Skip links

Notary Academy

Get your learn on! This is the place to find Montana-approved notary education courses for new and renewing notary applicants. Check out the options available for comprehensive and targeted courses that prepare you to be the smartest notary in the 406.

These online courses, live webinars, and in-person classes have been approved by the Secretary of State’s Office for the number of credit hours shown for the education requirements under §1-5-620(2), MCA or §1-5-615(3)(c), MCA. All presentations are state specific and provide instruction on the rules, procedures and ethical obligations relevant to Montana notary laws.

New applicants must take any one of the 4-hour courses or classes; training may be taken up to 1 year prior to applying for a new commission. Renewing notaries may take one 4-hour course or a combination of shorter courses, webinars, or classes; training for renewing notaries may be staggered over the final three years of the commission. See §1-5 620(3)(b)(ii), MCA for details.

MT Notary Exam

Please note that all applicants – new and renewing – must take the Montana Notary Exam, regardless of the training course(s) chosen. Exercises, tests, or quizzes included as part of the notary training courses do not fulfill the requirement for taking and passing the state exam.

Current Notary Courses

Four-O-Six Notary offers Online Courses, Live Webinars, and In-Person Training.

Fundamental Courses:

All courses below meet the requirements for mandatory training. Please read course descriptions to determine which best meets your learning style and budget.

Who is this class for?:
New Applicants or Renewing Applicants who have not taken a notary course before.

Course Description:
ASN’s Montana Education Course is a comprehensive, state -approved course that teaches Notary applicants to perform their duties competently and confidently.  Content includes in-depth discussion of Notary commission responsibilities; authorized Notarial duties; performing Notarial acts; keeping notarial records; performing remote and remote online notarizations and more.  Satisfies Montana’s Notary educations requirement effective July 1, 2020 and prepares Notary applicants to take the mandatory exam.

Credit: 4 Hours  |  Cost: $30  |  Type: Fundamentals

Access Course & Registration

Who is this class for?:
New Applicants or Renewing Applicants who have not taken a notary course before.

Class Description:
This course satisfies the training requirement for Montana’s new and renewing Notary applicants. The course covers the following topics:

  • What is a Notary and what do they do?
  • The notarization process
  • Notarial acts allowed in Montana
  • Notary responsibilities and special circumstances
  • Notary misconduct
  • Electronic notarizations

Upon completion of the course, notaries will be able to successfully pass the Montana Notary Public Exam.

Credit: 4 Hours  |  Cost: $65  |  Type: Fundamentals

Access Course & Registration

Montana’s Credit Union Network have developed a series of webinars particularly designed for notaries working in financial environments.

Credit: 4 Hours  |  Cost: $45  |  Type: Fundamentals

Access Course & Registration

Who is this class for?:
New Applicants or Renewing Applicants who have not taken a notary course before.

Class Description:
This four-hour notary course is approved by the Montana Secretary of State as a pre-requisite to becoming a notary or renewing your Montana notary commission. It meets or exceeds Montana notary education law requirements as stated in Montana Code Annotated 1-5-620. This course will also outline in an easy and practical format everything a Montana notary needs to know to pass the Montana notary exam and serve the public with a standard of excellence while following the established standards of sound notary practices and Montana notary laws.

Credit: 4 Hours  |  Cost: $25  |  Type: Fundamentals

Access Course & Registration

Class Description:
Notary Public Underwriters of Montana’s state-approved Training Course addresses the responsibilities and duties of every Montana Notary Public. This course thoroughly discusses what Notaries need to know to comply with Montana’s notary laws and administrative rules. Meets the needs of Notaries seeking preparation for the Montana Notary Exam, and satisfies the Notary education requirement(s) effective on July 1, 2020.

Credit: 4 Hours  |  Cost: $30  |  Type: Fundamentals

Access Course & Registration

Class Description:
A great refresher course for renewing notaries or a relatively inexperienced notary needing a review of the basics with an emphasis on the practical aspects of the job. 

Credit: 2 Hours  |  Cost: $45  |  Type: Fundamentals
Access Course & Registration

Class Description:
This course covers the fundamental laws, rules, and ethical requirements that Montana notaries are expected to know and meets the four-hour education requirement for obtaining or renewing a Montana notary commission. 

Credit: 4 Hours  |  Cost: $30  |  Type: Fundamentals
Access Course & Registration

Remote Online Notarization (RON) Courses:

Who is this class for?:
Renewing or Existing Notaries who want to offer technology-based notarial services.

Class Description:
This course satisfies the requirement for Notaries who wish to perform IPEN (In-Person Electronic Notarization), R.O.N. (Remote Online Notarizations) or Remote Notarizations in Montana.  The course covers the laws, rules, ethics and practical considerations for performing technology-based notarial services and includes the statutorily required examination.

Credit: 2 Hours  |  Cost: $45  |  Type: RON

Access Course & Registration

Class Description:
An in-depth review of the Montana Laws for Online Notarizations, including a downloadable script! The course covers  a walk-through of how-to setup your Electronic Signature using the digital certificate you purchased and the basics of how to properly tag a document to ensure it is accurate! However, we don’t stop there! We also talk about what to do when things do not go right, because believe me they hardly ever do online! Learn how to Pivot and make the transaction compliant and valid!

Credit: 2 Hours  |  Cost: $59.95  |  Type: RON

Access Course & Registration

Who is this class for?:
Renewing or Currently Commissioned Notaries who want to offer technology-based notarial services.

Class Description:
This course presents the required information that notaries must know and understand before offering online notarial services.

Credit: 2 Hours  |  Cost: $30  |  Type: RON

Access Course & Registration

Entrepreneur Courses:

Class Description:
The NNA’s industry-recognized signing agent program, is designed for notaries who specialize in offering mobile loan signing services.

Credit: 2 Hours  |  Cost: $30  |  Type: Entrepreneur

Access Course & Registration

Class Description:
Montana Notaries are among an elite group of America’s Notaries who, by virtue of their active notarial commission and with no additional licensing or permission required, may solemnize the vows of marriage.

Credit: 2 Hours  |  Cost: $30  |  Type: Entrepreneur

Access Course & Registration

Fundamental Courses:

No live classes scheduled at this time.

Fundamental Courses:

No live classes scheduled at this time.

Explore
Drag