Skip links

State Records Committee

In 1977, the Montana Legislature recognized the importance of preserving and properly disposing of public records. That year, it created a State Records Committee and assigned it the task of monitoring record retention and disposal. No public record may be disposed of without the approval of the committee. ¬†If you have questions please email us at¬†[email protected]¬†or call 406-444-9009.

Members of the State Records Committee are:

  • Yvette Englert,¬†Department of Administration
  • Deborah Butler,¬†Legislative Audit Division
  • Rich Aarstad,¬†Montana Historical Society ‚Äď State Archives
  • Laray Jenks, Department of Justice
  • Andy Ritter, Secretary of State‚Äôs Office
  • Anita Milanovich, Governor‚Äôs Office
  • Kevin Gilbertson,¬†State CIO‚Äôs Office
  • Bowen Greenwood, Clerk of Supreme Court
  • Lucas Hamilton, Public Service Commission
  • Jill Hamilton, Department of Revenue
  • Molly Plummer, Office of the State Auditor
  • Jacob Griffith, Office of Public Instruction
  • Tracy Cuddy, Department of Transportation

The committee meets at least quarterly. To submit a request for disposal, complete¬†Disposal Request Form RM 5¬†and email the signed form to:¬†[email protected]