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 BEFORE THE COMMISSIONER OF SECURITIES AND INSURANCE 
 MONTANA STATE AUDITOR  
 
In the matter of the amendment of 
ARM 6.6.507B, 6.6.507C, 6.6.507E, 
6.6.511, and 6.6.511A pertaining to 
Medicare Supplements 

) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING ON 
PROPOSED AMENDMENT 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 

1.  On July 1, 2015, at 10:00 a.m., the Commissioner of Securities and 
Insurance, Montana State Auditor, will hold a public hearing in the 2nd floor 
conference room, at the Office of the Commissioner of Securities and Insurance, 
Montana State Auditor (CSI), 840 Helena Ave., Helena, Montana, to consider the 
proposed amendment of the above-stated rules. 

 
2.  The CSI will make reasonable accommodations for persons with 

disabilities who wish to participate in this public hearing, or need an alternative 
accessible format of this notice.  If you require an accommodation, contact the CSI 
no later than 5:00 p.m., June 24, 2015, to advise us of the nature of the 
accommodation that you need.  Please contact Darla Sautter, CSI, 840 Helena 
Avenue, Helena, Montana, 59601; telephone (406) 444-2726; TDD (406) 444-3246; 
fax (406) 444-3499; or e-mail dsautter@mt.gov. 

 
3.  The rules as proposed to be amended provide as follows, new matter 

underlined, deleted matter interlined: 
 

 6.6.507B  OPEN ENROLLMENT  (1) through (3) remain the same. 
 (4)  There shall be a one-time open enrollment from October 15, 2015, to 
December 7, 2015, for individuals who meet the following criteria: 
 (a)  the individual became eligible and the individual's enrollment became 
effective for Medicare Part A and Medicare Part B by reason of disability, prior to 
October 18, 2013; and 
 (b)  the individual did not apply for coverage from an issuer, or applied for 
coverage from an issuer and was denied. 
 
 AUTH:  33-1-313, 33-22-904, 33-22-905, MCA 
 IMP:  33-22-902, 33-22-904, MCA 
 
 6.6.507C  GUARANTEED ISSUE FOR ELIGIBLE PERSONS  (1) through 
(2)(g) remain the same. 
 (h)  the individual, upon first becoming eligible for benefits under Medicare 
Part A and B is enrolled in the Qualified Medicare Beneficiary Program as defined in 
section 6408(d)(2) of the Federal Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1989, Public 
Law 101-239, or full Medicaid (ARM 37.83.902), and no longer qualifies due to 
income or eligibility changes; or 
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 (i)  the individual, upon first becoming eligible for benefits under Medicare 
Part and B enrolls in the Montana Comprehensive Health Association and coverage 
under the Montana Comprehensive Health Association terminates; or 
 (j) remains the same, but is renumbered (i). 
 (3) and (3)(a) remain the same.  
 (i)  the date the individual receives a notice of termination or cessation of 
some or all supplemental health benefits provided under an employee welfare 
benefit plan (or, if a notice is not received, notice that a claim has been denied 
because of such a termination or cessation); or 
 (ii) remains the same. 
 (iii)  ends 63 days after either the applicable notice or the date that the 
applicable coverage terminates or ceases when notice is not sent; 
 (b)  an individual described in (2)(b), (c), (e), (f), or (h), (i), or (j), whose 
enrollment is terminated involuntarily, the guaranteed issue period begins on the 
date that the individual receives a notice of termination and ends 63 days after the 
date the applicable coverage is terminated; 
 (c) through (ii) remain the same. 
 (d)  an individual described in (2)(b), (d)(ii), (d)(iii), (e), or (f) who disenrolls 
voluntarily, the guaranteed issue period begins on the date that is 60 days before the 
effective date of the disenrollment and ends on the date that is 63 days after the 
effective date; 
 (e)  an individual described in (2)(g), the guaranteed issue period begins on 
the date the individual receives notice pursuant to section 1882(v)(2)(B) of the Social 
Security Act from the Medicare supplement issuer during the 60 day period 
immediately preceding the initial Part D enrollment period and ends on the date that 
is 63 days after the effective date of the individual's coverage under Medicare Part 
D; and 
 (f)  an individual described in (2) but not described in the preceding provisions 
of the rule, the guaranteed issue period begins on the effective dates of 
disenrollment and ends on the day that is 63 days after the effective date.; and 
 (g)  an individual described in (2)(i), the guaranteed issue period begins on 
the date the individual is informed of the individual's eligibility for Medicare by reason 
of disability and ends 63 days after that date. 
 (4) through (5)(c)(ii) remain the same. 
 (d)  an eligible person defined in (2)(f), (h), or (i), or (j) is entitled to the 
issuance of any Medicare supplement policy offered by any issuer;  
 (5)(e) through (6)(b) remain the same. 
  
 AUTH:  33-1-313, 33-22-904, 33-22-905, MCA 
 IMP:  33-22-902, 33-22-904, 33-22-905, MCA 
 
 6.6.507E  STANDARD MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT BENEFIT PLANS FOR 
2010 STANDARDIZED MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT BENEFIT PLAN POLICIES OR 
CERTIFICATES ISSUED WITH AN EFFECTIVE DATE FOR COVERAGE ON OR 
AFTER JUNE 1, 2010  (1) through (7)(e)(i) remain the same. 
 (ii)  100% of the Medicare Part A deductible, skilled nursing facility care, 
Medicare Part B deductible, 100% of the Medicare Part B excess charges, and 



 
 
 

 
MAR Notice No. 6-216 11-6/11/15 

-691- 

medically necessary emergency care in a foreign country, established in ARM 
6.6.507D(4)(b). 
 (f) through (11) remain the same. 
 
 AUTH:  33-1-313, 33-22-904, 33-22-905, MCA 
 IMP:  33-15-303, 33-22-901, 33-22-902, 33-22-903, 33-22-904, 33-22-905, 
33-22-909, 33-22-910, 33-22-911, 33-22-921, 33-22-922, 33-22-923, 33-22-924, 
MCA 
 
 6.6.511  SAMPLE FORMS OUTLINING COVERAGE  (1)  The following 
amounts, as published in the Federal Register, for services furnished in the current 
calendar year under Medicare's hospital insurance program (Medicare Part A), must 
apply to the charts for 1990 Plans A through L for policies issued prior to June 2010 
in (2)(b) through (m).  In each chart, the rule cited in brackets as ARM 
[6.6.511(1)(a)], [6.6.511(1)(b)], [6.6.511(1)(c)], [6.6.511(1)(d)], [6.6.511(1)(e)], 
[6.6.511(1)(f)], [6.6.511(1)(g)], [6.6.511(1)(h)], [6.6.511(1)(i)], or [6.6.511(1)(j)], 
represents the dollar amount specified in the cited rule subsection.  The issuer must 
replace each bracket and rule cite with the correct dollar amount contained in the 
cited rule subsection when the issuer prints the charts: 
 (a)  inpatient hospital deductible = $1068.00; 
 (b)  benefit period = $267.00; 
 (c)  daily coinsurance amount for the 61st through 90th days of hospitalization 
in a coinsurance amount for lifetime reserve days = $534.00; 
 (d)  daily coinsurance amount for the 21st through 100th days of extended 
care services in a skilled nursing facility in a benefit period = $133.50; 
 (e)  50% of inpatient hospital deductible = $534.00; 
 (f)  75% of inpatient hospital deductible = $801.00; 
 (g)  25% of inpatient hospital deductible = $267.00; 
 (h)  50% of daily coinsurance amount for the 21st through 100th days of 
extended care services in a skilled nursing facility in a benefit period = $66.75; 
 (i)  75% of daily coinsurance amount for the 21st through 100th days of 
extended care services in a skilled nursing facility in a benefit period = $100.13; and 
 (j)  25% of daily coinsurance amount for the 21st through 100th days of 
extended care services in a skilled nursing facility in a benefit period = $33.38. 
 (2)  The following are sample forms of the outline of coverage for Medicare 
supplement policies. 
 (3) remains the same, but is renumbered (1). 
 
 AUTH:  33-1-313, 33-22-904, MCA 
 IMP:  33-15-303, 33-22-901, 33-22-902, 33-22-903, 33-22-904, 33-22-905, 
33-22-906, 33-22-907, 33-22-908, 33-22-909, 33-22-910, 33-22-911, 33-22-921, 33-
22-922, 33-22-923, 33-22-924, MCA 
 
 6.6.511A  SAMPLE FORMS OUTLINING COVERAGE  (1)  The following 
amounts, as published in the Federal Register, for services furnished in the current 
calendar year under Medicare's hospital insurance program (Medicare Part A), must 
apply to the charts for Plans A, B, C, D, F, and High Deductible Plan F, G, K, L, M, 
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and N, issued on or after June 1, 2010, in (2)(b) through (m).  In each chart, the rule 
cited in brackets as ARM [6.6.511A(1)(a)], [6.6.511A(1)(b)], [6.6.511A(1)(c)], 
[6.6.511A(1)(d)], [6.6.511A(1)(e)], [6.6.511A(1)(f)], [6.6.511A(1)(g)], [6.6.511A(1)(h)], 
[6.6.511A(1)(i)], or [6.6.511A(1)(j)], represents the dollar amount specified in the 
cited rule subsection.  The issuer must replace each bracket and rule cite with the 
correct dollar amount contained in the cited rule subsection when the issuer prints 
the charts: 

(a)  inpatient hospital deductible = $1068.00; 
(b)  daily coinsurance amount for the 61st through 90th days of hospitalization 

in a benefit period = $267.00; 
(c)  daily coinsurance amount for lifetime reserve days = $534.00; 
(d)  daily coinsurance amount for the 21st through 100th days of extended 

care services in a skilled nursing facility in a benefit period = $133.50; 
(e)  50% of inpatient hospital deductible = $534.00; 
(f)  75% of inpatient hospital deductible = $801.00; 
(g)  25% of inpatient hospital deductible = $267.00; 
(h)  50% of daily coinsurance amount for the 21st through 100th days of 

extended care services in a skilled nursing facility in a benefit period = $66.75; 
(i)  75% of daily coinsurance amount for the 21st through 100th days of 

extended care services in a skilled nursing facility in a benefit period = $100.13; and 
(j)  25% of daily coinsurance amount for the 21st through 100th days of 

extended care services in a skilled nursing facility in a benefit period = $33.38. 
 (2)  The following are sample forms of the outline of coverage for Medicare 
supplement policies: 
 (3) remains the same but is renumbered (1). 
 
 AUTH:  33-1-313, 33-22-904, MCA 
 IMP:  33-15-303, 33-22-901, 33-22-902, 33-22-903, 33-22-904, 33-22-905, 
33-22-906, 33-22-907, 33-22-908, 33-22-909, 33-22-910, 33-22-911, 33-22-921, 33-
22-922, 33-22-924, MCA 

 
 4.  STATEMENT OF REASONABLE NECESSITY:  The Commissioner of 
Securities and Insurance, Montana State Auditor, Monica J. Lindeen, 
(commissioner) is the statewide elected official responsible for administering the 
Montana Insurance Code and regulating the business of insurance. 
 
The Commissioner is a member, and President of the National Association of 
Insurance Commissioners (NAIC).  The NAIC is an organization of insurance 
regulators from the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and the U.S. Territories.  
The NAIC provides a forum for the development of uniform policy and regulation 
when uniformity is appropriate. 
 
The additional subsection to ARM 6.6.507B is reasonably necessary because the 
2013 amendments to the Open Enrollment period created a donut hole wherein 
persons of the same class (on Medicare because of disability) were treated 
disparately depending on when Medicare recognized their disability.  This gives all 
persons who did not, or could not, obtain coverage previously a one-time opportunity 
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to receive benefits that those who became eligible for Medicare after the rule update 
would receive.  The rule intentionally excludes persons who obtained coverage but 
then dropped it.  The date period is set to coincide with the open enrollment period 
for Medicare set by CMS. 
 
Changes to ARM 6.6.508(2), (3)(b), and (4)(d) are reasonably necessary because 
(2)(i) applies to individuals formerly covered under the Montana Comprehensive 
Health Association, which no longer exists.  These subsections were modified to 
eliminate obsolete references to this program. 
 
The change to ARM 6.6.507C(3)(a)(i) is reasonably necessary because (2)(a) and 
(3)(a) allow for guaranteed issue where existing group coverage ceases, whether or 
not the coverage is supplemental or primary to the group coverage.  The rule 
amendment makes (3)(a)(i) consistent with those subsections.  Similarly, adding the 
term "employee welfare benefit plan" is reasonably necessary to clarify what type of 
coverage is being addressed. 
 
The change to ARM 6.6.507C(3)(a)(iii) is reasonably necessary to provide a time 
period for ending guaranteed issue periods when notice has not been sent out by 
the carrier. 
 
A second change to ARM 6.6.507C(3)(b) is reasonably necessary because the 
reference to the former (2)(j) is inaccurate.  Subsection (3)(b) refers to involuntary 
termination of coverage, whereas (2)(j) contemplates eligibility by reason of disability 
- not involuntary termination.  Therefore, this errant reference to (2)(j) was eliminated 
and (3)(g) was also created to address eligibility by reason of disability under the 
former (2)(j) now (2)(i).   
 
The change to ARM 6.6.507C(3)(d) is reasonably necessary because the 
reference to (2)(d)(ii) is inaccurate.  That section refers to an involuntary 
termination of coverage, whereas (3)(d) discusses what happens when there is a 
voluntary cessation of coverage. 
 
The change to ARM 6.6.507E(7)(e)(ii) is reasonably necessary so that the High 
Deductible Plan F and Regular Plan F charges are identical for Medicare Part A and 
Medicare Part B.  The language is already present in the High Deductible Plan F, so 
that subsection does not need to be changed.  This is also consistent with the NAIC 
model rules. 
 
The changes to ARM 6.6.511 and 6.6.511A striking the language of the sample 
forms are reasonably necessary because the adoption of the NAIC model act 
regarding payment tables obviates the need for the sample forms addressing those 
same tables.  Persons needing payment tables can obtain the information from the 
NAIC's model rules. 
 
 5.  Concerned persons may submit their data, views, or arguments 
concerning the proposed actions either orally or in writing at the hearing.  Written 
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data, views, or arguments may also be submitted to Brett O'Neil, Attorney, Office of 
the Commissioner of Securities and Insurance, Montana State Auditor, 840 Helena 
Ave., Helena, Montana, 59601; telephone (406) 444-2040; fax (406) 444-3499; or e-
mail bo'neil@mt.gov, and must be received no later than 5:00 p.m., July 9, 2015. 
 
 6.  Brett O'Neil, Attorney, has been designated to preside over and conduct 
this hearing. 
 
 7.  The CSI maintains a list of interested persons who wish to receive notices 
of rulemaking actions proposed by this agency.  Persons who wish to have their 
name added to the list shall make a written request that includes the name and 
mailing address of the person to receive notices and specifies for which program the 
person wishes to receive notices.  Such written request may be mailed or delivered 
to Darla Sautter, Office of the Commissioner of Securities and Insurance, Montana 
State Auditor, 840 Helena Ave., Helena, Montana, 59601; telephone (406) 444-
2726; fax (406) 444-3499; or e-mail dsautter@mt.gov, or may be made by 
completing a request form at any rules hearing held by the CSI. 
 
 8.  An electronic copy of this proposal notice is available through the 
Secretary of State's web site at http://sos.mt.gov/ARM/Register.  The Secretary of 
State strives to make the electronic copy of the notice conform to the official version 
of the notice, as printed in the Montana Administrative Register, but advises all 
concerned persons that in the event of a discrepancy between the official printed 
text of the notice and the electronic version of the notice, only the official printed text 
will be considered.  In addition, although the Secretary of State works to keep its 
web site accessible at all times, concerned persons should be aware that the web 
site may be unavailable during some periods due to system maintenance or 
technical problems. 
 
 9.  Pursuant to 2-4-302, MCA, the bill sponsor contact requirements do not 
apply.  
 
 10.  The proposed rule amendments do not significantly and directly impact 
small businesses; therefore, the requirements of 2-4-111, MCA, do not apply.  
 
 /s/ Nick Mazanec   /s/ Jesse Laslovich   
 Nick Mazanec   Jesse Laslovich 
 Rule Reviewer   Chief Legal Counsel 

   
Certified to the Secretary of State June 1, 2015. 
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 BEFORE THE OFFICE OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION 
 OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of soliciting applications 
for membership on a negotiated 
rulemaking committee to develop K-
12 arts content standards and 
performance indicators  

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF NEGOTIATED 
RULEMAKING 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 

 
1.  The Office of Public Instruction intends to establish the negotiated 

rulemaking committee to develop and amend Board of Public Education rules 
relating to K-12 content standards and performance indicators for Arts and to consult 
on the preparation of an economic impact statement. This negotiated rulemaking 
process is required by 20-7-101, MCA, for any rules relating to standards of 
accreditation. 

  
2.  The proposed rules will establish K-12 grade level content and 

performance standards for the arts. 
  
3.  Interests that are likely to be significantly affected by the proposed rules 

are those related to Montana K-12 public schools of all sizes. 
  
4.  The individuals proposed to represent state agencies on the negotiated 

rulemaking committee are:  Jael Prezeau, Office of Public Instruction, Content 
Standards and Instruction Division Administrator; Ann Gilkey, Office of Public 
Instruction, Legal Counsel; Peter Donovan, Board of Public Education, Executive 
Director; and Emily Kohring, Montana Arts Council, Director of Arts Education.  
 

5.  The agency is seeking applications from interested parties to serve on the 
committee. The agency will seek individuals likely to be significantly affected by the 
proposed rules, including individuals from the following groups:  school district 
trustees, K-12 school administrators, K-12 teachers, higher education faculty, school 
business officials, parents, and taxpayers. Members of the committee will be 
selected based on the following criteria: 

 
• cultural diversity 
• geography 
• arts content experience  
• district and school size 
• grade levels served 

 
6.  The proposed working schedule for the negotiated rulemaking committee 

is as follows: 
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(a)  On June 11, 2015, this notice will be published in the Montana 
Administrative Register (MAR). The notice will also be mailed to persons known to 
the agency to have an interest in this matter. 

(b)  Applications for membership on the negotiated rulemaking committee 
must be received no later than July 11, 2015. After receipt and consideration of the 
comments and applications, the agency will establish a negotiated rulemaking 
committee no later than July 24, 2015. The members selected to serve on the 
committee must be able to adequately represent the interests of the persons that will 
be significantly affected by the proposed rules. The committee members will be 
notified in writing of their selection and receive an information packet. 

(c)  The negotiated rulemaking committee will convene its first meeting on 
August 26, 2015. Teleconferencing and e-mail correspondence will be utilized as 
much as possible. The initial meeting will convene at 10:00 a.m., in the conference 
room, at the Holiday Inn Express, Helena, Montana. The committee will begin with 
an initial draft of amendments to current Board of Public Education content 
standards and performance indicators for Arts at this meeting. 

(d)  If the negotiated rulemaking committee is successful in achieving a 
consensus on the proposed rules, the committee will transmit a report to the agency 
specifying the areas in which the committee has reached a consensus and the 
issues that remain unresolved. 

(e)  Thereafter the superintendent will develop recommendations and present 
them to the Board of Public Education for formal rulemaking. 

 
7.  Any individual or entity interested in applying for or nominating another 

person for membership on the committee must submit the following information in 
writing to Jael Prezeau, jprezeau@mt.gov, Office of Public Instruction, P.O. Box 
202501, Helena, Montana 59620, no later than July 11, 2015: 

(a)  the person's name or the nominee's name, address, and contact 
information including telephone or e-mail address; 

(b)  evidence that the person or nominee represents any of the specific 
criteria of interest groups listed above; 

(c)  the name of the school district in which the nominee lives or works, and 
the relationship of the person or nominee to it; 

(d)  a commitment that the person or nominee will be able to participate in the 
negotiated rulemaking process as contemplated in paragraph 6 and will actively 
participate in good faith in the development of the rules under consideration; and 

(e)  the ability of the person or nominee to cover committee participation costs 
(such as telephone calls, travel, and per diem expenses). 

 
8.  Interested parties may submit their views and comments concerning the 

proposed negotiated rulemaking process to Beverly Marlow, Office of Public 
Instruction, P.O. Box 202501, Helena, Montana 59620, faxed to (406) 444-2893, or 
electronic mail to bemarlow@mt.gov no later than July 11, 2015. 

 
9.  Initially, the agency proposes to limit the size of the negotiated rulemaking 

committee to no more than fifteen persons. However, after receipt of comments and 
applications, the agency may determine that a smaller or larger number is necessary 
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to adequately represent the interests of the persons significantly affected by the 
proposed rules. The selected committee members may represent other parties or 
agencies that have a significant relationship with Montana schools. 

 
 10.  The agency will make reasonable accommodations for persons with 

disabilities who wish to participate on the committee. If you require an 
accommodation, please advise the agency of the nature of the accommodation you 
need when applying for membership on the committee. 

  
11.  Please note the following concerning the process of negotiated 

rulemaking: 
(a)  "Interest" for the purpose of this process means multiple parties that have 

similar points of view or that are likely to be affected in a similar manner in 
relationship to matters affected by the rule(s) (2-5-103(5), MCA). 

(b)  Negotiated rulemaking is not a substitute for the public notification and 
participation requirements of the Montana Administrative Procedure Act, and a 
consensus agreement by a negotiated rulemaking committee may be modified by an 
agency as a result of the subsequent rulemaking process (2-5-102, MCA). 

 
12. The specific grant of rulemaking authority authorizing the Board of Public 

Education to adopt the proposed rules is found in 20-7-101, MCA. The proposed 
rules will implement Title 20, chapter 7, part 1, MCA. 
  
 
/s/ Ann Gilkey    /s/ Denise Juneau 
Ann Gilkey               Denise Juneau, Superintendent 
Rule Reviewer    Office of Public Instruction 
         

Certified to the Secretary of State June 1, 2015. 
 

http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/2/5/2-5-103.htm
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/2/5/2-5-102.htm
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 BEFORE THE BOARD OF PUBLIC EDUCATION 
 OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of 
ARM 10.57.102, 10.57.216, 
10.57.410 through 10.57.417, 
10.57.424, 10.57.428 through 
10.57.430, 10.57.433, and 10.57.437   
pertaining to educator licensure 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING ON 
PROPOSED AMENDMENT 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 

 
 1.  On July 8, 2015, at 10:30 a.m., the Board of Public Education will hold a 
public hearing in the Superintendent's conference room at the Office of Public 
Instruction, 1227 11th Avenue, Helena, Montana, to consider the proposed 
amendment of the above-stated rules. 

 
2.  The Board of Public Education will make reasonable accommodations for 

persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this rulemaking process or need 
an alternative accessible format of this notice.  If you require an accommodation, 
contact the Board of Public Education no later than 5:00 p.m. on July 6, 2015, to 
advise us of the nature of the accommodation that you need.  Please contact Peter 
Donovan, Executive Secretary, 46 North Last Chance Gulch, P.O. Box 200601, 
Helena, Montana, 59620-0601; telephone (406) 444-0302; fax (406) 444-0847; or e-
mail pdonovan@mt.gov. 

 
3.  The rules as proposed to be amended provide as follows, new matter 

underlined, deleted matter interlined: 
 

10.57.102  DEFINITIONS  The following definitions apply to this chapter. 
 (1) through (8)(d) remain the same. 
 (e)  K-12 (content-specific as delineated in ARM 10.57.412); and 
 (f) through (12) remain the same.  
 (13)  "Year of administrative experience" means employment at any level 
within a state accredited K P-12 school system, or in an educational institution 
specified in 20-9-707, MCA, as a licensed administrator of at least .5 full-time 
employee (FTE) for at least 1080 hours or 180 school days or a 1.0 FTE for at least 
540 hours or 90 school days.  Experience gained prior to eligibility for initial licensure 
is not considered.  Experience as a County Superintendent may be considered as 
"administrative" experience with evidence of the following: 
 (a) and (b) remain the same. 
 (14)  "Year of teaching experience" means employment at any level within a 
state accredited K P-12 school system, or in an educational institution specified in 
20-9-707, MCA, as licensed instructional staff of at least .5 FTE during a school 
fiscal year for at least 1080 hours or 180 school days or a 1.0 FTE for at least 540 
hours or 90 school days.  Experience gained prior to eligibility for initial licensure is 
not considered.   
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AUTH:  20-4-102, MCA 
IMP:   20-4-106, MCA 
 

10.57.216  APPROVED RENEWAL ACTIVITY  (1)  Organizations wishing to 
offer professional development activities for the award of renewal units must receive 
approval from the Superintendent of Public Instruction prior to offering activities.  
Status as a an approved provider will be renewed July 1 of each year continue as 
long as the provider is in compliance with (2).   
  (2) through (2)(b) remain the same. 
 (c)  annually report the activities offered to the Superintendent of Public 
Instruction; 
 (d)  be prepared to submit to an audit of records conducted by the 
Superintendent of Public Instruction, including: 
 (i) and (ii) remain the same. 
 (iii)  program schedule, name, and number of participants; and 
 (e) (d)  maintain records of all professional development activities for which 
renewal unit awards are made for one five years following the date of completion of 
the annual reporting requirement. 
 (3) remains the same. 
 
AUTH:  20-4-102, MCA 
IMP:   20-4-108, MCA 
 

10.57.410  CLASS 2 STANDARD TEACHER'S LICENSE  (1) through (2)(a) 
remain the same. 
 (b)  completion of an accredited professional educator preparation program 
which included including appropriate supervised teaching experience as the terms 
are defined in ARM 10.57.102; and 
 (c) remains the same. 

(3)  If the educator preparation program completed by the applicant is not in 
Montana, upon initial application of a Class 1, Class 2, or Class 3, the applicant must 
provide proof of a passing score on the PRAXIS II applicable to the requested 
endorsement as required by the Montana educator preparation programs.  
 (3) remains the same but is renumbered (4). 
 (4) (5)  A lapsed Class 2 standard teacher's license may be reinstated by 
earning 60 renewal units during the five-year period preceding the validation date of 
application for the new license.   
 
AUTH:  20-2-121, 20-4-102, MCA 
IMP:   20-4-102, 20-4-103, 20-4-106, 20-4-108, MCA 
 

10.57.411  CLASS 1 PROFESSIONAL TEACHER'S LICENSE  (1) through 
(3) remain the same. 
 (4)  A lapsed Class 1 professional teacher's license may be reinstated by 
earning 60 renewal units during the five-year period preceding the validation date of 
application for the new license.   
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AUTH:  20-4-102, MCA 
IMP:   20-4-106, 20-4-108, MCA 
 

10.57.412  CLASS 1 AND 2 ENDORSEMENTS  (1) remains the same. 
 (2)  Areas approved for endorsement on Class 1 and 2 licenses include the 
following:  agriculture, art K-12, biology, business and information technology 
education, chemistry, communication, computer science K-12, early childhood (age 
3 to grade 3), earth science, economics, elementary education (K-8), English, 
English as a second language K-12, family and consumer sciences, geography, 
health, health enhancement K-12, history, industrial trades and technology 
education, journalism, library K-12, marketing, mathematics, middle grades (4-8), 
music K-12, physical education K-12, physics, political science, psychology, reading 
K-12, school counseling K-12, science (broadfield), social studies (broadfield), 
sociology, special education P-12, theater, trades and industry, traffic education K-
12, and world languages K-12. 
 (3) through (5) remain the same. 
 (a)  completion of an NCATE or CAEP accredited professional educator 
preparation program at the grade level(s) identified by the program, including 
supervised teaching experience; and or 
 (b) and (i) remain the same. 
 (ii)  40 semester credits in an extended major; and 

(iii)  supervised teaching experience. 
 (6) through (9) remain the same. 
 
AUTH:  20-4-102, MCA 
IMP:   20-4-106, 20-4-108, MCA 
 

10.57.413  CLASS 3 ADMINISTRATIVE LICENSE  (1) through (4) remain the 
same. 
 (5)  A lapsed Class 3 administrative license may be reinstated by showing 
verification of 60 renewal units earned during the five-year period preceding the 
validation date of application for the new license.   
 
AUTH:  20-4-102, MCA 
IMP:   20-4-106, 20-4-108, MCA 
 

10.57.414  CLASS 3 ADMINISTRATIVE LICENSE – SUPERINTENDENT 
ENDORSEMENT  (1) through (1)(d) remain the same. 
 (e)  licensure and endorsement as a P 12 principal (P-12); and 
 (f) and (2) remain the same. 
 
AUTH:  20-4-102, MCA 
IMP:   20-4-106, 20-4-108, MCA 
 

10.57.415  CLASS 3 ADMINISTRATIVE LICENSE – ELEMENTARY 
PRINCIPAL ENDORSEMENT  (1) through (1)(c) remain the same. 
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 (d)  completion of three semester credits of college coursework courses in 
both Montana school law and special education law; and 
 (e) remains the same. 
 
AUTH:  20-4-102, MCA 
IMP:   20-4-106, 20-4-108, MCA 
 

10.57.416  CLASS 3 ADMINISTRATIVE LICENSE – SECONDARY 
PRINCIPAL ENDORSEMENT  (1) through (1)(c) remain the same. 

(d)  completion of three semester credits of college coursework in courses in 
both Montana school law and special education law; and 

(e) remains the same. 
 

AUTH:  20-4-102, MCA 
IMP:   20-4-106, 20-4-108, MCA 
 

10.57.417  CLASS 3 ADMINISTRATIVE LICENSE – K-12 PRINCIPAL 
ENDORSEMENT  (1) through (1)(c) remain the same. 
 (d)  completion of three semester credits of college coursework in college 
courses in both Montana school law and special education law; and 
 (e) remains the same. 
 
AUTH:  20-4-102, MCA 
IMP:   20-4-106, 20-4-108, MCA 
 

10.57.424  CLASS 5 PROVISIONAL LICENSE  (1) and (2) remain the same. 
 (3)  An applicant for a Class 5 provisional license who has graduated from an 
educator preparation program outside of Montana and does not meet the testing 
requirements of ARM 10.57.410(3), must provide a current Montana address or job 
offer from an accredited or state-funded P-12 school in Montana.  
 (3) and (4) remain the same but are renumbered (4) and (5). 
  
AUTH:  20-4-102, MCA 
IMP:   20-4-106, 20-4-108, MCA 
 

10.57.428  CLASS 5 PROVISIONAL LICENSE – ELEMENTARY PRINCIPAL 
ENDORSEMENT  (1) remains the same. 
 (2)  Applicants required to complete coursework other than Montana school 
law and special education law must also submit written evidence of enrollment in an 
accredited professional educator preparation program leading to the elementary 
principal endorsement and enrollment in the Board of Public Education approved 
internship program as outlined in ARM 10.55.607.   
 
AUTH:  20-4-102, MCA 
IMP:   20-4-106, 20-4-108, MCA 
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10.57.429  CLASS 5 PROVISIONAL LICENSE – SECONDARY PRINCIPAL 
ENDORSEMENT  (1) remains the same. 
  (2)  Applicants required to complete coursework other than Montana school 
law and special education law must also submit written evidence of enrollment in an 
accredited professional educator preparation program leading to the secondary 
principal endorsement and enrollment in the Board of Public Education approved 
internship program as outlined in ARM 10.55.607.   
 
AUTH:  20-4-102, MCA 
IMP:   20-4-106, 20-4-108, MCA 
 

10.57.430  CLASS 5 PROVISIONAL LICENSE – K-12 PRINCIPAL 
ENDORSEMENT  (1) remains the same. 
 (2)  Applicants required to complete coursework other than Montana school 
law and special education law must also submit written evidence of enrollment in an 
accredited professional educator preparation program leading to the K-12 principal 
endorsement and enrollment in the Board of Public Education approved internship 
program as outlined in ARM 10.55.607.   
 
AUTH:  20-4-102, MCA 
IMP:   20-4-106, 20-4-108, MCA 
 

10.57.433  CLASS 6 SPECIALIST LICENSE  (1) through (4) remain the 
same. 
 (5)  A lapsed Class 6 specialist license may be reinstated by showing 
verification of 60 renewal units earned during the five-year period preceding the 
validation date of application for the new license.   
 
AUTH:  20-4-102, MCA 
IMP:   20-4-106, 20-4-108, MCA 
 

10.57.437  CLASS 8 DUAL CREDIT POSTSECONDARY FACULTY 
LICENSE  (1)  A faculty member of a college or university is required to hold a Class 
8 dual credit license, unless already licensed or eligible for licensure as a Class 1, 2, 
or 4 and properly endorsed, whenever a faculty member is teaching a dual credit 
course at the college or university for which one or more students will earn both high 
school and college credit. 
 (2) through (4) remain the same.  
 (5)  A Class 8 dual credit postsecondary faculty license shall be renewed 
pursuant to the requirements of ARM 10.57.215. may be consecutively reissued 
upon submission and approval of an application for renewal.  An educator with a 
lapsed Class 8 license must submit a new application. 
 (6) remains the same. 
 
AUTH:  20-4-102, MCA 
IMP:   20-4-106, 20-4-108, MCA 
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 4.  Statement of Reasonable Necessity: ARM Title 10, chapter 57 rules were 
comprehensively amended in December 2014.  There were errors and omissions in 
those amendments discovered during initial implementation of the amended rules 
which are addressed in these amendments.  

Clarifications are necessary in the definitions in ARM 10.57.102 of 
"Endorsement," "Year of administrative experience," and "Year of teaching 
experience."   

In ARM 10.57.216, the requirements for renewal activity providers is 
corrected for consistency with current practice, and to assist with documentation of 
renewal activity attendance.   

The Class 2 license requirements of ARM 10.57.410 and ARM 10.57.424 are 
amended to reflect the persistent problem of out-of-state applicants having no 
requirement to pass any content knowledge tests prior to obtaining a 
recommendation for licensure from the applicant's educator preparation program.  

Several rules (ARM 10.57.410, 10.57.411, 10.57.413, and 10.57.433) are 
amended to clarify the relevant date for renewing lapsed licenses so as to not 
unnecessarily hinder the appropriate licensure of educators.   

Several inadvertently omitted endorsement areas are included in ARM 
10.57.412.    

The student teaching requirement in ARM 10.57.412 was mistakenly deleted 
in the prior amendments.  

ARM 10.57.415, 10.57.416, 10.57.417, 10.57.428, 10.57.429, and 10.57.430 
are amended to make the requirement for principals to have a course in special 
education law consistent with the requirement in ARM Title 10, chapter 58 that 
educator preparation programs include this course in principal preparation programs. 

The rule on Class 8 dual credit licenses is amended to clarify that those 
teachers must teach at the postsecondary school, and provides for the correct 
renewal process for Class 8 licenses. 
 
 5.  Concerned persons may submit their data, views, or arguments either 
orally or in writing at the hearing.  Written data, views, or arguments may also be 
submitted to: Peter Donovan, Executive Secretary, 46 North Last Chance Gulch, 
P.O. Box 200601, Helena, Montana, 59620-0601; telephone (406) 444-0302; fax 
(406) 444-0847; or e-mail pdonovan@mt.gov and must be received no later than 
5:00 p.m., July 9, 2015. 
 

6.  Peter Donovan has been designated to preside over and conduct this 
hearing. 

 
7.  The board maintains a list of interested persons who wish to receive 

notices of rulemaking actions proposed by the board.  Persons who wish to have 
their name added to the list shall make a written request that includes the name, e-
mail, and mailing address of the person to receive notices and specifies for which 
program the person wishes to receive notices.  Notices will be sent by e-mail unless 
a mailing preference is noted in the request.  Such written request may be mailed or 
delivered to the contact person in 5 above or may be made by completing a request 
form at any rules hearing held by the board. 
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8.  An electronic copy of this proposal notice is available through the 

Secretary of State's web site at http://sos.mt.gov/ARM/Register.  The Secretary of 
State strives to make the electronic copy of the notice conform to the official version 
of the notice, as printed in the Montana Administrative Register, but advises all 
concerned persons that in the event of a discrepancy between the official printed 
text of the notice and the electronic version of the notice, only the official printed text 
will be considered.  In addition, although the Secretary of State works to keep its 
web site accessible at all times, concerned persons should be aware that the web 
site may be unavailable during some periods, due to system maintenance or 
technical problems. 

 
9.  The bill sponsor contact requirements of 2-4-302, MCA, do not apply. 

 
10.  With regard to the requirements of 2-4-111, MCA, the board has 

determined that the amendment of the above-referenced rules will not significantly 
and directly impact small businesses. 

 
 

 
/s/ Peter Donovan    /s/ Sharon Carroll 
Peter Donovan    Sharon Carroll 
Rule Reviewer    Board Chair 
      Board of Public Education 
 

Certified to the Secretary of State June 1, 2015. 
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BEFORE THE BOARD OF BARBERS AND COSMETOLOGISTS 
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

 STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of 
ARM 24.121.301 definitions, 
24.121.403 general requirements, 
24.121.601 licensure by examination, 
24.121.603 out-of-state applicants, 
24.121.605 postsecondary school 
licensure, 24.121.611 examination 
requirements and process, 
24.121.803 school requirements, 
24.121.805 school operating 
standards, 24.121.807 school 
curricula, 24.121.809 student 
withdrawal, transfer, or graduating, 
24.121.1103 instructor requirements, 
24.121.1105 teacher-training 
curriculum, 24.121.1301 salons/booth 
rental, 24.121.1509 implements, 
instruments, supplies, and 
equipment, 24.121.1517 salon 
preparation storage and handling, 
24.121.2101 continuing education, 
24.121.2301 unprofessional conduct, 
and the adoption of NEW RULES I 
nonroutine application, II granting 
exception, III licensure equivalency, 
IV credited hours for Montana-
licensed individuals, V inactive 
instructor license, and VI licensee 
and applicant contact information 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING ON 
PROPOSED AMENDMENT AND 
ADOPTION 
 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
 1.  On July 2, 2015, at 10:00 a.m., a public hearing will be held in the Large 
Conference Room, 301 South Park Avenue, 4th Floor, Helena, Montana, to consider 
the proposed amendment and adoption of the above-stated rules. 
 
 2.  The Department of Labor and Industry (department) will make reasonable 
accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this public 
hearing or need an alternative accessible format of this notice.  If you require an 
accommodation, contact the Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists (board) no later 
than 5:00 p.m., on June 26, 2015, to advise us of the nature of the accommodation 
that you need.  Please contact Sharon Peterson, Board of Barbers and 
Cosmetologists, 301 South Park Avenue, P.O. Box 200513, Helena, Montana 
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59620-0513; telephone (406) 841-2375; Montana Relay 1 (800) 253-4091; TDD 
(406) 444-2978; facsimile (406) 841-2305; or dlibsdcos@mt.gov (board's e-mail). 
 
 3.  GENERAL STATEMENT OF REASONABLE NECESSITY:  As part of the 
periodic review of its administrative rules, the board is proposing revisions 
throughout the rules.  Amendments in this notice are intended to correct prior errors, 
improve organization and readability, make language more consistent among the 
rules, and better align the board's rules with statutory requirements.  Accordingly, the 
board has determined that reasonable necessity exists to generally amend certain 
rules at this time.  Where additional specific bases for a proposed action exist, the 
board will identify those reasons immediately following that rule. 
 
 4.  The rules proposed to be amended provide as follows, stricken matter 
interlined, new matter underlined: 
 
 24.121.301  DEFINITIONS  (1) through (4) remain the same. 
 (5)  "Booth rental" means an establishment or business attached to or within a 
licensed salon or shop that is operated independently by a licensed booth renter. 
 (6) through (22) remain the same, but are renumbered (5) through (21). 
 (a)  toe (teeth) tapering (toe or teeth, middle, heel); 
 (b) through (d) remain the same. 
 (23) and (24) remain the same, but are renumbered (22) and (23). 
 (24)  "Locker" means a chest, drawer, compartment, closet, or the like that is 
placed in a set location in a school, made of metal or other rigid and sturdy material, 
and may be locked for storage and safekeeping of clothing, valuables, and other 
personal belongings of students only, and is not subject to entry by a board 
inspector. 
 (25) remains the same. 
 (26)  "Microdermabrasion" means a gentle, progressive, very superficial 
mechanical exfoliation of the uppermost layers of the stratum corneum using a 
closed-loop vacuum system that utilizes aluminum oxide or corundum crystals as the 
abrasive material. 
 (27) through (29) remain the same. 
 (30)  "Trade show" is a show or class which offers specific product 
knowledge, product information, product sales, or retail of product. 
 (31) through (36) remain the same, but are renumbered (30) through (35). 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-319, 37-31-203, 37-31-204, MCA 
 IMP:     37-31-101, 37-31-203, 37-31-204, 37-31-303, 37-31-305, 37-31-309, 
37-31-311, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board is deleting the term "booth rental" because "booth" is already 
defined in board statute and should not be also defined in rule.  The board is 
amending "free-hand methods" in (21) to clarify the term regarding free-hand clipper 
style for tapering, and align with terminology used in barber courses of licensed 
schools.  Following a request by school owners, students, and board inspectors, the 
board is amending this rule to clearly define "locker" at (24).  It is reasonably 
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necessary to amend (26) to align the term "microdermabrasion" with other 
amendments in this notice to permit use of other types of abrasive material or 
reusable heads.  Lastly, the board is deleting the definition of "trade show" since the 
board is amending the term out of ARM 24.21.2101, which is the only place it is 
used in board rule. 
 
 24.121.403  GENERAL REQUIREMENTS  (1) remains the same. 
 (2)  Applications received by the board will be reviewed for completeness.  If 
the application is not complete, the applicant has 180 days one year in which to 
supply the remaining information or documents.  If the application is not completed 
within 180 days one year, the application is rejected times out, and the applicant 
shall be required to submit a new application package and fees. 
 (3) through (10) remain the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-31-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-31-301, 37-31-302, 37-31-303, 37-31-304, 37-31-305, 37-31-309, 
37-31-311, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board is amending this rule to facilitate the standardization of 
application processes among all professional and occupational licensing boards by 
utilizing a one-year limit on applications.  This change will also help avoid the early 
expiration of applications delayed by the wait for state licensure verifications, various 
practical exam testing schedules, and supplementing nonroutine applications for the 
board's review. 
 
 24.121.601  APPLICATIONS FOR LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION  (1)  
Applicants for licenses to practice shall obtain a license within three years of the 
applicant's graduation date from a licensed school. 
 (2)  Applicants previously licensed may apply for licensure within three years 
of termination of license by meeting current board licensing requirements and 
successfully passing the board-approved exam. 
 (3)  Applicants for licensure shall submit the following documentation: 
 (a)  hour records showing the following hours completed: 
 (i)  barbering - 1500; 
 (ii)  cosmetology - 2000; 
 (iii)  electrology - 600; 
 (iv)  esthetics - 650; 
 (v)  manicuring - 350; or 
 (vi)  supplemental barbering - 150. 
 (b)  a barbering, cosmetology, electrology, esthetics, or manicuring school 
diploma from a board licensed school; 
 (c)  proof of high school graduation or equivalency.  A manicurist applicant 
may provide a certificate of completion from a vocational-technical program; 
 (d)  copy of a birth certificate or other verifiable evidence of applicant's birth 
date; and 
 (e)  proof of passage of a board approved examination. 
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 (4)  In lieu of a high school diploma or equivalency, applicants may petition 
the board for an exception by submitting the following information: 
 (a)  certified copies of applicant's high school transcripts; and/or 
 (b)  lists of courses completed including: 
 (i)  adult education courses; 
 (ii)  postsecondary education courses; and 
 (iii)  other experiences providing evidence to equivalency of a high school 
diploma. 
 (5)  The board shall accept hours of instruction from jurisdictionally licensed 
schools located outside Montana towards fulfillment of the hour requirements for the 
various categories of licenses. 
 (6)  Out-of-state student applicants shall meet the same requirements as in-
state barbering, cosmetology, electrology, esthetics, or manicuring students. 
 (7)  An applicant who has completed 1500 hours of barbering instruction or 
more, possesses a current barbering license, and enrolls in a course of 
cosmetology, shall receive 1500 hours of credit toward the 2000-hour requirement 
for a cosmetologist license. 
 (8)  An applicant who has completed 2000 hours of cosmetology instruction 
and possesses a current cosmetology license shall complete an additional 125 
hours in clipper cuts and 25 hours in shaving to qualify for barbering licensure. 
 (9)  An applicant who has completed 650 hours of training or more, 
possesses a current esthetics license, and enrolls in a course of cosmetology, shall 
receive 650 hours of esthetics credit toward the 2000-hour requirement for a 
cosmetologist license. 
 (10)  An applicant who has completed 350 hours of training or more, 
possesses a current manicurist license, and enrolls in a course of cosmetology will 
be granted 350 hours of credit toward the 2000-hour requirement for a cosmetologist 
license. 
 (1)  Applicants for licensure must submit a completed application on forms 
provided by the department, electronically or by paper, including appropriate fees 
and required documentation. 
 (2)  Applicants may qualify for licensure by one of two licensure methods: 
 (a)  examination; or 
 (b)  credentialing. 
 (3)  To qualify for licensure by examination, the applicant must submit the 
following: 
 (a)  For a barber license: 
 (i)  proof of age; 
 (ii)  proof of graduation from an approved school or course of barbering with 
at least 1,500 hours of training as provided in [NEW RULE III(3)]; or, if a Montana-
licensed cosmetologist, completion of a supplemental barbering course pursuant to 
[NEW RULE IV]; 
 (iii)  proof of high school diploma or its equivalent as provided in [NEW RULE 
II]; and 
 (iv)  proof of passage of a board-approved examination in barbering. 
 (b)  For a cosmetology license: 
 (i)  proof of age; 



 
 
 

 
MAR Notice No. 24-121-12 11-6/11/15 

-709- 

 (ii)  proof of graduation from an approved school or course of cosmetology 
with at least 2,000 hours of training as provided in [NEW RULE III(3)]; 
 (iii)  proof of high school diploma or its equivalent as provided in [NEW RULE 
II]; and 
 (iv)  proof of passage of a board-approved examination in cosmetology. 
 (c)  For an electrology license: 
 (i)  proof of age; 
 (ii)  proof of graduation from an approved school or course of electrology with 
at least 600 hours of training as provided in [NEW RULE III(4)]; 
 (iii)  proof of high school diploma or its equivalent as provided in [NEW RULE 
II]; and 
 (iv)  proof of passage of a board-approved examination in electrology. 
 (d)  For a manicurist license: 
 (i)  proof of age; 
 (ii)  proof of graduation from an approved school or course of manicuring with 
at least 400 hours of training as provided in [NEW RULE III(5)]; 
 (iii)  proof of high school diploma or its equivalent as provided in [NEW RULE 
II]; and 
 (iv)  proof of passage of a board-approved examination in manicuring. 
 (e)  For an esthetician license: 
 (i)  proof of age; 
 (ii)  proof of graduation from an approved school or course of esthetics with at 
least 650 hours of training as provided in [NEW RULE III(6)]; 
 (iii)  proof of high school diploma or its equivalent as provided in [NEW RULE 
II]; and 
 (iv)  proof of passage of a board-approved examination in esthetics. 
 (f)  For an instructor license: 
 (i)  proof of a current Montana license under this chapter for barbering, 
cosmetology, electrology, manicuring, or esthetics; 
 (ii)  proof of graduation from an approved school or course of teacher training 
with at least 650 hours of training as outlined in ARM 24.121.1105, or three years of 
experience working in the area of practice pursuant to 37-31-305, MCA; 
 (iii)  proof of high school diploma or its equivalent as provided in [NEW RULE 
II]; and 
 (iv)  proof of passage of a board-approved examination in teacher training. 
 (4)  Applicants by examination who have never been licensed and who 
completed their professional education out of state must meet the same 
requirements as an applicant from Montana. 
 (5)  Individuals who have been previously licensed in Montana under this 
chapter, and whose license has terminated, must reapply under one of the licensing 
methods. 
 (6)  Applications will automatically time out after one year following the 
application open date.  If an application has timed out, the applicant must reapply 
and pay all appropriate fees. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-31-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-31-303, 37-31-304, 37-31-308, MCA 
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REASON:  The board is amending this rule and ARM 24.121.603 and adopting New 
Rules II, III, and IV to define licensure qualifications to meet the growing challenge of 
evaluating fragmented and variously defined license types and training from other 
jurisdictions.  The board is proposing these changes to provide a cafeteria approach 
to evaluating licensure qualifications and allow applicants trained for a scope of 
practice not consistent with any particular Montana license to receive recognition of 
that training in applying for Montana licensure 
 Additionally, the board recognizes that training for practice areas relative to 
barbering and cosmetology in Montana is largely accomplished through hands-on 
experience.  Thus, the board finds it appropriate, especially in conjunction with the 
cafeteria-style approach to evaluating licensure qualifications, to also consider and 
apply relevant work experience toward licensure requirements. 
 
 24.121.603  LICENSURE BY CREDENTIALING WITH AN OUT-OF-STATE 
APPLICANTS LICENSE  (1)  Applicants other than barbers tested and licensed in 
states administering a nationally recognized written and practical examination and 
having received a scaled score as required for licensure in Montana, may qualify for 
licensure by endorsement. 
 (2)  A barber applicant will qualify for licensure by endorsement without 
examination by submitting a complete application, all required documentation, by 
meeting the requirements of 37-31-304, MCA, and the following: 
 (a)  proof of completion of 1500 hours of training in an approved school of 
barbering or barbering course; 
 (i)  For the purposes of 37-1-304, MCA, "substantially equivalent" for barbers 
means 1500 hours of formal training and successful completion of a board-approved 
examination by a passing score set forth in rule.  Applicants who have not completed 
1500 hours of formal training shall be required to pass a board-approved 
examination as specified in rule.  Work experience obtained in the profession will not 
be considered as part of a barbering applicant's qualifications or credit for hours. 
 (ii)  The applicant will be credited for the hours of formal training currently 
required in that state or the hours shown in the transcript or verification. 
 (b)  copy of a birth certificate or other verifiable evidence of applicant's birth 
date; 
 (c)  an original state board transcript or verification from each state in which 
the applicant holds or has held a license; and 
 (d)  proof of high school graduation or equivalency; or 
 (e)  in lieu of a high school diploma or equivalency, applicants may petition 
the board for an exception by submitting the following information: 
 (i)  certified copies of applicant's high school transcripts; or 
 (ii)  lists of courses completed including: 
 (A)  adult education courses; 
 (B)  postsecondary education courses; and 
 (C)  other experiences providing evidence of equivalency to a high school 
diploma. 
 (3)  To qualify for licensure by endorsement, an out-of-state cosmetologist 
shall submit an application including the following documentation: 
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 (a)  proof of completion of 2000 hours of training in an approved school of 
cosmetology; 
 (i)  For the purposes of 37-1-304, MCA, "substantially equivalent" for 
cosmetologists means 2000 hours of formal training and successful completion of a 
board-approved examination by a passing score set forth in rule.  Applicants who 
have not completed 2000 hours of formal training shall be required to pass a board-
approved examination as specified in rule.  Work experience obtained in the 
profession will not be considered as part of a cosmetologist applicant's qualifications 
or credit for hours. 
 (ii)  The applicant shall be credited for the hours of formal training currently 
required in that state or the hours shown in the transcript or verification. 
 (b)  copy of a birth certificate or other verifiable evidence of applicant's birth 
date; 
 (c)  a certified state board transcript or verification from each state in which 
the applicant holds or has held a license; and 
 (d)  proof of high school graduation or equivalency; or 
 (e)  in lieu of a high school diploma or equivalency, applicants may petition 
the board for an exception by submitting the following information: 
 (i)  certified copies of applicant's high school transcripts; or 
 (ii)  lists of courses completed including: 
 (A)  adult education courses; 
 (B)  postsecondary education courses; and 
 (C)  other experiences providing evidence of equivalency to a high school 
diploma. 
 (4)  To qualify for licensure by endorsement, an out-of-state electrologist shall 
submit an application including the following documentation: 
 (a)  proof of completion of 600 hours of training in an approved school of 
electrology; 
 (i)  For the purposes of 37-1-304, MCA, "substantially equivalent" for 
electrologists means 600 hours of formal training and successful completion of a 
board-approved examination with a passing score set forth in rule.  Applicants who 
have not completed 600 hours of formal training shall be required to pass a board-
approved examination as specified in rule.  Work experience obtained in the 
profession will not be considered as part of an electrologist applicant's qualifications 
or credit for hours. 
 (ii)  The applicant will be credited for the hours of formal training currently 
required in that state or the hours shown in the transcript or verification. 
 (b)  copy of a birth certificate or other verifiable evidence of applicant's birth 
date; 
 (c)  an original state board transcript or verification from each state in which 
the applicant holds or has held a license; and 
 (d)  proof of high school graduation or equivalency; or 
 (e)  in lieu of a high school diploma or equivalency, applicants may petition 
the board for an exception by submitting the following information: 
 (i)  certified copies of applicant's high school transcripts; or 
 (ii)  lists of courses completed including: 
 (A)  adult education courses; 
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 (B)  postsecondary education courses; and 
 (C)  other experiences providing evidence of equivalency to a high school 
diploma. 
 (5)  To qualify for licensure by endorsement, an out-of-state esthetician shall 
submit an application including the following documentation: 
 (a)  proof of completion of 650 hours of training in an approved school of 
esthetics or esthetics course; 
 (i)  For the purposes of 37-1-304, MCA, "substantially equivalent" for 
estheticians means 650 hours of formal training and successful completion of a 
board approved examination with a passing score set forth in rule.  Applicants who 
have not completed 650 hours of formal training shall be required to pass a board 
approved examination as specified in rule.  Work experience obtained in the 
profession will not be considered as part of an esthetician applicant's qualifications 
or credit for hours. 
 (ii)  The applicant will be credited for the hours of formal training currently 
required in that state or the hours shown in the transcript or verification. 
 (b)  copy of a birth certificate or other verifiable evidence of applicant's birth 
date; 
 (c)  an original state board transcript or verification from each state in which 
the applicant holds or has held a license; and 
 (d)  proof of high school graduation or equivalency; or 
 (e)  in lieu of a high school diploma or equivalency, applicants may petition 
the board for an exception by submitting the following information: 
 (i)  certified copies of applicant's high school transcripts; or 
 (ii)  lists of courses completed including: 
 (A)  adult education courses; 
 (B)  postsecondary education courses; and 
 (C)  other experiences providing evidence of equivalency to a high school 
diploma. 
 (6)  To qualify for licensure by endorsement, an out-of-state manicurist shall 
submit an application including the following documentation: 
 (a)  proof of completion of 350 hours of training in an approved school of 
manicuring or manicuring course; 

(i)  For the purposes of 37-1-304, MCA, "substantially equivalent" for 
manicurists means 350 hours of formal training and successful completion of a 
board-approved examination with a passing score set forth in rule.  Applicants who 
do not possess 350 hours of formal training shall successfully pass a board-
approved examination as specified in rule.  Work experience obtained in the 
profession will not be considered as part of a manicurist applicant's qualifications or 
credit for hours. 
 (ii)  The applicant will be credited for the hours of formal training currently 
required in that state or the hours shown in the transcript or verification. 
 (b)  copy of a birth certificate or other verifiable evidence of applicant's birth 
date; 
 (c)  an original state board transcript or verification from each state in which 
the applicant holds or has held a license; and 
 (d)  proof of high school graduation or equivalency; or 
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 (e)  in lieu of a high school diploma or equivalency, applicants may petition 
the board for an exception by submitting the following information: 
 (i)  certified copies of applicant's high school transcripts; or 
 (ii)  lists of courses completed including: 
 (A)  adult education courses; 
 (B)  postsecondary education courses; and 
 (C)  other experiences providing evidence of equivalency to a high school 
diploma. 
 (7)  Applicants from foreign countries shall be held to the same licensure 
requirements as out-of-state applicants.  Applicants shall first receive board approval 
for the foreign hours of training in accordance with the established curriculum set 
forth in rule. 
 (1)  Applicants for licensure must submit a completed application provided by 
the department, electronically or by paper, including appropriate fees and required 
documentation. 
 (2)  Applicants may qualify for licensure by one of the following licensure 
methods: examination or credentialing.  To qualify for licensure by credentialing, an 
applicant must satisfy the requirements of (3) and (4). 
 (3)  To qualify for licensure by credentialing the applicant must submit the 
following documentation: 
 (a)  For a barber license: 
 (i)  proof of age; 
 (ii)  proof of current unencumbered barber license in another state; 
 (iii)  license verification from each state or jurisdiction the applicant has been 
licensed in, whether the license is current or not; and 
 (iv)  proof of passage of a board-approved examination in barbering with 
appropriate passing scores. 
 (b)  For a cosmetology license: 
 (i)  proof of age; 
 (ii)  proof of current unencumbered cosmetology license in another state; 
 (iii)  license verification from each state or jurisdiction the applicant has been 
licensed in, whether the license is current or not; and 
 (iv)  proof of passage of a board-approved examination in cosmetology with 
appropriate passing scores. 
 (c)  For an electrology license: 
 (i)  proof of age; 
 (ii)  proof of current unencumbered electrology license in another state; 
 (iii)  license verification from each state or jurisdiction the applicant has been 
licensed in, whether the license is current or not; and 
 (iv)  proof of passage of a board-approved examination in electrology with 
appropriate passing scores. 
 (d)  For a manicurist license: 
 (i)  proof of age; 
 (ii)  proof of current unencumbered manicurist license in another state; 
 (iii)  license verification from each state or jurisdiction the applicant has been 
licensed in, whether the license is current or not; and 
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 (iv)  proof of passage of a board-approved examination in manicuring with 
appropriate passing scores. 
 (e)  For an esthetician license: 
 (i)  proof of age; 
 (ii)  proof of current unencumbered esthetician license in another state; 
 (iii)  license verification from each state or jurisdiction the applicant has been 
licensed in, whether the license is current or not; and 
 (iv)  proof of passage of a board-approved examination in esthetics with 
appropriate passing scores. 
 (4)  An out-of-state applicant applying for a license by credentialing must also 
meet the following requirements: 
 (a)  To qualify for a barber license the applicant must possess a license type 
in good standing that includes scope of training and practice equal to [New Rule 
III(2)] and either have completed a course of training of at least 1,100 hours in a 
school or attest to 1,250 hours of work experience as a licensed barber. 
 (b)  To qualify for a cosmetologist license the applicant must possess either: 
 (i)  a license type in good standing that includes scope of training and practice 
equal to the cosmetologist requirements in [New Rule III(3)] and either have 
completed a course of training of at least 1,500 hours in a school or attest to 1,500 
hours of work experience as a licensed cosmetologist; or 
 (ii)  a combination of licensure in good standing that includes scopes of 
training and practice equal to: 
 (A)  [New Rule III(3)(d) through (g)] and have completed a course of training 
equal to or exceeding 900 hours in a school; 
 (B)  [New Rule III(4)] and have completed a course of training equal to or 
exceeding 200 hours in a school; and 
 (C)  [New Rule III(5)] and have completed a course of training equal to or 
exceeding 400 hours in a school. 
 (c)  To qualify for an electrology license the applicant must possess a license 
type in good standing that includes the scope of training and practice equal to [New 
Rule III(4)] and either have completed at least 450 hours of electrology training in a 
school or attest to at least 750 hours of work experience as a licensed electrologist. 
 (d)  To qualify for a manicurist license the applicant must possess a license 
type in good standing that includes the scope of training and practice equal to [New 
Rule III(5)] and either have completed at least 200 hours of electrology training in a 
school or attest to at least 750 hours of work experience as a licensed manicurist. 
 (e)  To qualify for an esthetician license the applicant must possess a license 
type in good standing that includes the scope of training and practice equal to [New 
Rule III(5)] and either have completed at least 400 hours of electrology training in a 
school or attest to at least 750 hours of work experience as a licensed esthetician. 
 (f)  For any other combinations or types of licensure such as hairstyling, 
braiding, or make-up artists, applying for licensure will be individually assessed by 
review of the respective licensing requirements, course curricula and transcripts and 
may require further review by the board. 
 (5)  Applicants with foreign training will be considered nonroutine for the 
purposes of evaluating the education and qualifications and must: 
 (a)  submit copies of their training and education curricula to the board; 
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 (b)  provide acceptable official translations of all supporting documents 
required for licensing and evaluation by the board.  Acceptable translations are 
prepared by a reliable source such as a third party company or certified translator 
authorized to provide official translations to English, but translations prepared by the 
applicant or the applicant's relatives, coworkers, or friends are not acceptable.  
Documentation and contact information of the translator must be attached to the 
translation for the board to review and contact if necessary; and 
 (c)  take and pass the board-approved examination.  Proof of passage of the 
examination must be received from the source or another state licensing jurisdiction 
through a license verification. 
 (6)  Applicants who obtained their training from Canada are not considered 
foreign for purposes of this rule. 
 (7)  Applicants by examination who have never been licensed and who 
completed their professional education out of state must meet the same 
requirements as an applicant from Montana. 
 (8)  Individuals who have been previously licensed in Montana under this 
chapter and whose licenses have terminated must reapply. 
 (9)  Applications will automatically time out after one year following the 
application open date.  Applicants with applications that have timed out must reapply 
and pay all appropriate fees. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-31-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-304, 37-31-303, 37-31-304, 37-31-305, 37-31-308, MCA 
 
REASON:  See REASON for ARM 24.121.601. 
 
 24.121.605  APPLICATION FOR POSTSECONDARY SCHOOL LICENSURE 
 (1) through (9) remain the same. 
 (10)  Each school shall be located in a structure that meets all applicable local 
and state building codes requirements. 
 (11)  Applicants shall furnish the board with a blueprint or detailed scale 
drawing of the floor plan as part of the application for licensure. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-31-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-31-101, 37-31-302, 37-31-311, 37-31-312, MCA 
 
REASON:  In conjunction with proposed amendments to ARM 24.121.803, the board 
is adding (10) and (11) to uniformly address building requirements for all schools by 
referring to building code standards.  For example, current rules contain ventilation 
standards that the board is unable to measure, and that are essentially redundant 
with existing building code requirements.  The ventilation requirement is being 
removed from ARM 24.121.803 and instead licensees must meet all applicable 
building code standards per (10).  
 
 24.121.611  EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS AND PROCESS  (1) remains 
the same. 
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 (a)  Applicants must submit the testing eligibility letter to the examination 
vendor in order to schedule their examination. 
 (b)  Applicants must provide a photo ID at the examination location to be 
admitted to the examination. 
 (2) through (4) remain the same. 
 (5)  Applicants must have an examination eligibility letter in order to schedule 
and take both the written and practical board-approved exam. 
 (a)  Montana-enrolled students or graduates of a Montana-licensed school 
under this chapter will receive their testing eligibility letter from the school.  Students 
are eligible to take the written and practical portion of the board-approved exam 
following 90 percent completion of their educational requirements have been met. 
 (b)  Applicants licensed by credentialing who are required to take the board-
approved exam will receive their testing eligibility letter from the board office, once 
the proof of graduation or license verification in another state is received. 
 (6)  The testing eligibility letter is valid for 180 days from the date of the letter. 
 (7)  Once the applicant has taken and passed the examination the applicant 
shall notify the board office.  The board office will verify the examination scores 
directly with the vendor. 
 (8)  Instructor applicants applying for a license under 37-31-305(2)(d)(ii), 
MCA, are required to provide an affidavit of three years of experience in a particular 
area of practice to the board office in order to receive a testing eligibility letter. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-31-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-31-304, 37-31-305, 37-31-308, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board is amending this rule to clearly delineate the testing process in 
response to internal application workflow changes for the board and the test 
administrator, and to address questions from schools, students, and applicants. 
 
 24.121.803  SCHOOL REQUIREMENTS  (1) through (3) remain the same. 
 (4)  Schools shall have a mechanical ventilation or portable air purifier system 
that provides the total cubic square feet of the school with at least four air exchanges 
per hour.  The ventilation system must operate continuously during business hours 
of the school.  Doors and windows are not acceptable for the ventilation 
requirement. 
 (5) through (11)(a) remain the same, but are renumbered (4) through (10)(a). 
 (b)  one protective covering per student; 
 (b) through (j) remain the same, but are renumbered (c) through (k). 
 (12) remains the same, but is renumbered (11). 
 (a) remains the same. 
 (b)  one protective covering per student; 
 (b) through (j) remain the same, but are renumbered (c) through (k). 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-31-203, 37-31-311, MCA 
 IMP:     37-31-311, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board is amending this rule to be consistent with amendments to 
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ARM 24.121.605 regarding minimum building standards.  The board is also 
correcting an apparent oversight by adding the requirement for a protective covering 
per student in manicuring and esthetic schools.  Coverings are currently required in 
other board-licensed schools, and the board intended the requirement apply to all 
licensed schools. 
 
 24.121.805  SCHOOL OPERATING STANDARDS  (1) through (6)(a) remain 
the same. 
 (b)  copy of a birth certificate or other verifiable evidence of applicant's birth 
date; 
 (c)  copy of high school diploma or its recognized equivalent, or a signed 
statement that the person was admitted or enrolled on the basis that the student was 
beyond the compulsory age of education as provided in 20-5-102, MCA; 
 (b) through (p) remain the same, but are renumbered (d) through (r). 
 (7) remains the same. 
 (8)  Appropriately licensed instructors shall directly supervise students at all 
times on the school premises in the classroom and on the clinic floor.  One instructor 
shall supervise no more than 25 cosmetology, barbering, esthetics, or manicuring 
students, and no more than ten electrology students, at any time.  No instructor may 
supervise classroom and clinic floor activities simultaneously. 
 (9) through (12)(d) remain the same. 
 (e)  manicuring students - 80 110 hours. 
 (13) and (14) remain the same. 
 (15)  Upon completion by students of at least 90 percent of the required 
course of study, and prior to graduating and receiving a diploma, the student may 
take the board-approved final practical examination exam.  The final practical 
examination must include all components for evaluation as provided in ARM 
24.121.807 for each course of study. 
 (16)  A person may submit a license application when the person is no more 
than 90 days from completing the requisite course of study given the person's 
current and expected rate of progression. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-31-203, 37-31-311, MCA 
 IMP:     37-31-311, MCA 
 
REASON:  In May 2014, the board adopted ARM 24.121.806 as part of a rules 
package that was necessary to align board rules with the U.S. Department of 
Education standards so that licensed schools would be considered "postsecondary" 
schools that qualify for federal student financial aid.  Consistent with ARM 
24.121.806, the board is amending (6) to establish a duty to maintain relevant 
records that the board can audit to ensure continued compliance with U.S. 
Department of Education requirements. 
 The question of whether instructors may teach class and supervise clinical 
work simultaneously was recently presented to the board in relation to a school 
application.  Following discussion and reference to current rules, the board 
concluded that it is not permissible for an instructor to supervise clinical work and 
teach a classroom simultaneously.  However, because the question caused some 
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debate and discussion on the topic, the board determined it is reasonably necessary 
to expressly state this prohibition by amending (8). 
 In response to recent requests by licensed schools, the board is amending 
(12)(e) to increase the basic training of manicurists from 80 to 110 hours in 
conjunction with the amendment to ARM 24.121.807(6), to change the total hour 
requirements for the manicuring course from 350 hours to 400 hours.  The schools 
are, in turn, responding to graduated manicurists who are concerned that they were 
not as prepared to enter the work force as they would like to have been. 
 Additionally, the board has received requests to clarify and slightly modify the 
application process.  The amendments regarding the application process are 
consistent with those requests and with internal application workflow changes of the 
board and the test administrator. 
 
 24.121.807  SCHOOL CURRICULA  (1) through (2)(a)(i) remain the same. 
 (ii)  shampoo, scalp treatment, and hair styling (thermal and air styling, finger 
waving, hair pieces to include weaves and extensions), 230 hours; 
 (iii) through (3)(a)(i) remain the same. 
 (A)  manicures (including water, oil, hand and arm massage, paraffin wax 
treatments, and polish); 
 (B)  pedicures (including foot, ankle, and lower leg massage, paraffin wax 
treatments, and polish); 
 (C)  application of monomer liquid and polymer powder nail enhancements, 
artificial nails (including sculptured, nail tips, nail wraps, UV gels, and nail art fills, 
repairs, tip overlays, fiberglass, gel, and acrylic); and 
 (D) and (3)(a)(ii) remain the same. 
 (A)  skin care (including facials, cosmetics, makeup, massage, essential oils, 
the application and maintenance of artificial eyelashes and extensions, tinting of the 
eyelashes and eyebrows, and the chemical curling of the eye lashes); 
 (B) through (5)(a)(i) remain the same. 
 (ii)  massage, skin care, makeup, (including the use of vaporizer, high 
frequency, massage brush, vacuum spray, galvanic unit, and lamps), cosmetics, 
facials, essential oils, the application and maintenance of artificial eyelashes and 
extensions, tinting of the eyelashes and eyebrows, the chemical curling of the eye 
lashes, and skin exfoliation (including manual, chemical, and mechanical 
exfoliation), 300 hours; 
 (iii) through (5)(b) remain the same. 
 (6)  The required curriculum for manicuring students includes 350 400 hours 
of training, of which at least 35 40 hours is in theory, distributed as follows: 
 (a)  265 300 hours of training, distributed as follows: 
 (i) remains the same. 
 (ii)  bacteriology, sanitation, sterilization, safety, anatomy, physiology, 
diseases and disorders of skin and nails, manicure basic chemistry, and nail care 
nail product chemistry, and electricity, 55 hours; 
 (iii)  manicures (including water, oil, hand, and arm massage), pedicures 
(including foot, ankle, and lower leg massage), polish applications, paraffin wax 
treatments, and the proper use of manicuring implements including the electric nail 
file, a minimum of 35 hours; and 
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 (iv)  use of the electric nail file, 10 hours; and 
 (iv) (v)  application of artificial nails, sculptured nails monomer liquid and 
polymer powder nail enhancements, nail tips, nail wraps, tip overlays, fills, repairs 
(including fiberglass, gel, and acrylic), UV gels, and nail art, a minimum of 115 140 
hours. 
 (b)  85 100 hours of instruction shall be at the discretion of the school 
provided that the hours are within the applicable curriculum. 
 (7) remains the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-31-203, 37-31-311, MCA 
 IMP:     37-31-101, 37-31-304, 37-31-305, 37-31-311, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board determined it is reasonably necessary to amend this rule in 
response to questions and concerns from schools, board staff, and licensees.  
These amendments not only modify curricula requirements in response to the 
expressed desire of schools, but also modify and help clarify the required 
coursework in terms more consistent with the practices. 
 In response to recent requests by licensed schools, the board is amending (6) 
to increase the total hour requirements for the manicuring course from 350 hours to 
400 hours.  This amendment and the resultant changes at the school level are in 
response to concerns of graduated manicurists that they were not as prepared to 
enter the work force as they would like to have been. 
 
 24.121.809  STUDENT WITHDRAWAL, TRANSFER, OR GRADUATING 
 (1) remains the same. 
 (2)  When transferring between licensed schools, the transferring student 
shall provide the school with a statement of good standing and official transcript from 
the previous school.  The new school shall, at its discretion, may grant full credit for 
all hours completed and grades received by the transferring student within three 
years of the student's original enrollment date. 
 (3) and (4) remain the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-31-203, 37-31-311, MCA 
 IMP:     37-31-311, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board is amending this rule to remove the rigid requirement on 
schools to grant credit to transferring students because it is not always possible to 
segment coursework in a way that caters to every individual student.  While credit 
should be granted where possible, the board recognizes that a student may have to 
repeat some hours of training to fit within the structure and curriculum of the new 
school.  The board believes this is a matter for the schools to determine, and this 
amendment will allow a reasonable degree of discretion. 
 
 24.121.1103  INSTRUCTOR REQUIREMENTS - TEACHER-TRAINING 
PROGRAMS  (1) through (4) remain the same. 
 (5)  All student or cadet instructors shall register with the board. 
 (6) remains the same, but is renumbered (5). 
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 (7) (6)  Upon completion by the student of at least 90 percent of the teacher-
training required course of study, and prior to graduation graduating and issuance of 
receiving a diploma, the student may take the board-approved practical examination 
exam.  The final practical examination must include all components for evaluation as 
provided in ARM 24.121.1105. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-31-203, 37-31-311, MCA 
 IMP:     37-31-305, 37-31-311, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board is deleting (5) to eliminate registration of student or cadet 
instructors because the board determined registration is the responsibility of the 
schools. 
 
 24.121.1105  TEACHER-TRAINING CURRICULUM AND TEACHING 
METHODOLOGY COURSEWORK  (1) remains the same. 
 (2)  The board-approved coursework related to teaching methodology shall 
consist of 135 hours and include the following: 
 (a)  teaching methods 6 credits or 90 hours: 
 (i)  task analysis; 
 (ii)  developing instructional objectives; 
 (iii)  visual aids and their construction; 
 (iv)  motivational tools; 
 (v)  preparation of instructive materials; 
 (vi)  lesson planning; 
 (vii)  fundamentals of speech and public speaking; 
 (viii)  methods of test construction; 
 (ix)  methods of evaluation or grading; and 
 (x)  curriculum planning and development. 
 (b)  educational psychology three credits or 45 hours; 
 (c)  coursework may be completed through: 
 (i)  classes acceptable to a state's board of regents or equivalent authority 
and approved through that state's university system; 
 (ii)  self‐study to be observed and documented by the administrator of the 
school employing the instructor; or 
 (iii)  class studies pre‐approved by the board. 
 (d)  prior to renewal of the instructor license, documentation of completed 
coursework must be submitted to the board for board approval. 
 (3)  Coursework completed prior to instructor licensure may be used to satisfy 
the requirements of this subsection. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-31-203, 37-31-311, MCA 
 IMP:     37-31-305, 37-31-311, MCA 
 
REASON:  The 2013 Montana Legislature enacted Chapter 102, Laws of 2013 
(Senate Bill 343), an act that amended 37-31-305, MCA, by providing three years of 
experience as an alternate instructor qualification.  Under the alternative 
qualifications, a license to instruct may be issued to an individual who has at least 
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three years of practical experience, subject to the requirement that the individual 
complete board-approved coursework related to teaching methodology within two 
years of licensure.  This board is amending this rule to further implement the 
legislation and clearly delineate what constitutes board-approved coursework related 
to teaching methodology. 
 
 24.121.1301  SALONS/BOOTH RENTAL  (1)  Mobile homes, moveable 
trailers, and structures on skids are not considered fixed places of business and will 
not be licensed as a salon, shop, or school  Each salon and shop shall be located in 
a structure that meets all applicable local and state building codes requirements. 
 (2) through (7) remain the same. 
 (8)  A new salon or shop may be granted a temporary operating permit 
pending an initial inspection.  No prior notice of the inspection is required.  A 
temporary operating permit shall terminate and a license shall not be granted without 
board review, unless the salon or shop provides the board with a response within 30 
days of the date of the inspection that indicates all the inspection violations have 
been corrected to the inspector's satisfaction.  If a temporary permit terminates, the 
salon or shop must cease operation until the application is granted by the board and 
a license issued.  A subsequent temporary operating permit is not available, unless 
the application times out pursuant to ARM 24.121.403 and a new application is filed. 
 (8) remains the same, but is renumbered (9). 
 (10)  A licensee may not renew a booth renter license, unless, at the time of 
renewal, the licensee has at least one currently active license to practice. 
 (9) remains the same, but is renumbered (11). 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-31-203, 37-31-204, MCA 
 IMP:     37-31-204, 37-31-302, 37-31-309, 37-31-312, MCA 
 
REASON:  Consistent with other amendments within this notice, the board is 
amending (1) to remove the prohibition against mobile homes and similar structures 
and instead require that licensed salons and shops meet applicable building codes 
requirements. 
 In response to licensing staff questions, the board is adding (8) to clearly set 
forth the process for temporary practice permits. 
 The board is revising its policies regarding board-generated complaints and 
the board's definition of "nonroutine" license applications.  In accordance with those 
revisions, booth renter licenses will be issued to licensees with an active license to 
practice, without requiring the extensive application materials for a license to 
practice.  Consequently, all complaints will be directly associated with the license to 
practice.  Considering those changes in policy, the board determined it is reasonably 
necessary to require an active license to practice as a strict condition to renewing a 
booth renter license and is adding (10) accordingly. 
 
 24.121.1509  IMPLEMENTS, INSTRUMENTS, SUPPLIES, AND 
EQUIPMENT  (1) through (5)(a)(ii) remain the same. 
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 (iii)  used only in accordance with specific manufacturer directions with the 
exception of plastic tips, which are single use items that require disposal after a one 
time use. 
 (6)  Aluminum oxide crystals or manufacturer approved corundum used in 
microdermabrasion machines are: 
 (a)  for single use purposes and shall: 
 (i)  be discarded after each use in accordance with federal, state, and local 
disposal regulations; and 
 (ii)  have a granule size no larger than 120 grit or the equivalent of 100 to 102 
microns. 
 (b)  The board shall approve the use of abrasives, other than aluminum oxide 
crystals or approved corundum, prior to the use of such abrasives by licensees. 
 (7)  Only single use plastic tips are allowed to be used in microdermabrasion 
machines and must be disposed of after each client. 
 (8)  Microdermabrasion machines must be maintained and filters changed in 
accordance with OSHA and manufacturer requirements. 
 (b)  Solid or liquid abrasives used in microdermabrasion machines are for 
single-use purpose only and shall be discarded after each use in accordance with 
federal, state, and local disposal regulations. 
 (c)  The use of abrasive tips are allowed if used in accordance with specific 
manufacturer directions. 
 (d)  Single-use plastic tips are allowed to be used in microdermabrasion 
machines and must be disposed of after each use. 
 (e)  Microdermabrasion machines that have tips that are multiuse, according 
to specific manufacturer directions, must be sterilized by use of an autoclave. 
 (f)  Microdermabrasion machines must be maintained and filters changed in 
accordance with OSHA and manufacturer requirements. 
 (9) through (12) remain the same, but are renumbered (6) through (9). 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-31-203, 37-31-204, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-31-203, 37-31-204, 37-31-312, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board determined the proposed amendments to this rule regarding 
microdermabrasion are reasonably necessary to address the evolving technology of 
microdermabrasion machines that have been introduced to the market.  The board 
notes that different machines are now acceptable for esthetic use, and is amending 
this rule to clearly set forth the requirements for the use and disinfection of those 
machines. 
 
 24.121.1517  SALON PREPARATION STORAGE AND HANDLING   
 (1) through (9) remain the same. 
 (10)  If the board inspector obtains evidence that a product or item prohibited 
by this rule is being used in a salon, shop, or school, the inspector may seize the 
product or item and remove it from the facility immediately.  If a prohibited product or 
item is seized by an inspector, the licensee will be responsible for the costs of 
disposing of the product or item.  The licensee will be mailed a notice that sets forth 
the disposal costs incurred by the board in relation to the product or item, and the 
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licensee shall pay such costs within 30 days of the date the notice is mailed to the 
licensee. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-31-203, 37-31-204, MCA 
 IMP:     37-31-204, 37-31-312, MCA 
 
REASON:  In carrying out its duties to protect the public, the board has seized a 
number of prohibited items.  In some cases, the items are chemicals, biohazardous 
materials, or may not be readily identified because labelling has been removed or 
concealed.  Because the disposal of these items is costly to the board, the board 
concluded that those costs ought to be borne by the licensees who, in addition to 
costing the board money in terms of enforcement, pose a health and safety risk to 
the public by using or storing such prohibited items in the licensees' premises. 
 
 24.121.2101  CONTINUING EDUCATION - INSTRUCTORS/INACTIVE 
INSTRUCTORS  (1)  Active instructors shall complete 30 hours of board-approved 
continuing education (CE) per renewal period to maintain active status licensure of 
which eight hours must be in teaching methodology pursuant to ARM 24.121.1105. 
 (2)  Courses taught via distance education must first be approved by the 
board. 
 (3) (2)  Continuing education courses must be germane to the practice or 
business of barbering, cosmetology, electrology, esthetics, manicuring, or instructing 
and teacher training. 
 (4) (3)  Requests for approval of CE courses must be made on forms 
approved by the board department or its designee. 
 (5)  A maximum of ten hours per renewal period may be obtained at trade 
shows where products are being promoted. 
 (6)  All approved education must be open and available to all instructor 
licensees, unless it violates a franchise agreement. 
 (7) through (10) remain the same, but are renumbered (4) through (7). 
 (11) (8)  The course provider must supply each licensee with a course 
completion certificate and course evaluation form and must verify attendance of 
each licensee. 
 (12)  No licensee shall repeat a course for credit in any three-year period. 
 (13) (9)  Course approval will be for the current calendar year.  All courses will 
expire March 1 of each year Course approval will be for three years.  All courses will 
expire March 1 of the third year. 
 (14) remains the same, but is renumbered (10). 
 (15) (11)  An instructor may receive credit for attending board-sponsored 
events meetings of the board. 
 (16)  A licensee may place their instructor license on inactive status by 
submitting a written request that the license be placed inactive. 
 (17)  An inactive licensee has the sole responsibility to keep the board 
informed of any change of the licensee's mailing address during the period of time 
the instructor license remains on inactive status. 
 (18)  In order to avoid lapse, expiration, or termination of the instructor 
license, an inactive licensee must renew the inactive license each renewal period. 
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 (19)  An inactive licensee does not need to report continuing education until 
converting the license to active status. 
 (20)  To convert an inactive instructor license to active status, licensees shall 
submit evidence of completion of 15 hours of approved continuing education 
obtained within the 12-month period prior to converting the license. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-319, 37-31-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-141, 37-1-306, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board determined it is reasonably necessary to make broad changes 
to the continuing education requirements for instructors.  As part of those changes, 
the board is removing all references to inactive instructor requirements from this rule 
and shifting those provisions to New Rule V. 
 
 24.121.2301  UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT  (1) through (1)(x) remain the 
same. 
 (y)  failing to timely and fully pay the costs of disposal set forth in a notice 
provided to the licensee pursuant to ARM 24.121.1517; 
 (y) and (z) remain the same, but are renumbered (z) and (aa). 
 (2) remains the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-136, 37-1-319, 37-31-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-136, 37-1-137, 37-1-141, 37-1-316, 37-31-301, 37-31-331, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board determined it is reasonably necessary to amend this rule by 
adding to the actions considered by the board as unprofessional conduct.  To better 
protect public health, safety, and welfare, the board is amending this rule to 
emphasize and provide a means of enforcing the proposed amendment to ARM 
24.121.1517, which will require licensees to reimburse the board for costs 
associated with disposing of prohibited items. 
 
 5.  The proposed new rules provide as follows: 
 
 NEW RULE I  NONROUTINE APPLICATIONS  (1)  The board shall review an 
application containing any of the following criteria: 
 (a)  criminal convictions and charges: 
 (i)  a felony conviction of any nature, or a misdemeanor conviction relating to 
sex or violence, if the sentence imposed for any such conviction has not been fully 
discharged or if the conviction was entered within the past ten years; 
 (ii)  any conviction involving use or sale of drugs, fraud, deceit, or theft, 
pursuant to 37-1-316(1), MCA, unless the conviction occurred more than five years 
before application and all court-ordered conditions have been satisfied, discharged, 
or dismissed; 
 (iii)  three or more misdemeanor convictions that have occurred within five 
years of application, which include, but are not limited to, the following traffic-related 
crimes: 
 (A)  reckless driving; 
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 (B)  DUI; and 
 (C)  hit-and-run; or 
 (iv)  a pending criminal charge if, as a conviction, it would cause the 
application to be "nonroutine" under any part of (a).  A criminal charge resulting in a 
deferred sentence that has not been discharged as of the date of application is 
considered a conviction for purposes of determining whether the application is 
nonroutine.  Misdemeanor traffic convictions not involving alcohol or drugs will not 
cause an application to be considered nonroutine. 
 (b)  other unprofessional conduct: 
 (i)  an investigation, complaint, consent agreement, or disciplinary action 
involving the applicant that either: 
 (A)  resulted in a license or license application that was revoked, suspended, 
denied, withdrawn, or surrendered; or that was placed on probation or subjected to 
any condition or restriction for the period of two or more years; or 
 (B)  resulted in a license or license application that is currently encumbered 
by a disciplinary sanction, meaning conditions imposed on the license have not been 
satisfied or are ongoing if the action was based upon the applicant's underlying 
conduct and not based on another state's or jurisdiction's disciplinary action; or 
 (ii)  the applicant was diagnosed with an addiction or participated in a 
chemical dependency or other addiction treatment program within three years of 
submitting application.  However, if treatment has been successfully completed and 
any recommended follow-up is being complied with, the department may consider 
the application routine; 
 (iii)  the applicant answered "yes" on the application regarding a diagnosis for 
a physical condition or mental health disorder involving a potential health risk to the 
public; 
 (iv)  the applicant was accused of unlicensed practice, unless the accusation 
has been resolved in favor of the applicant; or 
 (v)  for a salon operating on a temporary practice permit, an inspection report 
reflecting three or more sanitation violations, prohibited items, use of machines 
outside of scope, permitting unlicensed practice, or other grounds constituting 
unprofessional conduct. 
 (c)  education: 
 (i)  the applicant's barbering, cosmetology, electrology, esthetics, or 
manicuring education was obtained in a foreign jurisdiction other than Canada; 
 (d)  application discrepancies: 
 (i)  failure to accurately and completely respond to a question on the 
application form.  The department may treat an application as routine under this 
subsection if the department receives an adequate explanation for such a failure; 
 (ii)  the department may, but is not required to, submit an otherwise "routine" 
application for board review if: 
 (A)  questions arise whether the applicant meets all requirements for 
licensure, including, but not limited to, the demonstration of good moral character; or 
 (B)  inconsistencies, irregularities, or other matters of concern exist in the 
application or related documentation; 
 (e)  with the exception of instructor and school licenses, an application will be 
deemed "routine" if it is "nonroutine" under this policy, based on information 
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previously considered by the board, relative to a prior application that resulted in the 
issuance of an unencumbered license or if it resulted in a complaint that was 
resolved without discipline; or 
 (f)  a booth rental application is always routine, so long as the applicant holds 
a current practice license and is not restricted from working as a booth renter. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-31-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-101, 37-1-131, 37-1-307, MCA 
 
REASON:  Pursuant to 37-1-101(1), MCA, the department shall process and issue 
licenses to all applicants who submit complete and routine applications.  The board, 
however, must review all completed nonroutine applications prior to licensure.  The 
board determined it is reasonably necessary to revise and clearly delineate the 
definition of nonroutine application to facilitate the licensure process. 
 
 NEW RULE II  GRANTING EXCEPTION TO HIGH SCHOOL DIPLOMA OR 
EQUIVALENCY  (1)  Exceptions to providing a high school diploma or equivalency 
recognized by the State Superintendent of Public Instruction at the Office of Public 
Instruction (OPI) pursuant to 37-31-304, MCA, may be made upon the following 
documentation: 
 (a)  high school transcripts with graduation date; 
 (b)  college, university, or vocational-technical school diploma or transcripts 
with graduation date; 
 (c)  diploma from an Associates, Bachelors, or higher degree; 
 (d)  diploma or transcripts from a home school program; 
 (e)  proof of service in the armed forces, such as a copy of DD214, indicating 
high school equivalency; 
 (f)  original verification/letter from high school or alterative school sent directly 
from the school to the board office indicating completion through grade 12; or 
 (g)  by submitting a request in writing and any experience or documentation to 
support the applicant that meets the intent of the requirement such as, but not 
limited to: 
 (i)  adult education courses completed; 
 (ii)  college or university courses completed; 
 (iii)  work experience; and 
 (iv)  previous licensure in this or other jurisdictions. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-31-203, 37-31-304, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-31-203, 37-31-304, MCA 
 
REASON:  Section 37-31-304, MCA, requires the board to provide, by rule, 
"procedures for granting an exception" to the "high school diploma or its equivalent" 
requirement for licensure. 
 The board is amending ARM 24.121.601 and 24.121.603 and adopting New 
Rules II, III, and IV to recognize various experience and training that will be 
acceptable for purposes of qualifying for a Montana license.  In conjunction with 
those amendments and adoptions, the board is, similarly, modifying its present 
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procedures for granting an exception to the "high school diploma or its equivalent" 
requirement so that the board has greater flexibility and board staff has more 
specific direction to allow exceptions without bringing each request to the board. 
 
 NEW RULE III  LICENSURE EQUIVALENCY FOR PROFESSIONAL 
EDUCATION  (1)  The board recognizes the fragmentation of license types among 
states making it difficult to determine license type and scope of practice from state to 
state.  The following is a breakdown of scopes of practice and is to be used to assist 
out-of-state applicants and the board in determining appropriate licensure, if any, 
regardless of the name or title of the out-of-state license that is equivalent to 
Montana licensure. 
 (2)  The scope of training required for the practice of barbering is as follows: 
 (a)  haircutting with proper uses of tools (e.g., shears, razor, clippers, and 
thinning shears); 
 (b)  shampooing and scalp treatments; 
 (c)  hairstyling, including weaves, braiding, and extensions; 
 (d)  wet setting, blow drying, curling, and flat ironing; and the arranging of dry 
hair; 
 (e)  hair coloring, hair lightening, waving, and relaxing; 
 (f)  facial shaving with straight razor; and 
 (g)  skin care. 
 (3)  The scope of training required for the practice of cosmetology is as 
follows: 
 (a)  manicuring and pedicuring, including massage and polishing, nail art, and 
use of an electric nail file; 
 (b)  application and removal of artificial nails, gels, tips, and wraps; 
 (c)  skin care, skin exfoliation, facials, makeup application, epilation, electricity 
and light therapies, and application of artificial lashes; 
 (d)  hair coloring, hair lightening, waving, and relaxing; 
 (e)  shampoo and scalp treatments; 
 (f)  hairstyling, including weaves, braiding, and extensions; 
 (g)  wet setting, blow drying, curling and flat ironing, and the arranging of dry 
hair; and 
 (h)  haircutting with proper uses of tools (e.g., shears, razor, clippers, and 
thinning shears). 
 (4)  The scope of training required for the practice of electrology is as follows: 
 (a)  electrolysis; 
 (b)  thermolysis; 
 (c)  the blend; 
 (d)  electricity, chemistry, and light therapy; and 
 (e)  epilation. 
 (5)  The scope of training required for the practice of manicuring is as follows: 
 (a)  manicuring; 
 (b)  pedicuring; and 
 (c)  applying and removing artificial nails, gels, tips, and wraps and use of an 
electric nail file. 
 (6)  The scope of training required for the practice of esthetics is as follows: 
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 (a)  skin care; 
 (b)  skin exfoliation, facials, and makeup application; 
 (c)  epilation; 
 (d)  electricity and light therapies; and 
 (e)  application of artificial lashes. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-31-203, 37-31-304, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-31-203, 37-31-304, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board determined that it is reasonably necessary to adopt New Rule 
III to better define qualifications to meet licensure by credentialing for out-of-state 
applicants.  The amendments also address the various types of licensure from other 
states that may not be directly compatible with Montana licensure requirements, and 
how they will be addressed by staff and the board in relation to amendments being 
made to ARM 24.121.601 and 24.121.603. 
 
 NEW RULE IV  CREDITED HOURS FOR MONTANA-LICENSED 
INDIVIDUALS IN A COSMETOLOGY OR BARBERING PROGRAM  (1)  A Montana 
licensee will receive the following credit of hours towards course requirements upon 
enrollment in a cosmetology course in Montana: 
 (a)  licensed barber 1500 hours; 
 (b)  licensed electrologist 80 hours; 
 (c)  licensed manicurist 200 hours; or 
 (d)  licensed esthetician 325 hours of credit will be given towards the 
cosmetology course. 
 (2)  A Montana-licensed cosmetologist may apply for a barber license after 
completion of an additional 150 hours in barbering: 
 (a)  125 hours in clipper cutting; and 
 (b)  25 hours in straight razor shaving. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-31-203, 37-31-304, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-31-203, 37-31-304, MCA 
 
REASON:  There has been a great deal of discussion regarding the application of a 
licensee's prior training to additional licensure.  To provide consistency among 
licensed schools in Montana, the board is adopting New Rule IV to clarify the 
requirement of licensed schools to credit individuals the appropriate number of hours 
if they enroll in a cosmetology or barbering program subsequent to becoming 
licensed in Montana in another area of practice.  See also the REASON for ARM 
24.121.601.  
 
 NEW RULE V  INACTIVE INSTRUCTOR LICENSE  (1)  The status of inactive 
allows the licensee to maintain a license with the board; however, the licensee may 
not practice for more than ten days in any one calendar year as a substitute 
instructor with an inactive status.  The board may request documentation if 
necessary. 
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 (2)  A licensee may place their instructor license on inactive status by 
submitting a request in writing or electronically to the department. 
 (3)  A licensee with an inactive status must abide by all the statutes and rules 
pertaining to the license, including updating licensee information such as contact 
information and disciplinary actions. 
 (4)  Inactive licensees are not subject to CE requirements while on inactive 
status. 
 (5)  In order to avoid lapse, expiration, or termination of the instructor license, 
an inactive licensee must renew the inactive license each renewal period and pay 
the appropriate fee. 
 (6)  To reactivate an inactive instructor license, the licensee must complete a 
reactivation request form, submit the fee, and provide proof of 30 hours of completed 
CE of which eight hours must be in teaching methodology, within the last 12 months 
prior to activating their instructor license. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-1-319, 37-31-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-319, 37-31-203, 37-31-305, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board determined it is reasonably necessary to redefine the process 
for inactive instructor licenses.  For clarity, the board is eliminating the inactive 
instructor language from ARM 24.121.2101 and relocating the provisions as a 
separate rule in New Rule V. 
 
 NEW RULE VI  LICENSEE AND APPLICANT CONTACT INFORMATION 
 (1)  A licensee or applicant of the board is required to update their primary 
contact information with the department no later than 30 days following a change in 
contact information.  This includes, but is not limited to, the following information: 
 (a)  name; 
 (b)  mailing address; 
 (c)  telephone number; 
 (d)  e-mail; 
 (e)  physical address for business licenses; 
 (f)  ownership for business licenses; and 
 (g)  hours of operation for business licenses. 
 (2)  E-mail is the department's primary method of contact, unless otherwise 
requested by the licensee or applicant in writing. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-131, 37-31-203, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-131, 37-1-309, 37-31-203, MCA 
 
REASON:  The board is adopting New Rule VI to require that licensees provide and 
maintain specific contact and business information for the board.  This new rule will 
address complaints from licensees regarding their lack of notice regarding license 
renewal and other board correspondence, and will help facilitate paperless 
correspondence and online renewal, thereby decreasing board costs.  It will also 
specifically require ownership and hours of operation for licensed salons and shops, 
which will aid the board's efforts relative to inspections and compliance. 
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 6.  Concerned persons may present their data, views, or arguments either 
orally or in writing at the hearing.  Written data, views, or arguments may also be 
submitted to the Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists, 301 South Park Avenue, 
P.O. Box 200513, Helena, Montana 59620-0513, by facsimile to (406) 841-2305, or 
e-mail to dlibsdcos@mt.gov, and must be received no later than 5:00 p.m., July 10, 
2015. 
 
 7.  An electronic copy of this notice of public hearing is available at 
www.cosmetology.mt.gov (department and board's web site).  The department 
strives to make the electronic copy of this notice conform to the official version of the 
notice, as printed in the Montana Administrative Register, but advises all concerned 
persons that in the event of a discrepancy between the official printed text of the 
notice and the electronic version of the notice, only the official printed text will be 
considered.  In addition, although the department strives to keep its web site 
accessible at all times, concerned persons should be aware that the web site may 
be unavailable during some periods, due to system maintenance or technical 
problems, and that technical difficulties in accessing or posting to the e-mail address 
do not excuse late submission of comments. 
 
 8.  The board maintains a list of interested persons who wish to receive 
notices of rulemaking actions proposed by this board.  Persons who wish to have 
their name added to the list shall make a written request that includes the name, e-
mail, and mailing address of the person to receive notices and specifies that the 
person wishes to receive notices regarding all board administrative rulemaking 
proceedings or other administrative proceedings.  The request must indicate 
whether e-mail or standard mail is preferred.  Such written request may be sent or 
delivered to the Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists, 301 South Park Avenue, P.O. 
Box 200513, Helena, Montana 59620-0513; faxed to the office at (406) 841-2305; e-
mailed to dlibsdcos@mt.gov; or made by completing a request form at any rules 
hearing held by the agency. 
 
 9.  The bill sponsor contact requirements of 2-4-302, MCA, apply and have 
been fulfilled.  Senator Elsie Arntzen, the primary bill sponsor for Senate Bill 343 
(2013), was contacted on August 18, 2014, by electronic mail. 
 
 10.  With regard to the requirements of 2-4-111, MCA, the board has 
determined that the amendment of ARM 24.121.301, 24.121.403, 24.121.601, 
24.121.603, 24.121.605, 24.121.611, 24.121.803, 24.121.805, 24.121.807, 
24.121.809, 24.121.1103, 24.121.1105, 24.121.1301, 24.121.1509, 24.121.1517, 
24.121.2101, and 24.121.2301 will not significantly and directly impact small 
businesses. 
 With regard to the requirements of 2-4-111, MCA, the board has determined 
that the adoption of NEW RULES I through VI will not significantly and directly 
impact small businesses. 
 Documentation of the board's above-stated determinations is available upon 
request to the Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists, 301 South Park Avenue, P.O. 
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Box 200513, Helena, Montana 59620-0513, by facsimile to (406) 841-2305, or e-
mail to dlibsdcos@mt.gov. 
 
 11.  Tyler Moss, attorney, has been designated to preside over and conduct 
this hearing. 
 
 BOARD OF BARBERS AND  
 COSMETOLOGISTS 
 WENDELL PETERSEN, PRESIDENT 
 
/s/ DARCEE L. MOE /s/ PAM BUCY 
Darcee L. Moe Pam Bucy, Commissioner 
Rule Reviewer DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 
 Certified to the Secretary of State June 1, 2015 
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 BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
 OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the adoption of New 
Rules I through IV, the amendment of 
ARM 42.13.902 and 42.13.904, and 
the repeal of ARM 42.13.903 
pertaining to the Responsible Alcohol 
Sales and Service Act server training 
programs 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING ON 
PROPOSED ADOPTION, 
AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 

 
1.  On July 9, 2015, at 11 a.m., the Department of Revenue will hold a public 

hearing in the Third Floor Reception Area Conference Room of the Sam W. Mitchell 
Building, located at 125 North Roberts, Helena, Montana, to consider the proposed 
adoption, amendment, and repeal of the above-stated rules.  The conference room 
is most readily accessed by entering through the east doors of the building. 

 
2.  The Department of Revenue will make reasonable accommodations for 

persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this public hearing or need an 
alternative accessible format of this notice.  If you require an accommodation, please 
advise the department of the nature of the accommodation needed, no later than 5 
p.m. on June 26, 2015.  Please contact Laurie Logan, Department of Revenue, 
Director's Office, P.O. Box 7701, Helena, Montana 59604-7701; telephone (406) 
444-7905; fax (406) 444-3696; or e-mail lalogan@mt.gov. 

 
3.  The department is proposing the rule actions in this notice to provide clear 

guidance to state trainers and private training providers on the trainer application 
process and training instruction requirements.  Since the adoption of the server 
training rules following passage of the Responsible Alcohol Sales and Service Act in 
2011, the department has worked with trainers to ensure the quality of trainers and 
the effectiveness of training programs.  Updating the rules to reflect information the 
department has been providing to trainers will help ensure consistency in the 
administration of training programs. 

 
4.  The rules as proposed to be adopted provide as follows: 
 
NEW RULE I  DEFINITIONS  The following definitions apply to this 

subchapter: 
(1)  "Acceptable forms of identification" include: 
(a)  state driver license or identification card; 
(b)  Canadian driver license or identification card; 
(c)  passport; 
(d)  tribal identification card; and 
(e)  any form of government issued identification. 
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(2)  "Combined exam score" means the overall score of an exam 
administered by a private training provider where the Montana portion of the exam is 
weighted as 50 percent of the overall exam score. 

(3)  "House policies" means a company policy that dictates how a certain 
situation, activity, or process should be handled. 

(4)  "Incident log" means a document that tracks situations occurring on the 
licensed premises. 

(5)  "Private training provider" means a private business that provides 
responsible alcohol sales and service training using a program that is approved by 
the department. 

(6)  "Proof of training document" means a document stating the program 
name, training date, participant's name, and participant's date of birth, that is issued 
to a participant who obtained a score of 80 percent or more on the exam. 

(7)  "State trainer" means an individual that is approved by the department to 
provide responsible alcohol sales and service training using the department's 
curriculum. 

(8)  "Training records" means records submitted to the department by a 
private training provider that include the program name, training date, whether 
training was online or in person, and each participant's name, date of birth, and 
combined exam score. 

 
AUTH:  16-4-1009, MCA 
IMP:  16-4-1006, MCA 
 
REASONABLE NECESSITY:  The department proposes adopting New Rule I 

to add definitions of terms used and/or proposed to be used in subchapter 9.  
Definitions are necessary to add clarity and provide more detailed information for the 
industry and public regarding the subject matter covered in the rules. 

 
NEW RULE II  STATE TRAINER APPLICATION PROCESS  (1) The 

department, in its sole discretion, may approve an application for an individual to be 
a state trainer. 

(2)  To apply to be a state trainer, an applicant must: 
(a)  possess a minimum of one year combined experience in: 
(i)  law enforcement; 
(ii)  communications; 
(iii)  public relations; 
(iv)  healthcare; or 
(v)  education; 
(b)  serve on a drug- or alcohol-related coalition; 
(c)  have endured an alcohol-related life-changing experience; or 
(d)  possess experience equivalent to the criteria above, as approved by the 

department. 
(3)  In addition to the requirements in (2), an applicant must: 
(a)  possess a minimum of one year experience in public speaking; 
(b)  be a high school graduate or possess the GED equivalent; 
(c)  be at least 21 years of age; and 
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(d)  have no alcohol-related convictions within the past five years. 
(4)  Upon the department's approval of an application, the applicant must 

attend the department's training and pass the exam with a minimum score of 90 
percent to be certified as a state trainer. 

(5)  A state trainer shall retain certification unless it is revoked or suspended 
by the department or withdrawn by the trainer.  The department may revoke or 
suspend certification upon determining that the trainer is unsuitable. 

 
AUTH:  16-4-1009, MCA 
IMP:  16-4-1006, MCA 
 
REASONABLE NECESSITY:  The department proposes adopting New Rule 

II to set out the minimum qualification requirements for individuals interested in 
becoming a state trainer who will instruct participants using the department's 
curriculum on alcohol sales and service.  The proposed eligibility requirements strive 
to ensure that training sessions are presented clearly and effectively.  The proposed 
rule also sets out the process an individual would undertake to become a state 
trainer, including attendance of a training session and passage of a department 
exam.  Making this content available in the rule will provide potential trainers with the 
criteria the department uses in its approval process.  The proposed rule further 
provides that the department may revoke or suspend a state trainer's certification if 
warranted. 

 
NEW RULE III  PRIVATE TRAINING PROGRAM APPLICATION PROCESS 
(1)  The department, in its sole discretion, has the authority to approve a 

private training provider's program. 
(2)  A private training provider's program must adhere to the curriculum 

requirements set forth in [NEW RULE IV]. 
(3)  An applicant seeking to provide in-classroom training must submit: 
(a)  the curriculum, including the Montana specific training supplement; 
(b)  classroom materials used by the trainer and participants; 
(c)  instructional aids, including videos or other visual components; 
(d)  sample proof of training document; and 
(e)  the exam, its answers, and an explanation of how the combined exam 

score will be calculated. 
(4)  An applicant seeking to provide online training must: 
(a)  make the program available to the department in its online format; 
(b)  incorporate videos, scenarios, or games into the program; 
(c)  provide a sample proof of training document; and 
(d)  submit the exam, its answers, and an explanation of how the combined 

exam score will be calculated. 
(5)  A private training program shall retain its approval status for five years 

unless it is revoked or suspended by the department or withdrawn by the training 
provider.  Upon expiration of the five-year term, the provider may apply to have its 
program reapproved under the application process. 

 
AUTH:  16-4-1009, MCA 
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IMP:  16-4-1006, MCA 
 
REASONABLE NECESSITY:  The two types of alcohol server training 

programs are:  (1) the state program, where state trainers instruct participants using 
the department's curriculum; and (2) private training programs, where private 
businesses instruct participants using a program developed by the business and 
approved by the department.  The department proposes adopting New Rule III to 
provide private businesses with information on how to submit a program for the 
department's approval so that the private training provider can instruct participants 
using that program.  Additionally, the proposed rule requires review of an approved 
program every five years to ensure the content remains consistent and up-to-date 
with the Montana Alcoholic Beverage Code. 

 
NEW RULE IV  CURRICULUM REQUIREMENTS FOR STATE AND 

PRIVATE TRAINING PROGRAMS  (1)  In addition to the requirements in 16-4-1006, 
MCA, the curriculum must cover the: 

(a)  effects of alcohol on the body, including behavioral cues and absorption 
rates; 

(b)  standard drink sizes and equivalency; 
(c)  methods to identify underage or intoxicated persons and prevent sales 

thereto; 
(d)  strategies used by underage persons to obtain alcohol; 
(e)  acceptable forms of identification; 
(f)  actions that can be taken to prevent an alcohol-related incident from 

occurring; 
(g)  maintenance of documentation that may affect liability, including an 

incident log and house policies; and  
(h)  techniques for denying alcohol sales. 
 
AUTH:  16-4-1009, MCA 
IMP:  16-4-1006, MCA 
 
REASONABLE NECESSITY:  The content in this proposed New Rule IV is 

largely relocated from ARM 42.13.904, which set forth the responsibilities of training 
providers.  The department proposes relocating and updating this content within this 
rule to clarify that the curriculum requirements apply to both the state program and 
private training programs.  The department further proposes removing all content 
previously set forth in ARM 42.13.904 that reiterated 16-4-1006, MCA, in favor of 
inserting a citation to that statute in the introductory language of this new rule. 

 
5.  The rules as proposed to be amended provide as follows, new matter 

underlined, deleted matter interlined: 
 
42.13.902  DEPARTMENT RESPONSIBILITIES REGARDING THE 

ENFORCEMENT OF MANDATORY SERVER AND SALES STATE TRAINING 
PROGRAMS  (1)  The implementation and enforcement of the mandatory server 
and sales training programs within the Responsible Alcohol Sales and Service Act in 
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Montana is under the exclusive authority and jurisdiction of the Department of 
Revenue.  This is intended for state licenses and does not extend to tribal 
government and federal government issued licenses. 

(2)  The department's goal is to have effective and affordable training widely 
available through approved training providers in order to achieve public health and 
safety goals with a trained work force.  Although the department cannot guarantee it 
will meet these goals continuously, the department will strive to accomplish them 
based on available resources. 

(3)  To comply with and implement the Act, the department will: 
(1)  The department shall: 
(a)  develop a standard curriculum to set the baseline for all training 

providers meeting the requirements of [NEW RULE IV]; 
(b)  update the standard curriculum on an annual basis following each 

legislative session; 
(c)  determine delivery standards based on an objective evaluation; 
(d)  determine testing standards based on an objective evaluation; 
(e)  conduct train-the-trainer sessions for the standard curriculum or delegate 

such responsibility to another entity; 
(f)  determine trainer specifications, training policies and coordinate the trainer 

network for the standard curriculum; and 
(g)  determine specifications for training providers. 
(c)  conduct a full review of the curriculum every five years; 
(d)  issue determinations on state trainer applications within 30 days of the 

recruitment period closing; 
(e)  facilitate the training of state trainers; 
(f)  provide training materials; 
(g)  grade exams; and 
(h)  issue proof of training documents. 
(2)  A state trainer shall: 
(a)  provide a minimum of three hours of training utilizing the department's 

curriculum; 
(b)  adhere to the department's curriculum delivery requirements; 
(c)  establish the time and location of training sessions; 
(d)  administer an exam provided by the department; 
(e)  submit the attendance roster and all completed exams to the department 

within two weeks of a training session; and 
(f)  abide by all applicable laws, regulations, and policies concerning the 

confidentiality of participants' information. 
(3)  The department shall not compensate state trainers for providing training.  

State trainers may charge participants up to $15 per person for each training 
session. 

(4)  The department will: 
(a)  approve, regulate, and monitor training providers and their curriculums; 
(b)  review and approve or deny a responsible alcohol sales and service 

training curriculum within 45 days of a complete application submittal; 
(c)  issue an approval or denial letter to the training provider; and 
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(d)  provide contact information on the department web site for all approved 
publicly offered training providers. 

(5)  The department will develop an electronic tracking system for training 
providers to input participants' training information. 

(6)  Other than through the train-the-trainer program, the department will not 
provide responsible alcohol sales and service training programs directly to retail 
sales employees. 

 
AUTH:  16-4-1009, MCA 
IMP:  16-4-1001, 16-4-1002, 16-4-1003, 16-4-1004, 16-4-1005, 16-4-

1006, 16-4-1007, 16-4-1008, MCA 
 
REASONABLE NECESSITY:  The department proposes amending ARM 

42.13.902 to set forth all information regarding the state training program together in 
a single rule.  The state training program is instructed by individuals approved by the 
department using the department's curriculum for alcohol sales and service.  The 
department proposes updating and locating its responsibilities under (1) and 
updating and relocating the state trainer's responsibilities under (2), to make this rule 
covering the state trainer program easier to follow and understand.  Additionally, the 
department is providing notice under new (3) that state trainers are not paid by the 
department for conducting training sessions but may charge participants. 

Portions of the state trainer content proposed to be included in this rule was 
previously located in ARM 42.13.904, which is also proposed to be restructured in 
this same notice, to locate the private training program content together in one rule. 

The department further proposes revising the title of the rule to better reflect 
the rule content as amended, and proposes striking unnecessary implementing 
statutes.  Section 16-4-1006, MCA, of the Responsible Alcohol Sales and Service 
Act, specifically addresses the server and sales training program and is therefore the 
only implementing statute necessary for this rule. 

 
42.13.904  PRIVATE TRAINING PROGRAMS PROVIDER 

RESPONSIBILITIES REGARDING THE RESPONSIBLE ALCOHOL SALES AND 
SERVICE ACT  (1)  In order for a responsible alcohol sales and service training 
curriculum to be valid for purposes of Title 16, Ch. 4, part 10, MCA, and the rules in 
this subchapter, the training provider must submit its curriculum to the department 
for approval.  All training providers shall meet the following submittal requirements 
for approval.  In order to have their curriculum approved, a training provider must 
submit: 

(a)  a hard copy of the curriculum and student workbook; 
(b)  a hard copy of the trainers' workbook or guide; 
(c)  a hard copy of all participant handouts; 
(d)  a hard copy of the course exam along with the answer sheet; 
(e)  a hard copy of any training supplement specific to the state of Montana; 
(f)  a hard copy of the program proof of completion document issued to 

participants; and 
(g)  a copy of all videos or other visual aids used in the training program. 
(1)  The department shall: 
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(a)  issue determinations on private training program applications within 45 
days; 

(b)  publish providers' contact information on the department's web site; 
(c)  provide notice of new legislation impacting curriculum within 30 days of 

passage; 
(d)  evaluate program effectiveness, including consideration of the percentage 

of program participants who sell to underage or intoxicated persons; and 
(e)  notify the provider of any required changes based upon program 

deficiencies. 
(2)  The department strongly supports and recommends the use of an 

interactive discussion format for both classroom and online curriculums. 
(3)  The department supports and recommends the use of community-based 

expert presenters during the training, e.g., a law enforcement officer to present 
information regarding false identifications, a health expert to present information 
pertaining to how alcohol affects the body, and an attorney to present potential 
liability and penalty issues. 

(4)  If submitting an online program, the training provider must also make the 
program in its online format available for the department to review. 

(5) The 
(2)  A private training provider must provide the contact information to be 

listed on the department's web site regarding the training provider including shall: 
(a)  company name provide a minimum of three hours of training utilizing the 

provider's approved curriculum; 
(b)  address; 
(c)  phone number; 
(d)  e-mail; and 
(e)  web site addresses. 
(b)  update its curriculum within 30 days of receiving notice of new legislation; 
(c)  submit updated curriculum to the department for review and only utilize 

updated curriculum upon receipt of departmental approval; 
(d)  establish the time and location of training sessions; 
(e)  administer an exam that includes a Montana portion provided by the 

department and questions based upon the curriculum content requirements set forth 
in [NEW RULE IV]; 

(f)  grade exams; 
(g)  issue proof of training documents; 
(h)  submit training records to the department on a monthly basis in the form 

prescribed by the department; and 
(i)  abide by all applicable laws, regulations, and policies concerning the 

confidentiality of participant's personal information. 
(3)  Upon determining that an approved program is ineffective or that the 

provider failed to adhere to any requirement in (2), the department shall notify the 
provider and the provider shall cease instructing the program.  The provider may 
apply to have a new program approved under the application process. 

(4)  The department shall not compensate private training providers for 
providing training.  The providers may charge participants for the training session. 
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(6)  In order for a responsible alcohol sales and service training curriculum to 
be approved by the department, the curriculum must provide at least three hours of 
instruction and meet course minimum standards to include the following content: 

(a)  the effects of alcohol on the human body, to include behavior cues and 
absorption rate factors; 

(b)  information on standard drink sizes and equivalency; 
(c)  information, including but not limited to, a review of Montana alcoholic 

beverage laws and criminal, civil, and administrative penalties related to 16-3-301, 
16-6-304, and 27-1-710, MCA; 

(d)  an explanation of the three types of liability, their full consequences, and 
the importance of not selling or serving to underage and intoxicated persons; 

(e)  procedures for checking identification and the acceptable forms of 
identification; 

(f)  procedures for gathering proper documentation that may affect the 
licensee's liability, including maintaining an incident log, training records, licensee's 
policies, and conditions of employment; 

(g)  training for handling difficult situations, such as persons who exhibit 
uncooperative, disruptive, or intimidating behavior; 

(h)  evaluation techniques regarding intoxicated persons or others who pose a 
potential liability, and recommended approaches for refusing sales or service; 

(i)  a final test that includes questions concerning alcohol and its effect on the 
body and behavior, recognizing and dealing with the problem drinker, Montana liquor 
laws, and terminating service.  The portion of the exam concerning Montana liquor 
laws shall consist of uniform questions approved by the department.  To keep the 
integrity of training, the program should have different tests that are used randomly; 
and 

(j)  the participant must pass the final test with a minimum score of 80 
percent. 

(7)  The curriculum must be delivered in a manner that accomplishes results 
based on an empirical objective evaluation and the department may periodically 
conduct a review of approved training to ensure that curriculum delivery meets the 
minimum standards. 

(8)  The department will continually strive to improve the effectiveness of both 
the training and the testing and will consider, among other factors, the future rate of 
violations by servers as a percentage who have undergone each type of training and 
testing.  If the department determines that a particular training or testing method is 
less successful than others, the department may require improvements in the less 
successful training or testing methods, or choose to not continue certification of such 
training. 

(9)  Training providers must resubmit their curriculum to the department every 
two years for approval. 

(10)  Based on the criteria within this rule, training providers approved prior to 
its adoption must seek and obtain re-approval within 90 days of the rule's effective 
date.  Training providers approved prior to the effective date of this rule may 
continue to provide training within the 90 days following the effective date while they 
are seeking the department's re-approval.  Any previous approval by the department 
will otherwise expire 90 days following the adoption of this rule. 
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(11)  Course exams must be graded by the training provider and not the 
individual trainer who instructed the course participants. 

(12)  Proof of training must be issued by the training provider and not the 
individual trainer who instructed the course participants. 

(13)  Within 30 days of each training session, training providers must: 
(a)  issue a certificate to each participant who successfully completed the 

training and passed the test that includes: 
(i)  full name; 
(ii)  date of birth; and 
(iii) date of training. 
(b)  provide electronic notification to the department, in a format prescribed by 

the department, the following information for all participants: 
(i)  the training provider's name; 
(ii)  the date of training; 
(iii)  the type of training (i.e., online, classroom, or both); 
(iv)  the participant's full name; 
(v)  the participant's date of birth; and 
(vi)  the participants passing or failing score. 
 
AUTH:  16-4-1009, MCA 
IMP:  16-3-301, 16-4-1001, 16-4-1002, 16-4-1003, 16-4-1004, 16-4-1005, 16-

4-1006, 16-4-1007, 16-4-1008, 16-6-304, 16-6-305, MCA 
 
REASONABLE NECESSITY:  The department proposes amending ARM 

42.13.904 to set forth all information regarding private training programs together in 
a single rule.  Private training programs are instructed by private businesses using a 
program that has been approved by the department.  The department proposes 
relocating the content unrelated to private training providers to other rules as also 
set forth in this same notice.  Additionally, the department proposes updating and 
locating its responsibilities under (1), and updating and relocating the private training 
providers' responsibilities under (2), to make the rule easier to follow and 
understand. 

The department proposes including the language in new (3) to make the 
private training providers aware that the department may require a provider to cease 
program instruction upon the department's notification that the program is ineffective 
or that the provider is not meeting its obligations.  Additionally, the department is 
providing notice under new (4) that private training providers are not paid by the 
department for conducting training sessions but may charge participants. 

The department further proposes revising the title of the rule to better reflect 
the rule content as amended and striking unnecessary implementing statutes.  
Section 16-4-1006, MCA, of the Responsible Alcohol Sales and Service Act, 
specifically addresses the server and sales training program and is therefore the 
only implementing statute necessary for this rule. 

 
6.  The department proposes to repeal the following rule: 
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42.13.903  LICENSEE RESPONSIBILITIES REGARDING THE 
RESPONSIBLE ALCOHOL SALES AND SERVICE ACT 

 
AUTH:  16-4-1009, MCA 
IMP:  16-3-301, 16-4-1001, 16-4-1002, 16-4-1003, 16-4-1004, 16-4-1005, 16-

4-1006, 16-4-1007, 16-4-1008, 16-6-304, 16-6-305, MCA 
 
REASONABLE NECESSITY:  The department proposes repealing ARM 

42.13.903 because the rule contains outdated training information and also 
reiterates portions of the statutory language from the Responsible Alcohol Sales and 
Service Act, making the rule unnecessary. 

 
7.  Concerned persons may submit their data, views, or arguments, either 

orally or in writing, at the hearing.  Written data, views, or arguments may also be 
submitted to:  Laurie Logan, Department of Revenue, Director's Office, P.O. Box 
7701, Helena, Montana 59604-7701; telephone (406) 444-7905; fax (406) 444-3696; 
or e-mail lalogan@mt.gov and must be received no later than July 20, 2015. 
 

8.  Laurie Logan, Department of Revenue, Director's Office, has been 
designated to preside over and conduct this hearing. 

 
9.  The Department of Revenue maintains a list of interested persons who 

wish to receive notices of rulemaking actions proposed by this agency.  Persons 
who wish to have their name added to the list shall make a written request, which 
includes the name and e-mail or mailing address of the person to receive notices 
and specifies that the person wishes to receive notice regarding a particular subject 
matter or matters.  Notices will be sent by e-mail unless a mailing preference is 
noted in the request.  A written request may be mailed or delivered to the person in 7 
above or faxed to the office at (406) 444-3696, or may be made by completing a 
request form at any rules hearing held by the Department of Revenue. 

 
10.  An electronic copy of this notice is available on the department's web site 

at revenue.mt.gov.  Open the drop down list under the "Other Useful Resources" tab 
located at the top of the homepage and select "Administrative Rules."  Proposal 
notices are located under the "Hearing Information" section within.  The department 
strives to make the electronic copy of this notice conform to the official version of the 
notice, as printed in the Montana Administrative Register, but advises all concerned 
persons that in the event of a discrepancy between the official printed text of the 
notice and the electronic version of the notice, only the official printed text will be 
considered.  While the department also strives to keep its web site accessible at all 
times, in some instances it may be temporarily unavailable due to system 
maintenance or technical problems. 

 
11.  The bill sponsor contact requirements of 2-4-302, MCA, apply and have 

been fulfilled.  The primary sponsor of SB 29, 2011, Senator Lynda Moss, was 
notified by regular mail on July 9, 2013, and subsequently notified on May 8, 2015. 
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12.  With regard to the requirements of 2-4-111, MCA, the department has 
determined that the adoption, amendment, and repeal of the above-referenced rules 
will not significantly and directly impact small businesses. 

 
 
/s/ Laurie Logan   /s/ Mike Kadas 
Laurie Logan    Mike Kadas 
Rule Reviewer   Director of Revenue 

  
Certified to the Secretary of State June 1, 2015. 
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 BEFORE THE SECRETARY OF STATE 
 OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the adoption of New 
Rule I and amendment of ARM 
44.6.110, 44.6.113, 44.6.202, and 
44.6.203 pertaining to the Secretary 
of State's electronic filing system, the 
filing of a Title 71 lien, and 
requirements for filing UCC 
amendments with the Business 
Services Division 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING ON 
PROPOSED ADOPTION AND 
AMENDMENT 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 

 
 1.  On July 9, 2015, at 9:30 a.m., the Secretary of State will hold a public 
hearing in the Secretary of State's Office Conference Room, Room 260, State 
Capitol Building, Helena, Montana, to consider the proposed adoption and 
amendment of the above-stated rules. 

 
2.  The Secretary of State will make reasonable accommodations for persons 

with disabilities who wish to participate in this public hearing or need an alternative 
accessible format of this notice.  If you require an accommodation, contact the 
Secretary of State no later than 5:00 p.m. on June 25, 2015, to advise us of the 
nature of the accommodation that you need.  Please contact Jorge Quintana, 
Secretary of State's Office, P.O. Box 202801, Helena, MT 59620-2801; telephone 
(406) 431-7718; fax (406) 444-4249; TDD/Montana Relay Service (406) 444-9068; 
or e-mail jquintana@mt.gov. 

 
3.  The rule as proposed to be adopted provides as follows: 
 
NEW RULE I  SECRETARY OF STATE'S STATEWIDE ELECTRONIC 

FILING SYSTEM   (1)  Pursuant to 2-15-401 and 2-15-404, MCA, the secretary of 
state has developed and partially implemented a statewide electronic filing system to 
allow the online filing of many business documents required to be filed with the 
secretary of state. 

(2)  The online filing system is named SIMS, which is an acronym for the 
secretary of state's information management system. 

(3)  The implemented first phase of SIMS allows the online filing of Uniform 
Commercial Code documents. 

(4)  SIMS is hosted in a PCI (payment card industry) compliant data center 
and day-to-day operational and security management is the responsibility of a 
contracted vendor. 

(5)  The SIMS application is built to accept and store properly entered data, 
allow later search capability of the system, and provide standardized reporting.  

(6)  SIMS users are required to set up a SIMS account through ePass (the 
state of Montana's online access portal), which identifies them for the purpose of 
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authentication, unless the secretary of state is granted an exception from complying 
with ePass policies or standards. 

(7)  Password complexity for online users is consistent with Department of 
Administration standards. 

(8)  State and federal law governing the filing of lien notices does not require 
signatures if the document is filed online. 

(9)  SIMS generates an image based on the information entered by the online 
user which contains a unique filing number and filing date/time and may be printed 
for the user's records.     

 
AUTH:  2-15-404, MCA 
IMP:  2-15-401, 2-15-404, MCA 
 
REASON:  The Secretary of State has implemented the first phase of the electronic 
online filing system authorized by 2-15-404, MCA.  The first phase allows the filing of 
Uniform Commercial Code documents online.  Future phases will be implemented 
later this year to allow the online filing of many business documents required to be 
filed with the Secretary of State.  This rule is proposed to meet the requirements of 
2-15-404, MCA. 
 

4.  The rules as proposed to be amended provide as follows, new matter 
underlined, deleted matter interlined: 
 

 44.6.110  DEFINITIONS AND FORMAT REQUIREMENTS FOR THE FILING 
OF A TITLE 71 LIEN  (1) through (2)(a) remain the same. 

(b)  the social security number and/or federal tax ID number for every debtor 
listed if the lien is to appear on the farm bill master list per 7 U.S.C. § 1631;  

(c) through (g) remain the same. 
 
AUTH:  2-15-404, 30-9A-526, MCA 
IMP:  2-15-401, 2-15-404, 30-9A-502, 71-3-125, MCA  
 
REASON:  The Secretary of State is amending (2)(b) to clarify that a social security 
number and/or federal tax ID number need only be supplied if the lien is to appear 
on the Farm Bill Master List because of the federal law requiring those liens to 
contain that information.  The authority and implementation statutes were reviewed 
and updated. 
 

44.6.113  DEFINITIONS AND REQUIREMENTS FOR ONLINE FILING 
(1)  The following definitions apply for filing Uniform Commercial Code (UCC) 

liens and amendments online: 
(a)  "B2B" means business to business filings.  
(b)  "ePass" is the state of Montana's online access portal.  
(c)  "PCI" means payment card industry. 
(d)  "SIMS" is the secretary of state's online information management system. 
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(a) (e)  "Submitter" is a person or entity that files a Uniform Commercial Code 
document who, after having been authenticated to SIMS via ePass, is able to file lien 
notices or amendments or perform lien searches online;. 

(b)  "compliance technician" is a person who works in the secretary of state's 
office who is qualified to certify that a lien document meets the requirements of state 
and federal laws. 

(2)  Fees and payment methods for online filing of Uniform Commercial Code 
UCC liens and the federal farm bill liens and amendments are by credit and/or debit 
card. 

(3) through (8) remain the same. 
(9)  A Uniform Commercial Code document UCC and effective financing 

statement lien notices or amendments that is are successfully completed and 
submitted online will be considered filed upon receipt by the secretary of state's 
office once payment has successfully been completed by the submitter.  The online 
technology application will ensure the document is properly completed prior to 
acceptance structure of the online screens will guide the submitter while ensuring 
the notice or amendment adheres to all rules, laws, and regulations that govern the 
document. The submitter will be notified by an online message if required fields are 
not properly completed is notified by SIMS if the information entered does not 
adhere to the requirements that govern lien notices and amendments.  A message 
confirming successful completion and acceptance will appear online when the filing 
is accepted by SIMS. 

(10)  Submitters should print and retain their acknowledgement message as 
proof that the online filing was received and the filed document as proof that the 
online filing was received and recorded by the secretary of state's office. The 
acknowledgement message will contain a unique filing number, filing date and time, 
filing type, debtor(s) information, secured party(ies) information, and filing language. 

(11)  The following online filings will be rejected: 
(a)  a filing that is not machine readable when submitted via the B2B 

submission method; or 
(b) remains the same. 
(12)  The submitter will be notified by an online message if their document is 

rejected.  If a filing is later determined to be improper under 30-9A-420, MCA, the 
secretary of state's office will notify the submitter of the rejection. 

(13) remains the same. 
 
AUTH:  2-15-404, 30-9A-526, MCA 
IMP: 2-15-401, 2-15-404, 30-9A-502, 71-3-125, MCA 
 
REASON:  The proposed amendments are reasonably necessary to update existing 
rule language to conform to the online filing requirements for Uniform Commercial 
Code lien notices filed through the Secretary of State's newly implemented online 
information management system (SIMS).  The authority and implementation statutes 
were reviewed and updated. 

 
44.6.202  EFFECTIVE DATE AND TIME  (1)  Any filing lien notice or 

amendment delivered by the postal service by 4:00 p.m. has an effective time and 



 
 
 

 
11-6/11/15 MAR Notice No. 44-2-202 

-746- 

date as of 8:00 a.m. on the delivery date.  Any lien notice or amendment delivered 
by facsimile, walk-in, or express delivery service by 4:00 p.m. has an effective time 
and date consistent with the delivery date and time.  Filings received after 4:00 p.m. 
have the next business day's effective date. 

(2)  Any filing received by fax, lien notice or amendment delivered by the 
postal service, facsimile, walk-in, or express delivery service will have the same date 
and time as received after 4:00 p.m. has an effective time and date of 8:00 a.m. the 
next business day. 

(3)  Any lien notice or amendment filed online through the secretary of state's 
electronic filing system will receive the effective date and time the same as it was 
successfully recorded in the UCC database. 

  
AUTH:  2-15-404, 30-9A-526, MCA 
IMP:  2-15-401, 2-15-404, 30-9A-519, 71-3-125, MCA 
 
REASON:  The amendments are reasonably necessary to clarify that Uniform 
Commercial Code documents delivered for filing by 4:00 p.m. will receive an 
effective date and time of 8:00 a.m. on the delivery date, Uniform Commercial Code 
documents delivered for filing after 4:00 p.m. will receive an effective date and time 
of 8:00 a.m. the next business day, and that Uniform Commercial Code documents 
filed online through the Secretary of State's information management system (SIMS) 
will receive the effective date and time the same as when they are successfully 
recorded.  The authority and implementation statutes were reviewed and updated.  
 

44.6.203  REQUIREMENTS FOR FILING UCC AMENDMENTS  (1)  In 
addition to the requirements of 30-9A-512, MCA, the following information needs to 
be included: 

(a)  the name of a debtor currently reflected on the Secretary of State's 
records for the original filing number being amended; 

(b)  the name of a secured party currently reflected on the Secretary of State's 
records for the original filing number being amended; and 

(c)  the original initial filing number on file with the secretary of state must be 
included; and 

(i)  only one filing number per form is permitted. 
(2) remains the same. 
 

AUTH:  2-15-404, 30-9A-526, MCA 
IMP:  2-15-401, 2-15-404, 30-9A-519, MCA 
 
REASON:  The amendments are proposed to harmonize the Secretary of State's 
filing requirements to Revised Article 9 of the Uniform Commercial Code.  The 
authority and implementation statutes were reviewed and updated.  
 
 5.  Concerned persons may present their data, views, or arguments, either 
orally or in writing, at the hearing.  Written data, views, or arguments may also be 
submitted to Jorge Quintana, Secretary of State's Office, P.O. Box 202801, Helena, 
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Montana 59620-2801, or by e-mailing jquintana@mt.gov, and must be received no 
later than 5:00 p.m., July 16, 2015. 

 
6.  Jorge Quintana, Secretary of State's Office, P.O. Box 202801, Helena, 

Montana 59620-2801, has been designated to preside over and conduct the 
hearing. 
 

7.  The Secretary of State maintains a list of interested persons who wish to 
receive notices of rulemaking actions proposed by this agency.  Persons who wish 
to have their name added to the list shall make a written request which includes the 
name and mailing address of the person to receive notices and specifies that the 
person wishes to receive notices regarding administrative rules, corporations, 
elections, notaries, records, uniform commercial code, or combination thereof.  Such 
written request may be mailed or delivered to the Secretary of State's Office, 
Administrative Rules Services, 1236 Sixth Avenue, P.O. Box 202801, Helena, MT  
59620-2801, faxed to the office at (406) 444-4263, or may be made by completing a 
request form at any rules hearing held by the Secretary of State's Office. 
 

8.  An electronic copy of this proposal notice is available through the 
Secretary of State's web site at http://sos.mt.gov/ARM/Register.  The Secretary of 
State strives to make the electronic copy of the notice conform to the official version 
of the notice, as printed in the Montana Administrative Register, but advises all 
concerned persons that in the event of a discrepancy between the official printed 
text of the notice and the electronic version of the notice, only the official printed text 
will be considered.  In addition, although the Secretary of State works to keep its 
web site accessible at all times, concerned persons should be aware that the web 
site may be unavailable during some periods, due to system maintenance or 
technical problems. 

 
9.  The bill sponsor contact requirements of 2-4-302, MCA, do not apply. 
 
10.  With regard to the requirements of 2-4-111, MCA, the Secretary of State 

has determined that the adoption and amendment of the above-referenced rules will 
not significantly and directly impact small businesses. 

 
 
/s/  JORGE QUINTANA   /s/  LINDA MCCULLOCH   
Jorge Quintana    Linda McCulloch 
Rule Reviewer    Secretary of State 

   
Dated this 1st day of June, 2015. 
 



 
 
 

 
Montana Administrative Register 11-6/11/15 

-748- 

BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION 
OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 

 
In the matter of the amendment of ARM 
2.59.104 pertaining to semiannual 
assessment for banks 

) 
) 
) 
 

NOTICE OF AMENDMENT 

TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 

1.  On April 16, 2015, the Department of Administration published MAR 
Notice No. 2-59-526 pertaining to the proposed amendment of the above-stated rule 
at page 351 of the 2015 Montana Administrative Register, Issue Number 7. 
 

2.  The department has thoroughly considered the comment received.  The 
comment received and the department's response are as follows: 
 
COMMENT 1:  Sheri Nicholson of Beartooth Bank commented there were only 30 
days in June. 
 
RESPONSE 1:  The department thanks Ms. Nicholson for her comment on this 
amendment.  Ms. Nicholson is referring to page two of the Notice of Proposed 
Amendment where a typing error of June 31, 2015, is listed as the semiannual 
assessment date instead of June 30, 2015. 
 

3.  The department has adopted the following rule as proposed, but with the 
following changes from the original proposal, new matter underlined, deleted matter 
interlined: 
 

2.59.104  SEMIANNUAL ASSESSMENT  (1) through (3) remain as proposed. 
(4)  No fee will be charged for the June 3130, 2015, semiannual assessment.  

This section sunsets August 31, 2015. 
 
 
 
By: /s/ Sheila Hogan  By: /s/ Michael P. Manion  
 Sheila Hogan, Director Michael P. Manion, Rule Reviewer 
 Department of Administration Department of Administration 
 
Certified to the Secretary of State June 1, 2015. 
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 BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE 
 OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of 
ARM 8.94.3817 pertaining to the 
administration of the 2017 Biennium 
Treasure State Endowment Program 
–Planning Grants 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF AMENDMENT  
 
 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 

 1.  On April 16, 2015, the Department of Commerce published MAR Notice 
No. 8-94-130 pertaining to the public hearing on the proposed amendment of the 
above-stated rule at page 355 of the 2015 Montana Administrative Register, Issue 
Number 7. 

 
2.  The department has amended the above-stated rule as proposed.  
 
3.  No comments or testimony were received. 

 
/s/ G. Martin Tuttle  /s/ Douglas Mitchell    
G. MARTIN TUTTLE  DOUGLAS MITCHELL 
Rule Reviewer  Deputy Director  
  Department of Commerce 
 
Certified to the Secretary of State June 1, 2015. 
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 BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE 
 OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of 
ARM 8.94.3727 pertaining to the 
administration of the 2015-2016 
Federal Community Development 
Block Grant (CDBG) Program 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF AMENDMENT 
 
 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 

 1.  On April 30, 2015, the Department of Commerce published MAR Notice 
No. 8-94-131 pertaining to the public hearing on the proposed amendment of the 
above-stated rule at page 402 of the 2015 Montana Administrative Register, Issue 
Number 8. 
 

2.  The department has amended the above-stated rule as proposed.  
 

3.  The department has thoroughly considered the comments and testimony 
received.  A summary of the comments received and the department's responses 
are as follows: 

 
Comment #1:  A comment was received – having gone through the planning process 
for housing, the increase in funding amount is completely reasonable and 
appreciated, and the corresponding match requirements make sense as well. 
 
Response #1:  The proposed increase to award amount and corresponding match 
requirements are intended to encourage quality planning projects, given current cost 
estimates for certain planning activities. 
 
Comment #2:  A comment was received – in the form of a question to staff – similar 
to the consolidation of the planning activities and guidelines; will a similar process be 
in place for project grants in the future? 
 
Response #2:  The department intends to consolidate the project grant guidelines in 
a similar manner as the planning grant guidelines, but this process is taking longer 
due to the level of detail involved in project grant guidelines and applications.  The 
Community Development Division will be holding webinars and training sessions in 
the near future, and working with community development and economic 
development representatives to gain insight and determine what specific changes 
will be helpful to both programs, with the intent to launch the consolidated document 
in early 2016. 
 
Comment #3:  Comment was received – in the form of a letter to staff - from the 
Cancer Action Network, the American Lung Association, and the Montana 
Department of Public Health and Human Services, encouraging the department to 
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consider adopting smoke-free requirements as a threshold for new housing 
development receiving grant funds. 
 
Response #3:  The comments provided are appreciated but pertain more specifically 
to the project grant application guidelines – when housing is being constructed – as 
opposed to the planning grant stage. 
 
Comment #4:  A comment was received – in the form of a question to staff - 
indicating the commenter was excited to see the planning grant amount increased to 
$50,000, and was wondering if a combination of planning activities could be applied 
for and funded under one CDBG application; for instance, if the community wished 
to hire an architect to design a senior/community center and also retain a grant 
writer to prepare a CDBG Public Facility grant for the project designed by the 
architect, would this be eligible? 
 
Response #4:  The CDBG Application Guidelines for Housing, Public Facilities and 
Economic Development Planning Grants will continue to consider funding multiple, 
related planning activities, so long as the activities proposed are eligible pursuant to 
the guidelines and are related to one project.   
 
Comment #5:  A comment was received – in the form of a question to staff - are 
planning grants accepted year round?  The guidelines suggest this is the case; 
however, that seems very generous so I just wanted to be sure.  Is there a specific 
deadline they must be submitted by?  
 
Response #5:  The department will accept applications for the FFY 2015 CDBG 
planning grant cycle on a first-come, first-served basis, beginning July 1st, until all 
FFY 2015 funds have been allocated. 
 
Comment #6:  A comment was received suggesting the inclusion of the development 
of an independent water and/or sewer district, including public outreach, legal 
assistance, development of bylaws, cost estimating and user rates estimating, 
boundary establishments, and elections per Title 7, parts 22 and 23, MCA, as an 
eligible activity under "Section II Eligible Planning Projects and Cost." 
 
Response #6:  The 2015 CDBG Application Guidelines for Housing, Public Facility 
and Economic Planning Grants allows applicants to propose a planning project other 
than those listed under eligible activities, which may be appropriate under special 
circumstances or was not contemplated in the development of the guidelines.  
Applicants should work with Planning Bureau staff to determine whether a proposed 
project meets the eligibility requirements under this section of the guidelines.   
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/s/ Kelly A. Lynch  /s/ Douglas Mitchell   
KELLY A. LYNCH  DOUGLAS MITCHELL 
Rule Reviewer  Deputy Director  
  Department of Commerce 

 
Certified to the Secretary of State June 1, 2015. 
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 BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE 
 OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of 
ARM 8.111.602 and 8.111.603 
pertaining to the Low Income Housing 
Tax Credit Program 

) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF AMENDMENT 
 
 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 

 1.  On March 26, 2015, the Department of Commerce published MAR Notice 
No. 8-111-129 pertaining to the public hearing on the proposed amendment of the 
above-stated rules at page 288 of the 2015 Montana Administrative Register, Issue 
Number 6. 
 

2.  The department has amended the above-stated rules as proposed.  
 

3.  No comments or testimony were received. 
 
 
 
/s/ G. Martin Tuttle  /s/ Douglas Mitchell   
G. MARTIN TUTTLE  DOUGLAS MITCHELL 
Rule Reviewer  Deputy Director  
  Department of Commerce 

 
Certified to the Secretary of State June 1, 2015. 
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BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
STATE OF MONTANA 

 
In the matter of the amendment of 
ARM 24.21.1003 pertaining to 
apprenticeship training ratios 

) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF AMENDMENT 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
 1.  On April 16, 2015, the Department of Labor and Industry (department) 
published MAR Notice No. 24-21-302 regarding a public hearing on the proposed 
amendment of the above-stated rule at page 363 of the 2015 Montana 
Administrative Register, Issue No. 7.  On April 30, 2015, the department published 
an amended notice of public hearing at page 405 of the 2015 Montana 
Administrative Register, Issue No. 8. 
 
 2.  On May 11, 2015, at 10:00 a.m., the department held a public hearing in 
the auditorium of the DPHHS Building, 111 North Sanders, Helena, Montana, to 
consider the proposed amendment of the above-stated rule.  Various members of 
the public attended and commented on the proposed amendments.  In addition, one 
member of the public submitted written comments. 
 
 3.  The department has thoroughly considered the comments and testimony 
received.  A summary of the comments received and the department's responses 
are as follows: 
 
Comment 1:  Several commenters expressed support for the proposed rule 
amendments exactly as the amendments were drafted and proposed. 
  
Response 1:  The department acknowledges the comments. 
 
Comment 2:  A commenter objected to the 1:2 apprentice-to-journeyman ratio, and 
suggested that a 1:1 ratio would make it easier for an apprentice to get sufficient 
hours in order to timely complete an apprenticeship.  The commenter appeared to 
suggest that the issue was related to when the apprenticeship program was 
sponsored by a labor union and used a 1:2 ratio, apprentices could not obtain 
sufficient hours to timely complete the apprenticeship. 
 
Response 2:  The department concludes that the proposed amendments of ARM 
24.21.1003(4) make it more likely that an apprentice will keep on track for the timely 
completion of the apprenticeship, as the department will more closely monitor the 
progress of apprentices.  The department believes that the commenter may 
misunderstand the effect of the recent amendments to ARM 24.21.1003 which allow 
an apprentice who has made sufficient progress in both hours of training and in 
related instruction to be excluded from the 1:2 ratio requirement.  The recent 
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amendments, in the department's judgment, have already addressed many of the 
concerns expressed by the commenter.   
The department also notes that the subject of the ratio is not a part of the present 
rulemaking proposal.  To the extent that the commenter intended to comment 
directly on the recent amendments to the ratio (see MAR Notice No. 24-21-301, 
published on December 11, 2014, on page 2920 of the 2014 Montana Administrative 
Register, Issue No. 23), the comments are untimely because that comment period 
on the numerical ratio has been closed for several months.   
 
 4.  The department has amended ARM 24.21.1003 as proposed. 
 
 
/s/ MARK CADWALLADER /s/ PAM BUCY 
Mark Cadwallader   Pam Bucy, Commissioner 
Alternate Rule Reviewer   DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
Certified to the Secretary of State June 1, 2015 
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 BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC 
 HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES OF THE 
 STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the adoption of New 
Rule I and the amendment of ARM 
37.97.102, 37.97.132, and 37.97.186 
pertaining to updating rules for youth 
care facilities 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF ADOPTION AND 
AMENDMENT 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
1.  On January 15, 2015, the Department of Public Health and Human 

Services published MAR Notice No. 37-704 pertaining to the public hearing on the 
proposed adoption and amendment of the above-stated rules at page 12 of the 2015 
Montana Administrative Register, Issue Number 1. 

 
2.  The department has amended ARM 37.97.186 as proposed. 
 
3.  The department has adopted the following rule as proposed with the 

following changes from the original proposal.  Matter to be added is underlined.  
Matter to be deleted is interlined. 
 

NEW RULE I (37.97.191)  YOUTH CARE FACILITY (YCF):  FIRE SAFETY  
 (1)  The department adopts and incorporates by reference group R-3 of 
the occupancy designation/classification group R-3 of the International Fire Code 
(IFC), January 1, 2012, which sets forth the fire safety regulations that apply to youth 
care facilities.  A copy of group R-3 of the International Fire Code IFC definitions and 
requirements for R-3 occupancies may be obtained from the Fire Prevention and 
Investigation Section of the Department of Justice, 2225 11th Avenue, Helena, 
Montana, 59620. 

(2) remains as proposed. 
(3)  Smoke detectors approved by a recognized testing laboratory must be 

located on each level of the facility, at the top of stairways, in any bedroom, in any 
hallway leading to bedrooms, and in areas requiring separation as set forth in the 
International Fire Code according to IFC Section 907.2.10 907.2.11, IFC. 

(4) through (11) remain as proposed.  
 
AUTH: 52-2-111, 52-2-113, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, MCA 
IMP: 52-2-111, 52-2-603, 62-2-622 52-2-622, MCA 
 

4.  The department has amended the following rules as proposed, but with 
the following changes from the original proposal, new matter underlined, deleted 
matter interlined: 

 
 37.97.102  YOUTH CARE FACILITY (YCF):  DEFINITIONS  The following 
definitions apply to all YCF licensing rules: 
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 (1) through (33) remain as proposed. 
 
AUTH: 41-3-1142, 52-2-111, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, MCA 
IMP: 52-2-113, 52-2-602 52-2-603, 52-2-622, 53-2-201, MCA 

 
 37.97.132  YOUTH CARE FACILITY (YCF):  GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 
FOR ALL ADMINISTRATORS, STAFF, INTERNS, AND VOLUNTEERS  (1) through 
(7) remain as proposed. 
 (8)  All direct-care staff who transport youth must have a valid driver's license 
and, while transporting youth, follow all laws applicable to driving in Montana. 
 
AUTH: 52-2-111, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, MCA 
IMP: 52-2-111, 52-2-603, 52-2-622, MCA 

 
5.  The department has thoroughly considered the comments and testimony 

received.  A summary of the comments received and the department's responses 
are as follows: 
 
Comments to NEW RULE I (ARM 37.97.191) 
 
COMMENT #1:  A commenter stated R-3 is an occupancy designation/classification 
found in the definitions in Chapter 2, not a regulation. 
 
RESPONSE #1:  The department agrees with the commenter and the proposed new 
rule has been modified as suggested by the state fire marshal. 
 
COMMENT #2:  A commenter stated the new rule seems reasonable; however, the 
commenter believes the department failed to take into consideration the cost 
imposed for requiring staff  to be trained on the proper use of fire extinguishers. 
 
RESPONSE #2:  The department agrees that the new rule is reasonable and thanks 
the commenter; however, the department disagrees that the cost of training has not 
been considered.  The department believes the training is minimal and can be 
provided during the orientation training required of new staff.  The department does 
not describe how this training is to be provided only that it is to be provided; 
additionally, the rule as written allows providers to develop their own method for that 
training. 
 
COMMENT #3:  A commenter pointed out that a typographical error was made 
under the Montana Code Annotated (MCA) authority section. 
 
RESPONSE #3:  The department corrected the reference to 62-2-622, MCA, by 
changing it to 52-2-622, MCA. 
 
Comments to ARM 37.97.102 
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COMMENT #4:  A commenter pointed out that one MCA citation had been 
renumbered and another MCA citation needed to be corrected. 
 
RESPONSE #4:  The department corrected the reference to 41-3-1142, MCA by 
changing it to 52-2-111, MCA.  52-2-602, MCA, was corrected to 52-2-603, MCA. 
 
Comments to ARM 37.97.132 
 
COMMENT #5:  One comment was received concerning the definition for "grounds 
for records."  The commenter indicated that investigations and background checks 
are currently being conducted. 
 
RESPONSE #5:  The department believes that the commenter's comment is beyond 
the scope of this rule change. 
 
COMMENT #6:  A commenter wrote that it is unreasonable to require all direct care 
staff to have a current valid driver's license.  The commenter stated that the 
department does not reimburse providers for the cost of transporting clients.  The 
commenter believes it may be discriminatory if a person has a disability that 
precludes them from being able to obtain a driver's license; however, the person 
may provide competent care to youth.  The commenter believes the department is 
overreaching its role with private employers who, in the end, are held responsible for 
employment laws and the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) requirements. 
 
RESPONSE #6:  The department agrees that only staff required to transport youth 
should have a current driver's license.  The proposed new rule has been amended.  
The department disagrees with the comment that the providers are not reimbursed 
for the cost for transportation.  The cost for transportation is included in the 
provider's daily rate. 
 
COMMENT #7:  Two commenters were concerned about staff receiving traffic 
tickets and how the department would respond.  One commenter states the vague 
nature of this rule allows incredible discretion by the department and licensor.  Is one 
"failure to yield" allowed but a "driving too fast for conditions" grounds for 
termination?  Again, as a private employer, the youth care facility (YCF) may impose 
employment policies that, for example, require the employee have a driving record 
that allows them to be insured by the YCF's insurance company or prohibit the use 
of the employee's personal vehicle to perform job responsibilities; however, these 
kinds of policies should be established and enforced by the employer.  It is the 
employer, not the department, who assumes the risk and liability for employees who 
may be required to drive as a job requirement.  The commenters urged the 
department to not adopt this proposed amendment to the rule. 
 
RESPONSE #7:  It is not the intent of the department to monitor driver records of 
staff or driving performance while off duty.  The department has amended the 
proposed rule to require staff to follow all laws applicable to driving in Montana while 
transporting youth.  It is vital that staff drive in a safe and prudent manner while 
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transporting youth.  It is quite reasonable for the department to require staff to follow 
all laws while transporting youth.  The department does not require providers to 
terminate staff based on a minor rule violation.  If the violation places youth at risk 
the provider would be responsible for correcting the violations in a reasonable 
manner.  Providers continue to be responsible for employing staff that do not place 
the youth in their care at risk of harm. 
 
Comments to ARM 37.97.186 
 
COMMENT #8:  A commenter said the maintenance policy is subjective and the 
schedule is unnecessary and burdensome on providers by adding time to orientation 
training.  The commenter believes the department is micromanaging requiring 
additional paperwork and written policies for providers. 
 
RESPONSE #8:  The department contends a maintenance policy will ensure all 
providers and their staff are aware of the responsibility to provide a clean and well 
maintained home.  The rule allows providers to implement a maintenance policy that 
works best for them which can include monthly inspections as one commenter 
requires.  Direct care staff members are typically responsible for the majority of 
cleaning in YCFs and should be informed of their duties as such and this information 
should be included in orientation training. 
 
COMMENT #9:  A commenter said that a rule requiring adequate housekeeping and 
maintaining home and furnishings in good repair creates a number of subjective 
standards open to interpretation, confusion, and challenges in consistent 
implementation. 
 
RESPONSE #9:  The department applies reasonable standards for interpretation 
and implementation of rules.  The department inadvertently removed this 
requirement when revising the YCF rules in 2011.  The department believes it is 
necessary to reimplement the requirement.  Past implementation of the requirement 
did not cause a significant impact on providers and maintaining equipment and 
furniture is an ordinary cost of doing business.  When conflicts arise, the surveyors 
review the information with the surveyor's supervisor in order to come to a 
reasonable conclusion.  When violations are cited and the provider disagrees, they 
have the opportunity to discuss those issues with the department's licensing 
supervisor. 
 
COMMENT #10:  A commenter asked what is the definition for a safe and sufficient 
quantity for cleaning supplies, as many contain hazardous material. 
 
RESPONSE #10:  As stated in the rule, sufficient quantity would mean enough to 
meet the housekeeping needs of the facility. 
 
Hazardous material, poison, and toxin requirements are outlined in existing sections 
of the rule and are not within the scope of this proposed rule change. 
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/s/ Susan Callaghan    /s/ Richard H. Opper    
Susan Callaghan, Esq.   Richard H. Opper, Director 
Rule Reviewer    Public Health and Human Services 

   
Certified to the Secretary of State June 1, 2015 
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 BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC 
 HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 
 OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of 
ARM 37.86.4401 and 37.86.4406 
pertaining to the federally qualified 
health centers and rural health clinics 

) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF AMENDMENT 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
1.  On April 30, 2015, the Department of Public Health and Human Services 

published MAR Notice No. 37-706 pertaining to the public hearing on the proposed 
amendment of the above-stated rules at page 425 of the 2015 Montana 
Administrative Register, Issue Number 8. 

 
2.  The department has amended the above-stated rules as proposed. 

 
 3.  No comments or testimony were received. 
 
 4.  These rule amendments are effective July 1, 2015. 
 
 
/s/ Susan Callaghan    /s/ Richard H. Opper    
Susan Callaghan, Esq.   Richard H. Opper, Director 
Rule Reviewer    Public Health and Human Services 

 
Certified to the Secretary of State June 1, 2015. 
 



 
 
 

 
Montana Administrative Register 11-6/11/15 

-762- 

 BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC 
 HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES OF THE 
 STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of 
ARM 37.79.304 pertaining to 
updating the HMK evidence of 
coverage document 

) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF AMENDMENT 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
1.  On April 30, 2015, the Department of Public Health and Human Services 

published MAR Notice No. 37-708 pertaining to the public hearing on the proposed 
amendment of the above-stated rule at page 429 of the 2015 Montana 
Administrative Register, Issue Number 8. 

 
2.  The department has amended the above-stated rule as proposed.  
 
3.  The department has thoroughly considered the comments and testimony 

received.  A summary of the comments received and the department's responses 
are as follows: 
 
COMMENT #1:  The commenter "acknowledges the importance of telemedicine in 
the delivery of care and appreciates its addition as a benefit" and "requests the 
department gives consideration to ensuring the term of telemedicine is well defined."  
The commenter offers "its assistance in this endeavor." 
 
RESPONSE #1:  The Healthy Montana Kids Evidence of Coverage (EOC) 
document, July 1, 2015 version, which is proposed to be adopted by reference in 
MAR Notice No. 37-708, defines telemedicine on page 10 as:  "The use of a secure 
interactive audio and video, or other telecommunications technology by a 
health care provider to deliver health care services at a site other than the site where 
the patient is located.  Does not include audio only (phone call), e-mail, and/or 
facsimile transmission."  The commenter did not propose either a definition or a 
change to this definition, and at this time, the department believes the definition in 
the EOC appropriately describes the added service. 
 
 4.  This rule amendment is effective July 1, 2015. 
 
 
/s/ Susan Callaghan    /s/ Richard H. Opper    
Susan Callaghan, Esq.   Richard H. Opper, Director 
Rule Reviewer    Public Health and Human Services 
 

   
Certified to the Secretary of State June 1, 2015 
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 BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
 OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of 
ARM 42.3.101, 42.3.102, 42.3.103, 
42.3.104, 42.3.105, 42.3.106, 
42.3.107, 42.3.108, 42.3.109, 
42.3.110, 42.3.111, 42.3.113, and 
42.15.314 pertaining to the 2009 
recodification of statutes in Title 15, 
chapter 30, MCA 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

NOTICE OF AMENDMENT 

 
TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
1.  On April 30, 2015, the Department of Revenue published MAR Notice No. 

42-2-927 pertaining to the proposed amendment of the above-stated rules at page 
439 of the 2015 Montana Administrative Register, Issue Number 8. 

 
2.  The department has amended the above-stated rules as proposed.  

 
 3.  No comments or testimony were received. 
 
 
 

/s/ Laurie Logan   /s/ Mike Kadas  
Laurie Logan    Mike Kadas 
Rule Reviewer   Director of Revenue 

 
 

Certified to the Secretary of State June 1, 2015. 
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BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION 
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SERVICE REGULATION 

OF THE STATE OF MONTANA 
 

IN THE MATTER OF the Petition of ) REGULATORY DIVISION 
Greycliff Wind Prime, LLC for   ) 
Declaratory Ruling that GreyCliff's ) 
Organizational Structure Satisfies  ) DOCKET NO. D2015.3.23 
the Statutory Definition of a   ) 
Community Renewable Energy Project ) 
 
 

DECLARATORY RULING 
 

BACKGROUND 
 

1. On March 12, 2015, Greycliff Wind Prime, LLC (Greycliff) filed a Petition 
for Declaratory Ruling (Petition) with the Montana Public Service Commission 
(Commission). 

2. On March 16, 2015, the Commission issued a Notice of Petition for 
Declaratory Ruling and Opportunity to Comment.  The Commission received Comments 
from Jeffrey Wagner and Diana's Great Idea, LLC.  Greycliff filed a Response to the 
Comments Regarding Greycliff's Requested Declaratory Ruling on April 13, 2015. 

3. Greycliff is planning construction of a wind project in Sweet Grass County, 
Montana.  In its Petition, Greycliff presents a legal question pertaining to Section 69-3-
2003(4)(a) of the Montana Code Annotated, which defines a "community renewable 
energy project" (CREP) in part as "an eligible renewable resource… in which local 
owners have a controlling interest."  Pet. at p. 11 (Mar. 12, 2015).  Greycliff also 
presents a legal question pertaining to Section 69-3-2003(11)(c), which defines "local 
owners" in part as "business entities organized under the laws of Montana" that "have 
less than $50 million of gross revenue; have less than $100 million of assets; and have 
at least 50% of the equity interests, income interests, and voting interests owned by 
Montana residents."  Id. at p. 6.                           

4. On February 25, 2014, the Commission declared that "an eligible 
renewable resource does not qualify as a CREP unless 'local owners have a controlling 
interest' at the time of interconnection and at any point thereafter."  Declaratory Rul., 
Dkt. D2014.1.7, ¶ 8 (Feb. 25, 2014).   

5. On March 27, 2014, the Commission declared that "local owners" have a 
"controlling interest" in a project "only if they own, directly or indirectly, more than half of 
the equity, income and voting rights in the project."  Declaratory Rul., Dkt. D2014.1.9, ¶ 
17 (Mar. 27, 2014) ("there would have been no reason to insert the word 'interest'" into 
the definition of CREP if the Legislature had merely intended local owners to have 
"management control.").  Because a "second member would have [had] the right to 
consent to major decisions, change project vendors, dissolve [the project], and remove 
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the local owner under certain conditions, the Commission [was] not persuaded that the 
local owner would have 'the power to direct the management or policies' – and thereby 
'control' the project – by virtue of its limited management interest."  Id. at ¶ 16.   

6. Greycliff requests that the Commission issue a declaratory ruling finding 
that, "consistent with the organizational structure and definitions of income, equity, and 
voting interests, and the definition of controlling interest, set forth in [Greycliff's] Petition, 
the Project will be eligible for certification as a CREP."  Pet. at p. 12. 

7. Greycliff's organizational structure consists of Greycliff Wind, LLC 
(GWLLC), the purported "local owner" of the project.  Id. at p. 9.  Greycliff asserts that at 
least 50% of GWLLC will be owned by the Montana Wind Equity Fund, LLC (MWEF), a 
Montana limited liability company, and Montana Wind Resources (MWR).  Id.  Greycliff 
explains that MWEF "is specifically created as a vehicle for Montana residents to invest 
in Montana wind projects and is 100% owned and managed by Montana residents."  Id.  
Greycliff states that MWR is 100% owned and managed by two Montana residents.  Id.  
According to Greycliff, it is likely that "new Montana investors will be admitted and some 
existing Montana investors will withdraw."  Id.  The remaining minority ownership of 
GWLLC will be possessed by non-Montana members.  Id. at p. 10.  Sharing ownership 
of the project with GWLLC will be a non-Montana tax equity member, which will possess 
less than 50% ownership of Greycliff and will "absorb the federal production tax 
credit…"  Id.; see also Ex. A. 

8. According to Greycliff, a local owner will have "a controlling interest" in the 
project because the local owner "at all times" will possess "at least 50% of the equity, 
income, and voting interests" in the project.  Id. at p. 9.  Specifically, Greycliff asserts 
that "Montana residents will always have at least 50% of all capital accounts" in the 
project, "Montana residents will own at least 50% interest in the net cash flow" of the 
project, and finally that "Montana residents will have over 50% of the voting interests" in 
the project.  Id. 

9. Greycliff states that "equity interests" can be measured by comparing the 
capital accounts of members.  Id. at p. 7.  

10. Greycliff asserts that the Commission should interpret "income interests" 
to mean "the members' share of distributions of net cash flow from operations, after 
payment of expenses."  Id.  Greycliff clarifies that income interest should not refer to 
taxable income.  Id. at 7-8.   

11. Greycliff states that Montana residents will have 50% of the voting 
interests because all matters requiring a vote by members will be decided by a majority 
of members, except for certain acts "which require the consent of 100%" of the 
members.  Id. at p. 9.  Greycliff clarifies that the following acts will require the consent of 
100% of its members: 

(i) any act requiring 100% approval under the Montana Limited Liability 
Company Act (§ 35-8-307(3), MCA); (ii) borrowing or loaning money; (iii) 
acquiring or constructing property other than the Project; (iv) granting liens 
on company property; (v) beginning or settling litigation; (vi) declaring 
bankruptcy; or (vii) amending or waiving legally binding agreements on the 
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company that were previously approved by the investor (the "100% Vote 
Decisions"). 

Id. at pp. 9-10.   
 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
12. The Commission "shall provide by rule for the filing and prompt disposition 

of petitions for declaratory rulings as to the applicability of any statutory provision…" 
Mont. Code Ann. § 2-4-501.  "A declaratory ruling or the refusal to issue such a ruling 
shall be subject to judicial review in the same manner as decisions or orders in 
contested cases."  Id.; Admin. R. Mont. 1.3.229(2).  

13. The Commission has adopted the Attorney General's Model Procedural 
Rules governing declaratory rulings.  Admin. R. Mont. 38.2.101.  "A party may seek a 
declaratory ruling from the agency when doubt exists as to how a statute or rule 
administered by an agency affects the party's legal rights."  Id. at 1.3.226. 

14. A "community renewable energy project" is, in relevant part, "an eligible 
renewable resource that is interconnected on the utility side of the meter in which local 
owners have a controlling interest and that is less than or equal to 25 megawatts in total 
calculated nameplate capacity."  Mont. Code Ann. § 69-3-2003(4)(a). 

15. In order for "business entities" to qualify as "local owners," "at least 50% of 
the equity interests, income interests, and voting interests [must be] owned by Montana 
residents."  Id. at § 69-3-2003(11)(c)(iii).   

16. The Commission declines to issue the declaratory ruling sought by 
Greycliff because it is not persuaded that Greycliff's proposed corporate structure 
satisfies the requirement that "local owners" possess a "controlling interest" in a CREP 
pursuant to Section 69-3-2003 of the Montana Code Annotated. 
 
DONE AND DATED this 18th day of May, 2015, by a vote of 4 to 1.  Commissioner 
Kavulla dissenting. 
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BY ORDER OF THE MONTANA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION 
 
 
     /s/BRAD JOHNSON 
     BRAD JOHNSON 
     Chairman 
 
 
     /s/TRAVIS KAVULLA 
     TRAVIS KAVULLA (DISSENTING) 
     Vice Chair 
 
 
     /s/ KIRK BUSHMAN 
     KIRK BUSHMAN 
     Commissioner 
 
     /s/ROGER KOOPMAN 
     ROGER KOOPMAN 
     Commissioner 
 
     /s/BOB LAKE 
     BOB LAKE 
     Commissioner 
 
ATTEST: 
 
 
Aleisha Solem 
Commission Secretary 
 
(SEAL) 
 

CERTIFICATE OF MAILING 
 

The undersigned hereby certifies that on the 28th day of May 2015, a true and correct 
copy of the foregoing was served by placing same in the U.S. mail, postage prepaid, 
addressed as follows: 
 
John Alke 
NorthWestern Energy 
208 N. Montana Ave., Suite 205 
Helena, MT 59601 
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Patrick Pelstring 
National Renewable Solutions LLC 
328 Barry Avenue, Suite 100 
Wayzata, MN  55391 
 
Thorvald A. Nelson 
Holland & Hart LLP 
6380 S. Fiddlers Green Circle, Suite 500 
Greenwood Village, CO 80111 
 
Adele Lee 
Holland & Hart LLP 
6380 S. Fiddlers Green Circle, Suite 500 
Greenwood Village, CO 80111 
 
Robert A. Nelson 
Montana Consumer Counsel 
111 N. Last Chance Gulch, Suite 1B 
PO Box 202601 
Helena, MT 59620-2601 
 
 
 
 

/s/Aleisha Solem___ 
     Paralegal-Commission Secretary 
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NOTICE OF FUNCTION OF ADMINISTRATIVE RULE REVIEW COMMITTEE 

 Interim Committees and the Environmental Quality Council 

Administrative rule review is a function of interim committees and the 

Environmental Quality Council (EQC).  These interim committees and the EQC have 

administrative rule review, program evaluation, and monitoring functions for the 

following executive branch agencies and the entities attached to agencies for 

administrative purposes. 

Economic Affairs Interim Committee: 

 Department of Agriculture; 

 Department of Commerce; 

 Department of Labor and Industry; 

 Department of Livestock; 

 Office of the State Auditor and Insurance Commissioner; and 

 Office of Economic Development. 

Education and Local Government Interim Committee: 

 State Board of Education; 

 Board of Public Education; 

 Board of Regents of Higher Education; and 

 Office of Public Instruction. 

Children, Families, Health, and Human Services Interim Committee: 

 Department of Public Health and Human Services. 

 Law and Justice Interim Committee: 

 Department of Corrections; and 

 Department of Justice. 

 Energy and Telecommunications Interim Committee: 

 Department of Public Service Regulation. 
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 Revenue and Transportation Interim Committee: 

 Department of Revenue; and  

 Department of Transportation. 

 State Administration and Veterans' Affairs Interim Committee: 

 Department of Administration; 

 Department of Military Affairs; and 

 Office of the Secretary of State. 

 Environmental Quality Council: 

 Department of Environmental Quality; 

 Department of Fish, Wildlife and Parks; and 

 Department of Natural Resources and Conservation. 

These interim committees and the EQC have the authority to make 

recommendations to an agency regarding the adoption, amendment, or repeal of a 

rule or to request that the agency prepare a statement of the estimated economic 

impact of a proposal.  They also may poll the members of the Legislature to 

determine if a proposed rule is consistent with the intent of the Legislature or, during 

a legislative session, introduce a bill repealing a rule, or directing an agency to adopt 

or amend a rule, or a Joint Resolution recommending that an agency adopt, amend, 

or repeal a rule. 

The interim committees and the EQC welcome comments and invite 

members of the public to appear before them or to send written statements in order 

to bring to their attention any difficulties with the existing or proposed rules.  The 

mailing address is P.O. Box 201706, Helena, MT 59620-1706. 
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 HOW TO USE THE ADMINISTRATIVE RULES OF MONTANA 
 AND THE MONTANA ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER 
 
 
Definitions: Administrative Rules of Montana (ARM) is a looseleaf 

compilation by department of all rules of state departments and 
attached boards presently in effect, except rules adopted up to 
three months previously. 

 
Montana Administrative Register (MAR or Register) is a soft 
back, bound publication, issued twice-monthly, containing 
notices of rules proposed by agencies, notices of rules adopted 
by agencies, and interpretations of statutes and rules by the 
Attorney General (Attorney General's Opinions) and agencies 
(Declaratory Rulings) issued since publication of the preceding 
register. 

 
 
Use of the Administrative Rules of Montana (ARM): 
 
Known 1. Consult ARM Topical Index. 
Subject  Update the rule by checking the accumulative table and 

the table of contents in the last Montana Administrative 
Register issued. 

 
Statute 2. Go to cross reference table at end of each number and 

title which lists MCA section numbers and department  
corresponding ARM rule numbers. 
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ACCUMULATIVE TABLE 
 
The Administrative Rules of Montana (ARM) is a compilation of existing permanent 
rules of those executive agencies that have been designated by the Montana 
Administrative Procedure Act for inclusion in the ARM The ARM is updated through 
March 31, 2015 This table includes those rules adopted during the period April 1, 
2015, through June 30, 2015, and any proposed rule action that was pending during 
the past 6-month period (A notice of adoption must be published within six months of 
the published notice of the proposed rule.) This table does not include the contents 
of this issue of the Montana Administrative Register (MAR or Register). 
 
To be current on proposed and adopted rulemaking, it is necessary to check the 
ARM updated through March 31, 2015, this table, and the table of contents of this 
issue of the MAR. 
 
This table indicates the department name, title number, rule numbers in ascending 
order, catchphrase or the subject matter of the rule, and the page number at which 
the action is published in the 2015 Montana Administrative Register. 
 
To aid the user, the Accumulative Table includes rulemaking actions of such entities 
as boards and commissions listed separately under their appropriate title number. 
 
ADMINISTRATION, Department of, Title 2 
 
I Annual Report by Consumer Loan Licensees, p. 2061, 2827 
I-VII Requiring Deferred Deposit Loan Applicants to Use the Nationwide 

Multistate Licensing System for All Future Licensing, p. 1654, 2449, 
369 

I-VIII Transitioning Existing Sales Finance Company Licenses to the 
Nationwide Multistate Licensing System - Use of the System for All 
Future Licensing, p. 1633, 2446, 366 

I-VIII Transitioning Existing Consumer Loan Company Licenses to the 
Nationwide Multistate Licensing System - Use of the System for All 
Future Licensing, p. 1640, 2447, 367 

I-VIII Transitioning Existing Escrow Business Company Licenses to the 
Nationwide Multistate Licensing System - Use of the System for All 
Future Licensing, p. 1647, 2448, 368 

2.59.104 Semiannual Assessment for Banks, p. 351 
2.59.127 and other rules - Derivatives and Securities Financing Transactions as 

They Relate to Lending Limits and Credit Exposures, p. 390 
2.59.1502 and other rule - Annual Report by Deferred Deposit Loan Licensees, 

p. 2058, 2826 
2.59.1716 and other rules - Recovery of the Costs in Bringing an Administrative 

Action - Treatment of Initial License Applications Submitted Near 
Year-End - Abandonment of Initial License Applications - Mortgage 
Licensees, p. 499 
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(Public Employees' Retirement Board) 
2.43.3505 Establishment of Long-Term Disability Trust Fund, p. 348 
 
(State Compensation Insurance Fund) 
2.55.320 Classifications of Employments, p. 2904, 141 
 
AGRICULTURE, Department of, Title 4  
 
4.5.206 and other rules - State Noxious Weed List - Regulated Plant List, 

p. 612 
4.12.113 Apiary Registration Fees, p. 45, 299 
4.12.1405 Nursery Fees, p. 47, 300 
4.17.105 and other rules - Organic Application Procedures and Fees - Fees for 

Services - Annual Report and Assessment Fees, p. 602 
 
STATE AUDITOR, Office of, Title 6 
 
(Commissioner of Securities and Insurance) 
I Patient-Centered Medical Homes, p. 1863, 3045 
I-III Fire Tax, p. 394 
I-VII Network Adequacy, p. 3017, 565 
6.6.3104A Long-Term Care, p. 398 
6.6.3504 Annual Audited Reports and Establishing Accounting Practices and 

Procedures to Be Used in Annual Statements, p. 256 
6.6.4902 and other rules - Patient-Centered Medical Homes, p. 2702, 3051 
 
COMMERCE, Department of, Title 8 
 
8.94.3708 and other rules - Administration of the CDBG Program, p. 3026, 142 
8.94.3727 Administration of the 2015-2016 Federal Community Development 

Block Grant (CDBG) Program, p. 98, 301 
8.94.3727 Administration of the 2015-2016 Federal Community Development 

Block Grant (CDBG) Program, p. 402 
8.94.3817 Administration of the 2017 Biennium Treasure State Endowment 

Program – Planning Grants, p. 355 
8.99.1001 and other rules - Implementation of the Montana Indian Language 

Preservation Pilot Program, p. 504 
8.111.602 and other rule - Low Income Housing Tax Credit Program, p. 288 
 
EDUCATION, Department of, Title 10 
 
(Board of Public Education) 
I-XV Preschool Programming for Public Schools, p. 2318, 2943 
10.57.101 and other rules - K-12 Educator/Specialist Licensing, p. 2211, 2930 
10.58.102 and other rules - Educator Preparation Programs, p. 2250, 2936 
10.63.108 Preschool Hours, p. 616 
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(State Library) 
10.101.101 Agency Organization, p. 166, 444 
 
FISH, WILDLIFE AND PARKS, Department of, Title 12 
 
(Fish and Wildlife Commission) 
12.6.2204 and other rules - Exotic Species Classification, p. 618 
12.7.807 Fishing Contests, p. 295 
12.9.206 McLean Game Preserve, p. 2907, 268 
12.11.501 and other rule - Recreational Use on Silver Lake in Deer Lodge 

County, p. 50, 583 
12.11.501  and other rule - Recreational Use on Silver Lake in Deer Lodge 

County, p. 507 
12.11.501 and other rules - Recreational Use on the Blackfoot River Recreation 

Corridor, p. 292 
12.11.645 Whitefish River, p. 434, 1460, 3053 
 
(State Parks and Recreation Board) 
12.14.120 Payment of Fees for Outfitting Services, p. 2707, 18 
 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY, Department of, Title 17 
 
17.53.113 Hazardous Waste - Registration and Registration Maintenance Fees - 

Fee Assessment, p. 101, 298 
 
(Board of Environmental Review) 
17.8.101 and other rules - Definitions - Incorporation by Reference - Availability 

of Referenced Documents - Ambient Air Monitoring - Fluoride in 
Forage - Methods and Data, p. 3031, 370 

17.8.102 and other rule - Air Quality - Incorporation by Reference--Publication 
Dates - Availability of Referenced Documents, p. 104 

17.30.1101 and other rules - Montana Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 
(MPDES) Permits - Purpose and Scope - Definitions - Permit 
Requirements - Exclusions - Designation Procedures:  Small 
Municipal Separate Storm Sewer Systems (MS4s) - Application 
Procedures - General Permits - Conditions Applicable to All Permits - 
Application Procedures:  General - Notice of Intent Procedures - 
Transfer of Permit Coverage Pertaining to Storm Water Discharges, 
p. 1667, 3056 

 
TRANSPORTATION, Department of, Title 18 
 
18.2.261 Montana Environmental Policy Act Categorical Exclusions, p. 2492, 

2950 
18.6.202 and other rules - Outdoor Advertising Control, p. 2909, 21 
18.7.102 and other rules - Highway Right-of-Way Encroachment Permits, 

p. 2329, 2828 
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JUSTICE, Department of, Title 23 
 
23.12.407 House Number Height for Day Care Centers, p. 621 
 
(Public Safety Officer Standards and Training Council) 
23.13.101 and other rules - Certification of Public Safety Officers, p. 1698, 2951 
 
LABOR AND INDUSTRY, Department of, Title 24 
 
Boards under the Business Standards Division are listed in alphabetical order 
following the department rules. 
 
24.11.101 and other rules - Requests for Information - Unemployment Insurance, 

p. 357, 510 
24.16.101 and other rules - Workplace Safety - Wage Protection - Workforce 

Services, p. 107 
24.17.101 and other rules - Prevailing Wage Rates for Public Works Projects, 

p. 2499, 3058 
24.21.415 and other rule - Apprenticeship Training Ratios, p. 2920, 374 
24.21.1003 Apprenticeship Training Ratios, p. 363, 405 
24.29.1433 and other rules - Workers' Compensation Medical Service Fee 

Schedules - Utilization and Review of Medical Services, p. 406 
24.117.101 and other rules - Board Organization - General Information - Club 

Boxing - Kickboxing - Wrestling - Australian Tag Team Wrestling - 
Mixed Martial Arts - License Suspension and Revocation, p. 2339, 
2954 

24.131.301 and other rules - Construction Blasters - Crane and Hoisting Operating 
Engineers - Elevator Licensing Program Renewals, p. 2924, 64 

 
(Workers' Compensation Court) 
24.5.301 and other rules - Amended Petition - Computation of Time - Joinder 

and Service of Alleged Uninsured Employers - Recusal, p. 1021, 2829 
 
(Board of Dentistry) 
24.138.402 Fee Schedule, p. 2346, 2710, 3062 
 
(Board of Hearing Aid Dispensers) 
24.150.401 and other rules - Fees - Examination - Renewals, p. 412 
 
(Board of Medical Examiners) 
24.156.508 and other rules - Approved Residency - Examination - Graduate 

Training Requirements - Occasional Case Exemption - Unprofessional 
Conduct - Definitions - Initial License - Professional Conduct and 
Standards - Physician Assistant License Renewal - Podiatry 
Postgraduate Training, p. 1474, 2833 
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24.156.601 and other rules - Fees - Continuing Education - Definitions - Obligation 
to Report to Board - ECP Licenses - Medical Direction - Initial ECP 
Course Requirements - ECP Clinical Requirements - Procedures for 
Board-Approved ECP Curriculum - Scope of Practice, p. 169 

 
(Board of Nursing) 
24.159.401 and other rules - Fees - Nonroutine Applications - Medication Aide II 

Training Program Curriculum - Licensed Practical Nurses - Registered 
Nurses - Initial APRN License - Alternative Monitoring Track 
Admission Criteria - Inactive Status Licensure - Supervision of 
Probationary Licensees - APRN Educational Requirements and 
Qualifications, p. 115, 642 

24.159.604 and other rules - Nursing Education Programs - Waiver of Faculty 
Qualifications, p. 186, 644 

24.159.1010 and other rules - Standards Related to Intravenous (IV) Therapy - 
Nurse Licensure Compact, p. 516 

 
(Board of Occupational Therapy Practice) 
24.165.401 and other rules - Fees - Applications for Licensure - Examinations - 

Supervision–General Statement - Supervision–Methods - Standards of 
Practice - Documentation of Instruction and Training - Qualifications to 
Apply Topical Medications–Clinician Defined - Inactive Status - 
Continuing Education - Continuing Education–Waiver - Definitions - 
Deep Modality Endorsement, p. 1883, 56 

 
(Board of Optometry) 
24.168.2301 and other rules - Unprofessional Conduct - Nonroutine Applications - 

Renewals, p. 2350, 143 
 
(Board of Outfitters) 
24.171.401 and other rules - Fees - Inspection - Outfitter Records - Safety 

Provisions - Watercraft Identification - Application for Outfitter License 
- Outfitter Qualifications - Successorship - Outfitter Examination - 
Amendment to Operations Plan - Guide Qualifications - Guide License 
- NCHU Categories, Transfers, and Records - Renewals - 
Unprofessional Conduct - Booking Agents and Advertising - Outfitter 
Assistants - Nonroutine Applications - Effect of Fee for Expansion of 
Net Client Hunter Use - Outfitter Application, p. 2354, 58, 269 

24.171.502 Outfitter Qualifications, p. 521, 624 
 
(Board of Pharmacy) 
24.174.301 and other rules - Definitions - Pharmacist Meal/Rest Breaks - 

Internship Requirements - Registration Requirements - Patient 
Counseling - Personnel - Drug Distribution and Control - Use of 
Contingency Kits - Requirements for Submitting Prescription Registry 
Information - Legal Suspension or Revocation - Prescription 
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Requirements - Sterile Products - Quality Assurance Program 
Requirements, p. 2508, 302 

24.174.503 and other rules - Administration of Vaccines - Additions, Deletions, 
and Rescheduling of Dangerous Drugs - Scheduling of Dangerous 
Drugs, p. 524 

 
(Board of Physical Therapy Examiners) 
24.177.501 and other rules - Examinations - Licensure of Out-of-State Applicants - 

Dry Needling - Renewals - Complaint Procedure, p. 531 
24.177.2105 Continuing Education, p. 1057, 2835 
 
(Board of Professional Engineers and Professional Land Surveyors) 
24.101.413 and other rules - Renewal Dates and Requirements - Definition of 

Responsible Charge - Board Meetings - Fee Schedule - Approval of 
Schools - Application References - Examination Procedures - Grant 
and Issue Licenses - Comity - Classification of Experience - Form of 
Corner Records - Uniform Standards for Monumentation - Uniform 
Standards for Final Subdivision Plats - Remonumentation and 
Rehabilitation - Architectural Services Incidental to Engineering - 
Exhibits of Land Surveying Projects - Unprofessional Conduct - 
Introduction - Performance of Services - Conflicts of Interest - 
Avoidance of Improper Solicitation - Issuance of Public Statements, 
p. 1339, 2840 

 
(Board of Public Accountants) 
24.101.413 and other rules - Renewal Dates and Requirements - Public 

Participation - Definitions - Board Meetings - Fee Schedule - Use of 
CPA/LPA Designation - Licensing and Examinations - Acts - 
Professional Conduct Rules - Peer Review Enrollment - Alternatives 
and Exemptions - Renewal and Continuing Education - Anonymous 
Complaints - Exercise of Practice Privilege - Enforcement Against 
Licensees - Applicant by Exam - Examination Credits - Requirements 
for Previously Held Certificates - Who Must Comply - Nonresident 
Holders - Standards for CPE Program Development - Enforcement 
Procedures, p. 1734, 2849 

 
(Board of Real Estate Appraisers) 
24.207.401 and other rules - Fees - Regulatory Reviews - Appraisal Review - 

Definitions - Military Training or Experience - Examination - Application 
Requirements - Experience–Number of Hours Required - Qualifying 
Education Course Requirements - Ad Valorem Tax Appraisal 
Experience - Qualifying Experience - Scope of Practice - Trainee 
Requirements - Mentor Requirements - Appraisal Management 
Record Keeping - AMC Audit Requirements - Continuing Education - 
Continuing Education Noncompliance - Unprofessional Conduct, 
p. 2714, 3064 
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(Board of Realty Regulation) 
24.210.625 and other rules - Inactive to Active License Status - New Licensee 

Mandatory Continuing Education - Continuing Real Estate Education - 
Inactive to Active Status–Property Management - Continuing Property 
Management Education, p. 416 

 
(Board of Respiratory Care Practitioners) 
24.213.301 and other rules - Definitions - Application for Licensure - Examination - 

Inactive Status - Authorization to Perform Testing - Continuing 
Education Requirements - Traditional Education by Organizations - 
Teaching–Category III - Papers, Publications, Journals, and Course 
Work - Unprofessional Conduct - Training–Conscious Sedation - 
Institutional Guidelines Concerning Education and Certification, 
p. 1960, 22 

24.213.412 and other rule - Renewals - Board Seal, p. 259 
 
(Board of Sanitarians) 
24.216.402 - Fee Schedule, p. 262, 584 
 
(Board of Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists)   
24.222.401 Fees, p. 2736, 3066 
 
LIVESTOCK, Department of, Title 32 
 
32.2.401 and other rules - Department Fees, p. 216, 376 
32.2.405 Miscellaneous Fees, p. 2739, 3073 
32.3.139 and other rules - Appointment as Deputy State Veterinarian - 

Requirements for Importation - Official Health Certificate - Permits - 
Brands and Earmarks - Permit Required for Livestock, Game, 
Furbearing Animals, Wild Animals, Embryos, and Semen, p. 208, 423 

32.3.212 and other rule - Additional Requirements for Cattle - Brucellosis 
Vaccination of Imported Cattle Under Four Months of Age, p. 2067, 
3069 

32.3.212 Additional Requirements for Cattle, p. 213, 445 
32.3.221 and other rules - Special Requirements for Alternative Livestock as 

Defined in 87-4-406, MCA - Elephants - Change of Ownership Test - 
Handling of Live Animals - Handling of Carcasses and Carcass Parts 
of Anthrax-Infected Animals, p. 2376, 2955 

32.3.502 Official Trichomoniasis Testing and Certification Requirements, 
p. 2928, 271 

32.23.301 Licensee Assessments, p. 132, 305 
 
NATURAL RESOURCES AND CONSERVATION, Department of, Title 36 
 
I Conservation Strategies on Forested State Trust Lands, p. 53 
36.12.101 and other rules - Definitions - Procedural Rules for Hearings, p. 2525, 

2956 
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PUBLIC HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES, Department of, Title 37 
 
I-XVI Implementing the New Program Community First Choice Services, 

p. 2381, 3075 
37.5.118 and other rules - Substantiations of Child Abuse and Neglect - 

Background Checks for Placement and Licensing, p. 1, 306 
37.12.401 and other rule - Laboratory Fees for Analysis - Newborn Screening for 

Severe Combined Immunodeficiency Disease (SCID), p. 561 
37.34.3005 and other rule - Increase of Reimbursement Rates - Clarification of 

Language in the Developmental Disabilities Manual, p. 556 
37.40.307 and other rules - Nursing Facility Reimbursement, p. 550 
37.40.402 and other rules - Updating the Hospital Swing-Bed Direct Care Wage 

to the Current Fiscal Year, p. 2548, 3085 
37.40.830 Updating Hospice Reimbursement Fee Schedules to Reflect New 

Federal Rates, p. 2812, 144 
37.40.1026 and other rules - Revision of Fee Schedules for Medicaid Provider 

Rates, p. 536 
37.40.1101 and other rules - Establishment of Regulations for the Personal 

Assistance Services Program, p. 2552, 3086 
37.50.315 Addition of a New Supervision Level Within the Foster Care 

Classification Model System, p. 1772, 24 
37.79.304 Updating the HMK Evidence of Coverage Document, p. 429 
37.81.304 Big Sky Rx Prescription Drug Premium Changes, p. 2573, 3093 
37.85.105 Revision of Fee Schedules for Medicaid Provider Rates, p. 2544, 26 
37.85.403 and other rule - Date Changes to ICD CM and PCS Services-ICD-10, 

p. 1778, 3074 
37.86.101 and other rules - Extension of Enhanced Reimbursements for Primary 

Providers, p. 3041, 145 
37.86.1103 Addition of Definitions to the Outpatient Drugs, Fraud, Waste, and 

Abuse Rules, p. 2576, 3094 
37.86.1802 Coverage Codes for Durable Medical Equipment, p. 2579, 3095 
37.86.2402 and other rules - Medicaid Transportation - Personal Per Diem - 

Ambulance Services, p. 433 
37.86.2901 and other rules - Changes to Medicaid Inpatient Hospital Services, 

p. 2742, 3096 
37.86.4401 and other rule - Federally Qualified Health Centers and Rural Health 

Clinics, p. 425 
37.87.807 and other rule - Revision of Fee Schedules for Medicaid Provider 

Rates, p. 1911, 2858 
37.88.205 and other rules - Updating the Date of the Current Procedural 

Terminology (CPT) Codes, p. 1906, 2857 
37.97.102 and other rules - Updating Rules for Youth Care Facilities, p. 12 
37.106.514 Removal of References to Anesthesiologist Assistants in Outpatient 

Centers for Surgical Services, p. 1572, 2974 
37.110.201 and other rules - Updating the Montana Retail Food Establishment 

Rules, p. 1364, 2957 
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PUBLIC SERVICE REGULATION, Department of, Title 38 
 
38.3.104 and other rules - Motor Carriers, p. 628 
38.5.1307 and other rules - Telephone Extended Area Service, p. 265 
38.5.2102 Utility Electricity Voltage, p. 138, 309 
38.5.2202 and other rule - Pipeline Safety, p. 135, 308 
 
REVENUE, Department of, Title 42 
 
I Filing Requirements for Pass-Through Entities With More Than 100 

Partners, p. 2410, 2979 
I Value Before Reappraisal for Agricultural Land, p. 2768, 3097 
42.3.101 and other rules - 2009 Recodification of Statutes in Title 15, Chapter 

30, MCA, p. 439 
42.12.101 and other rules - Liquor Licenses and Permits - Fees - Regulation of 

Licensees, p. 2413, 2980 
42.15.109 and other rules - Montana Family Education Savings Program - 

Income Tax General Provisions - Tax Returns, p. 2403, 2976 
42.17.101 and other rules - Withholding and Estimated Tax Payments–General 

Withholding and Mineral Royalty Withholding, p. 2815, 27 
42.18.121 and other rules - The Montana Reappraisal Plan, p. 2582, 2990 
42.20.102 and other rules - Valuation and Classification of Real Property, 

p. 2612, 2994 
42.21.113 and other rules - Trended Depreciation Schedules for Valuing 

Property, p. 2589, 2991 
 
SECRETARY OF STATE, Office of, Title 44 
 
(Commissioner of Political Practices) 
44.12.204 Payment Threshold--Inflation Adjustment for Lobbyists, p. 2823, 28 
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