

Information for Write-In Candidates *Montana Secretary of State, Christi Jacobsen*

<u>sosmt.gov</u> • <u>soselections@mt.gov</u>

- Filing Deadlines (<u>13-10-211</u>, MCA)
 - For Federal, State-wide, State-District or Legislative races, the <u>Write-In Declaration of Intent</u> must be submitted to the county election administrator office by 5:00 p.m. and no later than 55 days prior to the election:
 - o June 4, 2024 Primary: April 9, 2024
 - November 5, 2024 General: September 10, 2024
 - For Local Government races, (<u>13-1-403(1)(2)</u>, MCA) the <u>Write-In Declaration of Intent</u> must be submitted to the county election administrator office by 5:00 p.m. and no later than 65 days prior to the election:
 - o June 4, 2024 Primary: April 1, 2024
 - November 5, 2024 General: September 3, 2024
 - The option to have a write-in vote counted on the *primary* ballot is available for write-in candidates for nonpartisan offices, or for candidates of parties qualified for the primary in Montana (see list of qualified parties at, <u>Political Parties Montana Secretary of State Christi Jacobsen (sosmt.gov)</u>) that also have sufficient races to require that a primary ballot be printed for the party.
 - A write-in candidate who files a Declaration of Intent for a general election may not file with a partisan, nonpartisan, or independent designation, pursuant to <u>13-10-211(6)</u>, MCA.
 - Contact the Commissioner of Political Practices, <u>http://politicalpractices.mt.gov</u>, at (406) 444-2942 for campaign finance information.
- Where to File
 - File with the <u>Secretary of State</u> for the presidential preference primary, a congressional office, a state or district office to be voted for in more than one county, a member of the legislature, or a judge of the district court.
 - File with the <u>county election administrator</u> a county, municipal, precinct, or district office (other than a member of the legislature or a judge of the district court) to be voted for in only one county.
- Other Information
 - For votes to be counted for a write-in candidate, a write-in candidate must file a Declaration of Intent with the Secretary of State or county election administrator (<u>13-10-211(1)</u>) and pay any required filing fee (<u>13-10-211(5)</u>. Fees are calculated pursuant to <u>13-10-202</u>. See <u>chart</u>.
 - A write-in vote may be counted only if the write-in vote identifies an individual by any of the designations included on the Declaration of Intent form filed by the candidate pursuant to law. The oval next to the write-in line must also be marked.
 - A candidate who files as an <u>indigent candidate</u> is not required to pay a filing fee, but is required to file petition signatures. (*See <u>Filing Information and Petition Signature Requirements</u> for indigent candidate requirements.)*
 - For information about the use of pre-printed labels, see <u>http://sosmt.gov/Elections/Write-ins</u>.