Schedule No. **11** County Appraisal/ Assessment

Records Schedule

Prepared and Published by the Montana Local Government Records Committee Helena, Montana

LAST REVISED – April 2017

Before You Shred, Think Ahead

Introduction to Public Records Management

All public records have a specific value—whether administrative, fiscal, legal, historical, transitory (short-term) and whether created internally or received from an outside source. Some of them are so vital to government operation, that they must be preserved for perpetuity or protected to ensure continuity. Every local government entity is legally required to manage its public records in an orderly and systematic way.

Disposition & Destruction of Public Records

There are two different legal procedures that must be followed before it disposes of its public records. The first relates to records under ten years old. The second process relates to documents exceeding the ten-year retention limit.

• <u>**Records Under Ten Years:**</u> Montana Local Government General Schedules dictate how long a record must be kept before destruction or transfer. Before any action is taken, the agency must complete the *Request for Records Disposal or Transfer Authorization* form and submit it to the Montana Department of Administration, Local Government Services Bureau, P.O. Box 200547, Helena, MT 59620-0547. A template disposal form is located at <u>**Request for Records**</u> <u>**Disposal.**</u> <u>**Instructions**</u> for completing the form are also available.

Once approved by the Local Government Services Bureau and the Montana Historical Society, the form will be returned to you. You may then dispose of approved items *that are not ten years old or older*. Complete and file the form after adding destruction completion signature and date.

• **<u>Records Over Ten Years</u>**: If there are records older than 10 years the process changes because by <u>Law 2-6-1205, MCA</u> non-confidential records must be held for 60 days before they are destroyed. The 60-day notice alerts entities like Montana Historical Society-State Archives, colleges/universities, historical museums, genealogy societies, and the general public who may want to obtain those documents.

To activate the 60 day notice complete the *Request for Records Disposal or Transfer Authorization form* and submit it to the Local Government Services Bureau. The Bureau then sends it to the Montana Historical Society who will forward the Request to the Secretary of State Records & Information Management (RIM) Division. The items will be posted on the Local Government Records list-serve for the 60-day notice period.

If you are contacted during the 60-day period, it must transfer the record(s) to the requesting party in the priority order shown in MCA 2-6-1205. The requesting party is required to pay all costs associated with the transfer. If no one has requested the records after the 60-day period, they can be destroyed or deleted and the Request should be signed off by the person conducting final removal.

The Local Government Records Committee recommends that each local government agency adopt a policy to manage multiple requests for the same record(s).

Technical Assistance

All requests for technical assistance should be emailed to <u>SOSLocalGovtRecCom@mt.gov</u>.

MONTANA STATE GOVERNMENT RETENTION AND DISPOSITION SCHEDULE

Schedule for: COUNTY APPRAISAL/ASSESSMENT RECORDS

(and Department of Revenue, Property Assessment Division Records)

	Owner-		
Record Series Title and Description	ship	Retention and Disposition	Citation/Comments
1 ADDRESS CHANGE NOTIFICATION	State		15-1-103, MCA
a Department of Revenue copy		a Retain 3 years, destroy	NO RM60* REQUIRED
 2 ASSESSMENT NOTICE/STATEMENT: PERSONAL PROPERTY a Department of Revenue copy b County copy 	State	a Retain 3 years, transfer to county b Retain 7 more years; destroy	15-1-103, MCA 15-1-104, MCA NO RM60* REQUIRED
 3 ASSESSMENT NOTICE/STATEMENT: REAL ESTATE a Department of Revenue copy b County copy 	State	a Retain 3 years, transfer to county b Retain 30 more years; destroy	15-1-103, MCA 15-1-104, MCA a. NO RM60* REQUIRED
4 ASSESSMENT NOTICE/STATEMENT: UNDELIVERABLE a Department of Revenue copy	State	a Retain 3 years, destroy	15-1-103, MCA NO RM60* REQUIRED
 5 ASSESSMENT ROLL/BOOK Lists all property within the county and includes name to whom the property is assessed; description of the land; taxable personal property; assessed value of the real estate, of improvements, and of taxable personal property; total assessed value and taxable value of all property; taxes and fees; and total of each type of tax, levy, fee. a Department of Revenue copy b County copy 	County	a Until superseded; replace b Permanent	15-8-701, M.C.A. This record in book form is obsolete. Now kept electronically only— <i>see also</i> Property Tax Record. DOR must notify the counties to print or store for permanent
6 BUSINESS REPORTING FORMS a Department of Revenue	State	a 3 years after	retention. a. NO RM60* REQUIRED 15-1-103, MCA NO RM60* REQUIRED
Page 5/12		superseded/suspended	

Rev. 5/12

*RM60 is a records disposal request form issued by the Local Government Records Committee. "No RM60 required" means that the records do not need to be submitted to the LGRC disposal subcommittee for approval before being disposed unless the records are over 10 years old.

MONTANA STATE GOVERNMENT RETENTION AND DISPOSITION SCHEDULE

Owner-Record Series Title and Description ship **Retention and Disposition Citation/Comments** 15-1-103. MCA 7 COUNTY TAXABLE State VALUATION/CERTIFIED TAXABLE a Retain 3 years; destroy in county's budget VALUE a. NO RM60* REQUIRED a Department of Revenue copy b Permanent c Permanent¹ b County copy c District copy¹ 8 HAIL INSURANCE POLICY State 15-1-103, MCA Montana State Hail Insurance Program. a Retain 3 years, destroy a. NO RM60* a Department of Revenue copy REQUIRED b Department of Agriculture copy b Permanent (transferred to State Archives after 7 years) **9 IRRIGATION DATA FORM** State 15-1-103, MCA NO RM60* Includes acres irrigated, water source, type of REQUIRED system, number of pumps and pumping capacity of each, major crops grown, etc. a Department of Revenue copy a Retain 3 years; destroy 10 IRRIGATION WATER COST State 15-1-103, MCA PRODUCTIONS QUESTIONNAIRE Also reference state The Department of Revenue is required by DOR Retention law to gather allowable water Schedule #580125. cost information irrigated land: **NO RM60*** on the REQUIRED information collected on this questionnaire is input on the "Irrigation Data Form." a Department of Revenue copy a Retain 3 years; offer to Archives 11 IRRIGATION WATER COST 15-1-103. MCA State **NO RM60*** WORKSHEET REQUIRED Includes water cost category, irrIgation type, base water cost/acre, individual energy cost/acre, total water cost/acre, etc. a Department of Revenue copy a Retain 3 years; destroy **12 MANUALS** Non-records. State Assessment manuals, NADA guides, tractor Retention is manuals, etc. minimum a Department of Revenue copy a Retain 3 years; destroy requirement. NO RM60* REOUIRED

Schedule for: COUNTY APPRAISAL/ASSESSMENT RECORDS

(and Department of Revenue, Property Assessment Division Records)

*RM60 is a records disposal request form issued by the Local Government Records Committee. "No RM60 required" means that the records do not need to be submitted to the LGRC disposal subcommittee for approval before being disposed unless the records are over 10 years old.

¹Each district should keep a copy permanently unless it is included in the county's budget document

Schedule for: COUNTY APPRAISAL/ASSESSMENT RECORDS

(and Department of Revenue, Property Assessment Division Records)

(and Department of Revenue, Pro	Owner-	,	
Record Series Title and Description	ship	Retention and Disposition	Citation/Comments
 13 MAPS: BOOKS Variously known as Classification books, Plat books, Land books, Lot books, STR (Section – Township – Range) books, Subdivision books, Tract books. a County copy 	County	a Permanent	May be offered to the State Archives
14 MAPS: SANBORN INSURANCE COMPANY a County copy	County	a Permanent	May be offered to the State Archives
 15 MILL LEVIES: CERTIFIED MILL LEVIES a Department of Revenue copy b County Clerk and Recorder copy 16 MILL LEVIES: PROPERTY TAX MILL LEVIES 	State State	a Retain 3 years; destroy b Permanent	15-1-103, MCA a. NO RM60* REQUIRED
 a Department of Revenue copy b County Clerk and Recorder copy c County Superintendent of Schools copy d District(s) copy² e Department of Administration copy f Office of Public Instruction copy 		 a Retain 3 years; destroy b Permanent c Until superseded; replace d Permanent² e Transfer to State Archives f Retain 8 years; destroy 	a 15-1-103, MCA b <i>in</i> county budget e <i>in</i> county annual statement a., c., f. NO RM60* REQUIRED
17 NET PROCEEDS a Department of Revenue copy	State	a Retain 3 years; destroy	15-1-103, MCA NO RM60* REQUIRED
 18 PROPERTY RECORD CARDS Include detailed description of each piece of property and the buildings thereon. a Department of Revenue copy 	State	a Until superseded; destroy	NO RM60* REQUIRED

Rev. 5/05

*RM60 is a records disposal request form issued by the Local Government Records Committee. "No RM60 required" means that the records do not need to be submitted to the LGRC disposal subcommittee for approval before being disposed unless the records are over 10 years old.

² Each district should keep a copy permanently unless it is included in the county's budget document

MONTANA STATE GOVERNMENT RETENTION AND DISPOSITION SCHEDULE

Schedule for: COUNTY APPRAISAL/ASSESSMENT RECORDS

(and Department of Revenue, Property Assessment Division Records)

(and Department of Revenue, 110	ŕ í	,	
Record Series Title and Description	Owner- ship	Retention and Disposition	Citation/Comments
19 PROPERTY TAX RECORD Lists all property within the state and includes name to whom the property is assessed; description of the land; taxable personal property; assessed value of the real estate, of improvements, and of taxable personal property; total assessed value and taxable value of all property; taxes and fees, and total of each type of tax, levy, fee. a Department of Revenue copy b County copy	County	a Until superseded; replace b Permanent	15-8-701, M.C.A. This record in this form is obsolete. Now kept electronically only—DOR must notify the counties to print or store for permanent retention. —formerly kept with Assessment Roll/Book, Item 5. a. NO RM60* REQUIRED
 20 REALTY TRANSFER CERTIFICATES (RTC) a Department of Revenue copy ³ b County Clerk and Recorder copy ⁴ c DNRC ⁵ -yellow copy -pink copy ("DNRC Water Right Owner-ship Update" form) 	State	a 10 + ³ b 0 c -4mos.; destroy ⁵ -Permanent ⁵	a 15-7-304 – 308, MCA b Should not keep copy c 85-4-423 – 424, MCA NO RM60* REQUIRED

Rev. 5/12

³ The Dept. of Revenue retains current appraisal cycle plus one previous cycle, but not less than 10 years.

⁴ The County Clerk and Recorder sends the white copy of the RTC to the Department of Revenue and gives the pink copy to the citizen; if the RTC discloses a transfer of water rights, the County Clerk and Recorder, on a monthly basis, sends the yellow copy to the Department of Natural Resources and Conservation's Water Rights Bureau; the citizen is responsible for sending the pink copy to DNRC.

The white copy and the yellow copy are confidential records not open to the public (15-7-308, M.C.A.).

⁵ The Department of Natural Resources and Conservation retains the yellow copy until they are able to "marry" it with the pink, then the yellow is destroyed and the pink is filed in the Water Rights file and kept permanently.

^{*}RM60 is a records disposal request form issued by the Local Government Records Committee. "No RM60 required" means that the records do not need to be submitted to the LGRC disposal subcommittee for approval before being disposed unless the records are over 10 years old.

Schedule for: COUNTY APPRAISAL/ASSESSMENT RECORDS

(and Department of Revenue, Property Assessment Division Records)

Owner-		
ship	Retention and Disposition	Citation/Comments
County		Obsolete records,
		no longer being
	a Retain 30 years; destroy	created
County		
	a Retain 30 years; destroy	
State		15-1-103, MCA
		15-6-211, MCA
	a 3 years after superseded	NO RM60*
	or suspended; destroy	REQUIRED
State		15-1-103, MCA
		15-6-134, MCA
		15-6-151, MCA
	a Retain 3 years; destroy	NO RM60*
		REQUIRED
County	•	15-1-104, MCA
	State Archives	
	ship County County State	Countya Retain 30 years; destroyCountya Retain 30 years; destroyStatea 3 years after superseded or suspended; destroyStatea Retain 3 years; destroy

Rev. 5/12

*RM60 is a records disposal request form issued by the Local Government Records Committee. "No RM60 required" means that the records do not need to be submitted to the LGRC disposal subcommittee for approval before being disposed unless the records are over 10 years old.

Alphabetical Index

<u>Alphabetical Index-cont.</u>

Section – Township – Range Books2	
State Boards:	
Industrial Accident Board4	
State Board of Equalization4	
STR Books2	
Subdivision Books2	
Tax Assistance:	
Affidavit of Veteran Disability4	
Application for Property Tax Assistance Program4	
Tax Rolls4	
Taxable Value/Valuation1	
Tract Books2	; •
Tractor Manuals	; •
Undeliverable Assessment Notice/Statement1	
Veteran Disability Affidavit4	
Water Cost Productions Questionnaire for Irrigation2	
Water Cost Worksheet for Irrigation	

Schedule for: COUNTY APPRAISAL/ASSESSMENT RECORDS

(and Department of Revenue, Property Assessment Division Records)

	Revisions to Schedule		
Date	Page	Change	
9/2004	3	Item 18, Property Record CardsChanged Retention and Disposition to a. Untilsuperceded; replaceCitation/Comments – This record in this form is obsoleteand is now kept primarily on computer; older versions maybe offered to County or State Archives.	
5/2005	3	Item 18, Property Record CardsChanged Until superceded; replace will now be destroyCitation/Comments – This section is now blank.	
5/24/2012	1	Item 5, Assessment Roll/BookNo longer available to the Counties in book form.Electronic Only. Rewrote disposal citation to state theDOR must notify the counties to print or store forpermanent retention.Item 6, Business Reporting FormsChange retention to include Superseded or Suspended.Item 10, Irrigation Water Cost ProductionsQuestionnaireChange retention disposition to Offer to Archives (X-RefState Schedule 580125).Item 12, ManualsUpdated citation language: Non Records. Retention is minimum requirement.Item 19, Property Tax RecordUpdated citation language to match Item 5. Updated X- Ref-Item 5.Item 23, Tax AssistanceChanged title to Tax Assistance: Application and Affidavit of Veteran Disability. Changed retention to include Superseded or Suspended.	
4/2017	Various	Added "NO RM60 REQUIRED" as appropriate.	