Local Government Records Committee

To view All pages for Records Management please select an option below

In 1993, the Legislature created a Local Government Records Committee to oversee the preservation and disposal of public records kept by local governments and school districts. If you have questions please email us at [email protected].
Jodie Foley, Montana Historical Society – State Archives
Ray Dagnall, Secretary of State – Records and Information Management
Paige Trautwein  – Clerk of the District Court, Ravalli County
Bonnie Ramey, Jefferson County – Office of the Clerk and Recorder
Terry Atwood, Genealogy Representative
Marty Rehbein, City of Missoula – Office of the City Clerk
Kari Powles, Department of Administration – Local Government Services
Nikole Koefelda, Silver Bow Archives-Government Records Archivist

The Local Government Records Committee meets at least twice a year to approve, modify, or reject proposals for local government and school district records retention and disposition schedules. A subcommittee made up of the state archivist, a representative of Local Government Services, and an LGRC member handles all requests for disposal of records. No record may be destroyed without the subcommittee’s unanimous approval.

To submit a request for disposal, complete Local Government Disposal Authorization Form and email a signed original form to: [email protected]

If you don’t have email, send it to:
Local Government Services
P.O. Box 200547
Helena, MT 59620-0547

Montana Secretary of State – Corey Stapleton
Privacy Preferences
When you visit our website, it may store information through your browser from specific services, usually in form of cookies. Here you can change your privacy preferences. Please note that blocking some types of cookies may impact your experience on our website and the services we offer.