Skip links

State Records Forms and Retention Schedules

Agencies of state government should refer to the General Records Retention Schedules or to their agency-specific Records Retention Schedule (RM3) to determine how long to keep specific public records and how to securely dispose of them. If your agency must meet federal retention requirements, the longer of the two retention periods applies.

If you are uncertain which schedule to refer to for a specific type of document, refer first to the General Records Retention Schedule Index.

While some records are kept on a calendar basis, most state government records are maintained by fiscal year (July 1 to June 30). For example, a record created in FY 2006 that has a retention period of four years could be disposed of at the end of FY 2010, or June 30, 2010.

General Records Retention Schedules
Schedule # Schedule Name
Index of General Records Retention Schedules
GS1 SABHRS Financials – updated Jan 2016
GS2 General Financial Records – updated Jan 2016
GS3 Administrative and Legal Records – updated Jan 2016
GS4 Purchasing and Procurement Records – updated Jan 2016
GS5 Payroll and Personnel Records – updated July 2019
GS6 Technology Services Records – updated Jan 2016
GS7 Records Management – updated Jan 2016
GS8 Licensing – updated Jan 2016
GS9 Non-record Material – updated Jan 2016
Records Management Forms
Form #
RM 1
Record Series Profile
RM 3
Records Retention Schedule
RM 5
Records Disposal Request
RM 7
Rolling Disposal Request
RM 75
Migration Plan
  • Migration Template – updated 2016
  • Appendix A – Guidelines
RM 84
Request to add Record Series to the General Schedule
RM 85
Request for Change to a Record Series
RM 88
Records Destruction