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BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 

 
In the matter of the amendment of ARM 
17.50.213 and 17.50.216 pertaining to 
junk vehicles 

 

) 
) 
) 
) 
 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING 
ON PROPOSED AMENDMENT 

 
(JUNK VEHICLES) 

 

 TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
 1.  On September 26, 2019, at 10:00 a.m., the Department of Environmental 
Quality will hold a public hearing in Room 111 of the Metcalf Building, 1520 East 
Sixth Avenue, Helena, Montana, to consider the proposed amendment of the above-
stated rules. 
 
 2.  The department will make reasonable accommodations for persons with 
disabilities who wish to participate in this rulemaking process or need an alternative 
accessible format of this notice.  If you require an accommodation, contact Sandy 
Scherer, Legal Secretary, no later than 5:00 p.m., September 19, 2019, to advise us 
of the nature of the accommodation that you need.  Please contact Sandy Scherer at 
the Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 200901, Helena, Montana 
59620-0901; phone (406) 444-2630; fax (406) 444-4386; or e-mail 
sscherer@mt.gov. 
 
 3.  The rules proposed to be amended provide as follows, stricken matter 
interlined, new matter underlined: 
 

17.50.213  PAYMENT REQUESTS  (1) and (2) remain the same. 
(3)  The department shall pay each claim at the flat rate of $100.00 $115 per 

vehicle removed. 
(4) through (8) remain the same. 

 
AUTH:  75-10-503, MCA 
IMP:  75-10-532, MCA 

 
 REASON:  Section 75-10-503(3), MCA, authorizes the department to adopt 
rules for reimbursement of charges by tow truck operators for removing abandoned 
vehicles at the request of law enforcement in accordance with 61-12-401, MCA.  
ARM 17.50.213 establishes the amount of the reimbursement payment for each 
abandoned vehicle removed with a valid claim for payment.  The reimbursement rate 
was set at $70 in 1999, raised to $85 in 2006, and raised again to $100 in 2011.  
The money for reimbursement is contained in the junk vehicle fund authorized under 
15-1-122(2), MCA. 
 Due to inflation and increased fuel and maintenance expenses incurred by 
tow truck operators who are hired to remove these abandoned vehicles, the Capital 
City Tow Association has requested an increase in the reimbursement payment.  
Based on that request and the rising costs incurred by tow truck operators, the 
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department concluded it is reasonably necessary to increase the reimbursement 
payment from $100 to $115 per vehicle removed. 
 Since fiscal year 2011 up to fiscal year 2018, the average number of vehicles 
towed per year is 428.  Approximately 300 tow truck operators seek reimbursement 
during a fiscal year.  Therefore, the department estimates that the proposed 
increase in the reimbursement payment would provide each tow truck operator an 
average $21 per year in additional reimbursement payments.  The total proposed 
increase in reimbursement payments by the department is estimated to be about 
$6,420 per year.  Sufficient funds are available in the junk vehicle fund authorized 
under 15-1-122(2), MCA, to pay for the proposed increase in reimbursement 
payments. 
 

17.50.216  ITEMIZED ACCOUNTING BUDGET PROCEDURES--COUNTY 
JUNK VEHICLE PROGRAMS  (1)  An itemized accounting shall be submitted to the 
department for each Each county junk vehicle program shall submit to the 
department an itemized accounting for the past fiscal year by December 31 before 
an approval will be granted for the department will approve the next fiscal year's 
budget. 

(2)  Itemized accountings shall The itemized accounting must be submitted on 
forms provided by the department. 

(3)  County A county's junk vehicle budgets for each fiscal year must be 
spent, or encumbered (purchase order or signed contract), or, subject to the 
limitations set forth in 75-10-521, MCA, designated to a motor vehicle recycling and 
disposal capital improvement fund by June 30.  Any funds not encumbered by June 
30 must be returned to the state. 

(4)  Prior to paying a county's approved budget as provided for in 75-10-534, 
MCA, the department shall deduct any funds from the county's approved budget for 
the past fiscal year that were not spent, encumbered, or designated to a motor 
vehicle recycling and disposal capital improvement fund by June 30. 

(4) and (5) remain the same but are renumbered (5) and (6). 
 

AUTH:  75-10-503, MCA 
IMP:  75-10-503, 75-10-521, 75-10-534, MCA 

 
REASON:  The department is proposing several amendments to the county 

junk vehicle program budgeting and accounting procedures to set deadlines, 
implement recent legislation, align the rules with current department practice, and 
update grammar and language choices.  The department also is adding citation to 
additional statutes that are implemented by this rule. 

The department is proposing to add a December 31 deadline in (1) to give the 
department adequate time to determine the county's junk vehicle budget for the 
subsequent fiscal year.  Under current rule, a county may submit its itemized 
accounting at any point during the following fiscal year, which at times has caused 
delays and prevented some counties from receiving their budget funds by fiscal year 
end.  The proposed December 31 deadline would also give counties sufficient time 
to create an accurate expenditure report for the preceding fiscal year. 
 The department is proposing changes to (3) to implement amendments to 75-
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10-521, MCA, enacted by the 2017 Montana Legislature at Chapter 88, Laws of 
2017 (House Bill 152).  The 2017 amendments to 75-10-521, MCA, allow counties to 
establish motor vehicle recycling and disposal capital improvement funds.  The 
proposed changes to (3) establish in rule the alternative method by which a county 
may use its junk vehicle budget funds. 
 The department is proposing (4) to accurately reflect current department 
procedures relating to county budget funds remaining at the end of the fiscal year.  
The department has found that it is more efficient to deduct unused funds from the 
following fiscal year's budget rather than requiring the county to return the unused 
funds to the department. 
 
 4.  Concerned persons may submit their data, views, or arguments, either 
orally or in writing, at the hearing.  Written data, views, or arguments may also be 
submitted to Sandy Scherer, Legal Secretary, Department of Environmental Quality, 
1520 E. Sixth Avenue, P.O. Box 200901, Helena, Montana 59620-0901; faxed to 
(406) 444-4386; or e-mailed to sscherer@mt.gov, no later than 5:00 p.m., October 4, 
2019.  To be guaranteed consideration, mailed comments must be postmarked on or 
before that date. 
 
 5.  The department maintains a list of interested persons who wish to receive 
notices of rulemaking actions proposed by this agency.  Persons who wish to have 
their name added to the list shall make a written request that includes the name, e-
mail, and mailing address of the person to receive notices and specifies that the 
person wishes to receive notices regarding:  air quality; hazardous waste/waste oil; 
asbestos control; water/wastewater treatment plant operator certification; solid 
waste; junk vehicles; infectious waste; public water supply; public sewage systems 
regulation; hard rock (metal) mine reclamation; major facility siting; opencut mine 
reclamation; strip mine reclamation; subdivisions; renewable energy grants/loans; 
wind energy, wastewater treatment or safe drinking water revolving grants and 
loans; water quality; CECRA; underground/above ground storage tanks; MEPA; or 
general procedural rules other than MEPA.  Notices will be sent by e-mail unless a 
mailing preference is noted in the request.  Such written request may be mailed or 
delivered to Sandy Scherer, Legal Secretary, Department of Environmental Quality, 
1520 E. Sixth Ave., P.O. Box 200901, Helena, Montana 59620-0901, faxed to the 
office at (406) 444-4386, e-mailed to Sandy Scherer at sscherer@mt.gov, or may be 
made by completing a request form at any rules hearing held by the department. 
 
 6.  Nicholas Whitaker, attorney for the department, has been designated to 
preside over and conduct the hearing. 
 
 7.  The bill sponsor contact requirements of 2-4-302, MCA, apply.  The bill 
sponsor was notified by letter on February 18, 2019. 
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 8.  With regard to the requirements of 2-4-111, MCA, the department has 
determined that the amendment of the above-referenced rules will not significantly 
and directly impact small businesses. 
 
Reviewed by:    DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 
      QUALITY 
 
 
/s/ Edward Hayes      BY:  /s/ Shaun McGrath     
EDWARD HAYES    SHAUN McGRATH 
Rule Reviewer    Director 
 
 Certified to the Secretary of State August 27, 2019. 
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 BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
 OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of ARM 
17.30.660 pertaining to nutrient standard 
variances 

) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING 
ON PROPOSED AMENDMENT 

 
(WATER QUALITY) 

 
 TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
 1.  On October 22, 2019, at 1:00 p.m., the Department of Environmental 
Quality (department) will hold a public hearing in Room 111 of the Metcalf Building, 
1520 E. Sixth Avenue, Helena, Montana, to consider the proposed amendment of 
the above-stated rule. 
 
 2.  The department will make reasonable accommodations for persons with 
disabilities who wish to participate in this rulemaking process or need an alternative 
accessible format of this notice.  If you require an accommodation, contact Sandy 
Scherer no later than 5:00 p.m., October 15, 2019, to advise us of the nature of the 
accommodation that you need.  Please contact Sandy Scherer at the Department of 
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 200901, Helena, Montana 59620-0901; phone 
(406) 444-2630; fax (406) 444-4386; or e-mail sscherer@mt.gov. 
 
 3.  The rule proposed to be amended provides as follows, stricken matter 
interlined, new matter underlined: 
 
 17.30.660  NUTRIENT STANDARDS VARIANCES  (1)  A person may apply 
to the department for a nutrient standards variance at any time following the board's 
adoption of base numeric nutrient standards.  In addition to this rule, variances are 
subject to the procedures and requirements contained in Department Circular DEQ-
12B (May 2018 November 2019 edition). 

(2)  An application for a general variance must provide information 
demonstrating that the wastewater treatment facility meets the requirements of 
Department Circular DEQ-12B (May 2018 November 2019 edition).  The decision to 
grant the general variance must be reflected in the permit that is made available for 
public comment. 
 (3) remains the same. 
 (4)  The department may approve the adoption of an individual variance that 
specifies interim effluent limits different from those contained in general variance 
limits contained in Department Circular DEQ-12B (May 2018 November 2019 
edition), if water quality modeling demonstrates that greater emphasis on the 
reduction of one nutrient may achieve similar water quality and biological 
improvements as would the equal reduction of both nitrogen and phosphorus.  The 
variance must provide effluent limits that reflect the lowest effluent concentration that 
is feasible based on achieving the highest attainable condition for the receiving 
water.  A person shall submit the proposed effluent limits and supporting data in an 
application for an individual nutrient variance under (3).  A person who has an 
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individual variance with effluent limits that are based on this section shall, in each 
subsequent triennial review of those limits conducted pursuant to 75-5-313(7), MCA, 
collect and submit water quality data to demonstrate whether the biological status of 
the receiving water continues to justify those effluent limits. 
 (5) through (7) remain the same. 
 (8)  The department adopts and incorporates by reference Department 
Circular DEQ-12B, entitled "Nutrient Standards Variances" (May 2018 November 
2019 edition), which provides procedures and requirements for nutrient standards 
variances.  Copies of Department Circular DEQ-12B are available at the Department 
of Environmental Quality, 1520 East 6th Avenue, P.O. Box 200901, Helena, MT 
59620-0901. 
 
 AUTH:  75-5-201, 75-5-301, MCA 
 IMP:  75-5-313, MCA 
 
 REASON:  The department is proposing to revise Department Circular DEQ-
12B to respond to the U.S. District Court for the District of Montana's Order in Upper 
Missouri Waterkeeper v. U.S. EPA, Case No. CV-16-52-GF-BMM (July 16, 2019).  
While the Court found significant portions of the general nutrients standards variance 
to be lawful and supported by the record, the Court partially vacated and remanded 
a portion of EPA's approval of the general variance found in Department Circular 
DEQ-12B.  The Court then stayed this vacatur and provided the department 120 
days from the date of the Order to adopt a revised general variance timeline, and 
provided U.S. EPA 90 days to complete its review of these changes.  The Court did 
not vacate EPA's approval of the department's findings concerning widespread 
economic and social impacts, nor did it vacate approval of the treatment 
requirements found in Table 12B-1 of Department Circular DEQ-12B (what the Court 
refers to as the "Current Variance Standard" or "highest attainable condition").  This 
rulemaking is only intended to address the specific concerns of the Court related to 
(a) the timeline necessary to meet the Table 12B-1 treatment requirements and (b) 
the timeline and process necessary to meet the base numeric nutrient standards 
contained in Department Circular DEQ-12A.  The rulemaking will allow continued 
use and application of the general variance for eligible dischargers and will prevent 
the related economic and social harm from requiring immediate compliance with the 
base numeric nutrient standards. 
 

The economic and social justification for the Table 12B-1 treatment 
requirements, as well as the treatment requirements themselves, are not subject to 
the proposed amendments to Department Circular DEQ-12B.  The Court found the 
justifications and treatment requirements to be reasonable and did not vacate these 
portions of EPA's approval.  Because EPA's approval was limited to only 36 
municipal facilities, this proposed rulemaking is also, thereby, limited to those 36 
facilities. 
 
Timeline Necessary to Meet Table 12B-1 Requirements:  In its July 16, 2019 Order, 
the Court reiterated the conclusion that the adoption of a 17-year timeline to merely 
reach the Table 12B-1 values violated the direction of the Federal Clean Water Act 
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and that the general variance must instead begin with the Table 12B-1 treatment 
requirements.  In doing so, the Court also recognized "the reality that discharges 
throughout the State of Montana currently stand at different levels of attainment."  In 
response to this direction, the department is proposing that mechanical dischargers 
(≥1.0 million gallons per day and < 1.0 million gallons per day) and lagoon 
dischargers must attain the Table 12B-1 treatment requirements as soon as 
possible.  Because the general variance is implemented through MPDES permitting 
process, the department will be able to ensure that facilities are achieving the Table 
12B-1 treatment requirements as soon as possible. 
 
Several mechanical facilities are currently achieving the Table 12B-1 treatment 
requirements and most of the remaining mechanical facilities should be able to attain 
the treatment requirements well before July 1, 2027.  However, the department has 
identified one mechanical facility, the Town of Manhattan, that may require up to July 
1, 2027 to achieve the Table 12B-1 treatment requirements.  For the mechanical 
facilities that are not yet able to attain the Table 12B-1 treatment requirements, i.e., 
the Cities of Butte, Helena, Kalispell, and Manhattan, the department anticipates it 
will be able to publicly-notice draft MPDES permits to incorporate the Table 12B-1 
treatment requirements, or a compliance schedule to achieve the same, no later 
than July 31, 2020.  This rulemaking clarifies that a compliance schedule may be 
used to ensure the Table 12B-1 treatment requirements will be met as soon as 
possible. 
 
Because Table12B-1 already requires that lagoon facilities maintain long-term 
average effluent concentrations for TP and TN, lagoon facilities, in the short-term, 
must focus on implementing pollutant minimization programs as soon as possible.  
In section 2.2.1.2. of the amended Circular DEQ-12B, the department is now 
required to complete its statewide lagoon performance evaluations no later than 
2020 (instead of 2022).  Because of this change, lagoon facilities will be required to 
complete reviews of operational methods two years sooner, leading to earlier 
attainment of PMP requirements. 
 
Timeline and Process Necessary to Meet the Base Numeric Nutrient Standards:  To 
address the Court's concerns about demonstrating progress toward meeting the 
base numeric nutrient standards, the department amended Circular DEQ-12B to 
include section 2.3.  This section describes the process for reviewing and amending 
the Table12B-1 treatment requirements and how the department and eligible 
facilities will proceed as the treatment requirements are modified through the 
triennial review procedure.  In the event the Table 12B-1 treatment requirements are 
not modified during a triennial review, the proposed changes to Circular DEQ-12B 
also require the submission and implementation of a revised optimization/pollutant 
minimization program for those facilities that are currently achieving the Table 12B-1 
treatment requirements.  This change will ensure all facilities will continue to make 
progress toward attaining the base numeric nutrient standards. 
 
Section 2.3 also addresses the specific timeline to achieve the base numeric nutrient 
standards and is consistent with the Court's adoption of Plaintiff's proposed timeline 
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of 2035.  Under the terms of 75-5-313(8), MCA, the general variance may be 
established for a period not to exceed 20 years.  Because the original version of the 
general nutrient standards variance became effective for state law purposes on 
August 8, 2014, the term of the general variance may not extend beyond August 7, 
2034. 
 
 4.  Concerned persons may submit their data, views, or arguments, either 
orally or in writing, at the hearing.  Written data, views, or arguments may also be 
submitted to Sandy Scherer, Legal Secretary, Department of Environmental Quality, 
1520 E. Sixth Avenue, P.O. Box 200901, Helena, Montana 59620-0901; faxed to 
(406) 444-4386; or e-mailed to sscherer@mt.gov, no later than 5:00 p.m., October 
22, 2019.  To be guaranteed consideration, mailed comments must be postmarked 
on or before that date.  A copy of proposed Department Circular DEQ-12B 
(November 2019) may be viewed at the department's website:  
http://deq.mt.gov/water/drinkingwater/standards/#menu4.  Copies may also be 
obtained by contacting Mike Suplee at (406) 444-0831 or msuplee@mt.gov. 
 
 5.  The department maintains a list of interested persons who wish to receive 
notices of rulemaking actions proposed by this agency.  Persons who wish to have 
their name added to the list shall make a written request that includes the name, e-
mail, and mailing address of the person to receive notices and specifies that the 
person wishes to receive notices regarding:  air quality; hazardous waste/waste oil; 
asbestos control; water/wastewater treatment plant operator certification; solid 
waste; junk vehicles; infectious waste; public water supply; public sewage systems 
regulation; hard rock (metal) mine reclamation; major facility siting; opencut mine 
reclamation; strip mine reclamation; subdivisions; renewable energy grants/loans; 
wind energy bonding, wastewater treatment or safe drinking water revolving grants 
and loans; water quality; CECRA; underground/above ground storage tanks; MEPA; 
or general procedural rules other than MEPA.  Notices will be sent by e-mail unless 
a mailing preference is noted in the request.  Such written request may be mailed or 
delivered to Sandy Scherer, Legal Secretary, Department of Environmental Quality, 
1520 E. Sixth Ave., P.O. Box 200901, Helena, Montana 59620-0901, faxed to the 
office at (406) 444-4386, e-mailed to Sandy Scherer at sscherer@mt.gov, or may be 
made by completing a request form at any rules hearing held by the department. 
 
 6.  Kurt Moser, attorney for the department, has been designated to preside 
over and conduct the hearing. 
 
 7.  The bill sponsor contact requirements of 2-4-302, MCA, do not apply. 
 
 8.  With regard to the requirements of 2-4-111, MCA, the department has 
determined that the amendment of the above-referenced rule will not significantly 
and directly impact small businesses. 
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Reviewed by:   DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 
     QUALITY 
 
 
/s/ Edward Hayes   BY:  /s/ Shaun McGrath     
EDWARD HAYES SHAUN McGRATH 
Rule Reviewer Director 
 
 
 Certified to the Secretary of State, August 27, 2019. 
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 BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 
 OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the adoption of 
New Rule I pertaining to antique 
gambling devices and the  
amendment of ARM 23.16.102. 
23.16.104, 23.16.107, 23.16.118, 
23.16.209, 23.16.301, 23.16.502, 
23.16.503, 23.16.1701,  
23.16.1702, 23.16.1703, 
23.16.1704, 23.16.1706, 
23.16.1712, 23.16.1714, 
23.16.1823, 23.16.1901, and 
23.16.1920 pertaining to gambling 
operator license applications and 
processing, escrowed funds, 
illegal devices, VGM permit 
eligibility, sports pool games and 
sports tabs, shake-a-day games, 
and VGM specifications and 
restrictions   

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING ON 
PROPOSED ADOPTION AND 
AMENDMENT 
 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 

 
 1.  On September 27, 2019, at 1:30 p.m., the Department of Justice will hold 
a public hearing in the conference room of the Gambling Control Division, 2550 
Prospect Avenue, Helena, Montana, to consider the proposed adoption and 
amendment of the above-stated rules. 

 
2.  The Department of Justice will make reasonable accommodations for 

persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this rulemaking process or need 
an alternative accessible format of this notice.  If you require an accommodation, 
contact the Department of Justice, no later than 5:00 p.m. on September 20, 2019, 
to advise us of the nature of the accommodation that you need.  Please contact 
Jean Saye, Department of Justice, 2550 Prospect Avenue, P.O. Box 201424, 
Helena, Montana, 59620-1424; telephone (406) 444-1971; fax (406) 444-9157; or e-
mail jsaye@mt.gov. 
 

3.  The rule as proposed to be adopted provides as follows: 
 

NEW RULE I  ANTIQUE GAMBLING DEVICES  (1)  The terms antique 
gambling device and public gambling have the definitions found in 23-5-112, 
MCA. 

(2)  An antique gambling device may be operated only: 
(a)  for public gambling by a licensed gambling operator if the device is a 

VGM permitted as required by law; or 



 
 
 

 
MAR Notice No. 23-16-258 17-9/6/19 

-1449- 

(b)  in a private residential dwelling for purposes other than public gambling. 
(3)  A licensee or nonlicensee may possess an antique gambling device that 

is not permitted as a VGM or that does not qualify for a permit.  The device may be 
displayed in a public setting, but the device must not be offered for play and must 
be: 

(a)  inaccessible to the public by restricted placement, glass enclosure, or 
other effective physical barriers to reach; or 

(b)  rendered inoperable for purposes of conducting a gambling activity.  
(4)  A licensed gambling operator shall notify the department in writing before 

displaying an antique gambling device on the licensed premises. 
(5)  An antique gambling device may be offered for sale, subject to the 

restrictions of 23-5-153, MCA, and all other applicable federal, state, and tribal laws. 
(6)  To qualify as an antique gambling device, a device must conform to the 

age standards set forth in 23-5-112, MCA, and the proof standards set forth in 23-5-
153, MCA.  An antique gambling device may be restored but: 

(a)  must possess mostly original cabinet parts, castings, and components; 
and 

(b)  the mechanical mechanism or electronic components must be 
substantially original in parts and design.  

 
AUTH: 23-5-115, MCA 
IMP: 23-5-112, 23-5-152, 23-5-153, MCA 
 
REASON:  Prior to 2019, the Gambling Code generally forbade possession of 
illegal gambling devices, but created a special class of devices defined as 
"antique illegal gambling devices."  The former code allowed a licensee or a 
nonlicensee to possess an "antique illegal gambling device."  
  
The Gambling Code permitted collectors to keep slot machines over 25 years old 
the collector may have owned prior to passage of the Video Gaming Machine 
Control Law in 1989.  Since 1989, legal video gambling devices, which could only 
be possessed by a licensee, aged to become 25 or more years old.  This led to 
the irrational result of a nonlicensee being able to possess an antique illegal 
gambling device, but being forbidden to possess an antique legal video gambling 
machine.  SB 25, 2019 Mont. Laws, ch. 57, cured that peculiar legal outcome by 
eliminating the class of devices called "antique illegal" gambling devices.  
Following the 2019 statutory changes, any gambling device 30 or more years old 
is considered an antique (subject to a grandfather provision for those between 25 
and 30 years old) and may be possessed by licensees or nonlicensees. 
 
This new rule and the amendments to ARM 23.16.209 are necessary to 
implement these statutory changes.   
 
The new rule and the ARM 23.16.209 amendments separately address illegal 
gambling devices and antique gambling devices.  Though many regulatory 
provisions are unchanged, this distinction is necessary because there are tighter 
restrictions on possession and display of illegal gambling devices.  Antique 
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gambling devices are more freely sold, possessed, and displayed.  Under both 
the former and current versions of the Gambling Code, it is lawful to display both 
types of devices, but the statutory amendments ease some of the restrictions on 
public displays of antique gambling devices.  Formerly, an antique device could 
be displayed in public only after being rendered unplayable, virtually destroying 
its historic value or monetary value as a collectible.  The new rule incorporates 
these statutory changes. 
   
The new rule and amended rule prohibit public play of all illegal devices or 
unpermitted legal devices while allowing a collector to play an antique device 
such as a slot machine or roulette wheel only in a nonpublic, residential setting. 
 

4.  The rules as proposed to be amended provide as follows, new matter 
underlined, deleted matter interlined: 
   

23.16.102  APPLICATION FOR GAMBLING LICENSE - LICENSE FEE 
(1) remains the same. 
(2)  An application for a gambling license must be submitted to the 

Department of Justice, Gambling Control Division, on forms prescribed by the 
department and described herein.  The application is not complete unless it is signed 
and dated by all or any applicant(s) and contains all information, statements, 
documentation, and fees required by the department.  An applicant applying for a 
gambling operator license prior to approval of a premises under 23-5-177, MCA, 
must submit an electronic application. 

(3) through (5) remain the same.   
 

AUTH: 23-5-112, 23-5-115, 23-5-621, MCA 
IMP: 23-5-115, 23-5-118, 23-5-128, 23-5-129, 23-5-177, 23-5-178, 23-5-308, 23-5-
324, 23-5-513, 23-5-625, MCA 
 
REASON:  The 2019 Legislature amended 23-5-117 and 23-5-177, MCA.  See HB 
727, 2019 Mont. Laws, ch. 479.  This amendment is necessary to recognize the 
statutory amendment now permitting certain gambling operator applicants to gain 
license approval prior to a premises approval.  Electronic applications will streamline 
the Gambling Control Division's investigation and final processing when the 
applicant later identifies a premises and applies for premises approval. 
 

23.16.104  PROCESSING OF GAMBLING LICENSE APPLICATION 
(1) remains the same. 
(2)  If the department issues a gambling operator license prior to approval of a 

premises under 23-5-117, MCA: 
(a)  the licensee must, within six months of the license approval, electronically 

submit an application for premises approval, which the department will investigate 
under standards outlined in 23-5-117, MCA; and 

(b)  the licensee may not offer any gambling activity until the premises has 
been approved. 

 (2) remains the same, but is renumbered (3).   

http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/ruleno.asp?RN=23%2E16%2E102
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/ruleno.asp?RN=23%2E16%2E104
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AUTH: 23-5-115, MCA 
IMP: 23-5-115, 23-5-117, 23-5-177, MCA 

 
REASON:  Same as ARM 23.16.102. 

 
23.16.107  GROUNDS FOR DENIAL OF GAMBLING LICENSE, PERMIT, 

OR AUTHORIZATION  (1) through (1)(j) remain the same.  
(k)  failed to meet other qualifications for licensure as set forth in 23-5-176, 

MCA; or 
(l)  had a gambling license denied for other than technical defects in the 

application.; or  
(m)  failed to apply for or receive approval of a premises within the timeframe 

required in ARM 23.16.502. 
(2) remains the same. 

  
AUTH: 23-5-112, 23-5-115, MCA 
IMP: 23-5-115, 23-5-117, 23-5-176, 23-5-177, MCA 
  
REASON:  Same as ARM 23.16.102. 
 

23.16.118  ESCROW REQUIRED  (1)  Money Except as provided in (3), 
money or any other thing of value constituting consideration for transferring an 
interest in a licensed gambling operation may not be paid, received, or used until the 
provisions of ARM 23.16.116 or 23.16.117 have been met.  However, the funds may 
be placed in escrow pending compliance with these provisions. 

(2) remains the same.  
(3)  Funds related to the transfer of an interest in a licensed gambling 

operation may be exchanged or released from escrow when temporary gambling 
authority is granted under ARM 23.16.509. 

 
AUTH: 23-5-115, MCA 
IMP: 23-5-118, 23-5-176, MCA 
 
REASON:  This rule was promulgated in 1991 and required the parties to the sale of 
a licensed business to escrow funds until the Gambling Control Division (GCD) 
completed its license application investigation.  Many years later, GCD promulgated 
ARM 23.16.509, allowing GCD to issue temporary gambling authority to an applicant 
before it completed its investigation.  This rule as originally written did not 
contemplate temporary gambling authority.  Now this rule is unnecessarily restrictive 
and inhibits business transactions where the investigation has found no applicant 
suitability issues and the GCD has issued the applicant temporary gambling 
authority.  To streamline transfers of ownership interests in gambling operations, 
gambling industry representatives have advocated relaxing the escrow requirement 
when the GCD grants an applicant temporary authority.  The GCD has not enforced 
the escrow requirement in cases involving temporary gambling authority.  This 

http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/ruleno.asp?RN=23%2E16%2E107
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0230/chapter_0050/part_0010/section_0760/0230-0050-0010-0760.html
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0230/chapter_0050/part_0010/section_0760/0230-0050-0010-0760.html
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amendment harmonizes the escrow and temporary authority rules, recognizes 
reasonable industry recommendations, and codifies GCD's recent practice. 
 

23.16.209  DISPLAY OF ILLEGAL GAMBLING DEVICES AND ANTIQUE 
ILLEGAL GAMBLING DEVICES  (1)  The following definitions apply for this rule: 

(a)  the terms "illegal gambling device" and "public gambling" have the 
definitions found in 23-5-112, MCA; and 

(b)  the term "museum" means a facility or registered historic site, whether 
publicly or privately owned, where objects of historic, scientific, artistic, or cultural 
interest are exhibited or demonstrated to the public.  

(2)  An illegal gambling device may not be: 
(a)  possessed, sold, or exchanged for value except as allowed by 23-5-152, 

MCA; or 
(b)  operated by any person to offer public gambling. 
(1)(3)  If an An illegal gambling device as defined in 23-5-112, MCA, is 

displayed in a public place other than a museum, it must be:  
(a) and (b) remain the same. 
(2) remains the same but is renumbered (4). 
(3)  Except as provided in (4), public display of an antique illegal gambling 

device must comply with the requirements of (1).  
(4)  An antique illegal gambling device, as defined in 23-5-153, MCA, may be: 
(a)  displayed only and not operated in a public or private museum; 
(b)  possessed and operated for private use only in a private residential 

dwelling; or 
(c)  displayed only and not operated in a retail business establishment if the 

device is being offered for resale.  
(5)  To qualify as an antique gambling device, a slot machine must have been 

manufactured more than 25 years prior to the date of possession, may be restored 
but must possess mostly original cabinet parts and castings, the mechanical 
mechanism must be substantially original in parts and design, and the machine must 
display its original serial number or show evidence where the original serial number 
once existed but was removed. 

 
AUTH: 23-5-115, MCA 
IMP: 23-5-112, 23-5-152, 23-5-153, MCA 

 
REASON:  As described in the reason statement for New Rule I, the 2019 
Legislature eliminated the class of gambling devices known as "antique illegal 
gambling devices."  Following the 2019 statutory changes, any gambling device 
30 or more years old is considered an antique (subject to a grandfather provision 
for those between 25 and 30 years old) and may be possessed by licensees or 
nonlicensees.  This rule, ARM 23.16.209, formerly addressed the display of both 
illegal gambling devices and antique illegal gambling devices. 
 
The tighter restrictions on possession and display of illegal gambling devices 
justify separate rules for the two classes of devices:  New Rule I, pertaining to 
antique gambling devices; and ARM 23.16.209, pertaining to illegal gambling 
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devices.  Under both the former and current versions of the Gambling Code, it is 
lawful to display both types of devices, but the statutory amendments ease some 
of the restrictions on public displays of antique gambling devices.  The Gambling 
Code has fewer restrictions on an illegal device possessed or displayed "in a 
public or private museum" as compared to possession or display in any other 
public space.  Neither the Gambling Code nor the rule defined the term 
"museum."  This rule amendment offers a definition of a museum to clarify the 
difference between a private collection and a private museum. 
  
While it is lawful in some circumstances to play an antique gambling device, an 
illegal device may never be permitted or played in public.  These amendments 
clarify the statutory distinctions between newly defined antique gambling devices 
and illegal gambling devices. 
  

23.16.301  MERCHANDISE PRIZES AND SHAKE-A-DAY GAMES 
(1)  In the case of merchandise prizes authorized in shake-a-day games 

(excluding shaking for a drink or music), those prizes may not exceed the value 
of the pot. All shake-a-day games are subject to these general rules: 

(a)  the price per play may not exceed 50 cents; 
(b)  a player may play more than one pot per day, but may not play any 

individual pot more than once per day; 
(c)  the player must be allowed to choose the pot or pots the player plays; 
(d)  no more than five dice may be used;  
(e)  a gambling operator may offer noncash prizes for a winning 

combination, but the gambling operator may not award an additional roll of the 
dice; and 

(f)  the licensee must record and retain for 90 days the winner's name and 
contact information, the date, and the amount won. 

(2)  Cash in a shake-a-day pot is subject to the following rules:  
(a)  a gambling operator may contribute cash to initially fund the pot, but 

that contribution may not be removed to reimburse the licensee; 
(b)  a gambling operator may not remove money from a pot for any 

reason, including reimbursing the licensee for noncash prizes such as drinks or 
merchandise awarded to players; 

(c)  a gambling operator may not cap the total cash in a pot, which must 
be allowed to grow until a winner is declared; 

(d)  the pot collected in each shake-a-day game must be kept separate 
from other shake-a-day pots and the gambling operator's other cash; 

(e)  a gambling operator may secure a pot on the premises, but the cash 
must be available to all employees and immediately paid to the winning player; 
and 

(f)  except for a predetermined percentage held back to fund a following 
game, the winner must receive all of the cash in a pot. 

(3)  Each gambling operator offering a shake-a-day game must clearly 
post the rules of the house games, which must include: 

(a)  price per play for each pot, which may not exceed 50 cents; 
(b)  the total cash in the pot, updated daily; 
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(c)  the dice combinations required to win the pot or noncash prizes 
supplied by the gambling operator; and 

(d)  the percentage of the pot retained from a win to be used to fund the 
next game. 
  
AUTH: 23-5-115, MCA 
IMP: 23-5-160, MCA  

 
REASON:  Experience has shown that the current shake-a-day rule is inadequate.  
The absence of rules has led to the possibility players might not win the amount due 
to them.  Additionally, the absence of basic rules for the conduct of shake-a-day 
games has led to uncertainty for licensees and investigators alike.   
 
For example, the Gambling Control Division investigated an instance where a 
licensee "borrowed" funds from a shake-a-day pot but the absence of any 
accounting opened the possibility the money was not returned in full.  The division 
has investigated numerous instances where the pot is capped and money over that 
cap is used to start another pot.  Licensees are permitted to withhold from a winner a 
percentage of the pot for the following game.  With no requirement to post the total 
in the pot, licensees or employees can remove cash from a pot undetected.  Unless 
the portion withheld is disclosed, a player cannot know what portion will be withheld.  
Each of these scenarios could result in something other than a fair game. 
 
These amendments are needed to ensure a fair game consistent with the public 
policy of the State. 
 

23.16.502  APPLICATION FOR OPERATOR LICENSE  (1)  All Except as 
provided in (2) and (3), all applicants shall submit the following information on Forms 
5, 10, 40, or 43, and FD-258, which are incorporated by reference and available 
from the Gambling Control Division, 2550 Prospect Avenue, P.O. Box 201424, 
Helena, MT 59620-1424, or on the division's web site www.doj.mt.gov/gaming  
www.dojmt.gov/gaming:  

(a) through (e)(vi) remain the same.  
(vii)  if the owner(s) acquires the services of a gambling manager or 

management firm, the information must be submitted for the owner and the manager 
or management firm; and  

(f)  the full name and address of every location manager.; and 
(g)  a floor plan of the proposed premises that clearly identifies the areas 

where gambling activities will occur. 
(2)  If a premises has not been identified at the time of the application, 

applicants have six months from issuance of the license to apply for premises 
approval.  The premises must meet suitability standards outlined in 23-5-117, MCA, 
and be approved within one year of issuance of the gambling operator license.  
Failure to apply for or receive approval of a premises within the required timeframe 
will result in administrative action to revoke the initial license approval. 

(3)  The department may consider an amended application process for 
applicants that possess an alcoholic beverage license. 

http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0230/chapter_0050/part_0010/section_0150/0230-0050-0010-0150.html
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/ruleno.asp?RN=23%2E16%2E502
http://www.dojmt.gov/gaming
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(2) remains the same, but is renumbered (4).   
  
AUTH: 23-5-112, 23-5-115, MCA 
IMP: 23-5-115, 23-5-117, 23-5-118, 23-5-176, 23-5-177, MCA  

 
REASON:  Same as ARM 23.16.102. 
  

23.16.503  APPLICATION PROCESSING FEE  (1)  At the time When a 
gambling operator license is submitted, the applicant shall pay a deposit on the 
license application processing fee in the following an amount: set forth in the 
application form. 

(a)  $300 if the applicant is a nonprofit organization; 
(b)  $800 if the applicant is a sole proprietorship; or 
(c)  $1,000 if the applicant is a partnership or corporation. 
(2) through (4) remain the same.  

 
AUTH: 23-5-115, MCA 
IMP: 23-5-177, MCA  

REASON:  The Gambling Code provides that the department must assess gambling 
operator license applicants a fee "to cover the actual cost incurred by the 
department in determining whether the applicant qualifies for licensure under 23-5-
176."  Mont. Code Ann. § 23-5-177(8), see also § 23-5-128 (distributor licenses), 23-
5-129 (route operator licenses), 23-5-414 (manufacturers of bingo/keno equipment) 
and 23-5-625 (VGM manufacturers).  Experience has demonstrated that the 
established fees frequently are inadequate to meet the department's actual 
expenses.  To fulfill the statutory mandate to charge actual costs, the department will 
revise its fee schedule and include those fees in application forms. 

 
23.16.1701  DEFINITIONS  As used throughout this subchapter, the following 

definitions apply:  
(1) through (7) remain the same. 
(8)  "Sponsor" means a person licensed gambling operator conducting a 

sports tab game by selling individual sports tabs or conducting a sports pool by 
selling chances, the sales of which occur on premises appropriately licensed for on-
premises alcoholic beverages consumption as provided in 23-5-119, MCA. 

(9) through (15) remain the same. 
 

AUTH:  23-5-115, 23-5-512, MCA 
IMP:  23-5-501, 23-5-502, 23-5-503, 23-5-512, MCA 
 
REASON:  The 2019 Legislature enacted SB 25, 2019 Mont. Laws, ch. 57, which 
eliminated an apparent conflict in the Gambling Code regarding who may offer 
sports pools.  Under the former version, the code expressly restricted sports tabs to 
licensed establishments.  With no similar statutory restriction on sports pools, the 
division interpreted the Gambling Code to permit nonlicensees to offer sports pools.  
Following enactment of SB 25, the Gambling Code limits both sports pools and 

http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0230/chapter_0050/part_0010/section_0150/0230-0050-0010-0150.html
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0230/chapter_0050/part_0010/section_0180/0230-0050-0010-0180.html
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0230/chapter_0050/part_0010/section_0760/0230-0050-0010-0760.html
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0230/chapter_0050/part_0010/section_0770/0230-0050-0010-0770.html
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0230/chapter_0050/part_0010/section_0770/0230-0050-0010-0770.html
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sports tabs to gambling operators with an appropriate alcoholic beverages license.  
This rule amendment is necessary to update the rule to reflect the recent legislative 
clarification.  The amendment defines a sports pool or sports tab "sponsor," which is 
now restricted to gambling operators with alcoholic beverage licenses.  The new 
statutory amendments permit a sponsor to conduct a sports pool or sports tab game 
and donate up to 50% of the net proceeds of the game to a nonprofit organization.  
These rule amendments reflect the new statutes.  

 
23.16.1702  SPORTS POOL CARD  (1) through (1)(b) remain the same.  
(c)  Any unsold spaces at the time when the numbers are assigned are 

considered purchased by the person conducting the sports pool sponsor and must 
be marked in a manner indicating that they may not be sold to another person. 

(d) remains the same. 
(e)  Each competitor in the sports event must be assigned to either the 

horizontal or vertical axis of the master square before the beginning of each sports 
event, except when the operator of the sports pool sponsor publicly declares by 
rules in advance of any sales to award equal prizes based upon both winning 
number combinations (e.g., when the score is 37–29, the winners are those holding 
spaces corresponding to vertical 7 and horizontal 9, and vertical 9 and horizontal 7). 

(2) through (4)(f) remain the same.   
(g)  predetermined intervals, as provided in ARM 23.16.1705(3), for which a 

prize will be awarded, if any; and 
(h)  the sponsor's name of the person conducting the sports pool.; and 
(i)  in the case of a sports pool conducted by a sponsor to support a nonprofit 

organization, the name of the nonprofit organization, the percentage of the pool 
proceeds to be donated, and the percentage of the pool proceeds to be awarded to 
the winner. 

(5) through (7) remain the same. 
(8)  If the sports event is rescheduled, the person conducting the sport pool 

board sponsor may:  
(a) and (b) remain the same.  
(9)  A sports pool card must be retained by the person conducting the sports 

pool sponsor for at least 90 days from the date of the sports event, or last event in a 
series of sports events, upon which the sports pool was based, whichever occurs 
first. 

 
AUTH:  23-5-115, 23-5-512, MCA 
IMP:  23-5-502, 23-5-503, 23-5-512, MCA 
 
REASON:  Same as ARM 23.16.1701. 

 
23.16.1703  SALE OF SPORTS POOL CHANCES  (1) and (2) remain the 

same. 
(3)  After sale of the chances begins, the person conducting the sports pool 

sponsor:  
(a) through (5) remain the same.  
 

http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/ruleno.asp?RN=23%2E16%2E1702
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/ruleno.asp?RN=23%2E16%2E1703
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AUTH:  23-5-115, 23-5-512, MCA 
IMP:  23-5-502, 23-5-503, 23-5-512, MCA 
 
REASON:  Same as ARM 23.16.1701. 

 
23.16.1704  DETERMINATION OF SPORTS POOL WINNERS - PRIZES 
(1) through (3) remain the same. 
(4)  A nonprofit organization may retain receive up to 50 percent of the 

proceeds from the sale of chances in a sports pool if the nonprofit organization 
meets the requirements of 23-5-503, MCA.  

 
AUTH:  23-5-115, MCA 
IMP:  23-5-502, 23-5-503, 23-5-512, MCA 
 
REASON:  Same as ARM 23.16.1701. 
 

23.16.1706  PROCEDURES FOR APPROVING VARIATIONS OF 
AUTHORIZED POOLS  (1) remains the same. 

(2)  A person requesting qualified to be a sponsor may apply to the 
department for approval from the department for conducting of a variation of an 
authorized sports pool shall submit by submitting the following information to the 
department: 

(a) through (3) remain the same. 
(4)  After reviewing the proposed sports pool variation, the department shall 

notify in writing the person submitting the variation applicant of its intended action. If 
the person desires a hearing he shall submit a written request to the department 
within 20 days.  Upon receipt of the request, all proceedings must be conducted 
according to the Montana Administrative Procedure Act and the Attorney General's 
Model Rules of Procedure.  An applicant desiring to challenge the department's 
action must proceed under ARM 23.16.108 and 23.16.203. 

 
AUTH:  23-5-115, MCA 
IMP:  23-5-512, MCA 

 
REASON:  Same as ARM 23.16.1701. 
 

23.16.1712  DESIGN AND CONDUCT OF SPORTS TAB GAME  (1) through 
(2)(h) remain the same.   

(i)  predetermined intervals, as provided in ARM 23.16.1714, during the sports 
event for which prizes are to be awarded, if any; and 

(j)  name of the competitors and the date of the sports event that will be 
substituted for the original sports event if it is cancelled.; and 

(k)  in the case of a sports tab game conducted by a sponsor to support a 
nonprofit organization, the name of the nonprofit organization, the percentage of the 
net sports tab game proceeds to be donated, and the percentage of the net sports 
tab game proceeds to be awarded to the winner.  

(3) through (5) remain the same. 

http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/ruleno.asp?RN=23%2E16%2E1704
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0230/chapter_0050/part_0050/section_0030/0230-0050-0050-0030.html
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/ruleno.asp?RN=23%2E16%2E1706
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/ruleno.asp?RN=23%2E16%2E1712
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/ruleno.asp?RN=23.16.1714
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AUTH:  23-5-115, MCA 
IMP:  23-5-501, 23-5-503, MCA 
 
REASON:  Same as ARM 23.16.1701. 

 
23.16.1714  SPORTS TAB GAME PRIZES  (1) through (4) remain the same. 
(5)  A sponsor who is conducts a sports tab game to support a nonprofit 

organization may retain donate up to 50% of the cost net proceeds of the sports tabs 
if the nonprofit organization meets the requirements of 23-5-503, MCA.  

(6) remains the same. 
 

AUTH:  23-5-115, MCA 
IMP:  23-5-501, 23-5-502, 23-5-503, MCA 
 
REASON:  Same as ARM 23.16.1701. 
 

23.16.1823  VIDEO GAMBLING MACHINE PERMITS – ELIGIBILITY, 
APPLICATION, RENEWAL, PRORATION  (1)  A gambling operator is eligible to 
apply for video gambling machine permits only if the operator holds an appropriate 
alcoholic beverage license and:  

(a)  the restrictions of 23-5-629 and [2019 Mont. Laws, ch. 336, § 3], MCA, do 
not apply; or 

(b)  the restrictions of 23-5-629, MCA, apply, and 
(i)  the department receives a written application from both common owners 

that provides revocable consent for a single common owner to apply for video 
gambling machine permits exclusive of the other; or 

(ii)  the operators are common owners, as defined in 23-5-629, MCA, but do 
not, in fact, operate in an interrelated manner as defined in (2) of this rule.; or 

(c)  the resort area gambling machine permit restrictions of [2019 Mont. Laws, 
ch. 336, § 3], apply, but fewer than 20 gambling machines are currently permitted in 
the resort area. 

(2) through (8) remain the same. 
  

AUTH: 23-5-115, 23-5-621 MCA 
IMP:  2019 Mont. Laws, ch. 336, § 3, 23-5-602, 23-5-611, 23-5-612, 23-5-621, 23-5-
629, MCA 
 
REASON:  The 2019 Legislature enacted SB 358, 2019 Mont. Laws, ch. 336, which, 
among other things, repealed 16-4-202, MCA, and replaced it with a new statute 
capping the number of VGM permits allowed in a resort area.  This amendment is 
necessary to correct the existing rule to include this statutory change. 
 

23.16.1901  GENERAL SPECIFICATIONS OF VGMS  (1) through (1)(d)(vii) 
remain the same. 

(1)(d)(ix) is incorrectly numbered and is renumbered (1)(d)(viii). 
(1)(d)(ix) through (1)(d)(xi) remain the same. 

http://mtrules.org/gateway/ruleno.asp?RN=23%2E16%2E1714
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0230/chapter_0050/part_0050/section_0030/0230-0050-0050-0030.html
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/ruleno.asp?RN=23%2E16%2E1823
http://mtrules.org/gateway/ruleno.asp?RN=23%2E16%2E1901
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(xii)  the VGM must clearly display "No Person Under the Age of 18 Years is 
Allowed to Play" a statement that no person under the age of 18 years is allowed to 
play; 

(xiii) through (3) remain the same. 
 
AUTH: 23-5-115, 23-5-602, 23-5-621, MCA 
IMP: 23-5-136, 23-5-602, 23-5-603, 23-5-608, 23-5-610, 23-5-621, 23-5-637, MCA 
 
REASON:  This amendment is necessary to correct a clerical error in numbering 
(two subsections numbered (ix)).   
  
Additionally, this amendment is necessary to remove the requirement that an 
underage gambling advisory must quote exact language.  The language from the 
rule was meant to be an example of a compliant advisory – not language that must 
be duplicated.  Under this rule, licensees who have deviated from the exact 
language appear to be in violation, though GCD has not enforced a strict word-for-
word quotation. This amendment makes clear that roughly equivalent language 
complies with the rule.  

 
23.16.1920  AARS, CTVS, AND VGM HARDWARE AND SOFTWARE 

SPECIFICATIONS  (1) and (2) remain the same.  
(3)  Any device communicating with a VGM through a physical interface shall 

be tested and approved by the department before being offered for sale, sold, or 
installed/connected to any permitted VGM. 
 
AUTH:  23-5-115, 23-5-621, MCA 
IMP: 23-5-603, 23-5-621, 23-5-631, 23-5-637, MCA 
 
REASON:  In a recent division case, an unauthorized system interfaced with VGMs 
through an AARS in a manner prohibited by statute.  That case alerted the division 
to the absence of plain authority prohibiting licensees or others from connecting 
external devices to VGMs whose effect on the VGM is untested.  This rule is 
necessary to protect connecting devices whose behavior and effect on VGM play is 
unknown. 
 
 5.  Concerned persons may submit their data, views, or arguments either 
orally or in writing at the hearing.  Written data, views, or arguments may also be 
submitted to: Michael L. Fanning, 2550 Prospect Avenue, P.O. Box 201424, Helena, 
Montana, 59620-1424; telephone (406) 444-1971; fax (406) 444-9157; or e-mail 
j.saye@mt.gov and must be received no later than 5:00 p.m., October 7, 2019.  

 
6.  Michael L. Fanning, Department of Justice, has been designated to 

preside over and conduct this hearing. 
 
7.  The department maintains a list of interested persons who wish to receive 

notices of rulemaking actions proposed by this agency.  Persons who wish to have 
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their name added to the list shall make a written request that includes the name, e-
mail, and mailing address of the person to receive notices and specifies for which 
program the person wishes to receive notices.  Notices will be sent by e-mail unless 
a mailing preference is noted in the request.  Such written request may be mailed or 
delivered to the contact person in paragraph 5 above or may be made by completing 
a request form at any rules hearing held by the department. 

 
8.  The bill sponsor contact requirements of 2-4-302, MCA, apply and have 

been fulfilled.  The primary bill sponsors were contacted by e-mail and United States 
mail on May 31, July 30, and will be contacted again on September 9, 2019.  
 

9.  With regard to the requirements of 2-4-111, MCA, the department has 
determined that the adoption and amendment of the above-referenced rules will not 
significantly and directly impact small businesses. 

 
 
/s/  Hannah Tokerud    /s/  Timothy C. Fox    
Hannah Tokerud     Timothy C. Fox 
Rule Reviewer     Attorney General 

      Department of Justice 
   

Certified to the Secretary of State August 27, 2019. 
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BEFORE THE BOARD OF DENTISTRY 
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of 
ARM 24.138.301 definitions, 
24.138.402 fees, 24.138.403 
mandatory certification, 24.138.406 
dental auxiliary functions, 24.138.419 
dental hygienist limited prescriptive 
authority, 24.138.502 dentist license 
by examination, 24.138.503 dental 
hygienists license by examination, 
24.138.505 dentist license by 
credentials, 24.138.506 dental 
hygienist license by credentials, 
24.138.507 dentist specialist license 
by credentials, 24.138.508 dental 
hygiene local anesthetic certification, 
24.138.509 dental hygiene limited 
access permit, 24.138.511 denturist 
license requirements, 24.138.512 
denturist internship, 24.138.514 
converting inactive to active status, 
24.138.525 reactivation of expired 
license, 24.138.2105 reporting 
procedures, 24.138.2301 dentist and 
dental hygienist unprofessional 
conduct, 24.138.2302 denturist 
unprofessional conduct, 24.138.3223, 
24.138.3225, and 24.138.3229  
anesthesia standards and continuing 
education; the adoption of New Rule I 
approved clinical exam criteria for 
dentists and dental hygienists, New 
Rule II denturist scope of practice – 
dentures over implants; and the repeal 
of 24.138.510 denturist examination 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING ON 
PROPOSED AMENDMENT, 
ADOPTION, AND REPEAL 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
 1.  On October 2, 2019, at 9:30 a.m., a public hearing will be held in the Large 
Conference Room, 301 South Park Avenue, 4th Floor, Helena, Montana, to consider 
the proposed amendment, adoption, and repeal of the above-stated rules. 
 
 2.  The Department of Labor and Industry (department) will make reasonable 
accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this public 
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hearing or need an alternative accessible format of this notice.  If you require an 
accommodation, contact the Board of Dentistry no later than 5:00 p.m., on 
September 25, 2019, to advise us of the nature of the accommodation that you 
need.  Please contact Dennis Clark, Board of Dentistry, 301 South Park Avenue, 
P.O. Box 200513, Helena, Montana 59620-0513; telephone (406) 841-2390; 
Montana Relay 1 (800) 253-4091; TDD (406) 444-2978; facsimile (406) 841-2305; or 
dlibsdden@mt.gov (board's e-mail). 
 
 3.  The rules proposed to be amended are as follows, stricken matter 
interlined, new matter underlined: 
 
 24.138.301  DEFINITIONS  For the purposes of this chapter, the following 
definitions apply: 
 (1) through (5) remain the same. 
 (6)  "General supervision," for the purpose of ARM 24.138.406, means the 
provision of allowable functions by dental auxiliaries provided to a current patient of 
record, with the intent and knowledge of the dentist licensed and residing in the state 
of Montana.  The supervising dentist need not be on the premises. 
 (6) through (9) remain the same but are renumbered (7) through (10).  
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-4-205, 37-4-340, 37-29-201, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-4-101, 37-4-205, 37-4-340, 37-4-408, 37-29-201, MCA 
 
REASON:  See REASON for ARM 24.138.406.  Implementation citations are being 
amended to accurately reflect all statutes implemented through the rule. 
 
 24.138.402  FEE SCHEDULE  (1) through (5) remain the same. 
 (6)  Jurisprudence reexamination fee 40 
 (7) through (17) remain the same but are renumbered (6) through (16). 
 
 AUTH: 37-1-131, 37-1-134, 37-4-205, 37-4-340, 37-4-341, 37-4-405, 37-29-
201, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-4-301, 37-4-307, 37-4-340, 37-4-341, 37-4-
402, 37-4-405, 37-29-303, MCA 
 
REASON:  During a rule review, staff observed that the licensure rules had not been 
reviewed or updated in over ten years.  Staff recommended several amendments to 
update to current examination standards and application procedures.  The board is 
amending this rule to eliminate the reexamination fee for the Montana jurisprudence 
examination to align with standardized department policy and application 
procedures.  Because this fee has not been charged to any applicant nor generated 
any revenue in the last five years, its elimination will result in no fiscal impact. 
 Authority and implementation citations are being amended to accurately 
reflect all statutes implemented through the rule and provide the complete sources of 
the board's rulemaking authority. 
 
 24.138.403  MANDATORY CERTIFICATION  (1) and (2) remain the same. 
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 (3)  Licensees shall affirm the expiration date of the CPR, ACLS, or PALS 
card on the renewal.  The board may audit a licensee for compliance of a current 
CPR, ACLS, or PALS card in addition to the random CE audit every three-year 
reporting period.  An active licensee who practices without a current CPR, ACLS, or 
PALS card may be subject to disciplinary action by the board administrative 
suspension. 
 (4) remains the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-4-205, 37-29-201, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-321, 37-29-201, 37-29-401, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board determined it is reasonably necessary to amend this rule to 
address confusion from licensees and audit staff regarding certification audits run in 
conjunction with the random CE audit every three-year reporting period.  This will 
standardize the audit requirement, create efficiencies within the audit unit, and 
conform with the administrative suspension statutes and procedures. 
 Implementation citations are being amended to accurately reflect all statutes 
implemented through the rule. 
 
 24.138.406  FUNCTIONS FOR DENTAL AUXILIARIES  (1)  Allowable 
functions for a dental auxiliary practicing Dental auxiliaries may work under the direct 
supervision of a licensed dentist per ARM 24.138.301 shall include dental 
procedures as allowed by board rule and subject to (2), in which if the auxiliary: 
 (a)  the auxiliary was instructed and qualified to perform in a dental assisting 
program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation or its successor; or 
 (b)  the auxiliary was instructed and trained by a licensed dentist; or 
 (c)  the auxiliary was instructed and trained in a board-approved continuing 
education course. 
 (2)  Dental auxiliaries may work under the general supervision of a licensed 
dentist per ARM 24.138.301 if the auxiliary holds a certified dental assistant 
certification from the dental assisting national board. 
 (2) (3)  A dental auxiliary will be allowed to working under the direct 
supervision of a licensed dentist per ARM 24.138.301 may perform the following 
dental procedures including, but not limited to: 
 (a)  making radiographic exposures as prescribed by the supervising dentist; 
and 
 (b) through (o) remain the same. 
 (4)  Dental auxiliaries holding a certified dental assistant certification from the 
dental assisting national board and working under the general supervision of a 
licensed dentist per ARM 24.138.301 are prohibited from performing the following 
functions: 
 (a)  initiating, adjusting, and monitoring nitrous oxide flow for a patient who 
has been prescribed and administered nitrous oxide by a licensed dentist; 
 (b)  applying silver diamine fluoride agents; 
 (c)  placing and removing rubber dams; 
 (d)  placing and removing matrices; 
 (e)  polishing amalgam restorations;  
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 (f)  placing pit and fissure sealants; and 
 (g)  applying topical anesthetic agents. 
 (3) (5)  Dental auxiliaries performing any intraoral procedure must be under 
the direct supervision of a licensed dentist, or an auxiliary holding a certified dental 
assistant certification from the dental assisting national board may work under the 
general supervision of a licensed dentist.  No dentist shall allow any dental auxiliary 
to perform the following: 
 (a) through (k) remain the same. 
 (l)  air polishing; or 
 (m)  prophylaxis as per defined in ARM 24.138.301. 
 (4) (6)  Dentists shall refrain from delegating not delegate to dental auxiliaries 
any duties or responsibilities regarding patient care that cannot be delegated to 
dental auxiliaries under 37-4-408, MCA, and board rules. 
 (5) and (6) remain the same but are renumbered (7) and (8). 
 (7) (9)  It shall be the responsibility of the The employing dentist to shall verify 
that a dental auxiliary's qualifications are in compliance comply with the statutes and 
rules of the Board of Dentistry board. 
 (8) (10)  A dentist licensed to use or direct the use of an x-ray producing 
device must assure that the radiation source under the dentist's jurisdiction is used 
only by individuals competent to use it, as per ARM 37.14.1003.  Only a licensed 
dentist is allowed to may prescribe radiation dosage and exposure. 
 (a)  The dental auxiliary A dental auxiliary, under the direct supervision of a 
licensed dentist, will qualify to may expose radiographs only if the auxiliary: 
 (a) remains the same but is renumbered (i). 
 (b) (ii)  has been certified in dental radiology by the U.S. as a result of military 
experience; or 
 (c) (iii)  has successfully completed a board-approved radiology written 
examination.  The written examination must be passed prior to the dentist allowing 
the auxiliary to expose radiographs. 
 (b)  Dental auxiliaries holding a certified dental assistant certification from the 
dental assisting national board may expose radiographs under the general 
supervision of a licensed dentist. 
 (d) remains the same but is renumbered (c). 
 (9)  A list of board-approved examinations will be kept on file in the board 
office. 
 (10)  The board will accept documentation of (8)(a) through (d) as certification 
for radiographic exposure. 
 
 AUTH:  37-4-205, 37-4-408, MCA 
 IMP:     37-4-408, MCA 
 
REASON:  The 2019 Montana Legislature enacted Chapter 157, Laws of 2019 
(Senate Bill 157), an act providing for dentists' general supervision of dental 
auxiliaries who have attained the dental assisting national board (DANB) 
certification.  The bill was signed by the Governor and became effective on April 18, 
2019, and is codified at 37-4-408, MCA.  The board is adding (2) to implement the 
legislation and specifically address when auxiliaries may work under a dentist's 
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general supervision.  At this same time, the board determined it is reasonably 
necessary to amend this rule throughout for accuracy, consistency, simplicity, better 
organization, and ease of use for the reader. 
 Following the statutory change, the board referred the discussion of the 
specific functions the DANB-certified dental auxiliaries may perform under general 
supervision to the board's rules committee.  The committee met on May 16, 2019, 
and recommended several rule changes which the full board considered on June 7, 
2019.  After discussion, the board concluded that to adequately protect public health 
and safety, it is reasonably necessary to require that auxiliaries perform certain 
functions under a dentist's direct supervision, even if the auxiliary holds a DANB 
certification.  Therefore, the board is amending (3) and adding (4) to specify the 
procedures that DANB-certified auxiliaries may not perform under general 
supervision and may only perform under direct supervision by a dentist. 
 The amendments to (10) are reasonably necessary to remove redundant 
provisions and address the exposure of radiographs by DANB-certified auxiliaries 
pursuant to SB 157.  The board is striking old (9) and (10) because the provisions 
are outdated and no longer comport with current procedures. 
 
 24.138.419  LIMITED PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY – QUALIFICATIONS – 
ALLOWABLE PERCENTAGES OF TOPICAL AGENTS  (1) and (2) remain the 
same. 
 (3)  Allowable percentages of prescribed agents are: 
 (a) through (a)(iv) remain the same. 
 (v)  prophy paste – 1.25 percent; and 
 (vi)  fluoride paste – 5 percent; and 
 (vii)  silver diamine fluoride – 38 percent. 
 (b) and (c) remain the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-4-205, 37-4-401, 37-4-408, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-4-401, 37-4-405, 37-4-408, MCA 
 
REASON:  The 2017 Montana Legislature passed Senate Bill 120, an act allowing 
licensed dental hygienists limited prescriptive authority for fluoride agents, oral 
anesthetics, and nonsystemic oral antimicrobials.  During the 2017 rulemaking 
process to implement the bill, a public comment suggested the board add 38 percent 
silver diamine fluoride to the proposed new rule.  The board was unable to make the 
substantive change in the final rule notice and set the suggestion for discussion at a 
future board meeting. 
 The board discussed the matter in several public meetings and considered 
materials submitted by both proponents and opponents of the proposed change.  
After extensive dialogue, the board concluded that silver diamine fluoride is a topical 
fluoride agent that can be safely and effectively used by appropriately trained dental 
hygienists when applied with the percentage specified for preventing the 
deterioration of dental caries.  The board determined that the possible benefits to the 
public health from allowing licensed hygienists to apply silver diamine fluoride 
significantly outweigh the potential risks and is amending the rule accordingly. 
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 Authority and implementation citations are being amended to accurately 
reflect all statutes implemented through the rule and provide the complete sources of 
the board's rulemaking authority. 
 
 24.138.502  INITIAL LICENSURE OF DENTISTS BY EXAMINATION  
 (1) through (3) remain the same. 
 (4)  Application material remains valid for six months one year from the time it 
is received in the office.  If the jurisprudence examination has not been successfully 
passed within six months, the application will be considered incomplete and a new 
application and fees must be submitted. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-4-205, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-4-301, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board is amending this rule, ARM 24.138.503, 24.138.506, and 
24.138.508 to align with current standardized department procedures for license 
application processing that includes a one-year life span from the initial date of 
application.  After one year, an application will automatically time out and the 
applicant will be required to reapply.  Standardized application procedures will 
enhance efficiency and create cost savings in the licensing process. 
 
 24.138.503  INITIAL LICENSURE OF DENTAL HYGIENISTS BY 
EXAMINATION  (1) through (1)(c) remain the same. 
 (d)  verification of graduation from a dental hygiene school accredited by the 
American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation, or its successor. 
Verification must consist of an original dental hygiene school transcript and a 
diploma.  The board may accept a letter from the dean of the school of dental 
hygiene, program director, or dean's equivalent attesting to the program of study, 
and that graduation status was attained to process the application; however, a 
license will not be issued until the transcript is received in the board office; 
 (e) through (3) remain the same. 
 (4)  Application material remains valid for six months one year from the time it 
is received in the office.  If the jurisprudence examination has not been successfully 
passed before the end of six months, the application will be considered incomplete 
and a new application and fees must be submitted. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-4-205, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-4-401, 37-4-402, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board is amending (1)(d) to create efficiencies in the licensing 
process as, generally, diplomas are not issued for months after a student graduates 
and licensing staff must track the application to ensure the diploma was eventually 
received.  Additionally, unlike official transcripts received directly from an educational 
institution, diplomas may be readily copied and altered. 
 
 24.138.505  DENTIST LICENSURE BY CREDENTIALS  (1) through (1)(d) 
remain the same. 
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 (e)  provides evidence that the applicant is currently has been engaged in the 
practice of clinical, direct patient care dentistry at least six months prior to the date of 
application and has been can demonstrate actively practicing within the last five 
years immediately preceding application, for a total accumulation of 3000 hours of 
experience as demonstrated by any or all of the following: 
 (i) through (f) remain the same 
 (g)  submits certificates of attendance proving the applicant has completed at 
least 60 hours of continuing education related to clinical dentistry in the three years 
immediately preceding application for a license in this state.  Courses submitted 
must meet board approvals as defined in ARM 24.138.2102 and pursuant to ARM 
24.138.2105(2); 
 (h) through (3) remain the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-4-205, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-304, 37-4-301, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board is amending this rule to correct inefficiencies in processing 
dentistry applications by recognizing that applicants may have breaks in practice 
immediately preceding application that do not bear on the applicant's competency to 
practice.  The board determined that six months would be a reasonable time frame 
during which an applicant could cease practice, but still maintain the sharpness of 
skill needed to safely practice upon licensure. 
 The board is striking the subsection from (1)(g) to align with the 
reorganization and renumbering of ARM 24.138.2105 in this notice. 
 
 24.138.506  DENTAL HYGIENIST LICENSURE BY CREDENTIALS  
 (1) through (3) remain the same. 
 (4)  Application material remains valid for six months one year from the time it 
is received in the office.  If the jurisprudence examination has not been successfully 
passed within six months the application will be considered incomplete and a new 
application and fees must be submitted. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-4-205, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-304, MCA 
 
 24.138.507  DENTIST LICENSURE BY CREDENTIALS FOR SPECIALISTS 
 (1) through (1)(e) remain the same. 
 (f)  submits certificates of attendance proving the applicant has completed at 
least 60 hours of continuing education related to clinical dentistry in the three years 
immediately preceding application for a Montana license.  Courses submitted must 
meet continuing education requirements as defined in board rule and pursuant to 
ARM 24.138.2105(2); 
 (g) through (2) remain the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-4-205, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-304, MCA 
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REASON:  The board is striking the subsection from (1)(f) to align with the 
reorganization and renumbering of ARM 24.138.2105 in this notice. 
 
 24.138.508  DENTAL HYGIENE LOCAL ANESTHETIC AGENT 
CERTIFICATION  (1) through (4) remain the same. 
 (5)  The application remains valid for six months one year from the time it is 
received in the office.  If not completed within six months, the application will be 
considered incomplete and a new application and fee must be submitted. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-4-205, 37-4-402, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-4-401, 37-4-402, MCA 
 
 24.138.509  DENTAL HYGIENE LIMITED ACCESS PERMIT  (1) through 
(1)(d) remain the same. 
 (e)  provides certificates of attendance of completion of 12 additional 
continuing education credits for the three-year cycle reporting period immediately 
preceding LAP application pursuant to ARM 24.138.2105(2); and 
 (f) through (5) remain the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-4-205, 37-4-401, 37-4-405, MCA 
 IMP:     37-4-401, 37-4-405, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board is amending this rule to align with terminology changes and 
the reorganization and renumbering of ARM 24.138.2105 in this notice. 
 
 24.138.511  DENTURIST APPLICATION LICENSE REQUIREMENTS  
 (1)  Each applicant shall submit a completed application. 
 (2)  The application fee and required documentation must include: 
 (1)  Denturist license applicants must submit a completed application, 
required fees, and documentation that demonstrates:  
 (a)  official transcripts from all colleges or educational institutions sent directly 
to the board office by the college or institution;  
 (a)  successful passage of: 
 (b) (i)  certification of successful passage of a board-approved written 
denturitry denturist examination approved by the board; 
 (c) (ii)  certification of successful passage of a board-approved 
clinical/practical denturitry denturist examination approved by the board; and 
 (iii)  the board jurisprudence examination with a grade of at least 75 percent; 
 (d)  verification of written test scores sent directly to the board office from the 
testing agency; 
 (e)  verification of clinical/practical test scores sent directly to the board office 
from the testing agency; 
 (f) (b)  documentation that the applicant has completed completion of formal 
training of not less than two years:  
 (i)  at an educational institution as set forth in 37-29-303, MCA; 
 (g)  documentation that the school is an educational institution accredited by a 
national or regional accrediting agency recognized by the Montana state Board of 
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Regents; and 
 (h) (ii)  documentation that the under a curriculum that includes those the 
courses set forth in 37-29-303, MCA; 
 (c)  completion of a clinical internship of at least one year, but no more than 
two years, under the direct supervision of a licensed denturist; 
 (i)  a copy of a diploma from a recognized school as stated in 37-29-303, 
MCA; 
 (j) remains the same but is renumbered (d). 
 (k) (e)  a copy of a current CPR, ACLS, or PALS card; and 
 (l)  affidavits from three persons not related to the candidate regarding the 
candidate's good moral character; 
 (m) (f)  a copy of a self-query of the National Practitioner Data Bank and the 
Healthcare Integrity Data Bank;. 
 (n)  jurisprudence examination fee; and 
 (o)  application fee. 
 (3)  Applicant shall submit a copy of the board approved intern application 
including intern reports, showing internship clinical training, which are signed by the 
monitoring licensed denturist. 
 (4)  The board may require application materials to be updated prior to the 
applicant taking the jurisprudence examination. 
 (5)  Applicants must successfully pass the jurisprudence examination with a 
final grade of at least 75 percent, prior to the issuance of a license. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-29-201, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-29-201, 37-29-302, 37-29-303, 37-29-306, MCA 
 
REASON:  During a review of the rules, staff observed that the denturist licensure 
rules had not been reviewed or updated in over ten years.  Staff recommended 
several amendments to update the rules to current examination standards and 
application procedures.  The board determined it is reasonably necessary to amend 
this rule and repeal ARM 24.138.510 to accurately represent current application 
processes and further facilitate initial licensure of denturists in Montana. 
 The board is striking (2)(l) to no longer require affidavits regarding good moral 
character.  The board concluded that adequate information to demonstrate character 
is obtained through the application's disciplinary/criminal history questions and the 
results of each applicant's National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) self-query. 
 The board is further amending this rule to remove provisions for the internship 
application process, following staff review of all applications and licensure 
requirements.  Noting that applicants must complete a one-year internship under the 
direct supervision of a licensed denturist, pursuant to the training and content 
standards of ARM 24.138.512, the board concluded it is unnecessary to approve 
individual internships or continually monitor intern progress throughout the internship 
period.  Applicants and supervisors will be required to attest to successful 
completion of the internship requirement as part of the application process. 
 Other changes replace out-of-date terminology for current language and 
processes, delete unnecessary or redundant sections, and amend this rule for 
accuracy, consistency, simplicity, better organization, and ease of use.  
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Implementation citations are being amended to accurately reflect all statutes 
implemented through the rule. 
 
 24.138.512  DENTURIST INTERN INTERNSHIP  (1)  To be eligible for 
internship, the applicant must have completed all requirements for licensure set forth 
in 37-29-303(1), MCA. 
 (1)  Denturist applicants must complete a clinical internship of at least one 
year, but no more than two years, under the direct supervision of a licensed 
denturist. 
 (2)  A denturist intern is a person engaged in a clinical training program under 
the direct supervision of a Montana licensed denturist. 
 (a) (2)  Such training program shall At a minimum, the internship must consist 
of 2000 clock hours of training and performance in at least the following fields of 
practice as follows: 
 (a)  36 hours minimum in: 
 (i)  patient charting; 36 hours minimum 
 (ii)  operatory sanitation; 36 hours minimum 
 (iii)  oral examination; 36 hours minimum 
 (iv)  impressions, preliminary and final (pour models, custom trays); 36 hours 
minimum 
 (v)  processing (wax up, flask boil out, packing, grind-polish); and 
 (vi)  delivery-post adjustment; 
 (b)  12 hours minimum in: 
 (v) (i)  bite registrations; 12 hours minimum 
 (vi) (ii)  articulations; 12 hours minimum 
 (vii) (iii)  set ups; and 12 hours minimum 
 (viii) (iv)  try ins; 12 hours minimum 
 (ix)  processing (wax up, flask boil out, 
packing, grind-polish) 36 hours minimum 
 (x)  delivery-post adjustment 36 hours minimum 
 (b)  processed relines (one plate - one unit) 24 units 
 (c)  48 hours minimum in: 
 (c) (i)  tooth repairs; and 48 hours minimum 
 (d) (ii)  broken or fractured plates or partials; and 48 hours minimum 
 (d)  24 units of processed relines (one plate - one unit).  
 (3)  An intern shall file a monthly report with the board, on a form and attested 
to by the intern's supervising denturist.  The report shall state the number of hours or 
units completed in each field of practice identified in (2). 
 (4) (3)  No Per 37-29-302, MCA, a licensed denturist may not supervise more 
than one intern at any one time interns than is reasonable and appropriate to provide 
the necessary internship skill needed for licensure. 
 (5)  Each intern shall be provided a separate work station in the laboratory 
area, containing standard denturitry equipment, i.e., lathe, torch, and storage space. 
Operatory facilities and other equipment will be shared with the intern.  The 
necessary hand tools shall be provided by the intern. 
 (6) (4)  No intern may practice once the internship has been completed until 
after successful passage of the clinical examination and the applicant has met all 
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other requirements for licensure.  Upon completion of an internship, an applicant 
may not practice until obtaining a denturist license from the board. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-29-201, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-29-201, 37-29-302, 37-29-303, MCA 
 
REASON:  Following a review of the rules, staff recommended several amendments 
to align with statutory parameters regarding the one-year internship requirement per 
37-29-302 and 37-29-303, MCA.  The board is amending this rule to reorganize, 
simplify, and update to current processes, and clearly delineate the hourly standards 
of the one-year internship.  The hourly requirements are not changing. 
 The board determined it is reasonably necessary to amend this rule to permit 
denturist applicants to complete the one-year internship requirement under 
supervising denturists who are duly licensed in other states or jurisdictions.  Due to 
the large size and rural nature of Montana, the relatively small number of Montana 
licensed denturists, and the fact that the currently approved denturitry school(s) are 
located in other state(s), the board concluded that limiting supervisors to only 
Montana licensees is not necessary to ensure qualified denturist applicants. 
 The board is removing the requirement that denturist interns submit monthly 
progress reports during the pendency of an internship.  Noting that applicants must 
complete a one-year internship under the direct supervision of a licensed denturist, 
pursuant to the content standards of this rule, the board concluded it is unnecessary 
to continually monitor intern progress throughout the year.  Applicants and 
supervisors will be required to attest to successful completion of the internship 
requirement as part of the application process. 
 The board is amending (3) to align with 37-29-302, MCA, which limits 
licensed denturists to supervising only a single denturist intern at any one time. 
 The board is striking (5) because while the board prescribes the training 
content of a qualifying internship, the board concluded that it is up to the supervising 
denturist and intern to determine adequate and appropriate facilities and equipment. 
 Implementation citations are being amended to accurately reflect all statutes 
implemented through the rule. 
 
 24.138.514  CONVERTING FROM INACTIVE TO ACTIVE STATUS   
 (1) through (3)(c) remain the same. 
 (d)  certificates of attendance of continuing education pursuant to ARM 
24.138.2105(2) as follows: 
 (i) through (4)(b) remain the same. 
 (c)  certificates of attendance of continuing education pursuant to ARM 
24.138.2105(2) as follows: 
 (i) through (5) remain the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-319, 37-4-205, 37-29-201, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-319, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board is striking the subsection from (3)(d) and (4)(c) to align with 
the reorganization and renumbering of ARM 24.138.2105 in this notice. 
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 24.138.525  REACTIVATION OF AN EXPIRED LICENSE  (1) through (1)(b) 
remain the same. 
 (c)  proof of CE pursuant to ARM 24.138.2105(2) as follows: 
 (i) through (iii) remain the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-141, 37-4-205, 37-29-201, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-141, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board is striking the subsection from (1)(c) to align with the 
reorganization and renumbering of ARM 24.138.2105 in this notice. 
 
 24.138.2105  CONTINUING EDUCATION - AUDIT REPORTING 
PROCEDURES  (1) (2)  Continuing education CE credits may not be carried over 
from one three-year cycle reporting period to another. 
 (2) (3)  Licensees are required to keep a certificate certificates or other 
documentation of attendance of continuing education completed CE and make this 
available provide the documentation to the board if so requested upon request.  The 
certificate or document of attendance shall include at a minimum: 
 (a)  licensee name; 
 (b)  course title; 
 (c)  course date; 
 (d)  presenter or sponsor; and 
 (e)  number of credit hours earned. 
 (3) (1) Licensees shall affirm their understanding of the recurring duty to 
comply with continuing education (CE) requirements as a part of annual and 
compliance with continuing education requirements with the license renewal. 
 (4) (5)  Failure of licensee to produce certificates of attendance of required 
continuing education may result in disciplinary action.  Following an audit failure, the 
licensee will be afforded a one-year period to gain the appropriate continuing 
education requirements.  If compliance is not attained, disciplinary action pursuant to 
37-1-312, MCA, will be taken.  Licensees found to be in noncompliance with CE 
requirements may be subject to administrative suspension.  Licensees may not 
apply CE hours used to complete delinquent CE requirements for the next reporting 
period. 
 (5) (4)  The department will conduct a random audit of the licensees every 
three-year cycle.  The audit shall include ten percent of active dentists, ten percent 
of active dental hygienists, and ten percent of active denturists.  The board may 
randomly audit up to 50 percent of renewed licensees' CE hours. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-319, 37-4-205, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-306, 37-1-319, 37-1-321, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board is amending this rule to align with and facilitate the 
department's standardized renewal, administrative suspension, and audit 
procedures, and to streamline and reorganize the rule for better organization and 
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ease of use for the reader.  The board is amending the title to better represent the 
content. 
 Following a recommendation by department legal staff, the board is amending 
(1) to align the affirmation of CE required at renewal with the provisions of 37-1-306, 
MCA.  The amendments fall within standardized department procedures by having 
licensees with mandatory CE affirm an understanding of the requirement and the 
potential of being audited for compliance. 

The board is amending (4) to allow flexibility in conducting random CE audits.  
Currently, the board randomly audits ten percent of all renewed licensees for each 
reporting period.  This amendment will allow the board to respond to staffing and 
budget issues by adjusting the number of licensees audited, while remaining 
consistent with the statutory maximum of 50 percent in 37-1-306, MCA.  
 The board is amending (5) to specify that licensees not in compliance with CE 
may be subject to administrative suspension per 37-1-321, MCA, and in accordance 
with standardized department audit processes.  Further, it is reasonably necessary 
to remove the one-year CE audit grace period to align with standardized audit 
procedures that allow licensees a minimum of 85 days to cure any audit deficiencies.  
Additional extensions are no longer necessary. 
 Authority and implementation citations are being amended to accurately 
reflect all statutes implemented through the rule and provide the complete sources of 
the board's rulemaking authority. 
 
 24.138.2301  UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT FOR DENTISTS AND 
DENTAL HYGIENISTS  (1) through (1)(k) remain the same. 
 (l)  Commission of an act of sexual abuse, sexual misconduct, or sexual 
exploitation by the licensee, whether or not related to the licensee's practice of 
dentistry. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-319, 37-4-205, 37-4-408, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-316, 37-1-319, 37-4-405, 37-4-408, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board determined it is reasonably necessary to amend this rule to 
implement the board's determination that acts of substantiated sexual misconduct 
should be explicitly recognized as unprofessional conduct.  While sexual misconduct 
was already implicitly recognized as being sanctionable, clarifying this in rule is in 
keeping with the norms of the profession for dentists, hygienists, and denturists and 
will further facilitate the board's ability to discipline licensees for such acts. 
 Implementation citations are being amended to accurately reflect all statutes 
implemented through the rule. 
 
 24.138.2302  UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT FOR DENTURISTS  
 (1) through (1)(i) remain the same. 
 (j)  fitting, attempting to fit or advertising to fit a prosthesis on or over a dental 
implant; and 
 (j)  commission of an act of sexual abuse, sexual misconduct, or sexual 
exploitation by the licensee, whether or not related to the licensee's practice of 
denturitry; and 
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 (k) remains the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-136, 37-1-319, 37-29-201, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-316, 37-1-319, 37-29-402, 37-29-403, MCA 
 
REASON:  In 2018, as a result of litigation, the board agreed to revise ARM 
24.138.2302(1)(j) which provides that "fitting, attempting to fit or advertising to fit a 
prosthesis on or over a dental implant" by a denturist is unprofessional conduct.  
After reconsideration, the board determined it is reasonably necessary to amend this 
rule and adopt NEW RULE II in this notice.  The new rule recognizes that denturists 
can safely fit dentures over implants under the supervision of a dentist. 
 The board determined it is reasonably necessary to add (1)(j) to implement 
the board's determination that acts of substantiated sexual misconduct should be 
explicitly recognized as unprofessional conduct.  While sexual misconduct was 
already implicitly recognized as being sanctionable, clarifying this in rule is in 
keeping with the norms of the profession for dentists, hygienists, and denturists and 
will further facilitate the board's ability to discipline licensees for such acts. 
 Implementation citations are being amended to accurately reflect all statutes 
implemented through the rule. 
 
 24.138.3223  MINIMUM MONITORING STANDARDS  (1) through (1)(b)(i) 
remain the same. 
 (ii)  precordial or pretracheal stethoscope or and capnography used to 
monitor respiratory rate; 
 (iii) through (2)(b)(ii) remain the same. 
 (iii)  a precordial or pretracheal stethoscope or and capnography used to 
continually monitor respiration; and 
 (iv) through (4) remain the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-4-205, 37-4-408, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-4-101, 37-4-205, 37-4-408, 37-4-511, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board determined it is reasonably necessary to amend this rule and 
ARM 24.138.3225 pertaining to monitoring and facility standards to align with the 
2016 American Dental Association guidelines for the use of sedation and general 
anesthesia by dentists.  The current rule language was based on the 2007 and 2012 
guidelines.  Generally accepted standards of safety in the practice now require a 
dentist anesthesiologist have a capnograph available during procedures. 
 Implementation citations are being amended to accurately reflect all statutes 
implemented through the rule. 
 
 24.138.3225  FACILITY STANDARDS  (1) through (1)(f) remain the same. 
 (g)  a precordial or pretracheal stethoscope or and capnograph; 
 (h) through (2)(a) remain the same. 
 (b)  precordial or pretracheal stethoscope or and capnograph; 
 (c) through (3) remain the same. 
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 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-4-205, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-4-101, 37-4-511, MCA 
 
 24.138.3229  REQUIREMENTS FOR ANESTHESIA CONTINUING 
EDUCATION IN ANESTHESIA  (1)  All dentists holding permits to provide deep 
sedation/general anesthesia must submit certificates of attendance of having 
attended a minimum of 20 hours of continuing education every three-year cycle 
pursuant to ARM 24.138.2105(2). 
 (2)  All dentists holding permits to provide moderate sedation must submit 
certificates of attendance of having attended a minimum of 12 hours of continuing 
education every three-year cycle pursuant to ARM 24.138.2105(2). 
 (3) (2)  The education Acceptable CE must be in one or more of the following 
fields: 
 (a) through (f) remain the same. 
 (g)  advanced cardiac life support, up to a maximum of eight hours of 
continuing education. 
 (4) remains the same but is renumbered (3). 
 (5) (1)  All anesthesia Anesthesia permit holders shall affirm their 
understanding of and compliance with continuing education the recurring duty to 
comply with anesthesia-specific CE requirements on the annual license renewal.  
Anesthesia-specific CE is in addition to CE required for the underlying dentist 
license. 
 (a)  Deep sedation/general anesthesia - 20 hours every three-year reporting 
period. 
 (b)  Moderate sedation - 12 hours every three-year reporting period. 
 (6) (5)  Failure of licensee to produce records of required continuing 
education may result in disciplinary action.  Licensees found to be in noncompliance 
with CE requirements may be subject to administrative suspension.  Licensees may 
not apply CE hours used to complete delinquent CE requirements for the next 
reporting period. 
 (7) (4)  A random audit of licensees will be conducted in The board may 
randomly audit up to 50 percent of renewed licensees' CE hours every three-year 
cycle reporting period.  Licensees must provide CE documentation upon request to 
the board. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-319, 37-4-205, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-306, 37-1-319, 37-1-321, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board is amending this rule to align with and further facilitate the 
department's standardized renewal, administrative suspension, and audit 
procedures, and to streamline and reorganize the rule for better organization and 
ease of use.  The board is amending the title to better represent the content. 
 Following a recommendation by department legal staff, the board is amending 
(1) to align the affirmation of CE required at renewal with the provisions of 37-1-306, 
MCA.  The amendments fall within standardized department procedures by having 
licensees with mandatory CE affirm an understanding of the requirement and the 
potential of being audited for compliance. 
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The board is amending (4) to allow flexibility in conducting random CE audits.  
Currently, the board randomly audits ten percent of all renewed licensees for each 
reporting period.  This amendment will allow the board to respond to staffing and 
budget issues by adjusting the number of licensees audited, while remaining 
consistent with the statutory maximum of 50 percent in 37-1-306, MCA. 
 The board is amending (5) to specify that licensees not in compliance with CE 
may be subject to administrative suspension per 37-1-321, MCA, and in accordance 
with standardized department audit processes. 
 Authority and implementation citations are being amended to accurately 
reflect all statutes implemented through the rule and provide the complete sources of 
the board's rulemaking authority. 
 
 4.  The proposed new rules are as follows: 
 
 NEW RULE I  APPROVED CLINICAL EXAM CRITERIA FOR DENTISTS 
AND DENTAL HYGIENISTS  (1)  Starting January 1, 2020, for the purposes of 
licensure, a dentist applicant shall verify successful passage of a board-approved 
clinical practical exam to include the following components: 
 (a)  patient-based operative exam, to include one direct posterior class II 
composite and any one of the following: 
 (i)  direct posterior class II composite; or 
 (ii)  direct posterior class II amalgam; or 
 (iii)  direct anterior class III composite; 
 (b)  patient-based periodontal exam; 
 (c)  non-patient-based endodontics exam, to include: 
 (i)  anterior access; 
 (ii)  posterior access; and 
 (iii)  obturation of one canal;  
 (d)  comprehensive treatment planning computer-based exam that is scored 
by calibrated examiners; and 
 (e)  non-patient-based prosthodontics exam. 
 (2)  Starting January 1, 2020, for the purposes of licensure, a dental hygienist 
applicant shall verify successful passage of a board-approved patient-based clinical 
practical exam to include the following: 
 (a)  clinical competency and patient competency with the following 
components: 
 (i)  pocket depth; 
 (ii)  recession; 
 (iii)  calculus detection and removal; and 
 (iv)  intraoral and extraoral assessment. 
 (3)  For the purpose of a local anesthetic permit a dental hygienist applicant 
shall verify successful passage of a board-approved written and patient-based 
clinical practical exam to include: 
 (a)  the Western Regional Examining Board (WREB) or board-approved local 
anesthetic exam. 
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 (4)  The board may review applications from applicants who have taken a 
clinical practical examination that does not meet the above criteria as nonroutine for 
licensure. 
 (5)  This rule shall not apply to dentist or dental hygienist applicants applying 
by credentialing. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-4-205, 37-4-402, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-4-301, 37-4-402, MCA 
 
REASON:  In 2014, the board became aware that some board-approved regional 
clinical exam agencies were implementing clinical exams with optional exam 
sections such as periodontics and/or prosthodontics.  The board also wanted to 
address non-patient-based clinical exams such as the objective structured clinical 
exam that is common in Canada and has been adopted by other U.S. states.  Some 
states also allow licensure based on a one-year post graduate residency in lieu of a 
clinical exam.  In 2017, the board established the clinical exam review committee to 
research these issues and research how other states have dealt with them.  In 2018, 
the committee forwarded draft rule language to the board.  Following discussion and 
revisions, the board is now proposing NEW RULE I to address the identified dentist 
and dental hygienist clinical examination issues. 
 The board is adopting this new rule following a determination that the safe 
practice of dentistry in Montana requires that relatively inexperienced dental school 
graduates prove holistic competence in core elements of routine dental procedures 
prior to licensure.  Dentist and dental hygienist applicants can be licensed to practice 
in Montana either through credentialing or examination.  The board concluded that 
exam applicants should reasonably be expected to demonstrate competence by 
testing routine procedures, including a variety of fillings and core periodontal, 
endodontics, and prosthodontic procedures.  Because credentialing applicants 
require a minimum of 3000 hours of practice for dentists and 1000 for dental 
hygienists for licensure, it can be reasonably expected they have performed these 
procedures during their years of experience.  The board determined that any 
additional burden these requirements may impose on exam applicants will be 
relatively minimal, while the requirements will help protect public health and safety 
by requiring that applicants demonstrate hands-on competence in procedures they 
are likely to perform prior to licensure. 
 
 NEW RULE II  DENTURIST SCOPE OF PRACTICE – DENTURES OVER 
IMPLANTS  (1)  It is within the scope of practice of a denturist to fit dentures over 
implants under the following conditions: 
 (a)  the fitting must be performed under the direct supervision of a Montana-
licensed dentist; 
 (b)  the denture must be at least partially soft-tissue-borne; and 
 (c)  the denture must be manually removable by the wearer. 
 (2)  "Direct supervision" means treatment by a licensed denturist provided 
with the intent and knowledge of a licensed dentist and while the dentist is on the 
premises. 
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 (3)  A denturist fitting a denture over dental implants who is not in compliance 
with this rule may be subject to discipline for unprofessional conduct. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-29-201, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-29-102, 37-29-103, MCA 
 
REASON:  In September 2018, as a result of litigation settlement, the board agreed 
to replace ARM 24.138.2302(1)(j) that prohibits denturists from fitting dentures on or 
over dental implants with a new rule allowing the practice and created with input 
from all stakeholders.  The parties intended the new rule to be in place within 18 
months of the agreement. 
 The board's rules committee reviewed similar regulations in the five other 
U.S. states that license and regulate the practice of denturitry and forwarded their 
draft rule language to the full board.  On June 7, 2019, the board reviewed, 
discussed, and accepted the committee's suggested new rule.  Therefore, the board 
is adopting this new rule to recognize that denturists can safely fit dentures over 
implants under the supervision of a dentist.  Because of the unacceptably high risk 
of damage to teeth and jaws from the pressure of fitting dentures, the board 
concluded that safe practice requires a denturist's fitting of dentures over implants 
be overseen by a dentist on the premises and available as needed. 
 
 5.  The rule proposed to be repealed is as follows: 
 
 24.138.510  DENTURIST EXAMINATION 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-29-201, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-29-201, MCA 
 
REASON:  During a review of the rules, staff observed that the denturist licensure 
rules had not been reviewed or updated in over ten years and recommended several 
amendments to update to current examination standards and application 
procedures.  The board is repealing this rule to represent current application 
processes and further facilitate initial licensure of denturists in Montana.  All relevant 
provisions are relocated to ARM 24.138.511. 
 
 6.  Concerned persons may present their data, views, or arguments either 
orally or in writing at the hearing.  Written data, views, or arguments may also be 
submitted to the Board of Dentistry, 301 South Park Avenue, P.O. Box 200513, 
Helena, Montana 59620-0513, by facsimile to (406) 841-2305, or e-mail to 
dlibsdden@mt.gov, and must be received no later than 5:00 p.m., October 4, 2019. 
 
 7.  An electronic copy of this notice of public hearing is available at 
www.dentistry.mt.gov (department and board's web site).  Although the department 
strives to keep its web sites accessible at all times, concerned persons should be 
aware that web sites may be unavailable during some periods, due to system 
maintenance or technical problems, and that technical difficulties in accessing a web 
site do not excuse late submission of comments. 



-1479- 
 
 

 
MAR Notice No. 24-138-76 17-9/6/19 

 
 8.  The board maintains a list of interested persons who wish to receive 
notices of rulemaking actions proposed by this board.  Persons who wish to have 
their name added to the list shall make a written request that includes the name, e-
mail, and mailing address of the person to receive notices and specifies that the 
person wishes to receive notices regarding all board administrative rulemaking 
proceedings or other administrative proceedings.  The request must indicate 
whether e-mail or standard mail is preferred.  Such written request may be sent or 
delivered to the Board of Dentistry, 301 South Park Avenue, P.O. Box 200513, 
Helena, Montana 59620-0513; faxed to the office at (406) 841-2305; e-mailed to 
dlibsdden@mt.gov; or made by completing a request form at any rules hearing held 
by the agency. 
 
 9.  The bill sponsor contact requirements of 2-4-302, MCA, apply and have 
been fulfilled.  The primary bill sponsor was contacted on May 14, 2019, by 
telephone. 
 
 10.  Regarding the requirements of 2-4-111, MCA, the board has determined 
that the amendment of ARM 24.138.301, 24.138.402, 24.138.403, 24.138.406, 
24.138.419, 24.138.502, 24.138.503, 24.138.505, 24.138.506, 24.138.507, 
24.138.508, 24.138.509, 24.138.511, 24.138.512, 24.138.514, 24.138.525, 
24.138.2105, 24.138.2301, 24.138.2302, 24.138.3223, 24.138.3225, and 
24.138.3229 will not significantly and directly impact small businesses. 
 Regarding the requirements of 2-4-111, MCA, the board has determined that 
the adoption of New Rules I and II will not significantly and directly impact small 
businesses. 
 Regarding the requirements of 2-4-111, MCA, the board has determined that 
the repeal of ARM 24.138.510 will not significantly and directly impact small 
businesses. 
 Documentation of the board's above-stated determinations is available upon 
request to the Board of Dentistry, 301 South Park Avenue, P.O. Box 200513, 
Helena, Montana 59620-0513; telephone (406) 841-2390; facsimile (406) 841-2305; 
or to dlibsdden@mt.gov. 
 
 11.  Bradley Jones, board attorney, has been designated to preside over and 
conduct this hearing. 
 
 BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

AIMEE AMELINE, DDS 
PRESIDENT 

  
/s/ DARCEE L. MOE  
Darcee L. Moe 
Rule Reviewer 

/s/ GALEN HOLLENBAUGH  
Galen Hollenbaugh, Commissioner 
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

 
 Certified to the Secretary of State August 27, 2019. 
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 BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC 
 HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES OF THE 
 STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the adoption of New 
Rules I through VIII and the repeal of 
ARM 37.107.305 and 37.107.306 
pertaining to medical marijuana 
testing laboratories 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING ON 
PROPOSED ADOPTION AND 
REPEAL 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 

 
 1.  On September 26, 2019, at 1:00 p.m., the Department of Public Health 
and Human Services will hold a public hearing in the auditorium of the Department 
of Public Health and Human Services Building, 111 North Sanders, Helena, 
Montana, to consider the proposed adoption and repeal of the above-stated rules. 

 
2.  The Department of Public Health and Human Services will make 

reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to participate in 
this rulemaking process or need an alternative accessible format of this notice.  If 
you require an accommodation, contact the Department of Public Health and Human 
Services no later than 5:00 p.m. on September 20, 2019, to advise us of the nature 
of the accommodation that you need.  Please contact Gwen Knight, Department of 
Public Health and Human Services, Office of Legal Affairs, P.O. Box 4210, Helena, 
Montana, 59604-4210; telephone (406) 444-4094; fax (406) 444-9744; or e-mail 
dphhslegal@mt.gov. 
 

3.  The rules as proposed to be adopted provide as follows: 
 
NEW RULE I  MARIJUANA TESTING LABORATORY LICENSURE AND 

ACCREDITATION  (1)  A marijuana testing laboratory must meet all applicable 
requirements under the Montana Medical Marijuana Act (Title 50, chapter 46, part 3, 
MCA) and this subchapter in order to qualify for licensure or licensure renewal. 

(2)  An applicant for a testing laboratory license must provide, to the 
department's state laboratory, documentation to support fulfillment of these 
requirements, which includes but is not limited to the following: 

(a)  certificates of insurance and bonding; 
(b)  business license; 
(c)  laboratory licensure fee payment; 
(d)  landlord permission form for laboratories, if applicable; 
(e)  laboratory employee fingerprint/background check clearance; 
(f)  laboratory security/storage plan; 
(g)  quality assurance plan; 
(h)  standard operating procedures; 
(i)  validation studies/data and results; 
(j)  proficiency data/results; 
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(k)  director professional resume, college transcripts/degrees from an 
accredited college or university; 

(l)  director references; and 
(m)  Certificate of ISO/IEC 17025:2017 accreditation and associated audit 

reports by an approved accreditation or credentialing body. 
(3)  An application for a laboratory license will not be considered complete, 

and an on-site audit will not be scheduled, until all of the required documentation is 
provided. 

(4)  A laboratory audit will be scheduled with the applicant following receipt of 
all required documentation. 

(5)  A laboratory licensee applicant must implement processes that are 
ISO/IEC 17025:2017 compliant. 

(6)  An applicant, that meets all of the requirements of this subchapter and 
50-46-311, MCA, but is not ISO/IEC 17025:2017 accredited, may be qualified for a 
provisional license pending ISO/IEC 17025:2017 accreditation approval, if written 
evidence of pending ISO accreditation and the results of an audit by the state 
laboratory indicate that accreditation will be achieved within 12 months from the date 
of licensure. 

(7)  A provisional laboratory license may not be extended or reissued beyond 
the date of the initial 12-month term. 

(8)  A licensed laboratory must maintain ISO accreditation for all 
methods/analytes in [NEW RULE VIII], at all times. 

(9)  If a laboratory's method/analyte ISO accreditation lapses or is revoked, 
the laboratory must not perform those methods until it is reinstated. 

(10)  For the purpose of this subchapter, the department adopts and 
incorporates by reference ISO/IEC 17025:2017, which sets forth general 
requirements for the competence of testing and calibration laboratories.  A copy of 
the publication may be obtained from the American National Standards Institute 
(ANSI), 1899 L St. NW, 11th Floor, Washington, DC  20036; 
https://webstore.ansi.org/SDO/ISO. 

 
AUTH:  50-46-344, MCA 
IMP:  50-46-311, 50-46-326, 50-46-329, 50-46-344, Chap. 292, section 7, L. of 
2019, MCA 

 
NEW RULE II  MARIJUANA TESTING LABORATORY GENERAL 

REQUIREMENTS  (1)  A licensed marijuana testing laboratory must employ a full-
time scientific director that meets the minimum requirements described in 50-46-311, 
MCA. 

(2)  The scientific director must ensure that: 
(a)  the laboratory achieves and maintains ISO/IEC 17025:2017 accreditation 

for all testing methods/analytes required in [NEW RULE VIII]; 
(b)  the laboratory's processes and practices are compliant with ISO/IEC 

17025:2017 standards; 
(c)  the laboratory maintains quality practices in the pre-analytic, analytic, and 

post-analytic phases of testing; 
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(d)  testing personnel have been appropriately trained and demonstrate 
competency prior to providing testing services; 

(e)  policies and procedures are in place for monitoring personnel 
competence; 

(f)  approved standard operating procedures are in place, have been 
reviewed, and are followed by all testing personnel; 

(g)  appropriate test methods are in place; 
(h)  test method validations have been performed to determine the accuracy, 

precision, and limitations of methods; 
(i)  acceptable analytical test performance is established and maintained for 

each test system; 
(j)  quality assurance and quality control programs are established and 

maintained; 
(k)  remedial actions are taken and documented when significant deviations 

from the laboratory's established performance characteristics are identified and test 
results are reported only when test systems are functioning properly; 

(l)  the laboratory successfully participates in an approved proficiency testing 
(PT) program(s), as described in this subchapter, for all methods/analytes required 
in [NEW RULE VIII]; 
 (m)  the physical and environmental conditions of the laboratory are adequate 
and appropriate for the testing performed; and 
 (n)  the environment for employees is safe from physical, chemical, and 
biological hazards, and safety and biohazard requirements are followed. 
 (3)  A scientific director must be physically present at the laboratory for the 
majority of time that testing is performed in order to adequately carry out their 
responsibilities. 
 (4)  A licensed marijuana testing laboratory must be able to perform at least 
75% of the quality assurance testing requirements defined in [NEW RULE VIII]. 
 (5)  A licensed marijuana testing laboratory can only refer quality assurance 
testing to another licensed marijuana testing laboratory in Montana which has met 
the requirements of this subchapter, and the referred testing laboratory must be 
identified in all testing reports, the certificates of analysis and in METRC. 
 (6)  A licensed marijuana testing laboratory must obtain written permission 
from the test batch sample's provider prior to sending the provider's test batch 
sample to another licensed marijuana laboratory in Montana or return the product to 
the provider at their request. 
 (7)  A licensed marijuana testing laboratory may: 
 (a)  obtain samples of marijuana items from providers or other licensees for 
testing as provided in this subchapter; 
 (b)  transport and dispose of samples as provided in this subchapter; and  
 (c)  perform testing on marijuana items in a manner consistent with the 
laboratory's accreditation. 
 (8)  A licensed laboratory may return a marijuana item obtained for purposes 
of testing to the provider.  The return of such marijuana items must be documented 
in METRC. 
 (9)  A licensed laboratory must document the following: 
 (a)  receipt of samples for testing; 
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 (b)  size, weight, or quantity of the sample; 
 (c)  provider from whom the sample was obtained; 
 (d)  date the sample was collected, and who collected it; 
 (e)  tests performed on samples; 
 (f)  date(s) testing was performed; 
 (g)  results of all testing performed; 
 (h)  certification of all testing performed and corresponding results in a 
certificate of analysis; and 
 (i)  disposition of any remaining test sample material. 
 (10)  A laboratory licensee must clearly identify all limited access areas at the 
premises. 
 (11)  All laboratory licensee employees must wear a department-issued 
identification badge. 
 (12)  A laboratory licensee must maintain a daily log of all visitor activity at a 
registered premise.  The log must contain: 
 (a)  visitor first and last name; 
 (b)  the date; 
 (c)  arrival and departure times; 
 (d)  visitor affiliation; and 
 (e)  purpose of visit. 
 (13)  Visitors must be accompanied by a laboratory licensee employee at all 
times. 
 (14)  A laboratory licensee is responsible for the security of all marijuana 
items on the premises, in transit, and under the supervision of the licensee or 
licensee employee. 
 (15)  A laboratory licensee must have a written security plan maintained on 
the premises that safeguards against theft, diversion, corruption, or tampering of 
quality assurance samples, and corresponding data/reports both on the premises, 
during transit, and storage. 
 (16)  Commercial grade locks must be installed on every external door or gate 
of the laboratory, if applicable, as well as storage or transfer stations. 
 (17)  A laboratory licensee must ensure general sanitary requirements are 
met on the premises to include: 
 (a)  hand-washing facilities; 
 (b)  proper and timely removal of all litter and waste; and 
 (c)  toilet facilities that are maintained in a sanitary condition and good repair. 
 (18)  A laboratory licensee must maintain the following records/data for at 
least three years: 
 (a)  financial records that clearly reflect all financial transactions; 
 (b)  testing data and reports to include quality control (QC) data, standard 
curves, raw instrument data, calculations, spreadsheets, certificates of analysis, 
provider reports, etc.; and 
 (c)  all laboratory licensee employee training and payroll records. 
 (19)  Records/data may be kept in either paper or electronic form on the 
premises and must be readily available for quality assurance and audit purposes. 
 (20)  A laboratory licensee must establish written emergency procedures to 
be followed in case of a fire, chemical spill, or other emergency at all premises. 
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 (21)  A laboratory licensee must provide and maintain, at its own expense, 
analytical testing laboratory professional liability insurance with an aggregate limit of 
one million dollars prior to the issuance of a license. 
 (22)  A laboratory licensee must obtain and maintain a $25,000 surety bond 
which names the department as loss payee in the event the laboratory licensee fails 
to adhere to the security plan approved by the department, or it otherwise operates 
the facility in a manner that allows for, or results in theft, loss, or diversion of 
marijuana items.  A copy of the bond must be submitted to the department prior to a 
license being issued. 
 
AUTH:  50-46-344, MCA 
IMP:  50-46-303, 50-46-311, 50-46-312, 50-46-326, 50-46-329, 50-46-344, Chap. 
292, section 7, L. of 2019, MCA 
 
 NEW RULE III  MARIJUANA TESTING LABORATORY QUALITY 
ASSURANCE PROGRAM  (1)  The laboratory shall develop and implement a quality 
assurance program to assure the reliability and validity of the analytical data 
produced by the laboratory.  The quality assurance program shall, at a minimum, 
include a written quality assurance plan that addresses the following: 
 (a)  quality control procedures; 
 (b)  laboratory organization and employee training and responsibilities, 
including good laboratory practice (GLP); 
 (c)  quality assurance objectives for measurement data; 
 (d)  traceability of data and analytical results; 
 (e)  instrument maintenance, calibration procedures, and frequency; 
 (f)  performance and system audits; 
 (g)  corrective and preventative action procedures; 
 (h)  steps to change processes when necessary; 
 (i)  record retention and document control; 
 (j)  quality assurance sample retention and disposal; 
 (k)  test procedure standardization; and 
 (l)  method validation. 
 (2)  The scientific director shall annually review, amend if necessary, and 
approve the quality assurance program and plan both when they are created and 
when there is a change in methods, laboratory equipment, or the scientific director. 
 (3)  All laboratory personnel involved in pre-analytic, analytic, and/or post-
analytic testing processes for marijuana, marijuana concentrates, marijuana 
extracts, or marijuana-infused products shall review the quality assurance plan upon 
revision or at least annually. 
 
AUTH:  50-46-344, MCA 
IMP:  50-46-311, 50-46-326, 50-46-344, Chap. 292, section 7, L. of 2019, MCA 
 
 NEW RULE IV  MARIJUANA TESTING LABORATORY QUALITY CONTROL  
 (1)  The marijuana testing laboratory shall use laboratory quality control 
(LQC) samples and adhere to good laboratory practices (GLP) in the performance of 
all quality assurance testing according to the following specifications: 
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 (a)  the laboratory shall analyze quality control samples in the same manner 
as the laboratory analyzes marijuana, marijuana concentrates, marijuana extracts, or 
marijuana-infused product quality assurance testing samples; 
 (b)  the laboratory shall use at least one negative control and one positive 
control in each analytical batch for each target organism during microbial testing; 
 (c)  if either of the controls produces unexpected results or fails, then the 
results for each sample in the analytical batch are invalid and the samples shall be 
re-prepped and reanalyzed with a new set of controls; and 
 (d)  if the positive and negative controls produce the expected results then the 
results for each sample in the analytical batch are valid and must be reported. 
 (2)  If the result of the quality control analysis is outside the laboratory's 
specified acceptance criteria, listed in the laboratory's quality assurance plan, 
specific method standard operating procedure (SOP), or the product instructions for 
use, the laboratory shall determine the cause and take corrective action steps to 
remedy the problem until the result is within the specified acceptance criteria. 
 (3)  The laboratory shall prepare and analyze at least one each of the 
following quality control samples for each analytical chemistry batch: 
 (a)  method blank; 
 (b)  laboratory control sample (LCS): 
 (c)  laboratory replicate sample; and 
 (d)  laboratory matrix spike sample. 
 (4)  The laboratory shall analyze, at minimum, a continuing calibration 
verification (CCV) sample at the beginning of each analytical sequence and at least 
every 10 samples thereafter. 
 (5)  If the result of the quality control analysis is outside the laboratory's 
specified acceptance criteria, listed in the laboratory's quality assurance plan or 
specific method SOP, the laboratory shall determine the cause and take corrective 
action steps to remedy the problem until the result is within the specified acceptance 
criteria. 
 (6)  If any quality control sample produces a result outside the specified 
acceptance criteria, the laboratory cannot report the result and the entire batch 
cannot be released for retail sale.  The laboratory shall determine the cause and 
take steps to remedy the problem until the result is within the specified acceptance 
criteria. 
 (7)  The laboratory must calculate the method detection limit and method 
reporting limit for each chemical method analysis according to the United States 
Food and Drug Administration (USFDA) "Elemental Analysis Manual for Food and 
Related Products," the United States Environmental Protection Agency (USEPA) 
"Definition and Procedure for the Determination of the Method Detection Limit, 
Revision 2," or a substantially equivalent standard. 
 
AUTH:  50-46-344, MCA 
IMP:  50-46-311, 50-46-326, 50-46-344, Chap. 292, section 7, L. of 2019, MCA 
 
 NEW RULE V  MARIJUANA TESTING LABORATORY REQUIRED 
PROFICIENCY TESTING  (1)  For a laboratory to become approved to conduct 
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quality assurance testing, the laboratory must, at its own expense, meet the 
proficiency testing requirements of this subchapter. 
 (2)  A laboratory shall successfully participate in a proficiency testing 
program(s): 
 (a)  at least every six months for each analyte/method in [NEW RULE VIII] 
that the laboratory performs on marijuana or marijuana-infused products; 
 (b)  that are matrix specific or controlled when available; and 
 (c)  that are provided by an organization operating in conformance with the 
requirements of ISO/IEC 17043:2010. 
 (3)  The laboratory shall report all analytes available by the proficiency testing 
program provider and for which the laboratory licensee is required to test as required 
under this subchapter. 
 (4)  The laboratory shall participate in the proficiency testing program by 
following the laboratory's existing standard operating procedures for testing 
marijuana or marijuana-infused products.   
 (5)  The laboratory shall rotate the proficiency testing among all of the 
laboratory testing personnel who perform a specific test method(s) or have multiple 
analysts perform the same proficiency test, when sample quantity/volume permits. 
 (6)  Laboratory testing personnel who participate in a proficiency testing 
program shall sign the corresponding analytical reports and proficiency providers 
attestation forms, if provided, to certify that the proficiency testing program was 
conducted in the same manner as the laboratory tests marijuana or marijuana-
infused products.   
 (7)  The scientific director shall review and verify the accuracy of results 
reported for all proficiency testing program samples analyzed.   
 (8)  The laboratory shall request the proficiency testing program provider to 
send all proficiency data and results concurrently to the state laboratory, when the 
data and results become available.  If the proficiency provider does not provide this 
service then it is the responsibility of the laboratory to provide the proficiency testing 
program data and results to the state laboratory within three business days after the 
laboratory receives notification of their test results from the proficiency testing 
program provider.  
 (9)  The laboratory must maintain a paper and/or electronic copy of all 
proficiency testing records, including analytical data, quality control, standard curves, 
spreadsheets, calculations, and worksheets and a copy of the proficiency testing 
provider report forms for a period of three years.  The records must be easily and 
readily available to state laboratory staff or state auditors upon request. 
 (10)  When performing a proficiency test, a marijuana testing laboratory may 
not: 
 (a)  perform multiple analyses (such as replicates or duplicates) that are not 
normally performed in the course of analysis of a routine sample; 
 (b)  average the results of multiple analyses for reporting when not specifically 
required to do so by the analytic method in question; 
 (c)  permit anyone other than bona fide testing personnel who perform the 
analyses on a day-to-day basis for the laboratory to participate in the generation of 
data or reporting of results; 
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 (d)  discuss the results of proficiency testing with any other laboratory until 
after the deadline set for receipt of results by the proficiency testing provider; 
 (e)  discuss the results of a proficiency testing audit across sites or locations, 
if the laboratory has multiple testing sites, until after the deadline set for receipt of 
results by the proficiency testing provider; 
 (f)  send proficiency testing samples or portions of samples to another 
laboratory to be tested; or 
 (g)  knowingly receive a proficiency testing sample from another laboratory for 
analysis and fail to notify the state laboratory of the receipt of the other laboratory's 
sample within five business days of discovery. 
 (11)  The state laboratory may also provide inter-laboratory proficiency testing 
samples to laboratory licensees in order to ensure that Montana marijuana testing 
laboratories are providing consistent and uniform results. 
 (12)  For the purposes of this subchapter, the department adopts and 
incorporates by reference ISO/IEC 17043:2010, which specifies general 
requirements for the competence of providers of proficiency testing schemes and for 
the development and operation of proficiency testing schemes.  A copy of the 
publication may be obtained from the American National Standards Institute (ANSI), 
1899 L St. NW, 11th Floor, Washington, DC  20036; 
https://webstore.ansi.org/SDO/ISO. 
 
AUTH:  50-46-344, MCA 
IMP:  50-46-311, 50-46-326, 50-46-344, Chap. 292, section 7, L. of 2019, MCA 
 
 NEW RULE VI  MARIJUANA TESTING LABORATORY SATISFACTORY 
AND UNSATISFACTORY PROFICIENCY TEST PERFORMANCE  (1)  The 
marijuana testing laboratory shall be deemed to have "successfully" participated in a 
proficiency testing program for an analyte tested in a specific method if the test 
results demonstrate a "satisfactory," "passed," or otherwise proficient performance 
determination by the proficiency testing program provider. 
 (2)  The marijuana testing laboratory shall be deemed to have 
"unsuccessfully" participated in a proficiency testing program for an analyte tested in 
a specific method if the test results demonstrate an "unsatisfactory," "unacceptable," 
"questionable," or "failed or otherwise deficient" performance determination by the 
proficiency testing program provider. 
 (3)  If a marijuana testing laboratory is notified by a proficiency provider of an 
"unsuccessful" result for an analyte tested in a specific method, the laboratory may 
continue to report test results for the analyte(s) if all of the following conditions are 
met: 
 (a)  the laboratory notifies the state laboratory of the "unsuccessful" 
proficiency result in writing within five business days of receiving the report from the 
proficiency provider; 
 (b)  the laboratory has "successfully" participated in a proficiency program for 
the failed analyte(s) in the specific method in the previous six months; 
 (c)  the laboratory submits to the state laboratory, for approval, a 
corrective/preventative action plan detailing how the laboratory will proceed to 
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determine the cause of the failure within 10 business days of receiving the 
"unsuccessful" performance determination by the proficiency testing provider; and 
 (d)  within 30 days of plan approval by the state laboratory, submit a 
corrective/preventative action final report describing the cause of the failure, the 
corrective action, and processes that will ensure the effectiveness of the corrective 
action. 
 (4)  The state laboratory will approve or reject corrective action plans and final 
corrective action reports as soon as reasonably practicable. 
 (5)  If a marijuana testing laboratory is notified by a proficiency provider of an 
"unsuccessful" result for an analyte tested in a specific method and the laboratory 
has not "successfully" participated in a proficiency program for the failed analyte(s) 
in the previous six months, the laboratory may not continue to report test results for 
the analyte(s) until all of the following conditions are met: 
 (a)  the laboratory notifies the state laboratory of the "unsuccessful" 
proficiency result in writing within five business days of receiving the report from the 
proficiency provider; 
 (b)  the laboratory submits to the state laboratory, for its approval, a 
corrective/preventative action plan detailing how the laboratory will proceed to 
determine the cause of the failure within 10 business days of receiving the 
"unsuccessful" performance determination by the proficiency testing provider; 
 (c)  within 30 days of plan approval by the state laboratory, submit a 
corrective/preventative action final report demonstrating the cause of the failure, the 
corrective action, and processes that will ensure the effectiveness of the corrective 
action; and 
 (d)  "successfully" participate in a proficiency test for the failed analyte(s) by a 
proficiency testing provider that meets the requirements of this subchapter. 
 
AUTH:  50-46-344, MCA 
IMP:  50-46-311, 50-46-329, 50-46-344, Chap. 292, section 7, L. of 2019, MCA 
 
 NEW RULE VII  MARIJUANA TESTING LABORATORY FAILED TEST 
SAMPLES  (1)  If the results of quality assurance testing for any analyte/method 
exceed the action limits defined in [NEW RULE VIII], then the sample and related lot 
or test batch has "failed" quality assurance testing. 
 (2)  When a marijuana testing laboratory performs quality assurance testing, 
the laboratory must verify that the following quality control criteria are within 
acceptable limits based upon the laboratory's method specific standard operating 
procedures, the laboratory quality assurance plan, and the manufacturer's 
instructions for use, if applicable: 
 (a)  standard curves; 
 (b)  method blank; 
 (c)  laboratory control sample(s); 
 (d)  positive and negative controls; 
 (e)  laboratory replicate values; 
 (f)  matrix spike sample(s); 
 (g)  continuing calibration verification sample; 
 (h)  sample preparation controls; and 
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 (i)  crossing thresholds. 
 (3)  If the quality control criteria for initial quality assurance testing are within 
acceptable limits, then the results of all individual samples within the analytical batch 
are considered valid, including "failed" samples and must be reported. 
 (4)  A provider may request that the laboratory resample the failed batch or lot 
for repeat testing within seven calendar days of receiving notice from the laboratory 
of any failed testing and resampled analyses must be completed by the laboratory 
within 30 days of receiving the request from the provider. 
 (5)  Quality assurance testing on resampled batches or lots must include all of 
the analytes defined in [NEW RULE VIII]. 
 (6)  The results of resample quality assurance tests are considered valid and 
must be reported if the quality control criteria are within the acceptable limits. 
 (7)  The provider is responsible for the costs of resampling and retesting. 
 (8)  If the quality control criteria for initial quality assurance testing are not 
within acceptable limits, then the results of all individual samples within an analytical 
batch are considered invalid (failed run) and the entire run must be repeated with 
new controls and not reported. 
 (9)  The laboratory should document and investigate failed runs, as part of the 
laboratory's quality assurance plan, to determine the root cause of the failure and 
whether corrective and preventative action measures are warranted. 
 (10)  A provider is not permitted to sell or transfer to a registered cardholder, 
marijuana items that have a failed quality assurance test. 
 (11)  Failed harvests, lots, or test batches may be remediated as long as the 
remediation method does not impart any substance or effect to the usable 
marijuana, marijuana concentrates, or marijuana-infused products that may have a 
toxic or deleterious effect on the health of the consumer. 
 (12)  Remediation methods used on specific lots or batches of marijuana or 
marijuana-infused products that have failed initial quality assurance testing must be 
disclosed to the state laboratory and to the Medical Marijuana Program prior to 
remediation. 
 (13)  No remediated harvests, lots, or test batches may be sold or transferred 
to a provider for sale until the completion and successful passage of all quality 
assurance testing, and the results certified in a certificate of analysis, as required in 
these rules and Montana statute. 
 (14)  If a remediated sample from a failed harvest, lot, or test batch fails 
quality assurance testing it cannot be remediated again and the test batch must be 
destroyed. 
 (15)  A laboratory licensee must document all sampling, testing, retesting, 
remediation, and destruction that are a result of failing a test under this subchapter. 
 
AUTH:  50-46-344, MCA 
IMP:  50-46-311, 50-46-326, 50-46-329, 50-46-344, Chap. 292, section 7, L. of 
2019, MCA 
 
 NEW RULE VIII  MARIJUANA TESTING LABORATORY QUALITY 
ASSURANCE TESTING REQUIREMENTS  (1)  Except as provided in (10), a 
provider must submit for testing a sample of every test batch from a harvest lot of 
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marijuana and process lots of marijuana-infused products, extracts, and 
concentrates intended for use by a registered cardholder prior to selling or 
transferring the marijuana item to a registered cardholder. 
 (2)  Usable marijuana lots consisting of dried leaves and flowers must be 
tested for the following: 
 (a)  cannabinoid profile; 
 (b)  moisture analysis; 
 (c)  foreign matter screening; 
 (d)  microbiological screening; and 
 (e)  pesticides screening. 
 (3)  Marijuana concentrate and extract lots must be tested for the following: 
 (a)  cannabinoid profile; 
 (b)  microbiological screening;  
 (c)  residual solvents screening; and 
 (d)  pesticides screening. 
 (4)  Marijuana-infused products must be tested for the following: 
 (a)  cannabinoid profile. 
 (5)  The cannabinoid profile for each sample must include: 
 (a)  THCA; 
 (b)  THC; 
 (c)  Total THC; 
 (d)  CBDA; 
 (e)  CBD; and  
 (f)  Total CBD.  
 (6)  The sample and related lot or test batch fail quality assurance testing for 
moisture analysis if the results exceed moisture content of more than twelve percent. 
 (7)  The sample and related lot or test batch fail quality assurance testing for 
foreign matter screening if the results exceed the following limits: 
 (a) five percent of stems 3mm or more in diameter; and 
 (b) two percent of seeds or other foreign matter. 
 (8) The sample and related lot or test batch fail quality assurance testing for 
microbiological screening if the results exceed the following limits: 
 (a)  Salmonella:  non-detectable in a gram of material; 
 (b)  E. Coli: non-detectable in a gram of material; 
 (c)  Mold:  more than 10,000 colony forming units (CFU) per gram of 
culturable mold; 
 (d)  Total of Aflatoxin B1, B2, G1, G2: 20 µg/kg; and 
 (e)  Ochratoxin A: 20 µg/kg of substance. 
 (9)  A sample and related lot or test batch fail quality assurance testing for 
residual solvents if the results exceed the limits provided in the table below. 
 
Residual Solvents  
Solvent* ppm 
Acetone 5,000 
Benzene 2 
Butanes 5,000 
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Chloroform 2 
Cyclohexane 3,880 
Dichloromethane 600 
Ethyl acetate 5,000 
Heptanes 5,000 
Hexanes 290 
Isopropanol (2-propanol) 5,000 
Methanol 3,000 
Pentanes  5,000 
Propane 5,000 
Toluene 890 
Xylene** 2,170 

 
*And isomers thereof. 
**Usually 60% m-xylene, 14% p-xylene, 9% o-xylene with 17% ethyl benzene. 
 
 (10)  Heavy metals will be tested at random. A sample and related lot or test 
batch fail quality assurance testing for heavy metals if the results exceed the limits 
provided in the table below. 
 
Heavy Metals 
 
 Limits; Unprocessed/Dry 

Flower 
Limits; Extract 

Inorganic arsenic  2.0 µg/g 10 µg/g 
Cadmium  0.82 µg/g 4.1 µg/g 
Lead 1.2 µg/g 6.0 µg/g 
Mercury  0.4 µg/g 2.0 µg/g 

  
 (11)  A sample and related lot or test batch fail quality assurance testing for 
pesticides if the results exceed the limits provided in the table below. 
 
Pesticides 
 
Analyte Chemical Abstract 

Services (CAS) 
Registry Number 

Action Level ppl; 
Unprocessed/Dry 
Flower 

Action Level ppm; 
Extract 

Abamectin 71751-41-2 0.5 2.5 
Acequinocyl 57960-19-7 2 10 
Bifenazate 149877-41-8 0.2 1 
Bifenthrin 82657-04-3 0.2 1 
Chlormequat 
Choloride 

999-81-5 1 5 

Cyfluthrin 68359-37-5 1 5 
Daminozide 1596-84-5 1 5 
Etoxazole 153233-91-1 0.2 1 



 
 
 

 
MAR Notice No. 37-889 17-9/6/19 

-1492- 

Fenoxycarb 72490-01-8 0.2 1 
Imazalil 35554-44-0 0.2 1 
Imidacloprid 138261-41-3 0.4 2 
Myclobutanil 88671-89-0 0.2 0.6 
Paclobutrazol 76738-62-0 0.4 2 
Pyrethrins† 8003-34-7 1 5 
Spinosad 168316-95-8 0.2 1 
Spirotetramat 203313-25-1 0.2 1 
Trifloxystrobin 141517-21-7 0.2 1 

 
† Pyrethrins should be measured as the cumulative residues of pyrethrin 1, cinerin 1, 
and jasmolin 1 (CAS numbers 121-21-1, 25402-06-6, and 4466-14-2 respectively).  
 
 (12)  Providers must adhere to testing requirements for all marijuana and 
marijuana products intended for sale or transfer to cardholders. 
 (a)  Usable marijuana, including trim and manicure must be tested for: 
 (i)  pesticides; 
 (ii)  moisture content; 
 (iii)  cannabinoid profile/potency; 
 (iv)  microbiological; 
 (v)  mycotoxin; 
 (vi)  filth and foreign matter; and 
 (vii)  heavy metals (random testing). 
 (b)  A provider has the option to forgo testing of usable marijuana, including 
trim and manicure, if that usable marijuana is subject to further processing before 
sale or transfer to cardholders. 
 (c)  Marijuana extract and concentrate that is intended for direct sale or 
transfer to cardholders must be tested for:   
 (i)  pesticides; 
 (ii)  cannabinoid profile/potency; 
 (iii)  microbiological; 
 (iv)  mycotoxin; 
 (v)  heavy metals (random testing); and 
 (vi)  residual solvents. 
 (d)  Marijuana extract and concentrate that is intended for further processing 
before direct sale or transfer to cardholders must be tested for: 
 (i)  pesticides; 
 (ii)  residual solvents; 
 (iii)  mycotoxin; and 
 (iv)  heavy metals (random testing). 
 (e)  Cannabinoid products intended for human consumption, ingestion, and 
cannabinoid suppositories, topicals, and transdermal patches must be tested for: 
 (i)  cannabinoid profile; and 
 (ii)  microbiological. 
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 (f)  All cannabinoid products listed in (e) must use marijuana extract and 
concentrate that has passed testing requirements for direct sale or transfer to 
cardholders as set forth in (d). 
 
AUTH:  50-46-344, MCA 
IMP:  50-46-303, 50-46-308, 50-46-311, 50-46-326, 50-46-344, Chap. 292, section 
7, L. of 2019, MCA 
 

4.  The department proposes to repeal the following rules: 
 
37.107.305  MARIJUANA TESTING LABORATORY LICENSEE 

REQUIREMENTS, found on page 37-26731 of the Administrative Rules of Montana. 
 
AUTH:  50-46-344, MCA 
IMP:  50-46-303, 50-46-311, 50-46-312, 50-46-326, 50-46-328, 50-46-329, MCA 
 
 37.107.306  MARIJUANA TESTING LABORATORIES ACCREDITATION, 
found on page 37-26732 of the Administrative Rules of Montana. 
 
AUTH:  50-46-344, MCA 
IMP:  50-46-303, 50-46-311, 50-46-312, MCA 
 
 5.  STATEMENT OF REASONABLE NECESSITY 
 
In 2019, Montana's 66th Legislature passed Senate Bill (SB) 265 and House Bill 
(HB) 598, which revise the Montana Medical Marijuana Act.  With respect to medical 
marijuana testing laboratories, the bills shift responsibility for licensing and 
inspection to the Department of Public Health and Human Services' State 
Laboratory.  The bills also direct the department's state laboratory to promulgate 
administrative rules pertaining to requirements for the licensure, accreditation, and 
operation of medical marijuana testing laboratories. 
 
In order to implement the statutory mandates of SB 265 and HB 598, the department 
is proposing to adopt New Rules I through VIII, pertaining to medical marijuana 
testing laboratories.  The proposed rules have been developed by the department's 
state laboratory to address requirements for licensure, accreditation, and operation 
of medical marijuana testing laboratories. 
 
New Rule I – Marijuana Testing Laboratory Licensure and Accreditation 
 
The department is proposing New Rule I to address the requirements medical 
marijuana testing laboratories must meet to qualify for licensure and licensure 
renewal.  The rule identifies requirements for issuance or renewal of a license and 
specifies the process under which the department will review license applications.  
The rule also implements new requirements for medical marijuana testing 
laboratories under SB 265 and HB 598 such as International Organization 
Standardization (ISO) certification.  The rule is necessary to identify the 
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requirements for obtaining a license and the process under which the department 
will review license applications. 
 
New Rule II – Marijuana Testing Laboratory General Requirements 
 
The department is proposing New Rule II to address the general requirements for 
operation of medical marijuana testing laboratories, including the role and 
responsibilities of the scientific director referenced in SB 265 and HB 598.  The rule 
also specifies general operational requirements for medical marijuana testing 
laboratories including recordkeeping requirements, security requirements, personnel 
requirements, and insurance and bonding requirements.   
 
The rule is necessary to provide medical marijuana testing laboratories with notice of 
the rules they must follow and to implement the requirements of SB 265 and HB 
598. 
 
New Rule III – Marijuana Testing Laboratory Quality Assurance Program 
 
The department is proposing New Rule III to address the requirements and content 
of the quality assurance program and plan that must be developed and maintained 
by each medical marijuana testing laboratory.  The rule is necessary to ensure 
medical marijuana testing laboratories maintain and follow written procedures to 
conduct testing in a manner that assures the reliability and validity of analytical 
testing data produced by the laboratory. 
 
New Rule IV – Marijuana Testing Laboratory Quality Control 
 
The department is proposing New Rule IV to address requirements for marijuana 
testing and laboratory quality control samples and use thereof for quality assurance 
test interpretation.  The rule is necessary to ensure the reliability and validity of 
analytical testing data produced by the laboratory.   
 
New Rule V – Marijuana Testing Laboratory Required Proficiency Testing 
 
The department is proposing New Rule V to address requirements for frequency, 
quality, and use of marijuana proficiency samples, as well as requirements to 
provide proficiency testing data and results to the state laboratory.  The rule is 
necessary to monitor the performance of medical marijuana testing laboratories and 
to ensure medical marijuana laboratories maintain their own level of competence in 
performing specific tests. 
 
New Rule VI – Marijuana Testing Laboratory Satisfactory and Unsatisfactory 
Proficiency Test Performance 
 
The department is proposing New Rule VI to specify what constitutes a successful 
and unsuccessful performance.  The rule is necessary to provide medical marijuana 
testing laboratories with notice of how proficiency testing will be evaluated by the 
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department and to ensure that laboratories who fail a proficiency test take corrective 
measures to ensure future testing is properly performed. 
 
New Rule VII – Marijuana Testing Laboratory Failed Test Samples 
 
The department proposes New Rule VII to specify the process for interpretation of 
testing results and retesting of quality assurance samples when a quality assurance 
analyte/method exceeds the action limits defined in New Rule VIII.  This rule is 
necessary to provide notice of the ability to have a sample retested, the 
requirements for retesting, and the consequence of failure to pass the initial or 
subsequent test. 
 
New Rule VIII – Marijuana Testing Laboratory Quality Assurance Testing 
Requirements 
 
The department is proposing New Rule VIII to address required tests and 
corresponding action limits for quality assurance tests performed on marijuana, 
marijuana concentrates, marijuana extracts, and marijuana-infused products.  This 
rule is necessary to implement the requirements of SB 265 regarding the substances 
for which marijuana and marijuana products must be tested, establish permissible 
contaminant levels, and to provide notice of these testing requirements. 
 
ARM 37.107.305 and 37.107.306 
 
The department is proposing to repeal these rules because licensing and operational 
requirements for medical marijuana testing laboratories are addressed in New Rules 
I and II, which have been proposed by the department's state laboratory in 
accordance with SB 265 and HB 598. 
 
Fiscal Impact 
 
The department anticipates no fiscal impact regarding the proposed rulemaking. 
 
 6.  The department intends these proposed rule adoptions and repeals to be 
applied retroactively to October 1, 2019. 
 
 7.  Concerned persons may submit their data, views, or arguments either 
orally or in writing at the hearing.  Written data, views, or arguments may also be 
submitted to: Gwen Knight, Department of Public Health and Human Services, 
Office of Legal Affairs, P.O. Box 4210, Helena, Montana, 59604-4210; fax (406) 444-
9744; or e-mail dphhslegal@mt.gov, and must be received no later than 5:00 p.m., 
October 4, 2019. 
 

8.  The Office of Legal Affairs, Department of Public Health and Human 
Services, has been designated to preside over and conduct this hearing. 
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9.  The department maintains a list of interested persons who wish to receive 
notices of rulemaking actions proposed by this agency.  Persons who wish to have 
their name added to the list shall make a written request that includes the name, e-
mail, and mailing address of the person to receive notices and specifies for which 
program the person wishes to receive notices.  Notices will be sent by e-mail unless 
a mailing preference is noted in the request.  Such written request may be mailed or 
delivered to the contact person in 7 above or may be made by completing a request 
form at any rules hearing held by the department. 

 
10.  The bill sponsor contact requirements of 2-4-302, MCA, apply and have 

been fulfilled.  The primary bill sponsors were notified by letters sent via U.S. mail on 
July 23, 2019. 

 
11.  With regard to the requirements of 2-4-111, MCA, the department has 

determined that the adoption and repeal of the above-referenced rules will not 
significantly and directly impact small businesses. 

 
 

/s/ Robert Lishman    /s/ Marie Matthews, for    
Robert Lishman    Sheila Hogan, Director 
Rule Reviewer    Public Health and Human Services 
 
 

Certified to the Secretary of State August 27, 2019. 
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 BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
 OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the adoption of New 
Rule I, amendment of ARM 
42.13.111, 42.13.201, 42.13.401, 
42.13.806, 42.13.1002, 42.13.1003, 
and repeal of ARM 42.12.317 and 
42.13.404 pertaining to implementing 
legislative changes to table wine, 
hard cider, and sacramental wine tax 
reporting requirements and 
microdistillery production changes; 
and updating labeling and packaging 
requirements  

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING ON 
PROPOSED ADOPTION, 
AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 

 
1.  On September 30, 2019 at 11:30 a.m., the Department of Revenue will 

hold a public hearing in the Third Floor Reception Area Conference Room of the 
Sam W. Mitchell Building, located at 125 North Roberts, Helena, Montana, to 
consider the proposed adoption, amendment, and repeal of the above-stated rules.  
The conference room is most readily accessed by entering through the east doors of 
the building. 

 
2.  The Department of Revenue will make reasonable accommodations for 

persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this public hearing or need an 
alternative accessible format of this notice.  If you require an accommodation, please 
advise the department of the nature of the accommodation needed, no later than 5 
p.m. on September 13, 2019.  Please contact Todd Olson, Department of Revenue, 
Director's Office, P.O. Box 7701, Helena, Montana 59604-7701; telephone (406) 
444-7905; fax (406) 444-3696; or todd.olson@mt.gov. 
  

3.  The rule as proposed to be adopted provides as follows: 
 
NEW RULE I  TABLE WINE, HARD CIDER, AND SACRAMENTAL WINE 

REPORTING REQUIREMENTS  (1)  All wineries and table wine distributors that sell 
table wine, hard cider, or sacramental wine in Montana must electronically file the 
tax returns and reports listed in (2) through (5), on forms provided by the 
department, and pay any tax due in accordance with the filing frequencies 
prescribed in 16-1-411, MCA. 
 (2)  The following entities shall file a wine tax return for table wine sold in 
Montana and a hard cider tax return for hard cider sold in Montana: 
 (a)  registered or licensed wineries with a direct shipment endorsement for 
table wine, hard cider, or both sold directly to consumers; 
 (b)  licensed wineries for table wine, hard cider, or both sold to licensed 
retailers; 
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 (c)  licensed wineries, located in Montana, for table wine, hard cider, or both 
sold to consumers through the winery's sample room; and 
 (d)  table wine distributors for table wine, hard cider, or both sold to licensed 
retailers. 
 (3)  The following licensed entities shall file a wine tax return for sacramental 
wine sold in Montana: 
 (a)  sacramental wine licensees located outside Montana for sacramental 
wine sold to officials of churches or other established religious organizations; 
 (b)  licensed wineries for sacramental wine containing not more than 16 
percent alcohol by volume sold to licensed retailers and for sacramental wine 
containing not more than 24 percent alcohol by volume sold to sacramental wine 
licensees; and  
 (c)  table wine distributors for sacramental wine containing not more than 16 
percent alcohol by volume sold to licensed retailers and for sacramental wine 
containing not more than 24 percent alcohol by volume sold to sacramental wine 
licensees. 
 (4)  Licensed out-of-state wineries that sell table wine, hard cider, or 
sacramental wine directly to licensed retailers shall report the amount of table wine, 
hard cider, and sacramental wine sold to each licensed retailer. 
 (5)  Licensed or registered wineries that sell table wine, hard cider, or 
sacramental wine to a table wine distributor shall report the amount of table wine, 
hard cider, and sacramental wine sold to each table wine distributor. 
 (6)  Licensed retailers that purchase table wine, hard cider, or sacramental 
wine directly from a licensed out-of-state winery shall report the amount of table 
wine, hard cider, and sacramental wine purchased from each winery on or before 
the 15th day of each month following the purchase of the table wine, hard cider, and 
sacramental wine. 
 

AUTH: 16-1-303, MCA 
IMP: 16-1-411, 16-3-404, 16-3-411, 16-4-107, 16-4-313, 16-4-1101, 16-4-

1102, 16-4-1103, MCA 
 
REASONABLE NECESSITY:  The department proposes to adopt New Rule I 

regarding new tax and reporting requirements that apply when table wine, hard 
cider, and sacramental wine are sold in the state.  It is necessary for the department 
to propose New Rule I to implement House Bill 84 (HB 84) by the 66th Montana 
Legislature, which amended 16-1-411, MCA, and the frequency of licensee or 
registrant tax return filing to the department based on the type of license or registration 
that is held, and by the amount of table wine, hard cider, and sacramental wine the 
entity sold during the reported period. 

HB 84, and proposed New Rule I, seek to improve reporting efficiency by 
minimizing the number of returns filed and the frequency of reporting that is required by 
wine and hard cider licensees or registrants and providing for electronic filing of any 
required return or report.  The current reporting requirements for wine products can be 
found in ARM 42.12.317 and 42.13.404 and much of New Rule I content is based on 
the content of these rules.  The department intends for New Rule I to reflect the new 
filing frequency criteria provided in 16-1-411, MCA, as amended, combine tax and 
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reporting requirements for all three wine product types into one location, and justify the 
repeal of ARM 42.12.317 and 42.13.404. 

The department also proposes through New Rule I to remove existing form 
name references from rule because the department believes its webpage and online 
reporting portal provide sufficient information to direct filing parties to the correct form. 
 

4.  The rules as proposed to be amended provide as follows, new matter 
underlined, deleted matter interlined: 
 

42.13.111  DEFINITIONS  The following definitions apply to this chapter: 
(1) through (16) remain the same. 
(17)  "Microdistillery" means a distillery located in Montana that produces 

25,000 gallons or less of liquor annually.  
(18) through (34) remain the same but are renumbered (17) through (33).   
 
AUTH: 16-1-303, MCA 
IMP: 16-1-302, MCA 
 
REASONABLE NECESSITY: The department proposes to strike the definition 

of microdistillery in (17) due to the passage of Senate Bill 182 by the 66th Montana 
Legislature.  Senate Bill 182 revised the definition of microdistillery to include any 
distillery located in Montana that produces 200,000 proof gallons or less of liquor 
annually.  Rather than amending the definition to the new production threshold, the 
department proposes to strike the definition as it is already provided for in statute 
and unnecessary to repeat in rule. 

 
42.13.201  LABELING AND PACKAGING REQUIREMENTS  (1) remains the 

same. 
(2)  Alcoholic beverage products are a mature product category, restricted by 

law to only consumers age 21 and older and who are not intoxicated, and therefore 
should be marketed in a responsible and appropriate manner.  The department, in 
its discretion and on a case-by-case basis, will not approve a beer, wine, or hard 
cider label or primary package that: 

(a) and (b) remain the same. 
(c)  contains graphics or elements that: 
(i) and (ii) remain the same. 
(iii)  alludes to or suggests irresponsible, excessive, or underage 

consumption; or 
(d)  is in powdered or crystalline form. 
(3) remains the same. 
 
AUTH: 16-1-303, MCA 
IMP: 16-1-101, 16-1-102, 16-1-106, 16-1-303, MCA 
 
REASONABLE NECESSITY:  The department is proposing to amend ARM 

42.13.201 to prohibit the sale of beer and wine products packaged in powdered 
form.  This amendment is necessary and an exercise of the department authority to 



 
 
 

 
MAR Notice No.  42-1002 17-9/6/19 

-1500- 

protect the health, welfare, and safety of the citizens of Montana.  The department 
does not believe that allowing Montana to be a test market in determining whether 
the social impact concerns related to these products are valid would be in the best 
interest of the health, welfare, and safety of Montana's citizens. 

Further, the department contends this rule amendment is necessary to apply 
consistent labeling and packaging restrictions to beer and wine with those present in 
ARM 42.11.402(3)(e) for liquor products.  It is important that the department provide 
regulatory consistency across all alcoholic beverage product types. 
 

42.13.401  IMPORTATION OF WINE  (1)  A foreign winery or importer, not 
otherwise licensed in Montana, desiring to ship table wine, sacramental wine, or hard 
cider to Montana must submit an application for registration specified in 16-4-107, 
MCA.  The registration must be renewed annually by October 1 and be accompanied 
by the applicable registration fee shown in (3). 

(2) remains the same. 
(3)  For the first year, the registration fee is based on the total number of 9-liter 

cases the registrant intends to ship to Montana that year.  For subsequent years, the 
registration fee is based on the total number of 9-liter cases the registrant actually 
shipped to Montana during the preceding year.  The registration fee schedule is as 
follows: 

(a)  0-60 9-liter cases = no charge; 
(b)  61-500 9-liter cases = $100; 
(c)  501-1000 9-liter cases = $200; 
(d)  1001- 2000 9-liter cases = $300; or 
(e)  2001 + 9-liter cases = $400. 
(4) through (6) remain the same. 
 
AUTH: 16-1-303, 16-4-1103, MCA 
IMP: 16-3-402, 16-4-107, 16-4-1102, 16-4-1103, MCA 
 
REASONABLE NECESSITY:  The department proposes to amend ARM 

42.13.401(1) to include sacramental wine and hard cider in the list of products a foreign 
winery or importer is allowed to ship to Montana once registered.  This amendment is 
necessary because all three product types can be shipped under the registration.   

The department also proposes to amend (3) to base the foreign winery or 
importer registration fee on 9-liter cases rather than a general case reference.  This 
amendment is necessary to apply a consistent measurement of volume for determining 
the foreign winery or importer's registration fee.  The proposed 9-liter measurement of 
volume is well known and uniform in the alcoholic beverage industry.  
 

42.13.806  USE OF OUTSOURCED DISTILLED SPIRITS IN THE 
MANUFACTURING OF DISTILLED SPIRITS  (1) through (5) remain the same. 

 
AUTH: 16-1-303, MCA 
IMP: 16-1-401, 16-1-404, 16-3-214 16-4-311, 16-4-312, MCA 
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REASONABLE NECESSITY:  The department proposes correcting 
implementing citation errors in this rule.  These amendments are necessary for the 
rule to comply with 2-4-305(3), MCA. 

 
42.13.1002  ALTERNATING PROPRIETOR ON A MANUFACTURER'S 

PREMISES  (1) through (3) remain the same. 
(4)  To apply, the tenant and host shall submit a complete application to the 

department that includes: 
(a) and (b) remain the same. 
(c)  a copy of the host's floorplan floor plan identifying the areas to be used by 

the tenant; and 
(d) through (12) remain the same. 
(13)  In addition to all other requirements imposed by this rule, where the 

tenant is a brewery: 
(a) remains the same. 
(b)  for purposes of the tax imposed by 16-1-406, MCA, the small brewery 

10,000 60,000 barrel production cap in 16-3-213, MCA, and the 60,000 barrel 
production cap in 16-3-214, MCA, all beer produced by a tenant at a host's premises 
shall be considered as part of the tenant's annual nationwide production; and 

(c)  a tenant with an annual nationwide production between 100 and 10,000 
60,000 barrels may provide, with or without charge, beer in its sample room only if 
the beer was brewed and fermented at its premises.  This restriction includes a 
prohibition against a tenant providing beer in its sample room that was brewed or 
fermented at a host's premises.  A tenant that brewed and fermented beer at its 
premises and packaged the beer at a host's premises may provide that beer, with or 
without charge, in the tenant's sample room; and 

(d)  a tenant with an annual nationwide production between 10,000 and 
60,000 barrels may provide, without charge, beer on its licensed premises that was 
produced and/or packaged at its premises or a host's premises. 

(14) remains the same. 
(15)  In addition to all other requirements imposed by this rule, where the 

tenant is a distillery: 
(a) remains the same. 
(b)  for purposes of the taxes imposed by 16-1-401 and 16-1-404, MCA, and 

the microdistillery 25,000 200,000 proof gallon production cap set forth in 16-4-310, 
MCA, all liquor produced by a tenant at a host's premises shall be considered liquor 
produced by the tenant; and 

(c)  a tenant distillery with an annual production of 25,000 200,000 proof 
gallons or less may provide, with or without charge, liquor in its sample room only if 
the liquor was produced at its premises.  This restriction includes a prohibition 
against a tenant distillery providing liquor in its sample room that was produced at a 
host's premises, subject to the production exception in ARM 42.13.805(3) 42.13.802. 

(16) remains the same.  
 
AUTH: 16-1-201, 16-1-303, MCA 
IMP: 16-1-201, 16-1-401, 16-1-404, 16-1-406, 16-1-411, 16-3-213, 16-3-214, 

16-4-310, 16-4-311, 16-4-312, 16-4-406, MCA 
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REASONABLE NECESSITY:  The department proposes to amend (4)(c) to 

correct a grammatical error and for continuity with other instances of the word "floor 
plan" stated in chapters 12 and 13. 

Subsection (13) is proposed for amendment due to the passage of House Bill 
541 during the 65th Montana Legislature.  House Bill 541 revised the definition of 
small brewery to a brewery that has an annual nationwide production of not less 
than 100 barrels or more than 60,000 barrels.  The amendments proposed in (13) 
are necessary to reflect 16-3-213, MCA, as amended. 

Subsection (15)(b) is proposed for amendment due to the passage of Senate 
Bill 182 during the 66th Montana Legislature, which increased the microdistillery 
production cap from 25,000 gallons to 200,000 proof gallons.  The amendments in 
(15) are necessary for consistency with statute, as amended. 

Subsection (15)(c) is also proposed for amendment for the same reason as 
(15)(b) and to correct an internal cross-reference to another administrative rule.  The 
cross-reference should be to ARM 42.13.802, not ARM 42.13.805(3). 

 
42.13.1003  CONTRACT MANUFACTURING  (1) through (6) remain the 

same. 
(7)  In addition to all other requirements imposed by this rule, where the client 

is a brewery:  
(a) remains the same. 
(b)  for purposes of the tax imposed by 16-1-406, MCA, the small brewery 

10,000 60,000 barrel production cap set forth in 16-3-213, MCA, and the 60,000 
barrel production cap set forth in 16-3-214, MCA, all beer produced by the contract 
manufacturer for the client shall be considered as part of the client's annual 
nationwide production; and 

(c)  a client with an annual nationwide production between 100 and 10,000 
60,000 barrels may provide, with or without charge, beer in its sample room only if 
the beer was brewed and fermented at its premises.  This restriction includes a 
prohibition against a client providing beer in its sample room that was brewed or 
fermented at a contract manufacturer's premises.  A client that brewed and 
fermented beer at its premises and then had the beer packaged at a contract 
manufacturer's premises may provide that beer, with or without charge, in the client's 
sample room; and 

(d)  a client with an annual nationwide production between 10,000 and 60,000 
barrels may provide, without charge, beer on its licensed premises that was 
produced and/or packaged at its premises or a contract manufacturer's premises. 

(8) remains the same. 
(9)  In addition to all other requirements imposed by this rule, where the client 

is a distillery: 
(a) remains the same. 
(b)  for purposes of the taxes imposed by 16-1-401 and 16-1-404, MCA, and 

the microdistillery 25,000 200,000 proof gallon production cap set forth in 16-4-310, 
MCA, all liquor produced by a contract manufacturer for the client shall be 
considered as part of the client's annual nationwide production; and 
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(c)  a client with an annual production of 25,000 200,000 proof gallons or less 
may provide, with or without charge, liquor in its sample room only if the liquor was 
produced at its premises.  This restriction includes a prohibition against a client 
providing liquor in its sample room that was produced at a contract manufacturer's 
premises, subject to the production exception in ARM 42.13.805(3) 42.13.802. 

(10) and (11) remain the same. 
 
AUTH: 16-1-303, MCA 
IMP: 16-1-401, 16-1-404, 16-1-406, 16-1-411, 16-3-213, 16-3-214, 16-4-310, 

16-4-311, 16-4-312, 16-4-406, MCA 
 
REASONABLE NECESSITY:  Section (7) is proposed for amendment due to 

the passage of House Bill 541 during the 65th Montana Legislature.  House Bill 541 
revised the definition of small brewery to a brewery that has an annual nationwide 
production of not less than 100 barrels or more than 60,000 barrels.  The 
amendments proposed in (7) are necessary to reflect 16-3-213, MCA, as amended. 

Subsections (9)(b) and (c) are proposed for amendment due to the passage 
of Senate Bill 182 during the 66th Montana Legislature, which increased the 
microdistillery production cap from 25,000 gallons to 200,000 proof gallons.  The 
amendments in these subsections are necessary for consistency with the statute, as 
amended. 

Subsection (9)(c) is also proposed for amendment to correct an internal 
cross-reference to another administrative rule.  The cross-reference should be to 
ARM 42.13.802, not ARM 42.13.805(3). 
 

5.  The department proposes to repeal the following rules: 
 

42.12.317  SACRAMENTAL WINE MONTHLY REPORTS AND TAX 
RETURNS 

 
AUTH: 16-1-303, MCA 
IMP: 16-1-411, 16-4-313, MCA 
 
REASONABLE NECESSITY:  The department proposes repealing ARM 

42.12.317 and incorporating the content into proposed New Rule I.  New Rule I, as 
proposed, will include the filing requirements for entities that sell table wine, 
sacramental wine, or hard cider in Montana into one rule.  The department believes 
the proposed repeal is necessary and advisable, for efficiency, because it will 
eliminate the registrant or licensee from referring to multiple rules as those entities 
are typically filing a combination of these tax returns and related reports. 

 
42.13.404  WINE REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 
 
AUTH: 16-1-303, MCA 
IMP: 16-1-411, 16-3-411, 16-4-107, 16-4-1101, 16-4-1102, 16-4-1103, MCA 
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REASONABLE NECESSITY:  The department proposes repealing ARM 
42.13.404 and incorporating the content into proposed New Rule I.  New Rule I 
includes the filing requirements for entities that sell table wine, sacramental wine, or 
hard cider in Montana into one rule.  Consistent with its statement of reasonable 
necessity for the repeal of ARM 42.12.317, the department also believes the 
proposed repeal of this rule is necessary and advisable, for efficiency, because it will 
eliminate the registrant or licensee from referring to multiple rules as those entities 
are typically filing a combination of these tax returns and related reports. 
 
 6.  Concerned persons may submit their data, views, or arguments, either 
orally or in writing, at the hearing.  Written data, views, or arguments may also be 
submitted to:  Todd Olson, Department of Revenue, Director's Office, P.O. Box 
7701, Helena, Montana 59604-7701; telephone (406) 444-7905; fax (406) 444-3696; 
or e-mail todd.olson@mt.gov and must be received no later than 5:00 p.m., October 
4, 2019. 
 

7.  Todd Olson, Department of Revenue, Director's Office, has been 
designated to preside over and conduct the hearing. 

 
8.  The Department of Revenue maintains a list of interested persons who 

wish to receive notices of rulemaking actions proposed by this agency.  Persons 
who wish to have their name added to the list shall make a written request, which 
includes the name and e-mail or mailing address of the person to receive notices 
and specifies that the person wishes to receive notice regarding particular subject 
matter or matters.  Notices will be sent by e-mail unless a mailing preference is 
noted in the request.  A written request may be mailed or delivered to the person in 
number 6 above or faxed to the office at (406) 444-3696, or may be made by 
completing a request form at any rules hearing held by the Department of Revenue. 

 
9.  An electronic copy of this notice is available on the department's web site 

at revenue.mt.gov, or through the Secretary of State's web site at 
sosmt.gov/ARM/register. 

 
10.  The bill sponsor contact requirements of 2-4-302, MCA, apply and have 

been fulfilled.  The primary bill sponsor was contacted by email on August 22, 2019. 
 

11.  With regard to the requirements of 2-4-111, MCA, the department has 
determined that the adoption, amendment, and repeal of the above-referenced rules 
will not significantly and directly impact small businesses. 
 
 
/s/ Todd Olson    /s/ Gene Walborn     
Todd Olson     Gene Walborn 
Rule Reviewer    Director of Revenue 
 
 

Certified to the Secretary of State August 27, 2019. 
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 BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
 OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of 
ARM 42.12.222 and 42.13.101 
pertaining to implementation of a 
point-based penalty system and 
revising procedures relating to 
revocation, lapse, or suspension of 
alcoholic beverage licenses 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING ON 
PROPOSED AMENDMENT 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 

 
1.  On September 30, 2019, at 1:30 p.m., the Department of Revenue will 

hold a public hearing in the Third Floor Reception Area Conference Room of the 
Sam W. Mitchell Building, located at 125 North Roberts, Helena, Montana, to 
consider the proposed amendment of the above-stated rules.  The conference room 
is most readily accessed by entering through the east doors of the building. 

 
2.  The Department of Revenue will make reasonable accommodations for 

persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this public hearing or need an 
alternative accessible format of this notice.  If you require an accommodation, please 
advise the department of the nature of the accommodation needed, no later than 5 
p.m. on September 13, 2019.  Please contact Todd Olson, Department of Revenue, 
Director's Office, P.O. Box 7701, Helena, Montana 59604-7701; telephone (406) 
444-7905; fax (406) 444-3696; or todd.olson@mt.gov. 

 
3.  The rules as proposed to be amended provide as follows, new matter 

underlined, deleted matter interlined: 
 

42.12.222  PROCEDURE UPON REVOCATION, LAPSE, OR SUSPENSION 
OF LICENSE  (1)  Except as provided in (2), Wwhen any alcoholic beverages 
license is suspended or revoked by the department, the department shall cause a 
notice to be posted on the inside of the licensed premises so that the notice can be 
seen from the outside, stating that the license has been suspended or revoked.  The 
notice must identify the number of the license, the name of the licensee, the reason 
for the suspension or revocation, and the period of suspension.  The suspension or 
revocation notice issued by the department must be dated and signed.  The notice 
must be posted at all times during the period of suspension.  In the case of a 
revocation, the notice must be posted on the premises for a period of 10 days.  If the 
notice is removed or caused to be removed by the licensee or any employee of the 
licensee during a period of suspension, the license shall be permanently revoked 
and the licensee must be so notified in writing at the time the notice is posted.  The 
license or licenses suspended will be held by the department during the period of 
suspension. 

(2)  The department, in its sole discretion, may waive the notice and posting 
requirements provided in (1).  
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(3)  When a license has been revoked or lapsed, the department shall not 
accept an application from the underlying individuals qualified for licensure pursuant 
to 16-4-401, MCA, for one year from the date of revocation or lapse.  After the one-
year moratorium, an application will only be accepted if the applicant demonstrates 
to the department that sufficient steps have been taken to prevent future violations 
or to operate a going establishment. 

(4)  A revoked or lapsed license affects a license quota area as follows: 
(a)  if an action against the license causes the creation of the last remaining 

license for that license type in the quota area, the department shall publish the 
availability of a retail alcoholic beverage license in accordance with ARM 42.12.502; 
or 

(b)  if the number of licenses issued for a quota area exceeds statutory 
limitations, the license will cease to exist, and the department will adjust the license 
quota accordingly. 

(5)  If a revoked or lapsed beer license originally issued within an 
incorporated city quota area before October 1, 1997, is reinstated, the license may 
not be used for premises where gambling is conducted. 

 
AUTH:  16-1-303, MCA 
IMP:  16-1-303, 16-4-406, MCA 
 

REASONABLE NECESSITY:  The department proposes to amend (1) to 
include an exception to revocation and suspension notice posting requirements 
proposed in (2).  The department finds the proposed amendments necessary to 
address circumstances where it may be impossible or impractical for the department 
to post a notice, such as when a licensee no longer operates the business 
associated with the license or, in the case of leased space, when an entirely different 
tenant and business occupies the space.  The result will also allow the department 
to expedite quota area license adjustments described in proposed (4). 

The department proposes (3), (4), and (5) which comprise language relocated 
from ARM 42.13.101 to 42.12.222, with revisions that the department believes 
improves clarity by removal of industry jargon.  The department proposes these 
amendments because ARM 42.12.222 is topically better suited than ARM 42.13.101.  
The department intends the rule content to be easier to locate and in more plain 
language. 

The department proposes (4)(a) to align department processes for a last 
available license based on a revocation or lapse with the competitive bidding 
process provided in 16-4-430, MCA, and ARM 42.12.502.  Section 16-4-430, MCA, 
resulting from the 2019 Legislative session requires licenses, available due to these 
circumstances, to be issued through the competitive bidding process. 

 
42.13.101  COMPLIANCE WITH LAWS AND RULES  (1)  All licensees, their 

agents, and employees, and concessionaires must conduct the premises operate in 
compliance with the rules of other state and local agencies and abide by all: 

(a) through (d) remain the same. 
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(2)  Proof of violation by a licensee, a concessionaire, or the licensee's or 
concessionaire's agent or employee of any of the provisions of the above laws, 
ordinances, or rules is sufficient grounds for revocation or suspension of the license 
or department termination of a concession agreement, and licensees or 
concessionaires may be warned, reprimanded, or assessed a civil penalty in 
accordance with 16-4-406, MCA. 

(3)  The department may use a range of progressive and proportional 
penalties for any combination of violations of any laws, ordinances, and rules.  The 
progressive penalty schedule is not an exhaustive list of the grounds for 
administrative action.  The schedule does not preclude the department's use of 
discretion to propose a penalty greater or less than those listed based upon 
aggravating or mitigating circumstances.  For purposes of determining penalties 
under the progressive penalty schedule, the department uses a three-year lookback.  
Proposed penalties are assessed based upon the date the violation occurs.  For 
violations that occur over time, such as an undisclosed ownership interest, the 
violation date shall be the date the department issues its notice of proposed 
department action.  The department may seek license revocation based upon a 
combination of any four violations during a three-year period. 

 
Progressive Penalty Schedule 

 
Violation 1st Offense 2nd Offense 3rd Offense 4th Offense 

Sale to Underage 
Person 

$250 $1,000 $1,500/20-day 
Suspension 

Revocation 

Sale to Intoxicated 
Person 

$250 $1,000 $1,500/20-day 
Suspension 

Revocation 

Open after Hours $150 $600 $1,000/12-day 
Suspension 

Revocation 

Sale or Consumption 
after Hours 

$150 $600 $1,000/12-day 
Suspension 

Revocation 

Refilling of Bottles $250 $1,000 $1,500/20-day 
Suspension 

Revocation 

Unapproved Premises 
Alteration 

$300 $600 $1,000/12-day 
Suspension 

Revocation 

Undisclosed Location 
Manager 

$150 $600 $1,000/12-day 
Suspension 

Revocation 
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Improper Use of 
Catering Endorsement 

$150 $600 $1,000/12-day 
Suspension 

Revocation 

Accept More than 7 
Days Credit 

$250 $1,000 $1,500/20-day 
Suspension 

Revocation 

Extend More than 7 
Days Credit 

$250 $1,000 $1,500/20-day 
Suspension 

Revocation 

Exceed Sample Room 
Service Limits 

$150 $600 $1,000/12-day 
Suspension 

Revocation 

Undisclosed 
Ownership Interest 

$1,500/Revocation 

Denial of Inspection of 
Premises or Records 

$1,500/Revocation 

 
(3)  The department shall use a point-based penalty system for determination 

of proposed penalties.  The department may use a range of penalties for any 
combination of violations of any laws, ordinances, or administrative rules.  For 
purposes of determining penalties under the point-based penalty system, the 
department uses a three-year lookback.  Proposed penalties are assessed based 
upon the date the violation occurs.  For violations that occur over time, such as an 
undisclosed ownership interest, the violation date shall be the date the department 
issues its notice of proposed department action. 

(a)  The point-based penalty system is not an exhaustive list of the grounds 
for administrative action.  The department may propose a penalty greater or less 
than those listed based upon aggravating or mitigating circumstances. 

(b)  The following schedule details violations with the corresponding point 
values and monetary penalty amounts: 

 
Violation  Points Monetary 

Penalty 

Sold Alcoholic Beverages to an Underage Person  5 $1,500 
Sold Alcoholic Beverages to an Intoxicated Person  5 $1,500 
Denied Inspection of Premises  5 $1,500 
Denied Inspection of Records 5 $1,500 
Entered into a Concession Agreement Without 
Department Approval 

5 $1,500 



 
 
 

 
MAR Notice No. 42-1003 17-9/6/19 

-1509- 

Failed to Seek Prior Department Approval of a New 
Owner Pursuant to 16-4-401, MCA  

5 $1,500 

Sold/Served Alcoholic Beverages at an Unlicensed 
Location 

5 $1,500 

Stored Alcoholic Beverages at a Location Not Approved 
by the Department 

4 $1,200 

Delivered Alcoholic Beverages to a Retailer at an 
Unlicensed Location 

4 $1,200 

Failed to Ensure Licensee, Employee, or Employee's 
Immediate Supervisor Possess Valid Responsible Sales 
and Service Proof of Training Document 

4 $50 (1st) 
$200 (2nd) 

$350 (3rd +) 
Failed to Notify the Department or Local Law 
Enforcement Before Implementing an Access Control 
System 

4 $1,200 

Sold/Served Alcoholic Beverages After Hours 4 $1,200 
Allowed Alcoholic Beverages to Be Consumed After 
Hours 

4 $1,200 

Sold Alcoholic Beverages Not Approved by the 
Department 

4 $1,200 

Sold Beer or Wine to the Public (Distributor/Wholesaler) 4 $1,200 
Allowed the Self-Service of an Alcoholic Beverage on 
the Premises 

4 $1,200 

Failed to Seek Approval of a Location Manager 4 $1,200 
Refilled Liquor Bottles 4 $1,200 
Failed to Maintain an Active Participation in the 
Business 

3 $900 

Exceeded Sample Room Service Limits 3 $900 
Served Alcoholic Beverages Not Manufactured on the 
Premises 

3 $900 

Failed to Report New Officers or Board Members 3 $900 
Catered an Event Without Notifying Local Law 
Enforcement  

3 $900 

Failed to Timely Seek Approval of a Location Manager 2 $600 
Catered an Event More Than 100 Miles From the 
Licensee's Premises 

2 $600 

Catered an Event Without a Sponsor or Agreement in 
Place 

2 $600 
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Catered an Event Longer Than Allowed in ARM 
42.12.128 

2 $600 

Altered the Premises Without Approval 2 $600 
Failed to Maintain Possessory Interest in the Premises 2 $600 
Allowed Unapproved Individuals to Participate in Profits 
or Losses of the Business 

2 $600 

Served Beer or Wine to a Patron Who Did Not Order 
Food (RBW) 

2 $600 

Operated Premises With More Seats Than Licensed 
(RBW) 

2 $600 

Failed to Meet the 65% Annual Gross Income Food 
Requirement (RBW) 

2 $600 

Accepted More Than 7 Days Credit (Retailer) 2 $600 
Extended More Than 7 Days Credit 
(Distributor/Wholesaler) 

2 $600 

Allowed Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages on 
Premises Not Sold or Provided by the Licensee 

2 $600 

Shipped Table Wine to Consumers Without a Direct 
Shipping Endorsement 

2 $600 

Failed to Maintain at Least Twelve Seats, Exclusive of 
any Seats at Gambling Machines 

2 $600 

Failed to Submit or Timely Submit an Abbreviated 
Application for License Modification Pursuant to ARM 
42.12.118 

1 $300 

Failed to Comply With Approved Loan Standards  1 $300 
Failed to Seek Department Approval for a 
Noninstitutional Lender  

1 $300 

Failed to Submit or Failed to Timely Submit Monthly 
Catering Reports 

1 $300 

Sold Liquor at Less Than Posted Price 1 $300 
Accepted Return of Alcoholic Beverages Beyond 
Ordinary/Usual Reasons 

1 $300 

Failed to Notify the Department Before 90 Days of 
Nonuse Occurs 

1 $300 

Failed to Operate a Going Establishment  1 $300 
Failed to Post License or Age Placard in a Conspicuous 
Place on the Premises 

1 $300 
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Failed to Notify the Department or Local Law 
Enforcement an Access Control System Was Removed 

1 $300 

 
(c)  The following penalty point ranges are used for determination of proposed 

suspension periods and revocation: 
(i)  upon the accumulation of 15 to 19 points during a three-year period, the 

department may propose a suspension not to exceed 30 days; 
(ii)  upon the accumulation of 20 to 24 points during a three-year period, the 

department may propose a suspension not to exceed 60 days; 
(iii)  upon the accumulation of 25 to 29 points during a three-year period, the 

department may propose a suspension not to exceed 90 days; and 
(iv)  the department may seek license revocation, or concession agreement 

revocation, or both, based upon the accumulation of 30 or more points during a 
three-year period.   

(d)  Suspensions shall occur on consecutive days and when the licensee or 
concessionaire are normally open for business.   

(e)  For violations that are ongoing and not resolved by the payment of a 
monetary penalty or imposition of a suspension, the department may propose 
revocation of the license, or concession agreement, or both, in addition to any other 
penalty authorized by Montana law.  Ongoing violations that are not resolved by the 
payment of a monetary penalty or imposition of a suspension include, but are not 
limited to: 

(i)  failing to submit a completed application to obtain department approval of 
a new owner who is subject to the requirements in 16-4-401, MCA; 

(ii)  failing to submit a completed application to obtain department approval of 
a premises alteration; 

(iii)  failing to submit a completed annual license renewal form, or pay the 
annual license renewal fee, or both; or 

(iv)  failing to electronically submit a completed alcoholic beverage tax return, 
or pay alcoholic beverage taxes, or both.  

(f)  Prior to the issuance of a notice of proposed department action, the 
department may enter into informal negotiations to resolve a violation. 

(g)  If the department issues a proposed department action after October 19, 
2019, the department shall assign a point value in accordance with (b) and (c) to all 
admitted, settled, and adjudicated progressive penalty schedule violations during the 
three-year lookback prior to issuing the proposed department action. 

(4)  When a license has been revoked or lapsed, the department shall not 
accept an application from those owners vetted pursuant to 16-4-401, MCA, for one 
year from the date of revocation or lapse.  After the one-year moratorium, an 
application will only be accepted if the applicant demonstrates to the department's 
satisfaction that sufficient steps were taken to prevent future violations or to operate 
a going establishment. 

(4)  The failure of an employee to possess a valid responsible alcohol sales 
and service proof of training document constitutes a violation, the penalty for which 
is assessed against the licensee.  Multiple untrained employees on a particular date 
shall constitute a single violation; continued noncompliance shall constitute an 
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additional violation. 
(5)  A revoked or lapsed license affects a license quota area as follows: 
(a)  if it causes the area to be under quota, a notice of availability of a license 

will be published in the newspaper of general circulation in the quota area and invite 
applications for the available license; or 

(b)  if the area is over quota, the revoked or lapsed license will cease to be 
available for issuance. 

(6)  A revoked or lapsed beer license issued within a city quota area before 
October 1997, if reinstated, will not allow any gaming or gambling activity on the 
premises. 

(7)  The failure of an employee to possess a valid alcohol server training 
certificate constitutes a violation, the penalty for which is assessed against the 
licensee.  Multiple untrained employees on a particular date shall constitute a single 
violation; continued noncompliance shall constitute an additional violation.  
Regardless of other violations within the three-year period, the civil penalties 
assessed for a violation of the Responsible Alcohol Sales and Service Act shall be 
$50 for the first offense, $200 for the second offense, and $350 for the third offense. 

(8)  A licensee shall receive a reprimand for the violation of selling to an 
underage person only if: 

(a)  it is the licensee's first offense of any kind under that license in the past 
three years; 

(b)  the person who made the sale possesses a valid proof of training 
document; and 

(c)  the licensee has not previously received a reprimand for sale to an 
underage person under that license. 

(5)  The department may reprimand a licensee, or concessionaire, or both. 
(9)  In the event a reprimand is issued: 
(a)  the incident shall not be considered to be a first an offense for purposes 

of the progressive point-based penalty schedule system unless the licensee or 
concessionaire commits the same any offense within one year of the date of the 
offense leading to the reprimand; and 

(b) remains the same. 
(6)  The department may warn a licensee, or concessionaire, or both.  The 

department may consider prior warnings as an aggravating circumstance. 
(10) (7)  Aggravating circumstances may result in the imposition of maximum 

monetary penalties, maximum suspension time or revocation, and will not bind the 
department to the progressive point-based penalty schedule system. 

(11) (8)  Aggravating circumstances include, but are not limited to: 
(a)  no effort on the part of a licensee, or concessionaire, or both to prevent a 

violation from occurring; 
(b) remains the same. 
(c)  a licensee's, or concessionaire's, or both involvement in the violation; 
(d) and (e) remain the same. 
(f)  lack of cooperation by the licensee, or concessionaire, or both in an 

investigation; and 
(g)  a violation's significant negative effect on the health and welfare of the 

community in which the licensee, or concessionaire, or both operates; and 
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(h)  a licensee's lack of participation or involvement in the business. 
(12) (9)  Nothing in this rule prevents the department from revoking, 

suspending, or refusing the renewal of a license, or concession agreement, or both if 
revocation, suspension, or refusing renewal is expressly allowed in law or rule with 
reference to a prohibited act. 

 
AUTH: 16-1-303, 16-4-1009, MCA 
IMP:  16-1-302, 16-3-301, 16-4-406, 16-4-418, 16-4-1004, 16-4-1008, 16-6-

314, MCA 
 
REASONABLE NECESSITY:  The department proposes to amend ARM 

42.13.101 by removing the existing progressive penalty schedule in (3) and 
replacing it with a point-based penalty system based on industry feedback provided 
to the department that the existing system is too inflexible and does not take into 
consideration the public harm associated with the violation.  The existing progressive 
penalty schedule subjects a licensee to monetary fees, suspensions, and ultimately 
revocation of the license when four violations occur within a three-year lookback 
period.  Revocation of the license was administratively required, regardless of the 
types of violations the licensee committed.   

To achieve a violation and penalty system that meets the department's 
regulatory duties for alcoholic beverage compliance while addressing industry 
concerns, the department proposes a point-based penalty system where licensees 
are assessed both points and monetary penalties for violations of the Montana 
Alcoholic Beverage Code or the department's related administrative rules.  The 
proposed system assigns a point value to each violation type between one and five 
and a monetary penalty of $300 for each point.  The department also proposes 
implementing a tiered process where a licensee may be subject to suspension or 
revocation of the license depending on how many points the licensee has 
accumulated in the three-year lookback period.  The three-year lookback period is in 
existing rule and the department believes is necessary to maintain in this proposed 
point-based penalty system. 

In the point-based penalty system, the department proposes that violations 
that pose the most public harm are assessed five points each.  Examples include 
selling alcoholic beverages to an underage person, selling alcoholic beverages to an 
intoxicated person, or denying department access to the premises or records.  
Violations that pose the least public harm are assessed one point each.  Examples 
include failing to submit catering reports or failing to post the alcoholic beverage 
license or age placards in the licensee's premises.   

The department's table of proposed violations in (3)(b) is not an exhaustive 
list but lists more violation types compared to the existing progressive penalty 
schedule.  The department believes the expanded list of violations is necessary to 
provide licensees with a better understanding of point accumulation and monetary 
penalties that will be assessed for the various types of violations that could occur.  
This larger list is in response to industry feedback and, the department contends, will 
create a more transparent system for licensees. 

In addition to changing from a progressive penalty schedule to a point-based 
penalty system, the department proposes the following amendments: 
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The addition of the term "concessionaire" in many areas of the rule, where 
applicable, due to the passage of House Bill 727 during the 2019 Legislative 
Session.  House Bill 727 also amended 16-4-406, MCA, which gives the department 
authority to also take administrative action against a concessionaire for violations of 
the Montana Alcoholic Beverage Code or Administrative Rules of Montana. 

Section (3) has been revised to reference the new proposed point-based 
penalty system; otherwise, the three-year lookback process that existed in the 
progressive penalty schedule will continue to be used.  This is necessary for 
calculating how many points a licensee has accumulated to determine if suspension 
or revocation is necessary as a next step in the administrative action process.  

Subsection (3)(a) reaffirms the department's use of mitigating and 
aggravating circumstances for determining penalties greater or less than prescribed 
in the chart as authorized by 16-4-406, MCA.  This is language that carries over from 
existing (3), and has been amended to reference the new point-based penalty 
system. 

Subsection (3)(b) includes the list of violations types with their proposed point 
value and monetary penalty.  This is not an exhaustive list of violation types but 
includes those that the department has encountered.  Within this list the department 
is proposing to include: 

• Violation types for failing to notify the department or local law enforcement 
prior to implementing an access control system and failing to notify the department 
or local law enforcement when an access control system has been removed were 
included because of the passage of Senate Bill 119 during the 2019 Legislative 
Session.   

• The violation "Failed to Ensure Licensee, Employee, or Employee's 
Immediate Supervisor Possess Valid Responsible Sales and Service Proof of 
Training Document" has been included within the table.  This was previously located 
in (7) but is easier to locate when included with other violations in the table.  Section 
16-4-1008, MCA prescribes the penalties for this violation as $50 for the first 
offense, $200 for the second offense, and $350 for the third offense in a three-year 
period.  Because the statute does not take into consideration additional offenses, the 
department is proposing the monetary penalty remains at $350 for each offense in a 
three-year period after the third offense. 

• Violations for "Failed to Seek Prior Department Approval of a New Owner 
Pursuant to 16-4-401, MCA," "Allowed Unapproved Individuals to Participate in 
Profits and/or Losses," "Failed to Submit or Timely Submit an Abbreviated 
Application for License Modification Pursuant to ARM 42.12.118," "Failed to Comply 
with Approved Loan Standards," and "Failed to Seek Department Approval for a 
Noninstitutional Lender" have been added to the penalty schedule.  This is 
necessary to distinguish between varying levels of public harm.  These types of 
violations all have an acceptable resolution in place.  In other words, the appropriate 
application and paperwork to fix the violation has been submitted to the department.  
When an acceptable resolution is not in place, the department will seek revocation of 
the license for these violations as addressed in (3)(e)(i). 

Subsection (3)(c) provides the tiered process by which suspension or 
revocation may be sought based on the number of points the license was assessed 
in the three-year lookback period.  Clarification in (3)(d) is provided that if a 
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suspension is assessed, those days shall be consecutive and on days the business 
is normally open.  Conducting the suspension on days the business is normally 
closed has no impact on the licensee and will not be allowed. 

Subsection (3)(e) provides that where the department may seek revocation of 
the license if the violation is ongoing and not cured by the payment of a monetary 
penalty or imposition of a suspension.  The instances provided are situations where 
the licensee has failed to comply with the laws and rules of the state and no cure is 
in place to resolve it.  The non-exhaustive list provides examples of the instances 
where the department may initially seek revocation of the license because paying a 
monetary fee or agreeing to a suspension does not fix the issue of the violation, so 
proposing revocation of the license is necessary. 

Subsection (3)(f) provides the allowance for the department to enter informal 
negotiations with a licensee to resolve one or more violations prior to issuance of a 
proposed department action.  The department believes this course towards 
alternative dispute resolution is necessary and beneficial to the public as it will allow 
the licensee and department the ability to determine a final decision on a penalty, if 
agreed on between both parties, without the time, resources, and expenses that 
often accompany formal litigation.   

Because the department is proposing to convert from the progressive penalty 
schedule to a point-based penalty system, the department is proposing in (3)(g) to 
assign violations that occurred prior to the effective date of this rulemaking the point 
values that are established in the point-based penalty system.  This is necessary to 
maintain prior licensee violations issued under the progressive penalty schedule, 
and is the only feasible way for determining a licensee's total points when using a 
three-year lookback period. 

Section (4) includes language pertaining to responsible sales and service 
training.  This language was previously located in (7).  Reorganizing the rule is 
necessary to enhance the readability of the rule. 

Sections (4), (5), and (6) have been stricken and the department proposes to 
relocate that content into ARM 42.12.222.  The content of those sections fits better 
with the content in ARM 42.12.222 as that rule describes the process for when a 
license has been suspended, lapsed, or revoked.  

Section (5) is amended to affirm the department's authority to issue 
reprimands pursuant to 16-4-406, MCA, and the text is now broadened to be 
applicable to all potential violations.  This amendment is necessary to provide better 
guidance to the industry regarding the issuance of reprimands for violations of the 
Montana Alcoholic Beverage Code.  Although the department is proposing to allow 
any reprimand to be revived regardless if the next offense is the same.  This is 
necessary to ensure future compliance with the Montana Alcoholic Beverage Code. 

Section (6) provides the allowance for the department to issue a warning 
rather than pursuing a reprimand or civil penalty.  This allows a licensee to take 
corrective actions to avoid further disciplinary action.  

Section (7) is in existing rule and the department believes it is necessary to 
maintain this language in the point-based penalty system as the department is 
statutorily required to consider aggravating circumstances.  This section has been 
revised to remove the reference to the progressive penalty schedule and replace it 
with a reference to the point-based penalty system. 



 
 
 

 
MAR Notice No. 42-1003 17-9/6/19 

-1516- 

Section (8) is amended to include a licensee's lack of participation or 
involvement in the business as an aggravating circumstance because the licensee is 
ultimately responsible for ensuring the business operations follow all alcoholic 
beverage laws and regulations.  The department believes this is necessary to place 
the public on notice that the department considers this conduct as an aggravating 
circumstance. 

Lastly, the department has added 16-4-418, MCA, as an implementing 
citation for this rule, which is necessary for the rule to comply with 2-4-305(3), MCA. 
 
 4.  Concerned persons may submit their data, views, or arguments, either 
orally or in writing, at the hearing.  Written data, views, or arguments may also be 
submitted to:  Todd Olson, Department of Revenue, Director's Office, P.O. Box 
7701, Helena, Montana 59604-7701; telephone (406) 444-7905; fax (406) 444-3696; 
or e-mail todd.olson@mt.gov and must be received no later than 5:00 p.m., October 
4, 2019. 
 

5.  Todd Olson, Department of Revenue, Director's Office, has been 
designated to preside over and conduct the hearing. 

 
6.  The Department of Revenue maintains a list of interested persons who 

wish to receive notices of rulemaking actions proposed by this agency.  Persons 
who wish to have their name added to the list shall make a written request, which 
includes the name and e-mail or mailing address of the person to receive notices 
and specifies that the person wishes to receive notice regarding particular subject 
matter or matters.  Notices will be sent by e-mail unless a mailing preference is 
noted in the request.  A written request may be mailed or delivered to the person in 
number 4 above or faxed to the office at (406) 444-3696, or may be made by 
completing a request form at any rules hearing held by the Department of Revenue. 

 
7.  An electronic copy of this notice is available on the department's web site 

at revenue.mt.gov, or through the Secretary of State's web site at 
sosmt.gov/ARM/register. 

 
8.  The bill sponsor contact requirements of 2-4-302, MCA, apply and have 

been fulfilled.  The primary bill sponsor was contacted by email on August 22, 2019. 
 

9.  With regard to the requirements of 2-4-111, MCA, the department has 
determined that the amendment of the above-referenced rules will not significantly 
and directly impact small businesses. 
 
 
/s/ Todd Olson    /s/ Gene Walborn     
Todd Olson     Gene Walborn 
Rule Reviewer    Director of Revenue 
 
 

Certified to the Secretary of State August 27, 2019. 
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BEFORE THE SECRETARY OF STATE 
OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 

 
In the matter of the adoption of NEW 
RULE I pertaining to performance 
standards for devices that provide 
accessible voting technology for 
electors with hearing, vision, speech, 
or ambulatory impairments 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

AMENDED NOTICE OF PROPOSED 
ADOPTION  

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
1.  On July 26, 2019, the Secretary of State published MAR Notice No. 44-2-

234 pertaining to the public hearing on the proposed adoption of the above-stated 
rule at page 1045 of the 2019 Montana Administrative Register, Issue Number 14. 

 
2.  The Secretary of State will make reasonable accommodations for persons 

with disabilities who wish to participate in this rulemaking process or need an 
alternative accessible format of this notice.  If you require an accommodation, 
contact the Secretary of State no later than 5:00 p.m. on September 19, 2019, to 
advise us of the nature of the accommodation that you need.  Please contact Austin 
James, Secretary of State's Office, P.O. Box 202801, Helena, Montana, 59620-
2801; telephone (406) 444-6197; fax (406) 444-3976, or e-mail 
Austin.James@mt.gov. 

 
3.  The legislature's adoption of SB 291 directed the Secretary of State to 

adopt rules setting a benchmark performance standard based on commonly 
accepted industry standards for readily available technology that must be met in 
tests by each voting system.  

 
In doing so, the proposed matter by the Secretary of State adopts the 

Voluntary Voting System Guidelines created by the U.S. Election Assistance 
Commission.  

 
Due to the proposed adoption's incorporation by reference, the Secretary of 

State is obligated to satisfy certain requirements.  Therefore, the purpose of this 
amended notice is to extend the written comment period and provide the material 
required.  NEW RULE I remains as proposed in the original proposal. 

 
The U.S. Election Assistance Commission (EAC) was created for the purpose 

of helping states implement the HAVA act.  The EAC is an independent, bipartisan 
commission charged with developing guidance to meet HAVA requirements, and 
adopting voluntary voting system guidelines (VVSG).  

 
VVSG are a set of specifications and requirements against which voting 

systems can be tested to determine if the systems meet required standards.  Some 
factors examined under these tests include basic functionality, accessibility, and 
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security capabilities.  HAVA mandates that EAC develop and maintain these 
requirements. 

 
For the purposes of SB 291, the Office of the Secretary of State adopts 

version 1 and subsequent versions of the EAC's VVSG. 
 
4.  The material adopted by reference is cited as VVSG 1.0.  The VVSG 1.0 

document is sourced at www.eac.gov.  The material may be found at: 
https://www.eac.gov/documents/2017/03/15/vvsg-10-vol-1-voluntary-voting-system-
guidelines-vvsg/. 

 
 5.  Concerned persons may submit their data, views, or arguments 
concerning the proposed adoption in writing to:  Austin James, Office of the 
Secretary of State, P.O. Box 202801, Helena, MT, 59620; telephone (406) 444-
6197; fax (406) 444-3976, or e-mail Austin.James@mt.gov, and must be received no 
later than 5:00 p.m., September 26, 2019. 

 
/s/  AUSTIN JAMES    /s/  DANA CORSON    
Austin James    Dana Corson 
Rule Reviewer    Director of Elections and Voter Services 
      Office of Secretary of State  

   
 

Certified to the Secretary of State August 27, 2019. 
 

http://www.eac.gov/
https://www.eac.gov/documents/2017/03/15/vvsg-10-vol-1-voluntary-voting-system-guidelines-vvsg/
https://www.eac.gov/documents/2017/03/15/vvsg-10-vol-1-voluntary-voting-system-guidelines-vvsg/
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BEFORE THE SECRETARY OF STATE 
OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 

In the matter of the amendment of 
ARM 44.14.310 and 44.14.312 and 
the repeal of ARM 44.14.301, 
44.14.302, 44.14.304 through 
44.14.309, and 44.14.311 pertaining 
to records and information 
management fees 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING ON 
PROPOSED AMENDMENT AND 
REPEAL 

TO:  All Concerned Persons 

1. On September 26, 2019, at 10:00 a.m., the Secretary of State will hold a
public hearing in the Secretary of State's Office Conference Room, Room 260, State 
Capitol Building, Helena, Montana, to consider the proposed amendment and repeal 
of the above-stated rules. 

2. The Secretary of State will make reasonable accommodations for persons
with disabilities who wish to participate in this rulemaking process or need an 
alternative accessible format of this notice.  If you require an accommodation, 
contact the Secretary of State no later than 5:00 p.m., September 19, 2019, to 
advise us of the nature of the accommodation that you need.  Please contact Joe 
DeFilippis, Secretary of State's Office, P.O. Box 202801, Helena, MT 59620-2801; 
telephone (406) 444-5476; fax (406) 444-3976; TDD/Montana Relay Service (406) 
444-9068; or e-mail jdefilippis@mt.gov.

3. The rules proposed to be amended are as follows, new matter underlined,
deleted matter interlined: 

44.14.310  FEES FOR RECORDS CENTER SERVICES  (1)  The following 
fees shall be charged for services provided for records housed in the state records 
center: 

(a) 1/2 cubic foot storage, per month $.17 
(b)(a)  one cubic foot carton storage, (per cubic foot per month) $.22 .33 
(b) receiving and entering - carton (per cubic foot) $1.00  
(c) regular retrieval/re-file - carton, each (per cubic foot) $1.50 1.20 
(d) emergency retrieval, each 25.00 
(e) large retrievals, delivery, interfiling, per hour 25.00 
(f) records disposal, per hour 25.00 
(g) shredding confidential records, per hour 25.00 
(h) tape storage, per inch .55 
(i) permanent withdrawal (remove or dispose) 25.00 per hour 
(j) database set-up 25.00 per hour 
(k) unsuccessful search 1.20 
(l) data research 25.00 per hour 
(m) record center, enter new box into database (each) .40 
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(d) regular retrieval from/re-file to carton (per file) $1.50 
(e) rush retrieval - carton (per cubic foot) $6.00 
(f) rush retrieval - file from carton (per file) $8.00 
(g) regular interfile - carton (each) $5.00 
(h) next day delivery (per visit plus handling charge) $15.00 
(i) regular pickup (per visit plus handling charge) $15.00 
(j) half day delivery (per visit plus handling charge) $40.00 
(k) rush pickup/delivery – business day (per visit plus handling charge)

$75.00 
(l) rush delivery – weekends/holidays/after hours (per visit plus handling

charge) $200.00 
(m) handling charge (per cubic foot) $1.50 
(n) miscellaneous services - labor (per hour) $45.00 
(o) re-boxing (per labor plus new carton) $6.55 

AUTH: 2-6-1101, 2-15-405, MCA 
IMP: 2-6-1101, 2-6-1114, MCA 

44.14.312  FEES FOR IMAGING SERVICES  (1)  The following fees shall be 
charged for imaging services: 

(a) indexing/document preparation, per hour $25.00 
(b) scanning (per image) .15 
(a) image on demand – digital images scanned (in excess of the first 50

images) (per image) $.10 
(b) image on demand – imaging minimum (includes first 50 images)

$10 
(c) image on demand – hourly labor (per hour) $45 

AUTH: 2-6-1101, 2-15-405, MCA 
IMP: 2-6-1101, MCA 

4. The rules proposed to be repealed are:

44.14.301  FEES FOR 16MM MICROFILM SERVICES 

AUTH: 2-15-405, MCA 
IMP: 2-6-1101, 2-6-1114, MCA 

44.14.302  FEES FOR 35MM MICROFILM SERVICES 

AUTH: 2-15-405, MCA 
IMP: 2-6-1101, 2-6-1114, MCA 

44.14.304  FEES FOR FILM PROCESSING 

AUTH: 2-15-405, MCA 
IMP: 2-6-1101, 2-6-1114, MCA 

MAR Notice No. 44-2-236 
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 44.14.305  FEES FOR FILM INSPECTING  
 
AUTH: 2-15-405, MCA 
IMP: 2-6-1101, 2-6-1114, MCA 
 
 44.14.306  FEES FOR FILM DUPLICATION  
 
AUTH: 2-15-405, MCA 
IMP: 2-6-1101, 2-6-1114, MCA 
 
 44.14.307  FEES FOR JACKET LOADING/TITLING  
 
AUTH: 2-15-405, MCA 
IMP: 2-6-1101, 2-6-1114, MCA 
 
 44.14.308  MISCELLANEOUS FEES   
 
AUTH: 2-15-405, MCA 
IMP: 2-6-1114, MCA 
 
 44.14.309  MISCELLANEOUS SUPPLIES    
 
AUTH: 2-15-405, MCA 
IMP: 2-6-1101, 2-6-1114, MCA 
 
 44.14.311  FEES FOR RECORDS CENTER BOXES  
 
AUTH: 2-15-405, MCA 
IMP: 2-6-1114, MCA 

 
 5.  STATEMENT OF REASONABLE NECESSITY: These proposed rule 
changes reflect the transfer of state records to a new storage facility that is more 
secure and safe and has environmental controls to prolong the life of paper records.  
The proposed changes reflect a net cost decrease for state agencies.  For example, 
the storage fees are decreased by 1/3 of the cost agencies were paying as of July 1, 
2019 (from 33 cents to 22 cents). Currently, 17 state agencies and 8 local 
government entities use the state records center and will benefit from this price 
reduction.  Filming storage has been eliminated from the state records center due to 
the high cost of microfilm and maintaining equipment, and because filming is no 
longer an industry standard but has been replaced by scanning per the National 
Archives and Records Administration and the National Association of Government 
Archives and Records Administrator.  Scanning has been eliminated since the 
Department of Administration Print and Mail Services Bureau has obtained high-
speed scanners and is now working with agencies.  The authorizing and 
implementing statutes also have been updated to reflect the current law (previously 
cited statutes were repealed). 
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 6.  Concerned persons may submit their data, views, or arguments either 
orally or in writing at the hearing.  Written data, views, or arguments may also be 
submitted to: Joe DeFilippis, Secretary of State's Office, P.O. Box 202801, Helena, 
Montana 59620-2801, or by e-mailing Jdefilippis@mt.gov, and must be received no 
later than 5:00 p.m., October 4, 2019. 
 
 7.  Austin James, Secretary of State's Office, has been designated to preside 
over and conduct the hearing. 

 
 8.  The Secretary of State maintains a list of interested persons who wish to 
receive notices of rulemaking actions proposed by this agency. Persons who wish to 
have their name added to the list shall make a written request which includes the 
name and mailing address of the person to receive notices and specifies that the 
person wishes to receive notices regarding administrative rules, corporations, 
elections, notaries, records, uniform commercial code, or combination thereof. Such 
written request may be mailed or delivered to the Secretary of State's Office, 
Administrative Rules Services, 1301 E. 6th Ave, P.O. Box 202801, Helena, MT 
59620-2801, faxed to the office at (406) 444-3976, or may be made by completing a 
request form at any rules hearing held by the Secretary of State's Office. 

 
 9.  The bill sponsor contact requirements of 2-4-302, MCA, do not apply. 

 
 10.  With regard to the requirements of 2-4-111, MCA, the Secretary of State 
has determined that the amendment and repeal of the above-referenced rules will 
not significantly and directly impact small businesses. 
 
 
/s/  AISLINN BROWN   /s/  COREY STAPLETON  
Aislinn Brown  Corey Stapleton 
Rule Reviewer  Secretary of State 
 
 

Dated this 27th day of August, 2019. 
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 BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE 
 OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of 
ARM 4.10.701, 4.10.709, 4.10.807, 
4.10.1009, 4.10.1803, 4.10.1804, and 
4.10.1806 and repeal of ARM 
4.10.702 pertaining to pesticide 
registrations, worker protection 
standards, containers and disposal 
program 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF AMENDMENT AND 
REPEAL  

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
1.  On July 5, 2019, the Department of Agriculture published MAR Notice No. 

4-19-261 pertaining to the public hearing on the proposed amendment and repeal of 
the above-stated rules at page 905 of the 2019 Montana Administrative Register, 
Issue Number 13. 

 
2.  The department has amended and repealed the above-stated rules as 

proposed. 
 
3.  The department has thoroughly considered the comments and testimony 

received.  A summary of the comments received and the department's responses 
are as follows: 
 
COMMENT #1:  The commenter requested an outlined process for "other 
restrictions" imposed by the department as referenced in ARM 4.10.701(2) and 
"additional requirements" referenced in ARM 4.10.701(6)(a). 
 
RESPONSE #1:  The "other restrictions" and "additional requirements" referenced 
are intended to regulate any future pesticides.  Regulations will be created through 
regular Administrative Rules of Montana processes.  Examples of currently 
regulated pesticides that are considered "other restrictions" include those referenced 
under Aquatic Herbicide Rules in ARM 4.10.301 through 4.10.318.  Registrants and 
the public will receive notice through the rulemaking process for the regulation of 
future "other restrictions" and "additional requirements" proposed by the department. 
 
COMMENT #2:  The commenter requested minimum requirements for pesticide 
container collection and recycling sites be listed clearly and consistently as 
referenced in ARM 4.10.1804(6). 
 
RESPONSE #2:  The department's document titled "Pesticide Container Recycling 
Program Minimum Requirements" lists pesticide container collection and recycling 
site guidelines.  Interested persons may view guidelines on the department's website 
at: https://agr.mt.gov/Pesticide-Waste-Disposal. 
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COMMENT #3:  The commenter requested the department establish requirements 
rather than guidelines for individuals to participate in the container recycling program 
as referenced in ARM 4.10.1804(6)(a). 
 
RESPONSE #3:  Requirements for the pesticide container rinsing, handling, and 
disposal, including recycling, are found on the product label as well as in ARM 
4.10.801 through 4.10.808. 
 
 
/s/  Cort Jensen    /s/  Ben Thomas     
Cort Jensen     Ben Thomas 
Rule Reviewer    Director 
      Agriculture 

 
 

Certified to the Secretary of State August 27, 2019. 
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BEFORE THE BOARD OF AERONAUTICS AND 
THE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of 
ARM 18.13.404 and 18.13.406 and 
the repeal of ARM 18.13.501, 
18.13.502, 18.13.503, 18.13.504, and 
18.13.505 pertaining to Board of 
Aeronautics Loan and Grant Program 
and Pavement Preservation Grants 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
 

NOTICE OF AMENDMENT AND 
REPEAL 

TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 

1.  On July 5, 2019, the Board of Aeronautics and the Department of 
Transportation published MAR Notice No. 18-175 pertaining to the proposed 
amendment and repeal of the above-stated rules at page 930 of the 2019 Montana 
Administrative Register, Issue Number 13. 
 

2.  The department has amended and repealed the above-stated rules as 
proposed. 
 
 3.  No comments or testimony were received. 
 
 
/s/  Carol Grell Morris   /s/  Michael T. Tooley   
Carol Grell Morris    Michael T. Tooley 
Rule Reviewer    Director 
      Department of Transportation 
 
 
      /s/  Tricia McKenna    
      Tricia McKenna 
      Chair 
      Board of Aeronautics 
 
 

Certified to the Secretary of State August 27, 2019. 
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 BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC 
 HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES OF THE 
 STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of 
ARM 37.97.102, 37.97.132, 
37.97.140, and 37.97.903 pertaining 
to youth care facilities 

) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF AMENDMENT 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
1.  On July 26, 2019, the Department of Public Health and Human Services 

published MAR Notice No. 37-885 pertaining to the public hearing on the proposed 
amendment of the above-stated rules at page 1034 of the 2019 Montana 
Administrative Register, Issue Number 14. 

 
2.  The department has amended the above-stated rules as proposed.  
 
3.  The department has thoroughly considered the comments and testimony 

received.  A summary of the comments received and the department's responses 
are as follows: 
 
COMMENT #1:  One comment was received asking if the "lead clinical staff" (LCS) 
must be employed by the facility. 
 
RESPONSE #1:  The LCS must be employed by the youth care facility licensed as a 
therapeutic youth group home.  This is not a new requirement. 
 
COMMENT #2:  A commenter asked if, in the absence of an LCS or mental health 
clinician, there are minimal qualifications for staff persons employed by a facility. 
 
RESPONSE #2:  Minimum qualifications for all staff are listed in ARM 37.97.132. 
 
COMMENT #3:  A commenter asked if accreditation exists for the facilities. 
 
RESPONSE #3:  The department believes the commenter is asking if licensure rules 
allow for a license to be issued based on a facility's program accreditation.  The 
youth care facility statute and rules do not allow for licensure to be based on 
accreditation. 
 
COMMENT #4:  A commenter agreed that the background check requirements are 
appropriate and important; however the commenter does not agree that a person 
convicted of a misdemeanor for partner and family member assault may not be 
employed or a person that is charged with a crime involving children, physical or 
sexual violence against any person, or any felony drug related offense should not 
provide care pending the outcome of the criminal proceeding. 
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RESPONSE #4:  The requirements in question are not new requirements.  The 
comment is beyond the scope of these proposed rule changes. 
 
COMMENT #5:  The department received two comments regarding the lack of 
direction provided by the department on the process of completing the fingerprint 
background checks.  One commenter requested information regarding all 
expectations, policies, procedures, and cost impact so that they may provide input to 
the rulemaking process. 
 
RESPONSE #5:  The department agrees that the proposed rule notice did not 
provide direction on the process of implementing fingerprint background checks.  
The department has been collaborating with the Department of Justice on 
developing tools that will provide clear guidance on conducting fingerprint 
background checks.  This information will be available prior to the implementation of 
this rule.  The department provided a fiscal impact statement within the MAR notice 
to address increased cost to providers.  The department disagrees that this 
information must be provided in order to provide input into the rulemaking process. 
 
COMMENT #6:  A commenter estimated the fingerprint background check process 
will increase the time of hire by 45 to 90 days. 
 
RESPONSE #6:  The department disagrees with the commenter.  The department is 
working collaboratively with the Department of Justice to implement a process to 
decrease the time required to process the fingerprint background checks. 
 
COMMENT #7:  A commenter would like the department to amend the rule to allow 
individuals to enter employment pending the fingerprint background checks.  The 
commenter believes this will ensure they can continue to provide effective care to 
the youth in Montana.  The commenter believes providing a reasonable timeline to 
complete these checks will help mitigate the fiscal and quality impact on services. 
 
RESPONSE #7:  Current rule requires criminal background checks prior to staff 
working in the youth care facility.  The department disagrees with the comment and 
believes the safety of youth could be compromised by allowing staff to work in the 
youth care facility prior to receiving background check results. 
 
COMMENT #8:  A commenter requested clarification of how continued ARM 
37.97.140 requirements will be coordinated with these new requirements so that 
they may provide meaningful input into the rulemaking process. 
 
RESPONSE #8:  The State of Montana background check will be included within the 
FBI fingerprint background check which is $30.  The cost of out-of-state background 
checks varies from one state to another and will continue to be required for anyone 
who has lived out of state within the last five years, unless the state an applicant 
lived in participates in the national fingerprint file program.  In those cases, there will 
be no additional costs for out-of-state background checks.  The department will be 
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providing specific guidance prior to the adoption date of the rule.  If there is any 
increased cost, the provider may opt to pass it along to the applicant.  
 
COMMENT #9:  The department received four comments concerning the cost of 
implementing fingerprint background checks.  One commenter requested the 
department provide a fiscal impact on providers, including cost associated with 
increased fees, staff vacancies, and lost revenue. 
 
RESPONSE #9:  Please see response to #8. 
 
COMMENT #10:  A commenter requested information on efforts the department will 
take to mitigate the increased cost to providers including any rate adjustments. 
 
RESPONSE #10:  Please see responses to #5 and #8.  
 
COMMENT #11:  A commenter requested clarification regarding whether current 
employees will be required to have fingerprint background checks or be 
grandfathered in. 
 
RESPONSE #11:  Proposed amendments to ARM 37.97.140(1) states fingerprint 
background checks must be conducted on all staff hired after October 1, 2019. 
 
COMMENT #12:  A commenter requested clarification if current or future employees 
providing Care Management to Therapeutic Foster Care will be required to be 
fingerprinted. 
 
RESPONSE #12:  These proposed rule amendments apply to youth care facilities 
only.  The comment goes beyond the scope of the proposed rule changes. 
 
COMMENT #13:  A commenter requested language be added to rule that allows for 
either a name based state or tribal criminal history check or an FBI fingerprint check 
prior to working in a youth care facility allowing an additional 90 days after hire to 
complete the background check that was not obtained prior to employee date of hire. 
 
RESPONSE #13:  The department disagrees; the commenter's proposed language 
would require an additional criminal history background to be completed for staff:  
one check completed at the time of hire, and one completed within 90 days of hire.  
This would place an additional burden on providers and increase costs.  Allowing 
individuals to work in facilities up to 90 days without receiving a complete 
background check increases the risk of harm to youth. 
 
Please see response to #8. 
 
COMMENT #14:  A commenter had several questions regarding the process of 
completing the fingerprint background checks. 
 
RESPONSE #14:  Please see response #5. 
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 4.  These rule amendments are effective October 1, 2019. 
 
 
/s/ Flint Murfitt    /s/ Erica Johnston for    
Flint Murfitt     Sheila Hogan, Director 
Rule Reviewer    Public Health and Human Services 
 

   
Certified to the Secretary of State August 27, 2019. 
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 BEFORE THE SECRETARY OF STATE 
 OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the adoption of NEW 
RULE I and the amendment of ARM 
44.15.101, 44.15.103, 44.15.105, 
44.15.106, 44.15.108, and 44.15.109 
pertaining to notaries public 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF ADOPTION AND 
AMENDMENT 
 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 

 
 1.  On July 5, 2019, the Secretary of State published MAR Notice No. 44-2-
232 pertaining to the public hearing on the proposed adoption and amendment of 
the above-stated rules at page 948 of the 2019 Montana Administrative Register, 
Issue Number 13. 

 
2.  The Secretary of State has adopted NEW RULE I (44.15.110) as 

proposed. 
 
3.  The Secretary of State has amended ARM 44.15.101, 44.15.103, 

44.15.106, 44.15.108, and 44.15.109 as proposed. 
 

4.  The Secretary of State has amended the following rule as proposed, but 
with the following changes from the original proposal, new matter underlined, 
deleted matter interlined: 
 
 44.15.105  REQUEST FOR CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORITY  (1)  A person 
requesting certificate of authority of a record for a foreign country shall submit a $10 
nonrefundable fee for each certification, together with a request form as prescribed 
by the Secretary of State.  
 
 5.  The Secretary of State has thoroughly considered the comments and 
testimony received.  A summary of the comments received and the Secretary's 
responses follow: 
 
COMMENT #1:  A commenter said the proposed wording in ARM 44.15.105 is 
unclear. 
 
RESPONSE #1:  The Secretary agrees and amends the language to clarify that a 
request for a certificate of authority must be accompanied by the fee and a request 
form as prescribed by the Secretary. 
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/s/  AUSTIN JAMES   /s/  COREY STAPLETON 
Austin James   Corey Stapleton 
Rule Reviewer   Secretary of State     
  
 

 Dated this 27th day of August, 2019. 
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 BEFORE THE SECRETARY OF STATE 
 OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of 
ARM 44.6.105, 44.6.109, 44.6.113, 
and 44.6.202 and the repeal of ARM 
44.6.108 pertaining to filing UCC 
documents 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF AMENDMENT AND 
REPEAL 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 

 
 1.  On July 26, 2019, the Secretary of State published MAR Notice No. 44-2-
233 pertaining to the public hearing on the proposed amendment and repeal of the 
above-stated rules at page 1040 of the 2019 Montana Administrative Register, Issue 
Number 14. 

 
2.  The Secretary of State has amended ARM 44.6.105, 44.6.113, and 

44.6.202 as proposed. 
 

3.  Due to a numbering error, the following rule has been amended from the 
original proposal as follows: 
 

44.6.109  FORMAT REQUIREMENTS FOR FILING AN EFFECTIVE 
FINANCING STATEMENT LIEN UNDER THE FEDERAL FOOD SECURITY ACT 
OF 1985  (1) and (2) remain as proposed. 

(5) remains as proposed but is renumbered (3). 
 
 4.  The Secretary of State has repealed ARM 44.6.108 as proposed. 
 
 5.  No comments or testimony were received. 
 
 
/s/  AUSTIN JAMES    /s/  COREY STAPLETON  
Austin James  Corey Stapleton 
Rule Reviewer  Secretary of State 
 
 

Dated this 27th day of August, 2019. 
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NOTICE OF FUNCTION OF ADMINISTRATIVE RULE REVIEW COMMITTEE 

 Interim Committees and the Environmental Quality Council 

Administrative rule review is a function of interim committees and the 

Environmental Quality Council (EQC).  These interim committees and the EQC have 

administrative rule review, program evaluation, and monitoring functions for the 

following executive branch agencies and the entities attached to agencies for 

administrative purposes. 

Economic Affairs Interim Committee: 

 Department of Agriculture; 

 Department of Commerce; 

 Department of Labor and Industry; 

 Department of Livestock; 

 Office of the State Auditor and Insurance Commissioner; and 

 Office of Economic Development. 

Education and Local Government Interim Committee: 

 State Board of Education; 

 Board of Public Education; 

 Board of Regents of Higher Education; and 

 Office of Public Instruction. 

Children, Families, Health, and Human Services Interim Committee: 

 Department of Public Health and Human Services. 

Law and Justice Interim Committee: 

 Department of Corrections; and 

 Department of Justice. 

Energy and Telecommunications Interim Committee: 

 Department of Public Service Regulation. 
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Revenue and Transportation Interim Committee: 

 Department of Revenue; and  

 Department of Transportation. 

State Administration and Veterans' Affairs Interim Committee: 

 Department of Administration; 

 Department of Military Affairs; and 

 Office of the Secretary of State. 

Environmental Quality Council: 

 Department of Environmental Quality; 

 Department of Fish, Wildlife and Parks; and 

 Department of Natural Resources and Conservation. 

Water Policy Interim Committee (where the primary concern is the 
quality or quantity of water):  
 
 Department of Environmental Quality; 

 Department of Fish, Wildlife and Parks; and 

 Department of Natural Resources and Conservation. 

These interim committees and the EQC have the authority to make 

recommendations to an agency regarding the adoption, amendment, or repeal of a 

rule or to request that the agency prepare a statement of the estimated economic 

impact of a proposal.  They also may poll the members of the Legislature to 

determine if a proposed rule is consistent with the intent of the Legislature or, during 

a legislative session, introduce a bill repealing a rule, or directing an agency to adopt 

or amend a rule, or a Joint Resolution recommending that an agency adopt, amend, 

or repeal a rule. 

The interim committees and the EQC welcome comments and invite 

members of the public to appear before them or to send written statements in order 

to bring to their attention any difficulties with the existing or proposed rules.  The 

mailing address is P.O. Box 201706, Helena, MT 59620-1706. 
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 HOW TO USE THE ADMINISTRATIVE RULES OF MONTANA 
 AND THE MONTANA ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER 
 
 
Definitions: Administrative Rules of Montana (ARM) is a looseleaf 

compilation by department of all rules of state departments and 
attached boards presently in effect, except rules adopted up to 
three months previously. 

 
Montana Administrative Register (MAR or Register) is an 
online publication, issued twice-monthly, containing notices of 
rules proposed by agencies, notices of rules adopted by 
agencies, and interpretations of statutes and rules by the 
Attorney General (Attorney General's Opinions) and agencies 
(Declaratory Rulings) issued since publication of the preceding 
Register. 

 
 
Use of the Administrative Rules of Montana (ARM): 
 
Known 1. Consult ARM Topical Index. 
Subject  Update the rule by checking recent rulemaking and the 

table of contents in the last Montana Administrative 
Register issued. 

 
Statute 2. Go to cross reference table at end of each number and 

title which lists MCA section numbers and department  
corresponding ARM rule numbers. 
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  RECENT RULEMAKING BY AGENCY 
 
The Administrative Rules of Montana (ARM) is a compilation of existing permanent 
rules of those executive agencies that have been designated by the Montana 
Administrative Procedure Act for inclusion in the ARM.  The ARM is updated through 
March 31, 2019.  This table includes notices in which those rules adopted during the 
period March 15, 2019, through August 23, 2019, occurred and any proposed rule 
action that was pending during the past 6-month period.  (A notice of adoption must 
be published within six months of the published notice of the proposed rule.)  This 
table does not include the contents of this issue of the Montana Administrative 
Register (MAR or Register). 
 
To be current on proposed and adopted rulemaking, it is necessary to check the 
ARM updated through March 31, 2019, this table, and the table of contents of this 
issue of the Register. 
 
This table indicates the department name, title number, notice numbers in ascending 
order, the subject matter of the notice, and the page number(s) at which the notice is 
published in the 2019 Montana Administrative Registers. 
 
To aid the user, this table includes rulemaking actions of such entities as boards and 
commissions listed separately under their appropriate title number. 
 
ADMINISTRATION, Department of, Title 2 
 
2-4-581 Accounting and Financial Reporting Standards - Report Filing Fees - 

Filing Penalties - Waivers and Extensions of Penalties - Audit and 
Audit Reporting Standards - Roster of Independent Auditors - 
Resolution and Corrections of Audit Findings - Financial Reviews - 
Incorporation by Reference of Various Standards, Accounting Policies, 
and Federal Laws and Regulations - Audit Contracts, p. 761, 987 

2-13-585 Public Safety Answering Point (PSAP) Certification and Funding, p. 
558, 903, 1368 

2-21-584 Voluntary Employees' Beneficiary Association (VEBA), p. 1195 
2-59-572 Definitions for Credit Unions, p. 2357, 290 
 
(Public Employees' Retirement Board) 
2-43-578 Adopting by Reference the Amended State of Montana Public 

Employees Pooled Trust in the Defined Contribution Retirement Plan - 
Adopting by Reference the Amended Stable Value Fund Investment 
Policy Statement in the Defined Contribution Retirement Plan and the 
457(b) Deferred Compensation Plan - Adopting by Reference the 
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Amended State of Montana Public Employees Pooled Trust in the 
457(b) Deferred Compensation Plan, p. 1, 288 

2-43-582 Investment Policy Statements for the Defined Contribution Retirement 
Plan and the 457(b) Deferred Compensation Plan, p. 251, 424 

2-43-583 Investment Policy Statements for the Defined Contribution Retirement 
Plan and the 457(b) Deferred Compensation Plan, p. 410, 736 

 
(State Lottery Commission) 
2-63-579 General Provisions - Retailer Commission - Duplicate Licenses - 

Prizes - Acceptable Forms of Payment, p. 6, 291 
 
AGRICULTURE, Department of, Title 4  
 
4-18-252 Potato Commodity Assessment Collection, p. 2359, 292 
4-19-255 Hemp, p. 254, 532 
4-19-256 Financial Responsibility, p. 264, 537 
4-19-257 State Noxious Weed List, p. 413, 825 
4-19-258 Hemp Processing and Associated Fees, p. 698, 1369 
4-19-259 Certified Natural Beef Cattle Marketing Program, p. 702, 1047 
4-19-260 Apiary Fees, p. 782, 1166 
4-19-261 Pesticide Registrations - Worker Protection Standards - Containers 

and Disposal Program, p. 905 
4-19-262 Commodity Dealer Licenses, p. 1104 
4-19-263 Pesticide Records and Registrations - Use of 1080 Livestock 

Protection Collars - M-44 Cyanide Capsules and Devices, p. 1109 
 
STATE AUDITOR, Office of, Title 6 
 
(Commissioner of Securities and Insurance) 
6-249 Replacement of Life Insurance or Annuities, p. 11, 293 
6-256 Annual Audited Reports - Establishing Accounting Practices and 

Procedures to Be Used in Annual Statements - Internal Audit Function 
Requirements, p. 1216 

6-258 Notice of Protection Provided by the Montana Life and Health 
Insurance Guaranty Association, p. 1224 

 
COMMERCE, Department of, Title 8 
 
8-94-165 Administration of the 2020 Biennium Treasure State Endowment 

Program–Planning Grants, p. 415, 737 
8-94-166 Administration of the Delivering Local Assistance (DLA) Program, p. 

562, 955 
8-94-171 Administration of the 2021 Biennium Federal Community Development 

Block Grant (CDBG) Program–Planning Grants, p. 1120 
8-99-167 Certified Regional Development Corporation Program, p. 785, 1168 
8-99-168 Implementation of the Big Sky Economic Development Trust Program, 

p. 788, 1169 
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8-100-169 Montana Board of Research and Commercialization Technology, p. 
915, 1370 

8-111-170 Administration of the Coal Trust Multifamily Homes (CTMH) Program, 
p. 992 

8-119-164 Tourism Advisory Council, p. 417, 739 
 
EDUCATION, Title 10 
 
(Office of Public Instruction) 
10-16-132 Special Education, p. 165, 790, 1371 
 
(Board of Public Education) 
10-54-288 Deadlines for Transformational Learning Aid, p. 793, 1048 
10-55-286 Hazard and Emergency Plans, p. 564, 1049 
10-55-289 Accreditation Process, p. 997 
10-56-285 Student Assessment, p. 567, 1050 
10-57-287 Educator Licensure, p. 573, 1051 
 
FISH, WILDLIFE AND PARKS, Department of, Title 12 
 
12-510 Closing the York's Islands Fishing Access Site in Broadwater County, 

p. 295 
12-511 Closing the Rosebud Isle Fishing Access Site in Stillwater County, p. 

297 
12-512 Closing the Smith River From Camp Baker to Eden Bridge, p. 393 
12-513 Closing the Mallard's Rest Fishing Access Site in Park County, p. 395 
12-514 Pilot Program for Aquatic Invasive Species in the Flathead Basin, p. 

577, 963 
12-518 Closing Cooney State Park in Carbon County, p. 743 
12-519 Closing the Medicine River Fishing Access Site in Cascade County, p. 

745 
12-520 Closing the Fort Shaw Fishing Access Site in Cascade County, p. 747 
 
(Fish and Wildlife Commission) 
12-484 Recreating on the Helena Valley Regulating Reservoir, p. 2160, 294 
12-507 No Wake Zones on Canyon Ferry Reservoir, p. 2163, 273, 538 
12-508 Recreational Use on the Bitterroot River, p. 193, 740 
12-515 Two-Way Electronic Communication While Hunting, p. 919 
12-516 Tagging Carcasses of Game Animals, p. 921 
12-517 Animal Kill Site Verification, p. 923 
12-521 List of Water Bodies With Specific Regulations Found in 

Administrative Rule, p. 925, 1379 
 
GOVERNOR, Office of, Title 14 
 
14-6 Energy Supply Emergency Rules, p. 122 
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ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY, Department of, Title 17 
 
17-406 Technologically Enhanced Naturally Occurring Radioactive Material 

(TENORM) Waste, p. 1239 
 
(Board of Environmental Review) 
17-402 Implementing a Registration System for Certain Facilities That 

Currently Require a Montana Air Quality Permit, p. 2430, 425 
17-403 Ground Water Standards Incorporated by Reference Into Department 

Circular DEQ-7, p. 2446, 196, 826 
17-404 Definitions - Department Circulars DEQ-1, DEQ-2, and DEQ-3 - 

Setbacks Between Water Wells and Sewage Lagoons, p. 2455, 836 
17-405 Subdivision and Public Water and Wastewater Review Fees - 

Certification Under 76-4-127, MCA, p. 1228 
 
TRANSPORTATION, Department of, Title 18 
 
18-173 Motor Carrier Services Safety Requirements, p. 314, 543 
18-174 Motor Fuels Tax Electronic Refunds, p. 927, 1380 
18-176 Motor Carrier Services Maximum Allowable Weight - Wintertime and 

Durational Permits, p. 1002 
18-177 Electronic Utility Permitting for Right-Of-Way Occupancy, p. 1145 
 
(Board of Aeronautics) 
18-175 Loan and Grant Program - Pavement Preservation Grants, p. 930 
 
JUSTICE, Department of, Title 23 
 
23-3-253 Third-Party CDL Skills Testing Program - Commercial Driver's License 

Testing, p. 1766, 176, 338 
23-12-432 Locking Arrangements in Educational Occupancies, p. 299 
23-16-256 Authorization and Regulation of 50/50 Raffles and 50/50 Raffle 

Electronic Processing Systems - Definitions - Grounds for a Denial of 
a License - Cross-References to Alcoholic Beverages Licenses - 
Credit Play - Administrative Procedure - Card Dealer Licensure - 
Raffles - Card Dealer Licensure, p. 2482, 302 

 
LABOR AND INDUSTRY, Department of, Title 24 
 
Boards under the Business Standards Division are listed in alphabetical order by 
chapter following the department notices. 
 
24-21-346 Registered Apprenticeship, p. 579, 934, 1381 
24-29-343 Medical Utilization and Treatment Guidelines for Workers' 

Compensation Purposes, p. 317, 846 
24-29-345 Medical Fee Schedules for Workers' Compensation Purposes, p. 390, 

848 
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24-30-344 Occupational Safety and Health Rules for Public Sector Employees, p. 
320, 849 

24-117-33 Licensure and Regulation of Professional Boxing, p. 324, 544 
24-301-347 Definitions - Incorporation by Reference of International Building Code 

- Calculation of Fees - Modifications to the International Building Code 
Applicable to the Department's Code Enforcement Program and to 
Local Government Code Enforcement Programs - Incorporation by 
Reference of International Residential Code - Incorporation by 
Reference of International Existing Building Code - Incorporation by 
Reference of International Mechanical Code - Incorporation by 
Reference of International Fuel Gas Code - Incorporation by 
Reference of International Swimming Pool and Spa Code - 
Incorporation by Reference of International Wildland-Urban Interface 
Code - Extent of Local Programs - Funding of Code Enforcement 
Program - Incorporation by Reference of Independent Accountant's 
Reporting Format for Applying Agreed-Upon Procedures During Audits 
of Certified City, County, or Town Building Code Enforcement 
Programs - Incorporation by Reference of Uniform Plumbing Code - 
Minimum Required Plumbing Fixtures - Incorporation by Reference of 
National Electrical Code - Enforcement, Generally - Site Accessibility, 
p. 1273 

 
(Board of Architects and Landscape Architects) 
24-114-37 Architect Examination - Architect Licensure by Examination - 

Education and Experience Required for Landscape Architect 
Licensure - Architect Continuing Education Requirements - 
Unprofessional Conduct, p. 275, 1052 

 
(Board of Athletic Trainers) 
24-118-5 Definitions - Fee Schedule - Renewals - Unprofessional Conduct - 

Limit on Nonlicensee Conduct, p. 170, 427 
 
(Board of Dentistry) 
24-138-75 Definition of Nonroutine Application - General Standards for 

Specialties - Specialty Advertising, p. 2361, 429 
 
(Board of Hearing Aid Dispensers) 
24-150-41 Fees - Record Retention - Fee Abatement - Traineeship Requirements 

and Standards - Minimum Testing - Transactional Document 
Requirements–Form and Content - Continuing Education 
Requirements - Unprofessional Conduct - Standards for Approval, p. 
582 

 
(Board of Medical Examiners) 
24-156-85 Definitions - Unprofessional Conduct - Reporting to the Board - ECP 

Licensure Qualifications - ECP License Application - Substantially 
Equivalent Education - Continuing Education and Refresher 
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Requirements - Expired License - Fees - Medical Direction - Levels of 
ECP Licensure Including Endorsements - Endorsement Application - 
Procedures for Revision of Montana ECP Practice Guidelines or 
Curriculum - Scope of Practice - Training Courses - Final Pre-
Licensing Examinations - Complaints - ECP License Renewal - ECP 
Training Program/Course Application and Approval - Examinations - 
Initial ECP Course Requirements - Post-Course Requirements - ECP 
Clinical Requirements, p. 83, 431 

 
(Board of Nursing) 
24-159-87 Definitions - Nonroutine Applications - Educational Facilities for 

Programs - Program Annual Report - Program Faculty - Curriculum 
Goals and General Requirements for Programs - Renewals - 
Alternative Monitoring Track - Biennial Continuing Education 
Requirements - Auditing of Contact Hours, p. 706, 1055 

24-159-88 Use of Clinical Resource Licensed Practical Nurses, p. 1270 
 
(Board of Occupational Therapy Practice) 
24-165-24 Definitions - Fees - Military Training or Experience - Examinations - 

Supervision - Deep Modality Endorsement - Recognized Education 
Programs - Standards of Practice - Approved Modality Instruction - 
Approved Training - Endorsement to Apply Topical Medications - Use 
of Topical Medications - Protocols for Use of Topical Medications - 
Debriding Agents Protocols - Anesthetic Agents Protocols - 
Nonsteroidal Anti-Inflammatory Agents Protocols - Antispasmodic 
Agents Protocols - Adrenocortico-Steroid Agent Protocols - Protocol 
for Use of an Approved Medication as a Neuropathic Pain Agent - 
Temporary Practice Permit - Inactive Status - Continuing Education - 
Continuing Education–Exemption - Unprofessional Conduct - 
Bactericidal Agents Protocols - Applications for Licensure - Pass-Fail 
Criteria - Supervision–Methods - Documentation of Instruction and 
Training - Approval to Use Sound and Electrical Physical Agent 
Modalities Endorsement - Documenting Education and Competence to 
Perform Sound and Electrical Physical Agent Modalities–Out-of-State 
Practitioners, p. 509 

 
(Board of Outfitters) 
24-171-39 Fees - Outfitter Records - Safety and First Aid Provisions - Insurance 

for Outfitters - Guide License, p. 280, 850 
 
(Board of Pharmacy) 
24-174-71 Fee Schedule - Military Training or Experience - Collaborative Practice 

Agreement Requirements - Internship Requirements - Preceptor 
Requirements - Required Forms and Reports - Registration 
Requirements - Use of Pharmacy Technician - Ratio of Pharmacy 
Technicians to Supervising Pharmacists - Transfer of Prescriptions - 
Registered Pharmacist Continuing Education–Requirements - 
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Qualifications of Pharmacy Technician - Pharmacies–Annual Renewal 
- Pharmacy Technician–Renewal - Renewals - Registered Pharmacist 
Continuing Education–Noncompliance, p. 935 

 
(Board of Professional Engineers and Professional Land Surveyors) 
24-183-43 Definitions - Fee Schedule - Teaching of Advanced Engineering 

Subjects in Montana - Certificate of Authorization - Applications - 
Exhibits of Land Surveying Projects - Comity for Professional 
Engineers and for Professional Land Surveyors - Classification of 
Land Surveying Experience - Continuing Professional Competence-
Continuing Education - Unprofessional Conduct, p. 13, 635 

 
(Board of Public Accountants) 
24-201-52 Alternatives and Exemptions - Verification - Exercise of Practice 

Privilege in Other Jurisdictions - Enforcement Against License Holders 
and Practice Privilege Holders, p. 1151 

 
(Board of Real Estate Appraisers) 
24-207-42 Appraisal Review - USPAP Exemption - Definitions - Examination - 

Application Requirements - Approval of Qualifying and Continuing 
Education Courses - Ad Valorem Appraisal Experience - Qualifying 
Experience - Inactive License/Certification - Inactive to Active License 
- Trainee Requirements - Mentor Requirements - Registration and 
Renewal of Appraisal Management Companies - Continuing 
Education-Compliance and Auditing - Unprofessional Conduct for 
Appraisers - Unprofessional Conduct for Appraisal Management 
Companies - Incorporation by Reference of the Real Property 
Appraiser Qualification Criteria - Appraiser Reporting Obligations to 
the Board - Appraisal Management Company Reporting Obligations to 
the Board - Regulatory Reviews - Experience-Number of Hours 
Required - Qualifying Education Requirements for  Licensed Real 
Estate Appraisers - Qualifying Education Requirements for Residential 
Certification - Qualifying Education Requirements for General 
Certification - Scope of Practice - Continuing Education 
Noncompliance, p. 2166, 53, 636 

24-207-43 Ad Valorem Tax Appraisal Experience, p. 420, 1382 
 
(Board of Realty Regulation) 
24-210-45 Fee Schedule - Applications for Examination and License in General–

Broker and Salesperson - New Licensee Mandatory Continuing 
Education–Salespersons - Continuing Real Estate Education - 
Continuing Property Management Education - Waiver of Experience 
Requirement for Broker Licensing Prohibited - Board Approval of 
Courses, Providers, and Instructors, p. 588, 1056 

 
(Board of Respiratory Care Practitioners) 
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24-213-21 Abatement of Renewal Fees - Continuing Education Requirements, p. 
106, 749 

24-213-22 Continuing Education Requirements - Acceptable Continuing 
Education - Waiver of Continuing Education Requirement - Traditional 
Education by Nonsponsored Organizations - Teaching - Papers, 
Publications, Journals, Exhibits, Videos, Independent Study, and 
College Course Work, p. 1007 

 
(Board of Behavioral Health) 
24-219-32 Renewal Dates and Requirements - Military Training or Experience - 

Continuing Education Procedures and Documentation - Procedural 
Rules - Fee Schedules - Continuing Education Requirements - 
Accreditation and Standards - Reporting Requirements - Continuing 
Education Noncompliance, p. 20, 339 

 
LIVESTOCK, Department of, Title 32 
 
32-19-295 Manner, Positioning, and Size of Labeling, p. 285, 448 
32-19-297 Subject Diseases or Conditions - Importation of Restricted or 

Prohibited Alternative Livestock, p. 714, 947 
 
NATURAL RESOURCES AND CONSERVATION, Department of, Title 36 
 
36-22-204 Water Rights - Water Reservations, p. 1295 
 
(Board of Water Well Contractors) 
36-22-194 Location of Wells, p. 2494, 111, 851 
 
PUBLIC HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES, Department of, Title 37 
 
37-847 Wholesale Foods and Food Standards, p. 598 
37-865 Updating Requirements to Limit Opioid Supply for Members Without 

Cancer Diagnosis, p. 1012 
37-872 Clinic Services Requirements, p. 32, 341 
37-873 Healthy Learning Environments in Montana Public Schools, p. 795, 

1016 
37-874 Update of the Healthcare Effectiveness Date and Information Set 

(HEDIS), p. 198, 397 
37-875 Updating the Composite Rate for Outpatient Maintenance Dialysis 

Clinic, p. 112, 343 
37-876 Adult Protective Services, p. 35, 344 
37-877 Rural Health Clinics and Federally Qualified Health Centers, p. 1017 
37-878 Medicaid Rates, Services, and Benefit Changes, p. 618, 964, 1061 
37-879 Low Income Weatherization Assistance Program (LIWAP), p. 331, 545 
37-880 Montana Trauma System Plan 2019, p. 822, 1170 
37-881 Healthy Montana Kids (HMK) Dental Benefits, p. 335, 546 
37-882 Nursing Facility Reimbursement, p. 631, 973 
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37-883 Updating the Federal Poverty Index Guidelines for the Montana 
Telecommunications Access Program (MTAP), p. 529, 853 

37-885 Youth Care Facilities, p. 1034 
37-886 Migrating Billing to Medicaid Management Information System 

(MMIS), p. 723, 1171 
37-887 Communicable Disease Control, p. 1299 
37-888 Medicaid Rates, Services, and Benefit Changes, p. 1156 
37-890 Private Alternative Adolescent Residential Programs or Outdoor 

Programs (PAARP), p. 1309 
37-895 Medical Marijuana Program, p. 1364 
 
REVENUE, Department of, Title 42 
 
42-2-997 Tax Increment Financing Districts, p. 2193, 345 
42-1000 Industry Trade Shows - Catering Endorsements - Catered Events, p. 

727, 1173 
 
SECRETARY OF STATE, Office of, Title 44 
 
44-2-232 Notaries Public, p. 948 
44-2-233 Filing UCC Documents, p. 1040 
44-2-234 Performance Standards for Devices That Provide Accessible Voting 

Technology for Electors With Hearing, Vision, Speech, or Ambulatory 
Impairments, p. 1045 

 
(Commissioner of Political Practices) 
44-2-235 Contribution Limits, p. 1163 
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