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MONTANA LOCAL GOVERNMENT RETENTION AND DISPOSITION SCHEDULE
Before You Shred, Think Ahead

Introduction to Public Records Management

All public records have a specific value—whether administrative, fiscal, legal, historical,
transitory (short-term) and whether created internally or received from an outside source.
Some of them are so vital to government operation, that they must be preserved for
perpetuity or protected to ensure continuity. Every local government entity is legally
required to manage its public records in an orderly and systematic way.

Disposition & Destruction of Public Records

There are two different legal procedures that must be followed before it disposes of its public
records. The first relates to records under ten years old. The second process relates to
documents exceeding the ten-year retention limit.

e Records Under Ten Years: Montana Local Government General Schedules
dictate how long a record must be kept before destruction or transfer. Before any
action is taken, the agency must complete the Request for Records Disposal or
Transfer Authorization form and submit it to the Montana Department of
Administration, Local Government Services Bureau, P.O. Box 200547, Helena, MT
59620-0547. A template disposal form is located at Request for Records
Disposal. Instructions for completing the form are also available.

Once approved by the Local Government Services Bureau and the Montana Historical
Society, the form will be returned to you. You may then dispose of approved items that are
not ten years old or older. Complete and file the form after adding destruction
completion signature and date.

e Records Over Ten Years: If there are records older than 10 years the process
changes because by Law 2-6-1205, MCA non-confidential records must be held for 60
days before they are destroyed. The 60-day notice alerts entities like Montana
Historical Society-State Archives, colleges/universities, historical museums,
genealogy societies, and the general public who may want to obtain those documents.

To activate the 60 day notice complete the Request for Records Disposal or Transfer
Authorization form and submit it to the Local Government Services Bureau. The
Bureau then sends it to the Montana Historical Society who will forward the Request
to the Secretary of State Records & Information Management (RIM) Division. The
items will be posted on the Local Government Records list-serve for the 60-day notice
period.

If you are contacted during the 60-day period, it must transfer the record(s) to the
requesting party in the priority order shown in MCA 2-6-1205. The requesting party
is required to pay all costs associated with the transfer. If no one has requested the


http://www.sos.mt.gov/Records/Local/index.asp
http://www.sos.mt.gov/Records/Local/index.asp
http://sos.mt.gov/Portals/142/Records/forms/Disposal_Instructions.pdf?dt=1489017329224&dt=1493395545288
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0020/chapter_0060/part_0120/section_0050/0020-0060-0120-0050.html
http://sos.mt.gov/Portals/142/Records/forms/Local_Disposal_Request.pdf?dt=1489017329224&dt=1493395545288

records after the 60-day period, they can be destroyed or deleted and the Request
should be signed off by the person conducting final removal.

The Local Government Records Committee recommends that each local government
agency adopt a policy to manage multiple requests for the same record(s).

Technical Assistance

All requests for technical assistance should be emailed to SOSLocalGovtRecCom@mt.gov.


mailto:SOSLocalGovtRecCom@mt.gov

MONTANA LOCAL GOVERNMENT RETENTION SCHEDULE

DEPARTMENT:  COUNTY 9-1-1 PUBLIC SAFETY ANSWERING POINT (PSAP)

ITEM RECORD TITLE AND DESCRIPTION RETENTION TIME COMMENTS
1. BRIEFING RECORDS: 7 days NO RM60*
Records that document internal communication between REQUIRED

supervisors and shift workers on different shifts, to alert
them to problems, issuers, or activities. Records may
include but are not limited to briefing logs, teletype or
electronic messages, bulletins from other agencies

2. DATA MANAGEMENT SYSTEM RECORDS: Until superseded or NO RM60*
Records that document specific incidents when a call is obsolete. REQUIRED
received by the 9-1-1/ PSAP service area. Information may
include but is not limited to address data, response unit
assignments, response codes, responsible person data, and
related documentation.

3. DISPATCH INCIDENT RECORDS: 2 years NO RM60*
Records that document specific incidents when a call is REQUIRED
received by the 9-1-1/ PSAP and subsequent response
activities. Information may include but is not limited to
caller’s name, address, and telephone number; details of
incident or complaint; call taker/dispatcher name; which
agency responded and when; and incident disposition.
Additional information received through an enhanced
system is the Automatic Number Identification and
Automatic Location Identification (ANI/ALI) which
includes the telephone subscriber name, subscriber’s
telephone number, and subscribers telephone service
location.

4. ENHANCED 911 SERVICE PLANS:
Records that document the planning, development and
implementation of enhanced 9-1-1/ PSAP systems. Plans
and any subsequent amendments are required to be
submitted to the Montana Department of Administration for
approval. The plan may be periodically revised and
updated. Records may include but are not limited to
preliminary and final plans, drafts and worksheets,
correspondence, and to other records described in MCA 10-

4-101-126 a. 5 years after NO RM60*
a. Approved plans and amendments superseded REQUIRED
b. Preliminary plans, drafts, worksheets, and supporting b. Until approved
material

*RMBG60 is a records disposal request form issued by the Local Government Records Committee. “No RM60 required” means that the records do not need to be
submitted to the LGRC disposal subcommittee for approval before being disposed unless the records are over 10 years old.

#17 Local Government 9-1-1 PSAP

To access other County Retention Schedules go to the Secretary of State website at http://sos.mt.gov/records/local , Records Management

Date 09/16



http://sos.mt.gov/records/local

MONTANA LOCAL GOVERNMENT RETENTION SCHEDULE

DEPARTMENT:  COUNTY 9-1-1 PUBLIC SAFETY ANSWERING POINT (PSAP)

ITEM RECORD TITLE AND DESCRIPTION RETENTION TIME COMMENTS
5. MASTER 24 HOUR AUDIO TAPES/RECORDS: 12 months Note: Specific
Document recorded incoming emergency and non- recordings of incidents
emergency calls; law enforcement, fire, and emergency may warrant longer
medical services dispatches; radio activity; and 9-1-1/PSAP retention for legal
calls. Tapes are maintained on a 24 hour basis. reasons.
NO RM60*
REQUIRED
6. MASTER STREET ADDRESS GUIDE (MSAG) 2 years NO RM60*
MAINTENANCE FORMS: REQUIRED

Records document the 9-1-1/ PSAP’s notification to the
phone service provider about the addition of new streets or
revisions to existing streets on the MSAG. The MSAG is
maintained by the phone service provider or its independent
contractor. Forms are usually maintained by the agency’s
MSAG Coordinator. Information may include but is not
limited to new or updated address, customer, and responder

information.
7. OPERATIONAL LOGS: 1 year NO RM60*
Records document chronological tracking of activities REQUIRED

related to 9-1-1/ PSAP operations. Records may include
but are not limited to radio logs, telephone logs, tow logs,
and criminal background check request logs.

8. PREMISE INFORMATION RECORDS: 2 years or until renewed, NO RM60*
Records document information about specific premises or superseded, or expired, REQUIRED
locations that emergency responders need to know in whichever is sooner.

advance of arrival at an incident site. Information ma
y include but is not limited to hazardous materials storage
locations, whether building plans were submitted to the fire
department, unique information about building a such as
utility shut-offs, and related documentation.

9. PUBLIC RECORDS DISCLOSURE REQUEST
RECORDS:
Records document requests for disclosure of public records
and provides a record of the agency’s response. Records
may include but are not limited to requests for disclosure,
types of records requested, request logs, approvals, denials,
copies of petitions to legal counsel for review of denials or
disclosure, legal counsel orders to grant or deny disclosure,

correspondence, and related documentation. a. 2 years NO RM60*
a. approved request records b. 2 years after last REQUIRED
b. denied request records action

*RMBG60 is a records disposal request form issued by the Local Government Records Committee. “No RM60 required” means that the records do not need to be
submitted to the LGRC disposal subcommittee for approval before being disposed unless the records are over 10 years old.
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MONTANA LOCAL GOVERNMENT RETENTION SCHEDULE

DEPARTMENT.  COUNTY 9-1-1 PUBLIC SAFETY ANSWERING POINT (PSAP)
ITEM RECORD TITLE AND DESCRIPTION RETENTION TIME COMMENTS
10. QUALITY ASSURANCE RECORDS: Records document
the evaluation, analysis, and assessment about the
performance and quality of services provided by the 9-1-1/ a. 2 years or until NO RM60*
PSAP system. Records may include but are not limited to summary report is REQUIRED

11.

system evaluations, system performance reports,
satisfactions surveys and questionnaires, quality
improvement reports and recommendations, quality
assurance committee minutes, and related documentation.

a. survey instruments

b. other records
STATISTICAL REPORTS:
Records document the compilation of statistical data about
the actions and activities of the 9-1-1/ PSAP system. Data
may be complied on a daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly,
and/or annual basis and may be used for analysis,
evaluation, and budget development purposes. Information
may include but is not limited to data about response times,
number of calls received and dispatched, and responses by
individual agency.

a. Data instruments used to compile statistics

b. Daily and weekly reports

c. Monthly and quarterly reports

completed, whichever

is sooner
b. 2 years

a. Until report
completed

b. Until compiled into
monthly reports

b. and c. NO RM60*
REQUIRED
d. Offer to Archives

d. Annual reports c. 1 year
d. 10 years
12. SYSTEM ERROR/MALFUNCTION RECORDS: NO RM60*
Records document 9-1-1/ PSAP electronic system errors or 2 years REQUIRED

malfunctions and subsequent corrective action. Records
may include but are not limited to enhanced system error
reports, trouble logs, work orders, correspondence, and
related documentation.

*RMBG60 is a records disposal request form issued by the Local Government Records Committee. “No RM60 required” means that the records do not need to be
submitted to the LGRC disposal subcommittee for approval before being disposed unless the records are over 10 years old.

#17 Local Government 9-1-1 PSAP

To access other County Retention Schedules go to the Secretary of State website at http://sos.mt.gov/records/local , Records Management

Date 09/16



http://sos.mt.gov/records/local

