MONTANA ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER
ISSUE NO. 9

The Montana Administrative Register (MAR or Register), a twice-monthly
publication, has three sections. The Notice Section contains state agencies'
proposed new, amended, or repealed rules; the rationale for the change; date and
address of public hearing; and where written comments may be submitted. The
Rule Section contains final rule notices which show any changes made since the
proposal stage. All rule actions are effective the day after publication of the adoption
notice unless otherwise specified in the final notice. The Interpretation Section
contains the Attorney General's opinions and state declaratory rulings. Special
notices and tables are found at the end of each Register.

Inquiries regarding the rulemaking process, including material found in the Montana
Administrative Register and the Administrative Rules of Montana, may be made by
calling the Secretary of State's Office, Administrative Rules Bureau, at (406) 444-
2055.
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BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION
OF THE STATE OF MONTANA

In the matter of the proposed ) NOTICE OF PROPOSED
amendment of ARM 2.59.1409 ) AMENDMENT

pertaining to duration of loans - )

interest - extensions ) NO PUBLIC HEARING

) CONTEMPLATED
TO: All Concerned Persons

1. On June 5, 2006, the Division of Banking and Financial Institutions
proposes to amend the above-stated rule.

2. The Department of Administration, Division of Banking and Financial
Institutions, will make reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities who
need an alternative accessible format of this notice. If you require an
accommodation, contact the Division of Banking and Financial Institutions no later
than 5:00 p.m. on May 31, 2006, to advise us of the nature of the accommodation
that you need. Please contact Christopher Romano, Division of Banking and
Financial Institutions, P.O. Box 200546, Helena, Montana 59620-0546; telephone
(406) 841-2928; TDD (406) 444-1421; facsimile (406) 841-2930; e-mail to
cromano@mt.gov.

3. The rule as proposed to be amended provides as follows, stricken matter
interlined, new matter underlined:

2.59.1409 DURATION OF LOANS — INTEREST — EXTENSIONS

(1) remains the same.

(2) The loan agreement may provide for automatic 30-day renewal periods
beyond the original term if principal and interest are not paid in full on the maturity
date. Any automatic 30-day renewal period must be clearly stated on the face of the
loan agreement in bold, capital letters. In addition to any other disclosures that may
be required by law, licensees must provide the borrower, in the original title loan
agreement or by addendum, a statement of the principal and interest due over a six-
month period if the borrower fails to make any payments as set forth in Illustration A.
Such statement must be initialed by the borrower at the time of the original loan and
include the borrower's affirmation that the borrower has been shown and read the
statement.

lllustration A
Principal Interest Per | Accrued Interest | Total Amount
Month at 25% at 25% Due
Original Loan $500.00 $125.00 $125.00 $625.00
Renewal 1 $500.00 $125.00 $250.00 $750.00
Renewal 2 $500.00 $125.00 $375.00 $875.00
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Renewal 3 $500.00 $125.00 $500.00 $1,000.00
Renewal 4 $500.00 $125.00 $625.00 $1,125.00
Renewal 5 $500.00 $125.00 $750.00 $1,250.00

(3) through (6) remain the same.

AUTH: 31-1-802, MCA
IMP: 31-1-816, MCA

4. REASONABLE NECESSITY: The Division of Banking and Financial
Institutions has determined that it is necessary to amend Illustration A within ARM
2.59.1409. In particular, Renewal 6 within lllustration A is out of compliance with
section 31-1-816(2)(d)(i), MCA. That statute states that a title lender may renew the
title loan for additional 30-day periods beyond the original term provided that
beginning with the sixth extension or continuation, and for each subsequent
extension or continuation, the borrower must reduce the principal amount by at least
10% of the original principal amount of the loan. The principal indicated in Renewal
6 should be reduced by 10% to be in compliance with the statute. lllustration A
demonstrates how interest accrues on a title loan when no payments are made on a
title loan that is renewed for additional 30-day periods. The division is deleting
Renewal 6 because the original loan through Renewal 5 provides an example of a
six-month period when the borrower fails to make any payments when renewing a
title loan.

5. Concerned persons may present their data, views, or arguments
concerning the proposed amendment in writing to Mark Prichard, Legal Counsel,
Division of Banking and Financial Institutions, P.O. Box 200546, Helena, Montana
59620-0546; faxed to the office at (406) 841-2930; e-mailed to mprichard@mt.gov,
and must be received no later than 5:00 p.m., June 2, 2006.

6. If persons who are directly affected by the proposed amendment wish to
present their data, views, or arguments orally or in writing at a public hearing, they
must make a written request for a hearing and submit the request along with any
comments they have to Mark Prichard, Legal Counsel, Division of Banking and
Financial Institutions, P.O. Box 200546, Helena, Montana 59620-0546; faxed to the
office at (406) 841-2930; e-mailed to mprichard@mt.gov, and must be received no
later than 5:00 p.m., June 2, 2006.

7. If the division receives requests for a public hearing on the proposed
amendment from either 10% or 25, whichever is less, of those who are directly
affected by the proposed amendment, from the appropriate administrative rule
review committee of the legislature, from a governmental agency or subdivision, or
from an association having no less than 25 members who will be directly affected, a
hearing will be held at a later date. Notice of the hearing will be published in the
Montana Administrative Register. Ten percent of those persons directly affected has
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been determined to be four based on the number of title loan licensees as of
publication of this notice.

8. An electronic copy of this Notice of Proposed Amendment is available
through the department's site on the World Wide Web at http://banking.mt.gov under
"Administrative Rule Notices." The department strives to make the electronic copy of
this Notice of Proposed Amendment conform to the official version of the Notice as
printed in the Montana Administrative Register, but advises all concerned persons
that in the event of a discrepancy between the official printed text of the Notice and
the electronic version of the Notice, only the official printed text will be considered.

In addition, although the department strives to keep its website accessible at all
times, concerned persons should be aware that the website may be unavailable
during some periods, due to system maintenance or technical problems, and that a
person's technical difficulties in accessing or posting to the e-mail address do not
excuse late submission or comments.

9. The Division of Banking and Financial Institutions maintains a list of
interested persons who wish to receive notices of rulemaking actions proposed by
this division. Persons who wish to have their name added to the mailing list shall
make a written request which includes the name and mailing address of the person
to receive notices and specifies that the person wishes to receive notices regarding
division rulemaking actions. Such written requests may be mailed or delivered to
Christopher Romano, Division of Banking and Financial Institutions, 301 S. Park,
Ste. 316, P.O. Box 200546, Helena, Montana 59620-0546; faxed to the office at
(406) 841-2930; e-mailed to cromano@mt.gov; or may be made by completing a
request form at any rules hearing held by the Division of Banking and Financial
Institutions.

10. The bill sponsor notice requirements of 2-4-302, MCA, do not apply.

BY: /[s/ Janet R. Kelly BY: /s/ Dal Smilie
Janet R. Kelly, Director Dal Smilie, Rule Reviewer
Department of Administration Department of Administration

Certified to the Secretary of State April 24, 2006.
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BEFORE THE BOARD OF HOUSING
DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE
STATE OF MONTANA

NOTICE OF PROPOSED
AMENDMENT

In the matter of the proposed )

amendment of ARM 8.111.409 )

pertaining to cash advances made to )
) NO PUBLIC HEARING
) CONTEMPLATED

borrowers or third parties

TO: All Concerned Persons

1. On June 6, 2006, the Board of Housing proposes to amend ARM
8.111.409 concerning cash advances made to borrowers or third parties.

2. The Board of Housing will make reasonable accommodations for persons
with disabilities who wish to participate in the rulemaking process and need an
alternative accessible format of this notice. If you require an accommodation,
contact the Board of Housing no later than 5:00 p.m. on May 30, 2006, to advise us
of the nature of the accommodation that you need. Please contact Diana Hall, 301
South Park Ave., P.O. Box 200528, Helena, MT 59620-0528; telephone (406) 841-
2840; fax (406) 841-2841; e-mail dihall@mt.gov.

3. The rule as proposed to be amended provides as follows, stricken matter
interlined, new matter underlined:

8.111.409 CASH ADVANCES (1) As part of the loan amount, the board
may advance at closing either to the borrower or to third parties as directed by the
borrower, an amount not to exceed $16,600 $30,000 to allow the borrower to satisfy
any liens on the property or make repairs to the property, and in addition, a
maximum amount not to exceed the actual closing costs for items such as, but not
limited to, appraisals, title policies, recording of documents and other closing costs.
The board may also advance at closing either to the borrower or to third parties as
directed by the borrower, an amount in excess of the above advance of $16,000
$30,000 as approved by the board on a case-by-case basis. Such amounts so
advanced shall be added to the initial loan balance. To receive a cash advance, the
borrower must submit a request in writing on forms supplied by the board.

AUTH: 90-6-136, MCA
IMP: 90-6-134, MCA

REASON: Amendment of the above rule is necessary because the number of
requests that exceed $10,000 has increased substantially and the board has
determined that staff does not need to come before the board on each request up to
the $30,000. The board has administratively increased the maximum loan amount
from $100,000 to $150,000 and decided the initial lump sum should be raised as
well. Staff will continue to keep the board informed on a semi-annual basis about
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the lump sums requested under $30,000 and present the board with any requests
over the $30,000.

4. Concerned persons may submit their data, views, or arguments
concerning the proposed action in writing to the Board of Housing, 301 South Park
Ave., P.O. Box 200528, Helena, MT 59620-0528, by facsimile to (406) 841-2841, or
by e-mail to mrude@mt.gov to be received no later than 5:00 p.m., June 1, 2006.

5. If persons who are directly affected by the proposed action wish to express
their data, views, or arguments orally or in writing at a public hearing, they must
make written request for a hearing and submit the request along with any comments
they have to the Board of Housing, 301 South Park Ave., P.O. Box 200528, Helena,
MT 59620-0528, by facsimile to (406) 841-2841, or by e-mail to mrude@mt.gov to
be received no later than 5:00 p.m., June 1, 2006.

6. If the board receives requests for a public hearing on the proposed action
from either 10% or 25, whichever is less, of those persons who are directly affected
by the proposed action, from the appropriate administrative rule committee of the
legislature, from a governmental agency or subdivision, or from an association
having no less than 25 members who will be directly affected, a hearing will be held
at a later date. Notice of the hearing will be published in the Montana Administrative
Register. Ten percent of those persons directly affected has been determined to be
2,000 based on the 20,000 persons who could benefit from this program.

7. An electronic copy of this Notice of Proposed Amendment is available
through the department's site on the World Wide Web at http://commerce.mt.gov.
The department strives to make the electronic copy of this Notice of Proposed
Amendment conform to the official version of the notice as printed in the Montana
Administrative Register, but advises all concerned persons that in the event of a
discrepancy between the official printed text of the notice and the electronic version
of the notice, only the official printed text will be considered. In addition, although
the department strives to keep its website accessible at all times, concerned persons
should be aware that the website may be unavailable during some periods, due to
system maintenance or technical problems, and that a person's technical difficulties
in accessing or posting to the e-mail address do not excuse late submission of
comments.

8. The board maintains a list of interested persons who wish to receive
notices of rulemaking actions proposed by the board. Persons who wish to have
their name added to the list shall make a written request that includes the name and
mailing address of the person to receive notices and specifies that the person
wishes to receive notices regarding single family housing programs, multifamily
housing programs, affordable housing revolving loan account, or general procedural
rules. The written request may be mailed or delivered to the Board of Housing,
Montana Department of Commerce, P.O. Box 200528, Helena, MT 59620-0528,
faxed to the board at (406) 841-2841, e-mailed to dihall@mt.gov or submitted at any
rules hearing held by the board.
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9. The Board of Housing will meet in Helena on June 6, 2006, at 1:00 p.m. to
consider the comments made by the public, the proposed responses to those
comments, and to take final action on the proposed amendment. The meeting will
be held in conjunction with the board's regular meeting. Members of the public are
welcome to attend the meeting and listen to the board's deliberations, but the board
cannot accept any comments concerning the proposed amendment beyond the
June 1, 2006, deadline.

10. The bill sponsor notice requirements of 2-4-302, MCA, do not apply.

DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE
BOARD OF HOUSING

By: /s ANTHONY J. PREITE
ANTHONY J. PREITE, DIRECTOR
DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE

By: [s/G. MARTIN TUTTLE
G. MARTIN TUTTLE, RULE REVIEWER

Certified to the Secretary of State April 24, 2006
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BEFORE THE FISH, WILDLIFE AND PARKS COMMISSION

OF THE STATE OF MONTANA

In the matter of the adoption of new ) NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING ON
rules | through IV; the amendment of ) PROPOSED ADOPTION,
ARM 12.9.802; the repeal of ARM ) AMENDMENT, REPEAL, AND
12.9.801 and 12.9.808; and the ) TRANSFER
transfer of ARM 12.9.810 pertaining to )
game damage hunts, management )
seasons, and game damage response )
and assistance )
TO: All Concerned Persons
1. The Fish, Wildlife and Parks Commission (commission) will hold public

hearings to consider the adoption of new rules | through 1V; the amendment of ARM
12.9.802; the repeal of ARM 12.9.801 and 12.9.808; and the transfer of ARM
12.9.810 pertaining game damage hunts, management seasons, and game damage
response and assistance. The hearing dates and places are as follows:

June 7, 2006, 7 p.m.

Fish, Wildlife and Parks
Region 5 Headquarters
2300 Lake Elmo Drive
Billings, MT

June 8, 2006, 7 p.m.
Red Lion Hotel Butte
2100 Cornell Avenue
Butte, MT

June 14, 2006, 7 p.m.
Fish, Wildlife and Parks
Region 4 Headquarters
4600 Giant Springs Road
Great Falls, MT

June 15, 2006, 7 p.m.
Fish, Wildlife and Parks
Region 2 Headquarters
3201 Spurgin Road
Missoula, MT

2. The commission will make reasonable accommodations for persons

with disabilities who wish to participate in this public hearing or need an alternative
accessible format of this notice. If you require an accommodation, contact the
commission no later than 5:00 p.m. on May 16, 2006, to advise us of the nature of

MAR Notice No. 12-319

9-5/4/06



-1106-

the accommodation that you need. Please contact Shelly Juvan, P.O. Box 200701,
Helena, Montana 59620-0701; telephone (406) 444-2062; fax (406) 444-3023; or e-
mail sjuvan@mt.gov.

3. The proposed new rules provide as follows:

NEW RULE | PUBLIC HUNTING ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENT (1) To
qualify for game damage assistance in accordance with 87-1-225, MCA, a
landowner must allow public hunting or not significantly reduce public hunting
through imposed restrictions during established hunting seasons, including the
general big game season. The department shall make determinations of eligibility
based on the criteria set out in this rule. For eligibility, public hunting must be
allowed at levels and in ways sufficient to effectively aid in management of area
game populations. Restrictions that may significantly restrict public hunting include:

(a) species or sex of animals hunters are allowed to hunt;

(b) portion of land open to hunting;

(c) time period land is open to hunting;

(d) fees charged; or

(e) other restrictions that render harvestable animals inaccessible.

(2) The department may provide game damage assistance when unique or
special circumstances render public hunting inappropriate.

AUTH: 87-1-225, MCA
IMP: 87-1-225, MCA

NEW RULE II GAME DAMAGE HUNTS (1) Damage hunts are carried out
according to the following policies and procedures:

(a) during the season-setting process, the department requests that the
commission tentatively approve a specified number of antlerless deer, antlerless elk,
and doe/fawn antelope licenses for potential game damage occurring between
August 15 and February 15; and

(b) if the regional supervisor determines that a damage hunt is necessary
before, during, or after the general hunting season, the regional supervisor must
obtain approval of the commissioner in whose district the game damage hunt is
proposed prior to implementing the hunt. If the commissioner is not available, then
the regional supervisor may request approval from the chairman of the commission
or, in his absence, any other commissioner.

(2) The following conditions apply to game damage hunts:

(a) damage hunts may only occur between August 15 and February 15;

(b) damage hunts may be authorized when there are enough animals
involved on the landowner’s property to justify the use of public hunting, but numbers
of animals and size of affected area does not qualify for implementation of a
management season, as outlined in [NEW RULE V],

(c) damage hunts may be authorized when hunting will occur only on
property where public hunting during the general season qualifies the property for
game damage assistance under 87-1-225, MCA, and [NEW RULE I] and on
approved adjacent or nearby legally-accessible state or federal land;
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(d) damage hunts may be authorized when the game damage is a recurring
problem and animals causing the problem are normally unavailable during the
general hunting season;

(e) a game damage hunt roster must be established in accordance with
[NEW RULE lll] for use in identifying hunters eligible to participate in game damage
hunts. If sufficient eligible hunters cannot be identified through the game damage
hunt roster, the department may identify eligible hunters through other established
means of hunter selection, including first-come, first-serve advertised opportunities
and unsuccessful special permit applicant lists;

(N unless stated otherwise, participants in a damage hunt shall possess a
valid unused license, permit, or damage hunt permit for the species being hunted;

(g) a person who is contacted by the department for the purpose of a
damage hunt may waive the opportunity to participate, but may not be considered
again until all other interested persons have been contacted; and

(h) any weapons restrictions or area closures that apply during general
hunting seasons to areas included in game damage hunts will also apply to hunting
conducted during game damage hunts in those same areas.

AUTH: 87-1-225, MCA
IMP: 87-1-225, MCA

NEW RULE Il GAME DAMAGE HUNT ROSTER (1) A game damage hunt
roster will be utilized to provide a list of hunters available to participate in game
damage hunts and management seasons, according to the following procedures:

(a) hunters interested in participating in game damage hunts and
management seasons will apply through the department website between June 15
and July 15 annually. A roster will be established through a computerized random
selection of applicant names, with roster results being made available on-line by
August 1 annually. Hunters without internet access may apply at any department
regional or Helena office between June 15 and July 15 annually;

(b) hunters may apply only for one antelope hunting district, one deer hunting
district, and one elk hunting district;

(c) resident and nonresident hunters must possess a valid unused antelope,
deer, or elk license specific to the species being hunted to participate in a game
damage hunt or management season; and

(d) nonresident hunters who possess a valid unused antelope, deer, or elk
license may comprise up to 10% of the total game damage hunt roster pool of
hunters for a specific game damage hunt or management season.

(2) If sufficient hunters to participate in a game damage hunt or management
season for a hunting district cannot be identified from that district's game damage
hunt roster, hunters on the roster from an adjacent hunting district may be selected.

AUTH: 87-1-225, MCA
IMP: 87-1-225, MCA

NEW RULE IV _MANAGEMENT SEASONS (1) A management season may
be implemented on lands eligible for assistance. A management season is a
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proactive measure to prevent or reduce potential damage caused by large
concentrations of game animals resulting from seasonal migrations, extreme
weather conditions, restrictive public hunting access on adjacent or nearby
properties, or other factors. The department shall make determinations of eligibility
based on the criteria set out in this rule. To qualify for a management season, a
landowner must allow public hunting or not significantly reduce public hunting
through imposed restrictions during established hunting seasons, including the
general big game season. For eligibility, public hunting must be allowed at levels and
in ways sufficient to effectively aid in management of area game populations.
Restrictions that may significantly restrict public hunting include:

(a) species or sex of animals hunters are allowed to hunt;

(b) portion of land open to hunting;

(c) time period land is open to hunting;

(d) fees charged; and

(e) other restrictions that render harvestable animals inaccessible.

(2) Upon receiving conditional approval from the director to proceed with a
management season proposal, the regional supervisor must obtain the approval of
the commissioner in whose district the management season is proposed prior to
implementing the season. If the commissioner is not available, then approval will be
requested from the chairman of the commission, or in his/her absence, any other
commissioner.

(3) Management seasons may be implemented under the following
conditions:

(a) hunting occurs during the time period August 15 through February 15;

(b) season will provide for dispersal and limited harvest of animals;

(c) hunting will include opportunities for specified numbers of hunters to
harvest either-sex and antlerless game animals;

(d) size of affected area and number of animals exceeds that which can be
more appropriately addressed through game damage measures outlined in ARM
12.9.802;

(e) hunting will occur only on lands eligible for assistance under (1) and
approved legally-accessible state or federal land; and

() any weapons restrictions and area closures that apply during general
hunting seasons to areas included in management seasons will also apply to hunting
conducted during management seasons in those same areas.

(3) Hunters eligible to hunt during a management season will be selected
from the game damage hunt roster under procedures outlined in [NEW RULE IllI]. If
sufficient numbers of hunters cannot be identified through use of the game damage
hunt roster, the department may utilize other established means of hunter selection,
including first-come, first-serve advertised opportunities and unsuccessful special
permit applicant lists.

AUTH: 87-1-225, MCA
IMP: 87-1-225, MCA

4. The rules proposed to be amended provide as follows, stricken matter
interlined, new matter underlined:
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12.9.802 GAME DAMAGE (1) By law, the Department of Fish, Wildlife and
Parks is required to respond to all big game damage complaints. General hunting
seasons are the primary tool to deal with animals causing or having the potential to
cause game damage. Landowners who allow public hunting and do not impose
restrictions that significantly reduce public hunting qualify for game damage
assistance.

(2) The department investigates damage complaints and arranges to study
the situation as soon as possible, and within 48 hours of the filing of the complaint.
If the department person who received the complaint is unable to respond within 48
hours, he will immediately refer the complaint to the nearest department employee
who can respond within a 48-hour period. Exceptions may be made if complainant
is agreeable to a longer waiting period.

(3) The department effish-wildlife-and-parks investigates all damage
complaints under this policy with the exception of (4). A phone call or on-site visit
constitutes an immediate response under this provision.

(4) remains the same.

(5) In response to legitimate damage complaints qualifying for assistance
under 87-1-225, MCA, and [NEW RULE ], a regional supervisor may address the
problem in the following ways:

bl durin il L huni ;

b} (a) herding may be employed as a temporary measure;

{e)} (b) a variety of animal dispersal methods may be employed, such as
airplanes, snowmobiles, cracker shells, and scareguns;

(&) (c) repellents such-as-bloedmeal may be employed as temporary
solutions;

{e) (d) fencing options may be utilized if the problem is chronic and involves
haystacks:

(i) through (iv) remain the same.

& (e) akill permit may be considered to be the best immediate solution and
may be activated without first exhausting any of the previously mentioned methods.
Authorization for kill permits is issued by regional supervisors;

{g) () the department, through the regional supervisor or designated staff,
has the discretion to issue supplemental game damage licenses for antlerless
animals to hunters as an alternative to a kill permit being issued to a landowner.
Supplemental game damage licenses administrative procedures are outlined in ARM
12.9.805;

(0) damage hunts may be used to address site-specific damage problems in
accordance with [NEW RULE II];

(h) netting or mechanical devices may be used to reduce tree damage; and
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(i) archery, shotgun, andfer muzzle loader weapons, or other weapons may
be used as an alternative hunting method when rifle hunting poses a threat to the
safety and welfare of persons or property.

(6) and (7) remain the same.

AUTH: 87-1-225, MCA
IMP: 87-1-225, MCA

5. ARM 12.9.801 (AUTH: 87-1-225, MCA,; IMP: 87-1-225, MCA) which
can be found on page 12-851 of the Administrative Rules of Montana, and ARM
12.9.808 (AUTH: 2-4-102, 87-1-301, MCA; IMP: 2-4-102, 87-1-301, MCA) which
can be found on page 12-857 of the Administrative Rules of Montana, are proposed
to be repealed because both rules will be redundant and outdated if the commission
adopts this rulemaking proposal.

6. The rule proposed to be transferred will be numbered as follows:
OLD NEW
12.9.810 12.9.1105

7. Rationale: In accordance with 87-1-301, MCA, the commission is

granted rulemaking authority to establish hunting season dates and structures. In
February 2006, the commission reaffirmed that the five-week general elk and deer
season structure was the primary tool for managing deer and elk populations.
Concurrent with this action, the commission eliminated many customized early and
late season types that varied widely from hunting district to hunting district and
added complexity to the regulations. Over time, these customized seasons had
generally failed to achieve department elk population management objectives. Many
of these customized seasons had been instituted initially as a means of trying to
address localized game damage problems, but over time had failed to achieve game
population management objectives. Based on the failure to meet population
objectives and continued complaints from hunters about the increased complexity of
big game regulations, the commission adopted a standardized five-week general
hunting season structure with the ability to extend that season if necessary to meet
population objectives. As part of that process, the commission is proposing a new
rule for a new process to implement management seasons on a localized basis to
provide for dispersal and limited harvest of animals outside of the general or
extended hunting season. The commission is also proposing rules and rule changes
creating a new streamlined process for implementing game damage hunts,
consistent with game damage statutes. The commission believes a more
streamlined game damage process will enable the department to respond more
efficiently when game damage situations arise.

The commission proposes to replace ARM 12.9.801 with new rule 1l which outlines
new procedures for conducting game damage hunts, and new rule 1ll, which
establishes a new process for developing a game damage hunt roster to identify
hunters available to participate in game damage hunts and management seasons.
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The purpose of the new process is to establish a roster system that is easier for
hunters to use and understand. The new system should allow the department to
organize a game damage hunt or management season more efficiently. Changes to
ARM 12.9.802 are proposed to make the rule more current with established game
damage program procedures. The commission thinks it is reasonably necessary to
propose new rule I to further clarify the public hunting eligibility requirements
established under 87-1-225, MCA, for landowners seeking game damage
assistance. The department will use the criteria established in new rule I to
determine landowner eligibility for game damage assistance. The commission
proposes to repeal ARM 12.9.808 because the adoption of the five-week season
structure renders the current rule invalid. New rule 1V is proposed to establish a new
process used to implement management seasons on a localized basis. This rule is
necessary to provide for dispersal and limited harvest of animals outside the general
or extended hunting season. Additionally, current ARM 12.9.810, with no changes,
is proposed for transfer to new subchapter 11 since season extensions are not a
part of the game damage program.

8. Concerned persons may present their data, views, or arguments,
either orally or in writing, at the hearing. Written data, views, or arguments may also
be submitted to Alan Charles, P.O. Box 200701, Helena, Montana 59620-0701;
phone (406) 444-3798; fax (406) 444-3023; or e-mail acharles@mt.gov and must be
received no later than June 2, 2006.

9. Rebecca Dockter or another hearing officer appointed by the
department has been designated to preside over and conduct the hearing.

10.  The department maintains a list of interested persons who wish to
receive notice of rulemaking actions proposed by the department or commission.
Persons who wish to have their name added to the list shall make written request
which includes the name and mailing address of the person to receive the notice and
specifies the subject or subjects about which the person wishes to receive notice.
Such written request may be mailed or delivered to Fish, Wildlife and Parks, Legal
Unit, P.O. Box 200701, 1420 East Sixth Avenue, Helena, MT 59620-0701, faxed to
the office at (406) 444-7456, or may be made by completing the request form at any
rules hearing held by the department.

11.  The bill sponsor notice requirements of 2-4-302, MCA, do not apply.

/s/ Steve Doherty /s/ Rebecca Dockter
Steve Doherty Rebecca Dockter
Chairman, Fish, Wildlife and Rule Reviewer

Parks Commission

Certified to the Secretary of State April 24, 2006
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BEFORE THE BOARD OF ENVIRONMENTAL REVIEW
OF THE STATE OF MONTANA

In the matter of the amendment of ARM ) NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING ON
17.8.740 and 17.8.767 pertaining to ) PROPOSED AMENDMENT AND
definitions and incorporation by ) ADOPTION
reference, and the adoption of New )
Rules | and Il pertaining to mercury ) (AIR QUALITY)
emission standards and mercury )

)

emission credit allocations
TO: All Concerned Persons

1. On May 31, 2006, at 9:00 a.m., at the Great Falls Civic Center -
Commission Chambers, 2 Park Drive South, Great Falls, Montana and on June 1,
2006, at 8:00 a.m. at MSU Billings - Student Union Building, 1st Floor - Ballroom,
1500 University Drive, Billings, Montana, the Board of Environmental Review will
hold public hearings to consider the proposed amendment and adoption of the
above-stated rules.

2. The board will make reasonable accommodations for persons with
disabilities who wish to participate in these public hearings or need an alternative
accessible format of this notice. If you require an accommodation, contact the board
no later than 5:00 p.m., May 22, 2006, to advise us of the nature of the
accommodation that you need. Please contact the board secretary at P.O. Box
200901, Helena, Montana 59620-0901; phone (406) 444-2544; fax (406) 444-4386;
or e-mail ber@mt.gov.

3. The rules proposed to be amended provide as follows, stricken matter
interlined, new matter underlined:

17.8.740 DEFINITIONS For the purposes of this subchapter:

(1) "Alternative mercury emission limit" means a mercury emission limit for a
mercury-emitting generating unit, established by the department in a permit issued
or modified pursuant to 75-2-211, MCA, in lieu of compliance with [NEW RULE
[(1)(@)].

(1) remains the same, but is renumbered (2).

(3) "Commercial operation"” means the time when the owner or operator
supplies electricity for sale.

(2) through (7) remain the same, but are renumbered (4) through (9).

(10) "Mercury" means mercury or mercury compounds in either a gaseous or
particulate form.

(11) "Mercury-emitting generating unit" means any emitting unit at a facility
for which an air quality permit is required pursuant to 75-2-211 or 75-2-217, MCA,
that generates electricity and combusts coal, coal refuse, or a synthetic gas derived
from coal in an amount greater than 10% of its total heat input, calculated on a
rolling 12-month time period, and that is subject to 40 CFR 60, subpart HHHH.
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(8) through (15)(b) remain the same, but are renumbered (12) through
(29)(b).

AUTH: 75-2-111, 75-2-204, MCA
IMP: 75-2-211, MCA

17.8.767 INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE (1) For the purposes of this
subchapter, the board hereby adopts and incorporates by reference:

(a) through (c) remain the same.

(d) 40 CFR Part 60, specifying standards of performance for new stationary
sources, except for 40 CFR 60.4101-4176, subpart HHHH, Emission Guidelines and
Compliance Times for Coal-fired Electric Steam Generating Units;

(e) 40 CFR 60.4101-4176, subpart HHHH, Emission Guidelines and
Compliance Times for Coal-fired Electric Steam Generating Units, except for 40
CFR 60.4141-4142, until December 31, 2014. The adoption and incorporation by
reference of 40 CFR Part 60, subpart HHHH, is not effective after December 31,
2014.

(e) through (g) remain the same, but are renumbered (f) through (h).

(2) through (4) remain the same.

AUTH: 75-2-111, 75-2-204, MCA
IMP: 75-2-211, 75-2-215, MCA

4. The proposed new rules provide as follows:

RULE | MERCURY EMISSION STANDARDS FOR MERCURY-EMITTING
GENERATING UNITS (1) Except as provided in (3) through (7), the owner or
operator of a mercury-emitting generating unit shall:

(a) beginning January 1, 2010, or when commercial operation has begun,
whichever is later, limit mercury emissions from the mercury-emitting generating unit
to an emission rate equal to or less than 0.9 pounds of mercury per trillion Btu,
calculated as a rolling 12-month average;

(b) for a facility for which the department has issued a Montana air quality
permit, submit an application to the department for a modification of the Montana air
quality permit for the facility pursuant to 75-2-211 or 75-2-217, MCA, to establish the
mercury emission limit from (1)(a) as a condition of the permit and provide an
analysis with respect to the facility's mercury control plan by January 1, 2009, or 12
months prior to beginning commercial operation, whichever is later;

(c) by January 1, 2010, or when commercial operation has begun, whichever
is later, operate equipment that is projected, as determined by the department, to
meet the standard in (1)(a).

(2) If the owner or operator of a mercury-emitting generating unit properly
installs and operates control technology or boiler technology, or follows practices
projected to meet the mercury standard in (1)(a), and the control technology, boiler
technology, or practices fail to meet the emission rate required in (1)(a), the owner or
operator:

(a) shall notify the department of the failure by April 1, 2011, or within 15
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months after commercial operation has begun, whichever is later; and

(b) may file an application with the department for a permit or permit
modification pursuant to 75-2-211, MCA, to establish an alternative mercury
emission limit. The application must be filed by July 1, 2011, or within 18 months
after commercial operation has begun, whichever is later, and must include all
monitoring data, obtained pursuant to (9), for the mercury-emitting generating unit.

(3) The department may establish an alternative mercury emission limit only
if the owner or operator applies for, or has applied for, a permit under 75-2-211,
MCA, that requires boiler technology, mercury-specific control technology, or
practices that the department determines constitute a continual program of mercury
control progression able to achieve the mercury emission rate requirement of (1)(a).
The department may not establish an alternative mercury emission limit that would
cause an exceedance, after December 31, 2014, of the state of Montana's electrical
generating unit mercury budget established by EPA.

(4) An alternative mercury emission limit established in a permit issued
pursuant to 75-2-211, MCA, expires four years after the date of the department’s
decision establishing the alternative mercury emission limit.

(5) The owner or operator of a mercury-emitting generating unit, for which the
department has established an alternative mercury emission limit, may file an
application with the department for a modification of the air quality permit for the
facility, pursuant to 75-2-211, MCA, to establish a new alternative mercury emission
limit. The application must be filed with the department at least three months prior to
expiration of the alternative mercury emission limit. If such an application is filed, the
failure of the owner or operator of the mercury-emitting generating unit to have a
new alternative mercury emission limit for the unit prior to expiration of the existing
alternative mercury emission limit is not a violation of this rule until the department
takes final action on the permit application, except as otherwise stated in this rule.

(6) For any application for a new alternative mercury emission limit under (5),
the department shall review the mercury-emitting generating unit's existing
alternative mercury emission limit and program of mercury control, associated data,
and available mercury control technologies, and may establish the same, or a more
stringent, alternative mercury emission limit, based upon data regarding the
demonstrated control capabilities of the type of control technology or boiler
technology installed and operated at the mercury-emitting generating unit, if the data
supports the new alternative mercury emission limit. The department may not
establish a less stringent alternative mercury emission limit pursuant to this section.

(7) If an owner or operator has timely notified the department of failure to
comply with (1)(a), files a complete application for an alternative mercury emission
limit, and operates and maintains the mercury-emitting generating unit, including any
associated air pollution control equipment, in a manner consistent with good air
pollution control practices for minimizing mercury emissions, the department may not
initiate an enforcement action for violation of (1)(a) between the date when (1)(a)
became applicable and the date of the department’s decision on the application for
an alternative emission limit, if the department establishes an alternative emission
limit.

(8) If more than one mercury-emitting generating unit is located at a facility,
the owner or operator may demonstrate compliance with the requirements of (1)(a)
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or an alternative emission limit on a facility-wide basis. An owner or operator
choosing to demonstrate compliance with this rule on a facility-wide basis shall
report the information required in (10) on a facility-wide basis.

(9) The owner or operator of a mercury-emitting generating unit shall monitor
compliance, pursuant to 40 CFR 60.48(a) through 60.52(a) and 40 CFR 75 subpart
[, with the mercury emission standard applicable under this rule or any alternative
emission limit. Any continuous emissions monitors used must be operated in
compliance with 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix B.

(10) The owner or operator of any mercury-emitting generating unit shall
report to the department within 60 days after the end of each calendar quarter, on
forms as may be prescribed by the department:

(a) the monthly average mercury emission rate, for each month of the
guarter; and

(b) the percentage of time the mercury emission monitoring method was
operating during the quarter.

AUTH: 75-2-203, 75-2-204, 75-2-211, MCA
IMP: 75-2-211, MCA

NEW RULE II MERCURY ALLOWANCE ALLOCATIONS UNDER CAP AND
TRADE BUDGET (1) The department shall submit to EPA mercury allowance
allocations as described below.

(a) For mercury-emitting generating units for which commercial operation
commenced before January 1, 2001, the department shall submit allowance
allocations by October 31, 2006, for the control period years of 2010, 2011, and
2012, and by October 31, 2009, and October 31 of each year thereafter for the
fourth control period year after the year of the notification deadline in a format
prescribed by EPA and in accordance with (2) and (3).

(b) For mercury-emitting generating units for which commercial operation
commenced after January 1, 2001, the department shall submit allowance
allocations by October 31 of the control period year for which the mercury
allowances are allocated.

(c) If the department fails to submit to EPA the mercury allowance allocations
in accordance with (1), the allocations of mercury allowances for the applicable
control period are the same as for the control period that immediately precedes the
applicable control period.

(2) The mercury allowance shall be calculated by multiplying the applicable
numerical limitation below by the maximum (nameplate) heat input value (in
MMBtu/hr) for a specific mercury emitting generating unit and multiplying that value
by 8760 hours per year to determine an annual allocation value. The calculation
result will be rounded to the next whole allowance as appropriate.

(&) Mercury allowances shall be allocated, pursuant to (1), to the owner or
operator of a mercury-emitting generating unit on the following basis:

(i) For the owner or operator of a mercury-emitting generating unit for which
commercial operation commenced before January 1, 2001, and that does not
combust lignite, the mercury allocation shall be based on an emission rate equal to
2.4 pounds of mercury per trillion Btu. For the owner or operator of a mercury-
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emitting generating unit for which commercial operation commenced before January
1, 2001 that combusts lignite, the mercury allocation shall be based on an emission
rate equal to 4.7 pounds of mercury per trillion Btu;

(i) For the owner or operator of a mercury-emitting generating unit for which
commercial operation did not commence before January 1, 2001, the mercury
allocation shall be based on an emission rate equal to 1.5 pounds of mercury per
trillion Btu as allocations are available, on a first-come, first-served basis, not to
exceed the Montana mercury budget.

(b) Allocations for a particular control period are limited to those mercury-
emitting generating units that were, or are anticipated to be, in commercial operation
in the year for which the allocations are being made. Allocations for a partial year, or
anticipated partial year, shall be prorated. The owner or operator of a mercury-
emitting generating unit that did not operate, or that operated less than projected,
must surrender excess allowances.

(c) Allocations may not exceed the Montana mercury budget.

(3) This rule is not effective after December 31, 2014.

AUTH: 75-2-203, 75-2-204, 75-2-211, MCA
IMP: 75-2-211, MCA

REASON: Pursuant to 75-2-203(1), MCA, the board has authority to
establish limits on emissions of air pollutants from any air pollutant source necessary
to prevent, abate, or control air pollution. Mercury emissions from coal-fired electric
utility steam generating units (EGUSs), i.e., coal-fired power plants, pose a threat to
human health and safety and the environment, and the board is proposing to
regulate those emissions in the proposed amendments and new rule.

A substantial amount of information concerning mercury is available on the
website of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA),
http://www.epa.gov/mercury, the source of much of the information included below.

Mercury is a naturally occurring element found in air, water, and soil. It exists
in several forms: elemental mercury; inorganic mercury compounds; and organic
mercury compounds. Mercury is found in many materials, including coal. When coal
is burned, mercury is released into the environment. Elemental mercury is the most
likely form to travel in the air globally and form part of the global cycle, whereas,
particle-bound mercury and oxidized (or ionic) mercury can fall out of the air over a
range of distances from the emission source.

EPA estimates that annual global mercury emissions from all sources, natural
and human-caused, are in the range of 4,800 — 8,300 tons per year. Human-caused
mercury emissions account for approximately three percent of the total global
emissions, and the U.S. power sector contributes approximately one percent of the
total global emissions.

Coal-burning power plants are the largest human-caused source of mercury
emissions to the air in the U.S. Nationally, EGUs cause over 40 percent of all
anthropogenic mercury emissions.

EPA estimates that about one-quarter of U.S. mercury emissions from coal-
burning power plants is deposited within the contiguous U.S. and the rest enters the
global cycle. Similarly, EPA estimates that more than one-half of the mercury
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deposited in the U.S. comes from sources outside the U.S. However, deposition
varies by geographical location. For example, U.S. sources represent a greater
percentage of the total deposition in parts of the Northeast because of the direction
of the prevailing winds. EPA has estimated that approximately eight percent of
mercury emissions from a particular EGU are deposited locally.

EPA estimates of local deposition potentially are in dispute. An EPA-funded
study conducted in 2003-2004 in Steubenville, Ohio, used rain samples and
meteorological data to track mercury emissions from smokestacks to monitors.
Nearly 70 percent of the mercury in rain collected at an Ohio River Valley monitoring
site originated from nearby coal-burning industrial plants. These findings show that
"hot spots” (concentrated local deposition of mercury) may be a much bigger
concern than previously acknowledged.

Mercury in the air eventually settles into water or onto land where it can be
washed into water. Once deposited, microorganisms can convert mercury into
methyl mercury, a highly toxic form that accumulates in fish, shellfish, and birds and
other animals that consume fish, with concentrations increasing further up the food
chain. Many variables influence the levels of methyl mercury concentrations in fish,
including water pH and temperature, the amount of dissolved solids and organic
material in the water, the types of organisms that inhabit the water, and the presence
of chemicals in the water. At high levels of exposure, the effects of methyl mercury
on birds and mammals may include reduced reproduction, slower growth and
development, abnormal behavior, and death.

Fish and shellfish are the main sources of methyl mercury exposure to
humans, with large fish that eat other fish, generally, having the highest
concentrations. Mercury exposure at high levels can harm the brain, heart, kidneys,
lungs, and immune system of people of all ages. High levels of methyl mercury in
the bloodstream of unborn babies and young children may harm the developing
nervous system, impairing the ability of a child to think and learn.

EPA has established a blood mercury level reference dose (RfD) of 0.1
micrograms/kilogram of body weight per day as an exposure level without
recognized adverse effects. In a 1999-2000 National Health and Nutrition
Examination Survey of 16 to 49-year old women, approximately 8 percent of the
women in the survey had blood mercury concentrations reflecting levels greater than
EPA’s RfD. Based on this survey, EPA estimates that more than 300,000 babies
born each year in this country may have increased risk of learning disabilities
associated with in utero exposure to methyl mercury.

Montana has statewide fish advisories for northern pike, lake trout, and
walleye greater than 15 inches, due to mercury contamination, recommending no
consumption by sensitive populations, which includes children and pregnant women.
The statewide advisory also recommends limited consumption by sensitive
populations of bass, burbot, grayling, perch, salmon, sunfish, brook trout, brown
trout, cutthroat trout, rainbow trout, walleye less than 15 inches, and whitefish, with
the suggested consumption limit varying by fish species, from one meal per week to
four meals per week. There also are numerous other advisories around the state
warning against eating other types of fish from different water bodies, due to high
levels of mercury. These warnings recommend various consumption limits for
sensitive populations as well as the general population. These water bodies include
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many of the state’s popular fisheries, including, among others, Bighorn Lake, Bynum
Reservoir, Canyon Ferry Reservoir, Clark Canyon Reservoir, Crystal Lake, Flathead
Lake, Fresno Reservoir, Georgetown Lake, Hauser Reservoir, Hebgen Lake, Holter
Reservoir, Island Lake, Lake Frances, Lake Koocanusa, Lake Mary Ronan,
Martinsdale Reservoir, Nelson Reservoir, Tiber Reservoir, Tongue River Reservaoir,
and Whitefish Lake.

In the Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990, Congress included mercury in a
list of 188 hazardous air pollutants for which EPA was required to develop a list of
categories and subcategories of major sources and area sources of those pollutants
and promulgate maximum achievable control technology (MACT) emission
standards for each category and subcategory. Section 112(b) and (c)(1) and (2), of
the federal Clean Air Act (FCAA), 42 U.S.C. 8 7412(b) and (c)(1) and (2). Currently,
EGUs are the only major industrial source of mercury emissions for which mercury is
not regulated as a hazardous air pollutant under the FCAA or Clean Air Act of
Montana. For EGUs, Congress required EPA to conduct a study of the hazards to
public health reasonably anticipated to occur as a result of EGU emissions of the
listed pollutants, after imposition of the requirements of the FCAA. Section
112(n)(1)(A), of the FCAA, 42 U.S.C. § 7412(n)(1)(A). Congress required EPA to
regulate EGUs under Section 112 if EPA determined from the study that regulation
under that section was appropriate and necessary. Id.

In February 1998, EPA submitted a report to Congress concerning mercury
emissions from EGUSs, titled Study of Hazardous Air Pollutant Emissions from
Electric Utility Steam Generating Plants - Final Report to Congress ("Utility Study").
In 1999, in an Information Collection Request (ICR), EPA required coal-fired EGUs
across the country to conduct emission tests to determine the levels of mercury
being emitted from those facilities.

On December 20, 2000, based on the Utility Study, the ICR testing, and a
National Academy of Sciences report concerning the health effects of methyl
mercury, EPA concluded that it was appropriate and necessary to regulate coal and
oil-fired electric utility steam generating units under Section 112, and EPA listed
those facilities as source categories for which EPA would promulgate MACT
standards. 65 Fed. Reg. 79826. This conclusion was based on EPA’s findings that
coal and oil-fired electric utility steam generating units are the largest domestic
human-caused source of mercury emissions and that mercury in the environment
presents significant hazards to public health and the environment and the fact that
EPA had identified control options that it believed would effectively reduce
hazardous air pollutant emissions from those units. Id., at 79830.

On January 30, 2004, EPA published a notice of rulemaking that included two
mutually exclusive alternatives for regulating emissions of mercury from coal and oil-
fired electric utility steam generating units. 69 Fed. Reg. 4652 (January 30, 2004).
The first alternative, based on EPA's conclusion that it was appropriate and
necessary to regulate those source categories under Section 112, was a proposed
MACT standard. The second alternative, based on the opposite conclusion, that it
was not appropriate or necessary to regulate those source categories under Section
112 after imposition of the requirements of the FCAA, was to regulate mercury
emissions from those source categories under the New Source Performance
Standard (NSPS) program in Section 111 of the FCAA, 42 U.S.C. § 7411, rather
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than under the MACT program.

On March 29, 2005, EPA removed coal and oil-fired electric utility steam
generating units from the Section 112(c) list. 70 Fed. Reg. 15994 (March 29, 2005).
In doing so, EPA stated that it had determined that, in listing those source categories
under Section 112, it had placed inappropriate weight on environmental effects
unrelated to public health, whereas Section 112(n)(1)(A) required EPA to analyze
only hazards to public health, and EPA stated it had not fully considered the
reductions that would result from imposition of the other requirements of the FCAA.
70 Fed. Reg. 16,002-16,003.

On May 18, 2005, EPA adopted the Clean Air Mercury Rule (CAMR), instead
of the MACT standard alternative. 70 Fed. Reg. 28,606 (May 18, 2005); 40 CFR
60.4101-4176. CAMR consists of: a cap and trade program, with an interim 2010
nationwide cap and a 2018 nationwide cap on total EGU mercury emissions;
budgets under the caps for each state; authorization for owners or operators to trade
unused emission credits; NSPS emission limits for new EGUs; and NSPS emission
guidelines for existing EGUs. EPA stated that it promulgated CAMR because it
found a cap and trade program to be the most cost-effective means to achieve
mercury reductions from EGUSs, given that the cap and trade program under EPA's
Clean Air Interstate Rule (CAIR), promulgated on March 10, 2005, and the pollution
controls designed to reduce emissions of sulfur dioxide (SO,) and nitrogen oxides
(NOy) to meet the requirements of that regulation, also will result in reductions of
mercury emissions as a co-benefit of controlling SO, and NO.

The cap and trade provisions of CAMR apply to existing and new EGUs
having a capacity greater than 25 megawatts, the new source emission limits apply
to EGUs for which construction, modification, or reconstruction occurs after January
30, 2004, and the existing source emission guidelines apply to EGUs existing on
January 30, 2004. CAMR imposes a first phase nationwide cap of 38 tons per year
(tpy) of mercury emissions that will become effective in the year 2010 and a second
phase cap of 15 tpy that will become effective in the year 2018.

Under CAMR, owners or operators of EGUs must demonstrate compliance by
holding one allowance for each ounce of mercury emitted in a given year, and
allowances are transferable among all regulated facilities within the country. The
emission limits for new sources all are on a rolling 12-month average basis and are:

Bituminous-fired EGUs - 21 x 10™° pounds per Megawatt-hour (Ib/MWh),
which is roughly equivalent to 2.1 pounds per trillion British thermal units
(Ib/TBtu);

Subbituminous-fired EGUs controlled with wet flue gas desulferization (wet
FGD) - 42 x 10°° Ib/MWh, which is roughly equivalent to 4.2 Ib/TBtu;
Subbituminous-fired EGUs controlled with dry FGD, 78 x 10 Ib/MWh, which
is roughly equivalent to 7.8 Ib/TBtu; Lignite fired EGUs - 145 x 107° Ib/MWh,
which is roughly equivalent to 14.5 Ib/TBtu;

Coal refuse-fired EGUs - 1.4 x 107° Ib/MWHh, which is roughly equivalent to
0.14 Ib/TBtu; and

MAR Notice No. 17-246 9-5/4/06



-1120-

Integrated gasification combined cycle (IGGC) EGUs - 20 x 10°° Ib/MWHh,
which is roughly equivalent to 2.0 Ib/TBtu.

Under CAMR, states may elect to participate in an EPA-managed cap and
trade program by adopting model cap and trade rules developed by EPA or may
elect not to participate in an EPA-managed cap and trade program, in which case
the state's budget becomes a firm cap for the state, which would limit the state's
mercury emissions to the budget listed in the EPA regulation. Also, under CAMR,
each state that has a mercury budget (states like Idaho that do not have any existing
EGUs do not have any allotted budget) is required to determine how it wishes to
allocate mercury allowances to EGUs in the state, within the state's budget. States
may follow an EPA-developed model or implement a different allocation
methodology. Under CAMR, the owner or operator of any EGU that has excess
emissions, after the caps become effective, will be required to surrender allowances
sufficient to offset the excess emissions and will be required to surrender allowances
from the next control period (next calendar year for which credits have been
allocated) equal to three times the excess emissions.

Currently, litigation challenging CAMR is pending against EPA by 14 states —
California, Connecticut, Delaware, lllinois, Maine, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New
Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Pennsylvania, Vermont, and
Wisconsin — and numerous public health groups, Indian tribes, and environmental
organizations.

At the request of members of the Senate Environment and Public Works
Committee, based on concerns with the process used to develop EPA’s January
2004 proposed alternative mercury regulations, EPA’s Office of Inspector General
(OIG) reviewed that proposal. OIG found the process followed by EPA, and EPA's
proposed regulations, to be flawed in several major respects. See,
http://www.epa.gov/oig/reports/2005/20050203-2005-P-00003.pdf. OIG found that
EPA senior management had instructed EPA staff to develop a MACT standard that
would result in a level of mercury emissions (34 tons per year) coinciding with the
level expected to be achieved under CAIR, without any additional controls for
mercury, instead of basing the MACT standard on an unbiased determination of the
level of mercury control achieved in practice by the top performing units, which is the
minimum level for a MACT standard under the FCAA.

OIG also found that the cap and trade program could be strengthened to
better protect public health and ensure that anticipated emission reductions would
be achieved. Among other flaws, OIG concluded that the proposed cap and trade
program would not require installation of mercury-specific controls to achieve the
interim 2010 cap and that the cap and trade program would not adequately address
the potential for hot spots. OIG stated in its report that: "Trading programs are
generally thought to be most effective for pollutants that do not deposit locally.” OIG
also noted that national ambient air quality standards for SO, and a contingency for
delayed implementation due to litigation provide a backup for the acid rain trading
program, whereas there are no ambient air quality standards for hazardous air
pollutants such as mercury and the mercury cap and trade program included no
contingency for delayed implementation. OIG also criticized EPA'’s failure to consult
with the National Tribal Environmental Council on the proposed rulemaking, despite

9-5/4/06 MAR Notice No. 17-246



-1121-

the fact that two coal-fired power plants are located in Indian country and that the
average tribal member eats much more fish than the typical consumer.

In 2001, the total reported mercury emissions from EGUs in Montana was
982 pounds, which represents 92% of all human-caused mercury air emissions in
the state, according to EPA’s Toxic Release Inventory. Montana’s mercury budget
under CAMR, effective in 2010, will be 0.378 tpy, or 756 pounds per year, and the
Montana budget effective in 2018 will be 0.149 tpy, or 298 pounds per year.
Therefore, without considering mercury emissions from EGUs in the state for which
the Department of Environmental Quality ("department"”) has issued a permit since
2001, and without considering potential market trading, mercury emissions from
EGUs in Montana would need to be reduced by at least 23% in order to comply with
the 2010 state budget under CAMR. However, according to a January 6, 2006,
report of the U.S. Department of Energy, titled "Coal’'s Resurgence in Electric Power
Generation," http://www.netl.doe.gov/coal/refshelf/ncp.pdf, currently, seven new
EGUs are proposed for Montana. Three of those (the Roundup Power Project, the
Rocky Mountain Power Hardin Generation Project, and the Thompson River Co-
Generation Project) already have received Montana air quality permits.

Activated Carbon Injection (ACI) control technology can be purchased and
used in an EGU for mercury removal for all coal types. ACI has been used
commercially to reduce mercury emissions from municipal solid waste incinerators
for over twenty years. Full-scale ACI systems have been installed on over 40 U.S.
coal-fired boilers in temporary ACI trials. These temporary trials have lasted
between one week and 12 months. The results have demonstrated success at
capturing over 90% of the mercury from EGUs firing subbituminous coals.

Brominated sorbents have proven to be extremely successful at capturing
mercury from subbituminous coals, such as are commonly found in Montana.
Although brominated sorbents cost more per pound than nonbrominated sorbents
used for bituminous coal, less of the brominated sorbent is necessary to capture
more mercury. The net operating costs are substantially lower because of this
increased capture.

The owners of at least four EGUs in the western U.S. have agreed to install
ACI. The owner of one EGU in Montana that will burn subbituminous western coal,
the Hardin Generation Project, has agreed to install ACI in the near future.

The capital costs of installing ACI are two orders of magnitude less than the
capital costs of equipment used to control SO, or NO,. Recent data from field-
testing sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy’s National Energy Technology
Laboratory indicate that the average cost of controlling mercury will range from 0.2
to 0.8 mills per Kilowatt-hour (KWh). Based on this estimate, mercury control would
add 15 to 60 cents per month to a typical 750 KWh residential electric bill.

It is necessary for the board to engage in rulemaking to restrict mercury
emissions from EGUs in order for Montana to comply with its EGU mercury budget
established by EPA under CAMR. Also, EGUs are, by far, the largest source of
human-caused mercury emissions in the state. Although mercury emissions from
EGUs in Montana account for only a small percentage of global mercury emissions
and, presently, may account for a small percentage of the mercury deposited in
Montana, due to the high risk posed by mercury to human health and welfare and to
the environment, it is necessary to take all reasonable measures to reduce human-
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caused mercury emissions. Therefore, it is necessary for the board to reduce
mercury emissions from EGUs in order to protect public health and welfare and the
environment.

The board is proposing to amend ARM 17.8.740 to include definitions of new
terms that would be used in New Rule I.

The board is proposing to amend ARM 17.8.767 to adopt and incorporate by
reference the provisions of CAMR that relate to EPA's mercury emission state
budgets, emission standards, and monitoring and recordkeeping requirements
codified in 40 CFR 60, subpart Da. The board is proposing to adopt and incorporate
by reference the provisions of CAMR that relate to EPA's interstate mercury
emission credit trading program, codified in 40 CFR 60.4101-4176 (subpart HHHH),
except for 40 CFR 60.4141-4142 relating to allocation of mercury emission credits
and the timing of the allocations. The board is proposing to have the adoption and
incorporation of 40 CFR Part 60, subpart HHHH, and, consequently, participation in
the mercury emission credit trading program, expire December 31, 2014.

Under CAMR, states are not required to adopt a mercury emissions credit
trading program, but EPA has informed the department that it will not approve a
mercury emissions credit trading program that restricts interstate trading by allowing
only intrastate trading. The board believes that allowing trading of credits only within
Montana would not greatly hinder implementation of mercury control by EGUs within
the state and would not significantly add to the possibility of mercury hot spots.
However, the board is concerned that allowing interstate trading beyond the time
necessary for the owners and operators of EGUs within the state to reduce mercury
emissions to appropriate levels could provide a disincentive to maximize mercury
control and could significantly add to the possibility of mercury hot spots in the state.
Because EPA has indicated that it will not approve limits on interstate trading, the
board is proposing to adopt EPA's model mercury emissions credit trading program,
but is proposing to terminate that program on December 31, 2014. However, as
discussed further below, the board will consider comments on full participation in
EPA's mercury emissions credit trading program without any sunset date or on an
intrastate mercury emission credit trading program, as well as on other mercury
trading and control alternatives.

New Rule 1(1)(a) would limit EGU mercury emissions to 0.9 Ib/TBtu on a
rolling 12-month average beginning January 1, 2010, or when commercial operation
begins, whichever is later, and would require operation of equipment by January 1,
2010, that is projected to meet that limit. The 0.9 Ib/TBtu limit represents the level of
mercury reduction necessary for the existing, permitted EGUs and EGUs for which
the department expects permit applications in the near future to achieve compliance
with the EPA-mandated 2018 Montana mercury budget of 298 Ibs. The board
believes that establishing an emission standard that will achieve the long-term goal
of meeting the 2018 budget, rather than establishing phased-in emission limits,
would allow for better planning by the owners and operators respecting the control
configurations necessary to meet the ultimate goal. The proposed standard also
would require some level of mercury control on every EGU in the state, which would
result in emission reductions by each EGU by 2010, rather than potentially delaying
implementation of control technology to meet only the 2018 mercury budget.

Under New Rule 1(2), (3), and (4), if the owner or operator properly installs
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and operates technology projected by the department to achieve the mercury
emission limit, but the EGU fails to meet the limit and the owner or operator notifies
the department and submits an application to the department, in conformance with
the requirements of the rule, the department may establish an alternative mercury
emission limit that would be effective for four years. Under New Rule I(5) and (6),
upon expiration of an alternative limit, the department may establish a new
alternative emission limit that is as stringent as, or more stringent than, the initial
alternative limit, based on data regarding the demonstrated control capabilities of the
technology operated at the EGU.

Under New Rule I(7), the department would not have authority to initiate an
enforcement action for a violation of the 0.9 Ib/TBtu emission limit that occurs
between the date the limit becomes effective for the EGU and the date of the
department’s decision on an application for an alternative limit, if the owner or
operator timely files a complete application for an alternative limit and has operated
the EGU and control equipment in a manner consistent with good air pollution
control practices for minimizing mercury emissions.

Under New Rule I(8), compliance with the mercury emission standard or any
alternative mercury emission limit could be demonstrated on a facility-wide basis for
an EGU that has more than one mercury emitting generating unit.

Under New Rule 1(9), the owner or operator of an EGU would be required to
monitor compliance with the mercury emission standard, or any applicable
alternative mercury emission limit, pursuant to the monitoring requirements of CAMR
found in 40 CFR 60.48(a) through 60.52(a). Under those requirements, mercury
emissions would be determined by continuously collecting mercury emission data
from each affected EGU by installing and operating a continuous emissions
monitoring system (CEMS) or by an appropriate long-term method (e.g., sorbent
trap) that can collect an uninterrupted, continuous sample of the mercury in the flue
gases emitted from the EGU.

New Rule 1(10) would require the owner or operator of an EGU to submit to
the department quarterly reports specifying the monthly average mercury emission
rate for each month of the quarter and the percentage of time the monitoring method
being used was operating during the quarter.

New Rule Il would specify the state’s mercury allocations to meet the state’s
EGU mercury emission budgets established under CAMR. New Rule [I(1)(a) and (b)
would specify the dates by which the department would submit to EPA allocations
for specific EGUs, depending upon whether commercial operation commenced
before January 1, 2001, or on or after that date.

Under New Rule II(2), annual EGU mercury allowances would be calculated
by multiplying the applicable emission rate times the maximum (nameplate) heat
input value in million BTUs per hours and by multiplying that amount by 8,760 (for
the hours in a year). The mercury allocations would be:

For the control period years beginning January 1, 2010, through the control
period years ending December 31, 2014:

EGUs for which commercial operation commenced before January 1, 2001,
and that do not combust lignite coal — 2.4 Ib/TBtu;
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EGUs for which commercial operation commenced before January 1, 2001,
and that combust lignite coal — 4.7 Ib/TBtu; and

EGUs for which commercial operation did not commence before January 1,
2001 — 1.5 Ib/TBtu, as allocations are available, on a first-come, first-served
basis, not to exceed the Montana mercury budget of 756 Ibs.

Under New Rule 11(2)(b), allocations would be limited to those EGUs that will
be, or are anticipated to be, in commercial operation in the year for which the
allocations are being made, with allocations for a partial year of operation being
prorated. The owner or operator of an EGU that did not operate during a year for
which allocations were made, or that operated less than projected by the
department, would have to surrender excess allowances to the department. Under
New Rule 11(2)(c), allocations may not exceed the Montana mercury budget.

Under New Rule 11(3), New Rule Il would sunset on December 31, 2014, and
no trading would be allowed after that date.

The board is proposing these specific limits to reduce mercury emissions and
their impact to Montana. The 0.9 Ib/TBtu limit reflects the emission level required by
the existing and permitted EGUs, and EGUs for which the department currently is
processing a permit application, to achieve compliance with the EPA-mandated
Montana mercury budget of 298 Ibs in 2018. Having one long-term goal, as
opposed to taking a phased approach, would allow for planning by the EGUs with
respect to control configurations. The temporary allocation and trading scheme,
however, allows for flexibility initially between alternative emission limits, allocations
that exceed the emissions limitation for existing EGUs, and interstate trading.
Allocation and trading would be eliminated after December 31, 2014, and the state
would rely on mercury emission controls to maintain compliance with Montana’s
mercury budget cap. The elimination of trading would maintain mercury control (and
the consequential capital expenditures) within Montana as well as address concerns
for hot spots. The proposed rule also would require some kind of control on every
EGU, instead of allowing the owners and operations of some EGUs to buy credits to
maintain historical mercury emissions levels. The December 31, 2014, sunset date
would compel progress on emission controls while ensuring Montana’s compliance
with the 2018 CAMR budget cap.

While the board is proposing the specific amendments and new rules
described above, the board will consider comments not only on this specific proposal
but also on rule amendments and new rules that vary from these proposals and that
are more or less stringent than these proposals, but that would achieve mercury
reductions at least as stringent as those necessary to meet the mercury budgets
established by EPA for the state. The final amendments and new rules adopted by
the board will be based on the record of the proceeding, including comments on the
board's specific proposal as well as comments on any different proposals that would
at least meet the state's mercury budgets.

Pursuant to 75-2-207(2)(a), MCA, the board may adopt a rule to implement
the Clean Air Act of Montana that is more stringent than comparable federal
regulations only if the board holds a public hearing, public comment is allowed, and

9-5/4/06 MAR Notice No. 17-246



-1125-

the board makes a written finding after the public hearing and comment period,
based on evidence in the record, that the proposed standard or requirement protects
public health or the environment, can mitigate harm to public health or the
environment, and is achievable with current technology. The proposed rule
amendments and new rules, or any other amendments and new rules adopted by
the board based on the record of this proceeding, may be more stringent than
federal regulations related to control of mercury emissions from EGUs. The public
hearing and comment period for this proposed rulemaking are intended to provide
the public with the opportunity to comment on the issues relevant to a finding under
Section 75-2-207(2)(a), MCA, as well as other issues related to the proposed
rulemaking.

5. Concerned persons may submit their data, views, or arguments, either
orally or in writing, at the hearings. Written data, views, or arguments may also be
submitted to the board secretary at Board of Environmental Review, 1520 E. Sixth
Avenue, P.O. Box 200901, Helena, Montana, 59620-0901; faxed to (406) 444-4386;
or e-mailed to ber@mt.gov, no later than 5:00 p.m., July 6, 2006. To be guaranteed
consideration, mailed comments must be postmarked on or before that date.

6. The Board of Environmental Review will preside over and conduct the
hearing.

7. The board maintains a list of interested persons who wish to receive
notices of rulemaking actions proposed by this agency. Persons who wish to have
their name added to the list shall make a written request that includes the name and
mailing address of the person to receive notices and specifies that the person
wishes to receive notices regarding: air quality; hazardous waste/waste oil; asbestos
control; water/wastewater treatment plant operator certification; solid waste; junk
vehicles; infectious waste; public water supplies; public sewage systems regulation;
hard rock (metal) mine reclamation; major facility siting; opencut mine reclamation;
strip mine reclamation; subdivisions; renewable energy grants/loans; wastewater
treatment or safe drinking water revolving grants and loans; water quality; CECRA;
underground/above ground storage tanks; MEPA; or general procedural rules other
than MEPA. Such written request may be mailed or delivered to the board secretary
at Board of Environmental Review, 1520 E. Sixth Ave., P.O. Box 200901, Helena,
Montana 59620-0901; faxed to (406) 444-4386; e-mailed to ber@mt.gov; or may be
made by completing a request form at any rules hearing held by the board.

8. The bill sponsor notice requirements of 2-4-302, MCA, do not apply.

Reviewed by: BOARD OF ENVIRONMENTAL REVIEW
[s/ David M. Rusoff BY: [/s/ Joseph W. Russell

DAVID M. RUSOFF JOSEPH W. RUSSELL, M.P.H.,

Rule Reviewer Chairman

Certified to the Secretary of State April 24, 2006.
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BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC
HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES OF THE
STATE OF MONTANA

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING
ON PROPOSED AMENDMENT

In the matter of the amendment of ARM )
37.86.1001, 37.86.1006, 37.86.1807, )
37.86.2105, 37.86.2217, 37.86.2402, )
37.86.2405, 37.86.2602, and )
37.86.2605 pertaining to Medicaid )
Dental Services, Durable Medical )
Equipment, Eyeglass Services, )
Ambulance Services, and )
Transportation )

TO: All Interested Persons

1. On May 24, 2006, at 1:30 p.m., a public hearing will be held in the
auditorium of the Department of Public Health and Human Services Building, 111 N.
Sanders, Helena, Montana to consider the proposed amendment of the above-
stated rules.

The Department of Public Health and Human Services will make reasonable
accommodations for persons with disabilities who need an alternative accessible
format of this notice or provide reasonable accommodations at the public hearing
site. If you need to request an accommodation, contact the department no later than
5:00 p.m. on May 15, 2006, to advise us of the nature of the accommodation that
you need. Please contact Dawn Sliva, Office of Legal Affairs, Department of Public
Health and Human Services, P.O. Box 4210, Helena, MT 59604-4210; telephone
(406)444-5622; FAX (406)444-1970; e-mail dphhslegal@mt.gov.

2. The rules as proposed to be amended provide as follows. Matter to be
added is underlined. Matter to be deleted is interlined.

37.86.1001 DENTAL SERVICES, DEFINITIONS For purposes of this
subchapter, the following definitions apply:

(1) remains the same.

&) (5) "Relative ¥Values for dDentists (RVD) sScale" means the scale
published biennially by Relative Value Studies Inc., 1675 Larimer, Suite 410,
Denver, CO 80202, listing the relative value of dental services provided by dentists
and denturists.

3} (6) "Relative value unit (RVU)" means a numerical value assigned in the
resource based relative value scale to each procedure code for which a relative
value is available. The RVD is a comprehensive relative value system that lists
dental procedures used by dentists, and denturists, and hygienists as an expression
of the relative effort and expense expended by a provider in providing one service as
compared to another service.

(2) "Dental hygiene" means services performed by a licensed preventive oral
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health practitioner known as a dental hygienist, that are therapeutic, prophylactic, or
preventive procedures in nature.

(3) "Dental hygienist" means a licensed preventive oral health practitioner
practicing in compliance with the provisions of Title 37, chapter 4, MCA.

(4) "Public health supervision" means the provision of limited dental hygiene
preventative services without the prior authorization or presence of a licensed dentist
in_a public health facility.

AUTH: 53-6-113, MCA
IMP:  53-6-101, 53-6-141, MCA

37.86.1006 DENTAL SERVICES, COVERED PROCEDURES (1) For
purposes of specifying coverage of dental services through the mMedicaid program,
the department incorporates by reference the dDental and dDenturist sServices
pProvider mManual effective July 2605 2006. The dDental and dDenturist sServices
pProvider mManual, provided to providers of those services, informs the providers of
the requirements applicable to the delivery of services. Copies of the manual are
available on the mMedicaid provider website at www.dphhs.mt.gov and from the
Department of Public Health and Human Services, Health Resources Division,
Medieaid Acute Services Bureau, 1400 Broadway, P.O. Box 202951, Helena, MT
59620-2951.

(2) Dentists who are Medicaid provider participants under ARM 37.85.401
may bill medical “CPT* procedure codes as provided in ARM 37.85.212 and
37.86.101 for any mMedicaid covered medical procedure which that they are
allowed to provide under the Dental Practice Act that is not otherwise listed in the
dDental and Denturist sServices pProvider mManual.

(3) remains the same.

(4) A licensed dental hygienist practicing under public health supervision may
provide dental hygiene preventative services as defined by the Board of Dentistry.

(5) Covered services for adults age 21 and over include:

(a) diagnostic;

(b) preventative;

(c) basic restorative services including prefabricated crowns; and

(d) extractions.

(6) Full maxillary and full mandibular dentures are a Medicaid covered
service. Coverage is limited to one set of dentures every ten years. Only one
lifetime exception to the ten year time period is allowed per recipient if one of the
following exceptions is authorized by the department:

(a)_The dentures are no longer serviceable and cannot be relined or rebased.

(b) The dentures are lost, stolen, or damaged beyond repair.

(7) Maxillary partial dentures and mandibular partial dentures are a Medicaid
covered service. Coverage is limited to one set of partial dentures every five years.
Only one lifetime exception to the five year limit is allowed per recipient if one of the
following exceptions is authorized by the department:

(a) _The partial dentures are no longer serviceable and cannot be relined or
rebased.

(b) The partial dentures are lost, stolen, or damaged beyond repair.
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(8) The limits on coverage of denture replacement may be exceeded when
the department determines that the existing dentures are causing the recipient
serious physical health problems.

(a)_The dentist or denturist must indicate "replacement dentures" on the
request for prior authorization of replacement dentures and document the medical
necessity for the replacement.

4) (9) Coverage of denture services are subject to the following
requirements and limitations:

(a) a A denturist may provide initial immediate full prosthesis and initial
immediate partial prosthesis only when prescribed by a dentist-and.

(b) rRequests for full prosthesis must show the approximate date of the most
recent extractions, and/or the age and type of the present prosthesis.

(d) extractions.
4y (17) Foeoth-colored-erowns-and Porcelain/ceramic crowns, noble metal

crowns, and bridges are not covered benefits of the mMedicaid program for
individuals age 21 and over.

AUTH: 53-2-201, 53-6-113, MCA
IMP:  53-6-101, 53-6-113, MCA

37.86.1807 PROSTHETIC DEVICES, DURABLE MEDICAL EQUIPMENT,
AND MEDICAL SUPPLIES, FEE SCHEDULE (1) remains the same.

(2) Prosthetic devices, durable medical equipment, and medical supplies
shall be reimbursed in accordance with the department's Durable Medical
Equipment, Prosthetics, Orthotics, and Supplies (DMEPQS) fFee sSchedule dated
Jandary-2005, effective July 2006 which is adopted and incorporated by reference.
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A copy of the department's Prosthetic Devices, Durable Medical Equipment, and
Medical Supplies fFee sSchedule may be obtained from the Department of Public
Health and Human Services, Health Resources Division, 1400 Broadway, P.O. Box
202951, Helena, MT 59620-2951.

(3) The department's DMEPOS f{Fee sSchedule;+referred-to-in-ARM
37.86-1806(1); for items other than wheelchairs and items billed under generic or
miscellaneous codes as described in (1); shall include fees set and maintained
according to the following methodology:

(a) through (b)(iii) remain the same.

(4) The department's DMEPOS fFee sSchedule;referred-toin-ARM
37-86-1806(1); for all wheelchairs and items billed under generic or miscellaneous
codes as described in (1) shall be 75% of the provider's usual and customary charge
as defined in (3)(b)(i).

AUTH: 53-2-201, 53-6-113, MCA
IMP:  53-2-201, 53-6-101, 53-6-111, 53-6-113, 53-6-141, MCA

37.86.2105 EYEGLASSES, REIMBURSEMENT (1) remains the same.

(2) Reimbursement for contact lenses or dispensing fees is as follows:

(&) The department pays the lower of the following:

(i) the provider's usual and customary charge for the service; or

(i) the amount specified for the particular service or item in the department's
Eyeglasses fFee sSchedule.

(3) The department hereby adopts and incorporates by reference the
department's Eyeglasses fFee sSchedule dated-Becember2004 effective July 2006
which sets forth the reimbursement rates for eyeglasses, dispensing services, and
other related supplies for optometric services. A copy of the department's fee
schedule may be obtained from the Department of Public Health and Human
Services, Health Resources Division, 1400 Broadway, P.O. Box 202951, Helena, MT
59620-2951.

AUTH: 53-6-113, MCA
IMP:  53-6-101, 53-6-113, 53-6-141, MCA

37.86.2217 EARLY AND PERIODIC SCREENING, DIAGNOSTIC AND
TREATMENT SERVICES (EPSDT), PRIVATE DUTY NURSING SERVICES

(1) Private duty nursing services telude are limited to:

(a) and (b) remain the same.

(2) Private duty nursing services do not include:

(&) psychological or mental health counseling;

(b) nurse supervision services including chart review, case discussion, or
scheduling by a registered nurse; e

(c) travel time to and from the recipient's place of service;

(d) services provided to allow the client's family or caregiver to work or to go
to school; or

(e) services provided to allow respite for caregivers or the client's family.

(3) Private duty nursing services must be authorized prior to the initial
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provision of services and any time the condition of the client changes resulting in a
change to the amount of skilled nursing services being provided plan-of-care-is
amended. Authorization must be renewed with the department, or the department's
designated review agent, every 90 days during the first & six months of services, and
every 6 six months thereatfter.

(a) Authorization for private duty nursing services provided through school
districts may be authorized for the duration of the regular school year. Services
provided during the summer months are additional services that require separate
prior authorization.

&) (4) Authorization is based on approval of a plan of care by the department
or department's designated review agent.

b} (5) A provider of private duty nursing services must be an incorporated
entity meeting the legal criteria for independent contractor status that either employs
or contracts with nurses for the provision of nursing services. The department does
not contract with or reimburse individual nurses as providers of private duty nursing
services.

(6) Private duty nursing services provided to an eligible client by a person
who is the client's legally responsible person as that term is used in this rule must be
prior authorized by the department or its designee.

(a) For purposes of this rule, "legally responsible person" means a person
who has a legal obligation under the provisions of Montana law to care for another
person. Leqgally responsible person includes the parents (natural, adoptive, or
foster) of minor children, leqgally assigned caretaker relatives of minor children, and
spouses.

(b) For private duty nursing services provided to a Medicaid client by a
person who is legally responsible for the Medicaid client, the department will approve
no more than 40 hours of services under the EPSDT program in a seven day period.
The legally responsible person must meet the department's criteria for providing
PDN services. The individual must be a licensed RN or LPN and be employed by an
agency enrolled to provide private duty nursing services.

AUTH: 53-2-201, 53-6-113, MCA
IMP:  53-2-201, 53-6-101, 53-6-111, 53-6-113, MCA

37.86.2402 TRANSPORTATION AND PER DIEM, REQUIREMENTS

(1) through (3)(0) remain the same.

(4) € es-not
Rambumement—is—net—a«%l&ble—fepemeﬁee& Prlvate vehlcle transportatlon is
limited to mileage reimbursement. Reimbursement is not available for any other
private vehicle costs or fees.

(5) Coverage of per diem dees-hotinclude-around-trip-that is not available
when a round trip can reasonably be made in one day.

(6) Coverage of nonemergent transportation and per diem must be prior
authorized by the department or its designee.

(a) remains the same.

(7) _Coverage of emergent transportation and per diem must be authorized by
the department or its designee.
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(a) Notification of emergent transportation must be received by the
department or its designee within 30 days of the initial emergency treatment.

(14) through (15)(h) rémain the same.

AUTH: 53-6-113, MCA
IMP:  53-6-101, 53-6-141, MCA

37.86.2405 TRANSPORTATION AND PER DIEM, REIMBURSEMENT

(1) The department pays the lower of the following reimbursement rates for
transportation services:

(a) the provider's actual submitted charge; or

(b) the department's Personal Transportation and Per Diem fFee sSchedule.

(2) The department hereby adopts and incorporates by reference the
department's Personal Transportation fFee sSchedule dated-July-2003 effective July
2006 which sets forth the reimbursement rates for transportation, per diem, and
other mMedicaid services. A copy of the department's fee schedule may be
obtained from the Department of Public Health and Human Services, Health-Policy
and-Services Health Resources Division, 1400 Broadway, P.O. Box 202951, Helena,
MT 59620-2951.

(3) through (5) remain the same.

AUTH: 53-2-201, 53-6-113, MCA
IMP:  53-6-101, 53-6-113, 53-6-141, MCA

37.86.2602 AMBULANCE SERVICES, REQUIREMENTS (1) through (5)(f)
remain the same.

(6) Air ambulance services are covered if:

(a) through (b)(ii) remain the same.

(c) Air ambulance services may be covered for the transfer of a patient from
one hospital to another if the transferring hospital does not have adequate facilities
to provide the specialized medical services needed by the recipient and if the
requirements of (6)(a) through (b)(ii) efthisrule are met.

() and (ii) remain the same.

(7) and (8) remain the same.

(9) Emergency ambulance services must be reported to the department's
designee within 606 180 days of the emergency transport or within 98 180 days of the
retroactive eligibility determination date.

(10) through (12) remain the same.

AUTH: 53-6-113, MCA
IMP:  53-6-101, 53-6-113, 53-6-141, MCA

37.86.2605 AMBULANCE SERVICES, REIMBURSEMENT (1) Except as
provided in (4), the department pays the lowest of the following for ambulance
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services:

(a) the provider's usual and customary charge for the service; or

(b) the amount listed in the department's Ambulance fFee sSchedule.

(2) The department hereby adopts and incorporates by reference the
department's Ambulance fFee sSchedule dated-July-2003 effective July 2006 which
sets forth the reimbursement rates for ambulance services and other mMedicaid
services. A copy of the department's fee schedule may be obtained from the
Department of Public Health and Human Services, Health-Policy-and-Services
Health Resources Division, 1400 Broadway, P.O. Box 202951, Helena, MT 59620-
2951.

(3) through (4) remain the same.

AUTH: 53-2-201, 53-6-113, MCA
IMP:  53-6-101, 53-6-113, 53-6-141, MCA

3. The Department of Public Health and Human Services (department) is
proposing to amend rules pertaining to the following services reimbursed by the
Montana Medicaid program: dental, durable medical equipment (DME), eyeglasses,
private duty nursing (PDN), personal transportation and per diem, and ambulance
services. During State Fiscal Year 2005 approximately 53,000 Medicaid recipients
accessed these services. These rule changes, which are described in more detail
below, are necessary to implement provider fee updates for DME, eyeglasses,
private transportation, and ambulance, to allow dental hygienists who are providing
public health services under a limited access permit to become Medicaid providers,
and to state the extent that Medicaid will reimburse for skilled nursing provided by an
individual who has an obligation to provide some support to a Medicaid client
(defined as a legally responsible individual in these rules).

ARM 37.86.1001

This amendment adds definitions for dental hygienists, dental hygiene, and public
health supervision. These definitions are necessary to implement the amendments
to ARM 37.86.1006.

ARM 37.86.1006

This amendment allows a dental hygienist who offers dental hygiene services under
the public health supervision provision of 37-4-405(6), MCA to enroll as a Medicaid
provider if the hygienist has a limited access permit from the Board of Dentistry.
Currently, dental hygienist services are billed under the provider number of the
hygienist’ s supervising dentist. A 2003 change in law, 2003 Laws of Montana
Chapter 172, allows hygienists to work independently for some services listed in 37-
4-405, MCA. The department reviewed the alternative of continuing the existing
practice of enrolling only dentists as Medicaid providers of dental hygiene, but chose
to amend the rule because the addition of dental hygienists as providers will allow
more Medicaid recipients to have access to preventative services. Hygienists are
required to provide for the referral to a licensed dentist of any patient needing
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treatment outside their scope of practice. This referral should also improve client
access to other dental services and may limit the need of more intrusive and costly
dental services. There are currently six dental hygienists in the state who have a
limited access permit. No significant fiscal impact is projected.

This rule is also being amended to more clearly state the circumstances when
Medicaid will pay for denture replacement. The current rule language is often
misunderstood by dentists. Currently, Medicaid will pay a fee for dentures only once
in a five or ten year period, depending on the type of denture. There is an exception
that allows replacement dentures within this time period if: 1) the dentures are lost;
or, 2) the department and the treating dentist agree that the current dentures are
causing the recipient serious physical health problems. Dentists frequently ask for
the once in a lifetime replacement of dentures, stating that the Medicaid patient is
unable to wear his or her dentures. If the dentures are not lost or currently causing
physical health problems, Medicaid does not cover replacement cost. The new
language does not alter this policy. It requires dentists to document the medical
necessity for the replacement or that the dentures are lost. It also states that there
must be prior authorization from the department in order to replace dentures within
the five or ten year limit. These changes will impact approximately 392 providers.
No significant fiscal impact is projected.

ARM 37.86.1807

The department is proposing to change the fee schedule reference for Durable
Medical Equipment (DME) to be effective July 2006. This rule change is necessary
to correctly adopt the most current codes and fees to be paid to DME providers that
will be effective as of July 2006 and to update the administrative rule which
references a January 2005 fee schedule. Based on the utilization rates from State
Fiscal Year 2005, the department estimates this change to be budget neutral. This
rule change will impact approximately 608 providers and 12,000 recipients.

ARM 37.86.2105

The proposed rule change to ARM 37.86.2105 is to reflect the most current version
of the fee schedule as posted on the department's website. The only change is to
the date of the schedule itself. The fees and codes have not changed. The
department does not anticipate any fiscal impact with this update since only the
effective date of the fee schedule has changed. This rule change will impact three
providers.

ARM 37.86.2217

There are four separate amendments to this rule, which applies only to Early and
Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment Services (EPSDT) services. EPSDT
services only apply to individuals up to and including 20 years of age. The
department is proposing to amend the word "include:" to the phrase "are limited to:"
in ARM 37.86.2217(1). This is not a change in interpretation or policy. The change
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is to more accurately state that the term private duty nursing services has always
meant skilled nursing services provided directly to a child, and patient-specific
training provided by a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse. The word
"include” instead of "are limited to" has caused confusion because some PDN
providers have interpreted this rule to mean that PDN may be services other than
skilled nursing, such as day care and respite services. This has never been
Montana Medicaid's policy.

The rule amendment to ARM 37.86.2217(2) would reiterate that day care and respite
are not skilled nursing and are not covered under private duty nursing. Parents and
caregivers often ask for these services under private duty nursing. It has never been
the department's policy to cover these as skilled nursing under PDN and the
department has stated this in the provider handbook.

The amendment to ARM 37.86.2217(3) extends the period of authorization for
school district providers of PDN services. This rule amendment formalizes policy the
department has been following for the past four years. In state fiscal year 2002-
2003, the department decreased the prior authorization requirement of school based
PDN providers. An analysis completed of four years of data showed that school
based PDN services did not deviate from the initial six months to the remaining three
months of school. A prior authorization for the traditional school year period will be
administratively efficient. The department reviewed the option of not amending the
rule but opted to amend the rule because its prior authorization requirements for
school districts differ from independent PDN prior authorization requirements. This
change has no fiscal impact.

The department is also amending ARM 37.86.2217(6) to state that PDN services
provided to a Medicaid client by a person legally responsible for that client must be
prior authorized by the department or its designee. For the purpose of this rule,
legally responsible person includes the parents (natural, adoptive, or foster) of minor
children, legally assigned caretaker relative of minor children and spouses. The
department is proposing this rule change to be able to limit the circumstances in
which a legally responsible person, typically spouses or parents, are allowed to
provide Medicaid reimbursed PDN services to another family member.

Requiring authorization from Montana Medicaid allows for control over the number of
hours that will be reimbursed to a legally responsible person, thus ensuring that
legally responsible persons are still the primary caregivers responsible for the care
of the child. Legally responsible persons must meet the specific requirements of a
skilled nurse in order to be authorized by the department to provide PDN services.
Currently the department has no limits on PDN services provided by legally
responsible persons. The department will authorize up to 40 hours in a seven day
period of EPSDT private duty nursing services that can be provided by a legally
responsible person. This authorization will not limit the total amount of hours
approved for skilled nursing services for a client. The department needs to adopt
requirements and/or guidelines for legally responsible persons. This change should
eliminate inappropriate payments for service. These rule changes will impact
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approximately 20 providers and 138 recipients.

ARM 37.86.2402

The department is amending ARM 37.86.2402 to clarify the current language in rule
that coverage of transportation mileage fees does not include any other fees. This
phrase is difficult to interpret. Clients often request reimbursement for repairs, flat
tires, and other operational costs of their vehicle, which are not covered under this
rule. The proposed language does not change the policy, it states it more clearly.
An amendment is also proposed to simplify the section regarding per diem being
available starting on the second day of travel. The original statement was difficult to
read. This wording makes it clear that per diem is not available on a one day trip.

The department is also amending the rule by adding emergent transportation
requirements and defining nonemergent requests that require authorization from the
department before the service is received. Currently, there is no policy defining the
instances when a client can or should be reimbursed for using a personal vehicle to
obtain emergency medical care. By providing reimbursement for emergent travel,
inappropriate use of ambulance services should decrease. The department is
requiring notification be within 30 days of the initial emergency treatment. This
period allows the client adequate time to notify the Transportation Center of the trip,
yet maintain timely notification requirements necessary to verify the services were
provided. Inappropriate use of ambulance services may decrease, however
personal mileage and commercial provider reimbursement may increase. The
department does not anticipate any budget impact.

The department is removing (13), which barred reimbursement for travel within a
client’ s community. This is no longer applicable. Commercial transportation (bus,
taxi, wheelchair van) is allowed within a client's community. Personal vehicle
reimbursement is allowed, however the department will not issue a check for
reimbursements that total less than $5 in a calendar month according to ARM
37.86.2405(3). This change may result in a minimal budget increase. These
changes will affect approximately 23 providers and 8,000 recipients.

ARM 37.86.2602

The proposed amendment changes the reporting requirement from within 60 days of
the emergency transport to 180 days, and from within 90 days of the determination
to retroactive eligibility to 180 days. Providers must submit documentation of the
transport within the time limitation and receive authorization of medical necessity in
order to be reimbursed. The 60/90 day rule was originally a 30-day rule, initiated in
1994 when medical review and authorization of ambulance transport began. In 1994
the department, and its contractor for payments, were concerned that ambulance
companies would accumulate claims over long periods of time then flood the
payment contractor with many claims at once. In 2003 the rule was changed to 60
days, or 90 days for retroactive eligibility, to allow ambulances more time to
determine eligibility and address the retroactive cases.
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In the intervening years, there has been progress in ambulance billing. Most
providers bill promptly and the volunteer services have contracted with billing
services. By increasing the reporting requirement to 180 days from date of
transport, or date retroactive eligibility is determined, providers are allowed greater
opportunity to locate billing sources, yet still allow the review organization time to
determine medical necessity and authorize transports within the 365 day timely filing
limit.

Providers frequently object to the 60/90 day notification requirement. The
department considered removing the notification requirement entirely. This option
was not utilized, as the review organization must have adequate time to determine
the medical necessity of the trip and provide notice to the provider with enough time
left for the provider to file a clean claim within the 365-day timely filing limit. By
allowing more time for ambulance providers to obtain authorization, the number of
claims denied may decrease, however, more claims will be paid appropriately. This
rule change will impact approximately 173 providers.

ARM 37.86.2605

This change is being proposed to reflect that reimbursement for ambulance services
will be made according to the department’ s fee schedule effective July 2006 rather
than the previous fee schedule dated July 2003. Reference to the new fee schedule
is necessary to implement changes in fees and reflect additional codes for injectable
drugs. Many of the fees are based on the Medicare allowed amount and must be
updated in accordance with Medicare’ s changes. This rule change affects
approximately 173 providers and 6500 clients. The change in reimbursement rates
and codes results in no significant budget increase.

4. Interested persons may submit their data, views, or arguments either orally
or in writing at the hearing. Written data, views, or arguments may also be
submitted to Dawn Sliva, Office of Legal Affairs, Department of Public Health and
Human Services, P.O. Box 4210, Helena, MT 59604-4210, no later than 5:00 p.m.
on June 1, 2006. Data, views, or arguments may also be submitted by facsimile
(406)444-1970 or by electronic mail via the Internet to dphhslegal@mt.gov. The
department also maintains lists of persons interested in receiving notice of
administrative rule changes. These lists are compiled according to subjects or
programs of interest. For placement on the mailing list, please write the person at
the address above.
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5. The Office of Legal Affairs, Department of Public Health and Human
Services has been designated to preside over and conduct the hearing.

/s/ Russ Cater /s/ Russ Cater for
Rule Reviewer Director, Public Health and
Human Services

Certified to the Secretary of State April 24, 2006.
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BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION
OF THE STATE OF MONTANA
In the matter of the amendment NOTICE OF AMENDMENT
of ARM 2.59.307 regarding dollar
amounts to which consumer loan
rates are to be applied

)
)
)
)

TO: All Concerned Persons

1. On February 23, 2006, the Division of Banking and Financial Institutions
published MAR Notice No. 2-2-368 regarding the proposed amendment of the
above-stated rule at page 373 of the 2006 Montana Administrative Register, issue
number 4.

2. The Division of Banking and Financial Institutions has amended ARM
2.59.307 exactly as proposed.

3. No comments or testimony were received.

BY: /s/Janet R. Kelly BY: /s/ Dal Smilie
Janet R. Kelly, Director Dal Smilie, Rule Reviewer
Department of Administration Department of Administration

Certified to the Secretary of State April 24, 2006.
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BEFORE THE BOARD OF ENVIRONMENTAL REVIEW
AND THE DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
OF THE STATE OF MONTANA

In the matter of the amendment of ARM )
17.24.132, 17.24.133, 17.24.134, )
17.24.136, 17.24.1206, 17.24.1211, )
17.24.1218, 17.24.1219, 17.24.1220, )
17.56.121 and the repeal of 17.24.1212 )
pertaining to revising enforcement )
procedures under the Montana Strip and )
Underground Mine Reclamation Act, the )

NOTICE OF AMENDMENT,
REPEAL, AND ADOPTION

(AIR QUALITY)
(ASBESTOS)
(HAZARDOUS WASTE)
(JUNK VEHICLES)
(MAJOR FACILITY SITING)

Metal Mine Reclamation Laws and the
Opencut Mining Act, and the
amendment of ARM 17.30.2001, and
17.30.2003, repeal of 17.24.1212,
17.30.2005, 17.30.2006 and 17.38.606

) (METAL MINE RECLAMATION)
)
)
)
)
and the adoption of new rules | through )
)
)
)
)
)

(OPENCUT MINING)
(PUBLIC WATER SUPPLY)
(SEPTIC PUMPERS)
(SOLID WASTE)
(STRIP AND UNDERGROUND
MINE RECLAMATION)
(SUBDIVISIONS)
(UNDERGROUND STORAGE
TANKS)

(WATER QUALITY)

VII pertaining to providing uniform
factors for determining penalties

TO: All Concerned Persons

1. On December 22, 2005, the Board of Environmental Review and the
Department of Environmental Quality published MAR Notice No. 17-239 regarding a
notice of public hearing on the proposed amendment, repeal, and adoption of the
above-stated rules at page 2523, 2005 Montana Administrative Register, issue
number 24.

2. The board and department are adopting new rule VIII (17.4.307), shown
below, in response to comments received. The text of New Rule VIII was originally
published as part of proposed New Rule VI, but was moved to New Rule VIII for
clarity. The board has amended ARM 17.24.133, 17.24.134, 17.24.136, 17.24.1206,
17.24.1211, 17.24.1218, 17.24.1219, 17.24.1220, 17.30.2001, and 17.30.2003, and
repealed ARM 17.24.1212, 17.30.2005, and 17.30.2006 exactly as proposed. The
department has amended ARM 17.56.121 and repealed ARM 17.38.606 exactly as
proposed. The board and department have adopted New Rule V (17.4.305) exactly
as proposed.

3. The board has amended ARM 17.24.132 as proposed, but with the following
changes, new matter underlined, deleted matter interlined:

17.24.132 ENFORCEMENT: PROCESSING OF VIOLATIONS AND
PENALTIES (1) Except as provided in (4), the department shall send a violation letter
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for a violation of the Act, this subchapter, or the permit, license, or exclusion. The
violation letter must be served and must state that the alleged violator may, by filing a
written response within 15-days-efreceipt-of a time specified in the notice, provide facts
to be considered in further assessing whether a violation occurred and in assessing the
penalty under (2).

(2) through (4) remain as proposed.

4. The board and department have adopted New Rules | (17.4.301), Il
(17.4.302), Il (17.4.303), IV (17.4.304), VI (17.4.306), and VII (17.4.308) as proposed,
but with the following changes, new matter underlined, stricken matter interlined:

NEW RULE 1(17.4.301) PURPOSE (1) through (1)(d) remain as proposed.

(2) The purpose of the penalty calculation process is to calculate a penalty
that is commensurate with the severity of the violation, that provides an adequate
deterrent, and that captures the economic benefit of noncompliance. The
department shall provide a copy of the penalty calculation to the alleged violator.

(3) _The department may not assess a penalty that exceeds the maximum
penalty amount authorized by the statutes listed in (1).

NEW RULE 11 (17.4.302) DEFINITIONS The following definitions apply
throughout this subchapter:

(1) "Circumstances" means a violator's culpability associated with a violation.

(1) through (3) remaln as proposed but are renumbered (2) through (4).

(5) "History of violation" means the violator's prior history of any violation,

which:

(a)_must be a violation of a requirement under the authority of the same
chapter and part as the violation for which the penalty is being assessed;

(b) _must be documented in an administrative order or a judicial order or
judgment issued within three years prior to the date of the occurrence of the violation
for which the penalty is being assessed; and

(c) _may not, at the time that the penalty is being assessed, be undergoing or
subject to administrative appeal or judicial review.

(5) remalns as proposed but is renumbered (6).

NEW RULE 111 (17.4.303) BASE PENALTY (1) As provided in this rule, the
department shall calculate the base penalty by multiplying the maximum penalty
amount authorized by statute by an-extent-and-gravity a factor from the appropriate
base penalty matrix in (2) or (3). In order to select a matrix from (2) or (3), the
nature of the violation must first be established. For violations that harm or have the
potential to harm human health or the environment, Fthe department shall classify
the extent and gravity of a the violation as major, moderate, or minor as provided in
(4) and (5). For all other violations, the extent factor does not apply, and Fthe
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department shall classify the gravity of a the violation as major, moderate, or minor
as provided in (5).

(2) The department shall use the following matrix for violations that harm or
have the potential to harm human health or the environment:

GRAVITY
EXTENT Major Moderate Minor
Major 606 0.85 660 0.70 650 0.55
Moderate 666 0.70 656 0.55 0.40
Minor 650 0.55 0.40 636 0.25

(3) The department shall use the following matrix for violations that adversely
impact the department's administration of the applicable statute or rules, but which
do not harm or have the potential to harm human health or the environment:;

GRAVITY
EXTFENT Major Moderate Minor
Major 0.50 0.40 0.30

(4) through (4)(c) remain as proposed.

(5) The department shall determine the gravity of a violation as follows:

(&) A violation has major gravity if it causes harm to human health or the
environment, poses a significant serious potential for to harm te human health or the
environment, resultsin-a-release-of-aregulated-substance; or has a sighificant
serious adverse impact on the department's administration of the statute or rules.
Examples of violations that may have major gravity include a release of a regulated
substance without-a-permit-or-in-excess-of permitted-limits that causes harm or
poses a serious potential to harm human health or the environment, construction or
operation without a required permit or approval, er an exceedance of a maximum
contaminant level or water quality standard, or a failure to provide an adequate
performance bond.

(b) A violation has moderate gravity if it:

(i) is not major or minor as provided in (5)(a) or (c); and

(i) poses a potential ef to harm te human health or the environment, or has
an adverse impact on the department's administration of the statute or rules.
Examples of violations that may have moderate gravity include a release of a
requlated substance that does not cause harm or pose a serious potential to harm
human health or the environment, a failure to monitor, report, or make records, a
failure to report a release leak, or bypass ora fallure to construct or operate |n

(c) A V|0Iat|on has minor graV|ty if it poses a—lew no I‘ISk of harm to human
health or the environment, or has a low adverse impact on the department's
administration of the statute or rules. Examples of violations that may have minor
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gravity include a failure to submit a report in a timely manner, a failure to pay fees,
inaccurate recordkeeping, and or a failure to comply with a minor operational
requirement specified in a permit.

NEW RULE 1V (17.4.304) ADJUSTED BASE PENALTY -

CIRCUMSTANCES, GOOD FAITH AND COOPERATION, AMOUNTS
VOLUNTARILY EXPENDED (1) through (2)(e) remain as proposed.

, - In determlnlng
the amount of decrease for good falth and cooperatlon the departments
consideration must include, but not be limited to, the following factors:

(a) through (c) remain as proposed.

5) (4) The department may decrease a base penalty by up to 10% based
upon the amounts voluntarily expended by the violator, beyond what is required by
law or order, to address or mitigate the violation or the impacts of the violation. The
amount of a decrease is not requlred to match the amounts voluntanly expended

mmgate—a—wetanen—epthe—rmpaets—ef—a—welatlen- In determlnlng the amount of

decrease for amounts voluntarily expended, beyond what is required by law or order,

the department's consideration must include, but not be limited to, the following
factors:

(a) expenditures for extra resources, including personnel and equipment, to
promptly mitigate the violation or impacts of the violation;

(b) expenditures;not-otherwiserequired; of extra resources to prevent a
recurrence of the violation or to eliminate the cause or source of the violation; and

(c) revenue lost by the violator due to a cessation or reduction in operations
that IS necessary to mltlgate the V|oIat|on or the |mpacts of the V|olat|on Ilihts—dees

NEW RULE VI (17.4.306) TOTAL PENALTY - HISTORY OF VIOLATION;
ECONOMIC BENEFIF (1) As provided in this rule, the department may increase
the total adjusted penalty based upon the V|oIator S hlstory of violation as—detmed—tn

Any penalty
increases for hlstory of V|olat|on and—eeenem+c—beneﬁt must be added to the total
adjusted penalty calculated under ARM 17.4.305 to obtain a total penalty.

(2) The department may calculate a separate increase for each historic
violation. The amount of the increase must be calculated by multiplying the adjusted
base penalty calculated under [NEW RULE #¢ [ll] (ARM 17.4.303) by the appropriate
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percentage from (3). This amount must then be added to the total adjusted penalty
calculated under ARM 17.4.305.

(3) The department shall determine the gravity nature of each historic
violation in accordance with [NEW RULE HK5) 11(6)] (ARM 17.4.302(6)). The
department may increase the total adjusted penalty for history of violation using the
following percentages:

(a) for each historic violation with-majergravity that, under these rules, would
be classified as harming or having the potential to harm human health or the
environment, the penalty increase may must be 21%-t0-36 10% of the adjusted base
penalty calculated under [NEW RULE # 1ll] (ARM 17.4.303); and

(b) for each historic violation with-mederate-gravity that, under these rules,
would be classified as adversely impacting the department's administration of the
applicable statute or rules, but not harming or having the potential to harm human
health or the environment, the penalty increase may must be 11%te-20 5% of the
adjusted base penalty calculated under [NEW RULE #¢ [ll] (ARM 17.4.303);-and

(4) If a violator has multiple historic violations and one new violation, for
which a penalty is being calculated under these rules, the percentages from (3) for
each historic violation must be added together. This composite percentage may not
exceed 30%. The composite percentage must then be multiplied by the adjusted
base penalty for the new violation to determine the amount of the increase. The
increase must be added to the total adjusted penalty for the new violation calculated
under ARM 17.4.305.

(5) If a violator has one historic violation and multiple new violations, each
with a separate penalty calculation under these rules, the adjusted base penalties for
the new violations calculated under [NEW RULE #¢ [1l] (ARM 17.4.303) must be
added together. This composite adjusted base penalty must then be multiplied by
the percentage from (3) for the historic violation to determine the amount of the
increase. The increase must then be added to the sum of the total adjusted
penalties calculated for each new violation under ARM 17.4.305.

(6) If a violator has multiple historic violations and multiple new violations, for
which a separate penalty is being calculated under these rules, the percentages
from (3) for each historic violation must be added together, not to exceed 30%, and
the adjusted base penalties for each new violation calculated under [NEW RULE #
1 (ARM 17.4.303) must be added together. The composite adjusted base penalties
must be multiplied by the composite percentage to determine the amount of the
increase. The increase must be added to the sum of the total adjusted penalties
calculated for each violation under ARM 17.4.305.
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NEW RULE VII (17.4.308) OTHER MATTERS AS JUSTICE MAY REQUIRE
(1) The department may consider other matters as justice may require to

increase or decrease the total penalty. Fhe-department-may-notdecrease-the
I ” I : ) olation.

NEW RULE VIII (17.4.307) ECONOMIC BENEFIT (1) The department may
increase the total adjusted penalty, as calculated under ARM 17.4.305, by an
amount based upon the violator's economic benefit on the department's estimate of
the costs of compliance, based upon the best information reasonably available at the
time it calculates a penalty under these rules. The economic benefit must be added
to the total adjusted penalty calculated under ARM 17.4.305 to obtain the total
penalty.

AUTH: 75-2-111, 75-2-503, 75-5-201, 75-6-103, 75-10-204, 75-10-405, 75-
10-503, 75-10-1202, 75-11-204, 75-11-505, 75-20-105, 76-4-104, 82-4-111, 82-4-
204, 82-4-321, 82-4-422, MCA

IMP: 75-1-1001, 82-4-1001, MCA

5. The following comments were received and appear with the board's and
department's responses:

COMMENT NO. 1: Additional language should be added to confirm that a
party will have a chance to provide additional information to the department or to
discuss a penalty before having to appeal to the BER.

RESPONSE: If the department issues a penalty order for the violation, the
statutes provide 30 days to appeal the order. The alleged violator may informally
discuss the violation and penalty with the department during the 30-day appeal
period. The rules cannot change the statutory appeal period. Prior to initiating an
enforcement action, the department sends a violation letter to notify the alleged
violator that the department believes a violation occurred and to describe the actions
that are necessary to return to compliance. A violation letter requests additional
information and provides an opportunity for an informal conference to discuss the
alleged violation and the recommended corrective action. Instead of issuing an
order, the department may send a letter offering settlement with a consent order and
a settlement penalty. These letters also request that the alleged violator discuss the
violation and penalty calculation with the department. A change has been made to
New Rule | to require that the department provide a copy of the penalty calculation
to an alleged violator. This change, together with the existing procedures, will
provide adequate opportunities for the alleged violator to discuss the violation and
penalty calculation.

COMMENT NO. 2: The rules give too much power to the department. The
department can impose violations without evidence and assess penalties without
documentation. The agency makes the regulations, interprets them, hears all
protests, and determines guilt and penalties. The agency should have to prove guilt;
the party should not have to prove their innocence. Guilt should be established by a
third party. False accusations by the agency should carry a penalty for the agency
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as determined by a third party. Rewrites of the proposal with different wording but
with the same intent should be considered a violation of the Montana Constitution.

RESPONSE: The rules and the statutes under which these rules are adopted
provide opportunities for a person who receives a notice of violation to contest the
alleged violation and to offer new information. The statutes also give the person a
right to appeal a department penalty order to the board, and a right to appeal a
board determination to state court. If a department penalty order is appealed to the
board, and in any court action in which the department seeks a penalty, the
department has the burden to prove that the violation occurred and that a penalty is
appropriate. The process is designed to ensure that penalties will be assessed only
when there is a preponderance of evidence to establish the violation. Modifications
made to the proposed rules in response to comments are allowed under the
Montana Administrative Procedure Act at 2-4-305, MCA.

COMMENT NO. 3: The new rules may lead to higher penalties than the
former procedures. This was not the objective of the department or the regulated
community in the legislative process and rule development process. Several parties
have determined that the penalties calculated under the new rules could be 20% to
30% higher.

RESPONSE: HB 428 was passed to standardize and streamline
enforcement procedures for the reclamation laws. HB 429 was passed to
standardize penalty calculations to make them fair, consistent and predictable.
These legislative changes were not generally intended to result in an increase or
decrease in penalties. However, in the legislation, the "size of violator" factor, which
could be used to increase a penalty, was excluded, and the definition of "history of
violation" in the legislation results in consideration of fewer historical violations to
increase a penalty. On the other hand, amendments to the Opencut Mining Act in
HB 429 allow the department to assess penalties for additional days of violation,
which will result in increased penalties.

Given the large variety of previous penalty calculation rules and policies used
by the department, it was difficult to guarantee that the legislation and the new rules
would not result in higher or lower penalties. On a case-by-case basis, a penalty
calculated under the new rules may result in a higher or lower penalty than was
calculated under the previous method. However, in general, the penalties calculated
under these rules will not be significantly larger or smaller than those calculated
under previous procedures. As under the previous procedures, the department has
some discretion under the new rules to weigh the severity of violations. An
untrained person could, under the new rules, calculate penalties that vary widely
from the department’s previous assessments. However, the department’s familiarity
with the previous procedures will enable it to maintain fairness to the extent possible.

COMMENT NO. 4: Some of the proposed rules may complicate rather than
simplify enforcement and efficient resolution of violations.

RESPONSE: Some portions of the new rules are more complicated than
previous penalty calculation rules. The new rules are more complex in that a base
penalty is determined by separate matrix factors for nature, extent, and gravity,
rather than, for example, the point system based on a combination of an extent and
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gravity factor used under the former penalty rules under the Water Quality Act. The
description of how historical violations are calculated is also more complex, but the
additional detail is necessary to inform the public and to guide the department. As
discussed in the Response to Comment No. 48, the department and the board have
made a change to New Rule VI to simplify the procedure for weighing the severity of
historic violations. A consistent method for calculating penalties will be more
efficient and will not delay resolution of violations.

COMMENT NO. 5: The rules provide too much discretion to the department
in terms of when to act on a potential violation and how to resolve it, and when to
dismiss some violations and not others without clear reasons why. The commentor
does not see how these rules meet the stated goals of predictability and
consistency.

RESPONSE: The statutes provide the department with discretion whether to
initiate an enforcement action. For example, the Water Quality Act provides that the
department "may issue an order.” Section 75-5-611(2), MCA. This discretion allows
the department to address a violation with a penalty order or resolve it through other
means such as compliance assistance. Typically, the department seeks penalties
for significant violations, and minor violations are addressed through other means.
Some of the reclamation statutes specifically authorize a waiver of a penalty,
provided certain conditions are satisfied and documented in writing by the
department. The rules will provide predictability and consistency in cases in which
the department calculates a penalty.

COMMENT NO. 6: The proposed rules take a good first step toward the
goals of decreasing subjectivity and increasing consistency and predictability. The
commentor appreciates the department's good faith and would like to continue to be
involved in implementation of these rules and the development of a Supplemental
Environmental Projects Policy.

RESPONSE: Comment noted.

COMMENT NO. 7: The proposed rules do not account for impacts to
specially-designated, sensitive areas of the environment such as Class | PSD areas
and sole source aquifers.

RESPONSE: Definitions of gravity and extent allow for the consideration of
harm and potential for harm to human health and the environment. If a violation
occurs that harms or poses risk of harm to a specially-designated, sensitive area,
the severity of that harm and its impacts to that area will be considered in the penalty
calculation.

COMMENT NO. 8: Little consideration has been given to the unique nature
of the coal regulatory program. Coal mines are inspected monthly and the majority
of violations have been administrative in nature and not a threat to human health or
the environment. The proposed rules will significantly raise the penalties assessed
for violations under the coal program. We were assured that increased penalties
were not the intended outcome of the stakeholder process. It is unfair and bad
regulatory policy to arbitrarily increase penalties in some programs and to decrease
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penalties in other programs where the violation may result in actual environmental
damage or endanger human health and welfare.

RESPONSE: See Response to Comment No. 3 regarding increased or
decreased penalties and Response to Comment No. 32 regarding changes to the
matrix for violations that impact administration.

COMMENT NO. 9: The proposed rules will not be consistent with the federal
coal program. The proposed rules should be modified to be consistent with the
federal program or the board and department should adopt the federal rules
verbatim.

RESPONSE: Both HB 428 and HB 429 contain a contingent voidness clause
that nullifies the portions of the legislation related to the Strip and Underground Mine
Reclamation Act in the event the federal Office of Surface Mining (OSM) does not
approve the new law and amendments. A request to review the legislation has been
submitted to OSM. Unitil a decision has been obtained from OSM, the new rule
procedures for administrative enforcement and penalty calculation for violations at
coal mines are appropriate.

COMMENT NO. 10: The proposed rules do not include a size of violator
factor. Interested parties were assured that the size of violator factor would be taken
into account in penalty calculations.

RESPONSE: HB 429 does not provide for use of the size of violator factor.
The department assured interested parties that penalties will be commensurate with
the severity of the violation and the rules will calculate a penalty that provides an
adequate deterrent. The department did not state that the size of violator factor
would be taken into account in penalty calculations.

ARM 17.24.132(1)

COMMENT NO. 11: In the explanation following the proposed rule, it is
stated, "The amendment to (1) also deletes the requirement that a violation be
documented by an inspection.” Current CAFO rules state that a notice of
noncompliance letter cannot be sent out before an inspection is completed. This
should be noted in the rules.

RESPONSE: The proposed amended rule applies to sites regulated under
the Metal Mine Reclamation Act and does not affect CAFOs, which are regulated
under the Water Quality Act. The CAFO permitting rules do not require that violation
letters be based upon an inspection. Some violations, such as failure to submit
required reports, can be documented without an inspection.

COMMENT NO. 12: The rules seem to give the department a lot of "gray”
area to work under. For example, the rules allow the department to issue a single
order, with no follow-up statement of findings, thus putting more burden on the
supposed violator to respond quicker to avoid law by non-response.

RESPONSE: One purpose of HB 428 was to streamline the enforcement
process under the reclamation laws to change a two-step process for issuing penalty
orders to a one-step process. The one-step order issued by the department will

9-5/4/06 Montana Administrative Register



-1148-

contain all of the components and offer all of the rights provided in the old two-step
process, such as a findings of fact, conclusions of law, assessed penalty, and order.
The order will also provide a 30-day opportunity for appeal. The rules simplify the
process and do not expand any "gray" areas. The period for appeal remains the
same, so the new rules do not require a violator to respond more quickly.

COMMENT NO. 13: Several commentors suggested extending the 15-day
period to file a written response to a violation letter to 30 days to correspond with the
30 days provided to request a contested case. The department and the responsible
party would benefit if all available information about an alleged violation is developed
and shared before either party spends time and resources on an enforcement
action. This would also conserve board resources by reducing the number of
appeals.

RESPONSE: The HB 428 amendments to 82-4-361, MCA, state that when
the department has reason to believe that a violation has occurred, it shall send a
violation letter. The statute does not require that the alleged violator respond to the
department in a particular timeframe. The rule has been modified to eliminate the
15-day requirement to respond to the department in writing.

COMMENT NO. 14: The rule does not prescribe any follow-up action after a
violation letter is sent and does not require penalties or other enforcement
consequences.

RESPONSE: Section 82-4-361(1), MCA, of the Metal Mine Reclamation Act
does not limit or require a particular follow-up enforcement response after a violation
letter is sent. Normally, under the Metal Mine Reclamation Act, an enforcement
action will be initiated if the violation is considered significant.

ARM 17.24.132(2)-(4)

COMMENT NO. 15: The portion of the rule that discusses penalties is
completely discretionary because it says the department "may" issue a notice of
violation, not "shall.” This is unacceptable. When a violation occurs, specific actions
must be taken. If someone violates the law or rules, they should be punished. All
this rule does is mandate that the party receive a letter. There is no detail as to when
the department will issue a "violation letter" as opposed to a "notice of violation." It
grants the department too much latitude.

RESPONSE: The discretion is provided by statute. Section 82-4-361(6)(a),
MCA, states: "In addition to the violation letter pursuant to subsection (1), the
department may also issue an order if it has credible information that a violation
listed in subsection (2) has occurred.” Section 82-4-361(2)(a), MCA, states: "By
issuance of an order pursuant to subsection (6), the department may assess an
administrative penalty . . ."

COMMENT NO. 16: This rule indicates that an order becomes final if a
hearing has not been requested within 30 days. The rules should allow for an
extension of the 30-day appeal period.
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RESPONSE: The 30-day time period for filing an appeal is set out in statute
and cannot be modified or extended by rule. See 82-4-361(6)(b), MCA.

COMMENT NO. 17: This rule retains the opportunity to request an informal
conference, but it is not clear if this request stays the need to file an appeal with the
board. It is important that the party not be forced to request an appeal simply to
protect their legal position. The goal should be to encourage resolution without an
appeal. The rule should be modified to allow an opportunity for an informal
conference before having to submit an appeal. If a party requests an informal
conference, then the rule should provide that the department may defer the appeal
period.

RESPONSE: The request for an informal conference does not stop the
running of the statutory 30-day period for filing an appeal. See Responses to
Comment Nos. 1 and 16.

COMMENT NO. 18: This rule indicates that the department would follow a
one-step enforcement process instead of the previous two-step process. Past
orders have been lacking in facts and the two-step process was necessary to obtain
sufficient evidence. The rules should define the level of documentation the
department is required to supply to support an alleged violation.

RESPONSE: Section 82-4-361(6)(a), MCA, states: "In addition to the
violation letter sent pursuant to subsection (1), the department may also issue an
order if it has credible information that a violation listed in subsection (2) has
occurred.” A two-step process is not necessary to obtain sufficient evidence. Under
the new statutory procedure, the single order issued by the department will contain
findings of fact and conclusions of law. Under the revised process, the alleged
violator will have a 30-day opportunity to appeal, which is equivalent to the previous
two-step process.

ARM 17.24.133

COMMENT NO. 19: This rule discusses abatement of violations and
suspension of permits. It should contain a provision for revocation of the permit as
well.

RESPONSE: Procedures for revocation of permits are set out in the statute
at 82-4-362, MCA.

ARM 17.24.134

COMMENT NO. 20: In the stated reason for the rule there appears to be an
error. It says that penalties are addressed in 82-4-361(1), MCA. It should be 82-4-
361(2), MCA.

RESPONSE: The comment is correct.

ARM 17.24.136
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COMMENT NO. 21: It would be better if the department served orders
through physical or personal notification, rather than through certified mail. This
would treat the violation more fairly and prevent a violator from claiming non-
notification.

RESPONSE: The statute allows for either personal service or service by mail
and the department uses personal service when necessary. The statute provides
that the effective date for service of orders by mail is the date of mailing. See 82-4-
361(6)(b), MCA.

ARM 17.24.1220

COMMENT NO. 22: If a violation is determined to be serious enough to
warrant a penalty, waiving the penalty should only occur in special circumstances
and those circumstances should be detailed.

RESPONSE: The Strip and Underground Mine Reclamation Act and
regulatory program require that a notice of noncompliance be issued for each
violation, and that a penalty be proposed for each violation. The statute identifies
the criteria under which a penalty may be waived. Section 82-4-254(2), MCA, states
in part that the department may waive the penalty for a minor violation if the violation
does not harm human health or the environment or if it does not impair
administration. ARM 17.24.1220(3) builds on the statutory waiver criteria by stating
that, where a written abatement plan exists, the penalty may be waived only if
abatement is satisfactory.

New Rule Il Definitions

COMMENT NO. 23: The definition of "history of violation" from HB 429
should be included in this rule.

RESPONSE: The definition of "history of violation" has been added to New
Rule 1.

COMMENT NO. 24: The definition of "history of violation" does not
distinguish between administrative orders that contain an admission or adjudication
of a violation and administrative orders voluntarily entered into by the party with no
corresponding admission or adjudication. Consequently, a party could have a
penalty increased due to a history of violation predicated on an alleged violation that
was neither admitted nor proved. This situation would result in a deprivation of
property without due process in violation of the Montana Constitution. This also
conflicts with HB 429 which refers to a history of prior violation, not history of alleged
violations.

The use of a "no admission of liability" statement in consent orders is a very
effective way to encourage amicable, swift, and cost-effective resolution of alleged
violations. The department indicated in a December 21, 2005, memo that violations
documented in a consent order would be counted toward history, even if the order
disputes the violation or contains a "no admission of liability" clause. If responsible
parties are penalized in this manner, they will be more likely to pursue appeals or
other litigation in lieu of settlement. The commentor suggests that the department
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clarify the rules to provide that consent orders containing a "no admission of liability"
statement cannot be used as evidence of a history of violation.

RESPONSE: The statute states that the history of violation "must be
documented in an administrative order or a judicial order or judgment.” Section 75-
1-1001(1)(c)(ii), MCA. If a violation is documented in an order or an order on
consent, the department and the board consider it to be "documented" for the
purposes of HB 429 and this subchapter. Unless the department specifically agrees
otherwise in an order on consent, a "no admission of liability” clause in an order on
consent does not prevent the department from considering the historic violation
when it calculates a penalty for a future violation. There is no due process problem
because, at the time the penalty for the future violation is assessed, the violator will
have the opportunity to challenge every aspect of the penalty, including the use of
the historic violation.

New Rule Ill Base Penalty

COMMENT NO. 25: The commentor agrees with the distinction between
violations that pose harm to human health and the environment and violations that
impact administration. The department has indicated that it is contemplating
increasing the values in the matrix for violations that pose harm and decreasing the
values in the matrix for violations that only impact administration as a way to
emphasize the differences between the two categories of violations. We believe the
better course of action would be to simply reduce the values in the matrix used for
administrative violations.

RESPONSE: In Response to Comment No. 32, the department and the
board have increased the matrix values for violations that harm human health or the
environment. However, in response to other comments, the department and the
board have also redefined gravity so that only the violations that cause harm or
serious potential for harm are considered to have "major" gravity. The net effect is
that penalties for violations with major extent and gravity may increase, but fewer
violations would be considered major. The department and the board eliminated the
extent factor for violations that only impact administration. See Comment No. 32
and Response.

COMMENT NO. 26: The commentor agrees with the distinction between
major, moderate, and minor extent. However, the definitions are somewhat vague.
The commentor suggests specific revisions.

RESPONSE: New Rule Ili(4) provides that the department may determine
major, moderate, and minor extent based on the extent to which a violation deviates
from the requirement. The determination is based on a consideration of listed
factors including: volume, concentration, and toxicity of the regulated substance, the
severity and percent of exceedance of a regulatory limit, and the duration of the
violation. Although the terms "major,"” "moderate," and "minor" are not defined, they
are reasonably clear when applied to the listed factors. Using terms such as
"substantial” and "significant,” as the commentor suggests, would not add clarity.
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COMMENT NO. 27: Volume, concentration, and toxicity are more
appropriately considered in determining gravity and should be eliminated from New
Rule 111(4).

RESPONSE: In their ordinary meaning, the terms "extent" and "gravity" are
closely related, and factors such as volume, concentration, and toxicity could be
considered under either term. In developing the rules, the decision was made to
consider these factors under "extent." Changing the rules to consider these factors
under "gravity" now would not make a substantive difference in the calculation of
penalties. The important thing is that factors such as volume, concentration, and
toxicity be considered at some point.

COMMENT NO. 28: Subsection (5)(a) states that a violation has major
gravity if it "poses a significant potential to harm human health or the environment.”
Significant potential more accurately describes a violation of moderate gravity. The
commentor suggests defining major gravity as "A violation has major gravity if it
actually or is reasonably expected to result in pollution that represents a serious
threat to human health or the environment."

RESPONSE: The department and the board agree that, for major gravity, the
term "serious" is more appropriate than "significant." New Rule 1l1(5)(a) has been
modified to include, under major gravity, violations that cause harm or serious
potential for harm.

COMMENT NO. 29: The rules are not stringent enough to penalize violators
and do not provide an adequate deterrent to future violators.

RESPONSE: New Rule I(2) states that the purpose of the rules is to
calculate a penalty that is commensurate with the severity of the violation, that
provides an adequate deterrent, and that captures the economic benefit. The
department and the board believe the proposed rules are stringent enough to
penalize violators and to provide an adequate deterrent to future violators. As stated
in the Response to Comment No. 30, the penalty matrix has been modified to allow
higher penalties at the top end of the range.

COMMENT NO. 30: The matrix is too low because the largest possible
penalty is only 70% of the statutory maximum. The largest penalty on the matrix
should be the statutory maximum. The matrix for administrative penalties seems
appropriate.

RESPONSE: In response to this Comment, the matrix has been changed.
The top end of the matrix for major-major violations was increased to allow for the
calculation of penalty up to the maximum allowed by statute. Including the potential
30% increase in the base penalty for circumstances, the total adjusted base penalty
for a violation that has a major extent and gravity factor of 0.85 can equal or exceed
100% of the statutory maximum. To accommodate the increase to 0.85 and
maintain a consistent spread across the table, the percentages are shifted upward
for major and shifted downward for minor.

Montana Administrative Register 9-5/4/06



-1153-

COMMENT NO. 31: Mining or disturbing land beyond the permitted boundary
or failure to provide an adequate bond, are both identified as moderate violations.
These two acts should be major violations.

RESPONSE: The department and the board agree that the failure to provide
adequate bond should be a major violation. It has a serious impact to the
department's ability to administer the reclamation requirements in the law. The
failure to provide adequate bond has been added to the examples of violations with
major gravity. Mining beyond the permitting boundary should remain as moderate
for several reasons. First, the regulated entity has complied with the rules to some
extent by obtaining a permit. Second, mining beyond a permitted boundary may not
create a bonding problem. Finally, mining beyond the permitted boundary does not
always constitute harm to human health or the environment. If mining beyond the
permitted boundary does cause harm or a serious potential for harm, the department
would likely pursue enforcement under another statute with higher penalty authority,
such as the Water Quality Act, to address the violation. In the final rule, mining
beyond the permit boundary has been deleted as an example of a moderate gravity
violation, but only because it duplicated the previous example pertaining to failure to
operate in accordance with a permit.

COMMENT NO. 32: An early draft of the rules contained a range of
multipliers in the penalty matrices. Several commentors disagree with the decision
to eliminate the earlier range of multipliers proposed in draft rules and believe a
range of multipliers will provide the department with more negotiating tools. A range
of multipliers gives the department flexibility and allows for penalties that are fair and
equitable given the different circumstances associated with an alleged violation.

RESPONSE: The use of a range of multipliers in this matrix leaves the base
penalty amount too indefinite. A number of commentors stated that the rules already
provide too much discretion to the department. The board and department believe
that the base penalty should be a fixed percentage of the statutory maximum for
each of the specified violation categories.

COMMENT NO. 33: Several commentors support the distinction in the rules
between violations that cause harm and administrative violations, and support the
use of a lower penalty matrix for administrative violations.

RESPONSE: Comment noted.

COMMENT NO. 34: The definition of major gravity to include a violation that
results "in a release of a regulated substance" needs to be deleted or narrowed.
The language could lead to minor spills being defined as major gravity violations.

RESPONSE: The department and the board have modified the rule to limit
releases in the major gravity category to those that cause harm or pose a serious
potential to harm human health or the environment.

COMMENT NO. 35: The definitions of each level of gravity in New Rule I11(5)
are vague and should be clarified.
RESPONSE: See Response to Comment Nos. 26, 28, and 34.
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COMMENT NO. 36: New Rule IlI(3) should be revised to delete "extent" for
administrative violations. The commentor recommends that only the gravity factor
be used, and that it should match the point assessment in federal coal regulations.

RESPONSE: Extent has been deleted from the matrix for violations that
impact only administration.

New Rule IV Adjusted Base Penalty

COMMENT NO. 37: New Rule IV states: "The department expects that a
violator will expend the resources necessary to mitigate a violation or the impacts of
a violation." The "or" should be "and."

RESPONSE: The intention of the original rule was to use the conjunctive
"and." The sentence has been deleted from the final rule because it did not have
substantive effect.

New Rule 1V(2) and (3) — Circumstances

COMMENT NO. 38: The terms "ordinary negligence" and "gross negligence
in New Rule IV(3) should be eliminated. It is not correct to assume that every
violation results in some degree of negligence. In spite of best efforts to comply,
process upsets happen. Ordinary negligence should not be presumed from the fact
that a violation occurred.

RESPONSE: As proposed, the rules require the department to consider a
violator’s "culpability” based on various factors set out in New Rule IV(2). The term
"negligence” was used to describe the ranges of culpability. However, the board and
department agree that "negligence" is a legal term of art. It is arguable that some
violations of requirements under these laws may not involve legal negligence. For
that reason, the term has been deleted from the final rule. The definitions for
"ordinary negligence" and "gross negligence" have also been eliminated from New
Rule Il. As modified, the rules will allow the department to adjust a penalty based on
the culpability factors without regard to whether legal negligence is involved.

COMMENT NO. 39: Increases based on culpability should be smaller, to
reflect the federal coal program.
RESPONSE: See Response to Comment No. 9.

COMMENT NO. 40: New Rule IV(2) allows the department to adjust
penalties up by 30% based upon the circumstances of the violation. To achieve fair
penalty results, several commentors requested that adjustment of a penalty due to
circumstances be considered in both increasing and decreasing the base penalty.
For example, an act of God may result in the release of a regulated substance,
despite the existence of adequate secondary containment and controls implemented
by the responsible party.

RESPONSE: In applying the "circumstances" factor, the department
evaluates the culpability of the violator, using criteria such as what the violator knew,
how the violator acted, and what control the violator had over the circumstances
surrounding the violation. The base penalty, prior to consideration of circumstances,
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assumes that the violator had no culpability. Given that initial assumption,
"circumstances” should only be used to increase a penalty. If the violation was the
result of an act of God and prevention of the violation was completely beyond the
control of the responsible party, the violator would have no culpability and the
department would not increase the penalty based on circumstances.

New Rule 1V(4) - Good Faith and Cooperation

COMMENT NO. 41: The department should have the flexibility to reduce a
penalty by up to 30% for good faith and cooperation as originally described in the
August 2005 version of the draft rules. The rules propose a penalty decrease for
"exceptional” good faith and cooperation. The statute does not qualify use of the
word "exceptional" to qualify good faith and cooperation.

RESPONSE: Because the statute does not refer to "exceptional” good faith
and cooperation, the word "exceptional” has been eliminated from New Rule 1V(4).
In the proposed rules, the possible combined penalty decrease for good faith and
cooperation and amounts voluntarily expended totals 20%. A violator is expected to
act in good faith and to cooperate with the department, and is expected to mitigate
the violation and impacts of a violation. In contrast, a violator is not expected to
have a high level of culpability in the circumstances surrounding a violation. The
department and board believe that circumstances weigh heavier in a penalty
calculation than do good faith and cooperation and amounts voluntarily expended.
Given this position, the rules should not create a situation where a 30% penalty
increase for circumstances can be offset by a 30% decrease for good faith and
cooperation and amounts voluntarily expended.

New Rule 1V(5) Amounts Voluntarily Expended

COMMENT NO. 42: New Rule IV(5)(a) would allow the department to
consider revenue lost by the violator due to a cessation or reduction in operations
necessary to mitigate the violation. Such a penalty reduction causes the department
to subsidize or offset the cost of correcting the violation. This provision is in direct
conflict with New Rule VII which states: "The department may not decrease a
penalty to offset the cost of correcting the violation."

RESPONSE: The department and the board agree that the provision in New
Rule VII appears to conflict with New Rule 1V(5). The provision has been deleted
from New Rule VII. The provision also appears to conflict with the statute, which
allows the department to consider "amounts voluntarily expended by the violator,
beyond what is required by law or order, to address or mitigate the violation or
impacts of the violation." Section 75-1-1001(1)(f), MCA. To ensure consistency with
the statute, the language "beyond what is required by law or order" has been added
to the criteria for consideration of amounts expended in New Rule 1V(5).

New Rule V Total Adjusted Penalty - Days of Violation

COMMENT NO. 43: New Rule V should be modified to provide that the
department "shall" consider each day of each violation as a separate violation
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subject to penalties. The department should not be granted the latitude to count
some days and not others. New Rule V(2) should be deleted entirely. Giving the
department the latitude to count violations and sometimes not leads to inconsistent
enforcement and subverts the goal of these rules.

RESPONSE: The statutes provide the department with the authority and
discretion to determine when to issue a penalty order and how many days to
consider an entity to be in violation. It is important that the department have that
discretion. For example, a violation, such as a small gravel pit mined beyond the
permitted boundary, may continue for several years. It would be unreasonable for
the department to multiply the adjusted penalty by several hundred days of violation
and calculate a penalty that is clearly too large given the severity of the violation.

COMMENT NO. 44: In New Rule V, days of violation should start from the
time of the department's determination of an alleged violation or from the time the
alleged violator is notified.

RESPONSE: Under the statutory penalty scheme, penalties are assessed
based on the number of days a violation occurred. The department will assess days
of violation based on the evidence available to it at the time regarding the number of
days that the violation occurred. Whether the violator was notified of the violation,
and the violator's response to that notification, may be considered under
circumstances in New Rule IV.

COMMENT NO. 45: For violations that pose harm, the department should
consider the gravity and extent of the violation and the economic gain in its
determination whether to assess additional days of violation.

RESPONSE: Extent, gravity, and economic benefit have little bearing on the
days of violation. A violation with minor gravity and no economic benefit could occur
for many days. Conversely, a violation with major gravity and a large economic
benefit could occur for only one day. Therefore, the determination whether to
assess additional days of violation is not related to extent, gravity, or economic
benefit.

COMMENT NO. 46: The rules should provide for consideration of a
"commission” of a violation versus an "omission," when assessing days of violation,
to distinguish between an operator who actually engaged in an action that is a
violation over multiple days, as opposed to a violation that may have occurred on a
single day, but which remained uncorrected for multiple days.

RESPONSE: Regardless of whether a violation is an "act" or "omission," it
may have multiple days of violation. Applying this distinction to the days of violation
determination would not be appropriate in all cases.

COMMENT NO. 47: Days of violation should not apply to violations that are
administrative in nature since they do not involve an exceedance of a regulatory
limit, a volume or a release of toxic substances.

RESPONSE: A violation that is only administrative in nature and that does
not exceed a regulatory limit could occur for multiple days, such as construction or
operation of a facility prior to obtaining approval.
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New Rule VI Total Penalty - History of Violation, Economic Benefit

COMMENT NO. 48: The department has not previously categorized
violations as major, moderate, or minor, and it would be dubious legally and
practically to do so for historic violations unilaterally and after the fact.

RESPONSE: The department and the board agree that it may be difficult to
recreate the facts surrounding a historical violation and to quantify gravity. To
simplify New Rule VI, the rule has been modified to base the penalty increase for
historical violations solely on the nature of the historical violation, i.e., whether the
violation caused or posed a risk of harm to human health or the environment or only
impacted administration. To further simplify, the percent of penalty increase has
been modified to 5% of the base penalty for each historical violation that impacts
administration and 10% for each historical violation that causes harm to human
health or the environment. The proposed modifications retain the 30% cap on a
penalty increase based on history contained in the proposed rules.

COMMENT NO. 49: Itis unclear how the department will make the distinction
between violations that pose harm to human health or the environment and
violations that impact administration in making upward penalty adjustments for
history of violation.

RESPONSE: Under the modified rules, penalty increases for history of
violation are based solely on the nature of the violation. See Response to Comment
No. 48. For historical violations, the department can refer to the definition of nature
provided in these rules.

COMMENT NO. 50: The proposed approach to determine the increase for
history of violation based on gravity would be inconsistent with Rule IlI's goal of
distinguishing between violations that harm human health or the environment and
violations that are administrative in nature.

RESPONSE: See Response to Comment No. 48.

COMMENT NO. 51: New Rule VI applies the multiplier for "economic benefit"
and "historic violations" to the adjusted penalty rather than the base penalty. This is
inappropriate because there is no logical connection between the adjustments for
cooperation or negligence and those for history of violation.

RESPONSE: Economic benefit is an individual calculation and is not
multiplied by the base penalty or adjusted base penalty, but is added to the total
adjusted penalty. In response to the remainder of the comment, New Rule VI has
been modified such that the percentage increase for history of violation is multiplied
by the base penalty rather than the adjusted base penalty. To avoid confusion,
economic benefit has been separated from New Rule VI into New Rule VIII. See
Response to Comment No. 57.

COMMENT NO. 52: New Rule VI must be revised to state that the economic
benefits adjustment factor cannot be used to recover more than the statutory
maximum penalty authorized by law.

9-5/4/06 Montana Administrative Register



-1158-

RESPONSE: A provision has been added to New Rule 1(2) to clarify that the
penalties assessed under this subchapter may not exceed the maximum penalty
allowed by statute.

COMMENT NO. 53: A party's history of violation prior to the promulgation of
these rules cannot be used to increase the base penalty.

RESPONSE: The statute requires the department to consider a violator’s
history, and defines history of violation as a violation documented in an
administrative order or a judicial order or judgment issued within three years prior to
the date of the occurrence of the violation for which the penalty is being assessed.
The statute became effective on January 1, 2006, so a party's history of violation
prior to the promulgation of the rules can be used to increase a penalty.

COMMENT NO. 54: An alleged violation that has not been admitted or
proved should not be considered as history to increase a penalty.

RESPONSE: The statute allows a history of violation documented in an
administrative order or a judicial order or judgment to be considered, whether or not
the violation has been proved or admitted.

COMMENT NO. 55: The word "quantifiable" should be added in New Rule VI
to assist the department in determining economic benefit. Some standards should
be applied.

RESPONSE: The rules require that the department base the economic
benefit calculation on the best information reasonably available at the time it
calculates the penalty. During the 30-day appeal period following the issuance of a
penalty order, the alleged violator has an opportunity to discuss the penalty
calculation, including economic benefit, with the department and provide better
information. If the additional information provided indicates the department's
calculation of economic benefit is not correct, the department would modify its
calculation.

COMMENT NO. 56: Errors committed by the department should be
considered in the total penalty amount.

RESPONSE: If the department commits an error in its penalty calculation, it
will correct the error and recalculate the penalty.

COMMENT NO. 57: History of violation and economic benefit should be
separated into different rules, because economic benefit may include a
consideration of days of violation.

RESPONSE: To avoid confusion, the rules for history of violation and
economic benefit have been separated.

COMMENT NO. 58: Consideration of extent and gravity of the historic
violation should be removed because of unnecessary complications and it penalizes
a violator twice for extent and gravity, rather than just for multiple occurrences.
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RESPONSE: New Rule VI has been modified to base the increase for history
of violation solely on the nature of the historical violation. See Response to
Comment No. 51.

COMMENT NO. 59: The proposed rules limit history to a violation of the
same chapter and part. This is more limiting than the federal approach which a
historical violation of any environmental statute can be considered as history.

RESPONSE: The statute limits historic violations to those of the same
chapter and part of the Montana Code. Section 75-1-1001(1)(c)(i), MCA.

New Rule VII Other Matters as Justice May Require

COMMENT NO. 60: The phrases "demonstrably inadequate as a deterrent"
or "inadequate to provide a deterrent" are arbitrary and not included in HB 429, and
therefore should be stricken.

RESPONSE: The deterrence language was not included in the proposed
rules.

COMMENT NO. 61: A partial list of "other matters" should be included. This
is a very nebulous provision and it is hoped the department will be very careful in its
application. The "justice" factor should include a downward penalty adjustment
when the department makes a mistake. Hopefully it will not be necessary to use the
rule very often, because all relevant factors have already been included in the
penalty calculation.

RESPONSE: The department and the board expect that "other matters" that
may justify a penalty increase or decrease will rarely occur. It is not feasible or
appropriate to speculate and list in the rules what those other matters may
constitute.

Reviewed by: BOARD OF ENVIRONMENTAL REVIEW
/sl James M. Madden By: /s/ Joseph W. Russell

JAMES M. MADDEN JOSEPH W. RUSSELL, M.P.H.

Rule Reviewer Chairman

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL
QUALITY

BY: /s/ Richard H. Opper
RICHARD H. OPPER, DIRECTOR

Certified to the Secretary of State, April 24, 2006.
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BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
OF THE STATE OF MONTANA

In the matter of the amendment of ARM ) NOTICE OF AMENDMENT
18.8.1501, 18.8.1502, and 18.8.1505 to )
incorporate amendments to federal )
regulations pertaining to motor vehicle )
standards previously incorporated by )
reference in current rules and to make )
general revisions to clarify scope of rules )

TO: All Concerned Persons
1. On March 9, 2006, the department published MAR Notice No. 18-115
regarding the proposed amendment of the above-stated rules at page 617 of the

2006 Montana Administrative Register, Issue Number 5.

2. The agency has amended ARM 18.8.1501, 18.8.1502, and 18.8.1505 as
proposed.

3. No comments or testimony were received.

By: /s/James D. Currie [s/ Lyle Manley
James D. Currie, Deputy Director Lyle Manley, Rule Reviewer
Department of Transportation

Certified to the Secretary of State April 24, 2006.
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BEFORE THE BOARD OF ATHLETICS
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY
STATE OF MONTANA

In the matter of the amendment of ARM ) NOTICE OF AMENDMENT,
24.117.301 definitions, 24.117.401, 24.117.402, ) ADOPTION, AND REPEAL
24.117.403, 24.117.404, 24.117.405 and )

24.117.406 general provisions, 24.117.601 and )
24.117.602 contest regulations, 24.117.702, )
24.117.703, 24.117.705, 24.117.706, )
24.117.709 and 24.117.710 boxing regulations, )
24.117.801, 24.117.802, 24.117.803, )
24.117.804, 24.117.805, 24.117.810, )
24.117.811, 24.117.812 and 24.117.815 ring )
regulations, 24.117.901, 24.117.903, )
24.117.904, 24.117.905, 24.117.906 and )
24.117.907 boxing officials, 24.117.1001, )
24.117.1002, 24.117.1005, 24.117.1006 and )
24.117.1007 club boxing, the adoption of New )
Rule | promoter, New Rule Il bout approval, )
New Rule Il referee, New Rule 1V fee )
abatement, New Rule V suspension and )
revocation, New Rules VI through XIV mixed )
martial arts, and the repeal of 24.117.502, )
24.117.902, 24.117.1003 and 24.117.1004 )

TO: All Concerned Persons

1. On January 26, 2006, the Board of Athletics published MAR Notice No.
24-117-30 regarding the public hearing on the proposed amendment, adoption, and
repeal of the above-stated rules, at page 157 of the 2006 Montana Administrative
Register, issue no. 2.

2. On February 17, 2006, a public hearing was held in Helena, Montana. A
single individual appeared at the public hearing and that same individual provided
written comments.

3. The Board of Athletics (board) has thoroughly considered the comments
and testimony received. A summary of the comments received and the board's
responses are as follows:

COMMENT 1: The commenter requested the board adopt additional rules for club
boxing events to permit club boxing contestants to gain experience participating in
matches using ten ounce gloves and no headgear.

RESPONSE 1: The board is unable to adopt new rules that were not previously
included in the proposed rule notice as doing so would preclude public notice and
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comment as required by the Montana Administrative Procedure Act. The board will
place the request on the board’s agenda for subsequent discussion.

COMMENT 2: The commenter requested that the definition of “recognized amateur
association” at ARM 24.117.301(11) be amended to allow the licensure of club
boxing contestants aged 16 and 17 years old as amateurs under club boxing and not
under the rules of United States Amateur Boxing, Inc.

RESPONSE 2: Currently, state law exempts from board jurisdiction matches
conducted by a recognized amateur association for contestants under age 16. The
board is amending the rule to specify that only matches conducted by United States
Amateur Boxing, Inc. will be exempt. Further, the board is seeking a statutory
change in the 2007 legislature to remove from the board’s jurisdiction all amateur
events and contestants. The board is amending the rule exactly as proposed.

COMMENT 3: The commenter requested that ARM 24.117.404(4) be amended to
not require payment of the contract guarantee when a club boxing opponent fails to
appear at a bout. The commenter stated that while it is fairly common for club
boxing no-shows, the promoter always attempts to have alternate bouts scheduled
and the scratched fighters are scheduled for the following week.

RESPONSE 3: The board determined that the situation of a no-show opponent is
much more likely in club boxing than with professional contestants. The board
concluded that the public, including the contestants, would remain adequately
protected by not requiring the payment of the contract guarantee for opponents of
no-show club boxers. The board is amending the rule accordingly.

COMMENT 4: The commenter requested that club boxing contestants be exempt
from the HIV testing requirements in ARM 24.117.406(6). The commenter stated
that club boxing weigh-ins and matchmaking occur the night before the boxing
event, making it impossible to have HIV tests processed in that time frame.
Additionally, club boxing contestants are asked to disclose to the promoter if they
have tested positive for HIV.

RESPONSE 4: The board concluded that the logistics and time frames of club
boxing do not fit with the currently available HIV tests. The board noted that high
speed HIV tests may become prevalent in the future and then may be required for
club boxing contestants as well as professional boxers. The board will amend the
rule to exempt club boxing contestants from the HIV testing, but will require club
boxing contestants to acknowledge in writing at the prefight physical examination
that they have not tested positive for HIV.

COMMENT 5: The commenter requested that the upper age limit for club boxing
contestants in ARM 24.117.702(4) be amended to 40 instead of the proposed 35.
The commenter stated that there are only a few club boxing contestants in
competition between 35 and 40 and those boxers are in very good health. The
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commenter agreed that any club boxing contestant over 40 should be required to
obtain a physical exam and a physician’s statement on fitness to participate.

RESPONSE 5: The board notes that the rules had allowed club boxing contestants
to compete up to the age of 45 without a physical and a physician’s release. The
board will amend the rule to require the physical exam and physician’s release for
club boxing contestants over 40 years.

COMMENT 6: The commenter requested that ARM 24.117.709(1) be changed to
require that contestants’ physical exams are completed within one hour before
entering the ring, as most ringside health care professionals and contestants cannot
arrive at the venue until an hour or two before the event.

RESPONSE 6: The board concluded that as long as the prefight physical is
completed prior to competing, the time frame is irrelevant. The board will amend the
rule to require all prefight physical examinations be conducted between the time of
weigh-in and prior to the contestant entering the ring.

COMMENT 7: The commenter requested that ARM 24.117.815(1) be amended to
permit the use of club boxing rings that measure 15 feet inside the ropes.

RESPONSE 7: The board determined that requiring a ring measurement of 16 feet
does not protect the contestants in any greater way than a ring of 15 feet. The
board will amend the rule to allow ring measurements of no less than 15 feet or
more than 20 feet square.

COMMENT 8: The commenter requested that NEW RULE | be amended at (1)(b) to
not require the $5,000 surety bond. The commenter stated that this requirement
was adopted to assure that all contestants and officials were paid by the promoter
but that in nearly five years and 1,000 bouts, there have been no complaints
concerning non-payment of club boxing contestants or officials.

RESPONSE 8: Pursuant to section 23-3-502, MCA, the board may not issue a
promoter’s license unless the promoter executes a bond of not less than $5,000.
The board may not by rule eliminate a licensure requirement that is statutorily
mandated and is therefore amending the rule as proposed.

COMMENT 9: The commenter requested that the $5,000 surety bond requirement
be deleted from NEW RULE [(2)(b). The commenter stated that the bond
requirement is unnecessary because of the board’s complaint procedure and further
stated his belief that the board did not intend to fine a promoter $5,000 for a violation
of the board’s rules.

RESPONSE 9: Pursuant to section 23-3-502, MCA, the board may not issue a
promoter’s license unless the promoter executes a bond of not less than $5,000.
The statute requires that the bond be conditioned on the promoter’s compliance with
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the board laws and rules. The board may not by rule eliminate a licensure
requirement that is statutorily mandated and is amending the rule as proposed.

COMMENT 10: The commenter requested that the medical insurance requirement
of NEW RULE 1(2)(c) be eliminated. The commenter stated that club boxing shows
operate on a very marginal profit and because medical insurance would cost $1,000
per event, all shows would close. The commenter stated that he has operated for
4%, years under the medical insurance exemption for club boxing, but has required
contestants to carry their own insurance and sign a waiver of liability.

RESPONSE 10: The board discussed the reasoning behind requiring promoters to
carry this insurance and concluded that a contestant’s ability to pay for future
medical care does not relate to public safety. The board determined that having or
not having insurance is better left to the individual and unlike the requirement for a
$5,000 bond, insurance is not required by board statute. The board is amending
ARM 24.117.1002(1) and NEW RULE I(2)(c) to delete the requirements for medical
and death benefit insurance coverage.

COMMENT 11: The commenter asked that the requirement in NEW RULE 1(2)(g)
for the promoter to give the board the names and weights of contestants be
eliminated or amended to a 3:00 p.m. deadline because club boxing fight cards are
usually not finalized until noon or 1:00 p.m. the day of the event.

RESPONSE 11: The board concluded that receiving notice of contestants’ names
and weights prior to a club boxing event does not increase public protection. The
board is therefore amending the rule to delete the prefight notification requirement
for club boxing.

COMMENT 12: The commenter requested that the requirement for promoters to
provide gauze and tape for handwraps in NEW RULE 1(2)(i) be deleted as club
boxing contestants provide their own training handwraps without gauze or tape.

RESPONSE 12: The board concluded that because the rule simply requires
promoters to furnish whatever materials are necessary for an event, it would allow
club boxing contestants to furnish their own handwraps. The board is amending
NEW RULE 1(2)(i) exactly as proposed.

COMMENT 13: The commenter asked that the qualifications for a club boxing
promoter license (to be repealed in ARM 24.117.502) be retained. The commenter
stated that he has struggled desperately to remain financially sound, and relaxing
the qualifications will spur half-hearted attempts to promote club boxing. The
commenter further argued that to open the promoter’s license to anyone who can
get three people to attest to their boxing experience is very risky. The commenter
stated his belief that anyone challenging the old requirements would need to show
the dedication and experience necessary to make their venture successful.
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RESPONSE 13: The board is statutorily mandated to set minimum licensure
gualifications for licensees to ensure adequate protection of the public. The board
determined that requiring that a club boxing promoter’s principal place of business
be in Montana does nothing to ensure public protection and may raise restraint of
trade issues. Further, the board concluded that requiring the applicant to have
promoted at least two professional or semiprofessional boxing events to qualify for a
club boxing promoter’s license does not enhance public protection. The board is
amending the rule exactly as proposed.

COMMENT 14: The commenter opposed the $500 licensure fee for all promoters in
ARM 24.117.402 and requested the fee for club boxing promoters remain at $100.

RESPONSE 14: The board determined that the 500% fee increase for club boxing
promoters is too great an increase and the board’s budget constraints do not justify
such an increase. The board is amending the rule to a $250 club boxing promoter
license fee, while keeping in place the $500 license fee for all other promoters.

COMMENT 15: The commenter made several comments regarding the board’s
budget and expenditures. The commenter stated that since 2001, he has paid the
board $159,367 in taxes and licensing fees and questioned where the money goes.
The commenter asked why the board spent $3,380 to send a board member, a staff
member, and the board’s medical advisor to the Association of Boxing Commissions’
National Convention in Las Vegas when professional boxing has absolutely nothing
to do with club boxing. He further stated that in the past 4% years, there have been
over 600 club boxing events and only one professional boxing event. The
commenter asserted that the board isn’'t one that governs professional boxing as
most of the board’s effort is spent on club boxing.

The commenter questioned whether it makes sense that a board inspector
"that answered an ad in a newspaper" is paid five times what club boxing judges are
paid? The commenter asserted that there are many times the board uses state
employees "who are being paid overtime, expenses, travel, etc., to attend” club
boxing matches. The commenter stated that it is no wonder the board has a cash
flow problem since the board doesn’t run their business like he does. The
commenter further stated that "using his tax dollars, the board routinely sends
representatives to conventions for absolutely no sane reason" as they learn nothing
to help club boxing. The commenter argued that someone has to stop this
“ridiculous amount of expenditures” and asserted that there are no spending
guidelines — the board just keeps spending and spending, and when there’s no more
money, the board raises his fees. The commenter stated that it’s time for the board
to take control and stop letting state employees tell the board what to do. The
commenter stated that he hopes his business doesn't close, as there will be no need
for the board.

RESPONSE 15: The board acknowledges the comments and notes that the
comments are not germane to the changes proposed in the rule notice. The board
also notes that a response is not required in this notice, but because the comments
were made at the public hearing, the board is including them at this time. The

9-5/4/06 Montana Administrative Register



-1166-

board’s budget is, in fact, set and approved legislatively. The board’s budget
information, as is the budget information for all governmental agencies, is available
for public inspection. If concern exists that the board maintains too large a budget,
such concerns should be addressed to the legislature through the budgetary
process.

The board also notes that its members, when acting in their official capacity,
serve as state employees, and are obligated to follow Montana law. The board
notes that its discretion is constrained by state law, and that the board does not have
the authority to abandon its statutory duties. The board expects that it will continue
to rely upon its professional staff to provide it with appropriate advice as to what
those duties are, and about the ways in which those obligations can be fulfilled.

4. After consideration of the comments, the board has amended ARM
24.117.301, 24.117.401, 24.117.403, 24.117.405, 24.117.601, 24.117.602,
24.117.703, 24.117.705, 24.117.706, 24.117.710, 24.117.801, 24.117.802,
24.117.803, 24.117.804, 24.117.805, 24.117.810, 24.117.811, 24.117.812,
24.117.901, 24.117.903, 24.117.904, 24.117.905, 24.117.906, 24.117.907,
24.117.1001, 24.117.1002, 24.117.1005, 24.117.1006, and 24.117.1007 exactly as
proposed.

5. After consideration of the comments, the board has adopted NEW RULES
Il (24.117.409), 11l (24.117.909), IV (24.117.412), V (24.117.2303), VI (24.117.1501),
VIl (24.117.1504), VIII (24.117.1507), 1X (24.117.1510), X (24.117.1513), XI
(24.117.1516), XII (24.117.1519), XIll (24.117.1522), and XIV (24.117.1525) exactly
as proposed.

6. After consideration of the comments, the board has repealed ARM
24.117.502, 24.117.902, 24.117.1003, and 24.117.1004 exactly as proposed.

7. After consideration of the comments, the board has amended ARM
24.117.402, 24.117.404, 24.117.406, 24.117.702, 24.117.709, and 24.117.815 with
the following changes, stricken matter interlined, new matter underlined:

24.117.402 FEES

(1) through (8) remain as proposed.

(9) _Club boxing promoter 250
(9) remains as proposed, but is renumbered (10).

AUTH: 23-3-405, 37-1-134, MCA
IMP:  23-3-405, 23-3-501, 37-1-134, MCA

24.117.404 CONTRACTS AND PENALTIES (1) through (3) remain as
proposed.

(4) Exceptin club boxing, when When a contestant under contract appears at
weigh-in time, is ready to fulfill the contract, and neither an opponent nor a substitute
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appears, the promoter must pay the contestant the contract guarantee unless a
forfeit is provided.
(5) through (7) remain as proposed.

AUTH: 23-3-405, MCA
IMP:  23-3-404, 23-3-405, 23-3-603, MCA

24.117.406 GENERAL LICENSING REQUIREMENTS (1) through (5)
remain as proposed.

(6) Exceptin club boxing, all At contestants shall submit a certified laboratory
report documenting that the contestant has, within 30 days prior to each bout or
match in which the contestant is scheduled to appear, been administered an HIV
test for the presence of AIDS antibodies and that the results of such test were
negative.

AUTH: 23-3-405, MCA
IMP:  23-3-404, 23-3-405, 23-3-501, 23-3-502, MCA

24.117.702 BOXING CONTESTANTS (1) through (4)(a) remain as
proposed.

(b) Club boxing contestants over the age of 40 wishing to compete must
provide to the board a written statement by the contestant's personal physician
(M.D.) that:

(i) the physician has performed a full physical examination of the contestant
within a year of the event; and

(i) _the contestant is medically fit to participate in the event.

(5) through (14) remain as proposed.

AUTH: 23-3-405, MCA
IMP:  23-3-404, 23-3-405, 23-3-501, 23-3-603, MCA

24.117.709 PHYSICAL EXAMINATION (1) Contestants, including
substitutions and exhibition contestants, shall be examined by a ringside health care
professional approved by the board, at between the time of weigh-in eratleastfive
heurs and prior to entering the ring. Only the contestant and his manager/trainer are
allowed in the examination room during the physical.

(2) through (7) remain as proposed.

AUTH: 23-3-405, MCA
IMP:  23-3-405, MCA

24.117.815 RING--EQUIPMENT (1) The ring shall be no less than 46 15 or
more than 20 feet square when measured inside the line of the ropes. The apron of
the ring shall extend beyond the ropes not less than two feet. The ring shall be
equipped with four ropes with two spacer ties on each side of the ring to secure the
ropes.
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(2) through (5) remain as proposed.

AUTH: 23-3-405, MCA
IMP:  23-3-405, MCA

24 117 1002 CLUB BOXING CONTESTANTS @—E&eh—papmrpam—mast

(2) remains as proposed but is renumbered (1).

AUTH: 23-3-405, MCA
IMP:  23-3-404, 23-3-405, 23-3-501, 23-3-603, MCA

8. After consideration of the comments, the board has adopted New Rule |
(24.117.503) with the following changes, stricken matter interlined, new matter
underlined:

NEW RULE 1(24.117.503) PROMOTER (1) through (2)(b) remain as

proposed.

(d) through (f) remain as proposed, but are renumbered (c) through (e).

te(f) provide the names and weights of all contestants scheduled for an
athletic event to the board at least 10 days before the event. For club boxing events,
prefight notification of names and weights shallbereceived at the board office by-10

o'clock-a-m—on-the-day-efthe-event is not required;
(h) through (r) remain as proposed, but are renumbered (g) through (q).

AUTH: 23-3-405, MCA
IMP:  23-3-404, 23-3-405, 23-3-501, 23-3-601, MCA

BOARD OF ATHLETICS
KEVIN MCCARL, CHAIRPERSON

/sl MARK CADWALLADER [s/ KEITH KELLY
Mark Cadwallader Keith Kelly, Commissioner
Alternate Rule Reviewer DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY

Certified to the Secretary of State April 24, 2006
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BEFORE THE BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICE
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY
STATE OF MONTANA

In the matter of the amendment of ARM ) NOTICE OF AMENDMENT,
24.147.302 definitions, 24.147.401, ) ADOPTION, AND REPEAL
24.147.402, and 24.147.403 substantive )
rules, 24.147.501, 24.147.502, and )
24.147.505 licensing, 24.147.901 mortuary )
requirements, 24.147.1101, 24.147.1114, )
and 24.147.1115 crematory rules, )
24.147.1301, 24.147.1302, 24.147.1304, )
24.147.1305, 24.147.1312, 24.147.1313, )
and 24.147.1314 cemetery regulation rules, )
24.147.1501 and 24.147.1503 branch )
facilities and prearranged funeral )
agreements, 24.147.2108 continuing )
education, 24.147.2401 complaint filing, the )
adoption of NEW RULE | fee abatement, )
NEW RULE Il renewal of cemetery licenses,)
and the repeal of 24.147.1311 cemetery )
authority rules )

TO: All Concerned Persons

1. On March 9, 2006, the Board of Funeral Service (board) published MAR
Notice No. 24-147-32 regarding the public hearing on the proposed amendment,
adoption, and repeal of the above-stated rules, at page 642 of the 2006 Montana
Administrative Register, issue no. 5.

2. On March 30, 2006, a public hearing was held on the proposed
amendment, adoption, and repeal of the above-stated rules in Helena. No testimony
or comments were received at the hearing. One written comment was received by
the April 6, 2006, deadline.

3. The board has thoroughly considered the comment received. A summary
of the comment received and the board's response are as follows:

COMMENT 1: One comment was received regarding section 46-4-101, MCA,
providing that the state medical examiner has jurisdiction if a coroner with jurisdiction
of a death fails to act, and the apparent conflict with the proposed amendment to
ARM 24.147.1101(10). The commenter is aware of a situation where the state
medical examiner was required to act under this statute and asserted that this
portion of the rule has a valid purpose as a part of the “checks and balances”
concept of our form of government.
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RESPONSE 1: The board concurs with the comment and will not amend section
(20) of this rule.

4. The board has amended ARM 24.147.302, 24.147.401, 24.147.402,
24.147.403, 24.147.501, 24.147.502, 24.147.505, 24.147.901, 24.147.1114,
24.147.1115, 24.147.1301, 24.147.1302, 24.147.1304, 24.147.1305, 24.147.1312,
24.147.1313, 24.147.1314, 24.147.1501, 24.147.1503, 24.147.2108, and
24.147.2401 exactly as proposed.

5. The board has adopted NEW RULE | (24.147.404) and NEW RULE II
(24.147.506) exactly as proposed.

6. The board has repealed ARM 24.147.1311 exactly as proposed.

7. The board has amended ARM 24.147.1101 with the following changes,
stricken matter interlined, new matter underlined:

24.147.1101 CREMATORY FACILITY REGULATION (1) through (9) remain
as proposed.

(10) Prior to beginning the cremation process, the crematory must have in its
possession, written authorization(s) bearing the original, photocopied, or facsimile
signatures of the authorizing agent and, if the death occurred in Montana, the
coroner having jurisdiction or the state medical examiner. In addition, the following
information must be included in the authorization and kept on record:

(a) through (11) remain as proposed.

AUTH: 37-1-131, 37-19-202, 37-19-703, MCA
IMP:  37-19-702, 37-19-703, 37-19-705, MCA

BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICE
R.J. (DICK) BROWN, CHAIRPERSON

/sl DARCEE L. MOE /s/ KEITH KELLY
Darcee L. Moe Keith Kelly, Commissioner
Alternate Rule Reviewer DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY

Certified to the Secretary of State April 24, 2006
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BEFORE THE BOARD OF REALTY REGULATION
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY
STATE OF MONTANA

In the matter of the amendment of ) NOTICE OF AMENDMENT
ARM 24.210.667 and 24.210.661 )
related to continuing real estate )

education and new licensee mandatory )
continuing education - salespersons )

TO: All Concerned Persons

1. On December 22, 2005, the Board of Realty Regulation published MAR
Notice No. 24-210-27 regarding the public hearing on the proposed amendment of
the above-stated rules, at page 2546 of the 2005 Montana Administrative Register,
issue no. 24.

2. On January 13, 2006, a public hearing was held on the proposed
amendment of the above-stated rules in Helena. Testimony and comments were
received at the hearing. Comments were also received by the closing of the
comment period on January 20, 2006.

3. The board has thoroughly considered the comments and testimony
received. A summary of the comments received and the board's responses are as
follows:

COMMENT 1: Some commenters stated they were in support of the elimination of
continuing education ("CE") carry over hours. They believe the elimination of carry
over would lead to more professionalism. One comment even suggested the board
require more hours and adopting stricter criteria for initial licensing.

RESPONSE 1: The board agrees with the comment that eliminating the carry over
hours will result in more professionalism among the licensees. In regard to the
comments suggesting more hours and stricter licensing criteria, the board responds
that at this time the board is only looking at an alternative reporting requirement for
continuing education, not the hourly requirement itself or the requirements to initially
obtain a license.

COMMENT 2: Some commenters opposed the elimination of CE carry over hours
without stating why they were opposed.

RESPONSE 2: The elimination of carry-over will bring many benefits to the
licensees and the board including allowance for on-line tracking (which is
unavailable on the current database), providing one central place to track continuing
education, and elimination of the annual CE audit. Additionally, the current carry
over system discourages licensees from completing 12 hours of education every
year because they could rely on older carry over credits to fulfill their CE

9-5/4/06 Montana Administrative Register



-1172-

requirement. Therefore, elimination of carry over will also lead to increased
professionalism of licensees by requiring licensees to complete 12 hours of
education every year which necessarily means that the education will be more
current than if credits are carried over from previous years.

COMMENT 3: Some commenters believe that elimination of carry over will result in
unfairness to licensees who currently have carry over hours because those
licensees would potentially lose the hours if the rule is adopted.

RESPONSE 3: The board agrees with the comment concerning the loss of accrued
carry over hours. In order to avoid this loss, the board will delay the implementation
date of elimination of carry over hours to 2007. This will provide licensees an
opportunity to use their excess carry over hours for the 2006 requirement period.
This will be a one-time extension. Beginning in January 1, 2007, no carry over will
be recognized. Therefore, ARM 24.210.667(5) will not be deleted as originally
proposed. Instead it has been amended to read as follows:

"(5) FEor the reporting period ending December 31, 2006, no more than six
hours of elective topics may be carried over from a previous year. No mandatory
hours may be carried over except as elective credit. For the reporting period
beqginning January 1, 2007, no carry over hours will be recognized or allowed."

The change also results in the renumbering of the subsequent sections of the rule.

COMMENT 4: Some commenters stated their belief that the rule requiring
elimination of carry over hours was driven by educators who wanted all licensees to
complete 12 hours of education every year. These commenters also believe that
adoption of this rule would discourage licensees from taking extra classes.

RESPONSE 4: The elimination of carry over was not driven by educators. The
intent is to increase professionalism by requiring 12 current continuing education
credits every year, to allow for on-line tracking currently unavailable on the current
database, to provide one central place to track continuing education and to eliminate
the annual CE audit. The current carry over system discourages licensees from
completing 12 hours of education every year.

COMMENT 5: Some commenters stated that the current carry over scheme
provides scheduling flexibility which allows the licensee to better plan their CE. Also,
the scheduling is more convenient and allows licensees to take classes that have
information that is useful to them.

RESPONSE 5: The board agrees that the elimination of carry over will require
additional planning on the licensee’s part when scheduling CE. However, the board
concludes that the advantages of eliminating carry over outweigh the drawbacks of
the carry over elimination. The benefits of eliminating carry over include increased
professionals, on-line tracking, and elimination of the annual CE audit. Elimination
of the carry over will not prevent licensees from taking classes that are useful to
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them. Licensees should always be pursuing approved courses that provide
information useful to them.

COMMENT 6: Several commenters believe that the inability to electronically monitor
carry over hours is an invalid reason for changing the rule because computer
programs can be adapted to track carry over.

RESPONSE 6: The database used by all licensing programs in the Business
Standards Division does not have a place to house the carry over information. Even
if it were collected, there is no mechanism to track it in the database. Because this
database is used by all licensing boards and programs in the Business Standards
Division, it will not be modified to accommodate tracking carry over hours.

COMMENT 7: Several licensees stated that they pay good money to maintain their
licenses and a record of carry over education credits is included in the existing fees.

RESPONSE 7: Recording and tracking of carry over hours is not currently done by
the board. Nor do the licensing fees currently support this function. Therefore,
enactment of this tracking system will actually provide more benefit/service to the
licensees.

COMMENT 8: The board’s goals should be to keep things simple and not enable
licensees who cannot track their own continuing education hours.

RESPONSE 8: Implementation of this tracking system will actually simplify and
streamline the process and will eliminate the annual CE audit. This will provide
more efficiency in the reporting process.

COMMENT 9: A couple of commenters stated that elimination of carry over hours
would keep licensees from attending courses that both interest and educate
licensees because they could not use the excess hours for meeting CE
requirements.

RESPONSE 9: The board does not agree with this comment. The elimination of
carry over would actually require licensees to complete a minimum of 12 hours of
education every year. This would result in more current education completed on an
annual basis rather than carrying some hours over from a prior year. Licensees
should always take courses that interest and educate them.

COMMENT 10: Several commenters stated that the elimination of carry over should
not occur until 2007. This would give licensees adequate notice so they could use
up their carry over or at least be notified it would be eliminated. It would also allow
education providers adequate time to plan for new deadlines.

RESPONSE 10: The board agrees. The rule will be adopted with an
implementation date of January 1, 2007. This will give the licensees adequate
notice and the opportunity to use their carry over hours.
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COMMENT 11: A couple of commenters stated that it is unfair to hold instructors
responsible for accurately recording continuing education attendance information.
The course provider/administrator should be the responsible party for reporting
course attendance.

RESPONSE 11: The board does not license, certify, approve or track the course
provider/administrator. However, the board has jurisdiction to enforce certain
requirements on the instructor. The board does recognize that some instructors
contract with or arrange for another person to perform some duties. The proposed
rule provides some flexibility to the instructor by allowing the “instructor or their
designee” to report licensee attendance. However, the instructor will ultimately be
responsible for the provision of and the accuracy of the information.

COMMENT 12: Some commenters stated that ten days is not enough time to allow
for reporting of course attendance.

RESPONSE 12: The board agrees with the comments. The reporting requirement
has been amended to extend the time to 20 days.

COMMENT 13: A couple of commenters believe the instructor or assignee should
be absolved from liability if the student’s name is skipped by error. The commenters
expressed their concern about liability for incorrect data entry.

RESPONSE 13: The board does not believe instructors have additional liability
under the proposed reporting system. The board does not have the statutory
authority to protect instructors against liability to a licensee for the instructor's
negligence.

COMMENT 14: A couple of commenters stated that instructors should be able to
provide a faxed roster to the board and not be expected to do the board staff's work
to record hours.

RESPONSE 14: Currently this function (recording hours) is not performed by the
board staff. The board does not have the staff capability to input all education hours
for every licensee. Nor do the licensing fees currently support this function. The
proposed format is web-based with access for all providers through the internet.

COMMENT 15: One commenter opposed changing the renewal date stating that
licensees are used to the term being year-end.

RESPONSE 15: The pertinent sections of this rule only refer to new licensees.
However, in response to the comment, the board has determined that the changes
to new licensee renewal should not be effective until calendar year 2007. The board
will amend the adopted rule to delay implementation until January 2007. This will
allow adequate time to notify new licensees of the change.
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The last section in the rule does refer to ‘all licensees’. However, licensees other
than new licensees are not scheduled to renew until 2007 anyway. Therefore, there
is adequate time for those licensees to prepare for an October renewal date.
Consequently, that section of the rule will be adopted as proposed.

COMMENT 16: One commenter is opposed to all the proposed changes to the
administrative rules because they are cumbersome and do not improve the process.
Additionally, the commenter feels the changes shift the board’s responsibility and
liability to others concerning the reporting of a licensee’s education credits.

RESPONSE 16: The proposed changes are not unduly cumbersome especially
given the benefits. The proposed changes will increase professionalism of all
licensees, assist them in maintaining their current continuing education and will
eliminate the annual continuing education audit. Moreover, the function of recording
hours is not currently performed by the board staff. The board does not have the
staff capability to input all education hours for every licensee. Nor do the licensing
fees currently support this function. The proposed format is web-based with access
for all providers through the internet. The board does not believe instructors have
additional liability under the proposed reporting system.

COMMENT 17: A commenter asked what are the methods of reporting that are
being considered.

RESPONSE 17: The format is web-based with access through the internet.

COMMENT 18: A commenter asked what sort of proof will the person have to prove
they have attended a given class should the instructor fail to properly report all
students in the class.

RESPONSE 18: Instructors will still be required to provide completion certificates to
licensees attending their course.

COMMENT 19: A commenter asked if the date for CE credit reporting is changed to
October 31 of each year — will that also effect the due date for dues each year —
since they go hand in hand?

RESPONSE 19: Yes. The department has proposed changing the renewal date for
licensees. The board is changing the CE reporting date to coincide with the renewal
date being established by the department.

4. The board has amended ARM 24.210.661 and ARM 24.210.667 with the
following changes, stricken matter interlined, new matter underlined:

24.210.661 NEW LICENSEE MANDATORY CONTINUING EDUCATION -
SALESPERSONS (1) All new sales licensees issued in 2006 are required to
complete the board mandated new licensee mandatory continuing education

requirement by Oetoeber December 31, 2006 fellowing-their-originaHicense-issue
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date. Effective January 1, 2007, all new sales licensees are required to complete
the board mandated new licensee mandatory continuing education requirement by
the October 31 following their original license issue date.

(2) New sales licensees issued in 2006 will receive an interim license that will
expire Oeteber December 31, 2006. Effective January 1, 2007, all new sales
licensees will receive an interim license that will expire October 31 of the year of the
initial license date.

(3) through (5) remain as proposed.

AUTH: 37-1-131, 37-1-306, 37-1-319, 37-51-203, MCA
IMP:  37-1-131, 37-1-141, 37-1-306, 37-1-319, 37-51-202, 37-51-204, MCA

24.210.667 CONTINUING REAL ESTATE EDUCATION (1) through (4)
remain as proposed.

(5) For the reporting period ending December 31, 2006, no more than six
hours of elective topics may be carried over from a previous year. No mandatory
hours may be carried over except as elective credits. For the reporting period
beqginning January 1, 2007, no carry over hours will be recognized or allowed.

(6) {5} No course shall be repeated for credit in the same reporting year.

(6) through (10) remain as proposed but are renumbered (7) through (11).

&3 (12) All continuing education instructors or their designee must report
licensee attendance at approved continuing education offerings to the board within
10- 20 days of the course offering.

(12) through (14) remain as proposed, but are renumbered (13) through (15).

AUTH: 37-1-131, 37-1-306, 37-1-319, 37-51-203, 37-51-204, MCA
IMP:  37-1-131, 37-1-141, 37-1-306, 37-1-319, 37-51-202, 37-51-203, 37-

51-204, MCA
BOARD OF REALTY REGULATION
TERRY HILGENDORF, CHAIRPERSON
/sl MARK CADWALLADER /s/ KEITH KELLY
Mark Cadwallader Keith Kelly, Commissioner
Alternate Rule Reviewer DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY

Certified to the Secretary of State April 24, 2006
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BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
AND CONSERVATION OF THE STATE OF MONTANA

In the matter of the amendment of ARM ) NOTICE OF AMENDMENT
36.21.415, fee schedule for water well )
contractors )

To:  All Concerned Persons

1. On March 23, 2006, the Department of Natural Resources and
Conservation published MAR Notice No. 36-22-114 regarding the proposed
amendment of ARM 36.21.415 at page 720 of the 2006 Montana Administrative
Register, Issue No. 6.

2. The department has amended ARM 36.21.415 exactly as proposed.

3. No comments were received.

4. An electronic copy of this Notice of Amendment is available through the

department’s site on the World Wide Web at http://www.dnrc.mt.gov. The department
strives to make the electronic copy of this Notice of Amendment conform to the official
version of the Notice, as printed in the Montana Administrative Register, but advises all
concerned persons that in the event of a discrepancy between the official printed text
of the Notice and the electronic version of the Notice, only the official printed text will be

considered.

/s/ Mary Sexton
MARY SEXTON
Director, Natural Resources and Conservation

/s/ Fred Robinson
FRED ROBINSON
Rule Reviewer

Certified to the Secretary of State April 24, 2006.
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NOTICE OF FUNCTION OF ADMINISTRATIVE RULE REVIEW COMMITTEE
Interim Committees and the Environmental Quality Council
Administrative rule review is a function of interim committees and the
Environmental Quality Council (EQC). These interim committees and the EQC have
administrative rule review, program evaluation, and monitoring functions for the
following executive branch agencies and the entities attached to agencies for
administrative purposes.
Economic Affairs Interim Committee:
= Department of Agriculture;
» Department of Commerce;
= Department of Labor and Industry;
= Department of Livestock;
= Office of the State Auditor and Insurance Commissioner; and
= Office of Economic Development.
Education and Local Government Interim Committee:
= State Board of Education;
= Board of Public Education;
» Board of Regents of Higher Education; and
= Office of Public Instruction.
Children, Families, Health, and Human Services Interim Committee:
= Department of Public Health and Human Services.
Law and Justice Interim Committee:
= Department of Corrections; and
» Department of Justice.
Energy and Telecommunications Interim Committee:

= Department of Public Service Regulation.
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Revenue and Transportation Interim Committee:
= Department of Revenue; and
= Department of Transportation.
State Administration and Veterans' Affairs Interim Committee:
» Department of Administration;
= Department of Military Affairs; and
= Office of the Secretary of State.
Environmental Quality Council:
» Department of Environmental Quality;
» Department of Fish, Wildlife, and Parks; and
= Department of Natural Resources and Conservation.

These interim committees and the EQC have the authority to make
recommendations to an agency regarding the adoption, amendment, or repeal of a
rule or to request that the agency prepare a statement of the estimated economic
impact of a proposal. They also may poll the members of the Legislature to
determine if a proposed rule is consistent with the intent of the Legislature or, during
a legislative session, introduce a bill repealing a rule, or directing an agency to adopt
or amend a rule, or a Joint Resolution recommending that an agency adopt, amend,
or repeal a rule.

The interim committees and the EQC welcome comments and invite
members of the public to appear before them or to send written statements in order
to bring to their attention any difficulties with the existing or proposed rules. The

mailing address is PO Box 201706, Helena, MT 59620-1706.
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HOW TO USE THE ADMINISTRATIVE RULES OF MONTANA

Definitions:

AND THE MONTANA ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER

Administrative Rules of Montana (ARM) is a looseleaf
compilation by department of all rules of state departments and
attached boards presently in effect, except rules adopted up to
three months previously.

Montana Administrative Register (MAR or Register) is a soft
back, bound publication, issued twice-monthly, containing
notices of rules proposed by agencies, notices of rules adopted
by agencies, and interpretations of statutes and rules by the
attorney general (Attorney General's Opinions) and agencies
(Declaratory Rulings) issued since publication of the preceding
register.

Use of the Administrative Rules of Montana (ARM):

Known
Subject

Statute

1. Consult ARM topical index.
Update the rule by checking the accumulative table and
the table of contents in the last Montana Administrative
Register issued.

2. Goto cross reference table at end of each Number and
title which lists MCA section numbers and Department
corresponding ARM rule numbers.
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ACCUMULATIVE TABLE

The Administrative Rules of Montana (ARM) is a compilation of existing permanent
rules of those executive agencies that have been designated by the Montana
Administrative Procedure Act for inclusion in the ARM. The ARM is updated through
December 31, 2005. This table includes those rules adopted during the period
January 1 through March 31, 2006 and any proposed rule action that was pending
during the past six-month period. (A notice of adoption must be published within six
months of the published notice of the proposed rule.) This table does not, however,
include the contents of this issue of the Montana Administrative Register (MAR or
Register).

To be current on proposed and adopted rulemaking, it is necessary to check the
ARM updated through December 31, 2005, this table, and the table of contents of
this issue of the MAR.

This table indicates the department name, title number, rule numbers in ascending
order, catchphrase or the subject matter of the rule, and the page number at which
the action is published in the 2005 and 2006 Montana Administrative Registers.

To aid the user, the Accumulative Table includes rulemaking actions of such entities
as boards and commissions listed separately under their appropriate title number.

GENERAL PROVISIONS, Title 1

1.2.102 and other rules - Administrative Rules of Montana - Montana
Administrative Register - Rule Formatting - Incorporation by Reference
- Fees, p. 2211, 2699

1.2.419 and other rule - Scheduled Dates for the 2006 Montana Administrative
Register - Submission Dates for Replacement Pages, p. 1903, 2334

ADMINISTRATION, Department of, Title 2

-V Montana Land Information Act, p. 950

[-X Definitions - Licensing and Application Requirements - Ownership
Change - Examination of Title Lenders - Duration of Loans -
Extensions - Reports - Schedule of Charges - Employees' Character
and Fitness - Procedural Rules for Hearing and Discovery Proposed
for Adoption under the Montana Title Loan Act, p. 1125, 1334, 1839,
883

2.5.201 and other rules - State Procurement of Supplies and Services -
Disposition and Disposal of Surplus Property, p. 1316, 1709, 1906,
2446, 79

2.59.307 Dollar Amounts to Which Consumer Loan Rates are to be Applied,
p. 373

2.59.801 and other rules - Foreign Capital Depositories, p. 2130, 205
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2.59.1501  and other rules - Definitions - Application Procedure Required to
Engage in Deposit Lending - Reports - Schedule of Charges -
Employees' Character and Fitness - Electronic Deductions - Income
Verification, p. 375, 614

(Public Employees' Retirement Board)

I-VII When Salary Deferrals under a Cafeteria Plan Should be Treated as
Compensation, p. 1626, 2241

2.43.1002 Investment Policy Statement for the Defined Contribution Retirement
Plan, p. 1461, 1907

2.43.1801  and other rule - Plan Document and Investment Policy Statement for
the 457 Deferred Compensation Plan, p. 1458, 1908

(State Compensation Insurance Fund)
2.55.320 Classifications of Employments, p. 1944, 2649

(State Lottery Commission)
2.63.201 and other rules - State Lottery's Procedures - Retailers, Licensing,
Scratch Tickets and Prizes, p. 1, 526, 1040

AGRICULTURE, Department of, Title 4

4.5.313 and other rule - Noxious Weed Seed Free Forage, p. 812

4.6.202 Potato Assessment Fees, p. 380, 889

(Montana Agriculture Development Council)

4.16.303 and other rules - Agricultural Marketing Development Program,
p. 1532, 1909

STATE AUDITOR, Title 6

6.6.504 and other rules - Medicare Supplements, p. 1131, 1537, 1672, 1910

6.6.3504 Contents of Annual Audited Financial Report, p. 273

6.6.6811 and other rules - Captive Insurance Companies, p. 861, 2448, 321

6.6.8301 Updating References to the NCCI Basic Manual for New
Classifications for Various Industries, p. 1947

6.6.8501 and other rules - Viatical Settlement Agreements, p. 1636, 2650

COMMERCE, Department of, Title 8

I Administration of the 2006-2007 Federal Community Development
Block Grant (CDBG) Program, p. 2133, 890

I Submission and Review of Applications to the Treasure State
Endowment Program (TSEP), p. 1539, 2052

[-XVI Award of Grants and Loans under the Big Sky Economic Development
Program, p. 1711, 2449
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8.94.3801  and other rule - Administration of Grants Awarded by the 2005
Legislature - Treasure State Endowment Program (TSEP), p. 1954,
2656

(Montana Coal Board)
8.101.101  and other rules - Community Development Division - Administration of
Coal Board Grants, p. 816

(Grant Review Committee)
14.4.101 and other rules - Award of Training Grants by the Grant Review
Committee, p. 1471, 1915

EDUCATION, Title 10

(Superintendent of Public Instruction)
10.6.101 and other rules - School Controversies, p. 2136, 2658
10.16.3010 Special Education, p. 1641, 2056

(Board of Public Education)
10.55.603  and other rule - Assessment, p. 113
10.55.701  and other rules - Accreditation Standards, p. 2488, 755

(Montana State Library)
10.102.1151 and other rules - Public Library Standards, p. 2491

FISH, WILDLIFE, AND PARKS, Department of, Title 12

(Fish, Wildlife, and Parks Commission)

I Annual Lottery of Hunting Licenses, p. 2503, 669

I No Wake Zone on Georgetown Lake, p. 1644, 2331

I Notice of Adoption of a Temporary Emergency Rule - Closing the
Clark Fork River from the Petty Creek Fishing Access Site to the
Tarkio Fishing Access Site, p. 1586, 1916

12.5.201 Removing the Peregrine Falcon from the State Endangered Species
List, p. 1841, 2329

12.9.211 Abandonment of Teton-Spring Creek Bird Preserve, p. 1646, 2330

12.11.501 List of Water Bodies (Index Rule), p. 2285, 675

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY, Department of, Title 17

[-XVIII Methamphetamine Cleanup Program - Decontamination of Inhabitable
Property Contaminated by Clandestine Manufacture of
Methamphetamine, p. 142, 1042

17.50.201 and other rule - Motor Vehicle Recycling and Disposal- Motor Vehicle
Wrecking Facility License, p. 2506, 758

17.56.101 and other rules - Underground Storage Tanks, p. 115, 913

17.74.343  and other rules - Asbestos Control - Asbestos Control Program, p. 125
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(Board of Environmental Review)

17.8.101

17.8.504

17.8.504
17.8.743
17.8.759

17.24.116
17.30.670

17.30.1303

Solid Waste - State Solid Waste Management and Resource
Recovery Plan, p. 2016, 909

and other rules - Incorporation by Reference of Current Federal
Regulations and Other Materials into Air Quality Rules, p. 823

and other rules - Air Quality - Establishing a Registration System for
Certain Facilities That Presently Require an Air Quality Permit,

p. 2513, 893

and other rules - Air Quality Permit Application, Operation and Open
Burning Fees, p. 997, 2058

Air Quality - Montana Air Quality Permits - When Required - Oil and
Gas Well Facilities, p. 1479, 2660

Air Quality - Review of Permit Applications, p. 1476, 2663
Application Requirements for Operating Permit, p. 1649, 2544, 154
and other rules - Water Quality - Nondegradation Requirements for
Electrical Conductivity (EC) and Sodium Adsorption Ratio (SAR) -
Definitions for Technology-based Effluent Limitations - Minimum
Technology-based Controls - Treatment Requirements for the Coal
Bed Methane Industry, p. 1844, 2288

and other rules - Water Quality - Concentrated Animal Feeding
Operations (CAFOs) - Adoption of Department Circular DEQ 9
(Montana Technical Standards for CAFOs), p. 2962, 864, 1995, 532

(Board of Environmental Review and the Department of Environmental Quality)

17.24.132

17.30.502

17.36.345

and other rules - Air Quality - Asbestos - Hazardous Waste - Junk
Vehicles - Major Facility Siting - Metal Mine Reclamation - Opencut
Mining - Public Water Supply - Septic Pumpers - Solid Waste - Strip
And Underground Mine Reclamation - Subdivisions - Underground
Storage Tanks - Water Quality - Revising Enforcement Procedures
Under the Montana Strip and Underground Mine Reclamation Act,
Metal Mine Reclamation Laws, and Opencut Mining Act - Providing
Uniform Factors for Determining Penalties, p. 2523

and other rules - Water Quality - Subdivisions - CECRA - Underground
Storage Tanks - Department Circular WQB-7 - Outstanding Resource
Waters, p. 1957, 528

and other rules - Public Water and Sewage System Requirements and
Subdivisions - Adoption by Reference, Plans for Public Water Supply
or Wastewater System - Fees - Treatment Requirements -
Disinfection, p. 2002, 540

TRANSPORTATION, Department of, Title 18

[- X111

18.6.202

9-5/4/06

Aeronautical Grant and Loan Program - Pavement Preservation Grant
Program, p. 2151, 81

and other rules - Transportation Commission - Outdoor Advertising,

p. 276
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18.8.101 and other rules - Motor Carrier Services Regulations for Over
Dimensional and Overweight Vehicles and Loads, p. 2142, 206

18.8.1501  and other rules - Incorporation of Amendments to Federal Regulations
Pertaining to Motor Vehicle Standards - General Revisions to Clarify
Scope of Rules, p. 617

18.9.704 Definitions for Motor Fuels, p. 14, 676

23.5.101 and other rules - Transfer from the Department of Justice - Motor
Carrier Safety Assistance Program, p. 2059

CORRECTIONS, Department of, Title 20

[-VII Establishment of a Residential Methamphetamine Treatment Center,
p. 1337, 1917, 2060
20.9.101 and other rules - Youth Placement Committees - Juvenile Detention

Intervention Program (JDIP), p. 831
20.9.601 and other rules - Licensure of Youth Detention Facilities, p. 1722,
2665, 677

JUSTICE, Department of, Title 23

-V Credit Counseling Services, p. 2373, 207

-V Administration of the Address Confidentiality Program, p. 1731, 2332,
2453

-V Credit Counseling Services, p. 1485, 2452

[-VI Operation of the Identity Theft Passport Program, p. 1541, 2061

[-VI Administration of the Forensic Rape Examination Payment Program,
p. 1545, 2063

2.61.101 and other rules - Consumer Protection Office - Transfer from the

Department of Administration, p. 322

23.16.102 and other rules - Effective Date for Forms Relating to Gambling
Operator Licenses, Sports Tab Game Seller Licenses, Distributor's
Licenses, Route Operator's Licenses, Manufacturer's Licenses, and
Manufacturer of lllegal Gambling Devices Licenses, p. 1860, 2333

23.16.103 and other rules - Effective Date for Forms Relating to Investigation of
Applicants, Disclosure from Noninstitutional Lender, Dealer Licenses,
and Gambling Operator Licenses, p. 2018, 2454

23.16.202  and other rules - Credit Play Prohibited - Video Gambling Machine
Permits - Requirements for Letters of Withdrawal - Video Gambling
Machine Testing Fees, p. 1735, 2248

LABOR AND INDUSTRY, Department of, Title 24

Boards under the Business Standards Division are listed in alphabetical order
following the department rules.

[-XVIII Elevator Services Occupational Licensing Program, p. 2293, 553
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I-XIV and other rules - Department and All Boards - Fees - Licensing -
Renewals, p. 383

24.11.101  and other rules - Unemployment Insurance Laws, p. 284, 916

24.17.127  Prevailing Wage Rates for Public Works Projects - Nonconstruction
Services - Heavy and Highway Construction Services, p. 2290, 679

24.17.127  Prevailing Wage Rates for Public Works Projects - Building
Construction Services - Heavy and Highway Construction Services,
p. 1347, 2064

24.26.508  and other rule - Board of Personnel Appeals - Consolidation of Wage
and Classification Appeals, p. 296, 918

24.29.1401 and other rules - Allowable Medical Service Billing Rates for Workers'
Compensation Claims, p. 1005

24.29.1409 Travel Expense Reimbursement for Workers' Compensation Medical
Services, p. 1350, 210

24.29.4301 and other rules - Workers' Compensation Reporting Database,
p. 1570, 546

24.122.401 and other rule - Boiler and Boiler Operator Program - Boiler Operating
Engineers Licenses, p. 300

24.144.411 and other rule - Renewal of License or Endorsement, p. 2312, 224

24.301.138 and other rules - Building Codes, p. 2021, 567

(Board of Alternative Health Care)
| &Il Fee Abatement - License Renewal for Activated Military Reservists,
p. 706

(Board of Architects)

24.114.301 and other rules - Definitions - General Provisions - Licensing -
Renewals - Unprofessional Conduct - Screening Panel - Complaint
Procedure, p. 620

24.114.403 and other rule - Business Entity Practice - Fee Abatement, p. 889, 2077

(Board of Athletics)

24.117.301 and other rules - Definitions - General Provisions - Contest
Regulations - Boxing Regulations - Ring Regulations - Boxing Officials
- Club Boxing - Promoter - Bout Approval - Referee - Fee Abatement -
Suspension and Revocation - Mixed Martial Arts, p. 157

(Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists)

24.121.301 and other rules - Definitions - Fees - Variances - Applications for
Licensure - Out-of-State Applicants - School Requirements - School
Operating Standards - Student Withdrawal, Transfer, or Graduating -
Teacher-Training Curriculum - Continuing Education-
Instructors/Inactive Instructors - Unprofessional Conduct - Fee
Abatement - Continuing Education-Licensees/Inactive Licensees -
Field Trips, p. 629
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(Board of Chiropractors)

24.126.301 and other rules - Definitions - Fee Schedule - Licensing and Scope of
Practice - Licensing and Board Specific Rules - Impairment Evaluators
- Renewals-Continuing Education Requirements - Unprofessional
Conduct - Fee Abatement - Participation in Disaster and Emergency
Care-Liability of Chiropractor, p. 845

(Crane and Hoisting Operating Engineers Program)

24.135.501 and other rules - Hoisting Operators License Requirements - Crane
Hoisting Operators License Requirements - Mine Hoisting Operators
License Requirements - Fee Schedule - Renewals - National
Commission Certification - Failed Examinations - Applications -
Citations and Fines, p. 1871, 219

(State Electrical Board)

24.141.401 and other rules - Board Meetings - Apprentice Registration - Fee
Schedule - Temporary Practice Permits - Examinations, p. 1219, 2458

24.141.405 and other rules - Fee Schedule - Continuing Education - Licensee
Responsibilities - Fee Abatement, p. 17

(Board of Funeral Service)

24.147.302 and other rules - Definitions - Substantive Rules - Licensing - Mortuary
Requirements - Crematory Rules - Cemetery Regulation Rules -
Branch Facilities - Prearranged Funeral Agreements - Continuing
Education - Complaint Filing - Fee Abatement - Renewal of Cemetery
Licenses - Cemetery Authority Rules, p. 642

(Board of Medical Examiners)

| &I Medical Assistants - Fee Abatement, p. 1882, 2676, 759
[-IX Professional Assistance Program, p. 1015

24.156.1601 and other rules - Physician Assistant Licensure, p. 483

(Board of Nursing)

8.32.301 and other rules - Nursing, p. 956

8.32.427 General Requirements for Medication Aide Training Programs and
Instructors, p. 1652, 2251

(Board of Nursing Home Administrators)
24.162.420 Fee Schedule, p. 1490, 2252

(Board of Occupational Therapy Practice)

24.165.401 and other rule - Fees - Fee Abatement, p. 495, 1049

24.165.404 and other rules - Application for Licensure - Examinations - Continuing
Education, p. 710
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(Board of Ouitfitters)
8.39.501 and other rules - Ouitfitter Licensing and Operations - Transfer from
the Department of Commerce, p. 1549, 324

(Board of Pharmacy)

24.174.301 and other rules - Definitions - General Provisions - Licensing -
Internship Regulations - Pharmacy Technicians - Certified Pharmacies
- Mail Service Pharmacies - Institutional Pharmacies - Wholesale Drug
Distributors Licensing - Dangerous Drugs - Renewals and Continuing
Education - Screening Panel - Inactive License - Telepharmacy
Operations - Remote Telepharmacy Dispensing Machine Sites -
Central Filling by Hub Pharmacies - Ambulatory Surgical Facilities -
Fee Abatement, p. 23

(Board of Physical Therapy Examiners)
24.177.401 Fees, p. 2376, 225

(Board of Plumbers)
24.180.607 and other rule - Temporary Practice Permits - Continuing Education
Requirements, p. 893, 2460, 764

(Board of Private Alternative Adolescent Residential or Outdoor Programs)

I-VI Private Alternative Adolescent Residential or Outdoor Programs,
p. 1886, 2677

(Board of Private Security Patrol Officers and Investigators)

8.50.423 and other rules - Private Security Patrol Officers and Investigators -
Fee Schedule - Firearms Training Course Curriculum and Standards,
p. 605, 1926

(Board of Professional Engineers and Professional Land Surveyors)

24.183.404 and other rules - Fee Schedule - License Seal - Classification of
Experience for Engineering Applicants - Continuing Education -
Safety, Health, and Welfare of the Public - Classification of Experience
- Branch Offices - Fee Abatement, p. 303

24.183.2101 and other rule - Expiration of License - Renewal - Expired Certificate -
Renewal Grace Period, p. 713

(Board of Psychologists)
24.189.2107 and other rule - Continuing Education Implementation - Fee
Abatement, p. 1739, 2464

(Board of Public Accountants)

8.54.101 and other rules - Transfer from the Department of Commerce, p. 2668

8.54.410 and other rules - Fees - Amount of Required Experience - Continuing
Education Matters - Special Practice Permits for Nonresident Certified
Public Accountants, p. 1864, 2671, 83
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(Board of Radiologic Technologists)

24.204.401 and other rules - Fee Schedule - Permit Fees - Abatement of Renewal
Fees - Radiologic Technologists Applications - Replacement Licenses
and Permits - Permits-Practice Limitations - Permit Examinations -
Radiologist Assistants - Scope of Practice - Supervision - Adoption of
a Code of Ethics, p. 1226, 2465, 84

(Board of Real Estate Appraisers)

24.207.401 and other rules - Fees - Licensing - Continuing Education - Renewals,
p. 52, 765, 919

24.207.505 and other rules - Qualifying Education Requirements for Licensed
Real Estate Appraisers - Qualifying Education Requirements for
Residential Certification - Qualifying Education Requirements for
General Certification - Trainee Requirements, p. 716

(Board of Realty Regulation)

8.58.101 and other rules - Transfer from the Department of Commerce, p. 2455

24.210.667 and other rule - Continuing Real Estate Education - New Licensee
Mandatory Continuing Education for Salespersons, p. 2546

(Board of Sanitarians)
24.216.402 Fee Schedule, p. 61, 1051

(Board of Veterinary Medicine)
24.225.301 and other rule - Definitions - Out-of-State Licensure Endorsement -
Occasional Case Exemption - Fee Abatement, p. 64, 766

LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR, Office of the, Title 30

30.2.201 and other rules - Centennial Grants - Centennial Sanctioning, p. 1358,
226

LIVESTOCK, Department of, Title 32

32.2.401 and other rules - License Fees - Permit Fees - Miscellaneous Fees,
p. 853

32.6.701 and other rules - Animal Feeding, Slaughter, and Disposal, p. 657,
1021

(Board of Milk Control)

32.23.301 Fees Charged by the Department on the Volume on All Classes of
Milk, p. 1743, 2254

32.24.501 and other rules - Quota, Utilization and Marketing of Montana Pooled
Raw Milk, p. 2161, 2680

32.24.513 Computation of Price for Quota Milk and Excess Milk, p. 2551, 330
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(Board of Horse Racing)

32.28.501
32.28.505

and other rule - Horse Racing, p. 194, 680
Purse Disbursement, p. 860

NATURAL RESOURCES AND CONSERVATION, Department of, Title 36

36.11.304

36.12.101
36.19.106
36.21.415

Specifying Deadline for Water Rights Adjudication Fee Appeals under
Adjudication Fee, p. 197, 767

and other rules - Equipment Operation in the SMZ - Retention of Trees
and Clearcutting in the SMZ - Site-specific Alternative Practices -
Definitions - Penalties for Violation of the Streamside Management
Zone Law, p. 499

Municipal Use of Water, p. 2316, 199

Reclamation and Development Grants Program, p. 1746, 2468

Fee Schedule for Water Well Contractors, p. 720

(State Board of Land Commissioners and the Department of Natural Resources and

Conservation)

36.25.210

Increase Royalty Rates for Oil and Gas Leases on State School Trust
Lands from Current Rates to 16.67%, p. 1654, 2255

PUBLIC HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES, Department of, Title 37

-V
-1V
[-XIV
I-XV

37.30.102
37.36.604

37.37.101

37.37.316

37.40.307

37.62.2101

37.70.305

37.75.101

37.85.212
37.85.406

37.86.1105
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Medicare Part D Low Income Subsidies, p. 2423, 575

Montana Clean Indoor Air Act, p. 1665, 2079

State Trauma Care System, p. 723

Pharmacy Access Prescription Drug Benefit Program (Big Sky Rx),
p. 2558, 336

and other rules - Vocational Rehabilitation Program, p. 1577, 2257
and other rule - Montana Telecommunications Access Program
(MTAP), p. 510, 1052

and other rules - Implementation of a Children's Mental Health Direct
Care Worker Wage Increase, p. 863

and other rules - Youth Foster Homes - Further Amendment of Rule V,
p. 2379, 524

and other rules - Medicaid Reimbursement of Nursing Facilities,

p. 1024

and other rules - Modification of Child Support Orders, p. 2414, 574
and other rules - Low Income Energy Assistance Program (LIEAP),
p. 1657, 2078

and other rules - Child and Adult Care Food Program (CACFP),

p. 2168, 331

Resource Based Relative Value Scale (RBRVS), p. 872

and other rules - Medicaid Hospital and Ambulatory Surgical Center
Reimbursement, p. 68, 768

Medicaid Outpatient Drugs - Pharmacy Reimbursement for Medicare
Part D Dual Eligibles, p. 2319, 227
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37.86.2207 and other rules - Comprehensive School and Community Treatment
Program (CSCT), p. 1374, 1787, 2260

37.86.2901 and other rules - Medicaid Reimbursement for Inpatient and
Outpatient Hospital Services, p. 1030

37.89.103  and other rules - Mental Health Access Plan Prescription Drug
Benefits for Persons Eligible for Medicare, p. 513, 1053

37.95.102  and other rules - Licensure of Day Care Facilities, p. 2572, 201

37.104.101 and other rules - Emergency Medical Services, p. 1238, 2681, 229

37.106.704 Minimum Standards for a Critical Access Hospital, p. 804, 1295, 2258

37.106.1946 and other rules - Outpatient Crisis Response Facilities, p. 2428, 1023

37.108.507 Components of Quality Assessment Activities, p. 520

37.111.825 School Health Supervision and Maintenance, p. 2555, 667

PUBLIC SERVICE REGULATION, Department of, Title 38

38.5.2001 and other rules - Energy Standards for Public Utilities, p. 878
38.5.2202  and other rule - Pipeline Safety, p. 2323, 231
38.5.4111 InterLATA and IntraLATA PIC Change Charges, p. 2440, 232

REVENUE, Department of, Title 42

I Manufactured Homes and Real Property Taxes, p. 2326, 88

| &Il Gains Calculations - Voluntary Disclosure, p. 314, 921

[-VI Issuance of Administrative Summons by the Department, p. 2635,
312, 681

42.2.304 Montana Source Income - Economic Impact Statement, p. 2443, 340

42.2.304 and other rules - General Department Rules - Penalty and Interest

Rules, p. 2198, 85
42.4.201 and other rules - Alternative and Wind Energy Credits, p. 2641, 357
42.18.109 and other rules - Montana Reappraisal Plans for 2003 and 2009,
p. 1891, 2469
42.21.113 and other rules - Personal, Industrial, and Centrally Assessed Property
Taxes, p. 1748, 2262
42.25.1801 and other rules - Oil, Gas, and Coal Natural Resources, p. 1896, 2470

SECRETARY OF STATE, Title 44

1.2.102 and other rules - Administrative Rules of Montana - Montana
Administrative Register - Rule Formatting - Incorporation by Reference
- Fees, p. 2211, 2699

1.2.419 and other rule - Scheduled Dates for the 2006 Montana Administrative
Register - Submission Dates for Replacement Pages, p. 1903, 2334

44.5.114 and other rule - Corporations - Profit and Nonprofit Fees - Limited
Liability Company Fees, p. 2238, 2705
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(Commissioner of Political Practices)
44.10.331 Limitations on Receipts from Political Committees to Legislative
Candidates, p. 1583, 2094
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