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 BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE 
 OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the adoption of New 
Rule I pertaining to the addition of 
beans and pulse crops to the listed  
commodities of Montana 

) 
) 
) 
) 
 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING ON 
PROPOSED ADOPTION 

TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
 1.  On August 2, 2012, at 3:00 p.m. the Montana Department of Agriculture 
will hold a public hearing in Room 225 of the Scott Hart Building, 302 N. Roberts at 
Helena, Montana, to consider the proposed adoption of the above-stated rule. 
 

2.  The Department of Agriculture will make reasonable accommodations for 
persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this rulemaking process and need 
an alternative accessible format of this notice.  If you require an accommodation, 
contact Department of Agriculture no later than 5:00 p.m. on July 26, 2012, to advise 
us of the nature of the accommodation that you need.  Please contact Cort Jensen 
at the Montana Department of Agriculture, 302 North Roberts, P.O. Box 200201, 
Helena, MT 59620-0201; phone: (406) 444-3144; fax: (406) 444-5409; or e-mail:  
agr@mt.gov. 

 
3.  The rule as proposed to be adopted provides as follows: 
 
NEW RULE I  OTHER COMMODITIES  (1)  In addition to those specified 

commodities in 80-4-402, MCA, the following crops are commodities for all 
purposes: 

(a)  pulse crops including but not limited to peas, dried peas, chickpeas, and 
lentils; 

(b)  beans. 
 
AUTH:  80-4-402, MCA 
IMP:  80-4-402, 80-4-501, 80-4-601, 80-4-704, MCA 

 
REASON:  The increased acreage of these valuable crops necessitates 

treating them as commodities in order to protect the growers of these crops from 
loss by purchasers and warehouse operators.  It will also create a level regulatory 
field between these crops and wheat/barley.  This change will necessitate those 
wishing to buy or store these crops to obtain the proper license and secure bonding. 

 
FINANCIAL IMPACT:  Some purchasers are already licensed either 

voluntarily or as the buyer/warehouse of other commodities, for them there will be 
minimal impact.  For those not currently licensed and bonded, the likely impact will 
be the license fees of $464 for a commodity dealer and $464 for a commodity 
warehouse.  In addition, a company will have to be bonded based on the amount 
they store or buy up to the maximum amounts set by law. 
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 4.  Concerned persons may submit their data, views, or arguments 
concerning the proposed action either orally or in writing at the hearing.  Written 
data, views, or arguments may also be submitted to:  Cort Jensen at the Montana 
Department of Agriculture, 302 North Roberts, P.O. Box 200201, Helena, MT 59620-
0201; telephone (406) 444-3144; fax: (406) 444-5409; or e-mail: agr@mt.gov, and 
must be received no later than 5:00 p.m. on August 9, 2012. 

 
5.  Cort Jensen, Department of Agriculture, has been designated to preside 

over and conduct this hearing. 
 
6.  The Department of Agriculture maintains a list of interested persons who 

wish to receive notices of rulemaking actions proposed by this agency.  Persons 
who wish to have their name added to the list shall make a written request which 
includes the name, e-mail, and mailing address of the person and specifies for which 
program the person wishes to receive notices.  Notices will be sent by e-mail unless 
a mailing preference is noted in the request.  Such written request may be mailed or 
delivered to Montana Department of Agriculture, 302 North Roberts, P.O. Box 
200201, Helena, MT 59620-0201; fax: (406) 444-5409; or e-mail:  agr@mt.gov or 
may be made by completing a request form at any rules hearing held by the 
Department of Agriculture. 
 

7.  An electronic copy of this Notice of Proposed Adoption is available through 
the department's web site at agr.mt.gov, under the Administrative Rules section.  
The department strives to make the electronic copy of the notice conform to the 
official version of the notice, as printed in the Montana Administrative Register, but 
advises all concerned persons that in the event of a discrepancy between the official 
printed text of the notice and the electronic version of the notice, only the official 
printed text will be considered.  In addition, although the department strives to keep 
its web site accessible at all times, concerned persons should be aware that the web 
site may be unavailable during some periods, due to system maintenance or 
technical problems. 
 

8.  The bill sponsor contact requirements of 2-4-302, MCA, do not apply. 
 
 
DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE 
 
 
 
 
/s/  Cort Jensen    /s/  Ron de Yong     
Rule Reviewer    Director 
 
Certified to the Secretary of State, July 2, 2012. 
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 BEFORE THE BOARD OF ENVIRONMENTAL REVIEW 
 OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of ARM 
17.30.617 and 17.30.638 pertaining to 
outstanding resource water designation 
for the Gallatin River 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF EXTENSION OF 
COMMENT PERIOD ON 

PROPOSED AMENDMENT 
 

(WATER QUALITY) 
 
 TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
 1.  On October 5, 2006, the Board of Environmental Review published MAR 
Notice No. 17-254 regarding a notice of public hearing on the proposed amendment 
of the above-stated rules at page 2294, 2006 Montana Administrative Register, 
issue number 19.  On March 22, 2007, the board published MAR Notice No. 17-257 
regarding a notice of extension of comment period on the proposed amendment of 
the above-stated rules at page 328, 2007 Montana Administrative Register, issue 
number 6.  On September 20, 2007, the board published MAR Notice No. 17-263 
regarding a notice of extension of comment period on the proposed amendment of 
the above-stated rules at page 1398, 2007 Montana Administrative Register, issue 
number 18.  On March 13, 2008, the board published MAR Notice No. 17-268 
extending the comment period on the proposed amendment of the above-stated 
rules at page 438, 2008 Montana Administrative Register, issue number 5.  On 
September 11, 2008, the board published MAR Notice No. 17-276 extending the 
comment period on the proposed amendment of the above-stated rules at page 
1953, 2008 Montana Administrative Register, issue number 17.  On February 26, 
2009, the board published MAR Notice No. 17-276 extending the comment period 
on the proposed amendment of the above-stated rules at page 162, 2009 Montana 
Administrative Register, issue number 4.  On August 13, 2009, the board published 
MAR Notice No. 17-276 extending the comment period on the proposed amendment 
of the above-stated rules at page 1324, 2009 Montana Administrative Register, 
issue number 15.  On February 11, 2010, the board published MAR Notice No. 17-
276 extending the comment period on the proposed amendment of the above-stated 
rules at page 264, 2010 Montana Administrative Register, issue number 3.  On July 
29, 2010, the board published MAR Notice No. 17-276 extending the comment 
period on the proposed amendment of the above-stated rules at page 1648, 2010 
Montana Administrative Register, issue number 14.  On January 27, 2011, the board 
published MAR Notice No. 17-276 extending the comment period on the proposed 
amendment of the above-stated rules at page 89, 2011 Montana Administrative 
Register, issue number 2.  On July 14, 2011, the board published MAR Notice No. 
17-276 extending the comment period on the proposed amendment of the above-
stated rules at page 1244, 2011 Montana Administrative Register, issue number 13.  
On January 12, 2012, the board published MAR Notice No. 17-276 extending the 
comment period on the proposed amendment of the above-stated rules at page 5, 
2012 Montana Administrative Register, issue number 1. 
 
 



 
 
 

 
13-7/12/12 MAR Notice No. 17-276 

-1311-

 2.  During the initial comment period and extensions of the original comment 
period, the board was advised that members of the Big Sky community, which would 
be affected by this rulemaking, had formed a collaborative, called the "Wastewater 
Solutions Forum," and had hired an engineering firm, which completed a feasibility 
study on extending the coverage of the Big Sky Water and Sewer district service 
area.  The board received comments indicating that this would protect water quality 
in the Gallatin River as well as or better than adoption of the proposed rule.  The 
Forum was exploring funding options when the economic downturn began.  That 
downturn resulted in an interruption of those efforts.  However, those efforts have 
now resumed.  The board received  comments indicating that the Forum has funding 
for and is conducting a pilot test to determine the feasibility of disposing of 
wastewater from the Big Sky and Yellowstone Mountain Club wastewater treatment 
facilities using snow making at a confined site at the Yellowstone Mountain Club.  If 
successful, this will provide a method for disposal of wastewater without affecting the 
Gallatin River, which may allow for expansion of the sewer system and protection of 
the Gallatin.  During the most recent comment period, the board received a 
comment stating that the snow making is complete and that monitoring of runoff 
water quality is ongoing.  Results of the pilot test are expecting to be complete 
during the summer.  The board has determined that it will further extend the 
comment period in order to allow submission of the results of the pilot test and 
comments and information on the feasibility of this option. 
 
 3.  Written data, views, or arguments may be submitted to Elois Johnson, 
Paralegal, Department of Environmental Quality, 1520 E. Sixth Avenue, P.O. Box 
200901, Helena, Montana, 59620-0901; faxed to (406) 444-4386; or e-mailed to 
ejohnson@mt.gov, no later than November 2, 2012.  To be guaranteed 
consideration, mailed comments must be postmarked on or before that date. 
 
 4.  The board will make reasonable accommodations for persons with 
disabilities who wish to participate in this rulemaking action or need an alternative 
accessible format of this notice.  If you require an accommodation, contact the board 
no later than 5:00 p.m., July 23, 2012, to advise us of the nature of the 
accommodation that you need.  Please contact the board secretary at P.O. Box 
200901, Helena, Montana 59620-0901; phone (406) 444-2544; fax (406) 444-4386; 
or e-mail ber@mt.gov. 
 
Reviewed by:    BOARD OF ENVIRONMENTAL REVIEW 
 
 
 
/s/ John F. North      BY:  /s/ Joseph W. Russell    
JOHN F. NORTH    JOSEPH W. RUSSELL, M.P.H. 
Rule Reviewer    Chairman 
 
 Certified to the Secretary of State, July 2, 2012. 
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BEFORE THE BOARD OF ATHLETIC TRAINERS 
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

 STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of 
ARM 24.118.402 fee schedule and 
the adoption of NEW RULES I and II 
applications and NEW RULE III 
renewals 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING ON 
PROPOSED AMENDMENT AND 
ADOPTION 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
 1.  On August 7, 2012, at 2:00 p.m., a public hearing will be held in room 439, 
301 South Park Avenue, Helena, Montana, to consider the proposed amendment 
and adoption of the above-stated rules. 
 
 2.  The Department of Labor and Industry (department) will make reasonable 
accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this public 
hearing or need an alternative accessible format of this notice.  If you require an 
accommodation, contact the Board of Athletic Trainers (board) no later than 5:00 
p.m., on July 30, 2012, to advise us of the nature of the accommodation that you 
need.  Please contact Cynthia Breen, Board of Athletic Trainers, 301 South Park 
Avenue, P.O. Box 200513, Helena, Montana 59620-0513; telephone (406) 841-
2392; Montana Relay 1 (800) 253-4091; TDD (406) 444-2978; facsimile (406) 841-
2305; e-mail dlibsdatr@mt.gov. 
 
 3.  The rule proposed to be amended provides as follows, stricken matter 
interlined, new matter underlined: 
 
 24.118.402  FEE SCHEDULE  (1)  Fees for original examination and license, 
and original endorsement and license must be renewed annually by the date 
specified in ARM 24.101.413.  The following is the fee schedule for licensed athletic 
trainers: 
 (a) (1)  Original examination application and license fee  $175 
 (b)  Original endorsement application and license fee 175 
 (c) remains the same, but is renumbered (2). 
 (2) and (3) remain the same, but are renumbered (3) and (4). 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-36-102, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-36-201, 37-36-202, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board determined it is reasonably necessary to amend this rule to 
remove repetitive and confusing language.  The board is also condensing the 
application and licensure fees into a single type while removing the endorsement 
method.  There is no difference in either licensure requirements or the application 
review process between an applicant for initial licensure, or someone who is 
licensed in another state. 
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 4.  The proposed new rules provide as follows: 
 
 NEW RULE I  APPLICATIONS  (1)  A completed application must include the 
following: 
 (a)  transcripts sent directly from the educational institution documenting that 
the applicant has received at least a baccalaureate degree from a postsecondary 
institution that meets the academic standards for athletic trainers established by the 
National Athletic Trainers Association Board of Certification (BOC); 
 (b)  proof of the applicant’s current certification from the BOC; 
 (c)  letters of recommendation from at least two clinical supervisors familiar 
with the applicant's clinical training; 
 (d)  license verifications sent directly from all states where the applicant holds 
or has held a license in any professional capacity; 
 (e)  proof of the applicant’s current Health Care Provider Cardio Pulmonary 
Resuscitation (CPR) certification; 
 (f)  the appropriate fee; and 
 (g) additional documentation the board may require to show no criminal 
conviction or disciplinary action against the applicant per 37-36-201, MCA. 
 (2)  The board may issue a temporary license to an applicant who qualifies 
under 37-36-201(2), MCA. 
 (3)  A temporary license is valid after the date of issuance for 90 days or until 
the board acts on the person's license application, whichever is earlier. 
 (4)  Applications not completed within one year of submission will expire and 
a new application and fee will be required. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-36-102, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-36-201, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board is adopting New Rule I to clearly set forth for applicants the 
specific requirements needed for licensure.  The board concluded that maintaining 
all licensure requirements in a single location will make it simpler and easier for 
applicants to locate licensure requirements.  
 
 NEW RULE II  DEFINITION OF NONROUTINE APPLICATION 
 (1)  The board considers the following as nonroutine applications for athletic 
trainer licensure that require full board review and approval: 
 (a) applications containing any of the criteria in the division’s definition of 
nonroutine application in ARM 24.101.402; or 
 (b) applications that disclose: 
 (i)  an applicant having prior felony convictions of any nature, or prior 
misdemeanor convictions relating to sex, drugs, or violence; 
 (ii)  an applicant having two or more alcohol-related convictions over any 
period of time, or one alcohol-related conviction within the past five years; or 
 (iii)  that an applicant's professional license in this or another state or 
jurisdiction was disciplined or voluntarily surrendered. 
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 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-36-102, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-101, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board is proposing New Rule II to implement 37-1-101, MCA, which 
allows department staff to issue and renew routine licenses on behalf of the boards.  
The board is now defining nonroutine applications to clarify which athletic trainer 
applications need full board review prior to license issuance and which can be 
processed by staff. 
 
 NEW RULE III  RENEWALS  (1)  All athletic trainers must renew their license 
annually with the board.  The renewal date for an athletic trainer license is set by 
ARM 24.101.413. 
 (2)  Renewal notices will be sent as specified in ARM 24.101.414. 
 (3)  Licensees must, upon renewal, attest to holding current BOC certification. 
 (4)  The board may conduct a random audit of ten percent for documentary 
verification of the certification requirement. 
 (5)  All licensees shall notify the department within 30 days of any change in 
mailing addresses. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-36-102, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-141, 37-1-309, 37-36-202, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board determined it is reasonably necessary to adopt New Rule III to 
clarify the current renewal processes and auditing requirement.  The board 
anticipates this rule will alleviate confusion by providing licensees a clear reference 
for renewal questions. 
 
 5.  Concerned persons may present their data, views, or arguments either 
orally or in writing at the hearing.  Written data, views, or arguments may also be 
submitted to the Board of Athletic Trainers, 301 South Park Avenue, P.O. Box 
200513, Helena, Montana 59620-0513, by facsimile to (406) 841-2305, or by e-mail 
to dlibsdatr@mt.gov, and must be received no later than 5:00 p.m., August 14, 2012. 
 
 6.  An electronic copy of this Notice of Public Hearing is available through the 
department and board's web site on the World Wide Web at 
www.athletictrainer.mt.gov.  The department strives to make the electronic copy of 
this notice conform to the official version of the notice, as printed in the Montana 
Administrative Register, but advises all concerned persons that in the event of a 
discrepancy between the official printed text of the notice and the electronic version 
of the notice, only the official printed text will be considered.  In addition, although 
the department strives to keep its web site accessible at all times, concerned 
persons should be aware that the web site may be unavailable during some periods, 
due to system maintenance or technical problems, and that technical difficulties in 
accessing or posting to the e-mail address do not excuse late submission of 
comments. 
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 7.  The board maintains a list of interested persons who wish to receive 
notices of rulemaking actions proposed by this board.  Persons who wish to have 
their name added to the list shall make a written request that includes the name, e-
mail, and mailing address of the person to receive notices and specifies the person 
wishes to receive notices regarding all board administrative rulemaking proceedings 
or other administrative proceedings.  The request must indicate whether e-mail or 
standard mail is preferred.  Such written request may be sent or delivered to the 
Board of Athletic Trainers, 301 South Park Avenue, P.O. Box 200513, Helena, 
Montana 59620-0513; faxed to the office at (406) 841-2305; e-mailed to 
dlibsdatr@mt.gov; or made by completing a request form at any rules hearing held 
by the agency. 
 
 8.  The bill sponsor contact requirements of 2-4-302, MCA, do not apply. 
 
 9.  Kevin Maki, attorney, has been designated to preside over and conduct 
this hearing. 
 
 
 BOARD OF ATHLETIC TRAINERS 
 CHRIS HEARD, CHAIRPERSON 
 
 
/s/ DARCEE L. MOE /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Darcee L. Moe Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Alternate Rule Reviewer DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 
 Certified to the Secretary of State July 2, 2012 
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BEFORE THE BOARD OF CLINICAL LABORATORY SCIENCE PRACTITIONERS 
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of 
ARM 24.129.2101 continuing 
education requirements 

) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING ON 
PROPOSED AMENDMENT 
 
 

TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
 1.  On August 3, 2012, at 1:30 p.m., a public hearing will be held in B-07, 301 
South Park Avenue, Helena, Montana, to consider the proposed amendment of the 
above-stated rule. 
 
 2.  The Department of Labor and Industry (department) will make reasonable 
accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this public 
hearing or need an alternative accessible format of this notice.  If you require an 
accommodation, contact the Board of Clinical Laboratory Science Practitioners 
(board) no later than 5:00 p.m., on July 27, 2012, to advise us of the nature of the 
accommodation that you need.  Please contact Linda Grief, Board of Clinical 
Laboratory Science Practitioners, 301 South Park Avenue, P.O. Box 200513, 
Helena, Montana 59620-0513; telephone (406) 841-2395; Montana Relay 1 (800) 
253-4091; TDD (406) 444-2978; facsimile (406) 841-2305; e-mail dlibsdcls@mt.gov. 
 
 3.  The rule proposed to be amended provides as follows, stricken matter 
interlined, new matter underlined: 
 
 24.129.2101  CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS  (1) and (1)(a) 
remain the same. 
 (b)  Up to seven hours earned in excess of the 14 hours required in a 
licensing year may be carried over into the succeeding year. 
 (c)  All continuing education credits must be germane to the profession and 
must contribute to the professional competence of a clinical laboratory science 
practitioner. 
 (2) remains the same. 
 (a)  Any continuing education offered or by providers and approved by the 
following: board and listed in the board office or on the board web site. 
 (i)  American Society of Clinical Pathologists (ASCP); 
 (ii)  National Certifying Agency (NCA); 
 (iii)  American Medical Technologists (AMT); 
 (iv)  American Society of Clinical Laboratory Science (ASCLS); 
 (v)  National Laboratory Training Network (NLTN); 
 (vi)  Laboratory Education for North Dakota (LEND); 
 (vii)  Colorado Association for Continuing Medical Laboratory Education 
(CACMLE); 
 (viii)  American Association of Blood Banks (AABB); 
 (ix)  American Association of Clinical Chemists (AACC); 
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 (x)  American Society for Microbiologists (ASM); 
 (xi)  Association of Cytogenetic Technologists (ACT); 
 (xii)  International Society for Clinical Laboratory Technology (ISCLT); 
 (xiii)  American Association of Bioanalysts (AAB); 
 (xiv)  Mayo medical laboratories; 
 (xv)  professional laboratory societies in any of the 50 states; 
 (xvi)  Clinical Laboratory Management Association (CLMA); or 
 (xvii)  other providers as listed in the office of the board or on the web site. 
 (b) through (b)(iii) remain the same. 
 (c)  Continuing education not sponsored by organizations listed referenced in 
(2)(a) shall be submitted to the Montana Board of Clinical Laboratory Science 
Practitioners board for its consideration for approval. 
 (3) remains the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-319, 37-34-201, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-306, 37-1-319, 37-34-201, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board determined it is reasonably necessary to amend (1)(b) to no 
longer allow licensees to carry over excess annual continuing education (CE) hours 
into a subsequent year.  The board believes that CE requirements help ensure that 
licensees remain current in the profession which is growing quickly with new 
advances in technology and changes in health care, in general, and that allowing 
carryover does not further that purpose.  The board has found big gaps in both 
quality and timeliness of courses attended when carryover courses were used.  
Eliminating carryover will also simplify the continuing education requirements and 
reporting process for licensees. 
 The board is amending (2)(a) to facilitate the listing of board-approved CE 
providers on the board’s web site instead of within the rule text.  This change will 
eliminate costly rule amendments required every time a provider name changes or 
when the board adds or deletes a provider.  In addition, this amendment will allow 
the board flexibility to more timely approve providers in response to new advances in 
technology, simply by updating the lists maintained on the board's web site and in 
the board office. 
 The board is amending (2)(c) for clarity and simplicity by removing 
unnecessary and redundant language. 
 Authority and implementation cites are being amended to accurately reflect all 
statutes implemented through the rule and provide the complete sources of the 
board's rulemaking authority. 
 
 4.  Concerned persons may submit their data, views, or arguments either 
orally or in writing at the hearing.  Written data, views, or arguments may also be 
submitted to the Board of Clinical Laboratory Science Practitioners, 301 South Park 
Avenue, P.O. Box 200513, Helena, Montana 59620-0513, by facsimile to (406) 841-
2305, or by e-mail to dlibsdcls@mt.gov, and must be received no later than 5:00 
p.m., August 13, 2012. 
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 5.  An electronic copy of this notice is available through the department and 
board's web site on the World Wide Web at www.cls.mt.gov.  The department strives 
to make the electronic copy of this notice conform to the official version of the notice, 
as printed in the Montana Administrative Register, but advises all concerned 
persons that in the event of a discrepancy between the official printed text of the 
notice and the electronic version of the notice, only the official printed text will be 
considered.  In addition, although the department strives to keep its web site 
accessible at all times, concerned persons should be aware that the web site may 
be unavailable during some periods, due to system maintenance or technical 
problems, and that technical difficulties in accessing or posting to the e-mail address 
do not excuse late submission of comments. 
 
 6.  The board maintains a list of interested persons who wish to receive 
notices of rulemaking actions proposed by this board.  Persons who wish to have 
their name added to the list shall make a written request that includes the name, e-
mail, and mailing address of the person to receive notices and specifies the person 
wishes to receive notices regarding all board administrative rulemaking proceedings 
or other administrative proceedings.  The request must indicate whether e-mail or 
standard mail is preferred.  Such written request may be sent or delivered to the 
Board of Clinical Laboratory Science Practitioners, 301 South Park Avenue, P.O. 
Box 200513, Helena, Montana 59620-0513, faxed to the office at (406) 841-2305, e-
mailed to dlibsdcls@mt.gov, or made by completing a request form at any rules 
hearing held by the agency. 
 
 7.  The bill sponsor contact requirements of 2-4-302, MCA, do not apply. 
 
 8.  Anne O’Leary, attorney, has been designated to preside over and conduct 
this hearing. 
 
 
 BOARD OF CLINICAL LABORATORY 
 SCIENCE PRACTITIONERS 
 ALISON MIZNER, CHAIRPERSON 
 
/s/ DARCEE L. MOE /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Darcee L. Moe Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Alternate Rule Reviewer DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 
 Certified to the Secretary of State July 2, 2012 
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BEFORE THE BOARD OF MEDICAL EXAMINERS 
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

 STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of 
ARM 24.156.618 testing requirement 
and the adoption of NEW RULES I 
through V reporting obligations 

) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING ON 
PROPOSED AMENDMENT AND 
ADOPTION 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
 1.  On August 6, 2012, at 1:00 p.m., a public hearing will be held in room 439, 
301 South Park Avenue, Helena, Montana, to consider the proposed amendment 
and adoption of the above-stated rules. 
 
 2.  The Department of Labor and Industry (department) will make reasonable 
accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this public 
hearing or need an alternative accessible format of this notice.  If you require an 
accommodation, contact the Board of Medical Examiners (board) no later than 5:00 
p.m., on July 30, 2012, to advise us of the nature of the accommodation that you 
need.  Please contact Ian Marquand, Board of Medical Examiners, 301 South Park 
Avenue, P.O. Box 200513, Helena, Montana 59620-0513; telephone (406) 841-
2360; Montana Relay 1 (800) 253-4091; TDD (406) 444-2978; facsimile (406) 841-
2305; e-mail dlibsdmed@mt.gov. 
 
 3.  The rule proposed to be amended provides as follows, stricken matter 
interlined, new matter underlined: 
 
 24.156.618  TESTING REQUIREMENT  (1)  A physician seeking to reactivate 
a Montana license, which has been inactive for the two or more years preceding the 
request for reactivation, and who has ceased the clinical practice of medicine in all 
jurisdictions for the entire time during which the license has been inactive, must 
either have been board certified/recertified during the two years preceding the 
request for reactivation or pass the special purpose examination (SPEX) or the 
comprehensive osteopathic medical variable-purpose examination (COMVEX) given 
by the Federation of State Medical Boards., and may also be required to complete a 
reentry plan to the satisfaction of the board.  The board must review and approve a 
reentry plan as determined appropriate by the board prior to the applicant beginning 
the reentry plan.  Depending on the amount of time out-of-practice, the applicant 
may also be required to do one or more of the following: 
 (a)  practice for a specified period of time under a mentor/supervising 
physician who will provide periodic reports to the board; 
 (b)  obtain certification or recertification by a specialty board recognized by 
the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) or the American Osteopathic 
Association's Bureau of Osteopathic Specialists (AOA-BOS); 
 (c)  complete one year of accredited postgraduate or clinical fellowship 
training, which must be preapproved by the board, or; 
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 (d)  complete any other requirements as determined by the board.  The 
applicant who fails the SPEX or COMVEX examination three times, whether in 
Montana or other states, must successfully complete one year of an accredited 
residency or an accredited or board-approved clinical training before retaking the 
SPEX or COMVEX examination. 
 (2)  remains the same. 
 (3)  A physician seeking to reactivate a Montana license, which has been 
inactive for the two or more years preceding the request for activation, and who has 
practiced medicine on an active license in another state or jurisdiction for the five 
years preceding the request to reactivate, may be required to appear before the 
board, and must: 
 (a)  provide verification of one or more active licenses maintained during the 
time period the physician has held an inactive Montana license; 
 (b)  identify all locations and dates of practice during the five years preceding 
the request for reactivation; and 
 (c)  pay the difference between the fee for an inactive and active license. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-319, 37-3-203, 37-3-802, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-319, 37-3-101, 37-3-202, 37-3-802, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board is amending this rule following a determination that requiring 
the SPEX test for all physicians whose Montana licenses have been on inactive 
status for more than two years is unnecessarily punitive for physicians who have 
maintained an active practice in another state.  The board decided that a distinction 
must be made between reactivation requirements for physicians who have been 
actively practicing outside Montana and those who have been completely inactive 
prior to reactivating. 
 
 4.  The proposed new rules provide as follows: 
 
 NEW RULE I  OBLIGATION TO REPORT TO BOARD  (1)  A physician shall 
report to the board within three months from the date of a final judgment, order, or 
agency action, all information related to malpractice, misconduct, criminal, or 
disciplinary action in which the physician is a named party. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-319, 37-3-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-319, 37-3-323, 37-3-401, 37-3-405, MCA 
 
 REASON:  The board is proposing to adopt New Rules I through V to require 
mandatory reporting of licensees' final discipline, misconduct, and court actions.  
The board determined it is reasonably necessary to require this reporting to ensure 
that the board has accurate and current information on licensees, and to enable the 
board to discipline licensees who do not report.  These new rules will be consistent 
with reporting obligations for physician assistants and nutritionists already in place. 
 
 NEW RULE II   OBLIGATION TO REPORT TO BOARD  (1)  An EMT shall 
report to the board within three months from the date of a final judgment, order, or 
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agency action, all information related to malpractice, misconduct, criminal, or 
disciplinary action in which the EMT is a named party. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-319, 50-6-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-319, 50-6-203, MCA 
 
 NEW RULE III  OBLIGATION TO REPORT TO BOARD  (1)  A podiatrist shall 
report to the board within three months from the date of a final judgment, order, or 
agency action, all information related to malpractice, misconduct, criminal, or 
disciplinary action in which the podiatrist is a named party. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-319, 37-6-106, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-319, 37-6-311, MCA 
 
 NEW RULE IV  OBLIGATION TO REPORT TO BOARD  (1)  A telemedicine 
practitioner shall report to the board within three months from the date of a final 
judgment, order, or agency action, all information related to malpractice, misconduct, 
criminal, or disciplinary action in which the telemed is a named party. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-319, 37-3-202, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-319, 37-3-323, 37-3-401, 37-3-405, MCA 
 
 NEW RULE V  OBLIGATION TO REPORT TO BOARD  (1)  An acupuncturist 
shall report to the board within three months from the date of a final judgment, order, 
or agency action, all information related to malpractice, misconduct, criminal, or 
disciplinary action in which the acupuncturist is a named party. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-319, 37-13-201, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-319, MCA 
 
 5.  Concerned persons may present their data, views, or arguments either 
orally or in writing at the hearing.  Written data, views, or arguments may also be 
submitted to the Board of Medical Examiners, 301 South Park Avenue, P.O. Box 
200513, Helena, Montana 59620-0513, by facsimile to (406) 841-2305, or by e-mail 
to dlibsdmed@mt.gov, and must be received no later than 5:00 p.m., August 14, 
2012. 
 
 6.  An electronic copy of this Notice of Public Hearing is available through the 
department and board's web site on the World Wide Web at 
www.medicalboard.mt.gov.  The department strives to make the electronic copy of 
this notice conform to the official version of the notice, as printed in the Montana 
Administrative Register, but advises all concerned persons that in the event of a 
discrepancy between the official printed text of the notice and the electronic version 
of the notice, only the official printed text will be considered.  In addition, although 
the department strives to keep its web site accessible at all times, concerned 
persons should be aware that the web site may be unavailable during some periods, 
due to system maintenance or technical problems, and that technical difficulties in 
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accessing or posting to the e-mail address do not excuse late submission of 
comments. 
 
 7.  The board maintains a list of interested persons who wish to receive 
notices of rulemaking actions proposed by this board.  Persons who wish to have 
their name added to the list shall make a written request that includes the name, e-
mail, and mailing address of the person to receive notices and specifies the person 
wishes to receive notices regarding all board administrative rulemaking proceedings 
or other administrative proceedings.  The request must indicate whether e-mail or 
standard mail is preferred.  Such written request may be sent or delivered to the 
Board of Medical Examiners, 301 South Park Avenue, P.O. Box 200513, Helena, 
Montana 59620-0513; faxed to the office at (406) 841-2305; e-mailed to 
dlibsdmed@mt.gov; or made by completing a request form at any rules hearing held 
by the agency. 
 
 8.  The bill sponsor contact requirements of 2-4-302, MCA, do not apply. 
 
 9.  Anne O'Leary, attorney, has been designated to preside over and conduct 
this hearing. 
 
 
 BOARD OF MEDICAL EXAMINERS 

ANNA EARL, MD, CHAIRPERSON 
 
 
/s/ DARCEE L. MOE /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Darcee L. Moe Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Alternate Rule Reviewer DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 
 Certified to the Secretary of State July 2, 2012 
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BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of 
ARM 24.351.201, 24.351.204, 
24.351.211, 24.351.224 and 
24.351.227 weighing and measuring 
devices, 24.351.301 and 24.351.321 
packaging and labeling, 24.351.401 
and 24.351.411 petroleum, 
24.351.1104, 44.351.1111 and 
24.351.1115 voluntary registration, 
the adoption of NEW RULE I 
certification of stationary standards, 
and the repeal of 24.351.221 
weighing device license transfer 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING ON 
PROPOSED AMENDMENT, 
ADOPTION, AND REPEAL 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
 1.  On August 2, 2012, at 1:30 p.m., a public hearing will be held in room B-
07, 301 South Park Avenue, Helena, Montana, to consider the proposed 
amendment, adoption, and repeal of the above-stated rules. 
 
 2.  The Weights and Measures Bureau (bureau) of the Department of Labor 
and Industry (department) will make reasonable accommodations for persons with 
disabilities who wish to participate in this public hearing or who need an alternative 
accessible format of this notice.  If you require an accommodation, contact the 
bureau no later than 5:00 p.m., on July 27, 2012, to advise us of the nature of the 
accommodation that you need.  Please contact Tim Lloyd, Bureau Chief, Weights 
and Measures Bureau, Business Standards Division, Department of Labor and 
Industry, 2801 N. Cooke Street, P.O. Box 200516, Helena, Montana 59620-0516; 
telephone (406) 443-3289; facsimile (406) 443-8163; TTD (406) 444-2978; Montana 
Relay 1 (800) 253-4091; or e-mail tlloyd@mt.gov. 
 
 3.  GENERAL STATEMENT OF REASONABLE NECESSITY:  The 
department is amending several of the bureau's rules to adopt and implement the 
most current editions of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) 
handbooks.  Per statute, the standards published by NIST govern all weighing and 
measuring equipment and transactions in Montana.  It is necessary to periodically 
update the rules to align references to the new handbooks and keep up with 
advances in technology and testing methods.  Accordingly, the department has 
determined that reasonable necessity exists to generally amend certain rules at this 
time.  Where additional specific bases for a proposed action exist, the department 
will identify those reasons immediately following that rule. 
 
 4.  The rules proposed to be amended provide as follows, stricken matter 
interlined, new matter underlined: 
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 24.351.201  NIST HANDBOOK 44 - SPECIFICATIONS, TOLERANCES, AND 
OTHER TECHNICAL REQUIREMENTS FOR WEIGHING AND MEASURING 
DEVICES  (1)  The bureau, with the advice and counsel of NIST, adopts the 
specifications, tolerances, and requirements for commercial weighing and measuring 
devices published in NIST Handbook 44, 2005 2012 edition, as the specifications, 
tolerances, and requirements for commercial weighing and measuring devices for 
the state of Montana with the following exception: 
 (a) remains the same. 
 (2)  A copy of NIST Handbook 44 can be obtained from the United States 
Department of Commerce, National Institute of Standards and Technology, National 
Conference of Weights and Measures, Gaithersburg, MD 20899-0001.  The web site 
is www.nist.org. 
 
 AUTH:  30-12-202, MCA 
 IMP:     30-12-202, 30-12-205, 30-12-401, 30-12-406, 30-12-407, 30-12-408, 
30-12-409, MCA 
 
 24.351.204  UNIFORM REGULATION FOR NATIONAL TYPE EVALUATION 
 (1)  The bureau adopts and incorporates by reference the Uniform Regulation 
for National Type Evaluation, as found in NIST Handbook 130, 2005 2012 edition, 
and is adopted in its entirety with the following modifications: 
 (a) remains the same. 
 (b)  in Section 4, subsections 3 (c) through 7 (g), insert in all blank spaces the 
date of January 1, 1999; and 
 (c)  in Section 8 7, insert in the blank space January 1, 1999, for the effective 
date for this regulation. 
 (2)  A copy of NIST Handbook 130 can be obtained from the United States 
Department of Commerce, National Institute of Standards and Technology, National 
Conference of Weights and Measures, Gaithersburg, MD 20899-0001.  The web site 
is www.nist.org. 
 
 AUTH:  30-12-202, MCA 
 IMP:     30-12-202, MCA 
 
 24.351.211  FEES FOR TESTING AND CERTIFICATION  (1) remains the 
same. 
 (a)  units over 5000 pounds of testing weights, $2.50 a per mile, measured by 
the distance the bureau's employee travels in connection with the special inspection; 
 (b)  all other units, $1.25 a per mile, as measured by the distance the 
bureau's employee travels in connection with the special inspection; and 
 (c)  time for testing by inspection, $75 an per hour. 
 (2)  Where fees are not paid within 30 days after the special inspection, 
equipment will be sealed and removed from service by the bureau may seal and 
remove from service the device in question, until such fees have been paid.  The 
bureau will coordinate the special inspections, whenever possible, with other 
inspection activities in an effort to keep charges as reasonable as possible. 
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 AUTH:  30-12-202, MCA 
 IMP:     30-12-202, 30-12-203, MCA 
 
REASON:  The department is amending (2) to allow, rather than require the seal and 
removal of equipment due to nonpayment of special inspection fees.  In the past ten 
years, the bureau has not removed a device from service within 30 days, nor might it 
be possible to do so within such a tight time frame.  The bureau notes that allowing 
additional time may be desirable depending on the individual circumstances. 
 
 24.351.224  ACCESSIBILITY TO STOCK SCALES  (1)  All permanently 
installed stock scales must be provided with a landing or access to the scale, having 
a width at least equal to the width of the scale platform, having and a length of at 
least five feet from the scale platform enclosure,.  The landing must be level with the 
deck of the scale platform and be constructed of concrete. 
 (2)  A pathway must be provided to the scale access such that the test vehicle 
will not become mired down and such that the test vehicle can be parked in a 
relatively level position, both horizontally and vertically.  The pathway is required to 
have a width of from 10 ten to 12 twelve feet and a height clearance of at least 14 
fourteen feet.  This pathway must be continuous to the scale access concrete.  All 
gates in the pathway must be in good working order. 
 (3)  Portable livestock scales must be located on level ground and be 
provided with a temporary landing or access to the scale, having a width at least 
equal to the width of the scale platform, having a length of at least five feet from the 
scale platform enclosure, be level with the deck of the scale platform, and be 
constructed of materials sufficient to support a test vehicle. 
 
 AUTH:  30-12-202, MCA 
 IMP:     30-12-203, MCA 
 
REASON:  The department determined it is reasonably necessary to amend this rule 
to distinguish between requirements for a permanent livestock scale and a portable 
scale, better define what is required for access, and provide access requirements for 
portable livestock scales.  Additionally, portable scales are becoming more common 
every year and there have been occasions where bureau inspectors were unable to 
test these devices because they were installed improperly or there was no material 
available to construct a temporary landing. 
 
 24.351.227  SCALE PIT CLEARANCE  (1) remains the same. 
 (2)  Scale pits are not required for fully electronic scales, unless the pit is 
necessary for the installation, operation, or maintenance of the particular scale. 
 (3)  Electronic scales which do not require a pit for their installation, operation, 
or maintenance must be installed in strict compliance with the manufacturer's 
specification for each specific model and with the requirements of NIST Handbook 
44, 2005 2012 edition. 
 (4)  Scale pits must have concrete walls surrounding the entire pit, substantial 
in both durability and strength to prevent soil, snow, and other materials from 
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entering the pit area and preventing the scale from operating properly.  The 
requirements of this rule will apply only to those scales installed after its adoption. 
 
 AUTH:  30-12-202, MCA 
 IMP:     30-12-202, MCA 
 
 24.351.301  NIST HANDBOOK 130 - UNIFORM LAWS AND REGULATIONS 
 (1)  The bureau, with the advice and counsel of NIST, adopts the model 
regulations to provide accurate and adequate information on packages as to the 
identity and quantity of contents, so that purchasers can make price and quantity 
comparison.  The regulations are published in NIST Handbook 130, 2005 2012 
edition, part IV, subparts: 
 (a)  A, Uniform Packaging and Labeling Regulation; 
 (b)  B, Uniform Regulation for the Method of Sale of Commodities; and 
 (c)  C, Uniform Unit Pricing Regulation. 
 (2)  A copy of NIST Handbook 130 can be obtained from the United States 
Department of Commerce, National Institute of Standards and Technology, National 
Conference of Weights and Measures, Gaithersburg, Maryland 20899-0001.  The 
web site is www.nist.org. 
 
 AUTH:  30-12-202, MCA 
 IMP:     30-12-202, MCA 
 
 24.351.321  NIST HANDBOOK 133 – CHECKING THE NET CONTENTS OF 
PACKAGED GOODS  (1)  The bureau, with the advice and counsel of NIST, adopts 
the test methods and procedures as published in NIST Handbook 133, fourth 2011 
edition, as the methods and procedures to be used for determining net weight of 
packaged commodities for the state of Montana. 
 (a)  A copy of NIST Handbook 133 can be obtained from the United States 
Department of Commerce, National Institute of Standards and Technology, National 
Conference of Weights and Measures, Gaithersburg, Maryland 20899-0001.  The 
web site is www.nist.org. 
 
 AUTH:  30-12-202, 30-12-207, 30-12-301, 30-12-302, MCA 
 IMP:     30-12-202, 30-12-207, 30-12-301, 30-12-302, MCA 
 
 24.351.401  NIST HANDBOOK 130 - UNIFORM LAWS AND REGULATIONS 
 (1)  The bureau, with the advice and counsel of NIST, adopts, except as 
provided in (2), the regulations concerning fuel specifications and gasoline-
oxygenate blends.  The regulations are published in NIST Handbook 130, 2005 
2012 edition, part IV, subpart G, Uniform Regulation of Engine Fuels, Petroleum 
Products, and Automotive Lubricants. 
 (a)  A copy of NIST Handbook 130 can be obtained from the United States 
Department of Commerce, National Institute of Standards and Technology, National 
Conference of Weights and Measures, Gaithersburg, Maryland 20899-0001.  The 
web site is www.nist.org. 
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 (2)  The following are the minimum antiknock index requirements for the 
various grades of gasoline sold in Montana and supersede the minimum 
requirements contained in paragraph 3.2.5, Table 1, p. 137 180, of Handbook 130: 
 

Term     Minimum Antiknock Index 
Premium, Super, Supreme    91 
High Test 
Midgrade, Plus     88 
Regular Unleaded with Lead   87 
Substitute 
Regular, Unleaded (alone)    85.5 

 
 AUTH:  82-15-102, 82-15-103, MCA 
 IMP:     82-15-103, MCA 
 
REASON:  Authority cites are being amended to provide the complete sources of the 
department's rulemaking authority. 
 

24.351.411  SAMPLING OF PETROLEUM PRODUCTS  (1)  All sampling will 
be done by employees of the bureau.  A random sampling of petroleum products of 
the manufacturer and importer will may be made to ensure that proper standards are 
being met.  The bureau may require the cost of testing samples must be paid for by 
the manufacturer or importer. 
 (2) remains the same. 
 
 AUTH:  82-15-102, MCA 
 IMP:     82-15-107, MCA 
 
REASON:  It is reasonably necessary to amend this rule to allow, rather than require 
the bureau's random sampling of petroleum products for testing, as the bureau does 
not receive funding to perform this sampling.  The bureau will continue to investigate 
complaints and will test petroleum products if warranted by the results of the 
investigation.  Additionally, the cost of this testing may not always be the 
responsibility of the manufacturer or importer, due to the blending of petroleum 
products and pipelines used to transport products produced by different 
manufacturers. 
 
 24.351.1104  INDIVIDUAL APPLICANTS FOR REGISTRATION  (1) and 
(1)(a) remain the same. 
 (i)  is fully qualified to install, service, repair, or recondition whatever devices 
for the service of which competence is being registered; 
 (ii) remains the same. 
 (iii)  has full knowledge of all appropriate weights and measures laws, rules, 
and regulations. 
 (b) remains the same. 
 (2)  An individual applicant must have available sufficient standards and 
equipment to adequately test devices as set forth in the notes section of each 
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applicable code in NIST Handbook 44, 2005 2012 edition, "Specifications, 
Tolerances, and Other Technical Requirements for Weighing and Measuring 
Devices."  The equipment must meet the applicable specifications of: 
 (a) through (2)(c) remain the same. 
 (3)  Each individual applicant shall complete and pass a written test to 
determine the applicant's knowledge of the appropriate weights and measures laws, 
rules, and regulations prior to the issuance by the bureau of the initial certificate of 
registration. 
 (a)  Subsequent testing and/or continuing education classes may be 
necessary due to changes in weights and measures laws and rules.  Such testing 
and/or classes shall be given whenever deemed necessary by the bureau.  If such 
subsequent testing is appropriate, the bureau shall provide notice to registered 
servicepersons service persons of the subsequent testing prior to the time of the 
next renewal of the certificate of registration. 

(4)  There is a $25 fee for registration as a serviceperson service person. 
 (5) remains the same. 
 (6)  A certificate of registration expires on December 31, unless revoked 
earlier for good cause., which shall include, but not be limited to: 
 (a)  taking unfair advantage of an owner of a device; 
 (b)  failure to have test equipment or standards certified; 
 (c)  failure to use adequate testing equipment; 
 (d)  continued failure to submit, or to submit in a timely manner, properly 
completed placed-in-service reports for new installations or repair of existing 
devices; 
 (e)  failure to adjust commercial or law enforcement devices to comply with 
the regulations adopted by the bureau; 
 (f)  nonpayment of calibration or registration fees; or 
 (g)  continued failure to properly seal devices. 
 
 AUTH:  30-12-202, MCA 
 IMP:     30-12-202, MCA 
 
REASON:  The department is amending (3) to clarify that the bureau may require 
registered service persons to either retest and/or attend continuing education 
classes.  Requiring them to retest and/or attend classes will help ensure that 
registered service persons have knowledge of the regulations adopted by the 
bureau.  It is also reasonably necessary to amend (6) and specify several possible 
reasons for revocation of a certificate of registration to address questions posed to 
the bureau.  The department notes that certificates have been revoked for both 
continued late submission of placed-in-service reports and delinquent payment of 
calibration or registration fees. 
 
 24.351.1111  PRIVILEGES AND OBLIGATIONS OF A CERTIFICATE 
HOLDER  (1) remains the same. 
 (2)  A registered serviceperson service person or registered service agency 
may not use, in servicing commercial weighing or measuring devices, any standards 
or testing equipment that have not been certified by the bureau.  Equipment 
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calibrated by another state's weights and measures laboratory that can show 
traceability to the national institute of standards and technology National Institute of 
Standards and Technology will also be recognized as equipment suitable for use by 
registered servicepersons service persons or registered service agencies in this 
state. 
 (3)  A registered serviceperson service person or registered service agency is 
responsible for installing, repairing, and adjusting devices such that the devices are 
adjusted as closely as practicable to zero error. 
 (4)  A registered service person or registered service agency is responsible 
for following the testing procedures in the regulations that are adopted by the 
bureau. 
 (4) (5)  Each registered serviceperson service person and registered service 
agency shall execute a "placed-in-service" report when a device is placed in service.  
The "placed-in-service" report must be on a form provided or approved by the 
bureau.  An agency may request approval of a company form already in use if such 
form meets bureau standards.  Such a form must: 
 (a) and (b) remain the same. 
 (c)  be signed by the registered serviceperson service person responsible for 
each: 
 (i) and (ii) remain the same. 
 (5) (6)  Within 24 hours five working days after a device is restored to service, 
or placed in service, the original of the properly executed placed-in-service report, 
together with any official rejection tag removed from the device, must be mailed to 
the bureau at the Department of Labor and Industry, Weights and Measures Bureau, 
P.O. Box 200516, Helena, Montana 59620-0516.  It is also permissible to fax or e-
mail a copy of the original and any removed tags to the bureau, with the registered 
service agency maintaining the original.  The duplicate copy of the report must be 
given to the owner or operator of the device.  The removed rejection tag or original 
placed-in-service report is not to be left with the owner or operator of the device. 
 (7)  Each registered service person shall have a unique identifier if they place 
devices into service that can be physically sealed.  Unique identifiers for new service 
persons registered after January 1, 2013 shall have the service person's registration 
number that is provided by the bureau.  For devices with internal controls, and thus 
cannot be physically sealed, the registered service person shall place a sticker or 
label on the device bearing their name, company name, and the date the device was 
placed into service. 
 
 AUTH:  30-12-202, MCA 
 IMP:     30-12-202, MCA 
 
REASON:  The department determined it is reasonably necessary to amend (4) and 
require registered service persons to follow the testing procedures in the regulations 
adopted by the bureau.  There have been cases where the bureau has received test 
reports that indicate registered service persons have not tested the device correctly.  
Following amendment, the department will be able to hold registered service 
persons accountable for not following bureau-approved testing procedures. 
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 The department is amending (5) to allow registered agencies to submit either 
a placed-in-service report or test report as long as the report includes all information 
required by the bureau.  Following suggestion by registered service companies, the 
department agreed that the amendment will still gain the required information, but 
will also reduce bureau printing costs and the paper work required of registered 
service providers.  The bureau's placed-in-service report will still be available at no 
cost for service providers who wish to use the form. 
 The department is amending (6) to increase the time for submission of 
placed-in-service reports and allow fax or e-mail versions of the submission.  The 
department determined that 24 hours did not allow reasonable time for submission 
of the reports after a device is restored to or placed in service. 
 It is reasonably necessary to add (7) and require that registered service 
persons use unique identifier numbers on their placed-in-service reports and seals 
on devices.  Use of the identifiers allows the bureau to ensure that service persons 
are registered, and enable follow-up with the actual technicians to ensure the work 
they do results in devices which are accurate to bureau standards.  Although the 
bureau has been working with companies to assign and use these identifying 
numbers, the requirement was not previously set forth in rule. 
 
 24.351.1115  RENEWAL OF CERTIFICATE OF REGISTRATION 
 (1) remains the same. 
 (a)  serviceperson service person      $25.00 
 (b) and (c) remain the same. 
 (2)  A registered serviceperson service person and a registered service 
agency shall submit, at least biennially or every two years, to the bureau for 
examination and certification, any standards and testing equipment that are used, or 
are to be used, in the performance of the service and testing functions, with respect 
to weighing and measuring devices for which competence is registered.  Failure to 
timely submit suitable standards and testing equipment may disqualify the individual 
or agency from renewing the certificate of registration. 
 (3) remains the same. 
 
 AUTH:  30-12-202, MCA 
 IMP:     30-12-202, MCA 
 
REASON:  The department is amending (2) to clarify that standards and test 
equipment must be calibrated every two years, to address repeated questions 
regarding the meaning of the word "biennially." 
 
 5.  The proposed new rule provides as follows: 
 
 NEW RULE I  CERTIFICATION OF STATIONARY STANDARDS  (1)  The 
recommended interval for certification of stationary standards used for testing 
hopper or similar scales is every five years.  The bureau may require any stationary 
standards showing signs of degradation to be certified every five years. 
 
 AUTH:  30-12-202, MCA 
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 IMP:     30-12-202, MCA 
 
REASON:  The department determined it is reasonably necessary to adopt New 
Rule I and recommend that stationary standards for testing hopper or similar scales 
be submitted every five years for examination and certification.  Although standards 
and testing equipment used by service companies must be certified every two years 
per ARM 24.351.1115, there is no current requirement addressing the certification of 
stationary standards. 
 Since stationary standards are not exposed to the same hazards as 
standards used by service companies, a longer certification interval is warranted.  In 
cases where the stationary standards are showing signs of degradation, which can 
affect the testing and calibration of the scale, the bureau will require the standards to 
be recertified. 
 
 6.  The rule proposed to be repealed is as follows: 
 
 24.351.221  WEIGHING DEVICE LICENSE TRANSFER found at ARM page 
24-35043. 
 
 AUTH:  30-12-202, MCA 
 IMP:     30-12-203, MCA 
 
REASON:  The department is repealing this rule since all licenses are now 
administered by the one-stop licensing program and the second tier of regulation in 
this rule is no longer needed. 
 
 7.  Concerned persons may present their data, views, or arguments either 
orally or in writing at the hearing.  Written data, views, or arguments may also be 
submitted to Tim Lloyd, Bureau Chief, Weights and Measures Bureau, Business 
Standards Division, Department of Labor and Industry, 2801 N. Cooke Street, P.O. 
Box 200516, Helena, Montana 59620-0516; facsimile (406) 443-8163; or e-mail 
tlloyd@mt.gov, and must be received no later than 5:00 p.m., August 10, 2012. 
 
 8.  An electronic copy of this Notice of Public Hearing is available through the 
department and program's web site on the World Wide Web at 
www.bsd.dli.mt.gov/bc/ms_index.asp.  The department strives to make the 
electronic copy of this notice conform to the official version of the notice, as printed 
in the Montana Administrative Register, but advises all concerned persons that in 
the event of a discrepancy between the official printed text of the notice and the 
electronic version of the notice, only the official printed text will be considered.  In 
addition, although the department strives to keep its web site accessible at all times, 
concerned persons should be aware that the web site may be unavailable during 
some periods, due to system maintenance or technical problems, and that technical 
difficulties in accessing or posting to the e-mail address do not excuse late 
submission of comments. 
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 9.  The department maintains a list of interested persons who wish to receive 
notices of rulemaking actions proposed by this agency.  Persons who wish to have 
their name added to the list shall make a written request that includes the name, e-
mail, and mailing address of the person to receive notices and specifies the person 
wishes to receive notices regarding all board administrative rulemaking proceedings 
or other administrative proceedings.  The request must indicate whether e-mail or 
standard mail is preferred.  Such written request may be sent or delivered to Tim 
Lloyd, Bureau Chief, Weights and Measures Bureau, Business Standards Division, 
Department of Labor and Industry, 2801 N. Cooke Street, P.O. Box 200516, Helena, 
Montana 59620-0516; faxed to the office at (406) 841-2060; e-mailed to 
tlloyd@mt.gov; or made by completing a request form at any rules hearing held by 
the agency. 
 
 10.  The bill sponsor contact requirements of 2-4-302, MCA, do not apply. 
 
 11.  Darcee L. Moe, attorney, has been designated to preside over and 
conduct this hearing. 
 
 
 DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 
/s/ DARCEE L. MOE /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Darcee L. Moe Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Alternate Rule Reviewer DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 
 Certified to the Secretary of State July 2, 2012 
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 BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC 
 HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES OF THE 
 STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of 
ARM 37.80.101 and 37.80.306 
pertaining to child care policy manual 
revisions 

) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING ON 
PROPOSED AMENDMENT 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 

 
 1.  On August 1, 2012, at 11:00 a.m., the Department of Public Health and 
Human Services will hold a public hearing in Room 207 of the Department of Public 
Health and Human Services Building, 111 North Sanders, Helena, Montana, to 
consider the proposed amendment of the above-stated rules. 

 
2.  The Department of Public Health and Human Services will make 

reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to participate in 
this rulemaking process or need an alternative accessible format of this notice.  If 
you require an accommodation, contact Department of Public Health and Human 
Services no later than 5:00 p.m. on July 25, 2012, to advise us of the nature of the 
accommodation that you need.  Please contact Kenneth Mordan, Department of 
Public Health and Human Services, Office of Legal Affairs, P.O. Box 4210, Helena, 
Montana, 59604-4210; telephone (406) 444-4094; fax (406) 444-9744; or e-mail 
dphhslegal@mt.gov. 
 

3.  The rules as proposed to be amended provide as follows, new matter 
underlined, deleted matter interlined: 
 
 37.80.101  PURPOSE AND GENERAL LIMITATIONS  (1) through (12) 
remain the same. 
 (13)  The Child Care Assistance Program will be administered in accordance 
with: 
 (a) remains the same. 
 (b)  the Montana Child Care Manual in effect on January 27, 2012 September 
7, 2012.  The Montana Child Care Manual, dated January 27, 2012 September 7, 
2012, is adopted and incorporated by this reference.  The manual contains the 
policies and procedures utilized in the implementation of the department's Child 
Care Assistance Program.  A copy of the Montana Child Care Manual is available at 
each child care resource and referral agency; at the Department of Public Health 
and Human Services, Human and Community Services Division, 111 N. Jackson St., 
P.O. Box 202925, Helena, MT 59620-2925; and on the department's web site at 
www.childcare.mt.gov.  
 
AUTH:  52-2-704, 53-4-212, MCA 
IMP:     52-2-702, 52-2-704, 52-2-713, 52-2-731, 53-2-201, 53-4-211, 53-4-601, 53-
4-611, 53-4-612, MCA 
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 37.80.306  LEGALLY CERTIFIED PROVIDERS: CERTIFICATION 
REQUIREMENTS AND PROCEDURES  (1) remains the same. 
 (2)  An application for certification or recertification will be denied under any of 
the following circumstances: 
 (a) through (c) remain the same. 
 (d)  the applicant has currently been denied a child care provider registration 
or license or would be denied a registration or license if the applicant applied, or the 
applicant has been denied a child care provider registration or license in the past or 
has had a child care provider registration or license revoked for cause in the past.; 
 (e)  the background check process has exceeded 90 days in duration; or  
 (f)  the applicant has an open child protection services (CPS) case under 
investigation. 
 (3)  The applicant and any adult all adults who resides in the applicant's home 
must provide authorization for criminal, FBI, state and national sexual/violent 
offender registry, and child protective services background checks for the period of 
time from the present date back to the date of the individual's 18th birthday. 
 (a) remains the same. 
 (4)  In addition to completing all required application forms for certification 
under this chapter, applicants for certification to provide child care as legally certified 
providers, and all adults in their household, must truthfully attest in writing that he or 
she: 
 (a) through (c) remain the same. 
 (d)  does not have a pending criminal charge for a crime that bears upon the 
applicant's fitness to have responsibility for the safety and well-being of children; 
 (d) through (h) remain the same, but are renumbered (e) through (i). 
 (5)  A conviction for driving under the influence of alcohol more than three 
years prior to the application date does not constitute grounds for denial. 
 (5) and (6) remain the same, but are renumbered (6) and (7). 
 
AUTH:  52-2-704, MCA 
IMP:     52-2-704, 52-2-713, 52-2-721, 52-2-722, 52-2-723, 52-2-731, MCA 
 
 4.  STATEMENT OF REASONABLE NECESSITY 
 
The Department of Public Health and Human Services (the department) is proposing 
to amend ARM 37.80.101 and 37.80.306, pertaining to child care assistance.  
 
ARM 37.80.101 
 
ARM 37.80.101(13)(b) currently adopts and incorporates by reference the Montana 
Child Care Manual effective January 27, 2012.  The department proposes to make 
revisions to this manual that will take effect on September 7, 2012.  The proposed 
amendment to (13) is necessary to incorporate into the Administrative Rules of 
Montana (ARM) the revisions to the manual and to permit all interested parties to 
comment on the department's policies and to offer suggested changes.  Manuals 
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and draft manual material are available for review in each local Office of Public 
Assistance and on the department's web site at www.bestbeginnings.mt.gov. 
 
ARM 37.80.306 
 
The department is proposing to amend ARM 37.80.306(2) by adding two additional 
reasons for denying an application for certification or recertification as a legally 
certified provider (LCP).  Certification or recertification will be denied if the 
background check process has exceeded 90 days in duration or the applicant has 
an open child protection services (CPS) case under investigation.  The change to 
deny an application that exceeds 90 days is necessary because the occasional 
application that exceeds that window may cause other background check 
information to become outdated and require reprocessing because of the time delay.  
The change to deny an application when there is an open CPS investigation is 
necessary to allow time for that investigation to be completed before a decision is 
made on child care certification. 
 
The department is proposing to amend ARM 37.80.306(4) by requiring attestation 
regarding criminal convictions for all adults in the household of the person applying 
to be certified as a legally certified provider (LCP).  Adult household members living 
with LCPs will receive this scrutiny because there is no additional oversight by the 
department for this provider type.  The department believes that such charges and 
convictions on the part of adults living in the provider's household should preclude 
these individuals from receiving state or federal funds for providing care to children.  
The department does not anticipate any adverse impact for parents and children; 
however, the department does see potential adverse impact for providers who may 
not qualify to provide legally certified care because of criminal records pertaining to 
other adults in the household. 
 
ARM 37.80.306(4)(d) is being amended to include the requirement that an applicant 
not have a pending charge for a crime that bears upon the applicant's fitness to have 
responsibility for the safety and well-being of children.  The department believes that 
a criminal charge for a crime that bears upon the applicant's fitness to care for 
children should preclude these individuals from receiving state or federal funds for 
providing care to children until the criminal matter is resolved.  The department does 
not anticipate any adverse impact for parents and children; however, the department 
does see potential adverse impact for providers who may not qualify to provide 
legally certified care. 
 
ARM 37.80.306(5) is being added to remove from consideration convictions for 
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) of alcohol that occurred more than three years 
prior to the application date.  The applicant must disclose these convictions but is 
not automatically precluded from certification.  Background checks currently go back 
to age 18 for all adults living in the legally certified provider's household.  The 
department believes that DUIs within three years of the date of application have a 
greater potential for putting the health and safety of young children at risk.  The 
department does not anticipate any adverse affect for parents and children; 
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however, the department does see potential adverse impact for providers who may 
not qualify to provide legally certified care. 
 
Child Care Manual Changes 
 
The following is a brief overview of the Child Care Manual Section with changes 
related to the above rule citations. 
 
Section 6-2 Serving the Family – Legally Certified Providers 
This manual section is being revised to add language allowing the denial of 
applications where background check processing exceeds 90 days or there is an 
open CPS case under investigation for applicants.  In both cases, once background 
checks are completed and the applicant is cleared, they may reapply. 
 
The phrase "and all adults in their household" is added to the manual so that all 
criminal records that disqualify an LCP applicant also applies to all adults living in 
the household. 
 
Additional language included in this manual provision allows the bureau to approve 
applicants who have DUI charges and adjudications that are older than three years 
of the application date. 
 
Fiscal Impact 
 
The department does not anticipate any adverse effect or any fiscal impact 
associated with the proposed amendments to this rule and manual. 
 
 5.  Concerned persons may submit their data, views, or arguments either 
orally or in writing at the hearing.  Written data, views, or arguments may also be 
submitted to: Kenneth Mordan, Department of Public Health and Human Services, 
Office of Legal Affairs, P.O. Box 4210, Helena, Montana, 59604-4210; fax (406) 444-
9744; or e-mail dphhslegal@mt.gov, and must be received no later than 5:00 p.m., 
August 9, 2012. 
 

6.  The Office of Legal Affairs, Department of Public Health and Human 
Services, has been designated to preside over and conduct this hearing. 

 
7.  The department maintains a list of interested persons who wish to receive 

notices of rulemaking actions proposed by this agency.  Persons who wish to have 
their name added to the list shall make a written request that includes the name, e-
mail, and mailing address of the person to receive notices and specifies for which 
program the person wishes to receive notices.  Notices will be sent by e-mail unless 
a mailing preference is noted in the request.  Such written request may be mailed or 
delivered to the contact person in 5 above or may be made by completing a request 
form at any rules hearing held by the department. 

 



 
 
 

 
13-7/12/12 MAR Notice No. 37-591 

-1337-

8.  An electronic copy of this proposal notice is available through the 
Secretary of State's web site at http://sos.mt.gov/ARM/Register.  The Secretary of 
State strives to make the electronic copy of the notice conform to the official version 
of the notice, as printed in the Montana Administrative Register, but advises all 
concerned persons that in the event of a discrepancy between the official printed 
text of the notice and the electronic version of the notice, only the official printed text 
will be considered.  In addition, although the Secretary of State works to keep its 
web site accessible at all times, concerned persons should be aware that the web 
site may be unavailable during some periods, due to system maintenance or 
technical problems. 

 
9.  The bill sponsor contact requirements of 2-4-302, MCA, do not apply. 
 

 
/s/ Geralyn Driscoll    /s/ Anna Whiting Sorrell    
Rule Reviewer    Anna Whiting Sorrell, Director 
      Public Health and Human Services 

   
Certified to the Secretary of State July 2, 2012 



 
 
 

 
MAR Notice No. 37-592 13-7/12/12 

-1338-

 BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC 
 HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES OF THE 
 STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of 
ARM 37.87.2202, 37.87.2205, and 
37.87.2225 pertaining to non-
Medicaid respite care services 

) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING ON 
PROPOSED AMENDMENT 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 

 
 1.  On August 1, 2012, at 1:30 p.m., the Department of Public Health and 
Human Services will hold a public hearing in the auditorium of the Department of 
Public Health and Human Services Building, 111 North Sanders, Helena, Montana, 
to consider the proposed amendment of the above-stated rules. 

 
2.  The Department of Public Health and Human Services will make 

reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to participate in 
this rulemaking process or need an alternative accessible format of this notice.  If 
you require an accommodation, contact Department of Public Health and Human 
Services no later than 5:00 p.m. on July 25, 2012, to advise us of the nature of the 
accommodation that you need.  Please contact Kenneth Mordan, Department of 
Public Health and Human Services, Office of Legal Affairs, P.O. Box 4210, Helena, 
Montana, 59604-4210; telephone (406) 444-4094; fax (406) 444-9744; or e-mail 
dphhslegal@mt.gov. 
 

3.  The rules as proposed to be amended provide as follows, new matter 
underlined, deleted matter interlined: 
 
  37.87.2202  MENTAL HEALTH SERVICES FOR YOUTH WITH SERIOUS 
EMOTIONAL DISTURBANCE (SED) NON-MEDICAID RESPITE CARE SERVICES, 
DEFINITION  For purposes of this subchapter, the following definitions apply: 
 (1)  "Respite care" means relief services that allow family members, who are 
regular care givers of a youth with a serious emotional disturbance (SED), to be 
relieved of their care giver responsibilities for a temporary, short-term period. 
 (2)  "SED" criteria are defined in ARM 37.87.303. 
 (3)  "Youth" is defined in ARM 37.87.102. "Youth" means a person 17 years of 
age or younger. 
 
AUTH:  53-2-201, 53-6-101, 53-6-113, MCA 
IMP:     53-2-201, 53-6-101, 53-6-111, MCA 
 
 37.87.2205  MENTAL HEALTH SERVICES FOR YOUTH WITH SERIOUS 
EMOTIONAL DISTURBANCE (SED) NON-MEDICAID RESPITE CARE SERVICES, 
LIMITATIONS  (1)  Non-Medicaid Rrespite care services may be provided only on a 
short-term basis, such as part of a day, weekends, or vacation periods. 
 (2)  Non-Medicaid Rrespite care services may not be provided in a youth's 
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place of residence or through placement in another private residence or other 
related community setting, excluding psychiatric residential treatment facilities 
facility. 
 (3)  Non-Medicaid Rrespite care services are limited to available funding each 
state fiscal year. 
 (a)  Retroactive funds for non-Medicaid respite care services are not available. 
 (4)  Youth must meet SED criteria and must also be receiving Medicaid funded 
mental health services.   
 (5)  Non-Medicaid respite care services shall only be provided to youth who 
receive Therapeutic Family Care (TFC) services or upon authorization by the 
department or its designee. 
 (6)  For youth who qualify and receive non-Medicaid respite care services, the 
individualized treatment plan must document non-Medicaid respite care in 
accordance with ARM 37.106.1916(c). 
 (7)  Non-Medicaid respite care services are available to a youth 17 years or age 
or younger. 
 
AUTH:  53-2-201, 53-6-101, 53-6-113, MCA 
IMP:     53-2-201, 53-6-101, 53-6-111, MCA 
 
 37.87.2225  MENTAL HEALTH SERVICES FOR YOUTH WITH SERIOUS 
EMOTIONAL DISTURBANCE (SED) NON-MEDICAID RESPITE CARE SERVICES, 
PROVIDER PARTICIPATION  (1)  Licensed and enrolled mental health centers and 
child placing agencies may provide non-Medicaid respite care services upon 
approval by the department of enrollment and according to the written provider 
agreement between the provider and the department and, provided they meet the 
requirements of this subchapter. 
 (2)  Persons delivering non-Medicaid respite care services must be employed 
by a provider agency. 
 (2) (3)  The provisions of ARM 37.85.402 shall apply for purposes of provider 
enrollment.  Providers must enroll with the department's Medicaid fiscal agent in the 
same manner and according to the same requirements applicable under the 
Montana Medicaid program.  The department may accept current Medicaid 
enrollment for purposes of enrollment, if the provider agrees, in a form acceptable to 
the department, to be bound by applicable requirements. 
 (3) (4)  For purposes of enrollment, providers must be and remain enrolled in 
the Montana Medicaid program for the same category of service and must meet the 
same qualifications and requirements that apply to the provider's category of service 
under the Montana Medicaid program. 
 (4) (5)  All providers of mental health services must maintain records which 
fully demonstrate the extent, nature, and medical necessity of services provided to 
youth with SED.  These records must be retained for a period of at least six years 
and three months from the date of service in accordance with ARM 37.85.414.  The 
provisions of ARM 37.85.414 shall apply for purposes of provider record keeping 
and retention. 
 (5) (6)  The provider of non-Medicaid respite care services must ensure that 
its employees providing the services are: 
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 (a)  physically and mentally qualified to provide this service to the youth; 
 (b)  aware of emergency assistance systems and crisis plans; 
 (c)  knowledgeable of the physical and mental conditions of the youth; 
 (d)  knowledgeable of common the safety, risks, and proper administration or 
supervision of medications and related conditions of the youth requires; and  
 (e)  capable of administering basic first aid. 
 
AUTH:  53-2-201, 53-6-101, 53-6-113, MCA 
IMP:     53-2-201, 53-6-101, 53-6-111, MCA 
 
 4.  STATEMENT OF REASONABLE NECESSITY 
 
The Department of Public Health and Human Services (the department) is proposing 
amendments to ARM 37.87.2202, ARM 37.87.2205, and ARM 37.87.2225 pertaining 
to non-Medicaid respite care services. 
 
These rules guide non-Medicaid respite care services for youth with serious 
emotional disturbance.  The department proposes to amend the rules in order to 
stay within current budgetary constraints and to clarify the appropriate delivery of 
this service. The department also proposes language in order to bring the rules up to 
date and ensure correct and consistent references therein. 
 
ARM 37.87.2202 
The department proposes to add reference to the department's accepted definition 
of provider and to remove the reference to the definition of youth located in ARM 
37.87.102.  While many of the children's mental health programs are available to 
youth after the age of 17 who are enrolled in secondary education, respite services 
end when a youth becomes a legal adult. 
 
ARM 37.87.2205 
The department proposes to amend ARM 37.87.2205 to add language which 
specifies that this is non-Medicaid respite, to clarify language, and to add concurrent 
therapeutic family care (TFC) as an eligibility requirement.  The department's current 
budget is insufficient to meet the needs of those currently eligible to receive non-
Medicaid respite.  If access to those eligible is not limited, the department will have 
to close access to the program prior to the end of the state fiscal year.  The 
department reviewed current eligibility requirements to identify the areas of greatest 
need for non-Medicaid respite.  The department identified those youth currently 
receiving therapeutic family care as having the greatest need for respite services 
when compared to youth in less intensive outpatient therapeutic services.  In order 
to stay within the department's appropriations for non-Medicaid respite while still 
serving the youth with the highest need, the department proposes to provide non-
Medicaid respite services concurrently with therapeutic family care.  This will not 
affect the eligibility requirements to Medicaid-funded respite services available 
through the Children's Mental Health Bureau. 
 
ARM 37.87.2225 
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The proposed amendments to ARM 37.87.2225 will add child placing agencies as 
an additional provider type.  At this time only licensed mental health centers can 
provide non-Medicaid respite, however, child placing agencies provide TFC and in 
order to align the non-Medicaid respite services with TFC, all providers who provide 
TFC must also have the ability to provide non-Medicaid respite services.  This 
proposed rule amendment specifies that only employees of provider agencies may 
provide non-Medicaid respite services at this time.  The department is currently 
researching opportunities to provide self-directed non-Medicaid respite services; 
however, it is currently unavailable.  Further proposed amendments include 
correcting reference to record keeping requirements and updating language 
pertaining to administration and supervision of medications. 
 
 5.  Concerned persons may submit their data, views, or arguments either 
orally or in writing at the hearing.  Written data, views, or arguments may also be 
submitted to: Kenneth Mordan, Department of Public Health and Human Services, 
Office of Legal Affairs, P.O. Box 4210, Helena, Montana, 59604-4210; fax (406) 444-
9744; or e-mail dphhslegal@mt.gov, and must be received no later than 5:00 p.m., 
August 9, 2012. 
 

6.  The Office of Legal Affairs, Department of Public Health and Human 
Services, has been designated to preside over and conduct this hearing. 

 
7.  The department maintains a list of interested persons who wish to receive 

notices of rulemaking actions proposed by this agency.  Persons who wish to have 
their name added to the list shall make a written request that includes the name, e-
mail, and mailing address of the person to receive notices and specifies for which 
program the person wishes to receive notices.  Notices will be sent by e-mail unless 
a mailing preference is noted in the request.  Such written request may be mailed or 
delivered to the contact person in 5 above or may be made by completing a request 
form at any rules hearing held by the department. 

 
8.  An electronic copy of this proposal notice is available through the 

Secretary of State's web site at http://sos.mt.gov/ARM/Register.  The Secretary of 
State strives to make the electronic copy of the notice conform to the official version 
of the notice, as printed in the Montana Administrative Register, but advises all 
concerned persons that in the event of a discrepancy between the official printed 
text of the notice and the electronic version of the notice, only the official printed text 
will be considered.  In addition, although the Secretary of State works to keep its 
web site accessible at all times, concerned persons should be aware that the web 
site may be unavailable during some periods, due to system maintenance or 
technical problems. 
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9.  The bill sponsor contact requirements of 2-4-302, MCA, do not apply. 
 
/s/ John Koch    /s/ Anna Whiting Sorrell    
Rule Reviewer    Anna Whiting Sorrell, Director 
      Public Health and Human Services 

   
Certified to the Secretary of State July 2, 2012. 
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 BEFORE THE SECRETARY OF STATE 
 OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of 
ARM 44.6.111 and 44.6.112 
pertaining to Farm Bill Master List 
output and fees pertaining to the 
Business Services Division 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING ON 
PROPOSED AMENDMENT 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
1.  On August 2, 2012, a public hearing will be held at 9:30 a.m. in the 

Secretary of State's Office Conference Room, Room 260, State Capitol Building, 
Helena, Montana, to consider the proposed amendment of the above-stated rules. 
 
 2.  The Secretary of State will make reasonable accommodations for persons 
with disabilities who wish to participate in this public hearing or need an alternative 
accessible format of this notice.  If you require an accommodation, contact the 
Secretary of State no later than 5:00 p.m. on July 27, 2012, to advise us of the 
nature of the accommodation that you need.  Please contact Jorge Quintana, 
Secretary of State's Office, P.O. Box 202801, Helena, MT 59620-2801; telephone 
(406) 461-5173; fax (406) 444-4249; TDD/Montana Relay Service (406) 444-9068; 
or e-mail jquintana@mt.gov. 
  

3.  The rules as proposed to be amended provide as follows, new matter 
underlined, deleted matter interlined: 
 
 44.6.111  LIENS APPEARING ON THE FARM BILL MASTER LIST AND 
FEES FOR OBTAINING THE FARM BILL MASTER LIST  (1) remains the same. 

(2)  The secretary of state shall charge and collect for the following fees for 
providing the farm bill master list: 

(a)  on CD ROM online access, per month   $ 20.00 
(b) remains the same. 
(c)  on microfiche, per farm product category        5.00 

  
AUTH: 30-9A-526, MCA 
IMP: 30-9A-525, MCA 
 
REASON:  The Secretary of State is in the process of implementing a more robust 
online database that will allow the Farm Bill Master List to be made available online 
through a web-based application. The Farm Bill Master List will no longer be 
provided on CD-ROM or microfiche, thereby necessitating the amendment to the 
rule. The new online application will allow multiple persons within an organization to 
view the information from different desktops at the same time and the online lien 
information will be updated daily. This change addresses concerns expressed over 
the years from Montana buyers of farm products. The access fee to the Farm Bill 
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Master List remains the same as the fee for the CD-ROM, but buyers will receive a 
much better product.  
 

44.6.112  FARM BILL MASTER LIST  (1) remains the same. 
(2)  The farm bill master list is published: 
(a)  on the fifteenth 15th day of every month; or. 
(b)  on the preceding business day if the fifteenth falls on a weekend or 

holiday. 
(3)  The farm bill master list is distributed to registered buyers no later than 

the twentieth 20th of each month.  
 
AUTH: 30-9A-526, MCA 
IMP: 30-9A-302, MCA 
 
REASON:  The amendments to the days of the month references in (2)(a) and (3) 
are simply style and format changes. Subsection (2)(b) is deleted in its entirety 
because it will no longer be applicable when the new web-based database for the 
Business Services Division is implemented.    
 

4.  Concerned persons may submit their data, views, or arguments either 
orally or in writing at the hearing.  Written data, views, or arguments may also be 
submitted to: Jorge Quintana, Secretary of State's Office, P.O. Box 202801, Helena, 
Montana 59620-2801; telephone (406) 461-5173; fax (406) 444-4240; or e-mail 
jquintana@mt.gov, and must be received no later than 5:00 p.m., August 9, 2012. 
 

5.  Jorge Quintana, Secretary of State's Office, has been designated to 
preside over and conduct this hearing. 

 
6.  The Secretary of State maintains a list of interested persons who wish to 

receive notices of rulemaking actions proposed by this agency. Persons who wish to 
have their name added to the list shall make a written request that includes the 
name, e-mail, and mailing address of the person to receive notices and specifies for 
which program the person wishes to receive notices.  Notices will be sent by e-mail 
unless a mailing preference is noted in the request.  Such written request may be 
mailed or delivered to the contact person in 4 above or may be made by completing 
a request form at any rules hearing held by the Secretary of State. 
 

7.  An electronic copy of this proposal notice is available through the 
Secretary of State's web site at http://sos.mt.gov/ARM/Register.  The Secretary of 
State strives to make the electronic copy of the notice conform to the official version 
of the notice, as printed in the Montana Administrative Register, but advises all 
concerned persons that in the event of a discrepancy between the official printed 
text of the notice and the electronic version of the notice, only the official printed text 
will be considered.  In addition, although the Secretary of State works to keep its 
web site accessible at all times, concerned persons should be aware that the web 
site may be unavailable during some periods, due to system maintenance or 
technical problems. 
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8.  The bill sponsor contact requirements of 2-4-302, MCA, do not apply. 
 

 
/s/  JORGE QUINTANA   /s/  LINDA MCCULLOCH    
Jorge Quintana    Linda McCulloch 
Rule Reviewer    Secretary of State 

   
Dated this 2nd day of July, 2012. 
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 BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE 
 OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the adoption of New 
Rule I relating to the Eurasian 
Watermilfoil Management Area 

) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF ADOPTION  

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
1.  On April 26, 2012 the Department of Agriculture published MAR Notice 

No. 4-14-208 pertaining to the public hearing on the proposed adoption of the 
above-stated rule at page 802 of the 2012 Montana Administrative Register, Issue 
Number 8.  On May 24, 2012 the Department of Agriculture published MAR Notice 
No. 4-14-208 pertaining to the amended notice on proposed adoption and extension 
of comment period of the above-stated rule at page 1017 of the 2012 Montana 
Administrative Register, Issue Number 10. 

 
2.  The department has adopted the following rule as proposed, but with the 

following change to the catchphrase: 
 

 NEW RULE I  (4.12.3902)  UPPER AND LOWER MISSOURI RIVER 
EURASIAN WATERMILFOIL MANAGEMENT AREA 
 
 REASON:  Catchphrase was changed due to similar rule with same title.  
Additional language clarifies location of management area. 

 
 3.  No comments or testimony were received. 

 
 
/s/  Cort Jensen    /s/  Ron de Yong    
Cort Jensen     Ron de Yong 
Rule Reviewer    Director 
      Department of Agriculture 

 
Certified to the Secretary of State July 2, 2012. 
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BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF FISH, WILDLIFE AND PARKS 
OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 

 
In the matter of the adoption of NEW 
RULE I, II, and III regarding bodies of 
water identified as contaminated with 
Eurasian watermilfoil 

) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF ADOPTION 
 
 

 
 TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
 1. On April 26, 2012, the Department Fish, Wildlife and Parks 
(department) published MAR Notice No. 12-376 pertaining to the public hearings on 
the proposed adoption of the above-stated rules at page 811 of the 2012 Montana 
Administrative Register, Issue Number 8. 
 
 2. The department has adopted NEW RULE III [12.5.703] as proposed.   
 
 3. The department has adopted NEW RULE I [12.5.701] and NEW RULE 
II [12.5.702] as follows, stricken matter interlined, new matter underlined: 
 
 NEW RULE I [12.5.701]  IDENTIFIED CONTAMINATED BODIES OF 
WATER  (1) through (2)(c) remain as proposed. 
 (d)  Missouri River:  
 (i)  from Fort Peck Dam to the North Dakota border mouth of the Milk River; 
 (ii) and (e) remain as proposed.  
 
 AUTH:  80-7-1007, MCA 
     IMP:  80-7-1010, MCA 
 
 NEW RULE II [12.5.702]  BAIT RESTRICTIONS WITHIN IDENTIFIED 
CONTAMINATED BODIES OF WATER  (1) through (1)(c) remain as proposed. 
 (2)  Commercial bait fish seining is prohibited within any identified 
contaminated body of water listed in [NEW RULE I].  Upon departure of a 
contaminated body of water all vessels and equipment, including bait buckets, must 
be free of Eurasian watermilfoil. 
 
 AUTH:  80-7-1007, MCA 
     IMP:  80-7-1010, MCA 
 
 4. The department has thoroughly considered the comments and 
testimony received.  A summary of the comments received and the department's 
responses are as follows: 
 
Comment 1:  Five comments were received in support of the rule.  The comments 
acknowledged that the department took angler interests into consideration and that 
the proposed rules are reasonable and will help prevent the spread of Eurasian 
watermilfoil. 
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Response 1:  The department appreciates the support and interest in this 
rulemaking process. 
 
Comment 2:  Two comments were received questioning why the restrictions were 
different for commercial bait seiners than for those taking bait animals for personal 
use.  The belief was expressed that the risk associated with seines and traps used 
for taking minnows and other bait animals for personal use were just as likely, or 
more likely, to spread Eurasian watermilfoil than those used by commercial seiners.  
As such, the commenters were concerned that the rule did not address seines and 
traps as vectors for Eurasian watermilfoil in addition to contaminated water. 
 
Response 2:  The department appreciates the comments and agrees with the 
concerns over equipment used for seining and trapping.  In response to these 
comments the department has revised proposed NEW RULE II to not allow either 
the commercial seining or the taking of bait animals for personal use from any 
contaminated waters listed in NEW RULE I.  By removing the exception for taking of 
bait animals, the prohibitions of 80-7-1010, MCA apply which states that no bait 
animals can be taken from contaminated waters.  Additionally, the department 
added language to NEW RULE II to emphasize that all vessels and equipment must 
be free from Eurasian watermilfoil before leaving any contaminated waters. 
 
Comment 3:  One comment was received about the listing of the Missouri River from 
Fort Peck Dam to the North Dakota border as a contaminated body of water.  The 
commenter pointed out that Eurasian watermilfoil has not been detected in the 
Missouri River below Fort Peck Dam, and even though there was a chance that it 
could be there, it would most likely be in the Missouri River immediately below Fort 
Peck Dam.  It was stated that department biologists had spent extensive time on the 
Missouri River below Fort Peck Dam and had not found Eurasian watermilfoil in that 
stretch of river.  The commenter recommended that the listing be removed until 
Eurasian watermilfoil is confirmed in the Missouri River below Fort Peck Dam. 
 
Response 3:  The department appreciates the comment and acknowledges that at 
the current time no Eurasian watermilfoil has been confirmed in the Missouri River 
below Fort Peck Dam.  The department also acknowledges that the risk is greatest 
in the section of the river close to the dam where fragments coming through the 
turbines might take root.  Therefore, the department is revising NEW RULE I to read 
Missouri River from Fort Peck Dam to the mouth of the Milk River. 
 
/s/ Joe Maurier 
Joe Maurier, Director 
Department of Fish, Wildlife and Parks 

/s/ Rebecca Jakes Dockter 
Rebecca Jakes Dockter 
Rule Reviewer 

 
Certified to the Secretary of State July 2, 2012 
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BEFORE THE BOARD OF ENVIRONMENTAL REVIEW 
OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 

 
In the matter of the adoption of ARM 
17.24.1264 pertaining to the 
department's obligations regarding the 
applicant/violator system 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

CORRECTED NOTICE OF 
ADOPTION 

 
(STRIP AND UNDERGROUND 

MINE RECLAMATION ACT) 
 
 TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
 1.  On December 22, 2011, the Board of Environmental Review published 
MAR Notice No. 17-324 regarding a notice of public hearing on the proposed 
amendment, adoption, and repeal of the above-stated rule at page 2726, 2011 
Montana Administrative Register, issue number 24.  On April 12, 2012, the board 
published the notice of amendment, adoption, and repeal of the rules at page 737, 
2012 Montana Administrative Register, issue number 7. 
 
 2.  This corrected notice of amendment is being published to delete the word 
"of" from New Rule I(7) (numbered ARM 17.24.1264(7) in the adoption notice), 
which was inadvertently inserted in the original notice. 
 
 17.24.1264  THE DEPARTMENT'S OBLIGATIONS REGARDING THE 
APPLICANT/VIOLATOR SYSTEM  (1) through (6) remain as adopted. 
 (7)  Whenever a court of competent jurisdiction enters a judgment against a 
person under 82-4-254(4) or convicts a person of under 82-4-254(6) or (7), MCA, the 
department shall update the AVS. 
 
 3.  The replacement pages for this rule were submitted to the Secretary of 
State on June 30, 2012. 
 
Reviewed by:    BOARD OF ENVIRONMENTAL REVIEW 
 
 
 
/s/ John F. North     By: /s/ Joseph W. Russell    
JOHN F. NORTH    JOSEPH W. RUSSELL, M.P.H., 
Rule Reviewer    Chairman 
 
 Certified to the Secretary of State, July 2, 2012. 
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 BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
 OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of 
18.8.101, 18.8.207, 18.8.306, 
18.8.411, 18.8.412, 18.8.413, 
18.8.414, 18.8.415, 18.8.420, 
18.8.422, 18.8.426, 18.8.508, 
18.8.509, 18.8.510A, 18.8.510B, 
18.8.511A, 18.8.512, 18.8.517, 
18.8.518, 18.8.519, 18.8.602, 
18.8.604, 18.8.1501, 18.8.1502, 
18.8.1503, and 18.8.1505, pertaining 
to motor carrier services 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF AMENDMENT 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 

 1.  On April 26, 2012 the Department of Transportation published MAR Notice 
No. 18-135 pertaining to the proposed amendment of the above-stated rules at page 
819 of the 2012 Montana Administrative Register, Issue Number 8. 
 
 2.  The department has amended the following rules as proposed:  ARM 
18.8.101, 18.8.207, 18.8.306, 18.8.411, 18.8.412, 18.8.413, 18.8.414, 18.8.415, 
18.8.420, 18.8.422, 18.8.426, 18.8.509, 18.8.510A, 18.8.510B, 18.8.511A, 18.8.512, 
18.8.517, 18.8.518, 18.8.519, 18.8.602, 18.8.1501, 18.8.1502, 18.8.1503, and 
18.8.1505. 
 
 3.  The department has amended the following rule as proposed, but with the 
following changes from the original proposal, new matter underlined, deleted matter 
interlined: 
 
 18.8.604 VEHICLE WEIGHT ANALYSIS AND ROUTE ANALYSIS   
 (1) through (1)(d) remain as proposed. 
 (2)  Upon request, a route analysis shall be conducted by the department 
when necessary as a one-time-only approval, and issued as an annual approval, 
when submitted for a specific vehicle configuration, axle spacing, axle weights, gross 
weight, and route of travel to determine the conditions of travel for the movement of 
overweight vehicles or loads upon a specific route. 
 (a) and (b) remain as proposed. 
 
 AUTH:  61-10-155, MCA 
 IMP:  61-10-121, 61-10-125, MCA 
 
 4.  The department has amended the following rule to correct a deficiency in 
citation of authority, which was inadvertently omitted from the proposed rule notice, 
new matter underlined, deleted matter interlined: 
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 18.8.508  SELF-ISSUING PERMIT  (1) through (3) remain the same.  
(History:  This rule is advisory only but may be a correct interpretation of the law. 
IMPLIED, 61-10-121, 61-10-155, MCA;  
 
 AUTH:  61-10-155, MCA 
 IMP:  61-10-101, 61-10-102, 61-10-103, 61-10-104, 61-10-106, 61-10-107, 
61-10-108, 61-10-109, 61-10-110, 61-10-113, 61-10-121, 61-10-122, 61-10-123, 61-
10-124, 61-10-125, 61-10-126, 61-10-127, 61-10-128, 61-10-129, 61-10-130, 61-10-
141, 61-10-142, 61-10-143, 61-10-144, 61-10-145, 61-10-146, 61-10-147, 61-10-
148, MCA 
 
 REASON:  The proposed amendment is necessary to delete a reference to 
the advisory nature of the rule.  The department has full rulemaking authority under 
61-10-155, MCA, to adopt rules to implement Title 61, chapter 10, MCA, thus the 
rule is not adopted under "implied" rulemaking authority, and the "advisory" 
designation is not appropriate under 2-4-308, MCA.  This correction to the citation 
was inadvertently omitted from the proposed rule notice published as MAR Notice 
No. 18-135, but is being corrected on the adoption notice. 
 
 5.  The department has thoroughly considered the comments and testimony 
received.  A summary of the comments received and the department's responses 
are as follows: 
 
COMMENT #1:  One comment was received regarding ARM 18.8.101(3), definition 
of "commercial use."  The comment asked whether a passenger vehicle or pickup 
truck owned by a business would be considered a commercial vehicle in its 
everyday use or only if it is used as described under ARM 18.8.101(2) under the 
definition of "commercial motor vehicle." 
 
RESPONSE #1:  The department notes the definition of "commercial use" in (2) 
already states that a vehicle registered to a business and used in commerce would 
meet the definition of "commercial use."  However, the vehicle may or may not be 
required to follow commercial motor vehicle safety rules unless it also meets the 
definitions found in ARM 18.8.101(2) and 18.8.1501(2). 
 
COMMENT #2:  Two comments were received regarding ARM 18.8.510A on 
restrictions for flag vehicles.  The comments stated the rule should not use 14,000 
lbs. gvw, as that is too restrictive, and the rule should look at vehicles up to 26,000 
lbs. gvw with two axles and some size restrictions, or as approved by the 
department.  The comment stated in many cases if a "shop truck" could be used to 
flag a vehicle it would save fuel and valuable time and avoid a situation where a 
disabled vehicle may sit in a lane of traffic for hours until this type of vehicle can be 
called to help repair the vehicle.  The comments also stated it was understood a two-
ton designation for a single axle truck is no longer standard industry term, nor 
vehicle manufacturer's designation language, however, the comment understood the 
existing language to allow a vehicle with two axles to be allowed to be used as an 
escort vehicle.  The comment stated often times a service truck, which could be a 
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two-axle truck that could legally be licensed for more than 14,000 lbs., is used as an 
escort vehicle for larger oversize moves.  The comment was unsure if the proposed 
change to a 10,000 to 14,000 lb. gvw will limit the size of the vehicle.  The comment 
suggested the department continue to allow the use of a standard two-axle vehicle 
as an escort vehicle. 
 
RESPONSE #2:  The department notes that service trucks which exceed the 14,000 
lbs. gvw limit are not appropriate as flag vehicles in situations where flag vehicles 
are required.  The department further notes that 26,000 lbs. gvw vehicles, as 
suggested by the comment, are too big, such that the vehicle would become another 
truck operating on the highway.  The use of a 26,000 lb. gvw vehicle would affect 
additional rules, including required lighting on the truck for added visibility for the 
traveling public.  The department notes its proposed rule language on "10,000 lbs. to 
14,000 lbs." gvw follows the American Association of State Highway and 
Transportation Officials (AASHTO) recommendations, based on nationwide research 
which state: "the pilot vehicle shall not exceed a maximum gvw rating of 14,000 lbs."  
The department has also researched regulations in surrounding states to maintain 
consistency with flag vehicle requirements in other states such as WA (vehicle shall 
not exceed a maximum gvw rating of 14,000 lbs.), UT (gvw shall be a maximum of 
12,000 lbs.) and ND (pilot car vehicle must be a passenger vehicle or a two-axle 
truck only.)  
 
COMMENT #3:  One comment was received regarding ARM 18.8.517 and 18.8.518 
on special vehicle combinations.  The comment stated they agreed with the intent of 
the rules, as state permits are no longer a necessity as these drivers must be now 
certified to drive LCVs under federal regulations and to carry this permit in only one 
state is burdensome to many companies who do business in surrounding states and 
whose drivers may deliver in Montana. 
 
RESPONSE #3:  The department acknowledges receipt of the comment in support 
of the proposed rule changes. 
 
COMMENT #4:  Two comments were received regarding ARM 18.8.604 on vehicle 
weight analysis and route analysis.  The commenters stated they were concerned 
with language in (2) on "one-time only approval" as this language may be construed 
to prevent the return of the same load to origin without applying for and receiving a 
new analysis.  The commenters stated that many times these loads go from point A 
to point B and then may need to return to point A, therefore it should be clear that 
this can be done under the same permit and analysis as the original trip.  The 
commenters stated delays in this could be a considerable expense to many 
companies where time is of the essence.  The comments further stated that once a 
vehicle configuration is analyzed along with a given route segment, the analysis can 
be applied to additional permits for the same vehicle over the same route.  The 
commenters stated the proposed rule language could be interpreted to mean that 
each move may be subjected to a route analysis, even if such analysis has already 
been done for the same route and vehicle.  The commenters felt it was their 
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understanding that the department would allow the route analysis to be used in such 
a manner and suggested the language be clarified to remove any doubt. 
 
RESPONSE #4: The department agrees with the comment and will clarify the rule 
language as shown above, to replace the existing language "one-time-only" with 
"annual  approval" to reflect the actual practice. 
 
COMMENT #5:  One comment was received stating the rule should have increased 
the height on annual permits to 16 feet 11 inches. 
 
RESPONSE #5:  The department acknowledges receipt of this comment, however 
notes that no height change was proposed in this Proposed Rule Notice, therefore it 
cannot make this type of rule change with this adoption notice.  However, the 
department is evaluating this and may consider increasing the height on the annual 
permit with future proposed rule changes. 
 
COMMENT #6:  One comment was received stating tow truck drivers weren't given 
sufficient notification of the proposed rule changes, but would like to have input on 
rules governing the towing industry.  The comment stated tow truck drivers need 
more time to think about what changes they need and how to write them up to best 
serve the towing industry and the public. 
 
RESPONSE #6:  The department notes that no general towing rules were proposed 
for change with this Proposed Rule Notice.  Therefore, the department cannot now 
make any type of towing rule changes with this adoption notice.  Instead, the 
department will consider the towing industry comments received and based on the 
concerns raised, will initiate a review of towing rules for a future proposed rule 
amendment notice.  All interested parties will continue to be given ample opportunity 
for public comment on any future proposed rule changes. 
 
COMMENT #7:  One comment was received regarding ARM 18.8.519 on wreckers 
or tow vehicle requirements.  The comment suggested language in (1)(b) regarding 
separation of combination vehicles if creating a threat to life or property. 
 
RESPONSE #7:  See response to Comment #6 above. 
 
COMMENT #8:  One comment was received regarding ARM 18.8.519 on wreckers 
or tow vehicle requirements.  The comment suggested language in (1)(c) on special 
combination and nondevisable loads and point of disablement. 
 
RESPONSE #8: See response to Comment #6 above. 
 
COMMENT #9:  One comment was received regarding ARM 18.8.519 on wreckers 
or tow vehicle requirements.  The comment suggested language on a new 
subsection regarding exemptions for tow truck operation for restricted hours and 
weather conditions, and towing from either the front or rear of a motor vehicle. 
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RESPONSE #9:  See response to Comment #6 above. 
 
 
 
 
/s/ Carol Grell Morris   /s/ Timothy W. Reardon   
Carol Grell Morris    Timothy W. Reardon 
Rule Reviewer    Director 
      Department of Transportation 
 

   
Certified to the Secretary of State July 2, 2012. 
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 BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 
 OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of 
ARM 23.4.201, 23.4.212, 23.4.213, 
23.4.214, 23.4.215, 23.4.216, 23.4.217, 
23.4.218, 23.4.219, 23.4.220, and 
23.4.225, pertaining to drug and 
alcohol analyses 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF AMENDMENT  

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 

 
1.  On April 12, 2012 the Department of Justice published MAR Notice No. 

23-4-228 pertaining to the public hearing on the proposed amendment of the above-
stated rules at page 681 of the 2012 Montana Administrative Register, Issue 
Number 7. 

 
2.  A public hearing was held on May 4, 2012.   
 
3.  The department has amended the above-stated rules as proposed. 
 
4.  The department has thoroughly considered the comments and testimony 

received.  A summary of the comments received and the department's responses 
are as follows: 
 
 Comment #1:  Concern that the proposed rules no longer require a 
"competency" test for certification of breath test specialists and that the rules will 
thereby prevent or at least inhibit challenges to the "competency" of breath-test 
specialists by the defense.    
 
 Response #1:  The proposed rule amendments provide the same continuing 
requirement that in order to be initially certified, all prospective breath-test specialists 
must first complete an extensive 40-hour training course and then pass a final 
examination at the end of the training course.  Once initially certified, the breath-test 
specialists must then possess a current permit at the time the subject breath test is 
administered.   
 The amendments do not inhibit challenges to breath tests.  The requirements 
of initial certification and to maintain a valid, current permit remain the same.  At trial, 
the state must still meet the same foundational requirements, which may include 
cross examination by the defense on competency and training of the breath-test 
specialist, before results of a breath test may be admitted into evidence.  The rules 
are simply clarified to comply with the intent of the division regarding permit renewal.  
Further, a breath test is typically only one portion of other competent evidence 
obtained by law enforcement officers throughout the entire investigation of the 
offense.     
 The increased technical sophistication of the new Intoxylizer 8000, which the 
state of Montana currently uses, requires a simple procedure to operate, comparable 
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to starting a car.  Consequently, there is no need to retrain a breath-test specialist 
every year.  What is important, however, is that a breath-test specialist remain 
current concerning the legal and technical updates for a subject breath test, as 
provided for by the proposed rules.   
 Finally, the rules do not (and cannot) change the statutory requirement that at 
the time of the actual breath test, the subject of the breath test must be provided the 
opportunity to obtain an independent blood test by a medical professional.   
 
 Comment # 2:  Request that all monthly calibration tests and any repair 
requirements for the "machines" be made public information. 
 
 Response # 2:   The proposed rule amendments do not address whether the 
calibration tests are public, and thus this comment is beyond the scope of this rule 
change. 
 
 
/s/ J. Stuart Segrest    /s/  Steve Bullock     
J. Stuart Segrest    Steve Bullock 
Rule Reviewer    Attorney General 
      Department of Justice 
 
Certified to the Secretary of State July 2, 2012. 
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 BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the adoption of NEW 
RULES I through VI pertaining to stay 
at work/return to work for workers' 
compensation 

) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF ADOPTION 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
1.  On April 26, 2012, the Department of Labor and Industry published MAR 

Notice No. 24-29-266 pertaining to the public hearing on the proposed adoption of 
the above-stated rules at page 836 of the 2012 Montana Administrative Register, 
Issue Number 8. 

 
2.  The department has adopted the following rules as proposed: 
 
NEW RULE III (24.29.1811) DUTIES OF THE DEPARTMENT 
 
NEW RULE IV (24.29.1815) PAYMENT SCHEDULE FOR DEPARTMENT-

PROVIDED SAW/RTW ASSISTANCE 
 
NEW RULE V (24.29.1821) VOCATIONAL REHABILITATION COUNSELOR 

POOL FOR DEPARTMENT-PROVIDED SAW/RTW ASSISTANCE 
 
NEW RULE VI (24.29.1803) APPLICABILITY 
 
3.  The department has adopted the following rules as proposed, but with the 

following changes from the original proposal, new matter underlined, deleted matter 
interlined: 

 
NEW RULE I (24.29.1801) DEFINITIONS  As used in this subchapter, the 

following definitions apply: 
(1)  remains as proposed. 
(2)  "Injured worker" means an individual who has filed a claim for a workers' 

compensation injury or occupational disease and who does not meet the definition of 
a disabled worker. The term "injured worker" includes an individual who meets the 
definition of a disabled worker. 

(3)  through (10) remain as proposed. 
 

AUTH: 39-71-203, 39-71-1051, MCA 
IMP: 39-71-105, 39-71-116, 39-71-1011, 39-71-1036, MCA 
 

NEW RULE II (24.29.1807) RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE INSURER 
(1)  remains as proposed. 
(2)  The insurer shall designate a single point of contact with authority to 

coordinate all department requests for SAW/RTW assistance for injured workers and 
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shall provide the department with written notice of the contact person's name or 
position title, telephone number, e-mail address, and mailing address.  When contact 
information changes, the insurer shall update the department a minimum of ten 
business days in advance of the change. 

(3)  remains as proposed. 
(4)  When a request for SAW/RTW assistance is made directly to the insurer 

and the insurer declines to provide SAW/RTW assistance or denies liability for an 
injured worker's claim, the insurer shall notify the injured worker and the department 
in writing within three business days of a request for assistance. 

(5)  After the department has initiated SAW/RTW assistance to an injured 
worker, the insurer shall notify the department in writing within three business days 
of the insurer's acceptance or denial of liability for an injured worker's claim. 

(6)  through (8) remain as proposed. 
 
AUTH: 39-71-203, 39-71-1051, MCA 
IMP: 39-71-105, 39-71-1011, 39-71-1031, 39-71-1041, 39-71-1042, 39-71-1043, 
39-71-1049, MCA 
 

4.  The department has thoroughly considered the comments and testimony 
received.  A summary of the comments received and the department's responses 
are as follows: 
 
COMMENT #1:  One commenter suggested that the inclusion of "disabled worker" in 
the proposed definition for "injured worker" in New Rule I be eliminated because an 
"injured worker" only qualifies for SAW/RTW assistance pursuant to 39-71-1011(9), 
MCA, prior to the worker being determined as a "disabled worker," which must be 
established by objective medical findings, pursuant to 39-71-1011(3), MCA. 
 
RESPONSE #1:  The department concurs and has amended New Rule I to clarify 
that an injured worker who qualifies for SAW/RTW assistance had not been 
designated a "disable worker," pursuant to 39-71-1011(3), MCA. 
 
COMMENT #2:  Two commenters suggested that New Rule II be amended to clarify 
the process for notification to the department when the insurer is the first point of 
contact when SAW/RTW assistance is requested.  The proposed language 
separates the insurer's decision to provide SAW/RTW assistance from the 
acceptance or denial of the claim.  Claim acceptance or denial might not occur within 
three business days of the request for assistance. 
 
RESPONSE #2:  The department concurs with this comment, and has amended 
New Rule II accordingly. 
 
COMMENT #3:  A commenter questioned whether the requirement in New Rule II 
that an insurer designate a single point of contact to coordinate the provision of 
SAW/RTW assistance requires the insurer to designate an individual person for this 
purpose.  
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RESPONSE #3:  The department requires a single point of contact to coordinate 
requests for SAW/RTW Assistance.  The department has amended New Rule II to 
allow an insurer to identify the point of contact by either a named person or position 
title.  The insurer must provide the department with the name or position title, 
telephone number, e-mail address, and mailing address of the single point of contact 
for the insurer.  Additionally, the insurer must update the department a minimum of 
ten days in advance of any point of contact change. 
 
COMMENT #4:  A commenter stated that it was not clear what is the purpose is 
served with the requirement in New Rule II (5) that the insurer provide three-day 
notification to the department. 
 
RESPONSE #4:  The three-day notification to the department is a statutory 
requirement.  If the insurer does not timely notify the department that it is acting to 
provide SAW/RTW assistance, the department is required to obtain SAW/RTW 
assistance for the worker. 
 
 
 
/s/  MARK CADWALLADER  /s/  KEITH KELLY    
Mark Cadwallader    Keith Kelly 
Alternate Rule Reviewer   Commissioner 
      Montana Department of Labor and Industry 

  
Certified to the Secretary of State July 2, 2012 
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 BEFORE THE ALTERNATIVE HEALTH CARE BOARD 
 DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of 
ARM 24.111.409 inactive status, 
24.111.511 naturopathic physician 
natural substance formulary list, 
24.111.602 direct-entry midwife 
apprenticeship requirements, 
24.111.2102 naturopathic physician 
continuing education requirements, 
and 24.111.2103 midwives continuing 
education requirements 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF AMENDMENT 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
 1.  On February 23, 2012, the Alternative Health Care Board (board) 
published MAR notice no. 24-111-24 regarding the public hearing on the proposed 
amendment of the above-stated rules, at page 345 of the 2012 Montana 
Administrative Register, issue no. 4. 
 
 2.  On March 15, 2012, a public hearing was held on the proposed 
amendment of the above-stated rules in Helena.  Several comments were received 
by the March 23, 2012, deadline. 
 
 3.  The board has thoroughly considered the comments received.  A summary 
of the comments received and the board's responses are as follows: 
 
COMMENT 1:  One commenter stated that the amendments to ARM 24.111.602, to 
require Level II apprentices have five of ten births supervised by a licensed direct-
entry midwife, and Level III apprentices have eight of 15 continuous care births 
supervised by a Montana-licensed direct-entry midwife, will decrease women's 
choices for alternative medical care. 
 
RESPONSE 1:  The board notes that apprentices are not primary care providers and 
the amendments to ARM 24.111.602 set a minimal standard for apprentices to 
ensure appropriate supervision by a licensed direct-entry midwife for the safety of 
women seeking alternative medical care.  The board also concludes that the 
purpose of the board is to regulate and ensure the qualified and professional 
practice of direct-entry midwifery, and the amendments to this rule advance the 
board's purpose. 
 
COMMENT 2:  Two commenters suggested that the amendments to ARM 
24.111.602 would delay the licensure of direct-entry midwives. 
 



 
 
 

 
13-7/12/12 Montana Administrative Register 

-1361-

RESPONSE 2:  The board responds that the amendments to ARM 24.111.602 will 
not impose an unreasonable delay in licensure.  Applicants have five years within 
which to complete the apprenticeship requirements, and these amendments will 
ensure that apprentices obtain sufficient experience and training in the home birth 
setting.  These requirements will also enable the apprentices to understand Montana 
statutes and rules under appropriate supervision. 
 
COMMENT 3:  Three commenters stated that the amendments to ARM 24.111.602 
are disadvantageous to apprentices in rural areas of the state where there are few 
supervising midwives, and will necessitate traveling long distances to obtain the 
required supervision. 
 
RESPONSE 3:  The board concludes that the amendments to ARM 24.111.602 will 
not place an undue hardship on apprentices.  Only Levels II and III are to be affected 
by the amendments, which set minimum standards for public safety.  While travel 
may be necessary to obtain the required supervision, the board notes that other 
licensed professions must obtain training out-of-state. 
 
COMMENT 4:  One commenter suggested that alternatives to amending ARM 
24.111.602 include board acceptance of Midwifery Education Accreditation Council 
(MEAC)-approved institutions, preapproval by the board of North American Registry 
of Midwives (NARM) accepted preceptors, and online classes or in-person 
workshops that would allow the board to focus on improving and encouraging 
midwifery in Montana. 
 
RESPONSE 4:  The board notes the role of the board is not to promote or 
encourage midwifery in Montana, but rather, to regulate midwifery and ensure public 
safety.  Furthermore, Montana licensing requirements are more stringent than 
MEAC requirements.  Any changes to Montana's licensing qualifications would 
require legislative enactment and cannot be accomplished through rulemaking. 
 
COMMENT 5:  One commenter stated that the amendment to ARM 24.111.602 to 
require board approval to proceed to the next level of apprenticeship, would delay 
the approval process up to six months. 
 
RESPONSE 5:  The board notes that this objection has been addressed through 
board processes.  The board responds to requests to proceed to the next level of 
apprenticeship in a timely manner, and there are no unreasonable delays in current 
review of such requests. 
 
COMMENT 6:  One commenter, who is currently a Level III apprentice, objected to 
the proposed amendment to ARM 24.111.602, because some of her births, which 
were not supervised by a licensed direct-entry midwife, would be invalidated. 
 
RESPONSE 6:  The board agrees that current Level II or Level III apprentices would 
have difficulty complying with the proposed supervision requirements.  The board is 
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amending ARM 24.111.602 to exempt Level II and Level III apprentices licensed on 
or before April 13, 2012, from the new supervision requirements. 
 
 4.  The board has amended ARM 24.111.409, 24.111.511, 24.111.2102, and 
24.111.2103 exactly as proposed. 
 
 5.  The board has amended ARM 24.111.602 with the following changes, 
stricken matter interlined, new matter underlined: 
 
 24.111.602  DIRECT-ENTRY MIDWIFE APPRENTICESHIP 
REQUIREMENTS  (1) through (10) remain as proposed. 
 (11)  The supervision requirements set forth in (5)(a), (6)(a), and (8) shall not 
apply to licensees who were licensed as Level II and Level III apprentices on or 
before April 13, 2012. 
 
 6.  The board has requested an amendment be made in the header due to a 
typographical error that was published in a previous notice for ARM 24.111.511.  
The following change is listed below with stricken matter interlined, new matter 
underlined: 
 

In the matter of the amendment of ARM 24.111.409 inactive status, 
24.111.511 naturopathic physician national natural substance formulary list, 
24.111.602 direct-entry midwife apprenticeship requirements, 24.111.2102 
naturopathic physician continuing education requirements, and 24.111.2103 
midwives continuing education requirements 
 
 
 ALTERNATIVE HEALTH CARE BOARD 
 MAGGI BEESON, ND, CHAIRPERSON 
 
 
/s/ DARCEE L. MOE /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Darcee L. Moe Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Alternate Rule Reviewer DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 
 Certified to the Secretary of State July 2, 2012 
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 BEFORE THE BOARD OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTANTS 
 DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of 
ARM 24.201.501 education 
requirements, 24.201.528 out-of-state 
applicants, 24.201.537 retired status, 
24.201.1108 profession monitoring, 
24.201.2106, 24.201.2108, 
24.201.2114, 24.201.2120, 
24.201.2121, and 24.201.2124, 
24.201.2136, 24.201.2137, 
24.201.2138, and 24.201.2139, 
24.201.2145, 24.201.2148, and 
24.201.2154 renewal and continuing 
education, and the repeal of ARM 
24.201.2105 advisory committee, 
24.201.2146 continuing education 
reporting for permit to practice, and 
24.201.2161 reinstatement 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF AMENDMENT AND 
REPEAL 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
 1.  On March 22, 2012, the Board of Public Accountants (board) published 
MAR notice no. 24-201-45 regarding the public hearing on the proposed amendment 
and repeal of the above-stated rules, at page 543 of the 2012 Montana 
Administrative Register, issue no. 6. 
 
 2.  On April 16, 2012, a public hearing was held on the proposed amendment 
and repeal of the above-stated rules in Helena.  Several comments were received by 
the April 24, 2012, deadline. 
 
 3.  The board has thoroughly considered the comments received.  A summary 
of the comments received and the board's responses are as follows: 
 
COMMENT 1:  One commenter challenged the timing of the board's rulemaking 
notice during the busy tax season. 
 
RESPONSE 1:  The board appreciates all comments made during the rulemaking 
process. 
 
COMMENT 2:  One commenter supported all aspects of the proposed rule changes. 
 
RESPONSE 2:  The board appreciates all comments made during the rulemaking 
process. 
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ARM 24.201.501  Education Requirements 
 
COMMENT 3:  One commenter stated that removing the language on upper division 
courses from (3)(a) may unintentionally allow an individual who might be changing 
careers to take all of the required 24 credits in a college of technology or other two-
year institution, thus reducing upper level courses to courses that are merely above 
the introductory level.  The commenter suggested language for the board to further 
amend the rule and clarify that this is not acceptable. 
 The commenter questioned the change in (3)(b) from "business-related" 
courses to "nonaccounting general business" courses, arguing that economic and 
ethics might not qualify after this change. 
 The commenter also opposed the deletion of (4)(a)(i) regarding an accounting 
concentration or equivalent, and suggested the board use "with a major, option, 
certificate, or comprehensive concentration in accounting as evidenced by a 
cohesive group of coursework in accounting." 
 
RESPONSE 3:  After careful consideration of the comments, the board agrees that 
the suggested language for (3)(a) adds clarity to the educational requirements.  The 
board is therefore amending (3)(a) to specify that at least 24 semester hours (36 
quarter hours) of accounting courses must be taken from a four-year institution and 
above the introductory level. 
 The board carefully considered the comments regarding (3)(b) and (4)(a)(i), 
but is amending these subsections exactly as proposed. 
 
ARM 24.201.1108  Alternatives and Exemptions 
 
COMMENT 4:  One commenter addressed the board's proposed peer review 
regulations and asked that the board consider alternatives to having a firm that 
receives a peer review report with a rating of "fail" to participate in the Profession 
Monitoring Program (PMP).  The commenter explained the process by which 
corrective action is taken under the American Institute of CPA's (AICPA) standards 
and why participation in the PMP would not be necessary.  The commenter also 
suggested that practice units be required to participate in the "facilitated state board 
access (FSBA) process," a web site that allows board access to submitted materials 
within a proposed timeframe.  The commenter provided extensive draft language for 
the board's review and consideration. 
 
RESPONSE 4:  After consideration of the commenter's suggested language, the 
board concluded that a practice unit that receives a peer review report with a rating 
of "fail" should fall under the PMP.  The board determined that such a practice unit 
would benefit from enrollment in PMP, even if the commenter considers it a 
duplication of review, and that it is necessary to protect the Montana public.  The 
board is amending this rule exactly as proposed. 
 
ARM 24.201.2106  Basic Requirement 
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COMMENT 5:  Five commenters opposed the elimination of carry-forward and carry-
back provisions for continuing education, arguing that the timing of income tax 
updates usually occurs in November and December, and needs to be carried over to 
January and February.  Additionally, carry-forward and carry-back provides flexibility 
for "life events." 
 One commenter suggested that changing to a calendar year from the June 30 
reporting date would cause some licensees to be noncompliant and they would need 
the carry-forward and carry-back provisions in order to remain compliant, until they 
get used to the new reporting period.  One commenter supported mid-year reporting, 
because it is not burdensome for accountants to keep track of their continuing 
education on a non-calendar schedule.  This commenter suggested that a 2012 
effective date was retroactive and that a 2013 effective date would be more 
equitable. 
 
RESPONSE 5:  The board carefully considered the comments opposing the 
elimination of carry-forward and carry-back and regarding the 2012 effective date.  
The board notes that, in fact, an extra six months is being added to the rolling three-
year period by having the fiscal year date advance to the end of the calendar year.  
The board considers this additional time to be sufficient for licensees to acquaint 
themselves with the amendment and to comply. 
 Additionally, the board concluded that carry-back and carry-forward would 
require additional audits of continuing education to ensure that licensees were not 
using courses taken in one calendar year to satisfy the next or previous calendar 
year.  The department does not have the ability to track the carry-back and carry-
forward courses without time-consuming and labor-intensive manual audits.  The 
board is amending this rule exactly as proposed. 
 
ARM 24.201.2138  Credit for Service as a Lecturer, Instructor, Speaker, or Report 
Reviewer 
 
COMMENT 6:  One commenter supported the proposed changes to the CPE rules, 
including the reporting of and compliance with the rules, and the elimination of carry-
forward and carry-back provisions, but took exception to the calculation of credit for 
serving as an instructor of accounting courses.  The commenter noted that tax and 
accounting laws, auditing standards and technologies, etc., change and require 
continuous updating of course materials.  The commenter suggested language to 
allow credit for preparing or updating a course every three years. 
 
RESPONSE 6:  The board carefully considered the commenter's suggested 
language and agreed that the intent of the suggested language was appropriate.  
The board is amending the rule as suggested, with minor clarification regarding the 
rolling three-year period. 
 
 4.  The board has amended ARM 24.201.528, 24.201.537, 24.201.1108, 
24.201.2106, 24.201.2108, 24.201.2114, 24.201.2120, 24.201.2121, 24.201.2124, 
24.201.2136, 24.201.2137, 24.201.2139, 24.201.2145, 24.201.2148, and 
24.201.2154 exactly as proposed. 
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 5.  The board has repealed ARM 24.201.2105, 24.201.2146, and 
24.201.2161 exactly as proposed. 
 
 6.  The board has amended ARM 24.201.501 and 24.201.2138 with the 
following changes, stricken matter interlined, new matter underlined: 
 
 24.201.501  EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS  (1) through (3) remain as 
proposed. 
 (a)  at least 24 semester hours (36 quarter hours) of accounting courses 
taken from a four-year institution and above the introductory level, to include one 
course in each of the following: 
 (a)(i) through (9) remain as proposed. 
 
 24.201.2138  CREDIT FOR SERVICE AS LECTURER, INSTRUCTOR, 
SPEAKER, OR REPORT REVIEWER  (1)  Lecturers, instructors, and speakers may 
claim continuing education credit for both preparation and presentation time to the 
extent the activities maintain or increase their professional competence and qualify 
for continuing education credit for participants.  Credit may be claimed for actual 
preparation time up to two times the class credit hours for the first time the class is 
presented once in any rolling three-year period.  The maximum credit for such 
preparation and teaching shall not exceed 50 percent (or 60 hours) of the basic 
requirement in any rolling three-year period. 
 (2) remains as proposed. 
 
 
 
 BOARD OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTANTS 
 JACK MEYER, CPA, CHAIRPERSON 
 
 
/s/ DARCEE L. MOE /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Darcee L. Moe Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Alternate Rule Reviewer DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 
 Certified to the Secretary of State July 2, 2012 
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 BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC 
 HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES OF THE 
 STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of 
ARM 37.86.1101, 37.86.1102, 
37.86.1105, and 37.86.1106 
pertaining to Medicaid pharmacy 
reimbursement 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

CORRECTED NOTICE OF 
AMENDMENT 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
1.  On September 8, 2011 the Department of Public Health and Human 

Services published MAR Notice No. 37-557 pertaining to the proposed amendment 
of the above-stated rules at page 1805 of the 2011 Montana Administrative Register, 
Issue Number 17.  On November 10, 2011 the department published the notice of 
amendment at page 2416 of the 2011 Montana Administrative Register, Issue 
Number 21. 

 
2.  A typographical error was recently found in ARM 37.86.1105(4)(i).  The 

department's ARM title number was typed as "27" and it should be "37."  The rule, 
as amended in corrected form, reads as follows, deleted matter interlined, new 
matter underlined: 
 
 37.86.1105  OUTPATIENT DRUGS, REIMBURSEMENT  (1) through (4)(h) 
remain as adopted. 
 (i)  The department may reimburse for compounded nonrebatable API bulk 
powders and excipients on the department's drug formulary maintained in 
accordance with ARM 2737.86.1102. 
 (5) through (7) remain as adopted. 
 
AUTH:  53-2-201, 53-6-113, MCA 
IMP:    53-2-201, 53-6-101, 53-6-113, MCA 
 

3.  The replacement pages for this corrected notice were submitted to the 
Secretary of State on June 30, 2012. 

 
 
 

/s/ John Koch    /s/ Anna Whiting Sorrell    
Rule Reviewer    Anna Whiting Sorrell, Director 
      Public Health and Human Services 
 

Certified to the Secretary of State July 2, 2012. 
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 BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC 
 HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES OF THE 
 STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of 
ARM 37.95.102, 37.95.128, 
37.95.132, 37.95.184, 37.95.623, 
37.95.702, 37.95.1001, 37.95.1002, 
37.95.1003, 37.95.1004, 37.95.1005, 
37.95.1011, 37.95.1015, 37.95.1016, 
and 37.95.1021 pertaining to infant 
care 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF AMENDMENT 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
1.  On March 22, 2012, the Department of Public Health and Human Services 

published MAR Notice No. 37-577 pertaining to the public hearing on the proposed 
amendment of the above-stated rules at page 600 of the 2012 Montana 
Administrative Register, Issue Number 6. 

 
2.  The department has amended ARM 37.95.132, 37.95.184, 37.95.623, 

37.95.702, 37.95.1001, 37.95.1004, and 37.95.1021 as proposed. 
 

3.  The department has amended the following rules as proposed, but with 
the following changes from the original proposal, new matter underlined, deleted 
matter interlined: 

 
 37.95.102  DEFINITIONS  (1) through (12) remain as proposed. 
 (13)  "Group day care home" means a private residence or other structure in 
which day care is provided to seven to 12 children on a regular basis.  In addition to 
the previous definitional language found at 52-2-703, MCA, the term also means a 
day care facility providing care to seven to 12 children with no more than six children 
under two years of age, unless care is provided for infants only exclusively for 
children under age two.  For facilities providing care only for infants exclusively for 
children under age two, group day care home means a place in which supplemental 
parental care is provided for up to eight infants children under age two.  No other 
children shall be in attendance. 
 (a) through (44) remain as proposed. 
 (45)  "Safe sleep environment" means an environment where an infant is 
placed in a safety-approved crib with a firm mattress and a firmly fitted sheet or a 
safety-approved play yard for all naps.  For children one year of age or over, a nap 
mat may be used as long as compliance with ARM 37.95.1005 is met.  The infant 
must be placed on their back and only a light-weight blanket is allowed with the 
infant.  The infant should be dressed in safe garments and provided a smoke-free 
environment. 
 (45) through (52) remain as proposed but are renumbered (46) through (53). 
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AUTH:  52-2-704, 53-4-212, 53-4-503, MCA 
IMP:     52-2-702, 52-2-703, 52-2-704, 52-2-713, 52-2-723, 52-2-725, 52-2-731, 52-
2-735, 52-2-736, 53-2-201, 53-4-212, 53-4-601, 53-4-611, 53-4-612, MCA 
 
 37.95.128  DOCUMENTATION OF THE ABSENCE OF UNUSUAL HEALTH 
RISKS FOR CHILDREN UNDER AGE TWO  (1)  A day care facility must have on 
file a health record form, provided by the department, concerning any special health 
risks that would affect other children.  This must be obtained and kept on file by the 
provider prior to residence or enrollment of the infant in the any child under age two 
at the day care facility.  The health record form must be signed by: 
 (a) through (d) remain as proposed. 
 
AUTH:  52-2-704, MCA 
IMP:     52-2-731, MCA 

 
 37.95.1002  INFANT'S AND TODDLER'S WET OR SOILED CLOTHING  
 (1)  Wet or soiled clothing shall be changed promptly.  Spare clothing shall be 
available in the event that a child's clothing becomes wet or soiled and it is the 
responsibility of the parent or guardian to care for the wet or soiled clothing.  The 
clothing shall be placed in a sealed bag and returned to the parent or guardian. 
 
AUTH:  52-2-704, MCA 
IMP:     52-2-731, MCA 

 
 37.95.1003  INFANT'S AND TODDLER'S FEEDING  (1) and (2) remain as 
proposed. 
 (3)  Bottles shall not be propped.  Infants too young to sit in high chairs shall 
be held in a semi-sitting position for all bottle feedings.  
 (a)  remains as proposed. 
 (b)  Older infants and toddlers shall be provided age-appropriate feeding 
equipment when being fed must be fed in safe high chairs or at baby feeding tables.  
This includes safe high chairs, baby feeding tables, booster seats, and child-size 
tables and chairs.  Use of these types of equipment must be used in accordance 
with the manufacturer's instructions and must be appropriate for the age of the child 
using the equipment. 
 (c) through (6) remain as proposed. 
 
AUTH:  52-2-704, MCA 
IMP:     52-2-731, MCA 

 
 37.95.1005  INFANT'S AND TODDLER'S, SLEEPING  (1) remains as 
proposed. 
 (2)  Unless the parent has provided medical documentation from a health 
care provider ordering otherwise, children under age two infants shall be placed on 
their back and on a firm surface to reduce the risk of Sudden Infant Death Syndrome 
(SIDS). 
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 (3)  Each infant shall be provided with a crib or play pen for sleeping.  At the 
discretion of the parent and provider, a toddler may be allowed to sleep on a cot or 
mat a cot or mat may be used once a child turns one year of age as long as a safe 
sleep environment is provided.  Children one year of age through 18 months who 
are placed on a mat must have a signed permission statement in the file indicating 
that the parent has given permission for their child to be placed on a mat.  In 
addition, a caregiver must remain with the child while they are sleeping. 
 (a) through (9) remain as proposed. 
 (10)  The licensee or registrant of facilities licensed/registered after the 
enactment of these rules must receive training in an approved safe sleep curriculum 
before being granted approval for children under age two.  The provider and any Any 
caregiver who provides care to children under age two must receive training in an 
approved safe sleep curriculum within 60 days of hire before providing care to 
children under two.  Caregivers who have not received the safe sleep training shall 
be supervised by an individual who has successfully completed the approved safe 
sleep curriculum in order for the caregiver to provide care to children under age two.  
Facilities licensed or registered before the effective date of these rules will have until 
July 31, 2013 to complete this training. 
 (11)  Providers must develop a written policy that describes the practices to 
be used to promote a safe sleep environment when children under age two are 
napping or sleeping. 
 (12) remains as proposed. 
 
AUTH:  52-2-704, MCA 
IMP:     52-2-731, MCA 

 
 37.95.1011  INFANT'S AND TODDLER'S, ACTIVITIES  (1) remains as 
proposed. 
 (2)  An infant or toddler who is awake shall not spend more than 30 minutes 
of consecutive time confined in a crib, playpen, jump chair, walker, or highchair. 
 (3) through (5) remain as proposed. 
 
AUTH:  52-2-704, MCA 
IMP:     52-2-731, MCA 

 
 37.95.1015  INFANT'S AND TODDLER'S, OUTDOOR ACTIVITIES   
 (1) remains as proposed. 
 (2)  There must be an outdoor play area on the facility property.  The play 
area must be fenced in accordance with ARM 37.95.121 and free of hazards which 
are dangerous to the health and life safety of the children.  Every time an infant or 
toddler is outdoors, they must be supervised by a caregiver. 
 (3) and (4) remain as proposed. 
 
AUTH:  52-2-704, MCA 
IMP:     52-2-731, 52-2-736, MCA 
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 37.95.1016  INFANT'S AND TODDLER'S, EQUIPMENT  (1)  Feeding tables 
equipped with a harness or highchairs with a broad base and a harness for securing 
the infant or toddler, Age-appropriate feeding equipment shall be provided for every 
four infants or toddlers.  This includes safe high chairs, baby feeding tables, booster 
seats, and child-size tables and chairs.  These types of equipment must be used in 
accordance with the manufacturer's instructions and must be appropriate for the age 
of the child using the equipment.  Portable high chairs that hook onto tables are 
prohibited. 
 (2) remains as proposed. 
 
AUTH:  52-2-704, MCA 
IMP:     52-2-731, MCA 

 
4.  The department has thoroughly considered the comments and testimony 

received.  A summary of the comments received and the department's responses 
are as follows: 
 
COMMENT #1:  A commenter suggested that the term "breast milk" should be 
placed in front of "formula" in ARM 37.95.1003. 
 
RESPONSE #1:  The comment is outside the scope of the proposed changes but 
the department will consider for future rule changes. 
 
COMMENT #2:  A commenter made recommendations to the general meal patterns 
for infants under the nutrition section. 
 
RESPONSE #2:  The comment is outside the scope of the proposed changes but 
the department will consider for future rule changes. 
 
COMMENT #3:  A commenter asked "why not a 6:1 ratio for toddlers?  The ratio 
would fall between infants and preschoolers and clearly establish toddlers as a 
unique group with unique needs." 
 
RESPONSE #3:  The comment is outside the scope of the proposed changes but 
the department will consider for future rule changes. 
 
COMMENT #4:  One commenter requested clarification about when staff needed to 
be counted in ratios.  The commenter wanted to know whether she would count in 
ratios if she was in another building. 
 
RESPONSE #4:  Individuals who are counted in the ratio must be available to 
directly supervise the children in care.  An individual who is in another room or 
another building would not meet the intent of this rule. 
 
COMMENT #5:  There were two comments stating that ARM 37.95.1003(2) is not 
appropriate for toddler feeding as it seems to go against CACFP regulation of 
establishing specific meal times and the promotion of family style meal service.  One 
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commenter stated that the rule for toddlers also seems to promote the "grazing" 
habit. 
 
RESPONSE #5:  With the exception of adding the word "toddler" to the language in 
ARM 37.95.1003(2), the rest is existing language.  This specific rule does not specify 
meal patterns.  Guidance for meal patterns is found in ARM 37.95.215 and 
37.95.711. 
 
COMMENT #6:  There were two comments about whether ARM 37.95.1003(2) 
requires parents to purchase milk for toddlers with special milk requirements.  Does 
it include parents providing the food for children when parents have chosen to be 
vegetarian? 
 
RESPONSE #6:  If a child requires special dietary foods, the provider may 
accommodate the request.  However, if they choose not to, it is the responsibility of 
the parent to provide the special dietary foods for their own child.  This regulation is 
consistent with CACFP requirements. 
 
COMMENT #7:  There were eight comments about other options for feeding children 
ages 12 months and over.  The basic concern was the allowance for child-sized 
tables and chairs. 
 
RESPONSE #7:  The department agrees that further clarification is needed for 
additional equipment that can be used for feeding.  Since the department expanded 
the equipment that could be used, it was necessary to specify that the use of 
portable high chairs that hook onto tables may not be used.  The department is 
adding language to ARM 37.95.1003(3)(b) and 37.95.1016(1). 
 
COMMENT #8:  Under ARM 37.95.1005(3), there were three comments suggesting 
that toddlers be allowed to sleep on a cot or mat rather than in a crib.  One 
commenter questioned whether it was safe for a child who is able to climb out of a 
crib, or appropriate for a child who is almost three years be placed in a crib. 
 
RESPONSE #8:  The department agrees that the language needs to include 
allowances for children, starting at one year of age, to use mats or cots for sleeping.  
However, it is necessary to provide additional guidance for infants who will be using 
a cot or mat.  The department has amended the proposed rule changes to include 
the use of cots or mats at one year of age and has also provided additional guidance 
when this practice is utilized. 
 
COMMENT #9:  A commenter stated that in ARM 37.95.1005(8) parents are 
required to provide a clean washable blanket.  The commenter stated that centers 
are responsible for washing bedding every week as per health department 
regulations.  If parents provide the blanket, centers are unsure if the blanket actually 
gets washed each week when it is sent home.  
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RESPONSE #9:  The only part of this rule that has changed from the original version 
was the addition of the word "toddler."  The department has allowed facilities to 
wash the blankets at the facility or send them home with the parent.  The department 
will be reviewing the Interpretive Guidelines and will ensure that this practice is 
included.   
 
COMMENT #10:  There were three comments about ARM 37.95.1005(10).  The 
commenters requested clarification about whether all staff in a facility need to 
receive safe sleep training as required since not all children are under age two.  The 
comments also addressed the timeframes for completing the training.  It was 
suggested that caregivers be given additional time to complete the training rather 
than be required to have it upon hire.  One commenter mentioned that there may be 
issues with availability of training. 
 
RESPONSE #10:  The proposed rule only requires staff who work with children 
under age two to receive training in the safe sleep curriculum.  The department 
agrees that the timeframe to receive the safe sleeping training for new staff needs to 
be extended.  Therefore the proposed rule under ARM 37.95.1005(10) has had 
language added to allow for 60 days from the caregiver's start date to receive the 
training.  However, licensees and registrants must have this training before providing 
care to infants.  Since the department will be amending the timeframe, the 
department has also added language requiring at least one caregiver who has 
received the safe sleep curriculum to be available to staff who have not received the 
training. 
 
The department has consulted with the training sponsor who will be conducting one 
section of the safe sleep curriculum.  The sponsor indicated that the infrastructure is 
prepared for the increased participants who will need to complete the safe sleep 
curriculum. 
 
COMMENT #11:  One commenter suggested further amending language in ARM 
37.95.1021(5), to read:  "play areas used by children over 18 months." 
 
RESPONSE #11:  The department thinks that the proposed language is sufficient.  
Although some providers may choose to transition children who have just turned 19 
months to an older classroom, other providers may choose to continue to keep 
children zero to two years together.  Therefore, the proposed language will remain 
as proposed. 
 
COMMENT #12:  If infant and toddler changes are implemented in one regulation, it 
should be changed through the entire child care regulations.  As it is written now, the 
two year regulation still exists in some areas; therefore, it causes confusion as to 
when the 19 month or two year old regulation can be used.  Whenever there is a 
regulation regarding an "infant," are the licensors going to use 19 months or two 
years in their count for the number of children present during a visit?  This has to be 
made very clear and not a discretionary point.  If this change is to create the ability 
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for the system to care for an increased number of infants, the continuous use of the 
term "two year" nullifies it. 
 
RESPONSE #12:  The department agrees with the commenter and understands that 
there may be some confusion as a result of the department's proposed changes in 
ages. 
 
While the department thinks that the proposed age of changes for infants and 
toddlers better defines the particular age groupings, there are still some areas that 
require clarification at 12 or 24 months due to developmentally appropriate practices 
and health or safety of infants and toddlers.  The department will be working on a 
resource, which will serve as a supplement to this rule, for providers.  This new tool 
will help to clarify what is required for children at particular ages with respect to the 
rules redefining the ages of infants and toddlers. 
 
COMMENT #13:  There were three comments regarding whether a higher payment 
rate would be received for an infant up to 19 months or two years. 
 
RESPONSE #13:  This comment is outside the scope of the proposed rule 
amendments.  The comment will be referred to the Early Childhood Services 
Bureau.   
 
COMMENT #14:  One commenter agreed that change to 19 months is a better 
description of the developmental stage of an infant than does two years. 
 
RESPONSE #14:  The department thanks the commenter. 
 
COMMENT #15:  There were two comments about the change of the term "Day 
Care" to "Child Care." 
 
RESPONSE #15:  The use of this term is consistent with state law; furthermore, 
such a change is outside the scope of the proposed rule. 
 
COMMENT #16:  One commenter questioned whether the changes to ARM 
37.95.1001(9) are measurable.  The commenter suggested that it may be advisable 
to add language to the rule stating "Provider must supply documentation, such as 
conference notes or a permission form that is signed by the parents stating that it is 
appropriate to begin toilet training." 
 
RESPONSE #16:  The current Interpretive Guidelines address documentation and 
communication with parents.  The department thinks that the current language is 
measurable and sufficient as written but will further address through the 
interpretative guideline document. 
 
COMMENT #17:  There were three comments stating feeding tables go against 
NAEYC and ITERS requirements and it was recommended that the use of feeding 
tables be removed. 
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RESPONSE #17:  NAEYC and ITERS requirements utilize a best practice approach.  
Although the department understands and supports the use of best practices, the 
department is charged with providing a rule that addresses the underlying health and 
safety of children in care.  Other than a best practice statement, the department has 
not found compelling evidence showing that the use of feeding tables creates a 
health or safety risk to children. 
 
COMMENT #18:  One comment was received with regard to ARM 37.95.1011.  The 
rule states that infants and toddlers shall be taken outside for some period of time 
each day, in good weather.  The commenter asked the department to define "good 
weather".  According to the commenter, the term itself is not measurable.  
Additionally, the commenter goes on to state that The National Association for 
Family Child Care defines good weather as "wind chill not below 20 degrees F and 
heat index not above 80 degrees F and not stormy." 
 
RESPONSE #18:  The department thinks that the rule is sufficient as it is written.  
The department has provided a resource that is available on the Child Care 
Licensing web site that identifies timeframes children should not be exposed to 
particular temperatures and wind chills.   
 
COMMENT #19:  The definition of infant and toddler needs further consideration.  
According to the National Health and Safety Performance Standards, an infant is 
defined as a child between the ages of birth to 12 months of age, a toddler is defined 
as a child between the ages of 13 and 35 months of age, and a preschooler is 
defined as a child between the ages of 36 and 59 months of age.  Furthermore, 
several states define infants, toddlers, and preschoolers in this way.  The National 
Health and Safety Performance Standards are quoted at the bottom of the notice of 
proposed changes, so to use this resource for crib safety standards and disregard 
the age recommendations according to this resource discredits the source.  This 
resource follows current research and practice, and the age definitions it offers are 
credible.   
 
RESPONSE #19:  The department reviewed recommendations and guidelines 
established through the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP), the National 
Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care (NRCHSCC), Zero to Three 
and The National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC).  The 
department also contacted the National Child Care Information Center (NCCIC) and 
received additional information from surrounding states concerning infant/toddler 
care, ratios, and age definitions.  The department took into consideration input from 
providers and conversations with other stakeholders including the State Fire 
Marshall.  Although the proposed definitions vary slightly from some of the national 
resources, the proposed language allows the department to ensure that the 
particular requirements pertaining to infants and toddlers adequately meet the health 
and safety requirements in the state of Montana and further supports the direct input 
received from the various stakeholder groups.  As such, the department thinks that 
the proposed changes are appropriate. 
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COMMENT #20:  A commenter was concerned with ARM 37.95.1005(7)(a) as it 
references the American Academy of Pediatrics "Feet to Foot Rule" which is no 
longer recommended.  The commenter suggested that this rule be eliminated from 
the proposed amendment to support the AAP's new policy statement. 
 
RESPONSE #20:  The department has chosen to allow a light-weight blanket for 
children while they are sleeping.  The "Feet to Foot Rule" is no longer applicable due 
to the fact that the American Academy of Pediatrics no longer recommends using 
blankets for children under age one when they are napping.  The department has 
chosen to allow light-weight blankets because the use of blankets is important to the 
culture of the families who place their children in care.  The department has found 
through licensing surveys that parents are very vocal about allowing their infant to 
utilize blankets due to the climate in Montana as well as a source of comfort.  Since 
the department is allowing light-weight blankets to be used, the department felt it 
was necessary to have specific parameters in place to ensure that the use and 
placement of the blanket is appropriate.  As such, the department has proposed 
language that references the "Feet to Foot Rule." 
 
COMMENT #21:  A comment was made that "Infants only" was not updated to 
"children under age two" in three places in ARM 37.95.102(13)(a). 
 
RESPONSE #21:  The department agrees with this comment and the proposed rule 
under ARM 37.95.102(13)(a) has been amended.  In addition, the department found 
that ARM 37.95.128 also needed to be amended as it referenced infants rather than 
children under age two. 
 
COMMENT #22:  A commenter questioned whether ARM 37.95.1002(2) was 
deleted entirely or just moved to a section regarding older children. 
 
RESPONSE #22:  The department proposed that ARM 37.95.1002(2) be moved 
under ARM 37.95.184(3) since the rule pertained to children of all ages. 
 
COMMENT #23:  A commenter asked about "one adult per child or one adult per 
four children" in ARM 37.95.132(8)(d). 
 
RESPONSE #23:  The intent of the rule states one adult per four children under age 
two. 
 
COMMENT #24:  A commenter asked why there was clarification under ARM 
37.95.1003(2).  The commenter stated a three year old should not be left unattended 
"from which they might fall either." 
 
RESPONSE #24:  This rule section is specific to infants and toddlers.  The rule was 
written to pertain to that particular age group. 
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COMMENT #25:  A commenter questioned about why the deadline for cribs to meet 
new requirements is not December 31, 2012 instead of December 28, 2012. 
 
RESPONSE #25:  The date used in the proposed rules is consistent with the date 
referenced by the Consumer Product Safety Commission. 
 
COMMENT #26:  A commenter asked about whether there will be a new term to 
replace "Infant Care Only." 
 
RESPONSE #26:  The department has not considered a title for this type of care at 
this time. 
 
COMMENT #27:  A commenter stated that a facility currently has three classrooms 
that pertain to ages addressed in proposed rule.  One room has 0-12 months, the 
second is 12-24 months and the third is 24-36 months.  The commenter questioned 
whether new rule would require them to separate 0-19 months and 19-24/36 
months. 
 
RESPONSE #27:  The proposed rule amendment in ARM 37.95.1021(5) would not 
require children under age three to be split into infant and toddler groups.  The rule 
allows for children 0-24 months to be mixed or if the facility chooses, they may also 
transition children over 18 months of age with older children.  Basically, it is up to the 
facility to determine how classrooms are split as long as children under 19 months of 
age are not mixed with children over two years of age. 
 
COMMENT #28:  A commenter questioned about whether ARM 37.95.623(2) would 
allow for two children ages 16 months and two children age three as long as the 
lower ratio is met. 
 
RESPONSE #28:  No because this arrangement would not meet the proposed rule 
under ARM 37.95.1021(5) which states that play areas for infants must be separated 
from areas used by children over two years of age. 
 
COMMENT #29:  A commenter stated that ARM 37.95.1005(2) is not necessary for 
children over 12 months of age.  The commenter questioned about whether the 
facility would be cited if a child was found on their stomach. 
 
RESPONSE #29:  The current proposed rule states that infants and toddlers shall be 
placed on their backs to sleep.  In regard to the question about whether a facility 
would be cited if a child was found on their stomach, the decision to cite would be 
based on the situation observed.  If an infant is capable of rolling from their back to 
stomach, the department does not expect the provider to move the infant back to a 
supine position.  However, if an infant is laid down on their stomach (without a doctor 
note) regardless of whether they can roll or not, the department may choose to issue 
a deficiency for the noncompliance. 
 
COMMENT #30:  A commenter asked what a baby-feeding table was. 
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RESPONSE #30:  A feeding table is a table with seats inserted into the table.  There 
are several resources available online if one wishes to research these types of 
tables any further. 
 
COMMENT #31:  One commenter asked the department to change "toilet training" 
to "toilet learning" throughout in keeping with current language being used in child 
development and the Infant Toddler Caregiver certification course offered throughout 
the state of Montana. 
 
RESPONSE #31:  The department thinks that the language is sufficient as it is 
written and the suggested language changes are not significant enough to warrant a 
change at this time.  This language is also consistent with language used by the 
American Academy of Pediatrics. 
 
COMMENT #32:  One comment was received concerning whether ARM 
37.95.1001(7) is addressed elsewhere in the rule and whether there is a specific 
reference for children with special needs. 
 
RESPONSE #32:  The particular rule listed above is not referenced elsewhere for 
children with special needs.  The department does not have specific rules pertaining 
to children with special needs.  The department will consider this comment for future 
rule proposals. 
 
COMMENT #33:  A commenter suggested adding "guardians" after "parents" 
throughout the regulations to be inclusive of all families or clarify that "parent" 
includes legal guardian, etc. 
 
RESPONSE #33:  The department agrees that this language should be added and 
applied consistently.  However, to simply change it in this section is not sufficient.  
There are sections outside of these proposed rules that would also need to be 
changed.  The department will consider this change for future rule proposals and will 
include all applicable parts of the child care licensing rule. 
 
COMMENT #34:  One commenter asked the department to change the second 
sentence in ARM 37.95.1001(9) to state, "There shall be no routine attempt to begin 
toilet training with children . . .." 
 
RESPONSE #34:  The department thinks that the language is sufficient as it is 
written and the suggested language changes are not significant enough to warrant a 
change at this time. 
 
COMMENT #35:  A commenter suggested adding "the clothing must be placed in a 
sealed plastic bag and returned to the parent, guardian, or placement agency" in 
ARM 37.95.1002(1). 
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RESPONSE #35:  The department agrees with this comment and has amended the 
proposed rule to include this language. 
 
COMMENT #36:  A comment was received that asked if the use of "play pen" in 
ARM 37.95.1005(3) aligns with new Consumer Product Safety Commission 
requirements cited in (4). 
 
RESPONSE #36:  The department understands that the Consumer Product Safety 
Commission (CPSC) will be looking closer at use of play pens over the next year.  
Once the CPSC concludes their review of play pens, and the findings of the review 
are known, the department will consider whether changes to the rules will be 
necessary. 
 
COMMENT #37:  A commenter asked if the phrase "as a regular sleeping option" 
could be added at the end of the sentence in ARM 37.95.1005(3)(a). 
 
RESPONSE #37:  The department thinks that the language is sufficient as it is 
written and the suggested language changes are not significant enough to warrant a 
change at this time.  This rule has been amended due to comments listed in 
Comment #8. 
 
COMMENT #38:  A comment was received which questioned whether stackable 
cribs are allowed under new federal crib requirements. 
 
RESPONSE #38:  The department has reviewed the recent guidelines through the 
Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC).  The new guidelines did not prohibit 
the use of stackable cribs; however, the traditional style of stackable cribs does not 
meet the current guidelines.  The CPSC recommends that providers contact the 
manufacturer of the crib to ensure that a certificate of compliance can be obtained in 
order to show compliance with the new requirements. 
 
As a result of this decree, the department has reviewed several companies that 
manufacture stackable cribs – cribs that slide under another crib.  There are models 
available that meet the CPSC standard and have a certificate of compliance through 
the CPSC.  The department will continue to allow the use of stackable cribs as long 
as they meet the CPSC guidelines.  Since these types of cribs fall under the new 
guidelines, they are also subject to the December 28, 2012 deadline.  After this date, 
the traditional style of stackable cribs will no longer be allowed for use unless the 
provider has a CPSC certificate of compliance. 
 
COMMENT #39:  In new crib regulations the term used for mesh and other soft-
sided less than full-size cribs is "play yard."  Montana may want to use language 
consistent with federal requirements to avoid confusion. 
 
RESPONSE #39:  The department thinks that the language is sufficient as it is 
written. 
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COMMENT #40:  A commenter suggested adding "separately" after "shall be stored" 
in ARM 37.95.1005(8). 
 
RESPONSE #40:  The department thinks that the rule language is sufficient as it is 
written. 
 
COMMENT #41:  A commenter asked that ARM 37.95.1005(9) not be deleted.  The 
commenter recommends the following wording in keeping with best practice - 
"Caregivers must be responsive to all cries of infants and toddlers." 
 
RESPONSE #41:  The rule was not proposed to be removed.  It was simply 
renumbered.  As to the rewording suggested by the commenter, the department 
considers that the language is sufficient as it is written and the suggested language 
changes are not significant enough to warrant a change at this time. 
 
COMMENT #42:  A commenter supported the addition of ARM 37.95.1005(10).  The 
commenter questioned about whether the child care licensors will be verifying and 
enforcing this rule by checking all Professional Development Records through the 
Early Childhood Project web site for compliance. 
 
RESPONSE #42:  The department works closely with the Early Childhood Project to 
verify completion of training for child care providers.  The department will continue 
this process as we implement the new requirements for the safe sleep curriculum. 
 
COMMENT #43:  Two commenters requested clarification about what defines a safe 
sleep environment. 
 
RESPONSE #43:  The department has written a definition for safe sleep 
environment.  This definition will be added to ARM 37.95.102.  As a result of this 
new definition, the section will be renumbered.  Due to the addition of this definition, 
the department amended ARM 37.95.1005(11), also to specify that the proposed 
rule had to include a policy that described how a "safe sleep environment" rather 
than "safe sleep" would be promoted. 
 
COMMENT #44:  A commenter suggested deleting "walkers" from ARM 
37.95.1011(2) as they are not allowed in the Environmental Rating Scales. 
 
RESPONSE #44:  The department agrees with this comment and has amended the 
proposed rule to include this language.  This change is also consistent with the 
proposed rule change under ARM 37.95.1016(2). 
 
COMMENT #45:  A commenter suggested revising wording in ARM 37.95.1011(3) to 
align with current Montana Infant Toddler training course:  "Each infant and toddler 
shall have individual positive interaction and responsive care with the same adult on 
a regular basis at least once each hour during non-sleeping hours to help develop a 
sense of trust and security.  Examples include reciprocal listening and responding 
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with verbal and nonverbal communication, holding, rocking, playing, and meeting 
individual basic needs through caregiving routines." 
 
RESPONSE #45:  The department thinks that the language is sufficient as it is 
written and the intent suggested by the commenter is met with the existing language. 
 
COMMENT #46:  A commenter suggested changing wording in ARM 37.95.1011(4) 
to ". . . to be taken outside for some period each day 'weather permitting' instead of 
'in good weather'." 
 
RESPONSE #46:  The department thinks that the language is sufficient as it is 
written and the suggested language changes are not significant enough to warrant a 
change at this time. 
 
COMMENT #47:  A commenter suggested replacing the word "life" with "safety" in 
ARM 37.95.1015(2). 
 
RESPONSE #47:  The department agrees with this comment and has made the 
change as suggested, in ARM 37.95.1015(2). 
 
COMMENT #48:  A commenter asked the department to not delete "primary" in 
ARM 37.95.1012(3).  There is solid research supporting the practice of each infant 
and toddler having a primary caregiver in child care.  The commenter further stated 
that they did not understand the stated rationale for this change. 
 
RESPONSE #48:  The proposed changes were not intended to alter the intent of this 
rule.  The rule as proposed still requires that each infant have a routine caregiver.  
The word "primary" was removed because the rule was confusing to individuals 
since "primary caregiver" is also a defined role of a caregiver.  Individuals were 
unsure whether the rule required a regular "consistent" staff person or a caregiver 
listed as a "primary caregiver" to work with the infants.  The proposed changes have 
provided clarification while maintaining the intent of the rule. 
 
COMMENT #49:  A comment was received regarding hand washing requirements in 
ARM 37.95.184.  The comment states that requirements for hand washing for 
children should mirror those for adults.  For example, children should wash their 
hands after using tissue for sneezing, blowing/wiping nose, coughing, etc. 
 
RESPONSE #49:  This particular comment is outside the scope of the proposed 
changes.  The department agrees this is important and will consider for future rule 
changes. 
 
/s/ Kurt R. Moser    /s/ Anna Whiting Sorrell    
Rule Reviewer    Anna Whiting Sorrell, Director 
      Public Health and Human Services 

   
Certified to the Secretary of State July 2, 2012 
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 BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC 
 HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES OF THE 
 STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of 
ARM 37.86.3001, 37.86.3002, 
37.86.3003, 37.86.3005, 37.86.3006, 
37.86.3016, 37.86.3018, 37.86.3020, 
37.86.3025, 37.86.3031, 37.86.3033, 
37.86.3037, and 37.86.3109 and 
repeal of 37.86.3014 pertaining to 
Medicaid outpatient hospital services 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF AMENDMENT AND 
REPEAL 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
1.  On May 10, 2012, the Department of Public Health and Human Services 

published MAR Notice No. 37-585 pertaining to the public hearing on the proposed 
amendment and repeal of the above-stated rules at page 948 of the 2012 Montana 
Administrative Register, Issue Number 9. 

 
2.  The department has amended ARM 37.86.3001, 37.86.3002, 37.86.3003, 

37.86.3005, 37.86.3006, 37.86.3016, 37.86.3018, 37.86.3025, 37.86.3031, 
37.86.3037, and 37.86.3109 and repealed ARM 37.86.3014 as proposed. 
 

3.  The department has amended the following rules as proposed, but with 
the following changes from the original proposal, new matter underlined, deleted 
matter interlined: 

 
 37.86.3020  OUTPATIENT HOSPITAL SERVICES, OUTPATIENT 
PROSPECTIVE PAYMENT SYSTEM (OPPS) METHODOLOGY, AMBULATORY 
PAYMENT CLASSIFICATION  (1) through (1)(e)(i) remain as proposed. 
 (f)  The department will make separate payment for observation care 
procedure codes if the following criteria are met: for Medicare qualifying conditions 
or obstetric complications.  If an observation service does not meet these criteria for 
these services, payment for observation care will be considered bundled into the 
APC for other services. 
 (i)  The diagnosis used to define a potential obstetric qualification will be 
taken from diagnosis related groups 382 (false labor) and 383 (other antepartum 
diagnosis with medical complications). hours or units of service must be equal to or 
greater than eight; 

(ii)  must be The department will make separate payment for observation care 
procedure codes when billed as a direct admit or have a high level clinic visit, high 
level critical care, or high level emergency room visit; and. 

(iii)  must have The department will make separate payment for observation 
care procedure codes if billed using a qualifying diagnosis as per the CMS Claims 
Processing Manual. 

(g) through (2) remain as proposed. 
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AUTH:  53-2-201, 53-6-113, MCA 
IMP:     53-2-201, 53-6-101, 53-6-111, 53-6-113, MCA 

 
 37.86.3033  PROVIDER-BASED ENTITY SERVICES, RECIPIENT ACCESS 
AND NOTIFICATION  (1) through (4) remain as proposed. 
 (5)  Recipients Clients must be notified that they will be assessed two cost 
shares for Medicaid and/or two copayment and deductible charges for cross-over 
claims per each visit. 
 (a) remains as proposed. 
 
AUTH:    53-2-201, 53-6-113, MCA 
IMP:       53-6-101, MCA 

 
4.  The department has thoroughly considered the comments and testimony 

received.  A summary of the comments received and the department's responses 
are as follows: 
 
COMMENT #1:  One comment was received stating that it would be helpful if the 
department incorporated the criteria that providers must meet in order to obtain 
department approval regarding provider-based status.  An additional comment 
stated that the department is inconsistent in regard to written approval verifying 
provider-based status and urges the department to adopt a standard process for 
receipt of this approval. 
 
RESPONSE #1:  The department has outlined the criteria that providers must meet 
in order to obtain department approval regarding provider-based status in ARM 
37.86.3031.  The department recognizes that the language in the Statement of 
Reasonable Necessity regarding the proposed amendments to ARM 37.86.3031 
should have specified "Medicaid criteria."  It is the intent of the proposed rule 
amendment to clarify Medicaid criteria regarding provider-based status.  The 
department believes it has been consistent in regard to obtaining written verification 
of provider-based status and that the rule provides a standard process for receipt of 
this approval. 
 
COMMENT #2:  One comment was received seeking a clarification and a reference 
regarding national standards of practice in the use of off-label drugs. 
 
RESPONSE #2:  At this time, the department will pay for drugs that are considered 
"off-label" when the usage of the off-label drug is considered to be a national 
standard of practice.  Off-label drugs that are prescribed to treat medical conditions 
other than the drug's intended purpose as approved by the FDA, and are identified 
as safe and effective, are considered to meet national standards of practice.  These 
off-label drugs can be identified in three officially recognized drug references: 
American Hospital Formulary Service, United States Pharmacopeia, and the 
Drugdex Information System.  The department believes that it is the responsibility of 
the provider to ensure any off-label drugs used in the treatment of Medicaid clients 
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meets national standards of practice.  This is the intended outcome.  The obvious 
consequence is the nonpayment for the usage of off-label drugs that do not meet 
national standards of practice. 
 
COMMENT #3:  Two comments were received suggesting that the proposed rule 
amendments are not well explained and that there is a lack of communication with 
the healthcare industry.  
 
RESPONSE #3:  The department will be cognizant of writing complete and concise 
proposed rules when formulating future rule language.  In addition, the department 
recognizes the need for effective communication with providers regarding proposed 
rule amendments.  It is the department's position that communication with the 
healthcare industry did occur through the following:  a presentation at the spring 
Hospital Financial Managers Association (HFMA) conference in Missoula, Montana 
where the proposed rule amendments were presented and discussed; the releasing 
of the proposed rule amendments for public comment on May 10, 2012; and the 
mailing/e-mailing of the proposed rule amendments to all interested parties listed on 
the interested parties list on May 11, 2012.  The department acknowledges and 
thanks the commenters for their concerns. 
 
COMMENT #4:  One comment was received regarding partial hospitalization and 
the need for providers to add additional administrative resources and staffing to 
meet the requirements of the proposed rule amendment with no additional Medicaid 
compensation.  The commenter inquired as to what the intended consequences and 
outcomes are regarding partial hospitalization.  An additional comment sought to 
understand the rationale for ARM 37.86.3006(2)(c)(vii). 
 
RESPONSE #4:  The department is not changing or adding any requirements to the 
already existing rule regarding partial hospitalization.  The language regarding partial 
hospitalization was moved from the definitions in ARM 37.86.3001 to ARM 
37.86.3006 which is the rule that addresses mental health outpatient hospital 
services.  By moving this language, the rule is organized into one appropriate 
location instead of two locations.  Because the requirements for partial 
hospitalization have not been changed, the department believes there is no need for 
providers to add additional staffing or administrative resources. 
 
COMMENT #5:  One comment was received suggesting that the department is 
changing the criteria for obstetric observation and that there would be financial 
implications to providers. 
 
RESPONSE #5:  The department is not changing or adding any requirements to the 
already existing policy regarding obstetric observation.  With this rule revision, the 
department is updating language to the rule that reflects current policy.  The 
department believes that the proposed removal of the language in ARM 
37.86.3020(1)(f) is necessary because this current language limits payment for 
observation care to only four primary diagnosis codes.  By removing this language, 
Montana Medicaid will not limit services regarding observation care to just four 
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primary diagnoses.  Because the requirements for obstetric observation have not 
been changed, but simply added to rule, the department believes there are no 
financial implications to providers and current services to clients are maintained. 
 
COMMENT #6:  One comment indicated that Medicare allows for self-attestation for 
provider-based providers.  It was suggested that Medicaid is falling behind Medicare 
by not allowing self-attestation when Medicaid requires a CMS letter verifying 
provider-based status.  By requiring this verification, it was suggested that Medicaid 
is putting a burden upon providers. 
 
RESPONSE #6:  The department does not allow self-attestation and believes it is 
necessary to require a CMS letter verifying provider-based status.  This is one of 
several requirements regarding provider-based status that are currently in rule.  
Because this is in the existing rule, the department believes that this is not a burden 
upon providers. 
 
COMMENT #7:  Two comments suggested that notifying clients of two cost shares 
when a client seeks services from a provider-based provider creates a bureaucratic 
burden upon provider-based providers. 
 
RESPONSE #7:  The department believes that it is the responsibility of the provider-
based provider to notify Medicaid clients of the two cost shares and/or two 
coinsurance and deductible charges that will be assessed.  The department 
recognizes and understands the concerns of the provider that compliance with this 
rule could be difficult if clients must be notified per each visit.  For this reason, the 
proposed language in ARM 37.86.3033 will be removed from the rule. Also, the term 
"recipient" was updated to meet current standards. 
 
COMMENT #8:  One comment indicated that the department cannot make the 
implementation date of the rule retroactively effective because the proposed rule 
amendments imply a change in services and a change in payments to providers. 
 
RESPONSE #8:  Because no new criteria are being proposed in the rule 
amendments, the department believes that the proposed amendments are budget 
neutral and will not affect payment to providers.  In addition, no change in the level 
of services offered to clients will occur.  The department believes that an effective 
date retroactive to July 1, 2012, is appropriate. 
 
COMMENT #9:  One comment suggested that fewer services would be available to 
out-of-state clients if the department fails to recognize out-of-state provider-based 
status, and that this would also create a budget impact. 
 
RESPONSE #9:  Since the department has never recognized out-of-state provider-
based status, the department wishes to document this information in rule as a point 
of clarification to out-of-state providers.  Therefore, the purpose of the proposed rule 
amendment is to reflect current policy and convey this policy to affected providers.  
The department believes that there is no change in the service levels provided by 
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out-of-state providers from current service levels.  In addition, with no change in 
reimbursement methodologies, this rule amendment would also remain budget 
neutral. 
 
 5.  The department intends to apply these rules retroactively to July 1, 2012.  
A retroactive application of the proposed rules does not result in a negative impact to 
any affected party. 
 
 
 
/s/ John Koch    /s/ Anna Whiting Sorrell    
Rule Reviewer    Anna Whiting Sorrell, Director 
      Public Health and Human Services 

   
Certified to the Secretary of State July 2, 2012 
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 BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC 
 HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES OF THE 
 STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the adoption of New 
Rule I and amendment of ARM 
37.34.114 pertaining to certification of 
persons assisting in the 
administration of medication 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF ADOPTION AND 
AMENDMENT 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
1.  On May 24, 2012, the Department of Public Health and Human Services 

published MAR Notice No. 37-586 pertaining to the public hearing on the proposed 
adoption and amendment of the above-stated rules at page 1030 of the 2012 
Montana Administrative Register, Issue Number 10. 

 
2.  The department has adopted New Rule I (37.34.113) as proposed. 
 
3.  The department has amended ARM 37.34.114 as proposed. 

 
 4.  No comments or testimony were received. 

 
 
/s/ Cary B. Lund    /s/ Anna Whiting Sorrell    
Rule Reviewer    Anna Whiting Sorrell, Director 
      Public Health and Human Services 

 
Certified to the Secretary of State July 2, 2012. 
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NOTICE OF FUNCTION OF ADMINISTRATIVE RULE REVIEW COMMITTEE 

 Interim Committees and the Environmental Quality Council 

Administrative rule review is a function of interim committees and the 

Environmental Quality Council (EQC).  These interim committees and the EQC have 

administrative rule review, program evaluation, and monitoring functions for the 

following executive branch agencies and the entities attached to agencies for 

administrative purposes. 

Economic Affairs Interim Committee: 

 Department of Agriculture; 

 Department of Commerce; 

 Department of Labor and Industry; 

 Department of Livestock; 

 Office of the State Auditor and Insurance Commissioner; and 

 Office of Economic Development. 

Education and Local Government Interim Committee: 

 State Board of Education; 

 Board of Public Education; 

 Board of Regents of Higher Education; and 

 Office of Public Instruction. 

Children, Families, Health, and Human Services Interim Committee: 

 Department of Public Health and Human Services. 

 Law and Justice Interim Committee: 

 Department of Corrections; and 

 Department of Justice. 

 Energy and Telecommunications Interim Committee: 

 Department of Public Service Regulation. 
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 Revenue and Transportation Interim Committee: 

 Department of Revenue; and  

 Department of Transportation. 

 State Administration and Veterans' Affairs Interim Committee: 

 Department of Administration; 

 Department of Military Affairs; and 

 Office of the Secretary of State. 

 Environmental Quality Council: 

 Department of Environmental Quality; 

 Department of Fish, Wildlife, and Parks; and 

 Department of Natural Resources and Conservation. 

These interim committees and the EQC have the authority to make 

recommendations to an agency regarding the adoption, amendment, or repeal of a 

rule or to request that the agency prepare a statement of the estimated economic 

impact of a proposal.  They also may poll the members of the Legislature to 

determine if a proposed rule is consistent with the intent of the Legislature or, during 

a legislative session, introduce a bill repealing a rule, or directing an agency to adopt 

or amend a rule, or a Joint Resolution recommending that an agency adopt, amend, 

or repeal a rule. 

The interim committees and the EQC welcome comments and invite 

members of the public to appear before them or to send written statements in order 

to bring to their attention any difficulties with the existing or proposed rules.  The 

mailing address is P.O. Box 201706, Helena, MT 59620-1706. 
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 HOW TO USE THE ADMINISTRATIVE RULES OF MONTANA 
 AND THE MONTANA ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER 
 
 
Definitions: Administrative Rules of Montana (ARM) is a looseleaf 

compilation by department of all rules of state departments and 
attached boards presently in effect, except rules adopted up to 
three months previously. 

 
Montana Administrative Register (MAR or Register) is a soft 
back, bound publication, issued twice-monthly, containing 
notices of rules proposed by agencies, notices of rules adopted 
by agencies, and interpretations of statutes and rules by the 
Attorney General (Attorney General's Opinions) and agencies 
(Declaratory Rulings) issued since publication of the preceding 
register. 

 
 
Use of the Administrative Rules of Montana (ARM): 
 
Known 1. Consult ARM Topical Index. 
Subject  Update the rule by checking the accumulative table and 

the table of contents in the last Montana Administrative 
Register issued. 

 
Statute 2. Go to cross reference table at end of each number and 

title which lists MCA section numbers and department  
corresponding ARM rule numbers. 
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 ACCUMULATIVE TABLE 
 
The Administrative Rules of Montana (ARM) is a compilation of existing permanent 
rules of those executive agencies that have been designated by the Montana 
Administrative Procedure Act for inclusion in the ARM. The ARM is updated through 
March 31, 2012. This table includes those rules adopted during the period April 1, 
2012, through June 30, 2012, and any proposed rule action that was pending during 
the past 6-month period. (A notice of adoption must be published within six months 
of the published notice of the proposed rule.) This table does not include the 
contents of this issue of the Montana Administrative Register (MAR or Register). 
 
To be current on proposed and adopted rulemaking, it is necessary to check the 
ARM updated through March 31, 2012, this table, and the table of contents of this 
issue of the MAR. 
 
This table indicates the department name, title number, rule numbers in ascending 
order, catchphrase or the subject matter of the rule, and the page number at which 
the action is published in the 2012 Montana Administrative Register. 
 
To aid the user, the Accumulative Table includes rulemaking actions of such entities 
as boards and commissions listed separately under their appropriate title number. 
 
ADMINISTRATION, Department of, Title 2 
 
I-IV Financial Responsibility of Mortgage Loan Originators and Control 

Persons - Ultimate Equity Owners of Mortgage Entities, p. 2108, 183, 
1253 

I-IX Bank Debt Cancellation Contracts - Debt Suspension Agreements, 
p. 1430, 2801 

I-IX Credit Union Debt Cancellation Contract - Debt Suspension 
Agreements, p. 1842, 2816 

2.59.104 Semiannual Assessment for Banks, p. 460, 883 
2.59.1701 and other rules - Mortgage Services, p. 778 
 
(Public Employees' Retirement Board) 
2.43.1306 Actuarial Rates, Assumptions, and Methods for Valuation Purposes - 

Actuarial Equivalence for the Board-Administered Defined Benefit 
Retirement Systems, p. 2196, 2800 

2.43.3502 and other rule - Investment Policy Statement for the Defined 
Contribution Retirement Plan - Investment Policy Statement for the 
457 Deferred Compensation Plan, p. 2332, 2799 

 
(State Compensation Insurance Fund) 
2.55.320  and other rule - Classifications of Employments - Construction Industry 

Premium Credit Program, p. 2580, 394 
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AGRICULTURE, Department of, Title 4 
 
I Eurasian Watermilfoil Management Area, p. 802, 1017 
I-V State Sampling Program, p. 935, 1254 
I-VI Nursery Program, p. 150, 735 
4.12.1024 and other rule - Commodity Warehouses, p. 159, 497 
4.12.1301 and other rules - Quarantine Program, p. 162, 498 
4.12.1405 and other rules - Late Fees for Services, p. 154, 496 
 
STATE AUDITOR, Title 6 
 
I-VI Securities Restitution Fund, p. 672, 1140 
6.6.6705 and other rules - Valuation of Life Insurance Policies, p. 2584, 304 
 
COMMERCE, Department of, Title 8 
 
8.2.503 Administration of the Quality Schools Grant Program - Project Grants,  

p. 2721, 395 
8.94.3726 Incorporation by Reference for the CDBG Program, p. 135, 566 
8.94.3727 Administration of the 2011-2012 Federal Community Development 

Block Grant (CDBG) Program, p. 530, 992 
8.94.3727 Administration of the 2011-2012 Federal Community Development 

Block Grant (CDBG) Program, p. 1166 
8.94.3815 and other rules - Governing the Submission and Review of 

Applications for Funding Under the Treasure State Endowment 
Program (TSEP), p. 2723, 396 

8.99.303 Certified Regional Development Corporations Program, p. 533, 993 
8.99.901 and other rules - Big Sky Economic Development Trust Program, p. 

805, 1255 
8.111.602 and other rule - Low Income Housing Tax Credit Program - Tax Credit 

Allocation Procedure, p. 1, 499 
 
EDUCATION, Department of, Title 10 
 
10.13.307 and other rules - Traffic Education, p. 2447, 76 
 
(Board of Public Education) 
10.57.217 and other rules - Educator/Specialist Discipline, p. 244, 1039 
10.57.412 and other rule - Areas of Specialized Competency, p. 241, 1038 
10.55.909 Student Records, p. 2461, 305 
 
(Montana Arts Council) 
10.111.701 and other rules - Cultural and Aesthetic Project Grant Proposals, 

p. 535 
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FISH, WILDLIFE AND PARKS, Department of, Title 12 
 
I-III Bodies of Water Identified as Contaminated With Eurasian Watermilfoil, 

p. 811 
12.9.602 and other rules - Upland Game Bird Release and Habitat Enhancement 

Programs, p. 463 
 
(Fish, Wildlife and Parks Commission) 
I Deer Licenses Separated From Nonresident Big Game Combination 

Licenses, p. 1022 
I-III License Auctions and Lotteries, p. 1024 
12.6.1112 and other rule - Falconry, p. 2467, 501 
12.6.1401 and other rules - Raptor Propagation, p. 2463, 500 
12.6.2204 and other rule - Adding Tilapia as a Controlled Species, p. 1019 
12.11.2308 and other rules - No Wake Zones Surrounding Commercial Marinas, 

p. 253, 884 
 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY, Department of, Title 17 
 
17.40.201 and other rules - Definitions - Classification of Systems - Certification 

of Operators - Examinations - Certified Operator in Charge of System-
-Exceptions, p. 257, 886 

17.55.109 Incorporation by Reference, p. 678, 814, 1147 
17.56.402 Petroleum UST Systems, p. 264 
 
(Board of Environmental Review) 
17.8.801 and other rule - Air Quality - Definitions - Review of Major Stationary 

Sources and Major Modifications--Source Applicability - Exemptions, 
p. 1098 

17.24.301 and other rules - Definitions - Format - Data Collection - Supplemental 
Information - Baseline Information - Operations Plan - Reclamation 
Plan - Plan for Protection of the Hydrologic Balance - Filing of 
Application and Notice - Informal Conference - Permit Renewal - 
Transfer of Permits - Administrative Review - General Backfilling and 
Grading Requirements - Blasting Schedule - Sedimentation Ponds - 
Other Treatment Facilities - Permanent Impoundments - Flood Control 
Impoundments - Ground Water Monitoring - Surface Water Monitoring 
- Redistribution and Stockpiling of Soil - Establishment of Vegetation - 
Soil Amendments - Management Techniques - Land Use Practices- 
Monitoring -Period of Responsibility - Vegetation Measurements - 
General Application and Review Requirements - Disposal of 
Underground Development Waste - Permit Requirement - Renewal 
and Transfer of Permits - Information and Monthly Reports - Drill 
Holes - Bond Requirements for Drilling Operations - Notice of Intent to 
Prospect - Bonding - Frequency and Methods of Inspections - 
Department's Obligations Regarding the Applicant/Violator System - 
Department Eligibility Review - Questions About and Challenges to 
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Ownership or Control Findings - Information Requirements for 
Permittees - Permit Requirement-Short Form - Coal Conservation, 
p. 2726, 737 

17.24.645 and other rules - Reclamation - Water Quality - Subdivisions - CECRA 
- Underground Storage Tanks - Department Circular DEQ-7 - 
Definitions - Incorporations by Reference - C-3 Classification 
Standards - General Treatment Standards - General Prohibitions - 
Water-Use Classification - Descriptions for Ponds and Reservoirs 
Constructed for Disposal of Coal Bed Methane Water - G-1 
Classification Standards, p. 1103 

17.24.902 and other rule - General Performance Standards - Rules Not 
Applicable to In Situ Coal Operation, p. 1027 

17.30.617 and other rule - Water Quality - Outstanding Resource Water 
Designation for the Gallatin River, p. 2294, 328, 1398, 438, 1953, 162, 
1324, 264, 1648, 89, 1244, 5  

17.30.1001 and other rules - Water Quality - Subdivisions/On-Site Subsurface 
Wastewater Treatment - Public Water and Sewage System 
Requirements - Solid Waste Management - Definitions - Exclusions 
From Permit Requirements - Subdivisions - Wastewater Treatment 
Systems - Plans for the Public Water Supply or Wastewater System - 
Fees - Operation and Maintenance Requirements for Land Application 
or Incorporation of Septage - Grease Trap Waste - Incorporation by 
Reference, p. 1169 

17.38.208 and other rules - Public Water and Sewage System Requirements - 
Treatment Requirements - Control Tests - Testing and Sampling 
Records and Reporting Requirements - Definitions - Incorporation by 
Reference - Cross-Connections:  Regulatory Requirements - 
Voluntary Cross-Connection Control Programs: Application 
Requirements - Standards and Requirements for Cross-Connection 
Control, p. 267, 1141 

 
TRANSPORTATION, Department of, Title 18 
 
I & II Fuel Tax Refund for Agricultural Uses, p. 330, 888 
18.6.202 and other rules - Outdoor Advertising, p. 2470, 185 
18.6.215 Outdoor Advertising Fees, p. 816 
18.8.101 and other rules - Motor Carrier Services, p. 819 
 
CORRECTIONS, Department of, Title 20 
 
I-V Education of Exonerated Persons, p. 334 
 
JUSTICE, Department of, Title 23 
 
23.4.201 and other rules - Drug and Alcohol Analyses, p. 681 
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(Board of Crime Control) 
23.14.204 and other rules - Duties and Functions of the Board of Crime Control, 

p. 275, 615, 743 
 
(Gambling Control Division) 
23.16.1702 and other rules - Sports Pool Card Interval Payouts - Authorized 

Sports Pools - Design and Conduct of Sports Tab Game Payouts - 
Sports Tab Game Prizes, p. 7, 402 

 
LABOR AND INDUSTRY, Department of, Title 24 
 
Boards under the Business Standards Division are listed in alphabetical order 
following the department rules. 
 
I Registration for Out-of-State Volunteer Professionals, p. 2335, 79 
I-VI Stay at Work/Return to Work for Workers' Compensation, p. 836 
24.7.301 and other rules - Board of Labor Appeals - Unemployment Insurance, 

p. 195, 573 
24.11.462 and other rule - Unemployment Insurance, p. 473, 1040 
24.17.127 Prevailing Wage Rates for Public Works Projects - Building 

Construction Services - Heavy Construction Services - Highway 
Construction Services - Nonconstruction Services, p. 2484, 306 

24.29.601 and other rules - Workers' Compensation Insurance Coverage Under 
Compensation Plan No. 1 and Plan No. 2, p. 283, 403 

24.29.601 and other rules - Workers' Compensation Insurance Coverage Under 
Compensation Plan No. 1 and Plan No. 2, p. 693 

24.33.121 Construction Contractor Registration Fees - Evidence of Compliance 
With Laws - Construction Contractor Registration Requirements, 
p. 339, 994, 1148 

 
(Board of Alternative Health Care) 
24.111.409 Inactive Status - Naturopathic Physician National Substance 

Formulary List - Direct-Entry Midwife Apprenticeship Requirements - 
Naturopathic Physician Continuing Education Requirements - 
Midwives Continuing Education Requirements, p. 345 

 
(Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists) 
24.121.301 and other rules - Definitions - General Requirements - Licensing - 

School Requirements - Teacher-Training - Salon Preparation Storage 
and Handling - Continuing Education - Unprofessional Conduct, 
p. 2591, 616 

 
(Board of Chiropractors) 
24.126.301 and other rules - Definitions - Interns and Preceptors - Applications for 

Certification - Renewals - Continuing Education, p. 2212, 503 
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(Board of Funeral Service) 
24.147.401 Fee Schedule, p. 351, 890 
 
(Board of Hearing Aid Dispenser) 
24.150.301 and other rules - Definitions - Fees - Record Retention - Examination - 

Transactional Document Requirements, p. 294, 894 
 
(Board of Medical Examiners) 
24.156.1401 and other rules - Acupuncturist Licensure - Unprofessional Conduct - 

Physician Assistant Supervision - Chart Review - Acupuncturist 
Discipline Reporting - Continuing Education - Physician Assistant 
Performing Radiologic Procedures - Acupuncture School Approval, 
p. 1591, 404, 504 

 
(Board of Nursing) 
24.159.2001 and other rules - Nurses' Assistance Program, p. 2338, 996 
 
(Board of Pharmacy) 
24.174.301 and other rules - Definitions - Wholesale Drug Distributor Licensing - 

Registered Pharmacist Continuing Education - Use of Contingency 
Kits, Definition - Information Required for Submission - Electronic 
Format Required for the Transmission of Information - Requirements 
for Submitting Prescription Registry Information - Failure to Report 
Prescription Information - Registry Information Review - Unsolicited 
Patient Profiles - Access to Prescription Drug Registry Information - 
Registry Information Retention - Advisory Group - Prescription Drug 
Registry Fee - Release of Prescription Drug Registry Information to 
Other Entities - Interstate Exchange of Registry Information, p. 2606, 
506 

24.174.301 and other rules - Definitions - Dangerous Drug Fee Schedule - 
Administration of Vaccines by Pharmacists - Transmission of 
Prescriptions - Identification of Pharmacist-in-Charge - Minimum 
Information Required for Licensure - Telepharmacy Operations - 
Acceptable Cancer Drugs - Emergency Prescription Refills - Remote 
Medication Order Processing Services -  Schedule I, II, III, IV, and V 
Dangerous Drugs - Board-Established Medical Assistance Program - 
Quality Improvement Program - Limited Service Pharmacy - Class IV 
Facility, p. 2761, 896 

 
(Board of Physical Therapy Examiners) 
24.177.401 and other rules - Examinations - Temporary Licenses - Licensure of 

Out-of-State Applicants - Foreign-Trained Physical Therapy Applicants 
- Continuing Education -Unprofessional Conduct - Screening Panel, 
p. 939 
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(Board of Plumbers) 
24.180.301 and other rules - Definitions - Journeyman Must Work in the Employ of 

Master - Master Plumbers Registration of Business Name - 
Nonroutine Applications, p. 476  

 
(Board of Psychologists) 
24.189.401 Fee Schedule - Nonresident Psychological Services - Application 

Procedures - Required Supervised Experience - Work Samples-
Examination - Professional Responsibility - Temporary Permit, p. 354, 
1041 

 
(Board of Professional Engineers and Professional Land Surveyors) 
24.183.404 and other rules - Fee Schedule - Certificate of Authorization - 

Application - Grant and Issue Licenses - Uniform Standards, p. 1449, 
80 

 
(Board of Public Accountants) 
24.201.501 and other rules - Education Requirements - Out-of-State Applicants - 

Retired Status - Profession Monitoring - Renewal and Continuing 
Education - Advisory Committee - Continuing Education Reporting for 
Permit to Practice - Reinstatement, p. 543 

 
(Board of Real Estate Appraisers) 
24.207.402 Adoption of USPAP by Reference, p. 2487, 745 
 
(Board of Realty Regulation) 
24.210.301 and other rules - Definitions - Fee Schedule - Trust Account 

Requirements - Internet Advertising Rules - Brokers - Salespersons - 
Property Management - Public Participation - Course Provider, p. 556 

 
LIVESTOCK, Department of, Title 32 
 
32.3.201  and other rules - Definitions - Additional Requirements for Cattle - 

Importation of Cattle From Mexico - Special Requirements for Goats - 
Tuberculosis and Brucellosis Test - Importation of Wild Species of 
Cloven Hoofed Ungulates - Llamas, p. 715, 1262 

32.3.433 Designated Surveillance Area, p. 712, 1258 
32.3.1205 and other rule - Animal Contact - Brands - Earmarks, p. 1222 
32.18.102 and other rules - Age Tally Mark - Numeral Mark - Placement of Digits 

- Brand Ownership and Transfer - Sale of Branded Livestock - Change 
in Brand Recording - Equine Breed Registry Mark - Freeze Branding - 
Recording and Transferring of Brand, p. 706, 1257 

 
NATURAL RESOURCES AND CONSERVATION, Department of, Title 36 
 
I Horse Creek Controlled Groundwater Area, p. 2218, 117 
36.14.102 and other rules - Dam Safety - Permitting, p. 1234 
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36.17.601 and other rules - Application Procedures - Loan Requirements of the 
Renewable Resources Grant and Loan Program, p. 365, 746 

 
(Board of Land Commissioners) 
I-VIII State-Owned Navigable Waterways, p. 1225 
36.25.1011 and other rules - Establishment of Lease Rental Rates, Lease 

Assignments, and Sale Procedures for State Cabinsites, p. 2347, 82 
 
PUBLIC HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES, Department of, Title 37 
 
I Montana Tobacco Settlement Fund, p. 723, 1149 
37.5.304 and other rules - Medicaid Credible Allegation of Fraud, p. 2222, 2823 
37.34.206 and other rules - Developmental Disabilities Eligibility Rules for 

Medicaid Only, p. 312, 1158, 1311, 900 
37.34.114 and other rule - Certification of Persons Assisting in the Administration 

of Medication, p. 1030 
37.40.307 and other rule - Nursing Facility Reimbursement, p. 1248 
37.57.102 and other rules - Children's Special Health Services, p. 1126 
37.62.102 and other rules - Montana Child Support Guidelines, p. 2356, 747 
37.71.404 Low Income Weatherization Assistance Program (LIWAP), p. 1122 
37.78.102 and other rules - TANF Policy Revisions, p. 2246, 2827 
37.78.102 and other rule - Good Cause Criteria TANF Policy Manual, p. 726, 

1263 
37.80.101 and other rules - Child Care Policy Manual Revisions, p. 2489, 195, 

756 
37.81.304 Maximum Big Sky Rx Premium Change, p. 2238, 2826 
37.82.701 and other rules - Plan First 1115 Waiver Implementation, p. 298, 757 
37.85.206 and other rules - Medicaid Diabetes and Cardiovascular Disease 

Prevention Services, p. 483 
37.85.212 and other rule - Resource Based Relative Value Scale (RBRVS), 

p. 862, 1266 
37.86.805 and other rules - Durable Medical Equipment - Hearing Aids, p. 2230, 

2825 
37.86.1501 and other rules - Home Infusion Therapy Program Revisions, p. 868, 

1270 
37.86.2207 EPSDT Services Reimbursement, p. 2227, 2824 
37.86.2803 and other rules - Medicaid Inpatient Hospital Services, p. 173, 624 
37.86.3001 and other rules - Medicaid Outpatient Hospital Services, p. 948 
37.86.3607 Case Management Services for Persons With Developmental 

Disabilities Reimbursement, p. 1245 
37.87.733 and other rules - Updating the Children's Mental Health Bureau 

(CMHB) Fee Schedule, p. 873, 1273 
37.87.1303 and other rules - Home and Community-Based Services (Waiver) for 

Youth With Serious Emotional Disturbance, p. 167, 622 
37.88.901 and other rule - Mental Health Services for Adults Program of 

Assertive Community Treatment (PACT), p. 2234, 617 
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37.90.401 and other rules - Home and Community-Based Services for Adults 
With Severe Disabling Mental Illness, p. 851, 1265 

37.95.102 and other rules - Infant Care, p. 600 
37.104.101 and other rule - Emergency Medical Services (EMS), p. 2382, 187 
37.107.117 Montana Marijuana Program, p. 595, 1061 
37.108.507 Healthcare Effectiveness Data - Information Set (HEDIS) Measures, p. 

845, 1264 
37.111.101 Public Sleeping Accommodations, p. 375, 1042 
37.115.104 and other rules - Pools - Spas - Other Water Features, p. 1482, 2657, 

313 
 
PUBLIC SERVICE REGULATION, Department of, Title 38 
 
38.3.706 Regulation of Motor Carriers, p. 877, 1274 
38.5.1010 and other rules - Electric Standards for Utilities - Pipeline Safety, 

p. 2255, 2829 
 
REVENUE, Department of, Title 42 
 
I Property Tax Abatement for Gray Water Systems, p. 612, 1001 
I-III Use by Brewers and Distillers of Ingredients Containing Alcohol, 

p. 2618, 199 
42.12.101 and other rules - Liquor License Application General Regulation - 

Premises Suitability Requirements, p. 961 
42.13.101 and other rules - Alcohol Server Training Requirements, p. 2005, 122 
42.13.101 and other rule - Alcohol Server Training Compliance, p. 880, 1150 
42.19.401 and other rule - Property Tax Assistance Program - Exemption for 

Qualified Disabled Veterans, p. 179, 511 
42.20.102 and other rule - Property Tax Exemptions, p. 41, 627 
42.20.105 and other rule - Valuation of Real Property, p. 730 
42.21.113 and other rules - Property Taxes - Trend Tables for Valuing Property, 

p. 12, 409 
42.21.158 Personal Property Reporting Requirements, p. 49, 410 
42.38.101 and other rules - General Provisions and Disposition of Abandoned 

Property, p. 488, 1000 
 
SECRETARY OF STATE, Office of, Title 44 
 
I Name Availability Standard for Registered Business Names, p. 2510, 

135, 513 
I & II Business Services Division Requirements, p. 2797, 314 
44.3.101 and other rules - Elections, p. 52, 760 
44.5.201 and other rule - Filing for Certification Authorities Statement, p. 2505, 

133 
44.6.201 Search Criteria for Uniform Commercial Code Certified Searches, 

p. 2508, 134 
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(Commissioner of Political Practices) 
44.10.401 Statements - Filing Reports, p. 2016, 634 
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