Schedule No. 6

County Motor Vehicles

Adopted by the Local Government Records Committee, 2003 Last Revised: April 2017

DEPARTMENT: COUNTY MOTOR VEHICLE

ITEM RECORD TITLE AND DESCRIPTION

COMMENTS RETENTION TIME

MONTANA LOCAL GOVERNMENT RETENTION AND DISPOSITION SCHEDULE

Before You Shred. Think Ahead

Introduction to Public Records Management

All public records have a specific value—whether administrative, fiscal, legal, historical, transitory (short-term) and whether created internally or received from an outside source. Some of them are so vital to government operation, that they must be preserved for perpetuity or protected to ensure continuity. Every local government entity is legally required to manage its public records in an orderly and systematic way.

Disposition & Destruction of Public Records

There are two different legal procedures that must be followed before it disposes of its public records. The first relates to records under ten years old. The second process relates to documents exceeding the ten-year retention limit.

• **Records Under Ten Years:** Montana Local Government General Schedules dictate how long a record must be kept before destruction or transfer. Before any action is taken, the agency must complete the *Request for Records Disposal or Transfer Authorization* form and submit it to the Montana Department of Administration, Local Government Services Bureau, P.O. Box 200547, Helena, MT 59620-0547. A template disposal form is located at **Request for Records Disposal**. **Instructions** for completing the form are also available.

Once approved by the Local Government Services Bureau and the Montana Historical Society, the form will be returned to you. You may then dispose of approved items **that are not ten years old or older.** Complete and file the form after adding destruction completion signature and date.

• **Records Over Ten Years:** If there are records older than 10 years the process changes because by <u>Law 2-6-1205, MCA non-confidential records must be held for 60 days before they are destroyed. The 60-day notice alerts entities like Montana Historical Society-State Archives, colleges/universities, historical museums, genealogy societies, and the general public who may want to obtain those documents.</u>

To activate the 60 day notice complete the *Request for Records Disposal or Transfer Authorization <u>form</u> and submit it to the Local Government Services Bureau. The Bureau then sends it to the Montana Historical Society who will forward the Request to the Secretary of State Records & Information Management (RIM) Division. The items will be posted on the Local Government Records list-serve for the 60-day notice period.*

^{*}RM60 is a records disposal request form issued by the Local Government Records Committee. "No RM60 required" means that the records do not need to be submitted to the LGRC disposal subcommittee for approval before being disposed unless the records are over 10 years old.

DEPARTMENT: COUNTY MOTOR VEHICLE

ITEM RECORD TITLE AND DESCRIPTION

COMMENTS RETENTION TIME

If you are contacted during the 60-day period, it must transfer the record(s) to the requesting party in the priority order shown in MCA 2-6-1205. The requesting party is required to pay all costs associated with the transfer. If no one has requested the records after the 60-day period, they can be destroyed or deleted and the Request should be signed off by the person conducting final removal.

The Local Government Records Committee recommends that each local government agency adopt a policy to manage multiple requests for the same record(s).

Technical Assistance

All requests for technical assistance should be directed to the Local Government Services Bureau, **Beth Riitano**, (406) 841-2912.

^{*}RM60 is a records disposal request form issued by the Local Government Records Committee. "No RM60 required" means that the records do not need to be submitted to the LGRC disposal subcommittee for approval before being disposed unless the records are over 10 years old.

DEPARTMENT: COUNTY MOTOR VEHICLE

	ITE	EM	RECORD TITLE AND DESCRIPTION	COMMENTS	RETENTION TIME
	1.		AY STICKERS: A sticker to put in the window of a vehicle so it can be n for 20 days before it has to be titled.		Audit + 1 year NO RM60* REQUIRED
	2.	a. Pe	LICATIONS: rsonal Plate: for a personalized license plate ailer: For a Montana serial number for a homemade trailer.		a. Audit +1 year b. Audit +2 years NO RM60* REQUIRED
	3.		H BALANCE SUMMARY: Daily office totals of receipts of checks, t cards, refunds, over and short.		Audit +1 year NO RM60* REQUIRED
	4.		H OVER & SHORT: Record of cash over and short balances per operator by with date, reason and amount.		Audit +1 year NO RM60* REQUIRED
	5.		IPLETED DEER LODGE RETURNS: List of problem titles from State // in Deer Lodge that have been corrected and returned to Deer Lodge.		Audit +1 year NO RM60* REQUIRED
	6.		IPUTER REPORTS: Daily transactions reports by operator, monthly ts for state distribution.		Audit +3 years NO RM60* REQUIRED
ĺ	7.		OMING DEALER LISTS: List of all titles by date, customer name, er, lien or no lien, expiration date, new or out of state vehicles.		Audit +3 years NO RM60* REQUIRED
ĺ	8.		TERS/ CORRESPONDENCE: sabled Vet Letters- from VA verifying customer is 100 % service related bility.		a. Audit +1 year
		b. In	complete/Dead letter (DMV) - titles not completed by customer or titles ed but not approved at state DMV.		b. Audit +3 years
		c. Ind d. Ti	dian Exempt Letters: from the tribe that exempts customer from taxes the Letters to state DMV: list of titles sent to state DMV daily claimed Mail- Returned mail from Post Office		c. Audit +1 year d. Audit +1 year e. Audit +2 years
					NO RM60* REQUIRED
	9.	a. Lie	EIPTS: en Perfection -Receipt of liens filed on a daily basis oid Registration-All 3 copies of transactions voided on a daily basis.		a. Audit +1 year b. Audit +1 year NO RM60* REQUIRED

MV 5

^{*}RM60 is a records disposal request form issued by the Local Government Records Committee. "No RM60 required" means that the records do not need to be submitted to the LGRC disposal subcommittee for approval before being disposed unless the records are over 10 years old.

COUNTY MOTOR VEHICLE DEPARTMENT:

	ITE	M RECORD TITLE AND DESCRIPTION	COMMENTS	RETENTION TIME
	10.	REFUND REPORT: List of refunds to customers by date, check number, check issue date, customer name, and amount.		Audit +2 years
				NO RM60* REQUIRED
	11.	TAX FORM 2290: Paid copy of heavy use tax for anyone carrying 55,000 lbs GVW (gross vehicle weight) or more.		Audit +1 year NO RM60* REQUIRED
	12.	TRANSMITTAL FORMS: Returns to dealers. Letters for returning title work that is incomplete or wrong.		_Audit + <u>2</u> - years
				NO RM60* REQUIRED
	13.	VEHICLE REGISTRATIONS: All receipts for titles or registration of all vehicles in the county. Includes: ATV's, Cars, boats, motorcycles, personalized plates, single trip, snowmobiles, special mobiles, trailers, trucks, 60 day stickers.		Audit +1 year RESTRICTED ACCESS see MCA 61-11-503 thru 509
				See MCA 61-3-101 #6
]]				NO RM60* REQUIRED
				Must be audited before disposal

REVISED Rev 1.0 11-2003

Item 13 VEHICLE REGISTRATIONS to show: RESTRICTED ACCESS see MCA 61-11-503 thru 509

Rev 1.1 5-2005

<u>Item #5: COMPLETED DEER LODGE RETURNS</u> Retention time changed to: Audit +1 year

Item #8: LETTERS /CORRESPONDENCE Retention time changed for the following to: Audit +1 year

- a. Disabled Vet Letters- from VA verifying customer is 100 % service related disability
- c. Indian Exempt Letters: from the tribe that exempts customer from taxes
- d. Title Letters to state DMV: list of titles sent to state DMV daily (State DMV ck'ing if they or county will keep longer)

Item #9 RECEIPTS

a. Lien Perfection -Receipt of liens filed on a daily basis Audit +1 year

b. Void Registration-All <u>3</u> copies of transactions voided on a daily basis. (Changed <u>4</u> copies to <u>3</u> copies)

<u>Item #11 TAX FORMS</u> Retention time changed to Audit +1

Item #13 VEHICLE REGISTRATIONS Retention time changed to Audit + 1

MV 6

*RM60 is a records disposal request form issued by the Local Government Records Committee. "No RM60 required" means that the records do not need to be submitted to the LGRC disposal subcommittee for approval before being disposed unless the records are over 10 years old.

FOR RECORD DISPOSAL SEE MCA 2-6-1205

DEPARTMENT: COUNTY MOTOR VEHICLE

ITEM RECORD TITLE AND DESCRIPTION

COMMENTS RETENTION TIME

Rev. 4-2017

Added "NO RM 60 REQUIRED" in comments as appropriate.

MV 7

^{*}RM60 is a records disposal request form issued by the Local Government Records Committee. "No RM60 required" means that the records do not need to be submitted to the LGRC disposal subcommittee for approval before being disposed unless the records are over 10 years old.