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BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 
OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 

 
In the matter of the proposed  ) NOTICE OF PUBLIC  
adoption of New Rules I through) HEARING ON PROPOSED  
V pertaining to credit   ) ADOPTION   
counseling services    ) 
 

TO: All Concerned Persons 
 

1. On December 28, 2005, at 1:00 p.m., a public hearing 
will be held in the auditorium of the Scott Hart Building, 303 
North Roberts, Helena, Montana, to consider the proposed 
adoption of New Rules I through V pertaining to credit 
counseling services. 

 
2. The Department of Justice will make reasonable 

accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to 
participate in this public hearing or need an alternative 
accessible format of this notice.  If you require an 
accommodation, contact the Department no later than 5:00 p.m. on 
December 14, 2005, to advise us of the nature of the 
accommodation that you need.  Please contact Cort Jensen, 
Department of Justice, 215 North Sanders, P.O. Box 201401, 
Helena, MT 59620-1401, (406) 444-2026, Montana Relay Service 
711, fax (406) 444-3549, or e-mail cojensen@mt.gov. 
 

3. The proposed New Rules provide as follows: 
 

NEW RULE I  LICENSE FEE  (1)  The required license fee will 
be $5000.  It must be paid every year on or before July 1. 
 

AUTH: 30-14-2004, MCA 
IMP:  30-14-2004, MCA 

 
NEW RULE II  BOND REQUIREMENT  (1)  The surety bond for a 

credit counseling service that maintains an office in this state 
with a credit counselor on the premises will be the same as one 
that does not maintain an office in this state with a credit 
counselor.   
 

AUTH: 30-14-2004, MCA 
IMP:  30-14-2004, MCA 

 
NEW RULE III  LIST OF ACCREDITATION AND CERTIFICATION 

PROVIDERS  (1)  Accreditation must meet the ISO 9001:2000 or 
council on accreditation for children and families standards as 
they pertain to credit counseling.   

(2)  Certification must be by: 
 (a) the association for financial counseling and planning 
education; 
 (b)  the national foundation for credit counseling; or 
 (c)  a college accredited by one of the six regional 
accreditation services, by taking a course worth at least three 
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semester credits covering credit counseling or debt management. 
 

AUTH: 30-14-2004, MCA 
IMP:  30-14-2004, MCA 

 
NEW RULE IV  OTHER REQUIREMENTS FOR A LICENSE  (1)  The 

department may refuse to issue or renew a licensee if the 
applicant has been fined or enjoined by any state, part of the 
federal government, or a United States territory. 
 

AUTH: 30-14-2004, MCA 
IMP:  30-14-2004, MCA 

 
NEW RULE V  CONSULTATION AND MAINTENANCE FEES  (1)  The 

initial consultation fee or donation shall not be more then $75. 
(2)  The maintenance fee shall not be more than the lower 

of $50 or 15% of the monthly payment. 
(3)  Any one time fee for any part of the credit counseling 

or debt management services, regardless of name, will be 
considered a part of the initial consultation fee.  Any 
reoccurring fee for any part of the credit counseling or debt 
management services will be considered a part of the maintenance 
fee for the month it occurs in. 

(4)  Any fee charged for noncredit counseling or debt 
management services must be reasonable and cannot be tied in any 
way to providing credit counseling or debt management services. 
 

AUTH: 30-14-2010, MCA 
IMP:  30-14-2010, MCA 

 
4. REASONABLE NECESSITY STATEMENT:  It is necessary to 

adopt New Rules I, II, III and V to comply with and clarify new 
enacted laws 30-14-2004 and 30-14-2010, MCA, and to protect 
consumers from abuses in the consumer credit service industry.  
The Department was required to set fees and licensing 
requirements in order to pay for the program of enforcement and 
to curb abuses in the industry.  The Department anticipates New 
Rule I will generate approximately $75,000 in fees.  This number 
is based upon the 15 consumer credit counseling services that 
have informed the state they intend to register.  The generated 
fees will be used to implement the Department's new 
responsibilities under 30-14-2004 and 30-14-2010, MCA.  New 
Rules I, II, III, and V reflect the Department’s efforts to 
balance the safety of the consumers with the reasonable needs of 
the industry.  New Rule IV is necessary to prevent companies 
with known problems and violations from opening a Montana 
business.  This has been a frequent problem in this particular 
industry.  Not adopting New Rule IV would require the Department 
to wait until a company harmed a Montanan before taking action, 
even if thousands of consumers were harmed by this company in 
another state. 

 
5. Concerned persons may submit their data, views, or 

arguments either orally or in writing at the hearing.  Written 
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data, views, or arguments may also be submitted to Cort Jensen, 
Department of Justice, 215 North Sanders, P.O. Box 201401, 
Helena, MT 59620-1401, and must be received no later than 
January 5, 2006. 
 

6. Cort Jensen, Assistant Attorney General, has been 
designated to preside over and conduct the hearing. 
 

7. The Department of Justice maintains a list of 
interested persons who wish to receive notices of rulemaking 
actions proposed by this agency.  Persons who wish to have their 
name added to the list shall make a written request which 
includes the name and mailing address of the person to receive 
notices and specifies that the person wishes to receive notices 
of rules regarding the Crime Control Division, the Central 
Services Division, the Forensic Sciences Division, the Gambling 
Control Division, the Highway Patrol Division, the Law 
Enforcement Academy, the Division of Criminal Investigation, the 
Legal Services Division, the Consumer Protection Division, the 
Motor Vehicle Division, the Justice Information Systems 
Division, or any combination thereof.  Such written request may 
be mailed or delivered to Jon Ellingson, 215 N. Sanders, P.O. 
Box 201401, Helena, MT 59620-1401, faxed to the office at (406) 
444-3549, ATTN:  Jon Ellingson, e-mailed to jellingson@mt.gov, 
or may be made by completing a request form at any rules hearing 
held by the Department of Justice. 
 

8. The bill sponsor notice requirements of 2-4-302, MCA, 
apply and have been fulfilled. 
 
 
By:  /s/ Mike McGrath  /s/ Jon Ellingson   
 MIKE McGRATH   JON ELLINGSON 
 Attorney General  Rule Reviewer 
 Department of Justice 

 
Certified to the Secretary of State November 28, 2005. 
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 BEFORE THE BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY EXAMINERS 
 DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the proposed  )  NOTICE OF PUBLIC 
amendment of ARM 24.177.401 )  HEARING ON PROPOSED 
pertaining to fees    )  AMENDMENT 
 
 To:  All Concerned Persons 
 

1.  On December 29, 2005, at 1:00 p.m., a public hearing 
will be held in room 489 Park Avenue Building, 301 South Park, 
Helena, Montana to consider the proposed amendment of the 
above-stated rule. 
 
 2.  The Department of Labor and Industry will make 
reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities who 
wish to participate in this public hearing or need an 
alternative accessible format of this notice.  If you require 
an accommodation, contact the Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners no later than 5:00 p.m., December 22, 2005, to 
advise us of the nature of the accommodation that you need.  
Please contact Linda Grief, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, 301 South Park, P.O. Box 200513, Helena, Montana 
59620-0513; telephone (406) 841-2395; Montana Relay 1-800-253-
4091; TDD (406) 444-2978; facsimile (406) 841-2305; e-mail 
dlibsdptp@mt.gov. 
 

3.  The rule proposed to be amended provides as follows, 
stricken matter interlined, new matter underlined: 
 
 24.177.401  FEES  (1)  The fees shall be Applicant and 
license fees are as follows: 
 (a)  The fee Application for NPTE and or NPTAE 
examination examinations are set by the examination 
administrator and is (paid by the applicant directly to the 
federation of state boards of physical therapy (FSBPT). by 
either cashier's check or money order only) $285 
 (b)  Application for out-of-state licensure 50 $125 
 (c)  Renewal 25 60 
 (d) remains the same. 
 (e)  Temporary license 50 100 
 (f)  Original license 25 100 
 (g)  Jurisprudence re-examination (each retake) 5 25 
 (h) and (i) remain the same. 
 (j)  NPTE and NPTAE test history verification 55 
 (j)  Verification for licensure 10 
 (2)  All fees are non-refundable. 
 
AUTH:  37-1-134, 37-11-201, MCA 
IMP:   37-1-134, 37-1-304, 37-1-305, 37-11-201, 37-11-304, 37-
11-307, 37-11-308, 37-11-309, MCA 
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REASON:  The Board of Physical Therapy has determined that 
there is reasonable necessity to amend ARM 24.177.401 in order 
to set the Board's fees at a level commensurate with program 
costs, as required by 37-1-134, MCA.  In 2001, the Legislature 
mandated that the Board be attached for administrative 
purposes to the Department of Labor and Industry.  The 
accounting allocations for the Board's costs have been 
restructured to track the actual time spent by Department 
staff in handling the Board's business.  That accounting 
change was made by the Department in response to criticisms by 
some Boards of the cost allocations that had been historically 
used to calculate each Board's share of administrative costs.  
Similar concerns were independently voiced by the Legislative 
Audit Division, and the Department's decision to implement the 
accounting changes kept the Department from being "written up" 
by the legislative auditors.  The Board respectfully notes 
that it and the Department, as part of the executive branch of 
government, have an obligation to be responsive to the 
concerns of the legislative branch.  One portion of the fee 
increase is due to the more accurate and fair allocation of 
costs to the Board and its licensees.  Another portion of the 
increase is attributable to normal increase in the cost of 
salaries, utilities, computer technology, and such.  The Board 
estimates that the proposed increased fees will affect 
approximately 995 persons a year.  The estimated annual 
increase in revenue is approximately $41,750.  With the 
proposed fee increases, the Board's projected annual revenue 
is $77,050.  The Board's appropriation for fiscal year 2005 
was $52,178 and for fiscal year 2006 is projected to be 
$66,427.  The Board does not receive any revenue for the NPTE 
or NPTAE examinations or verifications.  Those fees are paid 
directly to the examination administrator.  The Board believes 
that the proposed fee structure will address the Board's need 
to maintain fees at a level commensurate with costs. 
 
The Board advises licensees and the public that it has 
researched the comparative fees of surrounding states.  With 
the proposed fee increases, Montana fees are comparable to 
those charged by Colorado, Idaho, North Dakota, South Dakota, 
Oregon, Washington and Wyoming.  The Board has not raised any 
fees for licensees in over ten years. 
 
In addition, there is reasonable necessity to update and amend 
the IMP citations at this time while the rule is otherwise 
being amended.  Sections 37-11-307 and 37-11-308, MCA, were 
repealed by Chapter 467, Laws of 2005 (HB 182). 
 
 4.  Concerned persons may present their data, views or 
arguments either orally or in writing at the hearing.  Written 
data, views or arguments may also be submitted to the Board of 
Physical Therapy Examiners, 301 South Park Avenue, P.O. Box 
200513, Helena, Montana 59620-0513, by facsimile to (406) 841-
2305, or by e-mail to dlibsdptp@mt.gov, and must be received 
no later than 5:00 p.m., January 6, 2006. 
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 5.  An electronic copy of this Notice of Public Hearing 
is available through the Department and Board's site on the 
World Wide Web at www.ptp.mt.gov.  The Department strives to 
make the electronic copy of this Notice of Public Hearing 
conform to the official version of the Notice, as printed in 
the Montana Administrative Register, but advises all concerned 
persons that in the event of a discrepancy between the 
official printed text of the Notice and the electronic version 
of the Notice, only the official printed text will be 
considered.  In addition, although the Department strives to 
keep its website accessible at all times, concerned persons 
should be aware that the website may be unavailable during 
some periods, due to system maintenance or technical problems, 
and that a person's technical difficulties in accessing or 
posting to the e-mail address do not excuse late submission of 
comments. 
 

6.  The Board of Physical Therapy Examiners maintains a 
list of interested persons who wish to receive notices of 
rulemaking actions proposed by this Board.  Persons who wish 
to have their name added to the list shall make a written 
request which includes the name and mailing address of the 
person to receive notices and specifies that the person wishes 
to receive notices regarding all Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners administrative rulemaking proceedings or other 
administrative proceedings.  Such written request may be 
mailed or delivered to the Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, 301 South Park Avenue, P.O. Box 200513, Helena, 
Montana 59620-0513, faxed to the office at (406) 841-2305, e-
mailed to dlibsdptp@mt.gov, or may be made by completing a 
request form at any rules hearing held by the agency. 
 
 7.  The bill sponsor notice requirements of 2-4-302, MCA, 
do not apply. 
 
 8.  Anne O'Leary, attorney, has been designated to 
preside over and conduct this hearing. 
 

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY EXAMINERS 
BRENDA MAHLUM, CHAIRPERSON 

 
 

/s/ KEITH KELLY 
Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

 
 

/s/ MARK CADWALLADER 
Mark Cadwallader 
Alternate Rule Reviewer 

 
 
 Certified to the Secretary of State November 28, 2005 
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 BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC 
 HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES OF THE 
 STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the 
adoption of new rules I 
through XLI, the amendment 
of 37.37.316 and 37.37.318 
and the repeal of ARM 
37.97.1001, 37.97.1002, 
37.97.1006, 37.97.1011, 
37.97.1013, 37.97.1014, 
37.97.1016, 37.97.1018, and 
37.97.1019 pertaining to 
youth foster homes 

 ) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

 NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING 
ON PROPOSED ADOPTION, 
AMENDMENT AND REPEAL 

     
TO:  All Interested Persons 

 
1. On January 5, 2006, at 1:30 p.m., a public hearing 

will be held in the auditorium of the Department of Public 
Health and Human Services Building, 111 N. Sanders, Helena, 
Montana to consider the proposed adoption, amendment and repeal 
of the above-stated rules. 
 

The Department of Public Health and Human Services will 
make reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities who 
need an alternative accessible format of this notice or provide 
reasonable accommodations at the public hearing site.  If you 
need to request an accommodation, contact the department no 
later than 5:00 p.m. on December 27, 2005, to advise us of the 
nature of the accommodation that you need.  Please contact Dawn 
Sliva, Office of Legal Affairs, Department of Public Health and 
Human Services, P.O. Box 4210, Helena, MT 59604-4210; telephone 
(406)444-5622; FAX (406)444-1970; Email dphhslegal@mt.gov. 
 

2. The rules as proposed to be adopted provide as 
follows: 
 

RULE I  YOUTH FOSTER HOMES:  PURPOSE  (1)  These rules 
establish licensing procedures and licensing requirements for 
youth foster homes, including therapeutic foster homes and 
kinship foster homes licensed by the department. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 

IMP:   Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-102, 52-2-111, 52-2-112, 52-2-
113, 52-2-115, 52-2-601, 52-2-603, 52-2-621 and 52-2-622, MCA 
 

RULE II  YOUTH FOSTER HOMES:  DEFINITIONS  The following 
definitions apply to youth foster home licensing rules: 

(1)  "Department" means department of public health and 
human services.  

(2)  "Foster child" means a person under 18 years of age  
who has been placed in a youth foster home by the department, 
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another state agency, a tribe, or a licensed child placing 
agency.  A youth over the age of 18 may remain in foster care if 
still in secondary school. 

(3)  "Foster parent" means a person responsible for the 
day-to-day care, supervision, and guidance of children in a 
youth foster home. 

(4)  "Kinship foster home" means a youth foster home in 
which substitute care is provided by a member of the child=s 
extended family, a member of the child=s or family=s tribe, the 
child=s godparents, the child=s stepparents if the child is 
placed with the stepparent by the department, or a person to 
whom the child, child=s parents and family ascribe a family 
relationship and with whom the child has had a significant 
emotional tie that existed prior to the agency=s involvement with 
the child or family.  

(5)  "Secondhand smoke" or "environmental tobacco smoke 
(ETS)" is a mixture of the smoke given off by the burning end of 
a cigarette, pipe, or cigar, and the smoke exhaled by smokers. 

(6)  A "serious incident" includes, but is not limited to 
suicide attempts, use of physical force by a foster parent or 
any member of the foster parent=s household, sexual contact with 
the child by anyone, emergency medical treatment, injury to a 
foster child which requires hospitalization, physical assault by 
the foster child, involvement with law enforcement by any member 
of the foster parent=s household, including a foster child, or 
the death of a foster child. 

(7)  "Substitute care" or "foster care" means the full-time 
care of a child who is placed in a youth foster home by the 
department, another state agency, tribe, or licensed child 
placing agency for the purpose of providing food, shelter, 
security and safety, guidance, direction, and, if necessary, 
treatment, to children who are removed from or who are without 
the care and supervision of their parents or guardians. 

(8)  "Therapeutic foster home" means a youth foster home 
operating under the direction of the clinical staff of a 
licensed child placing agency when such agency has a contract 
with the department to provide therapeutic foster care services. 
A therapeutic foster home provides substitute care to only one 
child unless it is approved by the department to provide care 
for a second child needing therapeutic services.  The 
therapeutic foster home may provide services to a foster child 
who does not need therapeutic services only as provided in [RULE 
XXXII]. 

(9)  "Youth foster home" or "foster home" means a youth 
care facility in which substitute care is provided to one to a 
maximum of six children or youth other than the foster parents= 
own children, stepchildren or wards.  
 

AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 

IMP:   Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-102, 52-2-111, 52-2-112, 52-2-
113, 52-2-115, 52-2-601, 52-2-603, 52-2-621 and 52-2-622, MCA 
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RULE III  YOUTH FOSTER HOMES:  LICENSE REQUIRED 
(1)  Every youth foster home shall be licensed by the 

department or responsible tribal authority. 
(2)  Failure of a provider to obtain or renew a license  

while continuing to operate a youth foster home is a misdemeanor 
and shall be subject to the penalties provided in 52-2-623, MCA. 

 
AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-

2-622, MCA 
IMP:   Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-

2-622, MCA 
 

RULE IV  YOUTH FOSTER HOMES:  LICENSING PROCEDURES 
(1)  Application for a license must be made on an 

application form provided by the department. 
(2)  Upon receipt of a completed application packet for 

license or renewal of license and completion of a licensing 
assessment, the department shall determine if the applicant 
meets all requirements for licensure as established in these 
rules. 

(3)  If the department determines that an application or 
accompanying information is incomplete or erroneous, the 
department shall notify the applicant in writing of the specific 
deficiencies or errors, and the applicant shall submit the 
required or corrected information within 60 days.  The 
department shall not issue a regular license or renew a license 
until it receives all required or corrected information.   

(4)  The applicant or licensee shall cooperate with the 
department in providing the information required by these rules. 

(5)  Failure to provide information the applicant or 
licensee is obligated to provide may result in the denial of the 
application, or if a license has been issued, may result in 
other negative licensing action. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 

IMP:   Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 
 

RULE V  YOUTH FOSTER HOMES: LICENSURE AND RENEWAL  (1)  The 
department shall issue a youth foster home, kinship foster home, 
or therapeutic foster home license to any license applicant that 
the department determines meets all licensing requirements 
established by these rules.  The license will expire one year 
from the date it is issued unless it is extended up to an 
additional 60 days pursuant to (3). 

(2)  For placement made on or after [effective date of 
rule], the number of children for whom a kinship foster home is 
licensed will be based in part on the number of children already 
residing in the home.  There shall be a maximum of seven 
children residing in a kinship foster home at any one time 
unless an exception is made by the regional administrator to 
accommodate placement of a sibling group. 
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(3)  The department shall renew the license annually on the 
expiration date of the previous year's license if:  

(a)  the foster parents apply for renewal of the foster 
home license on a form provided by the department at least 30 
days prior to the expiration date of the current license; and 

(b)  following completion of a relicensing study, the 
department determines that the foster home continues to meet all 
licensing requirements established by these rules. 

(4)  If the foster parent submits a completed application 
packet for renewal of a license at least 30 days prior to the 
expiration of the license, but the department is unable to 
complete the relicensing study but makes a determination that 
the home is in compliance with the licensing requirements before 
the expiration date of the previous year's license, the previous 
year's license will continue in effect for no more than 60 days 
while the department completes the relicensing study. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 

IMP:   Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 
 

RULE VI  YOUTH FOSTER HOMES:  PROVISIONAL LICENSURE 
(1)  The department may, at its discretion, issue a 

provisional license restricted for care of a specific child or 
children for any period up to four months to any license 
applicant for a youth foster home or kinship foster home which 
has: 

(a)  met all licensing requirements for fire safety; 
(b)  completed and signed a release of information form 

provided by the department; 
(c)  submitted completed fingerprint cards on all adult 

household members; 
(d)  a satisfactory child protective and adult protective 

services check for all adults present in the home; and 
(e)  agreed in writing to comply fully with all licensing 

requirements established by these rules prior to the expiration 
of the provisional license. 

(2)  The department may, at its discretion, renew a 
provisional license for no more than a two month period of time 
if the license applicant shows good cause for unintentional 
failure to comply fully with all licensing requirements within 
the time period covered by the prior provisional license. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 

IMP:   Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 
 

RULE VII  YOUTH FOSTER HOMES:  RESTRICTED LICENSE  (1)  The 
department may issue a license that is restricted to the care of 
a specific child or children. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
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2-622, MCA 
IMP:   Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-

2-622, MCA 
 

RULE VIII  YOUTH FOSTER HOMES:  DUAL LICENSE  (1)  If an 
applicant for a foster home or kinship foster home is a 
registered day care provider, or if a licensee wishes to become 
a registered day care provider, the regional administrator and 
the department's quality assurance division (QAD) must approve 
the dual license or registration. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 

IMP:   Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621, 52-2-
622, 52-2-721, 52-2-722 and 52-2-723, MCA 
 

RULE IX  YOUTH FOSTER HOMES:  GRANTING LICENSURE 
EXCEPTIONS  (1)  An applicant against whom child abuse or 
neglect has been substantiated or who has been convicted of 
abuse, sexual abuse, neglect, or exploitation of an elderly 
person or person with a developmental disability shall be denied 
a foster care license unless an exception is granted by a 
department regional administrator in his discretion, after 
careful review of extenuating circumstances which justify the 
issuance of a restricted license. 

(2)  An applicant whose child has been in foster care shall 
be denied a foster care license, unless an exception is granted 
by a department regional administrator because the circumstances 
leading to the provision of services and placement no longer 
exist.  This does not include an applicant whose children were 
in foster care prior to being placed with the applicant for 
adoption. 

(3)  No applicant shall be newly licensed as a youth foster 
home if any one of the following has occurred within 12 months 
of the application, unless an exception is granted by a 
department regional administrator: 

(a)  a death of a spouse or a child in the applicant=s 
family; 

(b)  a marital separation or divorce of the applicants; 
(c)  an adoption of a child who has not been living with 

the applicants for at least one year; 
(d)  the birth of a child to the applicants; or 
(e)  loss of employment by an applicant. 
(4)  If any event described in (3) through (3)(e) occurs in 

a licensed foster home, the foster parents shall notify the 
licensing worker within 48 hours as required by [RULE XIV] and 
the licensing worker will reevaluate the home within 30 days to 
determine whether to recommend a change in the licensing status 
of the home. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 

IMP:   Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
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2-622, MCA 
 

RULE X  YOUTH FOSTER HOMES:  NEGATIVE LICENSING ACTION 
(1)  The department, through written notice to the 

applicant or licensee, shall deny, revoke, or restrict a license 
upon finding that: 

(a)  the applicant, licensee, or member of the applicant=s 
or licensee=s household, or anyone living on the foster home 
property has a conviction for a serious crime, such as but not 
limited to homicide, sexual intercourse without consent, sexual 
assault, aggravated assault, assault on a minor, assault on an 
officer, assault with a weapon, kidnapping, aggravated 
kidnapping, prostitution, robbery, or burglary; 

(b)  the applicant, licensee, or member of the applicant=s 
or licensee=s household, or anyone living on the foster home 
property has a conviction for a crime pertaining to children or 
families, including but not limited to child abuse or neglect, 
incest, child sexual abuse, ritual abuse of a minor, felony 
partner or family member assault, child pornography, child 
prostitution, internet crimes involving children, felony 
endangering the welfare of a child, felony unlawful transactions 
with children, or aggravated interference with parent-child 
contact; or 

(c)  the applicant, licensee, or member of the applicant=s 
or licensee=s household, or anyone living on the foster home 
property has within the previous five years had a felony 
conviction for a drug related offense, including but not limited 
to use, distribution, or possession of controlled substances, 
criminal possession of precursors to dangerous drugs, criminal 
manufacture of dangerous drugs, criminal possession of imitation 
dangerous drugs with the purpose to distribute, criminal 
possession, manufacture or delivery of drug paraphernalia, or 
driving under the influence of alcohol or other drugs; or 

(d)  the applicant, licensee, or member of the applicant's 
or licensee's household, or anyone living on the foster home 
property has been convicted of abuse, sexual abuse, neglect, or 
exploitation of an elderly person or a person with a 
developmental disability. 

(2)  The department, through written notice to the 
applicant or licensee, may deny, suspend, restrict, or revoke a 
license upon a finding that: 

(a)  the applicant, licensee, or member of the licensee's 
household or anyone residing on the foster home property has a 
conviction for misdemeanor partner/family member assault, 
misdemeanor endangering the welfare of a child, misdemeanor 
unlawful transaction with children, or a crime involving an 
abuse of the public trust; 

(b)  the foster home is not in compliance with fire safety 
standards; 

(c)  the foster home or foster parents are not in 
compliance with any other licensing requirements; 

(d)  the foster parent has made any material 
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misrepresentations to the department, either negligent or 
intentional, including an omission of information the foster 
parent is obligated to disclose to the department, regarding any 
aspect of the foster home; 

(e)  the foster parent has failed to use the foster care 
payments for the support of the foster child; 

(f)  the foster parent has been named as the perpetrator in 
a substantiated report of abuse or neglect; 

(g)  the foster parent failed to report an incident of 
suspected abuse or neglect of any child to the department as 
required by 41-3-201, MCA, within 24 hours of receiving 
information pertaining to the incident; 

(h)  the results of a psychological or medical examination 
provide reasonable grounds for the department to believe that 
the foster parent is not an appropriate caretaker for a child; 
or 

(i)  the foster parents or anyone living in the foster home 
or on foster home property may pose any risk or threat to the 
safety or welfare of a child placed in the foster home. 

(3)  The foster home has failed to protect the health, 
welfare, or safety of a child or the foster home presents a 
threat to the health, welfare, or safety of a child. 

(4)  A foster care license may be suspended, restricted, or 
revoked at the discretion of a department regional administrator 
if the licensee's child is placed in foster care. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 

IMP:   Sec. 2-4-631, 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 
and 52-2-622, MCA 
 

RULE XI  YOUTH FOSTER HOMES:  REMOVAL OF A CHILD  (1)  The 
department may immediately remove a child from a foster home at 
any time it determines that another placement is more 
appropriate or that there is a need to protect the child from 
possible harm. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 

IMP:   Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 
 

RULE XII  YOUTH FOSTER HOMES:  HEARING PROCEDURES  (1)  Any 
applicant or licensee against whom the department takes negative 
licensing action regarding a youth foster home, kinship foster 
home, or therapeutic foster home license may request a hearing 
as provided in ARM 37.5.304, 37.5.307, 37.5.313, 37.5.322, 
37.5.325, 37.5.328, 37.5.331, 37.5.334, and 37.5.337. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 

IMP:   Sec. 2-4-102, 2-4-623, 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 
52-2-621 and 52-2-622, MCA 
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RULE XIII  YOUTH FOSTER HOMES:  CONFIDENTIALITY OF RECORDS 
AND INFORMATION  (1)  All information in records maintained in a 
youth foster home and all personal information made available to 
a foster parent pertaining to an individual child and the child=s 
family must be kept confidential unless a written court order 
authorizes the release of the information.  The confidentiality 
requirement continues after the child is no longer in the home. 
The confidentiality requirement also applies to information a 
foster parent receives about foster children placed with other 
foster parents, whether the information is received in a support 
group setting or otherwise.  

(2)  All requests for records or information maintained by 
a youth foster home which pertain to an individual child or the 
child=s family must be referred to the department or, if 
applicable, to the agency that placed the child.  The department 
may authorize the release of information from the foster home; 
the foster home may not. 

(3)  All records pertaining to individual children placed 
by the department are available at any time to the department or 
its representatives. 

(4)  Records pertaining to individual children residing in 
the home but not placed by or in the custody of the department 
are available to the department for the purposes of licensing or 
relicensing the youth foster home. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 

IMP:   Sec. 41-3-205, 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-
621 and 52-2-622, MCA 
 

RULE XIV  YOUTH FOSTER HOMES:  REPORTS OF CHANGE IN 
COMPOSITION OF FOSTER HOME  (1)  Foster parents shall notify the 
department licensing worker or supervisor, and if applicable, 
the child placing agency's licensing worker under whose 
jurisdiction the foster home operates, within 48 hours of: 

(a)  a death of a spouse or a child in the foster family; 
(b)  a marital separation or divorce of the foster parents; 
(c)  an adoption of a child who has not been living with 

the foster parents for at least one year; 
(d)  the birth of a child to the applicants; or 
(e)  loss of employment by an applicant. 
(2)  At least 30 days prior to moving, foster parents shall 

report a planned change of residence to the department licensing 
worker or supervisor and, if applicable, to the child placing 
agency under whose jurisdiction the foster home operates.  The 
licensing worker assigned to the family will evaluate the new 
residence for compliance as soon as possible but not more than 
10 calendar days after the move to the new residence. 

(3)  Foster parents shall provide notice to the department 
licensing worker or supervisor and, if applicable, the child 
placing agency under whose jurisdiction the foster home 
operates: 

(a)  before agreeing to accept formal or informal placement 
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of any child, including placement of an exchange student, when 
such placements have been arranged without prior approval of the 
agency which conducted the foster home licensing study; 

(b)  within one working day of any changes in household 
composition; and  

(c)  within 30 days of a change in employment. 
(4)  If a foster parent is unwilling or unable to care for 

a child who is placed in the foster parent's care, the foster 
home shall notify the child's worker immediately.  The foster 
parent is not authorized to make his own arrangements for care 
of the child, except for respite care. 

(5)  A foster parent may not accept a child into the 
household without prior notice to the department and the prior 
approval of the department. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 

IMP:   Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 
 

RULE XV  YOUTH FOSTER HOMES:  REPORTS OF SUSPECTED CHILD 
ABUSE OR NEGLECT  (1)  As required by 41-3-201, MCA, foster 
parents shall report any incident of known or suspected child 
abuse or neglect of any child to the department's centralized 
intake bureau at 1(866)820-5437.  Foster parents shall make the 
report within 24 hours of receiving information concerning 
suspected child abuse or neglect.   
 

AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 

IMP:   Sec. 41-3-201, 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-
621 and 52-2-622, MCA 
 

RULE XVI  YOUTH FOSTER HOMES:  REPORTS OF SERIOUS INCIDENTS 
AND THREATS  (1)  Foster parents shall immediately report any 
serious incident involving a foster child to the person or 
agency which placed the child and to the department licensing 
worker. 

(2)  Foster parents shall complete a written incident 
report on a form provided by the department of any serious 
incident involving any child in the home.  The report shall 
include the date and time of the incident, the child involved, 
the nature of the incident, description of the incident and the 
circumstances surrounding the incident.  A copy of the report 
shall be maintained at the foster home and a copy sent to the 
department licensing worker the next working day. 

(3)  Foster parents shall immediately report any foster 
child who has run away from home to the police and shall report 
the runaway to the agency which placed the child within the next 
working day. 

(4)  Foster parents shall report disasters or emergencies 
which require evacuation of a foster home to the department=s 
centralized intake bureau at 1(866)820-5437. 
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(5)  Foster parents shall report any threats to the health, 
welfare, or safety of a child at the time of the license 
application or within the next working day after becoming aware 
of the threat. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 

IMP:   Sec. 2-4-631, 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 
and 52-2-622, MCA 
 

RULE XVII  YOUTH FOSTER HOMES:  REPORTS OF DISCIPLINE 
VIOLATIONS  (1)  If a foster parent or other household member 
physically disciplines a foster child as described in [RULE 
XXXIV] or violates any other portion of that rule, the foster 
parent must notify the agency that placed the child and the 
department licensing worker or supervisor of the violation by 
the next working day.  The foster parent must then complete a 
written report on a form provided by the department and must 
submit it to both the person or agency which placed the child 
and to the department licensing worker or supervisor within 48 
hours of giving notice of the violation.   
 

AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 

IMP:   Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 
 

Rule XVIII  YOUTH FOSTER HOMES:  GENERAL REQUIREMENTS FOR 
FOSTER PARENTS AND OTHER HOUSEHOLD MEMBERS  (1)  Foster parents 
must: 

(a)  be at least 18 years of age; 
(b)  be physically, mentally and emotionally competent to 

care for children; 
(c)  like and understand children; 
(d)  be in good general health; 
(e)  be of good moral character; 
(f)  be able to demonstrate the foster home has sufficient 

resources to meet the needs of their existing family, 
independent of foster care reimbursements; 

(g)  comply with state laws including those that relate to 
the possession or use of drugs, alcohol, tobacco, and firearms; 
and 

(h)  have lived together for at least 24 months unless an 
exception is granted by a department regional administrator.  

(2)  No person residing in or visiting the foster home may 
pose a risk or threat to the safety and well being of children 
in the home. 

(3)  The foster home shall protect the foster child from 
exposure to sexual or violent language and behavior 
inappropriate to the child's age, including but not limited to 
physical activity, visual or other media depictions, and music, 
including lyrics. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
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2-622, MCA 
IMP:   Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-

2-622, MCA 
 

RULE XIX  YOUTH FOSTER HOMES:  HEALTH VERIFICATION 
REQUIREMENTS FOR FOSTER PARENTS AND OTHER HOUSEHOLD MEMBERS 

(1)  A personal statement of health form provided by the 
department must be completed for each person in the applicant=s 
household.  The form must be submitted to the department with 
the initial licensure application and a new form must be 
submitted prior to relicensure. 

(2)  Any person staying in the foster home for more than 
two weeks must complete a personal statement of health form 
provided by the department.  If the person is an adult, the 
person must also complete a release of information form provided 
by the department.  The completed forms are to be submitted to 
the department licensing worker. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 

IMP:   Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 
 

RULE XX  YOUTH FOSTER HOMES:  PRESCHOOL AGE CHILD 
IMMUNIZATION REQUIREMENTS  (1)  All children residing in the 
foster home under five years of age shall be immunized according 
to the following schedule: 
 

Total Immunizations Required, By Age 
 
Age     Number Doses - Vaccine Type 
 
under 2 months old  no vaccinations required 
 
by 3 months of age  1 dose of polio vaccine 

1 dose of DTP vaccine 
1 dose of Hib vaccine 

 
by 5 months of age  2 doses of polio vaccine 

2 doses of DTP vaccine 
2 doses of Hib vaccine 

 
by 7 months of age  2 doses of polio vaccine 

3 doses of DTP vaccine 
*2 or 3 doses of Hib vaccine 

 
by 16 months of age  2 doses of polio vaccine 

3 doses of DTP vaccine 
1 dose of MMR vaccine, administered no 

 earlier than 12 months of age 
*1 dose of Hib vaccine given after 12 

 or 15 months of age 
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by 19 months of age  1 dose of varicella vaccine 
3 doses of polio vaccine 
4 doses of DTP vaccine 
1 dose MMR vaccine, administered no  

 earlier than 12 months of age 
*1 dose of Hib vaccine given after 12 

 or 15 months of age 
 
(*) varies depending on vaccine type used. 
 

(2)  If the child is at least 12 months old but less than 
60 months of age and has not received any Hib vaccine, the child 
must receive a dose. 

(3)  Documentation of each required vaccination must 
include the date of birth and the month, day, and year of each 
vaccination. 

(4)  Hib vaccine is not required or recommended for 
children five years of age and older. 

(5)  Doses of MMR vaccine, to be acceptable under this 
rule, must be given no earlier than 12 months of age.  A child 
who received a dose prior to 12 months of age must be 
revaccinated. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 

IMP:   Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621, 52-2-
622 and 52-2-735, MCA 
 

RULE XXI  YOUTH FOSTER HOMES:  SCHOOL AGED CHILD 
IMMUNIZATION REQUIREMENTS  (1)  All children residing in the 
foster home under 12 years of age shall be immunized in 
accordance with the following standards: 

 
Vaccine   Dosages Required by Age 
 
Polio   Each child must receive at least three doses 

of polio vaccine, one of which is 
administered after age four. 

 
DTP or DTaP  Each child must receive at least four doses 

of DTP or DTaP (diptheria, tetanus, and 
pertussis) vaccines by age four and one dose 
of Dtap after age four but before age seven, 
unless a licensed health care provider has 
issued a medical exemption for the pertussis 
portion of the DTP or DTaP vaccine.  If a 
medical exemption has been issued for 
pertussis, the child must receive at least 
four doses of DT vaccine or a combination of 
four doses of DT, DTP, and DTaP vaccines 
before age four and one dose of the DT 
vaccine after age four but before age seven. 

 
Because neither DTP nor DTaP vaccines are 
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recommended or required for a child older 
than age seven, a child in the foster home 
age seven or older who has not received the 
four doses of DTaP or DTP vaccinations 
described above must receive a Td vaccine 
(tetanus and diptheria vaccine intended for 
persons seven years of age or older) as soon 
as possible and must then receive sufficient 
additional Td doses to reach a minimum of 
three doses of any combination of DTP, DTaP, 
DT, or Td containing vaccine. 

 
Hib    Each child must receive one dose of Hib 

vaccine (Haemophiles influenza type B) 
disease on or after the child's first 
birthday.  However, an Hib vaccination is 
not recommended or required for a child age 
five or older who has not previously 
received one. 

 
Td    Each child in the foster home must receive a 

Td (tetanus diptheria containing vaccine 
intended for children younger than seven 
years of age) booster shot unless the child 
has had a DTP, DTaP, DT, or Td shot within 
the previous five years or the child 
received a Td shot at seven years of age or 
older. 

 
(2)  The immunization history may be recorded on the 

Montana certificate of immunization form provided by the 
department or a physician or clinic may provide immunization 
record which includes: 

(a)  the name of the physician or clinic; 
(b)  the name and birth date of the child; and  
(c)  the date and type of immunization. 
(3)  The immunization information is to be kept on file in 

both the foster home and the licensing file. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 

IMP:   Sec. 20-5-403, 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-
621 and 52-2-622, MCA 
 

RULE XXII  YOUTH FOSTER HOMES:  CRIMINAL BACKGROUND 
CHECKS  (1)  A satisfactory criminal background, motor vehicle, 
and child and adult protective services check is required for 
each person living in the household or on the foster home 
property. 

(2)  A new applicant must submit a completed fingerprint 
card so that a fingerprint based criminal records check can be 
requested.   

(3)  If a new applicant who has lived only in Montana 
cannot be successfully fingerprinted or if two fingerprint cards 
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cannot be successfully read by the department of justice, a 
Montana name based criminal records check will be used for 
applicants who have not lived in a state other than Montana. 

(4)  If an applicant who has lived in states other than 
Montana cannot be successfully fingerprinted, or if two 
fingerprint cards cannot be successfully read by the department 
of justice, a Montana name based criminal records check will be 
completed, and: 

(a)  a criminal history check will be requested from every 
state in which an applicant has lived in the past 15 years; 

(b)  a check will be made of the violent offender and 
criminal history registries in those states if this information 
is available for states in which the applicant has lived; and 

(c)  if after 45 days, the department has been unable to 
obtain results of a criminal records check for an applicant who 
has lived in Montana for at least five years, the applicant must 
sign an affidavit attesting to his lack of criminal history or 
to the details of existing criminal history.  The affidavit will 
be accepted in lieu of results from a criminal history check. 

(5)  An annual name based criminal records check and a 
motor vehicle check for licensed foster parents are required for 
relicensure. 

(6)  Persons formerly licensed as foster parents will be 
treated as new applicants if the former foster parents have not 
been licensed for a period of more than one year or if the 
foster parents have lived out of state for any period of time 
since being licensed in Montana. 

(7)  If an applicant has children, a child protective 
services check will be requested from all states in which an 
applicant has lived since the birth date of the applicant's 
oldest child. 

(8)  If an applicant does not have children, a child 
protective services check will be requested from all states in 
which the applicant has lived in the previous 15 years. 

(9)  If after 45 days the department has been unable to 
obtain results from a child protective services check, the 
applicant must sign an affidavit attesting to his lack of child 
protective services history or to the details of existing child 
protective services history.  The affidavit will be accepted in 
lieu of receipt of child protective services history results.   
 

AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 

IMP:   Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 
 

RULE XXIII  YOUTH FOSTER HOMES:  PSYCHOLOGICAL AND MEDICAL 
EXAMINATIONS  (1)  The department may require a psychological 
evaluation or medical examination, and/or a signed authorization 
for release of medical or psychological records from: 

(a)  any person applying for licensure as a foster parent, 
or any member of the household of a person applying for 
licensure as a foster parent; or 
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(b)  any foster parent or any member of a foster parent=s 
household. 

(2)  The results of a psychological or medical examination 
may be considered in determining whether an applicant or 
licensee meets licensing requirements and may be relied upon as 
a basis for negative licensing action. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 

IMP:   Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 
 

RULE XXIV  YOUTH FOSTER HOMES:  GENERAL PROGRAM 
REQUIREMENTS  (1)  The foster parents shall not accept more 
children than the number specified on the license. 

(2)  The foster parents must arrange for appropriate child 
care for every child in foster care when the child is not being 
cared for by a foster parent. 

(3)  The foster parent shall provide appropriate care 
including: 

(a)  regular, well balanced meals, an adequately maintained 
and furnished home, clothing, and supervision of child's health 
and dental care; 

(b)  personal care, supervision, and attention appropriate 
to each child's age, needs, and level of functioning; 

(c)  opportunities for educational, social, and cultural 
growth, through suitable reading materials, toys, and equipment; 
and 

(d)  associations with peer groups and opportunities for 
experiences in school and community. 

(4)  The foster parents shall teach each foster child 
personal care, hygiene, and grooming, and shall provide each 
child with the necessary supplies. 

(5)  Money earned by a child or received as a gift or 
allowance is the child's personal property and must be accounted 
for separately from foster home funds. 

(6)  The foster parents, in conjunction with the 
supervising worker, shall distinguish between tasks which 
children are expected to perform as part of living together, 
jobs to earn spending money, and jobs performed for vocational 
training. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 

IMP:   Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-102, 52-2-111, 52-2-113, 52-2-
115, 52-2-601, 52-2-603, 52-2-621 and 52-2-666, MCA 
 

RULE XXV  YOUTH FOSTER HOMES:  COOPERATION OF FOSTER 
PARENTS  (1)  The foster parents shall cooperate with the 
placing agency and participate in case conferences and in-
service training.  Foster parents shall implement decisions made 
by the department regarding the child and shall support the 
department's permanent plan for the child. 
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(2)  The foster parents shall permit and encourage contact 
and visitation between the foster child and the child's birth or 
legal family, including parents and siblings, except in those 
cases where a restriction of visitation is part of a court order 
or the written case plan. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 

IMP:   Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-102, 52-2-111, 52-2-113, 52-2-
115, 52-2-601, 52-2-603, 52-2-621 and 52-2-666, MCA 
 

RULE XXVI  YOUTH FOSTER HOMES:  CHILD EDUCATION AND 
TRAINING  (1)  The foster parents shall cooperate with the 
placing agency and, when appropriate, the birth or legal 
parents, in providing or arranging an age appropriate education, 
employment, or training program appropriate for each child that 
addresses the child=s needs in the areas of social living, sex 
education, consumer education, career planning, and preparation 
for independent living. 

(2)  The foster parents shall assure that all children 
attend a public school unless otherwise approved by the 
department. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 

IMP:   Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-102, 52-2-111, 52-2-113, 52-2-
115, 52-2-601, 52-2-603, 52-2-621 and 52-2-666, MCA 
 

RULE XXVII  YOUTH FOSTER HOMES:  CHILD RELIGIOUS AND 
CULTURAL EXPRESSION  (1)  Each child in foster care shall have 
the opportunity to voluntarily practice his religion.  Foster 
parents shall allow each child to attend available religious 
services of the child's or birth parent's choice in the 
community and to visit with representatives of the child's 
faith. 

(2)  Foster parents shall respect the religious beliefs or 
practices of the children placed in their home. 

(3)  Each child shall be given the opportunity to identify 
with his own cultural heritage and shall be encouraged to do so. 

(4)  Participation or nonparticipation by the child in 
religious activities of the child or foster family shall not be 
used as a form of discipline. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 

IMP:   Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-102, 52-2-111, 52-2-113, 52-2-
115, 52-2-601, 52-2-603, 52-2-621 and 52-2-666, MCA 
 

RULE XXVIII  YOUTH FOSTER HOMES:  CHILD CLOTHING  (1)  The 
foster parents shall ensure that each child is supplied with his 
own clothing suitable to the child's age and size. 

(2)  Clothing shall be comparable to the clothing of other 
children in the community. 
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(3)  Children shall be given appropriate choice in the 
selection of their clothing. 

(4)  The foster parent shall inventory the child=s clothing 
and other possessions when the child is placed in the foster 
home and again at the time of discharge from the foster home. 

(a)  All clothing or other items specifically purchased for 
or given to the child shall be added to the inventory list; 

(b)  All of the child=s clothing and other possessions shall 
be sent with the child to any subsequent placement, including a 
return to the child=s home; 

(c)  Foster parents shall maintain receipts for clothing 
purchased with funds provided by the department; and 

(d)  Foster parents shall provide the clothing receipts and 
the inventory list at any time upon request of the department 
and shall provide the receipts and inventory to the child=s 
social worker when the child leaves the foster home. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 

IMP:   Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 
 

RULE XXIX  YOUTH FOSTER HOMES:  CHILD PRIVACY 
RIGHTS  (1)  The foster parents shall allow privacy for the 
child and shall provide appropriate sleeping arrangements, 
separate storage space for clothing and personal articles, and a 
place to display the child's socially appropriate creative works 
and symbols of identity. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 

IMP:   Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-102, 52-2-111, 52-2-113, 52-2-
115, 52-2-601, 52-2-603, 52-2-621 and 52-2-666, MCA 
 

RULE XXX  YOUTH FOSTER HOMES:  SLEEPING ARRANGEMENTS AND 
REQUIREMENTS  (1)  Each foster child must sleep in a room 
designated as a bedroom that provides for privacy. 

(2)  Any room in which the child sleeps must have a window 
sufficiently large for an adult to enter or exit in an 
emergency. 

(3)  Children of the opposite sex who are five years of age 
or older must not share a bedroom. 

(4)  Children over 24 months of age may not routinely sleep 
in the same room with an adult unless approved by the department 
foster care licensing supervisor. 

(5)  A foster parent shall sleep within call of all foster 
children during the night or must use a baby monitor or other 
intercom system that will alert the foster parent to the child's 
call. 

(6)  Each child must be provided with the child=s own bed, 
which must be at least 30 inches wide and of a length which is 
adequate for the child=s height. 
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(7)  A child under the age of four may be provided with a 
toddler bed which must use a standard crib mattress, be at least 
28 inches wide, and have a length adequate for the child's 
height. 

(8)  Children under age two must sleep in a crib.  Cribs 
must have a snug fitting mattress and there must not be more 
than 2 and 3/8 inches of space between the vertical slats. 

(9)  Each bed or crib must have adequate bedding. 
(10)  Bunk beds more than two bunks high are prohibited.  

If bunk beds are used, the upper bunk must have a guardrail.  
Upper bunks must not be used by children under eight years of 
age. 

(11)  Each child must be provided with space in a closet, 
locker, or dresser for clothing and personal belongings located 
in his sleeping area. 

(12)  When placement in a kinship foster home is determined 
to be in a child=s best interests, a regional administrator may 
approve a requested exception to one or more provisions of this 
rule on a case by case basis. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 

IMP:   Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 
 

RULE XXXI  YOUTH FOSTER HOMES:  YOUTH INDEPENDENT LIVING 
PROGRAM, JOB TRAINING AND EMPLOYMENT  (1)  The foster parents 
shall cooperate with the department=s independent living program 
staff and contractors to ensure that eligible youth in foster 
care are encouraged and assisted to access services and benefits 
offered under the department=s independent living program. 

(2)  The foster parents shall assist the placing agency, 
the youth, and the independent living program staff and 
contractors in developing an appropriate transitional plan for 
each youth age 16 or older. 

(3)  The foster parents shall encourage and assist each 
teenage youth to prepare for the transition from foster care to 
independent living. 

(4)  The foster parents shall assist the placing agency, 
the youth, and the independent living program staff and 
contractors in developing the youth's job readiness skills and, 
when appropriate, assisting the youth in locating employment. 

(5)  The foster parents shall assist youth in exploring 
postsecondary educational opportunities. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 

IMP:   Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-102, 52-2-111, 52-2-113, 52-2-
115, 52-2-601, 52-2-603, 52-2-621 and 52-2-666, MCA 
 

RULE XXXII  YOUTH FOSTER HOMES:  THERAPEUTIC FOSTER HOMES  
(1)  Therapeutic foster parents must meet all requirements 

for regular foster parents set forth in this rule, the 
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requirements set forth in ARM 37.37.101, et seq., and the 
additional requirements in this rule and [Rule XLII]. 

(2)  Therapeutic foster parents are in home treatment 
providers who, in addition to carrying out usual family foster 
parent responsibilities, implement treatment strategies and 
provide treatment interventions under the supervision of a 
therapeutic foster care agency's clinical staff according to the 
child's individual treatment plan. 

(3)  Therapeutic foster care requires the availability of 
one parent to provide 24 hour per day supervision to deliver 
therapeutic services as needed.  Parenting skills must be 
sufficient to meet the level of therapeutic foster care being 
provided, including being adequate to address the needs of the 
emotionally disturbed youth in the areas of behavior management, 
supportive counseling, and implementation of the treatment 
interventions identified in the child=s individual treatment 
plan. 

(4)  One foster parent of a preschool age foster child 
placed in a therapeutic foster home must not be employed outside 
of the home unless a written exception is made by a department 
regional administrator. 

(5)  If child care arrangements are made for a child 
receiving therapeutic foster care for any reason, including to 
allow a foster parent to work or in order to provide 
socialization opportunities for the child, such arrangements 
must be approved by the child's treatment team to ensure they 
meet the therapeutic needs of the child. 

(6)  A child receiving therapeutic foster care may not be 
placed in child care in excess of four hours per day without the 
written approval of a department regional administrator. 

(7)  Therapeutic foster parents are members of the youth's 
treatment team and must participate in treatment team meetings. 

(8)  Therapeutic foster parents must regularly document the 
youth's progress toward achievement of the individual treatment 
plan. This documentation must be put in writing and must be 
incorporated into the youth's case file within 30 days. 

(9)  The department may approve the placement of children 
who are not approved for therapeutic foster care services with 
youth receiving therapeutic foster care services when: 

(a)  placement in the therapeutic foster home will maintain 
an intact sibling group; 

(b)  placement in the therapeutic foster home will maintain 
a parent/child relationship when the parent is a youth who is 
receiving therapeutic foster care services;  

(c)  moving a child who was previously placed in the 
therapeutic foster home but is not receiving therapeutic foster 
care services is determined by the department to not be in the 
best interests of the child; or 

(d)  the department and treatment team determine that a 
kinship placement is appropriate and an exception is granted by 
the regional administrator. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
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2-622, MCA 
IMP:   Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-102, 52-2-111, 52-2-113, 52-2-

115, 52-2-601, 52-2-603, 52-2-621 and 52-2-666, MCA 
 

RULE XXXIII  YOUTH FOSTER HOMES:  PHYSICAL CARE OF 
CHILDREN  (1)  The foster parents must work with the placing 
agency to ensure that the child's medical needs are met. 

(2)  Every foster child shall have an identified physician. 
(3)  Medical and dental care, including examinations and 

treatment, shall be obtained for children as needed. 
(4)  The foster parents, in consultation with the placing 

worker, shall arrange for each child to have a complete early 
periodic screening, diagnosis, and treatment (EPSDT) well child 
examination within 30 days of placement in foster care.  
Subsequent examinations must be completed yearly thereafter 
unless more frequent examinations are recommended by the child=s 
physician.  

(5)  A child two years of age or older who has not had a 
dental examination within a year prior to placement in foster 
care shall have one within 90 days after admission.  
Reexamination shall be done at least annually unless more 
frequent examinations are recommended by the child's dentist. 

(6)  Psychiatric, psychological, and counseling services, 
including diagnosis and treatment, shall be obtained for each 
child as determined necessary by the placing agency. 

(7)  The foster parents must keep the placing agency 
apprised of illnesses of each foster child which require medical 
attention and the results of examinations, tests, and treatment 
recommended for each child. 

(8)  All medication shall be kept in the original 
containers labeled with the original prescription labels in a 
place inaccessible to children. 

(9)  All medication shall be given as prescribed unless a 
licensed health care provider rescinds the prescription or 
otherwise modifies it.  The foster parent shall notify the 
child's case worker of any changes in medication. 

(10)  All children residing in the home under 12 years of 
age shall be immunized in accordance with [Rules XX and XXI].  
Any child with a history of measles is considered immunized 
against measles. 

(11)  The medical and immunization history of the child 
will be recorded on forms provided by the department and kept on 
file in both the foster home and the placing agency. 

(12)  In an emergency, the foster parents shall make 
arrangements for emergency care at a nearby hospital, clinic, or 
doctor's office and, as soon as possible thereafter, shall 
notify the placing agency. 

(13)  When a preschool child with special needs is in 
foster care, one of the foster parents should not be employed 
outside of the home.  An exception may be granted by a regional 
administrator.  

(14)  Foster parents must not provide tobacco products in 
any form to children under the age of 18 who are placed in the 
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foster home. 
(15)  Foster parents must not allow children placed in the 

foster home to be exposed to secondhand smoke in the foster 
parents' home or vehicle. 

(16)  Nothing in (14) or (15) is meant to interfere with 
traditional or Native American ceremonies involving the use of 
tobacco. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 

IMP:   Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 
 

RULE XXXIV  YOUTH FOSTER HOMES:  DISCIPLINE  (1)  Foster 
parents shall use discipline appropriate to the child=s age and 
developmental level.  The foster parents= approach to discipline 
must be positive. 

(2)  The foster parents shall not use spanking or other 
forms of physical punishment or any other disciplinary technique 
which is humiliating, shaming, cruel, capricious, frightening, 
or otherwise damaging to a child. 

(3)  No child in care shall be subjected to any form of 
abuse. 

(4)  No child in care shall be subjected to verbal abuse, 
derogatory remarks about himself or members of his family, or 
threats to expel the child from the foster home. 

(5)  No child in care shall be deprived of meals, mail, or 
family visits as a method of discipline. 

(6)  Foster parents shall not punish children for bed 
wetting or any other toilet training issue. 

(7)  Children must not be placed in a locked room. 
(8)  Participation or nonparticipation by the child in 

religious activities of the child or the foster family shall not 
be used as a form of discipline. 

(9)  Medication or withholding of prescribed medication  
shall never be used to discipline or threaten children. 

(10)  If a foster parent or other household member is 
involved in any physical discipline of a foster child or any 
other violation of this rule, the foster parent must report the 
violation as required in [Rule XVII]. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 

IMP:   Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-102, 52-2-111, 52-2-112, 52-2-
113, 52-2-115, 52-2-601, 52-2-603, 52-2-621 and 52-2-622, MCA 
 

RULE XXXV  YOUTH FOSTER HOMES:  ENVIRONMENTAL AND SAFETY 
REQUIREMENTS  (1)  The home and its premises shall be comparable 
to other residences of the community and neighborhood in which 
it is located. 

(2)  The home must be built or manufactured for the purpose 
of full-time residency. 

(3)  Every interior door shall be designed to permit the 
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opening of the locked door from the outside in an emergency. 
(4)  Protective plugs shall be installed on electrical 

outlets in all homes occupied by foster children under five 
years of age. 

(5)  The foster parents shall keep the home clean and in 
good repair and the premises shall be kept free from objects, 
materials, and conditions which constitute a danger to the 
occupants.  

(6)  The foster parents must protect any foster child from 
any threat to a child's health, welfare or safety in the 
neighborhood. 

(7)  All foster homes shall be equipped with a telephone.  
Telephone numbers of the placing agency, hospital, police 
department, fire department, ambulance, and poison control 
center must be posted by each telephone. 

(8)  The foster home must have an adequate and safe sewage 
disposal system. 

(9)  If the home's water supply is not from a municipal 
system, the foster home must arrange to, at a minimum, have a 
basic screen water test conducted at least annually through the 
Department of Public Health and Human Services, Public Health 
and Safety Division, Laboratory Services Bureau, Environmental 
Laboratory Section, Cogswell Building, 1400 Broadway, Room B-
204, Helena, Montana 59620 to ensure that the water supply 
remains safe for human consumption.  Documentation of the test 
results must be provided to the licensing worker. 

(10)  Children shall not be exposed to paint containing 
lead in excess of .06%. 

(11)  Cleaning materials, flammable liquids, detergents, 
aerosol products, and other poisonous and toxic materials shall 
be kept in their original containers or shall be clearly labeled 
with both symbols and words indicating that the contents are 
hazardous.  Such substances shall be kept in a place 
inaccessible to children and shall be childproofed, if possible. 
They shall be used in such a way that will not contaminate play 
surfaces, food, food preparation areas, or constitute a hazard 
to the children. 

(12)  Any pet or animal present at the home with the foster 
parents' permission shall not pose a threat to the safety or 
well being of any child placed in the home. 

(a)  The pet or animal shall show no evidence of carrying 
disease. 

(b)  Documentation provided by a veterinarian verifying 
that any pet or animal belonging to the foster parents and 
present at the home is in good health must be provided to the 
department upon request. 

(c)  Foster parents are legally and financially responsible 
for the actions and any resulting injuries that may be caused by 
any animal allowed in or around the foster home. 

(13)  Guns and ammunition shall be kept in locked storage 
with guns stored separately from ammunition.  Guns kept in 
vehicles shall be locked in the glove compartment or gun rack, 
shall be unloaded, and ammunition must be kept locked in a 
separate location in the vehicle.   
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(14)  Any outdoor play area shall be maintained hazard 
free.  If any part of the play area is adjacent to a well, 
machinery, road, drainage ditch, holes, or other hazardous 
areas, the play area shall be enclosed with fencing or natural 
barriers when preschool children are in placement to restrict 
the children from these areas. 

(15)  Outdoor equipment, such as climbing apparatus, 
slides, swings, and trampolines, shall be anchored firmly and 
placed in a safe location.  A responsible adult must be present 
and directly observing any activity of a foster child on a 
trampoline at all times. 

(16)  The foster parents shall make swimming and wading 
pools and swimming areas inaccessible to children except when 
directly supervised by a responsible adult.   

(17)  Foster children may not participate in high risk 
activities including, but not limited to hunting, snowmobiling, 
four-wheeling, or rock climbing without written consent of the 
licensing supervisor and, where appropriate, the birth parents. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 

IMP:   Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 
 

RULE XXXVI  YOUTH FOSTER HOMES:  FIRE SAFETY 
REQUIREMENTS  (1)  There shall be two unobstructed means of exit 
from all sleeping areas occupied by foster children.  Foster 
parents must prepare a written plan to rescue children if the 
primary means of exit is blocked. 

(2)  Foster parents must devise a plan for everyone in the 
home to exit the home in emergencies and must teach the plan to 
children placed in the home.  There must be regular fire drills 
at different times of the day and night. 

(3)  A working smoke detector which is properly maintained 
and regularly tested shall be located in each bedroom and in the 
hallway leading to the bedroom with at least one smoke detector 
on each level of the foster home. 

(4)  Each foster home must have a workable portable fire 
extinguisher with a minimum rating of 2A10BC.  Extinguishers 
shall be readily accessible and shall be mounted. 

(5)  No portable unvented fuel-fired heating devices such 
as portable kerosene or oil heaters are allowed. 

(6)  No extension cord shall be used as permanent wiring. 
(7)  All woodburning stoves, pellet stoves, and fireplace 

inserts must meet building codes for the installation and use of 
such stoves.  If the department identifies a possible concern 
regarding safety of a wood stove or fireplace, the department 
may require the foster home to have an inspection conducted to 
certify that it meets applicable codes. 

(8)  Upon request of the department, the state fire marshal 
or his designee shall inspect any home for which a license is 
applied or issued and shall report its findings to the 
department. 
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AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 

IMP:   Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 
 

RULE XXXVII  YOUTH FOSTER HOMES:  TRANSPORTATION 
(1)  Foster parents and any person transporting foster 

children with the foster parents' permission shall possess a 
valid driver's license and shall meet at least the minimum 
liability insurance coverage requirements set by state law. 

(2)  All doors on vehicles must be locked whenever the 
vehicle is in motion. 

(3)  No vehicle shall begin moving until all children are 
seated and secured in age appropriate safety restraints which 
must remain fastened at all times the vehicle is in motion. 

(4)  Foster parents must request and receive written travel 
authorization before taking any child placed by the department: 

(a)  out of the county; 
(b)  out of the state; or 
(c)  out of the country. 

 
AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-

2-622, MCA 
IMP:   Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-

2-622, MCA 
 

RULE XXXVIII  YOUTH FOSTER HOMES:  REQUIRED TRAINING 
(1)  Each applicant shall attend an orientation and 

preservice training of not less than 18 hours prior to issuance 
of a regular license. 

(2)  The foster parents must obtain a total of at least 15 
hours of training for relicensure.  Training must be documented 
on a form provided by the department. 

(3)  The department will provide the foster parents notice 
that documentation of the training requirements is due in the 
materials provided by the department for relicensure. 

(a)  If the foster parents fail to obtain the required 
training hours, the license will be restricted to the care of 
the children in the home at the time until such time as the 
required training hours have been successfully completed; or 

(b)  If there are no children in the foster home, the 
license will be deemed automatically suspended until such time 
as the required training hours have been successfully completed. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 

IMP:   Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 
 

RULE XXXIX  YOUTH FOSTER HOMES:  TRAINING 
EXEMPTIONS  (1)  An exemption to the required orientation and 
preservice training must be approved by a department regional 
administrator. 

(2)  An exemption to the required 15 hours of training for 
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relicensure must be approved by a department regional 
administrator. 

(3)  Exemptions to any training requirement must be written 
and a copy maintained in the licensing file. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 

IMP:   Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 
 

RULE XL  YOUTH FOSTER HOMES:  REQUIRED TRAINING 
TOPICS  (1)  Annual training is intended to help the foster 
parents gain further understanding regarding such issues as 
child maltreatment, child growth and development, family 
dysfunction, permanency planning, emergency or long term medical 
needs of children, and age appropriate preparation of youth for 
independent living. 

(2)  Training must be provided or approved by the 
department and may include training on the following topics: 

(a)  separation and grieving; 
(b)  loss and attachment; 
(c)  alternatives to physical discipline and an explanation 

of the department's policy on physical discipline; 
(d)  positive parenting techniques; 
(e)  the department's and foster parents' roles and 

responsibilities; 
(f)  biological family rights and responsibilities; 
(g)  how and why children come into foster care; 
(h)  types and behaviors of children in foster care; 
(i)  placement process; 
(j)  confidentiality; 
(k)  sexual abuse; 
(l)  drugs and alcohol; 
(m)  interpersonal communications; 
(n)  foster parent insurance; and 
(o)  other topics approved by the department. 

 
AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-

2-622, MCA 
IMP:   Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-

2-622, MCA 
 

RULE XLI  YOUTH FOSTER HOMES:  REQUIRED TRAINING FOR 
THERAPEUTIC FOSTER HOMES  (1)  Therapeutic foster parents must 
each complete 18 hours of orientation and preservice training 
and 15 hours of training described in (2)(a) and (b) before 
initial licensure. 

(2)  Each year thereafter, therapeutic foster parents must 
each complete a total of 30 hours of annual training that may 
include training in the general areas identified in [RULE 
XL(2)], but which must also include a minimum of 15 hours of 
training directly related to: 

(a)  the special needs of youth with emotional disturbances 
receiving treatment for their emotional disturbance in a 
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treatment family environment; and 
(b)  the use of nonphysical methods of controlling youth to 

assure the safety and protection of the youth and others. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 

IMP:   Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 
 

3. The rules as proposed to be amended provide as 
follows.  Matter to be added is underlined.  Matter to be 
deleted is interlined. 
 

37.37.316  THERAPEUTIC FAMILY CARE, TREATMENT PARENTS 
(1)  The therapeutic family care agency recruits, trains 

and supervises treatment parents.  In addition, the therapeutic 
family care agency recommends treatment families for licensure 
by the department, as specified under ARM 37.93.716.  
Therapeutic foster parents must meet all licensing requirements 
set out in [Rules I through XLI]. 

(2)  Therapeutic treatment parents are in home treatment 
providers who, in addition to carrying out usual family foster 
parent responsibilities, implement treatment strategies and 
provide treatment interventions under the supervision of the 
therapeutic family care agency's clinical staff according to the 
youth's individual treatment plan. 

(3)  Therapeutic family care requires one parent be 
available to provide 24 hour per day supervision and be able to 
deliver therapeutic services as needed.  Parenting skills must 
be appropriate to the level of therapeutic family care being 
provided and adequate to deal with the needs of emotionally 
disturbed youths in the areas of behavior management, supportive 
counseling, and implementation of the treatment interventions 
contained in the youth=s individual treatment plan. 

(4)  Treatment parents providing intensive level 
therapeutic family care must be able to provide routine guidance 
to the mental health assistant to assure ensure that these 
services support the goals and objectives of the youth's 
individual treatment plan. 

(5)  Treatment parents are members of the youth's treatment 
team and must be available to participate in treatment team 
meetings. 

(6)  Treatment parents must regularly document the youth's 
progress toward achievement of the individual treatment plan. 
This documentation must be in writing and incorporated as 
documented into the youth's case file every 30 days. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 

IMP:   Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 
 

37.37.318  THERAPEUTIC FAMILY CARE, MEDICAL NECESSITY, 



 

MAR Notice No. 37-360 23-12/8/05 

-2405-

ADDITIONAL TRAINING REQUIREMENTS  (1)  Treatment parents must 
complete orientation and training as described in ARM 37.97.1019 
[Rules XXXVII through XLI]. 

(2)  Treatment parents and Mmental health assistants must 
receive a minimum of 15 hours of training annually directly 
related to: 

(a)  the special needs of youth with emotional disturbances 
receiving treatment for their emotional disturbance in a 
treatment family environment; and 

(b)  the use of nonphysical methods of controlling youth to 
assure ensure the safety and protection of the youth and others. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 

IMP:   Sec. 52-1-103, 52-2-111, 52-2-601, 52-2-621 and 52-
2-622, MCA 
 

4. The rule 37.97.1001 as proposed to be repealed is on 
page 37-24007 of the Administrative Rules of Montana. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 41-3-1103, MCA 
IMP:   Sec. 41-3-1103 and 41-3-1142, MCA 

 
The rules 37.97.1002 and 37.97.1006 as proposed to be 

repealed are on pages 37-24007 through 37-24012 of the 
Administrative Rules of Montana. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 41-3-1103 and 53-4-111, MCA 
IMP:   Sec. 41-3-1103 and 53-4-113, MCA 

 
The rule 37.97.1011 as proposed to be repealed is on pages 

37-24012 and 37-24013 of the Administrative Rules of Montana. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 41-3-1103 and 53-4-111, MCA 
IMP:   Sec. 41-3-1103, 41-3-1142 and 53-4-113, MCA 

 
The rules 37.97.1013, 37.97.1014, 37.97.1016, 37.97.1018 

and 37.97.1019 as proposed to be repealed are on pages 37-24013 
through 37-24015 of the Administrative Rules of Montana. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 41-3-1103 and 53-4-111, MCA 
IMP:   Sec. 41-3-1103 and 53-4-113, MCA 

 
5. The department is required by section 471 of the 

Social Security Act to establish requirements for family foster 
homes which are reasonably in accord with recommended standards. 
Requirements that must be addressed include safety, sanitation, 
and protection of civil rights.  The department is encouraged by 
the United States Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) 
to develop and implement additional licensing requirements and 
is required to apply the requirements equally to all foster 
family homes.  This requirement does not preclude the department 
from establishing additional requirements for foster homes that 
provide care to special populations, such as children receiving 
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therapeutic foster care.  The department must ensure that foster 
parents are adequately prepared to provide appropriate care for 
children placed in their home.  The department must ensure that 
the licensing requirements provide for the safety, health, and 
well being of children placed in youth foster homes. 
 

The department is granted specific authority to adopt rules 
regarding the licensure, operation, and regulation of youth care 
facilities as well as authority to inspect all licensed 
facilities and to take such licensing action, including 
revocation, as determined to be necessary to protect children.  
The department has authority to establish administrative rules 
for the licensure of youth care facilities under 52-2-603, MCA 
and 52-2-622, MCA.  Child and Family Services Division (CFSD) is 
responsible for the licensure of youth foster homes, including 
kinship foster homes and therapeutic foster homes.  The Quality 
Assurance Division (QAD) is responsible for licensure of other 
types of youth care facilities.  Some of the current licensing 
rules are applicable to all youth care facilities, including 
youth foster homes. 
 

The requirements for youth foster homes and other youth 
care facilities are increasingly different and it will be 
beneficial to applicants and licensees to have administrative 
rules that are specific to individual facility types.  In 
addition, it is necessary to amend the youth foster home rules 
because some language is outdated and ambiguous, and in some 
instances, does not reflect current federal or state statutes.  
Updating the youth foster home rules is necessary to address 
gaps in the current rules and to ensure that the rules 
adequately address the issues relative to the safety and well 
being of children placed in youth foster homes. 
 

The department is proposing to repeal existing rules and 
adopt new rules because of the number and complexity of the 
changes that are proposed.  Adoption of new rules will make it 
easier for applicants and licensees to reference the applicable 
rules for youth foster homes since they will be located in one 
chapter.  The proposed rules for youth foster homes will contain 
all licensing rules that apply to such homes.  This will 
eliminate confusion as to which provisions apply to which 
facilities. 
 

New Rules I through XLII are necessary because the existing 
rules, ARM 37.97.101 through 37.97.132, will continue to be used 
by QAD for youth care facilities other than youth foster homes. 
ARM 37.97.1001, 37.97.1002, 37.97.1006, 37.97.1011, 37.97.1013, 
37.97.1014, 37.97.1016, 37.97.1018, and 37.97.1019 will be 
repealed and the provisions of these rules incorporated into the 
new rules.  New rule numbers will be assigned to the specific 
rules governing youth foster homes. 
 

Rule I, Youth Foster Homes:  Purpose, defines the purpose 
of licensing rules specific to youth foster homes.  The 
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department has statutory authority to establish administrative 
rules for youth foster homes.  Administrative rules for youth 
foster homes are necessary to establish minimum requirements 
that must be met in order to obtain or maintain a youth foster 
home license. 
 

Rule II, Youth Foster Homes: Definitions, contains 
definitions specific to youth foster homes.  Existing 
definitions have been amended to reflect current language, to 
conform with 52-2-602, MCA, and to reflect the inclusion of 
therapeutic youth foster home licensing rules (therapeutic 
family care) in the youth foster home licensing rules. 
 

Rule III, Youth Foster Homes:  License Required, describes 
the entities which may issue a license to a youth foster home 
and the consequences of operating a youth foster home without a 
license as provided for in statute. 
 

Rule IV, Youth Foster Homes:  Licensing Procedures, and 
Rule V, Youth Foster Homes: Licensure and Renewal, are necessary 
to establish the application process and the process under which 
the department will assess applications prior to issuance of an 
initial or renewed license for youth foster homes.  The proposed 
rules clarify the department's role in determining if an 
applicant meets the requirements for licensure upon receipt of 
an application and completion of a licensing assessment.  Rule V 
includes language which will limit the total number of children 
who may reside in a foster home.  Rule V will provide the 
department with parameters regarding the total number of 
children that can reside in a foster home.  This rule is 
necessary in order to ensure that the needs of all children in 
the home can be appropriately met. 
 

Rule VI, Youth Foster Homes:  Provisional License, 
describes the circumstances under which the department may issue 
a provisional youth foster home license to an applicant who does 
not fully meet all licensing requirements. 
 

Rule VII, Youth Foster Homes:  Restricted License, allows 
the department to issue licenses to providers who wish to care 
only for specific children, often kin. 
 

Rule VIII, Youth Foster Homes:  Dual License, requires that 
applicants or licensees who wish to be both registered as day 
care providers and licensed as youth foster home providers 
obtain approval from the Child and Family Services Division and 
the Quality Assurance Division.  This rule is necessary in order 
to ensure that the needs of all children in the home can be 
appropriately met. 
 

Rule IX, Youth Foster Homes:  Granting License Exceptions, 
describes some circumstances under which regional administrator 
approval is required prior to issuance of a license.  This rule 
is necessary to allow the department the ability to assess 
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individual circumstances which may result in possible 
significant negative impact on children.  The ability to grant 
an exception is of particular importance in some situations 
often involving kin.  Rule IX also requires applicants and 
licensees to apprise the department of significant life events 
that may impact children placed in the home and/or the status of 
the license.  This rule is necessary to ensure that the 
department has the opportunity to determine that the needs of 
children in foster care are not adversely impacted by changes in 
the foster family's situation. 
 

Rule X, Youth Foster Homes:  Negative Licensing Action, 
gives the department authority to take negative licensing action 
following written notification to an applicant or licensee when 
the department has determined that circumstances warrant such 
action.  The department is required by federal law to deny a 
license for applicants convicted of certain crimes such as those 
described in the rule.  The rule provides the department with 
the necessary authority to ensure that applicants or licensees 
who are not appropriate to provide foster care because they or 
others in the home or on the property of the applicant or 
licensee pose a threat to children's safety and well being do 
not become licensed or do not remain licensed.  This rule is 
necessary in order to protect children. 
 

Rule XI, Youth Foster Homes:  Removal of a Child, is also 
necessary to protect children.  This rule reiterates the 
department's authority to make placement decisions for children 
for whom the department has placement responsibility, including 
a determination of the most appropriate placement setting. 
 

Rule XII, Youth Foster Homes:  Hearing Procedures, provides 
for an appeal process for youth foster home applicants or 
licensees seeking a fair hearing based on negative licensing 
action taken by the department as provided for in Rule X.  This 
rule is necessary to protect the due process rights of 
applicants and licensees. 
 

Rule XIII, Youth Foster Homes:  Confidentiality of Records 
and Information, is necessary to ensure that personal 
information regarding a foster child or the family of a foster 
child is not indiscriminately shared with others.  The rule 
describes the responsibility of licensed foster parents to keep 
information regarding a foster child or the family of any foster 
child about whom the foster parent obtains information 
confidential.  The rule clarifies the circumstances under which 
information may be shared.  The rule also gives the department 
authority to access records of children placed in the foster 
home when the children have not been placed by the department. 
 

Rule XIV, Youth Foster Homes:  Reports of Change in 
Composition of Foster Home, is necessary to ensure that the 
department receives prompt notice of significant life events or 
changes in a foster parent's household which may impact the 
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safety and well being of a child placed in the home as well as 
changes which impact the license issued to a foster home.  This 
rule also requires that foster parents operating under a child 
placing agency notify the child placing agency of significant 
life events or changes.  The rule clarifies the expectations of 
the department that a foster parent will notify the foster 
child's worker when the foster parent determines that he is 
unable to continue to care for a child. 
 

Rule XV, Youth Foster Homes:  Reports of Suspected Child 
Abuse or Neglect, establishes the time frame in which foster 
parents, who are mandatory reporters, must report suspected 
child abuse or neglect to the department.  Foster parents are 
often the persons to whom children placed in the foster home 
will disclose abuse or neglect and this information must be 
promptly reported to the department in order to ensure that 
children are protected and that appropriate services are 
provided to them. 
 

Rule XVI, Youth Foster Homes:  Reports of Serious Incidents 
and Threats, establishes the reporting requirements for serious 
incidents, runaways, and some disasters and emergencies.  The 
rule is necessary to ensure that the department receives timely 
notice of situations which may have a serious negative impact on 
the safety and well being of children in foster homes. 

 
Rule XVII, Youth Foster Homes:  Reports of Discipline 

Violations, expands the reporting requirement for violations of 
the discipline rules to include other members of the household 
in addition to foster parents.  The rule clarifies the reporting 
requirements and requires that the foster parent notify both the 
licensing worker or supervisor and the placing worker or agency. 
This rule is necessary because some violations of discipline 
rules may constitute abuse, may impact the safety and well being 
of a child, and may impact the continued licensure of the foster 
home. 
 

Rule XVIII, Youth Foster Homes:  General Requirements for 
Foster Parents and Other Household Members, describes the 
general requirements for foster parents and other household 
members and is necessary to ensure that foster parents are 
appropriate caretakers for abused and neglected children and 
that no one in the household poses a risk or threat to children 
placed in the foster home. 
 

Rule XIX, Youth Foster Homes:  Health Verification 
Requirements for Foster Parents and Other Household Members, 
expands the requirement for personal statements of health to 
include any person in the household for more than two weeks.  
This rule is intended to provide the department with timely 
information regarding the health of household members and allow 
the department to assess potential impact on children placed in 
the foster home. 
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Rule XX, Youth Foster Homes:  Preschool Age Child 
Immunization Requirements and Rule XXI, Youth Foster Homes:   
School Aged Child Immunization Requirements, update the current 
rule addressing immunization requirements for the children 
residing in a foster home to reflect current immunization 
recommendations.  In recognition of the fact that children in 
foster care are at greater risk for illness than most children, 
these rules are necessary to help protect the health of children 
placed in foster care. 
 

Rule XXII, Youth Foster Homes: Criminal Background Checks, 
is necessary to establish the process to be used in conducting 
criminal background checks as required by state and federal 
statute.  State law specifically requires the department to 
conduct child protective service and criminal background checks 
of youth foster home applicants.  Rule XXII outlines the process 
to be used to obtain the results of a criminal records check via 
fingerprints and provides for an exception process for 
applicants who cannot be successfully fingerprinted or for whom 
the Department of Justice is unable to successfully read 
fingerprint cards.  The rule defines the process to be followed 
when assessing applicants who have lived in states other than 
Montana and for whom a fingerprint based check cannot be 
obtained.  The rule provides for an annual name based check for 
renewal of a foster home license.  This rule also establishes 
the process to be followed in requesting a child protective 
services check and the process to be followed if the department 
is unable to obtain results from a child protective services 
check. 
 

Rule XXIII, Youth Foster Homes:  Psychological and Medical 
Examinations, strengthens the department's authority to obtain 
medical and psychological information necessary to properly 
assess an applicant's ability to provide a safe and appropriate 
environment and proper care for children placed with the 
applicant.  The rule authorizes the department to obtain medical 
and psychological information regarding household members in 
addition to the applicant.  The rule specifies that the 
department may use the results of a psychological or medical 
examination in determining whether an applicant meets licensing 
requirements.  This rule is necessary in order to fully assess 
the ability and appropriateness of some applicants to become 
licensed. 
 

Rules XXIV, Youth Foster Homes:  General Program 
Requirements, XXV, Youth Foster Homes:  Cooperation of Foster 
Parents, XXVI, Youth Foster Homes:  Child Education and 
Training, XXVII, Youth Foster Homes:  Child Religious and 
Cultural Expression, XXVIII, Youth Foster Homes:  Child 
Clothing, XXIX, Youth Foster Homes:  Child Privacy Rights, XXX, 
Youth Foster Homes:  Sleeping Arrangements and Requirements, and 
XXXI, Youth Foster Homes:  Youth Independent Living Program, Job 
Training and Employment, are necessary to ensure that the needs 
of children placed in foster homes are appropriately met.  The 
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rules set out the expectations the Department has of foster 
parents in working with the agency, visitation between the child 
and his/her birth or legal family, education, religion, cultural 
expression, clothing, privacy, and sleeping arrangements. 
 

Rule XXVIII, Youth Foster Homes:  Child Clothing, will 
require that the foster parent inventory the clothing and 
personal possessions of children placed in the foster home and 
that the foster parent maintain receipts for clothing purchased 
with funds provided by the department.  The foster parent is to 
provide the inventory and clothing receipts to the department as 
requested.  This rule is intended to assist the department in 
ensuring that the clothing and possessions of children in foster 
care move with the child when the child leaves a foster home.  
The rule is also intended to assist the department in tracking 
the cost of clothing provided for children in foster care. 
 

Rule XXX, Youth Foster Homes: Sleeping Arrangements and 
Requirements, is necessary to ensure that children are provided 
with a safe and appropriate sleeping room, bed, and bedding and 
that an adult will hear the child cry or call.  This rule 
expands and clarifies the expectations for sleeping arrangements 
for children.  The rule, as proposed, does allow the department 
to make an exception to certain requirements on a case by case 
basis for a kinship foster home. 
 

Rule XXXI, Youth Foster Homes: Youth Independent Living 
Program Job Training and Employment, is necessary to improve the 
services provided to teenage youth in foster care.  Foster 
parents who choose to care for youth age 16 and older must work 
cooperatively with department staff and contractors to meet the 
federal requirement of a transitional living plan and provision 
of appropriate services to assist youth in the transition from 
foster care to living on their own.  This rule requires foster 
parents of teenage youth to actively assist in preparing youth 
for the transition from foster care to self-sufficiency and 
independent living. 
 

Rule XXXII, Youth Foster Homes:  Therapeutic Foster Homes, 
is necessary to clarify that therapeutic youth foster homes, 
also known as therapeutic family care homes, are youth foster 
homes and must meet all the licensing requirements of youth 
foster homes as well as additional requirements for therapeutic 
foster homes.  Additional requirements are necessary in order to 
ensure that the higher needs of the children in therapeutic 
foster care are met.  Therapeutic foster care is a subcategory 
of youth foster homes but some licensing rules for therapeutic 
foster homes are in ARM Title 37, chapter 37 of the Department's 
administrative rules.  Rule XXXII incorporates some additional 
licensing requirements foster parents must meet. 
 

Rule XXXIII, Youth Foster Homes:  Physical Care of 
Children, is necessary to clarify the expectations of foster 
parents in meeting the physical health needs of children.  
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Notable additions to the existing rule include the prohibition 
regarding the provision of tobacco products to foster children 
by foster parents and the exposure of foster children to 
secondhand smoke while in the foster parent's care. 
 

Rule XXXIV, Youth Foster Homes:  Discipline, updates 
language and clarifies the expectations of foster parents when 
disciplining foster children.  The rule clarifies that foster 
parents are not to use spanking or other forms of physical 
punishment with foster children. 
 

Rule XXXV, Youth Foster Homes:  Environmental and Safety 
Requirements, is necessary to ensure that the foster home and 
premises are safe and do not contain obvious hazards which might 
compromise the safety and well being of children placed in the 
foster home. 
 

Rule XXVI, Youth Foster Homes:  Fire Safety Requirements,  
is necessary to ensure that minimal fire safety requirements are 
met and to minimize the risk of fire danger to foster children 
and other occupants of the foster home. 
 

Rules XXXVII, Youth Foster Homes:  Transportation, will 
help to protect children who are transported by foster parents 
or by other persons given permission to transport children by 
the foster parents by requiring that all children are secure in 
appropriate safety restraints and that doors to the vehicle are 
locked when the vehicle is moving.  Language is added to the 
existing rule requiring foster parents to obtain permission when 
traveling out of the county, out of the state, or out of the 
country with foster children. 
 

Rule XXXVIII, Youth Foster Homes:  Required Training, is 
necessary because the department is required by federal law to 
prepare foster parents to provide appropriate care for children 
placed in a foster home.  The rule clarifies what the department 
requires of foster parents regarding preservice and ongoing 
training, and the consequences for failure to obtain the 
required training. 
 

Rule XXXIX, Youth Foster Homes:  Training Exemptions, is 
necessary to allow the department the option of waiving specific 
training requirements on a case by case basis. 
 

Rule XL, Youth Foster Homes:  Required Training Topics, 
describes the types of training content which will meet the 
training requirements of Rule XXXIX.  This rule clarifies that 
training must be provided by or approved by the department in 
order to meet the requirements of Rule XXXIX. 
 

Rule XLI, Youth Foster Parents:  Required Training Topics 
for Therapeutic Foster Homes, clarifies that therapeutic youth 
foster parents are required to meet the same training 
requirements as other youth foster homes as well as additional 
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training requirements.  Additional training requirements are 
necessary due to the higher needs of children placed in 
therapeutic foster homes.  Rule XLI incorporates the current 
training requirements for therapeutic youth foster homes in ARM 
37.37.318 into the youth foster home licensing rules.   
 

There is no fiscal impact that will occur by adopting these 
rules. 
 

6. Interested persons may submit their data, views or 
arguments either orally or in writing at the hearing.  Written 
data, views or arguments may also be submitted to Gwen Knight, 
Office of Legal Affairs, Department of Public Health and Human 
Services, P.O. Box 202951, Helena, MT 59620-2951, no later than 
5:00 p.m. on January 12, 2006.  Data, views or arguments may 
also be submitted by facsimile to (406)444-1970 or by electronic 
mail via the Internet to dphhslegal@mt.gov.  The Department also 
maintains lists of persons interested in receiving notice of 
administrative rule changes.  These lists are compiled according 
to subjects or programs of interest.  For placement on the 
mailing list, please write the person at the address above. 
 

7. The Office of Legal Affairs, Department of Public 
Health and Human Services has been designated to preside over 
and conduct the hearing. 
 
 
 
     Dawn Sliva                    Joan Miles   
Rule Reviewer     Director, Public Health and 

Human Services 
 
 
Certified to the Secretary of State November 28, 2005. 
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 BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC 
 HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES OF THE 
 STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the 
amendment of ARM 37.62.2101, 
37.62.2103, 37.62.2105, 
37.62.2107, 37.62.2111, 
37.62.2113, 37.62.2117, 
37.62.2119 and 37.62.2121 and 
the repeal of ARM 37.62.2115 
pertaining to the 
modification of child support 
orders  

 ) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

 NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING 
ON PROPOSED AMENDMENT 
AND REPEAL         

     
TO: All Interested Persons 

 
1. On January 11, 2006, at 1:30 p.m., a public hearing 

will be held in the auditorium of the Department of Public 
Health and Human Services Building, 111 N. Sanders, Helena, 
Montana to consider the proposed amendment and repeal of the 
above-stated rules. 
 

The Department of Public Health and Human Services will 
make reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities who 
need an alternative accessible format of this notice or provide 
reasonable accommodations at the public hearing site.  If you 
need to request an accommodation, contact the department no 
later than 5:00 p.m. on January 3, 2006, to advise us of the 
nature of the accommodation that you need.  Please contact Dawn 
Sliva, Office of Legal Affairs, Department of Public Health and 
Human Services, P.O. Box 4210, Helena, MT 59604-4210; telephone 
(406)444-5622; FAX (406)444-1970; Email dphhslegal@mt.gov. 
 

2. The rules as proposed to be amended provide as 
follows.  Matter to be added is underlined.  Matter to be 
deleted is interlined. 
 

37.62.2101  MODIFICATION OF SUPPORT ORDERS  (1)  The CSED 
will may conduct a review and for modification of a support 
order which it is enforcing: upon a verified written application 
showing one or more of the criteria for review under 40-5-272, 
MCA.  

(a)  at the request of the IV-D agency of another state, an 
obligor or obligee, and upon a verified written petition showing 
a material change of circumstances, as defined in ARM 
37.62.2103(2), a showing that the support order is inconsistent 
with the Montana child support guidelines, or if the obligor is 
not required to get and keep health insurance for the child 
whenever it is available through employment or union; 

(b)  at 30 month intervals after establishment of the order 
or the most recent review in any case in which support rights 
are assigned under 53-2-613, MCA; or 

(c)  if the CSED finds on its own motion with reference to 
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CSED written procedures that a modification may be appropriate.  
(2)  The party filing an application for a review may 

withdraw the application prior to service of the administrative 
notice described in 40-5-273, MCA without triggering the 
prohibitions of ARM 37.62.2103(2)(a). 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 40-5-202, MCA 
IMP:   Sec. 40-5-226, MCA 

 
37.62.2103  AVAILABILITY OF REVIEW  (1)  The CSED will 

conduct administrative reviews of support orders if 30 months 
have elapsed since establishment of the order or most recent 
review and a material change of circumstances has occurred.  For 
purposes of 40-5-272(4)(a), MCA, a substantial change in 
circumstances includes, but is not limited to: 

(a)  an increase or decrease at least 30% in a parent's 
income for child support, as defined by the Montana child 
support guidelines, ARM 37.62.106(1); 

(b)  the adoption, emancipation, or death of a child in 
households where more than one child are the subjects of the 
guideline calculation, if the existing order is not a per child 
amount; 

(c)  the movement of a child from one parent's home to the 
home of the other parent, with the intent that the move is 
permanent and is: 

(i)  evidenced by the written consent of the other parent; 
(ii)  ordered by a court of competent jurisdiction; or  
(iii)  demonstrated to have continued for 90 days prior to 

the request for review and modification;  
(d)  the development of special needs by a child, if those 

needs were not considered in the original order; or 
(e)  evidence that the original Montana order was set 

without reference to the child support guidelines. 
(2)  The CSED will deny a request for review and will not 

conduct a periodic review and modification of a support order if 
any of the following conditions exist: 

(a)  less than 30 36 months have elapsed since 
establishment of from the date that the existing support order 
was entered, an administrative hearing was granted under 40-5-
277, MCA, or an administrative order was issued which denied a 
modification because of the applicant's failure to meet one of 
the criteria described in 40-5-272, MCA or the most recent 
review and no material substantial change of circumstances has 
occurred.;  For purposes of this rule, a significant change of 
circumstances includes, but is not limited to: 

(i)  an increase or decrease in a parent's net income of 
25% or more; 

(ii)  one or more of the children have been adopted, 
attained the age of majority, become otherwise emancipated or 
died; 

(iii)  one or more of the children have moved from one 
parent's home to the home of the other parent.  The move must be 
made with the intent that it be permanent and be: 

(A)  evidenced by the written consent of the other parent; 
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(B)  ordered by a court of competent jurisdiction; or 
(C)  demonstrated to have continued for 90 days prior to 

the request for review and modification. 
(iv)  a child has developed special needs, as defined in 

the child support guidelines, which were not considered in the 
original order; 

(v)  social security benefits which were not considered in 
the original order are being paid to the children; 

(vi)   the order was set without reference to the 
guidelines; or 

(vii)  a parent has become a recipient of public assistance 
on behalf of a child; 

(b)  the CSED does not have an open IV-D case after the 
procedures in ARM 37.62.2107 have been completed; 

(c)  the state of Montana does not have or cannot obtain 
personal or subject matter jurisdiction over a necessary party; 

(d)  the address of a necessary party has not been 
verified; 

(e)  review and adjustment services are being provided by 
another IV-D agency; 

(f)  a modification or adjustment action is pending in 
another forum, and activity has occurred within the last 6 
months; or 

(g)  the support order will terminate within 6 six months 
after the date the request for review is received by the CSED 
review and modification unit. 

(3)  For purposes of this subchapter a review is conducted 
by an arbitrator and is referred to in these rules as a 
settlement conference.  
 

AUTH:  Sec. 40-5-202, MCA 
IMP:   Sec. 40-5-202, MCA 

 
37.62.2105  RIGHT TO HEARING ON DENIAL OF REVIEW 

REQUEST  (1)  When a review is denied under ARM 37.62.2103, the 
parents shall each have parent requesting the review has the 
right to request a hearing on whether the review was properly 
denied.  The request for hearing shall be made to the CSED 
office of the administrative law judge, and must be received 
within 30 10 days after service of a notice concerning denying 
the review request upon the parent requesting a hearing.  The 
hearing shall be conducted in the same manner as a hearing under 
ARM 37.62.2119. 

(2)  The hearing shall be conducted in accordance with CSED 
rules at ARM 37.62.901, et seq., except that the hearing is not 
a contested case hearing, and therefore no judicial review is 
available.  The scope of the hearing is limited to the CSED's 
decision rejecting the review request, and the order of the 
administrative law judge is not subject to ARM 37.62.949 
regarding proposed orders. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 40-5-202, MCA 
IMP:   Sec. 40-5-202, MCA 
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37.62.2107  PROCEDURE FOR TERMINATING REVIEW OR 
MODIFICATION AFTER CLOSURE OF IV-D CASE  (1)  If a IV-D case is 
closed while a review application or review request modification 
action is pending, the CSED will mail notice to the other party 
who did not open the IV-D case and offer that party offering the 
opportunity to apply for support enforcement services. 

(2)  If a new IV-D referral or an application for support 
enforcement services is not received by the CSED within 20 
calendar days of the date the notice was received by the party, 
the review modification notice will be dismissed or the review 
request application denied. 

(3)  If a new IV-D referral or an application for support 
enforcement services is received by the CSED within 20 calendar 
days of the date the notice was received by the party, the 
review action will continue from the point at which the IV-D 
case was closed. 

(4)  No additional or duplicate fees for performing the 
administrative review and modification will be charged in a case 
re-opened under this section rule. 

(5)  This section rule does not apply when closure is the 
result of a good cause determination by the appropriate agency 
under 42 CFR 433.147 or 45 CFR 232.40 through 232.49 that 
support enforcement may not proceed without risk of harm to the 
child or caretaker relative. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 40-5-202, MCA 
IMP:   Sec. 40-5-202, MCA 

 
37.62.2111  TIME FRAME DETERMINATIONS  (1)  For purposes of 

determining time frames in reviews and modifications conducted 
under this subchapter, the following provisions apply: 

(a)  a request for review is received when the CSED review 
and modification unit has sufficient information to determine if 
review is available under ARM 37.62.2103; or 

(b)  the CSED shall take no action on a review or 
modification while the procedures under ARM 37.62.2107 are being 
performed.  The time provided for the performance of procedures 
under ARM 37.62.2107 shall not be counted in any determination 
of time frames;. 

(c)  a review is complete when the department's proposed 
modification is issued under ARM 37.62.2115, or upon the 
agreement of the parties to the proper amount of support under 
the child support guidelines; or 

(d)  a modification is complete when the hearing officer's 
order is entered under ARM 37.62.2119, or an order is entered by 
the CSED upon the agreement of the parties. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 40-5-202, MCA 
IMP:   Sec. 40-5-202, MCA 

 
37.62.2113  REQUESTS FOR DISCOVERY  (1)  Requests for 

discovery by parents parties in administrative review and 
modification cases must be received in the CSED office of the 
administrative law judge on or before the 10th day after service 
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of a review notice of review of child support order and order to 
produce financial information upon the parent party requesting 
discovery.  The CSED may request discovery by including a 
discovery order within its notice of proposed modification. 

(2)  Requests for discovery by the CSED must be received in 
the CSED office of the administrative law judge on or before the 
10th day prior to the settlement conference. 

(3) (2)  Requests for discovery may be denied for 
untimeliness or for other good and reasonable cause. 

(3)  Except as otherwise provided in these rules or the 
authorizing statutes, discovery shall be conducted as provided 
in ARM Title 37, chapter 62, part 9. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 40-5-202, MCA 
IMP:   Sec. 40-5-202, and 40-5-273, MCA 

 
37.62.2117  NEGLIGIBLE CHANGE  (1)  If the difference 

between the existing total monthly support order and the 
proposed adjustment support obligation is less than $25.00 per 
month 15%, the change may be considered negligible and the child 
support provisions of the existing support order need not be 
modified. 

(2)  Provisions in the existing order for the medical needs 
of the child may be modified even if the change in the child 
support amount is negligible.  Where an existing support order 
does not contain a provision for the medical needs of the child, 
the order may be modified to include a medical support order 
even if the change in the child support amount is negligible. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 40-5-202, MCA 
IMP:   Sec. 40-5-202, MCA 

 
37.62.2119  MODIFICATION HEARING  (1)  A party aggrieved by 

the determination of the CSED at the settlement conference may 
request a hearing on the proposed modification notice of 
administrative review. 

(2)  The request for hearing must be received in the office 
of the administrative law judge within 30 20 days after the 
notice of proposed modification administrative review is 
received by the party requesting a hearing. 

(3)  The record at the modification hearing shall consist 
of the record of the settlement conference, and the testimony, 
exhibits or arguments presented at the time of the modification 
hearing.  If no party timely requests a hearing, the 
administrative law judge may enter an order adopting the terms 
and provisions proposed in the notice, including the child 
support amount and the imposition or modification of a medical 
support order. 

(4)  After the modification hearing, the hearing officer 
administrative law judge shall enter an order: in accordance 
with 40-5-277, MCA. 

(a)  adopting the findings of fact and conclusions of law 
and ordering modification of the support obligation in 
accordance with the CSED's proposed modification; 
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(b)  changing all or any part of the CSED's findings of 
fact, conclusions of law, Montana child support guidelines 
calculations or determinations on variances from the guidelines 
and ordering modification of the support obligation accordingly; 

(c)  rejecting the CSED's findings, conclusions, 
calculations and variances in whole or in part, making new 
findings of fact and conclusions of law and ordering 
modification of the support obligation accordingly; or 

(d)  remanding the matter to the CSED with instructions for 
further review investigation or settlement conference. 

(5)  The hearing officer's determination after a 
modification hearing constitutes a final agency decision subject 
to judicial review under Title 2, chapter 4, part 6, MCA.  The 
order shall be effective the first day of the month following 
the issuance of the notice of proposed modification.  If the 
modification result is a lowered child support obligation, all 
payments received during the pendency of the modification action 
shall be credited against the new obligation, and amounts 
exceeding the modified obligation shall be applied first to 
outstanding arrearages, fees, and fines.  Any amount remaining 
after such credits shall be applied to future child support by 
reducing the amount of child support collected under the new 
order for no more than six months, or before the order 
terminates, whichever comes first.  Parties may agree to an 
alternate schedule.  No refunds shall be available from the 
CSED. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 40-5-202, MCA 
IMP:   Sec. 40-5-202, 40-5-272, and 40-5-273, MCA 

 
37.62.2121  ADDITIONAL HEARING PROCEDURES  (1)  To the 

extent they are not inconsistent with the provisions of this 
subchapter, the overall hearing procedures set forth in 
subchapter 6 of this chapter are applicable to settlement 
conferences and modification administrative hearings under this 
subchapter. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 40-5-202, MCA 
IMP:   Sec. 40-5-273, MCA 

 
3. The rule 37.62.2115 as proposed to be repealed is on 

page 37-14063 of the Administrative Rules of Montana. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 40-5-202, MCA 
IMP:   Sec. 40-5-202, MCA 

 
4. The proposed amendments of ARM Title 37, chapter 62, 

subchapter 21, "Modification of Support Orders", are necessary 
in order to allow parents to modify their child support or 
medical support orders within the administrative process as 
directed by 40-5-271 through 40-5-277, MCA.  The proposed rules 
describe the circumstances when a child support order can be 
reviewed and modified, when the review or modification can be 
terminated, and makes provisions for administrative hearings and 
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requests for discovery by parties if needed.    
 
Montana's IV-D Child Support Program is required to provide 
review and modification services to case participants.  The time 
frame allowed by the federal guidelines under 45 CFR 303.8(e) 
(1999) is that a review must be conducted within 180 calendar 
days of receiving a request for review, or locating the 
nonrequesting parent, whichever occurs later. 
 
When providing review and modification services, state child 
support programs are deemed to be in compliance when a level of 
at least 75% of child support orders are reviewed and modified 
as appropriate within 180 days.  Only once in the past five 
internal audits (Federal Fiscal Year 2000) has this level of 
proficiency been attained. 
 
While failing to meet federal compliance standards is a serious 
concern, there is an important human element to consider also.  
The longer it takes for a review and modification to be 
completed, the more frustration it causes the party requesting a 
review.  The proposed amendments of ARM Title 37, chapter 62, 
subchapter 21, should increase compliance with the 180 day time 
frame and reduce participants' frustration by reducing the time 
needed to complete a review and modification of support orders. 
 
Specific proposed amendments to ARM Title 37, chapter 62 
subchapter 21 are: 
 
ARM 37.62.2101 
 
Amendments are necessary because of amendments made to 40-5-272 
and 40-5-273, MCA during the 2005 Montana Legislative Session 
and to remove unnecessary or redundant language. 
 
ARM 37.62.2103 
 
Amendments are necessary to define "substantial change in 
circumstances" as required by 40-5-272(4)(a), MCA.  
Additionally, changes are necessary to harmonize the rule with 
40-5-272 and 40-5-277, MCA, and to remove unnecessary or 
redundant language. 
 
ARM 37.62.2105 
 
Amendments are necessary in order to make the rule consistent 
with other administrative rules, specifically ARM Title 37, 
chapter 62, subchapter 9 and CSED policy.  Additional changes 
are necessary to remove unnecessary or redundant language. 
 
ARM 37.62.2107 
 
Amendments are necessary to make the language of the rule 
consistent with other administrative rules and harmonize the 
rule with amendments made to 40-5-272(5), MCA and CSED policy. 
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ARM 37.62.2111 
 
Amendments are necessary to make the language of the rule 
consistent with other administrative rules and CSED policy, and 
remove unnecessary or redundant language, and to provide 
consistency with state law. 
 
ARM 37.62.2113 
 
Amendments are necessary in order to make the rule consistent 
with other administrative rules, specifically ARM Title 37, 
chapter 62, subchapter 9 and CSED policy.  Additional changes 
are necessary to remove unnecessary or redundant language. 
 
ARM 37.62.2115 
 
The repeal of this rule is necessary as it is no longer 
consistent with the provisions of 40-5-272 through 40-5-277, 
MCA. 
 
ARM 37.62.2117 
 
Amendments to this rule are necessary to define "negligible 
change" and to allow administrative modification if the 
provisions of the medical support order are inconsistent with 
Title 40, chapter 5,  part 8, MCA. 
 
ARM 37.62.2119 
 
Amendments to this rule are necessary to make the language of 
the rule consistent with other administrative rules and 
harmonize the rule with amendments made to 40-5-277, MCA and 
CSED policy.  Additional changes are necessary to remove 
unnecessary or redundant language. 
 
ARM 37.62.2121 
 
Amendments are necessary in order to make the rule consistent 
with other administrative rules and to reflect the repeal of 40-
5-276, MCA. 
 
The proposed changes are necessary because the current rules 
pertaining to the administrative modification of child support 
orders are outdated and have procedures no longer required as 
reflected in amendments to 40-5-271 through 40-5-277, MCA. 
 
Because of the changes made to the modification statutes in the 
last legislative session, there were no other viable 
alternatives to modifying subchapter 21 of ARM Title 37, chapter 
62. 
 
The number of persons affected by the changes to these rules is 
difficult to quantify. However, any party or parent seeking 
modification of their current child support order will be 
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positively affected.  In Federal Fiscal Year 2004 the Child 
Support Enforcement Division received 1175 requests for review 
of child support orders affecting 2,350 parents and their 
children. 
 
The cumulative amount for all persons of proposed increase, 
decrease, or new amount is not applicable to these rule changes 
as it is not possible to quantify it. 
 

5. Interested persons may submit their data, views or 
arguments either orally or in writing at the hearing.  Written 
data, views or arguments may also be submitted to Dawn Sliva, 
Office of Legal Affairs, Department of Public Health and Human 
Services, P.O. Box 4210, Helena, MT 59604-4210, no later than 
5:00 p.m. on January 19, 2006.  Data, views or arguments may 
also be submitted by facsimile to (406)444-1970 or by electronic 
mail via the Internet to dphhslegal@mt.gov.  The Department also 
maintains lists of persons interested in receiving notice of 
administrative rule changes.  These lists are compiled according 
to subjects or programs of interest.  For placement on the 
mailing list, please write the person at the address above. 
 

6. The Office of Legal Affairs, Department of Public 
Health and Human Services has been designated to preside over 
and conduct the hearing. 
 
 
 
  Dawn Sliva       Joan Miles    
Rule Reviewer     Director, Public Health and 

Human Services 
 
Certified to the Secretary of State November 28, 2005. 
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 BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC 
 HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES OF THE 
 STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the adoption 
of Rules I through V 
pertaining to Medicare Part D 
Low Income Subsidies 

 ) 
) 
) 
) 

 NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING 
ON PROPOSED ADOPTION 

     
TO: All Interested Persons 

 
1. On January 11, 2006, at 3:00 p.m., a public hearing 

will be held in the auditorium of the Department of Public 
Health and Human Services Building, 111 N. Sanders, Helena, 
Montana to consider the proposed adoption of the above-stated 
rules. 
 

The Department of Public Health and Human Services will 
make reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities who 
need an alternative accessible format of this notice or provide 
reasonable accommodations at the public hearing site.  If you 
need to request an accommodation, contact the department no 
later than 5:00 p.m. on January 3, 2006, to advise us of the 
nature of the accommodation that you need.  Please contact Dawn 
Sliva, Office of Legal Affairs, Department of Public Health and 
Human Services, P.O. Box 4210, Helena, MT 59604-4210; telephone 
(406)444-5622; FAX (406)444-1970; Email dphhslegal@mt.gov. 
 

2. The rules as proposed to be adopted provide as 
follows: 
 

RULE I  APPLICATION FOR MEDICARE PART D LOW INCOME PREMIUM 
AND COST SHARING SUBSIDIES (LIS)  (1)  There is a federal 
program known as extra help that provides low income subsidies 
(LIS) to qualified persons to pay medicare Part D prescription 
drug plan premiums and cost sharing. 

(2)  An individual who wishes to apply for LIS may do so 
using either a federal or a state LIS application.  State 
offices of public assistance (OPA) must provide information on 
the LIS and its eligibility requirements and must provide 
assistance with completion of LIS application forms, both state 
and federal, when requested to do so. 

(3)  An individual may file an application for LIS by 
submitting an application to any state OPA or at a federal 
social security administration (SSA) office.   
 

AUTH:  Sec. 53-2-201, MCA 
IMP:   Sec. 53-2-201, MCA 

 
RULE II  PROCESSING OF APPLICATIONS FOR LIS  (1)  If an 

individual submits an application on the federal form SSA-1020, 
the OPA will forward the form SSA-1020 to the SSA for 
processing.  

(2)  If an individual specifically requests that the state 
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rather than SSA process the individual's application for LIS, 
the OPA will give the individual a state application and the 
department will process the completed application. 

(3)  When processing an application that is submitted on 
the state form: 

(a)  The department will determine eligibility using the 
criteria contained in the regulation governing eligibility for 
low income subsidies at 42 CFR 423.773 (January 28, 2005), which 
is adopted and incorporated by reference, and using the income 
and resource criteria contained in the supplemental security 
income (SSI) regulations at 20 CFR, Part 416, subparts K and L, 
(November 1, 2005), which are adopted and incorporated by 
reference.  Copies of 42 CFR 423.773 and 20 CFR, Part 416, 
subparts K and L, may be obtained from the Department of Public 
Health and Human Services, Human and Community Services 
Division, 1400 Broadway, P.O. Box 202952, Helena, MT 59620-2952. 

(b)  The department will comply with the procedural 
requirements, including but not limited to the requirements for 
verification, documentation, and notice, applicable to a 
medicaid application as set forth in the department's SSI 
Medicaid Manual, also known as the Aged Blind Disabled Medicaid 
Manual, as incorporated by reference in ARM 37.82.101. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 53-2-201, MCA 
IMP:   Sec. 53-2-201, MCA 

 
RULE III  EFFECTIVE DATE OF ELIGIBILITY FOR LIS  (1)  When 

an individual files an application on the state form and is 
found eligible for a subsidy, the effective date of eligibility 
will be determined as follows: 

(a)  Eligibility for a month will not be granted unless the 
applicant meets all eligibility requirements on the first moment 
of the first day of that month.  Thus, eligibility begins on the 
first day of the month of application if the applicant meets all 
eligibility requirements as of the first moment of the first day 
of that month.  If the applicant does not meet all eligibility 
requirements as of the first moment of the first day of the 
month of application, but meets all eligibility requirements at 
some later time during that month, eligibility will begin on the 
first day of the month immediately after the month of 
application. 

(b)  If the applicant does not meet all eligibility 
requirements at any time during the month of application, but 
meets all eligibility requirements in a subsequent month before 
the application is denied, eligibility will begin on the first 
day of the first month in which the applicant met all 
eligibility requirements as of the first moment of the first day 
of the month. 

(c)  There is no retroactive coverage for LIS.  An 
applicant is not eligible for any month prior to the month of 
application even if the applicant met all eligibility 
requirements in a prior month. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 53-2-201, MCA 
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IMP:   Sec. 53-2-201, MCA 
 

RULE IV  REDETERMINATIONS OF ELIGIBILITY FOR LIS  (1)  When 
an individual submits an application on a state form and is 
found eligible for a subsidy, eligibility shall remain in effect 
for no more than one year. 

(2)  The department will conduct periodic redeterminations 
of the individual's eligibility in accordance with the 
requirements for redetermination of medicaid eligibility 
prescribed in the department's SSI Medicaid Manual. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 53-2-201, MCA 
IMP:   Sec. 53-2-201, MCA 

 
RULE V  APPEAL PROCESS FOR LIS APPLICATIONS  (1)  When an 

individual submits an application on a state form and disagrees 
with the department's decision as to the individual's 
eligibility for a subsidy or the amount of the subsidy, the 
individual shall be entitled to a hearing to the same extent as 
provided to medicaid applicants and recipients in ARM 37.5.103. 
  

AUTH:  Sec. 53-2-201, MCA 
IMP:   Sec. 53-2-201, MCA 

 
3. The Medicare Prescription Drug Improvement and 

Modernization Act of 2003 (the MMA) added prescription drug 
coverage to the Medicare program effective January 1, 2006.  All 
Medicare beneficiaries will be able to enroll in a prescription 
drug plan.  The Medicare beneficiary will pay a premium for drug 
coverage that will be approximately $35 per month depending on 
the prescription drug plan chosen.  Medicaid will pay the 
Medicare Part D premium for individuals who are eligible for 
both Medicaid and Medicare. 
 
Additionally, the federal government has a program known as 
Extra Help to provide a low income subsidy (LIS) to Medicare 
beneficiaries with limited income and resources who do not 
qualify for Medicaid.  The low income subsidy provides 
assistance with the Part D premium, deductible, and copayments. 
To qualify for Extra Help an individual must have countable 
income below 150% of the federal poverty level and countable 
resources below $11,500 for one person and below $23,000 for a 
couple.  
 
Although the Medicare Part D low income subsidy is 100% 
federally funded, the federal regulations implementing LIS at 42 
CFR 423.771, et seq., require states as well as the Social 
Security Administration to accept and process applications for 
LIS.  42 CFR 423.904 provides that the states must have a state 
LIS application in addition to the federal application form and 
that the states must accept both federal and state applications 
for LIS.  42 CFR 423.774 provides that the state must process 
the LIS application if the applicant requests that the state 
rather than the SSA do so.  42 CFR 423.774 and 42 CFR 423.904 
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require states to conduct periodic redeterminations of 
eligibility in cases where the state makes the initial 
eligibility determination.  42 CFR 423.774 also provides that 
the state must have an appeal process for LIS determinations 
made by the state which is conducted in the same manner as 
appeals for Medicaid applicants and recipients. 
 
The adoption of Rules I through V is necessary to implement the 
provisions of the MMA, and to set forth the requirements and 
provisions of the program for members of the public who may be 
eligible to receive the benefits of this program, so that they 
may readily understand the procedures involved and the 
eligibility requirements.  Rule I provides that a LIS 
application can be submitted in any state office of public 
assistance.  Rule II specifies the procedures to be followed in 
processing applications depending on whether the application is 
submitted on a federal or state form. 
 
Rule III specifies the effective date for coverage, which is 
based on the SSI regulation that provides for coverage beginning 
on the first day of the month in which the applicant meets all 
eligibility criteria as of the first moment of the first day of 
the month.  Rule III provides that there is no retroactive 
coverage for months prior to the month of application, because 
the LIS regulations do not provide for retroactive coverage.  
This is contrary to the Medicaid policy, which provides for 
retroactive coverage of up to three months prior to the month of 
application.   
 
Rule IV provides for redeterminations of eligibility at least 
annually.   
 
Rule V provides that an applicant who disagrees with the 
Department's decision on eligibility for the subsidy or the 
amount of the subsidy is entitled to the same appeal rights 
granted to Medicaid applicants and recipients in ARM 37.5.103.  
 
SSA has mailed 75,544 applications for Extra Help/LIS to Montana 
residents who are potentially eligible for this new program.  
The monthly subsidy amount is $33.11.  Thus, if all 75,544 
persons applied and qualified for a subsidy, the cost of the 
subsidies for a year would be $30,015,142.08.  Fewer than 13,000 
applications have been returned to SSA at this time, however, 
and no applications have been submitted to the Department for 
processing.  It is probable that all of the persons who received 
applications will not return the applications and/or will not 
qualify for the subsidy, so the total cost will likely be less 
than $30,015,142.08 per year.  The subsidies are funded 100% 
with federal money.  No state General Fund dollars will be used 
to pay for the subsidies.  
 

4. Interested persons may submit their data, views or 
arguments either orally or in writing at the hearing.  Written 
data, views or arguments may also be submitted to Dawn Sliva, 
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Office of Legal Affairs, Department of Public Health and Human 
Services, P.O. Box 4210, Helena, MT 59604-4210, no later than 
5:00 p.m. on January 19, 2006.  Data, views or arguments may 
also be submitted by facsimile to (406)444-1970 or by electronic 
mail via the Internet to dphhslegal@mt.gov.  The Department also 
maintains lists of persons interested in receiving notice of 
administrative rule changes.  These lists are compiled according 
to subjects or programs of interest.  For placement on the 
mailing list, please write the person at the address above. 
 

5. The Office of Legal Affairs, Department of Public 
Health and Human Services has been designated to preside over 
and conduct the hearing. 
 
 
 
  Dawn Sliva       Joan Miles    
Rule Reviewer     Director, Public Health and 

Human Services 
 
Certified to the Secretary of State November 28, 2005. 
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 BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC 
 HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES OF THE 
 STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the adoption 
of Rule I through XV and the 
amendment of ARM 37.106.1946 
pertaining to outpatient 
crisis response facilities 

 ) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

 NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING 
ON PROPOSED ADOPTION AND 
AMENDMENT 

     
TO: All Interested Persons 

 
1. On January 4, 2006, at 2:30 p.m., a public hearing 

will be held in the auditorium of the Department of Public 
Health and Human Services Building, 111 N. Sanders, Helena, 
Montana to consider the proposed adoption and amendment of the 
above-stated rules. 
 

The Department of Public Health and Human Services will 
make reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities who 
need an alternative accessible format of this notice or provide 
reasonable accommodations at the public hearing site.  If you 
need to request an accommodation, contact the department no 
later than 5:00 p.m. on December 27, 2005, to advise us of the 
nature of the accommodation that you need.  Please contact Dawn 
Sliva, Office of Legal Affairs, Department of Public Health and 
Human Services, P.O. Box 4210, Helena, MT 59604-4210; telephone 
(406)444-5622; FAX (406)444-1970; Email dphhslegal@mt.gov. 
 

2. The rules as proposed to be adopted provide as 
follows: 
 

RULE I  OUTPATIENT CRISIS RESPONSE FACILITY:  APPLICATION 
OF OTHER RULES  (1)  To the extent that other licensure rules in 
ARM Title 37, chapter 106, subchapter 3, conflict with the terms 
of this subchapter, the terms of this subchapter will apply to 
outpatient crisis response facilities.  
 

AUTH:  Sec. 50-5-103, MCA 
IMP:   Sec. 50-5-103, MCA 

 
RULE II  OUTPATIENT CRISIS RESPONSE FACILITY:  DEFINITIONS 
In addition to the definitions in 50-5-101, MCA, the 

following definitions apply to this subchapter: 
(1)  "Inpatient crisis stabilization program" means 24-hour 

supervised treatment for adults with a mental illness for the 
purpose of stabilizing the individual's symptoms. 

(2)  "Outpatient crisis response facility" means an 
outpatient facility operated by a licensed hospital or a 
licensed mental health center that provides evaluation, 
assessment, intervention and referral for individuals 
experiencing a crisis due to serious mental illness or a serious 
mental illness with a co-occurring substance use disorder.  The 
facility may not provide services to a client for more than 23 
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hours and 59 minutes from the time the client arrives at the 
facility.  The facility must discharge or transfer the client to 
the appropriate level of care. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 50-5-103, MCA 
IMP:   Sec. 50-5-103, MCA 

 
RULE III  OUTPATIENT CRISIS RESPONSE FACILITY:  SERVICES 

AND LICENSURE  (1)  Each applicant for licensure shall submit a 
license application to the department requesting approval to 
provide outpatient crisis services. 

(a)  A licensed hospital does not have to comply with the 
requirements found at ARM 37.106.1906(3) to provide outpatient 
crisis response services.  

(2)  Services provided by an outpatient crisis response 
facility must be rendered by: 

(a)  a single administration in a discrete physical 
facility or multiple facilities; or 

(b)  written agreement or contract with: 
(i)  licensed health care professionals; 
(ii)  licensed mental health professionals; or 
(iii)  other facilities such as hospital, clinics, or 

educational institutions which may combine to provide crisis 
services. 

(3)  Outpatient crisis response facility services must be 
available to clients continuously throughout the year. 

(4)  An outpatient crisis response facility must report to 
the department, in writing, any of the following changes within 
at least 30 days before the planned effective date of the 
change: 

(a)  a change of administrator; 
(b)  a change of medical director; 
(c)  any change in administrative location or service 

location; 
(d)  a change in the name of the agency; or 
(e)  the discontinuation of services.  

 
AUTH:  Sec. 50-5-103, MCA 
IMP:   Sec. 50-5-103, 50-5-201, and 50-5-203, MCA  

 
RULE IV  OUTPATIENT CRISIS RESPONSE FACILITY: 

ORGANIZATIONAL STRUCTURE  (1)  Each crisis response facility 
shall employ or contract with an administrator who shall: 

(a)  maintain daily overall responsibility for the crisis 
response facility's operations; 

(b)  develop and oversee the implementation of policies and 
procedures pertaining to the operation and services of the 
crisis response facility;  

(c)  establish written orientation and training procedures 
for all employees including new employees, relief workers, 
temporary employees, students, interns, volunteers, and 
trainees.  The training must include orientation on all the 
crisis response facility's policies and procedures; 

(d)  develop an organizational chart that accurately 
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reflects the current lines of administration and authority; and 
(e)  maintain a file for all client incident reports. 
(2)  Each outpatient crisis response facility shall employ 

or contract with a medical director who shall: 
(a)  coordinate with and advise the staff of the outpatient 

crisis response facility on clinical matters; 
(b)  provide direction, consultation, and training 

regarding the outpatient crisis response facility's programs and 
operations as needed; 

(c)  act as a liaison for the outpatient crisis response 
facility with community physicians, hospital staff, and other 
professionals and agencies with regard to psychiatric or 
hospital services; and 

(d)  ensure the quality of treatment and related services 
through participation in the outpatient crisis response 
facility's quality assurance process.  

(3)  Each outpatient crisis response facility shall employ 
or contract with a program supervisor who is a licensed mental 
health professional knowledgeable about the service and support 
needs of individuals with co-occurring mental illness and 
intoxication/addiction disorders who may be experiencing a 
crisis.  The program supervisor must be site based. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 50-5-103, MCA 
IMP:   Sec. 50-5-103, MCA 

 
RULE V  OUTPATIENT CRISIS RESPONSE FACILITY:  STAFFING AND 

OPERATIONS  (1)  In addition to the requirements established in 
this subchapter, each outpatient crisis response facility shall 
comply with the requirements established in this rule.  The 
outpatient crisis response facility shall require staff working 
in the facility: 

(a)  to be at least 18 years of age; 
(b)  possess a high school diploma or GED; and 
(c)  be capable of implementing each client's crisis 

facility treatment plan. 
(2)  The facility must ensure the program supervisor and 

all staff each have a minimum of six contact hours of annual 
training relating to the service and support needs of 
individuals with mental illness experiencing a crisis. 

(3)  The facility must orient direct care staff, prior to 
their contact with clients, on the following: 

(a)  the types of mental illness and treatment approaches; 
(b)  alcohol and drug intoxication treatment approaches; 
(c)  dependence and addiction treatment approaches; 
(d)  suicide risk assessment and prevention procedures; and  
(e)  program policies and procedures, including emergency 

procedures. 
(4)  The facility must orient staff within four weeks of 

employment on the following: 
(a)  therapeutic communications; 
(b)  legal responsibilities of mental health service 

providers; 
(c)  mental health and substance abuse laws of Montana 
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relating to the rights of consumers; 
(d)  other services provided by mental health centers and 

substance abuse providers; and 
(e)  infection control and prevention of transmission of 

blood borne pathogens. 
(5)  The facility must annually train staff in the 

abdominal thrust maneuver and ensure staff maintain current 
certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR). 

(6)  The facility must maintain 24-hour awake staff. 
(7)  The facility must maintain staff-to-patient ratio 

dictated by client need. 
(8)  The facility must establish admission criteria that 

assess the individual client's needs and the appropriateness of 
the services to meet those needs.  At a minimum, admission 
criteria must require that the client: 

(a)  be at least 18 years of age; 
(b)  be medically stable, with the exception of the 

person's mental illness or serious mental illness with a co-
occurring substance use disorder; and 

(c)  be in need of frequent observation on an ongoing 
basis. 

(9)  The facility must provide each client upon admission, 
or as soon as possible if not clinically appropriate upon 
admission with: 

(a)  a written statement of client rights which, at a 
minimum, includes the applicable patient rights in 53-21-142, 
MCA; 

(b)  a copy of the crisis response facility grievance 
procedure; and 

(c)  the written rules of conduct including the 
consequences for violating the rules. 

(10)  The facility must ensure inpatient care is available 
through a transfer agreement for clients in need of a higher 
level of care. 

(11)  The facility must maintain progress notes for each 
client.  The progress notes must be entered following the 
clinical intake assessment and updated in a timely manner into 
the client's clinical record.  The progress notes must describe 
the client's physical condition, mental status, and involvement 
in treatment services. 

(12)  The facility must make referrals for services that 
would help prevent or diminish future crises at the time of the 
client's discharge.  Referrals include, but are not limited to, 
additional treatment or training or assistance such as securing 
housing. 

(13)  The program supervisor and program staff must be 
trained in the therapeutic de-escalation of crisis situations to 
ensure the protection and safety of clients and staff.  The 
training must: 

(a)  include the use of physical and nonphysical methods of 
managing clients; and 

(b)  be updated at least annually to ensure that necessary 
skills are maintained. 
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AUTH:  Sec. 50-50-103, MCA 
IMP:   Sec. 50-5-103, MCA 

 
RULE VI  OUTPATIENT CRISIS RESPONSE FACILITY:  POLICIES AND 

PROCEDURES  (1)  Each outpatient crisis response facility shall 
maintain a policy and procedure manual.  The manual must be 
reviewed and approved, at least annually, by the medical 
director and administrator.  The manual must, at a minimum, 
contain policies and procedures for: 

(a)  defining the responsibilities, limitations, and 
supervision of students, interns, and volunteers working for the 
crisis response facility; 

(b)  verifying each professional staff member's 
credentials, when hired, and annually thereafter, to ensure the 
continued validity of required licenses; 

(c)  client complaints and grievances, to include an 
opportunity for appeal, and to inform clients of the 
availability of advocacy organizations to assist them; 

(d)  completing a medical screening and determining methods 
for medical stabilization and criteria for transfer to 
appropriate level of medical care that may include emergency 
care in a hospital; 

(e)  interacting with clients considered to be at risk for 
harming themselves or others who attempt to leave the facility 
without discharge authorization from the licensed mental health 
professional responsible for their treatment; 

(f)  increasing or decreasing staff coverage as indicated 
by client need; 

(g)  identifying client rights, including a procedure for 
informing clients of their rights; 

(h)  addressing and reviewing ethical issues faced by staff 
and reporting allegations of ethics violations to the applicable 
professional licensing authority; 

(i)  informing clients of the policy and procedures for 
client complaints and grievances; 

(j)  initiating services to clients; 
(k)  informing clients of rules governing their conduct and 

the types of infractions that can result in suspension or 
discontinuation of services offered by the crisis response 
facility; 

(l)  suspending or discontinuing program services with the 
following information to be provided to the client: 

(i)  the reason for suspending or discontinuing services or 
access to programs; 

(ii)  the conditions that must be met to resume services or 
access to programs; 

(iii)  the grievance procedure that may be used to appeal 
the suspension or discontinuation; and 

(iv)  what services, if any, will be continued to be 
provided even though participation in a particular service or 
program may be suspended or discontinued. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 50-5-103, MCA 
IMP:   Sec. 50-5-103, MCA 
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RULE VII  OUTPATIENT CRISIS RESPONSE FACILITY:  CLINICAL 
RECORDS  (1)  Each crisis response facility shall collect 
assessment data and maintain clinical records on all clients who 
receive services.  

(2)  Each facility must ensure the confidentiality of 
clinical records in accordance with the Uniform Health Care 
Information Act, Title 50, chapter 16, part 5, MCA.  

(3)  At a minimum, the clinical record must include: 
(a)  a clinical intake assessment; 
(b)  additional assessments or evaluations, if clinically 

indicated; 
(c)  a copy of the client's individualized crisis treatment 

plan and all modifications to the crisis treatment plan; 
(d)  progress notes which indicate whether or not the 

stated treatment plan has been implemented, and the degree to 
which the client is progressing, or failing to progress, toward 
stated treatment objectives; 

(e)  medication orders from the prescribing physician and 
documentation of the administration of all medications; 

(f)  signed orders by a licensed mental health professional 
for any restrictions of rights; and, privileges accorded clients 
of the crisis response facility including the reasons for the 
restriction; and 

(g)  a discharge summary which must be completed within one 
week of the date of discharge. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 50-5-103, MCA 
IMP:   Sec. 50-5-103, MCA 

 
RULE VIII  OUTPATIENT CRISIS RESPONSE FACILITY:  CLIENT 

ASSESSMENTS  (1)  Each outpatient crisis response facility shall 
employ or contract with licensed mental health professionals to 
conduct clinical intake assessments which may be abbreviated 
assessments focusing on the crisis issues and safety.  

(a)  Abbreviated intake assessments must be conducted by a 
licensed mental health professional trained in clinical 
assessments including chemical dependency screening.  The 
clinical intake assessment must include sufficient detail to 
individualize crisis plan goals and objectives.  

(2)  Based on the client's clinical needs, each crisis 
response facility will refer any necessary additional 
assessments to appropriate and qualified providers.  Additional 
assessments may include, but are not limited to, physical, 
psychological, emotional, behavioral, psychosocial, 
recreational, vocational, psychiatric, and chemical dependency 
evaluations. 

(3)  Each crisis response facility shall maintain a current 
list of providers who accept referrals for assessments and 
services not provided by the facility. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 50-5-103, MCA  
IMP:   Sec. 50-5-103, MCA 

 
RULE IX  OUTPATIENT CRISIS RESPONSE FACILITY:  CLIENT 
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DISCHARGE  (1)  Each outpatient crisis response facility shall 
prepare a discharge summary for each client no longer receiving 
services. The discharge summary must include: 

(a)  the reason for discharge; 
(b)  a summary of the services provided by the crisis 

response facility including recommendations for aftercare 
services and referrals to other services, if applicable; 

(c)  an evaluation of the client's progress as measured by 
the treatment plan and the impact of the services provided by 
the facility; and 

(d)  the signature of the staff member who prepared the 
report and the date of preparation.  

(2)  Discharge summary reports must be filed in the 
clinical record within one week of the date of the client's 
formal discharge from services. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 50-5-103, MCA 
IMP:   Sec. 50-5-103, MCA 

 
RULE X  OUTPATIENT CRISIS RESPONSE FACILITY:  PERSONNEL 

RECORDS  (1)  For each employee or contracted individual, the 
outpatient crisis response facility shall maintain the following 
information on file:  

(a)  a current job description;  
(b)  if a licensed mental health professional, 

documentation of current licensure and certification; and 
(c)  dated documentation of the individual's involvement in 

orientation, training, and continuing education activities.  
 

AUTH:  Sec. 50-5-103, MCA 
IMP:   Sec. 50-5-103, MCA 

 
RULE XI  OUTPATIENT CRISIS RESPONSE FACILITY:  QUALITY 

ASSESSMENT  (1)  Each outpatient crisis response facility shall 
implement and maintain an active quality assessment program 
using information collected to make improvements in the 
facility's policies, procedures and services.  At a minimum, the 
program must include procedures for: 

(a)  conducting client satisfaction surveys, at least 
annually; 

(b)  maintaining records on the occurrence, duration, and 
frequency of seclusion and physical restraints used; and 

(c)  reviewing, on an ongoing basis, incident reports,  
grievances, complaints, medication errors, and the use of 
seclusion and/or physical restraint with special attention given 
to identifying patterns and making necessary changes in how 
services are provided. 

(2)  Each crisis response facility shall prepare and 
maintain on file an annual report of improvements made as a 
result of the quality assessment program. 
 

AUTH:  Sec. 50-5-103, MCA 
IMP:   Sec. 50-5-103, MCA 
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RULE XII  OUTPATIENT CRISIS RESPONSE FACILITY:  COMPLIANCE 
WITH BUILDING AND FIRE CODES, FIRE EXTINGUISHERS, SMOKE 
DETECTORS, AND MAINTENANCE  (1)  Each outpatient crisis response 
facility shall ensure that its facilities, buildings, and homes: 

(a)  meet all applicable state and local building and fire 
codes.  The facility must be annually inspected for compliance 
with fire codes by the state fire marshal or the marshal's 
designee, and the facility shall maintain a record of such 
inspection for at least one year following the date of the 
inspection; 

(b)  have a workable portable fire extinguisher on each 
floor, with a minimum rating of 2A10BC.  Extinguishers must be 
readily accessible at all times; 

(c)  have a properly maintained and monthly tested smoke 
detector, approved by a recognized testing laboratory, on each 
floor of the facility; and 

(d)  have building exits which must be unobstructed and 
clearly marked. 

(2)  Each facility shall ensure its facilities, buildings, 
homes, equipment, and grounds are clean and maintained in good 
repair at all times for the safety and well being of its 
clients, staff, and visitors.  
 

AUTH:  Sec. 50-5-103, MCA 
IMP:   Sec. 50-5-103, MCA 

 
RULE XIII  OUTPATIENT CRISIS RESPONSE FACILITY:  PHYSICAL 

ENVIRONMENT  (1)  Each outpatient crisis response facility must 
ensure that no more than four clients reside in a single 
treatment room.  Each treatment room must contain at least 80 
square feet per client, exclusive of toilet rooms, closets, 
lockers, wardrobes, alcoves, or vestibules.  Each center must 
further provide: 

(a)  one toilet for every four clients; 
(b)  a hand washing sink in each toilet room; 
(c)  one bathing facility for every 12 clients; and 
(d)  showers and tubs with nonslip surfaces and handicap 

grab bars capable of supporting a sustained weight of 250 lbs. 
(2)  Any provision of this rule may be waived at the 

discretion of the department if conditions in existence prior to 
the adoption of this rule or construction factors would make 
compliance extremely difficult or impossible and if the 
department determines that the level of safety to clients and 
staff is not diminished.  
 

AUTH:  Sec. 50-5-103, MCA 
IMP:   Sec. 50-5-103, MCA 

 
RULE XIV  OUTPATIENT CRISIS RESPONSE FACILITY:  EMERGENCY 

PROCEDURES  (1)  Each outpatient crisis response facility shall 
develop a written plan for emergency procedures.  At a minimum, 
the plan must include: 

(a)  emergency evacuation procedures to be followed in the 
case of fire or other emergency; 
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(b)  procedures for contacting emergency service 
responders; and 

(c)  the names and phone numbers for contacting other 
crisis response facility staff in emergency situations. 

(2)  Telephone numbers of the hospital, police department, 
fire department, ambulance, and poison control center must be 
posted by each telephone.  
 

AUTH:  Sec. 50-5-103, MCA 
IMP:   Sec. 50-5-103, MCA 

 
RULE XV  OUTPATIENT CRISIS RESPONSE FACILITY:  MANAGEMENT 

OF INAPPROPRIATE CLIENT BEHAVIOR  (1)  The facility must develop 
and implement written policies and procedures that govern the 
management of inappropriate client behavior only as allowed in 
42 CFR 482.13(f)(1) through (6). 

(2)  The department adopts and incorporates by reference 42 
CFR 482.13(f)(1) through (6) (July 2, 1999), which contains 
standards for use of seclusion and restraint for behavioral 
management.  

(3)  The policies and procedures must:   
(a)  specify all facility-approved interventions to manage 

inappropriate client behavior and designate these interventions 
on a hierarchy to be implemented, ranging from most positive or 
least intrusive, to least positive or most intrusive; 

(b)  ensure, prior to the use of more restrictive 
techniques, that the client's record documents that programs 
incorporating the use of less intrusive or more positive 
techniques have been tried systematically and demonstrated to be 
ineffective; and  

(c)  address the following:  
(i)  the use of observation and seclusion rooms;  
(ii)  the use of time-out procedures;  
(iii)  the use of appropriate medication to manage 

inappropriate behavior;  
(iv)  the staff members who may authorize the use of 

specified interventions; and  
(v)  a mechanism for monitoring and controlling the use of 

such interventions.  
(4)  Interventions to manage inappropriate client behavior 

must be employed with sufficient safeguards and supervision to 
ensure that the safety, welfare, and civil and human rights of 
each client are adequately protected.  

(5)  Techniques to manage inappropriate client behavior 
must never be used for disciplinary purposes, for the 
convenience of staff or as a substitute for a treatment and 
habilitation program.  

(6)  The use of systematic interventions to manage 
inappropriate client behavior must be incorporated into the 
client's crisis facility treatment plan.  

(7)  Standing or as needed programs to control 
inappropriate behavior are not permitted.  
 

AUTH:  Sec. 50-5-103, MCA 
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IMP:   Sec. 50-5-103, MCA 
 

3. The rule as proposed to be amended provides as 
follows.  Matter to be added is underlined.  Matter to be 
deleted is interlined. 
 

37.106.1946  MENTAL HEALTH CENTER: INPATIENT CRISIS 
STABILIZATION PROGRAM  (1)  In addition to the requirements 
established in this subchapter, each mental health center 
providing a an inpatient crisis stabilization program shall 
comply with the requirements established in this rule. 

(2) remains the same. 
(3)  The inpatient crisis stabilization program shall: 
(a) through (d)(iii) remain the same. 
(e)  orient staff within eight weeks from assuming the 

duties of the position on: 
(i) through (iv) remain the same. 
(v)  infection control and prevention of transmission of 

blood borne pathogens.; 
(f) through (j)(vii) remain the same. 
(k)  establish written policies and procedures: 
(i) and (ii) remain the same. 
(iii)  for the secure storage of toxic household chemicals 

and sharp household items such as utensils and tools.; 
(l)  when clinically appropriate, provide each resident 

upon admission, or as soon as possible thereafter: 
(i) and (ii) remain the same. 
(iii) the written rules of conduct including the 

consequences for violating the rules.; 
(m)  ensure inpatient psychiatric hospital care is 

available through a transfer agreement for residents in need of 
hospitalization; 

(n) and (o) remain the same. 
(4)  The program supervisor and program staff must be 

trained in the therapeutic de-escalation of crisis situations to 
ensure the protection and safety of the residents and staff.  
The training must include the use of physical and non-physical 
methods of managing residents and must be updated, at least 
annually, to ensure that necessary skills are maintained.   
 

AUTH:  Sec. 50-5-103, MCA 
IMP:   Sec. 50-5-103, and 50-5-204, MCA 

 
4. The proposed adoptions and amendments describe a new 

level of care that addresses a need to respond to mental health 
crisis within a community based setting.  A crisis response 
facility is intended to provide, when medically appropriate, an 
alternative to inpatient or hospital care through evaluation, 
assessment, intervention and referral.  The proposed new rules 
describe the minimum standards for an outpatient crisis response 
facility that will provide less than 24-hour care for 
individuals experiencing a crisis due to serious mental illness 
or serious mental illness with a co-occurring substance use 
disorder.  The Department has authority to adopt rules and 
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minimum standards pursuant to 50-5-103, MCA. 
 
The crisis response facility level of care is not currently 
available within either the public mental health or chemical 
dependency system in Montana.  Individuals who will be served in 
this type of facility are now routinely seen in a hospital 
emergency room or transported to the Montana State Hospital at 
considerable public expense.  An outpatient crisis response 
facility provides a setting for clinical assessment, evaluation, 
and referral without placing an unnecessary pressure on limited 
hospital resources.  Those individuals determined to need 
inpatient or hospital care will be transported to appropriate 
treatment through a standing transfer agreement.  For those who 
do not require inpatient care, the crisis response facility 
provides a less expensive alternative for assessment of clinical 
need and referral to the appropriate available resources in the 
community. 
 
A crisis response facility will be licensed by the Department of 
Public Health and Human Services to ensure program and facility 
standards for protection of the general public.  The facility 
will employ or contract with an administrator who shall maintain 
overall daily responsibility for the facility=s operations, a 
medical director who shall advise staff on clinical matters, and 
a program supervisor who is a licensed mental health 
professional knowledgeable about the service and support needs 
of individuals experiencing a mental health crisis or those with 
co-occurring mental illness and substance use disorders. 
 
The proposed amendments identify requirements for policies and 
procedures, clinical records, client assessments, client 
discharge, management of inappropriate client behavior, and 
quality assessment.  Finally, the proposed amendments establish 
the minimum requirements for the physical environment, personnel 
records, and staffing and operations.  The Department has 
compared the requirements of other mental health service 
settings, and proposes these minimum requirements for care in 
this type of facility.   
 
These rules are necessary to establish a standard of minimum 
requirements for the provision of services in order to protect 
the health and safety of persons seeking these services.   
 
The number of facilities that will seek licensing of this sort 
is unknown.  There will be no fiscal impact.  
 

5. Interested persons may submit their data, views or 
arguments either orally or in writing at the hearing.  Written 
data, views or arguments may also be submitted to Dawn Sliva, 
Office of Legal Affairs, Department of Public Health and Human 
Services, P.O. Box 4210, Helena, MT 59604-4210, no later than 
5:00 p.m. on January 12, 2006.  Data, views or arguments may 
also be submitted by facsimile to (406)444-1970 or by electronic 
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mail via the Internet to dphhslegal@mt.gov.  The Department also 
maintains lists of persons interested in receiving notice of 
administrative rule changes.  These lists are compiled according 
to subjects or programs of interest.  For placement on the 
mailing list, please write the person at the address above. 
 

6. The Office of Legal Affairs, Department of Public 
Health and Human Services has been designated to preside over 
and conduct the hearing. 
 
 
 
  Dawn Sliva       Joan Miles    
Rule Reviewer     Director, Public Health and 

Human Services 
 
Certified to the Secretary of State November 28, 2005. 
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BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT 
OF PUBLIC SERVICE REGULATION 

OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the proposed  ) NOTICE OF PROPOSED  
amendment of ARM 38.5.4111,  ) AMENDMENT  
pertaining to interLATA and  )  
intraLATA PIC change charges  ) NO PUBLIC HEARING 
       ) CONTEMPLATED 
 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 

1.  On January 10, 2006, the Public Service Commission 
proposes to amend ARM 38.5.4111, pertaining to interLATA and 
intraLATA PIC change charges. 

 
2.  The PSC will make reasonable accommodations for 

persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this 
rulemaking process or need an alternative accessible format of 
this notice.  If you require an accommodation, contact the PSC 
no later than 5:00 p.m., December 27, 2005 to advise us of the 
nature of the accommodation that you need.  Please contact 
Connie Jones, PSC Secretary, 1701 Prospect Avenue, P.O. Box 
202601, Helena, Montana 59620-2601, telephone number (406) 
444-6170, TTD number (406) 444-6199, fax number (406) 444-
7618, or email conniej@mt.gov. 
 

3.  The rule proposed to be amended provides as follows, 
new matter underlined: 

 
 38.5.4111  CHARGES 
 (1)  remains the same. 
 (2) In cases in which customers change both their 
intraLATA PIC and their interLATA PIC at the same time to 
either the same carrier or to separate carriers, a single PIC 
change charge shall apply.  That single PIC change charge 
shall be one of the following: 

(a) the associated intraLATA PIC change charge; 
(b)  the associated interLATA PIC change charge; or 
(c) the total of one-half of the associated intraLATA PIC 

change charge plus one-half of the associated interLATA PIC 
change charge. 
 (3)  remains the same. 
  
 AUTH:  69-3-822, MCA 
 IMP:  69-3-834, MCA 
 

4. The amendment is necessary in order to allow 
telecommunications carriers in Montana to recover their costs 
for making simultaneous interLATA and intraLATA primary 
interexchange carrier (PIC) changes.  The amendment is 
necessary at this time because of a February 17, 2005 order of 
the Federal Communications Commission, effective January 1, 
2006, which changes the rates that may be charged for 
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simultaneous PIC changes. 
 
 5.  Interested persons may submit their data, views, or 
arguments, either orally or in writing (original and 10 
copies) to Legal Division, Public Service Commission, 
Attention: Robin A. McHugh, 1701 Prospect Avenue, P.O. Box 
202601, Helena, Montana 59620-2601, and must be received no 
later than January 5, 2006, or may be submitted to the PSC 
through the PSC's web-based comment form at http://psc.mt.gov 
(go to "consumer assistance," "talk to us," "pending 
proceeding comments," then complete and submit the form) no 
later than January 5, 2006.  (PLEASE NOTE: When filing 
comments pursuant to this notice please reference "Docket No. 
L-05.11.6-RUL.") 

 
6. The Montana Consumer Counsel, 616 Helena Avenue, 

P.O. Box 201703, Helena, Montana 59620-1703, phone (406) 444-
2771, is available and may be contacted to represent consumer 
interests in this matter. 

 
7. If persons who are directly affected by the proposed 

amendment wish to express their data, views, or arguments 
either orally or in writing at a public hearing, they must 
make written request for a hearing and submit this request 
along with any written comments to Robin A. McHugh, Legal 
Division, Public Service Commission, 1701 Prospect Avenue, 
P.O. Box 202601, Helena, Montana 59620-2601, or email 
rmchugh@mt.gov to be received no later than 5:00 p.m., January 
5, 2006. 

 
8. If the Public Service Commission receives requests 

for a public hearing on the proposed action from either 10% or 
25, whichever is less, of the persons directly affected by the 
proposed action; from the appropriate administrative rule 
review committee of the legislature; from a governmental 
subdivision or agency; or from an association having not less 
than 25 members who will be directly affected, a hearing will 
be held at a later date.  Notice of the hearing will be 
published in the Montana Administrative Register.  Ten percent 
of those persons directly affected is less than 25 based on 
the number of regulated telecommunications carriers. 

 
9. The PSC maintains a list of interested persons who 

wish to receive notices of rulemaking actions proposed by the 
PSC.  Persons who wish to have their name added to the list 
shall make a written request which includes the name and 
mailing address of the person to receive notices and specifies 
that the person wishes to receive notices regarding: electric 
utilities, providers, and suppliers; natural gas utilities, 
providers and suppliers; telecommunications utilities and 
carriers; water and sewer utilities; common carrier pipelines; 
motor carriers; rail carriers; and administrative procedures.  
Such written request may be mailed or delivered to Public 
Service Commission, Legal Division, 1701 Prospect Avenue, P.O. 
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Box 202601, Helena, Montana 59620-2601, faxed to Connie Jones 
at (406) 444-7618, emailed to conniej@mt.gov, or may be made 
by completing a request form at any rules hearing held by the 
PSC. 

 
10. The bill sponsor notice requirements of 2-4-302, 

MCA, do not apply. 
 
 

 
 
/s/ Greg Jergeson __________ 
Greg Jergeson, Chairman 
Public Service Commission 
 
 
/s/ Robin A. McHugh __________ 
Reviewed by Robin A. McHugh 

 
 

Certified to the Secretary of State November 28, 2005. 
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BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 

 
In the matter of the proposed )   NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING 
amendment of ARM 42.2.304   )   ON PROPOSED AMENDMENT 
relating to Montana source ) 
income      ) 
 

TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
1.  On December 29, 2005, at 9:00 a.m., a public hearing 

will be held in the Director's Office (Fourth Floor) 
Conference Room of the Sam W. Mitchell Building, at Helena, 
Montana, to consider the amendment of the above-stated rule 
relating to Montana source income. 

Individuals planning to attend the hearing shall enter 
the building through the east doors of the Sam W. Mitchell 
Building, 125 North Roberts, Helena, Montana. 

 
2.  The Department of Revenue will make reasonable 

accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to 
participate in this public hearing or need an alternative 
accessible format of this notice.  If you require an 
accommodation, contact the Department of Revenue no later than 
5:00 p.m., December 19, 2005, to advise us of the nature of 
the accommodation that you need.  Please contact Cleo 
Anderson, Department of Revenue, Director's Office, P.O. Box 
7701, Helena, Montana 59604-7701; telephone (406) 444-5828; 
fax (406) 444-3696; or e-mail canderson@mt.gov. 

 
3.  The rule proposed to be amended provides as follows, 

stricken matter interlined, new matter underlined: 
 

 42.2.304  DEFINITIONS  The terms used by the department 
are, in great part, defined in Tiles 15, 16, 39, and 72, MCA.  
In addition to these statutory definitions, the following 
definitions apply to ARM Title 42, unless context of a 
particular chapter or rule provides otherwise: 

(1) through (28) remain the same. 
(29)  "Montana source income" is defined in 15-30-101, 

MCA, and the statute should be consulted to determine whether 
particular income is "Montana source income" obligating a 
nonresident to file a Montana individual income tax return, 
and a pass-through entity to file a Montana information 
return.  In general, all income from work performed in the 
state, real or personal property located in the state, and 
business conducted in the state is Montana source income.  For 
example: 

(a)  Gain realized from transfer of real or personal 
property located in the state remains Montana source income 
notwithstanding that recognition of the gain is deferred and 
regardless of the deferral mechanism. 

(b)  Gain realized from an installment sale of Montana 
property retains its Montana source income character and must 
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be reported as the payments are received. 
(c)  Gain realized on the transfer of Montana property in 

a like-kind exchange retains its Montana source income 
character and must be reported when the gain is recognized in 
a subsequent taxable transaction. 

(30) through (53) remain the same. 
 
AUTH:  15-1-201, 15-30-305, 15-31-501, 16-1-303, 16-10-

104, and 16-11-103, MCA 
IMP:  15-1-102, 15-1-601, 15-30-101, 15-30-105, 15-30-

131, 15-30-1101, 15-30-1102, 15-30-1111, 15-30-1112, 15-30-
1113, 15-30-1121, and 15-31-101 and Title 15, chapter 31, part 
3, MCA 
 

REASONABLE NECESSITY:  The department is proposing to 
amend ARM 42.2.304 to augment the definition of "Montana 
source income" because questions have arisen about whether 
gain realized from the sale of Montana property somehow loses 
its character as Montana source income when the gain is not 
recognized and the tax is not determined until a later year or 
the happening of a future event. 
 

4.  Concerned persons may submit their data, views, or 
arguments, either orally or in writing, at the hearing.  
Written data, views, or arguments may also be submitted to: 
 

Cleo Anderson 
Department of Revenue 
Director's Office 
P.O. Box 7701 
Helena, Montana 59604-7701 

and must be received no later than January 6, 2006. 
 
5.  Cleo Anderson, Department of Revenue, Director's 

Office, has been designated to preside over and conduct the 
hearing. 

 
6.  An electronic copy of this Notice of Public Hearing 

is available through the Department's site on the World Wide 
Web at www.mt.gov/revenue, under "for your reference"; "DOR 
administrative rules"; and "upcoming events and proposed rule 
changes."  The Department strives to make the electronic copy 
of this Notice of Public Hearing conform to the official 
version of the Notice, as printed in the Montana 
Administrative Register, but advises all concerned persons 
that in the event of a discrepancy between the official 
printed text of the Notice and the electronic version of the 
Notice, only the official printed text will be considered.  In 
addition, although the Department strives to keep its website 
accessible at all times, concerned persons should be aware 
that the website may be unavailable during some periods, due 
to system maintenance or technical problems. 
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7.  The Department of Revenue maintains a list of 
interested persons who wish to receive notices of rulemaking 
actions proposed by this agency.  Persons who wish to have 
their name added to the list shall make a written request, 
which includes the name and mailing address of the person to 
receive notices and specifies that the person wishes to 
receive notices regarding particular subject matter or 
matters.  Such written request may be mailed or delivered to 
the person in 4 above or faxed to the office at (406) 444-
3696, or may be made by completing a request form at any rules 
hearing held by the Department of Revenue. 

 
8.  The bill sponsor notice requirements of 2-4-302, MCA, 

do not apply. 
 
 
 

/s/ Cleo Anderson  /s/ Dan R. Bucks 
CLEO ANDERSON   DAN R. BUCKS 
Rule Reviewer   Director of Revenue 

 
Certified to Secretary of State November 28, 2005 
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BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION 
OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 

 
In the matter of the adoption 
of New Rule I and amendment of 
ARM 2.5.201, 2.5.301, 2.5.302, 
2.5.404, 2.5.406, 2.5.407, 
2.5.408, 2.5.503, 2.5.505, 
2.5.601, 2.5.602, 2.5.603, and 
2.5.702 concerning state 
procurement of supplies and 
services and disposition and 
disposal of surplus property 

)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)

 
 
CORRECTED NOTICE OF 
ADOPTION AND AMENDMENT 

 
TO: All Concerned Persons 
 
 1.  On August 28, 2005 the Montana Department of 
Administration published MAR Notice No. 2-2-342 regarding the 
proposed adoption and amendment of the above-stated rules at 
page 1316 of the 2005 Montana Administrative Register, Issue No. 
14.  On September 22, 2005, the department published an amended 
notice of proposed adoption and amendment (MAR Notice No. 2-2-
365) at page 1709 of the 2005 Montana Administrative Register, 
Issue Number 18.  On October 6, 2005, the department published 
the notice of adoption and amendment at page 1906 of the 2005 
Montana Administrative Register, Issue Number 19. 

 
2.  The reason for the correction is that the permanent 

rule number assigned to new RULE I was incorrect. 
 
RULE I  (2.5.510) (2.5.610) COOPERATIVE PURCHASING 
(1) remains as adopted. 
 
AUTH:  18-4-221, MCA 

  IMP:  18-4-402, MCA 
 
 3.  In addition, text changes in three of the rules 
proposed for amendment were not properly shown.  The corrected 
rule amendments read as follows, stricken matter interlined, new 
matter underlined: 

 
2.5.404  BID AND PROPOSAL PREPARATION 
(1) through (6) remain as amended. 
(7)  Vendors may quote a cash discount based on early 

payment; however, such discounts will not be considered in 
determination of low bid or contract award and payment terms 
will remain as in (6), unless the bid or proposal specified 
otherwise. 

(8) and (9) remain as amended. 
 

AUTH:  18-4-221, MCA 
 IMP:  18-4-221 and 18-4-303, MCA 
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2.5.407  DETERMINATION OF RESPONSIVENESS/STANDARDS OF 
RESPONSIBILITY  (1) through (4)(e) remain as amended. 

(5)  If requested, a bidder or offeror must supply 
information to the procurement officer concerning responsibility 
in a timely and convincing manner.  If the bidder or offeror 
fails to supply the requested information, the procurement 
officer shall base the may base a determination of 
responsibility upon any available information or may find the 
bidder or offeror nonresponsible. 

(6) through (8) remain as amended. 
 
AUTH:  18-4-221, MCA 
 IMP:  18-4-303, 18-4-304, and 18-4-308, MCA 
 
2.5.702  DISPOSITION OF SURPLUS SUPPLIES  (1) through (6) 

remain as amended. 
(7)  Surplus supplies may be traded in only if the division 

determines the trade-in value is expected to equal or exceed the 
value estimated to be obtained through the sale or other 
disposition of the supplies sufficient and in the state's best 
interest.  Generally, trade-ins will not be approved for 
vehicles. 

(8) remains as amended. 
 
AUTH:  18-4-226, MCA 

  IMP:  18-4-226, MCA 
 

 4.  The text of the remaining rules remains the same. 
 
 
 By: /s/ Janet R. Kelly   
 Janet R. Kelly, Director 
 Department of Administration 
 
 

 By: /s/ Dal Smilie    
 Dal Smilie, Rule Reviewer 
 
 
 Certified to the Secretary of State November 28, 2005. 
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BEFORE THE STATE AUDITOR AND COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE 
 OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the   ) NOTICE OF ADOPTION 
adoption of New Rule I (ARM  ) AND AMENDMENT 
6.6.6820) and the    )  
amendment of ARM 6.6.6811 and ) 
6.6.6815 pertaining to  )  
captive insurance companies )  
 

TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 

1.  On June 16, 2005, the State Auditor's Office 
published MAR Notice No. 6-159 pertaining to captive insurance 
companies, at page 861 of the 2005 Montana Administrative 
Register, issue no. 11. 

 
2.  The Department has adopted New Rule I (ARM 6.6.6820) 

exactly as proposed.   
 
3.  The Department has amended the following rules 

exactly as proposed:  ARM 6.6.6811 and 6.6.6815. 
 
4.  A public hearing was held on July 7, 2005, to 

consider the proposed adoption and amendment of these rules.  
No comments were received at this hearing, and no additional 
comments were received up to the closing date of comment. 
 
 
     JOHN MORRISON, State Auditor 
     and Commissioner of Insurance 
       
 
     By:  /s/ Alicia Pichette  
      Alicia Pichette 
      Deputy Insurance Commissioner 
 
     By:  /s/ Patrick M. Driscoll    
      Patrick M. Driscoll 
      Rule Reviewer 
 

Certified to the Secretary of State on November 28, 2005. 



 

23-12/8/05 Montana Administrative Register 

-2449-

 BEFORE THE BUSINESS RESOURCES DIVISION 
 DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE 
 STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the adoption 
of New Rules I through XVI 
pertaining to the award of 
grants and loans under the Big 
Sky Economic Development 
Program 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF ADOPTION 

 
 To:  All Concerned Persons 
 
 1.  On September 22, 2005, the Department of Commerce 
published MAR Notice No. 8-99-49 regarding the public hearing 
on the proposed adoption of the above-stated rules concerning 
the award of grants and loans under the Big Sky Economic 
Development Program at page 1711 of the 2005 Montana 
Administrative Register, Issue No. 18.   
 
 2.  The Department has adopted New Rules I through XVI 
(8.99.901 through 8.99.916) exactly as proposed, but has 
amended the Big Sky Economic Development Fund Application 
Guidelines dated 2006 that are incorporated by reference in 
New Rule IV (8.99.904) based on comments received. 
 
 3.  A public hearing was held on October 13, 2005.  The 
Department has thoroughly considered all comments received.  
The comments received and the Department's response to each 
follow: 
 
 Comment 1:  A comment was received with regard to a 
requirement that limited eligible businesses to basic sector 
business.  Concern was expressed that this would limit the 
funding of small business projects in rural areas.  
 
 Response:  The current language in the guidelines that 
the commenter took exception to provides:  

"Trust Fund earnings will be awarded to local governments 
for use in efforts to develop economic development 
projects, through cooperative endeavor with a business, 
which provides good paying jobs to Montana residents. 
Eligible businesses shall meet one or more of the 
following criteria: 

 
1. A basic sector company defined as a company that:  
a. Generates more than 50% of their total dollar sales 
from outside Montana, 
b. More than 50% of their product or services enters 
into the production of exported products outside of 
Montana,  
c. Defined as a "value-adding business" by the Montana 
Board of Investments, 
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2. Other business entities that:  
a. Are engaged in business activities that will provide 
a significant positive economic impact to the community, 
region and/or the state beyond the job creation involved, 
b. Do not compete locally, regionally and/or within the 
state with existing businesses that would result in a 
negative impact on competitors in the community, region 
and/or the state, and 
c. Provide a service or function that is essential to 
the locality, region and/or the State of Montana. 
 
NOTE:  Eligible businesses must also meet all of the 
program requirements outlined in these guidelines. 
 
Other for-profit business entities, which do not meet the 
above stated criteria, may be an eligible recipient if it 
is determined by the Director of the Department that the 
activities that the business is primarily engaged in 
would have a substantial impact on the economy of a 
community, region and/or the state." 

 
As set forth in the guidelines, in certain circumstances, the 
Department does recognize non-basic sector and/or other 
businesses to be eligible businesses, which includes small 
businesses in rural areas.  Therefore, the Department does not 
believe that any changes to the guidelines in this area are 
necessary. 
 
 Comment 2:  A comment was received with regard to a 
requirement that a local government work with a Certified 
Regional Development Corporation to implement and administer a 
project.  The commenter wanted the local government to have 
the ability to choose the economic development organization to 
work on a project. 
 
 Response:  The current language in the guidelines that 
the commenter took exception to provides:  

"Special purpose agencies such as Certified Regional 
Development Corporations and other eligible economic 
development organizations are not eligible to apply 
directly to the Department for Category I financial 
assistance; however, local governments are statutorily 
required to work with an economic development 
organization on a proposal, and economic development 
organizations may be involved in implementing and 
administering a project by sub-recipient agreement, if 
the eligible applicant agrees to such an arrangement. 
 
As determined by the Department, local governments and 
sub-recipients must have the management capacity to 
undertake and satisfactorily complete the proposed 
project and assure proper management of Trust Fund 
awards." 
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As set forth in the guidelines, the Department does not 
require that a local government work with a Certified Regional 
Development Corporation.  The Department recognizes the local 
governments' discretion in agreeing to enter into a sub-
recipient agreement with other eligible economic development 
organizations for the implementation and administration of an 
economic development project.  The economic development 
organization must, however, have the management capacity to 
undertake and satisfactorily complete the proposed project and 
assure proper management of Trust Fund awards.  Therefore, the 
Department does not believe that any changes to the guidelines 
are necessary. 
 
 Comment 3:  Several comments were received that suggested 
the Department should strike all language in the program 
guidelines which provides a preference for projects that 
involve at least ten or more new eligible jobs.  The 
commenters suggested that this preference was contrary to the 
legislative intent of the program.  
 
 Response:  The Department agrees with these comments.  
The Department, therefore, has stricken the following text 
from the guidelines, "Projects preferably should involve at 
least ten (10) new eligible jobs unless unique circumstances 
are documented that indicate a significant, positive, 
secondary impact to the local economy." 
 
 
 
      BUSINESS RESOURCES DIVISION 

DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE 
 
 
 

By: /s/ ANTHONY J. PREITE 
ANTHONY J. PREITE, DIRECTOR 
DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE 

 
 

By: /s/ G. MARTIN TUTTLE 
G. MARTIN TUTTLE, RULE REVIEWER 

 
 

Certified to the Secretary of State November 28, 2005 
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BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 
OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 

 
In the matter of the proposed ) NOTICE OF DECISION 
adoption of New Rules I through  ) ON PROPOSED RULE ACTION 
V pertaining to credit )  
counseling services  ) 
 
 TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
 1. On August 11, 2005, the Department of Justice 
published MAR Notice No. 2-61-167 regarding the public hearing 
on the proposed adoption of the above-stated rules concerning 
credit counseling services at page 1485 of the 2005 Montana 
Administrative Register, Issue No. 15. 
 
 2. On September 9, 2005, the Department of Justice held a 
public hearing to consider the proposed new rules regarding 
credit counseling services.  In addition to the comments made at 
the public hearing, the Department also received written 
comments. 
 
 3. In light of the comments received, the Department has 
decided not to enact the new rules as originally proposed.  
Instead, the Department is proposing a modified set of new rules 
on the same subject, based upon those comments.  MAR Notice No. 
2-61-175, the Notice of Public Hearing on those modified new 
rules, can be found in the Notice section of this issue of the 
Montana Administrative Register. 
 
 
By:  /s/ Mike McGrath  /s/ Jon Ellingson   
 MIKE McGRATH   JON ELLINGSON 
 Attorney General  Rule Reviewer 
 Department of Justice 
 

Certified to the Secretary of State November 28, 2005. 
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BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 
OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 

 
In the matter of the adoption  ) CORRECTED NOTICE  
of New Rules I through V pertaining) OF ADOPTION  
to the administration of the  )  
address confidentiality program ) 
 
 TO: All Concerned Persons 
 
 1. On November 23, 2005, the Montana Department of 
Justice published MAR Notice No. 23-15-172 regarding a notice 
of adoption of the above-stated rules at page 2332 of the 2005 
Montana Administrative Register, issue Number 22.   
 

2. The reason for this correction is that the new rules 
were inadvertently assigned duplicate rule numbers.  The 
correct numbers should be ARM 23.15.501 through 23.15.505. 
 
 
By:  /s/ Mike McGrath   /s/  Jon Ellingson   

MIKE McGRATH    JON ELLINGSON 
Attorney General   Rule Reviewer 
Department of Justice 

 
Certified to the Secretary of State November 28, 2005.  
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BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 
OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 

 
In the matter of the amendment ) NOTICE OF AMENDMENT 
of ARM 23.16.103, 23.16.401,  )  
and 23.16.502, concerning the ) 
effective date for forms  ) 
relating to investigation of ) 
applicants, disclosure from  ) 
noninstitutional lender, dealer ) 
licenses, and gambling operator ) 
licenses ) 
 
 TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
 1. On October 27, 2005, the Department of Justice 
published MAR Notice No. 23-16-174 regarding the public hearing 
on the proposed amendment of the above-stated rules at page 
2018, 2005 Montana Administrative Register, Issue Number 20. 
 
 2. The Department has amended ARM 23.16.103, 23.16.401, 
and 23.16.502 exactly as proposed. 

 
3. A public hearing was held on November 16, 2005.  No 

comments or testimony were received. 
 

 
By:  /s/ Mike McGrath   /s/ Jon Ellingson   
 MIKE McGRATH    JON ELLINGSON 
 Attorney General   Rule Reviewer 
 Department of Justice 

 
 

Certified to the Secretary of State November 28, 2005. 
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 BEFORE THE BOARD OF REALTY REGULATION 
  DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
  STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the transfer )  NOTICE OF TRANSFER 
of ARM 8.58.101 through ) 
8.58.715, pertaining to the ) 
board of realty regulation ) 
 
 TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
 1.  Pursuant to Chapter 483, Laws of Montana 2001, 
effective July 1, 2001, the Board of Realty Regulation was 
transferred from the Department of Commerce to the Department 
of Labor and Industry, ARM Title 24, chapter 210. 
 
 2.  The Department of Labor and Industry has determined 
that the transferred rules will be numbered as follows: 
 
OLD  NEW 
 
8.58.101 24.210.101 Board Organization 
8.58.102 24.210.405 Application Of Rules--Sub-

Chapter Distinction 
8.58.201 24.210.201 Procedural Rules 
8.58.301 24.210.301 Definitions 
8.58.401 24.210.410 Purpose Of Board 
8.58.402 24.210.411 Board Meetings 
8.58.403 24.210.412 Record Of Minutes And Hearings 
8.58.404 24.210.416 Applications For Examination And 

License In General -- Broker And 
Salesperson 

8.58.405 24.210.602 Examination 
8.58.405A 24.210.603 Application For Examination -- 

Salesperson And Broker 
8.58.406A 24.210.611 Application For License -- 

Salesperson And Broker 
8.58.406B 24.210.610 Application For License -- Pre-

Examination And Pre-Course Of 
Education Option 

8.58.406C 24.210.615 Application For Determination Of 
Equivalent Experience -- Broker 
For Broker Licensing 

8.58.406D 24.210.616 Waiver Of Experience Requirement 
-- For Broker Licensing 
Prohibited 

8.58.408A 24.210.621 Non-Resident License -- 
Salesperson And Broker 

8.58.411 24.210.401 Fee Schedule 
8.58.412 24.210.624 Inactive Licenses 
8.58.413 24.210.625 Reactivation Of Licenses 
8.58.414 24.210.426 Trust Account Requirements 
8.58.415A 24.210.667 Continuing Real Estate Education 
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8.58.415B 24.210.674 Continuing Real Estate Education 
-- Course Approval 

8.58.415C 24.210.677 Continuing Real Estate Education 
-- Instructor Approval 

8.58.415D 24.210.661 New Licensee Mandatory 
Continuing Education -- 
Salespersons 

8.58.418 24.210.435 Investigations Committee 
8.58.419 24.210.641 Grounds For License Discipline - 

General Provisions - 
Unprofessional Conduct 

8.58.420 24.210.651 Reinstatement 
8.58.421 24.210.406 Severability 
8.58.422 24.210.629 Reciprocity 
8.58.423 24.210.601 General License Administration 

Requirements 
8.58.424 24.210.646 Disciplinary Guidelines -- 

Public Notice 
8.58.425 24.210.660 Pre-Licensing Education -- 

Salespersons And Brokers 
8.58.426 24.210.635 Renewal 
8.58.427 24.210.430 Internet Advertising Rules 
8.58.601 24.210.1003 Timeshare Licensure-- For 

Licensed Real Estate Brokers And 
Salespersons 

8.58.602 24.210.1005 Licensure-- Of Timeshare Brokers 
8.58.603 24.210.1007 Licensure-- Of Timeshare 

Salespersons 
8.58.604 24.210.1011 Licensure--Requirements Of 

Personal Disclosure Statement 
Required For Licensure 

8.58.605 24.210.1013 Timeshare Licensure--For Non-
Residents 

8.58.606 24.210.1016 Licensure--Timeshare Course Of 
Education Required For Licensure 

8.58.607 24.210.1018 Licensure--Timeshare Examination 
Requirements For Licensure 

8.58.608 24.210.1020 Licensure--Timeshare License 
Renewal Requirements 

8.58.612 24.210.1025 Timeshare Registration--
Application Requirements 

8.58.613 24.210.1029 Timeshare Registration--
Disclosure Document Requirements 

8.58.614 24.210.1031 Timeshare Registration--
Conditions Of Registration 
Requirements 

8.58.615 24.210.1027 Registration--Alternative 
Acceptable Documents Acceptable 
For Timeshare Registration 

8.58.616 24.210.1033 Timeshare Registration--Renewal 
Registration Requirements 

8.58.617 24.210.1035 Registration--Timeshare 
Amendment For Additional 
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Intervals Registration 
Requirements 

8.58.618 24.210.1037 Registration--Timeshare 
Amendment For Material Adverse 
Change Registration Requirements 

8.58.701 24.210.803 Property Management Definitions 
8.58.702 24.210.812 Application For Property 

Management Licensure 
8.58.703 24.210.815 Application For Property 

Management Examination 
8.58.704 24.210.818 Property Management Examination 
8.58.705 24.210.809 Pre-Licensure Property 

Management Course Requirements 
8.58.706 24.210.807 Property Management License 

Transfer - Notice to the 
Department Requirements 

8.58.707 24.210.825 Property Management License 
Renewal - And Late Renewal 

8.58.708 24.210.826 Inactive Property Management 
Licenses - And Reactivation Of 
Property Management Licenses 

8.58.709 24.210.835 Continuing Property Management 
Education 

8.58.710 24.210.840 Continuing Property Management 
Education -- Course Approval 

8.58.711 24.210.843 Continuing Property Management 
Education -- Instructor Approval 

8.58.712 24.210.805 Property Management Trust 
Account Requirements 

8.58.713 24.210.801 Fee Schedule 
8.58.714 24.210.828 Grounds For Discipline Of 

Property Management Licensees - 
General Provisions - 
Unprofessional Conduct 

8.58.715 24.210.836 Continuing Property Management 
Education Reporting Requirements 

 
 3.  The transfer of rules is necessary because this board 
was transferred from the Department of Commerce to the 
Department of Labor and Industry by the 2001 legislature by 
Chapter 483, Laws of Montana 2001. 
 
 
      BOARD OF REALTY REGULATION 
      TERRY HILGENDORF, CHAIRPERSON 
 
 
/s/ MARK CADWALLADER  /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Mark Cadwallader   Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Alternate Rule Reviewer  DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 
 Certified to the Secretary of State November 28, 2005 
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BEFORE THE STATE ELECTRICAL BOARD 
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment )  NOTICE OF AMENDMENT 
of ARM 24.141.401 pertaining  ) 
to board meetings, ARM 24.141.402 ) 
pertaining to apprentice   ) 
registration, ARM 24.141.405  ) 
pertaining to fee schedule,  ) 
ARM 24.141.502 pertaining to  ) 
temporary practice permits, and ) 
ARM 24.141.503 pertaining to  ) 
examinations     ) 
 

TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 

1.  On July 14, 2005, the State Electrical Board 
published MAR Notice No. 24-141-30 regarding the public 
hearing on the proposed amendment of the above-stated rules at 
page 1219 of the 2005 Montana Administrative Register, issue 
no. 13. 
 

2.  On August 11, 2005, at 9:00 a.m., a public hearing 
was conducted in Helena, Montana, and two members of the 
public spoke at the public hearing.  In addition, three 
written comments were received prior to the closing of the 
comment period. 
 

3.  The State Electrical Board (Board) has thoroughly 
considered all of the comments made.  A summary of the 
comments received and the Board's responses are as follows: 
 
Comment 1:  Mr. J. Michael Scott stated he felt "any 
copyrighted book should be permitted in the examination.  The 
NEC is not always the most self-explanatory reference book for 
the practitioner." 
 
Response 1:  The Board believes there is no need for any other 
book, and the examination is taken exclusively from the NEC 
codebook.  In addition, it would be too difficult for those 
involved in monitoring the examinations to review more than 
the one relevant book (NEC) for inappropriate notes and 
commentary. 
 
Comment 2:  Mr. Scott also stated "that all commercial 
projects over 3,000 square feet should be designed by a 
registered electrical engineer." 
 
Response 2:  The Board notes that requiring commercial 
projects of over 3,000 square feet to be designed by an 
electrical engineer is outside the scope of the proposed 
rulemaking, and thus the Board is unable to take any final 
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action on the suggestion.  The topic may be addressed at 
sometime in the future, however. 
 
Comment 3:  Mr. Michael H. Lindquist commented he was 
requesting that the Electrician's Handbook of Examples and 
Formulas and UGLY's Electrical References be included as 
approved materials for examinations. 
 
Response 3:  The Board believes that the response for Comment 
1 is applicable to this comment as well. 
 
Comment 4:  Mr. Tom Webber commented that he was advised by 
his attorney that it was legal to have his own apprenticeship 
program so long as it meets or exceeds the State's program.  
He also felt it was unfair to limit the choice of 
apprenticeship programs to the state only. 
 
Response 4:  The Board agrees that Mr. Webber can operate his 
own apprenticeship program.  The Department of Labor and 
Industry Apprenticeship and Training Program will register any 
apprenticeship program that meets or exceeds the standards 
recognized by the Department, whether that program is 
privately sponsored by an individual employer, by a group of 
employers, or by one or more labor organizations.  In 
addition, the Board's rule allows the Board to recognize any 
apprenticeship program that is equivalent to Montana's 
registered programs.  The Board concludes that its rule 
provides for alternatives to Montana-registered apprenticeship 
programs and agreements. 
 
Comment 5:  Mr. Keith Allen and Roy Symons testified in full 
support of the proposed amendments. 
 
Response 5:  The Board took this opportunity to thank all of 
the commenters and witnesses for their input.  It is only 
after receipt of information from the public and from the 
industry that the Board can make the best decision in these 
types of matters. 
 
 4.  The Board has amended ARM 24.141.401, 24.141.402, 
24.141.405, 24.141.502, and 24.141.503 exactly as proposed. 
 
 

STATE ELECTRICAL BOARD 
TONY MARTEL, PRESIDENT 

 
 
/s/ MARK CADWALLADER  /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Mark Cadwallader   Keith Kelly Commissioner 
Alternate Rule Reviewer  DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 
 

Certified to the Secretary of State November 28, 2005 
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BEFORE THE BOARD OF PLUMBERS 
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

STATE OF MONTANA 
 

In the matter of the  )  NOTICE OF AMENDMENT 
amendment of ARM 24.180.607 )  AND ADOPTION 
pertaining to temporary  ) 
practice permits and the  ) 
adoption of NEW RULE I  ) 
pertaining to continuing  ) 
education requirements  ) 
 
 TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
 1.  On June 16, 2005, the Board of Plumbers (Board) 
published MAR Notice No. 24-180-42 regarding the public 
hearing on the proposed amendment and adoption of the above-
stated rules, at page 893 of the 2005 Montana Administrative 
Register, issue no. 11. 
 
 2.  On July 8, 2005, a public hearing was conducted in 
Helena, Montana.  Numerous comments were received prior to the 
end of the public comment period. 
 
 3.  The Board has thoroughly considered all of the 
comments received.  A summary of the comments received and the 
Board's responses are as follows: 
 
Comment 1:  Several comments were received in support of the 
proposed continuing education (CE) requirement. 
 
Response 1:  The Board appreciates all comments received in 
this proceeding. 
 
Comment 2:  One commenter suggested that only journeymen 
plumbers should be required to obtain CE. 
 
Response 2:  The Board considers it equally important for all 
licensees, both journeymen and master plumbers, to obtain CE 
for the safety, health and welfare of the public. 
 
Comment 3:  Comments were received that CE is unnecessary and 
that Board focus should be directed toward enforcement of the 
current laws regarding unlicensed practice. 
 
Response 3:  The Board agrees that enforcement of current laws 
is important and will continue to pursue any and all 
violators.  The Board determined that CE requirements are not 
associated with unlicensed practice enforcement and requiring 
CE will not affect the amount of compliance inspections.  
Enforcement of current licensure regulations and requiring CE 
are equally important for the plumbing industry and the public 
health, safety and welfare. 
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Comment 4:  Commenters inquired whether out-of-state licensees 
would be exempt from CE requirements. 
 
Response 4:  The Board determined it is equally important for 
all Board licensees to obtain CE whether they are in-state or 
out-of-state.  The Board notes that subsection (2)(b)(v) of 
the CE rule allows instructors from other states or 
jurisdictions to have their CE courses approved by the Board. 
 
Comment 5:  One commenter opposed the CE requirements stating 
that it will require hundreds of thousands of dollars annually 
for additional manpower at the State level. 
 
Response 5:  The Board will pre-approve CE courses and does 
not anticipate a need for additional State personnel to 
implement or administer the CE requirements. 
 
Comment 6:  One commenter stated that even with instructor 
qualifications in rule, CE courses will end up being taught by 
wholesale material and equipment suppliers and will not 
further the public's protection.  The commenter would prefer 
to have State-sponsored traveling code seminars. 
 
Response 6:  The Board has set qualifications for instructors 
and for Board approval of course curricula in New Rule I.  The 
Board established these criteria to ensure that only relevant 
CE courses would be offered and taught by qualified 
instructors.  The Board has no plans to implement traveling 
code seminars at this time. 
 
Comment 7:  One commenter asked if the Board would recognize 
employment by a municipality as an inspector or plan checker 
as part of the CE requirements. 
 
Response 7:  The Board determined that all licensed journeymen 
and master plumbers will be required to obtain CE regardless 
of their particular employers or places of employment. 
 
Comment 8:  One commenter stated that master plumbers only 
should be required to obtain CE and then pass the acquired 
knowledge onto the journeymen plumbers. 
 
Response 8:  The Board considers it equally important for all 
licensees, both journeymen and master plumbers, to obtain CE 
for the safety, health and welfare of the public. 
 
Comment 9:  One commenter was concerned about the cost to 
licensees of obtaining the required CE. 
 
Response 9:  The Board shares that concern, but concluded that 
it is essential for the public health, safety and welfare that 
CE be imposed.  The Board notes that many other professions 
require CE and that many courses offered are at very low cost 
due to competition between CE providers. 
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Comment 10:  One commenter stated that a random audit of 30% 
is insufficient to adequately monitor compliance and suggested 
an audit of 100% of all active licensees. 
 
Response 10:  The Board was concerned as well that 30% was not 
sufficient and concluded that 50% would better protect the 
public and is the maximum audit amount allowed by statute. 
 
Comment 11:  One commenter questioned whether it is reasonable 
to require licensees to maintain records for three years if 
audits are conducted annually. 
 
Response 11:  The Board determined that having a three-year 
record retention requirement for licensees is reasonable to 
assist the Board in obtaining information during 
investigation, contested cases and litigation of potential 
disciplinary actions against licensees. 
 
Comment 12:  One commenter asked whether the Board would 
accept CE courses completed online or through correspondence. 
 
Response 12:  The Board has the authority to approve any 
course meeting the requirements set forth in rule, including 
online or correspondence courses. 
 
Comment 13:  One commenter inquired whether vendors would be 
allowed to be CE instructors. 
 
Response 13:  The Board determined that any person meeting the 
qualifications in rule can be an instructor. 
 
Comment 14:  One commenter asked if town resolution plumbers, 
who are exempt from licensure, would be required to obtain CE. 
 
Response 14:  Because town resolution plumbers are exempt from 
licensure laws and rules, the Board has no authority to 
require them to obtain CE. 
 
Comment 15:  Two commenters asked about placing licenses on 
"inactive" status in lieu of maintaining active licensure and 
complying with CE requirements. 
 
Response 15:  The Board lacks statutory authority to create an 
"inactive" status for plumbing licenses.  Pursuant to 37-1-
141, MCA, licenses not renewed by the renewal date will be 
placed in a lapsed status for 45 days.  Licenses not 
reactivated within the 45-day period will be placed on expired 
status.  Lastly, licenses not reactivated within the two-year 
expired period will be terminated and reapplication and 
reexamination will be required for licensure. 
 
Comment 16:  One commenter requested clarification of New Rule 
I, (2)(b)(iii), which states "a certified journeyman and 
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apprentice plumbing inspector."  The commenter suggested that 
it should be "instructor", not "inspector." 
 
Response 16:  The Board concurs with the comment.  The use of 
"inspector" was a clerical error and has been amended to 
"instructor" accordingly. 
 
 4.  The Board has amended ARM 24.180.607 exactly as 
proposed. 
 
 5.  The Board has adopted NEW RULE I (24.180.2102) with 
the following changes, stricken matter interlined, new matter 
underlined: 
 
 NEW RULE I (24.180.2102)  CONTINUING EDUCATION 
REQUIREMENTS  (1) remains as proposed. 
 (2) through (2)(b)(ii) remain as proposed. 
 (iii)  a certified journeyman and apprentice plumbing 
inspector instructor. 
 (iv) through (3) remain as proposed. 
 (4)  The department may conduct a random audit of up to 
30% 50% of all active licensees following the licensee renewal 
process. 
 (a) through (6) remain as proposed. 
 
AUTH:  37-69-202, MCA 
IMP:   37-1-306, MCA 
 
 
     BOARD OF PLUMBERS 
     TIM REGAN, PRESIDING OFFICER 
 
     /s/ KEITH KELLY 
     Keith Kelly Commissioner 
     DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
     /s/ DARCEE L. MOE 
     Darcee L. Moe 
     Alternate Rule Reviewer 
 
 
 Certified to the Secretary of State November 28, 2005 
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 BEFORE THE BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGISTS 
 DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 STATE OF MONTANA 

 
In the matter of the amendment )  NOTICE OF AMENDMENT AND 
of ARM 24.189.2107 continuing )  ADOPTION 
education implementation and ) 
adoption of NEW RULE I fee ) 
abatement ) 
 
 To:  All Concerned Persons 
 
 1.  On September 22, 2005, the Board of Psychologists 
published MAR Notice No. 24-189-29 regarding the public 
hearing on the proposed amendment and adoption of the above-
stated rules relating to continuing education implementation 
and fee abatement, at page 1739 of the 2005 Montana 
Administrative Register, issue no. 18. 
 
 2.  A public hearing on the proposed amendment and 
adoption was held on October 14, 2005.  No members of the 
public spoke at the public hearing.  One written comment was 
received prior to the closing of the comment period on October 
21, 2005. 
 
 3.  The Board of Psychologists (Board) has thoroughly 
considered the comment made.  A summary of the comment 
received and the Board's response are as follows: 
 
Comment 1:  One commenter suggested that the Board should 
notify licensees whether the licensees are in compliance with 
continuing education (CE) requirements, or out of compliance 
with such requirements. 
 
Response 1:  The Board's process of notifying licensees of CE 
noncompliance only has been in place for 13 years.  In that 
time, the Board is not aware of any instances where 
disciplinary action was taken when a licensee mistakenly 
assumed compliance because a noncompliance notification was 
lost in the mail.  The Board determined not to change the 
process and is amending the rule exactly as proposed. 
 
 4.  After consideration of the comment, the Board hereby 
amends ARM 24.189.2107 and adopts NEW RULE I (ARM 24.189.402) 
exactly as proposed. 
 
 BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGISTS 
 JAY PALMATIER, PhD, CHAIRPERSON 
 
/s/ MARK CADWALLADER /s/ KEITH KELLY 
Mark Cadwallader Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
Alternate Rule Reviewer DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 Certified to the Secretary of State November 28, 2005 
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BEFORE THE BOARD OF RADIOLOGIC TECHNOLOGISTS 
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment )  NOTICE OF AMENDMENT 
of ARM 24.204.401 fee schedule, )  AND ADOPTION 
ARM 24.204.404 permit fees,  ) 
ARM 24.204.406 abatement of  ) 
renewal fees, ARM 24.204.408  ) 
radiologic technologists  ) 
applications, ARM 24.204.411  ) 
replacement licenses and  ) 
permits, ARM 24.204.504  ) 
permits - practice limitations, ) 
ARM 24.204.511 permit  ) 
examinations, and the  ) 
adoption of NEW RULES I through  ) 
IV pertaining to radiologist  ) 
assistants, scope of practice,  ) 
supervision, and adoption of a  ) 
code of ethics ) 
 
 TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
 1.  On July 14, 2005, the Board of Radiologic 
Technologists (Board) published MAR Notice No. 24-204-31 
regarding the public hearing on the proposed amendment and 
adoption of the above-stated rules, at page 1226 of the 2005 
Administrative Register, issue no. 13. 
 
 2.  A public hearing on the proposed amendment and 
adoption was held on August 8, 2005.  Members of the public 
spoke at the public hearing.  In addition, written comments 
were received prior to the closing of the comment period on 
August 16, 2005.   
 
 3.  The Board has thoroughly considered all of the 
comments made.  A summary of the comments received and the 
Board's responses are as follows: 
 
Comment 1:  Comments were received that New Rules II and III 
should be amended to comply with statutory changes following 
enactment of House Bill 457 of the 2005 legislature.  The 
commenters stated that New Rules II and III require RAs to 
work under general supervision of radiologists, and opined 
that, due to House Bill 457, general supervision is no longer 
required for all procedures.  The commenters further stated 
that the Board can set different supervision levels for 
various procedures and suggested the Board define the RA scope 
of practice in categories of procedures having different 
levels of supervision. 
 
Response 1:  The 2005 Montana Legislature enacted Chapter 491, 
Laws of 2005 (House Bill 457), an act revising laws governing 
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licensing and professional practices of radiologic 
technologists and radiologist assistants and requiring 
adoption of rules by the Board.  The bill was signed by the 
Governor and became effective on April 28, 2005. 

Section 37-14-313, MCA, provides that the specific duties 
allowed for RAs may be defined by the Board in rule.  The 
statute requires those rules to specify the functions that RAs 
may perform in conjunction with diagnostic procedures under a 
radiologist's supervision.  Prior to passage of House Bill 
457, the supervision was specified as general supervision.  
House Bill 457 deleted the specific requirement of "general" 
supervision in 37-14-313(2)(b), MCA, but inserted a new 
subsection (c) stating that the "rules may specify levels of 
supervision based on education and experience, but at a 
minimum, the level of supervision must be general 
supervision." 

Because the rules may specify levels of supervision, and 
general supervision is the minimal permissible supervision 
level, the Board proposed New Rules II and III to identify 
procedures requiring general supervision.  House Bill 457 
amended the definition of "general supervision" at 37-14-
102(3), MCA, to "face-to-face communication, direction, 
observation, and evaluation by the radiologist at least 
monthly, with interim supervision occurring by other methods, 
such as telephonic, electronic, or written communication."  
The Board anticipates addressing RA procedures requiring 
direct supervision at their next regularly scheduled meeting.  
Further, the Board anticipates drafting rules to further 
delineate the RA scope of practice by defining "direct 
supervision" as "a radiologist in attendance in the facility 
during the performance of the exam" and "personal supervision" 
as "a radiologist in personal attendance in the exam room 
during the procedure." 
 
Comment 2:  Several licensees jointly submitted comments on 
deleting the requirement for licensure applicants to submit a 
copy of a current American Registry of Radiologic 
Technologists (ARRT) wallet card.  The commenters questioned 
the differences between requiring a copy of the ARRT wallet 
card, submitting proof of ARRT examination passage, or looking 
applicants up in the ARRT registry.  The commenters asked if 
applicants who have passed the ARRT examination would then not 
need ARRT registration for licensure?  And if so, the 
commenters asked how the Board would verify applicants’ 
required annual continuing education? 
 
Response 2:  Applicants can take, pass and receive proof of 
passage of the ARRT examination even if they are not 
registered with ARRT and do not have an ARRT wallet card.  The 
Board amended the rule to allow licensure of applicants who 
have taken and passed the examination, but who are not ARRT 
credentialed due to past criminal conviction.  Applicants who 
have passed the ARRT examination may still qualify for Montana 
licensure, but would be neither ARRT credentialed nor listed 
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in the ARRT registry, and would not hold an ARRT wallet card 
or be allowed to use the ARRT trademark "RT" following their 
names.  Montana licensed radiologic technologists are required 
to obtain continuing education (CE) to maintain Montana 
licensure and licensees must affirm completion of CE on their 
license renewal forms. 
 The commenters posed additional questions unrelated to 
and beyond the scope of the proposed notice, which will be 
addressed by the Board at a subsequent Board meeting. 
 
 4.  After consideration of the comments, the Board hereby 
amends ARM 24.204.401, 24.204.404, 24.204.406, 24.204.408, 
24.204.411, 24.204.504 and 24.204.511, and adopts NEW RULE I 
(ARM 24.204.601), NEW RULE II (ARM 24.204.603), NEW RULE III 
(ARM 24.204.605) and NEW RULE IV (ARM 24.204.607) exactly as 
proposed. 
 

BOARD OF RADIOLOGIC TECHNOLOGISTS 
JOHN ROSENBAUM, CHAIRPERSON 

 
/s/ KEITH KELLY 
Keith Kelly, Commissioner 
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

 
/s/ DARCEE L. MOE 
Darcee L. Moe 
Alternate Rule Reviewer 

 
 
 Certified to the Secretary of State November 28, 2005 
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BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT 
OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND CONSERVATION OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the repeal 
of ARM 36.19.106 pertaining 
to the reclamation and 
development grants program 

 ) 
) 
) 
) 

 NOTICE OF REPEAL 
 

 
To: All Concerned Persons 
 
 1. On September 22, 2005, the Department of Natural 
Resources and Conservation published MAR Notice No. 36-22-108 
regarding the proposed repeal of ARM 36.19.106 concerning the 
reclamation and development grants program at page 1746 of the 
2005 Montana Administrative Register, Issue No. 18. 
 
 2. The Department has repealed ARM 36.19.106 exactly as 
proposed. 
 
 AUTH:  90-2-1105, MCA 
 IMP:   90-2-1105, MCA 
 
 3. No comments or testimony were received. 
 
 
 
/s/  Anne W. Yates   
ANNE W. YATES 
RULE REVIEWER 
 
 
/s/  Mary Sexton   
MARY SEXTON, DIRECTOR, 
NATURAL RESOURCES AND CONSERVATION 
 
 
 
Certified to the Secretary of State November 28, 2005. 
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BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 

 
In the matter of the amendment  )  NOTICE OF AMENDMENT 
of ARM 42.18.109, 42.18.110,   ) 
42.18.113, 42.18.121, 42.18.122,) 
and 42.18.124 relating to the   ) 
Montana reappraisal plans for   ) 
2003 and 2009      ) 
 

TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 

1.  On October 6, 2005, the department published MAR 
Notice No. 42-2-750 regarding the proposed amendment of the 
above-stated rules relating to the Montana reappraisal plans 
for 2003 and 2009 at page 1891 of the 2005 Montana 
Administrative Register, issue no. 19. 

 
2.  A public hearing was held on October 28, 2005, to 

consider the proposed amendment.  No one appeared at the 
hearing to testify and no written comments were received. 

 
3.  Therefore, the department amends ARM 42.18.109, 

42.18.110, 42.18.113, 42.18.121, 42.18.122, and 42.18.124 as 
proposed. 
 

4.  An electronic copy of this Adoption Notice is 
available through the Department's site on the World Wide Web 
at www.mt.gov/revenue, under "for your reference"; "DOR 
administrative rules"; and "upcoming events and proposed rule 
changes."  The Department strives to make the electronic copy 
of this Adoption Notice conform to the official version of the 
Notice, as printed in the Montana Administrative Register, but 
advises all concerned persons that in the event of a 
discrepancy between the official printed text of the Notice 
and the electronic version of the Notice, only the official 
printed text will be considered.  In addition, although the 
Department strives to keep its website accessible at all 
times, concerned persons should be aware that the website may 
be unavailable during some periods, due to system maintenance 
or technical problems. 

 
/s/ Cleo Anderson   /s/ Dan R. Bucks 
CLEO ANDERSON    DAN R. BUCKS 
Rule Reviewer    Director of Revenue 

 
Certified to Secretary of State November 28, 2005 
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BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 

 
In the matter of the adoption  )   NOTICE OF ADOPTION, 
of NEW RULE I (ARM 42.25.1815),)   AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL 
amendment of ARM 42.25.1801,   ) 
42.25.1807, 42.25.1808,    ) 
42.25.1809, and repeal of ARM  ) 
42.25.1810, 42.25.1811, and   ) 
42.25.1812 relating to oil,   ) 
gas, and coal natural resources) 
 

TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 

1.  On October 10, 2005, the department published MAR 
Notice No. 42-2-751 regarding the proposed adoption, 
amendment, and repeal of the above-stated rules relating to 
oil, gas, and coal natural resources at page 1896 of the 2005 
Montana Administrative Register, issue no. 19. 

 
2.  A public hearing was held on October 27, 2005, to 

consider the proposed adoption, amendment, and repeal.  Oral 
testimony received at the hearing is summarized as follows 
along with the response of the department: 
 

COMMENT NO. 1:  Gail Abercrombie representing the Montana 
Petroleum Association stated that they appreciate the work 
that went into the development of the rules.  She asked for 
some clarification regarding the stricken language currently 
found in ARM 42.25.1801(7), which addresses the stripper well 
bonus and exemption.  Ms. Abercrombie asked if the bonus and 
exemption would go on a month-by-month analysis or how does 
the department envision administering that function. 
 

RESPONSE NO. 1:  Because the department is adding another 
production type under ARM 42.25.1801(6) "stripper well bonus," 
the department is proposing to delete the sentence currently 
found in (7) which reads: "Once qualified, all production for 
the lease for the entire year is reported at the stripper well 
exemption tax rate of .8% for working interests and 15.1% for 
non-working interests, even if it exceeds the 3 barrel 
average."  The department believes that the two definitions in 
combination with each other, the modification of (7) under the 
"stripper well exemption" and the new definition in (6) 
"stripper well bonus" still permit a lease to be classified 
based on the prior calendar year.  The language as proposed 
will keep a lease under the same classification for the next 
four calendar quarters.  Also, with regard to tax 
administration, these two new definitions will help the 
department determine which tax rates will apply for wells 
producing three barrels a day or less.  Either the stripper 
well exemption rates or the stripper well bonus rates. 
 

COMMENT NO. 2:  Ms. Abercrombie stated that she had a 
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general question regarding the administration of the rules.  
Currently, many of the tax rates that are expressed in the 
tables shown in ARM 42.25.1809 may not be applicable because 
of different price triggers established by the law.  They are 
effective but they are not applicable.  She asked if the 
department had experienced any problems with the issue where 
the incremental production lower tax rate had a trigger that 
is not applicable now?  Has this confused people because there 
is nothing in the rule or statute that alerts a person reading 
the rule that it is not the current applicable tax rate 
because it is over the trigger rate that is in the statute?  

She further asked if the department thought there should 
be some kind of qualification paragraph or definition that 
would somehow make the reader of the rule aware that there is 
a price trigger on that calculation if it is over a certain 
price.  That price would be $30 of west Texas intermediate 
crude per calendar quarter based on the rate in the primary 
production. 
 

RESPONSE NO. 2:  The department does not believe that 
this has been an issue with the operators.  When someone 
amends a return for example, if they are a new operator and 
they are not familiar with, or have knowledge of, the prior 
price thresholds the staff always makes an effort to contact 
them to make sure they understand the older tax rates.  The 
department has clear directions, which are updated regularly 
to keep people aware of how to file the correct tax return 
information.  The rule changes being proposed in these rules 
will be included in form updates when the rules are adopted 
and the department sends its quarterly "newsletter" to 
operators reflecting the changes that may impact them in some 
way. 

 
3.  The department adopts New Rule I (ARM 42.25.1815), 

amends ARM 42.25.1801, 42.25.1807, 42.25.1808, 42.25.1809, and 
repeals ARM 42.25.1810, 42.25.1811, and 42.25.1812 as 
proposed. 

 
4.  An electronic copy of this Adoption Notice is 

available through the Department's site on the World Wide Web 
at www.mt.gov/revenue, under "for your reference"; "DOR 
administrative rules"; and "upcoming events and proposed rule 
changes."  The Department strives to make the electronic copy 
of this Adoption Notice conform to the official version of the 
Notice, as printed in the Montana Administrative Register, but 
advises all concerned persons that in the event of a 
discrepancy between the official printed text of the Notice 
and the electronic version of the Notice, only the official 
printed text will be considered.  In addition, although the 
Department strives to keep its website accessible at all 
times, concerned persons should be aware that the website may 
be unavailable during some periods, due to system maintenance 
or technical problems. 
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/s/ Cleo Anderson   /s/ Dan R. Bucks 
CLEO ANDERSON    DAN R. BUCKS 
Rule Reviewer    Director of Revenue 

 
Certified to Secretary of State November 28, 2005 
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 NOTICE OF FUNCTION OF ADMINISTRATIVE RULE REVIEW COMMITTEE 

 Interim Committees and the Environmental Quality Council 

Administrative rule review is a function of interim 

committees and the Environmental Quality Council (EQC).  These 

interim committees and the EQC have administrative rule review, 

program evaluation, and monitoring functions for the following 

executive branch agencies and the entities attached to agencies 

for administrative purposes. 

Economic Affairs Interim Committee: 

< Department of Agriculture; 

< Department of Commerce; 

< Department of Labor and Industry; 

< Department of Livestock; 

< Office of the State Auditor and Insurance Commissioner; 

and 

< Office of Economic Development. 

Education and Local Government Interim Committee: 

< State Board of Education; 

< Board of Public Education; 

< Board of Regents of Higher Education; and 

< Office of Public Instruction. 

Children, Families, Health, and Human Services Interim 

Committee: 

< Department of Public Health and Human Services. 

 Law and Justice Interim Committee: 

 < Department of Corrections; and 

< Department of Justice. 
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Energy and Telecommunications Interim Committee: 

< Department of Public Service Regulation. 

 Revenue and Transportation Interim Committee: 

< Department of Revenue; and  

< Department of Transportation. 

 State Administration, and Veterans' Affairs Interim 

Committee: 

< Department of Administration; 

< Department of Military Affairs; and 

< Office of the Secretary of State. 

 Environmental Quality Council: 

< Department of Environmental Quality; 

< Department of Fish, Wildlife, and Parks; and 

< Department of Natural Resources and Conservation. 

These interim committees and the EQC have the authority to 

make recommendations to an agency regarding the adoption, 

amendment, or repeal of a rule or to request that the agency 

prepare a statement of the estimated economic impact of a 

proposal.  They also may poll the members of the Legislature to 

determine if a proposed rule is consistent with the intent of 

the Legislature or, during a legislative session, introduce a 

bill repealing a rule, or directing an agency to adopt or amend 

a rule, or a Joint Resolution recommending that an agency adopt, 

amend, or repeal a rule. 

The interim committees and the EQC welcome comments and 

invite members of the public to appear before them or to send 

written statements in order to bring to their attention any 

difficulties with the existing or proposed rules.  The mailing 

address is PO Box 201706, Helena, MT 59620-1706. 
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 HOW TO USE THE ADMINISTRATIVE RULES OF MONTANA 
 AND THE MONTANA ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER 
 
 
Definitions: Administrative Rules of Montana (ARM) is a 

looseleaf compilation by department of all rules 
of state departments and attached boards 
presently in effect, except rules adopted up to 
three months previously. 

 
Montana Administrative Register (MAR) is a soft 
back, bound publication, issued twice-monthly, 
containing notices of rules proposed by agencies, 
notices of rules adopted by agencies, and 
interpretations of statutes and rules by the 
attorney general (Attorney General's Opinions) 
and agencies (Declaratory Rulings) issued since 
publication of the preceding register. 

 
 
 
Use of the Administrative Rules of Montana (ARM): 
 
Known 1.  Consult ARM topical index. 
Subject  Update the rule by checking the accumulative 

table and the table of contents in the last 
Montana Administrative Register issued. 

 
Statute 2. Go to cross reference table at end of each 
Number and   title which lists MCA section numbers and 
Department  corresponding ARM rule numbers. 
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 ACCUMULATIVE TABLE 
 
The Administrative Rules of Montana (ARM) is a compilation of 
existing permanent rules of those executive agencies that have 
been designated by the Montana Administrative Procedure Act for 
inclusion in the ARM.  The ARM is updated through June 30, 2005. 
This table includes those rules adopted during the period July 
1, 2005 through September 30, 2005 and any proposed rule action 
that was pending during the past six-month period.  (A notice of 
adoption must be published within six months of the published 
notice of the proposed rule.)  This table does not, however, 
include the contents of this issue of the Montana Administrative 
Register (MAR). 
 
To be current on proposed and adopted rulemaking, it is 
necessary to check the ARM updated through June 30, 2005, this 
table, and the table of contents of this issue of the MAR. 
 
This table indicates the department name, title number, rule 
numbers in ascending order, catchphrase or the subject matter of 
the rule, and the page number at which the action is published 
in the 2004 and 2005 Montana Administrative Registers. 
 
To aid the user, the Accumulative Table includes rulemaking 
actions of such entities as boards and commissions listed 
separately under their appropriate title number. 
 
GENERAL PROVISIONS, Title 1 
 
1.2.102 and other rules - Administrative Rules of Montana - 

Montana Administrative Register - Rule Formatting - 
Incorporation by Reference - Fees, p. 2211 

1.2.419 and other rule - Scheduled Dates for the 2006 
Montana Administrative Register - Submission Dates 
for Replacement Pages, p. 1903, 2334 

 
ADMINISTRATION, Department of, Title 2 
 
I-X Definitions - Licensing and Application Requirements 

- Ownership Change - Examination of Title Lenders - 
Duration of Loans - Extensions - Reports - Schedule 
of Charges - Employees' Character and Fitness - 
Procedural Rules for Hearing and Discovery Proposed 
for Adoption under the Montana Title Loan Act, 
p. 1125, 1334, 1839 

I-X State of Montana Voluntary Employees' Beneficiary 
Association (VEBA), p. 2779, 643, 911 

2.5.201 and other rules - State Procurement of Supplies and 
Services - Disposition and Disposal of Surplus 
Property, p. 1316, 1709, 1906 

2.21.410 and other rules - Military Leave, p. 767, 1506 
2.21.501 and other rules - Jury Duty - Witness Leave, p. 1633 
2.21.701 and other rules - Leave of Absence without Pay, 

p. 141, 372 



 

23-12/8/05 Montana Administrative Register 

-2477-

2.21.1001 and other rules - Parental Leave, p. 286, 571 
2.59.801 and other rules - Foreign Capital Depositories, 

p. 2130 
2.59.1701 and other rule - Definitions - License Renewal of 

Mortgage Brokers and Loan Originators, p. 2959, 320 
 
(Public Employees' Retirement Board) 
I-III Implementation of Detention Officer Transfer to 

Sheriffs' Retirement System, p. 1329, 1670 
I-III Implementation of Detention Officer Transfer to 

Sheriffs' Retirement System, p. 725, 1021 
I-VII When Salary Deferrals under a Cafeteria Plan Should 

be Treated as Compensation, p. 1626, 2241 
2.43.441 and other rule - Transfer of Funds for Certain 

Service Purchases, p. 400, 913 
2.43.1002 Investment Policy Statement for the Defined 

Contribution Retirement Plan, p. 1461, 1907 
2.43.1801 and other rule - Plan Document and Investment Policy 

Statement for the 457 Deferred Compensation Plan, 
p. 1458, 1908 

 
(State Compensation Insurance Fund) 
2.55.320 Classifications of Employments, p. 1944 
 
AGRICULTURE, Department of, Title 4 
 
I-III Cherry Research and Marketing Development Program, 

p. 771, 1279 
4.13.1001A and other rule - State Grain Lab Fee Schedule, 

p. 775, 1280 
 
(Montana Agriculture Development Council) 
4.16.303 and other rules - Agricultural Marketing Development 

Program, p. 1532, 1909 
 
STATE AUDITOR, Title 6 
 
I-XII Insurance Standards for Safeguarding Personal 

Information, p. 2435, 426 
I-XV Small Business Health Insurance Purchasing Pool - 

Premium Assistance and Premium Incentive Payments - 
Tax Credits, p. 1464, 1771 

6.6.504 and other rules - Medicare Supplements, p. 1131, 
1537, 1672, 1910 

6.6.6811 and other rules - Captive Insurance Companies, 
p. 861 

6.6.8301 Updating References to the NCCI Basic Manual for New 
Classifications for Various Industries, p. 1947 

6.6.8501 and other rules - Viatical Settlement Agreements, 
p. 1636 
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COMMERCE, Department of, Title 8 
 
I Administration of the 2006-2007 Federal Community 

Development Block Grant (CDBG) Program, p. 2133 
I Submission and Review of Applications to the 

Treasure State Endowment Program (TSEP), p. 1539, 
2052 

I Administration of the 2005-2006 Federal Community 
Development Block Grant (CDBG) Program, p. 1, 572 

I-XVI Award of Grants and Loans under the Big Sky Economic 
Development Program, p. 1711 

8.94.3801 and other rule - Administration of Grants Awarded by 
the 2005 Legislature - Treasure State Endowment 
Program (TSEP), p. 1954 

8.119.101 Tourism Advisory Council, p. 404, 813 
 
(Grant Review Committee) 
14.4.101 and other rules - Award of Training Grants by the 

Grant Review Committee, p. 1471, 1915 
 
EDUCATION, Title 10 
 
(Superintendent of Public Instruction) 
10.6.101 and other rules - School Controversies, p. 2136 
10.16.3010 Special Education, p. 1641, 2056 
 
(Board of Public Education) 
10.55.909 and other rule - Student Discipline Records - 

Student Records, p. 194, 575, 1390 
10.57.102 and other rules - Educator Licensure, p. 407, 916 
10.58.103 Review of Professional Educator Preparation Program, 

p. 289, 576 
 
FISH, WILDLIFE, AND PARKS, Department of, Title 12 
 
(Fish, Wildlife, and Parks Commission) 
I No Wake Zone on Georgetown Lake, p. 1644, 2331 
I Notice of Adoption of a Temporary Emergency Rule - 

Closing the Clark Fork River from the Petty Creek 
Fishing Access Site to the Tarkio Fishing Access 
Site, p. 1586, 1916 

I-VII Exotic Wildlife, p. 358, 814 
I-X Aerial Herding Permits, p. 991, 1775 
I-XVI Blackfoot River Special Recreation Permit Program, 

p. 4, 430 
12.5.201 Removing the Peregrine Falcon from the State 

Endangered Species List, p. 1841, 2329 
12.9.211 Abandonment of Teton-Spring Creek Bird Preserve, 

p. 1646, 2330 
12.11.202 and other rules - Beaverhead and Big Hole Rivers, 

p. 144, 737, 917, 1391, 1507 
12.11.501 List of Water Bodies (Index Rule), p. 2285 
12.11.3985 No Wake Zone on Seeley Lake, p. 2874, 373 
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ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY, Department of, Title 17 
 
17.53.102 and other rules - Hazardous Waste - Authorization of 

the Hazardous Waste Program, p. 14, 442 
17.56.101 and other rules - Underground Storage Tanks - 

Installation of Underground Storage Tanks, p. 2877, 
443 

 
(Board of Environmental Review) 
I Solid Waste - State Solid Waste Management and 

Resource Recovery Plan, p. 2016 
17.8.102 and other rules - Air Quality - Incorporation by 

Reference of Current Federal Regulations and Other 
Materials into Air Quality Rules, p. 291, 959 

17.8.335 Air Quality - Maintenance of Air Pollution Control 
Equipment for Existing Aluminum Plants, p. 2456, 321 

17.8.504 and other rules - Air Quality Permit Application, 
Operation and Open Burning Fees, p. 997, 2058 

17.8.743 Air Quality - Montana Air Quality Permits - When 
Required - Oil and Gas Well Facilities, p. 1479 

17.8.759 Air Quality - Review of Permit Applications, p. 1476 
17.24.116 Application Requirements for Operating Permit, 

p. 1649 
17.30.670 and other rules - Water Quality - Nondegradation 

Requirements for Electrical Conductivity (EC) and 
Sodium Adsorption Ratio (SAR) - Definitions for 
Technology-based Effluent Limitations - Minimum 
Technology-based Controls - Treatment Requirements 
for the Coal Bed Methane Industry, p. 1844, 2288 

17.30.1303 and other rules - Water Quality - Concentrated 
Animal Feeding Operations (CAFOs) - Adoption of 
Department Circular DEQ 9 (Montana Technical 
Standards for CAFOs), p. 2962, 864, 1995 

17.38.106 Public Water Supply - Fees for Review of Public 
Water and Sewage System Plans and Specifications, 
p. 2983, 577 

 
(Board of Environmental Review and the Department of 
Environmental Quality) 
17.30.502 and other rules - Water Quality - Subdivisions - 

CECRA - Underground Storage Tanks - Department 
Circular WQB-7 - Outstanding Resource Waters, 
p. 1957 

17.36.345 and other rules - Public Water and Sewage System 
Requirements and Subdivisions - Adoption by 
Reference, Plans for Public Water Supply or 
Wastewater System - Fees - Treatment Requirements - 
Disinfection, p. 2002 

 
TRANSPORTATION, Department of, Title 18 
 
I-XIII Aeronautical Grant and Loan Program - Pavement 

Preservation Grant Program, p. 2151 
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18.8.101 and other rules - Motor Carrier Services Regulations 
for Over Dimensional and Overweight Vehicles and 
Loads, p. 2142 

18.8.1101 Movement of Houses, Buildings, Extremely Heavy 
Machinery, and Other Large and Unusual Objects, 
p. 1002, 1589 

18.9.401 and other rule - Eligibility for Gasohol Motor Fuel 
Tax Reduction - Tax Reduction on Certain Oxygenated 
Gasoline Passed by the 59th Legislature in SB 293, 
Ch. 452, p. 1719 

23.5.101 and other rules - Transfer from the Department of 
Justice - Motor Carrier Safety Assistance Program, 
p. 2059 

 
CORRECTIONS, Department of, Title 20 
 
I-VIII Establishment of a Residential Methamphetamine 

Treatment Center, p. 1337, 1917, 2060 
20.9.601 and other rules - Licensure of Youth Detention 

Facilities, p. 1722 
20.27.101 and other rule - Siting and Construction Standards, 

p. 778, 1393 
 
JUSTICE, Department of, Title 23 
 
I Creating a Separate Endorsement and Qualification 

for Commercial Drivers Who Operate School Buses, 
p. 780, 1394 

I-V Administration of the Address Confidentiality 
Program, p. 1731, 2332 

I-V Credit Counseling Services, p. 1485 
I-V Operation of the Criminal Intelligence Information 

Section - Access of Participating Law Enforcement 
Agencies to Information Maintained by the Criminal 
Intelligence Information Section, p. 304, 740 

I-VI Operation of the Identity Theft Passport Program, 
p. 1541, 2061 

I-VI Administration of the Forensic Rape Examination 
Payment Program, p. 1545, 2063 

I-VII Regulation of Retail Establishment Selling Ephedrine 
or Pseudoephedrine, p. 1343, 1488, 1782 

23.16.102 and other rules - Effective Date for Forms Relating 
to Gambling Operator Licenses, Sports Tab Game 
Seller Licenses, Distributor's Licenses, Route 
Operator's Licenses, Manufacturer's Licenses, and 
Manufacturer of Illegal Gambling Devices Licenses, 
p. 1860, 2333 

23.16.103 and other rules - Effective Date for Forms Relating 
to Investigation of Applicants, Disclosure from 
Noninstitutional Lender, Dealer Licenses, and 
Gambling Operator Licenses, p. 2018 

23.16.202 and other rules - Credit Play Prohibited - Video 
Gambling Machine Permits - Requirements for Letters 
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of Withdrawal - Video Gambling Machine Testing Fees, 
p. 1735, 2248 

23.16.209 and other rules - Bonus Games - Definitions - 
Display of Antique Slot Machines - Elimination of 
the Video Gambling Machine Permit Fee Surcharge - 
General Specifications and Software Specifications 
for Video Gambling Machines - Addition of Testing to 
Purposes for Which Illegal Video Gambling Devices 
May Be Imported or Exported by a Video Gambling 
Machine Manufacturer - Allowable Winning Patterns 
for Bingo - Permit Surcharge Which was Eliminated, 
p. 784, 1281, 1509 

23.16.1823 Permit Fee Restrictions, p. 602, 964 
 
LABOR AND INDUSTRY, Department of, Title 24 
 
Boards under the Business Standards Division are listed in 
alphabetical order following the department rules. 
 
I-XVIII Elevator Services Occupational Licensing Program, 

p. 2293 
8.15.101 and other rules - Transfer from the Department of 

Commerce - Construction Blasters - Hoisting and 
Crane Operators - Boiler Engineers, p. 581 

8.15.302 and other rules - Boilers - Terminology - Licensure 
- Examinations - Responsibility of Licensees - 
Training, p. 2492, 583 

8.77.101 and other rules - Weights and Measures, p. 2997, 445 
24.17.127 Prevailing Wage Rates for Public Works Projects - 

Nonconstruction Services - Heavy and Highway 
Construction Services, p. 2290 

24.17.127 Prevailing Wage Rates for Public Works Projects - 
Building Construction Services - Heavy and Highway 
Construction Services, p. 1347, 2064 

24.29.1409 Travel Expense Reimbursement for Workers' 
Compensation Medical Services, p. 1350 

24.29.1409 Travel Expense Reimbursement for Workers' 
Compensation Medical Services, p. 520, 1395 

24.29.4301 and other rules - Workers' Compensation Reporting 
Database, p. 1570 

24.30.102 Occupational Safety Matters in Public Sector 
Employment, p. 1355 

24.35.111 and other rules - Independent Contractor Exemption 
Certificates, p. 874, 1511 

24.35.121 and other rule - Fee for Independent Contractor 
Exemption Certificates - Fee for Construction 
Contractor Registration, p. 525 

24.144.411 and other rule - Renewal of License or Endorsement, 
p. 2312 

24.301.138 and other rules - Building Codes, p. 2021 
 
(Board of Alternative Health Care) 
24.111.301 and other rules - Definitions - Naturopathic 

Physician Natural Substance Formulary List - Direct-
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entry Midwife Apprenticeship Requirements - Required 
Reports, p. 2786, 745 

 
(Board of Architects) 
24.114.403 and other rule - Business Entity Practice - Fee 

Abatement, p. 889, 2077 
 
(Crane and Hoisting Operating Engineers Program) 
24.135.501 and other rules - Hoisting Operators License 

Requirements - Crane Hoisting Operators License 
Requirements - Mine Hoisting Operators License 
Requirements - Fee Schedule - Renewals - National 
Commission Certification - Failed Examinations - 
Applications - Citations and Fines, p. 1871 

 
(Board of Dentistry) 
24.138.301 and other rules - Definitions - Initial Licensure of 

Dentists by Examination - Initial Licensure of 
Dental Hygienists by Examination - Dentist Licensure 
by Credentials - Dental Hygienist Licensure by 
Credentials - Denturist Examination - Denturist 
Application Requirements - Definition of Continuing 
Education - Requirements and Restrictions - 
Requirements for Continuing Education in Anesthesia, 
p. 796, 1396 

 
(State Electrical Board) 
24.141.401 and other rules - Board Meetings - Apprentice 

Registration - Fee Schedule - Temporary Practice 
Permits - Examinations, p. 1219 

24.141.403 Licensee Responsibilities, p. 317, 1397 
24.141.405 and other rule - Fee Schedule - Master Electrician 

Qualifications, p. 2349, 325 
 
(Board of Funeral Service) 
24.147.1101 and other rule - Crematory Facility Regulation - 

Designation as Crematory Operator or Technician, 
p. 197, 650 

 
(Board of Landscape Architects) 
24.153.403 Fee Schedule, p. 365, 750 
 
(Board of Medical Examiners) 
I & II Medical Assistants - Fee Abatement, p. 1882 
 
(Board of Nursing) 
8.32.305 and other rules - Educational Requirements and Other 

Qualifications Applicable to Advanced Practice 
Registered Nursing - Clinical Nurse Specialist 
Practice - Application for Initial Approval - 
Special Reports - Initial Application Requirements 
for Prescriptive Authority - Special Limitations 
Related to the Prescribing of Controlled Substances, 
p. 311, 742 
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8.32.402 and other rules - Licensure by Examination - 
Reexamination-Registered Nurse - Reexamination-
Practical Nurse - Conduct of Nurses, p. 516, 1686 

8.32.403 and other rules - Reexamination - Registered Nurse - 
Reexamination - Practical Nurse - Licensure by 
Endorsement - Temporary Practice Permit - Abatement 
of Fees - Foreign Educated Applicants - Licensure 
for Foreign Nurses, p. 866, 1687 

8.32.427 General Requirements for Medication Aide Training 
Programs and Instructors, p. 1652, 2251 

8.32.1701 and other rules - Delegation, p. 30, 1022, 1291 
 
(Board of Nursing Home Administrators) 
8.34.101 and other rules - Transfer from the Department of 

Commerce, p. 375 
8.34.415 and other rule - Renewals - Continuing Education, 

p. 2138, 377 
24.162.420 Fee Schedule, p. 1490, 2252 
 
(Board of Occupational Therapy Practice) 
24.165.301 and other rules - Modalities - Medications - 

Definitions - Approval to Use Modalities - 
Permission to Use Electrical or Sound Physical 
Agents, p. 2505, 447 

 
(Board of Optometry) 
24.168.401 Fees, p. 200, 651 
 
(Board of Outfitters) 
8.39.501 and other rules - Outfitter Licensing and 

Operations, p. 1549 
 
(Board of Physical Therapy Examiners) 
8.42.101 and other rules - Transfer from the Department of 

Commerce, p. 380 
 
(Board of Plumbers) 
24.180.607 and other rule - Temporary Practice Permits - 

Continuing Education Requirements, p. 893 
 
(Board of Private Alternative Adolescent Residential or Outdoor 
Programs) 
I-VI Private Alternative Adolescent Residential or 

Outdoor Programs, p. 1886 
 
(Board of Private Security Patrol Officers and Investigators) 
8.50.423 and other rules - Private Security Patrol Officers 

and Investigators - Fee Schedule - Firearms Training 
Course Curriculum and Standards, p. 605, 1926 

 
(Board of Professional Engineers and Professional Land Surveyors) 
8.94.3001 and other rules - Transfer from the Department of 

Commerce - Uniform Standards for Monumentation, 
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Certificates of Survey and Final Subdivision Plats, 
p. 966 

24.183.1001 Form of Corner Records, p. 530, 1783 
 
(Board of Psychologists) 
24.189.601 and other rule - Application Procedures - Licensees 

from Other States or Canadian Jurisdictions, p. 729, 
1294 

24.189.2107 and other rule - Continuing Education Implementation 
- Fee Abatement, p. 1739 

 
(Board of Public Accountants) 
8.54.410 and other rules - Fees - Amount of Required 

Experience - Continuing Education Matters - Special 
Practice Permits for Nonresident Certified Public 
Accountants, p. 1864 

 
(Board of Radiologic Technologists) 
8.56.602C and other rules - Permit Examinations - Radiologist 

Assistants - Scope of Practice - Supervision - Code 
of Ethics, p. 2682, 649 

24.204.401 and other rules - Fee Schedule - Permit Fees - 
Abatement of Renewal Fees - Radiologic Technologists 
Applications - Replacement Licenses and Permits - 
Permits-Practice Limitations - Permit Examinations - 
Radiologist Assistants - Scope of Practice - 
Supervision - Adoption of a Code of Ethics, p. 1226 

 
(Board of Real Estate Appraisers) 
24.207.402 Adoption of USPAP by Reference, p. 42, 652 
24.207.502 Application Requirements, p. 369 
24.207.517 and other rule - Trainee and Mentor Requirements, 

p. 622, 1400 
 
(Board of Respiratory Care Practitioners) 
24.213.301 and other rules - Definitions - Application for 

Licensure - Temporary Permit - Examination - 
Institutional Guidelines Concerning Education and 
Certification and Authorization to Perform Pulmonary 
Function Testing and Spirometry, p. 2352, 453 

 
(Board of Sanitarians) 
24.216.402 and other rule - Fee Schedule - Minimum Standards 

for Licensure, p. 2994, 382 
 
(Board of Social Work Examiners and Professional Counselors) 
24.219.301 Defining Pastoral Counseling, p. 535 
 
(Board of Veterinary Medicine) 
8.64.101 and other rules - Transfer from the Department of 

Commerce, p. 323 
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LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR, Office of the, Title 30 
 
30.2.201 and other rules - Centennial Grants - Centennial 

Sanctioning, p. 1358 
 
LIVESTOCK, Department of, Title 32 
 
32.2.403 Diagnostic Lab Fees, p. 1493, 1785 
32.18.202 and other rule - Sheep Permits, p. 1007, 1517 
32.23.301 Fees Charged by the Department on the Volume on All 

Classes of Milk, p. 1743, 2254 
32.24.501 and other rules - Quota, Utilization and Marketing 

of Montana Pooled Raw Milk, p. 2161 
 
(Board of Horse Racing) 
32.28.501 and other rules - Horse Racing, p. 45, 383 
 
MILITARY AFFAIRS, Department of, Title 34 
 
I-VI Reimbursement for Life Insurance Premiums Paid by 

Montana Reserve Component Service Members Serving 
Outside Montana in a Contingency Operation, p. 1362, 
1691 

 
NATURAL RESOURCES AND CONSERVATION, Department of, Title 36 
 
36.12.101 Municipal Use of Water, p. 2316 
36.19.106 Reclamation and Development Grants Program, p. 1746 
36.23.102 and other rule - Tax Increment Revenue Bonds under 

the Water Pollution Control State Revolving Fund 
Act, p. 210, 457 

36.24.102 and other rule - Tax Increment Revenue Bonds under 
the Drinking Water State Revolving Fund Act, p. 203, 
458 

 
(State Board of Land Commissioners and the Department of Natural 
Resources and Conservation) 
36.25.210 Increase Royalty Rates for Oil and Gas Leases on 

State School Trust Lands from Current Rates to 
16.67%, p. 1654, 2255 

 
(Board of Oil and Gas Conservation) 
36.22.1242 Privilege and License Tax Rates for Oil and Gas, 

p. 538, 1045 
 
PUBLIC HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES, Department of, Title 37 
 
I-IV Montana Clean Indoor Air Act, p. 1665, 2079 
37.30.102 and other rules - Vocational Rehabilitation Program, 

p. 1577, 2257 
37.40.302 and other rules - Nursing Facility Reimbursement, 

p. 630, 1046 
37.40.311 Medicaid Payments to Nursing Facilities, p. 411, 

969, 1401 
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37.70.305 and other rules - Low Income Energy Assistance 
Program (LIEAP), p. 1657, 2078 

37.70.311 and other rules - Low Income Energy Assistance 
Program (LIEAP), p. 1366, 1786 

37.75.101 and other rules - Child and Adult Care Food Program 
(CACFP), p. 2168 

37.78.102 and other rule - Temporary Assistance for Needy 
Families (TANF) - Medical Assistance - Purpose and 
Incorporation of Policy Manuals, p. 898, 1591 

37.80.101 and other rules - Child Care Subsidy - Legally 
Unregistered Provider - Child Care Provider Merit 
Pay - Star Quality Tiered Reimbursement Programs, 
p. 217, 1057 

37.85.212 Resource Based Relative Value Scale (RBRVS), p. 625, 
974 

37.85.414 and other rules - Medicaid Provider Requirements, 
p. 2690, 459 

37.86.805 and other rules - Medicaid Reimbursement Rates for 
Ambulance Services, Hearing Aids and Durable Medical 
Equipment, p. 53, 385 

37.86.1004 and other rule - Medicaid Dental Reimbursement and 
Coverage, p. 733, 1073 

37.86.1105 Medicaid Outpatient Drugs - Pharmacy Reimbursement 
for Medicare Part D Dual Eligibles, p. 2319 

37.86.2207 and other rules - Comprehensive School and Community 
Treatment Program (CSCT), p. 1374, 1787, 2260 

37.86.3607 and other rules - Case Management Services for 
Persons with Developmental Disabilities, 
Reimbursement, p. 1010 

37.86.4401 and other rules - Reimbursement of Rural Health 
Clinics and Federally Qualified Health Centers, 
p. 60, 975, 1402 

37.104.101 and other rules - Emergency Medical Services, 
p. 1238 

37.106.704 Minimum Standards for a Critical Access Hospital, 
p. 804, 1295, 2258 

37.108.219 and other rule - Managed Care Quality Assurance, 
p. 807, 1296 

37.114.701 and other rules - School Immunization Requirements, 
p. 541, 1074 

 
PUBLIC SERVICE REGULATION, Department of, Title 38 
 
I Utility Implementation of Rate Changes and Billing 

Practices, p. 421 
I Eligible Telecommunications Carriers and Lifeline/ 

Link-Up, p. 423, 820 
I-VII Energy Utility Service Standards, p. 416, 1404 
I-XIX Eligible Telecommunications Carriers, p. 2697, 653 
38.5.2202 and other rule - Pipeline Safety, p. 2323 
38.5.2202 and other rule - Pipeline Safety, p. 2795, 386 
38.5.3301 and other rules - Telecommunications Service 

Standards, p. 2518, 568 
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REVENUE, Department of, Title 42 
 
I Manufactured Homes and Real Property Taxes, p. 2326 
42.2.304 and other rules - General Department Rules - Penalty 

and Interest Rules, p. 2198 
42.15.112 and other rules - Personal Income Taxes, p. 2213, 

3147, 1592 
42.18.109 and other rules - Montana Reappraisal Plans for 2003 

and 2009, p. 1891 
42.18.118 and other rules - Industrial Property, p. 2798, 667 
42.20.106 and other rules - Property Taxes, p. 1016, 1594 
42.21.113 and other rules - Personal, Industrial, and 

Centrally Assessed Property Taxes, p.  1748, 2262 
42.25.1801 and other rules - Oil, Gas, and Coal Natural 

Resources, p. 1896 
 
SECRETARY OF STATE, Title 44 
 
1.2.102 and other rules - Administrative Rules of Montana - 

Montana Administrative Register - Rule Formatting - 
Incorporation by Reference - Fees, p. 2211 

1.2.419 and other rule - Scheduled Dates for the 2006 
Montana Administrative Register - Submission Dates 
for Replacement Pages, p. 1903, 2334 

44.5.114 and other rule - Corporations - Profit and Nonprofit 
Fees - Limited Liability Company Fees, p. 2238 

 
(Commissioner of Political Practices) 
I Lobbying and Regulation of Lobbying - Payment 

Threshold, p. 158, 387 
44.10.331 Limitations on Receipts from Political Committees to 

Legislative Candidates, p. 1583, 2094 


