic group care services, while on 
its face, the rule suggests that 4-bed (historically intensive) homes can be continued 
under the proposed rules.  The proposed rules increase the costs of operation of the 
4-bed (and other) homes through increased training requirements, expanded human 
resource tasks, program and policy changes, requirements for environmental 
modifications, staff management and supervision and the addition of requiring 
licensed clinical staff.  Meeting the demands of the rule, and operating without 
continued financial loss, require a provider to offer the six and 8-bed version of 
'intensive-level' homes. 
 
Response #62:  The department has no preference regarding the number of youth 
served in a TGH.  Currently the department has 56 TGHs licensed for a various 
number of beds.  The breakdown for bed licenses is as follows: two facilities 
licensed for three beds, nine facilities licensed for four beds, three facilities licensed 
for five beds, 23 facilities licensed for six beds, two facilities licensed for seven beds, 
16 facilities licensed for eight beds, and one facility licensed for nine beds.  The 
number of beds a facility is licensed for is a choice made by the provider depending 
on the program and service delivered. 
 
The proposed rules do not increase the costs of operating for a 4-bed home above 
other TGHs licensed that serve higher numbers of youth in the areas commenter 
references: increased training requirements, expanded human resource tasks, 
program and policy changes, requirements for environmental modifications, staff 
management and supervision and the addition of requiring licensed clinical staff.  
These changes apply to all TYGs.  The 4-bed model will have an increase in cost 
regarding direct care staff versus a group home that serves a higher number youth.  
However, the direct care staffing ratio for a 4-bed group home remains the same as 
in current rule, therefore the provider will not see an increase in cost to operate.  The 
proposed rule as written did increase the cost regarding the program manager 
requirements for a 4-bed group home, however, the proposed rule has been 
amended to address this concern.  See also Response #5 and 63. 
 
Comment #63:  Moving "intensive level" group homes to 6- and 8-bed facilities 
favors increased profits for providers instead of serving more intensive youth.  It 
pays providers more to do less.  Is the department clear that it is promulgating policy 
that allows and encourages a provider to significantly reduce its staffing and receive 
the same reimbursement?  The table below identifies staffing patterns under the rule 
for serving a basic unit of 16 youth.  Provider profits will significantly increase (100 
percent increase in revenue with marginal increase in staffing costs) while they 
serve less-intensive youth with a far smaller intensive staffing ratio. 
 
 4-4-bed model 

homes  
16 youth 

2-8-bed homes 
 
16 youth 

Current proposed rule 

Minimum 
staffing 

8 afternoon staff 
4 overnight staff 

4 afternoon staff 
2 overnight staff 

A TGH with five or more shall 
have a minimum of two direct 
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during a 
weekday 

care staff present for 15 hours 
each day. 

 2 program 
managers 
(In commenter's 
current system 
they would run 
4) 

1 program 
manager 

(6) Each program manager shall 
be responsible for no more than 
two TGH 
(1 program manager) 

 150 minutes of 
psychotherapy 
1.5 FTE LCS (In 
commenter's 
current system 
they would run 2 
LCS providing 
individual, family 
and group 
sessions 
tailored to meet 
the needs of 
each child at his 
or her 
functioning level 
exceeding 15 
minutes of direct 
care.) 
 

150 minutes of 
psychotherapy. 
.75 FTE LCS 

(8) Program managers and lead 
clinical staff may be the same 
employee as long as they meet 
the minimum qualifications of 
both positions and have sufficient 
time to carry out the functions of 
both positions. 

 
Response #63:  The licensing requirements do not require 4-bed homes to serve 
more intensive level need youth.  All TGH currently are required to serve SED youth 
regardless of the number of youth the home is licensed to serve.  
 
As the commenter demonstrates in the table above, the rule as written would 
increase the costs of direct care staffing requirements and program manager 
requirements (discussed below).  However, the commenter's assessment of the LCS 
position is incorrect.  The direct care staffing ratio has not increased from current 
rule for a TYG licensed for six beds and under.  Providers will not see an increase in 
cost in this area.  The direct care staffing ratio has been decreased for TYGs 
providing care for seven and eight youth.  The department has attempted to make 
several changes that would decrease costs in some areas to cover the increased 
cost in other areas.  The direct care staffing ratio for TGHs licensed for six beds and 
under could not be reduced and continue to maintain the safety of the youth and 
staff.   
 
Commenter is correct the proposed rule as written would cost a 4-bed group home 
more to operate than an 8-bed group home when comparing the program manager 
position.  In referencing the table above, four 4-bed group homes would be required 



 
 
 

 
6-3/24/11 Montana Administrative Register 

-428-

to have two program managers and two 8-bed group homes would only be required 
to have one program manager.  Both scenarios would be serving 16 youth.  The 
department has modified the proposed rule to allow one program manager to serve 
up to 16 youth; the rule will be consistent between four 4-bed and two 8-bed group 
homes.  The duties and responsibilities of the program manager do not vary 
according to number of licensed beds.  
 
Commenter also states that they currently are only required to have two program 
managers for four 4-bed group homes but they exceed the requirement by having 
four program managers for four 4-bed group homes.  However, in a four to six bed 
facility, current rule requires one full-time program manager.  Provider is meeting 
current rule, not exceeding the current rule. 
 
The department disagrees with the commenter's assessment of the LCS position 
differing between a 4-bed group home and 8-bed group home.  The table above 
suggests a unit of four 4-bed group homes serving 16 youth would require 1.5 LCS 
versus a unit of two 8-bed group homes serving 16 youth would require a .75 LCS.  
In actuality the LCS requirement will be the same in serving a unit of four 4-bed 
homes and two 8-bed homes.  The proposed new rule does not increase the LCS 
requirements for a 4-bed home versus an 8-bed home.  The cost of the LCS 
requirement is equivalent in the example set forth in the above table.  The rule as 
modified requires the LCS to conduct 75 minutes of therapy per youth per week.  
The requirement is per youth and is not dictated by the number of youth the facility is 
licensed to serve.  Using the above table to demonstrate: four 4-bed group homes 
serving a total of 16 youth would require the LCS to deliver 1,200 minutes of therapy 
per week for each youth.  Two 8-bed group homes serving a total of 16 youth would 
also require the LCS to deliver 1,200 minutes of therapy per week for each youth.  
The LCS requirements are equivalent.  If commenter currently has two LCS 
positions for four 4-bed group homes, an increase in staffing should not be required.   
See also Response #66. 
 
Comment #64:  In regard to New Rule XXXIX (37.97.903), commenter indicates that 
staffing requirements for TGHs licensed for five or more youth will decrease provider 
costs.  This statement is inaccurate for facilities licensed for five or six youth as the 
rule makes no change in direct care line workers on any shifts.  Commenter will 
maintain 1:3 staffing currently in place under this rule. 
 
Response #64:  Commenter is correct.  Staffing requirements for five and 6-bed 
homes will remain the same.  The department apologizes for the error. 
 
Comment #65:  Commenter believes that New Rule XXXIX(3) (37.97.903) should be 
worded similar to (2) regarding the hours "15 hour period beginning at, or between 
7:00 a.m. and 7:30 a.m., or beginning at some other reasonable morning half hour 
which is approximately 15 hours prior to the bedtime of the youth." 
 
Response #65:  The department agrees and has modified the rule to have 
consistent language in (2) and (3). 
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Comment #66:  Several comments were received regarding New Rule XXXIX(4)(a) 
(37.97.903).  During school hours when no youth are present, is the provider 
required to have one on-call staff available even if there is one direct care staff, one 
program manager and one therapist on the premises in the program?  Please 
change the language to state that an on-call staff is required only if there are no 
other staff in the facility. 
 
Response #66:  The proposed rule does not require a staff member to be physically 
present at the facility during regular school hours when youth are not normally 
present.  The rule requires one staff to be on-call and available if needed.  The 
department will amend the rule to incorporate the suggested language. 
 
Comment #67:  Commenter agrees that the intent of New Rule XXXIX(4) 
(37.97.903) is to prevent program managers from being counted in the staff ratio 
when they are working office hours and not providing direct care to youth.  
Commenter also agrees that having a staff on call is necessary to provide good and 
safe care to the youth.  However, not allowing the program manager to be included 
in the required ratio in certain conditions significantly hinders the TGH's ability to 
respond to the needs of the TGH and thus the youth. 
 
Commenter suggests the addition of the following language to (4)(c):  "The program 
manager may be counted in the direct care staffing to youth ratio when scheduled as 
defined in (2) or (3), when called in when on call, and when not otherwise scheduled 
for office hours". 
 
Commenter goes on to state it is important that the program manager be able to 
provide coverage when necessary due to staff illness, vacation or other personal 
needs.  Additionally, staff may need to take a child off campus for a home visit, 
doctor appointment, recreational activity, etc.  Allowing the program manager to be 
scheduled on either a planned shift or an emergency fill-in will allow the TGH to have 
greater flexibility to meet the needs of children, families, and the treatment needs of 
each individual.  Commenter would also suggest an addition:  (6) should read "Each 
Program Manager shall...except as provided in (4)(b) and (c)." 
 
Commenter also indicates that in rationale for New Rule XXXIX (37.97.903), 
discusses that these staffing changes will be a cost savings for TGH because they 
will no longer require certain roles such as a nurse, clinical director, director of 
operation, etc.  The simple fact is that this change will not result in a cost savings.  
The reality of operating a program often involves taking out-of-state placements to 
make it fiscally viable to run and operate a program.  This is a reality because the 
rate of reimbursement from the state of Montana isn't enough to cover the cost of 
running quality programs with solid outcomes, paying staff adequately and 
competitively, developing and train staff, etc.  If providers want to be competitive in 
the market and provide quality services, providers must be accredited.  Any out-of-
state market and accrediting body requires roles such as clinical directors, directors 
of operations, and nurses.  These roles can't go away and even if licensing doesn't 
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require them anymore, providers still have to operate with them.  Also, for quality 
and outcomes, an organization must operate with some clinical and administrative 
oversight beyond those who are also doing the work.  It is so busy for the person 
providing clinical services and supervising staff.  To then expect them to do things 
such as assure medication are administered appropriately and safely, run a quality 
assessment program, supervise clinical work provided, meet the needs of 
customers, etc. is impossible.  The assumption made in the rationale that this is a 
cost saving is inaccurate. 
 
Response #67:  The department has made several changes regarding the program 
manager requirements in the proposed rules.  The program manager's primary 
responsibility is to train and supervise direct care staff.  The program manager can 
be responsible for up to one or more TGHs that serve up to a combined total of 16 
youth.  In some cases the program manager can be responsible for up to four group 
homes.  The changes have been made to balance the cost of operating a TGH to 
current rates while being able to implement the extensive changes that are being 
proposed.  Due to comments received, the department is also changing the 
proposed new rules to allow the program manager to provide 75 minutes of 
therapeutic interventions to each youth per week.  This added responsibility of 
training and supervising staff will consume the program manager's time.  In some 
cases the program manager may also be employed as the LCS providing they are 
qualified for both positions and have sufficient time to carry out the functions of both 
positions.  The department has already incorporated a few exceptions into the rule.  
In New Rule XXXIX(4)(b) (37.97.903), if no more than two youth do not attend 
school and remain in the TGH, the program manager may be counted in the direct 
care staff ratio.  New Rule XXXIX(5) (37.97.903) requires one on-call staff be 
available each night.  The program manager may be scheduled as the on-call night 
staff to meet this requirement.  The program manager is unable to complete all the 
requirements of the position and have time to work as a direct care staff person.   
 
TGHs currently licensed as a campus-based ones are required to have a .25 full-
time social worker for each eight children in care, .25 full-time clinical director for 
each eight children in care who must be licensed by the Montana Board of 
Psychologists, .25 full-time director of operations for each eight children in care, and 
a .20 full-time registered nurse for each eight children in care.  These requirements 
have been eliminated in the proposed new rules.  These requirements are more 
suited for a Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facilities (PRTF).  Montana has three 
licensed PRTF facilities.  The elimination in these staffing requirements will be a 
substantial cost savings to TGHs licensed at the campus-based level. 
 
Commenter states the rate of reimbursement from the State of Montana does not 
cover the cost of running a quality program.  Commenter says to be competitive in 
the market and provide quality services, providers must be accredited and the 
accrediting bodies require the staffing as described in the current rule.  As stated 
above, these requirements are not suited for a TGH level of care and are more 
suited for a PRTF level of care.  The accreditation referred to in this comment is 
required for a PRTF license, and any provider that receives this accreditation is 
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eligible for licensure at the PRTF level and therefore it will be reimbursed at the 
PRTF rate.  The department should not have requirements that are beyond what is 
appropriate and beneficial for this level of care.  Campus-based TGHs are not 
reimbursed at a rate higher than other TGHs and should not have additional staffing 
requirements to increase the provider's cost to operate the program.  The current 
staffing requirements have been eliminated which will result in substantial cost 
savings.  Providers may choose to maintain these positions for the purpose of 
accreditation; however, continuing to require these standards for this reason would 
be unreasonable for licensed TGH.  Montana Medicaid reimburses therapeutic 
group homes at a TGH rate, not a PRTF rate which is significantly higher.  See also 
Response #5. 
 
Comment #68:  A comment was received regarding New Rule XXXIX(5) 
(37.97.903).  If a provider has two direct care staff present and awake in the facility, 
is the provider still required to have an on-call staff available? 
 
Response #68:  The rule does not prohibit more than one awake staff member from 
10:00 p.m. to 7:00 a.m.  The department requires an on-call staff to be available as 
needed.  If it is necessary to staff with more than one awake staff member, an on-
call person would not be required. 
 
Comment #69:  In New Rule XXXIX(6) (37.97.903), several commenters request 
that the therapeutic group home program manager staffing requirement be 
expressed as .5 FTE to provide more flexibility in staffing patterns.  The current 
proposed rule allows a program manager to be responsible for no more than two 
therapeutic group homes.  Stated as .5 FTE would accomplish the same staffing 
levels while giving providers much needed flexibility to manage programs in the most 
effective and efficient manner.  One commenter also suggested deleting (6) and the 
reference to .5 FTE, and replacing the second sentence with language "allowing a 
TGH employing a full-time program manager to work in a direct care capacity not to 
exceed .5 FTE." 
 
Response #69:  Although the department did not change the program manager 
requirements to .5 FTE as suggested, changes in rule were made to allow providers 
more flexibility in staffing patterns for the program manager position.  See also 
Response #63 and #67. 
 
Comment #70:  Commenter indicates New Rule XXXIX(6) (37.97.903) requires that 
provider can allow a program manager to be responsible for no more than two 
TGHs.  However, the rule does not define any amount of time required for the 
program manager to be so engaged.  The department has done a great job in these 
rules to avoid describing an approach but rather challenging providers to meet the 
standard in a way that they think is best, so commenter requests that providers be 
given freedom to design their own programs and be able to assign FTEs to best 
manage them.  Commenter believes it is warranted to have the rule set a minimum, 
adequate FTE requirement for a program manager role to be involved in a TGH.  
While this is a lesser requirement than continued in current rule, commenter does 
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not believe it can effectively reduce the current amount of FTE it uses to manage a 
TGH.  Currently, commenter spends about 1.25 FTE to manage the program, staff 
and home. 
 
Response #70:  The new proposed rule program manager requirements have been 
amended as a result of previous comments from providers.  Changes will allow a 
program manager to be responsible for up to 16 youth.  This is still a decrease in 
requirements from current rule.  The new rule reduces the amount of responsibility of 
the program manager.  The new proposed rule requires the therapy sessions to be 
conducted by the lead clinical staff person and the therapeutic interventions can be 
completed by the program manager.  As this change will have a financial impact on 
providers, the department made changes in other areas to balance costs.  As the 
duties of the program manager have significantly decreased, it only seems 
appropriate to reduce the FTE requirement for this position.  These requirements are 
minimum standards, and providers have the option of exceeding the rule if 
appropriate for their individual program.  See also Response #72. 
 
Rule XL (37.97.905) 
 
Comment #71:  Commenter questions if the 72 months is just a typing error in New 
Rule XL(1) (37.97.905). 
 
Response #71:  The department acknowledges a typing error and the rule will be 
amended to indicate the correct time period of 12 months. 
 
Rule XLI (37.97.906) 
 
Comment #72:  The policies as demonstrated above allow providers significantly 
greater profit to the detriment of the service to youth.  The table below demonstrates 
that it is the policy of the department to reimburse providers for a service historically 
referred to as "moderate-level care" (at one time designed for youth with moderate-
level needs) at an "intensive-level."  Is the department clear that it is promoting a 
policy that will lead to greater profits for providers who will essentially be paid at an 
intensive rate to provide what the department historically reimbursed at a moderate 
level? 
 
 Moderate Group  

Home Rule 
Existing Intensive 
Group Home rule 

Current proposed rule 

Child to staff 
ratio 

(a) Child to staff ratio 
must be no more 
than: 4:1 each day 

(a) An intensive 
group home with 
four or fewer 
children must have 
a child to staff ratio 
of: 
No more than 2:1 
each day 

A TGH with five or 
more shall have a 
minimum of two direct 
care staff present for 
15 hours each day 
(4:1 in an 8-bed 
home) 

Program (c) Each program (i) In a four to 6-bed (6) Each program 
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Manager manager shall be 
responsible for: 
No more than eight 
children 

facility: 
one full-time 
program manager 
for up to six 
children in care. 
 
Under this 
subsection, a full-
time program 
manager means a 
program manager 
working a minimum 
of 40 hours/week 

manager shall be 
responsible for no 
more than two TGH. 
 
(Note:  A single 
manager can be 
responsible for 16 
children) 

LCS 
responsibilities 

(d) Each LCS shall 
be responsible for 
no more than 16 
children 

(e) Each LCS shall 
be responsible for 
no more than 12 
children. 

(8) Program 
managers and lead 
clinical staff may be 
the same employee 
as long as they meet 
the minimum 
qualifications of both 
positions and have 
sufficient time to carry 
out the functions of 
both positions.  No 
limit and expanded 
duties. 

 Moderate Group 
Home Rule 

Existing Intensive 
Group Home rule 

Current proposed rule 

Treatment 
interventions 

(i) specific treatment 
plan objectives and 
interventions which 
are carried out in the 
treatment 
environment and 
documented by daily 
charting: 
 
(ii) two group 
treatment sessions 
per child; 
 
(iii) one individual 
treatment session 
per child 
 
(iv) one treatment 

(i) specific 
treatment plan 
objectives and 
interventions which 
are carried out in 
the treatment 
environment and 
documented by 
daily charting: 
 
(ii) three group 
treatment sessions 
per child; 
 
(iii) two individual 
treatment session 
per child 
 

(1) Each youth must 
receive from the lead 
clinical staff 150 
minutes per week 
(Sunday through 
Saturday) of 
individual, group, and 
family therapy as 
clinically indicated 
based on the specific 
treatment needs of 
the youth. Therapy 
requirements include 
the following:  
(a) Individual therapy 
must be provided at 
least 50 minutes out 
of the required 150 
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team meeting; and 
 
(v) family therapy 
when appropriate 
and medically 
necessary 
 

(iv) two treatment 
team meeting; and 
 
(v) family therapy 
when appropriate 
and medically 
necessary 
 

minutes per week. 
Individual therapy 
may be provided in 
two 25- minute 
sessions per week as 
clinically appropriate. 
The lead clinical staff 
shall document 
specific reasons why 
a 50-minute therapy 
session cannot be 
provided.  
(b) Family therapy 
must be provided to 
the youth and 
biological, adoptive, or 
foster family members 
with whom the youth 
previously resided or 
plans to reside with 
upon discharge. If 
family therapy is not 
appropriate based on 
the particular situation 
of the youth, the lead 
clinical staff shall 
document specific 
reasons why family 
therapy cannot be 
provided. 

LCS 
requirements 

(5) "Lead clinical 
staff (LCS) " means 
an employee of, or 
under contract with, 
the moderate, 
campus based or 
intensive level 
therapeutic youth 
group home provider 
who is responsible 
for the supervision 
and overall provision 
of treatment services 
to children in the 
group home. The 
LCS must be a 
clinical psychologist, 

(5) "Lead clinical 
staff (LCS) " means 
an employee of, or 
under contract with, 
the moderate, 
campus based or 
intensive level 
therapeutic youth 
group home 
provider who is 
responsible for the 
supervision and 
overall provision of 
treatment services 
to children in the 
group home. The 
LCS must be a 

(10) "Lead clinical 
staff (LCS)" means an 
employee of the 
therapeutic group 
home (TGH) provider. 
The LCS is 
responsible for the 
supervision and 
overall provision of 
treatment services to 
youth in the TGH. The 
LCS must be a 
licensed clinical 
psychologist, licensed 
master level social 
worker (MSW), or 
licensed clinical 
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master level social 
worker (MSW), 
licensed 
professional 
counselor (LPC), or 
have a master's 
degree in a human 
services field with a 
minimum of one 
year of clinical 
experience. 
 

clinical 
psychologist, 
master level social 
worker (MSW), 
licensed 
professional 
counselor (LPC), or 
have a master's 
degree in a human 
services field with a 
minimum of one 
year of clinical 
experience. 
 

professional 
counselor (LCPC). 
The LCS can be an 
in-training mental 
health professional. 

 
Response #72:  Currently the department does not have any therapeutic group 
homes licensed at the moderate level.  52 of the 56 TGHs are currently licensed at 
the intensive level, and therefore they are being reimbursed at an intensive level.  
Most youth being placed meet the increased need for an intensive level placement.  
All but four campus-based TGHs are licensed at the intensive level.  The decrease 
in staffing requirements for program managers will help providers with increases 
requirements for LCS.  It is the intent of the department to ensure youth placed in 
TGHs are provided with therapy from a licensed and trained individual which 
historically has not happened.  The treatment interventions as shown in the above 
table have been delivered by individuals that are not licensed to provide therapy.  It 
is the department's belief the youth will benefit greatly from receiving therapy from a 
licensed individual.  The department believes the rate reimbursement for TGHs are 
adequate.  See also Response #73. 
 
Comment #73:  The rule changes as proposed represent a major change in the 
options available to providers when designing services and providing treatment 
strategies for children with severe emotional disorders (SED).  The label of SED is a 
broad one that covers a wide variety of problems and issues and includes the 
combinations of symptoms that make up the challenges of the children in the 
system.  As a result, there is a level of flexibility that is needed, and which exists in 
the current rules that the department proposes to eliminate.  Since 1990, when the 
first Intensive Therapeutic Group Home was created, the role of the LCS has been 
challenged.  One group of thought was that the position of LCS should be a 
Licensed Clinical position like an LCP, LCPC, LCWS or other licensed person.  The 
other line of thinking was that the LCS position needed to be a Master's Level 
position but did not need to be a Licensed Professional like people who have 
Master's in Education or higher, or people who have Master's in Public 
Administration plus five years of experience in providing treatment.  These are 
examples of people who have held this position for the commenter's organization 
over the years.  The first LCS in the state that designed much of the commenter's 
system only had a Master's degree in Education and several years of managing the 
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Children's Unit run by the State of Montana at the time.  The important thing was the 
combination of skills and experience that the person brought to the position. 
 
The most important combination of skills and education that comprises an advanced 
certification in Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA) that is eliminated from the proposed 
rule, the commenter offers ABA to families and their children.  This is a particularly 
important position to have available to a provider like the commenter's. 
 
These people will no longer be able to hold an LCS position in Montana, resulting in 
the elimination of existing employees from current jobs and prevent organizations 
like the commenter's from employing people with these levels of education in the 
future.  This kind of restriction in a State that does not have an abundance of any of 
the level of professionals being specified in the proposed rule seems detrimental to a 
system that can barely find the people they need now. 
 
The two lines of thinking on this topic each have their pros and cons.  In the past, the 
primary level of employee available in the mental health system was licensed clinical 
staff, i.e., LCPC, LCSWs.  Being in a state that has had a systemic problem with 
recruitment and retention of highly qualified staff has made it difficult.  It is far more 
difficult when the kinds of restrictions proposed by this rule are implemented.  For 
many years and even today, psychiatry has been unavailable to Montana provider 
organizations.  This was true as well for PhD Clinical Psychologists, LCWSs and 
other highly qualified professional positions.  The commenter has implemented a 
system over the last 15 years that has over 12 psychiatrists that support the 
commenter's system that includes all of the commenter's group homes and services.  
That is not a practice other providers can duplicate easily but it should not be 
something that goes unaccounted for in these rules. 
 
Unfortunately, the commenter will be in a position to have to use an employment 
strategy and treatment service that has not demonstrated the results consistently 
needed for quality services.  While the commenter has used a different employment 
strategy and treatment system than other providers, which has been proven to get 
the results consistently enough to be a primary placement site for many of the state's 
most difficult cases, the commenter will be forced to use a system that has not 
performed as well.   
 
The commenter created a residential program that provides an above standard 
service to some of the most difficult cases in the state, and it did so with a program 
that delivers more than the minimum required services for the same reimbursement 
rate given to competitors.  The commenter is being made to mothball that system for 
another system that has not been able to compare with the results the commenter 
has had over the past 22 years.  These changes will limit the number and type of 
employee the commenter has used over the last 22 years, will shrink the number of 
children eligible for commenter's program.  The changes will force the commenter to 
change the number of children in commenter's individual homes requiring children to 
share bedrooms and travel in larger groups. 
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Commenter will be forced to be reimbursed the best they have been reimbursed in 
the provider's history. 
 
In some parts of DPHHS, extreme efforts are being undertaken to secure even more 
staff with alternate education programs like the BCABA course being offered by 
MSU-Billings and being implemented and mandated by the DD Program.  As a 
matter of fact, ABA has been demonstrated as the treatment of preference for 
treatment of people with autism and people with developmental disabilities and/or 
people with suppressed intellectual capacity due to their mental health challenges.  
The rule as proposed eliminates not only staff qualified by alternate educational 
programs like ABA but prevents children with autism and dual diagnoses of 
developmental disabilities and mental health problems from being served in these 
homes without incurring additional costs that are prohibitive to the operations of 
those programs. 
 
It is for these reasons the commenter believes the current rule changes will eliminate 
flexibility the commenter has in the current rule that will result in the elimination of 
jobs and people currently holding these positions and will eliminate children from 
services they can currently access.  The commenter will be forced to lay off staff and 
begin the process of moving children currently in services to services that allow the 
necessary flexibility to use approaches like ABA and other approaches that are not 
best offered by licensed clinical staff.  The primary mode of treatment contemplated 
by these rule changes is "talk therapy" exclusively and it is the commenter's belief 
that only a limited population of children benefit from this approach.  The available 
research supports the commenter's thoughts on this matter.  While the commenter 
can and will adjust the program to serve the children, there will be a population of 
children that the commenter believes need the kind of approaches the commenter 
has used since 1990, that are allowed under the current rule, that will either not be 
allowed or now will be so expensive to offer they will effectively no longer be an 
option for the commenter to provide. 
 
Response #73:  The department assumes commenter is referring to ARM 
37.97.102(10) regarding lead clinical staff.  The department appreciates the 
commenter's work with difficult-to-serve youth and for building psychiatric service 
capacity.  Commenter delivers a wide range of services to our most vulnerable 
populations and is licensed for several services in the State of Montana.  In some 
cases, commenter was reimbursed more than other residential providers to serve 
difficult youth. 
 
ARM 37.97.102(23) defines TGH "therapeutic services" and requires they be 
provided by the LCS within their scope of practice as a licensed clinical psychologist, 
licensed master's level social worker (MSW) or licensed clinical professional 
counselor (LCPC) or in-training mental health professional.  The term "therapeutic 
services" is being changed and a new definition for "therapy" and "therapeutic 
intervention" will be added to the rule.  Licensing rules will be changed to allow the 
program manager to provide some of the required therapeutic services.  This 
change is being made to allow TGH staff who are not a licensed psychologists, 
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MSWs, LCPCs or in-training mental health professionals such as the PM to provide 
specialized services such as ABA.  The licensing rule change has allowed the PM to 
complete 75 minutes of therapeutic interventions per week per youth.  The number 
of employees the commenter has that holds an advance certification in ABA would 
be able to provide this service. According to the Behavior Analyst Certification Board 
and MSU-Billings the commenter refers to, the certification in ABA requires a 
master's degree and several graduate credit hours (225) in addition to 1,500 hours 
of supervised independent field work in behavioral analysis.  The number of 
individuals that hold this certificate within the provider's organization are limited and 
would be highly qualified to provide the therapeutic intervention requirements for the 
PM position.  This would allow the commenter to continue to serve a difficult 
population and maintain employment for these individuals certified in ABA.  Facilities 
like this, commenter states, will be reimbursed the best that they have been 
reimbursed in history, therefore the rate should be adequate. 
 
As the commenter points out, other areas in the department are considering 
professionals with alternate educational backgrounds such as Board Certified ABA.  
The department's Developmental Disabilities Program has acknowledged this 
therapeutic intervention with individuals with autism.  The commenter has two TGHs 
that specialize in youth with autism and has been advised that a Community Home 
for Persons with Developmental Disabilities license may be the more appropriate 
route to take to treat these youth that may not benefit from therapeutic services 
offered in a TGH.   
 
Both rehabilitative and psychotherapy are terms used in the definition of "therapy" 
provided in a TGH versus a clinic setting.  The department believes the LCS needs 
to be a licensed psychologist, MSW or LCPC or in-training mental health 
professional to provide therapy in a TGH according to the definition in ARM 
37.97.102(10).  The department believes the LCS should be a licensed psychologist, 
MSW or LCPC or in-training mental health professional to assure a minimum level of 
clinical competency in providing and supervising the delivery of mental health 
treatment services to youth with a serious emotional disturbance (SED) in a TGH.  
The department believes clinical competency is gained through the education and 
experience needed in attaining professional licensure. 
 
Based on comments received in the rulemaking process, changes will be made to 
the licensing requirements regarding the amount of therapy required by the LCS and 
to allow some therapeutic intervention services to be provided by the PM.  The 
department is, adding a new definition for "therapeutic intervention" that PMs may 
provide as part of the TGH treatment requirements for licensure.  Both "therapy" and 
"therapeutic intervention" are treatment or therapeutic services for SED youth in a 
TGH. 
 
Interactive psychotherapy will be added to the definition of "therapy".  Interactive 
means using play equipment, physical devices, language interpreter or other 
mechanisms of nonverbal communication. 
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Current TGH licensing ARM requires the LCS to be a clinical psychologist, master 
level social worker (MSW) or have a master's degree in a human services field with 
a minimum of one year clinical experience.  ARM 37.87.702(3) defines "In-training 
mental health professional services" as services provided under the supervision of a 
licensed mental health professional by an individual who has completed all 
academic requirements for licensure as a psychologist, clinical social worker, or 
licensed professional counselor and is in the process of completing the supervised 
experience requirement for licensure. 
 
The department understands some individuals with a master's degree in social work, 
counseling, or psychology may not meet the Department of Labor's professional 
licensing requirements.  The department believes the LCS should be a licensed or 
be an in-training mental health professional to assure a minimum level of clinical 
competency in providing mental health services to SED youth.  Licensed individuals 
are required to complete a great deal of clinical hours and pass a licensure 
examination that master level individuals are not required to complete.  Nothing in 
these rules would prohibit a licensed psychologist, MSW or LCPC or in-training 
mental health professional from becoming ABA certified. 
 
The definition of SED is broad and includes many different mental disorders and 
functional impairments well outside normal developmental expectations and severe 
behavioral abnormalities not attributable to intellectual, sensory or health factors for 
at least a six-month period or obvious predictable period of six months.  The 
definition of "therapy" is broad enough to encompass the diverse needs of SED 
youth being served.  The definition includes a combination of supportive interactions, 
cognitive therapy and behavior modification techniques, and will be updated to 
include interactive psychotherapy to provide therapeutic change for youth in TGH, 
not exclusively "talk therapy". 
 
Many TGH providers already use licensed clinicians in their programs.  Licensing 
rules will allow TGH providers time to come into compliance with the new LCS 
requirement, although they will not grandfather existing staff into these positions.  
The use of in-training professionals is allowed and the PM can provide some of the 
required therapeutic interventions.  The department believes this addresses the 
commenter's concerns regarding capacity issues.  
 
Comment #74:  The proposed rules include a significant change in the model of 
service delivery by requiring the LCS to be licensed to provide and to deliver 150 
minutes of psychotherapy to clients.  The change requires psychotherapy to be 
delivered regardless of the individual need or medical necessity.  Many programs 
throughout the state decline to serve youth with suppressed intellectual capacity.  In 
most cases, the youth will not benefit from psychotherapeutic approaches, which 
results in providers rejecting programs that are psychotherapeutically based.  The 4-
bed intensive group home has historically provided care for this population.  
Changes in this area under the proposed rules will directly impact the population to 
be served in these programs. 
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Response #74:  Current rule already requires a great deal of treatment sessions per 
youth.  The significant change would be the person who delivers the service.  As the 
department is paying for therapeutic services to be delivered in a therapeutic youth 
group home, it feels the services should be provided by a licensed and trained 
individual.  The rule has been modified by decreasing the number of minutes of 
therapy the LCS must provide to 75 minutes.  The program manager (PM) may now 
provide 75 minutes of therapeutic interventions under the supervision of the LCS.  
As the provider has commented, the decrease in other requirements will provide for 
the increase in cost for the LCS.  Commenter can continue to offer the current 
services with the LCS completing the task.  See also Response #8, 63, and 73. 
 
Comment #75:  Licensed clinicians are not necessarily trained and do not 
necessarily have the background necessary to deliver evidence-based approaches 
such as Applied Behavior Analysis.  The 150-minute requirement, will limit the 
commenter's ability to serve the population we currently serve.  There is a group of 
youth who will not be able to participate (nor would they benefit if you could make 
them participate) in the minimum of two, 25-minute individual therapy sessions.  
These same kids have difficulty in group participation.  There are specialized, 
evidence-based programs in use that meet the needs of this population but are not 
consistent with meeting this rule requirement.  The cost of continuing to deliver the 
services the youth need while concurrently meeting the rule requirements for the 
sake of compliance (not medical necessity or care needs) will be prohibitive. 
 
Response #75:  Licensed clinicians may be trained as any other staff to deliver 
approaches such as Applied Behavior Analysis.  There are also certifications and 
degrees offered in the approach should the provider be interested.  For youth unable 
to participate in "talk therapy" a trained clinician can implement other therapeutic 
methodologies such as art therapy as an example.  See Response # 5, 8, 73, and 
76. 
 
Comment #76:  Regarding New Rule XLI(1) (37.97.906), a commenter challenges 
the 150 minutes of therapy a week for any child no matter his or her age.  An 
example is a child who is seven years old and has a family that can be involved in 
treatment from a distance.  Given that most sessions with kids are about 30-40 
minutes at this age, anything longer will decrease the impact/effectiveness if 
therapy.  Having a child this age sit through an hour long group would be completely 
ineffective for the child, the therapist, and the other children in the group.  The child 
would need to have therapy of some type about five days a week.  Additionally, the 
child attends school five days a week and may potentially have a doctor appointment 
that week.  When does the child have time to attend to homework and then learn to 
be a child and play?  The rule also doesn't include any time for recreation 
opportunities or potential community activities that are just as important to a child's 
treatment and ability to transition to the community again.  Commenter has a hard 
time imagining that most adults could handle 150 minutes of therapy a week. 
 
Commenter strongly recommends that the requirement be changed to a range of 
time from 100 to 150 minutes to accommodate the differences in children's ages, 
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cognitive abilities, and developmental stage.  The 100 to 150 minutes of therapy 
could continue to require that at least 50 minutes of it is individual therapy and the 
rest of the time can be made up of family therapy or group therapy. 
 
Commenter also asks that there be included exceptions allowed for weeks when a 
therapist is sick, on vacation, or attending other business (such as taking another 
child on a home visit, community assessment for a new child, etc.), or the child is 
gone on a home visit or off on a recreational trip.  The exception would require the 
program manager to check in with the child for a total of 60 minutes that week while 
the therapist was unavailable and this is documented by the program manager.  It is 
completely unreasonable to expect that this can be met every week of the year. 
 
Response #76:  The department has amended the rule to allow the LCS to deliver 
75 minutes of therapy and the program manger to complete 75 minutes of 
therapeutic interventions under the supervision of the LCS. 
 
Current rule for campus-based level of care requires one individual therapy session, 
two group sessions, and family therapy (when appropriate) per week.  Some 
commenters have said that the proposed rule is a reduction in the amount of 
therapeutic sessions required per week.  With the additional changes, the youth may 
be provided therapy 75 minutes per week by the LCS and additional interventions for 
75 minutes per week by the program manager.  Placement in a therapeutic youth 
group home requires youth placed in the home to benefit from this level of service 
and to be able to participate in the level of care.  The young children may be 
receiving therapy in combination with therapeutic interventions five days per week as 
described above.  However, these youth are placed in the TGH to receive 
therapeutic services to address their serious emotional disturbance.  Seventy-five 
minutes of therapy per week and 75 minutes of therapeutic intervention per week 
should not significantly interfere with the child's school or recreational activities. 
 
The department has allowed individual therapy to be conducted in two 25-minute 
sessions as clinically indicated by the LCS.  This would accommodate for the 
younger children that cannot actively participate in therapy for a 50-minute period.  
The new proposed rule does not prescribe the length of time group or family therapy 
sessions must be.  The LCS and/or program manager may deliver these services as 
clinically indicated based on the specific treatment needs of the youth. 
 
The department agrees to amend the rule to allow for exceptions for therapeutic 
services in the event the LCS or program manager is not available.  The amount of 
minutes will be prorated for youth placed in the facility for less than one year. 
 
Comment #77:  Commenter indicates two concerns about New Rule XLI 
(37.97.906).  First, it is an increase in the requirement for therapy by a licensed 
individual and there is no increase in reimbursement to pay for this rather expensive 
increase.  Second, each youth has the benefit of the therapeutic milieu in the group 
home which is a standard part of the programming.  The "requirement" that 
additional therapy be given to every youth is not reflective of individualized 
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programming that is the foundation of the children's mental health system.  Some 
youth may require more therapy and some may require less and the rule does not 
allow for this individualization.  
 
Response #77:  The department agrees that each youth has the benefit of the 
therapeutic milieu in a TGH.  This therapeutic milieu is delivered by the direct care 
staff throughout the course of the day when behavior of youth dictates.  The 
therapeutic milieu was never intended to be the only therapeutic service delivered to 
the youth.  The "requirement" for therapy is not new and has been in current rule for 
all TGHs.  At a minimum, the TGHs were required to provide three therapeutic 
sessions per week.  The proposed new rule only changes the qualifications of the 
person providing the therapy. The LCS can provide the services as clinically 
indicated for each youth. The PM will be able to provide therapeutic interventions to 
the youth under the supervision of the LCS. If the youth does not require intensive 
level therapeutic services, the youth may be eligible for a lower level of care and 
access out-patient therapy as needed.  See also Response #, 6, 73, and 76. 
 
Rule XLII (37.97.907) 
 
Comment #78:  In New Rule XLII(2) (37.97.907) commenter suggests deleting "30" 
and replacing with "90" or add language requiring "treatment plans are to be updated 
monthly if providers alter the youth's treatment goals".  The commenter indicates 
treatment plans are reviewed weekly at staff meetings, and intervention changes are 
noted and documented.  However, commenter currently updates/revises treatment 
plans (goals and objectives) at quarterly intervals, and forwards the treatment plans 
to placing workers and parents/guardians as required by current rules.  Unless a 
youth's treatment plan requires substantive changes to the goals, requiring providers 
to reproduce an identical document and mail it to the placing agencies and parents/ 
guardians, if applicable, seems redundant.  They receive monthly progress reports 
describing the child's current functioning. 
 
Response #78:  The department believes that treatment plans need to be reviewed 
and updated on a 30-day basis to assess and evaluate the therapeutic milieu and 
determine if the child needs a change in therapeutic services to more appropriately 
treat the youth.  The requirement for regular youth group homes and shelter cares 
for updating treatment plans is 90 days.  TGHs are serving SED youth requiring a 
great deal of intervention.  A 90-day review for TGHs does not evaluate the youth's 
mental health status often enough to be effective.   
 
Comment #79:  In regard to New Rule XLII(4) (37.97.907), it seems that it would be 
quite difficult to provide a copy of the youth's treatment plan to the stated parties 
"within seven days of the plan's development or update" when it states that the staff 
"shall read and sign off on the treatment plan within seven days of its development 
or update."  The commenter would recommend that (4) be changed to 14 days to 
give the provider enough time to make copies and provide (e.g., by mail) the 
document to the guardian.  Given that the seven day period in this rule does not 
clarify business days, this would allow for weekends or holidays. 
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Response #79:  The department agrees that the timeframes in (3) and (4) appear to 
conflict.  The intent of the rule was to allow seven days after the treatment plan was 
developed or updated to be given to the placing agency or custodial parent or 
guardian.  The rule will be amended to indicate that a copy of the treatment plan 
must be provided to the youth's placing agency and custodial parent or guardian 
within ten days of the plan's development or update.   
 
ARM 37.97.102 
 
Comment #80:  In ARM 37.97.102(4), using the term "psychological assessment" to 
describe the clinical assessment is confusing as it implies that the assessment is to 
be completed by a licensed clinical psychologist.  Commenter would suggest 
"psychodiagnostic assessment" instead or simply removing the word 
"psychological."  In (4)(h), "risk factors" as a distinct category for inclusion in a 
clinical assessment is vague and undefined.  Risk factors affecting the youth would 
naturally be included in (a) through (g) and do not require a separate category 
because it is redundant.  Commenter recommends deleting (h). 
 
Response #80:  The department agrees with the commenter regarding both 
recommendations.  The term "psychological" before the term "assessment" in ARM 
37.97.102(4) will be removed.  Risk factors in (4)(h) will also be removed and 
included in (4)(a) which will now read "diagnosis supported by a rationale, with 
specific behaviors and risk factors identified;" 
 
Comment #81:  Commenter indicates ARM 37.97.102(10) requires a new definition 
for the "lead clinical staff" by requiring three required therapies for each child to be 
provided by the lead clinical staff, and the LCSs to be a licensed therapist or be an 
in-training therapist.  In the rationale, the department identifies the current problem, 
of program managers are doing the therapies.  That is a problem if inexperienced 
and untrained staff is providing "therapy."  Commenter does not know how 
widespread that practice is being used.  The proposed solution goes beyond solving 
the problem stated but commenter does understand and support qualified and 
trained therapists.  Outside of the appeal below for a longtime counselor, commenter 
can support the "movement" toward licensed therapists in TGHs but feels it is 
imperative that, before requiring such a change, the department in partnership with 
providers research the plausibility in meeting this proposed standard by (1) getting a 
count on the numbers and ratios of licensed and unlicensed therapists who are 
currently employed and are providing the therapies in the TGHs; (2) researching the 
availability of such qualified therapists available to TGHs; (3) determining in a better 
manner the cost of hiring such candidates and (4) funding providers if the increased 
costs are determined to be significant. 
 
Commenter must make an appeal on behalf of a current staff person who, with a 
bachelor's degree, has worked for this provider for over 30 years and who currently 
works as a therapist and has been doing so in the program since the mid-1980s.  
This employee started with the provider in the late 1970s and spent over six years 



 
 
 

 
6-3/24/11 Montana Administrative Register 

-444-

as a live-in houseparent in one of the provider's long term group homes.  The 
employee was credits away from a master's degree in counseling before he walked 
away due to what he felt were ethical concerns in the faculty.  This disqualified him 
as a LCS, but his talent and the current rules have allowed him to perform as a 
therapist, and all indications show he has done an excellent job.  Commenter would 
ask that the department develop a procedure to "grandfather" staff such as this 
employee and be approved to continue providing therapies in the TGH.  Doing so is 
better than having the employee replaced with a person who has achieved a 
master's degree but, has little to no experience to fill the employee's shoes.  
Commenter is not sure commenter's program will get a boost from this change.  
Commenter would love for the department to take one more shot at qualifying long 
term employees who have performed splendidly. 
 
Response #81:  A few significant changes to the new proposed rule will address a 
portion of these concerns.  Changes allow the program manager to conduct 75 
minutes of therapeutic interventions and the LCS to provide 75 minutes of therapy to 
each youth per week.  The program manager may also be responsible for serving up 
to 16 youth.  Individuals that do not meet the requirements for the LCS position may 
meet the requirements for the program manager position and continue to provide 
therapeutic interventions under the definition of therapeutic intervention in ARM 
37.97.102. 
 
The department does not feel the research requested in the comment is necessary 
to implement the rule.  Providers are best suited to review each of their individual 
programs to determine the number of licensed, unlicensed, and licensable 
therapist(s) working in their programs.  The costs associated with hiring a LCS has 
been offset by other changes made in the proposed rules.  See also Response #73 
and 82. 
 
Comment #82:  LCS requirement to be a licensed or in-training practitioner limits the 
commenter's ability to hire qualified individuals.  Montana is an underserved area for 
this level of staff.  Other disciplines are equally qualified, and commenter believes 
they may be more qualified to provide the needed services.  The department should 
consider a "grandfather clause" to allow existing experienced staff to continue to 
work effectively with the youth they are currently working with.  If the department 
proceeds with these proposed changes how will the needs of those currently served 
in this system be met?  As a provider of dozens of these youth, commenter is 
unaware of any articulated plan that will coordinate the transition of these youth from 
their current placements.  Commenter would encourage the department to make 
these transitions prior to implementing the new rule. 
 
Response #82:  Therapy requirements are not new, and the person providing 
therapy must be licensed and trained as required by Montana law.  The fundamental 
service delivery model is not being changed.  Youth will remain in current placement.  
The department does not agree with a "grandfather clause" to allow unlicensed 
individuals to perform the majority of the therapy to youth.  See response #74 and 
#81. 
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Comment #83:  ARM 37.97.102(24) limiting the number of youth who may be 
managed and treated in a therapeutic group home to eight is arbitrary and capricious 
and was inserted into a definitional section of the rules without providing any sound 
therapeutic or empirically supported reason for the restriction.  There is no valid 
reason offered for the proposed limit and it adversely affects the operation of an 
existing 9-bed facility which otherwise fully complies with licensing and staffing 
requirements.  If the rule is adopted, the commenter should be entitled to a variance 
grandfathering in its existing 9-bed therapeutic youth group home.  The commenter 
set up a facility in reliance on the rules as they existed at the time and has 
successfully operated its present 9-bed facility for over eight years.  The commenter 
respectfully requests a variance to continue operating the 9-bed facility if the rule is 
changed after the fact. 
 
Response #83:  The department disagrees that limiting the number of youth to eight 
in a therapeutic group home is arbitrary or capricious.  TGH serve SED children with 
extremely difficult behaviors.  Providing services to more than eight SED youth 
poses unreasonable safety risks to children and staff.  Some believe eight are too 
many given the behavior they exhibit on a routine basis.  The department also has 
decreased staffing ratio for TGH and which would increase the risk to youth and staff 
in a 9-bed home. 
 
Comment #84:  Commenter indicates that the intent of this cap to eight youth in 
ARM 37.97.102(24) is unclear.  While eight beds in a TGH has been a normal for 
some TGHs, it does not necessarily indicate that this is best practice.  Commenter 
agrees with the ratio set at 4:1 youth to staff for the day time hours or 8:1 during 
night shift.  Commenter suggests the option of providing up to 12 beds be 
considered as long as the ratios continue to be met.  A cap at 12 youth allows 
flexibility in the future, and especially with difficult economic times, it is difficult to 
predict the future of rates and needs of children.  Switching the cap to 12 allows for 
providers to have some flexibility based on need of children and families as well as 
creating flexible options when finances are limited.  Please consider this change as it 
is crucial to the future of programs and it will prevent closure of programs. 
 
Response #84:  The department strongly disagrees with increasing the number of 
youth served in a TGH to 12.  The youth placed in these homes have serious 
emotional disturbances and require intensive therapeutic interventions.  It is difficult 
to serve these youth in a home that is licensed for eight and would be exceedingly 
more difficult to appropriately treat these youth in a home licensed for 12.  To 
maintain the therapeutic milieu for a home licensed for 12 would be extremely 
difficult and would increase safety concerns for both youth and staff.  Increasing the 
number of youth served to 12 may increase providers' revenue but it will not benefit 
the youth being served.  See response #83. 
 
Comment #85:  The term "serious incident" in ARM 37.97.130 has been modified to 
identify what occurrences meet the level needed for reporting requirements.  The 
substance of this definition is the same as the current one in ARM 37.97.130; 
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however, it has been modified to include "injury to a child which requires medical 
attention".  Current language provides that serious incidents require hospitalization.  
The definition change is necessary because youth in YCFs can be seriously injured 
but not require hospitalization.  These nonhospitalized injuries may be a result of a 
licensing violation and may require intervention.   
 
The commenter's policy requires staff members take youth to the doctor or 
emergency room any time an injury is sustained.  This could be from falling down 
playing basketball, skateboarding, self harm, injuries while playing sports at school 
etc.  If commenter had to turn that information into the Licensing Bureau every time, 
commenter would be calling at least weekly.  Commenter does make calls to placing 
workers and guardians when there is injury of any kind.  Commenter is afraid that by 
calling the Licensing Bureau, licensing in these cases it would appear that provider 
is being unsafe and would reflect poorly on the facility when in fact the provider is 
overly diligent in taking our youth to seek medical care when any injury occurs.  
Normal teenagers sustain injuries while playing.  It does not mean provider is being 
neglectful or abusive.  Further, calling every time a youth is injured is inefficient and 
may sidetrack licensing workers who may not then have time to respond to incidents 
where actual abuse and neglect may be involved. 
 
Response #85:  The department disagrees with the comment.  The definition of 
serious incident requires emergency medical care.  Reporting this type of incident 
would not reflect poorly on the YCF when the provider is following licensing 
requirements.  It is the responsibility of the licensing worker to determine if the 
licensing violation has occurred, and the responsibility is included in their job 
descriptions to make those determinations. 
 
Comment #86:  Commenter indicates ARM 37.97.132(3)(a) requires all staff working 
in a YCF be at least 21 years of age.  While commenter does not have currently any 
employees under the age of 21, commenter believes this rule to be illegal age 
discrimination.  Commenter knows we cannot advertise for an employee by requiring 
that they be at least 21 years of age and do not know of any way to defend such a 
claim of age discrimination.  Please either change the age required back to 18 or 
give providers legal backing necessary to defend hiring based upon age. 
  
Response #86:  The department believes that a reasonable business necessity 
exists from the age limitation.  Some YCFs serve individuals who are over 18 years 
of age.  In order for staff to not be undermined by individuals older than 18, the 
department made the age requirement to be 21. 
 
Comment #87:  Commenter indicates that ARM 37.97.132(7)(b) works for volunteers 
but does not work for mentors or interns.  If the provider is going to develop mentors 
for its youth so they can build relationships with our clients that may be carried into 
adulthood, the provider needs to be able to take the youth one-on-one for recreation 
or bonding time.  Currently, commenter has mentors approved through MYH via the 
volunteer program.  The same issue will apply to some interns.  Some interns are 
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working on becoming therapists and/or counselors and in order to have them receive 
the kind of training they may need to spend one-on-one time with a client. 
 
Commenter indicates that (7)(b) gives an unclear description.  Commenter would 
object that provider cannot use qualified and trained volunteers and interns (many of 
whom are master's students) in any one-on-one situations with clients both in and 
out of commenter's facilities.  Commenter hopes rule can be clarified and allow 
providers to use interns and volunteers to do activities (sports, movies, etc.), perform 
services (mentoring, counseling) and transport kids one-on-one. 
 
Response #87:  The department understands the reason for the comments and 
agrees the rule is too restrictive on providers.  The department will amend ARM 
37.97.132(7)(b) to remove "direct and constant" as long as all the other provisions 
are followed, volunteers and interns will not be under the direct and constant 
supervision of the YCF staff. 
 
ARM 37.97.207 
 
Comment #88:  A comment was received regarding ARM 37.97.207(2)(a).  
Commenter agrees with the intent of the rule–to provide a safe and secure 
environment of all residents in a maternity home, including babies and young 
children.  Commenter would like clarification of the definition of "any child who is not 
being properly cared for by the youth parent."  Most teen mothers requiring this level 
of care struggle at different times caring for their children.  The added support of a 
structured fully staffed residential home is in place to assist them as needed.  In 
what instances would the department deem children being "not properly cared for by 
the youth parent" therefore necessitating increased staffing ratio to include the 
babies?  Additionally, commenter indicates it currently receives no funding for 
providing staff for the babies in its care.  If this rule is adopted as stated, the provider 
would need to negotiate funding increases with state placing agencies to meet the 
intent of this rule. 
 
Response #88:  To clarify the intent of "any child who is not being properly cared for 
by the parent" would be in situations such as when the mother is not in the building 
or the child is at risk for abuse and/or neglect.  The children have to be counted in 
the ratio if the moms are not properly caring for the child.  As a licensed maternity 
home the provider should be able to assess if the parent is properly caring for the 
child.  Increases with state placing agencies funding will not need to be negotiated 
as the child is funded using the daily foster care rate.  
 
ARM 37.87.702 
 
Comment #89:  ARM 37.87.702(1) establishes a 90-day maximum on the receipt of 
CBPR&S services.  This limit may not reflect the intensity of this service or the 
clinical application of the mentoring relationship.   
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Response #89:  The comment is in reference to rules proposed in MAR Notice 37-
518.  The comment has been redirected for response in conjunction with that notice. 
 
ARM 37.87.703 
 
Comment #90:  ARM 37.87.703(1)(a)(ii) requires that CBPR&S services must be 
offered only when the youth is enrolled in another Medicaid service.  While this is not 
likely to be much of an issue, I question the legality of requiring one Medicaid service 
to access another.   
 
Response #90:  The comment is in reference to rules proposed in MAR Notice 37-
518.  The comment has been redirected for response in conjunction with that notice. 
 
 
 
 
/s/ Michelle Maltese    /s/ Anna Whiting Sorrell   
Rule Reviewer    Anna Whiting Sorrell, Director 
      Public Health and Human Services 

  
 

Certified to the Secretary of State March 14, 2011 
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 BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC 
 HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES OF THE 
 STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of 
ARM 37.86.3515 pertaining to case 
management services for adults with 
severe disabling mental illness, 
reimbursement 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF AMENDMENT  

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
1.  On December 9, 2010, the Department of Public Health and Human 

Services published MAR Notice No. 37-529 pertaining to the public hearing on the 
proposed amendment of the above-stated rule at page 2807 of the 2010 Montana 
Administrative Register, Issue Number 23. 

 
2.  The department has amended the above-stated rule as proposed.  

 
 3.  The department has thoroughly considered the comments and testimony 
received.  A summary of the comments received and the department's responses 
are as follows: 
 
COMMENT #1:  A commenter was concerned that the rate setting methodology was 
not being applied uniformly. 
 
RESPONSE #1:  The Addictive and Mental Disorders Division (AMDD) within the 
Department of Public Health and Human Services is responsible for the provision of 
targeted case management for adults with severe disabling mental illness.  AMDD 
used a methodology that has been approved by the Centers for Medicare Services 
(CMS) in order to determine the cost of providing this service and has adjusted the 
reimbursement rate accordingly.  The proposed rule amendment applies only to 
targeted case management for adults with severe disabling mental illness. 
 
AMDD understands the commenter's concern that another division within the 
department that participated in the time study did not adjust the reimbursement rate 
suggested by the outcome of the study.  The approval of the methodology by CMS 
did not obligate the department to adjust rates in all programs.   
 
COMMENT #2:  There were two requests for a copy of the rate methodology used 
by the department to set the case management rates. 
 
RESPONSE #2:  The rate methodology has been put on the department's web site 
and can be found at www.dphhs.mt.gov/amdd/services/index.shtml. 
 
COMMENT #3:  A commenter stated the data used in setting rates was for Fiscal 
Year 2008 which is too old.   
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RESPONSE #3:  The time study was started January 5, 2009.  The Addictive and 
Mental Disorders Division did not receive all of the results until April 2009.  AMDD 
requested the most current data on employee wages and benefits and used paid 
claims in FY 2009 to determine the adjusted rate. 
 
 
/s/ Geralyn Driscoll    /s/ Anna Whiting Sorrel   
Rule Reviewer    Anna Whiting Sorrell, Director 
      Public Health and Human Services 

 
 

Certified to the Secretary of State March 14, 2011 
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 BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 

 
In the matter of the amendment of 
ARM 42.11.104, 42.11.105, 
42.11.243, 42.11.402, 42.11.405, 
42.11.406, 42.11.423 relating to liquor 
vendors  

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF AMENDMENT 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 

 
1.  On October 28, 2010, the department published MAR Notice No. 42-2-858 

regarding the proposed amendment of the above-stated rules at page 2563 of the 
2010 Montana Administrative Register, issue no. 20. 

 
2.  A public hearing was held on November 23, 2010, to consider the 

proposed amendments.  Gary Funes, Regional Director - NW Control States, for 
Proximo; Brett Wiensch, State Manager, Young's Market Company of Montana; 
Robin Frey, Regional Manager, McCormick Distilling Company; and Mike Soule, 
Owner, Liquor Store #76, Belgrade, Montana, all appeared and provided testimony 
at the hearing.  Written comments were received from Montana liquor store 
representatives Chris Byrd, of Kalispell; Shane Farnsworth, of Billings; K. C. Hill, of 
Ronan; Doug Kirby, of Billings; Mark Kohoutek, of Great Falls; Bea Lunda, of 
Conrad; Dan Moerkerke, of Hamilton; Chad Ouellette, of Big Sky; and Jacque 
Thomas, of Missoula.  As requested in advance, the hearings officer read Mr. Hill 
and Mr. Byrd's written comments aloud during the hearing.  Oral and written 
testimony received is summarized as follows along with the responses of the 
department: 
 

COMMENT NO. 1:  Mr. Funes commented on ARM 42.11.104(3), relative to 
wholesale price.  He asked if this means that a product that is discontinued by the 
department would never be allowed to return into the product line.  Mr. Funes used 
the example that a particular product that they couldn't give away ten years ago is 
now doing quite well. 
 

RESPONSE NO. 1:  The department appreciates Mr. Funes' comments.  If a 
product marked as discontinued becomes available again, the department will offer 
the product for purchase again, as a new special order item. 
 

COMMENT NO. 2:  Mr. Wiensch commented on ARM 42.11.243(5), relative 
to samples.  He questioned how the language that says a sample product may only 
be given to licensed retailers or liquor store agents would affect their ability to 
provide products such as gift baskets to charitable events.  Mr. Wiensch also 
commented about the requirement in ARM 42.11.243(10) that the vendor fill out the 
department's paperwork for removing the samples, and asked if this means that the 
broker would no longer be able to do this on behalf of the suppliers. 
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 RESPONSE NO. 2:  The department appreciates Mr. Wiensch's comments.  
The proposed amendments to ARM 42.11.243 do not change current requirements.  
Liquor vendors and liquor representatives cannot provide products to charitable 
events.  This rule is governed by the Code of Federal Regulations, chapter 27, part 
6.91, which states that samples are an act of an industry member furnishing or 
giving liquor or fortified wine to a retailer who has not purchased the brand within the 
last 12 months.  Industry members, including liquor vendors and representatives, are 
only allowed to give samples to a licensed retailer or liquor store agent. 

Mr. Wiensch's comment regarding samples is correct.  Registered 
representatives are no longer able to send the request to withdraw inventory for 
sample purposes from the warehouse.  The request needs to come directly from the 
owner of the product, i.e., the vendor of record. 
 
 COMMENT NO. 3:  Ms. Frey commented on ARM 42.11.402(3), relative to 
inventory policy, that the use of flavors is very vague, covers too broad of an area, 
and needs more definition. 
 Mr. Funes also commented on this rule, stating that choosing not to sell the 
caffeinated alcoholic products is absolutely correct.  He further commented, relative 
to different flavors of current or new products, that the state has a responsibility to 
offer the products that come along to their constituents as long as they are only 
being sold to people 21 years of age or older. 

Mr. Kohoutek commented on this rule stating that while he does not object to 
the first part, the language "such as, for example, bubble gum or cotton candy" in 
ARM 42.11.402(3)(d) seems excessive.  He explained that it appears this language 
is added to specify that certain products won't be allowed in Montana, and says he 
would argue that to single out cotton candy, for example, may be incorrect.  He 
further stated that a survey of fairs would show that at least 50 percent of cotton 
candy sold is for adult consumption and, therefore, it seems like a huge leap to say 
this flavor is directed toward children.  He proposed ending ARM 42.11.402(3)(d) at 
"targeted toward children" and it would accomplish the department's intent without 
drawing a conclusion that may not be correct now or in the future. 
 

RESPONSE NO. 3:  The department thanks Ms. Frey, Mr. Funes, and Mr. 
Kohoutek for their comments.  A very important responsibility of the state, through 
the department, is to protect the health, welfare and safety of the people of Montana 
in the sale and distribution of alcoholic beverages.  The department believes the 
language used in ARM 42.11.402 is in the best interest of the state for the protection 
and safety of all citizens, including those who are under the legal age to consume 
alcoholic beverages. 

New and innovative products are entering the market at a fast pace.  Some of 
these products include new flavors, unique packaging, and a variety of marketing 
techniques.  Although it may not be the intention of vendors, some flavors, 
packaging and advertisements do target youth under the legal age or make it difficult 
for individuals to differentiate an alcoholic product from a nonalcoholic product. 
 

COMMENT NO. 4:  Mr. Wiensch further commented on ARM 42.11.405(1)(b), 
relative to special orders, asking if this could be reworded to provide an opportunity 
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to bring in extra cases in some instances.  He explained that we all know how hard 
shipping into Montana can be depending on supplier size.  He said he understands 
the six- to eight-week lag-time, and acknowledged that the state has always been 
very cordial about allowing extra inventory of quicker-moving products.  Mr. Wiensch 
asked if the elimination of the warehouse supply category leaves strictly the case-by-
case option and said he has concerns that this would put these promotional products 
at a disadvantage. 

In reference to ARM 42.11.405(1)(b)(ii), Mr. Wiensch asked if he correctly 
understands this to read that a supplier will only be allowed to bring in one 
promotional request product at a time.  He explained that if a supplier brings in 
multiple brands, it would be harder for the department to regulate.  Also, he said that 
due to the time it takes for something to get included in the price book's regular 
listings, up to ten months, it could pose a problem for introducing secondary 
products, new flavors, etc.  Mr. Wiensch stated that Montana has been built on 
special order products through some of the liquor stores.  He explained that he 
doesn't want that eliminated and requested that this be looked at more closely. 
 

RESPONSE NO. 4:  The department understands how important the special 
order and promotional request process is in Montana and has further amended ARM 
42.11.405 to address these concerns. 

The department will continue with its current practice for promotional 
requests.  The amendments to the rules are not intended to limit a vendor to one 
promotional request at a time.  A vendor can send multiple promotional requests to 
the department; however, if one request has expired and excessive inventories 
remain in the liquor warehouse, no additional promotional requests will be accepted 
until the inventory on the expired request has been removed.  The department will 
continue to provide updates to registered representatives and vendors on the status 
of their promotional requests throughout the process. 

Additional detail, relative to this rule, is provided in the department's response 
to comment no. 6. 
 

COMMENT NO. 5:  Ms. Frey also expressed a concern about ARM 
42.11.406(1)(a)(i) relative to product listing, stating that erratic sales should be better 
defined to address distribution in more than one store.  Ms. Frey further commented 
on ARM 42.11.406(1)(a)(iii), relative to product listing requirements, asking if it has 
always been a requirement that a product has been in the state for at least six 
months.  She also asked if a newly introduced product is selling well within three 
months, should it be listed automatically. 
 

RESPONSE NO. 5:  The department agrees with Ms. Frey's concern and has 
added the term "erratic sales" into the definitions in ARM 42.11.105.  In response to 
Ms. Frey's second comment, the six-month introductory period has been the 
department's practice for several years and has not created any concern.  The 
department believes six months is both a necessary minimum and an adequate 
amount of time to make certain the product demonstrates a consistent sales history.  
The six-month period also allows the department to confirm the long-term availability 
of the product. 
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COMMENT NO. 6:  Mr. Byrd commented on the provision to base the 8 

percent discount on the year 1994 case sales.  He stated he is already losing a 
substantial amount of money on case sales to taverns/casinos, and that it is not right 
that the statute says the state will subsidize taverns/casinos 8 percent for case lot 
purchases, yet the state does not compensate the stores for that amount.  Mr. Byrd 
further stated that, in the proposed amendment to the warehouse changes, the state 
is offering even more product to the taverns/casinos at the 8 percent discount 
without proposing a method to compensate the stores for this additional cost, that 
the amendment favors the taverns and casinos at the expense of the stores, and he 
is not in favor of it. 

Mr. Farnsworth wrote that he understands the department's wish to 
streamline the three classification sections of the warehouse; however, he stated 
that taking the warehouse supply products to the regular list will be detrimental to the 
agency stores by decreasing the profitability of sales.  He added that if these items 
were not worthy of the regular list criteria, they should not be made so arbitrarily 
through rulemaking.  He requested that this provision of the rule not be acted upon.  
Mr. Farnsworth also commented that the only problem he sees from an agent's 
perspective is that the warehouse supply items should go on back-order.  He 
explained that the agents currently re-order these items weekly until they show up, 
and having them go on back-order would greatly relieve stress on the system. 

Mr. Hill commented on the increase in the number of warehouse supply 
products being added to the regular list, the current weighted average discount ratio 
established in the year 1994, and referred to 16-2-101(2)(b)(ii)(B), and 16-2-201, 
MCA.  Mr. Hill stated that the proposed amendments do not specify how the 
department will reimburse agents for the additional case lot discounts on the 550 
warehouse supply products, and requested that the language in the proposed 
amendments specifically state how the department will reimburse agents for the 
additional case lot discounts on these products.  Mr. Hill further stated that if it is not 
the intention of the department to reimburse the agents, he opposes the elimination 
of the concept of warehouse supply products in the proposed rule amendments. 

Mr. Kirby commented that he is opposed to adding 700 or more special order 
and warehouse items to the front of the price book.  He explained that stores make 
little on case lots and the special order status of the items allows stores to earn a 
better percentage. 

Mr. Kohoutek expressed concern about the proposed amendments to ARM 
42.11.405, 42.11.406, and 42.11.423.  He stated that changing the listing of 
products will increase the regular-listed products from about 800 to 1250.  This 
would be a 50 percent increase in the number of products that require the 8 percent 
discount, which seems like a huge increase.  He stated that the weighted discount is 
based on case sales from the early 1990s and, should a change in the listing of 
products occur, every store would have a legal argument to have its weighted 
average discount adjusted.  He also proposed that it would be more logical to have 
the warehouse supply products grouped in with special orders instead of the regular-
listed products than to give an 8 percent discount to a product that may only sell 20 
or so cases a year.  He further stated that he would like to see the rules specify that 
a product must sell a certain number, such as 100 cases or more, to be a regular- 
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listed product.  He said it seems to him that the 8 percent discount is intended for 
products that sell in large volume. 

Ms. Lunda stated that she is opposed to the amendments to ARM 42.11.405, 
42.11.406, and 42.11.423.  She explained that, prior to the year 1995, the 
warehouse supply items were not calculated into the mathematical formula to assign 
a weighted discount average to each agency store, only regular-listed products were 
used in the formula based on case lot discounts from the year 1994.  Therefore, to 
eliminate warehouse supply items would require all agency stores to give the 8 
percent case lot discount to licensees on more than 500 additional items, and this 
would have a significant financial impact on many agency stores without the means 
to recover the added cost. 

Mr. Moerkerke commented that it is hard to understand the concept behind 
adding more products to the regular category.  He asked if by adding more products 
that are eligible for discount, it doesn't add more cost to the department for 
reimbursement to the agent stores, too.  He questioned if the proposed amendments 
explain how the department will reimburse the agents. 

Mr. Ouellette stated that while he appreciates the effort to create efficiencies 
in the warehouse, and that downsizing listings may make sense, the impact of the 8 
percent discount on the additional cases is dramatic and many of the agencies 
wouldn't be able to handle the impact.  He states he would like to think that there is a 
way to solve the listing problem without the negative monetary impact. 

Mr. Soule commented that he assumes the department is aware that, with the 
proposed amendments to the definitions in ARM 42.11.105, by moving 750 
warehouse supply items to the regular list, liquor stores will sustain a substantial 
cost.  He further stated that there are a handful of liquor stores struggling financially, 
and adding more items requiring the 8 percent bar discount will be detrimental to the 
stores. 

Ms. Thomas provided comments specific to ARM 42.11.405(1)(b), stating that 
she is opposed to the removal of the warehouse supply product designation.  She 
explained that while the intention of the amendment may have been to streamline 
product lines, passing it would penalize liquor stores by giving away what is already 
a slim profit margin until the next commission rate review period, which is at least 
three years away.  Ms. Thomas says she estimates that in her operation alone, this 
would result in a loss of $100,000 in gross profits and lead to significant cuts in 
customer service and the number of employees.  She added that not only would 
each store be damaged, but this amendment would reduce net income to the state 
and reduce revenues that go back into local communities. 
 

RESPONSE NO. 6:  The department appreciates the liquor store agents' 
comments and understands their concerns.  To help address these concerns and 
still meet the intent of the law, the department has further modified the language in 
ARM 42.11.105, 42.11.405, and 42.11.406.  The modified language closely mirrors 
the rule classification of liquor products in the year 1994 that was in place when the 
mathematical formula was devised to assign a weighted average discount to each 
agency store.  This modified language will better correspond with how the weighted 
average discount was calculated and provided to agency stores for the 8 percent 
discount. 
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In the year 1994, regular products were items that achieved 100 cases of 
sales or $1,000 annual net profit in the 12-month period prior to the preparation of 
the division's quarterly price book.  In the year 2006, the criteria for regular products 
was amended, making the total number of regular products equivalent to the number 
of available locators in the state liquor warehouse.  During this period, the 
department had 870 available locators. 

The number of available regular products has not changed in more than five 
years.  Based on the rules in the year 1994, which was the time period when the 
weighted average discount was determined for each store, the department would 
have 1,198 regular products today. 

The modified language in ARM 42.11.105 defines regular products to be any 
item that has sold 50 or more cases in the 12-month period leading up to the 
department's biannual review process.  Based on sales records, this modification 
would increase the number of regular products from 870 to 1,003.  This is a 
significant decrease from the previously proposed quantity of 1,250, and is also less 
than the quantity of regular products it would have been if based on year 1994 rules. 

The modified rule also amends the language to say that any product not 
meeting the regular product criteria will be classified as a special order product.  
Those special order products, that have sold more than 24 cases in the 12-month 
period leading up to the department's biannual review process, will have inventories 
maintained at the liquor warehouse.  If the special order item has a sales history of 
24 or fewer cases, the product will be brought in on a case-by-case basis, as is 
currently done.  All special order products will go on backorder if supply is not 
available at the liquor warehouse.  The price book will clearly note which special 
order items will be maintained at the liquor warehouse. 
 
 3.  Based on the comments received and a proposed edit presented at the 
hearing by the Liquor Control Division administrator, the department further amends 
ARM 42.11.105, 42.11.243, 42.11.405, and 42.11.406 as follows, stricken matter 
interlined, new matter underlined: 
 
 42.11.105  DEFINITIONS  As used in this subchapter, the following definitions 
apply: 

(1) through (8) remain as proposed. 
(9)  "Erratic sales" means sales having no fixed or regular course; lacking 

consistency, regularity, or uniformity. 
(9) through (14) remain as proposed, but are renumbered (10) through (15). 
(15)(16)  "Regular product" means a product in which inventories are 

continually maintained at the state liquor warehouse. that has sold 50 or more cases 
in the 12-month period leading up to the department's biannual review if: 
 (a)  product sales are not a result of closeout, overstock, or erratic sales; 
 (b)  product is available year-round; and 
 (c)  product has been in the state for at least six months prior to the review. 
 (16) through (18) remain as proposed, but are renumbered (17) through (19). 
 (19)(20)  "Special order product" means a product in which inventories are not 
constantly maintained at the state liquor warehouse that does not meet the criteria to 
be classified as a regular product. 
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 (20) and (21) remain as proposed, but are renumbered (21) and (22). 
 
 AUTH:  16-1-103, 16-1-104, 16-1-303, MCA 
 IMP:  16-1-103, 16-1-104, 16-1-302, 16-1-401, 16-1-404, 16-1-411, 16-2-101, 
16-2-201, 16-2-301, 16-3-107, MCA 
 

42.11.243  SAMPLES  (1) through (3) remain as proposed. 
(4)  Sealed sample Sample products, which must be in their original 

containers, may only be given to licensed all-beverage retailers or agency liquor 
store agents. 

(5) through (10) remain as proposed. 
 
AUTH:  16-1-103, 16-1-303, MCA 
IMP:  16-3-103, MCA 
 
42.11.405  PRODUCT AVAILABILITY  (1)  Liquor products will be made 

available for sale in the following classifications: 
(a)  Regular products will be designated in the department's quarterly price 

list, and have sufficient supply maintained in the bailment warehouse in accordance 
with ARM 42.11.421.  An agent shall give an all-beverage licensee an 8% percent 
discount on a full case lot of a regular product. 

(b)  Special order products that have sold at least one case in the prior 12 
months will be published in the department's quarterly price list.  Supply will not be 
maintained in the warehouse and will only be available on an order-by-order basis, 
and depending on supplier requirements and availability of a product, orders may 
take six weeks or more to be filled.  An agent shall not give an 8% percent discount 
on a full case lot of a special order product. 

(i)  Inventories will be maintained in the bailment warehouse if the item has 
sold more than 24 cases in the 12-month period leading up to the department's 
biannual review. 

(ii)  Inventories will not be maintained in the bailment warehouse if the item 
has sold 24 or less cases in the 12-month period leading up to the department's 
biannual review.  These items will be available on an order-by-order basis and, 
depending on supplier requirements and availability, the order may take six weeks or 
more to be filled. 

(i)(A)  A vendor with a current Montana permit who has at least one registered 
representative may ship special order these products in on a promotional contract if 
approved by the department on a predetermined form.  The promotional contract 
should: 

(A)(I)  state that the product will be maintained in the bailment warehouse; 
(B)(II)  list the test market locations proposed for the product and the 

expected initial order amount; 
(C)(III)  describe the promotional strategy that the vendor and the vendor's 

registered representative will undertake during the six-month promotion period; and 
(D)(IV)  specify a return address for excess product at the end of the 

promotional period. 
(ii)(B)  No additional supplier promotions will be allowed until excess product 
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is removed from the warehouse.  If arrangements have not been made to ship 
excess product back within 30 days of notification, product will be destroyed at the 
vendor's expense. 

(c)  Seasonal products are not published in the department's quarterly price 
list.  Seasonal products are only available from the manufacturer during certain 
times of the year.  The department will notify store agents when seasonal products 
become available.  An agent shall not give an 8% percent discount on a full case lot 
of a seasonal product. 

(d)  Discontinued products are not published in the department's quarterly 
price list.  Discontinued products are available until all inventories have been 
depleted.  An agent is not required to give an 8% percent discount on a full case lot 
of discontinued product; however, the agent may sell the product below its last 
known posted price. 

 
AUTH:  16-1-103, 16-1-303, MCA 
IMP:  16-1-103, 16-1-104, 16-1-302, 16-2-201, MCA 

 
 42.11.406  PRODUCT LISTING  (1)  A product listing will be determined by 
the total number of case cases sales the product sold in the past 12 months 12-
month period prior leading up to the department's biannual review.  The listings will 
be reviewed in January and July of each year.  The results of the January review are 
effective May 1.  The results of the July review are effective November 1.  The 
listings will be categorized as follows: regular product and special order product, as 
defined in ARM 42.11.105. 
 (a)  Regular products are the top 1,250 products in the state of Montana if: 
 (i)  product sales are not a result of closeout, overstock, or erratic sales; 
 (ii)  product is available year-round; and 
 (iii)  product has been in the state for at least six months prior to the review. 
 (b)  Special order products are products that do not meet the criteria for 
regular list products. 
 

AUTH:  16-1-103, 16-1-303, MCA  
IMP:  16-1-103, 16-1-104, 16-1-302, MCA 

 
4.  Therefore, the department amends ARM 42.11.105, 42.11.243, 42.11.405, 

and 42.11.406 with the amendments listed above, and amends ARM 42.11.104, 
42.11.402, and 42.11.423 as proposed. 
 

5.  An electronic copy of this notice is available on the department's web site 
at www.revenue.mt.gov.  Locate "Legal Resources" in the left hand column, select 
the "Rules" link and view the options under the "Notice of Proposed Rulemaking" 
heading.  The department strives to make the electronic copy of this notice conform 
to the official version of the notice, as printed in the Montana Administrative 
Register, but advises all concerned persons that in the event of a discrepancy 
between the official printed text of the notice and the electronic version of the notice, 
only the official printed text will be considered.  In addition, although the department 
strives to keep its web site accessible at all times, concerned persons should be 
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aware that the web site may be unavailable during some periods, due to system 
maintenance or technical problems. 

 
 
/s/ Cleo Anderson    /s/ Dan R. Bucks 
CLEO ANDERSON    DAN R. BUCKS 
Rule Reviewer    Director of Revenue 

 
Certified to Secretary of State March 14, 2011 
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 BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 

 
In the matter of the amendment of 
ARM 42.14.1002 and 42.14.1102 
relating to rental vehicle tax 

) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF AMENDMENT 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 

 
1.  On January 13, 2011, the department published MAR Notice No. 42-2-859 

regarding the proposed amendment of the above-stated rules at page 41 of the 2011 
Montana Administrative Register, issue no. 1. 

 
2.  No hearing was conducted on the rules and no comments were received. 

 
3.  The department amends ARM 42.14.1002 and 42.14.1102 as proposed. 
 
4.  An electronic copy of this notice is available on the department's web site 

at www.revenue.mt.gov.  Locate "Legal Resources" in the left hand column, select 
the "Rules" link and view the options under the "Notice of Proposed Rulemaking" 
heading.  The department strives to make the electronic copy of this notice conform 
to the official version of the notice, as printed in the Montana Administrative 
Register, but advises all concerned persons that in the event of a discrepancy 
between the official printed text of the notice and the electronic version of the notice, 
only the official printed text will be considered.  In addition, although the department 
strives to keep its web site accessible at all times, concerned persons should be 
aware that the web site may be unavailable during some periods, due to system 
maintenance or technical problems. 

 
 
/s/ Cleo Anderson    /s/ Dan R. Bucks 
CLEO ANDERSON    DAN R. BUCKS 
Rule Reviewer    Director of Revenue 

 
Certified to Secretary of State March 14, 2011 
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 BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 

 
In the matter of the amendment of 
ARM 42.14.101 and 42.14.203 
relating to lodging facility use tax 

) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF AMENDMENT 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 

 
1.  On January 13, 2011, the department published MAR Notice No. 42-2-860 

regarding the proposed amendment of the above-stated rules at page 44 of the 2011 
Montana Administrative Register, issue no. 1. 

 
2.  No hearing was conducted on the rules and no comments were received. 

 
3.  The department amends ARM 42.14.101 and 42.14.203 as proposed. 
 
4.  An electronic copy of this notice is available on the department's web site 

at www.revenue.mt.gov.  Locate "Legal Resources" in the left hand column, select 
the "Rules" link and view the options under the "Notice of Proposed Rulemaking" 
heading.  The department strives to make the electronic copy of this notice conform 
to the official version of the notice, as printed in the Montana Administrative 
Register, but advises all concerned persons that in the event of a discrepancy 
between the official printed text of the notice and the electronic version of the notice, 
only the official printed text will be considered.  In addition, although the department 
strives to keep its web site accessible at all times, concerned persons should be 
aware that the web site may be unavailable during some periods, due to system 
maintenance or technical problems. 

 
 
/s/ Cleo Anderson    /s/ Dan R. Bucks 
CLEO ANDERSON    DAN R. BUCKS 
Rule Reviewer    Director of Revenue 

 
Certified to Secretary of State March 14, 2011 
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NOTICE OF FUNCTION OF ADMINISTRATIVE RULE REVIEW COMMITTEE 

 Interim Committees and the Environmental Quality Council 

Administrative rule review is a function of interim committees and the 

Environmental Quality Council (EQC).  These interim committees and the EQC have 

administrative rule review, program evaluation, and monitoring functions for the 

following executive branch agencies and the entities attached to agencies for 

administrative purposes. 

Economic Affairs Interim Committee: 

 Department of Agriculture; 

 Department of Commerce; 

 Department of Labor and Industry; 

 Department of Livestock; 

 Office of the State Auditor and Insurance Commissioner; and 

 Office of Economic Development. 

Education and Local Government Interim Committee: 

 State Board of Education; 

 Board of Public Education; 

 Board of Regents of Higher Education; and 

 Office of Public Instruction. 

Children, Families, Health, and Human Services Interim Committee: 

 Department of Public Health and Human Services. 

 Law and Justice Interim Committee: 

 Department of Corrections; and 

 Department of Justice. 

 Energy and Telecommunications Interim Committee: 

 Department of Public Service Regulation. 
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 Revenue and Transportation Interim Committee: 

 Department of Revenue; and  

 Department of Transportation. 

 State Administration and Veterans' Affairs Interim Committee: 

 Department of Administration; 

 Department of Military Affairs; and 

 Office of the Secretary of State. 

 Environmental Quality Council: 

 Department of Environmental Quality; 

 Department of Fish, Wildlife, and Parks; and 

 Department of Natural Resources and Conservation. 

These interim committees and the EQC have the authority to make 

recommendations to an agency regarding the adoption, amendment, or repeal of a 

rule or to request that the agency prepare a statement of the estimated economic 

impact of a proposal.  They also may poll the members of the Legislature to 

determine if a proposed rule is consistent with the intent of the Legislature or, during 

a legislative session, introduce a bill repealing a rule, or directing an agency to adopt 

or amend a rule, or a Joint Resolution recommending that an agency adopt, amend, 

or repeal a rule. 

The interim committees and the EQC welcome comments and invite 

members of the public to appear before them or to send written statements in order 

to bring to their attention any difficulties with the existing or proposed rules.  The 

mailing address is P.O. Box 201706, Helena, MT 59620-1706. 
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 HOW TO USE THE ADMINISTRATIVE RULES OF MONTANA 
 AND THE MONTANA ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER 
 
 
Definitions: Administrative Rules of Montana (ARM) is a looseleaf 

compilation by department of all rules of state departments and 
attached boards presently in effect, except rules adopted up to 
three months previously. 

 
Montana Administrative Register (MAR or Register) is a soft 
back, bound publication, issued twice-monthly, containing 
notices of rules proposed by agencies, notices of rules adopted 
by agencies, and interpretations of statutes and rules by the 
Attorney General (Attorney General's Opinions) and agencies 
(Declaratory Rulings) issued since publication of the preceding 
register. 

 
 
Use of the Administrative Rules of Montana (ARM): 
 
Known 1. Consult ARM Topical Index. 
Subject  Update the rule by checking the accumulative table and 

the table of contents in the last Montana Administrative 
Register issued. 

 
Statute 2. Go to cross reference table at end of each number and 

title which lists MCA section numbers and department  
corresponding ARM rule numbers. 
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 ACCUMULATIVE TABLE 
 
The Administrative Rules of Montana (ARM) is a compilation of existing permanent 
rules of those executive agencies that have been designated by the Montana 
Administrative Procedure Act for inclusion in the ARM. The ARM is updated through 
September 30, 2010. This table includes those rules adopted during the period 
October 1, 2010, through December 31, 2010, and any proposed rule action that 
was pending during the past 6-month period. (A notice of adoption must be 
published within six months of the published notice of the proposed rule.) This table 
does not include the contents of this issue of the Montana Administrative Register 
(MAR or Register). 
 
To be current on proposed and adopted rulemaking, it is necessary to check the 
ARM updated through September 30, 2010, this table, and the table of contents of 
this issue of the MAR. 
 
This table indicates the department name, title number, rule numbers in ascending 
order, catchphrase or the subject matter of the rule, and the page number at which 
the action is published in the 2010 and 2011 Montana Administrative Register. 
 
To aid the user, the Accumulative Table includes rulemaking actions of such entities 
as boards and commissions listed separately under their appropriate title number. 
 
GENERAL PROVISIONS, Title 1 
 
1.2.419 Scheduled Dates for the 2011 Montana Administrative Register - 

p. 1878, 2410 
 
ADMINISTRATION, Department of, Title 2 
 
I Examination Procedures, p. 1585, 1884 
2.21.215 and other rules - Annual Leave Policy, p. 804, 1356, 1603 
2.21.305 and other rules - Disaster and Emergency Leave Policy, p. 808, 1358, 

1605 
2.21.501 and other rules - Jury Duty - Witness Leave Policy, p. 1362, 1792  
2.21.1701 and other rules - Overtime - Nonexempt Compensatory Time, p. 1365, 

1793 
2.21.1801 and other rules - Exempt Compensatory Time Policy, p. 811, 1360, 

1606 
2.21.3702 and other rules - Recruitment - Selection, p. 1368, 1633, 2208 
2.21.3801 and other rules - Probation, p. 1382, 1794 
2.59.1708 and other rule - Renewal Fees for Mortgage Brokers - Mortgage 

Lenders - Mortgage Loan Originators, p. 274 
2.59.1718 and other rules - Exemptions Under 32-9-104, MCA, Determining the 

Amount of the Surety Bond Required for New Applicants - Date by 
Which the Montana Test Must Be Completed in Order to Be Licensed 
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as a Mortgage Loan Originator in Montana - Temporary Licenses - 
Transition Fees, p. 2627, 2956 

 
(Public Employees' Retirement Board) 
2.43.1306 Actuarial Rates - Assumptions, p. 1433, 1881 
2.43.2105 Basic Period of Service, p. 132 
2.43.3501 and other rule - Adoption by Reference of the State of Montana Public 

Employees Pooled Trust - Adoption by Reference of the State of 
Montana Public Employee Defined Contribution Plan Document - 
State of Montana Public Employee Deferred Compensation (457) Plan 
Document, p. 941, 1229, 1725 

2.43.3502 and other rule - Investment Policy Statement for the Defined 
Contribution Retirement Plan - Investment Policy Statement for the 
457 Deferred Compensation Plan, p. 937, 1227, 1724 

2.43.3502 and other rule - Investment Policy Statement for the Defined 
Contribution Retirement Plan - Investment Policy Statement for the 
457 Deferred Compensation Plan, p. 1831, 2571 

2.43.5104 Adoption by Reference of the Declaration of Trust- State of Montana 
Public Employees Pooled Trust, p. 1920, 2572 

 
(Teachers' Retirement System) 
2.44.304 and other rule - Qualifications of the Actuary Engaged by the 

Teachers' Retirement System - Annual Report of Employment 
Earnings by Disabled Retirees of the Teachers' Retirement System, 
p. 1763, 2344 

 
(State Compensation Insurance Fund) 
2.55.320 Classifications of Employments, p. 2675, 142 
 
(Burial Preservation Board) 
2.65.102 and other rules - Repatriation of Human Skeletal Remains - Funerary 

Objects - Protection of Burial Sites - Scientific Analysis, p. 2276 
 
AGRICULTURE, Department of, Title 4 
 
4.5.210 Priority 3 Regulated Plants, p. 1588, 1985 
4.12.102 and other rules - Apiculture, p. 2018, 2650 
4.12.601 and other rules - Fertilizer Regulations, p. 1436, 1795 
4.12.3503 and other rule - Certified Seed Potatoes, p. 2867, 232 
4.14.303 Montana Agricultural Loan Authority, p. 2424, 2810 
4.16.701 and other rules - Agricultural Marketing Development Program, p. 

2633, 2957 
4.17.103 and other rules - Organic Program, p. 1923, 2573 
 
STATE AUDITOR, Title 6 
 
6.6.2401 and other rules - Group Coordination of Benefits, p. 2426, 2958 
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COMMERCE, Department of, Title 8 
 
I Administration of the 2011-2012 Federal Community Development 

Block Grant (CDBG) Program, p. 2678 
8.94.3726 Administration of the 2010-2011 Federal Community Development 

Block Grant (CDBG) Program, p. 1834, 2728 
8.94.3726 Incorporation by Reference for the CDBG Program, p. 135 
8.99.301 and other rules - Certified Regional Development Corporations 

Program, p. 1231, 1885 
8.99.901 and other rules - Award of Grants and Loans Under the Big Sky 

Economic Development Program, p. 2281, 2811 
 
(Board of Housing) 
8.111.602 Low Income Housing Tax Credit Program, p. 2792 
 
EDUCATION, Department of, Title 10 
 
10.7.106A and other rules, School Finance, p. 1635, 1990 
 
FISH, WILDLIFE AND PARKS, Department of, Title 12 
 
12.10.103 and other rules - Shooting Range Development Grants, p. 2794, 101 
 
(Fish, Wildlife and Parks Commission) 
12.6.2201 and other rules, Exotic Species, p. 1643, 1928, 2812 
12.11.202 and other rules - Recreational Water Use of the Beaverhead and Big 

Hole Rivers, p. 968, 1726 
12.11.805 and other rules - Recreational Use Rules in Montana, p. 83 
 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY, Department of, Title 17 
 
17.50.213 (Motor Vehicle Recycling and Disposal)  Reimbursement Payments for 

Abandoned Vehicle Removal, p. 91 
17.53.706 and other rules - Hazardous Waste and Underground Storage Tanks - 

Emergency Preparedness, Prevention, and Response at Transfer 
Facilities - Reporting of Suspected Releases - Reporting and Cleanup 
of Spills and Overfills - Reporting of Confirmed Releases, p. 25, 234 

17.55.102 and other rules - Definitions - Facility Listing - Facility Ranking - 
Delisting a Facility on the CECRA Priority List - Incorporation by 
Reference - Proper and Expeditious Notice - Third-Party Remedial 
Actions at Order Sites - Additional Remedial Actions Not Precluded - 
Orphan Share Reimbursement - Purpose, p. 1730, 2077, 816, 2346 

17.56.101 and other rules - Underground Storage Tanks, p. 1450, 1888 
17.56.102 and other rules - Underground Storage Tanks - Applicability - 

Compliance Inspections - Petroleum UST Systems - Fee Schedule - 
Permit Issuance - Anti-Siphon Requirements, p. 2899, 145 



 
 
 

 
6-3/24/11 Montana Administrative Register 

-468- 

17.80.201 and other rules - Tax Certification - Pollution Control Equipment - 
Energy Facilities - Certification of Certain Energy Production or 
Development Facilities or Equipment for Property Tax Classification or 
Abatement - Monitoring of Compliance With Certification Criteria - 
Revocation of Certification, p. 2886, 233 

 
(Board of Environmental Review) 
17.8.102 Incorporation by Reference of Current Federal Regulations and Other 

Materials Into Air Quality Rules, p. 2636, 143 
17.8.604 and other rules - Air Quality - Open Burning, p. 2880 
17.8.763 Air Quality - Revocation of Permit, p. 2878 
17.30.201 and other rule - Water Quality - Permit Application - Degradation 

Authorization - Annual Permit Fees - General Permits, p. 2870 
17.30.502 and other rules - Department Circular DEQ-7, p. 818, 1385, 1796 
17.30.617 and other rule - Water Quality - Outstanding Resource Water 

Designation for the Gallatin River, p. 2294, 328, 1398, 438, 1953, 162, 
1324, 264, 1648, 89  

17.38.204 Maximum Organic Chemical Contaminant Levels, p. 2639, 144 
17.50.403 and other rule - Definitions - Annual Operating License Requirements, 

p. 833, 1799 
 
(Petroleum Tank Release Compensation Board) 
17.58.201 and other rules - Procedural and Substantive Rules - Petroleum Tank 

Release Compensation, p. 1 
 
TRANSPORTATION, Department of, Title 18 
 
18.2.101 and other rules - Incorporation of Model Rules - Contested Case 

Procedures, p. 1387, 1731 
18.9.102 and other rules - Licensed Distributors - Special Fuel Users - Invoice 

Errors - Multi-Distributor Invoice Requirements, p. 2454, 2814, 2961 
18.9.111 and other rules - Gasohol and Alcohol Blended Fuel, p. 2460, 2815 
18.12.401 and other rules, Aeronautics Division, p. 1650, 1991 
 
CORRECTIONS, Department of, Title 20 
 
I & II Day Reporting Program, p. 29, 235 
I & II Satellite-Based Monitoring Program, p. 33, 236 
20.9.602 and other rules - Prison Rape Elimination Act - Licensure of Youth 

Detention Facilities, p. 183 
20.25.101 and other rules - Board of Pardons and Parole, p. 2816 
 
JUSTICE, Department of, Title 23 
 
23.3.148 Release of Driving Records, p. 1237, 2213 
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(Gambling Control Division) 
23.16.116 and other rule - Transfer of Interest Among Licensees - Loan 

Evaluation, p. 1393, 1732 
23.16.120 Loans and Other Forms of Financing, p. 2903, 146 
 
LABOR AND INDUSTRY, Department of, Title 24 
 
Boards under the Business Standards Division are listed in alphabetical order 
following the department rules. 
 
I Carbon Monoxide Detector Standard, p. 978, 2385 
I-XIII Approved Construction Techniques for Fire Mitigation, p. 980, 1966, 

237, 319 
24.7.301 and other rules - Board of Labor Appeals - Unemployment Insurance, 

p. 195 
24.11.203 and other rules - Independent Contractor Exemption Certificates - 

Employment Status Determinations by the Department, p. 1139, 1608 
24.16.7506 and other rules - Collective Bargaining Proceedings Heard by the 

Board of Personnel Appeals, p. 1652, 2841, 47 
24.17.103 and other rules - Prevailing Wage Rates for Public Works Projects - 

Building Construction Services - Heavy Construction Services - 
Highway Construction Services - Nonconstruction Services, p. 2681, 
102 

24.21.401 and other rules - Apprenticeship Training Programs, p. 2466, 2962 
24.29.1401 and other rules - Implementing Utilization and Treatment Guidelines - 

Medical Services Rules for Workers' Compensation Matters, p. 2025 
24.29.1432 and other rules - Workers' Compensation Medical Fee Schedules, p. 

2642 
24.29.2701 and other rules - Silicosis Benefits - Subsequent Injury Fund, p. 2476, 

2967 
24.301.131 and other rules - Incorporation by Reference of International Building 

Code - Building Code Modifications - Incorporation by Reference of 
International Existing Building Code - Incorporation by Reference of 
International Mechanical Code - Incorporation by Reference of 
International Fuel Gas Code - Plumbing Requirements - Electrical 
Requirements - Inspection Fees - Refunds - Credits - Definitions, 
p. 1244, 1733 

 
(Board of Athletic Trainers) 
24.101.413 and other rules - Renewal Dates and Requirements - Fee Schedule - 

Licensure of Athletic Trainers, p. 94 
 
(Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists) 
24.121.301 and other rules - Definitions - Implements - Equipment - Continuing 

Education - Unprofessional Conduct, p. 837, 2378 
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(Board of Chiropractors) 
24.126.510 and other rules - Endorsement - Inactive Status and Conversion - 

Minimum Requirements for Impairment Evaluators - Prepaid 
Treatment Plans, p. 2284 

 
(Board of Massage Therapy) 
24.155.301 and other rules - Definitions - Continuing Education - Unprofessional 

Conduct, p. 1239, 2382 
 
(Board of Medical Examiners) 
I Qualification Criteria for Evaluation and Treatment Providers, p. 1467, 

2729 
 
(Board of Nursing) 
24.159.301 and other rules - Definitions - Fees - Nursing Education Programs - 

LPN Practice Permit - LPN Licensure - LPN Foreign Requirements - 
RN Practice Permit - RN Licensure - RN Foreign Requirements - 
Delegation Practices - Nondisciplinary Track - Conduct of Nurses - 
Program Standards - Continuing Education - Clinical Practice Settings, 
p. 1930, 2651 

 
(Board of Outfitters) 
24.101.403 and other rules - Renewal Dates and Requirements - Fees, p. 1590, 

2384 
24.171.401 and other rules - Safety Provisions -Unprofessional Conduct - 

Misconduct - Provisional Guide License - Emergency Guide License, 
p. 1472, 1889 

 
(Board of Pharmacy) 
24.174.303 and other rules - Definitions - Examination for Licensure - 

Administration of Vaccines - Prescription Requirements - Internship 
Requirements - Preceptor Requirements - Registered Pharmacist 
Continuing Education - Disciplinary Action, p. 277 

24.174.401 and other rules - Fee Schedule - Change in Address - Change of 
Pharmacist-in-Charge - Class IV Facility - Identification of Pharmacist-
in-Charge - Wholesale Drug Distributor - Telepharmacy Operations - 
Dangerous Drugs - Cancer Drug Repository - Clinical Pharmacist 
Practitioner, p. 2041, 2968 

 
(Board of Plumbers) 
24.180.401 and other rule - Fee Schedule - Continuing Education Provider 

Qualifications, p. 974, 1609 
 
(Board of Professional Engineers and Professional Land Surveyors) 
I-IV Professional Land Surveyor Scope of Practice Activities, p. 2288 
24.183.502 and other rule - Application Processes for Professional Engineers and 

Professional Land Surveyors, p. 286 
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(Board of Public Accountants) 
24.201.301 and other rules - Definitions - Fee Schedule - CPA/LPA Designation - 

Licensing Examinations - Professional Conduct Rules - Profession 
Monitoring Rules - Renewal and Continuing Education - Complaint 
Procedures - Exercise of Practice Privilege in Other Jurisdictions - 
Profession Monitoring of Holders of Special Practice Permit - 
Compliance With Continuing Education for Nonresidents - Renewal 
and Continuing Education, p. 1836, 2574 

 
(Board of Real Estate Appraisers) 
24.207.401 and other rules - Fees - Application Requirements - Qualifying 

Education Requirements - Qualifying Experience - Inactive License or 
Certification - Inactive to Active License - Trainee Requirements - 
Mentor Requirements - Continuing Education, p. 2905 

 
LIVESTOCK, Department of, Title 32 
 
32.3.108 and other rules - Game Farm Regulations - Deputy State 

Veterinarians, p. 2492, 2974 
32.3.220 and other rules - Semen Shipped Into Montana - Brucellosis 

Definitions - Designated Surveillance Area - Penalties, p. 2485, 2797, 
147 

32.6.712 Food Safety - Inspection Service - Meat - Poultry, p. 2483, 2973 
32.8.101 and other rule - Grade A Pasteurized Milk - Time From Processing 

That Fluid Milk May Be Sold for Public Consumption, p. 289 
32.23.102 and other rule - Transactions Involving the Purchase and Resale of 

Milk Within the State - Quota Transfers, p. 1477, 1800 
 
(Board of Horse Racing) 
32.28.801 and other rule - Eligibility for Maidens Over Seven Years Old - 

Conditions Accompanying a Claim, p. 1594, 1992 
 
NATURAL RESOURCES AND CONSERVATION, Department of, Title 36 
 
36.11.111 and other rule - Export of Timber Harvested in the State - Maximum 

Size of Nonadvertised Timber Permits, p. 988, 1269, 1735 
 
(Board of Water Well Contractors) 
36.21.410 and other rules - Board of Water Well Contractors, p. 843, 1614 
 
(Board of Land Commissioners)  
36.11.402 and other rules - Forest Management Rules for Implementing 

Conservation Easements - Habitat Conservation Plans, p. 2687, 320 
36.25.205 Procedures for the Issuance of State Oil and Gas Leases, p. 858, 

1617 
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PUBLIC HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES, Department of, Title 37 
 
I-VI Medicaid for Workers with Disabilities, p. 1271, 2733 
I-X Permissive Licensing of Drop-in Child Care Facilities, p. 1165, 2390 
37.5.117 and other rules - Healthy Montana Kids Plan, p. 1768, 2217 
37.27.128 and other rules - Emergency Care - Inpatient and Transitional Living 

Chemical Dependency Programs, p. 2053, 2975 
37.34.206 and other rules - Developmental Disabilities Eligibility Rules for 

Medicaid Only, p. 312 
37.50.901 Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children, p. 2297, 106 
37.70.115 and other rules - Low Income Energy Assistance Program (LIEAP), p. 

2700, 108 
37.78.102 Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF), p. 1597, 2215 
37.78.102 and other rule - Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF), p. 

2515, 107 
37.79.102 and other rules - Healthy Montana Kids, p. 2521, 2845, 70 
37.80.101 Child Care Assistance, p. 1600, 2216 
37.80.101 and other rule - Child Care Assistance, p. 2171, 2661, 2743 
37.80.101 and other rules - Child Care Assistance, p. 2925, 323 
37.81.304 and other rules - Big Sky RX Benefit - Medicaid Dental Services - 

Outpatient Drugs - Prescriptions for Durable Medical Equipment - 
Prosthetics and Orthotics (DMEPOS) - Early and Periodic Screening - 
Diagnostic and Treatment (EPSDT) - Qualified Medicare Beneficiaries 
Chiropractic Services, p. 2528, 2986 

37.86.2206 and other rules - Provider Requirements - Reimbursement for 
Therapeutic Group Homes (TGH) - Therapeutic Family Care (TFC) - 
Therapeutic Foster Care (TFOC), p. 2085, 49 

37.86.3515 Case Management Services for Adults With Severe Disabling Mental 
Illness - Reimbursement, p. 2807 

37.87.903 and other rules - Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facility 
Reimbursement, p. 293 

37.87.1331 Home and Community-based Services (HCBS) for Youth With Serious 
Emotional Disturbance (SED), p. 2512, 2983 

37.89.103 and other rules - Provider Reimbursement Under the Mental Health 
Services Plan, p. 2799, 322 

37.97.101 and other rules - Youth Care Facility (YCF) Licensure, p. 2108, 138 
37.104.101 and other rule - Emergency Medical Services (EMS), p. 2915 
37.106.1130 and other rules - Licensing Requirements for Outpatient Facilities for 

Primary Care, p. 2690 
37.108.507 Components of Quality Assessment Activities, p. 36, 333 
 
PUBLIC SERVICE REGULATION, Department of, Title 38 
 
I Motor Carrier Authority Recognition, p. 2179, 2989 
I Nonproprietary Nature of Utility Executive Compensation, p. 875, 2397 
I-XIII  Interconnection Standard Established by the Federal Energy Policy 

Act of 2005, p. 491, 1801 
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38.5.2202 and other rule - Pipeline Safety, p. 2537, 2992 
 
REVENUE, Department of, Title 42 
 
I-III Insure Montana Tax Credit, p. 1779, 2231 
I-III Functions and Operation of the Office of Taxpayer Assistance, p. 

2309, 2759 
I-IV Telecommunication Services for Corporation License Taxes, p. 1968, 

2540 
I-V Montana School Districts' Election to Waive Protested Taxes, p. 1708, 

2226 
I-XI Rental Vehicle Sales and Use Tax, p. 2200, 2755 
42.2.325 Confidentiality of Tax Records, p. 1398, 2744 
42.5.201 and other rules - Electronic Funds Filing and Remittance, p. 1717, 

1995 
42.11.104 and other rules - Liquor Vendors, p. 2563 
42.12.206 and other rules - Liquor License Transfers, Suspension, and 

Revocation, p. 2303, 165 
42.12.312 and other rules - Special Licenses and Permits, p. 1712, 2227 
42.12.401 and other rules - Restaurant Beer and Wine Licenses - Lottery 

Process, p. 1701, 2225 
42.13.101 Sale of Alcohol to a Minor - Sale to Intoxicated Persons, p. 734, 1994 
42.14.101 and other rules - Lodging Facility Use Taxes - Sales Taxes, p. 2184, 

2751 
42.14.101 and other rule - Lodging Facility Use Tax, p. 44 
42.14.1002 and other rule - Rental Vehicle Tax, p. 41 
42.15.315 and other rules - Dependents Credits and Refunds, p. 2559, 3026 
42.15.802 Family Education Savings Program, p. 2181, 2748 
42.17.101 and other rule - Withholding Taxes, p. 1776, 2230 
42.18.121 and other rule - Montana Appraisal Manual for Residential, 

Commercial, and Industrial Property, p. 1720, 2229 
42.18.205 and other rules - Appraiser Certification, p. 1685, 2219 
42.19.401 and other rules - Property Tax Assistance Programs for the Disabled 

Veterans and Elderly Homeowners, p. 2546, 336 
42.20.107 Valuation Methods for Commercial Properties, p. 2544, 334 
42.21.113 and other rules - Property Taxes - Trend Tables for Valuing Property, 

p. 2314, 3022 
42.21.140 and other rules - Property Taxes, p. 2554, 345 
42.22.101 and other rules - Centrally Assessed Appraiser Certification 

Requirements, p. 1695, 2221 
42.22.101 and other rules - Centrally Assessed Property, p. 1977, 2542, 2993 
42.25.1801 and other rules - Oil and Gas Taxes, p. 1783 
42.25.1801 and other rules - Oil and Gas Taxes, p. 1872, 2580 
42.31.1002 Hospital Utilization Fee, p. 2301, 2847 
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SECRETARY OF STATE, Office of, Title 44 
 
1.2.419 Scheduled Dates for the 2011 Montana Administrative Register - 

p. 1878, 2410 
44.6.104 and other rule - Filing Fees Charged by the Business Services 

Division for Federal Tax Liens - Uniform Commercial Code 
Documents, p. 1789, 2232 

 
(Commissioner of Political Practices) 
44.12.204 Payment Threshold - Inflation Adjustment for Lobbyists, p. 1983, 2411 
44.12.204 Payment Threshold - Inflation Adjustment for Lobbyists, p. 2726 



 

 
 
 
 
 BOARD APPOINTEES AND VACANCIES 
 
 
Section 2-15-108, MCA, passed by the 1991 Legislature, directed that all appointing 
authorities of all appointive boards, commissions, committees, and councils of state 
government take positive action to attain gender balance and proportional 
representation of minority residents to the greatest extent possible. 
 
One directive of 2-15-108, MCA, is that the Secretary of State publish monthly in the 
Montana Administrative Register a list of appointees and upcoming or current 
vacancies on those boards and councils. 
 
In this issue, appointments effective in February 2011 appear.  Vacancies scheduled 
to appear from April 1, 2011, through June 30, 2011, are listed, as are current 
vacancies due to resignations or other reasons.  Individuals interested in serving on a 
board should refer to the bill that created the board for details about the number of 
members to be appointed and necessary qualifications. 
 
Each month, the previous month's appointees are printed, and current and upcoming 
vacancies for the next three months are published. 
 
 
 
 
 IMPORTANT 
 

Membership on boards and commissions changes constantly.  The 
following lists are current as of March 1, 2011. 

 
For the most up-to-date information of the status of membership, or for 
more detailed information on the qualifications and requirements to 
serve on a board, contact the appointing authority. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



BOARD AND COUNCIL APPOINTEES FROM FEBRUARY 2011 
 

Appointee Appointed by Succeeds Appointment/End Date 
 
Alternative Livestock Advisory Council (Fish, Wildlife and Parks) 
Mr. Ron Moody Governor reappointed 2/7/2011 
Lewistown   1/1/2013 
Qualifications (if required):  representative of the Board of Livestock 
 
Ms. Linda Nielsen Governor reappointed 2/7/2011 
Nashua   1/1/2013 
Qualifications (if required):  representative of the Board of Livestock 
 
Board of Personnel Appeals (Labor and Industry) 
Rep. Dave Gallik Governor Joscelyn 2/8/2011 
Helena   1/1/2015 
Qualifications (if required):  an attorney with labor-management experience 
 
Ms. Amy Verlanic Governor Dudley 2/8/2011 
Anaconda   1/1/2015 
Qualifications (if required):  management representative with collective bargaining experience 
 
Mr. Steve Johnson Governor reappointed 2/8/2011 
Missoula   1/1/2015 
Qualifications (if required):  management representative with collective bargaining experience 
 
Mr. Jerry Rukavina Governor Thiel 2/8/2011 
Great Falls   1/1/2015 
Qualifications (if required):  officer of a labor union or an association recognized by the board (substitute member) 
 



BOARD AND COUNCIL APPOINTEES FROM FEBRUARY 2011 
 

Appointee Appointed by Succeeds Appointment/End Date 
 
Board of Public Assistance (Public Health and Human Services) 
Ms. Helen Barta Schmitt Governor reappointed 2/7/2011 
Sidney   1/1/2015 
Qualifications (if required):  public representative 
 
Board of Regents (Higher Education) 
Mr. Major Robinson Governor Pease 2/2/2011 
Billings   2/1/2018 
Qualifications (if required):  resident of District 2 (Democrat) 
 
Board of Social Work Examiners and Professional Counselors (Labor and Industry) 
Mr. Peter Degel Governor reappointed 2/23/2011 
Helena   1/1/2015 
Qualifications (if required):  licensed counselor 
 
Ms. Rosemary Hertel Governor Thorngren 2/23/2011 
Deer Lodge   1/1/2015 
Qualifications (if required):  licensed counselor 
 
Ms. Beverley McCurry Governor Gilkey 2/23/2011 
Columbus   1/1/2015 
Qualifications (if required):  public representative 
 
Board of Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists (Labor and Industry) 
Ms. Cheri Fjare Governor reappointed 2/15/2011 
Big Timber   12/31/2013 
Qualifications (if required):  speech-language pathologist 
 



BOARD AND COUNCIL APPOINTEES FROM FEBRUARY 2011 
 

Appointee Appointed by Succeeds Appointment/End Date 
 
Board of Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists (Labor and Industry) cont.  
Ms. Beverly Stiller Governor Sias 2/15/2011 
Lame Deer   12/31/2013 
Qualifications (if required):  consumer representative 
 
Ms. Alida Wright Governor Dinstel 2/15/2011 
Columbia Falls   12/31/2013 
Qualifications (if required):  speech-language pathologist 
 
Electrical Board (Labor and Industry) 
Mr. Keith Simendinger Governor Egan 2/1/2011 
Helena   7/1/2012 
Qualifications (if required):  public representative 
 
Facility Finance Authority (Commerce) 
Rep. Joe Quilici Governor reappointed 2/15/2011 
Butte   1/1/2015 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Ms. Kimberly Rickard Governor reappointed 2/15/2011 
Helena   1/1/2015 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Mr. Matthew B. Thiel Governor reappointed 2/15/2011 
Missoula   1/1/2015 
Qualifications (if required):  an attorney 
 
 



BOARD AND COUNCIL APPOINTEES FROM FEBRUARY 2011 
 

Appointee Appointed by Succeeds Appointment/End Date 
 
Historical Records Advisory Council (Historical Society) 
Mr. Jon Ille Governor Bartlett 2/7/2011 
Hardin   10/9/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  public representative 
 
Human Rights Commission (Labor and Industry) 
Ms. Lucy Simpson Governor Rusche 2/7/2011 
Helena   1/1/2015 
Qualifications (if required):  public representative 
 
Ms. Cynthia Wolken Governor Fenter 2/7/2011 
Missoula   1/1/2015 
Qualifications (if required):  public representative 
 
State Emergency Response Commission (Military Affairs) 
Mr. Bruce Suenram Governor Levitan 2/7/2011 
Helena   10/1/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  representative of the Department of Natural Resources and Conservation 
 
 



VACANCIES ON BOARDS AND COUNCILS -- APRIL 1, 2011 THROUGH JUNE 30, 2011 
 

Board/current position holder Appointed by Term end 
 
Board of Hail Insurance  (Agriculture) 
Mr. Gary Gollehon, Brady Governor 4/18/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Board of Massage Therapists  (Labor and Industry) 
Mr. Michael Eayrs, Kalispell Governor 5/6/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  massage therapist 
 
Board of Nursing Home Administrators  (Labor and Industry) 
Ms. Polly Nikolaisen, Kalispell Governor 5/28/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  public representative 55 years of age or older 
 
Mr. Ken Chase, Billings Governor 5/28/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  public representative 
 
Board of Optometry  (Labor and Industry) 
Ms. Delores Hill, Mosby Governor 4/3/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Mr. Douglas Kimball, Bozeman Governor 4/3/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  registered optometrist 
 
Board of Plumbers  (Labor and Industry) 
Mr. Marcus J. Golz, Helena Governor 5/4/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  representative of the Department of Environmental Quality 
 
Mr. Scott Lemert, Livingston Governor 5/4/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  master plumber 



VACANCIES ON BOARDS AND COUNCILS -- APRIL 1, 2011 THROUGH JUNE 30, 2011 
 

Board/current position holder Appointed by Term end 
 
Board of Plumbers  (Labor and Industry) cont. 
Mr. David Lindeen, Huntley Governor 5/4/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  public representative 
 
Ms. Debi Friede, Havre Governor 5/4/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  public representative 
 
Mr. Steve Carey, Frenchtown Governor 5/4/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  journeyman plumber 
 
Board of Real Estate Appraisers  (Labor and Industry) 
Mr. Peter Fontana, Great Falls Governor 5/1/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  real estate appraiser 
 
Mr. Kraig Kosena, Missoula Governor 5/1/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  real estate appraiser 
 
Board of Realty Regulation  (Labor and Industry) 
Mr. C.E. Abe Abramson, Missoula Governor 5/9/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  real estate salesperson and identifies himself as a Democrat 
 
Ms. Shirley McDermott, Laurel Governor 5/9/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  public representative and identifies herself as a Republican 
 
Ms. Connie Wardell, Billings Governor 5/9/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  Democrat 
 
 



VACANCIES ON BOARDS AND COUNCILS -- APRIL 1, 2011 THROUGH JUNE 30, 2011 
 

Board/current position holder Appointed by Term end 
 
Board of Realty Regulation  (Labor and Industry) cont. 
Mr. Larry Milless, Corvallis Governor 5/9/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  Republican 
 
Board of Regents  (Governor) 
Ms. Teresa Snyder, Bozeman Governor 6/30/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  university student 
 
Clinical Laboratory Science Practitioners  (Labor and Industry) 
Ms. Charliene Staffanson, Deer Lodge Governor 4/16/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  public representative 
 
Ms. Rosemary Shively, Helena Governor 4/16/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  clinical laboratory science practitioner 
 
Ms. Barbara Henderson, Miles City Governor 4/16/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  clinical laboratory science practitioner 
 
County Printing Board  (Administration) 
Commissioner Marianne Roose, Eureka Governor 4/1/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  County Commissioner 
 
Mr. Dan Killoy, Miles City Governor 4/1/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  printing industry representative 
 
Mr. Milton Wester, Laurel Governor 4/1/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  printing industry representative 
 



VACANCIES ON BOARDS AND COUNCILS -- APRIL 1, 2011 THROUGH JUNE 30, 2011 
 

Board/current position holder Appointed by Term end 
 
County Printing Board  (Administration) cont. 
Mr. Calvin J. Oraw, Sidney Governor 4/1/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  public representative 
 
Commissioner Laura Obert, Townsend Governor 4/1/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  County Commissioner 
 
District Court Council  (Justice) 
Mr. Jim Reno, Billings District Court 6/30/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  none specified 
 
Judge John C. McKeon, Malta District Court 6/30/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  none specified 
 
Judge Katherine "Kitty" Curtis, Columbia Falls District Court 6/30/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  none specified 
 
Ms. Glenda Travitz,  District Court 6/30/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  none specified 
 
Electronic Government Advisory Council  (Administration) 
Director Mary Sexton, Helena Governor 6/18/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  agency representative 
 
Mr. Tim Christensen, Missoula Governor 6/18/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  public representative 
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Electronic Government Advisory Council  (Administration) cont. 
Mr. Christian Mackay, Helena Governor 6/18/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  agency representative 
 
Ms. Karen Harrison, Lolo Governor 6/18/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  public representative 
 
Commissioner Andy Hunthausen, Helena Governor 6/18/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  local government official 
 
Flathead Basin Commission  (Natural Resources and Conservation) 
Mr. Clinton Whitney, Polson Governor 6/30/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  public representative 
 
Mr. Ed Heger, Kalispell Governor 6/30/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  public representative 
 
Mr. Donald Loranger, Bigfork Governor 6/30/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  public representative 
 
Land Information Advisory Council  (Administration) 
Director Dan R. Bucks, Helena Governor 6/30/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  agency representative 
 
Mr. Lance Clampitt, Bozeman Governor 6/30/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  U.S. Interior Department representative 
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Land Information Advisory Council  (Administration) cont. 
Mr. Art Pembroke, Helena Governor 6/30/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  local government representative 
 
Mr. Alex Philip, Missoula Governor 6/30/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  private sector representative 
 
Director Richard Opper, Helena Governor 6/30/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  agency representative 
 
Director Jim Lynch, Helena Governor 6/30/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  agency representative 
 
Ms. Catherine Maynard, Bozeman Governor 6/30/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  U.S. Agriculture Department representative 
 
Mr. Don Patterson, Missoula Governor 6/30/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  U.S. Agriculture Department representative 
 
Mr. Lorin Peterson, Pablo Governor 6/30/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  tribal government representative 
 
Mr. Ed Madej, Helena Governor 6/30/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  private sector representative 
 
Ms. Annette Cabrera, Billings Governor 6/30/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  local government representative 
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Land Information Advisory Council  (Administration) cont. 
Ms. Christiane von Reichert, Missoula Governor 6/30/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  land surveyor 
 
Commissioner Joe Brenneman, Kalispell Governor 6/30/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  Local government agency representative 
 
Mr. Rudy Cicon, Chester Governor 6/30/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  land surveyor 
 
Mr. Joe Maurier, Helena Governor 6/30/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  agency representative 
 
Ms. Kris Larson, Helena Governor 6/30/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  GIS professional 
 
Ms. Erin Geraghty, Helena Governor 6/30/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  GIS professional 
 
Ms. Janet Hess-Herbert, Helena Director 6/30/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  designee 
 
Mr. James D. Claflin, Billings Governor 6/30/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  representative of the U.S. Interior Department 
 
Library Commission  (State Library) 
Ms. Nora Smith, Bozeman Governor 5/22/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  public representative 
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Library Commission  (State Library) cont. 
Ms. Joyce Funda, Rollins Governor 5/22/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  public representative 
 
Mr. Richard Quillin, Whitefish Governor 5/22/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  public representative 
 
Ms. Lee Phillips, Butte Governor 5/22/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  public representative 
 
MSU - Great Falls College of Technology Local Executive Board  (University System) 
Mr. Dave Warner, Great Falls Governor 4/15/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  public representative 
 
MSU - Northern Local Executive Board  (University System) 
Ms. Pamela A. Hillery, Havre Governor 4/15/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  public representative 
 
Montana Heritage Preservation and Development Commission  (Commerce) 
Rep. Bob Lawson, Whitefish Governor 5/23/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  public representative 
 
Mr. Paul Tuss, Havre Governor 5/23/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  Tourism Advisory Council representative 
 
General James Womack, Dillon Governor 5/23/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  Montana historian 
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Montana Heritage Preservation and Development Commission  (Commerce) cont. 
Ms. Carol Swanson, Glendive Governor 5/23/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  public representative 
 
Montana Noxious Weed Management Advisory Council  (Agriculture) 
Mr. Terry Turner, Havre Director 6/30/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  representative of the Montana Weed Control Association 
 
Mr. Gary Olsen, Harlowton Director 6/30/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  representative of eastern counties 
 
Mr. Todd Wagner, Glasgow Director 6/30/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  representative of agriculture crop production 
 
Mr. Jim Story, Corvallis Director 6/30/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  representative of biological research and control 
 
Mr. Jim Gordon, Huntley Director 6/30/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  representative of herbicide dealers and applicators 
 
Ms. Margie Edsall, Sheridan Director 6/30/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  representative of western counties 
 
Mr. Brent Roeder, Fort Shaw Director 6/30/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  representative of a consumer group 
 
Mr. Kurt Myllymaki, Stanford Director 6/30/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  representative of a consumer group 
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Montana State University - Billings Local Executive Board  (University System) 
Mr. Jeremy Seidlitz, Billings Governor 4/15/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  public representative 
 
Montana State University Local Executive Board  (University System) 
Mr. Bill Bryan, Bozeman Governor 4/15/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  public representative 
 
Petroleum Tank Release Compensation Board  (Environmental Quality) 
Ms. Theresa Blazicevich, Stevensville Director 6/30/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  environmental regulatory experience 
 
Mr .Steve Sendon, Bozeman Director 6/30/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  banker 
 
Postsecondary Scholarship Advisory Council  (Higher Education) 
Ms. Margaret Bird, Browning Governor 6/20/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  experience in financial aid at a postsecondary institution 
 
Private Alternative Adolescent Residential or Outdoor Programs Board  (Labor and Industry) 
Rep. Tim Callahan, Great Falls Governor 4/19/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Ms. Mary Alexine, Eureka Governor 4/19/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  representing residential adolescent programs (medium size) 
 
Mr. John Santa, Kalispell Governor 4/19/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  representing residential adolescent programs (large size) 
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Private Alternative Adolescent Residential or Outdoor Programs Board  (Labor and Industry) cont.  
Ms. Darcie Kelly, Helena Governor 4/19/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  public member 
 
Ms. Penny James, Trout Creek Governor 4/19/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  representing residential adolescent programs (small size) 
 
Public Employees Retirement Board  (Administration) 
Mr. Timm Twardoski, Helena Governor 4/1/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  public representative 
 
Reserved Water Rights Compact Commission  (Natural Resources and Conservation) 
Rep. Dorothy Bradley, Bozeman Governor 6/1/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  public representative 
 
Mr. Gene Etchart, Glasgow Governor 6/1/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  public representative 
 
Mr. Richard Kirn, Poplar Governor 6/1/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  public representative 
 
Mr. Mark DeBruycker, Bynum Governor 6/1/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  public representative 
 
State Compensation Mutual Insurance Fund Board  (Administration) 
Mr. Joe Dwyer, Billings Governor 4/28/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  policy holder 
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State Compensation Mutual Insurance Fund Board  (Administration) cont. 
Mr. Wally Yovetich, Billings Governor 4/28/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  private enterprise 
 
Mr. Boyd Taylor, Butte Governor 4/28/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  policy holder and in private enterprise 
 
State-Tribal Economic Development Commission  (Commerce) 
Mr. Joseph Durglo, Pablo Governor 6/30/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  representative of the Confederated Salish & Kootenai Tribes 
 
Mr. Richard Sangrey, Box Elder Governor 6/30/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  representative of the Chippewa Cree Tribe of the Rocky Boy's Reservation 
 
Mr. Bud Moran, Pablo Governor 6/30/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  alternate representative of the Confederated Salish & Kootenai Tribes 
 
Mr. Joe Fox Jr., Lame Deer Governor 6/30/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  representative of the Northern Cheyenne Tribe 
 
Mr. Allen Fisher, Lame Deer Governor 6/30/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  alternate representative of the Northern Cheyenne Tribe 
 
UM-Helena College of Technology Local Executive Board  (University System) 
Mr. Ray Peck, Helena Governor 4/15/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  public representative 
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UM-Montana Tech Local Executive Board  (University System) 
Mr. Doug Peoples, Butte Governor 4/15/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  public representative 
 
UM-Western Local Executive Board  (University System) 
Ms. Mary Ann Nicholas, Dillon Governor 4/15/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  public representative 
 
University of Montana Local Executive Board  (University System) 
Mr. Bill Woody, Missoula Governor 4/15/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  public representative 
 
Western Interstate Commissioner for Higher Education  (Governor) 
Mr. Clayton Christian, Missoula Governor 6/19/2011 
Qualifications (if required):  public representative 
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